View Full Version : Economics

28-06-2004, 03:09 AM
Here you can post on Economics.

Anthony
12-06-2005, 11:45 PM
Is economics a good course?
i mean financially....=P
im finding other routes than JPA...in case (touchwood)

masdie
12-06-2005, 11:56 PM
to me, a good course will be a course that can guarantee you a secure job. and one of them is becoming a doctor. that's why you see so many people wanting to become doctors. this is one of the reason. can you secure a job with a degree in economics? i'm not sure. i think you have to be outstanding if you want to be successful. BUT if you really like economics, just go for it. just like being an artist, the pay isn't good but at least you enjoy it. i think if you enjoy it, subsequently you will do well in it (i hope)

balderdash
13-06-2005, 10:43 AM
To me, a good course is not just something that would 'guarantee a secure job' and probably earn you lots of moolah along the way. Ask yourself: What do you want when you grow up? Lots of money? A corporate career? A slightly alternative career? Indulging in your interests? Therefore, to me, money ain't everything here. Research the fields that you find your interests in, ask people who have done it before, look through the course syllabus offered by different unis, then make your comparison between what courses to take.

A university education is not just about getting that piece of paper at the end of the 3 or 4 years - it's about how you grow as a person at the end of your university life. Choose something you'd enjoy, not just something that will 'secure' you lots of money in the future. This is what I've observed about a lot of people in ReCom.

Then again, one man's meat is another man's poison.

Economics is a good route in a sense that (at least this is my guess) it's a more academic field of study as compared to say business or finance. Admittedly, I don't know much about the field of economics but the following webbies might give you a clearer view:
http://www.umanitoba.ca/student/counselling/WhatCanIDo/economics.html
http://www.swlearning.com/economics/career_resources_degree.html

Jhuen
13-06-2005, 04:48 PM
i think economics is a good course,if u mean in securing jobs..i see companies offering vacancies for ppl with econs degree every day...besides,if u love maths,i feel it's a good field to go into...u'll do maths and statistics all the time...besides,if u decide to switch to the finance side,u can take up CFA later..it's pretty flexible..

just my two cents worth!

khor_albert
13-06-2005, 10:56 PM
Well, I kinda agree and it always depends on how you define "good course". No doubt that the degree wil be kinda normal, but placement rate is usually high. You won't normally go starving with your econs degree. Chill out!

apple_dot
14-06-2005, 12:16 AM
I think it depends on which university you're going to enter. Like for me, I 'd applied econs for the universities in UK. If you get to enter LSE , for example, i think that it's quite secured, in some way, compared to graudating from other universities.

Besides that, you need to make sure that you're really interested in economics, as it is quite a dry subject.

All the best !

Jhuen
14-06-2005, 10:57 AM
i quite disagree with apple_dot's opinion...econs is the same,where ever u learn it...besides,it depends on your results.if u graduate with a lower CGPA from a uni in uk,u might not secure a job as fast as a graduate with a higher CGPA from a local uni,say University malaya....but,that doesnt mean that CGPA is all that counts..i believe that proficiency in english helps,what more,it's a course where you'll later deal with corporate figures..

but,i admit that interest is VERY important..it helps u to stay focus :)

bush
14-06-2005, 12:26 PM
i quite disagree with apple_dot's opinion...econs is the same,where ever u learn it...besides,it depends on your results.if u graduate with a lower CGPA from a uni in uk,u might not secure a job as fast as a graduate with a higher CGPA from a local uni,say University malaya....but,that doesnt mean that CGPA is all that counts..i believe that proficiency in english helps,what more,it's a course where you'll later deal with corporate figures..

but,i admit that interest is VERY important..it helps u to stay focus :)

If econs is the same in every institution, why in the world people are aiming to get into LSE or other top schools?

yes, u may be learning the same thing, but whether the graduates are the same cannot be said. The fact that u entered these schools indicates that u are good. That is why we see many of these graduates get head-hunted, the opportunities search for them and rarely the other way round.

