View Full Version : Study Skills

28-06-2004, 03:16 AM
Tell us about some of your study skills. Do you have any useful tips to give us?

jo_n
02-07-2004, 11:45 PM
basically nothing special: study, study n study. repetition n revision of the same topics help alot. books r not the ultimate guide, but must-have reference.

08-07-2004, 03:22 PM
I still prefer hands-on compared to study using books. Of course we still need to refer to book at times. For example, to study Chemistry, I think it'll be easier for us to understand by conducting experiment, doing the practicals in labs and etc. I learn better that way. I think the same goes for other subjects too. But not all subjects can be done this way, we cant be studying Maths by conducting experiments rite? :wink:

wpyeoh
23-09-2004, 10:55 PM
Experiments alone won't help either. It needs to be coupled with theory study.

My best advice would be this: constant study all year long, not just cramming for exams. That way you won't get stressed out. And understand what you learn! Understanding something will make memorising so much easier.

13-11-2004, 07:58 AM
I hate memorising. Why do we have to memorise all the facts when they are all in the books? I find it time consuming...and futile because most of us will forget what we memorise after the exams.

wpyeoh
14-11-2004, 07:31 PM
Yeah, sometimes memorising is totally useless. I mean, when we're out working, we can look in books for formulas, right?

Now sometimes I have open-book exams, which I find is a good concept. ^_^

04-12-2004, 05:25 AM
Yeah, sometimes memorising is totally useless. I mean, when we're out working, we can look in books for formulas, right?

Now sometimes I have open-book exams, which I find is a good concept. ^_^

I wish I can have open book exams. Damn, I hate memorising! Seems like I'm doing something pointless. I'll forget it after exam anyway...

wawa
07-04-2005, 09:51 AM
wish I can have open book exams. Damn, I hate memorising! Seems like I'm doing something pointless. I'll forget it after exam anyway...

NUS has a lot of open books, but it means that the lecturer will gleefully set tons of questions/super difficult questions for us to do....

12-04-2005, 01:42 AM
wish I can have open book exams. Damn, I hate memorising! Seems like I'm doing something pointless. I'll forget it after exam anyway...

NUS has a lot of open books, but it means that the lecturer will gleefully set tons of questions/super difficult questions for us to do....

Well at least it's testing the thinking abilities of students instead of memorising abilities....

Digress a little, do students undergo interviews to get into NUS for courses like bachelor of science , pharmacy and engineering? Or is it just for medicine?

20-04-2005, 12:18 AM
Digress a little, do students undergo interviews to get into NUS for courses like bachelor of science , pharmacy and engineering? Or is it just for medicine?

There are interview (or tests?) for Architechture/ Industrial Design courses, Law, Dentistry and Medicine.

balderdash
20-04-2005, 01:18 AM

Haha....we were just saying today...open book means that nothing will come out from those books :) I have three open books this sem out of four ... sian..

30-07-2005, 02:06 PM
My study skills: I will pre-read the chapter b4 the lessons start, drop down some questions and pay more attention on that area during the lesson. During breaks or after class, I will clarify and ask the lecturer's question! Lastly, I will summarize what I have learn for future revision. I will try some exercises when the info is still fresh in my mind. Thats all.... :wink: :wink:

08-06-2007, 02:23 PM
The most important thing is the fresh mind.

If u r stdying late at night and cam everything inside u at once, u will not remember most of the things that u have studied the second day after u wake up.

Once, from a phychological book, someone said that the fresh mind is one of the happiness in life.

We need to study happily. :wink:

princessclarissa
08-03-2008, 11:39 AM
The most important thing is the fresh mind.

If u r stdying late at night and cam everything inside u at once, u will not remember most of the things that u have studied the second day after u wake up.

does it mean that we shouldn't burning midnight oil for studying?? i used to do it such way..

08-03-2008, 11:43 AM
the judgement of the state of fresh mind is within ourself. it varies accordingly beyond people. i wont say that burning midnight oil is a bad habit as i do seen my friends burning midnight oil and done superbly in exams.

jun
08-03-2008, 12:15 PM
Well I have seen a lot of studying techniques in my life as I have three siblings.....and from wat i can observe studying techniques vary for different individuals ....for example...

some people may need to burn the midnight oil while others may not have to.....Some people will have to read a few times before they can understand a certaint topic bur some can grap a topic easily....

But one thing is for sure.... CONSISTENCY is VERY important.... and remember.... Quality is better than Quantity.!!!