View Full Version : Info: Regarding the requirements for JPA
mestillme92
11-03-2010, 08:07 PM
As all knows, SPM result is released today.
And unfortunately i got a B+ for my BM, and according to the requirements shown in wiki, i am not eligible to apply for it.
But are there any special cases that people actually invited for the interview even though they get a B for BM?
I got A+ and A for other subjects, which only my BM's result is totally annoying and making me upset.
ling910520
11-03-2010, 08:21 PM
I am one of the special cases^^, i got an B3 for my spm but invited for the interview .
11-03-2010, 08:30 PM
And unfortunately i got a B+ for my BM, and according to the requirements shown in wiki, i am not eligible to apply for it.
But are there any special cases that people actually invited for the interview even though they get a B for BM?
I got A+ and A for other subjects, which only my BM's result is totally annoying and making me upset.
there are many cases of people who didn't fill the criteria getting the scholarship. I hv a fren who got B3 for moral but still managed to get an overseas JPA scholarship. It depends on ur luck and u must special qualities like active in koku.
11-03-2010, 08:55 PM
Last year's evaluation criteria: http://recom.org/wiki/JPA_Scholarship#Evaluation_Criteria
11-03-2010, 09:52 PM
it never hurts to apply...but dont try to hope so much since you dont really fulfill the requirements..but if you are lucky enough, you might get it...just pray
deepkutty_92
11-03-2010, 09:55 PM
i've gt 10 a+ n 3 a, but my cocuriculum is not that good... So do i hv a chance of getting jpa scholarship? I've applied for engineering...
11-03-2010, 09:59 PM
i've gt 10 a+ n 3 a, but my cocuriculum is not that good... So do i hv a chance of getting jpa scholarship? I've applied for engineering...
dont worry too much....
dont worry of what has past...
you can never change that
now what can you do is to concentrate on interview, if you got it...
what matters is pray...just pray that you got it...
ALL THE BEST!
and congratulations...
sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 10:03 PM
actually you can try to apply it..because the system may be will select you to attend the interview....
11-03-2010, 10:13 PM
Scholarship application is likened to a game of chess (I play chess, so yeah :P). It needs both luck and ability. Just apply for it. Also, not trying to show off or anything but I just wanna tell (for the nth time, haha) that I applied for 10 scholarships last year before hitting the JPA jackpot. In other words: no effort, no hope.
Good luck to future applicants!
mestillme92
11-03-2010, 10:15 PM
I am one of the special cases^^, i got an B3 for my spm but invited for the interview .
Are you a bumi? lol just curious, not being racist here =D
11-03-2010, 10:19 PM
you shouldnt think like that.
There are many special cases...
There are even many cases of students who got B for moral, got PILN.
It depends on your luck, dear.
well to me ur rsult seems good, laz year a friend of mine with rsult 3A1, 5A2 3B3 with no involvement in any cocuricular activity except for 1 chess tournament school level., and now she study at curtin uni, engineering and ofcourse, a jpa scholar, so i think u stand a gud chance.. gudluck..
sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 10:22 PM
just try your luck...the cocurriculum only stand 10% if not mistaken...so juz try it.
ling910520
11-03-2010, 10:43 PM
I not a bumi, so dont worry just apply for it .
And 1 more things , interview is very very important phase of the selection , tried not screw it , if anyone do well in interview ,i personally think he or she stands a very good chance to get the scholarship
11-03-2010, 10:48 PM
My result was quite bad, and i'm really feel sad of it. I just got 6A+ 4A for my SPM'09, where i stuck at BM, BI, Chemistry and Biology. :cry Did i stand any chance to secure JPA PILN scholarship due to the lack of excellent result and the huge numbers of students getting more A+ than me? :cry
sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 10:52 PM
My result was quite bad, and i'm really feel sad of it. I just got 6A+ 4A for my SPM'09, where i stuck at BM, BI, Chemistry and Biology. :cry Did i stand any chance to secure JPA PILN scholarship due to the lack of excellent result and the huge numbers of students getting more A+ than me? :cry
your results are very good...it depend on what course you going to apply... it didnt mean that you didnt get A+ then you cant get the courses that you want...apply it...and try your luck...by the way, you can try to apply others scholarship also...you stand a higher chances to get it...
11-03-2010, 11:03 PM
your results are very good...it depend on what course you going to apply... it didnt mean that you didnt get A+ then you cant get the courses that you want...apply it...and try your luck...by the way, you can try to apply others scholarship also...you stand a higher chances to get it...
Thanks for consoling me, and i intended to pursue Actuarial Science before this, yet this particular course'd not be offered by JPA anymore. So, i have to choose other courses, maybe Engineering, Economics, Accounting or Science(Maths). But, i don't really know my result'd be favored for which course, and i do really hope some seniors can advise me on this. I got A+ for Add Maths, Maths, Account and Physics by the way.
ling910520
11-03-2010, 11:03 PM
From what i see last years, PIDN is only for uitm and stpm students only if i am not mistaken. Btw , your results is awesome , you stands a very high chance for JPA PILN,
11-03-2010, 11:05 PM
Thanks for consoling me, and i intended to pursue Actuarial Science before this, yet this particular course'd not be offered by JPA anymore. So, i have to choose other courses, maybe Engineering, Economics, Accounting or Science(Maths). But, i don't really know my result'd be favored for which course, and i do really hope some seniors can advise me on this. I got A+ for Add Maths, Maths, Account and Physics by the way.
pls refer to this PDF.
http://esilav2.jpa.gov.my/esila_new/piln/doc/syarat/syaratPILN_JPA_MARA_2010.pdf
11-03-2010, 11:07 PM
From what i see last years, PIDN is only for uitm and stpm students only if i am not mistaken. Btw , your results is awesome , you stands a very high chance for JPA PILN,
Thanks for consoling me. From what i knew, those who failed to get PILN might get PIDN as a consolation, depends on lucks.
ParadiseLost
11-03-2010, 11:08 PM
Me too. Damn depressed right now. I got all A+ except for BM.. and now apparently I'm not elligible to apply for JPA.
11-03-2010, 11:11 PM
Me too. Damn depressed right now. I got all A+ except for BM.. and now apparently I'm not elligible to apply for JPA.
dont be depressed...all you have to do i sjust apply and pray. If god permits, you will get it... many people with your cases got it, why not you.
11-03-2010, 11:14 PM
What did you get for your BM???
ikhwan92
11-03-2010, 11:16 PM
hello.i got 7a+ n 2a..but i reconsider to take jpa.
im no good in bi either.so really worried if i failed at the interview.
do u all think dis reslt stand a chance to be put in interview list?
ParadiseLost
11-03-2010, 11:17 PM
BTW, just curious, does having 1A in 1119 English and distinction in LCCI help? =.='
- and I'm a science stream student.
11-03-2010, 11:21 PM
B+ only. BTW, just curious, does having 1A in 1119 English and distinction in LCCI help? =.='
Surely that'll help some. Now you just need to depend on your luck then. Just apply and pray hard for getting the interview.