Anthony
14-06-2005, 02:58 PM
even Anushree wants to take economics....

masdie
14-06-2005, 03:33 PM
if you want to land a job with a good pay with an economic degree in hand, you'll have to be outstanding. to me, there are 2 ways to be outstanding: 1) work your ass out and bring up your name, make it BIG, this is hard. 2)graduate from harvard or lse, this is also hard.

and people, don't deny the fact that we work for MONEY! working for passion is comething we can only see in fairy tales. grow uP!

ps: if you need an example of a successful man who speaks econ, lives econ and eats econ, click for PROFESSOR Danny Quah (http://www.allmalaysia.info/news/story.asp?file=/2004/5/3/msiansabroad/7847684&sec=mi_msiansabroad). he did engin in princeton, then masters in ECON in HARVARD! make him your role model people.

windy_city
14-06-2005, 04:33 PM
if you want to land a job with a good pay with an economic degree in hand, you'll have to be outstanding. to me, there are 2 ways to be outstanding: 1) work your ass out and bring up your name, make it BIG, this is hard. 2)graduate from harvard or lse, this is also hard.

and people, don't deny the fact that we work for MONEY! working for passion is comething we can only see in fairy tales. grow uP!

ps: if you need an example of a successful man who speaks econ, lives econ and eats econ, click for PROFESSOR Danny Quah (http://www.allmalaysia.info/news/story.asp?file=/2004/5/3/msiansabroad/7847684&sec=mi_msiansabroad). he did engin in princeton, then masters in ECON in HARVARD! make him your role model people.

Econ pays good, let me see, not really!! It still depends on what job you get and where you work. Econ is my major as well, but I do econ because I like it and I find it interesting, but if you think econ can earn you a lot of money, most likely not. It all depend on what job you get, you might be a history major but ended up with goldman sachs doing investment banking, you might earn 120k USD per year (with bonus) compare to your econ friends.

Major is not what determine how far you will go in life or how much you will get pay. It is the job that determines your pay.

Graduate from LSE then you will get good pay, haha, please be realistic, I know a LSE econ graduate who earned RM2200 per month working in KL. So again, where you graduate does not guarantee who much you get pay as well. It is you, your academic skills, your people skills, and you job that will determine whether you drive a kancil or a 7 series. Please be realistic, what you earn in life does not depends on your major or your school for that matters.

I dunno what the max you can get with an econ major here, but I have a friend, econ major, working in KL as a consultant, her starting pay was about 3400 ringgit (she started last year), I think that is quite high for fresh grad in Malaysia. Conclusion, it all depends on what job you get.

The concept of figuring your salary according to major is a gross estimation at best.

masdie
14-06-2005, 04:55 PM
Major is not what determine how far you will go in life or how much you will get pay. It is the job that determines your pay.

i hate to say this but erm, i guess i'll have to agree with windy_city on this. but i thought your major in a way or another determines your job scope?

14-06-2005, 05:06 PM

hey i take offence to that. i don't know how many people you've met in your lifetime, but i work for passion. i busted my ass with a meager salary the past year and will be taking a huge loan to pay for more education; to which upon graduation i will be eeking another series of lowpaying jobs until i make it big when i'm 70.

and i've met hundreds of people who work and live for their passions, contrary to your simplistic assumption.

---

as for the ongoing debate on economics, there are a billion jobs in store for an economics degree holder. it depends on the various fields within economics that you wish to pursue, like finance, policy-making, experimental economics, micro-economics, etc.

as for the rest of you guys, stop speculating on how much an economics degree holder earns. there are countless factors that determine your pay, ranging from your experience at school to your relationship with your boss. if you are good, you will be given due credit, no matter what job you earn.

also remember, although economics is about measuring money it doesn't mean you earn lots. sometimes we get swept away by the "billion" and "trillion" dollar numerations involved in the study of economics. for all you know, you could be a high school teacher with an economics degree if you enjoy it.

masdie
14-06-2005, 06:06 PM
hey i take offence to that. i don't know how many people you've met in your lifetime, but i work for passion. i busted my ass with a meager salary the past year and will be taking a huge loan to pay for more education; to which upon graduation i will be eeking another series of lowpaying jobs until i make it big when i'm 70.

and i've met hundreds of people who work and live for their passions, contrary to your simplistic assumption.

i'm sorry if my post offended you. and yeah maybe i don't meet much people throughout my 20 years of life. pardon my simplistic post.

however, if you work for passion and for that you are paid peanuts, then how do you support yourself? do you still go back tugging at your mommy's apron pleading her to help you pay your utility bills? or do you go find a second job to increase your monthly turnover? either way, you need money. passion itself doesn't bring you anywhere. unless you have rich parents(not everyone's parents are rich) or in-laws(haha, this is easier) or anyone who's willing to support you or you get a job you really like and pays you well (which not many people have).

