View Full Version : Sex education
13-05-2003, 06:22 AM
As I watching the news section in this website scrolling ...I spot: "kertas kerja pendidikan seks hampir siap..." huh?....sex education?.
I'm not sure they sex education here in california but Malaysia?..
what do you think ?..Are we prepared yet?
I want to hear from every one.
well...i do think that sex education is very important...it helps to understand more about the consequences and the sexual transmitted penyakit...altough islam is the main religion in malaysia...it seems that the government is unable to curb such perbuatan...by implementing this new policy into the sukatan pembelajaran...this will hekp to reduce or at least make sure they play save...you know what i mean kan??...this in return hopes to reduce the penyakit and also give the students a better view towards each other
dyenne10
17-09-2003, 02:26 PM
emm..bagus ker? sec edu. at school? for me not suitable especially at primary school...y?we see now..sec is no more something sensitive and private...this become issues started from 'the Pramugara'..then widely covered and become more havoc by 'Edisi Siasat' news...'Student UM-sex bawah tangga'..r they sure by introducing new syllabus on sex edu.in school can control all this....skrg..budak2 tak payah belajar suma2 ni...they can learn by themselves... a lot of source they can access about sex..about..'that disease'..eleh.yg tau pon psl tu....is it probihited them...lg buat ada ler...yg utk prkahwinan...masa kursus bleh belajr ler...
ok..that's all..my opinion.
17-09-2003, 05:24 PM
I think those UM students who have sex under the stairs are dumb
the thing that makes ppl experiment are the half explanations that bound about sex. make sex a proper subject at school, hell, make sex ed a subject in upsr, pmr, spm; a very hard subject. that should be fun.
17-09-2003, 11:57 PM
dyenne 10, if we're going to assume that students have these "sources" availble to them yet still have sex, then it is of even higher priority that we educate them. I mean, who is to guarantee that the information out there that is available is true. What's more is there is a lot of contradicting information out there? I feel that establishing a reputable source(ministry of education and health ministry or something to that extend) is important so that students will learn the correct things and not be confused. They can be confident that they're equipped with the right knowledge to make the right decisions.
Also, I think that sex education should not only cover the physical parts of sex but also the mental and social context of sex as well. I know that there are many girls who have gotten pregnant while still in school. Imagine if they were told social consequences as well as how to deal with mental pressures to have sex. Also, if there were more open sources for support when it came to sexual problems.
I know that sex education is a sensitive issue but someone's got to do it. Information about sex is already avalible out there. We can pretend nothing's going on, or we can put authoritative and correct information into the heads of the young ones.
agreed.
interesting to note though, that this just turns natural selection right on its head. it is the IDIOTS who are breeding, thus ensuring more stupid genes to be passed on to future generations.
dyenne10
18-09-2003, 12:26 PM
ok..i agreed with that littlebigone...you said it's for social n mental context..
Also, I think that sex education should not only cover the physical parts of sex but also the mental and social context of sex as well. I know that there are many girls who have gotten pregnant while still in school. Imagine if they were told social consequences as well as how to deal with mental pressures to have sex. Also, if there were more open sources for support when it came to sexual problems...
but,even if they were told the consequences..think about the adult that had been taught earlier...what they did?worst...better to this children,let them be themselves..enjoy their youth...learn step by step of life..when the time come,they will learn and know it..the subject in biology(..is enough)..
:wink: :D :) :lol: 8)
19-09-2003, 03:29 AM
did anyone honestly learn anything from biology? It was good but only from a scientific approach.
What about rape?
What about dealing with the pressures of your boyfriend/girlfriend?
What about responsibility?
What about law?
What about safe sex?
What about options available for unwanted pregnancies?
What about all the stuff that puts you in doubt but you have nowhere to turn to to find out?
I think one of the most important thing about sex education is knowiing that other people face the same problems and questions.
