View Full Version : Development of Forum in ReCom
30-06-2004, 09:17 AM
This is an issue close to my hearts and other anchors. How is ReCom's forum been progressing?
While there are more discussions in ReCom, some of us have found that the stuff that we talk about have not been really the key issues within ReCom's vision.
ReCom's Vision
a) To integrate and unify resources, skills and talents of Malaysia's youth.
b) To help propogate and help propel Malaysia towards Vision 2020.
c) To encourage originality, innovation, creativity and initiative.
d) To learn with and learn from others through healthy forum discussions.
e) To keep abreast of currect affair in Malaysia and around the world so we become educated and informed individuals through our opinions and suggestions in our column in the newspaper.
f) To create and encourage networking amongst peers and professionals in the working field.
g) To improve our command of the English Language.
h) To be able to contribute towards the development of our country.
Personally, I think that we should concentrate the discussion in ReCom on those issues that are essential to the development of our country, especially issues pertinent to Malaysia and also to the world. Issues that will bring up intellectual discussions, rather than mere chatting.
This is my opinion. What do you guys think?
30-06-2004, 02:16 PM
at first I was going to open similar thread on ReCom self reflection... hehe
I think it?s getting active and people are more daring to speak thier mind up...
30-06-2004, 04:27 PM
Personally, I think that we should concentrate the discussion in ReCom on those issues that are essential to the development of our country, especially issues pertinent to Malaysia and also to the world. Issues that will bring up intellectual discussions, rather than mere chatting.
I think what you say is contradicting ReCom...
if u say we should concentrate on the issues u mention...
then why set up forums like social and entertainment, senseless debates etc etc at the first place?
besides some hot topics are serious discussion on issues like Haze, scholarships, environment etc etc.
I think many people have different taste...
some people might not voice in certain thread doesn?t mean he?s not interested in essential topics.. he or she might be following the topic for long..
so as long as people are interrested to read such serious topics, I think it?s no harm if they don?t post in these threads....
besides, as I have mentioned earlier, not many students around our ages have sufficient cognitive development and exposure so I don?t think it?s fair to expect to much from ReComers, that they will focus on intelectual stuffs...
why not focusing in motivation? big organisation always emphasis on motivation... so why not motivate recomers to be active..
u can say something like by participating u will be satisfied... unlimited reward etc...
I have joined recom for so long but I don?t see much effort is put in Motivating....
(just my opinion... )
30-06-2004, 06:49 PM
I have joined recom for so long but I don?t see much effort is put in Motivating....
Depends on what do you mean by motivation. What kind of motivation do you refer to?. to motivate them to do well in the exam?
or motivate people to post at Recom?. But how about coming up with suggestion on how we can motivate people according to your definition and "help us implement it <- this is important"?. by the way, we're not big companies. I'm not a Microsoft's Steve Ballmer who can jump around the stage and shout "Developers, developers..! ".
Speaking about motivation, you will always hear the phrase "help each other out" from Recom Anchors and members. For me, that's a big motivation.
Anyway, the forum were created to achieve those visions above and
senseless debates and entertainment corner were created around December 2003 to 'cool down' Recommers' heavy debate at that time.
But, we realize that this section now is so popular that it covers up the main page of Recom. So, the thread that is essential in achieving recom vision now got buried under.
It's no one faults. (refer to Recom's Dilemma, the term coined by our software wizard luke)We;re just trying to reach the "equilibrium of Recom's post" here: to find the balance between trivial and non-trivial posts. This matter would be brought to Recom Anchors meeting on July/August, so, if anyone have suggestion on how we can balance the post, between those belongs to social and entertainment and those that can be transformed into a press release (so that the public know what we have to say), please shout it here. Currently, my suggestions : create entertainment SIG, or create a seperate page for enterntainment , like , entertainment.recom.org.
Any comment/ criticism, please post it here.
30-06-2004, 07:03 PM
hmm.. good idea if we have a different site for these entertainment thingy...
perhaps a social place for us...
OK.. if now recom is really going to focus on its goal I will support it...
(just that for so long I am confuse about the existance and function of ReCom... hehe)
motivation?
we need to be motivated to show interest in awareness in issues in malaysia, not being indifferent..
and show interested in fields like business, IT these kinda useful stuffs.....
just my 2 cents
01-07-2004, 01:14 AM
i think we are doing great in the Education part, especially in the SIG for STPM and SPM. Daniel's learning a lot from there... :D
i like having the press release things... i think it's one of the main contribution Recom can give to its beloved country. Why dun we have more of those in light of certain themes Malaysia has in mind..... I believe most ppl dun mind chipping in some two cents if their opinion is going to be heard instead of remain buried along with other messages in this forum (uhm... get what i mean?)
i think we need to get more debaters here... That will spice things up. I enjoy those debate sessions, but sometimes when there's no one to argue with, things can get pretty mundane though. just my two cents :wink: