View Full Version : Scholarships after STPM?
infested_ysy
29-06-2004, 02:02 PM
Ok, right now, I'm studying in Lower 6 (I didn't get offered to JPA, and my parents are poor, can't afford to send me to private U's)
Was wondering.... Just in case I didn't get a place that I prefer in IPTA (say like, I get offered to study a subject that I literally loathe), are there any alternatives? Like, say a scholarship to study in Singapore or Australia?
Just want to be well informed here, before everything's too late.
Thanks in advance.
infested_ysy
29-06-2004, 02:03 PM
Oh, don't tell me to go look in the scholarship thread, I've been there, and all I could get was a bunch of information regarding SPM scholarships, not STPM.
gohweihan
29-06-2004, 03:12 PM
I think it's high time we started a thread on STPM leaver scholarships, as the scholarship thread is not very informative for this group. Besides, sifting through the many pages is a daunting task.
As for your question, infested_ysy, the answer is yes. There are scholarships for STPM leavers to study in Singapore, among them the Nanyang Scholarship, ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship, NUS Scholarship and Singapore Scholarship.
Steppe
29-06-2004, 05:44 PM
Well.....after all the big fuss, not all these STPM students take up the offer of medical with loan.
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/29/nation/8321969&sec=nation
Any chance anyone else (A levels student) can apply and get this sort of medical offer and loan?
kevinkhoo1986
29-06-2004, 06:36 PM
I wonder what is the difference between these top scorers with the ordinary private students? They are only eligible for convertible loan which is similar to PTPTN when pursue their study in private institution? I think even the ordinary students can apply for PTPTN loan and then convert to scholarship if they obtain first class degree. There are no difference at all in my opinion. What is the point struggle so hard in STPM in order to pass with flying colour while their efforts were not appreciated. I could barely understand these top scorers feeling.
kevinkhoo1986
29-06-2004, 06:40 PM
As for your question, infested_ysy, the answer is yes. There are scholarships for STPM leavers to study in Singapore, among them the Nanyang Scholarship, ASEAN Undergraduate Scholarship, NUS Scholarship and Singapore Scholarship.
How am i going to apply for these scholarship? When they will announce it? Will i be required to sit for another exam conduct by them?
29-06-2004, 06:47 PM
I wonder what is the difference between these top scorers with the ordinary private students? They are only eligible for convertible loan which is similar to PTPTN when pursue their study in private institution? I think even the ordinary students can apply for PTPTN loan and then convert to scholarship if they obtain first class degree. There are no difference at all in my opinion. What is the point struggle so hard in STPM in order to pass with flying colour while their efforts were not appreciated. I could barely understand these top scorers feeling.
This is because this group of students aren't any special than the rest. I don't think you can find any other country in the world, giving this kind of convertible loan like PTPTN, where if you study in IPTA and IPTS, and if you get first class degree, your loan become full scholarships. There is no other country doing just like what Malaysia is doing. And I think if those students have real interests in medicine, they would have taken it. It is just a mere showcase of their lack of interest. Less than 10 students out of those 99 offered IPTS take it up.
29-06-2004, 06:54 PM
i think it?s a blessing...
15 years ago we don?t have such a stuff right?
I mean.. if i am born much earlier I might not have the chance to study abroad... just my opinion...
29-06-2004, 06:58 PM
It would be in local newspaper. Start keeping track on the 2nd half of the Upper 6.
Plus, if you are going to study in US and you are good, there are opportunities for full scholarships too. If you can get into Harvard, MIT, Princeton, it is full scholarship upon getting accepted into the university. I think for Harvard the requirement is that your parents must not earn more than USD40,000 (RM152,000) per year to be eligible for full scholarships, including living cost.
Many other universities in US, are on need-based requirement, for instance, Cornell, where they will offer you scholarships after you get in, but not 100%. They need you to declare your parents' property and savings, your savings etc, and they will calculate a certain percentage that you and your parents should pay, and the rest is under scholarships from the university.
And there is scholarships to Japan too. I don't know the details, but am sure others do.
And there is scholarships of Ministry of Foreign Affairs Singapore. This one you need to apply for JPA first after your STPM and JPA will send your name to MFA for shortlist and there will be interviews by MFA before offering you scholarships. There is no bond for the scholarships.
kevinkhoo1986
29-06-2004, 07:16 PM
This is because this group of students aren't any special than the rest. I don't think you can find any other country in the world, giving this kind of convertible loan like PTPTN, where if you study in IPTA and IPTS, and if you get first class degree, your loan become full scholarships. There is no other country doing just like what Malaysia is doing. And I think if those students have real interests in medicine, they would have taken it. It is just a mere showcase of their lack of interest. Less than 10 students out of those 99 offered IPTS take it up.
I still think they deserve at least something different from the ordinary students. Maybe cheaper price for their course?. It is not an easy task to scored perfect straight A in one of the hardest examination in the world. And it wasn't fair at all to place them on par with the ordinary students. In my opinion, if their efforts were appreciated, it would certainly encouraged more students of the next generation to put their best foot forward in order to excel in their examination. Maybe some of the students are lack of interest to study medicine and so they choose to drop it. But apart from this, financial problems is the major concern among these students. It would cost RM 200K to complete the whole course in Private Institution.
29-06-2004, 07:24 PM
Let put it this way.
Fact 1: The students get straight As in STPM
Claim 1: STPM is one of the toughest exams in the world
So, with both this fact and claim, the students should be well-prepared for their undergraduate studies in medicine.
