View Full Version : Coffee With Glassy

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 12:31 AM
Have you ever wanted to ask Glassy a completely random question? Her favourite type of candy? What song she currently has running through her head? How she manages to work 39 hours a day? The type of guys she digs? How she manages to make her own meals in a kitchen without completely obliterating it despite the many mishaps that inevitably happen?

Well, now you can! Ask me anything! Well, almost. Teehee.

I'm also here if you're just looking for a casual, informal chat. =) Or if you want to throw a shoe at me for my overly long rant-ish posts that I have been known to make. Anything goes here!

*hands out free coffees to everyone who drops by*

Legal disclaimer: Warning! Coffee is hot!

star90
14-03-2010, 12:35 AM
well, your daily 'schedules'? perhaps, how you organize your time wisely?haha how to ensure yourself study consistently? :P

markwongsk
14-03-2010, 12:39 AM
Is this a new series lol? There was Do Not Disturb Capablanca

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 01:06 AM
well, your daily 'schedules'? perhaps, how you organize your time wisely?haha how to ensure yourself study consistently? :P

This is how the workload for a week works. You get a reading list of cases and journal articles to read, and you get an essay question about this week's topic. If you don't read any of the stuff you won't be able to adequately write the essay. You need to either hand your essay in the day before a tutorial, or bring your essay to the tutorial and hand it in there. Depends on what your tutor wants. During your tutorial you discuss this week's topic with your tutor. So basically you need to do a lot of the learning yourself. This entire system hinges on you mastering and understanding all the stuff yourself; the tutorial is there to make sure you're understanding it correctly.

This is what roughly happens in a typical "relaxed" day over here:
- Wake up at 7AM; get ready for the day, eat breakfast
- Head over to the library in my college
- Work through the reading list for the week's topic until lunchtime
- Attend lectures if there are any
- Eat lunch
- Complain about my workload to anyone I happen to sit next to during lunch [fortunately it's usually my fellow lawyers]
- Do more work [reading more stuff from the reading list]
- Spontaneously get into a serious discussion with fellow lawyers about a certain controversial case, or interpretation of a statute, which usually escalates into a serious disagreement, which then usually deterioriates either into completely pointless philosophical arguments, or random object throwing at each other [this actually happens sometimes]
- Shower
- Dinner
- Back to the library for more work; more complaining to fellow lawyers in the library about how I'm doing the wrong course in the wrong university
- Go back to my room
- Watch an episode of Gordon Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmares [current celebrity crush]
- Bedtime at 11 or 12

This is what roughly happens in a typical "rushed" day over here [one day before, or the day of an essay deadline/tutorial]:
- Stumble out of bed at 6-ish AM, clocking in at only 4 to 5 hours of sleep the night before
- Haphazard breakfast of cereal and fruit and almost stab out my sleep-deprived eyes while trying to put my contact lenses in

Okay, at this point there are two possible paths the day could take.
(a) If I haven't started writing my essay for the upcoming tutorial
- Squeeze in some more frantic last minute reading in the library
- Wail to fellow lawyers in the library about how I don't understand this week's topic and how I'm never going to get the essay finished in time
- Start writing essay in the late afternoon/evening, and finish around 8 hours later
- Collapse in bed

(b) If I have finished the essay [by the time this happens it will usually be tutorial day!]
- Print out my essay
- Grab a coffee to sustain my poor sleep-deprived soul
- Complain to fellow lawyers in the library about how my essay this week is crap
- Realize I will be running late for my tutorial if I don't stop complaining and get a move on
- Weave around flocks of tourists [we get way too many of them this time of the year] with my tutorial partner, in a mad rush to get to my tutor's college. Some last minute discussion on this week's topic usually happens at this point, but it usually needs to be shouted out back and forth since the street is so noisy. Tourists must think we're mad.
- Burst right into my tutor's office, adrenaline rushing and caffeine-high, sit down and immediately start criticizing the points of view of various academics [this is the only reason why I tolerate Jurisprudence AKA Legal Philosophy classes; you get to tell everyone that they're wrong]
- Tute over, collapse in bed for a nap, back to the library to start work on next week's topic.

-----

Sometime during the day I might squeeze in a bit of relaxation time here and there. Maybe.

As to your questions of organizing time and studying consistently. Well, the best advice I have to give is that you need to focus. If you focus, you get work done very efficiently. Discipline is the key here. There is time for work, and there is time for play.

You also need to be passionate about the stuff you're doing. Your passion will be the drive that keeps you going. If you don't like something, try to change your mindset so you'd like it.

Is this a new series lol? There was Do Not Disturb Capablanca

Oh indeed. It appears that the talkshow business is booming in Recom right now. It wouldn't make good business sense to let this golden opportunity pass!

14-03-2010, 01:11 AM
haha i love ur post! sounds like my day,

14-03-2010, 02:09 AM
Hmm... i think we need "like" buttons to tell people that we like the post :P

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 02:28 AM
haha i love ur post! sounds like my day,

On a completely unrelated note I'd like to say WELCOME BACK to Recom. =) I wasn't around when you were active the first time round, but I've stumbled across your old posts a few times now, and I do quite enjoy/like them.

Anyway, I do hope that you stick around for a bit. We can never have too many people with a great sense of humor!

Hmm... i think we need "like" buttons to tell people that we like the post :P

To a certain extent I guess here in Recom we kinda utilize the Thanks function in that way. >_>

14-03-2010, 02:37 AM
Anyway, I do hope that you stick around for a bit. We can never have too many people with a great sense of humor!seconded!
To a certain extent I guess here in Recom we kinda utilize the Thanks function in that way. >_>
Then again, thanking and liking aren't the same thing :P

14-03-2010, 03:16 AM

Sometimes, I myself did that. :sweat

A "like" button must compliment with a "dislike" button. =.="

14-03-2010, 03:21 AM
Sometimes, I myself did that. :sweat

A "like" button must compliment with a "dislike" button. =.="
Something like this
http://i.i.com.com/cnwk.1d/i/bto/20091104/Facebook-dislike.png

14-03-2010, 03:28 AM
WOW!!~ now I am excited to know how they make it.

Sorry Glassy for the spamming. HAHAHAS.

On another note, what's your favorite coffee? I prefer House Blend. :p

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 03:33 AM
I currently like cappuccinos and mochas, and sometimes a latte if I don't feel like being awake at 3AM in the morning.

P.S. Mocha with dark cherry syrup is to die for!!

14-03-2010, 03:34 AM
WOW!!~ now I am excited to know how they make it.

Sorry Glassy for the spamming. HAHAHAS.

On another note, what's your favorite coffee? I prefer House Blend. :pThis thread is turning into a cafe for mods to chit chat, with Glassy providing free coffee... :nuts

By the way, I have a question for Glassy. How different is British Law from Malaysian and how much adaptation is needed when UK graduate practice in Malaysia?

14-03-2010, 03:36 AM
Miracle_Seed, you're a coffee lover also? So what's your favourite?

14-03-2010, 03:44 AM
Miracle_Seed, you're a coffee lover also? So what's your favourite?Not exactly a coffee lover, but get along well with coffee. Recently a friend introduced me Tropical Iceberg, I quite like the taste but don't ask me what is it, I just know it's an ice-blended coffee.:P I guess I should find out next time.

14-03-2010, 04:23 AM
I think we should change the topic to: Coffee lovers' thread

markwongsk
14-03-2010, 06:04 AM
I think we should change the topic to: Coffee lovers' thread

Your status box is creepy...

14-03-2010, 06:35 AM
Your status box is creepy...
The ultimate stalker :P

14-03-2010, 08:19 AM
Here's a random question, since u are in UK, don't British love tea?-esp tea time- so why didn't u name ur thread 'Tea with Glassy'? it rhymes.. a little..

oh, oh, an here's a ques to Xon.. u like tat girl from MAR(Marchen Awaken Romance)? LOL.is she the anime character u would like to be with if u have a chance? ehehehe.. An anime character I'd like to have as gf is...Bleach's Inoue. woohoo! Cheers!

markwongsk
14-03-2010, 10:31 AM
The ultimate stalker :P

just noticed your city... Kuching? lol

14-03-2010, 11:28 AM
well, thank you!

I hope ill be able to hang around loads too. School definitely kills me from time to time. I cant believe i've graduated only to go back to school hahah But worry not, this is sweet torture for me.