in your case, you got yourself a huge loan to pay for further education but if you don't get enough a month to support yourself, how are you going to pay back your loan? don't tell me you're going to pay when you finally strike it big at 70.

balderdash
14-06-2005, 06:33 PM

---

as for the ongoing debate on economics, there are a billion jobs in store for an economics degree holder. it depends on the various fields within economics that you wish to pursue, like finance, policy-making, experimental economics, micro-economics, etc.

as for the rest of you guys, stop speculating on how much an economics degree holder earns. there are countless factors that determine your pay, ranging from your experience at school to your relationship with your boss. if you are good, you will be given due credit, no matter what job you earn.

also remember, although economics is about measuring money it doesn't mean you earn lots. sometimes we get swept away by the "billion" and "trillion" dollar numerations involved in the study of economics. for all you know, you could be a high school teacher with an economics degree if you enjoy it.

Kudos! Finally someone of the same wavelength as me!

balderdash
14-06-2005, 06:38 PM
i'm sorry if my post offended you. and yeah maybe i don't meet much people throughout my 20 years of life. pardon my simplistic post.

however, if you work for passion and for that you are paid peanuts, then how do you support yourself? do you still go back tugging at your mommy's apron pleading her to help you pay your utility bills? or do you go find a second job to increase your monthly turnover? either way, you need money. passion itself doesn't bring you anywhere. unless you have rich parents(not everyone's parents are rich) or in-laws(haha, this is easier) or anyone who's willing to support you or you get a job you really like and pays you well (which not many people have).

in your case, you got yourself a huge loan to pay for further education but if you don't get enough a month to support yourself, how are you going to pay back your loan? don't tell me you're going to pay when you finally strike it big at 70.

Again, one man's meat is another man's poison. We are all responsible adults here and I suppose when we say 'meagre' salary we still are able to live within our means. Besides, money wasn't really his point (my assumption).

From what I gather, his point was that we should not put all our emphasis (while we are deciding what to study) on how much we are going to earn in the future. Passion and interests should be a priority.

I understand where he is coming from totally, as I've taken a road less travelled with people coming up to me and telling me that I'd earn peanuts as a teacher and that with my not-too-bad results I shouldn't be a teacher.

I suppose everyone wants someone with a bad academic record to teach their kids.

Then again, I digress. This thread IS supposed to be about economics, after all.

masdie
14-06-2005, 07:18 PM
From what I gather, his point was that we should not put all our emphasis (while we are deciding what to study) on how much we are going to earn in the future. Passion and interests should be a priority.

all i want to say is that while we're busy dreaming about being what we dream of being, we should also take into account how we can generate enough income to continue doing stuff we want to do. i don't really care how much i get, as long as i get enough for me to be independant. you can make your own choice, place passion and interest at the top spot and only then money but i'll place money as number 1 and passion number 2.

I understand where he is coming from totally, as I've taken a road less travelled with people coming up to me and telling me that I'd earn peanuts as a teacher and that with my not-too-bad results I shouldn't be a teacher.

who says teachers are paid peanuts? even if you consider that peanuts, you can still cough up a few sessions of tuition a week to compensate that. :wink: and i truly support your aim of becoming a teacher. teaching is a noble profession. maybe i'll send my children to you next time.

Then again, I digress. This thread IS supposed to be about economics, after all.

err, i thought talking about money is somewhat related to economics?

14-06-2005, 11:12 PM

all i want to say is that while we're busy dreaming about being what we dream of being, we should also take into account how we can generate enough income to continue doing stuff we want to do. i don't really care how much i get, as long as i get enough for me to be independant. you can make your own choice, place passion and interest at the top spot and only then money but i'll place money as number 1 and passion number 2.

that's not what you said. you said:

your later post talked about the concern of making ends meet, which all of us have. however your earlier post claimed that everybody is like you, to have a lifelong objective of earning as much money as you can possibly can. wish you all the best.

however, if you work for passion and for that you are paid peanuts, then how do you support yourself? do you still go back tugging at your mommy's apron pleading her to help you pay your utility bills? or do you go find a second job to increase your monthly turnover? either way, you need money. passion itself doesn't bring you anywhere.

ever learnt the basic skill of saving money? prudent spending? i'm very much independent from my mother thank you.

i'll just have to work harder, don't i? why are you so afraid of paying up loans?

balderdash
14-06-2005, 11:20 PM
Again, ladies and gentlemen, it's whether where you want to place your priorities. While some choose passion over gold while others take the moolah over passion anyday, I don't think any of us would be in the position to criticise the choices of others in a generalised manner.

