View Full Version : Info: JPA Scholarship 2010 - PIDN & PILN

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5

08-02-2010, 08:13 PM
Program Ijazah Dalam Negara (PIDN)
Posted: 06 Feb 2010 01:37 AM PST
https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/HdsyMKxNqM8sU97Vu4ueHgo-D64/0/pi (https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/HdsyMKxNqM8sU97Vu4ueHgo-D64/0/pa)
https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/HdsyMKxNqM8sU97Vu4ueHgo-D64/1/pi (https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/HdsyMKxNqM8sU97Vu4ueHgo-D64/1/pa)
Introduction

This scholarship was created for outstanding students who are not able to get Program Biasiswa Nasional dan Program Ijazah Luar Negara (PILN) due to limited number of scholarships available under both programme.
Institution of Higher Learning

The scholarship for students to pursue their studies at the following institution :

Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM)
Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia (UKM),
Universiti Putera Malaysia (UPM)
Universiti Malaya (UM),
University of Nottingham (Malaysia)
Monash University (Malaysia)
Swinburne University of Technology (Malaysia)
Curtin University of Technology (Malaysia)
Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP),
Universiti Multimedia Malaysia (MMU),
Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN),
AIMST University,
Universiti Kuala Lumpur (UniKL)-Royal College of Medical Sciences (RCMS),
Cyberjaya University College of Medical Sciences (CUCMS),
Alliance College of Medical Sciences (ACMS)-UKM
University College Sedaya International (UCSI).

Successful candidates will be sponsored from matriculation level up to bachelor degree subject to passing the required criteria by each institution.
Eligibility for Bachelor Degree Candidates

Besides that, the offer also available for student who pursuing studies in bachelor degree programme in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, engineering, law, and science and technology, management and literature at IPTA, Universiti Multimedia Malaysia (MMU), Universiti Teknologi Petronas (UTP) dan Universiti Tenaga Nasional (UNITEN).
Details Info

Full details on the scholarships can be obtained from the department?s portal at www.jpa.gov.my (http://www.jpa.gov.my/) or by calling (03) 8885-3412 from March 10 or by coming personally to counters at its human development division at the lobby, Blok C1, Putrajaya from 8am to 4pm.
Advertisements on the scholarship offer will also be placed in all major mainstream newspapers. Applications can be made online from the date the results of the 2009 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) examination results are officially announced.
http://malaysia-scholarship.net/?ak_action=api_record_view&id=1202&type=feed
Program Ijazah Luar Negara (PILN)
Posted: 06 Feb 2010 01:29 AM PST
https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/fhEx2I-NNXu_V0Ktw4anyGaWQGE/0/pi (https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/fhEx2I-NNXu_V0Ktw4anyGaWQGE/0/pa)
https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/fhEx2I-NNXu_V0Ktw4anyGaWQGE/1/pi (https://feedads.g.doubleclick.net/%7Ea/LLCzFWqE-8TFxdvHWhMuh5Nw6v4/fhEx2I-NNXu_V0Ktw4anyGaWQGE/1/pa)
Introduction

Program Ijazah Luar Negara (PILN) is a scholarshi programme to outstanding students to pursue bachelor degree programme at universities overseas.
Eligibility

Open to all SPM 2009 candidates with excellent result;
Age below 18 (19 year for peralihan student) on 31 December 2009;
Pass the interview process
Successful candidates are required to attend preparation course which will be arranged at later date by JPA.

Selection Criteria

Academic Achievement;
Co-curriculum activities;
Interview performance
Family background.

Details Info

Full details on the scholarships can be obtained from the department?s portal at www.jpa.gov.my (http://www.jpa.gov.my/) or by calling (03) 8885-3412 from March 10 or by coming personally to counters at its human development division at the lobby, Blok C1, Putrajaya from 8am to 4pm.
Advertisements on the scholarship offer will also be placed in all major mainstream newspapers. Applications can be made online from the date the results of the 2009 Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) examination results are officially announced.

Syarat-syarat Permohonan Tajaan JPA dan MARA Untuk Lepasan SPM 2009 Di Bawah Program Ijazah Luar Negara (http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf)

If you have any question, feel free to ask. :)

X-FaR
08-02-2010, 08:54 PM
What about PROGRAM BIASISWA NASIONAL...
Can you explain about this programme...

leolsq
08-02-2010, 09:25 PM
What about PROGRAM BIASISWA NASIONAL...
Can you explain about this programme...

From what I know..

1.PROGRAM BIASISWA NASIONAL

Dalam pembentangan Bajet 2010 pada 30 Oktober 2009, Y.A.B. Perdana Menteri telah mengumumkan penganugerahan Biasiswa Nasional kepada 30 pelajar terbaik lepasan Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) di kalangan yang terbaik untuk melanjutkan pelajaran ke universiti tersohor di dunia berasaskan kepada merit mulai tahun 2010.Sehubungan itu, Kementerian Pelajaran akan mengenal pasti pelajar paling cemerlang dari kalangan pelajar yang mendapat A+ dalam semua mata pelajaran peperiksaan SPM untuk ditaja di bawah Program Biasiswa Nasional ini.

Pelajar-pelajar akan ditaja untuk mengikuti pengajian peringkat ijazah pertama di universiti-universiti terkemuka di dalam ataupun luar negara dalam pelbagai bidang pengajian mengikut minat dan pilihan pelajar.

Maklumat dan syarat asas untuk Program Biasiswa Nasional adalah seperti berikut:
* Terbuka untuk calon lepasan SPM 2009 yang memperolehi keputusan A+ dalam semua mata pelajaran yang diambil dan minimum bilangan mata pelajaran yang dinilai adalah sebanyak sembilan mata pelajaran (Pencalonan akan ditentukan oleh Kementerian Pelajaran Malaysia);
* Umur belum mencapai 18 tahun (19 tahun bagi pelajar peralihan) pada 31 Disember 2009;
* Calon perlu melalui proses temuduga; dan
* Calon yang berjaya akan mengikuti kursus persediaan di pusat-pusat pengajian yang ditetapkan oleh JPA.

Kriteria yang digunapakai untuk pemilihan/penawaran biasiswa Kerajaan/JPA adalah seperti berikut:
* Pencapaian akademik; dan
* Prestasi temuduga.

Hope it helps :)

X-FaR
08-02-2010, 10:15 PM
From what I know..

1.PROGRAM BIASISWA NASIONAL

Dalam pembentangan Bajet 2010 pada 30 Oktober 2009, Y.A.B. Perdana Menteri telah mengumumkan penganugerahan Biasiswa Nasional kepada 30 pelajar terbaik lepasan Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM) di kalangan yang terbaik untuk melanjutkan pelajaran ke universiti tersohor di dunia berasaskan kepada merit mulai tahun 2010.Sehubungan itu, Kementerian Pelajaran akan mengenal pasti pelajar paling cemerlang dari kalangan pelajar yang mendapat A+ dalam semua mata pelajaran peperiksaan SPM untuk ditaja di bawah Program Biasiswa Nasional ini.

Pelajar-pelajar akan ditaja untuk mengikuti pengajian peringkat ijazah pertama di universiti-universiti terkemuka di dalam ataupun luar negara dalam pelbagai bidang pengajian mengikut minat dan pilihan pelajar.

Maklumat dan syarat asas untuk Program Biasiswa Nasional adalah seperti berikut:
* Terbuka untuk calon lepasan SPM 2009 yang memperolehi keputusan A+ dalam semua mata pelajaran yang diambil dan minimum bilangan mata pelajaran yang dinilai adalah sebanyak sembilan mata pelajaran (Pencalonan akan ditentukan oleh Kementerian Pelajaran Malaysia);
* Umur belum mencapai 18 tahun (19 tahun bagi pelajar peralihan) pada 31 Disember 2009;
* Calon perlu melalui proses temuduga; dan
* Calon yang berjaya akan mengikuti kursus persediaan di pusat-pusat pengajian yang ditetapkan oleh JPA.

Kriteria yang digunapakai untuk pemilihan/penawaran biasiswa Kerajaan/JPA adalah seperti berikut:
* Pencapaian akademik; dan
* Prestasi temuduga.

Hope it helps :)

Thanks for that info...
It seem to be "1 Malaysia" Scholarship, I think...

So what is the different between Anugerah Kijang Emas by BNM and Biasiswa Nasional?

Both of them offer to the TOP student...

cherpin
09-02-2010, 12:06 PM
does jpa provide scholarship for undergraduate program or only pre-u? the eligibility mentioned only for SPM 2009 candidates.

09-02-2010, 12:37 PM
does jpa provide scholarship for undergraduate program or only pre-u? the eligibility mentioned only for SPM 2009 candidates.

PILN and PIDN scholarships are for SPM leavers. JPA will sponsor from pre-U up to bach. degree.

09-02-2010, 01:57 PM
Can we apply for both PIDN and PILN together or we can only choose to apply one of it?

09-02-2010, 02:03 PM
Can we apply for both PIDN and PILN together or we can only choose to apply one of it?

I heard that we can apply for both and if we failed to secure overseas scholarship, we can be offered the local scholarship instead. I just guessing and not sure about it, hope some experienced seniors can clarify more about it.

cherpin
09-02-2010, 03:22 PM
thanks for telling me that.. but i've finished my pre-u n i was a SPM 2008 leaver.. so i want to know whether i can apply for jpa

yvonne91
09-02-2010, 05:15 PM
I heard that we can apply for both and if we failed to secure overseas scholarship, we can be offered the local scholarship instead. I just guessing and not sure about it, hope some experienced seniors can clarify more about it.

From what i remember, we got to choose only one out of the two while filling up the form. some that failed to get PILN might get PIDN as well although he/she doesn't apply for it. So, apply for PILN first ..:)

thanks for telling me that.. but i've finished my pre-u n i was a SPM 2008 leaver.. so i want to know whether i can apply for jpa

if you are doing form 6,you may apply for tajaan tambahan JPA(undergraduate) for your degree. If you are doing other pre-u program, i guess u might not be able to apply for it...not sure though.

yeliw
09-02-2010, 07:02 PM
From what i remember, we got to choose only one out of the two while filling up the form. some that failed to get PILN might get PIDN as well although he/she doesn't apply for it. So, apply for PILN first ..:)

if you are doing form 6,you may apply for tajaan tambahan JPA(undergraduate) for your degree. If you are doing other pre-u program, i guess u might not be able to apply for it...not sure though.

other pre-u also can such as diploma, and a-level

09-02-2010, 07:12 PM

Yeah i'm aiming for PILN and wish to pursue actuarial science abroad, such as US, UK and Australia. :)

cherpin
09-02-2010, 08:58 PM
other pre-u also can such as diploma, and a-level

i studied foundation in science (engineering) last year in taylors. so am i still eligible?

09-02-2010, 11:38 PM
i studied foundation in science (engineering) last year in taylors. so am i still eligible?

I think you are eligible but to make it sure, try asking the questions at JPA tajaan tambahan thread.

connieting
10-02-2010, 03:58 PM
hi...is there any bond for the scholarship?
I'm still waiting for stpm result. Am i eligible?
Normally ...how many years of bond for choosing medicine , dentistry or pharmacy?

starlover
10-02-2010, 05:07 PM
Normally ...how many years of bond for choosing medicine , dentistry or pharmacy?

Isn't PILN for spm leavers only? :huh

Of course there's a bond. For medicine, 10 years. Pharmacy 6 years. Dentistry I think 6 years too..

10-02-2010, 07:37 PM
Normally ...how many years of bond for choosing medicine , dentistry or pharmacy?PILN is for SPM leavers, while PIDN is for local university students. However, since last year some students who applied for PILN get the scholarship to study in some local private university, I'm not sure where does this belong to though... At the same time there was Tajaan Tambahan for any students who managed to get a place in Ivy League or equal standard universities, however some sources claim that this scholarship is discontinued this year.

Bond for medicine and dentistry is 10 years, pharmacy is 6 years.

yvonne91
10-02-2010, 07:47 PM

As far as I concern, STPM leavers normally apply for JPA's tajaan tambahan to study locally. Very few ppl can actually apply for the abroad's one as most of the tajaan luar negara are given to SPM leavers. And yes, you have bond with the government but the bond is shorter than the overseas's one.:)

10-02-2010, 09:37 PM
As far as I concern, STPM leavers normally apply for JPA's tajaan tambahan to study locally. Very few ppl can actually apply for the abroad's one as most of the tajaan luar negara are given to SPM leavers. And yes, you have bond with the government but the bond is shorter than the overseas's one.:)The period of bond is actually same for PIDN and PILN.

10-02-2010, 11:32 PM
Does this Tajaan Tambahan offered to spm leavers that apply for the scholarship or its only for stpm leavers or equal that received offer letter from ivy league or equal standard school? What is the period for the bond for engineering?

acgerlok7
11-02-2010, 12:24 AM
woah!for biasiswa nasional...so high requirement...all a+..impossible for a so-so ppl lyk me..=(

11-02-2010, 02:04 AM
Does this Tajaan Tambahan offered to spm leavers that apply for the scholarship or its only for stpm leavers or equal that received offer letter from ivy league or equal standard school? What is the period for the bond for engineering?Tajaan Tambahan is open for students who already secured a place in Ivy League standard universities, while SPM leavers can apply for PILN. Bond for engineering is 6 years if I'm not mistaken.

bluelavender
11-02-2010, 02:28 PM
I'm an Alevels leaver and just got offer for pharmacy at Monash Malaysia. I'm planning to apply for PIDN but i dont know much about it. Can anyone help me on this?

1) Can i apply for it as i'm an Alevels leaver? (not matrix, stpm, spm fresh grad)
2) Is Monash Malaysia in the list?
3) When is it open for application? How to apply? online?
4) I went to the JPA office to ask about it, they say only for public u and MMU, UTP and UNITEN, but in this forum, other private u is included. I'm very confused about it. Anyone mind to explain pls >_<

11-02-2010, 08:26 PM
I'm an Alevels leaver and just got offer for pharmacy at Monash Malaysia. I'm planning to apply for PIDN but i dont know much about it. Can anyone help me on this?

1) Can i apply for it as i'm an Alevels leaver? (not matrix, stpm, spm fresh grad)
2) Is Monash Malaysia in the list?
3) When is it open for application? How to apply? online?
4) I went to the JPA office to ask about it, they say only for public u and MMU, UTP and UNITEN, but in this forum, other private u is included. I'm very confused about it. Anyone mind to explain pls >_<There is such confusion due to last year's PILN, where post-SPM students who applied for PILN got the scholarship to study in private local university, and Monash is in the list. However, for usual PIDN, only students who secure a place in local public universities or MMU, UTP and UNITEN are eligible.

