View Full Version : Help: JPA Engineering
hehechicken
21-03-2010, 11:44 AM
Hello there,
Any idea which kind of engineering courses JPA offers?
Since there are so many engineering courses available but during the online application the choice in the list was only "kejuruteraan".
Or shortlisted candidates are allowed to pick any engineering to study?
21-03-2010, 12:02 PM
Hello there,
Since there are so many engineering courses available but during the online application the choice in the list was only "kejuruteraan".
Yes, once you have been offered the scholarship, you can just choose any kind of engineering i think. :)
21-03-2010, 12:43 PM
Hello there,
If you got JPA scholarship, you will study A-levels first before going overseas for the degree. (I'm talking about the overseas one) You can even decide when you are doing or after you finish A-levels. However, they might ask you about the type of engineering course you prefer during the interview. Correct me if i'm wrong. :)
02-04-2010, 03:06 PM
Hello there,
Many, like mechanical, electrical, chemical, petroleum, aeronautic, and so on. As for civil, for some preparatory college JPA doesn't allow, but ironically other college JPA allows, it depends.
Of course scholars can choose any field to study as long as it is approved by JPA.
If you got JPA scholarship, you will study A-levels first before going overseas for the degree. (I'm talking about the overseas one) You can even decide when you are doing or after you finish A-levels. However, they might ask you about the type of engineering course you prefer during the interview. Correct me if i'm wrong. :)
You are wrong here. :P It is not necessary for scholars to study A-Levels for engineering, I am a good example here. :amuse Which preparatory program depends which country you are heading to. Australia and New Zealand- Australian Matriculation (AUSMAT), US- (American Degree Foundation Program (ADFP), UK (A-Level), Canada (what Canada program, not sure though).
And I don't understand this:
You can even decide when you are doing or after you finish A-levels.
What do you mean?
02-04-2010, 04:44 PM
You are wrong here. :P It is not necessary for scholars to study A-Levels for engineering, I am a good example here. :amuse Which preparatory program depends which country you are heading to. Australia and New Zealand- Australian Matriculation (AUSMAT), US- (American Degree Foundation Program (ADFP), UK (A-Level), Canada (what Canada program, not sure though).
And I don't understand this:
You can even decide when you are doing or after you finish A-levels.
What do you mean?
I meant to say people can decide which branch of engineering they want to do when/right after they do their A-levels and A-level is just an example. The other pre-u depends on the country you will be sent by JPA just as what you mentioned.
For Canada, the pre-u is called International Canadian Pre-University (ICPU). Sorry for not making it clearer and thanks for clearing that for me. >.<
radio_active91
02-04-2010, 04:58 PM
If you're going to UK, most likely JPA will send you to do International Baccalaureate in Kolej MARA Banting. I don't think JPA send students to do A-levels if they want to send their scholars to UK. In fact, UK-bound engineering students are all in Kolej MARA Banting, taking IB.
You can go almost anywhere using IB. Ireland, Czech, India, New Zealand, Australia, Canada, etc. I'm not sure about US though. JPA most likely will send you to INTEC to do ADFP if you want to go to US.
Source: I have many many friends in preparatory colleges. Me myself is in Kolej MARA Banting, though I'm under MARA.
Moraish
02-04-2010, 07:10 PM
hi! i would like to ask u guys about German Engineering? how many people are offered this scholarship each year and what are the chances of someone getting it? is it one of those popular courses like medicine or dentistry? I'm really curious because not many people talk about German Engineering. Any help from anyone would be very much appreciated!! Thanks!!! :)
02-04-2010, 08:41 PM
hi! i would like to ask u guys about German Engineering? how many people are offered this scholarship each year and what are the chances of someone getting it? is it one of those popular courses like medicine or dentistry? I'm really curious because not many people talk about German Engineering. Any help from anyone would be very much appreciated!! Thanks!!! :)
slightly more thn 50 people. quite high compared to medicine and Engineering course. Maybe because there isn't many people who got JPA German Engineering scholarship around there. I can say that this course and the JPA France Engineering are quite interesting as u r able to learn an extra language.
02-04-2010, 11:20 PM
I don't know if this is a proper question to ask, so do ignore me if I'm repeating. But does anyone know how many candidates are shortlisted for JPA Germany's Engineering interview?