And I meant that this thread was to discuss the field of economics, the pros and cons of economics. Not necessarily about how much money it'd generate the person in the future. Then again, my bad for not being specific about what I meant by just saying that "This thread is supposed to be about economics." Specifics, good.

masdie
15-06-2005, 12:11 AM

that's not what you said. you said:

your later post talked about the concern of making ends meet, which all of us have. however your earlier post claimed that everybody is like you, to have a lifelong objective of earning as much money as you can possibly can. wish you all the best.

i don't think i said anything about 'earning as much money as you possibly can'. all i did was to stress how important money is. and i thought that money is of a substantial amount of importance in everyone's life. guess i was wrong huh? but i am sure the money factor is one of the reasons why we are working, maybe not the topmost factor but it is still a reason. you are making me look like a person who only sees money and nothing else.

this world is a big one, maybe there are people like you who works not for the money but for the passion. i thank you for your well-wish. and i wish you luck in your life, hope you can uphold your passion.

however, if you work for passion and for that you are paid peanuts, then how do you support yourself? do you still go back tugging at your mommy's apron pleading her to help you pay your utility bills? or do you go find a second job to increase your monthly turnover? either way, you need money. passion itself doesn't bring you anywhere.

ever learnt the basic skill of saving money? prudent spending? i'm very much independent from my mother thank you.

i'll just have to work harder, don't i? why are you so afraid of paying up loans?

work harder means generating more cash. paying up loans needs cash.

ps: the upbringing of a child determines how the child thinks. a child from a rich family usually doesn't need to worry about money. a child not from a well-to-do family usually has to think before spending. but then again, i might be wrong.

15-06-2005, 12:19 AM
thanks dash.

well there are no cons to economics. it's just an academic field by itself. and like any academic pursuit it encompasses many perspectives and nuances and people can argue day and night until the cows go home and no agreements can be reached.

if you want to know if economics is right for you, pick up a newspaper article or a magazine like The Economist. read articles about trade, exchange rates, company behaviors, etc. and if you are excited about how they work, then economics is for you. otherwise it's boring as hell.

balderdash
15-06-2005, 12:27 AM
ps: the upbringing of a child determines how the child thinks. a child from a rich family usually doesn't need to worry about money. a child not from a well-to-do family usually has to think before spending. but then again, i might be wrong.

Yeah you are probably wrong :P

And hehe....dash....I feel like the cool kid from The Incredibles...

Anthony
17-06-2005, 07:25 PM
well thx for the tips..

frashdi
17-06-2005, 09:00 PM
i want to ask sumting..what will we learn in economics and what the differences between economics and business..i mean for IB actually

Randomphantom
18-06-2005, 12:34 AM
I am also very much interested in Econs, having had just a sem of it. However, there's some things about it that sdoesn't sit well with me. Its not really a science, there aren't any repeatable experiments, and there is no empirical evidence to support your arguments. Nothing is tried and true and at the end of all the arguments you make, your speculation might be totally off.

It seems to me that when something in econ happens, such as the recent declining interest rates in US, economists will attempt to find any possible rational explanation they can think of. Rather than working the other way.

But then again, attempting to describe human behavior by mere models is quite an impossible task. That's why I get that feeling that its cool to study, but its rather imprecise and relatively *cough* useless.

18-06-2005, 04:36 AM
I am also very much interested in Econs, having had just a sem of it. However, there's some things about it that sdoesn't sit well with me. Its not really a science, there aren't any repeatable experiments, and there is no empirical evidence to support your arguments.

Econ is a science. A social science but science nonetheless. In fact, if you get to higher level economics, you'll find economics is filled with higher level mathematics. (wait till you get to statistics, econometrics and game theory. Those are killers)

Concerning the experiment, there are experiments. It's called natural experiments though you can't redo it in the lab. And then, there are models that you do in computers.

or, you could try to convince some countries (like China and Soviet Union in the past) and do some social engineering.

Nothing is tried and true and at the end of all the arguments you make, your speculation might be totally off.