I dont drink coffee, it gives me a headache but I do love tea. I can make a gooddamn cup of coffee tho. used to work in a cafe, so i was barista/donut gal for a good year. What design do you want on ur capp? Flower? Heart? Swirls? I make em all hehe

14-03-2010, 12:48 PM
Here's a random question, since u are in UK, don't British love tea?-esp tea time- so why didn't u name ur thread 'Tea with Glassy'? it rhymes.. a little..

oh, oh, an here's a ques to Xon.. u like tat girl from MAR(Marchen Awaken Romance)? LOL.is she the anime character u would like to be with if u have a chance? ehehehe.. An anime character I'd like to have as gf is...Bleach's Inoue. woohoo! Cheers!

Purely random: UK got Coffee Bean, USA got Starbucks. :p

Wow, we're fully utilizing this thread for not-so-glassy-related chat-topic. That girl... is me. :laugh I look very hot and pretty, right? Interested in me? Watch out, I got a lot of ARMS. :amuse

14-03-2010, 01:03 PM
we got san fran coffee, gloria jeans, starbucks, coffee beans and basically a ton of coffee places. We need TEA places too!

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 03:42 PM

Because I prefer coffee to tea.

budakkerek: OMG, I would love to learn how to make coffee someday. Barrista training sounds really awesome.

14-03-2010, 06:20 PM
the funny thing abt making coffee is that if you eff up the milk like when ure steaming it, it totally ruins the coffee. So really, coffee making depends entirely on the quality of steam you put while ure steaming your milk. Unless of course, you're making an espresso or affogato, which of course requires no milk.

Glassy, if you hv a coffee machine id be glad to show you of course. my fren even suggested i work at starbucks part time after coming back from Brisbane, but i said no. Unless they pay me 20 bux per hour, i wont even consider haha

14-03-2010, 06:23 PM
Glassy, I was a trained barista at Starbucks. :p

14-03-2010, 07:53 PM
Glassy, I was a trained barista at Starbucks. :p

a guy who names his store after money.. starBUCKS.. wow.. tatsz something..

Cheers people. Lovely coffee. But I'll just settle for a glass of water.

14-03-2010, 07:58 PM
now at the school canteen i always drink plain water that my colleagues said i menjaga kesihatan but truth is, the canteen ppl take forever our drinks made and sent to us that recess usually is over by the time the drinks sampai! T_T

so minum air masak saja! Good for ur health kann

ling910520
14-03-2010, 11:11 PM
I would like to know the secret of starbucks coffee , they taste so nice ..

markwongsk
14-03-2010, 11:55 PM

Wow, we're fully utilizing this thread for not-so-glassy-related chat-topic. That girl... is me. :laugh I look very hot and pretty, right? Interested in me? Watch out, I got a lot of ARMS. :amuse

Didn't get your last sentence...

14-03-2010, 11:58 PM
Didn't get your last sentence...

I am replying in refer to Post #19.

You can go youtube watch the anime if you don't get what is "ARM". :D

Glassylicious
14-03-2010, 11:58 PM

Btw, I have yet to see a single Coffee Bean outlet here in the UK. =( We're pretty big on the Starbucks though. In central London there's one almost every street; it's insane.

15-03-2010, 12:01 AM
Btw, I have yet to see a single Coffee Bean outlet here in the UK. =( We're pretty big on the Starbucks though. In central London there's one almost every street; it's insane.

@<hidden>@<hidden> after another check, I think I was misled. Both from USA? Not so sure Coffee Bean. I never work for them. I don't learn their history. lols

markwongsk
15-03-2010, 12:04 AM
I've never drank a cup of Starbucks or Coffee Bean since I've been to US >_<

I like Nescafe though haha

15-03-2010, 12:10 AM
I like Starbucks... but the wifi in Starbucks in Germany aren't free... Hell, nothing is free here

15-03-2010, 01:16 AM
*$ lovers (starbucks lovers, if u didnt get the signs haha)
read No Logo by Naomi Klein, after you read it, u probably wont like starbux all that much anymore. it talks abt their expansion, their tactics etc how they drove local coffee shops into being almost non existent today.

anyways, Seehua, so you gotta pay for oxygen too in Germany? :p

15-03-2010, 01:56 AM
anyways, Seehua, so you gotta pay for oxygen too in Germany? :p
Sooner or later, they might just start to charge for it.

15-03-2010, 02:30 AM
I'd never been to a single Starbucks or any Coffee Beans yet. I don't believe paying so much for something I could whipped up in an instant, although I never drank coffee yet.

budakkerek, Naomi Klein is an anti globalization proponent, so the reading should be taken with a pinch of salt because there's pros and cons to every organization.

ps, Starbucks are closing down in the US.

markwongsk
15-03-2010, 02:43 AM
I'd never been to a single Starbucks or any Coffee Beans yet. I don't believe paying so much for something I could whipped up in an instant, although I never drank coffee yet.

budakkerek, Naomi Klein is an anti globalization proponent, so the reading should be taken with a pinch of salt because there's pros and cons to every organization.

ps, Starbucks are closing down in the US.

Hmmm? Doesn't feel so here in ... Why are they closing down? No profit?

15-03-2010, 01:19 PM
capablanca, yea i realised that. Like, she talked about how NIKE and all the big companies were outsourcing, doing this doing that, and i felt bad reading about all the poor ppl who got trod on but i cant help it I LOVE NIKE SNEAKERSSSS!

So yea, i read the book, i still buy Nikes and i drink fraps at Starbucks every once a while (the one without coffee one lah, coffee gives me a headache hohoh). It's just an interesting read tho. I bought it in 2005, took me a long time to finish reading it. its such a heavy read.

15-03-2010, 02:08 PM
I don't miss Starbucks possibly because I'm not so much of a coffee-drinker and I'm not desperate for the Internet (WiFi). After all, home is just 30 minutes away from my university and campus internet is good enough for me. (In fact, if I may add, my campus internet seems to be better than my own Streamyx!) :P

But while I was doing my internship in the twin towers, I really needed the Internet, so rather than frequenting Coffee Bean or Starbucks, I'd got myself Celcom Broadband. Yeah, it's not the best ISP, I know. But beggars can't be choosers, right? And I need portable Internet (something that I can use in the office and also at home) at that moment.

So, Starbucks? Nah, not for me...

Glassylicious
18-03-2010, 09:23 AM
A rather random question, but does anybody know where I can buy Reese's Peanut Butter Cups in Malaysia?

18-03-2010, 09:41 AM
I'm pretty sure I saw them in Malaysia before, although I just started consuming them in "large" quantities since I came to US.

Maybe those shops selling foreign goods. Can try Watson or Guardian, maybe.

My lunch ==> Chocolates.

26-03-2010, 09:07 AM
Hmm, the title ReCom Detective somehow reflects Glassy's posts in HOS :p
Sometimes I think you are better suited for a investigative job, instead of practicing law xD

Glassylicious
26-03-2010, 12:10 PM
Hmm, the title ReCom Detective somehow reflects Glassy's posts in HOS :p
Sometimes I think you are better suited for a investigative job, instead of practicing law xD

XD I must admit, I am deeply fascinated by detective/mystery solving stories or movies. It is amazing what the power of observation and deduction can do, if utilized properly. Sherlock Holmes!! <3 [The movie was awesome]

Unfortunately being a detective does not pay the bills as well as, say a corporate lawyer. This is how dreams die, eh, See Hua? T_T

26-03-2010, 12:20 PM
Not quite, Sherlock Holmes can be quite rich if he wished to. I seem to remember that Sherlock Holmes does not accept any payment except for once or twice, the case with Irene Adler.

If SH accept payments for the intriguing cases he investigated, I'm sure he would accumulate quite a sum. Worse come to worse, sell the story. SH stories sell quite well.

26-03-2010, 04:47 PM
XD I must admit, I am deeply fascinated by detective/mystery solving stories or movies. It is amazing what the power of observation and deduction can do, if utilized properly. Sherlock Holmes!! <3 [The movie was awesome]

Unfortunately being a detective does not pay the bills as well as, say a corporate lawyer. This is how dreams die, eh, See Hua? T_T<3 that movie as well. Nowadays I watch mostly CSI, though sometimes the detectives can be eerie in their knowledge of crimes (Lieutenant Horatio Kane is the biggest culprit here)...

Well, the world would be a much happier place if everyone can do what they like, instead of only choosing one that pays their bills...

