View Full Version : Petronas: Educamp 2010
03-04-2010, 03:55 AM
Generally, the interview process for Petronas is called Educamp. For peninsular Malaysia, you will be having your interview in UTP. The following abstract is taken from Educamp 2009 thread. It's just a copy paste from what I written in last year's thread plus some modifications.
Venue : Rajah Court, Kuching, Sarawak.
Duration : 2 days 1 night
This format is specially the same with Educamp in Teronoh. There are those who check in earlier 1 and 2 nights but hardly do anything. Main idea is to get those who live further from the interview place to arrive earlier than those who live nearby. For example, if u are from Melaka, you'll be checking in earlier 1 night compared to those who stay in Kedah area. Mine on the other hand, Miri interviewee are called the earliest, followed by Sibu and lastly, Kuchingnians. Once, everyone has reached the Educamp, then only the real event begins.
First day is just total registration. You'll get a name tag to write your name on it and you have to wear it at all times. After registration,-only requires IC, you'll be called into the hall for the briefing session.
In the briefing session, it first starts of with talks from heads of PETRONAS sponsorship unit-and yes, you'll be introduced to PETRONAS song!!- Parents are invited to this welcome speech and also to stay for lunch. It is after the lunch that parents bid goodbye and we are all on our own for the rest of the programme.
In the afternoon, you'll be taught about interview skills and so on. After being taught now comes the official matter. You have to bring along certified copies of the certificates of co-curricular achievements which you've filled up in the online application form. Altogether, you must have a total of 2 sets(one to be sent for OVS programme and the other to UTP to be reviewed)
The arrangement must be according to the sequence to what you've filled up in the application form.
Okay, I know some of you must be wondering. Is it alright for me to put in certificates or achievements which I did not fill into the application form?
The answer is YES. You are allowed to put in extra. Don't need to ask, The officers will say no-I put in extras anyway.
What you need to bring and so on you'll find out soon enough once you get the letter from PETRONAS. Wouldn't want to spoil the fun right now right?
Anyway, after sending in your certificates, that's it for the day and you'll be each given and identification number. Your ID number will tell you which session of interview are you in as well as your candidate number. I'll teach you how to read it. Okay, my number was :
A-07-04
A refers to which session. There are a few sessions-if not mistaken, there's up to session E. Okay, anyway, reading from the left, session A means that I'm in the first session to be interviewed which is running from 8.00 am to 11.00 am, session B will be from 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. and so on. Next, 07 refers to which panel you are going to be interviewed. Normally panel 7 is Room 7, so, panel 1 is room 1 and so on. Lastly, 04 refers to me being the fourth person in my group to be interviewed. Well, I'm the fourth person to be interviewed in my group.
Okay, knowing how to read your candidate number, let's get down to interview day.
On the interview day, Session A and B will be doing their interviews first in the morning and Session B,C,D and E will do in the afternoon. When A&B are doing interview C,D and E will do written tests. But let me follow my experience here okay? I'm in session A. Oh yeah, before I forget, session E is the least lucky one as you'll be leaving in the late evening-6 or 7 something? I don't know, i didn't stay back to wait!! LOL.
For the interview, you'll be divided into groups of 5. At first, you'll all be gathered in a room together with other groups to be given a case study each. You are all given a piece of paper to do write down your points to answer the questions in the case study. You are only given 10 minutes to do this and once time is up, you will have to go to the interview room. First will be self-interview and the others will have to wait outside the room. This interview normally last up to 10 minutes-mine up to 20 minutes though!- This is when you introduce yourself for 2 minutes or so then you answer the questions to the case study.
After you finish, the interviewer will tell you this-the most shocking thing for me!!-
At the bottom, there's a conclusion to the case study. Each of you have a different conclusion and therefore, you have to support your own conclusion and argue out later on why your conclusion is the best.
So, after the personal interview, next is the group discussion. We all tell our conclusion and debate about each other's points. My group debated for halve an hour until the interviewer had to tell us, ok guys, time is up, you have to reach a conclusion.
I noticed none of us wanted to concede so I took initiative and combined all our conclusion into one big, fat, strong conclusion. Then, worst part was when the interviewer laughed and said how is this possible? Please give an example. So, I gave the example, and it seems to have hit the nail. LOL.
Okay, after the interview, we are off for a break until the written test. Firstly, is the English Proficiency test(merely grammar and vocabulary)- 30 questions 15 minutes. After the English Proficiency test, we had another break and followed up by the Critical Thinking test(CTQ). Most of this CTQ questions are questions giving you four sequence of pictures and then ask you to predict the 5th picture. Well, just to give you clue, it's quite simple once you get the technique. All you have to do is just open your eyes wide that's all. This test will be for 20 minutes, 40 questions so it's quite mind-boggling actually but one thing's for sure, i you've run out of time, just simply shade the answers. Don't leave it unanswered!