11-02-2010, 09:36 PM
Actually many people are confused between PILN and PIDN. Last year when JPA offered scholars to private colleges, it is under PILN in fact (2000 overseas scholarships and 2000 local scholarships). This local scholarship under PILN includes local universities and private colleges. It depends where are you heading. Let's say if you're going for local university, you will study matriculation first. For private colleges there are 2 cases as far as i know: JPA offers you directly then you go ahead and while you are studying at that private college they may consider to give you the scholarship to continue your studies (when there are extra local scholarships available? Not sure though).

On the other hand, PIDN offers 10000 local scholarships which include local public universities or MMU, UTP and UNITEN, if i'm not mistaken.

Do correct me if i'm wrong. :)

bluelavender
11-02-2010, 11:45 PM
i see.... which means i dont really have the chance for PIDN...

anyway, for PIDN and PILN, when will it open for application? apply online?

12-02-2010, 08:47 AM
i see.... which means i dont really have the chance for PIDN...

anyway, for PIDN and PILN, when will it open for application? apply online?
Dun worry, if u dun get PILN, u might get PIDN as a consolation prize. depends on ur luck. The online application will open when your all get ur SPM results. More info, check the 1st post of the thread.

myra
14-02-2010, 06:45 PM
can anyone explain how to pass the inteview for jpa scholarship???
i just want to make preparation for it if i get the scholarsip..(hopefully i get)..
i also want to know where jpa will send for student who stdy dentistry..?

14-02-2010, 09:09 PM
can anyone explain how to pass the inteview for jpa scholarship???
i just want to make preparation for it if i get the scholarsip..(hopefully i get)..
i also want to know where jpa will send for student who stdy dentistry..?
1. get the official interview letter from JPA website when they release it online.
2. follow the instructions in the letter especially in preparation of your documents.
3. go to the interview place, dress nicely.
4. wish the interviewers when you enter in the interview room.
5. You have to be able to answer the questions in Malay and English FLUENTLY. Thus, try to practice speaking these two language (if you are weak inn it).
6. Try giving mature answer and don't be too long and too short.
Note: You will be going in groups in the interview, thus don't dominate the interview. Try giving your friends to speak though they might be shy.
7. Finally, thank your interviewers.

Bonne Chance!!! (Good luck!!!)

For dentistry, India, Ireland, Australia are some of the examples.

For more information, check out this thread. JPA Interview of 31st till 5th April (please read before you post) (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8256&highlight=interview+tips)

well tis is my exp in sp,kedah.
we were divided into groups of 5.i was in d 1st group wif 3 pharms n 2 medics.there were 3 interviewers,1 indian who shoot us n 2 malays who listens.

1st was intro which we can giv any points we wanna,no specifics from them,they asked us in bm.i was the 1st to speak up n panic.i left out the course of my choice n which skul im from.major error.then is group discussion which all of us were unaware of until they told us.haha.

we hav 2 question.1st was y u deserved jpa n kalau anda tidak terpilih apakak tindakan yg anda akan buat.we were not discussin but instead quite passive.we onli talked when instruted to.there was one gurl who answered both the questions first.the indian hold m16 n start shootin when we hav our facts wrong.oh ya,at the beginning,they asked those applied medic how they feel bout this course n asked them whether they wanna switch course.

durin the 2nd question,i said i wil choose f6 cos it wil prepare my basics so that i can b better prepared.i touch on the issue of f6 harder than other preuni course.the indian asked me how u noe,then i said i heard from seniors which he reacted by sayin how can u conclude tins without seeing tins urself.my response was i got tis info from a senior who studied stpm n now pursuing pharm in usm,he did the comparissons n shared wif us juniors.i tin tis response was lamn.overall my group was quite paiseh,n i failed it big time.

after the qna they asked us whether we hav any questions 4 them.the same gurl jus now asked them whether they r pharmacist(to clear the professional issue) but they answered no.i later asked them hows long the bond.they replied while laughin.hehe. their ans is 10 for pros n 7 4 non pros.after tat i shake hands wif them.i was shocked when the malay said tat females cannot shake hand wif males.how discriminte they r.so a piece of advice,group discussion begins after self intro n females,ask them 4 permission b4 shakin hands.hope tis helps.
oh.....
sorry just come back from melaka......
well i live in johor bahru.........
so im the first 1 huh???

i was in panel 1!!!
as soon as i arrive i was called to prepare as i in group 2.....
of course i cant sit relax....
god only god know how i feel.....
the group consist of 5 person....
we are group by 3 ways:-
1.all bumiputra
2.all non bumi
3.4 bumi and 1 bumi....

then enter the room wear the number tag....
first is perkenalakan diri in bahasa....
then if the interviewer wanted to ask other question,they will shoot...
my luck that after perkenalkan diri,the interviewer just proceed to the english discussion.....
the format I saw was really like that...
introduction in bahasa then discussion in english...

ok there are 3 interviewers....2 from jpa and 1 is doctor...
some1 said that my panel is a pengarah of i dont know.....
the discussion was asked about health issue since today in melaka are for medic,pharmacy and dentistry....
in my group i was the only 1 whoo chose pharmacy while the other chose medic..

the topic is as a public,how can we prevent denggi and chikungunya??
and what is the difference and smilarities of denggi and chikungunya??

that's all...
after the interview ended....

oh yeah.....
some other topics are about:-
- obesity
- healthy lifestyle
- drug addiction
these are all i knew.....

anyway i suck at the interview!!!
my bad

so for others........
be sure of what topic will relate to your course chhosen!!!

sorry for all the typo error and inarrange experience...
will edit later

hi i went to the interview this morning, and its not really as bad, coz the interviewers were good and friendly
first we just have to introduce ourselves(name, school, background), u can also tell y u chose this course and country
then its group discussion. my topic(obesity) i doubt it will be the same but maybe it can be useful, they asked something like how would u advice a friend wif obesity, wat should u do for this matter etc.
then they will ask question, no politics, no economies or any ridiculous stuff
just opinions, for my case they ask if the kerajaan's usaha for obesity campaigns is good enuf
after all these, they will ask u to ask questions, just ask a thing or 2 to show ur interest
then its done! yeah don panic, they are friendly, just finish ur sentences and show some confidence
btw mostly in english wif bits of bm : )

myra
15-02-2010, 10:48 AM
merci beaucoup!
i learn france too in my school...hee~
thank for the advice..

*can we choose the country where we want to continue our stdy?
n..how long does interview was held?

15-02-2010, 12:25 PM
merci beaucoup!
i learn france too in my school...hee~
thank for the advice..

*can we choose the country where we want to continue our stdy?
n..how long does interview was held?
nope. JPA will choose it for you.
around 45 minutes, dun worry, it will go fast since it is a group interview.

myra
15-02-2010, 12:56 PM
nope. JPA will choose it for you.
around 45 minutes, dun worry, it will go fast since it is a group interview.

oh i see...okay..,,
thanx..

dunstan
10-03-2010, 01:36 PM
how should we apply? if we were to apply online, how can we do it actually? it said we need to register.. but i cant find any place to register an acc there.. pls help

10-03-2010, 06:56 PM
The application for the JPA Scholarship 2010 is opened now and unfortunately, the course of Actuarial Science'd not be offered by JPA this year onward as it is not considered as critical course anymore. :( So, i guess i have to apply for other course that related to it, maybe Economics or Science. If i'm not mistaken, Mathematics is under Science right? Can any senior please clarify this? How about the Engineering courses? Which one is better among the engineering courses(Engineering, France Engineering, German Engineering)? Hope some seniors can clarify it for me. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

kid
10-03-2010, 08:15 PM
The application for the JPA Scholarship 2010 is opened now and unfortunately, the course of Actuarial Science'd not be offered by JPA this year onward as it is not considered as critical course anymore. :( So, i guess i have to apply for other course that related to it, maybe Economics or Science. If i'm not mistaken, Mathematics is under Science right? Can any senior please clarify this? How about the Engineering courses? Which one is better among the engineering courses(Engineering, France Engineering, German Engineering)? Hope some seniors can clarify it for me. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

science is huge field of study and of course math under science, but u need to know that courses like biomedic and else are also under science, different institution or orgnstion define their courses differently, for example, those who want to take engineering at UM will take physical sc. courses but at UIA, physical sc. and enginering are two different courses.. so i think d best way is you urself call the JPA guy to clarify it..

about the engineering course i dont know much bout d different but my principle once told me that german engineering are different cos they are more practical (sory but i dont know what it means haha),

10-03-2010, 08:50 PM
how should we apply? if we were to apply online, how can we do it actually? it said we need to register.. but i cant find any place to register an acc there.. pls help
yes, you have to apply online but the application will only be opened after the announcement of SPM results and will be closed 7 days after.

Every course has mathematics as it is an important subject but varies according to profession.

I think you ask the seniors, each of them will say their course is the best. it depends on urself. All the courses are attractive its on way. For further info, u can check ReCom Wiki or the thread for each course. Note: learning extra language can be very challenging, trust me. French for is a bit puzzling.

http://www.recom.org/wiki/JPA_German_Engineering_FAQ
http://www.recom.org/wiki/JPA_France_Engineering_FAQ

10-03-2010, 09:28 PM
I think you ask the seniors, each of them will say their course is the best. it depends on urself. All the courses are attractive its on way. For further info, u can check ReCom Wiki or the thread for each course. Note: learning extra language can be very challenging, trust me. French for is a bit puzzling.

I beg to differ...hehe.American courses are just the most troublesome ones I know.Australian courses are better in my opinion.And yeah,I'm taking American courses....

BTW,I'm back recom....

Judith
10-03-2010, 09:54 PM
Can someone give me the link to apply for jpa?

ikhwan92
10-03-2010, 10:18 PM
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/

dat shall makes it..
but the linkfor application,as stated by boyz zoo,will be opened tomoro.so
juz wait ur reslt.sme as me.:)):))

10-03-2010, 10:34 PM
science is huge field of study and of course math under science, but u need to know that courses like biomedic and else are also under science, different institution or orgnstion define their courses differently, for example, those who want to take engineering at UM will take physical sc. courses but at UIA, physical sc. and enginering are two different courses.. so i think d best way is you urself call the JPA guy to clarify it..

about the engineering course i dont know much bout d different but my principle once told me that german engineering are different cos they are more practical (sory but i dont know what it means haha),

As stated at the various websites, the example for the Science course including Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy and Geology, and maybe there are others inside the course. I think i'd be better clarified if i call the JPA guys in person. What is sastera ikhtisas meant? Is that humanities? Inside the course, it's involving Quantitative, and that is exactly the course that attracted me too as it involves a lot of maths in the financial problems. Hope that someone can clarify it further for me. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

ikhwan92
10-03-2010, 10:37 PM
now it is my turn to ask.
if i were to apply piln but fail at the inteview,then fail again at the persuasion,
then i can apply for pidn rite?
but what inquires me is,pidn is given from starting our foundation/mtrx/asasi o degree only?

10-03-2010, 10:40 PM
now it is my turn to ask.
if i were to apply piln but fail at the inteview,then fail again at the persuasion,
then i can apply for pidn rite?
but what inquires me is,pidn is given from starting our foundation/mtrx/asasi o degree only?PIDN is available at degree level only.

ikhwan92
10-03-2010, 10:42 PM
PIDN is available at degree level only.

owh.then i will need to wait upon completing foundation ?
that sure be a long time.thanks:))

10-03-2010, 10:50 PM
Every course has mathematics as it is an important subject but varies according to profession.

Yeah i have checked it out and found out that France Engineering is attractive as well, but due to the different language, my mom prefers me to take Engineering and that'd be better(if i wanna take engineering courses). I know the German Engineering and France Engineering have vast differences compared to Engineering(UK, US, Aus, Canada), but both have the advantages of extending the scholarships until Master degree. How about the differences between German Eng. and France Eng. in specific, besides the languages itself? Another question, if i didn't opt for engineering, what course should i choose so that i can turn my pathway into actuarial field in future? Economics? Maths(yet i don't really know maths is under what course)? Hope that some seniors can give me advices on this. I'm sorry as i quite desperate now. I have been preparing for JPA interview 2 months ago and now it don't have actuarial science. I'm quite disappointed on this. Thanks in advance. :)

10-03-2010, 11:16 PM
The application for the JPA Scholarship 2010 is opened now and unfortunately, the course of Actuarial Science'd not be offered by JPA this year onward as it is not considered as critical course anymore. :( So, i guess i have to apply for other course that related to it, maybe Economics or Science. If i'm not mistaken, Mathematics is under Science right? Can any senior please clarify this? How about the Engineering courses? Which one is better among the engineering courses(Engineering, France Engineering, German Engineering)? Hope some seniors can clarify it for me. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)I just scanned through the list, and I saw actuarial science still on the list?

10-03-2010, 11:42 PM
I just scanned through the list, and I saw actuarial science still on the list?

Yeah, but its only open for MARA scholarship but not JPA. Nick convinced me that MARA is not opened for non-bumis. So, there's no chance for him or so thats what he said to me. :P

11-03-2010, 12:00 AM
Yeah, but its only open for MARA scholarship but not JPA. Nick convinced me that MARA is not opened for non-bumis. So, there's no chance for him or so thats what he said to me. :PI didn't see the second column, so it's just for MARA this time, and yes MARA is for bumis only.

11-03-2010, 01:06 AM
I didn't see the second column, so it's just for MARA this time, and yes MARA is for bumis only.

yeah from this link, it is clearly stated that JPA won't offer Actuarial Science anymore, as below:

22. Kenapa bidang Sains Aktuari tidak ditawarkan di bawah PILN 2010?
Bidang Sains Aktuari tidak lagi ditawarkan untuk ke luar negara kerana
bidang tersebut tidak lagi tergolong dalam bidang keutamaan.

From the link: http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/faq/faq_piln_2010.pdf, and it broke my heart!!! :(

11-03-2010, 01:48 AM
As stated at the various websites, the example for the Science course including Physics, Chemistry, Biology, Astronomy and Geology, and maybe there are others inside the course. I think i'd be better clarified if i call the JPA guys in person. What is sastera ikhtisas meant? Is that humanities? Inside the course, it's involving Quantitative, and that is exactly the course that attracted me too as it involves a lot of maths in the financial problems. Hope that someone can clarify it further for me. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

Try engineering or actuarial science...A lot of numbers involved.

11-03-2010, 02:22 AM
Try engineering or actuarial science...A lot of numbers involved.

I intended to choose actuarial science, but unfortunately it'd not be offered by JPA this year, and that was heart-breaking news. :cry Maybe engineering, economics or science will do.

fantasykent
11-03-2010, 06:30 PM
Hello.. I get my SPM result today.. Not so good.. I only get 9As, 1B, 1C..
Bahasa Melayu A
Bahasa Inggeris A-
Pendidikan moral B+
Sejarah A-
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematic A+
Prinsip Perakaunan A
Physics A
Chemistry A+
Biology A-
Bahasa Cina C+

I hav a few question to ask...
1. With this result, what scholarship i can apply?
2. I'm interesting in Phycology, chemistry engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, with my result where can i study with scholarship either in Malaysia or oversea??

