View Full Version : All About Admission Into NUS (2010/2011 Cohort)
celestial_sacred
03-02-2010, 10:29 PM
Dear all, this thread is specially for those who are applying for courses in the National University of Singapore (NUS) this year. Feel free to discuss anything related to the thread.
Anyone aiming for NUS? Or as a backup plan?
Oh gosh, time flies. I feel old. o___o
More on my experience (maybe a step-to-step guide) of the extremely-long-and-super-confusing-admission-application-procedures to NUS as an STPM-leaver will be updated~
XterNalz
03-02-2010, 11:41 PM
I'm applying to NUS (School of Computing) with Advanced Placement qualification (which doesn't involve STPM). I would like to ask a few questions.
Can I submit a letter of recommendation even though NUS says it is not required? I think it will be quite significant because it is written by a quite renowned person.
Should I submit my university transcripts? I'm currently doing Foundation in IT at Multimedia University. My CGPA is pretty fine.
I am interested to school of computing,but the opening for STPM is still not open yet. Impatient. LOL.
missyrainy
04-02-2010, 09:09 AM
I'm planning to apply for Bachelor of Arts :D Is it very difficult to get into the Bachelor of Arts as what I heard, there are many students who are aiming for it.
celestial_sacred
14-02-2010, 04:42 AM
Can I submit a letter of recommendation even though NUS says it is not required? I think it will be quite significant because it is written by a quite renowned person.
Should I submit my university transcripts? I'm currently doing Foundation in IT at Multimedia University. My CGPA is pretty fine.
I don't see any harm doing so. :)
ling910520
14-02-2010, 09:06 PM
Can anyone figure out a way survive at NUS without a single sen sponsoring from parents . I know about bursaries provided for NUS students but it is only 1500sg FOR 1 sem . I need money to pay for tuition fee , living expenses , house rent and miscellaneous fee . My parents dont want sponsor me to study there , sigh
wcing
02-03-2010, 11:20 PM
I'm a fresh SPM school leaver currently waiting for my results. I'm a Science student and have the intention of studying Science in F6 before applying to NUS Business School. Does anyone know what is the probability of getting into NUS Business School for a Science student?
(I remember reading something about this topic here before, but I just couldn't find that page, so I hope it's okay to ask here again).
Does NUS accept Science Students who apply for business/commerce to their Business School? Because I don't think I'll survive studying commerce in Malay which is the only option I have if I'm to convert to commerce stream in F6.
And also, if I choose to do a foundation programme in either a private college or local U(using UTAR as an example here), can I apply to NUS for an Undergraduate Degree after completing my foundation locally? Cause I've checked that to be eligible to apply for admission, one needs the following : the Singapore-Cambridge G.C.E. ?A? level certificate; a diploma from a Singapore polytechnic; or equivalent qualifications such as the NUS High School Diploma or International Baccalaureate Diploma. (btw, what do they mean by NUS High School Diploma? Does anyone know?)
Is anyone here currently under NUS Special Undergraduate Programmes (Double degree, Concurrent Degree and Double Major)? Care to elaborate on how to get into these programmes? cause i'm not having a very clear idea but a vague one on how people apply and get into university and all those stuff.
Thank you in advance to everyone.
Holyboy27
02-03-2010, 11:48 PM
Guys, I have a cgpa of 3.67. How would i fare if i wanna apply for asean scholarship and biomedicine?
sofiazee
03-03-2010, 12:33 AM
I'm a fresh SPM school leaver currently waiting for my results. I'm a Science student and have the intention of studying Science in F6 before applying to NUS Business School. Does anyone know what is the probability of getting into NUS Business School for a Science student?
(I remember reading something about this topic here before, but I just couldn't find that page, so I hope it's okay to ask here again).
Does NUS accept Science Students who apply for business/commerce to their Business School? Because I don't think I'll survive studying commerce in Malay which is the only option I have if I'm to convert to commerce stream in F6.
And also, if I choose to do a foundation programme in either a private college or local U(using UTAR as an example here), can I apply to NUS for an Undergraduate Degree after completing my foundation locally? Cause I've checked that to be eligible to apply for admission, one needs the following : the Singapore-Cambridge G.C.E. ?A? level certificate; a diploma from a Singapore polytechnic; or equivalent qualifications such as the NUS High School Diploma or International Baccalaureate Diploma. (btw, what do they mean by NUS High School Diploma? Does anyone know?)
Is anyone here currently under NUS Special Undergraduate Programmes (Double degree, Concurrent Degree and Double Major)? Care to elaborate on how to get into these programmes? cause i'm not having a very clear idea but a vague one on how people apply and get into university and all those stuff.
Thank you in advance to everyone.
I'm not from NUS (hopefully soon! :P) but yeah you've got to check out the entry requirements for NUS Business School and make the right / wisest choice. STPM is not as easy as you think! (When you've set your goal in sth language is not a barrier lol!) Check out the int'l qualifications they accept here (http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/apply/international/admissionreq/BYA-admissionreq.html#qualification).
For double degree and concurrent degree, you can apply when you apply for NUS. As for double major, think you'll only settle that when you enter uni. Foundation is usually only applicable for admission into degree courses in the same uni, ie you take foundation course in UTAR, you'll enter UTAR for your degree. I'm not sure whether there are exceptional cases.
It's best of course to ask around seniors, stalk NUS students on FB etc to know more.
Can anyone figure out a way survive at NUS without a single sen sponsoring from parents . I know about bursaries provided for NUS students but it is only 1500sg FOR 1 sem . I need money to pay for tuition fee , living expenses , house rent and miscellaneous fee . My parents dont want sponsor me to study there , sigh
Bank loans?
Singapore Scholarship is still open for application till 22 Mar I think. Application to NUS automatically consider you for ASEAN scholarship. These 2 offer full scholarship, including living expenses.
cheanrocks
03-03-2010, 12:39 AM
Guys, I have a cgpa of 3.67. How would i fare if i wanna apply for asean scholarship and biomedicine?
To get into Biomedicine, you would have to apply for Life Science which is under Science. About ASEAN Scholarship, by applying for admission into NUS, you will automatically be considered for ASEAN Scholarship but chances are quite low for STPM students (from what I observed) although I may be wrong.
day_dreamer
03-03-2010, 12:42 AM
Besides ASEAN scholarship you can try kuok foundation scholarship also.
I would suggest that you list Science as the first choice and not other impossible to get courses like pharmacy or engineering as you will stand a better chance to get into NUS :)
if we apply for science course, does that mean that we can choose our majors later for example biotech, biomedic, ect?
wcing
03-03-2010, 06:30 PM
I'm not from NUS (hopefully soon! :P) but yeah you've got to check out the entry requirements for NUS Business School and make the right / wisest choice. STPM is not as easy as you think! (When you've set your goal in sth language is not a barrier lol!) Check out the int'l qualifications they accept here (http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/apply/international/admissionreq/BYA-admissionreq.html#qualification).
For double degree and concurrent degree, you can apply when you apply for NUS. As for double major, think you'll only settle that when you enter uni. Foundation is usually only applicable for admission into degree courses in the same uni, ie you take foundation course in UTAR, you'll enter UTAR for your degree. I'm not sure whether there are exceptional cases.
It's best of course to ask around seniors, stalk NUS students on FB etc to know more.
Thanks for replying.
So now you're an STPM school leaver applying for NUS?(which programme) Were you a Science or Commerce Student? I agree with you on this -"When you've set your goal in sth language is not a barrier" but I had also seen some notes about econ(in bm), I was totally disinterested and "turned off"(know it's an unsuitable word to use here, but it's how I felt).hehe
And this is the epitome of the situation I'm talking about
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=291338&postcount=395
and good luck for the application.
cheanrocks
03-03-2010, 06:55 PM
if we apply for science course, does that mean that we can choose our majors later for example biotech, biomedic, ect?
For this you will have to apply for Life Science which is under Science. You will only be streamed into 3 different specializations - Biomedical Sciences, Cell Biology or Biology in Year 3. I think they're offering Forensic Science too for this academic year, not too sure about that because I'm not from Life Science.
Anyway, for more information, visit this website http://www.dbs.nus.edu.sg/education/undergraduates(prospective)/
XterNalz
03-03-2010, 07:07 PM
Thanks for replying.
So now you're an STPM school leaver applying for NUS?(which programme) Were you a Science or Commerce Student? I agree with you on this -"When you've set your goal in sth language is not a barrier" but I had also seen some notes about econ(in bm), I was totally disinterested and "turned off"(know it's an unsuitable word to use here, but it's how I felt).hehe
My NUS application has got nothing to do with local Foundation course!! Just treat me like someone who has taken STPM or A-level as a private candidate. This road is not easy, don't be like me. It is better to enroll in Form 6 or A-level if you would like to apply to NUS.
*I didn't have a choice.
Holyboy27
03-03-2010, 08:42 PM
Now I understand! Thank you very much!
Thomson90
03-03-2010, 09:58 PM
Hi guys, is NUS opened for application now?? For stpm leaver??
And could anyone be nice enough to enlighten me the rough procedure of applying the full scholarship to study in NUS?