11-03-2010, 11:21 PM
There is high possibilties you may get it. All the best
Judith
11-03-2010, 11:24 PM
i got 8a+,1 a(bio),1a-(est)and b+ (chinese)
est and chinese are taken into consideration also or as bonus?
mandarinoriental
11-03-2010, 11:25 PM
I got a D for my koko (it's stated in my koko cert)- very upsetting as I wasn't completely inactive in cocurricular activities... do i stand a chance?! >.<
if you really want it, you can. practice to speak better in english. not necessarily just for the interview but for college as well. good luck! =)
sky_blue15
11-03-2010, 11:36 PM
no need to worry about it...actually you can speak malay during the interview..and you will get a malay question and a english question...juz try to brush up your english in this few weeks
Just a heads up, guys: remember that JPA is not the only (or necessarily the best) scholarship around, and it's not a perfect scholarship either. ;) So do try your best in applying for it, but apply to other scholarships as well and seek out other options - be proactive! And don't beat yourself up over SPM results because they're not the be all end all of your world.
blurhead
12-03-2010, 02:17 AM
I got a D for my koko (it's stated in my koko cert)- very upsetting as I wasn't completely inactive in cocurricular activities... do i stand a chance?! >.<
JPA has a different method of calculating the score than your school. The koku cert is produced by your school only and you do not need that cert to apply for JPA at all... Just fill in all the details required in the online form, as long as you did join some form of koku, you stand a chance for interview and the scholarship even...
12-03-2010, 10:29 AM
i hv a fren who got the JPA scholarship overseas 1 but he is not a bumi. so chill. it's all about luck and ur special abilities.
weiping2007
12-03-2010, 03:38 PM
i get
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
do you think i stand a chance to get the interview for medicine course?
zahra
12-03-2010, 04:05 PM
i get
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
A+ for Chemistry and Biology? Wow. I think you have the chance. Just apply lah. Whether you get it or not, just wait and see. All the best!
12-03-2010, 04:18 PM
i get
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
getting interview is possible, but getting scholarship, i dun knw. it depends on ur luck and ur special skills.
12-03-2010, 05:58 PM
getting interview is possible, but getting scholarship, i dun knw. it depends on ur luck and ur special skills.
What is that special skills/abilities you were talking about? Mind to share? :P
12-03-2010, 05:59 PM
Just getting curious...since the grading system has changed...
what is A+, A and A-? I mean, as in the range of marks. Anyone can enlighten me?
han72890
12-03-2010, 06:14 PM
can anyone tell me can we apply for scholarships frm JPA both in country and overseas???hlp~
12-03-2010, 06:16 PM
Just getting curious...since the grading system has changed...
what is A+, A and A-? I mean, as in the range of marks. Anyone can enlighten me?
A+ = 90% above
A = 80%-90% (as A1)
A- = 70%-79% (as A2)
and so on... :)
wcing
13-03-2010, 01:23 AM
A+ = 90% above
A = 80%-90% (as A1)
A- = 70%-79% (as A2)
and so on... :)
I think the min mark required for an A+ isn't that high, i'm guessing it should be around 85% above...
btw, you're fast in applying for scholarships(JPA, Shell and SC, all done?)...
13-03-2010, 01:40 AM
I think the min mark required for an A+ isn't that high, i'm guessing it should be around 85% above...
btw, you're fast in applying for scholarships(JPA, Shell and SC, all done?)...
I have applied JPA, BNM, Khazanah, Taylor SPM High Achiever Scholarship... and i'm applying for SC, Asean Scholarship, Yayasan Tenaga National, Sime Darby, Petronas, Shell (filling but not yet summited)... :)
hrixenz
14-03-2010, 08:09 AM
can anyone tell me can we apply for scholarships frm JPA both in country and overseas???hlp~
yes, you can apply for both PILN and PIDN..but for PIDN, the application will open around june after the result of PILN..
mestillme92
14-03-2010, 11:47 AM
Alright i know this is kinda off topic, but what do we study for economics? My parents say this course is quite wide, so its harder to get a job in the future. Is it true?
yeliw
14-03-2010, 12:11 PM
no worries bout that if u wan apply for japan diploma program.
my brother is the special case . he got b3 for bm and bi . then gt c5 in bc. but he sucure the scholarship to japan last year . may b bcoz he did well in interview and the ujian psikologi online. so u hav nothing to lose. and u shudnt apply like madic pharmacy or engineering for greman, france ,aus ....jus try ur luck in diploma program, u may continue to degree after that . so no worries at all if u can secure this scholarship......cheers!
Alright i know this is kinda off topic, but what do we study for economics? My parents say this course is quite wide, so its harder to get a job in the future. Is it true?
quite true. my senior who study commerce, finance and economics is Aus find it hardly to get a job here.....in australia.....in malaysia, it worst.....so think twice ....but it will difrent if u have a very good score for ur degree.....
I have applied JPA, BNM, Khazanah, Taylor SPM High Achiever Scholarship... and i'm applying for SC, Asean Scholarship, Yayasan Tenaga National, Sime Darby, Petronas, Shell (filling but not yet summited)... :)
its kinda hard to switch frm engineering to actuarial bcoz math in eng is all about calculation of eg, stress, strain, torque, mechanics , electric voltage and so on . engineering math is 180" deg diffrent frm acturial math......different at all......so u shudnt take engineering if ur aim is acturial. coz i am engineerig student while my frend is study actuarial in AUS
i get
BM - A
BI - A
PM - A
SEJ - A-
MATH - A
A.MATH - A-
PHY - A
CHE - A+
BIO - A+
BC - B
EST - B+
1119 - 3B
fankly speaking , its hard..based on my experience, u will hav the chance if u are m_l_y......
B+ only. BTW, just curious, does having 1A in 1119 English and distinction in LCCI help? =.='
(Am applying for Economics) - and I'm a science stream student.
pls dun lose hope dude. u stand a chance....no worries bout that... pray more sincerely, it do help......belif me......
Xon: Flames Warning. Racism is so yesterday.
mestillme92
14-03-2010, 12:48 PM
So did your brother continue to degree? And he still sponsored by JPA scholarship?
weiping2007
14-03-2010, 01:03 PM
fankly speaking , its hard..based on my experience, u will hav the chance if u are m_l_y......
get into the interview only...not get the scholarship also hard?:cry
14-03-2010, 01:05 PM
get into the interview only...not get the scholarship also hard?:cryIf you meet the requirement, you will get the chance for interview, securing the scholarship may be a different story, but getting interview isn't that difficult.
You may want to start preparing now, with about 2 weeks time left. You will gain experience even if you fail to secure the scholarship at the end, there is nothing to lose here.
One reminder :)
Start to polish your English. I found out that quite a number of students cannot speak fluent English. HEHEHE.
EDITED : 1:40pm
14-03-2010, 01:19 PM
and dont mix malay with English during your interview. If possible, speak using one language only, i mean, if the question asked is in malay, answer in Malay, if it's in English, answer in English but NO MANGLISH NO BM+English.
I find it really annoying when people speak using both BM and English during interviews. If its for informal (discussions with friends etc), then it should be okay, but for interviews pls refrain from doing how.
It shows you're not fluent in either one, because if you are, then youd be able to speak using one language per each speaking turn.
