View Full Version : Psychology
28-06-2004, 03:12 AM
Here you can post on Psychology.
PaTiEnT
22-01-2007, 11:51 PM
I study Psych :) Going to start my fourth year soon.
What to say about Pscyh? It's interesting and it's fun! You get a mixture of emotion, bio (mostly brain), behaviour, attitudes, norms, etc etc.. :D it's a great subject area!
Not all fun and games though. Plus, not as easy as some might think. A lot of students start off thinking that by studying Psych, they can solve their problems. That is not the case. Psych is in fact, a lot more about discovering. It can help you broaden your mind and looks at situations from different perspectives but whether or not having this knowledge can help you better yourself is up to the individual :) There's a whole lot of answers, but a lot more questions.
Umm.. I guess that's all I have to say. If anyone is interested in a more detailed description of what the subject is about, feel free to shoot me some questions. :/ Sad.. doesn't seem like there's too many psych peeps though..
hi PaTiEnT,
happy 2 find an psych expert here hehe.....
i'm a 2006 stpm candidate intrested in psych n planning 2 take tis course in uni later...
hopefully u can give me more detail info in studying psych
coz i'm not really clear bout it,i juz know roughly bout the course n some of the of the topics only . so i hope tat u can tell me more bout tis course n some hints in order 2 success in tis course.
thx a lot!! God bless u!! :P
08-06-2007, 02:57 PM
Hi, I am going to take the Mechanical engineering for my tertiary studies, but, can i take the phychology as my sub-subjects??
I mean as a minor subject..can?
30-01-2008, 07:26 PM
white2020, as u are picking up an engineering course, I think it's rather hard to do tat(since those 2 subjects are totally different things)....and if I am not wrong, life as an engineering student is already hectic itself(lotsa theories and PRACTICALS)....and...it depends on which uni u choose and u hv to check on the courses and system they hv there. :wink:
30-01-2008, 07:36 PM
By the way, I'm a STPM 2007 student, applying for pubic uni entrance 08/09 soon. I'm interested to know more abt the career and academic pathway to become a clinical psychologist.
As I am a science stream student, the only public uni I can pick later for psychology course is UKM(uni Kebangsaan Malaysia). UMS do offer psychology course but they only open for art stream students.
I hv heard that in order to become a clinical psychologist, one can either do a degree in psychology/counselling course first, then only master in psychology. and both pathways can lead to the pathway of becoming a clinicla psychologist.
can someone explain the difference btwn these two pathways?or which is a better pathway?
thx in advanced :wink:
mikimiaw
06-12-2008, 05:44 PM
study psychology really need study stpm?
06-12-2008, 05:51 PM
Well, STPM is a pre-University course. Is there a university that would allow an individual to pursue an undergraduate course (Psychology included) without having to pursue a pre-University course first?
jeremychang
07-12-2008, 05:19 PM
I would make a list of all psychology programs that you are interested in applying (I'm assuming you are applying within Malaysia), then I would ask them if they needed STPM.
It's better you hear it from them, then to ask people here at the boards.
Athersin
07-12-2008, 11:02 PM
if not mistaken, all degree courses need at least several units of psychology study right?
Jieweitan
08-12-2008, 03:12 AM
I might want to take up Psychology as a minor or second major when I get to the US. I want to ask what kind of jobs can I do by taking psychology (psychologist excluded).
Would taking psychology be beneficial to me in understanding the behavior of other people? Like, can I understand human nature in a better way?
I've always found psychology interesting. But, is it hard to study?
I might want to take up Psychology as a minor or second major when I get to the US. I want to ask what kind of jobs can I do by taking psychology (psychologist excluded).
Would taking psychology be beneficial to me in understanding the behavior of other people? Like, can I understand human nature in a better way?
Hi, i am MOE scholar would be taking psychology next year in UK.
Undoubtedly, psychology helps a lot in understanding the human behavioural changes, emotional swings and abuses.
It has a lot of fields whereby you have to specialised into a more detail field like child psychology, marriage psychology and a lots more.
Besides, there r many students majoring in psychology pursue their master degree in therapist like speech pathology and occupational therapist. it is either a demanding field though.:)
jeremychang
09-12-2008, 08:46 AM
Hi Jieweitan,
This is a long post, so bare with me :laugh
I just graduated from Stony Brook University last May with a Bachelor's in Psychology. So I guess I'm somewhat qualified to answer your questions :))
First off, I wouldn't go far as to say that psychology helps you 'in understanding the behavior of other people'. I believe, at most, psychology offers insights into how people act or behave in a certain way. The understanding is based on how you, as either a casual observer or psychologist, will interpret that behavior based on what you know.
