View Full Version : Is marriage important?

28-06-2004, 05:44 AM
Is marriage important?

if this is so,why?

i always wonder why at certain age,we start to seek attentions from the opposite sex (if u r straight) or same sex (if u r not-so-straight),or both sexes (if u love being straight and not-so-straight at the same time).

why do we need others to be happy?

windy_city
28-06-2004, 06:40 AM
Is marriage important?

if this is so,why?

i always wonder why at certain age,we start to seek attentions from the opposite sex (if u r straight) or same sex (if u r not-so-straight),or both sexes (if u love being straight and not-so-straight at the same time).

why do we need others to be happy?

I think your questions/statements are a bit ambiguous.

You want people to share their thought on marriage, or on seeking a partner?
Seeking a partner does not mean marriage!

28-06-2004, 07:26 AM
marriage is simply because u dun have to be alone when parents,siblings,n friends r not in the real world anymore.

Kevinlim
28-06-2004, 07:21 PM
Marriage means that u'll have a partner for life and don't need to be alone at night :P even though it's more responsibilities but it'll make u a more committed person in life.

The_Observer
28-06-2004, 08:23 PM
Marriage shows that you are willing to dedicate the remainder of your life to that special someone which you truely love and cherish...and also to care for him/her while your body is still with breath.
It's a life-long commitment.

kucingbiru
28-06-2004, 08:45 PM
marriage sux in america, because if you get divorced, half of your assets will go to your ex-spouse and vice versa.

28-06-2004, 08:49 PM
marriage sux in america, because if you get divorced, half of your assets will go to your ex-spouse and vice versa.

this reminds me of britney spears almost lost half of her wealth.

windy_city
28-06-2004, 11:00 PM

That why there is such thing called pre-nuptial agreement that will prevent this problem!!

Lady and Gent who will walk the aisle soon, please make sure you sign the pre-nuptial agreement, so that you would not regret later in life!!!

kucingbiru
29-06-2004, 01:01 AM
the thing is, such thing will make it seem like you dont trust your soon-to-be-spouse. i mean, it shouldnt be there in the first place.

windy_city
29-06-2004, 01:08 AM
the thing is, such thing will make it seem like you dont trust your soon-to-be-spouse. i mean, it shouldnt be there in the first place.

Actually, it is like the debate of which come first, the chicken or the egg !

The thing is: if you trust your spouse, then you should not worry that he/she will take all/half of your fortune away when you get divorced. If there is no such worry, the pre-nuptial agreement will not even exist.

kucingbiru
29-06-2004, 01:35 AM
that pre-nuptial agreement is there because people exploit that half-half thing.

windy_city
29-06-2004, 01:48 AM
that pre-nuptial agreement is there because people exploit that half-half thing.

There is more to pre-nuptial agreement that the? half half thing", it can also include the guidelines on who will have the right on the children and it does not necessarily be half-half thing, it can be that your husband or wife will take it all?
You can make up your own agreement, there is no standard agreement. So I would have to disagree with you about your "exploit that half-half thing? statement.

I think the pre-nuptial agreement is like an insurance for marriage.

kucingbiru
29-06-2004, 02:38 AM
i know. but the thing is, its uncomfortable to have such agreement you know. the agreement is about what will happen if things dont work out. so in the beginning of marriage, you're thinking of the worst.

windy_city
29-06-2004, 03:43 AM
i know. but the thing is, its uncomfortable to have such agreement you know. the agreement is about what will happen if things dont work out. so in the beginning of marriage, you're thinking of the worst.

That why I said you can consider it as an insurance.
High-risk people (for example: Britney Spears) should get a pre-nuptial agreement.
(Low risk people (maybe) should avoid it next time :D )

Anyway, it is like buying an insurance, for example, when you buy a life insurance or a car insurance you dun want to get yourself kill or get involved in an accident, you never want the worst things to happen, but when they do happen, you have protection, right??

And I dun think pre-nuptial agreement will create moral hazard problem as insurance do.
But who know, maybe because of the pre-nuptial agreement, more people are induced to cheat on their spouse and walk away scot-free. Ummm, should consider this for my econ paper next time!! :D

Steppe
29-06-2004, 05:06 PM
Goodness.....talking about the half..half fortune, what about the other side of the story?

One enters into the marriage with education loan (e.g medical loan like that being offered now to those STPM students with 3% interest and 15 years payment eh.....?

The_Observer
29-06-2004, 07:42 PM
If couples really love and trust each other...all obstacles can be overcome including divorce.

That is the most important...if foundation is strong then taller buildings can be built ma...

29-06-2004, 08:53 PM
yeap,but then again,what if you never find the "knight in the shiny armor" or the "queen of my heart" ?

will u still keep looking becoz u wanna have someone else next to you till your last breathe? (given divorce never happened)

or else you just start to live for yourself?and start seeking ur dreams alone instead?

theT
29-06-2004, 11:26 PM
Marriage are over-rated.

peers and society expect a person to do thing in a certain way. for intance get married when you hit a certain age. a woman is labelled "old maid" or "anak dara tua" if the woman still single after the age of 30 plus. Sometimes this kinda mentality in the society especially family and relative pushing a girl/woman to get married for the wrong reason.

for me marriage is sacred. don't just get married just because most of friend are married or because your family & auntie keep on asking when is your time at all the wedding you attend. For me, a person should get married if he/she really think that is the best for him/her. Love is not the only thing that should be considered. Financial, and future planning should take into account too.

and if a person decided not to get married , it's up to him/her. respect their decision. you might call them "old maid" and saying that they're too choosy. but only the best man wins. and do you wanna see you relative or cousin suffer marrying the wrong guy because she couldn't stand the pressure from the family asking her to get married.

windy_city
30-06-2004, 02:03 AM
Agree with TheT.
A person should not decide on the path of his/her life, just because of family pressure.

Hah!!
Easier said than done!!!! :D
Wait until people called you ?lou ku po"/"wang lou wu" and see.

Human are sensitive animals, we do care what people think of us, we do not want to be called name like "anak dara tua" and such.
Some people are less sensitive than others are.
So if one who really care about what people said, and are more sensitive, he/she should settle for the second best if the best one is not there to be found, unless she/he wan to wait for another best one to come by(god know when)

I agree that marriage is sacred, but again, it does not have to be the best one that should be your husband/wife, second best/third best?.. will do as well if they love each other and can get along well. If everyone want Mr/Miss THE Best, human will become panda* soon!! (no offence PandaBoy)

*panda has one of the lowest fertility rate!!

01-07-2004, 01:32 AM
Haha... i wish my mom can read this. she warned me, if i dun have a gf by 25, she'll find one for me 8O

and if i dun get married by 30... dun even want to think of that...

kucingbiru
01-07-2004, 08:38 AM
and if i dun get married by 30... dun even want to think of that...

what will happen?