Maybe sex education isn't the answer but something should be done. Society has changed and we have to keep up or lose society
29-09-2003, 01:28 PM
Heard a news on the radio last month about a new exploding business in China: sex education poker cards. Like the one they had awhile ago with saddam hussien and friends, this pack of poker cards contains all the information that Chinese parents wish they could have thought the children, but are too shy to do so.
Interesting thought.
30-09-2003, 12:28 AM
haha..I wonder if students would make it into a sex game instead?
"hmmmm....King of hearts...I guess that means we have to perform this position next"
hahaha
sorry for the crude humor...couldn't help it.
hmm...to be frank... i do think sex education is an important toll toward curbing all of this maksiat things...i think there's a big misconception about sex education...everytime when we hear the word sex...we start to picture the keadaan...well...sex education doesnt teaches us all that stuff...they teach u about the consequences of doing it...stuff like that...i'm positive that with sex education being taught in schools...it will reduce such problem...what do u think????
06-10-2003, 01:15 PM
rather than start to teach sex education in the high school/elementary school, I think it is important for the govt to prepare the teachers with the sufficient training first...I mean, if there's no qualified teacher, I don't think teaching about sex is going to give any impact in the society.
I think...sex education here concerns about the 'psychology' or treatmeant of it...not the 'other' stuff.
did any of you guys watched techtv's unscrewed a couple of weeks back? they made a spoof ad about teen pregnancy.
There was this girl and she was saying something like "My life is just starting out. I want to open a company be, my own boss blablabla... My future is in front of me, that is why I go for anal sex.
"Sure you walk funny afterwards but you won't get pregnant" At the end she walks off, funnily.
10-10-2003, 10:28 PM
oh my god...that is hilarious...i wish i could get a dl of that somewhere
CrAzyCow
09-11-2003, 12:07 AM
Sex education in elementary school? ermm.. dun think so.. bulu tak cukup lagi.. :D
Anyways, sex education shud be introduced. I agree with littlebigone tht sex education shud cover social n mental consequences. We dun want sex to be something like a coca-cola culture rite? If thirsty then drink when finish just throw away the bottle.
A few months ago, i went to a sex education seminar on campus. I noticed tht there were alot of students attended the seminar. The seminar explains all types of diseases tht u can contract from ordinary sex,anal sex n oral sex n how u can prevent it. They even hav pictures of the male n female's sexual organs n how pregnancy occurs.
Sex education does not need to be incorporate into the education system. Just make students be aware of it.
09-11-2003, 03:48 AM
I hope sex-ed will make it to the classroom. There's no good reason to not let this happen.
I would rather have my children learn it at school rather experimenting sexs with anybpody he or she choose.
09-11-2003, 05:58 AM
i think crazy has a point. Even if it doesn't make it into official syllabus, at least it should be a seminar or a course that schools have to provide for students.
Crazy cow, my elementary school had a sex education talk when i was in standard 6...that time i got enough bulu...not like you :P
09-11-2003, 08:06 PM
when i took physics, chemistry and biology,
i was asked to attend lab to do 'experiments'
so that i will understand better what was learned in class.
So i think silibus for this thing should be reviewed several times
if you don't want people to do experiment out of class.
Btw, it is forbidden for Muslim
yes it is forbidden, but that does not mean that people do not experiment, be they muslim or not. let us be realistic, in this day and age most people only pay lip service to their so-called faith. the threat of fire and brimstone won't deter them from experimentation.
seeing as how damn inconvenient those diseases and pregnancy are one wonders why the hell do they do it? if they only do it with 1 person that is clean that takes care of the disease part but still there are still risks of pregnancy; unless of course one or both of them are sterile - then i have nothing to say unless they are caught in the act and face public stigma. do they not know that sperm + ovum in womb = baby? i guess maybe at first it is a "heat of the moment" thing and after that "oh well, we did before and nothing happened".
