View Full Version : English

28-06-2004, 03:09 AM
here you can post on English modules.

27-07-2004, 07:02 AM
Is there any info on furthering studies in English? I mean after my degree course in I.T, I might want to further my Master in English, is it possible?

lyzzy
09-12-2004, 12:39 PM
why only english modules?

why not english major/degree?
Jeep Tornado engine (http://www.dodge-wiki.com/wiki/Jeep_Tornado_engine)

10-12-2004, 06:51 AM
why only english modules?

why not english major/degree?

What are the differences? Do modules mean like a subject that one from diff major can take up?

PeiWen, you planning to do Masters In English? Is there such a course? What is it for? I think postgraduate in English is more towards teaching profession? Any comments anyone?

lyzzy
11-12-2004, 01:59 PM
Yeah, I think modules are like optional topics within other degrees.
iphone games (http://macgame.org)

15-01-2005, 03:51 AM
Just wondering, those overseas...do you speak English like the locals? Or Malaysian accents? :roll:

EricFu
28-01-2005, 11:49 AM
Well, I think when you speak with locals, try not to include the meaningless "lah" or "mah" which are the hallmarks of Malaysian English. However, very often, you will tend to speak in Malaysian way when you speak to fellow Malaysians in overseas.

linglingling
23-02-2005, 12:45 PM
I guess even when you speak English without the "mah" and the "lah" people may not 100% understand if you still have some sort of a 'foreign' accent - whatever that is.

Of course, Malays at the uni would tend to still add some Malay words while Chinese Malaysian would want to speak in Chinese to you....whatever goes for me, I guess.

linglingling
23-02-2005, 01:02 PM
PandaBoy:
There are programs like Masters in English, Masters in English Literature, as well as Masters in TESL (Teaching English as a Second Language) or TESOL (Teaching English to Speakers of Other Languages). MA in English or English Literature -- usually include studies in literature, creative writing, rhetoric and the teaching of writing as main emphases. MA in TESL/TESOL/Applied Linguistics -- usually include basic branches of linguistics such as phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, language acquisition, sociolinguistics, and etc. (blah..blah....the list goes on)

Many people do not work in the field in which they have their degree in, so it does not necessarily mean you need to teach, although that is a common option. To quote some examples, you can be a researcher, you could write a book on best practices (on this topic), or perhaps, you could work as a content editor or writer for a journal or be a web-content writer or something. I'm just throwing things out there.

Teaching English to speakers of other languages is an eye-opening experience 8O and you'll meet people from all walks of life....almost from different parts of the world (depending on the avenue that you land on).

25-02-2005, 05:55 AM
I cannot stand it! I'm too used to speaking Manglish back in Malaysia, I can hardly construct a good sentence with good grammar. >_< It's so stressful even to just open my mouth and talk....making me an even quieter person than ever....

linglingling... thanks for the info about masters in english.

linglingling
25-02-2005, 09:58 AM
I cannot stand it! I'm too used to speaking Manglish back in Malaysia, I can hardly construct a good sentence with good grammar. >_< It's so stressful even to just open my mouth and talk....making me an even quieter person than ever....

How long will you be in UK? I am sure you will (and I hope you will) make good use of the exposure especially when you have to mingle with other people from UK as well. I felt weird too when I called home and when my dad would advise me in English (which I have no idea why sometimes he would just speak to me in English -- it did not happen very often when I was in Malaysia; though I know he only speaks in English to his staff......).

Occassionally I still meet Malaysians...and I could differentiate their accent, somehow I cannot differentiate mine...hard for me to be conscious of my accent, you know what I mean? Better open your mouth and speak...otherwise you wouldn't learn from mistakes.....I think. It'd be more stressful if you are not used to it but one day you need to do presentation in front of class, or contribute to discussions for a project or, present at conferences.....or something like that.

balderdash
10-04-2005, 12:34 AM
"You mean you are Malaysian? But you speak good English!"
Man...I've gotten this one too many times here in Singapore. Sucks big time. What I feel is that the reason behind this stereotype is because many of us from SMJKs and Chinese independant highs are not exactly exposed to an English speaking environment. To speak English would deem one to be apart from the rest and yea.....you get the picture...

However - what's this thread about anyway? I am a E lit major that's why I clicked on it...