Thank for anyone fo reply me..

Judith
11-03-2010, 06:41 PM
I have seen through the esila website, does chemical engineering include in the engineering courses?Does BC's grade include in jpa consideration?

dragon_ex89
11-03-2010, 06:42 PM
Yeah, but its only open for MARA scholarship but not JPA. Nick convinced me that MARA is not opened for non-bumis. So, there's no chance for him or so thats what he said to me. :P

i have some non-bumi MARA scholars(ie: non malays or bumiputra)..but they were ex-MRSM students..so, if u know anyone in the future that got an offer to futher study in MRSM..go for it..hehe(sorry out of topic..hehe:P)

chelsh
11-03-2010, 06:45 PM
hello..
if i already got offers from UK universities, can i request to go to UK? or i do not have the chance of giving any opinions to JPA =( ..

i am now studying A levels..

yaw91
11-03-2010, 06:51 PM
Bahasa Melayu A
Bahasa Inggeris A-
Pendidikan moral B+
Sejarah A-
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematic A+
Prinsip Perakaunan A
Physics A
Chemistry A+
Biology A-
Bahasa Cina C+

2. I'm interesting in Phycology, chemistry engineering, biochemistry, biotechnology, with my result where can i study with scholarship either in Malaysia or oversea??

try 2 apply fr engineering in korea, japan or german

jagandecapri
11-03-2010, 08:19 PM
i want to apply JPA for the science course( physics,biology,..etc) going to UK and US. Does anyone know what job can we do after studying? Will I get a job in the goverment? Can i enter universities and become lecturers? I am quite blur about this course.

11-03-2010, 08:33 PM
I have seen through the esila website, does chemical engineering include in the engineering courses?Does BC's grade include in jpa consideration?
Yes of course. Engineering is just the course you take, but then you have to specify which Engineering sooner or later.
I guess JPA doesn't count BC in... you can refer to the requirements in JPA/eSila website.

hello..
if i already got offers from UK universities, can i request to go to UK? or i do not have the chance of giving any opinions to JPA =( ..

Yes of course you can request... whether JPA accepts it or not, it depends.. but usually they are negotiable and will consider it if necesarry.

11-03-2010, 08:38 PM
Bahasa Melayu A
Bahasa Inggeris A-
Pendidikan moral B+
Sejarah A-
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematic A+
Prinsip Perakaunan A
Physics A
Chemistry A+
Biology A-
Bahasa Cina C+

ur can apply to many scholarship including JPA.
Applying for scholarship also depends on whether ur r a bumiputra or not. If u r, ur chances are higher so u can apply for overseas for all. If u r not, I suggest u apply for local for other scholarship like TNB, telekom, etc but JPA u can take a shot in applying for overseas. This is because under JPA if u dun get the overseas scholarship, u might qualify for the local scholarship.

It depends on which subject did u get BC for. For the engineering course, u hv to get at least As for Maths, Add. Maths, & Physics, I think...
hello..

Tat u hv to check at JPA tajaan Tambahan thread since u r applying for undergraduate scholarship. I'm not sure how to do such thing but tat is possible.
i want to apply JPA for the science course( physics,biology,..etc) going to UK and US. Does anyone know what job can we do after studying? Will I get a job in the goverment? Can i enter universities and become lecturers? I am quite blur about this course.
Science course is very wide, after studying foundation of science, you can make ur choice to do what course or do science in general. in order to become a lecturer, u hv to get a masters.

11-03-2010, 10:11 PM
hello..

chelsh, i would advice you on writing a letter to JPA of applying scholarship for your offer from UK universities and attach the copy of that offer letter.. The might consider it... If you apply for PILN, you will have to go through another preparation program and apply again for oversea universities if you got PILN...

BZ, can you include this link at the first post?

http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf

this is the PDF for the list of courses provided and their requirements....
Please refer to this before you ask what courses you may apply...

sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 10:16 PM
Bahasa Melayu A
Bahasa Inggeris A-
Pendidikan moral B+
Sejarah A-
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematic A+
Prinsip Perakaunan A
Physics A
Chemistry A+
Biology A-
Bahasa Cina C+

you can try to apply for jpa scholarship..although your pendidikan moral is B+...due to information of some recom member last year, they were success to attend the interview and manage to get the scholarship..
you can browse some malaysia scholarship website...there are a lot scholarship you can apply

chemical engineering is under engineering course based on my information..BC's grade is not so important..you have to read the criteria and requirement for the subject that you wish to apply

if you manage to get jpa scholarship..you do not have to worry you wont get a job..because you will get a job from government....if you want to become lecturers you need at least a master in the particular courses that you take

11-03-2010, 10:17 PM
For your information, if you want to apply for any type of engineering, just apply for engineering. JPA will allow you to choose which engineering. But do some research on which engineering does Germany, France, Japan and Korea provide.

leolsq
11-03-2010, 10:34 PM
Hello, my results are as follow :

BM - A
BI - A+
Moral - A+
Sejarah - A+
Maths - A+
Add Maths - A+
Physics - A-
Chemistry - B+
Biology - B+

I know my results are not as good as others, may I know with this results which course I will be able to stand a chance to get JPA scholarship? Anyways, I am interested in Engineering, Law, Tourism.. I need some advice please :)

11-03-2010, 10:36 PM

BM - A
BI - A+
Moral - A+
Sejarah - A+
Maths - A+
Add Maths - A+
Physics - A-
Chemistry - B+
Biology - B+

I know my results are not as good as others, may I know with this results which course I will be able to stand a chance to get JPA scholarship? Anyways, I am interested in Engineering, Law, Tourism.. I need some advice please :)

http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf

refer to this link...
Jpa list down the requirements for each courses there....
Everyone stands a chance for that scholarship, so dont be afraid.

sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 10:39 PM

BM - A
BI - A+
Moral - A+
Sejarah - A+
Maths - A+
Add Maths - A+
Physics - A-
Chemistry - B+
Biology - B+

you can refer to esila website for the requirement..just try it..who noes you may get it...by the way, you can apply tourism..last year with the results of 6A i manage to go to interview of jpa scholarship..but didnt get it

weiping2007
11-03-2010, 10:54 PM
i want to ask...if i apply for PILN...i i don't get oversea do i still get jpa scholarships for private university?

11-03-2010, 10:57 PM
i want to ask...if i apply for PILN...i i don't get oversea do i still get jpa scholarships for private university?

Maybe, if they continue last year's extra 2000 local programme...

Judith
11-03-2010, 10:58 PM
anyone knows how is the competition between the application for biotechnology and chemical engineering for jpa?My results is as follow:
a+:bm,bi,sej,mm,mt,phy,che,pm
a:bio
a-:est
b+:chinese
1119:2a
should i apply for biotech or chemical engineering?Which has the higher chance to obtain?I can't speak in germany or france, the course is in english?
There is a column include borang perakuan ketua jabatan,my parents are teacher,do i need to fill in the form?
This year got biasiswa for 9a and above??

Chinchin_92
11-03-2010, 11:06 PM

Isn't it open in Mara?

11-03-2010, 11:16 PM
Isn't it open in Mara?

I thought Mara is not eligible for non-Muslim/bumi.

11-03-2010, 11:19 PM

Yup, it isn't.

sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 11:27 PM
anyone knows how is the competition between the application for biotechnology and chemical engineering for jpa?My results is as follow:
should i apply for biotech or chemical engineering?Which has the higher chance to obtain?I can't speak in germany or france, the course is in english?
There is a column include borang perakuan ketua jabatan,my parents are teacher,do i need to fill in the form?

choose course that you are interested..if you cant speak it, in the kelas persediaan before go to that particular country, you have to take the language required for the particular country....
onli spm 2007 have it...spm 2008 dont have biasiswa for 9A

Judith
11-03-2010, 11:41 PM
choose course that you are interested..if you cant speak it, in the kelas persediaan before go to that particular country, you have to take the language required for the particular country....
onli spm 2007 have it...spm 2008 dont have biasiswa for 9A
I have greater interest in biotech but i didn't score a+ for bio
The second choice i would like is chemical engineering,but i don't speak in germany or france.I would like to learn ltalian but no course is offered there:P
Is it possible for the chemical engineering course is taken at english based country?the form pengesahan ketua jabatan?Thank you.:)

11-03-2010, 11:55 PM
I have greater interest in biotech but i didn't score a+ for bio
The second choice i would like is chemical engineering,but i don't speak in germany or france.I would like to learn ltalian but no course is offered there:P
Is it possible for the chemical engineering course is taken at english based country?the form pengesahan ketua jabatan?Thank you.:)

girl, if your results suit the requirements for biotech, just go for it...
usually chem engineering are offered at USA....
not very sure of Germany and French. that's why i do said of doing research on the engineering course provided in these countries...

Judith
12-03-2010, 12:04 AM
girl, if your results suit the requirements for biotech, just go for it...
usually chem engineering are offered at USA....
not very sure of Germany and French. that's why i do said of doing research on the engineering course provided in these countries...
I did do research and the information given in the website doesn't state the university for abroad course,only country names:france and germany
so, i don't know to look at which university.Thank you.^^

12-03-2010, 12:06 AM
Normally and mostly, which countries will JPA send the scholars to for the course of Economics and Engineering??? :)

12-03-2010, 12:10 AM
I did do research and the information given in the website doesn't state the university for abroad course,only country names:france and germany
so, i don't know to look at which university.Thank you.^^

hurmm im not sure if it is stated in wiki. try to go to france engineering and germany engineering thread... if not, you can refer to Boyz Zoo for France engineering. Germany, Vseehua can help you with that. Or you can ask from those thread.

Normally and mostly, which countries will JPA send the scholars to for the course of Economics and Engineering??? :)

Economics, JPA do send to New Zealand, not sure of other countries.

Engineering, beside those specific countries, Australia, New Zealand, Canada I guess and USA.

12-03-2010, 12:14 AM

Engineering, beside those specific countries, Australia, New Zealand, Canada I guess and USA.

Thanks for your reply, but i thought i saw JPA only send their scholars to US, Canada and UK for economics. So i wish to know which country the JPA usually send their scholars to for economics. :)

12-03-2010, 12:15 AM

I think USA and UK are also included. My friend got USA.

zaiy
12-03-2010, 12:17 AM

actually for bumiputera, muslim and non-muslim.

12-03-2010, 12:19 AM
actually for bumiputera, muslim and non-muslim.

Now I'm not so sure myself...

EDIT: It's only for bumiputras.

12-03-2010, 12:20 AM
Thanks for your reply, but i thought i saw JPA only send their scholars to US, Canada and UK for economics. So i wish to know which country the JPA usually send their scholars to for economics. :)
you mean for this year? Im not sure bout that. But for my batch, New Zealand is included.
I think USA and UK are also included. My friend got USA.

Owh okay...Im not sure of that just now...

12-03-2010, 12:21 AM
Thanks for your reply, but i thought i saw JPA only send their scholars to US, Canada and UK for economics. So i wish to know which country the JPA usually send their scholars to for economics. :)Normally there would be more to US, and may be Canada. UK is less common for economics.

Judith
12-03-2010, 12:29 AM
If we got the jpa, we are actually doing foundation in our country first then go to oversea?the engineering course offered is general one,then how to get chemical engineering?

12-03-2010, 12:39 AM
If we got the jpa, we are actually doing foundation in our country first then go to oversea?the engineering course offered is general one,then how to get chemical engineering?

after finished he preparation course, when to apply for universities, thta's when you choose chemical engineering. JPA doesnt care as long as it is engineering...

12-03-2010, 01:43 AM
you mean for this year? Im not sure bout that. But for my batch, New Zealand is included.

Thanks for the replying though. :)

Normally there would be more to US, and may be Canada. UK is less common for economics.

Why UK is less common for economics??? Because of the sterling exchange rate? I prefers UK though... :)

orthopod
12-03-2010, 06:10 AM
most malaysians prefer a higher education in uk as opposed to other countries.tradionally looked upn v highly but in actual fact the standard is not as high as north american standard in most fields

12-03-2010, 06:21 AM
Why UK is less common for economics??? Because of the sterling exchange rate? I prefers UK though... :)Just my observation, JPA tend to send less students to UK, especially when the same course is available in US, Australia etc, but I don't know the exact reason, you could be correct anyway.

12-03-2010, 10:58 AM
there are five options for JPA scholarship in the engineering course.
a) France Engineering
b) Germany engineering
c) Japan Engineering
d) Korea Engineering
e) engineering

For engineering, normally they send people to US than the other countries. I dun knw y but most of my fren who got general engineering wen to US. The other courses is a bit tought as u hv to learn a new language, but look at the bright side it can be an advantage.

For France and german engineering, you have the chances of finishing ur master under JPA scholarship if u got into engineering school, a special uni for engineers only.

If you any specify question, i can try to help u further.

economies- most of the time US and Canada

BM - A
BI - A+
Moral - A+
Sejarah - A+
Maths - A+
Add Maths - A+
Physics - A-
Chemistry - B+
Biology - B+

your results i ok. SO, my suggestion based on ur results is to take up law and tourism. Engineering can be a bit hard as many people will apply for the same course so the competition is stiff. Good Luck!!!
dun wry if u can't speak french or german, u can learn if u got the scholarship. I am under France Engineering and i hv nvr learned french till i studied at here. and u kn tat courses with requirement of learning xtra language has less competition
Biotech can be said to high chances, but ur results is quite good, i think u can consider taking up engineering courses.

shau_key
12-03-2010, 11:52 AM
can we apply for both mara and jpa? because i heard that last year (for bumi applicant) need to choose either mara or jpa (only one application). That's quite confusing me as there is no statement given by jpa and mara.

12-03-2010, 12:16 PM
can we apply for both mara and jpa? because i heard that last year (for bumi applicant) need to choose either mara or jpa (only one application). That's quite confusing me as there is no statement given by jpa and mara.

Shaukey!!! No, you can't apply for both Mara and JPA, and you still need to choose either one. :) Congratz anyway for scoring 9A+ 1A... :)

Just my observation, JPA tend to send less students to UK, especially when the same course is available in US, Australia etc, but I don't know the exact reason, you could be correct anyway.

Oh okay, thanks by the way. JPA aren't really rich as they need to sponsor 1999 other PILN scholars and 2000 PIDN scholars at the same time. They'll try their best to save the cost as little as possible.

economies- most of the time US and Canada

Oh okay, now i understand. Can anyone suggest me to take which course based on my result??? Economics or Engineering??? or maybe other course? And which course do i stands higher chance of getting for the interview and even the scholarship? And which one has a better job prospect in future? I scored A+ for Add maths, Maths, Physics, Account, Moral and History... A for BM, BI, Chemistry and Biology. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

deepkutty_92
12-03-2010, 12:53 PM
My results r 10 a+ n 3 a (for tamil lit, ict n biology). I applied for engineering for jpa. Do i stand a chance or will other courses be better for me? Thanks in advance.