What's different between Asean scholarship and NUS scholarship? Are they the same?
THANKS. Sorry im kinda ridiculously clueless on this case.
XterNalz
03-03-2010, 10:05 PM
Hi guys, is NUS opened for application now?? For stpm leaver??
And could anyone be nice enough to enlighten me the rough procedure of applying the full scholarship to study in NUS?
What's different between Asean scholarship and NUS scholarship? Are they the same?
THANKS. Sorry im kinda ridiculously clueless on this case.
The only scholarship offered by NUS for international students is ASEAN. You will be considered for the interview if the office of admissions thinks that you are well qualified enough. No additional application is required.
Thomson90
03-03-2010, 10:19 PM
i didnt quite get it. Isn't i supposed to apply online first or something? How are they going to shortlist me without me giving them my details and results?? Thanks.
XterNalz
03-03-2010, 10:21 PM
i didnt quite get it. Isn't i supposed to apply online first or something? How are they going to shortlist me without me giving them my details and results?? Thanks.
You would have to submit the online application form first followed by supporting documents.
sofiazee
03-03-2010, 11:58 PM
Thanks for replying.
I'm applying for NUS pharmacy, and apparently it's difficult to enter x__O I'm a Science student all along. And yesss I agree with you, about the language, hahaha. Passion do override though! And thanks :)
day_dreamer
04-03-2010, 12:07 AM
For this you will have to apply for Life Science which is under Science. You will only be streamed into 3 different specializations - Biomedical Sciences, Cell Biology or Biology in Year 3. I think they're offering Forensic Science too for this academic year, not too sure about that because I'm not from Life Science.
Anyway, for more information, visit this website http://www.dbs.nus.edu.sg/education/undergraduates(prospective)/
From the news I've managed to gather, the Head of Department of Biological Science is planning to introduce a new specialization , Biophysics. Apparently he's a biophysics professor from MIT few years ago and he's not content with the lack of studies in biophysics in NUS.
For those intending to do life sciences should apply under Science and you will get to declare your major after you get matriculated.
Also, I would like to highlight an interesting part of your life being a NUS student which is the UROPS project. It's basically a project that allows undergraduates to take up a research project and conduct the research under the supervision of a professor. It's great !!
sofiazee
04-03-2010, 12:08 AM
Btw can someone tell me what on earth is this University Scholars Programme? It sounds fun but I don't really grasp the idea of it.
day_dreamer
04-03-2010, 12:12 AM
Btw can someone tell me what on earth is this University Scholars Programme? It sounds fun but I don't really grasp the idea of it.
Er.... LOL seriously speaking it's not fun haha ! It's a programme where students get to conduct cross disciplinary researches. Very very very hectic. Good writing skills and strong analytical skills are needed. A lot of research and thinking ! My hall neighbour is taking it and he's pretty stress about it.
Not to mention that many of the students under this faculty are some of the finest in NUS.
(that means crazy bell-curves in NUS.... imagine getting a B- at a score of 84/100)
I would advise those interested in it to do more research in it before applying for USP.
jasslyn1990
04-03-2010, 12:38 AM
Er.... LOL seriously speaking it's not fun haha ! It's a programme where students get to conduct cross disciplinary researches. Very very very hectic. Good writing skills and strong analytical skills are needed. A lot of research and thinking ! My hall neighbour is taking it and he's pretty stress about it.
Not to mention that many of the students under this faculty are some of the finest in NUS.
(that means crazy bell-curves in NUS.... imagine getting a B- at a score of 84/100)
I would advise those interested in it to do more research in it before applying for USP.
Yes I agree with you..the bell curve really affects my grade. My grades are always looming between B and A-. Never got an A before. But its still my first year, so I have long way to go. =). Btw, Im from Life Science. ^^
day_dreamer
04-03-2010, 12:43 AM
Yes I agree with you..the bell curve really affects my grade. My grades are always looming between B and A-. Never got an A before. But its still my first year, so I have long way to go. =). Btw, Im from Life Science. ^^
Wow... cool. What modules are you taking now ? I'm in the group that's taking LSM1101 and LSM 1102.
One coooool thing about NUS : They open up the bell curve statistic free for all to view !
TRANSPARENCY - SOMETHING YOU WON'T GET IN MALAYSIA :D
jasslyn1990
04-03-2010, 12:49 AM
Nope, Forensic Sci can only be taken as minor. But they may introduce a new specialisation though its jus a speculation since things had not been confirmed yet by the Head of DBS (Dr. Chew is his name btw). You may declare your specialisation and change it if you think you want to but that only can happen for the 1st 5 semesters. For the best, decide on the specialisation you really want by 2nd year so that it will make things easier for yourself. You can perceive which specialisation you're interested in in 1st year and I believe you will find where your interest lie by the end of sem 2 of yr 1! =) all d best~:wink
hey same! haha. were you also a stpm leaver? currently im also taking psyh as one of my UE. its really fun hehe
Wow... cool. What modules are you taking now ? I'm in the group that's taking LSM1101 and LSM 1102.
One coooool thing about NUS : They open up the bell curve statistic free for all to view !
TRANSPARENCY - SOMETHING YOU WON'T GET IN MALAYSIA :D
But how did u manage to access to the bell curve for the finals? Can u pls tell me? :))
Eurytos
04-03-2010, 12:53 AM
From the news I've managed to gather, the Head of Department of Biological Science is planning to introduce a new specialization , Biophysics. Apparently he's a biophysics professor from MIT few years ago and he's not content with the lack of studies in biophysics in NUS.
For those intending to do life sciences should apply under Science and you will get to declare your major after you get matriculated.
Also, I would like to highlight an interesting part of your life being a NUS student which is the UROPS project. It's basically a project that allows undergraduates to take up a research project and conduct the research under the supervision of a professor. It's great !!
Actually Biophysics is more physics than biology and it's offered as a specialization in NTU physics division. Good luck for anyone applying for NUS/NTU !
Thomson90
04-03-2010, 08:10 PM
You would have to submit the online application form first followed by supporting documents.
Is nus opened for application now?? i went to the website but dont know whr to find the application form.
XterNalz
04-03-2010, 08:22 PM
Is nus opened for application now?? i went to the website but dont know whr to find the application form.
Here you go - http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/apply/international/applications/WYA-applicationform.html
llbbss8149
05-03-2010, 03:55 AM
I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics
A- in Chemistry CGPA of 3.75(STPM 2009)
MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
I chose E&E as my 1st choice and chemical engineering as my 2nd choice
May i know whether i have a chance to be accepted by NUS?
wcing
05-03-2010, 10:47 PM
My NUS application has got nothing to do with local Foundation course!! Just treat me like someone who has taken STPM or A-level as a private candidate. This road is not easy, don't be like me. It is better to enroll in Form 6 or A-level if you would like to apply to NUS.
*I didn't have a choice.
Er, treat you? Or you were really one? Actually I thought you took MMU Foundation and now trying to apply to NUS for your desired course. Maybe I had mistaken that. And which road do u mean is not easy?
I'm sorry I can't get your drift here probably because I'm not sure what situation you are currently in. (mind to share?)
Besides Form6 or A-level, there isn't any other way to get into NUS? @<hidden>@<hidden>
(hopefully those seniors currently enrolling in NUS may provide me a better answer)
XterNalz
05-03-2010, 11:43 PM
Er, treat you? Or you were really one? Actually I thought you took MMU Foundation and now trying to apply to NUS for your desired course. Maybe I had mistaken that. And which road do u mean is not easy?
I'm sorry I can't get your drift here probably because I'm not sure what situation you are currently in. (mind to share?)
Besides Form6 or A-level, there isn't any other way to get into NUS? @<hidden>@<hidden>
(hopefully those seniors currently enrolling in NUS may provide me a better answer)
Yes, I'm no doubt a MMU foundation student but please treat me as someone who has taken A-level/STPM as a private candidate. I'm not applying to NUS with my MMU qualification.
STPM or A-level would be the ideal pre-u to get into NUS.
cheanrocks
06-03-2010, 12:08 PM
You mean Prof Paul Matsudaira? :D He was my Freshman Seminar lecturer last semester! He's really good and our standard is really not up to his standard.
I'm applying for NUS pharmacy, and apparently it's difficult to enter x__O I'm a Science student all along. And yesss I agree with you, about the language, hahaha. Passion do override though! And thanks :)
Hey there! I'm from Pharmacy :) Hope to see you next AY!
I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics
MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
With those results, you should be able to. :) I have a few friends who scored 3.67 who got accepted for E&E. But then again, admission selection is quite unpredictable and it changes every year.
supergoh
06-03-2010, 12:36 PM
With those results, you should be able to. :) I have a few friends who scored 3.67 who got accepted for E&E. But then again, admission selection is quite unpredictable and it changes every year.
If I am not mistaken, some big companies such as Motorola have closed shop in Singapore.Think twice before choosing your course of study.
Just a word of advice.You can choose not to listen.
day_dreamer
06-03-2010, 12:40 PM
You mean Prof Paul Matsudaira? :D He was my Freshman Seminar lecturer last semester! He's really good and our standard is really not up to his standard.