Hence, there should be no problem in them getting first-class degree right? If they have problems, may be they get their straight As by luck?
Since these students would be studying together with whom you guys claim as "ordinary students", so there shouldn't be any question of these students performing worse than other "ordinary students" right?
And these students have been rewarded with places in IPTS for medicine.
gohweihan
29-06-2004, 09:33 PM
It would be wrong for the students who were accepted into private institutions to ask for their loan to be automatically converted into scholarships.
However, it is also wrong for the government to offer only convertible loans to the students to pursue their course in medicine.
These students who opted to do STPM did so because they cannot afford the fees in the private institution. Giving them a loan in this case makes no different - they still have to repay it.
At the same time, turning that loan into a convertible loan does not help much either. The argument is that these bright students can perform well above the ordinary students in the private institutions, and therefore should not have problems in turning their loans into scholarship. But is that a guarentee that it will surely happen - that these students would get the grades they need?
The arguments that they are the brightest and therefore wouldn't face problems getting the grades is like saying that if we toss a coin and it ends up heads for five times in a row, the sixth time we do it, it is going to be heads.
These students who were offered places were the brightest in the nation. They applied with the hope that they can get into a public university which fees they can afford, not one where the fees they would have to repay would depend on how well they perform.
Right now, it's like telling these students that they took STPM for no reason. If they wanted to take a convertible loan, they could have done so by going into the matriculation courses of these private institutions after SPM, thus saving two years on STPM.
These students are different from the other ordinary students. They are the best STPM students the nation has. To tell them now that they are the same like any ordinary students (who qualified into private institutions with non top grades) is an insult to them, and to all those who sees the situation as well.
I would say the government should subsidise the cost of education for these students, and make them pay only what they pay if they were to be in a public institution.
29-06-2004, 11:31 PM
I respect the view of gohweihan, but personally, I would say that as we are saying this, we should look at the whole picture. Can the government afford this additional cost? It may sound not that much, i.e. RM 20 million on the government, but I think if the government sets a precedence this year, there would be more problems in coming years...
Another thing, those students going in through SPM to these private institutions aren't just normal students. I have a lot of friends who have 10A1s, 11A1s, who choose to go through foundation programs, for instance at IMU and hence, they get to enter IMU through hardwork and not as claimed as they are inferior to those STPM students.
STPM is just yet another foundation program is what I wish to say. And we should look at the bigger picture...
Personally, I think the offering of convertible loan to those students are fair for both sides.
How about scholarships with bonds? Do you think that is a fair deal?
windy_city
30-06-2004, 01:51 AM
It is damn WRONG to put top STPM student with the ordinary students, because they scored so well in STPM, they should be given a place in IPTA or they should be given a full scholarship to study in IPTS.
Hello, wake up man, since when the world works this way, because they scored well in STPM, they should have special right. I have to say their achievement is impressive, but that is no reason that they ENTITLE a right for a scholarship. If they are good, a convertible loan will not be an obstacle. And about placing them with ordinary student is an INSULT (too bad, I never feel that way, I am on PBU(convertible loan) too, and I think I did very well in my studies here, why dun I entitle to get a scholarship like anyone else).
There is not such thing as choosing STPM and do well in it so that you have the right to get a place in IPTA or to get a scholarship. The world is not always fair (my favorite sentence) but if the students are good, then I dun see the convertible loan as a problem. If they are not willing to take the risk of paying back because they afraid they will suck in their studies, they should not have been offered a place for medic then. (Do you want to have a doctor who think he will not succeed in curing you even before he see you? Go figure it out.)
About the proposal of government paying for all their studies, it is just impossible. With that large sum of money, I proposed expanding the medic faculty in Malaysia rather than spending all this money for the students. Again, I understand how the STPM people feel, I have a few close friends that did very well in it but still cannot get medic.
Nonetheless, the point of not accepting the place in IPTS because they need to pay back is not a valid reason at all.
30-06-2004, 02:14 AM
It is damn WRONG to put top STPM student with the ordinary students, because they scored so well in STPM, they should be given a place in IPTA or they should be given a full scholarship to study in IPTS.
sorry to say that I disagree on this.
It sounds so demanding.
Scholarship is a priviledge and not our rights.
we are only lucky to have scholarhships in Malaysia....
decades ago we don?t even have such luxury.
-------
are u saying the STPM top scholars are different from ordinary students? what?s so great about this students?
they got good brain so they deserve to get everything in the whole world?
ordinary students are in lower class? what are u trying to say here?
windy_city
30-06-2004, 02:19 AM
Do you see the second paragraph that start with "Hello, wake up man"
I was just reiterating what others said in the previous posts.
Please do not take my words out of context and distort the meaning.
I was being sarcastic there.
Maybe I should put ?I am being sarcastic? in my post next time.
:roll:
infested_ysy
30-06-2004, 04:08 AM
I still think they deserve at least something different from the ordinary students. Maybe cheaper price for their course?. It is not an easy task to scored perfect straight A in one of the hardest examination in the world
I was wondering.... where you draw your conclusions from? That STPM is one of the hardest exam in the world?
Till today, I still believe that it's just a common myth to make STPM takers feel good about their choice, unless anyone here can prove me wrong.[/quote]
30-06-2004, 07:57 AM
Till today, I still believe that it's just a common myth to make STPM takers feel good about their choice, unless anyone here can prove me wrong.
Good point - in fact no one can compare an exam with another easily. The purpose of all these entrance exams are different, so are their means to gauge a person's aptitute.