12-03-2010, 01:06 PM
I am quite devastated with my result. Haih.

Bahasa Melayu A+
Bahasa Inggeris A+
Pengetahuan Moral A-
Sejarah A
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematics A+
Physics A-
Chemistry A+
Biology A
English for Science and Technolgy A-

Am I eligible for any scholarship? I'm a Sabahan and a Bumiputra.
Thinking of Medic but the dream seems so distant with what I've obtained in SPM.

My results r 10 a+ n 3 a (for tamil lit, ict n biology). I applied for engineering for jpa. Do i stand a chance or will other courses be better for me? Thanks in advance.

Just go for your dreams... Never hesitate and ask do I stand a chance...

Bot of your results are superb... When you got the interview, that's what the most important part is.... Amaze those interviewers and proove them that you are better than what your results showed..

Oh okay, now i understand. Can anyone suggest me to take which course based on my result??? Economics or Engineering??? or maybe other course? And which course do i stands higher chance of getting for the interview and even the scholarship? And which one has a better job prospect in future? I scored A+ for Add maths, Maths, Physics, Account, Moral and History... A for BM, BI, Chemistry and Biology. Thanks in advance and i really appreciate it. :)

I would say your results are good for both courses...
High possibilities to have the interview, but about having the scholarship, you have to prove yourself in interview...
Just chase your dream...

And to that syaukey guy, you can only apply either MARA or JPA

12-03-2010, 01:13 PM
Just go for your dreams... Never hesitate and ask do I stand a chance...

Bot of your results are superb... When you got the interview, that's what the most important part is.... Amaze those interviewers and proove them that you are better than what your results showed..

I would say your results are good for both courses...
High possibilities to have the interview, but about having the scholarship, you have to prove yourself in interview...
Just chase your dream...

The above advices, even not for me, but i really appreciate that. For the answers of my questions, thanks for your reply. But which course would have less competition and have higher chances on getting the scholarship? Different years may varies, but i don't think it'd make a lot of differences. For now, i'm eyeing on Economics as i can turn into actuarial field anytime upon graduation, but for Engineering, i can't turn into actuarial science in future. :(

12-03-2010, 01:19 PM
The above advices, even not for me, but i really appreciate that. For the answers of my questions, thanks for your reply. But which course would have less competition and have higher chances on getting the scholarship? Different years may varies, but i don't think it'd make a lot of differences. For now, i'm eyeing on Economics as i can turn into actuarial field anytime upon graduation, but for Engineering, i can't turn into actuarial science in future. :(

So i guess you want to pursue actuarial, is it?
hurmmm... I THINK, only assume so dont really believe me. Engineering has more applicants than econs BUT engineeering also usually has more places than econs. So more or less the competitions are quite about the same. What matter is your performance. That is why interviews are for. Take times to brush up your intrapersonel skills, interview skills and all that... And practice also to be critical. All the best!

12-03-2010, 01:38 PM
So i guess you want to pursue actuarial, is it?
hurmmm... I THINK, only assume so dont really believe me. Engineering has more applicants than econs BUT engineeering also usually has more places than econs. So more or less the competitions are quite about the same. What matter is your performance. That is why interviews are for. Take times to brush up your intrapersonel skills, interview skills and all that... And practice also to be critical. All the best!

yeah i was actually intended to opt actuarial science, but then for now, JPA don't offer it anymore, so i guess i have to choose a actuarial related field such as Economics. Based on the statistics done by Chen Chow years ago about the percentage of JPA scholarship given to SPM'07 leavers, Economics applicants stand quite a high chances on getting both interview and even the scholarships, even higher than Engineering. But as i said, different years may varies, so i can't really tell for this year. As usual, Engineering'd be the hot cake now along with Medicine, Law, and Accounting. The link of the statistics is as below: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7789&highlight=Statistics+JPA Thanks anyway!!! :amuse

ged
12-03-2010, 02:01 PM
Thank you very much! :)
I feel very much motivated,in fact. Still a tad bit disappointed for not getting what I've hoped for.

12-03-2010, 02:04 PM
Thank you very much! :)
I feel very much motivated,in fact. Still a tad bit disappointed for not getting what I've hoped for.

hope your dissapointment may guide you to be better in the future.
however be grateful of what you got. Sometimes, if we are not grateful enough, God wont help us...

smy
12-03-2010, 02:46 PM
I gt 7A+ and 3As(bio accounts and bm)still gt chance to get medic?is the application for jpa dalam negara open yet?

bekann
12-03-2010, 02:49 PM

Yeah, too bad JPA no more actuarial science ):
Nvm, can apply for Bank Negara also right??

weiping2007
12-03-2010, 03:14 PM
how to know does the government still offering the "extra 2000 local programme"?
cause i scared that my results can't get JPA PILN scholarships
my results are :
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B

ged
12-03-2010, 03:50 PM
hope your dissapointment may guide you to be better in the future.
however be grateful of what you got. Sometimes, if we are not grateful enough, God wont help us...
Yeah! :)

I'm a pessimist when it comes to education. :D
Inferiority,I guess so. :)

Just hope for the best,for now.

how to know does the government still offering the "extra 2000 local programme"?
my results are :
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
Are you intending to pursue your tertiary education in the bio-related course?

Congrats anyway! :)

weiping2007
12-03-2010, 04:16 PM
Yeah! :)

I'm a pessimist when it comes to education. :D
Inferiority,I guess so. :)

Just hope for the best,for now.

Are you intending to pursue your tertiary education in the bio-related course?

Congrats anyway! :)

i intend to purse medicine course only

12-03-2010, 04:17 PM
you have to choose one of them. u can choose both unfortunately now.

If you are the type who are interested in Actuarial Science, then Economics is the better choice for you, in my opinion. You dun have to worry of not taking basic economy in SPM as one of my fren who is full science got JPA scholarship for economies last year.
I am quite devastated with my result. Haih.

Bahasa Melayu A+
Bahasa Inggeris A+
Pengetahuan Moral A-
Sejarah A
Mathematics A+
Additional Mathematics A+
Physics A-
Chemistry A+
Biology A
English for Science and Technolgy A-

Am I eligible for any scholarship? I'm a Sabahan and a Bumiputra.
Thinking of Medic but the dream seems so distant with what I've obtained in SPM.
Your results is quite good in my opinion and yes, you can apply for medicine. You got all straight As, so dun worry.
Tamil lit, i respect you man for taking subjects that rarely people take. Anyway, yes you stand a chance in getting engineering course. Don't decide ur course based on the scholarship cause this course will be ur future career and u shouldn't regret choosing the course. And you jz have to hope for luck to get the scholarship.
I gt 7A+ and 3As(bio accounts and bm)still gt chance to get medic?is the application for jpa dalam negara open yet?
Frankly, depends on whether you r a bumi or not. if u r then got chances. if u r not, chances are lower but i think you can get it if u r lucky.
the application for PIDN is open at the same time at PILN
my results are :
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
dun wry, if u dun the PILN scholarship, u might stand a chance to get PIDn scholarship.

unsolvedcryptex
12-03-2010, 04:30 PM
Is the IPTS scholarship given by JPA still available?
Is it available automatically for applicants of PILN who failed to secure it?

I just want to have a safe and alternative route if i fail to secure PILN

12-03-2010, 04:35 PM
Is the IPTS scholarship given by JPA still available?
Is it available automatically for applicants of PILN who failed to secure it?

I just want to have a safe and alternative route if i fail to secure PILN
yes, it is still available to be ur safety net.

unsolvedcryptex
12-03-2010, 04:37 PM
yes, it is still available to be ur safety net.

Which means to say that if we failed to secure the PILN, the IPTS is offered automatically to deserving students?

12-03-2010, 04:41 PM
Which means to say that if we failed to secure the PILN, the IPTS is offered automatically to deserving students?
you can say some sort like tat.

12-03-2010, 04:51 PM

Yes, if you're lucky enough.

If you are the type who are interested in Actuarial Science, then Economics is the better choice for you, in my opinion. You dun have to worry of not taking basic economy in SPM as one of my fren who is full science got JPA scholarship for economies last year.

Yeah, i'm now applying on Economics for both JPA scholarship and Petronas Scholarship. Wow, the friend of you really lucky i guess. How was his/her performances back in the interview, and also the result? He/she is a bumi or non bumi? Does it stand high chances on getting into interview and even securing the scholarship based on my result, provided that i do well in interview??? :)

12-03-2010, 04:58 PM
Yeah, i'm now applying on Economics for both JPA scholarship and Petronas Scholarship. Wow, the friend of you really lucky i guess. How was his/her performances back in the interview, and also the result? He/she is a bumi or non bumi? Does it stand high chances on getting into interview and even securing the scholarship based on my result, provided that i do well in interview??? :)
He is not a bumi. his performance in the interview, i dun knw but i knw him and his not the excellent in talking in the interview type.

Interview, you hv 100% chances of getting in. JPA will shortlist nearly everyone for the interview as long as they dun Bs for the certain subjects like BM, Moral, Islam and so on.

yes, you have a high chances and you must knw one thing. most of the smart students are in the science stream and they will choose science-based career, so there is less competition in art related subjects except for accounts as sme of them also took accounts for SPM. Economics, the opportunity is quite high.

weiping2007
12-03-2010, 05:10 PM
you have to choose one of them. u can choose both unfortunately now.

Your results is quite good in my opinion and yes, you can apply for medicine. You got all straight As, so dun worry.

Tamil lit, i respect you man for taking subjects that rarely people take. Anyway, yes you stand a chance in getting engineering course. Don't decide ur course based on the scholarship cause this course will be ur future career and u shouldn't regret choosing the course. And you jz have to hope for luck to get the scholarship.

Frankly, depends on whether you r a bumi or not. if u r then got chances. if u r not, chances are lower but i think you can get it if u r lucky.
the application for PIDN is open at the same time at PILN

dun wry, if u dun the PILN scholarship, u might stand a chance to get PIDn scholarship.

meaning that if i didn't get PILN scholarships i will be automatically get PIDN scholarships?

12-03-2010, 05:12 PM
meaning that if i didn't get PILN scholarships i will be automatically get PIDN scholarships?
not automatically, but stand a chance to get PIDN instead.

12-03-2010, 05:13 PM
He is not a bumi. his performance in the interview, i dun knw but i knw him and his not the excellent in talking in the interview type.

Interview, you hv 100% chances of getting in. JPA will shortlist nearly everyone for the interview as long as they dun Bs for the certain subjects like BM, Moral, Islam and so on.

yes, you have a high chances and you must knw one thing. most of the smart students are in the science stream and they will choose science-based career, so there is less competition in art related subjects except for accounts as sme of them also took accounts for SPM. Economics, the opportunity is quite high.

Oh okay, anyway he was great. For the interview part, that's quite convincing based on your statement. Well, you're right that most of the science students choose science-based career, and i think not many science students'd opt for art streams subjects. But, my intention is to switch from Economics into Actuarial Science if possible in future. Thanks for advising me anyway!!! :amuse

smy
12-03-2010, 05:21 PM
my fren gt B+ for est and the rest are all A+.does she stand a chance to do medicine abroad.btwn she is a chinese

12-03-2010, 05:23 PM
my fren gt B+ for est and the rest are all A+.does she stand a chance to do medicine abroad.btwn she is a chinese
then, she stand a chance since she got A+ for the other subjects. tat's quite good.

weiping2007
12-03-2010, 05:23 PM
not automatically, but stand a chance to get PIDN instead.

meaning that we need to reapply again? because last year my friend's brother apply PILN...then he get into local private university CUCMS...

12-03-2010, 05:50 PM
meaning that we need to reapply again? because last year my friend's brother apply PILN...then he get into local private university CUCMS...

I think its an automatic process. The scholarship application is already closed by that time. Anyway, i got 9A+, 2A (biology and chinese lit) and 2A- (history and bc) I'm going for engineering courses but still wondering which country is best for it. :P

smy
12-03-2010, 05:51 PM
if i get 7A+ and 3As for bio,bm and accounts is there a HIGH POSSIBILITY that i will get jpa to do medic since i got As for main subjects like bm and bio

12-03-2010, 06:29 PM
If you are sure about your interest, and firm about your choice, I think it's better to start preparing for interview, instead of questioning own chances, since you no longer have control over your results, interview is the only part that you can make a difference.

han72890
12-03-2010, 06:31 PM
i get 7A+,3A,1A-...i am in science stream...but i apply for law...how is my chance to get?A-(p.moral)

12-03-2010, 06:36 PM
If you are sure about your interest, and firm about your choice, I think it's better to start preparing for interview, instead of questioning own chances, since you no longer have control over your results, interview is the only part that you can make a difference.

Yeah i agree with you. :)

kykoay
12-03-2010, 08:18 PM
Oh okay, anyway he was great. For the interview part, that's quite convincing based on your statement. Well, you're right that most of the science students choose science-based career, and i think not many science students'd opt for art streams subjects. But, my intention is to switch from Economics into Actuarial Science if possible in future. Thanks for advising me anyway!!! :amuse

Actuarial science is a professional-qualification career, so it is not a pre-requisite to have a degree in Actuarial Science. You do however, need to pass all your professional exams, sort of like passing the ACCA Papers to practice as an accountant. Your preparation seems adequate but do try to broaden your range by applying to Bank Negara and the Securities Commission. JPA is a relatively easy scholarship to win compared to Bank Negara or the Securities Commission. Once you are majoring in Economics however, be sure to take courses in statistics, calculus, linear algebra and many more advanced math courses. In short, take math until it hurts. (Actually it is more advisable to take math until it kills.) After that, you are on track to become an actuarist. My cohort is the last batch to study actuarial science abroad.

12-03-2010, 08:38 PM
Actuarial science is a professional-qualification career, so it is not a pre-requisite to have a degree in Actuarial Science. You do however, need to pass all your professional exams, sort of like passing the ACCA Papers to practice as an accountant. Your preparation seems adequate but do try to broaden your range by applying to Bank Negara and the Securities Commission. JPA is a relatively easy scholarship to win compared to Bank Negara or the Securities Commission. Once you are majoring in Economics however, be sure to take courses in statistics, calculus, linear algebra and many more advanced math courses. In short, take math until it hurts. (Actually it is more advisable to take math until it kills.) After that, you are on track to become an actuarist. My cohort is the last batch to study actuarial science abroad.