Hey there! I'm from Pharmacy :) Hope to see you next AY!
Yeah ! His expectation is damn high !!
I've went to him asking for a review of my UROPS Level 2000 research project and kena bombarded like hell... :(
cheanrocks
06-03-2010, 03:19 PM
Yeah ! His expectation is damn high !!
I've went to him asking for a review of my UROPS Level 2000 research project and kena bombarded like hell... :(
Even so, don't worry, the outcome will be good. :) Last sem when I did my Freshman Sem final project, all of us had to do so many drafts until he was satisfied. He just wants us to know what he expects and how students in MIT are compared to here.
Good luck for UROPS :)
kaiyi
07-03-2010, 04:07 PM
Anybody apply NUS financial aid?
2.5Explanation on how your family supports itself (applicable only to those with ‘$0’ income).
Please submit https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/webroapsbs/images/g-doc.gifDeclaration Form B (https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/webroapsbs/Docs/Declaration%20Form%20B.pdf) and refer to Section B of the Application Summary Document (available after you have submitted your application) for the relevant documents required. [100 to 200 words]
does this mean only those 0 income need to submit Form B or all the applicants are required to do so?
llbbss8149
07-03-2010, 05:04 PM
ZERO income only
daffodils
07-03-2010, 08:50 PM
I scored B+ in PA
A in Maths T
A in Physics
MUET band 4 (210/300)
writing (67/90)
For your information two years ago, I have one student with CGPA 3.92 Muet band 4 got rejected for Chemical Engineering but another student with CGPA 3.84 Muet band 5 managed to squeeze through and was offered the same course.
For chemical engineering this year, with the stiff competition, you have to be the best of the best going by the indicative grade profile given this year for local students
http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofile/sprogramme-igp.html
You may get a slot in E&E. Dont give up hope. Push your luck.
hannah247
08-03-2010, 05:53 PM
Hi. I took Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics T and Pa with a CGPA of 4.00 and MUET band 5. I would like to ask if I have a chance to take Pharmacy in NUS because the website state "Year 12 or higher level pass in Biology and Chemistry". Also, is it difficult to get a place in Economics?
kiat12
08-03-2010, 07:27 PM
hi all,im currently doing my a-levels now,I would like ask if anyone knows about entry requirements of Bachelor of Arts(Psychology)?and also if anyone knows about what scholarship can i apply for NUS..
cheanrocks
09-03-2010, 12:05 AM
Hi. I took Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics T and Pa with a CGPA of 4.00 and MUET band 5. I would like to ask if I have a chance to take Pharmacy in NUS because the website state "Year 12 or higher level pass in Biology and Chemistry". Also, is it difficult to get a place in Economics?
Hey there, I think you stand a chance to be considered for Pharmacy, just give it a try. :)
As for Economics, I'm not sure because you're from Science.
Apley
09-03-2010, 12:37 AM
hi, my cgpa is 3.67, muet band 4. course interested is environmental engineering. do i?
day_dreamer
09-03-2010, 04:42 PM
hi, my cgpa is 3.67, muet band 4. course interested is environmental engineering. do i?
Hey Apley, there's no harm trying to apply for it. I would suggest you to put some non-competitive courses on your choices too to help increase you chance of getting into NUS.
Kangweesheong
09-03-2010, 09:22 PM
hi guys, i am planning to apply NUS for actuarial science but i am not sure AS is under what category. Is AS under Faculty of Art and Social Science? What I know is AS is under the joint programme of NUS-ANU.
hannah247
09-03-2010, 11:20 PM
in the application form, under section 4 Exceptional Talents and Achievements, there is a part stating
"This section is an opportunity for you to elaborate on the information you have provided earlier. You may wish to discuss a special talent, a personal experience or an activity that you have been involved in that is relevant to the course(s) that you are applying for admission.
As there is a space limit of 2,000 characters for your input in this section, you are encouraged to present your thoughts clearly'
is it necessary to write something? or we can just ignore it if we do not have any achievement?
cheanrocks
10-03-2010, 12:09 PM
in the application form, under section 4 Exceptional Talents and Achievements, there is a part stating
"This section is an opportunity for you to elaborate on the information you have provided earlier. You may wish to discuss a special talent, a personal experience or an activity that you have been involved in that is relevant to the course(s) that you are applying for admission.
As there is a space limit of 2,000 characters for your input in this section, you are encouraged to present your thoughts clearly'
is it necessary to write something? or we can just ignore it if we do not have any achievement?
I think it would be good if you wrote something there. It gives them an impression of what kind of student are you like.
I'm sure that you have some sort of achievement that you can write. Even if you don't, at the very least, you could state what you have done for your community or what clubs/societies did you join and what were their activities like. You could even write about National Service if you went for it.
There must be a reason why that section is there right?
markwongsk
10-03-2010, 08:13 PM
hi guys, i am planning to apply NUS for actuarial science but i am not sure AS is under what category. Is AS under Faculty of Art and Social Science? What I know is AS is under the joint programme of NUS-ANU.
I think you applied for Maths/Econs first and then during your second or third year apply for a separate AS category. Someone please confirm this
FakeAngel
11-03-2010, 03:03 PM
as far as i am concerned, you should apply and admit into Faculty of Art and Social Science first, and take all the COMPULSORY modules in order to be qualify to apply for the Joint Degree of AS& Economics. And there are only 8 ppl each intake for the joint degree, highly competitive. If you cant survive through it, you hav to stay on with other course in the faculty. But please confirm once again from NUS Office of Admission
innocent60
12-03-2010, 01:14 PM
hi...i'm an indian student currently doing my 12th....i have a keen interest to get into NUS....as my exams are going on i'm little bit confused n disappointed....bcoz of my careless mistakes i guess my cutoff will drop to195 out of 200....is there still any possibility for me to get a desired engineering course n a scholarship in NUS....NUS is my one n only dream....so i'm totally disappointed....could anyone pls help me out??:(
rebeccagky91
12-03-2010, 04:31 PM
*I didn't have a choice.
Hi I'm currently doing my Upper Six year.
What made you say it's better to enrol in form 6?
Also, What's the minimum STPM CGPA that I must obtain in order to receive a full scholarship from NUS? :)
Hey Apley, there's no harm trying to apply for it. I would suggest you to put some non-competitive courses on your choices too to help increase you chance of getting into NUS.
Hi. Can you name me some of the non-competitive courses that you've mentioned?
Does NUS offer Actuarial Science?
I'm interested in applying for AS to NUS after my STPM as well.
markwongsk
12-03-2010, 06:43 PM
Hi I'm currently doing my Upper Six year.
What made you say it's better to enrol in form 6?
Also, What's the minimum STPM CGPA that I must obtain in order to receive a full scholarship from NUS? :)
Hi. Can you name me some of the non-competitive courses that you've mentioned?
Does NUS offer Actuarial Science?
I'm interested in applying for AS to NUS after my STPM as well.
1. It means that it's better to do Form 6 or A-levels (compared to Matrix/Foundation) if you're planning to apply to NUS because NUS prefers students who have those qualifications.
2. Scholarship from NUS are few and far between. Even National Top-scorers with perfect CGPAs fail to secure a scholarship. However, everyone is entitled the Ministry of Education tuition grant, which, if I'm not mistaken, covers 90% of your tuition fees.
3. Non-competitive courses are courses which are not highly sought after. Perhaps like environmental engineering, computational biology, etc... I'm not quite sure about the recent trend.
4. As mentioned, NUS doesn't have a specific AS application for undergraduate students. All students start of as Econs majors in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. Only in their second/third year do they compete to apply for the *limited* slots for AS.
rebeccagky91
13-03-2010, 06:28 PM
1. It means that it's better to do Form 6 or A-levels (compared to Matrix/Foundation) if you're planning to apply to NUS because NUS prefers students who have those qualifications.
2. Scholarship from NUS are few and far between. Even National Top-scorers with perfect CGPAs fail to secure a scholarship. However, everyone is entitled the Ministry of Education tuition grant, which, if I'm not mistaken, covers 90% of your tuition fees.
3. Non-competitive courses are courses which are not highly sought after. Perhaps like environmental engineering, computational biology, etc... I'm not quite sure about the recent trend.
4. As mentioned, NUS doesn't have a specific AS application for undergraduate students. All students start of as Econs majors in the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences. Only in their second/third year do they compete to apply for the *limited* slots for AS.
Thanks a lot for clearing my doubts :))
Regarding the Ministry of Education grant, is it MOE of M'sia or S'pore?
And tough luck for trying AS in NUS :(
By the way, are there any scholarships that I can apply to abroad if I do get a good CGPA in my STPM?
cheanrocks
13-03-2010, 08:23 PM
Thanks a lot for clearing my doubts :))
Regarding the Ministry of Education grant, is it MOE of M'sia or S'pore?
And tough luck for trying AS in NUS :(
By the way, are there any scholarships that I can apply to abroad if I do get a good CGPA in my STPM?
It's from MOE Singapore. :)
Yup, you can try Sime Darby.
rebeccagky91
13-03-2010, 09:54 PM
It's from MOE Singapore. :)
Yup, you can try Sime Darby.