After the interview and test, that's it!! You can check-out. One thing is that this educamp is exceptionally different from JPA interviews and you'll learn a lot from it. As we all know, some will fail, some will triumph in it, but what's matter most is the experience. It's wonderful-seriously- and therefore, you won't regret going for it as it's a once in a lifetime experience!!!
Dudes, I do expect the results to be out by the end of this week. So, do keep checking!!
**this information is prior to Educamp 2009. It appears that Educamp 2009 has changed it's format a little bit where there's maths test involved as well. So, please revise your additional mathematics before going for your interview! ROFL.
Anything more you want to find out, feel free to browse through this link for Educamp 2009 :
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=8278
I know it would be hectic to search for the questions you would want to ask so feel free to ask in this thread anytime and I'll try to get back to you a.s.a.p. -I'm having my Easter break now. :p
That's all for now. All the best to your Petronas interview guys!!
Cheers mate.
arscom
09-04-2010, 08:54 PM
hi,I just found out I am shortlisted for the eduquest camp.
I would like to ask who will need to certify our certs as they say it needs to be disahkan
makeHimproud
09-04-2010, 08:59 PM
hi,I just found out I am shortlisted for the eduquest camp.
I would like to ask who will need to certify our certs as they say it needs to be disahkan
really? have you been able to access their website? btw, for my PNB scholarship programme, my certs were certified by my principal
xiandagreat
09-04-2010, 09:00 PM
thank you, this really helps me a lot..
arscom
09-04-2010, 09:01 PM
really? have you been able to access their website? btw, for my PNB scholarship programme, my certs were certified by my principal
but the thing is the camp is on this sunday and i need to get it certified...so any other people who can certify the cert?
this is the website to check ur result
http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/index.php
manglish_lysia
09-04-2010, 10:34 PM
O.O mine's in perak. Anyone going?
aiping
09-04-2010, 11:10 PM
I also in Perak too.. at 20th and 21st April..
BUT!! My parents can't go T.T
HOW!!!??? Just me..It's ok or not?
xiandagreat
09-04-2010, 11:19 PM
O.O mine's in perak. Anyone going?
yea, perak too..
10-04-2010, 12:52 AM
Does anyone know what qualities do the interviewers want to see in the participants? What kind of trait should the interviewees present?
manglish_lysia
10-04-2010, 01:11 AM
Can I ask is there any suggestion on going to the camp besides driving there? Any senior here can give some suggestions?
Thank you.
unsolvedcryptex
10-04-2010, 01:25 AM
Does anyone know what qualities do the interviewers want to see in the participants? What kind of trait should the interviewees present?
Think out of the box.
You will hear this being repeated by facilitators all over and over again.
miiuver
10-04-2010, 02:45 AM
i have a friend, who got 12As, but was still not be shorlisted. is there something wrong..? so do i, i got 10As. and, what should i do? is there any hope for me to get this chance?:cry
10-04-2010, 03:26 AM
i have a friend, who got 12As, but was still not be shorlisted. is there something wrong..? so do i, i got 10As. and, what should i do? is there any hope for me to get this chance?:cry
Well, i have no idea. I have a friend getting 12A+, and I got 10As (6A+, 4A), but didn't get shortlisted. :cry :( :cry But don't be sad though, it's not the end of the world. It's just a lottery. Think about it. Cheers~
miiuver
10-04-2010, 03:43 AM
ouyea. dats right. urm, btw, tmorrow i'll try call the hotline regarding this. well, who knows, maybe.. eheh. i hope so, but at least i want to do something.um, btw, thanx Nicholasng925.
nuel92
10-04-2010, 05:37 AM
what is the different between bi 1119 and bi? it is the applictaion form
miiuver
10-04-2010, 05:46 AM
well, its already stated in ur SPM transcript, on top of it is ur English, and at the bottom of it, is ur 1119. well, i do know the difference but i dont know how to explain it. thats all i could.. :P
nuel92
10-04-2010, 05:59 AM
So people who got an A in ENglish but a B in 1119 didnt get the scholship?
makeHimproud
10-04-2010, 06:20 AM
our english papers were marked by two different examiners at the same time, that is the local examiner and the University of Cambridge O-level examiner.
The bottom 1119 grade is marked up to gce-o-level standard, that is why sometimes candidates tend to get lower grade in 1119 as compared to the actual english subject.
Btw, I don't think the selection for Petronas scholarship is just mainly based on your 1119 grade. There are other contributing factors such as your form 4 final result, your co-cu etc
chengriches
10-04-2010, 12:55 PM
Hi,I just wanna know if this Petronas Educamp is for those who apply for Petronas Scholarship for local and also oversea studies?
I applied for their undergraduate degree course in Mech Eng in UTP but still havent received a call from them.Take note I am using my foundation result from another uni but is relevant to the course.
hueyjiun
10-04-2010, 01:29 PM
hey i've got a call yesterday tht i was shortlisted n my camp's on 13-14th of april 2010. i want to ask about the attire. isit lik a must to wear baju kurung, can i wear lik working attire : formal shirt with three-quarter sleeves and pants (i'm a girl though) cause i dun hav any formal long skirt and any baju kurung.
and also bout the camp, as i saw in the 1st post,it's lik once u finish the interview u can leave, but the camp is 2days 1 night right ?