09-11-2003, 10:54 PM
I think no matter the sex education or the first chapter of Bio form 4 , the syllabus should include the way of using condom correctly...... Not just telling everyone to use condom but never teach them how.
:idea: If you think that condom is used by just put it on , then hehe....you need a better guide then :wink:
CrAzyCow
10-11-2003, 12:27 AM
Teaching them to use condom is a good idea. We will need to inform them also tht condom is only 97% effective. Therefore, there is still chances tht pregnancy can occur.
10-11-2003, 02:02 AM
condom is 97% effective not because of the sperm seeping through, but because of wrong usage which leads to the condom bursting. So i guess, teaching them how to use condom would also increase the effectiveness. Really, it should be 100%. or really close.
silverblue
10-11-2003, 04:22 AM
I definitely agree that kids nowadays need sex education, be it at elementary, secondary or university level. And a detailed and complete one at that. The world is changing and people are not as conservative about having pre-marital sex as they used to be... and getting proper education from an official source is the only way to go! Believe it or not, the more we make sex a taboo or a hush-hush issue, the stronger is the natural human inclination to go against the grain and experiment it for themselves...
10-11-2003, 03:21 PM
and maybe more vending machine selling condoms ...... (we have that in Japan..not sure bout other country) so that whose who are in need can get it easily ... or to those who dont dare to buy it at the shop .. :P
royston
10-11-2003, 07:03 PM
I just joined Recom not long ago and today is the first time I read this topic, kinda interesting.
I have read all the comments from people like littlebigone, masterof_none and so on. Everyone of you have your own thinking and point of view. But I realized that Asian... such as Malaysian, are kinda "sensitive" towards the word sex.
Sex does not mean "fuck" (I am sorry if this word offended anyone of you) but unfortunately, most of the youngsters have the wrong thinking and assumption. I agreed that sex education is needed, or rather compulsory since primary school. Bulu tak cukup ... this has misled the spirit of sex education.
Basically, sex education is not only particularly on physical organ (I agree with someone who said this, sorry I have forgotten you...). A genuine sex education will introduce students a new way to look at "sex" or I should say "opposite sex" being.
Students should understand and know how to respect opposite-sex friends, without making fun of their height, weight, outlook, etc. Secondary students should not thinking otherwise against those girls who have just had their chest developed, menstrual cycle, etc.
During secondary school-time, boys and girls will be mentally developed, and they will directly or indirectly, knowingly or unknowingly fall in "love". Sex education will be the main media teaching them how to manage their thinking, their so-called "love" will it be valid and things like that. Should they try on something "risky" and "excited" privately ... All these will be helped by having Sex Education. And of course, a good lecturer, a proper course syllibus and complete monitoring job need to be done everyday onto the students.
Maybe the title of this course should changed to other non-sensitive name such as Mental Development Education, etc. Try to lead the students, guide them without their knowledge, without triggering their "sex" alert. And for physical body part, this can be placed in the Biology course, for the "Correct Thinking Against Sex" and "Respecting Opposite Sex" can be placed in Moral Education. All these portions by portions will be the consolidation of Sex Education.
This is my opinion and thanks for your time.
11-11-2003, 03:55 AM
good points. i think it should be called "Maturity Guidance course" or something like that
11-11-2003, 04:27 AM
i'm more to serious religious education
and serious implementation
than to sex education
because no religion allow pre-marriage sex
nowadays, people just keep talking
saying it's wrong and all stuff
but at the same time they are showing
almost-censored scene on tv
and talk about it a lot on magazines
a lot of not-cool examples
CrAzyCow
13-11-2003, 02:11 PM
I am just curious, if a gal suddenly stripped in front of u and do some sexy posing for u.. tempting u to (u know wat).. wonder how much teaching in school will help u.
royston
13-11-2003, 04:32 PM
Cool crazycow ... this question is always used by my girlfriend to test me on my sincerity to her :lol:
Ok... The answer is quite simple. Allow me to use some "rude" words here. If you are so lucky (or unlucky) to face such a scene, I will definitely get a "hard-on", that is not controllable. But I will not "fuck" her because I have a lot of concern.