Moraish
03-04-2010, 12:31 AM
thnx Boyz_Zoo! are u a France engineering JPA scholar? i'm assuming so.. if yes do tell about ur interview experience..thnx!
iyouweblog
03-04-2010, 01:47 AM
yupz germany engineering seems very popular this year... most/ all of my friends who are interested in engineering choose germany... quite worry i can't secure a place for myself....
i choose "kejuruteraan" in jpa application not "kejuruteraan german", so can i change this on that interview day?
03-04-2010, 03:20 PM
I don't know if this is a proper question to ask, so do ignore me if I'm repeating. But does anyone know how many candidates are shortlisted for JPA Germany's Engineering interview?
tat's something that many people dun knw.
thnx Boyz_Zoo! are u a France engineering JPA scholar? i'm assuming so.. if yes do tell about ur interview experience..thnx!
yes, i am but i was JPA Engineering applicant. I applied for JPA Engineering and got France Engineering instead.
They asked us (the group) to do intro and why v wan to study overseas instead at Malaysia.
I talked myself and then i sad i wanted to "melancong sambil belajar" cause I nvr 2 overseas and thn I talked about my preferred country and the reasons in my intro. Try to be more creative and put in things tat happening around the world. For example, i said that i wan 2 go Australia cause the currency last year against Malaysia was quite low, so JPA will be spending less money on sending me overseas.
after tat, they say some questions like they ask me y not german cause they r also environmental loving country? (cause i said Australia is tat as they started the earth hour) then, i replied, bla bla
and lastly got a discussion topic, do u think our education system produces creative and innovative students?
yupz germany engineering seems very popular this year... most/ all of my friends who are interested in engineering choose germany... quite worry i can't secure a place for myself....
i choose "kejuruteraan" in jpa application not "kejuruteraan german", so can i change this on that interview day?
here is ur answer.
after the interview season and during rayuan season which is after the results are out. after the results r out, they would be more than happy to change you from medicine IF YOU ALREADY GET THE SCHOLAR. but if you didnt get the scholar, you can tell them that you are ready to change course during the rayuan process.
please read my reply about this ques.
http://recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=300407&postcount=435
sorry 4 bothering...i would like to ask...wat is d different between diploma kejuruteraan korea n kejuruteraan?? is korea 1 nid longer time to study??
04-04-2010, 04:48 PM
sorry 4 bothering...i would like to ask...wat is d different between diploma kejuruteraan korea n kejuruteraan?? is korea 1 nid longer time to study??
kejuruteraan means u will study at english speaking countries while the other 1 is 2 go 2 korea.
ttsheng
04-04-2010, 09:12 PM
actually, i hv something to ask. Is it important for us to understand all type of engineering? Will they ask you something general about engineering to see whether u understand engineering or not? Or they might just probably ask you about what type of engineering u prefer and the reasons u choose it.
phyzz_1107
04-04-2010, 10:47 PM
can somebody tell me about 'kejuruteraan jepun'?
im quite blur.....
the interview is this Tuesday....
05-04-2010, 08:50 PM
can somebody tell me about 'kejuruteraan jepun'?
im quite blur.....
the interview is this Tuesday....
u came 2 the wrong thread. the right one is http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8375
kenntan
12-04-2010, 04:20 PM
apply for german engineering .. it is the best......
13-04-2010, 01:34 AM
There's no "the best" and "the worst". If the courses offered in English-speaking countries is not good, JPA won't even bother to send students there. The education system in Germany and France is different from some (or most?) of the English-speaking country. So, you can't compare them and say germany engineering is the best and vice versa.
13-04-2010, 01:06 PM
u will nvr change. :lol
There's no "the best" and "the worst". If the courses offered in English-speaking countries is not good, JPA won't even bother to send students there. The education system in Germany and France is different from some (or most?) of the English-speaking country. So, you can't compare them and say germany engineering is the best and vice versa.
chill, he is jz tryin to promotin his own course. All the courses has its pros and cons and the main reason he is asking ur all 2 apply for it is because he is there. :lol
is there more competition for the general engineering??? how many students will be selected for this course??
22-04-2010, 01:12 AM
is there more competition for the general engineering??? how many students will be selected for this course??