*any tips bout wht they usually ask ? lik wht case study pls ? pls give me some idea and do they ask questions lik why take engineering, why utp ??
AllenChew
10-04-2010, 02:21 PM
my camp is on 11/4 n 12/4~~then i got sum thing dun understand in the information in the panduan penyertaan...so i try to call the petronas hotline..but they say tat thier opening hrs oni from mon to fri!!owh god..how cn it be...the website oni cn be entered starting from 8pm ytd...zzz
i would like to ask the question below:
1)the 'sampul' stated in the panduan penyertaan is in A4 size one?if i hv 24 documents mean i hv to prepare 24 sampul?
2)the barang keperluan stated thr include kain cadar,selimut,n bantal..isit compulsory?is there bed provided?
3)isit b4 8am v nid to at thr edy?but there stated tat v can go to ktm station of ipoh 1st then there will be bas of utp taking us to utp...but the bas will be around at oni 8.30am to 9am wor..??
anyone cn hlp me?plz....i will be very grateful for urs hlping^^
hueyjiun
10-04-2010, 02:33 PM
my camp is on 11/4 n 12/4~~then i got sum thing dun understand in the information in the panduan penyertaan...so i try to call the petronas hotline..but they say tat thier opening hrs oni from mon to fri!!owh god..how cn it be...the website oni cn be entered starting from 8pm ytd...zzz
i would like to ask the question below:
1)the 'sampul' stated in the panduan penyertaan is in A4 size one?if i hv 24 documents mean i hv to prepare 24 sampul?
2)the barang keperluan stated thr include kain cadar,selimut,n bantal..isit compulsory?is there bed provided?
3)isit b4 8am v nid to at thr edy?but there stated tat v can go to ktm station of ipoh 1st then there will be bas of utp taking us to utp...but the bas will be around at oni 8.30am to 9am wor..??
anyone cn hlp me?plz....i will be very grateful for urs hlping^^
Untuk sebarang pertanyaan, sila hubungi 03-2331 2810 atau 03-2331 2165 pada 10 April 2010 (Sabtu) 11 pagi - 3 petang.
1. err bout the envelope, i'm not too sure but i guess it's 2 envelopes as all documents hav to be in 2 copies then as u hav 24 documents each envelope will hav 24 documents ?
2. i guess there should be bed provided, i heard lik we're staying in hostel
3. err i think we hafta reach there between 8am to 10 before the perasmian cause form 8am to 10am is the pendaftaran ? i guess should be lik tht.. i'm not too sure.
anyone can help with these too ?
aqilah92
10-04-2010, 02:36 PM
Well, i have no idea. I have a friend getting 12A+, and I got 10As (6A+, 4A), but didn't get shortlisted. :cry :( :cry But don't be sad though, it's not the end of the world. It's just a lottery. Think about it. Cheers~
I got 10A's..and Im not shortlisted too..:( I really hope to get petronas and now im so down....
10-04-2010, 02:44 PM
1. Prepare 2 A4 size envelope and put your documents in it. At least that's what I did. But do take extras if you are worried.
2. It's compulsory if you want a good night sleep I think.
3. We have to reach there before 10am. The opening ceremony starts at 10am. And try not to be late. :)
AllenChew
10-04-2010, 02:49 PM
[quote=hueyjiun;303722]Untuk sebarang pertanyaan, sila hubungi 03-2331 2810 atau 03-2331 2165 pada 10 April 2010 (Sabtu) 11 pagi - 3 petang.
hueyjiun!!rely thx for ur phone number provided:))i hv contacted wif them..finaly relief my anxiety~~
yaya..for the envelope prob..if u got 12 documents..then u prepared 2 envelopes wif 12 documents copied in each of it....
n the operator say tat those kain cadar is optional bcoz the bed n bantal thr do not hv cover...=.=
n the registration is open until 10am so v nid reach thr b4 10am!!
anyone goin for the camp tml here?
10-04-2010, 02:50 PM
Bring your bedsheets, blankets and pillows because you will definitely need them. The bed is provided for you (if your EduQuest Camp is in UTP) but that's all to it. And please, don't expect new beds. ALL of the beds in UTP are USED.
Other than that, you are of course advised to bring more than what is required. Our post office has moved out of the campus to Bandar Seri Iskandar, so if you want envelopes you may not be able to buy them in-campus. Of course, we have a few grocery stores here, but they are not anything like Tesco or Jusco.
They are already expecting some students to arrive in UTP today (10th of April 2010) for the EduQuest Camp in UTP.
nuel92
10-04-2010, 02:56 PM
i got the shortlisted even that i only got 9As.... LOL! i hope this is ok.... T_T
anyway, do we need to put the file in the clear folder or in an envelope?
chengriches
10-04-2010, 03:00 PM
Guys,are you all applying using SPM result and are SPM 2009 leavers?