I also wouldn't necessary say that you'll understand human nature in a 'better way' (What is 'better' anyway? ;) ). Perhaps, instead, you become less judgemental? Or maybe more empathetic? Like I said before, the understanding is based on how you interpret a person's behavior on what you know.
In terms of jobs, I would say having only a Bachelor's in Psychology is pretty much useless if you want a psychology-related job. Double major in something if you can, or at least minor in something else because (I observed this amongst my friends who graduated before I did) psychology majors usually end up getting jobs that are not psychology-related.
Psychology-related jobs require at least a Masters. From counseling to social work to whatever it is, a master's is the very least you need to get a job. Unless you are doing research.
It all boils down to this: do you want to go clinical or research? Clinical involves the stereotype of psychologists. Counselors, therapists, social workers, psychologist-and-the-sofa etc. working in clinical settings. This kind of work involves interacting with patients, and usually involves a treatment of some kind.
Research, on the other hand, is more tedious. It involves experimentation, data-collection etc. Psychological research is very varied. You have those pen-and-paper survey labs where they collect data through questionnaires and surveys, and you have those wet labs that do molecular neuroimaging in D4 receptor-deprived mice. I myself work as a research assistant at Yale University.
All in all, I would advice you of gauging subjects as being either 'hard' or 'easy'. Instead, I suggest you rate subjects according to your level of interest. Studying psychology was very intellectually fulfilling for me. I highly recommend taking several classes at the very least. I guarantee alot of the things you learn about our behavior and mind will fascinate you.
Best of luck :)
Best,
Jeremy
Jieweitan
09-12-2008, 03:24 PM
Thank you, Jeremy for that insightful post.
Psychology does sound like a fun subject to dabble in. Maybe when I get to the US, I can try out a few classes to see whether I like it or not. I don't mind just studying for the fun of it. :D
What are all of the courses covered in a Psychology major?
jeremychang
19-12-2008, 03:05 AM
Thank you, Jeremy for that insightful post.
Psychology does sound like a fun subject to dabble in. Maybe when I get to the US, I can try out a few classes to see whether I like it or not. I don't mind just studying for the fun of it. :D
What are all of the courses covered in a Psychology major?
No problem :)
That sounds like a good attitude. I took a lot of classes for fun in Uni (or just 'college', as the Americans call it) as well. Take classes that sound interesting, usually asking the professor for the course syllabus before signing up for the class is a good idea.
There are ALOT of courses covered by Psychology. And it depends on the university as well. Some universities predominantly focus on social or clinical research - so expect more courses on social/clinical psych, whilst some are more cognitive, or biological-focused - so more courses would be focused on that. You'll probably want to join a university that offers a wide variety of choices - look through the course offerings before choosing a university. These are things you should consider if you plan on transferring to another university if you are serious about majoring in Psychology.
If you want to just dabble in it, I suggest you just pick something that interests you before doing anything serious. Abnormal psychology is always a hit with first timers :amuse
Best of luck,
Jeremy
skyblues
19-12-2008, 05:52 PM
Hello !! I am interested in psychology... But have less than enough idea about some part of it.
Erm, can anybody clarify "psychologist-and-the-sofa" to me? What is it afterall ?
Jeremy, are you malaysian? if so, are you going to come back to malaysia to work? Because from what I know there isn't really much propect for psychology-graduates here. As in my secondary counselor's case, she was sent to be a secondary school counselor though she applied as "clinical counselor" ( is the term right? ) So I am worried about the future of psychology-related prospects in malaysia.
Another question here: What is cognitive psychology about? ( used to hear that term without knowing the content of this field...)
What are differences between social or clinical research psychology AND cognitive, or biological-focused psychology?
mikimiaw
22-12-2008, 07:16 PM
Any1 study psychology in UTAR..i wan 2 noe it more..izzit intresting 2 study UTAR for psychology....
i dont mind if not gud...cuz i alredi choose this university college..haha...i juz wanna ask for more..
skyblues
06-01-2009, 09:34 PM
Any1 study psychology in UTAR..i wan 2 noe it more..izzit intresting 2 study UTAR for psychology....
i dont mind if not gud...cuz i alredi choose this university college..haha...i juz wanna ask for more..
yes... u can pursue psychology major in utar... i am not sure whether the campus is in kampar or somewhere else. u can try to check the official website of utar or email the counselors to have more info...
jeremychang
07-01-2009, 11:55 AM
Hello !! I am interested in psychology... But have less than enough idea about some part of it.