Well, that might be true but the big bang theory suffers the same problem as all theoretical subjects. Furthermore, bare in mind, economics is one of youngest subject. Modern economics and in particular macroeconomics was born in the 1930s. And some of the well-known theories in economics was built up as late as the 1990s.

One more thing is lag. Whenever happens, there is always a lag and that is why we don't see anything whenever something is triggered.

It seems to me that when something in econ happens, such as the recent declining interest rates in US, economists will attempt to find any possible rational explanation they can think of. Rather than working the other way.

er, that is what economists do. even investigators of natural sciences do that don't you agree?

But then again, attempting to describe human behavior by mere models is quite an impossible task. That's why I get that feeling that its cool to study, but its rather imprecise and relatively *cough* useless.

It's hard but not impossible. And might be imprecise and it is not useless. In fact, you'll realize that almost all of policies done by any government is dependent on economics.

Energy is economics. Labor is economics. Money is economics. Happiness is economics. Crime is economics. Our world is economics. Almost everything in our lives is economics. If you don't believe me, try go out and take a walk outside in the park, in the city, etc. Heck, this might be pushing it but the way electron uses the least resistance path is economics.

Let's think of it this way - economics is a crystal ball that we all found just last week and we are still trying to figure out how to use it.

p/s - if you want to get rich in economics, do just one of its subsets, finance. But trust me, you'll be working 7 days a week if you work with investment banks (if you decide to go to the financial world where the pay is probably the highest).

Randomphantom
18-06-2005, 08:35 PM
I didn't mean that economics is totally useless. Economics is quite useful in that it allows one a better understanding of how things work in this material world of infinite wants and scarce resources. In a simple word, its basically decision making. I take it as another method of approaching any problem.

However, this crystal ball might turn out to be useless in predicting the future outcomes at all. There is no solid proof that it works, just that it does most of the time.

20-06-2005, 12:55 AM
That's the beauty of economics - it's a constantly evolving science. Besides, the purpose of studying economics is not entirely to predict the future, but to gauge the types of outcomes when given any situation. At least with economics, we (or policy makers) make better decisions for any given circumstance.

Think of economics as a game of chess. For every move you make, you can predict the types multitude of reactions on the board. "If I move this, my opponent will move that.. If I move that, my opponent will move this.. and then I could move that, but he might move this... etc"

Also economics is not only about GDP and export and import and all things macro. The study of economics also encapsulates other things like human behavior or firm behavior. So for example, if a company wants to make a profit, the economist will tell them that it needs to make a marginal revenue that exceeds its marginal cost.

qtezt_gurlz
29-06-2005, 10:09 AM
is there any web about... the basic of economics ??....b'coz i have no idea about this subject... im taking act.sc but when i was in secondary school im taking pure science so i never learn economics b4....hope someone can help me.....

jackjack
29-06-2005, 10:43 PM
What are the job prospects of an economics graduate? Economist?Market analyst?

bush
29-06-2005, 10:51 PM
I have a friend who is interested in economics, bit his mathematics is horrible.......

29-06-2005, 11:05 PM
He might be useful in the research team since he has interest in doing it.. let the experts do the calculation and stuff

bush
29-06-2005, 11:36 PM
He might be useful in the research team since he has interest in doing it.. let the experts do the calculation and stuff

beofre u join a reseach team, u should have a degree in economics and this is where the problem starts.....

30-06-2005, 01:31 AM
is there any web about... the basic of economics ??....b'coz i have no idea about this subject... im taking act.sc but when i was in secondary school im taking pure science so i never learn economics b4....hope someone can help me.....

Wikipedia has almost a complete description of economics at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Economics.

Or, a short answer to that question, it's about supply and demand and everything related to it.

30-06-2005, 02:37 AM
beofre u join a reseach team, u should have a degree in economics and this is where the problem starts.....

humm this mess things up... he has to work in a McD restaurant now.. (just joking)...

i think he should be given a chance.. maybe as the assistant of the researcher... or if not.. as the assistant of the assistant of the researcher

Anthony
30-06-2005, 01:57 PM
Which should I go?

Sunway AUSMAT JPA Actuarial science

or

KYUEM A levels UEM Ecoonomics?

Jhuen
30-06-2005, 03:12 PM
main question here is;which course do u prefer??what do you wanna do next time??be an actuary or an economist?