The_Observer
01-07-2004, 01:16 PM
This is the part where God and knowing the will of God comes in.
Ppl think it irrelevant when it comes to marriage...but oh well I will leave this for another more suitable thread

For all the devout out there...keep the faith, because God will always make a way when there seem to be no way. :D

hungwei
02-07-2004, 11:06 AM
There's nothing which can describe marriage accurately. The_Observer's right. God's will be our guide in such complicated matters. Marriage may be good for one, may be another way for others....we don't know. Just pray that you'll all find the right path to choose.

Steppe
03-07-2004, 11:11 AM
From the Christian point of view, as long as one seeks His Will and prays about it, one is blessed with God's blessings, including a good partner.

wpyeoh
03-07-2004, 03:09 PM
Marriage is so that children will have a permanent home...including knowing who their parents are. Unfortunately things aren't working too well these days huh? :roll:

03-07-2004, 03:36 PM
well I believe there?s a devine arrangement when come to marrige

I have observed many cases of successful marriage that coincidently the couple?s eyes are very similar..
u can observe celebrity couples...

those who have broken marriage, mainly they have contrasting eyes ... like Tom crush and nicole kidman...

Steppe
03-07-2004, 04:32 PM
I have never realised or observed this case of eyes thing. Need to observe and see whether this is the case.

I have only observed that as couples age together, they seem to grow more alike in looks, character blending in, etc. etc.

A visiting pastor last Sunday just talked about this, there is a Chinese proverb which says:
When couple first date or marry, they respect each other like guest (the Chinese word for guest)
Then they begin to fight like soldiers (Chinese word for soldier sounds like the Chinese word guest)
then the relationship got more strained and became like ice (Chinese word for ice sound also like Chinese word for guest and soldier).

Get the 'joke'?

Kevinlim
04-07-2004, 10:40 AM
Every couple sure have their problem. You can never find a couple which don't have any problem with their relationship. It all depends on the way they handle the problem. If handled properly, things will settle the way they hoped for but if wrong measures were taken, then it's bye bye my love :P Take into account all the pros and cons before doing anything.

wpyeoh
04-07-2004, 06:42 PM
Every couple sure have their problem. You can never find a couple which don't have any problem with their relationship. It all depends on the way they handle the problem. If handled properly, things will settle the way they hoped for but if wrong measures were taken, then it's bye bye my love :P Take into account all the pros and cons before doing anything.

Aye aye! :-)

Every relationship has problems, be it husband-wife, parent-child, friend-friend, etc. That's 'cos no 2 people have exactly the same ideas about everything. So? Find a way to solve the problem. If everyone were to break off a relationship with someone because they have a contradicting idea, there would be no relationship left in the world.

burningBUTTERFLIES
07-07-2004, 12:59 PM
somehow i dont believe in marriages. why get tied down? i've known couples living together in harmony while married couples bicker all the time. in a way, i see marriage as when the 'passion' starts to slow down. i mean, no need to worry right? the gold ring on finger on the left hand means she/he's already has ur stamp (property of .....! no touchy!). living together, but not married, somehow enables ppl to spend their lives together yet have their own personal life. well, more easily anyway.

now, curse me for being a libran, 'cause here are some pros to a marriage. like say, your partner cheats on you and you argue and he or she will have the reaosn that "i dont exactly belong to you, you know!", but then again, rare to find ppl who dont cheat on their spouses these days, married or not =). and if you have children. knowing our 'open-minded' society, children whose parents are not married are often looked down upon and teased mercilessly. also, responsibilites. ppl feel obliged to do so when they are married.

conclusion, i do not see marriage as v important to a relationship. it all boils down to loyalty. if you can be faithful without marriage, kudos to you!

Randomphantom
07-07-2004, 02:31 PM
Marriages doesn't mean instant lifelong happiness. It doesn't make a couple any more committed, neither does it make a couple closer.

Marriage is important in my view, although it's getting bad press now with divorces rates rocketing skyhigh and all... People do change, and there is never a 100% certainty that a marriage is happy, without any bumps along the way.

I guess relationships that work out alright should have both sides treating marriage as equally important (or equally unimportant). Difference in their ideals of marriage will ultimately lead to failed expectations.

15-09-2004, 05:50 AM
I have a friend, who really thinks that getting married is like going into a graveyard.
Well, I do notice that, in 21st century, the trend for relationships is, open relationship. Actually, I don't really understand the real meaning or definition behind it. However, I do roughly get some meanings from some friends(male and female) regarding this. They claim that, an open relationship is where the couples are either committed or not committed to each other, they can go out with the opposite sex, and no need to give any explanation to the "official" partners they're actually being with. The trend now is more like, the male and female are can have sort of romance with someone they like albeit they may have an "official" partner already, and most of them have the mindset that, they want to have some fun before settling down.
Many times, my Mum sighs that, she just can't understand the concept of love for 21st century....haha..

15-09-2004, 08:44 AM
what is marriage???hahaha

for me, marriage means nothing but a reassurance / confirmation / to legalize a couple so that if something bad happen to his or her partner, he or she will be able to get what he or she is supposed to get...

that's my opinion...(waiting to be bombarded)
wahahahaha

astraltruist
15-09-2004, 06:09 PM
Marriages doesn't mean instant lifelong happiness. It doesn't make a couple any more committed, neither does it make a couple closer.
I guess relationships that work out alright should have both sides treating marriage as equally important (or equally unimportant). Difference in their ideals of marriage will ultimately lead to failed expectations.

i think marriage is a really an important n big step in life so couples should really think properly before signing that piece of paper but in this modern world, it's no big deal if married couple wants a divorce and looks like it's becoming a trend these days that marriage is not considered as something important.. look at britney spears n other US celebrities.. :lol:

15-09-2004, 08:18 PM
marriage turns water into blood...

15-09-2004, 10:43 PM
zAiTsEv wrote:
marriage turns water into blood...

mind to elaborate? hehe....

15-09-2004, 11:03 PM
i'm sure you've heard of the saying "blood is thicker than water". marriage definitely worths much more than a piece of paper. once you get married, your life partner becomes part of your family. it's a recognition you give to your loved one. for me, life becomes more complete after you find someone you can share your life with forever.

21-09-2004, 06:07 AM
life becomes more complete after you find someone you can share your life with forever.

It's indeed true...I feel much envy at my parents and those partners that can still cherishing each other after many years of marriage. It requires much tolerance, and effort from both parties in order to maintain a long lasting marriage. Besides, they have to always maintain the 'fresh' feelings, so that the feelings for each other won't fade away. Mmm, I wonder if I could have such happy arriage in the future, but nowadays, the concepts for love and perceptions for marriage are a bit different from before... :wink:

qedx
21-09-2004, 06:47 AM
my uncle finally getting married at age 39... and my makcik-to-be is about 26, i think. me and my older cousins will have fun calling her makcik hehehe.

i actually see no point in marriage, but just old anti-social me. having people actually around me stresses me out. i don't think i can stand being around people me 24 hours a day. go to work, meet people, come home, got wife, when to be alone?