How do I apply for that? Through Singapore Scholarship?
My friend's sister did get a scholarship from Singapore's MOE but she was the head prefect of the school.
So does it mean I have to have VERY good points on my curriculum aspect as well? or the average joe one will do? :huh
Hmm.. I tried Sime Darby for my SPM but I did not get it. :(
cheanrocks
13-03-2010, 10:44 PM
How do I apply for that? Through Singapore Scholarship?
My friend's sister did get a scholarship from Singapore's MOE but she was the head prefect of the school.
So does it mean I have to have VERY good points on my curriculum aspect as well? or the average joe one will do? :huh
Hmm.. I tried Sime Darby for my SPM but I did not get it. :(
Oh, the Singapore Scholarship and MOE Tuition Grant are two different things. Everyone is eligible for the tuition grant regardless of CCAs or academic records.
You could try Sime Darby for your degree provided that you have already received an offer from the university :)
rebeccagky91
13-03-2010, 10:47 PM
Oh, the Singapore Scholarship and MOE Tuition Grant are two different things. Everyone is eligible for the tuition grant regardless of CCAs or academic records.
You could try Sime Darby for your degree provided that you have already received an offer from the university :)
Thanks a lot :D
So what are the requirements for MOE Tuition Grant?
Regarding the Sime Darby, it's a little risky right in case I don't get the scholarship and I've already enrolled myself into the Uni. then I'll have to pay the fees by myself.. Hmm..:cry
cheanrocks
13-03-2010, 10:50 PM
Thanks a lot :D
So what are the requirements for MOE Tuition Grant?
Regarding the Sime Darby, it's a little risky right in case I don't get the scholarship and I've already enrolled myself into the Uni. then I'll have to pay the fees by myself.. Hmm..:cry
There are no requirements. Tuition Grant covers about 80% of your tuition fees. So, it's really not that risky if you're considering to apply for Sime Darby.
rebeccagky91
13-03-2010, 10:55 PM
There are no requirements. Tuition Grant covers about 80% of your tuition fees. So, it's really not that risky if you're considering to apply for Sime Darby.
Oh okay. Thankiess very much :mrgreen:
markwongsk
13-03-2010, 11:42 PM
Besides, what you need for Sime Darby is your admission, not your enrollment. Unis won't charge you if you don't show up at all...
You can also try Shell, Khazanah, Bank Negara, JPA Tajaan Tambahan, to name a few.
rebeccagky91
14-03-2010, 09:32 AM
Besides, what you need for Sime Darby is your admission, not your enrollment. Unis won't charge you if you don't show up at all...
You can also try Shell, Khazanah, Bank Negara, JPA Tajaan Tambahan, to name a few.
Oh I see. So I apply to the universities that I want. If I get the offer letter, I can apply to Sime Darby with that letter right?
I tried Bank Negara with my SPM results but did not get any feedback from them :cry
What is JPA Tajaan Tambahan all about?
markwongsk
14-03-2010, 10:10 AM
Oh I see. So I apply to the universities that I want. If I get the offer letter, I can apply to Sime Darby with that letter right?
I tried Bank Negara with my SPM results but did not get any feedback from them :cry
What is JPA Tajaan Tambahan all about?
You can try Bank Negara again after STPM/A-levels. There's a separate application for those going for undergraduate studies
Link to tajaan tambahan:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411&page=97&highlight=JPA+tajaan+tambahan
*Note: Whether it will be continued is unknown, but trying doesn't hurt.
rebeccagky91
14-03-2010, 10:13 AM
You can try Bank Negara again after STPM/A-levels. There's a separate application for those going for undergraduate studies
Link to tajaan tambahan:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411&page=97&highlight=JPA+tajaan+tambahan
*Note: Whether it will be continued is unknown, but trying doesn't hurt.
Aaahh.. I just read the thread and it says that 9As and above SPM 2008 can get scholarship of arnd rm110 a month if they're doing STPM :cry
How to try when the application is not open? :(
I don't see the form anywhere in the JPA website
markwongsk
14-03-2010, 10:23 AM
Aaahh.. I just read the thread and it says that 9As and above SPM 2008 can get scholarship of arnd rm110 a month if they're doing STPM :cry
How to try when the application is not open? :(
I don't see the form anywhere in the JPA website
are your reading the right thread? I think that tajaan tambahan (the one you were reading) is for local unis and is only applicable for SPM 2007 students
sugarspice
16-03-2010, 09:09 AM
Anyone having problem with the online paying of app fee? That day they said they have received already now say unsuccessful....and the enet kept saying "Please re-enter the Credit Card Number without space or dash (only enter numbers)." ..although I've entered every single thing correctly...grrr...now I have to send a bank draft..... :headsmack :flush :wall :glomp :smack
markwongsk
17-03-2010, 01:14 AM
Some people are a bit confused about the application process. On the page where it says PIN number, that's just asking you to set your password. It's like creating an account. For future references to your admission status, you would be prompted to enter your ID card and your PIN number, to say the least. Hope that clears some doubt.
XterNalz
18-03-2010, 10:15 PM
NUS increased its tuition fees again - https://share.nus.edu.sg/registrar/info/ug/UGTuitionCurrent.pdf
One question, will NUS process my application if I have not submitted my actual results? My application status changed to "Application processing" even though I haven't submitted my actual results. Moreover, they just received my supporting documents yesterday (it only takes 2 days with Poslaju).
How about yours?
sofiazee
22-03-2010, 10:20 PM
Anyone have any rough idea on ASEAN scholarship holder in NUS, especially for pharmacy course?
kaiyi
22-03-2010, 10:40 PM
NUS increased its tuition fees again - https://share.nus.edu.sg/registrar/info/ug/UGTuitionCurrent.pdf
One question, will NUS process my application if I have not submitted my actual results? My application status changed to "Application processing" even though I haven't submitted my actual results. Moreover, they just received my supporting documents yesterday (it only takes 2 days with Poslaju).
How about yours?
My documents took about 4 days to reach there, maybe because weekend post office off...just receive email from the admission and financial aid today cz i didnt send some documents
cheanrocks
22-03-2010, 10:45 PM
Anyone have any rough idea on ASEAN scholarship holder in NUS, especially for pharmacy course?
What do you mean by rough idea? Can it be a little bit more specific?
sofiazee
22-03-2010, 11:11 PM
What do you mean by rough idea? Can it be a little bit more specific?
Oh I left out a few words in my question lol.
What I meant was roughly how many pharmacy students are ASEAN scholarship holder? Any STPMers?
AND are there students in pharmacy that got in by appeal? >________<
markwongsk
22-03-2010, 11:42 PM
I was an ex-holder... not sure about others
cheanrocks
23-03-2010, 01:06 AM
Oh I left out a few words in my question lol.
What I meant was roughly how many pharmacy students are ASEAN scholarship holder? Any STPMers?
AND are there students in pharmacy that got in by appeal? >________<
I think there are about five in my cohort, if I'm not mistaken. None of them took STPM. Two did A-Levels in the Junior Colleges here and the other three did A-Levels in KL.
As for your third question, I'm not sure.
XterNalz
23-03-2010, 10:19 AM
My documents took about 4 days to reach there, maybe because weekend post office off...just receive email from the admission and financial aid today cz i didnt send some documents
Did your application status change to "Application processing" immediately after they received your supporting documents?
kaiyi
23-03-2010, 08:23 PM
Did your application status change to "Application processing" immediately after they received your supporting documents?
yes. yours didnt?
XterNalz
23-03-2010, 08:52 PM
yes. yours didnt?
Yes, it did but the weird thing is that I haven't submitted any forecast or actual results yet. However, my current qualifications are pretty convincing. :wink
sugarspice
23-03-2010, 10:08 PM
Mine was already 'application processing' when 'awaiting documents' :huh
XterNalz
24-03-2010, 12:31 AM
Mine was already 'application processing' when 'awaiting documents' :huh
LOL?? How could they process one's application without supporting documents?
Btw, how is your STPM result?
hon3yd3w
25-03-2010, 07:41 PM
when shud we apply financial aid? financial aid is loan right???
kaiyi
25-03-2010, 08:02 PM
i applied already even though not very clear about what it is yet...Is the deadline 1 Apr?
cheanrocks
25-03-2010, 08:07 PM
You can start applying now since the deadline will be on the 1st of April. But, even if you missed the deadline, you can appeal to them. They are pretty flexible.
Yup, Financial Aid is a loan. Bursaries are available too.
XterNalz
25-03-2010, 08:18 PM
You should do it before 1 April 2010 and send all the supporting documents within two weeks after you have submitted your online application form.
Tuition fees increased..accommodation rates increased..without loan/bursaries/work-study scheme from financial aid, I will be dead.
hon3yd3w
25-03-2010, 09:32 PM
You should do it before 1 April 2010 and send all the supporting documents within two weeks after you have submitted your online application form.
Tuition fees increased..accommodation rates increased..without loan/bursaries/work-study scheme from financial aid, I will be dead.
can give me the link to apply????