Not quite, Sherlock Holmes can be quite rich if he wished to. I seem to remember that Sherlock Holmes does not accept any payment except for once or twice, the case with Irene Adler.

If SH accept payments for the intriguing cases he investigated, I'm sure he would accumulate quite a sum. Worse come to worse, sell the story. SH stories sell quite well.I doubt Sherlock Holmes want people to find out about his fine investigation techniques :P

missyrainy
26-03-2010, 09:31 PM
glassy, may I know what do you normally do during your sem break or holidays? :D

Glassylicious
26-03-2010, 11:57 PM
<3 that movie as well. Nowadays I watch mostly CSI, though sometimes the detectives can be eerie in their knowledge of crimes (Lieutenant Horatio Kane is the biggest culprit here)...

Well, the world would be a much happier place if everyone can do what they like, instead of only choosing one that pays their bills...

I doubt Sherlock Holmes want people to find out about his fine investigation techniques :P

CSI's awesome, from the few episodes that I managed to watch on odd occasions.

glassy, may I know what do you normally do during your sem break or holidays? :D

Usually, some revision is required as I usually have "revision tests" at the start of each term.

But otherwise, I take some "downtime"; the terms are really hectic and it's hard to even free a moment to catch your breath, so I take the chance to destress and unwind during the break. Just generally resting and slacking off [usually in front of the laptop hehehe].

If I happen to be back in Malaysia then I spend time with my family [chillin' with my sister, cooking for the family, etc]. Otherwise, if I'm still around in Oxford I might make a trip to France/somewhere in Europe for vacation, or stay back in my room rotting away on the Internet and playing Facebook games [PLAYFISH GAMES! <3]. Heheheh.

Btw. Anyone play any Playfish games here? =D

missyrainy
27-03-2010, 11:32 AM
Hahaha, I play Playfish games in Facebook, especially the Pets Society. LOL. What Playfish games do you play?

Glassylicious
27-03-2010, 07:00 PM
I kinda quit Pet Society. Got a bit bored of needing to visit friends again and again just to earn money to buy stuff. Was halfway through building/decorating a house but gave up; I needed way too much money to furnish it the way I wanted. T_T

Now playing Gangster City, Restaurant City [starting to tire of it though], Country Story and Hotel City [their latest game].

Do you play any of the other games?

missyrainy
27-03-2010, 09:13 PM
oh? They have hotel city? that's kinda cool ! haha. I should try it out later XD

Glassylicious
17-04-2010, 04:10 PM
By the way, I have a question for Glassy. How different is British Law from Malaysian and how much adaptation is needed when UK graduate practice in Malaysia?

*horrified look*

Oh my god. I have no idea how I managed to miss this. I am so so so sorry.

To make up for it I'll send you plenty of gifts in RC and HC. T_T Promise!

Well, the Malaysian legal system takes after its British counterpart [common law system] and in Malaysian courts we do cite some British cases [though Malaysian cases are preferable] in making an argument. Some differences would be that the UK has some newer statutes which have been implemented since our independence; I'm not sure if we have certain Acts like the Unfair Contract Terms Act that controls what kind of liability-excluding clauses you can have in a contract.

There's definitely a bit of adaptation necessary; you need to know which of those UK statutes don't exist in Malaysia, hence, which laws operate in the UK and which don't exist here. I guess that's what the CLP is for.

ayja
17-04-2010, 04:58 PM
A rather random question, but does anybody know where I can buy Reese's Peanut Butter Cups in Malaysia?

Cold Storage?

alter_ego
17-04-2010, 07:31 PM
hi sis.i've read a lot of ur posts and found it very inspiring.
well, i just want to ask how do u overcome ur own stress?did u have someone as a source of inspiration?

Glassylicious
17-04-2010, 07:46 PM
Cold Storage?

Hmm, I will check Cold Storage the next time I am in KL. For now, however, it appears that there is a shop in 1Utama that sells the peanut butter goodies AND they also have Jelly Belly beans!

hi sis.i've read a lot of ur posts and found it very inspiring.
well, i just want to ask how do u overcome ur own stress?did u have someone as a source of inspiration?

Thank you for your kind words. =)

Yeah, I do get placed in highly stressful situations quite often during term time as the deadlines I am given are usually very tight for the amount of work I have to do, and it does feel overwhelming at times. However, I find that a few methods work pretty well for me.

- The "I'm going to get it done and over with" mentality. This involves dealing head-on with the source of the problem. I am stressed because of a deadline. Thus, if I complete the assignment as soon as possible, I will cease to become stressed. So I focus completely on eliminating the problem [e.g. write out the essay]. And I usually promise myself a little break after completing every essay/tutorial, so if I have something to look forward to, I am more motivated to deal with the problem.

- The "work hard play hard" mentality. Work time is serious work time. Downtime is complete downtime. You need a bit of time to take your mind off work too, so go out for a dinner every once in a while with some friends. Laugh. Catch up on gossip. Have fun. Or at the end of every day, spend one hour before bedtime doing things you like [e.g. reading, watching an episode of a TV series, etc] to help you wind down your nerves in time for bed.

I don't really have a particular figure per se as a source of inspiration, but when I look around myself and see the people around me fighting the same battles, I convince myself that I can do the same and survive too. =) It's all in the mind and the positive thinking. Good luck!

alter_ego
17-04-2010, 07:54 PM
again,u inspired me.thanks sis.
now i got more strength to overcome the obstacles that always come one after another in my life. :)

Glassylicious
17-04-2010, 08:13 PM
You're very welcome. =) If you ever feel like you're having a stress attack or just need someone to talk to, you can always PM me.

ayja
17-04-2010, 08:37 PM
Hmm, I will check Cold Storage the next time I am in KL. For now, however, it appears that there is a shop in 1Utama that sells the peanut butter goodies AND they also have Jelly Belly beans!

Lol! Yeah the shop is called Cocoa Trees. They have Haribo (!) etc..but remember to check the expiry date of the products.. There's a cold storage in one utama too, so it's practically a one-stop mall lol. If you drop by Mid Valley there's a Cocoa Trees there, as well as a Cold Storage in the Gardens =D

Btw Jelly Bellys? I cannot fathom why they would manufacture coconut-flavoured jelly beans :notrust

Glassylicious
18-04-2010, 10:02 AM
Lol! Yeah the shop is called Cocoa Trees. They have Haribo (!) etc..but remember to check the expiry date of the products.. There's a cold storage in one utama too, so it's practically a one-stop mall lol. If you drop by Mid Valley there's a Cocoa Trees there, as well as a Cold Storage in the Gardens =D

Btw Jelly Bellys? I cannot fathom why they would manufacture coconut-flavoured jelly beans :notrust

Oooh, Cocoa Trees! Yeah, I definitely remember seeing it in The Gardens. If it's in Midvalley then it's probably in that connecting walkway towards The Gardens [pretty sure it's technically in The Gardens though I could still be wrong!].

Thanks for the lovely tip, I will keep a lookout for the expiry dates.

Not a fan of coconut, eh? On a side note, I do think that Jelly Belly does their other flavours pretty well. I am a huge fan of their plum-flavoured ones [the deep blue ones with white specks on! =D] and my sister is crazy over their "buttered popcorn" flavour.

I am now craving Jelly Belly again! *digs into her jar*

P.S. Fun fact: There are 210 kcal in two regular sized peanut-butter cups. T_T

ayja
18-04-2010, 04:50 PM
Oooh, Cocoa Trees! Yeah, I definitely remember seeing it in The Gardens. If it's in Midvalley then it's probably in that connecting walkway towards The Gardens [pretty sure it's technically in The Gardens though I could still be wrong!].

Thanks for the lovely tip, I will keep a lookout for the expiry dates.

Not a fan of coconut, eh? On a side note, I do think that Jelly Belly does their other flavours pretty well. I am a huge fan of their plum-flavoured ones [the deep blue ones with white specks on! =D] and my sister is crazy over their "buttered popcorn" flavour.

I am now craving Jelly Belly again! *digs into her jar*

P.S. Fun fact: There are 210 kcal in two regular sized peanut-butter cups. T_T

Haha my bad. Got lazy. Yes it's in that walkway connecting MV with the Gardens. They have Flake there too *yums*

Really? I've never come across plum flavoured ones. Sure can't beat the good ol' malaysian plum candies.. the individually wrapped in purple by Trebor =D haven't had that in ages =(

I like the tutti frutti flavour!

manglish_lysia
02-05-2010, 12:10 AM
I really wish to ask Glassy:

What do you study law?