1. Is she clean? (This can be applied to a girls as " Is he clean? ")
2. Am I handsome/rich enough for her to sacrifice such way?
3. Should I fuck her?
Whoever read until this point will think... Roy is bluffing!!! Yeah, as I have said, I will get a definite hard-on but I still have some time (at least a few seconds) to think about the above 3 questions. Trust me, I met this situation before, as long as you are mentally matured enough, you will not get excited when you see an opposite-sex-being naked in front of you.
Any comments? heehee ... :P
~ roy ~
13-11-2003, 05:25 PM
:twisted:
naked...girl??!??....kekekekekekeke
Anyway, I think a naked girl in front of you scenario is overated....how about TWO naked girls getting it on with each other!!!!! Now that's temptation.
Hehehe...just joking. BUt i think royston showed us the difference between a man and a little boy. I think sex education, or at least some exposure to the real world would make you think more maturely in that sense. Those 3 questions are very practical questions that should hit your head when such a situation occurs, if it occurs(well except #2 :P ) . Also, it's good to think of these situations before they happen, so you know the right decision to make.
But seriously speaking, this scenario is not far from what happens everyday, especially in the US. I mean, if you go to a party, it's not hard to get a girl to go home with you. Or even get girls who are drunk enough that they throw themselves all over you. But the decision is always in your hand.
royston
13-11-2003, 06:51 PM
heehehehe... Combo package of two girls?? Let's talk about it offline... :lol:
Well, let's put a stop on this scenario given by crazycow. Further discuss might not help on the topic of "Sex Education".
In fact, I should emphasize that, sex education or proper sexual mindset should not only be started from school. The family members such as parents, bros and sis should play part of the main role.
I still remember, when I was small (about 4-6 years old), my mom and aunties tried to avoid this sensitive chat in front of me. When my sisters were reaching physical developing period, the way they treated me was rather cold and always ignore me. Luckily I was not that kay por and have no interest on what they did behind me.
I can see that, parents should briefly and seriously educate their kids on what is menstrual cycle, what will be the physical and obvious symptom when the young kids start to have physical/body development and so on. Before they have such things happened on their body, they will never know the feeling of excitement, that is the best time to explain to them.
They might not have the interest to listen but when they keep listening to this kind of "boring stories" from their parents, they will slowly know it and match it when they notice their body changed and things like that. I am sure they will never laugh at girls have their chest developed (or pop out :oops: ).
In the meantime, teachers in school also deliver the same knowledge but this time these knowledge come with fact, from books, internet and so on, this will help the youngster to further understand the "boring stories" from their parents, and they will take it seriously because books and other official resources have proven.
It is kinda difficult to really promote sex education in school in Malaysia, due to a lot of religions' limitation, some pantang-larang and so on... But I hope that our government can at least do something, if we can't really give the 100% pure sex-education, we may try to slightly pour in a little bit and a little bit. Time goes by, slowly we may increase the "ingredient". It really takes time but we will see the result when the school kids grown up.
Thanks,
~ roy ~
how did you guys learn about sex and stuff?
Hahaha...this topic must be the niggest hit on Recom. Sec, yeah i agree with those who want the implementation of sex education in schools. We must realize that the youths nowadays do not care much about the issue of premarital sex. Back in high school, i often hear which girl got 'screwed'(sorry about this word), who slept with who and stuff like that. My opinion is that as long as it is legal it is fine. Legal in the sense that you are abiding the sex law of the country and with the consent of your partner. Therefore, sex education such be incorporated into oour education system and my advise is it should be a fun subject. The teachers must be able to poke fun occasionally to stir our interest. If it were to be like our moral subject, no one will listen and defeats the purpose of having sex education. Life should be fun afterall :D
eeyore
14-11-2003, 02:14 AM
I think sex education should be made a formal part of the education system. I'm not sure if elementary school is a good place to start, I mean what did we even learn from Std 1 to 6? Are students around that age ready enough to handle any information about sex at all? Part of growing up is having fun and being naive.