22-09-2004, 12:21 PM
well..isnt that the whole point of getting married? so you'd hv someone to be with n not stay alone. Maybe now you'd think that way...but later in life, i dont think so you will..

Old me..used to think that way...but i guess, i changed my mind...hehe..
Why?
Let's keep that a secret :D

qedx
22-09-2004, 12:41 PM
If you want to, go ahead. I'll even be part of the rombongan meminang :P

22-09-2004, 04:09 PM
eh..budakkerek..sounds like you really have someone in mind or already with that someone yea? haha....how nice...all the best to you...i guess, mine is really in the midst, i dunno what he wants and i can't read his mind....kinda torturing..but, maybe i already get used of his attitude like this, and already immuned to the way he treats me like this....though pretty sad...:(

chess_the_world
20-04-2008, 08:39 PM
hope PeiWen gets her best. imo, it can only be done when you really find the mr/mrs right. if not, it's just suffering.

09-05-2008, 08:32 AM
Undeniably , marriage is one of the most important stage in life . It's the turn of our life . After marriage , you'll not be alone like before marriage , you'll start to worry more about your job ( because you might have children in the future ) , you'll have to face your in-law ( no matter they're self-centered , demanding , over-worried , affable , you can't choose )..........And there are more to come , the list just keeps going .

Personally , I don't encourage early marriage ( I need more time to play and enjoy my life first !!!! ) , but definitely I want to marry somebody I love and live with him happily ever after ( hohoho , but I know this kind of plot only appear in fairy tale nowadays )......

Why marriage is important ? Definitely , if you enjoy to be alone , it's not pivotal to you . But I believe most people like the feeling of being concerned , taken care by somebody , and have somebody by your side , so marriage is the best solution . Secondly , after marriage , you'll have children and later on grandchildren , thus you can have grandchildren to play with when you're old , :p !

Through marriage , you'll learn to compromise people , take care of people around you , be responsible and reliable . Besides , you'll look into the world with different view and therefore gain brand new insights which you never come across when you're not married . And , only through marriage , you'll comprehend the difficulties faced by your parents when they raised you up . So , marriage is like a life lesson , it teaches you how to be a better person and how to look into the world maturely .

runninghorse
10-05-2008, 09:55 PM
for me, marriage is like a gamble...

nobody can ensure you that the man/woman u are being married with will bring forever happiness to you (including yourself)... and u must get prepared to face whatever hard time with him/her too... like hutang along, fail in business etc which will affect your life tremendously...

but marriage also brings you happiness too, award you a companion to go through life together... to have a person to be by your side, sharing every single happiness and sadness together with you is really wonderful...

hahaha... i have met some who is regret for being engaged in marriage and someone regret for not marry during his/her young age...

it really depends on your luck actually, whether you will be able to enjoy your marriage or suffer through it the whole life...

i don support early marriage in the tender age too... i wanna fully enjoy my life first before being 'tied' to marriage...

mochitor
15-05-2008, 12:51 AM
A child whose parents are not married= anak haram
A child whose parents are married = anak sah
Does that mean that marriage is license to have anak sah?

Think bout it...how come, we rarely find couples who love each other so much but not married? Marriage is basically a status created by the society so that 2 individuals living together are not called having an affair..instead they are called married. In my opinion, marriage is like a bond u sign wif government or company la..so that u dun lari..aka commitment..if people dun get married, everyday can have new spouse mah! If sudah kahwin..means taken lo..

kintaro_kun
15-05-2008, 03:02 AM
After marriage , you'll not be alone like before marriage , you'll start to worry more about your job ( because you might have children in the future )

I believe most people like the feeling of being concerned , taken care by somebody , and have somebody by your side , so marriage is the best solution . Secondly , after marriage , you'll have children and later on grandchildren , thus you can have grandchildren to play with when you're old , :p !

Through marriage , you'll learn to compromise people , take care of people around you , be responsible and reliable . Besides , you'll look into the world with different view and therefore gain brand new insights which you never come across when you're not married . And , only through marriage , you'll comprehend the difficulties faced by your parents when they raised you up . So , marriage is like a life lesson , it teaches you how to be a better person and how to look into the world maturely .

errr... i dun think marriage is a pre-requisite for these to be achieved?

like those feelings of "being taken cared by somebody", "learn to compromise people", even giving birth, and raising kids, are largely independent of marriage these days. its not like after marriage then youre biologically capable of bearing children.

anyway, i'm all for marriage. :cool:

15-05-2008, 10:00 AM
errr... i dun think marriage is a pre-requisite for these to be achieved?

like those feelings of "being taken cared by somebody", "learn to compromise people", even giving birth, and raising kids, are largely independent of marriage these days. its not like after marriage then youre biologically capable of bearing children.

anyway, i'm all for marriage. :cool:

But when you're married , you are bound to something , a responsibility . When you have to fufil such a great responsibility , that's the time you really learn something . I don't mean that doing other things don't make you learn something , but marriage the one that really change a person . Look around , look at your friends , relatives , after marriage , isn't that they change a lot ? Very different from once the person they were . Not frivolous as they used to be .

kintaro_kun
15-05-2008, 01:11 PM
Look around , look at your friends , relatives , after marriage , isn't that they change a lot ? Very different from once the person they were . Not frivolous as they used to be .

i think that depends on culture and personal conviction. look at hollywood and you know what i mean. culture and conviction, very important. if you have strong beliefs, dedication for your partner and a family centered view, marriage or not, your family would get the most out of a family life. i dont wanna be shallow, but, i think its on a case by case basis, whether marriage or not will bring upon its intended effects on someone.

15-05-2008, 03:19 PM
Undeniably , marriage is one of the most important stage in life . It's the turn of our life . After marriage , you'll not be alone like before marriage , you'll start to worry more about your job ( because you might have children in the future ) , you'll have to face your in-law ( no matter they're self-centered , demanding , over-worried , affable , you can't choose )..........And there are more to come , the list just keeps going . People say that marriage is a union between 2 families, not people.

Personally , I don't encourage early marriage ( I need more time to play and enjoy my life first !!!! ) , but definitely I want to marry somebody I love and live with him happily ever after ( hohoho , but I know this kind of plot only appear in fairy tale nowadays )......i fail to see why this is impossible. As long as you guys can get along with each other and be level headed, it's possible to have a fairy tale ending.

Why marriage is important ? Definitely , if you enjoy to be alone , it's not pivotal to you . But I believe most people like the feeling of being concerned , taken care by somebody , and have somebody by your side , so marriage is the best solution . Secondly , after marriage , you'll have children and later on grandchildren , thus you can have grandchildren to play with when you're old , :p !Why can't we have children while not getting married?