Again, this is for interviews, other settings (work, school, hanging out) go right ahead. I do it all the time, but not for interviews!
Remember, you only have one chance to impress them so do your best, coz you might not get another chance at it. Good Luck!
Xon: reminder la, you just said "One Reminders". One - singular, so it should be "reminder'. hehe hope you dont mind me busting your chops hehe
weiping2007
14-03-2010, 01:45 PM
If you meet the requirement, you will get the chance for interview, securing the scholarship may be a different story, but getting interview isn't that difficult.
You may want to start preparing now, with about 2 weeks time left. You will gain experience even if you fail to secure the scholarship at the end, there is nothing to lose here.
yes i meet the minimum requirements that they have stated...and now i'm preparing for the interview...and the programme pendedahan kerjaya seorang doctor...is it that everyone that apply for medicine course will get it?
14-03-2010, 02:00 PM
yes i meet the minimum requirements that they have stated...and now i'm preparing for the interview...and the programme pendedahan kerjaya seorang doctor...is it that everyone that apply for medicine course will get it?Yes, if you meet the requirement.
yeliw
14-03-2010, 03:51 PM
So did your brother continue to degree? And he still sponsored by JPA scholarship?
my brother nw is study in INTEC, shah alam for study pre-U program. Based on the offer letter, anyone can continue to degree after diploma. Why not? Its Japan. Tokyo. Who dont wan go ? 5 years living in japan including Diploma and Degree. All sponsor by JPA.
14-03-2010, 03:58 PM
Start to polish your English. I found out that quite a number of students cannot speak fluent English. HEHEHE.
you can hear them speak here? How? :P
=.=" Hahahahahass. nice question. :laugh
14-03-2010, 04:14 PM
To a certain extent, grammar in writing reflects proficiency in English (though I have to admit I do make accidental blunders at times due to "speed writing").
Harfan
14-03-2010, 04:18 PM
I think this year JPA PILN minimum requirement is much more higher than last years. To apply for degree for engineering in Japan and France, why do we need A- for Biology??? :cry
14-03-2010, 04:41 PM
I think this year JPA PILN minimum requirement is much more higher than last years. To apply for degree for engineering in Japan and France, why do we need A- for Biology??? :cry
Even if your grade is lower than A-, just apply for it. You never know.
wcing
14-03-2010, 06:42 PM
Even if your grade is lower than A-, just apply for it. You never know.
What about the case in which you only took 2 subjects out of 7 optional subjects when its requirement is 3 optional subjects? If I did not fulfill the requirements, will my application be thrown directly into the rubbish bin without consideration even if my grades are pretty good? It'd be a wasted chance then...hmmm...
14-03-2010, 06:48 PM
It will be a wasted chance if you DON'T apply. It doesn't cost much to fill forms anyway. Look at it this way, if you don't apply, your chance of getting is 0%. If you do, even if it's just a 1% chance, it's still possible
wcing
14-03-2010, 06:54 PM
It will be a wasted chance if you DON'T apply. It doesn't cost much to fill forms anyway. Look at it this way, if you don't apply, your chance of getting is 0%. If you do, even if it's just a 1% chance, it's still possible
So based on my situation, what do u suggest? Apply for the course in which I fulfill all requirements? or go for the course I really want even though I dont fulfill 100% of the requirements?
Are u a scholar or an applicant?
14-03-2010, 07:04 PM
So based on my situation, what do u suggest? Apply for the course in which I fulfill all requirements? or go for the course I really want even though I dont fulfill 100% of the requirements?
she's a scholar...
German engineering though...
wcing, you want to pursue scholarship or your dream??
Consider this 2 things....
14-03-2010, 07:05 PM
Just apply the course you are interested in but not the one you meet all the requirements. You never know what will happen. Nickvl is a JPA scholar studying A-levels now. :)
wcing
14-03-2010, 07:18 PM
I want both, haha, but I think the former beats the latter.
BattleBoyz, u had the experience before?
14-03-2010, 07:21 PM
I think we have two interpretations of "do not meet the requirements" here. First, you have all the subjects required, but one subject you didn't achieve the required grade. Second, your results are brilliant, but you didn't take a particular subject required for the course. For the former, if you are really interested in the course, then just go for it, no harm trying since it's your interest. For the latter, I don't advise you to go for it since you strictly do not meet the requirement.
15-03-2010, 02:45 AM
I want both, haha, but I think the former beats the latter.
BattleBoyz, u had the experience before?
Nope, I just took my spm result but I know people that got to the interview even though they applied using results that doesn't meet the requirement (I meant the grades.) :))
15-03-2010, 02:56 AM
It will be a wasted chance if you DON'T apply. It doesn't cost much to fill forms anyway. Look at it this way, if you don't apply, your chance of getting is 0%. If you do, even if it's just a 1% chance, it's still possibleQuoted for truth!
Are u a scholar or an applicant?Look at is this way: Do you want to do something that you are qualified to do but is not of your interest? Or you want to do something you are not totally qualified for, but really enjoy doing and will work for it? Next, imagine doing both for 20 - 30 years after you graduate...
she's a scholar...
German engineering though...
wcing, you want to pursue scholarship or your dream??
Consider this 2 things....
A scholarship can get you 5-6 years of education. But remember that you will be doing something related for 20 - 30 years after you graduate... I am willing to bet that you will regret your decision sooner or later in life.
Also, scholarship is not an end all, be all thing. Even if you don't manage to get it, there are lots of other equally viable paths for you to follow. If you can dream, you can achieve it.
15-03-2010, 03:27 AM
It would be a gamble, of course, if you apply for the course you want even if you don't meet 100% requirement. But then again, there are many scholarships out there other than JPA which I'm sure offer the course you want to pursue.
But if you apply for the course which you choose simply because you have the requirement for it...well, like the others said, it's something you will be stuck with for quite a while since you will be bonded and all.
Hey, in the end, it's your future. You just have to decide for yourself. I can't really advise you which to choose because if I'm in your place, I would find it difficult to decide too.
Good luck! :)
markwongsk
15-03-2010, 05:15 AM
In addition to what vseehua said. It's not the end if you cannot do your undergraduate studies overseas. Just recently a Malaysian UM graduate got admitted into Yale for graduate studies. Of course, I'm not trying to imply the that it is such an easy thing. Apply for what you want to do, strive for it, do not regret your decision, and move on in life.
I get 7 A+ ( bm,bi,maths, add maths, phy, sj, acc.), 2A (bio, chem), 2A- (p. moral, bc) and 1A for 1119. so disappointed with my results.:cry
Do I stand a chance of getting the scholarship if I apply for pharmacy, since my chem is A ? And do parents income affect my chances of getting the scholarship? I know that we should not fake our parents' income, but I believe many will do that. Please help. Thnx.:)
15-03-2010, 12:43 PM
I get 7 A+ ( bm,bi,maths, add maths, phy, sj, acc.), 2A (bio, chem), 2A- (p. moral, bc) and 1A for 1119. so disappointed with my results.:cry
Do I stand a chance of getting the scholarship if I apply for pharmacy, since my chem is A ? And do parents income affect my chances of getting the scholarship? I know that we should not fake our parents' income, but I believe many will do that. Please help. Thnx.:)
It doesn't matter whether you stand a chance or not. Just apply for it. Yes, parents' income is a factor. They will ask for salary slip during the interview, but I had seen cases where it doesn't amount to much.
lilynda
15-03-2010, 04:37 PM
i heard dat for some cases the interviewers already know the scholarship holders before interview. is it true?