XterNalz
25-03-2010, 09:43 PM
can give me the link to apply????
https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/webroapsbs/jsp/login.jsp
hon3yd3w
25-03-2010, 09:48 PM
https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/webroapsbs/jsp/login.jsp
thanks.. does it required referee approval?
for nus, we dont have to apply scholarships right? they will apply automatically for us right?
XterNalz
25-03-2010, 09:53 PM
thanks.. does it required referee approval?
for nus, we dont have to apply scholarships right? they will apply automatically for us right?
What is referee approval??
NUS will only consider you for ASEAN scholarship if they think that your are qualified enough. No separate application is needed.
Li Shan Shung
26-03-2010, 09:28 AM
What is the Max amount of income NUS will give scholarship to? I mean, a salary may be more than enough for living cost in Msia but not enough to study in Singapore.
cheanrocks
26-03-2010, 01:08 PM
What is the Max amount of income NUS will give scholarship to? I mean, a salary may be more than enough for living cost in Msia but not enough to study in Singapore.
They'll convert it from RM to SGD.
For more info, visit this website.
http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/scholarships-financialaid/financialaid/loans/financial-loans-nus-studyloan.html
sugarspice
26-03-2010, 02:31 PM
For the financial aid application, do we need to include (add) "immediate family members" which are not currently employed (not earning anything)? ty.
hon3yd3w
26-03-2010, 03:45 PM
I haven't apply though the deadline is just around the corner. Sigh. I'm currently at Singapore, will it be easier to apply the financial aid??
XterNalz
26-03-2010, 05:13 PM
I haven't apply though the deadline is just around the corner. Sigh. I'm currently at Singapore, will it be easier to apply the financial aid??
For supporting documents(pay slip, I/C), you can just submit them by hand to the Office of Financial Aid.
For the financial aid application, do we need to include (add) "immediate family members" which are not currently employed (not earning anything)? ty.
Yes
sugarspice
26-03-2010, 06:36 PM
Yes
My sis is studying at a U overseas. What should I put under 'job sector' and 'job title'? O.O
XterNalz
26-03-2010, 06:59 PM
My sis is studying at a U overseas. What should I put under 'job sector' and 'job title'? O.O
I left them blank. For "Highest Educational Level", mine is "Current Undergraduate Student (Overseas)" whereas the "Employment status" is "Student". Zero income.
jasslyn1990
28-03-2010, 08:57 PM
hahaha..agree. :wink
sugarspice
29-03-2010, 08:02 AM
I left them blank. For "Highest Educational Level", mine is "Current Undergraduate Student (Overseas)" whereas the "Employment status" is "Student". Zero income.
But it's compulsory to put the job sector worr....:(
hon3yd3w
29-03-2010, 06:46 PM
Sigh. It's ok to post the documents late???
sofiazee
30-03-2010, 01:29 AM
Sigh. It's ok to post the documents late???
From NUS website:
Application closing dates apply according to your high school qualification. Unless otherwise specified, your complete application with all supporting documents (http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/apply/international/applications/WYA-applicationform.html#to) must reach the Office of Admissions by the application closing date.
According to my interpretation your docs should reach NUS by 28th March.
OTS_Nexus
31-03-2010, 03:34 PM
From NUS website:
According to my interpretation your docs should reach NUS by 28th March.
But my friend have asked the person in charge from the Office of Admission during the education fair and he said that they will still accept the supporting documents within 1 week after the closing date.
I posted my supporting documents on last friday (26th March) using City-Link Express, and only reached the office of admission on monday morning (29th March), since the office is closed on weekends. My documents status was changed to "Documents received" on tuesday, but until now my application status is still "Application received"... I thought it will be immediately processed after receiving the documents.. Does anybody face the same condition as me also?
kaiyi
31-03-2010, 03:48 PM
I posted my supporting documents on 26th March using City-Link Express, and only reached the office of admission on 29th morning, since the office is closed on weekends. My documents status was changed to "Documents received" on tuesday, but until now my application status is still "Application received"... I thought it will be immediately processed after receiving the documents.. Does anybody face the same condition as me also?
my application status change to processing straight after they received my documents...duno...
XterNalz
31-03-2010, 03:59 PM
But my friend have asked the person in charge from the Office of Admission during the education fair and he said that they will still accept the supporting documents within 1 week after the closing date.
I posted my supporting documents on 26th March using City-Link Express, and only reached the office of admission on 29th morning, since the office is closed on weekends. My documents status was changed to "Documents received" on tuesday, but until now my application status is still "Application received"... I thought it will be immediately processed after receiving the documents.. Does anybody face the same condition as me also?
Mine also changed to processing immediately after they received my supporting documents.
Feni2008
31-03-2010, 04:02 PM
my application status change to processing straight after they received my documents...duno...
same, but just now changed only, because of my delayed payment processing.
BTW,does anyone know how long for the outcome of the enrollment to b announced:wink?
kaiyi
31-03-2010, 04:09 PM
the log in site only states dates of result application for local students but no international students...
XterNalz
31-03-2010, 04:17 PM
same, but just now changed only, because of my delayed payment processing.
BTW,does anyone know how long for the outcome of the enrollment to b announced:wink?
It could be from now till the end of May 2010. If you are a top scorer, most likely you will get the outcome in early April.
Annabelle88
31-03-2010, 04:26 PM
so no any interview or test?
kaiyi
31-03-2010, 04:41 PM
so no any interview or test?
depends on what course you applied for. ASEAN scholarship requires interview
Annabelle88
31-03-2010, 04:49 PM
dentistry require interview rite?:)
so when can i know i am shortlisted or not?:P
what about ASEAN scholarship
cheanrocks
01-04-2010, 12:00 AM
dentistry require interview rite?:)
so when can i know i am shortlisted or not?:P
what about ASEAN scholarship
Yup, admission letters will be sent most probably from April to May in batches.
louis
01-04-2010, 12:42 PM
hey everyone..roughly how many Malaysians are there in NUS? What is the success rate of getting into NUS?
Li Shan Shung
05-04-2010, 02:30 PM
STPM students will know their NUS application outcome by end of April as stated on their website under the "Estimated Outcome Date" section.
Note: sorry that's for NTU. I messed up both uni.
hon3yd3w
05-04-2010, 07:16 PM
STPM students will know their NUS application outcome by end of April as stated on their website under the "Estimated Outcome Date" section.
Can u post the link?? I have been sent an email to office of admission of NUS and what they reply me is ''The admission application outcome is scheduled to be released from May to June timeframe. "
Li Shan Shung
05-04-2010, 11:03 PM
Can u post the link?? I have been sent an email to office of admission of NUS and what they reply me is ''The admission application outcome is scheduled to be released from May to June timeframe. "
Er...Sorry about the mistake. I mistook NTU application release date for NUS.
It was end of April for NTU.
But last year a friend got his application in mid-April.
So I'm not really sure.
Sorry for the mixup. >_<
ninjaturtle
05-04-2010, 11:13 PM
muet results not meeting the requirement but applied for NUS engineering, possible of getting a place?
hannah247
06-04-2010, 04:39 PM
muet results not meeting the requirement but applied for NUS engineering, possible of getting a place?
according to my school teacher, u must have at least band 4. i have seniors with band 4 in muet doing engineering right now.
good luck to you!
XterNalz
10-04-2010, 11:46 AM
Has anyone got his/her NUS offer? Especially STPM top scorers..
Annabelle88
10-04-2010, 06:30 PM
The result come out already?
cheanrocks
10-04-2010, 07:16 PM
Results will be out in batches, so the ones who would most likely receive their results earlier are the top scorers.
Annabelle88
10-04-2010, 07:21 PM
So where can we check?
i am nervous with the result.
My status is "still processing"
XterNalz
10-04-2010, 07:56 PM
So where can we check?
i am nervous with the result.
My status is "still processing"
https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/uasonline/ApplicationStatus
lowxuan
11-04-2010, 01:17 AM
so...any1 get the offer yet??
Annabelle88
11-04-2010, 11:12 AM
https://aces01.nus.edu.sg/uasonline/ApplicationStatus
Thank you .I know this website and i have check it.:))
kaiyi
11-04-2010, 11:23 AM
i check daily *nervous* but the application status still "application processing"
Annabelle88
11-04-2010, 11:29 AM
Ya me too.So any1 has receive their offer pls share with us.Thank you:)
XterNalz
11-04-2010, 11:42 AM
i check daily *nervous* but the application status still "application processing"
Don't worry, STPM 5As scorer will get it really soon.
kaiyi
11-04-2010, 11:50 AM
then how about the ASEAN scholarship? when will they inform the shortlisted candidates?
sengloon
11-04-2010, 03:52 PM
Hello , can someone answer me is it the true that we are only manage to accept one Uni online if we are given admission from both of NTU and NUS ?
XterNalz
11-04-2010, 04:01 PM
Hello , can someone answer me is it the true that we are only manage to accept one Uni online if we are given admission from both of NTU and NUS ?
I do not think so. We (international students) are not required to accept the offer via Joint Acceptance. Thus, we do not have such a restriction.
sengloon
11-04-2010, 04:09 PM
I do not think so. We (international students) are not required to accept the offer via Joint Acceptance. Thus, we do not have such a restriction.