I am still waiting for the result of my application using A-level pre-u result to enter their degree program on self sponsorship
10-04-2010, 03:04 PM
i got the shortlisted even that i only got 9As.... LOL! i hope this is ok.... T_T
anyway, do we need to put the file in the clear folder or in an envelope?
clear folder is better
nuel92
10-04-2010, 03:07 PM
If i use the clear folder, 2 salinan of the same file but different page?
10-04-2010, 03:09 PM
If i use the clear folder, 2 salinan of the same file but different page?
if the things are the same, u can put in the same page.
nuel92
10-04-2010, 03:19 PM
what does this means?
http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i28/halibi/untitled-3.jpg
10-04-2010, 03:24 PM
That means write your details on the upper left side of your envelope.
nuel92
10-04-2010, 03:28 PM
what does this means?
Dokumen-dokumen hendaklah dibuat dalam 2 salinan dan masukkan ke dalam 2 sampul berasingan.
sampul = clear folder or pages or envelope?
10-04-2010, 03:33 PM
Do keep this thread clean and use it only to get information related to camp requirements and activities.
And no, questions like "I am from (insert name of place here, preferably state). Anyone else from (insert name of the same state here) coming as well?" doesn't count as relevant. The same goes to statements like "I have (insert grade) in this (insert subject here), why wasn't I chosen!"
The ReCom staffs says thanks to all of you for your cooperation in keeping this forum free of clutter!
omgicecream
10-04-2010, 03:35 PM
Those classified under Pelajar Persendirian won't be sponsored by UTP/Petronas? I'm confused.
Gah D:
sjlim
10-04-2010, 03:39 PM
got one thing that confused me...I have been choosen to attemp Educamp 2010 (pelajar persendirian), if i perform really bad in interview, can i still study in UTP with no scholarship???:huh
10-04-2010, 03:40 PM
got one thing that confused me...I have been choosen to attemp Educamp 2010 (pelajar persendirian), if i perform really bad in interview, can i still study in UTP with no scholarship???:huh
If you are accepted to study there, yes.
sjlim
10-04-2010, 03:43 PM
how to know i have accepted?
10-04-2010, 03:45 PM
how to know i have accepted?
This is kind of off topic, but will receive written notification from UTP if you have been selected...
omgicecream
10-04-2010, 03:47 PM
If you are accepted to study there, yes.
Meaning if I pass the interview as 'pelajar persendirian' even, I can get scholarship?
@<hidden>
http://spmonline.petronas.com.my
zero12
10-04-2010, 04:05 PM
hi there!!! i got this eduquest also
and i'm offered for electrical engineering but i don't like it
is there any way to change it??
trenchcoat101
10-04-2010, 04:27 PM
Any questions regarding Eduquest? Ready to answer if I can! :))
nuel92
10-04-2010, 04:34 PM
Any questions regarding Eduquest? Ready to answer if I can! :))
what does this means?
Dokumen-dokumen hendaklah dibuat dalam 2 salinan dan masukkan ke dalam 2 sampul berasingan.
trenchcoat101
10-04-2010, 04:39 PM
Separate into 2 envelopes, each envelope contains the same photostated and certified documents
what does this means?
nuel92
10-04-2010, 04:48 PM
Separate into 2 envelopes, each envelope contains the same photostated and certified documents
what kind of envalope?
trenchcoat101
10-04-2010, 05:01 PM
the normal A4/A3 sized envelope will do
nuel92
10-04-2010, 05:03 PM
the normal A4/A3 sized envelope will do
can i use the brown envelope?
10-04-2010, 05:12 PM
can i use the brown envelope?
Brown or White, just put it in an envelope
nuel92
10-04-2010, 05:14 PM
Brown or White, just put it in an envelope
Thanks for that! and my dad is a pesara and he doest have the slip gaji.... how to deal about that?
AllenChew
10-04-2010, 06:27 PM
Thanks for that! and my dad is a pesara and he doest have the slip gaji.... how to deal about that?
use kad pesara instead of slip gaji
nuel92
10-04-2010, 08:15 PM
use kad pesara instead of slip gaji
we can u kad pesara? are u sure since they didnt stated kad pesara at the letter
syairahusna
10-04-2010, 09:32 PM
we can u kad pesara? are u sure since they didnt stated kad pesara at the letter
Yeah, u definitely can use kad pesara and have it certified.. Mty friend used to do that too..
deepkutty_92
10-04-2010, 09:36 PM
For pakaian santai, can we bring jeans and blouse also or we can bring slack and collared t-shirt only? And can we bring non-collared t-shirt to wear during sleeping? How many pairs are advisable to bring?
syairahusna
10-04-2010, 09:44 PM
Untuk sebarang pertanyaan, sila hubungi 03-2331 2810 atau 03-2331 2165 pada 10 April 2010 (Sabtu) 11 pagi - 3 petang.
