View Full Version : Help a php/asp idiot... ME !!!!

royston
15-11-2003, 10:53 PM
Hi guys,

I need help... I am working on a homepage for my Malay friend, regarding his agama islam stuff. I only know how to make static (html, hyperlink...etc) and shockwave (macromedia stuff, movies, songs) only. I am a total idiot on php and asp. I will appreciate if anyone of you smart guys can teach me on how to do php and asp.

TERIMA KASIH !!!!!

~ roy ~

royston
15-11-2003, 10:54 PM
Oh yeah, forgotten to show you the link of the ismalic homepage:

http://sirakuliah.topcities.com

Do tell me anything I did wrong... Don't worry, although I am an Ol'man but my learning aggresiveness is very strong still ... :lol:

~ roy ~

15-11-2003, 11:56 PM
littlebigone and i have worked on a project to make a guestbook using php and mySQL. I am not sure the skills that we have from that project is sufficient to help you or not?

16-11-2003, 12:34 AM
I think I can help you on using PHP ... I know some PHP and CGI just enough to create some dynamic pages based on datafiles ... I haven't learned how to use MySQL w/ them yet ...

16-11-2003, 06:12 AM
what do you want to do with php that you can't do with html?
I would say avoid using php or asp unless you really need to.

royston
16-11-2003, 09:44 AM
littlebigone,

The problem is... I don't even know what are the purpose differences among html, php and asp.

Anyone who can explain to me? I don't know what are the advantages and disadvantages of static/dynamic webpage.

~ roy ~

16-11-2003, 09:55 AM
static websites mean that there is only one html file that is viewed by all users

dynamic means that either the client or the server side processes a file to produce a unique page for each request, which may depend on many factors(user, event, status, changes in database, etc)

php and asp are server side scripting languages. I'll talk of php since I;m more familiar with php. the server has a php file which it will 'compile' when requested by any user.

So when to use php? Well, php allows storage of information, much larger than just simple cookie, and allows interaction between this database and the page. So like the forums, we use php because we need to store the messages somewhere so that people can view them later.

Rite now, the if the site you're developing does not have anything that requires storage and constant change in material stored, i don't htink there is a need to use php. I may be wrong here, as this is my interpretation based on my little knowledge.

An interesting thing to use php for the site you're developing is to make like a blog cum newsposter, if there is going to be a lot of news and updates posted. This would be interesting as it would make it easy to change the news that you post and also provides for a simple and efficient way to archive old posts.

royston
16-11-2003, 10:35 AM
cool !!! simply and detail explanation littlebigone... thanks.

seems like if i just need to publish my own information and all the resources come from myself only, i only need static page will do, right? so that each time i have new info, i will update the page and upload it again, thats' all...

right?

~ roy ~

16-11-2003, 11:25 AM
yups. I think that would be the simplest. :)

But like I said, you could also choose implement a blog-liked module to do the updates for you.

royston
16-11-2003, 11:37 AM
hi littlebigone, i don't understand what is blog-liked module. How to do that?

~ roy ~

16-11-2003, 12:01 PM
i think what he meant is to use any php blog package that you can download off the net .. normally these packages/modules are equipped with administrative functions that allow you to add/modify news/articles without having to modify the pages ... look at the forum as an example ... whenever someone posts a msg the msg is not added to the forum right away ... instead, it's stored in the database in the server .. only when a visitor chooses to view the forum that the msg will be compiled in a form of a page and sent to the visitor to be viewed in his web browser ...

royston
16-11-2003, 12:47 PM
Ok... now i understand. Something like the java script that we can download from the net, some ready-made package, right?

Wow... thanks you guys. Asking you guys will be much more convenient than looking through the internet... haha!! Coz you guys are amazing!!

~ roy ~

18-11-2003, 04:36 PM
can i ask problem psl cinta tak? haha...No laa..just kidding. Just that nvr found any love-related stuff on Recom. cool man!

royston
18-11-2003, 05:12 PM
Hey Tassy,

Well, I am not sure will it be a dream or reality but part of our plan is to make Recom a network for students and employees (ex-students, ex-recommmers). I have suggested that we separate the Recom forum into two portions, for students and employees. For employees' portion, we will talk about working experiences, knowledge sharing, problems discussion as well as some mentally-tortured issue.

If this plan will be true, probably there is something for you to talk about love... haha... :P Anyway, Recom is still young, we have to develop it to slowly grown up, strategically plan out our development tactic and so on.

~ roy ~