Well, actually i have applied for Bank Negara, Khazanah Global Scholarship and Security Commission(just filled in yesterday, not yet summit) for the course of Actuarial Science. In this long holiday, i myself do have studied college maths such as Poisson Distribution(just formula and ways to use the formula), Polynomials, Long Division in Polynomials, Complex numbers and Rational Roots Theorem. If i have any chance in taking advanced maths courses, surely i will try my best to study it. In fact, if i have to go study Form 6 in the end, i have decided to take up Further Maths T besides Maths T, PA, Physics and Chemistry. The professional actuarial exams varies from different actuarial boards in different countries. In instance, US has two main actuarial society, SOA and CAS which have 8 papers and 9 papers respectively for the candidates to pass, in order to become a qualified actuary. In Australia, there are 3 stages for actuarial board. First stage can be exempted if you study an actuarial degree in university, while second stage can be exempted if you attain Honour Degree. Third stage is specification, where it is compulsory for you to choose and study for another 2 and a half years. Then, the rest'd be practices. In UK, there'd be exemption as well for different universities. Thanks anyway!!! :)

kykoay
12-03-2010, 10:01 PM
Well, actually i have applied for Bank Negara, Khazanah Global Scholarship and Security Commission(just filled in yesterday, not yet summit) for the course of Actuarial Science. In this long holiday, i myself do have studied college maths such as Poisson Distribution(just formula and ways to use the formula), Polynomials, Long Division in Polynomials, Complex numbers and Rational Roots Theorem. If i have any chance in taking advanced maths courses, surely i will try my best to study it. In fact, if i have to go study Form 6 in the end, i have decided to take up Further Maths T besides Maths T, PA, Physics and Chemistry. The professional actuarial exams varies from different actuarial boards in different countries. In instance, US has two main actuarial society, SOA and CAS which have 8 papers and 9 papers respectively for the candidates to pass, in order to become a qualified actuary. In Australia, there are 3 stages for actuarial board. First stage can be exempted if you study an actuarial degree in university, while second stage can be exempted if you attain Honour Degree. Third stage is specification, where it is compulsory for you to choose and study for another 2 and a half years. Then, the rest'd be practices. In UK, there'd be exemption as well for different universities. Thanks anyway!!! :)

You really have done your research. I was shortlisted for the Securities Commission's interview last year. I went through all the stages but didn't go through the personality test (to determine your character). If you need any help from your essay to what to expect from the stages of interview, I can offer my 0.02.

adele123
12-03-2010, 10:35 PM
But, my intention is to switch from Economics into Actuarial Science if possible in future. Thanks for advising me anyway!!! :amuse

Hmm... So you want economics, or actuarial? *blurred*

12-03-2010, 10:40 PM
You really have done your research. I was shortlisted for the Securities Commission's interview last year. I went through all the stages but didn't go through the personality test (to determine your character). If you need any help from your essay to what to expect from the stages of interview, I can offer my 0.02.

Wow, i'd really appreciate it if you can help me in the essay, cause i'm really sure about the title of the essay. For the stages of interview, I do hope that you may help me. I'd pm you about this. :) Thanks anyway!!!

Hmm... So you want economics, or actuarial? *blurred*

I want to study Actuarial Science, my intention. :)

adele123
12-03-2010, 10:45 PM
Hmm... May i ask why you apply for economics? (I mean, since you are so interested in actuarial)

12-03-2010, 11:02 PM
Hmm... May i ask why you apply for economics? (I mean, since you are so interested in actuarial)

It's because i want to apply for JPA scholarship, and since there is no offer for Actuarial Science this year, so i have to choose something related to Actuarial Science rather than those Engineering, Accounting or anything else. If i got Economics, so i can find my ways to switch into actuarial field upon graduation. But if i got scholarship for Engineering, i have no chance at all to switch into actuarial field. I know, it can be more wasting time if i study Economics first for 5 years from now, but i just wish to secure an overseas scholarship. Maybe i'll find myself like Economics more when i study it. To be an actuary not necessarily to take actuarial science degree, but to take the professional exams. The degree is only help to ease the process of qualification.

arinkorin
12-03-2010, 11:20 PM
hello all, new here. just wondering, does anyone know whether the Biasiswa Nasional is open for online application? :) thanks in advance!

Judith
12-03-2010, 11:31 PM
I already applied for PILN ,but i can't find the link for PIDN.Does it mean that once i apply for PILN,my name is automatically in PIDN system?

12-03-2010, 11:34 PM
Edited: Last year, some students who applied for PILN, but didn't manage to secure overseas scholarships, were given scholarship to study in local universities, which include IPTS and IPTA.

So, in short, you apply for PILN, if you didn't manage to secure overseas scholarship, you might still get a scholarship to study locally.

TheTruthIsFake
12-03-2010, 11:37 PM
It's because i want to apply for JPA scholarship, and since there is no offer for Actuarial Science this year, so i have to choose something related to Actuarial Science rather than those Engineering, Accounting or anything else. If i got Economics, so i can find my ways to switch into actuarial field upon graduation. But if i got scholarship for Engineering, i have no chance at all to switch into actuarial field. I know, it can be more wasting time if i study Economics first for 5 years from now, but i just wish to secure an overseas scholarship. Maybe i'll find myself like Economics more when i study it. To be an actuary not necessarily to take actuarial science degree, but to take the professional exams. The degree is only help to ease the process of qualification.

I think theres a slight misunderstanding here. Economics although involving math, is not very math intense in contrast with actuarial science (except for maybe Game theory and econometrics). I believe it is better to take engineering in undergrad then switch to actuarial science. This is a common case, especially in the States. Economics is more a subjective course (there is no such thing as a fixed answer, unlike math), and memorising definitions is crucial too.

kykoay
12-03-2010, 11:41 PM
I think theres a slight misunderstanding here. Economics although involving math, is not very math intense in contrast with actuarial science (except for maybe Game theory and econometrics). I believe it is better to take engineering in undergrad then switch to actuarial science. This is a common case, especially in the States. Economics is more a subjective course (there is no such thing as a fixed answer, unlike math), and memorising definitions is crucial too.

I beg to differ. For those who intend to pursue a PhD in the field, the math is very intense, in fact PhD candidates sometimes feel as if what they are doing is not econs. As Mike Moaffat pointed out in his website, the math is not just calculus, but a virtuous cycle of theorem-proof theorem-proof. However, this probably comes close to those who doesn't want to go to grad school for economics. Otherwise, finish game theory by your senior year, by then linear algebra, real analysis and such should be courses that you have taken by then.

Gregory Mankiw, the Harvard Economist who served as Bush's NCEA Chairman offers this advice (http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/2006/05/which-math-courses.html).

Judith
12-03-2010, 11:42 PM
Actually there isn't any PIDN for SPM leavers, PIDN is for local degree students. There is such confusion because last year, some students who applied for PILN, but didn't manage to secure overseas scholarships, were given scholarship to study in local private universities.

So, in short, you apply for PILN, if you didn't manage to secure overseas scholarship, you might still get a scholarship to study locally.
Thank you very much.:)

12-03-2010, 11:49 PM
I reread the information provided in the first page of the thread, and indeed PIDN is the name given this year to the local scholarship given to students who failed to secure overseas scholarship, sponsoring them from pre-U up to degree level. Still, I think this should be differentiated from the PIDN for undergraduate students.

Sorry for the mistake earlier.

13-03-2010, 12:00 AM
My best wishes to all here (including myself). XD

Nah, JPA loves to changes their policies. They way they play the game. On the meantime,polish your English. It boost your confidence for the interviews.

Judith
13-03-2010, 12:03 AM
I reread the information provided in the first page of the thread, and indeed PIDN is the name given this year to the local scholarship given to students who failed to secure overseas scholarship, sponsoring them from pre-U up to degree level. Still, I think this should be differentiated from the PIDN for undergraduate students.

Sorry for the mistake earlier.
So, i think it's the same link for both,right?
It's ok,you even refer for more information,thank you.^^

adele123
13-03-2010, 12:09 AM
I believe it is better to take engineering in undergrad then switch to actuarial science.

Erm... engineering and actuarial absolutely no connection? Switching from engineering to actuarial, not very logical at all. Wasting 4 years of studying engineering and then... another unknown number of years trying to pass be granted associate/fellowship member by the profesional bodies. It's absolutely irrational.

Jpa is weird, not offering actuarial... but then... not like malaysia need alot of them.

economics and actuarial, actually, very different too... Although economics form part of actuary's profesional qualification. I feel the closest thing to actuarial is actually quantitative finance. Using maths to judge, whether which field is close to actuarial, is a wrong yardstick... Econometrics and engineering maths and the stats that actuarial students study, kinda very different...

PS: sorry mod, diverting from the topic

13-03-2010, 12:10 AM

I beg to differ. For those who intend to pursue a PhD in the field, the math is very intense, in fact PhD candidates sometimes feel as if what they are doing is not econs. As Mike Moaffat pointed out in his website, the math is not just calculus, but a virtuous cycle of theorem-proof theorem-proof. However, this probably comes close to those who doesn't want to go to grad school for economics. Otherwise, finish game theory by your senior year, by then linear algebra, real analysis and such should be courses that you have taken by then.

Gregory Mankiw, the Harvard Economist who served as Bush's NCEA Chairman offers this advice (http://gregmankiw.blogspot.com/2006/05/which-math-courses.html).

Okay, now i'm a little bit confused and doubt of my choice made again. Can anyone come out with a conclusion? Anyway, thanks for the replies made. I really appreciate it. :)

13-03-2010, 12:10 AM
Nah, JPA loves to changes their policies. They way they play the game. On the meantime,polish your English. It boost your confidence for the interviews.I couldn't agree more, when you thought you know their trend, they change it again. Last year many people were taken by surprise by their new policy.

13-03-2010, 12:12 AM
Okay, now i'm a little bit confused and doubt of my choice made again. Can anyone come out with a conclusion? Anyway, thanks for the replies made. I really appreciate it. :)

I have been following your posts. Hehe. But I think you gonna decide yourself on the route you think most appropriate. After all, no one knows you better than yourself. :amuse

bekann
13-03-2010, 12:14 AM
But, my intention is to switch from Economics into Actuarial Science if possible in future. Thanks for advising me anyway!!! :amuse

Can you actually do that? Is is compatible, or even similar?
Why don't you try applying for Actuarial Science in Bank Negara or Khazanah scholarship?

13-03-2010, 12:14 AM
So, i think it's the same link for both,right?
It's ok,you even refer for more information,thank you.^^If the same applies this year, there shouldn't be separate application involved. However, it's better to check their website from time to time, if there is any update.

adele123
13-03-2010, 12:28 AM

Is actuarial similar to economics? Definitely not. Do actuarial students study economics? Yes, they do.

13-03-2010, 12:38 AM
Why don't you try applying for Actuarial Science in Bank Negara or Khazanah scholarship?

Actuarial Science actually not really similar with Economics, but they do have some relations. So i think it's up to me to choose my own path, even though it might be not really smooth, but i hope to end at the same point.

I have applied for both as well. :) But i know that both Bank Negara and Khazanah are very hard and competitive, and i have even experienced it last time by using trial result. I went for the BNM interview, and the Stage 1 for Khazanah, but unfortunately both are failed. So i'm going to try them once again this time, and i swear i'll try my very best. :)

I have been following your posts. Hehe. But I think you gonna decide yourself on the route you think most appropriate. After all, no one knows you better than yourself. :amuse

Thanks Xon, yeah i think i should make up my mind. Even though Economics and Engineering might differ from each other, but both are still applying Maths into their courses, and that is for sure. So, in conclusion, i still doubt with my decision. :P Which course have more actuarial-related maths??? Engineering or Economics? or maybe Maths(it's under Science)? That should be my question. :) Thanks for the advices Xon. :)

zarionette
13-03-2010, 12:38 AM

So, it does mean that i'll have to select science if i wanna study maths right? Just needing clarifications on this as jpa only offers science in local u.

Btw, there is this option i saw in the 'syarat permohonan jpa utk piln' that the mathematics(also the only stated maths course/programme) offered is under the tesl programme. BUT, you got to study it in aus or nz if you were to secure the scholarship.

Say if the highlighted statement is true, how come there's this difference in both the offers?

13-03-2010, 12:58 AM
hello all, new here. just wondering, does anyone know whether the Biasiswa Nasional is open for online application? :) thanks in advance!

Soalan tambahan:

Adakah saya layak untuk memohon Program Biasiswa Nasional yang
telah diumumkan oleh Y.A.B. Perdana Menteri?

Tidak, Program Biasiswa Nasional adalah program khas yang ditawarkan
kepada 30 orang pelajar-pelajar paling cemerlang lepasan SPM 2009
yang disenaraikan oleh Lembaga Peperiksaan Malaysia.

taken from JPA PILN FAQ
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/faq/faq_piln_2010.pdf

adele123
13-03-2010, 01:07 AM
Which course have more actuarial-related maths??? Engineering or Economics? or maybe Maths(it's under Science)? That should be my question.

There are a few subjects or areas which are vital to actuarial students (wherever you study) like stochastic, financial maths, life contingencies, risk theory, regression etc (maybe should be more)

I dont know what engineering students study. Logic tells me it's very different.

Economics, if you study econometrics, ya, it's economics maths. Related or notto actuarial? I think not, simply because i dont need to take it.

According to my lecturer, yes, some maths course will be helpful especially for stochastic. He mentioned something about differential equation sort of leads to stochastic. ( i have seriously bad memory, sry if i rmb wrongly)
Calculus and linear algebra also important (judging the fact that i have to study them)

Quantitative finance. The closest thing to actuarial I know. Not that close actually. Both QFin and actuarial students study a few subjects together.

13-03-2010, 01:26 AM
There are a few subjects or areas which are vital to actuarial students (wherever you study) like stochastic, financial maths, life contingencies, risk theory, regression etc (maybe should be more)

I dont know what engineering students study. Logic tells me it's very different.

Economics, if you study econometrics, ya, it's economics maths. Related or notto actuarial? I think not, simply because i dont need to take it.

According to my lecturer, yes, some maths course will be helpful especially for stochastic. He mentioned something about differential equation sort of leads to stochastic. ( i have seriously bad memory, sry if i rmb wrongly)
Calculus and linear algebra also important (judging the fact that i have to study them)

Quantitative finance. The closest thing to actuarial I know. Not that close actually. Both QFin and actuarial students study a few subjects together.

Oh i see. Thanks for the reply and the answers. Yeah i think Engineering maths is far way difference than the actuarial maths. So it can be out of my list now. Quantitative Science... i thought i saw it under the "sastera ikhtisas", but i not really sure though. Maths is definitely close to Actuarial Science, and quantitative science do have some similar to Actuarial Science. Oh my god, now i have more choices already... Economics, Science(Maths), "Sastera Ikhtisas"???? Which one??? Which one stands higher chances on getting it for me? :)

tracy12
13-03-2010, 11:10 AM
i hav some problem abt the borang permohanan for jpa
there is a no.cukai pendapatan
what is that for?
does it mean if my father is retired then no nid to hav no.cukai pendapatan
although my father is retired, but he does not hav no.pencen

wcing
13-03-2010, 11:46 AM
According to this:
"mendapat sekurang-kurangnya gred A- dalam tiga (3) daripada mana-mana matapelajaran berikut :
g)
Ekonomi Asas / Fizik / Kimia / Prinsip Perakaunan / Perdagangan / Pengajian Keusahawanan / Geografi."