Through marriage , you'll learn to compromise people , take care of people around you , be responsible and reliable . Besides , you'll look into the world with different view and therefore gain brand new insights which you never come across when you're not married . And , only through marriage , you'll comprehend the difficulties faced by your parents when they raised you up . So , marriage is like a life lesson , it teaches you how to be a better person and how to look into the world maturely .Read: You'll learn to sacrifice people to your advantage:lol
The correct way to put it is: You'll learn how to compromise with people.

Can't resist playing the wrong usage of words and grammars kekeke

Think bout it...how come, we rarely find couples who love each other so much but not married? Marriage is basically a status created by the society so that 2 individuals living together are not called having an affair..instead they are called married. In my opinion, marriage is like a bond u sign wif government or company la..so that u dun lari..aka commitment..if people dun get married, everyday can have new spouse mah! If sudah kahwin..means taken lo..It's pretty normal in the west, but lots of them are still happy with each other after years of time ;)

15-05-2008, 03:37 PM

Think bout it...how come, we rarely find couples who love each other so much but not married? Marriage is basically a status created by the society so that 2 individuals living together are not called having an affair..instead they are called married. In my opinion, marriage is like a bond u sign wif government or company la..so that u dun lari..aka commitment..if people dun get married, everyday can have new spouse mah! If sudah kahwin..means taken lo..

it depends... marriage is just a title... if u wanna run a way from marriage after marriage, it is still possible, by divorse... eventhough people are married, they still can have new spouse... some people who are married even practice such thing as wife swapping or husband swapping...

bluez_aspic
15-05-2008, 05:59 PM
I want to make babies!

15-05-2008, 06:14 PM
it depends... marriage is just a title... if u wanna run a way from marriage after marriage, it is still possible, by divorse... eventhough people are married, they still can have new spouse... some people who are married even practice such thing as wife swapping or husband swapping...
Polygamy by means of marriage in southern Thailand is pretty popular in Malaysia nowadays

15-05-2008, 10:18 PM
Polygamy by means of marriage in southern Thailand is pretty popular in Malaysia nowadays

I find that men who practice this has very low moral standards, considering in most cases the wife doesn't know it, and not to mention that's it's illegal.

Caprio
15-05-2008, 10:31 PM
I want to make babies!

Without marriage, you can also make babies.

15-05-2008, 10:36 PM
I find that men who practice this has very low moral standards, considering in most cases the wife doesn't know it, and not to mention that's it's illegal.
Well, it's legal by Islamic standards, which makes it in turn legal in Malaysia as well =.=

15-05-2008, 10:42 PM
It's legal? Here, this article was written a few years ago but the points are there.

http://sangsuria.blogspot.com/2003_02_01_archive.html

15-05-2008, 10:54 PM
It's legal? Here, this article was written a few years ago but the points are there.

http://sangsuria.blogspot.com/2003_02_01_archive.html
The law says it's illegal, the enforcement says it is...

sherenesheep
16-05-2008, 12:26 AM
Without marriage, you can also make babies.

in a sinful way.. the child wud be called a bastard (i'm not insulting u, thats the term for a child of an unwed couple)

The law says it's illegal, the enforcement says it is...

so what about the islamic rule that allows them to have 4 wives??
(i'm not tryin to stir up controversy.. i'm asking a question here)

alepbing
16-05-2008, 12:30 AM
Well, it's legal by Islamic standards, which makes it in turn legal in Malaysia as well =.=

it is legal by Islamic law. however, in Islam, if anything that you do against the law of the country, then it is illegal, considered a sin.

right. so about the four wives. actually, in Islam, polygamy is not something man should enjoy

it is merely responsibilites, fairness and justice. i give you simple example, when a guy has 2 wives, and bought the first wive a car, the second one should get the same exact car too. or else, it is a sin. and emotionally, the men cannot love one wife more than the other. that will make his polygamy as a sin la. something like that
muslim men take polygamy as simple thing, but actually it is not. it is hardly to find a man that is truly fair to all the wives. and those who are not being just to all the wives, are considered as sinner la since he did not fulfil the requirements of polygamy.

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 12:38 AM
I'm totally against polygamy
Men who practice polygamy should burn in hell
They just can't get enough with one woman

alepbing
16-05-2008, 12:40 AM
I'm totally against polygamy
Men who practice polygamy should burn in hell
They just can't get enough with one woman

well hold on there lady.

not all men marry more than one for their own sexual needs. some of them marry widows and old maiden, to help them out from poverty.

and isnt it better than adultery? i mean, if the first wives allow them, then it is so much better than the husbands sleep around right?

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 12:57 AM
well hold on there lady.

not all men marry more than one for their own sexual needs. some of them marry widows and old maiden, to help them out from poverty.

and isnt it better than adultery? i mean, if the first wives allow them, then it is so much better than the husbands sleep around right?

yeah right..haha...so u mean the 1st wives should allow their husbands to remarry just so that they don't have to sleep around? many husbands remarry even though their 1st wife din allow them..some1 I knew had her husband marry another woman without her even knowing..they don't have to marry the woman to help them out of poverty, just give them money...it's a thing called donation..hehe

alepbing
16-05-2008, 01:09 AM
yeah right..haha...so u mean the 1st wives should allow their husbands to remarry just so that they don't have to sleep around? many husbands remarry even though their 1st wife din allow them..some1 I knew had her husband marry another woman without her even knowing..they don't have to marry the woman to help them out of poverty, just give them money...it's a thing called donation..hehe

well, it is the law. the first wife has the right to allow polygamy. and if they dont have the first wives' permissions, then they are sinful to marry another woman.

you really think you can satisfy your husband's sexual needs? okay maybe too far la, but if you do not want to, then do not give the permission then.

and donation huh? you see, a husband provides almost everything for the wife. but when they donate, it is limited to physical help. emotional needs and all are needed too.

you know, it is not wrong for you to disapprove polygamy, but judging that men who practices it to be burn in hell, that is a little too carried away. because i believe only god can judge and put us to wherever he wants which will last for eternity :) dont marah la.