These students are different from the other ordinary students. They are the best STPM students the nation has. To tell them now that they are the same like any ordinary students (who qualified into private institutions with non top grades) is an insult to them, and to all those who sees the situation as well.
If you buy the argument that there's no "the one" examination that can measure how "good" a person is, then that summarises everything in the thread: that no one deserves a scholarship, and if you got it, you're lucky. This belittles all effort mana points gained by the students who actually worked hard for the exam. After all, they might not be "good" enough, they just made sure they scored very well.
True?
Or do you think scoring well in an exam means something?
Maybe the whole exam system is wrong... Afterall, the universities never wanted only studious nerds - they wanted vibrant young kids full of energy to learn and absorb and make a difference - or do they?
Maybe the government is hoping that by being "meritocratic", at least in rhetoric, they need some quantifiable measures to select the fortunate bunch to give the ang pow. Or maybe the people that they choose to give the ang pow to are of certain qualities that is in line with their vision for the future of the nation/political ambitions? or is this just nonsense?
My point is - all these are pretty subjective. One see a totally different picture when one has a scholarship/convertable loan in hand versus one that doesn't. Same goes to one being a student and one being the investor on behalf of all tax-payers. Who is the "brightest" student? Who is the "best STPM student"? You mean highest score?
Therefore Wrong and Right is not what we should be pinning on the actions taken by policy makers. It's hard work putting together a set of rules such that more people and be happy at the same time. That's also why the government wants the best brains in the government to help make such complicated decisions.
We should continue to help one another make their leap (find financial aid, share knowledge etc.), but at the same time, we should judge less and instead find ways to improve the current system from a holistic point of view. Convertable loan is a marvelous invention and like some pointed out, it's not everywhere you get such deals. More importantly, it's not perfect. If you think you can improve it, say it out. Maybe this can be part of the detailed education-reform proposal that we can send to the ministry later.
I would say the government should subsidise the cost of education for these students, and make them pay only what they pay if they were to be in a public institution.
We're not like certain countries that taxes the society a lot such that everyone can enjoy free/subssidized education all the way to tertiary education. I feel lucky to have great public schools all the way till pre-U. That not cheap you know. And we're already having education taking the largest pie in the budget - do you want to increase that even further? What will happen to other sectors that depend on government funding?
I realize that this is a very laymen response, but I guess if it isn't clear when one put this so simply, then one ain't looking at the whole picture. Ok 'nuff said. I guess you can fill in the rest :mrgreen:
Randomphantom
30-06-2004, 09:36 AM
Hmmph, shouldn't they stop complaining already? They should be more then able to repay their loan after graduating given a doctor's good pay (although the first few working years are tough, I expect them to be able to pull through like in the STPM). Not to mention the chance to convert it to a scholarship if they were to continue their success.
They believe it is their God given right to a place in IPTAs if they obtain a perfect score. So what about those that mess up by an A- and fall back in the sidelines? Maybe a small mistake in marking that made a world of difference in their CGPAs? How about those high scorers that do not want to study medicine, and fail to get in their course? The cost of studying medicine is equivalent to that of 3-4 (perhaps also needy) students studying non-medic. They are depriving others of the same piece of pie, moreso if they study medicine. I wonder where is that oft-called-for compassion for others? Smacks of elitism to me.
Perfect grades doesn't mean they're perfect for medicine. It's not grades that entitle you to a better life while other people are still slogging hard in sh*tty courses. They want to take the tough road, bear with it. I would say that this is a wake up call for those who are in medic for the money/prestige/whatever vague reasons.
gohweihan
30-06-2004, 04:41 PM
Firstly, by stating that, I mean the students who qualified into private institutions with anything less than straight A's in STPM. As we know, there are always places left in these private institutions after they take in their foundation students. These leftover places are mostly taken up mostly by those who knows that they do not stand a chance with their STPM results to qualify for medicine in public universities.
I respect the view of gohweihan, but personally, I would say that as we are saying this, we should look at the whole picture. Can the government afford this additional cost? It may sound not that much, i.e. RM 20 million on the government, but I think if the government sets a precedence this year, there would be more problems in coming years...
It is not a matter of whether the government can afford it, but it is a matter of how did this situation came to be? Is it not because of the governments' matriculation that causes a huge increase in the number of CGPA 4.00 scorers, and that indirectly leads to the 128 not being able to do medicine in public universities?
The government can solve this problem simply by abolishing matriculation and apdopting a one system university entrance examination. However, as stubborn as they are, they would definitly refuse to do that. As a consequence, this would be a situation that the government would have to contend with every year from now on, unless they can come up with another solution without needing to abolish matriculation.
Another thing, those students going in through SPM to these private institutions aren't just normal students. I have a lot of friends who have 10A1s, 11A1s, who choose to go through foundation programs, for instance at IMU and hence, they get to enter IMU through hardwork and not as claimed as they are inferior to those STPM students.
IMU's entry requirements are below that of public universities. I'm in no way trying to degrade your friend's capabilities, but students do not need 10A1 or 11A1 to do foundation at IMU (or so I heard). While I acknowledge that it is no easy task getting straight 1As in SPM, it would not be a good way of comparing the standard of these students who went there after SPM to those who scored a CGPA fo 4.00 in STPM, as IMU reserves places for those in the foundation who makes the minimum grade for their medical programme, unlike public universities where there is competition going on for the places.
Hello, wake up man, since when the world works this way, because they scored well in STPM, they should have special right. I have to say their achievement is impressive, but that is no reason that they ENTITLE a right for a scholarship. If they are good, a convertible loan will not be an obstacle. And about placing them with ordinary student is an INSULT (too bad, I never feel that way, I am on PBU(convertible loan) too, and I think I did very well in my studies here, why dun I entitle to get a scholarship like anyone else).