I'm a Science student intending to convert to Commerce/Art stream.
May I know if I'm still eligible to apply for Econs if I only took 2 subjects(Phy& Chemy, both A+) out of these 7 subjects? I got all A+ except for Bio(A), Moral and Chinese(both A-).
I'm also wondering if the grade for 1119 would be taken into consideration? Cause I heard rumours that it is not considered as a grade anymore, but they still print it on the slip.

ikhwan92
13-03-2010, 12:20 PM
i hav some problem abt the borang permohanan for jpa
there is a no.cukai pendapatan
what is that for?
does it mean if my father is retired then no nid to hav no.cukai pendapatan
although my father is retired, but he does not hav no.pencen

A.the no cukai pendapatan is ur father's LHDN number.he should have it i think.ask him.n for the pencen,it is for government worker.so if ur father o mother working in private sectors,there shouldnt be any no pencen .this is what my mom said.but u can always ask ither people in this thread since they know more.

Q.is the borang pengesahan pendapatan we download and bring it during interview?

kykoay
13-03-2010, 12:37 PM
According to this:
"mendapat sekurang-kurangnya gred A- dalam tiga (3) daripada mana-mana matapelajaran berikut :
g)
Ekonomi Asas / Fizik / Kimia / Prinsip Perakaunan / Perdagangan / Pengajian Keusahawanan / Geografi."

I'm a Science student intending to convert to Commerce/Art stream.
May I know if I'm still eligible to apply for Econs if I only took 2 subjects(Phy& Chemy, both A+) out of these 7 subjects? I got all A+ except for Bio(A), Moral and Chinese(both A-).
I'm also wondering if the grade for 1119 would be taken into consideration? Cause I heard rumours that it is not considered as a grade anymore, but they still print it on the slip.

I was a science stream student in high school like you and am sponsored by JPA for economics. In short, I think I am in a good position to offer you advice.

Basically what that statement meant is you need to have at least an A- in one of the subjects listed above. I see you have Chemistry and Physics, so you have fulfilled .67 of the criteria. Now, if I remember correctly I think they have also listed Mathematics and Additional Mathematics on the list, and if you have an A in those two, then apply. Economics is math intensive, especially once you start graduate school. Unless you are content with your B.A. in Econs, get prepared for some math-bashing. I think you stand a pretty decent chance in getting the scholarship based on your grades, though your ECA achievements will potentially help you to. Words from the wise, apply to as many scholarship bodies as you can.

george1209
13-03-2010, 01:01 PM
emm.. can i ask sumthing here?
if i taking perubatan ,
and nid to attend the program pendedahan doktor rite?
it stated there from 22mac until 26mac..
does it means that i must attend those five days or juz choose a day to go ??

and if must attend five days , if i absent a day does it will effect my chance to get the scholarship ??

hope hear from experience people soon..

wcing
13-03-2010, 01:02 PM
I was a science stream student in high school like you and am sponsored by JPA for economics. In short, I think I am in a good position to offer you advice.

Basically what that statement meant is you need to have at least an A- in one of the subjects listed above. I see you have Chemistry and Physics, so you have fulfilled .67 of the criteria. Now, if I remember correctly I think they have also listed Mathematics and Additional Mathematics on the list, and if you have an A in those two, then apply. Economics is math intensive, especially once you start graduate school. Unless you are content with your B.A. in Econs, get prepared for some math-bashing. I think you stand a pretty decent chance in getting the scholarship based on your grades, though your ECA achievements will potentially help you to. Words from the wise, apply to as many scholarship bodies as you can.

Thank you.
I was waiting for your reply. Maths and Add Maths are under the category of 6 compulsory subjects required(fulfill this but not the other) while those I posted here are optional subjects.
Just curious, are we given the choices to apply for a few programmes we are interested in or we have to choose only ONE out of all those programmes offered?(I haven't seen how the online application form is like since I have been unable to access the website at all from morning till now.) T.T
If I can only choose a course, do you think it's wise if I apply for Econs since I do not fulfill the requirement for the optional subjects?

tracy12
13-03-2010, 01:26 PM
A.the no cukai pendapatan is ur father's LHDN number.he should have it i think.ask him.n for the pencen,it is for government worker.so if ur father o mother working in private sectors,there shouldnt be any no pencen .this is what my mom said.but u can always ask ither people in this thread since they know more.

Q.is the borang pengesahan pendapatan we download and bring it during interview?

so sorry cuz i hav no idea abt the borang pengesahan pendapatan:(
thankyou for replying me:)
n there is a part there where they ask abt the hospital pendedahan kerjaya
is that only 4 those who choose medic course?

arinkorin
13-03-2010, 01:41 PM
Soalan tambahan:

Adakah saya layak untuk memohon Program Biasiswa Nasional yang
telah diumumkan oleh Y.A.B. Perdana Menteri?

Tidak, Program Biasiswa Nasional adalah program khas yang ditawarkan
kepada 30 orang pelajar-pelajar paling cemerlang lepasan SPM 2009
yang disenaraikan oleh Lembaga Peperiksaan Malaysia.

taken from JPA PILN FAQ
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/faq/faq_piln_2010.pdf

ohh I see. thanks for the reply! :)

13-03-2010, 01:41 PM
emm.. can i ask sumthing here?
if i taking perubatan ,
and nid to attend the program pendedahan doktor rite?
it stated there from 22mac until 26mac..
does it means that i must attend those five days or juz choose a day to go ??

and if must attend five days , if i absent a day does it will effect my chance to get the scholarship ??

hope hear from experience people soon..You have to attend all five days.

n there is a part there where they ask abt the hospital pendedahan kerjaya
is that only 4 those who choose medic course?Yes, medicine only.

kykoay
13-03-2010, 01:46 PM
Thank you.
I was waiting for your reply. Maths and Add Maths are under the category of 6 compulsory subjects required(fulfill this but not the other) while those I posted here are optional subjects.
Just curious, are we given the choices to apply for a few programmes we are interested in or we have to choose only ONE out of all those programmes offered?(I haven't seen how the online application form is like since I have been unable to access the website at all from morning till now.) T.T
If I can only choose a course, do you think it's wise if I apply for Econs since I do not fulfill the requirement for the optional subjects?

Well, this is the caveat: All scholarship awarding bodies adhere strictly to a guideline. Therefore if they deem that you have not met the requirements or any of the cut-off, it is natural that they have to eliminate you from the shortlist. Remember, scholarships like that are situations where they have to allocate finite resources in (relatively) infinite ways. It will however, be a wise choice to seek further clarification regarding the optional subjects, last year Add Maths and Maths were listed as optional subjects and the only 3 compulsory subjects are Moral, History and BM.(Email or call up JPA, they'll be gladly be of help) By the way,1119 will not be taken into account, but it might be useful when you apply for university. Canada's University of Toronto exempts people who regard English as their first language and who also has an A1 in 1119 from submitting english proficiency test results.

george1209
13-03-2010, 02:05 PM
You have to attend all five days.

Yes, medicine only.

thanks for your reply.. !

by the way. the jpa form can kemaskini how many time - -??

13-03-2010, 02:37 PM

I think 3 times...

Yes.

Just curious, are we given the choices to apply for a few programmes we are interested in or we have to choose only ONE out of all those programmes offered?

Last year's applicants were only allowed to choose 1.

13-03-2010, 02:40 PM
Before last year (or the year before that, not sure) applicants can choose a few courses by rank (1st choice, 2nd choice, etc.) But last year's applicants were only allowed to choose 1.
I never know this, I think JPA is always one single choice.

13-03-2010, 02:41 PM
I never know this, I think JPA is always one single choice.

Corrected it, haha. Mixed up with the UPU application...

Christinecat
13-03-2010, 04:11 PM
I've got straight A+ in SPM n i wish to apply for piln. i wish to get some information from some seniors about the pendapatan keluarga. Is it very important? Or is there any maximum limit for the pendapatan? tx for any advice.:))

jujitsu
13-03-2010, 04:11 PM
Is there any website showing the requirement for jpa courses?

unsolvedcryptex
13-03-2010, 04:20 PM
I've got straight A+ in SPM n i wish to apply for piln. i wish to get some information from some seniors about the pendapatan keluarga. Is it very important? Or is there any maximum limit for the pendapatan? tx for any advice.:))

Fuuu.. One of the top in Malaysia... Congrats.

thanks for your reply.. !

3 times. It happened to me..... already

lilynda
13-03-2010, 04:38 PM

i dun think it's important 4 u..heard dat 214straight A+ sure get jpa scholarship

smy
13-03-2010, 04:55 PM
i dun think it's important 4 u..heard dat 214straight A+ sure get jpa scholarship

Wat if a person gt all A+ for nine important subjects but not for extra subjects like est and english lit.will dias affect the chances?

AniFanZ
13-03-2010, 05:18 PM
Is there any website showing the requirement for jpa courses?

http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf << all the minimum requirements :)

yvonne91
13-03-2010, 07:31 PM

:) i don't think they ever look at the income also...the other interviewees in my group are from highly income family..and the parents hold high position as well...that really makes me curious about..:)

Huwiez
13-03-2010, 11:15 PM
i'm a science stream student and i've got 11A+ and 1A(chinese) in SPM. for applying for piln, my first choice is medic and second is dentistry. but from what i saw in the country-available column, for medic course, even i m able to get, it is hard to get a place in the country i want(uk or new zealand), especially as a non-bumi. but for dentistry, i might have higher chance to get the country i want (as the only options provided are australia, india, ireland, new zealand & uk).
so, can i put dentistry for piln first, but when if i dont get a place in overseas program, i change to medic for the local level? i m rather confusing about the piln n pidn. are we going to apply them separately or automatically we are linked to the application of pidn if we dont get a place in piln? i could not find the application form for pidn. next, what's the 2000-place for ipta-or-ipts scholarships as mentioned about last year's situation? is it considered as piln or pidn?
sorry if i have sounded rude or arrogant, but i really don't mean it. thanks for any information or advice.

13-03-2010, 11:33 PM
i'm a science stream student and i've got 11A+ and 1A(chinese) in SPM. for applying for piln, my first choice is medic and second is dentistry. but from what i saw in the country-available column, for medic course, even i m able to get, it is hard to get a place in the country i want(uk or new zealand), especially as a non-bumi. but for dentistry, i might have higher chance to get the country i want (as the only options provided are australia, india, ireland, new zealand & uk).
so, can i put dentistry for piln first, but when if i dont get a place in overseas program, i change to medic for the local level? i m rather confusing about the piln n pidn. are we going to apply them separately or automatically we are linked to the application of pidn if we dont get a place in piln? i could not find the application form for pidn. next, what's the 2000-place for ipta-or-ipts scholarships as mentioned about last year's situation? is it considered as piln or pidn?
sorry if i have sounded rude or arrogant, but i really don't mean it. thanks for any information or advice.First, you have to make yourself clear, you are interested in medicine or dentistry? Medicine and dentistry may have similar structure of course in initial phase, they are quite different career. We do not encourage to choose any course just because you want to go to a particular country. While dentistry may offer more "attractive" countries, places allocated are not in 1:1 ratio for all countries.

For second part of your query, last year, there wasn't a separate application involved for the IPTA/IPTS scholarship, so whatever course you applied for PILN, you will be given the same course if you are given local scholarship instead. However I'm not sure if you can change it after you secure the scholarship. This is last year's trend, it might not be exactly the same, just take it as a reference.

Aries
14-03-2010, 12:25 AM
sorry if i have sounded rude or arrogant, but i really don't mean it. thanks for any information or advice.

First, as miracleseed metioned...make clear urself izt dentistry or medicine dat u want? If u'r thinking that it'll b easier to secure "better" countries 4 dentistry, thnk again. Only around 20 scholars were offered to UK & Ireland for dentistry during my batch. Besides, places 4 dentistry(and also medicine) are extremely limited in these countries. Even after securing the scholarship, u haf 2 prove ur worth to be accepted into these unis. No place is guaranteed. Excelling in SPM in juz d initial step...ther's still a very long journey ahead.Keep ur cool and all the best.

xylNOSAJ
14-03-2010, 12:42 AM
Hi. I am wondering if I stand a chance to obtain a scholarship with my SPM result.

BM: A+
BI: A+
PM: A
SEJ: B+
M3: A+
A. M3: A+
PHY: A+
CHEM: A
BIO: A
EST: A-
1119 GCE-0 - 1A

I know that the criteria stated for at least an A- for Sejarah but I got a B+.
I did not care much about Sejarah considering the fact that I read only about 5 chapters.
So, do I stand a chance?

ged
14-03-2010, 01:30 AM
Hi. I am wondering if I stand a chance to obtain a scholarship with my SPM result.

1119 GCE-0 - 1A

I did not care much about Sejarah considering the fact that I read only about 5 chapters.
So, do I stand a chance?
There's no harm trying. :)

rebeccagky91
14-03-2010, 09:51 AM
I think you are eligible but to make it sure, try asking the questions at JPA tajaan tambahan thread.

Are they continuing the JPA Tajaan Tambahan Programme? Cause in some of the threads I read online, they have stopped it already.:cry
Regarding the PIDN, I'm currently doing my upper six. Can I apply for it?

kykoay
14-03-2010, 09:52 AM

1119 GCE-0 - 1A

So, do I stand a chance?