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 01:22 AM
well, it is the law. the first wife has the right to allow polygamy. and if they dont have the first wives' permissions, then they are sinful to marry another woman.

you really think you can satisfy your husband's sexual needs? okay maybe too far la, but if you do not want to, then do not give the permission then.

and donation huh? you see, a husband provides almost everything for the wife. but when they donate, it is limited to physical help. emotional needs and all are needed too.

you know, it is not wrong for you to disapprove polygamy, but judging that men who practices it to be burn in hell, that is a little too carried away. because i believe only god can judge and put us to wherever he wants which will last for eternity :) dont marah la.

so it is about sexual needs uh? haha...emotional needs they can go see psychologist or mayb marry an unmarried man instead? sorry I got too carried away there..hehe...but most of them can't fulfill the responsibilities. so in the end, they are still condemned into hell..haha...tak marah :)

Al-Bert
16-05-2008, 01:25 AM
Well, alepbing, since we practice equality in gender here, would it be alright for a wife to marry with another man under the permission from the first husband in Islam law?

alepbing
16-05-2008, 01:26 AM
so it is about sexual needs uh? haha...emotional needs they can go see psychologist or mayb marry an unmarried man instead? sorry I got too carried away there..hehe...but most of them can't fulfill the responsibilities. so in the end, they are still condemned into hell..haha...tak marah :)

i have to agree with the statement that when one cannot fulfil the responsibilities as he or she should, must be condemned into hell. but still, we should let god does the judgement. we cannot judge another human being :P

you see, everyone has sexual needs. and everyone has their own opinion. so it is really up to how that person handles his/her needs and believe in good deeds, because we have different ways of upbringing and different experiences make us different persons. plus, i repsect your opinion :)

16-05-2008, 02:26 AM
in a sinful way.. the child wud be called a bastard (i'm not insulting u, thats the term for a child of an unwed couple)

so what about the islamic rule that allows them to have 4 wives??
(i'm not tryin to stir up controversy.. i'm asking a question here)you are insulting every single mother or father and the child who is the result of carelessness. Mistakes are made, so be it, spare the child of the rest of the pain...

well hold on there lady.

and isnt it better than adultery? i mean, if the first wives allow them, then it is so much better than the husbands sleep around right?There are more ways to help people than just marrying them. I suppose if it's fair for guys to marry extras for various reasons, it's only fair that the women get the same priviledges as well..

16-05-2008, 08:21 AM
well hold on there lady.

to help them out from poverty??? i personally think that this is merely an excuse to cover their sin... there are various ways to help them out from poverty... for example, teach them some living skills, find a job for them and so on... if the husband intended to sleep around, number of wives wouldnt stop him from doing so...

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 11:32 AM
yup2..why is it when a man has a lot of women, he's da man...when a woman does the same, she's a whore

alepbing
16-05-2008, 11:46 AM
to help them out from poverty??? i personally think that this is merely an excuse to cover their sin... there are various ways to help them out from poverty... for example, teach them some living skills, find a job for them and so on... if the husband intended to sleep around, number of wives wouldnt stop him from doing so...

a sin? if it is allowed, then i dont think it is a sin.
however, you should know that polygamy is nothing that simple. it is very hard to actually be fair to every wife.

maybe your religion doesnt allow it. but you cannot judge a man who marry more than one woman as a sinner and worse than those who marry only one. marrying only one woman does not ensure that the man is qualified enough to be the member of heaven. if you are a christian (sorry if i offend anyone), you should know that abraham himself marry to two women. and yet you want to label him as a sinnerman? or practically should be burn in hell?

so i would say stop the judgement, if you do not approve polygamy, you can always do. it is just when i comes to this matter or marriage, it is related to religion. mind you that old testament never mention that monogamy is a must or a desired path. and we know old testament is accepted by Christianity, Islam and Judaism.

still, the man who practices polygamy should abide the rules and if he fails to do so, then we leave it to god to judge him

skatemusicianer
16-05-2008, 11:50 AM
a sin? if it is allowed, then i dont think it is a sin.

if you are a christian (sorry if i offend anyone), you should know that abraham himself marry to two women. and yet you want to label him as a sinnerman? or practically should be burn in hell?

mind you that old testament never mention that monogamy is a must or a desired path. and we know old testament is accepted by Christianity, Islam and Judaism.

Old Testament says that a women will leave her father to be united with a man, and they shall become one..obviously it doesn't say 3 women will leave their fathers and be united with a man.

alepbing
16-05-2008, 12:00 PM
Old Testament says that a women will leave her father to be united with a man, and they shall become one..obviously it doesn't say 3 women will leave their fathers and be united with a man.

i does not say that monogamy is the desired path and all men are obligated to have one wife. and by saying "a woman", it does not necessarily carries the sign of only one woman should be married. but it is more to the fact that men cannot marry more than once at one time.

plus if it is mentioned explicitly women leave their fathers to be united with a man, then it will give different meaning as people will comprehend it as it is an obligation to marry more than one woman. when i fact marrying one woman is acceptable.

16-05-2008, 12:42 PM
have u read today newspaper... there's a 57 years old man in terengganu wanted to married 4th wife... yes, his wives permitted him to marry the 4th wife... but then, he cant afford his big family with his low salary... he is a lorry driver who earns RM1500 per month... he has 18 children... how can he afford the living expenses of 4 wives (if he suceeded to marry the 4th wife) and 18 children??? plus, the 4th whom he is going to marry is same age with one of his children... this is not the main point... the main point is he cant afford his family as he is old, has low salary and has large family... the islamic court is also considering about this matter and hasnt permit him to marry the forth wife...

chenjun1128
16-05-2008, 01:04 PM
I dunno why Islam allows a man to marry 4 wives..but forbid a fifth one? is there something special about the number 4??

Imagine that guy proposing..
" I cannot live without u..Minah, are u willing to become my one and only.."
" yes! "
" fourth wife.."
" oh.. "

alepbing
16-05-2008, 02:30 PM
have u read today newspaper... there's a 57 years old man in terengganu wanted to married 4th wife... yes, his wives permitted him to marry the 4th wife... but then, he cant afford his big family with his low salary... he is a lorry driver who earns RM1500 per month... he has 18 children... how can he afford the living expenses of 4 wives (if he suceeded to marry the 4th wife) and 18 children??? plus, the 4th whom he is going to marry is same age with one of his children... this is not the main point... the main point is he cant afford his family as he is old, has low salary and has large family... the islamic court is also considering about this matter and hasnt permit him to marry the forth wife...

actually, you can see my point there. the islamic court is still considering his application to marry the fourth wife. so you know, polygamy is not that simple and nothing that 'fun' as you thought. it is a big reponsibility

I dunno why Islam allows a man to marry 4 wives..but forbid a fifth one? is there something special about the number 4??

Imagine that guy proposing..
" I cannot live without u..Minah, are u willing to become my one and only.."
" yes! "
" fourth wife.."
" oh.. "

first of all, not funny. second of all, four is being the maximum. it will be difficult for a man to have more than 4 wives. well, 2 is already difficult enough. but god put a limit to polygamy because it is irresponsible for a man to marry more than 4. although he can afford it financially, but can he do so emotionally? and by saying the maximum number is four, i dont think it is a must that polygamy must be defined as marrying four women. i personally do no prefer polygamy because i know my ability and i have fear that i will not be fair.

shakira
16-05-2008, 02:46 PM
the islamic law allows a man to be married at a time with 4 people. if he wants to get another wife, he will have to divorce one of his 4 wives before getting married. this was actually was practised by the last prophet. he married those who were poor, who loss their husbands in war. at that time it was to protect the women. nowdays, they marry for the fun of it, because they are allowed to..