In secondary school, I think it is more appropriate. It is when students start "exploring", becoming more exposed to sex, and given more freedom by their parents/guardians. Having sex education does not mean teaching students how to have sex. It means the social, moral, mental responsibility of having sex, whether it is right or not, what being pregnant means, contraceptives, and putting sex in a right context.
For more information, please watch South Park: Proper Condom Use.
sex ed?
i think malaysia really needs it. look around, rape cases in malaysia is unbelievable. not just rape but also incest. the sex education should talk about respecting other sex. girls are always been told to never walk alone, to not to wear skimpy cloths and whatever. but the guys never been taught to control their sex desire. they always blame it to the girls when its always the guy who dunno how to put their package in the right place.
i never had a good relationship with my parents. but i am one of the malaysian children who actually had "the talk" with my parents. I was twelve and my mom was explaining everything. but "the talk" was mainly about "dont do drugs and sex". not many parents have "the talk" with their children.
another thing i think should be implemented in the syllabus is sexual orientation. sadly to say most malaysian cannot acccept gays and lesbians in the society.that is so bias. they treat gay and lebians as in they dont deserve to live.Shameful malaysian.
sex education should also cover the option the girl can have to prevent std and pregnancy. we know tht no sex is the best safe sex. but these girls should get an access to contraceptive and morning after pill. some ppl might flame me by being to westernise but i have my reason to it.
silverblue
14-11-2003, 11:04 AM
I think sex education should be made a formal part of the education system. I'm not sure if elementary school is a good place to start, I mean what did we even learn from Std 1 to 6? Are students around that age ready enough to handle any information about sex at all? Part of growing up is having fun and being naive.
Well, you may think that elementary school kids are still naive and all that stuff... but believe me... the situation nowadays is no longer like OUR elementary times about 8-10 years back... things are different now and you cannot imagine how fast these kids mature with all the westernized media the are fed with..
I've heard stories about std 5 or std 6 kids doing 'it' right now!! These kids have boyfriends that are in secondary school so it's no surprise that they may get exposed to sex. As you know, girls reach their puberty around std 5/6 and that is the time their hormones gushes out and their body is undergoing that transition from a girl to a young lady.. and so it IS the right time to start some sort of introductory sex education... or at least some 'exploring your body' kinda education for the kids... and then go into deeper stuff in Secondary school.
Yes I agree with EEyore that we should spare these kids a little and let them be naive and have fun... but I am just saying, what if they thought sex was also fun ? (due to miseducation) and they can use their naivety as an excuse or something... Just saying that I don't think we can underestimate kids nowadays... 8O
silverblue
14-11-2003, 11:08 AM
Oh, by the way, my Dad educated me about 'the birds and the bees' when I was only 7 years old! Yes! MY DAD!! lol ... And I cannot tell you what amazement I felt when I was told about it... my friends in darjah dua were disgusted when I in turn, told them what my Dad told me :lol:
and they said they'll never want to get married bcos of that! hahaha...
that was just something funny from childhood memories... ;)
eeyore
14-11-2003, 12:53 PM
To me, actually, the truth is, the whole issue won't be so big if parents can talk about sex to their children. But of course, that seems to be a problem in many Asian cultures, therefore many parents prefer to leave it to the school or let their children learn about it on their own.
This may be out of the topic, but I'm just kinda curious. Let me know if I'm wrong, but is it compulsory (wajib) for Islam parents to teach their children about sex before akil baligh?
royston
14-11-2003, 01:11 PM
hi eeyore,
Like I have mentioned, sex education is not only talk about love making or sex organ only. Throughout the whole puberty, a teenager will go through changes in both physical and mental.