There are indeed more competition for general engineering because they don't need to learn an extra language unlike Germany/France/Korea/Japan Engineering. Sorry I don't know how many students will be selected and JPA never reveals the real number for it. Anyway, good luck for JPa scholarship! :)
fokero
22-04-2010, 10:22 AM
There are indeed more competition for general engineering because they don't need to learn an extra language unlike Germany/France/Korea/Japan Engineering. Sorry I don't know how many students will be selected and JPA never reveals the real number for it. Anyway, good luck for JPa scholarship! :)
but, i've learnt french before at school, up until B1 level. I'm not even selected.:cry is it bcos of luck or what?
22-04-2010, 10:53 AM
but, i've learnt french before at school, up until B1 level. I'm not even selected.:cry is it bcos of luck or what?
U passed ur b1? dun wry, if u didn't get 1st batch, u might get the 2nd batch of france engineering. chill.
fokero
23-04-2010, 01:10 AM
U passed ur b1? dun wry, if u didn't get 1st batch, u might get the 2nd batch of france engineering. chill.
yupp :nod, & i even sat for B2 last year, but it was more difficult than i guess. so, didnt make it. eh, there is 2nd batch? really?
23-04-2010, 01:19 AM
yupp :nod, & i even sat for B2 last year, but it was more difficult than i guess. so, didnt make it. eh, there is 2nd batch? really?
Yes, it will be announced together with other courses. Good luck for it! :)
fokero
23-04-2010, 01:32 AM
Yes, it will be announced together with other courses. Good luck for it! :)
thanks .am feeling a little bit better now.:)
23-04-2010, 05:33 PM
yup, they will announced together withe other batch and you knw that v all hv 2 pass a minimum B1 to fly. i think you might get as u dun wry so much of passing it.
however, the b1 u sat in school is the junior. u hv 2 sit for the adult which is slightly hard but i think you can do it since you hv quite wide knowledge in french.
Bonne Chance!!!
fokero
23-04-2010, 09:52 PM
yup, they will announced together withe other batch and you knw that v all hv 2 pass a minimum B1 to fly. i think you might get as u dun wry so much of passing it.
however, the b1 u sat in school is the junior. u hv 2 sit for the adult which is slightly hard but i think you can do it since you hv quite wide knowledge in french.
Bonne Chance!!!
whoaa, delf also has B1 for adult? hd never heard of it before, btw, its ady hard actually for b1, i'm lucky enough to pass it. :laugh
btw, boyz_zoo, where r u now?ady in France or still in m'sia, doing preparation?
merci beaucoup, je suis tres content :)
24-04-2010, 12:45 AM
whoaa, delf also has B1 for adult? hd never heard of it before, btw, its ady hard actually for b1, i'm lucky enough to pass it. :laugh
btw, boyz_zoo, where r u now?ady in France or still in m'sia, doing preparation?
merci beaucoup, je suis tres content :)
je ne vais pas encore en france. j'etudie au mfi, c'est malaysia france institute.
if u r chosen for the 2nd batch means u will be seeing me at MFI this july. anyway, gud luck.
bimbo
25-04-2010, 09:02 PM
Heyyy!! can i ask sumfin..
i heard dat some already received calls from jpa for usa enginnering..
i've applied for general engineering but chose us as da country...so does dis mean dis jpa scholarship is over 4 me? huhuhuuhuhu......
baby92
26-04-2010, 12:34 AM
je ne vais pas encore en france. j'etudie au mfi, c'est malaysia france institute.
if u r chosen for the 2nd batch means u will be seeing me at MFI this july. anyway, gud luck.
waa. knowing that u guys know french language really amaze me. :amuse btw, can we change our course after we get chosen? exmple, if b4 we said taht we want mechanical engneering, is there any possibilities if we want to change it to other course of engineering?
i've applied for general engineering but chose us as da country...so does dis mean dis jpa scholarship is over 4 me? huhuhuuhuhu......
hey ....the US prog. that is out is only the vanderbilt one...there are hundreds of jpa seats later when all other scholarships are announced under jpa....orait...so dun worry too much...:):laugh:P
26-04-2010, 01:15 AM
waa. knowing that u guys know french language really amaze me. :amuse btw, can we change our course after we get chosen? exmple, if b4 we said taht we want mechanical engneering, is there any possibilities if we want to change it to other course of engineering?