Anthony
30-06-2005, 04:42 PM
I choose to have a course which is banyak duit.....i mean at the end of it..
p/s I dun like or have passion for either but when I choose one I will force myself to do it and im pretty capable of changing courses...haaah

wat i mean is I dun mind studying any course..funny right? but people like me do exist...

Jhuen
01-07-2005, 02:52 PM
I choose to have a course which is banyak duit.....i mean at the end of it..
p/s I dun like or have passion for either but when I choose one I will force myself to do it and im pretty capable of changing courses...haaah

wat i mean is I dun mind studying any course..funny right? but people like me do exist...

wow,sounds a bit money-minded..but hey,who isnt right?(at least a bit!) :wink: of the two,i'm no so sure which is more lucrative,but everyone says that being an actuary guarantees wealth!but,i suppose it really depends on a number of things;like the organisation you work in..if it's a big company,they pay more..and if u've got a higher post,your pay will also be higher..

ermm,no passion for either??no even a bit??wow..amazing..but do bear in mind that when you work next time,passion will make sure you work harder to succeed..so,choose your course carefully! :)

the_losing_end
01-07-2005, 03:13 PM
u shud take uem i think...u will be bonded to the lousy government office for ten awwww-ful years if u take jpa... uem will guarantee u a place in their organisation after graduating and working for uem.. hurm.. i think u will make big bucks..and since u have no passion for either course, it means you would have no regrets as well if you take either course..

everyone wants to be the next donald trump, so if money is your main motivation, then jpa certainly is not suitable for you.. moreover, there's reportedly only 5 (FIVE!) uem scholars... acn u imagine how much money will u get even when u r studying?

and uem always sends its scholars to UK.. well, eurotrip anyone?

01-07-2005, 03:14 PM
p/s - if you want to get rich in economics, do just one of its subsets, finance. But trust me, you'll be working 7 days a week if you work with investment banks (if you decide to go to the financial world where the pay is probably the highest).

Second that, provided that the economy is good. The highest Tax payer in Japan for year 2004 was a fundmanager and there were 4 of the top 10 tax payers were from the same field.

Economics is ... err studies on how to make full use of the resources we have to make most people happy.

p/s: again, I hate myself for cant expressing myself well in English.

Jhuen
01-07-2005, 03:23 PM
huh??anthony,u got uem as well??wow,congrats!i second schye,working for jpa definitely wont earn u big bucks. :wink:

the_losing_end
01-07-2005, 03:43 PM
p/s: again, I hate myself for cant expressing myself well in English.

haha ... agree agree..

chriistney
23-02-2007, 05:21 PM
can i know the difference between economics and business administration?

kua_90
12-03-2008, 10:28 PM
anyone care to englighten me about this course ? cuz i think i want to apply for jpa scholarship but still thinking what do we learn from this course ?

WatermelonSeed
20-03-2008, 05:52 PM
If I'm not mistaken, JPA offers Economics degree scholarship to art stream students whereas Eonomics is a social science subject which should be offered to science students as well if they are interested.
It depends where you will take your Economics degree. An economics degree teaches you the basic economic principles where you will get to understand how economic decisions are made in this world (most of the time, under the influence of political power). It is very much a general subject and you do not specialised in a particular area, unless you choose to (eg, econometrics). However, an Economics degree is very much mathematical based and you are advised to have a strong foundation in mathematics. You'll have to do research and you will be trained to think critically. Modules that you might learn under Economics may include: Microeconomics, Macroeconomis, Econometrics, Government, History of (a country's) Economy, International Trade, Growth, Game Theory. Do PM me if you want to find out more, it's hard to explain all the details here.
Good luck in your application.

caramel_nut
20-03-2008, 06:24 PM
anyone care to englighten me about this course ? cuz i think i want to apply for jpa scholarship but still thinking what do we learn from this course ?Hmmm... I think it is risky that you apply for Economics if you have totally no idea about the course. From your question, I am assuming that you have never taken Economics in SPM. If such is the case, and you do not take Accounting, there is no chance of you getting the JPA scholarship because JPA is very adamant about applicants fulfilling the requirements.

hfz
26-04-2008, 03:18 PM
Is anyone taking up this course? And for those who are in it, how is the course generally?