15-03-2010, 06:17 PM
i heard dat for some cases the interviewers already know the scholarship holders before interview. is it true?
It is a rumour. But still, it wouldn't hurt to still do your best during the interview, right?
15-03-2010, 08:33 PM
What is that special skills/abilities you were talking about? Mind to share? :P
co-curricular activities, special talents like ability to speak in public speaking for example and able to speak extra language, etc.
I think you can stand a chance but all depends on luck also.
Honesty is the best policy. Whether other people do it or not, it doesn't matter. Jz show your true pay slip. Scholarship are meant for people who are not born with a silver spoon. If some rich kids dun get the scholarship, they have their parents to sponsor them, but who will sponsor the poor kids if they dun get a scholarship?
tat depends on ur luck. most of the time, the interviewers will not know you so that they can make a fair judgment.
Judith
15-03-2010, 08:43 PM
[quote=Boyz_Zoo;296698]co-curricular activities, special talents like ability to speak in public speaking for example and able to speak extra language, etc.
I think you can stand a chance but all depends on luck also.
Honesty is the best policy. Whether other people do it or not, it doesn't matter. Jz show your true pay slip. Scholarship are meant for people who are not born with a silver spoon. If some rich kids dun get the scholarship, they have their parents to sponsor them, but who will sponsor the poor kids if they dun get a scholarship?
tat depends on ur luck. most of the time, the interviewers will not know you so that they can make a fair judgment.[/quote
The certificates for public speaking from form1-3 count in?
15-03-2010, 08:53 PM
[quote=Boyz_Zoo;296698]
The certificates for public speaking from form1-3 count in?
unfortunately, JPA only wants to see form 4 and form 5 certificates. however, you mention it in ur interview somehow. gud luck in that.
Cglotr404
15-03-2010, 08:53 PM
It is really bugging me that most companies and organisations that offer scholarship are like seeking students which have excellent results and strong leadership skills. I got 9A+ and 1A(BM!!) in my SPM and it is safe to assume that it is quite excellent but when it comes to this leadership thingy I was like, errr can I apply?
The additional requirement states that applying students should have good leadership quality and stuff, that makes me hesitant whether to apply or not. Actually, my problem is that I have minor stammering in my speech, the stammering is not severe, I can have a fluent conversation but it is still troubling me.
I am really hoping that someone can give me some good advice concerning it.Well, I am planning to go overseas but I not certain about it, not sure whether a person like me can survive living overseas >< Painful!!
It will be a boon to me if someone with the same disability like me or something near it can give your personal experience over it. Anyone with mild stammering studying abroad, anyone?
I am a bumi for your info.
15-03-2010, 09:02 PM
It is really bugging me that most companies and organisations that offer scholarship are like seeking students which have excellent results and strong leadership skills. I got 9A+ and 1A(BM!!) in my SPM and it is safe to assume that it is quite excellent but when it comes to this leadership thingy I was like, errr can I apply?
The additional requirement states that applying students should have good leadership quality and stuff, that makes me hesitant whether to apply or not. Actually, my problem is that I have minor stammering in my speech, the stammering is not severe, I can have a fluent conversation but it is still troubling me.
I am really hoping that someone can give me some good advice concerning it.Well, I am planning to go overseas but I not certain about it, not sure whether a person like me can survive living overseas >< Painful!!
It will be a boon to me if someone with the same disability like me or something near it can give your personal experience over it. Anyone with mild stammering studying abroad, anyone?
I am a bumi for your info.
Dun wry, you have the chance to get the scholarship. They said that they want students with leaderships skills and smart is jz to find all rounded students. However, i dun think that they test the leadership of a person through the interview. Moreover, leaders are not born, they are made. Sooner or later, you will have leadership skills when you are at tough times, believe. When i was in the lower form, i am the type of person that can be rely on but things after then due to certain reasons. So, you might be a good leader only a matter of time.
I think that you are not the only with such problem. It is normal for people to lose words when they are nervous, so dun wry much about that.
The type that can live overseas is the type can be independent. so, if u aren't 1, start being one.
weiping2007
15-03-2010, 09:16 PM
i have a question...i got help my school in science fair and did several science fair projects...do you think i should mention it during the interview?
Cglotr404
15-03-2010, 09:18 PM
Dun wry, you have the chance to get the scholarship. They said that they want students with leaderships skills and smart is jz to find all rounded students. However, i dun think that they test the leadership of a person through the interview. Moreover, leaders are not born, they are made. Sooner or later, you will have leadership skills when you are at tough times, believe. When i was in the lower form, i am the type of person that can be rely on but things after then due to certain reasons. So, you might be a good leader only a matter of time.
I think that you are not the only with such problem. It is normal for people to lose words when they are nervous, so dun wry much about that.
The type that can live overseas is the type can be independent. so, if u aren't 1, start being one.
Ur post really consoled me and I am really thankful for that. But concerning my stammering, I am not referring to the stammering that some people experienced during interviews but I am pointing to stammering in real life situations, like talking to friends and etc.
Strangely enough, my stammering problem usually does not show up during formal talks for example in interviews and presentation. Perhaps, this is because I can talk slowly in such situations and thus the stammering does not occur (But I will be dubbed a total wierdo if I talk wifh the same pace in friendly conversations *Ouch* ==):cry:cry:cry
15-03-2010, 09:24 PM
i have a question...i got help my school in science fair and did several science fair projects...do you think i should mention it during the interview?
all up to u but try mentioning things that is higher level of participation.
Ur post really consoled me and I am really thankful for that. But concerning my stammering, I am not referring to the stammering that some people experienced during interviews but I am pointing to stammering in real life situations, like talking to friends and etc.
Strangely enough, my stammering problem usually does not show up during formal talks for example in interviews and presentation. Perhaps, this is because I can talk slowly in such situations and thus the stammering does not occur (But I will be dubbed a total wierdo if I talk wifh the same pace in friendly conversations *Ouch* ==):cry:cry:cry
ur welcome. :)
weiping2007
15-03-2010, 09:42 PM
all up to u but try mentioning things that is higher level of participation.
such as participate in National biology competition held by the University Toronto, Canada?
15-03-2010, 09:44 PM
such as participate in National biology competition held by the University Toronto, Canada?
oh la la. c'est tres bien. oops...that's good. you can use that.
15-03-2010, 10:20 PM
oh la la. c'est tres bien. oops...that's good. you can use that.
Boyz_Zoo is slowly becoming French-ed... (Reminds me of French fries even though they aren't of French origin :P).
Digression ends.
ShellyLyon
15-03-2010, 10:30 PM
I got 3A+ 7As and 1B+ in my spm. Is it still possible for me to get jpa scholarship to go overseas for dentistry or MBBS course?