There is not such thing as choosing STPM and do well in it so that you have the right to get a place in IPTA or to get a scholarship. The world is not always fair (my favorite sentence) but if the students are good, then I dun see the convertible loan as a problem. If they are not willing to take the risk of paying back because they afraid they will suck in their studies, they should not have been offered a place for medic then. (Do you want to have a doctor who think he will not succeed in curing you even before he see you? Go figure it out.)
One has to differentiate convertible loans that can be obtained easily and those that need hard work (i.e. the one by Petronas). Right now, the convertible loan offered to them is just like any PTPTN convertible loan. It is not about having special rights with the results, but given a fair and just opportunity to study in the field of the students' choice and be able to pursue it like any other students of similar calibre.
In the case of these STPM students, they had already obtained the maximum possible grade in their examination. What else can we ask from them, and what reason can we give to them to justify the end result of them not being able to pursue medicine in public institutions? That they are just not lucky enough?
I agree with you that life is unfair, but this unfairness is not caused by a random convergence of events. It is man-made, tailored unfairness to give advantage to a few and to deprive the chance of some others. Like I noted earlier, the matriculation system is the main cause of this unfairness, and as a results, these people suffer.
These people are now given a choice into accepting terms that the govenment makes in the convertible loans, but which problem started from the government itself. What is insulting is not about the convertible loan concept, but the situation in which this loan is offered, and that the people who caused this are the ones trying to now dictate the terms.
My point is - all these are pretty subjective. One see a totally different picture when one has a scholarship/convertable loan in hand versus one that doesn't. Same goes to one being a student and one being the investor on behalf of all tax-payers. Who is the "brightest" student? Who is the "best STPM student"? You mean highest score?
Therefore Wrong and Right is not what we should be pinning on the actions taken by policy makers. It's hard work putting together a set of rules such that more people and be happy at the same time. That's also why the government wants the best brains in the government to help make such complicated decisions.
In every case, there must be something as a benchmark. Although the examination system is flawed, we have no choice but to take it as the benchmark. Therefore, best in this case means those who've obtained the maximum CGPA for their STPM, which is the scale used for determining who gets into public institutions or not.
It is easy to say that we should not be judging the actions taken by the policy makers. But then, is the current status quo a good one? As citizens, are we not allowed to question the policy makers and (althogh futile) come up with ideas on what should be a better system?
Right now, the debate is not only about the students and their education itself, but also the policies governing the system and the actions that lead to the problem in hand. The picture is bigger than it seems to be.
Steppe
30-06-2004, 05:01 PM
We also need to understand why some of these students did not take up the offer of the loan. Maybe, these students come from not so well-off and big family. The parents may be expecting them to graduate and come out to work and earn money to support the younger ones immediately.
With this loan, they will be tied down and may not be able to help out when they themselves are in 'debt'. Take IMU for example, I think the whole medical local option will cost about RM 280,000. This is quite a big amount when compared to the amount in public U.
kevinkhoo1986
30-06-2004, 05:36 PM
I am not demanding the government to give full scholarship to these STPM top scorers, but at least they should deserved the same prices like the other top scorers which have been offered a place in Local U for their medicine course. We can't denied the fact that these students have struggle for the past two years in order to obtain such an outstanding result with the hope to pursue medicine course in local U. And now it seems like their efforts were in vain. They do not deserved the same privilage like the other top scorers. I would agree that our government are generous enough to give these students convertible loan. But we must bear in mind that this kind of offer can be enjoyed by every students as well or to be more specifiy those average students. So do you think it is fair for these Top Scorers enjoy the same privilage that even an ordinary students can enjoy?
And i do agree with outstanding results does not mean one's are capable to take medicine course ,but at least it would give us a rough idea on which students are capable for it and should be chosen. You would not choose a person who just passed the Biology for the medicine course when comparing to a students who scored A for it. Dont you?
kevinkhoo1986
30-06-2004, 05:47 PM
We also need to understand why some of these students did not take up the offer of the loan. Maybe, these students come from not so well-off and big family. The parents may be expecting them to graduate and come out to work and earn money to support the younger ones immediately.
With this loan, they will be tied down and may not be able to help out when they themselves are in 'debt'. Take IMU for example, I think the whole medical local option will cost about RM 280,000. This is quite a big amount when compared to the amount in public U.
RM 280 K?? i thought it suppose to be RM 200K. By the way, to complete the whole course in local U would cost a student RM 20K. Just compare the figure and you would find such a huge difference in term of price. What would happen to these students if they fail to obtain first degree? If the cost to complete a medicine course is RM 280K, They would required to pay RM 2300+ per month for ten years. or Rm 1100 per month for 20 years not to mention the extra 4% which worth RM11200. That's why out of 99 students of whom only 10 dare to take the risk. Even a doctor with high salary will having difficulty to repay it. Since i am just a form 6 student, i do not know how tough is it to secure first class degree in University. I think it is gonna be very tough eventhough for a straight A STPM students.
Steppe
30-06-2004, 06:13 PM
Please read this
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/6/27/education/8283730&sec=education
So, any loan left after all this?.........
30-06-2004, 06:39 PM
I believe this link should clear some things up:
http://thestar.com.my/news/archives/story.asp?ppath=\2004\6\28&file=/2004/6/28/focus/8312842&sec=focus
If they are not willing to take the risk of paying back because they afraid they will suck in their studies, they should not have been offered a place for medic then. (Do you want to have a doctor who think he will not succeed in curing you even before he see you? Go figure it out.)