02-05-2010, 01:25 AM
Hello, Glassy! What is your favorite type of coffee? :laugh

kaze
02-05-2010, 01:58 AM
Glassy already answered this question if you read through previous pages.

I currently like cappuccinos and mochas, and sometimes a latte if I don't feel like being awake at 3AM in the morning.

P.S. Mocha with dark cherry syrup is to die for!!

Here, I just quoted so that you don't have to read through the thread.

02-05-2010, 01:59 AM
Glassy already answered this question if you read through previous pages.

Here, I just quoted so that you don't have to read through the thread.

Actually i read that. But i want to know her current favorite type of coffee. It might change, you know. :laugh

kaze
02-05-2010, 02:24 AM
:laugh LOL. Well, that's true.

music_freak28
02-05-2010, 02:31 AM
hey, which do you prefer more: singing or dancing? (lol randomness):P

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 02:38 AM
I really wish to ask Glassy:

What do you study law?

Do you mean what do I study in Law, or why do I study law? =P

hey, which do you prefer more: singing or dancing? (lol randomness):P

That's a tough one actually. I'd say dancing, because I can't sing that well.

Fun fact: I burst into a random dance when I think nobody's looking!

02-05-2010, 03:13 AM
Do you practice yoga or maybe tai chi? What is your favorite sports and what is your current favorite type of coffee? :P

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 03:20 AM
Do you practice yoga or maybe tai chi? What is your favorite sports and what is your current favorite type of coffee? :P

I don't do yoga or taichi, but I probably should, considering how badly stress can get to me sometimes. x_x

I don't play any sports, though I would love to go back to swimming again... I know not exercising is bad for the health, but I'm already having difficulties finding time to sleep as it is...

My current favourite type of coffee...caramel flavoured cappuccino! =D

02-05-2010, 09:58 AM
Fun fact: I burst into a random dance when I think nobody's looking!Hides a camera in Glassy's room when she is not looking :P

manglish_lysia
02-05-2010, 12:36 PM
Do you mean what do I study in Law, or why do I study law? =P

Sorry! Typo error! :P

Why do Glassy study law?

02-05-2010, 02:15 PM
How's your Workhell Festival coming on? :P

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 02:45 PM
How's your Workhell Festival coming on? :P

It finished yesterday actually, I had that one test [could have done a bit better, but we'll see how it goes T_T] but now it's over. I'm back to my normal routine now, which isn't carefree by any stretch of imagination, but at least I don't have the additional stress of worrying about tests on top of my usual workload. =D

Sorry! Typo error! :P

Why do Glassy study law?

Well, this may sound horribly cliched, but I just wanted to learn what the law is. XD I found it fascinating how the law manages to find its way into every nook and cranny of our lives...did you know that buying a bus ticket forms a valid contract between you and the bus company? Or that you could potentially be liable to trespassers who get injured on your land [subject to fulfilling a few statutory conditions]?

Also, I figured that getting paid to tell people that they're wrong would rank 10/10 in terms of job satisfaction. >_>

Hides a camera in Glassy's room when she is not looking :P

EVIL!

02-05-2010, 02:51 PM
Hides a camera in Glassy's room when she is not looking :P

EVIL!

Just blame See Hua's hormone(testosterone). :P

02-05-2010, 02:53 PM
It finished yesterday actually, I had that one test [could have done a bit better, but we'll see how it goes T_T] but now it's over. I'm back to my normal routine now, which isn't carefree by any stretch of imagination, but at least I don't have the additional stress of worrying about tests on top of my usual workload. =D

Well, this may sound horribly cliched, but I just wanted to learn what the law is. XD I found it fascinating how the law manages to find its way into every nook and cranny of our lives...did you know that buying a bus ticket forms a valid contract between you and the bus company? Or that you could potentially be liable to trespassers who get injured on your land [subject to fulfilling a few statutory conditions]?

Also, I figured that getting paid to tell people that they're wrong would rank 10/10 in terms of job satisfaction. >_>

Hahaha! Hmmm...I don't know but do you think in a profession such as law, it's easy to get disillusioned once you start working? (*have been reading too many storybooks)

Just blame See Hua's hormone(testosterone). :P

Well, at least Seehua won't be mentally murdering you for getting his type of hormones wrong... :laugh

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 02:53 PM
Hahaha! Hmmm...I don't know but do you think in a profession such as law, it's easy to get disillusioned once you start working? (*have been reading too many storybooks)

That's a very interesting point. Do you mind elaborating a little more on what you had in mind when you said "disillusioned" though? Because it's pretty abstract and I'm not sure how to best address it. XD

02-05-2010, 02:58 PM
Well, at least Seehua won't be mentally murdering you for getting his type of hormones wrong... :laugh

Did I got it wrong? :oh

Glassy, you worked in any law firm before? If yes, how was it?

02-05-2010, 03:12 PM
That's a very interesting point. Do you mind elaborating a little more on what you had in mind when you said "disillusioned" though? Because it's pretty abstract and I'm not sure how to best address it. XD

Hmmm...well, actually...how do I describe it?...I'm not all that good at coherent elaboration but I'll do my best.

I'm not sure what type of law you're studying... so let's assume you are studying criminal law...

Scenario#1 : you're on the prosecution side
Of course, your job would be to put those guilty away, but a conviction depends on the ability of the defense counsel to somehow to get the charges lessened or somehow get his/her clients scot-free. Basically, the defense, (putting aside whether or not he's/she's guilty) could get away if they hired a lawyer who, for the right price, could somehow handle the case such that the verdict is favourable to the client. As the prosecutor, surely you'll get disillusioned by the fact that sometimes justice is not always carried out.

Scenario#2: As a defense lawyer
Well, definitely you'll get clients who are not all that innocent. You know it but your job is to do your job and get them free. Then, the law would seem like a farce and justice is not really carried out (which, is the whole point of having laws in the first place)

I know this is a very general, sweeping and maybe inaccurate statement, but hopefully you get what I mean here.

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 03:38 PM
Did I got it wrong? :oh

Glassy, you worked in any law firm before? If yes, how was it?

Yes, I have. Did a month-long internship in a firm in KL. It was an eye-opening experience actually. There is so much more paperwork involved than just going to court, which is perfect for me, because I don't like going to court [or doing any litigation work], ironically enough. I'm quite happy dealing with the client-side of things in the office.

Hmmm...well, actually...how do I describe it?...I'm not all that good at coherent elaboration but I'll do my best.

I'm not sure what type of law you're studying... so let's assume you are studying criminal law...

Scenario#1 : you're on the prosecution side
Of course, your job would be to put those guilty away, but a conviction depends on the ability of the defense counsel to somehow to get the charges lessened or somehow get his/her clients scot-free. Basically, the defense, (putting aside whether or not he's/she's guilty) could get away if they hired a lawyer who, for the right price, could somehow handle the case such that the verdict is favourable to the client. As the prosecutor, surely you'll get disillusioned by the fact that sometimes justice is not always carried out.

Scenario#2: As a defense lawyer
Well, definitely you'll get clients who are not all that innocent. You know it but your job is to do your job and get them free. Then, the law would seem like a farce and justice is not really carried out (which, is the whole point of having laws in the first place)

I know this is a very general, sweeping and maybe inaccurate statement, but hopefully you get what I mean here.

Aha, okay, I think I get what you mean now. Well, this entire issue hinges on one very flawed assumption: That the purpose of the law is to uphold justice.

It is not. XD

The law is not there to uphold justice. In fact, the law probably has very little to do with justice.

This is probably THE biggest law-related myth in existence.

Everyone has this impression that the law is there to give you your 'just desserts'. You break the law, you face the legal repercussions. I'd say that is a highly inaccurate way of describing the law, because more than anything, the law is really just a tool maintaining social order. A lot of [i]policy reasons are taken into account when the judges decide on the verdict; it's not so much a matter of who is at fault, they tend to look at the bigger picture at how a decision might impact society.

Let me give you a few examples. I can cite several cases where the defendant wasn't really at fault [e.g. a manufacturer of clothing with only a 0.00001% of getting traces of sulphur left in the clothing, which caused the purchaser of that particular garment to come down with a nasty rash] but the courts maintained a VERY HIGH standard of care anyway, for the reason that the manufacturer has likely insured himself against claims like these.