Then do you mean we are able to accept both NTU NUS and get the offer letter before deciding to go which U?
daffodils
11-04-2010, 05:05 PM
Then do you mean we are able to accept both NTU NUS and get the offer letter before deciding to go which U?
My son was offered courses by both NUS and NTU, business from NUS and accountancy from NTU. Both were good offers. He took up the offer from NUS and since he did not reply the offer from NTU the offer was deemed rejected as there was a deadline to it.
If I am not mistaken, there seems to me exist a tracking body for students given dual offers. Especially for competitive courses one offer rejected goes to another hopeful on the waiting or second list. I think it would be advisable if you email the admission officer concerned regarding dual offers.
All said MUET does play a significant factor in determining a candidate chance of applying for competitive course. I have a student with CGPA of 3.92 applying for Chemical Engineering but bcos of a lower band for MUET he din get through whereas a student with a slightly lower CGPA but much higher band for MUET got through by the skin of his teeth.
If one wants to rate one s chances of admission, all public unis of Spore have published their Cumulative Grade Profile whereby the grades for the 10th and 90th percentile is shown. What is shown applies for the local students who constitute about 80% of the students population.
So you can expect when demand outstrip supply only the best is taken in. That's how the universities maintain their ranking and reputation.
llbbss8149
23-04-2010, 01:02 AM
Anyone already got an offer from nus?
kaiyi
23-04-2010, 09:11 AM
the person who get the offer will post here to inform...
XterNalz
23-04-2010, 09:57 AM
Don't worry too much, it should come soon.
day_dreamer
23-04-2010, 03:06 PM
Last year it was out on the night of 24th April. Can never forget it as I was jumping whole night and my sister complained that I kept shouting "Yess !!!! Yess !!!!" when I am sleeping.
cheanrocks
23-04-2010, 07:03 PM
Haha, should be out soon. :)
XterNalz
23-04-2010, 08:25 PM
Last year it was out on the night of 24th April. Can never forget it as I was jumping whole night and my sister complained that I kept shouting "Yess !!!! Yess !!!!" when I am sleeping.
Night? I thought the Office of Admissions closes in the evening daily - http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/contactus/contact.html . 24th April 2009 was the second last friday of the month. I just realised today is the same also. :amazed
balletrocks92
23-04-2010, 08:25 PM
Hi,
I applied for Sime Darby and ASEAN scholarship using my SPM 2009 results. Does anyone here know when the shortlisted candidates will be informed?
I'm interested in NUS Chemistry degree course, fyi.
han72890
23-04-2010, 08:33 PM
Night? I thought the Office of Admissions close in the evening daily - http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/contactus/contact.html . 24th April 2009 was the second last friday of the month. I just realised today is the same also. :amazed
nice coincidence.So,does it means that the outcome might be out at midnight today??lolz
Feni2008
23-04-2010, 09:48 PM
I think it would b next week...or mayb it will come late too. This time mayb they want officially announce it at the same time.
Annabelle88
23-04-2010, 10:14 PM
So have to keep checking the application status loh?:huh
wuwuw....:cry when the result out?
soooo nervous already.
Hey guys,I just checked the NUS website and the application result is out!I have been offered to study Science.
sherr
24-04-2010, 12:29 AM
hello!!..been such a long time since I posted here :oops:
Congrats CKS!!
The the application status will usually change around midnight... based on personal experience n others too.. All the best!
Feni2008
24-04-2010, 12:31 AM
same here. science too...this is what I expected already. Now had to face the truth.xD
llbbss8149
24-04-2010, 01:22 AM
WOW i have been offered to study electrical engineering in NUS
day_dreamer
24-04-2010, 01:54 AM
Wow ! For 2 years it has been April 24th !! Congratz everyone who got it !!
WELCOME TO NUS.
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 02:06 AM
hello!!..been such a long time since I posted here :oops:
Congrats CKS!!
The the application status will usually change around midnight... based on personal experience n others too.. All the best!
HI SHERR!! HAHAHA :D
Congrats everyone! :)
llbbss8149
24-04-2010, 02:39 AM
seniors .. for those who got accepted by nus, what is the next step to do? thx
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 02:51 AM
seniors .. for those who got accepted by nus, what is the next step to do? thx
Accept your offer online and wait for your offer letter/admission package! :) Or you could find information about accommodation, facilities, whereabouts etc in NUS.
markwongsk
24-04-2010, 06:27 AM
Go to KR GO TO KR GO KR GO KR GOOOOOOO KKKKR!!!!
Okay that was spam...
Things to do: Enjoy last few days of your life before getting raped in college. But don't forget to enjoy the raping experience too =)
han72890
24-04-2010, 06:43 AM
wow...NUS,here I come..
Well well.I was asleep by 9 o clock last night. X) But I got NUS too.
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 07:15 AM
Wow!!! I got NUS too....Offered course is Science.
Any senior in this course?
i am still considering it...hehe:):)
sugarspice
24-04-2010, 07:23 AM
Wow! I have so many coursemates here! I got science too! :):)
Now here's a list of those getting science.
CKS
Feni2008
Annabelle88
hannah247
24-04-2010, 08:05 AM
I am offered environmental engineering. Must we accept the offer online?
sugarspice
24-04-2010, 08:32 AM
I am offered environmental engineering. Must we accept the offer online?
Yes . . . . . . . . .
Anyone got ASEAN scholarship for it?
cfliang
24-04-2010, 09:16 AM
Congratulations to everyone who got it~
Yeah, I am offered Arts & Social Science too :P
By the way, I was shortlisted for the ASEAN scholarship. My interview will be at 9.15am on next Wednesday.
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 09:20 AM
When can I know about the ASEAN Scholarship result?
We have to reply the offer before 8th of May?
The offer letter will send to us?:huh
Erm...so u all will accept the offer?
How to check whether I am shortlisted for ASEAN Scholarship??
hon3yd3w
24-04-2010, 09:30 AM
i have been offered Business admin which is my first choice. hehe
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 09:35 AM
i have been offered Business admin which is my first choice. hehe
Congratulation!!! Did u shortlisted for ASEAN Scholarship?
balletrocks92
24-04-2010, 09:59 AM
By the way, I was shortlisted for the ASEAN scholarship. My interview will be at 9.15am on next Wednesday.
When did you apply? Is that the ASEAN scholarship for the latest batch? I thought the shorlisting will only be at the end of May and in June?
Anyhow, Congratulations :)
ei how to check ?
btw i only receive my actual a-level result this august 2010, so will i know the outcome today ?
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 10:12 AM
When can I know about the ASEAN Scholarship result?
We have to reply the offer before 8th of May?
The offer letter will send to us?:huh
Erm...so u all will accept the offer?
How to check whether I am shortlisted for ASEAN Scholarship??
The offer letter will probably come in next week or so. :)
Yeah! I am offered Mechanical Engineering .My first choice.
You accepted the offer only then you get shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship??
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 10:24 AM
So now we have to wait for the offer letter loh?:huh
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 10:30 AM
So now we have to wait for the offer letter loh?:huh
Yep, it'll come soon :)
kitkitty
24-04-2010, 10:34 AM
my application still in process.
sherr
24-04-2010, 10:52 AM
Nope. ASEAN scholarship and admissions are handled by different departments. Previously there were ppl who received the email regarding their ASEAN sch. interview even b4 knowing the application outcome and some had their ASEAN sch. email sent to them after they rejected the offer.. doesnt make sense but oh well :)
HELLO CHEANROCKS!! See u during hall dinner!! :))
ninjaturtle
24-04-2010, 11:22 AM
still processing :huh
XterNalz
24-04-2010, 11:28 AM
still processing :huh
Same here :(
Were you all under STPM? I think that this release of admission results is for STPM.
Feni2008
24-04-2010, 11:39 AM
might every1 lists down what outcome they get?
So far i see alots of people offered SCIENCE.
CKS (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=14536) Science
Feni2008 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=14031) Science
llbbss8149 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=15462) Electronic Engineering
han72890 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=9666) ????
LLCH (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11554) ????
Annabelle88 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=14652) Science
sugarspice (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=5487) Science
hannah247 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=8255) Environmental Engineering
cfliang (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=7405) Art & Social Science
hon3yd3w (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=15250) Business Admin
hWc (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=14539) Mechanical Engineering
pls write down what u offered.
Congratz...
i wonder how DonFrank and Johnivian will get..?
hmm..
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 11:40 AM
Were you all under STPM? I think that this release of admission results is for STPM.
No, not necessary.
1st choice,computing. Got it. Did STPM.
lowxuan
24-04-2010, 11:50 AM
i get electrical engineering....1st choice
Feni2008
24-04-2010, 11:54 AM
i get electrical engineering....1st choice
lowxuan,congratz!!
will you go there? it is a very nice chance.
cjiawen
24-04-2010, 11:57 AM
wow, u all sure make me nervous... congrats to all who got admission...
mine is still in process, i applied for dentistry as first choice.
kitkitty
24-04-2010, 11:59 AM
wow, u all sure make me nervous... congrats to all who got admission...
mine is still in process, i applied for dentistry as first choice.
mine too in process. accounting is my first choice. what are your other choices?