Nonetheless, the point of not accepting the place in IPTS because they need to pay back is not a valid reason at all.
I believe the issue here is about why students who were offered this convertible loan might have to pay more. Sure, everyone has to pay, but compare a person who sucks in his studies in a IPTA and a student who sucks under the loan. Obviously the latter would have to pay more. Most students enter Form 6 out of monetary constraints. As such, these people scored straight As are actually expecting to enter a public university where the costs involved will be far lower, but suddenly, they are now expected to enter an IPTS with a convertible loan that they will have to pay back if they don't get good results. Isn't that a bit too unfair? There are bound to be those who don't get good results even though they may be STPM high flyers, but does that justify having to pay more than their counterparts in IPTAs?
Till today, I still believe that it's just a common myth to make STPM takers feel good about their choice, unless anyone here can prove me wrong.
And why would anyone wanna make up this myth? To make us Form Sixers feel more superior? To console ourselves because we don't have the means to go anywhere else other that Form 6? I guess you are aware of the fact that most F6 students are in it because they don't have the cash to be in a college or weren't offered scholarships. But that doesn't mean that this was a myth created to make us feel better. In fact, in the good old days when everyone had to go through the STPMs, it was already regarded as one of the toughest exams in the world.
Hmmph, shouldn't they stop complaining already? They should be more then able to repay their loan after graduating given a doctor's good pay (although the first few working years are tough, I expect them to be able to pull through like in the STPM). Not to mention the chance to convert it to a scholarship if they were to continue their success.
Well you have to understand that there will be those who want to be doctors not for the money. I don't really understand this equation that people tend to think of about doctors and money. The link I provided above should show clearly that these students would have a hard time paying back their loans. Besides, I think kevinkhoo1986 has done some calculations on his own to show you and Steppe has highlighted what I'm trying to say. Think about it: maybe these people really think that the huge burden coming from the loan isn't worth it? That doesn't mean that they're not dedicated in pursuing their dream of being a doctor. It just means that their dreams were crushed due to circumstances beyond their control. One can hardly blame them then if they refuse the loans.
kevinkhoo1986
30-06-2004, 07:14 PM
Real solution sought for scorers
AFTER all the hue and cry about the 128 top scorers who were left out in this year?s selection list by the public universities (IPTAs), the press and our political parties have as usual moved on to other issues which are more current.
No one is really interested about the sad fate of these students after their appeals were rejected by the IPTAs.
This happened in spite of the earlier assurance by our Prime Minister himself that a solution will be found to the problem, as the talents of these students should not be wasted.
Out of the 128 students, a small number were absorbed by the IPTAs while a few were offered Mara scholarships to study overseas. The remaining 99 were asked to accept places at private universities (IPTS) as determined by the Higher Education Ministry.
The question is, if IPTAs are not able to increase their intake because of constraints in terms of lecturers and facilities, how could the IPTS be expected to absorb these students, especially since they have also filled their intake requirements for the current semester?
As a result, most of the IPTS concerned have offered to accept these students for their partnership programmes with overseas universities.
In the case of one particular IPTS, the offer was limited to universities in Britain and the US.
The cost of these programmes could easily exceed RM700,000.
The Higher Education Ministry has been quoted as saying that the question of costs should not arise as the Government will be offering ?convertible? loans to these students.
I would like to point out that even assuming that the loans are interest-free, it will take the recipients 20 years of paying RM3,000 monthly to settle the loan.
In order to do that, the newly-qualified doctors will have to earn at least RM 9,000 since not more than a third of income should go towards paying loans.
Is such a salary level imaginable in Malaysia, especially for doctors who are in government service?
Also, the loans are convertible to scholarships if the students obtain results equivalent to that of a First Class Honours.
Let?s be realistic. How many students in university actually obtain a First Class Honours? It?s likely to be less than 5%.
So what options are left to these students who do not have wealthy parents to support their studies overseas?
Apart from living a life of indebtedness, the only choice left to them is to bury their dreams and carry on in the courses initially offered by the IPTAs, even if their hearts are in doing medicine.
They did their best by slogging in their studies to excel in the STPM. But now they have to swallow bitter medicine because of sheer bad luck that they are left out from the course of their choice while others with identical results are accepted.
After having their hopes raised by the statements of our leaders, they now have to face the reality that their dreams are all but dashed.
Dare we hope for a real solution that looks into the interests of the future of these bright students?
The only glimmer of hope is that the IPTAs may have some vacant places when some of their students leave for studies overseas.
I hope that the IPTAs will give top priority to the 99 top scorers to fill these vacancies since most of them are already enrolled in the courses originally offered by the IPTAs.
Please do not let them down this time. The Government could also consider giving study loans that are flexible in terms of freedom to choose the college and allowing a longer time for the students to find a suitable college.
I hope a happy solution will be found for these students.
Now the cost for medicine course would probably exceed RM 280K.
30-06-2004, 07:28 PM
The solution has been provided... Convertible loan to the students, and I think there is no reason why the students should make a big fuss.
Getting first class degree should be around 3.5 I believe, and I believe that a good percentage of students would manage to get first class.
There is no free meal in this world. And I would say that what the students have gotten is a free and direct path towards a medicine place in tertiary education.
Paying the loan could be difficult, if the students perform poorly in the university. However, I would say that it is a low interest loan for the students. Compared to not getting anything, these students have a path towards becoming a doctor.