Similarly, professionals tend to owe a higher duty of care to people since they are more likely to have been insured against claims like these, so they can fall back on the insurance. In cases like these, the cost is basically "spread around" and shared by the contributors of the insurance fund. [There is much discussion on the justification of cost-spreading via insurance but I shall leave out all the details.]

Vicarious liability: Employers can also be liable for the wrongs that their employees commit [even if it is sometimes done without knowledge of the employer!] because of the reasoning that:
a) The employee likely won't have enough money to pay off the claim [this is why most people who file lawsuits will try to rope the employer into paying, not the employee]
b) If you, the employer, are benefiting from the services of your employees and are thus profiting from the business because of it, you should also be liable for any losses caused by them.

So, as you can see, this is far from the Aesop's fable lesson that "you get what you deserve". You may not have been at fault, but policy reasons which are meant to maintain social order might make you liable.

To answer your bigger question, nickvl, I guess doing this law degree here has already made me "disillusioned", so maybe I won't have so much of a problem when I do start working. XD

02-05-2010, 03:49 PM
Yes, I have. Did a month-long internship in a firm in KL. It was an eye-opening experience actually. There is so much more paperwork involved than just going to court, which is perfect for me, because I don't like going to court [or doing any litigation work], ironically enough. I'm quite happy dealing with the client-side of things in the office.

Aha, okay, I think I get what you mean now. Well, this entire issue hinges on one very flawed assumption: That the purpose of the law is to uphold justice.

It is not. XD

The law is not there to uphold justice. In fact, the law probably has very little to do with justice.

Everyone has this impression that the law is there to give you your 'just desserts'. You break the law, you face the legal repercussions. I'd say that is a highly inaccurate way of describing the law, because more than anything, the law is really just a tool maintaining social order. A lot of [i]policy reasons are taken into account when the judges decide on the verdict; it's not so much a matter of who is at fault, they tend to look at the bigger picture at how a decision might impact society.

Let me give you a few examples. I can cite several cases where the defendant wasn't really at fault [e.g. a manufacturer of clothing with only a 0.00001% of getting traces of sulphur left in the clothing, which caused the purchaser of that particular garment to come down with a nasty rash] but the courts maintained a VERY HIGH standard of care anyway, for the reason that the manufacturer has likely insured himself against claims like these.

Similarly, professionals tend to owe a higher duty of care to people since they are more likely to have been insured against claims like these, so they can fall back on the insurance. In cases like these, the cost is basically "spread around" and shared by the contributors of the insurance fund. [There is much discussion on the justification of cost-spreading via insurance but I shall leave out all the details.]

Vicarious liability: Employers can also be liable for the wrongs that their employees commit [even if it is sometimes done without knowledge of the employer!] because of the reasoning that:
a) The employee likely won't have enough money to pay off the claim [this is why most people who file lawsuits will try to rope the employer into paying, not the employee]
b) If you, the employer, are benefiting from the services of your employees and are thus profiting from the business because of it, you should also be liable for any losses caused by them.

So, as you can see, this is far from the Aesop's fable lesson that "you get what you deserve". You may not have been at fault, but policy reasons which are meant to maintain social order might make you liable.

To answer your bigger question, nickvl, I guess doing this law degree here has already made me "disillusioned", so maybe I won't have so much of a problem when I do start working. XD

Ahh...

Thanks for the explanation!

I was just curious because I know someone who decided to study law due to some injustice experienced before...

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 03:55 PM
Ahh...

Thanks for the explanation!

I was just curious because I know someone who decided to study law due to some injustice experienced before...

Well, to tie in to your example of criminal prosecutions, to a certain extent it does boil down to who the better lawyer is, eh? That's partly why I'm interested in getting into the legal field. ;) The challenge perks me up.

[Of course, them silly judges and their silly policy reasons do have the final say!]

02-05-2010, 04:00 PM
Well, to tie in to your example of criminal prosecutions, to a certain extent it does boil down to who the better lawyer is, eh? That's partly why I'm interested in getting into the legal field. ;) The challenge perks me up.

[Of course, them silly judges and their silly policy reasons do have the final say!]

Yup, that's precisely what I'm trying to say, I guess.

By the way, what sort of law are you specialising in?

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 04:06 PM
Yup, that's precisely what I'm trying to say, I guess.

By the way, what sort of law are you specialising in?

I haven't quite decided yet to be honest. I spoke to a lawyer about specialization issues a while back and she said there's no rush; most lawyers only pick a field to specialize in after about a few years into the job.

But so far I'm looking at defamation [this is very fun, and very easy money I heard], law of trusts, and a bit of the tort of negligence stuff [liability for premises, vicarious liability, etc]. Contract law is where the big bucks are supposedly at, but to be honest I'm not very arsed about it, so we'll see how that goes.

02-05-2010, 04:21 PM
I see.

And what's the difference between a barrister, soliciter and a lawyer? And a Queen's Counsel?

I've once read about it but couldn't really understand it so I'm hoping you could in simple laymen terms...

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 04:35 PM
I see.

And what's the difference between a barrister, soliciter and a lawyer? And a Queen's Counsel?

I've once read about it but couldn't really understand it so I'm hoping you could in simple laymen terms...

Okay, firstly, I need to clarify something. The system in the UK differs quite a bit from the system in Malaysia. In Malaysia, lawyers do the job of both the barristers and solicitors [unified profession], while in the UK you are either a barrister or a solicitor.

Barrister: You go to court and argue the case in front of the judge. So you prepare all the submissions and stuff.

Solicitor: You deal with clients who come see you in your office and advise them in whatever legal issues that they are having. They might ask you to draft contracts/wills for them, write letters, or ask for advice on a merging/acquisition of a company. If your client needs to go to court for something [filing a lawsuit, etc], you advise them on what they need to do, and then contact a barrister to deal with the court issues from there on.

QC: QC's used to be counsel for the crown [representing the Queen in court, etc] but I think that went kaput centuries ago. Now it's just some post that you get appointed for, to recognize that you're an expert in your field [e.g. a very senior barrister].

Lawyer: Just a general term used for those practising law. You could be a barrister or solicitor.

02-05-2010, 05:26 PM
Solicitor: Someone who helps you solicit money. :P

markwongsk
02-05-2010, 05:34 PM

Although I understand the desire for some adrenaline rush, I was just wondering how you would deal with a situation where you know for sure the person you're defending is guilty, or worse still the person you're prosecuting is innocent. That's one reason I never considered law because I was afraid to deal with this, care to explain?

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 05:51 PM
Although I understand the desire for some adrenaline rush, I was just wondering how you would deal with a situation where you know for sure the person you're defending is guilty, or worse still the person you're prosecuting is innocent. That's one reason I never considered law because I was afraid to deal with this, care to explain?

The thing with establishing that someone is guilty is that there are usually MANY hoops that the prosecution has to jump through before they can nail someone down for being guilty of an offence [a simple criminal offence would require one to prove that the defendant's conduct committed the offence, that he intended to commit the offence, and that he cannot rely on any of the legally-recognized defences in existence]. So there's a lot to establish before somebody is actually "guilty". He may have done it, but if he didn't intend to do it [or was not reckless] then he's off the hook. And if I knew that my client would satisfy that all the hoops to nail him down as guilty, then I guess it's my job to try to get a lighter sentence.

I'm not particularly interested in criminal law, however, so I don't think I'll ever find myself in the position of needing to plead for a shorter jail sentence for some serial child rapist.

But the bigger problem is that often, the "guilty/not-guilty" issue is not as simplistic as what the novels/movies/anime make them out to be. In law, being at "fault" per se does not prima facie make you guilty, owing to the multitude of other policy reasons that come into play when the judges make their decision, and being "faultless" does not mean you will definitely escape liability, as I have already illustrated a few posts above. So even if I have to defend a "guilty" client [someone who is at fault], he may not actually be guilty in the eyes of the law.

P.S. On a side note, I get annoyed when people make derogatory comments about lawyers. The most famous one being: "Lawyers lie as their job." Well, somebody's got to do the job, when you find yourself needing one let's see you try to complain when they bail your ass out. >_>

markwongsk
02-05-2010, 05:58 PM
Yea I read your post before and was pretty impress by your explanation.

And yes, it is despicable for people to say such untrue words.

By guilty you mean the actus remus, means rea and whatever the other term is all have to be present right?

And gosh lawyers LOVE latin words :P

Glassylicious
02-05-2010, 06:06 PM
Yea I read your post before and was pretty impress by your explanation.

And yes, it is despicable for people to say such untrue words.