I'm actually still wondering which course should I take, dentistry or medicine?
Any experienced medicine or dentistry students here who can give me some advice?
I would really appreaciate your help. :)
15-03-2010, 10:32 PM
Boyz_Zoo is slowly becoming French-ed... (Reminds me of French fries even though they aren't of French origin :P).
Digression ends.
I don't get why french fries in German is the French one... :notrust
Digression ends too
15-03-2010, 10:34 PM
Redundant thread merged. Please read the replies by the seniors here before creating more "am I eligible threads" (unless it's about Luke proposing to budakkerek)
15-03-2010, 10:36 PM
Redundant thread merged. Please read the replies by the seniors here before creating more "am I eligible threads" (unless it's about Luke proposing to budakkerek)
...or to starlover :P
Ya,I strongly agree with you. But, for those family that have income of, ie. RM3000-4000 per month, do you consider this as rich? With the high living cost nowadays, students from this type of family can't afford to go to college. If this is not rich, then why there are many scholarship that are only available for those that have income of RM 1500 and below? so, we have no choice but to fake, isn't it?
15-03-2010, 11:02 PM
Ya,I strongly agree with you. But, for those family that have income of, ie. RM3000-4000 per month, do you consider this as rich? With the high living cost nowadays, students from this type of family can't afford to go to college. If this is not rich, then why there are many scholarship that are only available for those that have income of RM 1500 and below? so, we have no choice but to fake, isn't it?
So you are willing to bring yourself down to the level of petty cheaters to get the scholarship?
15-03-2010, 11:18 PM
How if in this family of five members [father, mum, 2 sister(one in UTM with local JPA scholarship and one in Form 4) and me] only be supported by my mum with her income of RM6000+ in KL? Would that be considered as high income or being referred as rich family? Well, my father have pensioned and now the whole family only being supported by my mum. How would the social background affects the selection of scholars? In fact, i can't even afford to go study at college with my mum salary now. Someone, please try to clarify my questions above. Thanks! :)
kerolaura
15-03-2010, 11:23 PM
Eerm... It is always advisable to be honest. The thing is, no one can ensure that the JPA officers will not track the applicants financial report through income tax or by other means. My advice is if u got the chance for interview, write a letter to state your financial background, which i did...
15-03-2010, 11:28 PM
Just be honest with the income, they don't expect everyone to have family income lower than RM1000, rather I would say it's uncommon to have family income below this level, majority of Malaysian families are of middle income, and JPA should know that too. RM5000 per month might seem a lot, but it's still not quite sufficient to financially support a children for oversea education. I'm sure JPA know this fact too. I have quite some friends whose parents are teachers, yet they get the scholarship. Teachers can't fake their income, can they? And their total income apparently would be more than RM5000.
So you are willing to bring yourself down to the level of petty cheaters to get the scholarship?
I really don't know what to do, but in this realistic world... I am so confussed.
kerolaura, can you please tell me what or how to write on the letter you just mentioned? Should i write how many family members that are still studying or what? thnx.
LaLaLaKenz
15-03-2010, 11:34 PM
Hi everyone , my spm result is 6A+,2A,2A-
I've intended to apply jpa engineering
however,I'm not sure which of these choice should i pick
1)engineering ( germany )
2)engineering ( france )
3)engineering ( uk , usa , aus , NZ , canada )
I don't speak either france nor german
please give me some opinion abt this
Which is easier to get & have better future ?( i saw on some thread saying that if a person fails halfway for france eng. , he/she will only have SPM as higher qualification since france a lvl is not regconised by m'sia gov ... )
will i have lower chance if i apply for the 3rd choice as my result isn't that brilliant enough to compete with those pro students which are also vying for the UK/USA/aus / NZ / canada engineering ???
Judith
15-03-2010, 11:36 PM
If my dad going to retire this June,can i mention about this?
15-03-2010, 11:40 PM
2)engineering ( france )
Which is easier to get & have better future ?( i saw on some thread saying that if a person fails halfway for france eng. , he/she will only have SPM as higher qualification since france a lvl is not regconised by m'sia gov ... )
will i have lower chance if i apply for the 3rd choice as my result isn't that brilliant enough to compete with those pro students which are also vying for the UK/USA/aus / NZ / canada engineering ???Neither do any of us. We don't know French of German when we first got selected to the courses. You will learn the languages as part of your course.
A-Levels are generally not recognized by Malaysian government as a STPM-level qualification. It is however more useful to use to apply to foreign universities, as it is more widely known about, and it is also why you will be taking A-Levels instead of STPM as part of your preparatory course.
As for your choice of engineering course, we can't tell you what to choose, We are just a bunch of strangers who can answer more specific questions. You will have to do the choosing yourself.
15-03-2010, 11:42 PM
2)engineering ( france )
will i have lower chance if i apply for the 3rd choice as my result isn't that brilliant enough to compete with those pro students which are also vying for the UK/USA/aus / NZ / canada engineering ???
First of all, most don't know how to speak the languages at all at first. You'll be learning it in your pre-u.
Secondly, applying for a easier-to-get scholarship is not....i don't know how to say it...so nevermind.
Thirdly, better futures depend on the individual. Whichever you get, your future is yours to create. Doesn't matter what you get.
And lastly, failing anyone will probabaly get you back to square one. (The point is not to fail)
Actually who knows how JPA chooses? Which one will be easier? Who knows? Although in my opinion most will try for the third choice as most are not willing to learn an extra language...
YPing
15-03-2010, 11:46 PM
2)engineering ( france )
Although i'm nt major engineering, what i can tell u is all depends on you urself. If u feel that u can't pick up the extra languages and become a burden for u, u better take the normal engineering. As far as i know, my friends in german engineering don't face very huge problem in learning the german language. The only thing is the long preparatory course they have to face. Besides, i gt a few friends who are about to fly to nz. So far, there are lesser ppl going to aus to study engineering. As for UK and US, if u the lucky ones, u may get it...To choose which engineering course, u shud ask urself whether u can cope with the language or not and the interview is quite competitive for those who apply for engineering due to the high number of applicants from all over malaysia
15-03-2010, 11:50 PM
Eerm... It is always advisable to be honest. The thing is, no one can ensure that the JPA officers will not track the applicants financial report through income tax or by other means. My advice is if u got the chance for interview, write a letter to state your financial background, which i did...
Yeah, that's the most freaky thing the JPA'd do, if the applicant cheated. Write a letter? That means i should write in a letter stating that my mum aren't really able to support my tertiary education with the salary now and i desperately need a scholarship now? Thanks anyway. :)
15-03-2010, 11:55 PM
Instead of telling them how desperate you are, how about preparing to do the interview in a good way. I am pretty sure they are more interested to see how good you are, not how desperate you are...
16-03-2010, 12:00 AM
Instead of telling them how desperate you are, how about preparing to do the interview in a good way. I am pretty sure they are more interested to see how good you are, not how desperate you are...