Erm, can anybody clarify "psychologist-and-the-sofa" to me? What is it afterall ?
Jeremy, are you malaysian? if so, are you going to come back to malaysia to work? Because from what I know there isn't really much propect for psychology-graduates here. As in my secondary counselor's case, she was sent to be a secondary school counselor though she applied as "clinical counselor" ( is the term right? ) So I am worried about the future of psychology-related prospects in malaysia.
Another question here: What is cognitive psychology about? ( used to hear that term without knowing the content of this field...)
What are differences between social or clinical research psychology AND cognitive, or biological-focused psychology?
Hi Skyblues,
Sorry this took awhile!
What is cognitive psychology? Though I dont usually recommend wiki; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cognitive_psychology is helpful.
I don't think I can answer all your questions in such a limited space about differences and whatnot. The differences between social/clinical and cognitive/biopsych are endless, and yet, there are a lot of similarities too. The one thing about psychology is is that there are a lot of overlapping between different areas of psychology. Even my professors have a hard time describing themselves as either a 'bio-psychologist' or a 'cognitive neuroscientist'. I suggest the best way to find out that answer is to start reading. Google, wiki etc. can be very helpful.
And yes, I am Malaysian. And no, I will not be coming back to Malaysia soon. My career goals are in academia, and given the appalling state of Malaysian academics, I have no choice but to stay in the states. I hope to apply for Ph.D programs sometime next year, so meanwhile I will be gaining as much research experience as I can before applying.
I am not too familiar with counseling in Malaysia. From what I understand, you need at least a Masters to be a counselor. However, I do not know what the requirements are in secondary schools, or clinics in Malaysia. It would be best if you contacted such clinics, or even HELP UC/Sunway UC's psychology department for more information.
Good luck!
Best,
Jeremy
sprint
17-04-2009, 12:30 AM
Thank you for your sharing, Jeremy!
I wish to know is Psychology more on theory that need to remember or more on common sense?
u will know psychology is not about just theory, but it trains u to be more observant. :)
sprint
21-06-2009, 07:32 PM
u will know psychology is not about just theory, but it trains u to be more observant. :)
Thanks for your sharing! :)
jeremychang
30-07-2009, 05:14 AM
Hi Sprint!
This definitely is a way overdue response, but I'm going to try and make it up to you with a good answer.
As with other sciences, theories are a central part of psychology. Common sense is vital for a successful career in psychology as well, however, that can be said for any other career as well!
What is important to psychology is having a logical, rational and critical mind. Because alot of psychology is based on theories, one has to have a critical mindset when reading theories. Critical as in 'Is this right?', 'How does he prove what he is saying?' etc.
I believe alot of psychology has to do with this critical mindset. And not just with reading theories, but when analyzing data to discussing issues with patients. One always needs a critical mindset.
Hope that helps!
Best,
Jeremy :)
30-07-2009, 07:00 AM
i took psychology 101...i just hope i'll never have to face that subject anymore...
sprint
30-07-2009, 09:44 PM
Hi Sprint!
This definitely is a way overdue response, but I'm going to try and make it up to you with a good answer.
As with other sciences, theories are a central part of psychology. Common sense is vital for a successful career in psychology as well, however, that can be said for any other career as well!
What is important to psychology is having a logical, rational and critical mind. Because alot of psychology is based on theories, one has to have a critical mindset when reading theories. Critical as in 'Is this right?', 'How does he prove what he is saying?' etc.
I believe alot of psychology has to do with this critical mindset. And not just with reading theories, but when analyzing data to discussing issues with patients. One always needs a critical mindset.
Hope that helps!
Best,
Jeremy :)
Thanks Jeremy!
It is really help. Anyway can a business background person study psychology? For example, I never take science subjects during secondary school and I continue my study to Diploma in Business Admin. So now is it possible for me to study psychology?
Thanks for your sharing! And sorry that keep questioning you. Hope that did not trouble you.
Sprint
davidchak
31-07-2009, 10:15 PM
Yeah sure..Inf act, having a psychology background will help greatly in Business admin as managing people require you to understand them first :)
u dun need a psychology degree to understand more on people.
All this skill can be trained up on day to day interaction with people.
i learn psychology just for the sake of obtaining a degree and learn the skill for research methadology which may in fact pose me great benefits in future career.
I knew a friend who don't study psychology and he is now involving in human resource departments as a HR manager.
davidchak
01-08-2009, 11:48 PM
I know..u dont really need a psychology to understand people..But it also shows the real life implementation of knowledge learnt in Psychology...