By guilty you mean the actus remus, means rea and whatever the other term is all have to be present right?

And gosh lawyers LOVE latin words :P

Yep. For criminal offences, you gotta establish the actus reus, mens rea and that the defendant cannot rely on any defences.

Civil wrongs like the tort of negligence, defamation, etc, are a completely different world though -- you need to establish different things instead. None of that actus reus/mens rea stuff.

P.S. Yes, I love my latin! T_T

manglish_lysia
03-05-2010, 12:30 AM

It is not. XD

Everyone has this impression that the law is there to give you your 'just desserts'. You break the law, you face the legal repercussions. I'd say that is a highly inaccurate way of describing the law, because more than anything, the law is really just a tool maintaining social order. A lot of [I]policy reasons are taken into account when the judges decide on the verdict; it's not so much a matter of who is at fault, they tend to look at the bigger picture at how a decision might impact society.

WOW! This is really awesome though I find myself lost in some point. But your post really brings me understand a lot about lawyers. I often read Jodi Picoult's books and a signature of her books is lawyer. Though I find it hard to understand sometimes, but it does brings some meaning to me now.

Lawyers are good with ENGLISH not only latin! ( my fren is taking law and she can make a simple sentence like "My cat is cute!!" to a 500 words essay!)

What Glassy found interesting and funny while studying law? I always had an impression of memorizing quotes and law books, which to me, not really interesting.

markwongsk
03-05-2010, 01:21 AM
500 words essay... was that one of her assignment or what haha

03-05-2010, 01:37 AM
Glassy, did you ever speak or write in manglish? You have got a really good command in english there. I wish I got a quarter of your level. :P

Glassylicious
03-05-2010, 01:51 AM
WOW! This is really awesome though I find myself lost in some point. But your post really brings me understand a lot about lawyers. I often read Jodi Picoult's books and a signature of her books is lawyer. Though I find it hard to understand sometimes, but it does brings some meaning to me now.

Lawyers are good with ENGLISH not only latin! ( my fren is taking law and she can make a simple sentence like "My cat is cute!!" to a 500 words essay!)

What Glassy found interesting and funny while studying law? I always had an impression of memorizing quotes and law books, which to me, not really interesting.

Thanks, I'm glad my post was of some help to you. ^_^

Well, as for your question on what I find interesting about law...it's really just the content of the law, and how the courts apply the law to cases. It's also interesting how other factors [policy reasons, etc] come into play and how the courts try to look at the "bigger picture" in making decisions, as opposed to merely deciding whether or not that particular party deserves compensation.

Glassy, did you ever speak or write in manglish? You have got a really good command in english there. I wish I got a quarter of your level. :P

Yes I do, actually. If you've noticed, occasionally some of my posts incorporate the "-lah", and other similar suffixes. =P

Also, I use Manglish slightly more often in web chats and daily conversations with Malaysians. I know some of you might find this hard to believe, but yes, I do lapse back to the "-loh"s and "-lahs" with Malaysians. XD

Reading, writing and speaking the language regularly will help in the long run. =) Over here, I usually hang out with the Brits who speak English as their first language, and the books and cases I have to read all employ a pretty advanced level of English, so I pick things up as I go along.

markwongsk
03-05-2010, 05:44 AM
There's an American here who's in our Malaysian students' organization... and he always purposely use -lah at the end of his sentences LOL

CelineD
03-05-2010, 01:31 PM
Hello=)

I've been reading this blog for quite some times and I really admire the way you structure your posts...I wonder if that's a skill that you picked up during studying law? Just wondering...by the way thanks for replying my question about Koku...really appreciate your insight=)

I'm going into form 6 this year, and switching stream to arts because I'm interested in going for a law degree, but chose form 6 because I'm personally not ready for the whole college/uni scene yet and need another year or so to mature:) Reading your posts as a law student...what made you choose law? (I'm sorry if I've asked something that has been asked tons of times before...) And does your interest in writing essays (like what you stated in my thread) have anything to do with it?

Glassylicious
03-05-2010, 02:49 PM
There's an American here who's in our Malaysian students' organization... and he always purposely use -lah at the end of his sentences LOL

I know an angmoh who went to an A level college [over here in the UK] that had way too many Malaysians, and she purposely uses the "-lah" suffix whenever she hangs out with us Malaysians. XD

Hello=)

I've been reading this blog for quite some times and I really admire the way you structure your posts...I wonder if that's a skill that you picked up during studying law? Just wondering...by the way thanks for replying my question about Koku...really appreciate your insight=)

I'm going into form 6 this year, and switching stream to arts because I'm interested in going for a law degree, but chose form 6 because I'm personally not ready for the whole college/uni scene yet and need another year or so to mature:) Reading your posts as a law student...what made you choose law? (I'm sorry if I've asked something that has been asked tons of times before...) And does your interest in writing essays (like what you stated in my thread) have anything to do with it?

Thank you for your kind words, CelineD!

Yes, doing my Law degree has probably helped me to improve my writing in more ways than one, though prior to university I had already been making posts of a similar 'essay-ish' nature. XD Over here, the tutors place a great deal of emphasis on having very well-structured essays/arguments, and they certainly weren't going to teach you how to do it, so I had to pick it up on my own. It can be a bit of a challenge deciding which point/sentence goes where in the "sequence" so as to maintain a smooth flow in the essay, and I often find myself cutting and pasting [or even just deleting] sentences here and there as I type the post out.

Try rereading your essay with a third person's perspective and gauge for yourself if the structure is helpful in conveying your point. Ask yourself if an outsider who stumbled upon your post would completely see the argument from your eyes. One thing that I found quite helpful in this regard is the fact that I proofread every post that I make twice -- once before hitting the "Submit Reply" button, and once right after submitting reply. It helps me weed out any grammatical mistakes that I might have missed and helps me revisit my post from a reader's perspective.

This reminds me. I still gotta finish that How to Write an Essay Guide that I promised Recom ages ago.

Anyhoos! With regards to your question about why I chose law, allow me to quote a post I made just yesterday in this topic. =)

I really like writing, but no, picking Law has nothing to do with the fact that I'll have to churn out copious amounts of essays on a weekly basis. I'm not all that fond of writing the essays that I have to do in my course to be honest.

It is great to have met someone else who is a prospective law student AND a fellow writing enthusiast! Hope you stick around Recom for a bit!

manglish_lysia
04-05-2010, 12:40 AM
500 words essay... was that one of her assignment or what haha

Nope, certainly not! We were chatting and I was stating that an official law agreement always have really long-wided sentence and really lengthy as well. A simple meaning can be writen out in a paragraph. And from there, she gives me an example of a sentence (My cat is cute!) and from there, to a 500 essay just about that.

@<hidden> Glassy:

Please do the thread on How to Write Essay! I believe that Glassy can teach all of us how to write out a well-structured essay! I seriously need a guide to improve my essay.

Maybe a thread on how to improve English too? I have huge major problem with English and learning from glassy will certainly be a pleasure!

markwongsk
04-05-2010, 04:50 AM
Nope, certainly not! We were chatting and I was stating that an official law agreement always have really long-wided sentence and really lengthy as well. A simple meaning can be writen out in a paragraph. And from there, she gives me an example of a sentence (My cat is cute!) and from there, to a 500 essay just about that.

@<hidden> Glassy:

Please do the thread on How to Write Essay! I believe that Glassy can teach all of us how to write out a well-structured essay! I seriously need a guide to improve my essay.

Maybe a thread on how to improve English too? I have huge major problem with English and learning from glassy will certainly be a pleasure!

I believe Glassy is already really occupied with her degree =) (read a few posts back about how she wished her loads of work were due to procrastination) Besides, this forum already has a thread on how to improve English. Of course, I'm not objecting that Glassy should share some of her skills, but I'm just saying not to keep your hopes to high xD

herm
04-05-2010, 01:27 PM
Glassy is definitely our role model. She has got extremely good motivation for each and everything she does,especially in pursuing what she wants in life. *salute

manglish_lysia
04-05-2010, 01:36 PM
I believe Glassy is already really occupied with her degree =) (read a few posts back about how she wished her loads of work were due to procrastination) Besides, this forum already has a thread on how to improve English. Of course, I'm not objecting that Glassy should share some of her skills, but I'm just saying not to keep your hopes to high xD

XD I guess there's still a slim hope and I'm definitely hoping for that to happen. *pray pray*

Glassy is definitely our role model. She has got extremely good motivation for each and everything she does,especially in pursuing what she wants in life. *salute

200% Agree!!