Yeah that makes sense. That means i don't have to write anything, but in the interview i just have to try my best to amaze the panel interviewers right? :)
16-03-2010, 12:03 AM
Yeah that makes sense. That means i don't have to write anything, but in the interview i just have to try my best to amaze the panel interviewers right? :)
Yup but please note that to amaze does not equate to stepping over the other fellow interviewees. Don't interrupt when they are talking and don't dominate the interview...
16-03-2010, 12:07 AM
Yup but please note that to amaze does not equate to stepping over the other fellow interviewees. Don't interrupt when they are talking and don't dominate the interview...
Yeah sure. That's simple manner, when people are talking, we should not talk or interrupt, right? I don't think i'd dominate the interview though. I not really can speak fluently, when i starts to speak English especially. Need to polish my speaking skills and general issues from now on i guess. :)
16-03-2010, 12:09 AM
Yeah sure. That's simple manner, when people are talking, we should not talk or interrupt, right? I don't think i'd dominate the interview though, when i starts to speak English especially. Need to polish my speaking skills and general issues from now on i guess. :)
Most importantly, dont try to overshadow other people and prove I'm the best.. Show your brilliant side, plus your considerate side...
16-03-2010, 12:16 AM
Oh, and show your enthusiasm in the course you're taking....and answer truthfully.
I got this question...will u continue to work for jpa even after the bond? I was the only one who did not say yes...
16-03-2010, 12:25 AM
Most importantly, dont try to overshadow other people and prove I'm the best.. Show your brilliant side, plus your considerate side...
Yeah sure. I will try my best to show my brilliant as well as considerate, manner side during the interview. Most importantly, chill chill, don't be too nervous. :laugh
Oh, and show your enthusiasm in the course you're taking....and answer truthfully.
I got this question...will u continue to work for jpa even after the bond? I was the only one who did not say yes...
Wow, but then you still get the JPA scholarship. Yeah same to me too. I don't think i'll work for JPA once my bond over. Higher salary job'd be waiting for me hopefully. :P
16-03-2010, 12:27 AM
Yeah sure. I will try my best to show my brilliant as well as considerate, manner side during the interview. Most importantly, chill chill, don't be too nervous. :laugh
Wow, but then you still get the JPA scholarship. Yeah same to me too. I don't think i'll work for JPA once my bond over. Higher salary job'd be waiting for me hopefully. :P
Erm.. I didn't say an outright no either. Tried my politest(is there such a word?) to give a truthful diplomatic answer. :laugh
16-03-2010, 12:32 AM
Erm.. I didn't say an outright no either. Tried my politest(is there such a word?) to give a truthful diplomatic answer. :laugh
Yeah, if and only if the panel ask me about the question, i'll try to say that i will serve JPA still, but if there is a better job with higher salary for me, i might consider their offer. :) Is that okay?
16-03-2010, 12:37 AM
Yeah, if and only if the panel ask me about the question, i'll try to say that i will serve JPA still, but if there is a better job with higher salary for me, i might consider their offer. :) Is that okay?
I think it would be better to avoid the term 'salary'. You can tell it in some other diplomatic way, e.g. I would consider if there is another job which interests me more etc...
16-03-2010, 12:46 AM
I think it would be better to avoid the term 'salary'. You can tell it in some other diplomatic way, e.g. I would consider if there is another job which interests me more etc...
Yeah, "salary" would be quite sensitive, perhaps interest should be fine. :) Thanks miracle seed. :)
16-03-2010, 12:56 AM
Erm...well...
What I answered was that 10 years is a long time and I can't give an exact answer right now because what is important is that I continue to develop myself to be a better person and if in 10 years time I'm still growing and progressing in that job I'll continue but if not, I will probably leave...
Since your case is about salary...I dunno what to advise you to say...since the answer I gave is the truth and to me, money isn't really that important to me.
Just as long you don't lie, that's important.
16-03-2010, 01:06 AM
What if they ask "why would you want to apply a scholarship eventhough your parents earn 15k and above?"
It's not that my parents can't afford me to study abroad, but I think they need to have their lives, the money to enjoy the luxury of what they earned after years of laboring. Sometimes, they need lots of money to afford service from good hospitals too. What's more is my parents think that getting a degree local or overseas is the same. But I'm still determined to go abroad because I want the experience. So what should I say if the panels shoot me this question?
16-03-2010, 01:10 AM
Erm...well...
What I answered was that 10 years is a long time and I can't give an exact answer right now because what is important is that I continue to develop myself to be a better person and if in 10 years time I'm still growing and progressing in that job I'll continue but if not, I will probably leave...
Since your case is about salary...I dunno what to advise you to say...since the answer I gave is the truth and to me, money isn't really that important to me.
Just as long you don't lie, that's important.
Yeah, thanks for the suggested answer. That sounds nicer by the way. =) Oh and yeah, never lie to them.
16-03-2010, 01:11 AM
What if they ask "why would you want to apply a scholarship eventhough your parents earn 15k and above?"
It's not that my parents can't afford me to study abroad, but I think they need to have their lives, the money to enjoy the luxury of what they earned after years of laboring. Sometimes, they need lots of money to afford service from good hospitals too. What's more is my parents think that getting a degree local or overseas is the same. But I'm still determined to go abroad because I want the experience. So what should I say if the panels shoot me this question?
Does yours do? My time, they just ask what our parents work as but that's about it.
Tell the truth. The diplomatic truth , that is. I think your reply is okay except your third last line...you might want to miss that out...Cuz if they decide to shoot you back...they can say since your parents don't mind which we can just let u do local.
16-03-2010, 01:13 AM
I don't think the panel will hold your personal details.
16-03-2010, 01:20 AM
That means they don't mind your parents income? I am safe as long as I tell the truth? :nuts :))
*sigh* Is just curious and having doubts here.. but thanks. :)
16-03-2010, 01:23 AM
That means they don't mind your parents income? I am safe as long as I tell the truth? :nuts :))
*sigh* Is just curious and having doubts here.. but thanks. :)They do take into the consideration when processing application, but I don't think they will be holding your personal details at the interview venue.
16-03-2010, 01:32 AM
*sigh* Is just curious and having doubts here.. but thanks. :)
of course if you're a millionaire...try to avoid mentioning it...
erm...well...pandai-pandai lah
16-03-2010, 01:33 AM
Ouch! I was saved and pushed in further at the same time. But still.. thanks.. :))
16-03-2010, 11:47 AM
Digression ends.
yup, there are belgium origin
...or to starlover :P
nice 1. hahaha
like what vseehua, do u wan tarnish ur intergrity for a scholarship. even if ur parents have a salary around that range, you can still take stpm, matri, etc and then enter local uni which quite affordable. How about those who have income of RM1500?
2)engineering ( france )
like everyone have said, language you can learn in the course if you offered the scholarship like me. anyway, it is up 2 u to choose. and choosing extra language can be good for ur career as it serves as an advantage but learning a language is not easy.
All the courses are hard on its on way. yes, about the france engineering, there is a prob with that but the percentage of people getting at least a diploma at France is more than 90%
LaLaLaKenz
16-03-2010, 04:33 PM
Thanks to those who has given me their valuable opinion . I very grateful to you all for spending time replying my question . Thanks again
=) good luck to everyone
wcing
16-03-2010, 06:59 PM
like what vseehua, do u wan tarnish ur intergrity for a scholarship. even if ur parents have a salary around that range, you can still take stpm, matri, etc and then enter local uni which quite affordable. How about those who have income of RM1500?