How about the proposal that these students be given full scholarships and be bonded for 10 years?
30-06-2004, 09:42 PM
I started this thread because the question concerning STPM school leavers and scholarship had become tooooooo long. (NOTE: this thread is written for the case of a STPM leaver who got accepted into a local university)
anyway some practical advices;
It is very hard to get scholarship in UK and US for undergraduates especially international students ( that includes malaysian). If you you are the " genius" type with straight A's with great extra-curricular activities participation, then you should have less problem getting a scholarship both from Malaysia government and abroad. For the rest of us not-so genius type, with As and Bs and maybe a few Cs, with only so-so Extra-curicular participations, chances extremely low to get a scholarship at undergraduate level, you have to remember there are students from other countries to compete with.
my advice; even if you get a lousy course in a local university (after appealing), TAKE IT. There are several reason for this.
1) It is actually possible to change your course after you get into the university, but it depends on your eloquence. the important thing is to get in first. It may take some time to change it, you may also lose one academic year ( you might have to start from the beginning after changing faculty or course) but it is POSSIBLE.
2) If you really aim to go to oversea (especially US and Japan), you stand a higher chance of getting admission plus some financial assistance ( note =not necessary a full scholarship) if you enter as a Graduate student i.e a Master course applicant. There are less competition and you getting a "higher" degree. Two birds with one stone. Draw back is that your total tertiary education would exceed 5 years ( for most arts student) and 6-7 years ( science students).
3) In reality, most employers ( except for professional e.g doctors, accountants etc) look at the applicant's confidence, possitiveness, eloquence, knowledge of what is happening around the world today etc during the interview. what you study is sometimes secondary. For example, an economic graduate who doesn't know about the latest world technological events are less favourable than a literature graduate who can tell you about the trend in mobile technology when applying for a job for Maxis Communication. READ READ READ ...no matter what course you are offered. I will give you a real example: i used to do part time in a major sporting outlet during form five, there were 3 store managers ( same gender, about the same age, and even graduate from the same university). one was a Business Management graduate ( very popluar course), one was Communication graduate ( also popular), the third was English Literature ( another man's poison is another man's meat). Anyway, who do you think is the most successful of the three? after a few years in the company the Comm grad eventually manages three outlets, the English Lit manages two and the Biz Ad gradute only manages one. That's something to think about huh?
Good Luck! (I guess after all the hard work, LUCK is the most important....but remember..."HE who labors (smart) shalt be rewarded"
This was posted at redundant thread. So, I move it here. Thanks for posting.
infested_ysy
01-07-2004, 01:54 PM
2) If you really aim to go to oversea (especially US and Japan), you stand a higher chance of getting admission plus some financial assistance ( note =not necessary a full scholarship) if you enter as a Graduate student i.e a Master course applicant. There are less competition and you getting a "higher" degree. Two birds with one stone. Draw back is that your total tertiary education would exceed 5 years ( for most arts student) and 6-7 years ( science students).
Anyone might spare me some thoughts on what's a "graduate student" or "master course applicant" as seen in the above quote?
01-07-2004, 02:43 PM
Graduate student = a device that turns coffee into research papers. JK. Actually, that is kind of true but...grad student is someone who decided to go after a master's or Ph.d
master course applicant = Master's Degree pursuer.
*Note: Universities have a preference towards Ph. D students as far as funding is concerned these days...you could defend for a masters while pursuing your ph.d...if u decide to sacrifice 5 years of your life to science, engineering..etc
01-07-2004, 02:55 PM
It is very hard to get scholarship in UK and US for undergraduates especially international students ( that includes malaysian). If you you are the " genius" type with straight A's with great extra-curricular activities participation, then you should have less problem getting a scholarship both from Malaysia government and abroad. For the rest of us not-so genius type, with As and Bs and maybe a few Cs, with only so-so Extra-curicular participations, chances extremely low to get a scholarship at undergraduate level, you have to remember there are students from other countries to compete with.
i disagree that is is very hard to get scholarships in the US for undergraduate intenational students. i have seen my friends, Malaysians (OSU, St. CLoud State) who have worked hard in their uni and managed to get enough scholarship to pay their tuition fees. If u r talking about scholarship as in getting living expenses covered and all that, OF COURSE u will not get it. but my point is: IT IS NOT IMPOSSIBLE to get scholarships in the US if u r not picky about universities. There are many UNI that are recognised by the M'sian government that offer partial to full tuition waiver in the US as opposed to AUS, UK and NZ.
Also, there are undergraduate grader/tutor/TA positions available for many subject in the UNI. During my undergrad years, i had 2 grading positions and still have time to go snowboarding every weekend. Everything is time management and hard work..nothing comes easy and if u work hard enough, you will be able to reward yourself with some fun on the weekends
:)[/b]
windy_city
01-07-2004, 11:16 PM
[/quote]Also, there are undergraduate grader/tutor/TA positions available for many subject in the UNI. During my undergrad years, i had 2 grading positions and still have time to go snowboarding every weekend. Everything is time management and hard work..nothing comes easy and if u work hard enough, you will be able to reward yourself with some fun on the weekends
:)[/b][/quote]
This depend on university, some universities do not allow undergrad TA at all.
02-07-2004, 12:46 AM
Also, there are undergraduate grader/tutor/TA positions available for many subject in the UNI. During my undergrad years, i had 2 grading positions and still have time to go snowboarding every weekend. Everything is time management and hard work..nothing comes easy and if u work hard enough, you will be able to reward yourself with some fun on the weekends.