1. err bout the envelope, i'm not too sure but i guess it's 2 envelopes as all documents hav to be in 2 copies then as u hav 24 documents each envelope will hav 24 documents ?
2. i guess there should be bed provided, i heard lik we're staying in hostel
3. err i think we hafta reach there between 8am to 10 before the perasmian cause form 8am to 10am is the pendaftaran ? i guess should be lik tht.. i'm not too sure.
anyone can help with these too ?
1. That's fairly correct.
2. Beds will be provided but we're not given any bedspread but blanket i'm not sure..
3. Yes, the registration from 8 -10 a.m. but it is best if you're not too early and not too late.. However, this is only my opinion...
For pakaian santai, can we bring jeans and blouse also or we can bring slack and collared t-shirt only? And can we bring non-collared t-shirt to wear during sleeping? How many pairs are advisable to bring?
It is advisable not to wear jeans as they are inappropriate...
Wear slacks instead..
For me I'm bringing slacks and long sleeve t-shirt as a backup..
In my opinion u should bring 4 pairs..
deepkutty_92
10-04-2010, 09:50 PM
It is advisable not to wear jeans as they are inappropriate...
Wear slacks instead..
For me I'm bringing slacks and long sleeve t-shirt as a backup..
In my opinion u should bring 4 pairs..
I only have two slacks..:cry
trenchcoat101
10-04-2010, 09:56 PM
I recommend u to bring slacks. Even if you bring jeans, you won't get to use it, because they require smart casual and formal. Yes of course u can bring your own tshirt for sleeping (nobody will evaluate u that time:)) 2 pairs of slacks would be good enough.
syairahusna
10-04-2010, 10:00 PM
I recommend u to bring slacks. Even if you bring jeans, you won't get to use it, because they require smart casual and formal. Yes of course u can bring your own tshirt for sleeping (nobody will evaluate u that time:)) 2 pairs of slacks would be good enough.
Yup, two pairs of slacks would be enough. Besides, we are not going to be involved in any sporting activities..
deepkutty_92
10-04-2010, 10:12 PM
Do we have to write the details on the upper part of penjuru kiri sampul or lower part of penjuru kiri sampul? And we have to write it on the side where we write the sender's address right?
unsolvedcryptex
10-04-2010, 10:20 PM
It's better that you shirt is collared. This is normally considered smart casual over collar-less. It's something accepted everywhere in Malaysia as smart casual. And no short pants. Pillows provided but bring ur own pillow case and bed sheet.
helo...i'm from east M'sia. but y does my location 4 d eduquest camp is at perak? i really don't get it...n its 20-21 april..plus d ticket is not sponsored.. :(
10-04-2010, 11:42 PM
helo...i'm from east M'sia. but y does my location 4 d eduquest camp is at perak? i really don't get it...n its 20-21 april..plus d ticket is not sponsored.. :(
oh my oh my.. better check out with petronas.. dont hesitate to call. if u cant reach them, they'll call u back. if they dont call u back in 1 or 2 hours time, call them again.
skyranger
11-04-2010, 01:17 AM
Hi there, what is mean by penajaan sendiri.
mean that we can study in UTP without scholarship????
11-04-2010, 01:40 AM
Hi there, what is mean by penajaan sendiri.
mean that we can study in UTP without scholarship????
I guess so. Penajaan sendiri means paying it yourself.
11-04-2010, 06:50 AM
Just to answer some queries concerning the interview as well as some fun facts u guys may ought to know :
(1) What is a convertible loan and how does it work?
- This is a very common question. Well, the Petronas deal is not a scholarship. It is a convertible loan. This is where as stated it is just a 'loan' and to make it into a scholarship, you have to fulfill the criteria of getting employed within 6 months after you graduated from your respective universities. You must understand that the workforce in Petronas is fairly limited and under the new policy, only 30 % of graduates are being employed to work after going through an interview. The remaining 70 % unemployed are then channeled to the national workforce and released-turning their 'sponsorship' not into a 'scholarship' but just a 'loan'-. Hence, they must pay-up the cost of their study. So, it is called 'convertible loan'. But, to what extent must we pay up if we are being released? The answer lies to how well you did in your university. If you get first class honour, you get to pay 10% of the total cost, 2nd class upper 15% etc. Nevertheless, the better your grades, the less you pay.
(2) Can my 'ketua kampung' certify my documents?
-No. Get your pengetua/penolong kanan/Ketua panitia to do it. Pesuruhjaya sumpah is alright too.
(3) What do I bring and wear in the interview?
-While the first day is all briefing, it's best if you bring:
GUYS : 2 pairs of formal shirt, 1 pair of formal pants, enough undergarments, 2 normal t-shirts(you'll use one only to sleep, the second one is just as spare), a towel and your pj. You may also want to bring slacks as you will use it during dinner or meal time but I didn't.