You can take your time to decide what course you want to pursue while you are doing your pre-u, which means you have another year or two to decide before finalizing the course of your choice. (for the second batch) So, make your choice wisely. :)
bimbo
26-04-2010, 01:26 PM
hey ....the US prog. that is out is only the vanderbilt one...there are hundreds of jpa seats later when all other scholarships are announced under jpa....orait...so dun worry too much...:):laugh:P
Haha..orite thanx..just waiting 4 da result...hehehe..
yup...me too...where u from?? what u gt for spm??..just wonderin...i applied for the same course too...:)):laugh
26-04-2010, 08:38 PM
that is a special course which very few will get. dun wry, the engineering course scholars hvn't fully selected. u can still stand a chance.
yup. cause pre-uni is general. In 2nd batch of pre france engineering, u hv 2 make a choice between chemistyr, electric, and mechanical starting frm the 2nd sem onwards.
but dun wry, from each choice, u can go into a lot of field of engineering when u go 2 france.
terencegreen
27-04-2010, 12:40 AM
hey guys.i have a question..if we got selected for jpa engineering[general].we w0uld do a-level or f0undation??
27-04-2010, 12:56 AM
hey guys.i have a question..if we got selected for jpa engineering[general].we w0uld do a-level or f0undation??
It depends on which country you are to study at. There are A-levels for UK, AUSMAT/SAM for Australia so on and so forth. There is no foundation since you are to study abroad.
terencegreen
27-04-2010, 01:09 AM
It depends on which country you are to study at. There are A-levels for UK, AUSMAT/SAM for Australia so on and so forth. There is no foundation since you are to study abroad.
thanks..an0ther question..after finishing our pre-u do we get to apply for universities in those countries n then go there under the sch0larship or jpa will do that for us or jpa has already selected the university for us in advance??curious..lol..
27-04-2010, 02:28 AM
thanks..an0ther question..after finishing our pre-u do we get to apply for universities in those countries n then go there under the sch0larship or jpa will do that for us or jpa has already selected the university for us in advance??curious..lol..
I think we are the one that have to apply for universities. JPA just state the country in which we will be studying if we get JPA but not the universities. Correct me if I am wrong.
This is true to a certain extent. Towards the end of your pre-U period, you'll start to apply for the universities of your choice. But JPA have the right to limit your choice only to recognized universities, as well as if they think there are too many Malaysian students already at that university. Or it can be many of sponsored students who went to that university eventually end up not graduating in time, and so they'll not send you there either. But in the end, it depends whether or not you got accepted by the universities, if not ..........
27-04-2010, 08:42 PM
that depends on the course.
a-levels - UK
Ausmat - Australia
ATDP - US
etc.
for general engineering, u hv 2 do all the application to uni of ur choice by urself but u r limited by the country and the list of uni that they giv u.
dun wry so much about this. everything will be clear when u get ur letter if u r selected by JPA.
28-04-2010, 06:07 AM
Just an extra note here, as I am an engineering student flying to US soon, AUP (in Inti) is not a pre-uni program. It is a degree program.
You can choose to fly as freshmen as chenchow would always suggest (the credits taken here would be the 12th year of high school) or do a transfer,both of which you will graduate in the same length of time.
And please don't be shocked that you will have to take weird subjects (example:world religion,philosophy,microeconomics) as the education system differs from the British system that we are all so used to. Just because you have to take weird subjects does not make it a pre-uni program as most people would confuse.
About the procedures, don't worry so much. You'll get a very clear picture once you got in.
peterchong92
05-05-2010, 08:43 PM
hi, I'm new here, i apply for the general engineering. I heard there are very few candidates will be awarded this scholarships, what is the actual number? Haha, when is the actual date to announce the results? So curious o.. and is our cca very important for the scholarship as i didn't do really well in my interview...
Adi29
05-05-2010, 09:09 PM
410 places for engineering
05-05-2010, 09:40 PM
410 places for engineering
are u sure just for general engineering or also include those who are in france, german, japan and korea engineering?
Adi29
05-05-2010, 09:54 PM
it says in the newspaper article that engineerng is allocated 410 places.
and Medic related courses is 847.
hmmm....so anyone managed to secure US Engineering seats this year!!...
kenntan
12-06-2010, 10:56 PM
anyone from malacca who gets german engineering in intec?