This depend on university, some universities do not allow undergrad TA at all.
That is true, in which case, it does not mean that u cannot find work as an undergraduate research assistant or something else. Where there is a will, there is a way. Failing to achieve something once does not mean that u will fail forever.
Steppe
02-07-2004, 09:34 PM
It is indeed a difficult decision for these top scorers
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/2/nation/8349165&sec=nation
I can understand the 'plight' of these students, especially if one has smaller bothers and sisters.
02-07-2004, 10:09 PM
What is said by the newspaper is true, however, it choses not to mention the fact that it is convertible loan. I believe if you finish among the top 30%, hence getting the first class honours, the loan would be converted into scholarships. So, it is up to the students to work hard.
windy_city
02-07-2004, 10:15 PM
What is said by the newspaper is true, however, it choses not to mention the fact that it is convertible loan. I believe if you finish among the top 30%, hence getting the first class honours, the loan would be converted into scholarships. So, it is up to the students to work hard.
We will miss you ChenChow!!
Anyway, like what I said in the previous post, convertible loan is not a problem for the students, I dun see it as a problem at all.
If they work hard, the loan will be converted into scholarship!!
It will only be a problem if the students think that they can afford to slack off in their university studies after getting straight A in STPM!!
So I dun really sympathize them at all!!!
gohweihan
03-07-2004, 09:11 AM
Words by politicians are one thing, but where are the details about this convertible loan? Until now, these people are still in the dark over the specific terms of this convertible loan.
http://202.186.86.35/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/3/focus/8349876&newspage=Search
The ministry, it seems, is not whole-heartedly handling this issue. It is one thing not promising these students in the first place, but it is another to promise these students, and then break the promise.
03-07-2004, 09:46 AM
The terms of convertible loan, it is pretty clear. First class degree, convert to scholarships. JPA and PTPTN have been doing that for a long time already.
gohweihan
03-07-2004, 06:36 PM
Yes, we all know the terms of a convertible loan generally, and by word of mouth. But where are the letters with details and contracts which stipulates the exact amount of the convertible loan offered to these students, and that specifies the minimum grades to convert to scholarship (for all you know, it many be different). It's not about knowing what a convertible loan is, it's about the black and white.
From the link I posted, it is clear that these people had not received any letters or details in black and white regarding their convertible loan.
This is a matter of a few hundred thousand ringgit. Just because JPA and PTPTN have been giving convertible loans using this formula for a long time doesn't mean that we can assume that in the case of these 128, it will be the same formula for conversion, for as we know our governments' way of handling things, it might just be different.
windy_city
03-07-2004, 06:53 PM
so it will be a bit risky then.
so what??
life is about taking chance, if in the end they need to pay back 25% of what the government spend on them even when they have first class degree, I dun see any reason why they can't afford it also!!
windy_city
03-07-2004, 06:55 PM
In addition, if the convertible loan turns out to be something unreasonable, fear not, we have some many "brilliant" politicians in Malaysia that will make a big fuss about that, and the students will get a fair deal in the end too.
03-07-2004, 07:00 PM
While I agree that the terms should be detailed out for the students, I believe that they could accept the offer right now, with what they were informed and if the terms were not good then, they can make an about-turn. Although that means missing a few weeks of their program in IPTA.
I would say it eventually boils down to whether medicine is their true passion...
Steppe
04-07-2004, 10:00 AM
Please read on.....
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/4/education/8284118&sec=education
Randomphantom
04-07-2004, 10:34 AM
Very positive article. One's interest always changes; we never really knows whats best for ourself in the future. Who knows, they might be better off in a private medical school?
I wonder... when they graduate, will there be a shortage of funds especially if many of them get 1stclass honours. Back to square one again....
vic1234
23-02-2005, 06:49 PM
Hello Guys & Gals! Singapore design school offers up to 50% scholarship for courses in Fashion Design. Website: www.cidschool.com
vic1234
23-02-2005, 06:56 PM
Moderators Edit: Deleted, Repost
titep_shin
19-04-2005, 12:50 AM
ds is the 1st day i register as a recom member...so i stil not sure about the function....so i suppose u all can c my msg?if can c...plz reply 2 let me know my message is posted :p
but i hope ds is not too late yet for my message
i am STPM 2003 candidate with a CGPA 4.0...and unfortunately, i am one of the 128....medic is my dream since my childhood....
i think i gotta somethg 2 say..
i take STPM bcoz i 1 2 get medicine in Local U.i born in 1984,so in our year there is no such case of non-bumi matrik,stpm is the only way in local U. i know it is not easy 2 get in medic in local U, and i hardworking for tht,and luckly i get an CGPA of 4.0..then the nightmare comes.
i come from a poor family...tht's y i want to study medic in local U, u know, medic in private all cost at least bout RM200k.then,suddenly,my dream brokes.i was not offerd medic although 4.0, i am 128.... fair ?not fair?i was offered indonesia medicine........
I totally agree wht's gohweihan say....
many ppl think tht only 33 of 99 in IPTS take d offer bcoz they r lack of interest in medic...U R WRONG!!!!
for me,indonesia need RM210k of tuition fee,and gov offer LOANS,LOAN NEED TO PAY BACK,i come from poor family, and i swear i make goodlife to my parent after i graduate,but if i go INDONESIA, i have to pay back RM 210k!!! and indonesia need 6 years, if it was IPTS,y i study STPM?i can take a A level to save 1 years rite?and y i want to go indonesia?i can rather choose AIMST which cost RM190k and need 5 years only!!and i stil can get loan if in AIMST? y i have to folow gov instruction and go indonesia?u get it?i duno wht other 128 think...but i think most of them same opinion with me....
medicine in local U is wht i 1....bcoz it can save lot of $$....wht for gov offer 128 LOANS in IPTS? if in IPTS ,it should b scholarship!!!since most ppl taking STPM to gain entry to local U is due to financial problem......LOAN in IPTS is not 128 wants.....
so i reject it with reluctance although medic is my dream.....and i have to accept biomedical science in UM.....weeks after i reject it,gov say it is convert to scholarship if u servev gov for 10 years!!!