Yeah, how about those whose family income is just around RM1k or <RM1.5k? Who's gonna help the poor?
I'm wondering, what's the purpose of JPA scholarships? To help the poor who are potential leaders and give them a chance or to sponsor the rich whose own families can already support them enough but still fake their salary/income?
16-03-2010, 07:04 PM
Yeah, how about those whose family income is just around RM1k or <RM1.5k? Who's gonna help the poor?
I'm wondering, what's the purpose of JPA scholarships? To help the poor who are potential leaders and give them a chance or to sponsor the rich whose own families can already support them enough but still fake their salary/income?Scholarship is not a financial aid, it's not obligatory to give it to the poor. In fact, it is given to brilliant students, with priority to students from lower income family. I agree that faking the income in order to secure scholarship is not the correct way, however those who are honest in their family income and yet managed to secure the scholarship (without political intervention), we shouldn't give a doubt.
markwongsk
16-03-2010, 07:06 PM
Personally I think Malaysia's JPA is a mix between the two, and should stay somewhat that way...
16-03-2010, 08:47 PM
Scholarship is not a financial aid, it's not obligatory to give it to the poor. In fact, it is given to brilliant students, with priority to students from lower income family. I agree that faking the income in order to secure scholarship is not the correct way, however those who are honest in their family income and yet managed to secure the scholarship (without political intervention), we shouldn't give a doubt.
Personally I think Malaysia's JPA is a mix between the two, and should stay somewhat that way...
agree with your two. That's the main reason, people from the moderate and rich families should try to apply for JPA with the true pay slip. Though they stand a lower chance than the poorer ones, but at least whn they get, they can get the satisfactory of JPA choosing them because they are smart not because they are poor.
Eurytos
16-03-2010, 08:47 PM
No you shouldn't be truthful about your parents income if it puts you at such a disadvantage and yes you should be ashamed of that. Sometimes it isn't all about integrity when everyone does it, think of it as a culture. When there is an loophole to the system you can exploit i don't see why you shouldn't!
The jpa scholarship awarding system is just screwed, I don't blame the applicants and scholars for doing this. But the quality of JPA scholars just gets from bad to worse (no offense my perspective).
*I'm not a JPA scholar, just to clarify.
16-03-2010, 08:57 PM
No you shouldn't be truthful about your parents income if it puts you at such a disadvantage and yes you should be ashamed of that. Sometimes it isn't all about integrity when everyone does it, think of it as a culture. When there is an loophole to the system you can exploit i don't see why you shouldn't!
The jpa scholarship awarding system is just screwed, I don't blame the applicants and scholars for doing this. But the quality of JPA scholars just gets from bad to worse (no offense my perspective).
no use debating about it. it depends on the one's soul and mind to decide whether they should cheat or not. not like even we advise them, they can still choose to follow or not.
however, one should knw that what goes around, comes around.
16-03-2010, 09:07 PM
*I'm not a JPA scholar, just to clarify.The thing is, faking your parents' income is not a loophole. It is outright cheating a government agency. If JPA gets tighter in their background checks, you and your parents can be charged in the court of law for intentionally misleading the government in an official contract.
Sure the current public services is sloppy in that regard, but there is a chance that they will be more stringent in the future. Do you still want to risk going to jail and get a record for that? Is it even worth it?
I know for one thing that family income is one criteria in the selection process, but it is not the most important part. Each student, rich or poor, will mostly be evaluated based on their performance in their studies and their co-curricular activities (check the wiki for selection criteria for last year). And frankly saying, I will pick the students who are rich but honest about their situation than a cheater who fakes things just to get a scholarship... I am pretty sure the people in JPA will agree with me as well...
16-03-2010, 10:35 PM
When 50 million people does a stupid thing, it's still a stupid thing.
The because-everyone-does-it excuse does not justify for doing something.
And since you'll be signing contracts and stuff, misleading your future employer is not a wise beginning especially if they should find out, not to mention the moral implication, but I'll leave that out for another day
wcing
17-03-2010, 12:05 AM
Not with the intention to offend anyone, but faking your salary is unethical and so wrong(to me, but still, everyone has different perception), and i believe in Karma(if you know what i mean). plus, what's with the extra requirements for the mandatory and optional subjects when the past years only required at least an A2 for BM, Moral and History(mandatory)?
hmm....
extell
17-03-2010, 05:14 AM
Not with the intention to offend anyone, but faking your salary is unethical and so wrong(to me, but still, everyone has different perception), and i believe in Karma(if you know what i mean). plus, what's with the extra requirements for the mandatory and optional subjects when the past years only required at least an A2 for BM, Moral and History(mandatory)?
hmm....
This is only my personal opinion.... I think the most important thing is your results, KK and interview! If you can be totally awesome in all these then no probs~:) I thought they'll see the slip gaji when the interview is on?
shimin
18-03-2010, 09:11 AM
do anyone of you know anyone who faked the income and got the scholarship?
Akatsuki
18-03-2010, 09:51 AM
The thing is, faking your parents' income is not a loophole. It is outright cheating a government agency. If JPA gets tighter in their background checks, you and your parents can be charged in the court of law for intentionally misleading the government in an official contract.
Sure the current public services is sloppy in that regard, but there is a chance that they will be more stringent in the future. Do you still want to risk going to jail and get a record for that? Is it even worth it?
I know for one thing that family income is one criteria in the selection process, but it is not the most important part. Each student, rich or poor, will mostly be evaluated based on their performance in their studies and their co-curricular activities (check the wiki for selection criteria for last year). And frankly saying, I will pick the students who are rich but honest about their situation than a cheater who fakes things just to get a scholarship... I am pretty sure the people in JPA will agree with me as well...
i strongly suport vseehua statements...jus for the income fakers...why r u deserving a scholarship when u use all the lies and cheats?
kerolaura
18-03-2010, 09:55 AM
My friend faked it but she got PIDN
markwongsk
18-03-2010, 10:17 AM
Who cares who fakes it? Just ask yourself whether or not your conscience approves it. If it does, you would find reasons to support it, and vice versa. It may seem unfair to you, but as Eurytos said, it's a loophole in the policy, and others are utilizing it. If you want to make the right choice your conscience believe it is, then you have to accept the consequences, which is applicable too to the possible complications of faking your parents' income.
To those who are planning to fake their parents' income:
I understand your fear of not being competitive in the scholarship application. The knowledge there are probably others who are doing the same thing may increase the fear of "losing out". But I appeal to your conscience to those who do not. These mentalities are the same thing which brings about corruption in the country. The "I want", "Others do it", and "It's the policy makers' problem" mentality. You want Malaysia to be a better place? Start from these small things which you can do.