Its just like....u dont need a degree in Business Admin to become a manager, but having one will be more convincing (academically).
02-08-2009, 03:37 PM
btw Feynman kinda looks like a ADHD-afflicted Professor Snape in the photos :D
<digression> I thought he looks more like Forrest Gump. </digression>
truecolours
26-08-2009, 08:35 PM
Hi, I just want to get some opinions. Do you think majoring in Psychology is something worth looking in to? I mean in terms of securing a career in Malaysia (since psychologists aren't exactly common here). :)
02-09-2009, 03:09 PM
IMO, psychology holder in malaysia would be more to those who work at human resource department, social welfare,orphanages,mental institutions,as academicians and counsellors at higher institution like colleges, universities or even at school settings.
while at overseas, i guess the oppurtunities are plenty and you could always have another alternative which is going to research fields.
missCrab92
07-09-2009, 12:55 PM
hi, im planning to take a course in malaysia matriculation next year. (if i get la)
i had always interested in psychology, but since psychology-based occupations aren't common in malaysia, i thought i'd take some course on business.
which one should i major on? psychology or business??
and which course would be better in matrikulasi in this case? science stream or account?
thanks in advance ;)
07-09-2009, 02:30 PM
hi, im planning to take a course in malaysia matriculation next year. (if i get la)
i had always interested in psychology, but since psychology-based occupations aren't common in malaysia, i thought i'd take some course on business.
which one should i major on? psychology or business??
and which course would be better in matrikulasi in this case? science stream or account?
thanks in advance ;)
not to spoil your mood here, the chances are pretty low if you go for matriculation.there are only two Psychology course offered in IPTA which are UKM and UMS. I got to know from two of my friends from matriculation who are both in science stream and are so interested in psychology but yet can't secure it though it is within their 1st choice.but,i guess social sciences are offered in other IPTA like USM , UM and UPM which are much related to psychology fields too as you may try out.
phoebec
06-10-2009, 06:54 PM
Hi. I am currently in Form 5 right now and I would like to know what are my career options if I choose to take Psychology course. Anyone? (:
kaiyi
08-10-2009, 03:34 PM
not to spoil your mood here, the chances are pretty low if you go for matriculation.there are only two Psychology course offered in IPTA which are UKM and UMS. I got to know from two of my friends from matriculation who are both in science stream and are so interested in psychology but yet can't secure it though it is within their 1st choice.but,i guess social sciences are offered in other IPTA like USM , UM and UPM which are much related to psychology fields too as you may try out.
UMS only accepts art stream students. UKM accepts both streams. USM, UM an UPM only offer counselling.
ChristopherHor
20-11-2009, 11:48 AM
First of all, be clear with what is "Science-based Psychology" and "Art-based Psychology", or the so called "B.Sc." and "B.A". They are different!! So you must choose carefully before you go for your degree in any universities and college, even in Malaysia!
B.Sc. Psych can offer you the path to get Master in Clinical Psych, Forensic Psych and those related with Brain functions and clinical settings.
While B.A. Psych can give you the advancement to Master in counseling psych, education psych, Industrial and Organizational Psych, Child Psych (Malaysia dun have this one) and developmental psych.
Another information you should know is, Malaysia's psychology is not recognized by any psychology board of the world (APA, BPS, APS etc) This is because malaysia itself do not have licensed board for psychologist (Counseling has their own licensing board, so counseling psychologist mostly converted into counselor in the end)
So, some of us might be thinking to go oversea to obtained their master and license. Another thing you should aware is, most of the oversea required 4th year of your psychology programme....(most local and private offered 3 years in psych only) However, you still can solve this problem by getting their postgraduate diploma/graduate diploma before you enter their master/phd/doctoral degree for psych-related degree.
My advice will be, be clear of what you really want to be in the future first, which career of psychology you are most interested with...or else, it is quite troublesome for you. (Getting a B.A. Psychology is hard to enter Clinical psych - basic entrance requirement for some university)
missyrainy
20-11-2009, 01:15 PM
First of all, be clear with what is "Science-based Psychology" and "Art-based Psychology", or the so called "B.Sc." and "B.A". They are different!! So you must choose carefully before you go for your degree in any universities and college, even in Malaysia!
B.Sc. Psych can offer you the path to get Master in Clinical Psych, Forensic Psych and those related with Brain functions and clinical settings.
While B.A. Psych can give you the advancement to Master in counseling psych, education psych, Industrial and Organizational Psych, Child Psych (Malaysia dun have this one) and developmental psych.