!@<hidden>#!@<hidden>$!@<hidden>$#! i ll definately fly indonesia if gov announce it earlier..... no hesitation at all...but i aldy reject it ......due to financial problem.....can imagine my sad feeling?
i drop my biomeical science recently.... life is only once and i dun 1 regret in future.....and i ll apply to local U medic using my 2003 4.0 STPM result....hope 128 no more and can get in local u's medic....and my 1st choice is UNIMAS....pray for me plz..... :p
titep_shin
19-04-2005, 01:03 AM
hi,i guess u all duno huh?do u all read newspaper?
there is no such things as 1st class honour for medicine student.....
u may b can c many many student who get prefect score of SPM,STPM or other degree..but do u hear before any 1st class degree in medicine?medicine is not easy.....
there is no clear detail of how the loan is convert to scholarship for medicine of 128 sudent....
and may b u all duno,for 1st class degree, tht didn't meant ur loan ll b AUTOMATICALLY convert to scholarship, u have to apply to PTPTN....
although mostly is approves,but i heard the case tht is not approved......
do u dare to take the risk? it is not the pro of RM 5 k or 10 k,
it is more than 200 k...... compare to a 10 k of local U tuition fee?is ds the risk of maximum scorer to take?
anyway....it is pass...let 's looking for good future to comes :p
chess_the_world
16-03-2008, 02:03 AM
hi, mr chenchow. may i know is it true that the ptptn loan can be convert to scholarships if one get first class degree? including the interest?
Herlene
17-03-2008, 04:47 PM
It would be in local newspaper. Start keeping track on the 2nd half of the Upper 6.
Plus, if you are going to study in US and you are good, there are opportunities for full scholarships too. If you can get into Harvard, MIT, Princeton, it is full scholarship upon getting accepted into the university. I think for Harvard the requirement is that your parents must not earn more than USD40,000 (RM152,000) per year to be eligible for full scholarships, including living cost.
Many other universities in US, are on need-based requirement, for instance, Cornell, where they will offer you scholarships after you get in, but not 100%. They need you to declare your parents' property and savings, your savings etc, and they will calculate a certain percentage that you and your parents should pay, and the rest is under scholarships from the university.
And there is scholarships to Japan too. I don't know the details, but am sure others do.
And there is scholarships of Ministry of Foreign Affairs Singapore. This one you need to apply for JPA first after your STPM and JPA will send your name to MFA for shortlist and there will be interviews by MFA before offering you scholarships. There is no bond for the scholarships.
Can somebody tell me how do I apply for me? Any website related to it? Thanks...
17-03-2008, 05:53 PM
Originally Posted by chenchow
Can somebody tell me how do I apply for me? Any website related to it? Thanks...
Is that Singapore scholarship?or ???
demonedge
17-03-2008, 07:46 PM
Can anyone please enlighten me on whether petronas and uem offer scholarship for stpm students since 1 of the requirements is that we must sit for spm in year 2007.... Have I looked in the wrong place or is the scholarship only available for spm students?
~Ting~
17-03-2008, 11:33 PM
I'm a science stream student.I've just received my STPM result,i got 3 A and 1 A-.
Is there any scholarships available for STPM leaver?
Pls leave some comment here to help me.Thanks!
If u have any question about STPM,i'm willing to help.
I think u are in the wrong thread. try the scholarship thread instead. There's more information there regarding scholarships for undergraduate(first degree) education.
chess_the_world
18-03-2008, 12:58 AM
ermmm......?
18-03-2008, 01:29 AM
I'm a science stream student.I've just received my STPM result,i got 3 A and 1 A-.
Is there any scholarships available for STPM leaver?
Pls leave some comment here to help me.Thanks!
If u have any question about STPM,i'm willing to help.
you can refer to this link:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1020
great result u have there. =) U can try apply for singapore unis too...All the best!
Yes, MFA Scholarship is also known as Singapore Scholarship
and MFA scholarship typically advertises in newspapers around the time STPM results are released.
~Ting~
19-03-2008, 09:23 PM
Thanks a lot..
*moved to scholarship*
Ok. I have a question. Do you live in either Sarawak or Sabah?
If you answer yes, then you can try Shell Scholarship.
20-03-2008, 08:03 AM
*moved to scholarship*
Ok. I have a question. Do you live in either Sarawak or Sabah?
If you answer yes, then you can try Shell Scholarship.
and Yayasan Sarawak if you are from Sarawak (obviously)
Actually, there is already a thread like this. I'll merge it.
Juneloh8989
04-12-2008, 10:34 PM
hi, im helping a friend to look for scholarships available for form 6 (STPM) leavers. can anyone provide me the URL or the information of the scholarships available?
Besides, i heard of scholarships offered by the govt. in Japan for malaysian students to study in Japan? have anyone heard of this? can anyone provide me further information about this?
thank you in advance!
10-12-2008, 08:20 AM
is this still on now??? send our name after STPM or after we get out STPM result???