GIRLS : Baju Kurung or Formal Shirt-If you bring baju kurung, then one is necessary as long as you don't smell bad when you re-wear it the next day-. Formal shirts are long sleeved and.. you should know yourself. I don't know much about ladies but I do know how it looks. A simple white-black matching shall do. Other colours are not really encouraged. but preferably it to be a baju kurung. So other stuffs are like the guys.
(4) Should I bring an iron?
-You could.. Some brought along-I did not though- don't really mind as I brought a freshly-ironed shirt to the interview. And it also depends on your luck as some people may get the 'iron' service and some don't. :)
Well, that's all I can tell for now. Hope it helps a little. All da best to u guys and do have fun in the interview! Cheers mate.
hueyjiun
11-04-2010, 10:05 AM
[quote=hueyjiun;303722]Untuk sebarang pertanyaan, sila hubungi 03-2331 2810 atau 03-2331 2165 pada 10 April 2010 (Sabtu) 11 pagi - 3 petang.
hueyjiun!!rely thx for ur phone number provided:))i hv contacted wif them..finaly relief my anxiety~~
yaya..for the envelope prob..if u got 12 documents..then u prepared 2 envelopes wif 12 documents copied in each of it....
n the operator say tat those kain cadar is optional bcoz the bed n bantal thr do not hv cover...=.=
n the registration is open until 10am so v nid reach thr b4 10am!!
anyone goin for the camp tml here?
you're welcome. : )
there's two more things which i want to ask.
can girls wear formal working pants too ?
they state there skirt panjang, can i wear lik over my knee but not long till the whole leg to be covered ?
and also how do i go to utp from kl ? pls guide me ? i try searched on9 but it shows the utp website but unable to access it. : (
pls help !! thanks alot.
wendy191
11-04-2010, 10:40 AM
Yes ,you can wear skirt below knee length.
From KL, take bus to Medan Gopeng. Then take public transport to Medan Kidd ( medan kidd is the old bus station of Ipoh). From Medan Kidd, walk to the middle of the bus station (next to the kacang putih stall), you'll see a booth showing timetable for bus to Lumut / Uitm/ UTP. Take the bus and they wil drop you right in front of UTP.
hueyjiun
11-04-2010, 10:49 AM
Yes ,you can wear skirt below knee length.
From KL, take bus to Medan Gopeng. Then take public transport to Medan Kidd ( medan kidd is the old bus station of Ipoh). From Medan Kidd, walk to the middle of the bus station (next to the kacang putih stall), you'll see a booth showing timetable for bus to Lumut / Uitm/ UTP. Take the bus and they wil drop you right in front of UTP.
thanks alot for the guide. but i hav to reach utp early at 8. n i'm really unfamiliar with all the roads and places there. is there any other routes or means of public transport to take ? wht bout ktm from kl sentral or bus express ?
abyss
11-04-2010, 12:30 PM
how about check in earlier?
hueyjiun
11-04-2010, 12:37 PM
how about check in earlier?
wht do u mean by check in earlier ? : )
wendy191
11-04-2010, 01:02 PM
if you are far from Perak state, you can come to UTP a day before your Educamp.
Contact the person in charge . They will arrange for you.
hueyjiun
11-04-2010, 01:29 PM
if you are far from Perak state, you can come to UTP a day before your Educamp.
Contact the person in charge . They will arrange for you.
really ? so nice? i shall call now. thanks : )
behdiary
11-04-2010, 02:27 PM
Hi everyone. My session will be on 13th-14th april .
Anyone knows should we bring our original copies of certificates and all the documents too ? It is not stated in the letter ,does it ?
And any suggestions to prepare for the tests ?
Thank you so much for answering.
11-04-2010, 03:35 PM
Hi everyone. My session will be on 13th-14th april .
Anyone knows should we bring our original copies of certificates and all the documents too ? It is not stated in the letter ,does it ?
And any suggestions to prepare for the tests ?
Thank you so much for answering.
Tests, just study add maths. IQ test really is juz about how u fast u think and capture things. To practice ur IQ, it would be a good idea to start off by lerning a 3x3x3 rubik's cube. :)
Erm, original copies are not required. But I brought mine anyway. Better be safe than sorry.
skyranger
11-04-2010, 04:32 PM
my edu camp date is 15-16april leh. anyone same date with me???
reshasymphonia
11-04-2010, 04:48 PM
my edu camp date is 15-16april leh. anyone same date with me???
That was supposed to be my original date for the camp, but when I downloaded the form, mine's 20-21st ><
skyranger
11-04-2010, 05:32 PM
anything we need to prepare for edu camp??
Huwiez
11-04-2010, 06:31 PM
hi, i get the interview too in perak. bt i have another interview session on the same time. so i would like to ask whether they allow us to change day?
kpleong
11-04-2010, 07:37 PM
i have yet to receive any reply from UTP as well.
i applied using my STPM i took last year by the way.
anyone knows any other ways to check for the results!?
i tried 'http://spmonline.petronas.com.my/' but my username can't be used for i didn't apply through that site.