26-04-2008, 03:34 PM
Just merged FOUR threads with the title "economics". Members, please SEARCH before posting new threads. A good tip would be to set "search title only" when you search for a topic as broad as economics. I did it and four threads showed up in my search result.

teiya_drumzaddict
08-05-2008, 09:14 PM
Econ's graduates are in critical need actually. Quality ones I mean. I went to Khazanah's scholarship interview and they told that they need econ's graduates if that gives you the idea. Don't look down on economics. It's an important field in fact. I see a lot of really successful people who are graduates in economics. The Bank Negara Gabenor Tan Sri Dr Zeti Akhtar's one. And so does some board directors of Khazanah Nasional. You'll have a bright future if you're good at it. Be sure u dun just stop at degree

alepbing
08-05-2008, 09:32 PM
you see, when we study economics, it doesnt mean that all the graduates will be economists. there are many options for economics students in their career life. the main one is of course becoming economics analyst.

but also, they can be those executives in big companies. they can be directors in a lot of fields. they are also quite oftenly compete with those that graduated with business admin to get high posts in private companies. although i would say that economics graduates have bigger prospect compare tho those with business admin. why? because economics in overseas Us will teach you to use maths and make calculations in your work later on. unlike business admin. also, unlike local Us. local Us offer economics but they are taught in general... without the skill and techniques. so if you want to take on economics, make sure you take it abroad. where the Us award it as Bachelor of Science in Economics

Agatheiz
09-05-2008, 12:27 AM
local Us offer economics but they are taught in general... without the skill and techniques.

Just wondering, how do you know about this? If I am not wrong, local U's economics can specialized in certain fields like financial economics, developmental economics, agriculture economics etc, etc. i THINK private U in Malaysia dont have. Overseas got?

caramel_nut
09-05-2008, 12:31 AM
so if you want to take on economics, make sure you take it abroad. where the Us award it as Bachelor of Science in EconomicsNot entirely true. It depends on which university you are referring to. Harvard for example, awards BA not BSc. Only a small number of universities in the world actually teach quantitative economics (heavy on calculus), instead of qualitative economics. Most Ivies teach qualitative economics rather than quantitative (which I think is only taught by MIT, UChicago and a few others).

alepbing
09-05-2008, 12:43 AM
Just wondering, how do you know about this? If I am not wrong, local U's economics can specialized in certain fields like financial economics, developmental economics, agriculture economics etc, etc. i THINK private U in Malaysia dont have. Overseas got?

i found out after reading their prospectus. i asked my dad and his collegues, they said that companies prefer BSc. and depends too, most local Unis award it as BA. however, you must really check by each Unis because I just checked the ones that i am interested to study in la hehe :)) so you check on. maybe my mistake too since i generalised it too much. sorry

Not entirely true. It depends on which university you are referring to. Harvard for example, awards BA not BSc. Only a small number of universities in the world actually teach quantitative economics (heavy on calculus), instead of qualitative economics. Most Ivies teach qualitative economics rather than quantitative (which I think is only taught by MIT, UChicago and a few others).

sorry, i think you mistakenly read 'Us' as United States. By "Us" i mean universities. sorry for the shortform. and top schools in UK like LSE and UCL actually taught the skills and methods (so i heard from my acquaintances studying there)

09-05-2008, 02:40 AM
Quantitative economics is highly emphasized in the UK economic courses. This is most evident in top tier institutions such as Oxbridge, LSE and Warwick.

caramel_nut
09-05-2008, 05:29 AM
Quantitative economics is highly emphasized in the UK economic courses. This is most evident in top tier institutions such as Oxbridge, LSE and Warwick.Actually econs exchange students from Cambridge in my college told me that they are surprised to see so much of calculus in our econs subject structures. As far as I know, Oxbridge's econs tend to be pretty qualitative as well. Oxbridge students write a lot of essays in Economics, while students who follow a quantitative approach don't write essays (like seriously no essay at all), they only do calculus and derive equations throughout their course.

teiya_drumzaddict
09-05-2008, 01:07 PM
May anyone tell me what about taking econs in a Japan University? How's the approach there is it qualitative or quantitative?

silent_man
09-05-2008, 03:49 PM
yea..durin khazanah intview,i act asked dem wat critical courses dey needed,n it was economics n maths..so give it up for economics!

alepbing
09-05-2008, 03:54 PM
guys, i found out that you need four As in a-levels to get into Economics course in LSE. but for Economics and Mathematics, they just request for AAAB. what does that mean eh? why is the requirement for Econs and Maths lower than Econs itself.