12-04-2005, 02:34 AM

How long will you be in UK? I am sure you will (and I hope you will) make good use of the exposure especially when you have to mingle with other people from UK as well. I felt weird too when I called home and when my dad would advise me in English (which I have no idea why sometimes he would just speak to me in English -- it did not happen very often when I was in Malaysia; though I know he only speaks in English to his staff......).

Occassionally I still meet Malaysians...and I could differentiate their accent, somehow I cannot differentiate mine...hard for me to be conscious of my accent, you know what I mean? Better open your mouth and speak...otherwise you wouldn't learn from mistakes.....I think. It'd be more stressful if you are not used to it but one day you need to do presentation in front of class, or contribute to discussions for a project or, present at conferences.....or something like that.

Will be here for 3 years. Really hope I can improve on my English. Now I can speak with British accents a bit but sounded very weird and so-not-me....hehe. So I just stick with my usual way of speaking English...

Accents in Malaysians? I can't differentiate...are there different accents in Malaysian English? :?

linglingling
15-04-2005, 10:54 AM
Pandaboy: I don't know about you or anyone else but I do think there is. Especially when you do talk with friends back in Malaysia. It is hard to know...it is like it is hard to see yourself in the mirror and think you gain weight until someone says so or if your pants won't fit anymore.

linglingling
15-04-2005, 10:55 AM
"You mean you are Malaysian? But you speak good English!"
Man...I've gotten this one too many times here in Singapore. Sucks big time. What I feel is that the reason behind this stereotype is because many of us from SMJKs and Chinese independant highs are not exactly exposed to an English speaking environment. To speak English would deem one to be apart from the rest and yea.....you get the picture...

However - what's this thread about anyway? I am a E lit major that's why I clicked on it...

No idea what this thread is...just feel like sharing thoughts.

16-04-2005, 04:54 PM
Honestly, I cannot tell what type of English I'm speaking now. It's not exactly Manglish because I've been sort of "affected" by Singaporeans Singlish. Singlish, FYI, has more Hokkien in it.

balderdash
17-04-2005, 01:02 AM
What I learnt in linguistics class is that there is no such thing as 'good English', only variations of the English language. It took me about a couple of months to shake that down :) But I am cool with it now :)

Just curious - anyone here who is an English major as well? I was previously enrolled into the UM's English programme but I left UM to go to NUS after 2.5 days...

lotus
18-07-2005, 11:36 PM
I was brought up with the mantra that "Reading is the tried and tested way to improve written English or any language for the matter"
Now how about speaking? What do you advise someone? :D

stephanie118
25-07-2005, 05:44 AM
I was brought up with the mantra that "Reading is the tried and tested way to improve written English or any language for the matter"

yea ur right! if u wanna improve ur writing skill, reading is the best way! unfortunately, i dont read n this is the reason y i cant write well... (u'll know juz by looking at the way i typed here).. hmm.. speaking n listening do not cause any problems to me~ juz writing! i am so ashame of myself to type in English as i've been living in the UK for nearly 3 years.. Writing is my nightmare :evil: its not the language problem, it's juz that i am not good at writing.. cant blame any1 for that really... sigh...........

lotus
10-08-2005, 10:54 PM

yea ur right! if u wanna improve ur writing skill, reading is the best way! unfortunately, i dont read n this is the reason y i cant write well... (u'll know juz by looking at the way i typed here).. hmm.. speaking n listening do not cause any problems to me~ juz writing! i am so ashame of myself to type in English as i've been living in the UK for nearly 3 years.. Writing is my nightmare :evil: its not the language problem, it's juz that i am not good at writing.. cant blame any1 for that really... sigh...........
Hey, you write pretty well actually. More posts in forums would help and blogging too I should think :wink:

sweetiojj
26-05-2007, 12:25 AM
can i know wher can i get reference bk bout ESL studies? what kind of reference bk do u al recommend?

08-06-2007, 03:02 PM

Can u speak well?

yhc
16-06-2007, 12:22 AM

...Writing is my nightmare its not the language problem, it's juz that i am not good at writing.....

hmm, not language problem, then?...sentence structures??

like me, my written english is poor in the sense that i cannot organize my sentences well and cant really deliver my messages sometimes...

24-06-2007, 10:38 PM
I think the problem is we know(or perhaps only me) know too lees words in english.