16-05-2008, 03:01 PM
actually, you can see my point there. the islamic court is still considering his application to marry the fourth wife. so you know, polygamy is not that simple and nothing that 'fun' as you thought. it is a big reponsibilityHMM...is there any reason why he was allowed to have 3 wives at the first place?

hellyeahbaby888
16-05-2008, 04:12 PM

Why the heck does he 1na marry the 4th wife when he already has 3 wives and 18 children??imagine the child having to call some1's who's the same aged as him/her 'mum'. plus he can't even afford it..in this case it's not helping the poor. coz he fell in love??? we'll all meet certain ppl we may like in our lives, but it is up to ourselves to control the emotions. whether to dismiss or further develop the feelings

Al-Bert
16-05-2008, 04:22 PM
Plus, the probability of gender birth rate --> boy: girl = 1:1

If a man possesses more than one wife ( let's say 2 ), another man would have to remain as a bachelor for the rest of his life...

16-05-2008, 04:26 PM
Plus, the probability of gender birth rate --> boy: girl = 1:1

If a man possesses more than one wife ( let's say 2 ), another man would have to remain as a bachelor for the rest of his life...
in real life: the population of ladies are a bit higher than that of boys (with the exception of China)

Al-Bert
16-05-2008, 04:37 PM
Are you sure?

For the 63d year in a row, the number of boys born in the United States outnumbers births of girls -?in 2002, 94,232 more boys than girls were born. This is the central finding of a new Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) report that examines total sex ratios at birth for over six decades. The total sex ratio is the number of male births divided by female births times 1,000. Other findings of the report are:

1. Since 1940, an average of 91,685 more male babies have been born each year than females, a total of 5,776,130 over that 63-year period.

2. The highest sex birth ratio occurred in 1946 (1,059 male births per 1,000 females) while the lowest occurred in 1991 and again in 2001 (1,046 male births per 1,000 females).

3. There were three major trends in sex birth ratios over this period: a significant decline between 1942 and 1959; a significant increase between 1959 and 1971; and another significant decline between 1971 and 2002.

4. Combining all the years studied, older mothers (40 to 44 years of age and 45 years and over) have the lowest total sex birth ratios (1,038 and 1,039, respectively) and mothers 15 to 19 years of age had the highest sex birth ratio (1,054).

5. The more children a woman has the more likely she is going to give birth to an equal number of boys and girls.

6. For all available years combined, Chinese mothers (1,074) and Filipino mothers (1,072) had the highest differences between the number of boys born compared with girls, whereas non-Hispanic black mothers (1,031) and American Indian mothers (1,031) had the lowest.

16-05-2008, 04:40 PM
For me, marriage is particularly important for most men, if not all of them. Well, this is because a successful man without a wife is like 'fish without chips' kind of thing.. You know what I mean? It means it just doesn't seem right for successful man not getting married. Ask Tony Fernandes, Idris Jala, Tun Mahathir, Bill Gates, George W. Bush and so on.. All have wives.. Why is this so? because behind every man, there is always a woman. However, from a woman side of perspective(I'm not a woman though), successful woman rarely gets married. This is so as they have their own mind and philosophy. They don't like to take advices from their husbands ,if they have one, or from anyone else.. that's why successful woman don't marry. this is why i guess.. However, to me, marriage is IMPORTANT!!

alepbing
16-05-2008, 07:01 PM
the islamic law allows a man to be married at a time with 4 people. if he wants to get another wife, he will have to divorce one of his 4 wives before getting married. this was actually was practised by the last prophet. he married those who were poor, who loss their husbands in war. at that time it was to protect the women. nowdays, they marry for the fun of it, because they are allowed to..

true. muslim men nowadays do not think of it as a responsibility, but more to their satisfaction (owh you know what i mean)

HMM...is there any reason why he was allowed to have 3 wives at the first place?

well, he is allowed to have four wives at one time. and there is not reason why 3 is not allowed.

For me, marriage is particularly important for most men, if not all of them. Well, this is because a successful man without a wife is like 'fish without chips' kind of thing.. You know what I mean? It means it just doesn't seem right for successful man not getting married. Ask Tony Fernandes, Idris Jala, Tun Mahathir, Bill Gates, George W. Bush and so on.. All have wives.. Why is this so? because behind every man, there is always a woman. However, from a woman side of perspective(I'm not a woman though), successful woman rarely gets married. This is so as they have their own mind and philosophy. They don't like to take advices from their husbands ,if they have one, or from anyone else.. that's why successful woman don't marry. this is why i guess.. However, to me, marriage is IMPORTANT!!

I second that. as much as i love being single, i want to settle down one day, have kids and lovely wife.

16-05-2008, 07:06 PM
Are you sure?http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/tab1a.htm
I'll have to build a graph on that and analyse the results first. But judging from the numbers there are generally more women than men in most countries

well, he is allowed to have four wives at one time. and there is not reason why 3 is not allowed.
huh? I thought the Islamic department will check for qualifications before allowing him to have another wife?:confused: When he is so poor he shouldn't be given approval to have even 2 wives. You are contradicting yourself here...

Going by the same line, he is allowed to have 4 wives at the same time, so the application for the 4th one should be approved as well:nuts

alepbing
16-05-2008, 07:11 PM
huh? I thought the Islamic department will check for qualifications before allowing him to have another wife?:confused: When he is so poor he shouldn't be given approval to have even 2 wives. You are contradicting yourself here...

Going by the same line, he is allowed to have 4 wives at the same time, so the application for the 4th one should be approved as well:nuts

wait, you were talking about that guy in terengganu is it? ceh! i thought you are talking generally because i read it wrongly, as in i you quoted my reply, and i thought you said it generally...

oh yeah, that is what i am wondering too. why can he marry the 3 women earlier. true, and sorry, i perceived your reply wrongly

Al-Bert
16-05-2008, 09:01 PM
http://unstats.un.org/unsd/demographic/products/indwm/tab1a.htm

Based on the provided info in the link:

In year 2007: Malaysia's population consisted of 13,074.8 thousands women and 13,497.1 thousands men ( Sex ratio --> 97 women / 100 men )

Men outnumber women, hence obviously it's not a good idea to practice polygamy (for men) in Malysia.