To be frank, unlikely. You need to have the equivalent of A2 in History, BM and Moral. Still, there is no harm trying and hopefully they could see that your stellar grades more than compensate your ignorance of history. Still, be prepared that it is extremely unlikely. Start searching for alternative avenues. I have no idea what field are you interested in but here is a Hint hint: Securities Commission, Sime Darby, Shell, Petronas, Yayasan Telekom.

extell
14-03-2010, 10:38 AM

Firstly, I dont really think you sound arrogant. Lols. It is definitely a tough decision to make with the new grading system. I believe the education dept has ranked all the SPM scorers this year. It solely depends on whether you're confident enough to take on either course. I scored 11A1s myself and landed a JPA scolarship in medic (Czech rep). Its very nice here, I'd say. :) If its still 2007, I'd predict Czech/ Poland for medic and India for dentistry. Yes, it is tough to get "nice" countries for non-bumis (no racial matter intended). Maybe you can opt for Petronas other scholarships as a backup plan. I'm sure you'll be alright with that excellent result. Good luck! :wink

To be frank, unlikely. You need to have the equivalent of A2 in History, BM and Moral. Still, there is no harm trying and hopefully they could see that your stellar grades more than compensate your ignorance of history. Still, be prepared that it is extremely unlikely. Start searching for alternative avenues. I have no idea what field are you interested in but here is a Hint hint: Securities Commission, Sime Darby, Shell, Petronas, Yayasan Telekom.

xylNOSAJ, I think there is a pdf file on JPA web that you can download to decide as to whether your result fits the course you're applying for. I noticed that the requirements has been increased this year! :huh I do agree with kykoay that you can try on other scholarships..and your result is pretty good tho. All the best!

adele123
14-03-2010, 11:05 AM
Are they continuing the JPA Tajaan Tambahan Programme? Cause in some of the threads I read online, they have stopped it already.:cry

Have a look at the Tajaan Tambahan (overseass) thread. They have been some positive feedback that they are not stopped. Post your queries there instead.

kaiyi
14-03-2010, 11:47 AM
even you cant get the scholarship, it's beneficial too in increasing your interview skills.(regretting of didn't apply back then, interview i ever attend is 0)

francesc004
14-03-2010, 12:26 PM
actually,i really need ur opinion regarding jpa scholarship..
for ur information,i got 6a+,4a,n 1b+ for my spm result including a+ for my add maths n pyhsics..n b+ for my biology..
so i think engineering c0urse would be easier for me to get that scholarship..
but my problem rite now is what c0untry for engineering should i apply for?france?japan?
n what is the chance for me to get that particular scholarship?

pls2!!help me!

Xon: I moved your thread here to attract the correct attention.

wcing
14-03-2010, 12:58 PM
Well, this is the caveat: All scholarship awarding bodies adhere strictly to a guideline. Therefore if they deem that you have not met the requirements or any of the cut-off, it is natural that they have to eliminate you from the shortlist. Remember, scholarships like that are situations where they have to allocate finite resources in (relatively) infinite ways. It will however, be a wise choice to seek further clarification regarding the optional subjects, last year Add Maths and Maths were listed as optional subjects and the only 3 compulsory subjects are Moral, History and BM.(Email or call up JPA, they'll be gladly be of help) By the way,1119 will not be taken into account, but it might be useful when you apply for university. Canada's University of Toronto exempts people who regard English as their first language and who also has an A1 in 1119 from submitting english proficiency test results.

I sent an email to them but was unsuccessful as their mailboxes are full and cannot accept further messages. I will call them up through their hotline first thing tomorrow morning to clarify my situation.
And there's also Professional Literature(Sastera Ikhtisas), can someone enlighten me what it is about?
Thanks again, you've been so helpful and I hope I can seek your help if I face any problems regarding it in the future.

extell
14-03-2010, 02:11 PM
for ur information,i got 6a+,4a,n 1b+ for my spm result including a+ for my add maths n pyhsics..n b+ for my biology..
but my problem rite now is what c0untry for engineering should i apply for?france?japan?

pls2!!help me!

I think applying for engineering is the right choice, considering the fact that JPA offers many seats for engineering plus Shell and Petronas with majority in engineering as well. You can choose the country this year? :amazed
I think you should follow your instinct..in my year, many didn't get the ones they choose (in the interview). I do think you stand a good chance. Just gear up well if you're chosen for the interview!

francesc004
14-03-2010, 03:55 PM
thanks a lot extell!
but can u guarantee me if i apply for engineering in japan(degree) based on my result?
because if not,i still can apply for diploma in engineering(japan too)..that would b muc more easier for me..
really afraid to gamble la..haha

extell
14-03-2010, 04:42 PM
thanks a lot extell!
but can u guarantee me if i apply for engineering in japan(degree) based on my result?
because if not,i still can apply for diploma in engineering(japan too)..that would b muc more easier for me..
Well, I cant guarantee anything coz im not jpa!! Lol~~ I think you can only apply for diploma cos degree (japan) is only for bumiputra? Or are you? :huh
Panduan dan syarat2 (http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf) - refer here to be clear about it.

14-03-2010, 04:45 PM
thanks a lot extell!

By the power of JPA, extell guarantees your success..... :P

No one can ever guarantee anything. Just apply and see how it goes. And have a little faith in yourself...

extell
14-03-2010, 05:10 PM
By the power of JPA, extell guarantees your success..... :P

No one can ever guarantee anything. Just apply and see how it goes. And have a little faith in yourself...
hahaha..i wish i could. :laugh goodluck to you guys!

lordbon
14-03-2010, 05:15 PM
hi i am appying for dentistry..there are a part called hospital pendedahan kerjaya..do i need to fill this?is this only for perubatan or others as well?(pergigian,farmasi,optometry)..pls help me up

lilynda
14-03-2010, 05:22 PM
hi i am appying for dentistry..there are a part called hospital pendedahan kerjaya..do i need to fill this?is this only for perubatan or others as well?(pergigian,farmasi,optometry)..pls help me up

i'm applying dentistry 2..it's only 4 doctor

cat_55
14-03-2010, 09:05 PM
erm i'm a SPM '09 leaver too, and well erm this is my result:
4A+ (PM, BI, MT, MM), 4A (SEJ, BIO, CHE, PHY), A- (BM), B+ (EST) & B (BC).

i applied for "Pergigian", and erm after i read the Q&A, i realized there's a problem for me... since i will be going for National Service 2nd batch, i figured i would bring all the required documents to the camp, until i read this:

9. Apakah dokumen yang perlu saya bawa semasa temuduga?
a. Calon perlu membawa dokumen/sijil asal seperti berikut:
i) Kad Pengenalan;
ii) Slip keputusan SPM 2009;
iii) Surat Beranak Calon;
iv) Surat Beranak Ibu/Bapa/Penjaga; <===== uuhh???
v) Sijil-sijil berhenti sekolah;
vi) Sijil-sijil kewarganegaraan Ibu/Bapa/Penjaga; <=== ERMMM???
vii) Kad Pesara /Slip Gaji Ibu/Bapa/ Penjaga; <==== HARR?!?!?

so my ques is... must we bring the original copies? will they accept photostated copies??

14-03-2010, 09:11 PM

i applied for "Pergigian", and erm after i read the Q&A, i realized there's a problem for me... since i will be going for National Service 2nd batch, i figured i would bring all the required documents to the camp, until i read this:

9. Apakah dokumen yang perlu saya bawa semasa temuduga?
a. Calon perlu membawa dokumen/sijil asal seperti berikut:
i) Kad Pengenalan;
ii) Slip keputusan SPM 2009;
iii) Surat Beranak Calon;
iv) Surat Beranak Ibu/Bapa/Penjaga; <===== uuhh???
v) Sijil-sijil berhenti sekolah;
vi) Sijil-sijil kewarganegaraan Ibu/Bapa/Penjaga; <=== ERMMM???
vii) Kad Pesara /Slip Gaji Ibu/Bapa/ Penjaga; <==== HARR?!?!?

so my ques is... must we bring the original copies? photostated copies will be accepted??

Yes, bring the originals and certified photocopies (as backup).
Sijil kewarganegaraan is for parents born before independence. Otherwise, ignore part vi.

chalkamaniac
14-03-2010, 10:08 PM
Hey guys, this is about the Program Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang Doktor. It's only for those who applied for Medicine in the JPA scholarship, rite? Let's say you got accepted. But somehow or rather, after the program, you find that you no longer wanna do Medicine.... Then can you change to another course?

wcing
14-03-2010, 10:13 PM
Yes, bring the originals and certified photocopies (as backup).
Sijil kewarganegaraan is for parents born before independence. Otherwise, ignore part vi.

I've asked my dad who was born before independence whether or not he has a sijil kewarganegaraan but he says he doesn't have. What should I do?

unsolvedcryptex
14-03-2010, 10:28 PM

A NS-bound recommer here.

Since there were some interviews conducted using trial results, those who went for interview were allowed to return one day before the interview. But that depends and varies from camps to camps. For my camp, Kem Millennium, Beranang, those attending interview can go back one day earlier and must return on the day itself after the interview. That is my camp. I do hope that ur camp will not send u to the interview venue themselves as this will burden you.

So ask yourself is the camp nearby to your house? If your parents can come and pick you up anytime, then go keep those documents at home and request that your parents pick you up.

But let's say if you are from East Malaysia coming to West, then it might be advisable to have that original copy with you and ask the administration to keep it safely for you. Don't worry. Even those trainers are willing to keep your valuable items with them but I advise you not to do so like your mp3 players because sometimes they are MIA.

Any other better suggestions? I still think that bringing original documents for interview for NS trainees is too much as we are holding our parents' documents.

14-03-2010, 10:52 PM
I've asked my dad who was born before independence whether or not he has a sijil kewarganegaraan but he says he doesn't have. What should I do?

Does he have a birth cert? If he has then you don't need sijil kewarganegaraan.
Sijil kewarganegaraan is actually some sort like a birth cert for those born before independence.

cat_55
14-03-2010, 11:05 PM
yup its pretty near my house, around 2 hours of travelling @<hidden>@<hidden> well at least stil in east m'sia (AND somehow i realize its redundant to mention my results zzzzz)

anyways, i dont know if i'll be goin for the interview *sighs* @<hidden>@<hidden> was asking the ques in advance...

if we were to bring the certs to the camp, it literally means we'll be holding onto it for 3 months right? i do hope i dont lose it... and erm i don't think we have any other choice right? it says black and white there, "asal" >..< so... what would happen if i just bring photostated copies? they'll straightaway kick me outta the room?

markwongsk
14-03-2010, 11:13 PM
yup its pretty near my house, around 2 hours of travelling @<hidden>@<hidden> well at least stil in east m'sia (AND somehow i realize its redundant to mention my results zzzzz)

anyways, i dont know if i'll be goin for the interview *sighs* @<hidden>@<hidden> was asking the ques in advance...

if we were to bring the certs to the camp, it literally means we'll be holding onto it for 3 months right? i do hope i dont lose it... and erm i don't think we have any other choice right? it says black and white there, "asal" >..< so... what would happen if i just bring photostated copies? they'll straightaway kick me outta the room?

You can try writing an email based on your situation. I'm sure there have been people through your situation before too. I doubt they will kick you out of the room. You will probably *just* be marked down...

wcing
14-03-2010, 11:34 PM
Does he have a birth cert? If he has then you don't need sijil kewarganegaraan.
Sijil kewarganegaraan is actually some sort like a birth cert for those born before independence.

oh yes, he has. thank you

yahouy
14-03-2010, 11:41 PM
if i'm going for national service second batch, my friend said that there will be an online test around 29 of march but i'm going in on 27, so how am i able to do the test?

unsolvedcryptex
15-03-2010, 01:01 AM
if we were to bring the certs to the camp, it literally means we'll be holding onto it for 3 months right?

2 hours of drive is indeed far but my camp is around 1 hour and 15 mins from my house. So I think that the 2 hours of drive from camp to your house may just be okay if you are really willing to go for the extra mile to secure yourself jpa.

Ans to the quote above: In the event that the camp decided to send you directly to there, then you have no choice but to bring your certs to camp right for 3 months? Worry not as you parents can visit you EVERY sunday from 9am -5pm. So as soon as the interview is over or you deem that you no longer need to use it for other interviews and further usage, quickly ask your parents to take the total of 4 hours of drive to take back all the documents. You do not have to hold it for 3 months. I still suggest that the admins at the camp can safely keep it. They kept more than 400 ICs well.

Hope this answer will help you to find a solution other than of course e-mailing them and explain your situation. That is one of the things you can try doing right now. I suggest you try that first.:))

15-03-2010, 01:55 AM
Hey guys, this is about the Program Pendedahan Kerjaya Seorang Doktor. It's only for those who applied for Medicine in the JPA scholarship, rite? Let's say you got accepted. But somehow or rather, after the program, you find that you no longer wanna do Medicine.... Then can you change to another course?

poor you for being neglected...

The purpose of that program is to make you realize the real job of a doctor which is not really as what people think as luxury and all that.
Thus, if you change your mind, you can do so during your interview.

chocs
15-03-2010, 12:55 PM
hello, I need help here.
We need to print the borang pengesahan pendapatan, fill it then bring it on the day of the interview right? I've take a look and I've seen that we need to get the signature of our principal. So, what if we live far away from our school? My school is about 12 hrs by car from my house. Any solution to this?

chalkamaniac
15-03-2010, 03:52 PM
poor you for being neglected...

The purpose of that program is to make you realize the real job of a doctor which is not really as what people think as luxury and all that.
Thus, if you change your mind, you can do so during your interview.

thx for letting me know...:) i am interested in trying the program out...

JinHan2883
15-03-2010, 04:23 PM

pls2!!help me!

Every specific country has their own well-known engineering courses. In my opinion, u should choose a country which would help u in ur future field of study, but not purposely choose the one which is easier to get the scholarship. So be clear of what kind of engineering course u interested in. Good luck!

billiejean
15-03-2010, 04:38 PM
hello everybody.. erm.. may i ask... what are the chances of applying veterinary science under JPA? what kind of pre u course will i have to study? I would be glad if someone can tell me more about this course.. thanks in advance!!! :)

15-03-2010, 04:56 PM
hello, I need help here.
We need to print the borang pengesahan pendapatan, fill it then bring it on the day of the interview right? I've take a look and I've seen that we need to get the signature of our principal. So, what if we live far away from our school? My school is about 12 hrs by car from my house. Any solution to this?

It is not necessarily your own principal. Other principals may do or goverment officer pangkat3.

hello everybody.. erm.. may i ask... what are the chances of applying veterinary science under JPA? what kind of pre u course will i have to study? I would be glad if someone can tell me more about this course.. thanks in advance!!! :)

I'm not quite sure but they do send students to Aussie and NZ and take AUSMAT during preparation. Other countries, I'm not sure

kykoay
15-03-2010, 06:32 PM

It depends on what country you are assigned to. If you are to be sent to Australia/NZ, it's probably AUSMAT for Pre-U. If they decide to send you to Canada, it will be a little bit more challenging.Your Pre-U course will be Taylor's CPU.Securing a place in vet school in Canada is extremely competitive, especially for international students. You don't have much choice in terms of university.Besides you don't go to vet school immediately. In North America Med, Vet and Law are regarded as postgraduate professional courses. So you have to get your undergrad degree in science, sit for your AMCAT before you are admitted into vet school. It takes 7 years in total.

zarionette
15-03-2010, 07:09 PM

Hey, finally i've found someone here at recom who is in the same boat as me! i'm ns-bound too and has applied for JPA.

Anyway, do you mind me asking whether did you call up the ns department to ask about anything concerning the jpa interview, such as how long can we be out of the camp prior to the date of interview etc?

15-03-2010, 08:26 PM
Hey, finally i've found someone here at recom who is in the same boat as me! i'm ns-bound too and has applied for JPA.