Islam parents may start to educate their children on how to think and how to manage. Firstly parents need to be open and always talk to their children about anything to everything. For young kids like std 1-3 you may start to have good communication with them, try to get close with them and indirectly build up the confidence between both parties.
I like the example Cheryl said, how her father educated her when she was in darjah 2. No doubt, most of the kids will refuse to listen, but as long as you have a good relationship with them, will be pay more attention to what you say. This is part of the procedures delivering sex ed to young kids.
Why there are so many young rapist and incest cases happened? One of the key reason is, they can't find anyone to talk to. They do not know how to control their so-called need and no one help them. Young kids should spend more time on outdoor sports, healthy activities to use up their energy so that they will not have too much free time to think otherwise.
If we can have daily chat with our children, they will tell you whatever they are in doubt. With this, sex ed can be promoted in family smoothly. For school teachers, they may also use the same method. Try to pay more attention to their pupils/students, spend more time talking to them and treat them as friends, the result will be same and I believe these youngsters will be glad to tell whatever they wish to ask :wink:
Correct me if I am wrong...
~ roy ~
eeyore
14-11-2003, 01:29 PM
oh yeah,
i wasn't referring to sex as the act or the organs, i was referring to the overall concept of sex
and yup, i agree with your thoughts in the previous post
CrAzyCow
15-11-2003, 04:03 PM
Early sex education during elementary might not always go the way we wanted it to be. Worse of all, during this period, most children are curious and perhaps introducing them with breasts, penis and sex will not be a good idea. Current generations might be sophicated and know lots more stuff when they are young but we cannot take 1 bad example n apply it to the entire nation. The idea of parents introducing them about sex organs is a better way than a formal way of educating them.
As i said b4, we might not need a formal type of education to teach our young generations about sex. Seminars by certain organization could do the trick. Furthermore, we definately won't be able to teach students about sex for the entire year if it were to be incoporated into the education system. They are not learning from the Kama Sutra book ya know. I would be happy if i get the chance to learn it though. :twisted:
hmm, when i was in secondary school, i heard (it was also in the news) bout school kids in a primamry school near mine, doing it in class during recess...and these kids were in Primary 2..hmm...canggih huh?
sex ed is not all about birds and bees. it's about respecting the opposite sex. respecting other ppl sexual orientation.in malaysian particularly, not only kids but also adults sometimes are bias towards others sexual orientation. homosexual, transgender are treated as if they are not human. ppl keep on teasing at them as if they have no feeling.wht make us better just because we are straight. this we should teach our ppl and our children to respect. i know a guy who was adopted by a transgender. ppl tease him saying stuff like "your mom is a guy". call his mom "pondan " and stuff. and tht poor child is only std 2, too young to know whts happening. but ppl already being bias to him. just becoz he is raised by a loving transgender, does he deserve all those harsh words from his peers.his peers has no respect to his parent sexuality. and his peers parents should take some of the blame. the parents never educate the children to respect other ppl sexuality.this is one thing i have against malaysian. they think they're so good.
i totally agree. one not cool thing bout malaysians is we tend to diss people but we don't look at our own faults..me included :P hmm...my 2 cents worth!
18-11-2003, 01:26 PM
Well, I think, it's just the parents. They should really educate their children during the kids early age.
These days, these parents rely too much on the school to do everything.
and just a digression but parallel to the problem in malaysia, a few parents are suing rockstar entertainment (for gamers, it means Grand Theft Auto and Max Payne) for their children behavior.
Please tell me if i'm wrong but do you really think it's fair for the parents to sue the company?
If the parents fail to prevent their children to emulate such game in real life, then it's the parents' fault.
In both cases, like I said earlier, parents rely too much on the school to do everything. You can have all the pendidikan moral or pelajaran seks or Pendidikan Islam but it all start at home. All these courses will be useless if the parents refuse to share the responsibility.