09-05-2008, 07:11 PM
Actually econs exchange students from Cambridge in my college told me that they are surprised to see so much of calculus in our econs subject structures. As far as I know, Oxbridge's econs tend to be pretty qualitative as well. Oxbridge students write a lot of essays in Economics, while students who follow a quantitative approach don't write essays (like seriously no essay at all), they only do calculus and derive equations throughout their course.

Lovely! I hate writing Economics essay....but I'm not doing econs anyway.

guys, i found out that you need four As in a-levels to get into Economics course in LSE. but for Economics and Mathematics, they just request for AAAB. what does that mean eh? why is the requirement for Econs and Maths lower than Econs itself.

4As??? Where did you get this?

alepbing
09-05-2008, 07:14 PM
4As??? Where did you get this?[/QUOTE]

when I asked the representatives from LSE and UCL. That was when they came to Malaysia. But I am not sure though, because based on the booklets I got, it said 3As. and the other one is AAB.

okay maybe i was wrong in hearing to that lady. sorry

09-05-2008, 10:38 PM
4As??? Where did you get this?

when I asked the representatives from LSE and UCL. That was when they came to Malaysia. But I am not sure though, because based on the booklets I got, it said 3As. and the other one is AAB.

okay maybe i was wrong in hearing to that lady. sorry[/QUOTE]

No no, no need to apologise. Economics in LSE is extreme competitive, there are so many applicants every year!

alepbing
09-05-2008, 10:53 PM
No no, no need to apologise. Economics in LSE is extreme competitive, there are so many applicants every year!

hm true. i saw in the booklet.. of 2800 applied, only 230 got accepted

IJI
29-11-2008, 12:21 AM
I think I can share with you how interesting economics is since I already 5 years in public sector doing economic analysis job.

It is not lame old kind of subjects if you take it positively. Sorry, I didn't take economics during secondary but I knew, it is boring and some more it is not related to practical usage. If you take it (economic theory) and relate it with current scenario, u name it, inflationary pressures, hike in oil price and even sub-prime in US, econ. can tell us a lot of thing. Ok. stop that. that one different issue.

I am aggree, some people with economics might end up as a teacher (i dont mind if they interested in teaching) and even doing sales job (maybe not so lucky, tough). But the sky is a limit. If you are damn good enough, (in economics), your place might not be here.

I tell you the truth, IMF, World Bank, ADB, IDB and other supranational agencies, are looking those who have economic background. And I know one guy, IMF Mission for Pakistan end-up retired rich (last drawn salary..around USD1 million per year) and buying Escott Condo, nearby KLCC for RM2.3 million for cash. And some more, have another 7-8 houses around the world.

Same for Khazanah, BNM, SC..they also highly regard for those who have economic background. But here, for those who already set in mind, to be a technical person, maybe economic is not their interest.

From economic, you can be either econometrician (the guy who deeply involved in forecasting and analysis with all sort of mathematic formula and relationship), financial economist (looking at interest rate, reserve), development economist (looking at development project, infra, sectoral) or labour economist (looking at salary, wages, unemployment).

And from economist, you will be able to jump ship to finance or business. Even, if you take finance masters and MBA, economic will be taught during your first year.

I plan to further my studies in MBA(Finance) or Finance (MSF) or Financial Engineering. What i can say, my 5 years experience in economics really give me huge benefit from the macro aspect (you will see everything from helicopter view, hehe).

Those, who really want to do economics, go ahead, I support you (morally, haa....not financially). Actually, our Malaysian, we lack of good economists, we have, but only few. Zeti and KS Jomo are among the best.

Athersin
07-12-2008, 09:56 AM
i do think of majoring in Pharmacy plus a minor in economics..

a combination of sciences and arts subjects ..a major science plus a minor arts..

Is that possible ?

Leen
10-12-2008, 06:05 PM
i do think of majoring in Pharmacy plus a minor in economics..

a combination of sciences and arts subjects ..a major science plus a minor arts..

Is that possible ?

Everything is possible. I have a friend who is a statistics, economics, and neuroscience major. Now where does that come from? Lol.

gerrard93
04-05-2011, 05:02 PM
Hi:) Is it better to study econs in uk or us?

06-05-2011, 11:26 PM

Is that possible ?

Should be possible.

Also, you can do double degree if you want :wink

huz010
05-06-2011, 10:11 AM
I reject econs course at UIA and do pharmacy-medic at CUCMS