Tolong! ><
11-04-2010, 07:57 PM
hi, i get the interview too in perak. bt i have another interview session on the same time. so i would like to ask whether they allow us to change day?
call the esu to find out more about this. :)
andkaydoubleu
11-04-2010, 09:14 PM
Does Petronas have second batch like JPA?
there r 4 batch 4 d Edu Quest...from 11st to 21st April...
andkaydoubleu
11-04-2010, 11:03 PM
there r 4 batch 4 d Edu Quest...from 11st to 21st April...
i mean those unsuccessful ones. will they reconsider ?
i think no...
i just knew that i was selected to join the educamp... mine is on 13th... oh my god... i haven't make any preparation. my english is not good. i'm worry for the interview. i dunno what to do. i'm worry...
dandelions
12-04-2010, 12:03 AM
I got on the 13th. They say that there'll be a shuttle waiting either at the bus or train station? Is this like confirm?
wendy191
12-04-2010, 08:44 AM
i just knew that i was selected to join the educamp... mine is on 13th... oh my god... i haven't make any preparation. my english is not good. i'm worry for the interview. i dunno what to do. i'm worry...
Don't worry.
English proficiency is a plus, but what they are looking for is how outspoken you are, your ideas / response , your reflected personality during interview.
Just do your best to impress the interviewers.
Good luck.
Don't worry.
English proficiency is a plus, but what they are looking for is how outspoken you are, your ideas / response , your reflected personality during interview.
Just do your best to impress the interviewers.
Good luck.
thank you very much.:) do you know what they will ask?
manglish_lysia
12-04-2010, 12:02 PM
thank you very much.:) do you know what they will ask?
More on the current issues e.g 1malaysia, water quality, green technology and stuff stuff....I guess what they want to hear is your ideas and opinion.
Better read up some current news! *reading furiously now* :P
nuel92
12-04-2010, 12:48 PM
omg! they will ask about current issues??? T_T
i dun think they ll ask current issues...
they juz wanna c ur confidence n speaking oli....
btw, a small advice, dun talk too much during group discussion....
d panels ll stop u n reduce ur mark bcoz u r selfish...(i dunnoe y bt it is true)
Jack92
12-04-2010, 07:57 PM
Hey i wanna ask... my mom doesnt work... doesnt have a pay slip or wadever... how? i don't nid to put it in the sampul surat then?
syairahusna
12-04-2010, 10:01 PM
For those who have not yet going to EduQuest Camp.. It is advisable for you to revise your maths and science subject form 5 level. Don't worry coz' all tests are objectives.. For the personal interview, remember to tell the assessors all your co-curriculum achievements and please talk and elaborate on the points given in the case study part.. u can also give another points and recommendations as well.. Group discussion speak out but give others the chance to elaborate on their ideas..
deepkutty_92
12-04-2010, 10:56 PM
Hi! I am back! He he... It was quite an interesting experience there. Well, let me share with you what happened there.
Venue: UTP, Tronoh, Perak
First day
7.00 to 9.30
-registration and check-in. Try to be there by at least nine. You have to go to the hostel for registration. Dont worry, the guard will be guiding you.
-when you register, you will be given your eduquest number for exam(6 digits). Mine is 100089. You will be sharing the room with another participant. And plz bring a slipper with you.
10.00-12.30
-Officiation of the function and briefing about PETRONAS, UTP and ESU. It's held in the chancellor hall, your parents can follow you, but you have to sit separately with other students. By the way, they will tell you that you will be asked about PETRONAS and stuff during interview. Dont worry as it is NOT true. You dont have to jot down the points when they lecture you, but if you want, just go ahead. *I wasted my precious ink just to jot those stuff down.*
12.30-2.00
-Lunch. Parents can eat with you and bid farewell to you. They can even drop you back at the chancellor hall before going back. *the next event will be held there.* And dont worry. If your parents are not there, the bus will be available to bring you to the hall and other places.
- If your parents are planning to stay there, be sure to ask the guard there. Because my father asked the guard there and he was able to get a room about 1km from UTP. And mind you, the room is huge.
2.00-4.30
Document management
-Briefing on the test
- You must give your completed envelope to them.
4.30-5.30
-You must take bus to the main hall where you will do....
PETRONAS value profiling test
:survey questionairre
:45 minutes
:arrange 8 statements from most likely to be you to least likely to be you
*i finished it in 15 minutes...
5.30-8.30
-Asar, Maghrib, Dinner, and BREAK! Bring your physics book to study!
8.30-10.00
-MST (maths and science test)
*1 hour
*objective
*30 questions
*bring calculator
*tips: physics form 4 chapter 2, form 5 electricity (got other chapter osola...)
: add maths (jz revise logs, and for maths, study earth as sphere...)