Glassylicious
04-05-2010, 03:11 PM

Thank you for your kind words! I do appreciate them very much. Feel free to contact me if you need more advice or someone to talk to. =)

XD I guess there's still a slim hope and I'm definitely hoping for that to happen. *pray pray*

Hahaha, actually, it's half done. I just need to get the other half completed and then I can post it up. Will try to find the time to do it, otherwise it will have to wait till the term is over. ;_; Really sorry about that guys!

04-05-2010, 03:19 PM
(I miss you coming to HOS and give all those strange comments. :cry )

What time of the day do you visit recom?

Glassylicious
04-05-2010, 03:25 PM
(I miss you coming to HOS and give all those strange comments. :cry )

What time of the day do you visit recom?

[[Your wish is my command!]]

Anyway, to answer your question, I usually check in frequently all day, except when I am working of course. So it's anytime from 7AM to midnight, UK time. XD Unpredictable, I know. Every few hours I'd pop in to look at any interesting new posts/topics, and have a quick glance through to make sure there aren't any spambots that have been having a field day in my absence. We mods are committed to keeping Recom spam-free! =D

04-05-2010, 03:40 PM
[[Your wish is my command!]]

Anyway, to answer your question, I usually check in frequently all day, except when I am working of course. So it's anytime from 7AM to midnight, UK time. XD Unpredictable, I know. Every few hours I'd pop in to look at any interesting new posts/topics, and have a quick glance through to make sure there aren't any spambots that have been having a field day in my absence. We mods are committed to keeping Recom spam-free! =D

Aww, what a dedicated mod! :laugh What is the time difference between Malaysia with Oxford?

04-05-2010, 03:43 PM
Aww, what a dedicated mod! :laugh What is the time difference between Malaysia with Oxford?

8 hours of difference i think. :)

kaiyi
04-05-2010, 04:40 PM
Malaysia time is 8 hours faster than UK, rite?(correct me if i am wrong)

Glassylicious
04-05-2010, 04:46 PM
Yep, all of you are generally correct. However, if Daylight Savings are on, the difference will be 7 hours since here in the UK we move the clocks an hour faster, which is the case at the moment.

04-05-2010, 06:42 PM
We already have TONS of threads on how to improve English:

How to improve English? - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6306)
let's improve our writing skills - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2293)
Common Errors In English - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=134)
English Language - ReCom.org (http://recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=33)
English Idioms for essay - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3381)
IELTS Preparation - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3164)
Helping The Poor While Learning Vocabulary (FreeRice) - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5960)
Learning By Mistakes (English Language) - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1511)
dilemma of speaking english - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7879)

Hope that helps. :)

markwongsk
04-05-2010, 09:20 PM

How to improve English? - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=6306)
let's improve our writing skills - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=2293)
Common Errors In English - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=134)
English Idioms for essay - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3381)
IELTS Preparation - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=3164)
Helping The Poor While Learning Vocabulary (FreeRice) - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5960)
Learning By Mistakes (English Language) - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=1511)
dilemma of speaking english - ReCom.org (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7879)

Apparently they are getting active once again =)

herm
04-05-2010, 09:25 PM
Glassy ,i guess you don't really know who am i:P i got to know u quite recently but hehe nvm :)):)):))

Zephyr
04-05-2010, 10:09 PM
Hey Glassy! I'm really a big fan of your posts on ReCom. I went to Oxford for travelling last Christmas and I absolutely fell in love with the city and its charm that it has got to offer! Oh yeah, I'm currently in my 2nd year in Edinburgh uni studying Biological Sciences (in fact this is my first year here as I was accepted to enroll as a direct-entry student into second year, as all degrees offered by the Scottish unis last for 4 years. By the way, the title of this thread reminds of this Bollywood talk show "Koffee with Karan" hehe...Well, you certainly can be in the same league as him if you are hosting a talk show in Malaysia... Maybe you will be Malaysia's Oprah Winfrey!!! LOL... Anyways, Hope I have the chance to meet you one day!!! Cheerio...

manglish_lysia
04-05-2010, 11:43 PM

thank you youngyew! That really helps a lot!

Glassylicious
05-05-2010, 01:40 AM
Glassy ,i guess you don't really know who am i:P i got to know u quite recently but hehe nvm :)):)):))

Yes, actually, I believe I know who you are, ZL. ;)

Hey Glassy! I'm really a big fan of your posts on ReCom. I went to Oxford for travelling last Christmas and I absolutely fell in love with the city and its charm that it has got to offer! Oh yeah, I'm currently in my 2nd year in Edinburgh uni studying Biological Sciences (in fact this is my first year here as I was accepted to enroll as a direct-entry student into second year, as all degrees offered by the Scottish unis last for 4 years. By the way, the title of this thread reminds of this Bollywood talk show "Koffee with Karan" hehe...Well, you certainly can be in the same league as him if you are hosting a talk show in Malaysia... Maybe you will be Malaysia's Oprah Winfrey!!! LOL... Anyways, Hope I have the chance to meet you one day!!! Cheerio...

Thank you so much for your kind compliments! Being the Malaysian Oprah Winfrey is a loooong stretch for someone like me, but the notion is admittedly rather flattering. XD

I hope you're finding life in Edinburgh good so far by the way!

05-05-2010, 03:45 AM
Thank you so much for your kind compliments! Being the Malaysian Oprah Winfrey is a loooong stretch for someone like me, but the notion is admittedly rather flattering. XDGlassy is just being modest. I am sure we'll have a "Coffee Break with Glassy" show on TV soon...

markwongsk
05-05-2010, 04:33 AM
Glassy is just being modest. I am sure we'll have a "Coffee Break with Glassy" show on TV soon...

Teh Tarik Break with Glassy xD

SapphireDragon
05-05-2010, 09:35 AM
Glassy, why does your avatar consist of 2 stick men holding hands under the sun? What does it represent?

Glassylicious
05-05-2010, 02:05 PM
Teh Tarik Break sounds really nice, actually. XD Though I personally still prefer coffee as a beverage!

P.S. Today is essay crisis day; guess I'll be binging on a fair amount of coffee tonight.

Glassy, why does your avatar consist of 2 stick men holding hands under the sun? What does it represent?

I wanted to make a happy avatar, so I decided on the theme "Friendship": Two friends walking hand-in-hand. =)

markwongsk
05-05-2010, 02:34 PM
Teh Tarik Break sounds really nice, actually. XD Though I personally still prefer coffee as a beverage!

P.S. Today is essay crisis day; guess I'll be binging on a fair amount of coffee tonight.

I wanted to make a happy avatar, so I decided on the theme "Friendship": Two friends walking hand-in-hand. =)

Tell me about it, I've a paper due in 12 hours... and I've just started editing it =(
My English = fail haha

manglish_lysia
06-05-2010, 06:33 PM
Why Glassy call yourself Glassylicious? *curios*

p.s It is actually a really nice user name. It sounds classy!

06-05-2010, 06:39 PM
Classy? I like to call her misty.(sounds old. :laugh) But I'm curious why she call herself glassylicious too.

CelineD
06-05-2010, 09:47 PM

I'll be the third person to second that question...and is it ok Glassy if we (I included and meaning to ask)add you on FB? (I always ask before I add people...)

Then...
I really like writing, but no, picking Law has nothing to do with the fact that I'll have to churn out copious amounts of essays on a weekly basis. I'm not all that fond of writing the essays that I have to do in my course to be honest.

It is great to have met someone else who is a prospective law student AND a fellow writing enthusiast! Hope you stick around Recom for a bit!

...can ask you law and essay stuff! Hehe...hope you don't mind my question. Just asking.:amuse

06-05-2010, 09:49 PM
I'll be the third person to second that question...and is it ok Glassy if we (I included and meaning to ask)add you on FB? (I always ask before I add people...)

Make that the fourth... :P
I'm curious too

herm
06-05-2010, 09:56 PM
Glass is delicious?!

Glassylicious
14-05-2010, 07:34 PM

Then...

...can ask you law and essay stuff! Hehe...hope you don't mind my question. Just asking.:amuse

Whoops, so sorry for not replying, for some reason, this got bumped off the Recom portal list so I didn't see the new posts until a week later. T_T

Well, I used to go by the username of glasscharm, then most people shortened it to Glassy [which is what most people call me anyway] and I decided Glassylicious would be an interesting twist since Glassy tends to be a tad short and usually already taken when I register for stuff.