16-05-2008, 09:25 PM
actually, you can see my point there. the islamic court is still considering his application to marry the fourth wife. so you know, polygamy is not that simple and nothing that 'fun' as you thought. it is a big reponsibility

sorry, i still cant see your point of view... i just dont understand why the islamic department permitted him to marry 3 wives before this as you know, he is not able to afford the living expenses of the family... i have never thought of polygamy is something simple and fun... it is a big responsibility... that's why people should consider their ability before practising polygamy... if not, it will cause so much of trouble... like, facing financial problem, children unable to get a proper education and so on... (no offense)...

alepbing
16-05-2008, 09:30 PM
sorry, i still cant see your point of view... i just dont understand why the islamic department permitted him to marry 3 wives before this as you know, he is not able to afford the living expenses of the family... i have never thought of polygamy is something simple and fun... it is a big responsibility... that's why people should consider their ability before practising polygamy... if not, it will cause so much of trouble... like, facing financial problem, children unable to get a proper education and so on... (no offense)...

i think there must be reasons behind it. he may have salary around 1500 a month. and some of his children are already above 18 and i can bet that they are working. plus we will not know that he might not have to pay for the house, maybe it is inherited. but i am with you, i do not know how did they granted the presmission for him to marry for the 3rd time. and that polygamy is a big responsibilities. that is why the islamic court is considering his application. plus the three wives actually support his intention.

tent
20-05-2008, 03:32 PM
polygamy is legal in malaysia.

no wonder why our malaysia follow the practice of polygamy in Ancient China..:laugh

20-05-2008, 03:44 PM
i think there must be reasons behind it. he may have salary around 1500 a month. and some of his children are already above 18 and i can bet that they are working. plus we will not know that he might not have to pay for the house, maybe it is inherited. but i am with you, i do not know how did they granted the presmission for him to marry for the 3rd time. and that polygamy is a big responsibilities. that is why the islamic court is considering his application. plus the three wives actually support his intention.
or have been forced to

shakira
20-05-2008, 04:00 PM
or have been forced to

the islamic law protects the women rights.. they allowing him to get married is very important. if they dont allow him, he cant get another wife no matter what... they are cannot be forced to agree. there are some laws on that.(not sure bout it-syariah law something). his affordability also plays an important role. rm1500 is very little, as wad alepbing said, house no need to pay di, kids grown-up, nothing much to be spent. but they recently stopped him from getting married the reason being not too sure. but in my opinion, he is getting some money somewhere and is not declaring it. polygamy is allowed in islam, but these days it is not practised in the right manner.

20-05-2008, 04:08 PM
the islamic law protects the women rights.. they allowing him to get married is very important. if they dont allow him, he cant get another wife no matter what... they are cannot be forced to agree. there are some laws on that.(not sure bout it-syariah law something). his affordability also plays an important role. rm1500 is very little, as wad alepbing said, house no need to pay di, kids grown-up, nothing much to be spent. but they recently stopped him from getting married the reason being not too sure. but in my opinion, he is getting some money somewhere and is not declaring it. polygamy is allowed in islam, but these days it is not practised in the right manner.

That's what it said in the books (only). We don't know what is happening behind the scene. And from what i can see, the women(uneducated) in Malaysia are expected to follow their husbands' wishes without question whatsoever. As such, they will tend to agree to their husband even if it contradicts with their views... Worse, they might even be beaten if they disagrees...

i doubt that any of the women would like to share their husband with someone else, let alone 3...

hellyeahbaby888
20-05-2008, 05:58 PM
i doubt that any of the women would like to share their husband with someone else, let alone 3...

Agree! I think most of them are forced to or forced themselves to allow their husband to marry another. Some are afraid that if they get a divorce, they will lose everything they've got ie children, money, etc. Correct me if I'm wrong, but in Islam, only the husband is allowed to divorce the wife. The wife is not allowed to

forEVA
25-05-2008, 10:08 PM
Agree! I think most of them are forced to or forced themselves to allow their husband to marry another. Some are afraid that if they get a divorce, they will lose everything they've got ie children, money, etc. Correct me if I'm wrong, but in Islam, only the husband is allowed to divorce the wife. The wife is not allowed to

of course the wife is allowed to divorce the husband, it's even easier for them to divorce their husbands off if they have a solid case. ironically however, many muslim women dont know their rights in accordance to the syariah law. n this does not help especially when u're in a society where muslim men r fiercely protected by the malaysian syariah law.

hellyeahbaby888
26-05-2008, 07:48 PM
Really? my teacher wanted to divorce her husband coz he married another woman without her consent, without her knowing even, but couldn't because her husband refused to

nadia.g
27-05-2008, 11:19 AM
Really? my teacher wanted to divorce her husband coz he married another woman without her consent, without her knowing even, but couldn't because her husband refused to

the husband can divorce the wife because the husband has the talak 'power'.

however for a wife to get a divorce, she must get it using the power of the syariah court which is called fasakh.

but to get a fasakh, there are a few conditions. amongs it are the husband abuses the wife, the husband leaves the wife without anything for a long time (a few years), etc..

for her case, it is not a strong reason to obtain a fasakh ( i guess so) many women haf the same faith as her and in the end these wives haf to end up accepting the fact they have a 'madu'.

28-05-2008, 07:07 PM
the husband can divorce the wife because the husband has the talak 'power'.

however for a wife to get a divorce, she must get it using the power of the syariah court which is called fasakh.

but to get a fasakh, there are a few conditions. amongs it are the husband abuses the wife, the husband leaves the wife without anything for a long time (a few years), etc..

for her case, it is not a strong reason to obtain a fasakh ( i guess so) many women haf the same faith as her and in the end these wives haf to end up accepting the fact they have a 'madu'.
i would suppose marrying another wife without concent would be reason enough to get a divorce?

mochitor
28-05-2008, 11:55 PM

Erm, actually i had asked my muslim friend about this before. According to him, the reason why Islam allows 4 wives is due to the interpretation of the Holy Quran. Apparently, in the Quran it says "A man can be married to one woman, two, three or even four at a time...As long as he can fulfill his responsibilities as the father and husband" ( I don't know the exact words from the Quran). Therefore, this whole marrying 4 wives is all about interpretation. In fact, i think only in Malaysia we come across cases where people go to court to marry another woman while the first is still around. Everywhere else, people just divorce the 1st and get another one!!! Wahaha

nadia.g
29-05-2008, 10:13 AM
i would suppose marrying another wife without concent would be reason enough to get a divorce?

Not so.

In all states in Msia except Perlis the man has to get the consent of the wife before he marries a second wife n so on. In Perlis, a man can marry a second wife without his first wife consent.