To those who are planning to use originals:
I commend you for your courage to uphold integrity. But be forewarned, not everyone is going to play the game fairly. Personally, I have never faked my parents income although they earn sufficiently more compared to RM 1500. It may have been the reason I did not get JPA after my SPM in 2006 (I got 13A1s and have reasonably good KKs). Then again, it may have been my interview/personality etc. But I never regretted my decision to stick to what I decided. I took STPM, got 5As and is now on JPA scholarship studying in CMU (once again, no faked income). I hope this is an inspiration even if you do fail to secure the scholarship. And I thank you for help making Malaysia a better place.
Just my personal two cents. All the best!
adele123
18-03-2010, 10:44 AM
I think the illogical thing is that, just because my parents earn more than RM1500 per month, that does not mean my parents can afford to send me to overseas to study.
Another thing about those who planning or did fake their parents income, should ponder on why you do so. You are faking it, because your parents can seriously afford to send to you to overseas? Then, you are depriving the chance of another to study overseas. How is that fair to those who really need the scholarships?
Quote markwongsk: You want Malaysia to be a better place? Start from these small things which you can do.
Not getting JPA PILN after your SPM isn't the end of the world. Faking your income to get the scholarship? You will be so ashamed of yourself one day...
Hmm... I also didn't get JPA after my SPM. I took STPM in 2008, now studying in ANU on JPA scholarship.
orthopod
18-03-2010, 11:02 AM
yeah dont fake it.It doesnt pay.Do you really think its income based?I dont think so.and not many people actually earn less than 1500 unless u are of maid,servant,security guard.
Each of my parental unit have a 6 digit salary per month-
and I got JPA after SPM-IMU twinning programme.I got reasonable results-12a1's.Not 15- or 19a1.I rejected because I only wanted to go to the UK
Subsequently after a levels once again i qualified under tajaan tambahan and JPA offered me once again.(I did apply for it myself-and then chose to decline the scholarship again)
I didnt post this to brag about my parental income but just to give an example on what the scholarship is really based on for indian or chinese ie..substance.Im also non-bumi.
Hope this helps
wcing
18-03-2010, 12:48 PM
and not many people actually earn less than 1500 unless u are of maid,servant,security guard.
I believe that you aren't very well informed of the conditions of poverty and the severity of the problem in malaysia. There are in fact alot of family who earn less than 1.5k for the really poor ones rather than those with both parents earning at least 6 digit for salary per month. Perhaps, you don't normally have friends who are really poor and can't comprehend what poor is really like(since you're one lucky kid born with a silver spoon in your mouth, lucky you!). Even though you might say you can understand and feel how the poor feel, but you can never exactly feel the same as them.
Btw, for your info, i'm one kid whom you might want to classify under "not-many-people-actually-earn-less-than-1500", but no, my father isn't a maid, servant or security guard.
And if my sentences make you feel that i'm being sarcastic, i'm sorry i didn't intend to be sarcastic at all.
I'm just hoping that I can tell you that there are people who actually earn less than 1500 than you can imagine and expect.
orthopod
18-03-2010, 01:07 PM
I believe that you aren't very well informed of the conditions of poverty and the severity of the problem in malaysia. There are in fact alot of family who earn less than 1.5k for the really poor ones rather than those with both parents earning at least 6 digit for salary per month. Perhaps, you don't normally have friends who are really poor and can't comprehend what poor is really like(since you're one lucky kid born with a silver spoon in your mouth, lucky you!). Even though you might say you can understand and feel how the poor feel, but you can never exactly feel the same as them.
Btw, for your info, i'm one kid whom you might want to classify under "not-many-people-actually-earn-less-than-1500", but no, my father isn't a maid, servant or security guard.
And if my sentences make you feel that i'm being sarcastic, i'm sorry i didn't intend to be sarcastic at all.
I'm just hoping that I can tell you that there are people who actually earn less than 1500 than you can imagine and expect.
I symphatize with you.If your father genuinely earns less than 1500 rm a month then..im not saying that you should quote a higher figure than the actual sum.I know a lot of pensioners do earn less than 1500 a month especially after various deductions.
I have poor friends in fact so close that I consider them family.My servant's children are also a jpa scholars in the UK,we helped the son get a scholarship to study in london at UCL.In fact he came under the tajaan tambahan scheme as well(when it was first implemented) but we funded his application through UCAS etc and ensured he wouldn't be left out in the race.
Plus their english is also very polished thanks to mixing around with me.
and his sister is there studying medicine in UK(almost finished)
Likewise my driver's children are also of fairly good standing.In local U pursuing teaching,dentistry and the youngest got a scholarship to do pharmacy in australia.The moral of the story is that if u are fairly intelligent and have a good strong foundation,scholarships are fairly easy to come by these days-Im talking about JPA.I know of some really poor kids making it-when i say poor I mean REALLY POOR.
But I agree that usually the middle class-upper middle ones are the ones who have access to a lot of the various opportunities out there.Take for example tajaan tambahan JPA.A big chunk of them who qualified for this scholarship did a levels in the UK itself (not even KTJ or taylor's etc)when it was first implemented.so there you go..Its an unfair world out there.
markwongsk
18-03-2010, 02:02 PM
Firstly:
JPA is a partial merit, partial financial aid scholarship. That is why we submit our parents' income in the first place, the reason is to take into account the interviewees background when giving out the scholarship. In this case, orthopod managed to be offered, not once, but twice, the JPA scholarship, despite his/her parents' income. This proves that JPA thinks he/she is an outstanding candidate, whose merit greatly outweighs the factor that he has rich parents.
Secondly:
Yes, nothing is fair in this world, so why not we just make use of the best opportunities we have instead of blaming others for having access to better?
Thirdly:
As for your comment on him "wasting a spot for non-bumis", why not you read a few pages earlier and see him saying, "when I phoned the officers to reject my scholarship they were actually very happy. They said, now we can sponsor the other 3 students who applied for JPA" (or at least, something similar).
Finally:
As for the "poor and the real deserved" being "stuck with STPM", both adele and I were of STPM origins, I have at least 3 STPM friends doing Medicine and Acturial Science in UK under JPA, tons of them in NUS/NTU with a bright future, some under ASEAN scholarship, others are under the support of Singapore's MOE. Besides, education is a phase in life. At the end of the day, you can have 10 degrees from Harvard yet still fail in your job, or worse, in your life. Diligence, courage, integrity and the mere self-motivation is what counts.
18-03-2010, 02:04 PM
Reminder: Please discuss the issue in decent manner and refrain from personal attacks.
We have dedicated this thread: Scholarships: To what extent should income be considered? (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6298) for discussion with respect to scholarship and income, please continue you discussion there. Any discussion of JPA requirements can still be continued here.
Thank you.
yeliw
18-03-2010, 04:45 PM
sorry dude, I am just too emotional just nw.......:(
melindaL
18-04-2011, 12:38 AM
hi der, i didnt do the ujian khas biasiswa and its stated that its compulsory to be completed. does that mean that i dont stand a chance in getting the scholarship? :/
AlternateF4
18-04-2011, 01:00 AM
:/hi der, i didnt do the ujian khas biasiswa and its stated that its compulsory to be completed. does that mean that i dont stand a chance in getting the scholarship? :/
Well, don't be too worried over it. You can't change anything about it anymore. Just pray hard that they will accept your mistake :(