Feni2008
24-04-2010, 12:01 PM
i think it should late abit for those who choose competative course such as doctor,pharmacy,dentist....
Age_2_Perfection
24-04-2010, 12:05 PM
i got science. Put Medicine as 1st choice but was not even considered for the interview.
cjiawen
24-04-2010, 12:20 PM
mine too in process. accounting is my first choice. what are your other choices?
My second choice is pharmacy, no further choices.
i got science. Put Medicine as 1st choice but was not even considered for the interview.
Not getting medic? So are u going to accept?
U are from STPM? What is yr result?
Age_2_Perfection
24-04-2010, 12:23 PM
My second choice is pharmacy, no further choices.
Not getting medic? So are u going to accept?
U are from STPM? What is yr result?
I got 4.0 (4A 1B for physics) Muet Band 5.
I will be thinking about it but most like will go for local universities if they offer me medicine.
Do you think we could accept 1st and reject later on?
I noticed that some people from A levels are still in processing.
Also, I am also considering the fact whether we could change the course after 1st year. I got a friend who went for 1 year of Mechanical engineering in NUS but got in to Medicine in the 2nd through EIS
kitkitty
24-04-2010, 12:25 PM
anybody here applied for accounting?
DonFrank
24-04-2010, 12:27 PM
llbbss8149 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=15462) Electronic Engineering
LLCH (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11554) ????
hannah247 (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=8255) Environmental Engineering
Congratz...
hmm..
Did not apply to NUS :)
Waiting for NTU ones
teo18
24-04-2010, 12:37 PM
anybody here applied for accounting?
Me but still processing
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 12:41 PM
I got 4.0 (4A 1B for physics) Muet Band 5.
I will be thinking about it but most like will go for local universities if they offer me medicine.
Do you think we could accept 1st and reject later on?
I noticed that some people from A levels are still in processing.
Also, I am also considering the fact whether we could change the course after 1st year. I got a friend who went for 1 year of Mechanical engineering in NUS but got in to Medicine in the 2nd through EIS
Yup, you can accept the offer online first then reject later if you wish.
Yup it is possible to change course after first year but to get into competitive courses like Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy, that would be quite hard.
I have heard of a couple of students who switched from Pharmacy to Medicine after their first year. Of course it wasn't a breeze, they obtained CAP 5.0 for both of their semesters.
I think there is still hope for you for local universities. :)
kitkitty
24-04-2010, 12:41 PM
Me but still processing
yea. same.
For you to get medicine in local universities should be just a mere formality. With your results its most likely whatever that you apply for you can just get in.
cjiawen
24-04-2010, 01:16 PM
Wow, congrats for shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship. Good luck for the interview.
Yr result must be very excellent. 5As?
Congrats to all for making it into NUS.Am just wondering though if we already accept the online offer for NUS,will we still get an offer from NTU since the result from NTU hasn't been released yet?
markwongsk
24-04-2010, 01:35 PM
I'm not sure whether they are at the last batch now or not but I don't think so because my friend only got called for the interview around May last year. So this should be the latest batch.
If I'm not mistaken, the admission offer will come together with the ASEAN scholarship interview offer.
This is to reconfirm what sherr said. The interview does not come with the offer letter. It's separate. And your acceptance of NUS won't affect your NTU's application or its ASEAN scholarship either. I got ASEAN for both NTU and NUS so I can confirm this.
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 01:41 PM
Ah okay.. my bad. =X
Congrats to all for making it into NUS.Am just wondering though if we already accept the online offer for NUS,will we still get an offer from NTU since the result from NTU hasn't been released yet?
Hmm, maybe you can wait for NTU to reply and then decide which to accept.
sherr
24-04-2010, 01:50 PM
Hello!! For those who applied for medicine or dentistry and the application is still processing dont give up hope yet.. they are still having interviews.. n the results will prob be out mid May the earliest.... might even have to wait for the results till June if u r in the waiting list :)
kaiyi
24-04-2010, 02:20 PM
LLCH (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11554) Engineering
Age_2_Perfection (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=7981) Science
Congratz...
hmm..
Me is science (many coursemates ya)
confuser008
24-04-2010, 04:02 PM
NTU won't know whether you have applied to NUS or vice versa. So, if you accept the NUS's offer, you still can obtain offer from NTU. After that, if you decide to study at any one of the two unis, you have to reject the other.
cfliang
24-04-2010, 04:03 PM
When did you apply? Is that the ASEAN scholarship for the latest batch? I thought the shorlisting will only be at the end of May and in June?
Anyhow, Congratulations :)
Thanks. We are automatically considered for ASEAN Scholarship when we apply for admission to NUS. I am not sure which batch, but my intake is in the coming July.
Nope. I was shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship first before I was offered a place in NUS.
Wow, congrats for shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship. Good luck for the interview.
Yr result must be very excellent. 5As?
Thanks~ Nope. I got 4As. My friend who got 4As was also shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship too. Maybe they are still in the midst of shortlisting students for other rounds as I was told that the results of the scholarship will only be known by end of June.
hon3yd3w
24-04-2010, 05:12 PM
how do we know whether we are shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship?? by email??
day_dreamer
24-04-2010, 06:07 PM
Hey all of you who are willing to challenge hall life please apply for Kent Ridge Hall !!
It's gonna be fun !! :D
teo18
24-04-2010, 06:21 PM
congrats to all those accepted into NUS.Now I am even more anxious & nervous still waiting & keep on checking this forum. Ok now I am wondering which residence hall is near the School of Accountancy in NUS
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 07:14 PM
congrats to all those accepted into NUS.Now I am even more anxious & nervous still waiting & keep on checking this forum. Ok now I am wondering which residence hall is near the School of Accountancy in NUS
Temasek, Eusoff, Kent Ridge and Sheares Hall are at close proximity with the the School of Accountancy which is under NUS Business School. :)
Hey all of you who are willing to challenge hall life please apply for Kent Ridge Hall !!
It's gonna be fun !! :D
Hahaha, promoting KR huh? :D
The nearest hall to Faculty of Science is King Edward VII Hall which is where I am staying now. :)
han72890
24-04-2010, 08:53 PM
How will you be nitified if shortlisted to asean scholarship interview?I am offered civil eng NUS.
sofiazee
24-04-2010, 09:15 PM
I GOT SCIENCE ARRRRGHH :/
How can I appeal to change my course? Science is my 2nd choice la but I want Pharmacy :(
teo18
24-04-2010, 09:34 PM
Temasek, Eusoff, Kent Ridge and Sheares Hall are at close proximity with the the School of Accountancy which is under NUS Business School. :)
Hahaha, promoting KR huh? :D
The nearest hall to Faculty of Science is King Edward VII Hall which is where I am staying now. :)
Thanks for d info.hope i got a place in NUS
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 09:38 PM
I need more info about NUS.
Is it just have to check for the nus website?
cheanrocks
24-04-2010, 09:46 PM
I need more info about NUS.
Is it just have to check for the nus website?
Yup :) Or you can post your questions here.
Thanks for d info.hope i got a place in NUS
The closest would be Kent Ridge Hall. Next to Kent Ridge Hall is Sheares Hall. Hahaha. :)
Good luck!
OTS_Nexus
24-04-2010, 10:01 PM
I got Computing which is my 1st choice, so happy~ ^^
Anyone else got computing too?
XterNalz
24-04-2010, 10:03 PM
I got Computing which is my 1st choice, so happy~ ^^
Anyone else got computing too?
Xon got it too. Computing is my first and only choice but my application is still processing.
popuri
24-04-2010, 10:20 PM
Hello everyone...
Anyone got admission to NUS business admin here?
Annabelle88
24-04-2010, 10:28 PM
Hello everyone...
hon3yd3w got it:)
Feni2008
24-04-2010, 10:57 PM
How can I appeal to change my course? Science is my 2nd choice la but I want Pharmacy :(
me too,my 1st choice is pharmacy too.
it looks like no one here get pharmacy.
sicknight
24-04-2010, 11:10 PM
I got my first choice,Mechanical Engineering. :)):)) Anyone here got this too??
OTS_Nexus
24-04-2010, 11:14 PM
Xon got it too. Computing is my first and only choice but my application is still processing.
Oh i see. Seems not much people choosing Computing?
You applied only Computing? Not interested in other courses?
XterNalz
24-04-2010, 11:17 PM
Oh i see. Seems not much people choosing Computing?
You applied only Computing? Not interested in other courses?
Yea, I wouldn't take anything other than Computer Science.
*Actually there's another guy who applied for Computing as well - http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=10476.
sengloon
24-04-2010, 11:41 PM
congratz to everyone had got the admission to NUS..By the way anyone of you guys have MUET marks <200 ?? I have a friend scored CGPA 4.0 in STPM but due to her Muet <200 she cant get any offer from NUS..And now I am worrying about myself that having same situation as her but mine is still processing..I applied Chemical Eng. :(
llbbss8149
25-04-2010, 03:19 AM
when will the offer letter reach me? about how many days? im living in taiping perak... thx
mitsukolyn
25-04-2010, 07:24 AM
i got science instead of pharm....
hey,sofiazee,we're on the same boat...So,are you accepting the offer??? Hm...I've heard that people changing their course to pharmacy/medicine after the 2nd year..I guess it's provided only when we did really good in our first year...Pharm and med are really competitive...