Anyway, do you mind me asking whether did you call up the ns department to ask about anything concerning the jpa interview, such as how long can we be out of the camp prior to the date of interview etc?
dun wry. in the form, it is stated tat if u r enrolled in NS, they asked u to fill the camp place. This is because they will call u for the interview near to ur NS camp and you are allowed to leave NS for the day for the interview. I think only 3 days.

cat_55
15-03-2010, 08:27 PM

erm haven't call them, maybe tomorrow... need to list down all the things i wanna ask :))

wanqin
15-03-2010, 08:37 PM
I'm going for NS in this month too... By the way, may i know wat can i do to prepare for my interview? Usually what questions will be asked in the interview? I'm very blur~

15-03-2010, 08:55 PM
I'm going for NS in this month too... By the way, may i know wat can i do to prepare for my interview? Usually what questions will be asked in the interview? I'm very blur~
Introduce yourself
A personal question like why you to study aboard instead of studying inside of Malaysia?
A group discussion like is our education system is efficient in training the creativity of the students?

last around 45 minutes but since ur all will be in groups, it will finish vry fast.

Judith
15-03-2010, 08:55 PM
Anyone applied for pharmacy before?What kind of questions do the interviewers usually ask?Pharmacy is more emphasis on chemistry or biology?Help.

15-03-2010, 09:04 PM
Anyone applied for pharmacy before?What kind of questions do the interviewers usually ask?Pharmacy is more emphasis on chemistry or biology?Help.
dun wry, they won't ask specific things of pharmacy cause you haven't actually learn about it. Worse case scenario is they will ask something which is common sense for a future pharmacy to know.

george1209
15-03-2010, 09:33 PM
ask ask..! help

my father is currently retired 1years ledy..
so pendapatan kasar there, i put 0.00 or nid to put any other value?like b4 retired salary or what?

please.. confusing rite now!!

15-03-2010, 09:35 PM
ask ask..! help

my father is currently retired 1years ledy..
so pendapatan kasar there, i put 0.00 or nid to put any other value?like b4 retired salary or what?

please.. confusing rite now!!
you need to show ur dad's pencen slip.

YPing
15-03-2010, 09:37 PM

HiHi, regarding the question u asked, u dun have to worry so much. I will be majoring in pharmacy in nz nxt year. During my time, they ask question like organ donation for the group discussion. That's all. All you have to do now is to know a little bit more about health issues and latest info. Juz to keep urself update. The question is quite general and u can answer directly. What they require from the interviewee is how u respond to the question and even english proficiency...but not too much

george1209
15-03-2010, 10:24 PM
you need to show ur dad's pencen slip.

that means the pendptan kasar there i put 0.00 ???..and if interview just show them the pencen slip is it????

15-03-2010, 10:29 PM
that means the pendptan kasar there i put 0.00 ???..and if interview just show them the pencen slip is it????

Yes. I did the similar thing last year, except that it's due to unemployment not retirement.

george1209
15-03-2010, 10:37 PM
Yes. I did the similar thing last year, except that it's due to unemployment not retirement.

okays! that help alot.. thankyou !! ..

emm.. by the way, is that necessary to fill in the old mykad ??..!~

and oso what the diff btwn perubatan and perubatan timur tgh ?

15-03-2010, 10:39 PM
okays! that help alot.. thankyou !! ..

emm.. by the way, is that necessary to fill in the old mykad ??..!~

and oso what the diff btwn perubatan and perubatan timur tgh ?They are different in destination countries, as well as subject requirements.

15-03-2010, 10:40 PM
No need to fill the old mykad number.

As for your 2nd question, anyone can help answer this? Even I don't know...

george1209
15-03-2010, 11:08 PM
erm.. thanks to you all..
i think my 2nd question is just diff. in location.. timur tengah means timur tgh country i think... emm..anyway.. thanks..

and , finally finish fill up my application..^^ waiting the moment !

Judith
15-03-2010, 11:46 PM
HiHi, regarding the question u asked, u dun have to worry so much. I will be majoring in pharmacy in nz nxt year. During my time, they ask question like organ donation for the group discussion. That's all. All you have to do now is to know a little bit more about health issues and latest info. Juz to keep urself update. The question is quite general and u can answer directly. What they require from the interviewee is how u respond to the question and even english proficiency...but not too much
Thanks.:)Can i know what kind of latest info you are referring to?Is it about the latest breakthrough in medical field?Is anesthetic included in pharmacy field?

15-03-2010, 11:53 PM
Thanks.:)Can i know what kind of latest info you are referring to?Is it about the latest breakthrough in medical field?Is anesthetic included in pharmacy field?

Usually, pharmacy applicants will be interviewed togther with dentistry and medic... So you will most probably will be asked of current health issue..

wanqin
15-03-2010, 11:54 PM
Introduce yourself
A personal question like why you to study aboard instead of studying inside of Malaysia?
A group discussion like is our education system is efficient in training the creativity of the students?

last around 45 minutes but since ur all will be in groups, it will finish vry fast.
will the interviewer ask me some question about the knowledge in sciences...? then should i do some revision?

YPing
15-03-2010, 11:56 PM

The interviewer will not ask anything that u can't really answer. The questions are general and can be seen anywhere from internet and news. They do not expect u to give the technical and scientific terms which are unfair to u all. During my time, not all the interviewees are majoring in pharmacy and hence the questions asked are more related to medical field in general. Frankly speaking, i din really prepare any related issues prior to the interview. I juz read newspapers within the weeks be4 the interview. I can't actually give u the exact info since i'm not in my degree yet but anyway, anything related, anesthetic or H1N1, u juz have to skim and glance through. Better prepare urself on english speaking coz this year seems to be the most competitive year ever. Keep it up

16-03-2010, 12:05 AM
will the interviewer ask me some question about the knowledge in sciences...? then should i do some revision?

Just read newspapers daily and keep up to date with current issues and not just sciences but general knowledge...

Judith
16-03-2010, 12:07 AM
The interviewer will not ask anything that u can't really answer. The questions are general and can be seen anywhere from internet and news. They do not expect u to give the technical and scientific terms which are unfair to u all. During my time, not all the interviewees are majoring in pharmacy and hence the questions asked are more related to medical field in general. Frankly speaking, i din really prepare any related issues prior to the interview. I juz read newspapers within the weeks be4 the interview. I can't actually give u the exact info since i'm not in my degree yet but anyway, anything related, anesthetic or H1N1, u juz have to skim and glance through. Better prepare urself on english speaking coz this year seems to be the most competitive year ever. Keep it up
Will they ask about something that totally has nothing to do with medicine like education?We should try to stand out in group discussion or just say the main points?I will do my best.:nod

16-03-2010, 12:19 AM
Will they ask about something that totally has nothing to do with medicine like education?We should try to stand out in group discussion or just say the main points?I will do my best.:nod

Yes possible. In my year, they started asking about what we thought of our school education system and that wasn't really relevant to the course we applied...

Perhaps they just want to test your general knowledge. Of course try to stand out and yet don't overshadow the others...

YPing
16-03-2010, 12:21 AM

Basically, education can also be a possible topic. The interviewers do have a list of questions. If the questions are really related to u, for instance as u mentioned, education, medical field, social issues, they will definitely pick one to ask. Mostly the questions can either be debated or discussed thoroughly among the interviewees. The expect u to provide ur own constructive opinions and examples based on the questions. The meaning of stand out means?? in group discussion, u have to be tolerated and natural, be it a normal conversation. They will juz observe u along the discussion. As for main points, give any examples u noe. If not, juz stick to main points as long as u do say stg. Be noted that the second part of interview is also a discussion. But u r not required to discuss wif other interviewees. U r given time to prepare the facts and points about the topic and one by one, u have to present ur ideas.

Judith
16-03-2010, 12:42 AM
Basically, education can also be a possible topic. The interviewers do have a list of questions. If the questions are really related to u, for instance as u mentioned, education, medical field, social issues, they will definitely pick one to ask. Mostly the questions can either be debated or discussed thoroughly among the interviewees. The expect u to provide ur own constructive opinions and examples based on the questions. The meaning of stand out means?? in group discussion, u have to be tolerated and natural, be it a normal conversation. They will juz observe u along the discussion. As for main points, give any examples u noe. If not, juz stick to main points as long as u do say stg. Be noted that the second part of interview is also a discussion. But u r not required to discuss wif other interviewees. U r given time to prepare the facts and points about the topic and one by one, u have to present ur ideas.
You give lot of useful information,thank you.^^Then,i guess i will try hard to learn more about current and health issue. By saying stand out,i mean to give more opinion than others. But i have seen your post and it's the best to give everyone a chance to prove themselves since everyone sure wanted it so much(including myself:P). Good night.

16-03-2010, 12:01 PM
You give lot of useful information,thank you.^^Then,i guess i will try hard to learn more about current and health issue. By saying stand out,i mean to give more opinion than others. But i have seen your post and it's the best to give everyone a chance to prove themselves since everyone sure wanted it so much(including myself:P). Good night.
reminder: don't dominate the interview!!! You can try to give more and detailed opinions but always make sure that you don't too long or too much until they get bored.

Bonne Chance!!! (gud luck)

chelsh
16-03-2010, 08:27 PM
i would like to ask a question..

for the kegiatan sukan part..
i do not represent any levels for sports

that makes my sukan part totally blank.

will this put me in a disadvantaged position?

my activiti lain-lain columns are all filled up..

blurhead
16-03-2010, 08:43 PM

well i believe it does affect somehow or another... did you join any recreational activities like chess or carrom? those are considered sports/games as well... or even if you've took part in your school's sports day, it can be in...

If you REALLY have no other options but to leave it blank, then go ahead, but don't give up with your application. you will never know the outcome of it...

16-03-2010, 08:49 PM

yes, that put you in a slide disadvantage position, but dun wry there are people who are not active in sports get the scholarship. :)

ikhwan92
16-03-2010, 09:00 PM
i have applied 4 jpa's pharmacy.
hope dis year they got their quota 4 pharmcy increased.
or else it will be tough for us to get it.:))

blurhead
16-03-2010, 09:18 PM
i have applied 4 jpa's pharmacy.
hope dis year they got their quota 4 pharmcy increased.
or else it will be tough for us to get it.:))

Hmmmm, I'm rather doubtful that JPA will increase the quota for pharmacy. Reason? Competition in overseas is very high... Universities especially in Aus and NZ have quota for international students, and mind you, the numbers are like 20+ for international students per university, not just for Malaysians...

But then again, everyone stands a chance. So all the best to you in your application... :)

smy
16-03-2010, 09:27 PM
If I apply luarnegara and I don't get it automaticaaly I wil be given dalam negara?

ikhwan92
16-03-2010, 09:27 PM
Hmmmm, I'm rather doubtful that JPA will increase the quota for pharmacy. Reason? Competition in overseas is very high... Universities especially in Aus and NZ have quota for international students, and mind you, the numbers are like 20+ for international students per university, not just for Malaysians...

But then again, everyone stands a chance. So all the best to you in your application... :)

that is what worried me most.

wish there will be some luck for this year applicants.hehe
after all,global economy has gradually healed.:)):))
btw,thanks 4 ur opinion.:cry :P

chelsh
16-03-2010, 09:28 PM
well i believe it does affect somehow or another... did you join any recreational activities like chess or carrom? those are considered sports/games as well... or even if you've took part in your school's sports day, it can be in...

If you REALLY have no other options but to leave it blank, then go ahead, but don't give up with your application. you will never know the outcome of it...

is sudoku considered as a sport? hehe..i was once a inter-school sports day committee member..
i am active in sports clubs and play some sports, but then never have the chance to represent my school :(

yes, that put you in a slide disadvantage position, but dun wry there are people who are not active in sports get the scholarship. :)
thanks alot! :) hope i can manage to get an interview from JPA!

i already have conditional offers from UK universities..
do you think i should inform the JPA before/after i hand in the application?

YPing
17-03-2010, 12:34 AM
that is what worried me most.

wish there will be some luck for this year applicants.hehe
after all,global economy has gradually healed.:)):))
btw,thanks 4 ur opinion.:cry :P

Dun worry a lot... If u fail to get into foreign universities, u still gt twinning program which is quite pleasing and satisfying. I personally kinda worry of myself coz my place of pharmacy in nz is still uncertain due to the interview and all sort of tests. Only one uni in nz offers pharm for international students. Yet, it is lor more easier if u go to uk and aus as thr are plenty of uni waiting for u.

extell
17-03-2010, 05:11 AM
is sudoku considered as a sport? hehe..i was once a inter-school sports day committee member..
i am active in sports clubs and play some sports, but then never have the chance to represent my school :(

thanks alot! :) hope i can manage to get an interview from JPA!

I was also an ajk in tennis club only and participation is inter-form level..but I managed by having other KK activities to cover up my weakness in sports. :amuse It is really helpful to have a national/international level backup! :)

17-03-2010, 08:27 AM
you have stated in ur application. nvm then, you can tell them at interview. say, hv jz finished ur spm or ur a-levels now?

chelsh
17-03-2010, 02:05 PM
I was also an ajk in tennis club only and participation is inter-form level..but I managed by having other KK activities to cover up my weakness in sports. :amuse It is really helpful to have a national/international level backup! :)
same! i was the treasurer for bowling club and participated in inter-form level too..
i represented sarawak for National Robotics Competition..
other competitions are just petty petty ones.. :))

you have stated in ur application. nvm then, you can tell them at interview. say, hv jz finished ur spm or ur a-levels now?
i am going to finish my A levels now..so i am not sure whether i am allowed to apply PILN or not..so confused...(><)

17-03-2010, 02:14 PM
i am going to finish my A levels now..so i am not sure whether i am allowed to apply PILN or not..so confused...(><)I think PILN 2010 is open only for SPM 2009 students...

gelato
17-03-2010, 02:27 PM
im interested in psychology but is psychology under the category of "Perubatan" according to the JPA application form?
im afraid i may not be eligible for the scholarship if i choose the category of "perubatan" as i only have 9A's(including A+ and A-)

17-03-2010, 02:30 PM
im interested in psychology but is psychology under the category of "Perubatan" according to the JPA application form?
im afraid i may not be eligible for the scholarship if i choose the category of "perubatan" as i only have 9A's(including A+ and A-)Psychology is definitely not under perubatan, though I'm not sure it's under which course.

yeowyang
17-03-2010, 02:35 PM
program pendedahan kejayaan seorang doktor i the program only for those who r taking medicine? or for those who r taking medic-related courses such as dentistry, pharmacy and also veterinary?

17-03-2010, 02:36 PM
program pendedahan kejayaan seorang doktor i the program only for those who r taking medicine? or for those who r taking medic-related courses such as dentistry, pharmacy and also veterinary?Medicine only.

tsuhuey
17-03-2010, 03:20 PM
im afraid i may not be eligible for the scholarship if i choose the category of "perubatan" as i only have 9A's(including A+ and A-)

psychology is under social science.. i think so, i have read it somewhere. under the syarat syarat pemohonan PILN