**Fasakh**

Fasakh means to annul a marriage. A decision on fasakh may be made only by the Court after hearing the wife's complaint.
"A married woman shall be entitled to apply to the Court for and obtain a decree of fasakh on any one or more of the following grounds:-

that the husband has neglected or failed to provide for her maintenance for a period of three months;

that the husband has been sentenced to imprisonment for a period of three years or upwards and such sentence has become final;

that the husband has failed to perform, without reasonable cause, his marital obligations for a period of one year;

that the husband was impotent at the time of the marriage and continues to be so;

that the husband is insane or is suffering from some chronic disease the cure of which would be lengthy or impossible and which is such as to make the continuance of the marriage relationship injurious to her;

that the husband treats her with cruelty, that is to say -

habitually assaults her or makes her life miserable by cruelty of conduct even if such conduct does not amount to physical ill-treatment;
associates with women of ill repute or leads an infamous life;
attempts to force her to lead an immoral life;
obstructs her in the observance of her religious profession or practice;
lives and cohabits with another woman who is not his wife; or
if he has more wives than one, does not treat her equitably in accordance with the requirements of the Muslim law; and

on any other ground which is recognized as valid for the dissolution of marriage by fasakh under the Muslim law.

Erm, actually i had asked my muslim friend about this before. According to him, the reason why Islam allows 4 wives is due to the interpretation of the Holy Quran. Apparently, in the Quran it says "A man can be married to one woman, two, three or even four at a time...As long as he can fulfill his responsibilities as the father and husband" ( I don't know the exact words from the Quran). Therefore, this whole marrying 4 wives is all about interpretation. In fact, i think only in Malaysia we come across cases where people go to court to marry another woman while the first is still around. Everywhere else, people just divorce the 1st and get another one!!! Wahaha

Hehe..
Here is the exact extraction from the Quran.

** Surah An-Nissaa Verse 3 **

[3] If you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly with the orphans, marry women of your choice, two, or three, or four; but if you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly (with them), then only one. That will be more suitable, to prevent you from doing injustice.

?Dan jika kamu takut tidak berlaku adil terhadap perempuan-perempuan yatim
(apabila kamu berkahwin dengan mereka), maka berkahwinlah (dengan)
perempuan-perempuan lain yang kamu berkenan, dua, tiga atau empat.
Kemudian jika kamu bimbang tidak akan berlaku adil (di antara isteri-isteri kamu) maka (berkahwinlah dengan) seorang sahaja. Itu adalah lebih dekat (untuk mencegah) supaya kamu tidak melakukan kezaliman.

It depends. In Arab country they do practice polygamy. but im not sure bout their policy there.

But in Malaysia the policy is very strict. The reason why husbands haf to get the consent of his wife before marrying is to protect the rights of his wives later on.

mochitor
29-05-2008, 01:18 PM
Hehe..
Here is the exact extraction from the Quran.

** Surah An-Nissaa Verse 3 **

[3] If you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly with the orphans, marry women of your choice, two, or three, or four; but if you fear that you shall not be able to deal justly (with them), then only one. That will be more suitable, to prevent you from doing injustice.

?Dan jika kamu takut tidak berlaku adil terhadap perempuan-perempuan yatim
(apabila kamu berkahwin dengan mereka), maka berkahwinlah (dengan)
perempuan-perempuan lain yang kamu berkenan, dua, tiga atau empat.
Kemudian jika kamu bimbang tidak akan berlaku adil (di antara isteri-isteri kamu) maka (berkahwinlah dengan) seorang sahaja. Itu adalah lebih dekat (untuk mencegah) supaya kamu tidak melakukan kezaliman.

It depends. In Arab country they do practice polygamy. but im not sure bout their policy there.

But in Malaysia the policy is very strict. The reason why husbands haf to get the consent of his wife before marrying is to protect the rights of his wives later on.

Hey thanks ya..i was worried people might misunderstand me..since i did not state the real deal!!! Wahaha

music_freak28
29-05-2008, 04:02 PM
if you find the right one;)

princessanicole
29-05-2008, 04:03 PM
Marriage is like the most sacred thing in the whole world, just like love. Period.

Caprio
02-06-2008, 10:21 PM
Marriage is like the most sacred thing in the whole world, just like love. Period.

Ahem... what do you refer 'period' to?

What is so sacred about period?

02-06-2008, 10:27 PM
Ahem... what do you refer 'period' to?

What is so sacred about period?

read: Full stop, end of argument

13-06-2008, 05:25 PM
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/13/nation/21518446&sec=nation

Jace
13-06-2008, 05:29 PM
marriage is important if we want to hav babies....i wudn't wan 2 marry if it was not bcz i was soooo crazy about babies :/

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2008/6/13/nation/21518446&sec=nation

i wonder why in the hell the syariah court wud allow dis idiot to hav a fourth wife...as if 3 is not bad enuf...n i really dont understand da mentality of these women. How cud they accept their husband having sooooo many wives with HATI YANG TERBUKA :huh Dis is insane...I heard dat muslim women were brainwashed since they were young to accept the fact dat men can hav four wives...is dat true? Is dat y muslims wives giv consent to their husband to take another wife/ wives???

"He also shared some tips with the media on how to be sexually active even at an advanced age.

Among the techniques he employed was to bathe in the morning by pouring a pail of water on the right leg first before washing other parts of the body.

?This technique is deemed a must for those with several wives,? he said."

wat the heck is dis nonsense all about???

pop
13-06-2008, 08:42 PM
jace,
those muslim women have their reasons for doing dat..
u should not blame them at all. as long as they r happy then let it be.

blaxice
13-06-2008, 08:47 PM
maybe dont want 2 marry... coz i c many people unhappy after marry... b4 marry so strong their love but after marry so bitter their love...

teiya_drumzaddict
13-06-2008, 08:53 PM
marriage is important if we want to hav babies....i wudn't wan 2 marry if it was not bcz i was soooo crazy about babies :/

i wonder why in the hell the syariah court wud allow dis idiot to hav a fourth wife...as if 3 is not bad enuf...n i really dont understand da mentality of these women. How cud they accept their husband having sooooo many wives with HATI YANG TERBUKA :huh Dis is insane...I heard dat muslim women were brainwashed since they were young to accept the fact dat men can hav four wives...is dat true? Is dat y muslims wives giv consent to their husband to take another wife/ wives???

"He also shared some tips with the media on how to be sexually active even at an advanced age.

Among the techniques he employed was to bathe in the morning by pouring a pail of water on the right leg first before washing other parts of the body.

?This technique is deemed a must for those with several wives,? he said."

wat the heck is dis nonsense all about???

I'm a muslim. n i won't terima dgn 'hati yg terbuka' if my husband marries another let alone 3 others?? no no no... n i aint brainwashed to accept sumthing like dat. we're not. it depends on how each woman take it. as for me it's a big NO. but if my husband chose to do so, i can't fight against it he has strong reasons for it maybe and he actually can marry up to 4.

maybe provided dat he must leave me. lol :P

SoHaiNoob
13-06-2008, 09:09 PM
Marriage for me now not important... dunno y... Maybe me sot liao...

vimal06
13-06-2008, 10:24 PM
Maybe for now it may not seem realistic but once we have a good career and a great life for ourselves and we turn around to see no one there to enjoy everything we have worked for with us.. Thats when marriage and starting a family of our own seems like a great thing