Another information you should know is, Malaysia's psychology is not recognized by any psychology board of the world (APA, BPS, APS etc) This is because malaysia itself do not have licensed board for psychologist (Counseling has their own licensing board, so counseling psychologist mostly converted into counselor in the end)
So, some of us might be thinking to go oversea to obtained their master and license. Another thing you should aware is, most of the oversea required 4th year of your psychology programme....(most local and private offered 3 years in psych only) However, you still can solve this problem by getting their postgraduate diploma/graduate diploma before you enter their master/phd/doctoral degree for psych-related degree.
My advice will be, be clear of what you really want to be in the future first, which career of psychology you are most interested with...or else, it is quite troublesome for you. (Getting a B.A. Psychology is hard to enter Clinical psych - basic entrance requirement for some university)
May I know what's the difference if I take up Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Psychology and Bachelor of Psychology? I'm planning to take up Child Psychology in the future. Is it okay if I take Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology and I pursue my master in the future?
Jonathan
20-11-2009, 01:33 PM
thx 4 starting this forum on Psychology...I m a Lower 6 student...very interested to take psychology in da future...but i wan to know more on da career prospects of psychology in Malaysia...Can i actually find a job here in Malaysia to be a psychologist?
truecolours
21-11-2009, 12:25 AM
Hey, could someone help clarify the differences between social science and psychology because JPA happes to offer social science only.
davidchak
21-11-2009, 05:59 AM
Psychology is under social science. I am doing psyc under jpa social science
ChristopherHor
24-11-2009, 04:51 PM
May I know what's the difference if I take up Bachelor of Arts, majoring in Psychology and Bachelor of Psychology? I'm planning to take up Child Psychology in the future. Is it okay if I take Bachelor of Arts majoring in Psychology and I pursue my master in the future?
Bachelor of psychology? You mean the one offered in Help university? You will need to check with the subject offered, whether it is more related to physiological psychology (biological aspect, including neurons, nerves system etc). However, i believed Help uni is offering B.Sc. Psychology, as there is Master in Clinical Psychology offered by them as well.
The main differences for B.A. and B.Sc. will be the core subjects (or final years subjects) that you are taking in your degree. B.A. in Psychology (or Bachelor of Arts, Majoring in Psychology) is more related to social sciences and research (philosophy, research design, social psychology, public speaking, event management, counseling skills) while B.Sc. is more related to practical psychology knowledges (abnormal psychology, clinical psychology, biological/physiological psychology and cognitive psychology)
For your information, there is no Master in Child Psychology offered in any of the local universities in Malaysia, but only developmental psychology (which is similar but yet different with child psychology). Just browse through some of the universities over the internet and you will get some answers for that.
Hope it helps :)
For JPA Scholars, you need to check where you will get your Degree certification in the end. It will solely depends on that university, either it is B.A. or B.Sc.
B.A. will face difficulties in entering master in clinical psychology (the hottest choice of psychology master degree) but if you are lucky, you can get in. For B.Sc., there is no problem found so far...i think. (Same like Science stream student is easier to get any subject they want for their degree later on)
Anyways, it will still get recognized by the board of psychology in that country (Australia will get Australian Psychological Society certification, America will get American Psychological Association certification and so on)
sky_blue15
20-12-2009, 10:42 PM
i would like to ask that is that child psychologist this job found in malaysia???
where it will be the best to study child psychologist??
is the public uni offer child psychology?
20-12-2009, 11:37 PM
I believe you have to do a degree in psychology first before you specialise in child psychology. It is not a standalone study.
sky_blue15
21-12-2009, 12:02 AM
ya..i know that...as what i read u guyz wrote...is tat malaysia psychology studies doesnt hv licence izzit?/
i'm now studying form 6..science stream
Nicholas92
05-01-2010, 01:53 PM
Very interesting thread. Didn't know about the differences between B.Sc and B.A.
If anyone with experience could answer me, would you recommend simply going for a basic degree in Psychology out of interest? Is it possible to simply take a number of classes, i.e. not going for a degree but rather just taking it up for the sake of learning, and do universities offer that option? I would think that even if I'm not pursuing a career in this field, some knowledge would certainly help and may even be a boost when undertaking certain kinds of jobs, mostly HR-related ones.
Also, say I'm doing A-Levels but not taking Psychology as a subject (it's not offered at many places anyway), would anyone recommend I buy the textbooks and read them myself? Or is the material complicated to the extent of requiring a teacher to clarify on certain topics?
I hope I'm not being a bit too eager with the questions here...I promise one day I'll be the one answering questions on this forum :)