By the way,can I know is it that NUS will offer us grants/schshps if we accept their offer?
sherr
25-04-2010, 07:58 AM
when will the offer letter reach me? about how many days? im living in taiping perak... thx
The offer letter will usually reach in a week's time but can vary.. Mine last year took 2 weeks and it was already late may!! It had me thinking that the website made a mistake..haha..
The offer letter will come with the acceptance letter which must be sent back to sg to have officially accepted the course :)
sugarspice
25-04-2010, 08:49 AM
The offer letter will come with the acceptance letter which must be sent back to sg to have officially accepted the course :)
Is there any initial payment (how much) upon making an acceptance?
Can I still decline after accepting? :huh
cfliang
25-04-2010, 09:49 AM
how do we know whether we are shortlisted for ASEAN scholarship?? by email??
Yeap. By email.
By the way, anyone else got Arts & Social Science?
hon3yd3w
25-04-2010, 10:20 AM
Hello everyone...
hi. u also got business admin??
cheanrocks
25-04-2010, 10:50 AM
i got science instead of pharm....
hey,sofiazee,we're on the same boat...So,are you accepting the offer??? Hm...I've heard that people changing their course to pharmacy/medicine after the 2nd year..I guess it's provided only when we did really good in our first year...Pharm and med are really competitive...
By the way,can I know is it that NUS will offer us grants/schshps if we accept their offer?
It's not NUS that will offer the Tuition Grant, it's MOE. If you have accepted NUS, you are eligible to apply for the Tuition Grant which will cover about 70-80% of your fees depending on your course.
There's also Tuition Fee Loan (bank loan) that you can apply for to cover some (not all) of the remaining fees.
In addition, NUS offers Financial Aid. :)
Is there any initial payment (how much) upon making an acceptance?
Can I still decline after accepting? :huh
Nope, there's no payment. Yes you can decline after accepting.
markwongsk
25-04-2010, 11:15 AM
congratz to everyone had got the admission to NUS..By the way anyone of you guys have MUET marks <200 ?? I have a friend scored CGPA 4.0 in STPM but due to her Muet <200 she cant get any offer from NUS..And now I am worrying about myself that having same situation as her but mine is still processing..I applied Chemical Eng. :(
Chem Eng is very competitive in NUS so you might have been pooled.
popuri
25-04-2010, 11:42 AM
hi. u also got business admin??
yup. maybe we will be coursemates. :)
day_dreamer
25-04-2010, 03:34 PM
Just follow the freshman packs they are sending you and follow the instructions and you will be fine :D
axaxa
25-04-2010, 06:00 PM
I got chemical engineering..
may I know how to apply for the financial aid?
cheanrocks
25-04-2010, 07:10 PM
I got chemical engineering..
may I know how to apply for the financial aid?
The application for Financial Aid is now closed but you can appeal to them.
For more details, refer to this website http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/scholarships-financialaid/financialaid/financial-index.html
sengloon
26-04-2010, 12:17 AM
Chem Eng is very competitive in NUS so you might have been pooled.
Thank you for replying..It's too bad..But my application is still under processing instead being rejected..Are they considering my subsequent choices then??
ninjaturtle
26-04-2010, 01:26 AM
still processing... aih >.<
mitsukolyn
26-04-2010, 06:43 AM
The application for Financial Aid is now closed but you can appeal to them.
For more details, refer to this website http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/scholarships-financialaid/financialaid/financial-index.html
can i know how can i appeal to them?? my parents can't support my edu there...
sengloon
26-04-2010, 09:53 AM
still processing... aih >.<
Yes, Me too :( ..what are your choices??
Orlando
26-04-2010, 09:55 AM
Hey, anyone got offers for accountancy yet?? or applied?
kitkitty
26-04-2010, 10:37 AM
Hey, anyone got offers for accountancy yet?? or applied?
i applied accounting. but still in process.
cheanrocks
26-04-2010, 04:54 PM
can i know how can i appeal to them?? my parents can't support my edu there...
Send them an email. :)
teo18
26-04-2010, 05:16 PM
i applied accounting. but still in process.
Me also still in process
llbbss8149
26-04-2010, 06:03 PM
Any seniors would like to provide information about moe tuition grant? erm about success rate, have to pay back o not ? ,when to apply ....... thx
cheanrocks
26-04-2010, 06:59 PM
Any seniors would like to provide information about moe tuition grant? erm about success rate, have to pay back o not ? ,when to apply ....... thx
Everyone will be eligible to apply for MOE Tuition Grant upon admission and it is a guarantee that you will be offered this grant provided that you adhere to their terms and conditions. You are not required to pay any money back but you will have to serve a three year bond which I personally think isn't a big deal. :)
Don't worry too much about application details, information about this grant will be provided when you receive your freshman pack and there will be people to guide you with this. :)
llbbss8149
26-04-2010, 07:41 PM
Nope, there's no payment. Yes you can decline after accepting.
Can u give me the link to change my decision after i accept the offer..... thx
yanyan
26-04-2010, 09:29 PM
When I check my appplication status, I think I get Chem Eng...
Haiz... But I had financial problem...
Mayb rejecting... Dilemma!!
Wait for ASEAN first. You might get the scholarship. Other than that you still have study loans and others.
cheanrocks
26-04-2010, 09:40 PM
Can u give me the link to change my decision after i accept the offer..... thx
What do you mean? You mean after accepting the offer online?
By not sending the hardcopy reply letter which they will send to you with your offer letter, means you have declined the offer.
When I check my appplication status, I think I get Chem Eng...
Haiz... But I had financial problem...
Mayb rejecting... Dilemma!!
It's NUS policy to make sure that no deserving student is denied admission due to financial constraints. There are many options available to help you with your financial problem.
Annabelle88
26-04-2010, 09:49 PM
:cryWuwuwuw....my parents say they are not able to afford my tuition fees in NUS.What can i do?I have a big family so I have to find the financial aid by myself.
Any senior can provide info?
Thank you
I think a lot of ppl who been offered by NUS have financial problem.
mitsukolyn
26-04-2010, 10:01 PM
annabelle, i'm in the same boat as you though my family is not really big...I'm having 4 siblings.I'm the youngest. My dad said he couldn't afford me too due to his income. He says that I can only go Spore provided that I'm getting a scholarship. But don't loose hope.I'm sure that there should be a way to get out of these financial constraints. I do think before of working while studying.But life in spore unis are so stressful,I guess I wouldn't be able to cope with it since I'm just an average student. What we can do is just apply grants,loans and so on...Don't loose faith...
Well.my family certainly aint paying me to study anywhere. So I go where the money goes. Haha. Guess we are all the same.
han72890
26-04-2010, 10:14 PM
dont worry,you can take up a loan at any bank singapore and is 99% successful.Besides you can work in singapore.I am working in Singapore now and get admitted into NUS this year.
Annabelle88
26-04-2010, 10:14 PM
annabelle, i'm in the same boat as you though my family is not really big...I'm having 4 siblings.I'm the youngest. My dad said he couldn't afford me too due to his income. He says that I can only go Spore provided that I'm getting a scholarship. But don't loose hope.I'm sure that there should be a way to get out of these financial constraints. I do think before of working while studying.But life in spore unis are so stressful,I guess I wouldn't be able to cope with it since I'm just an average student. What we can do is just apply grants,loans and so on...Don't loose faith...
:)I have 7 siblings and I am the eldest.What grants or loans can we apply?Hehehe:) may I know what course u have been offered?
XterNalz
26-04-2010, 10:16 PM
For those ordinary courses like FASS/FoS/Engineering/SoC, you would need around RM150k(minimum) to RM200k to complete your 4-year studies (including living cost & accommodation). This is after the MOE tuition grant.
Annabelle88
26-04-2010, 10:23 PM
dont worry,you can take up a loan at any bank singapore and is 99% successful.Besides you can work in singapore.I am working in Singapore now and get admitted into NUS this year.
Take up loan at bank?Then what is the interest now? Hehe :) may I know what is ur job? and what course u have been offered?
For those ordinary courses like FASS/FoS/Engineering/SoC, you would need around RM150k(minimum) to RM200k to complete your 4-year studies (including living cost & accommodation). This is after the MOE tuition grant.
Actually what is MOE tuition grant?:huh
han72890
26-04-2010, 10:28 PM
MOE grant is subsidy by Sg government which make up to 70 & of the fees and do not need to return..FOC lolz.the interest is different from time to time hard to say..some even got interest free till the day you start working.
I work as promoter and i would say quite ok the salary.
Annabelle88
26-04-2010, 10:33 PM
MOE grant is subsidy by Sg government which make up to 70 & of the fees and do not need to return..FOC lolz.the interest is different from time to time hard to say..some even got interest free till the day you start working.
I work as promoter and i would say quite ok the salary.
When can i apply the MOE tuition grant?
No need to pay back?Then is there any bond?:)