View Full Version : Chemistry
28-06-2004, 03:15 AM
Here you can post on Chemistry.
13-11-2004, 08:00 AM
Anyone studying Chemistry here? I find Chemistry very difficult.....lots of new concepts which were not taught in Pre-U. Things like electron orbitals as wave function....bla bla bla...so confusing! :? :(
EricFu
09-01-2005, 12:09 PM
Well... You might find it confusing because you were not exposed to Quantum Mechanics before I suppose. Once you get the concepts in Quantum Mechanics right, I don't think that should be a problem. I know visualizing orbitals are rather difficult initially, but you will learn to appreciate it more when you further study VSEPR and hybridization. As for wave function, it is only a mathematical function that depicts the probability of finding an electron in the vicinity of an atom...
15-01-2005, 03:45 AM
Well... You might find it confusing because you were not exposed to Quantum Mechanics before I suppose. Once you get the concepts in Quantum Mechanics right, I don't think that should be a problem. I know visualizing orbitals are rather difficult initially, but you will learn to appreciate it more when you further study VSEPR and hybridization. As for wave function, it is only a mathematical function that depicts the probability of finding an electron in the vicinity of an atom...
Yup, thanks. I've understood it after reading over and over again. I dont know why my mind just cant absorb the material at first.
One major problem in quantum theory is that we cant actually represent it in diagrams. They are abstract, which we have to depend a lot on our imaginations. For example, the electron spin. It's not spinning like a sphere on a particular axis, but it's actually the angular momentum of the electron (which can only be estimated). Am I right?
EricFu
28-01-2005, 11:58 AM
Regarding the electron spins, I am not sure about the details. I know it could only take 2 values, namely 0.5 and -0.5. I think the angular momentum of the electron attributes different quantum number, called the Azimuthal Quantum Number.
08-06-2007, 02:18 PM
I am going to take the mechanical engineering in UTP and i found out that i need to undergo the Chemistry I and Chemistry II during foundation year.
Anyone know what is the difference of this kind of chemistry compare to others?
Or the engineering chemistry i will be learning is the same chemistry to others?
nicodemus
16-11-2007, 04:41 PM
Pandaboy and ericfu,
Both of you are studying chemistry? Based on the posts, I think you have graduated. Can I know what are you currently doing now?
How's the job prospect for chemistry graduates?
22-11-2007, 11:12 AM
Be a chemist, or chemical engineer
My 2 cents
uglyducklai
25-01-2008, 11:52 AM
Chemistry can divide into applied chem,analysis chem,industrial chem n even pure chem.may i know wat is the differences ? which course has a high demand in job market.
Athersin
31-05-2009, 02:57 PM
is chemistry really applicable to pharm fields?
I thought like the study of thermodynamics and all org chem is more on memorising, do it contribute to the application in pharm fields ?
I hate memorising!! but i am glad if i can apply it in my field of my study..
sherenesheep
31-05-2009, 03:24 PM
if u are goin to take chem for a-levels (CIE) i suggest that u rmb all ur form 4 and form 5 stuff.. AS has form 4 and form 5 stuff but they wont teach u.. u are expected to know al of it..
and its not all about memorizing.. now, its all about application...
Athersin
31-05-2009, 03:31 PM
r u sure?
i dun see there is any application...mind to give some exp?
if it is all about techniques , then it will be good for us..
we want technique and expertise to learn the skill up...
not merely harp on the facts like alkane , alkene and aromatic compound...haha..
31-05-2009, 03:41 PM
is chemistry really applicable to pharm fields?
I thought like the study of thermodynamics and all org chem is more on memorising, do it contribute to the application in pharm fields ?
I hate memorising!! but i am glad if i can apply it in my field of my study..Obviously, organic chemistry is going to be a huge part of your course, including memorising the structures of drugs...
Athersin
31-05-2009, 03:51 PM
what for if we keep on memorising it??
Do it helps if we are going to dispense the medic and give consultation to patients?
sherenesheep
31-05-2009, 06:43 PM
r u sure?
i dun see there is any application...mind to give some exp?
if it is all about techniques , then it will be good for us..
we want technique and expertise to learn the skill up...
not merely harp on the facts like alkane , alkene and aromatic compound...haha..
like for practicals u have to design ur own experiment to identify the cations and anions... thats one..
for P1 and P2, the knowledge of chemistry is applied to some questions..they giv u a situation and ask u to apply ur knowledge on chem to find an answer... something like that la..
for example (this is from P2 2003, may/june ppr)
When a rupture (hernia) or a deep wound, e.g. as a result of a sports accident, is
repaired by surgery, a mesh is inserted below the muscle tissue so that on healing the
wound is less likely to reopen and the repair is stronger.
Poly(propene) is the recommended material for the mesh.
(i) Suggest two reasons why poly(propene) is used rather than a natural fibre such as
cotton.
they wil stil ask theory questions, but nowadays more to application.. CIE gettin tougher cuz they suspect leakage of questions.. they even resorted to splitting up p2 and p3, so diff centres sitting for diff ppr..