CelineD, feel free to add me in FB, but it'd be great if you could specify that you're a Recomer in the request. XD

Kemai
14-05-2010, 07:54 PM
Haha I really envy you glassy. :D

Glassylicious
14-05-2010, 08:10 PM
Haha I really envy you glassy. :D

There is not much to be envious about to be honest! XD

15-05-2010, 02:33 PM
Just the fact that you're studying law in Oxford is enough to make people envious. :P

I want to go overseas to study, too... :(

*In the middle of application for postgraduate studies in the US* :P

Young
15-05-2010, 02:54 PM
Just the fact that you're studying law in Oxford is enough to make people envious. :P

I want to go overseas to study, too... :(

*In the middle of application for postgraduate studies in the US* :P

Haha! Being able to study overseas is a privilege in its own right... But to walk through the doors of an institution like Oxford; pretty enviable if you ask me. :amuse

Where will you be applying, Henry? With credentials like yours, I'm sure you'll go far. :)

manglish_lysia
15-05-2010, 05:56 PM
Whoops, so sorry for not replying, for some reason, this got bumped off the Recom portal list so I didn't see the new posts until a week later. T_T

Well, I used to go by the username of glasscharm, then most people shortened it to Glassy [which is what most people call me anyway] and I decided Glassylicious would be an interesting twist since Glassy tends to be a tad short and usually already taken when I register for stuff.

CelineD, feel free to add me in FB, but it'd be great if you could specify that you're a Recomer in the request. XD

I never met anyone so far studying in Oxford. For Glassy to be there, it is certainly a very admirable one.

CelineD
16-05-2010, 04:07 PM

Glassy is a common nickname? Didn't think it was...Anyway your nick is pretty unique!=)

And yes, I've added you an FB and I did mention that I'm CelineD fron Recom=)

Lil_live
16-05-2010, 10:25 PM
Glassy! The chances of getting into Oxford to study Econs and Management is very low. How many Malaysians are there in Oxford currently studying this course? It feels discouraging to apply when people that I know keep teling me, "It's the hardest course to get in oxford".

Is it true comparing to Cambridge and Oxford, Oxford takes in less Malaysians annually? Or is it becos that there are fewer ppl applying to Oxford which is why the admission rate are low?

Glassylicious
16-05-2010, 10:35 PM
Glassy! The chances of getting into Oxford to study Econs and Management is very low. How many Malaysians are there in Oxford currently studying this course? It feels discouraging to apply when people that I know keep teling me, "It's the hardest course to get in oxford".

Is it true comparing to Cambridge and Oxford, Oxford takes in less Malaysians annually? Or is it becos that there are fewer ppl applying to Oxford which is why the admission rate are low?

I know of at least one Malaysian doing E&M and it's not really that difficult. Also, they're wrong when they say that "it's the hardest course to get in Oxford". The hardest course from the admissions point of view is either Medicine [only 7 places university-wide for international students] or EEM [Engineering, Econs & Management] where they take in less than 10 students per year just because it's such a difficult course.

Yes, Oxford takes in fewer Malaysians annually compared to Cambridge, but that's probably because more people apply to Cambridge [perceived to be slightly stronger in the sciences].

alter_ego
29-08-2010, 06:46 AM
Hey Glassy, your new avatar looks so nice. =))

Glassylicious
29-08-2010, 11:54 AM
Hey Glassy, your new avatar looks so nice. =))

Thanks for the lovely compliments, alter_ego. ^_^

30-08-2010, 08:56 AM
Yeah, seriously nice. What inspired it?

I don't think it matches with your "Iron Fist", though, or are you trying to portray that you're this gentle, tranquil, peace-seeking individual with a tough demeanour inside? :oh

Hmmm... "Coffee with Glassy", "Everyone loves youngyew".... Can't I have something like "Join in the fun with henry_yew"? :P

Glassylicious
30-08-2010, 09:12 AM
Yeah, seriously nice. What inspired it?

I don't think it matches with your "Iron Fist", though, or are you trying to portray that you're this gentle, tranquil, peace-seeking individual with a tough demeanour inside? :oh

Hmmm... "Coffee with Glassy", "Everyone loves youngyew".... Can't I have something like "Join in the fun with henry_yew"? :P

1. The Iron Fist strikes the unsuspecting. ;)

2. "Join in the fun with henry_yew" sounds really, really dodgy. Living up to your "big" name? :laugh

30-08-2010, 09:24 AM
2. "Join in the fun with henry_yew" sounds really, really dodgy. Living up to your "big" name? :laugh

Dodgy, eh? You're thinking too much, Glassy! :laugh

Maybe we can rename it to "Know the Big Henry" if I become a moderator. *Thinks for a while* Nah... colourful words don't interest me...

P/S: At least I didn't go "Wanna know how big Henry is?" I think that's super dodgy.

ayja
30-08-2010, 11:50 AM

Maybe we can rename it to "Know the Big Henry" if I become a moderator. *Thinks for a while* Nah... colourful words don't interest me...

P/S: At least I didn't go "Wanna know how big Henry is?" I think that's super dodgy.

Sew with henry_yew..

Meet the new henry_yew...

Polyandry with Henry

(no offense, btw, I just like making words rhyme, save for the first one) :D

30-08-2010, 07:59 PM

That's really dodgy....

31-08-2010, 12:45 AM

Go eww when you see Henry_yew? *shot*

08-12-2010, 09:17 PM
Glassy ah Glassy... now that you have been promoted to "black and bold", what is the first thing that you're gonna do? :amuse

Glassylicious
08-12-2010, 09:30 PM
Glassy ah Glassy... now that you have been promoted to "black and bold", what is the first thing that you're gonna do? :amuse

Launch a coup over the HoS and gain control over it. WHO'S WITH ME.

08-12-2010, 09:31 PM
*sticks to Glassy*

08-12-2010, 10:20 PM
I'll be Chansellor Palpatine :P

08-12-2010, 10:21 PM
Just because the high priest is not posting anything doesn't mean that yours truly is not watching your every move.

Glassylicious
08-12-2010, 10:26 PM
Just because the high priest is not posting anything doesn't mean that yours truly is not watching your every move.

High Priest, you KNOW you want to endorse our cause! :wink We'll make you High Priest of the HoS if we succeed. How's that?

08-12-2010, 10:33 PM
High Priest, you KNOW you want to endorse our cause! :wink We'll make you High Priest of the HoS if we succeed. How's that?
It seems Glassy is testing her new Mind Trick powers on the High Priest himself.

Youngyew says: I know I want to endorse your cause

Oh, it worked!

08-12-2010, 10:34 PM
Student is here to welcome The Iron Fist to help out on the administrative documents in ReCom Office. XD

Kapitan o'Wiki < Nice name. HEHEHE. FB Like!

09-12-2010, 02:42 AM
Hahaha, then am I supposed to be the last line of the Rebellion?

Glassylicious
09-12-2010, 02:48 AM
Hahaha, then am I supposed to be the last line of the Rebellion?

You could take the front line if you're joining our cause! :))

ApriliaGuy
12-02-2012, 11:59 AM
I like this topic.

Glassylicious
14-02-2012, 01:33 PM
HOI. Very sneakily done, ApriliaGuy.

14-02-2012, 02:45 PM
Hmmm... who wouldn't like this topic? Let's REVIVE it! :nuts

There isn't juicy stuff here that you don't want people to know, right Glassy?

14-02-2012, 10:50 PM
Revival of the House of Spam. Theme: Digging up dirt.

15-02-2012, 07:26 AM
Ah, looks like someone has skeletons in her closet... ;-)

ApriliaGuy
17-02-2012, 03:24 PM
I agree with revival of this thread!

bush
17-02-2012, 05:32 PM
Picture or you're not real.....

ApriliaGuy
18-02-2012, 12:05 AM
Pics or you don't exist!

18-02-2012, 01:27 AM
Pics or you don't exist!

I'm Henry Yew and I approve this request. :nuts

johnconnor
15-05-2012, 03:28 PM
So... Will there be a picture or not?

Glassylicious
15-05-2012, 03:48 PM
Argh! What have the users started in my absence... T_T

15-05-2012, 10:24 PM
A virtual mutiny... heheehehe....

Nicholas92
15-05-2012, 10:58 PM
We're a democracy. And I believe the people have spoken.