: chemi
p.s: i din study at all lah... i jz hentam 3 questions...
-After the exam, you will given number for your interview.
example. mine is A-17-05. where A is your session, 17 is the panel and
05 is the candidate number.
time and venue for the next day are as follow...
1. Interview
venue: block B
Time: A: 7.30 a.m, B: 8.30 am, C: 1.00 pm, D: 2.00 pm
2. Exam
venue: main hall
time: A and B: 2.00 pm, C and D:8.00 am
10.00pm
-go to sleep! ;)
Second day
5.30 am
-wake up, bath, prepare for interview... Gosh! I'm in panel one!
- supposed to be breakfast... but the guy didnt come, so i, along with others, missed our breakfast....
7.30- about 11.00
-interview!
-We went into the discussion room first... (but we are not allowed to discuss there... Just had chat with others i the same group...) Same group sat around the same round table...
-My group members: Hud, Ibrahim, Diyanah, Amalina and me!
-We were given our case study paper... They call it cards though... There are cards A, B, C, D and A(copy). So, we took the 'cards' accordingly. All of us had different suggestions and solutions. So, we need to develop our points according to what we were given.We were given 30 minutes to do so. (Dont worry, you will have plenty of time to add more points while you wait in the waiting room.) Then, you go wait in the waiting room. One by one will be called from your group for individual interview. Dont worry, the panels are very kind. Just brush up on your english speaking skills. You'll have to introduce yourself and present your ideas to them. By the way, my topis is on advertisement. See? They give easy topics only. Then you will be called as a group for the discussion part. The panel will just watch you arguing with each other. My gorup is very cooperative. After we finish the interview, we had our breakfast. Then, we returned to hostel.
11.00-2.00
-Had lunch, waited in room for the exam. I listened to music and ate ice cream.
2.00-5.00
- Went to main hall.
First exam was English Placement Test (EPT)
*50 objective questions
*1 hour
*basically testing on your comprehension and grammar
Second exam was Critical reasoning test.
-divided into two segments: Verbal and diagrammatic series
* Verbal sumting sumting
-60 objective questions
-30 minutes
-Its like they give you an extraction of text. Then, they will give you a few statements in which you have to classify as true, false or uncertain. Yes, there will be some answers which are uncertain.
*Diagrammatic Series
-40 questions, 20 minutes
- Dont worry, its easy...
-Next, they will give you some survey form to ask you opinion about eduquest. Then, BALIK!!!
Overall, it was fun, but there's no tour around the campus and no outdoor activities....
If you have any questions, feel free to ask me...
Hey i wanna ask... my mom doesnt work... doesnt have a pay slip or wadever... how? i don't nid to put it in the sampul surat then?
If you have surat akuan, then put it. Or else, dont worry. They wont care about that very much.
p.s. my mum is a housewife, and i put in surat akuan.
13-04-2010, 05:29 AM
while petronas may not necessarily talk about up-to-date issues, it is better if u keep urself up-to-date. Where case studies are given, it'd be awesome if u can give current examples to the cases in interviews.
*yes, team co-operation is very important in group interviews. Where my team is concerned, we co-operated with each other and 3 out of 5 of us got the sponsorship. :) despite the scholarship ratio to be given out once every 6 people.
**a fun fact u may want to know, the number of Petronas scholars is little. The normal allocation is about 200 for OVS bound students and 400 for local branch campuses as well as UTP. :)
***Petronas is short of accountants and geologists. So, u stand a good chance if u apply for these courses.
That's all from me. Anything more, please just refer back to the first post or the post before this about the interview process. Till then, take care and all da best!
baby92
13-04-2010, 02:27 PM
u got perak too? same as me! i am also from east msia. we should meet then. :) btw, may i know what course r u taking?
Hi! I am back! He he... It was quite an interesting experience there. Well, let me share with you what happened there.
Venue: UTP, Tronoh, Perak
First day
7.00 to 9.30
-registration and check-in. Try to be there by at least nine. You have to go to the hostel for registration. Dont worry, the guard will be guiding you.
-when you register, you will be given your eduquest number for exam(6 digits). Mine is 100089. You will be sharing the room with another participant. And plz bring a slipper with you.
10.00-12.30
-Officiation of the function and briefing about PETRONAS, UTP and ESU. It's held in the chancellor hall, your parents can follow you, but you have to sit separately with other students. By the way, they will tell you that you will be asked about PETRONAS and stuff during interview. Dont worry as it is NOT true. You dont have to jot down the points when they lecture you, but if you want, just go ahead. *I wasted my precious ink just to jot those stuff down.*
12.30-2.00
-Lunch. Parents can eat with you and bid farewell to you. They can even drop you back at the chancellor hall before going back. *the next event will be held there.* And dont worry. If your parents are not there, the bus will be available to bring you to the hall and other places.
- If your parents are planning to stay there, be sure to ask the guard there. Because my father asked the guard there and he was able to get a room about 1km from UTP. And mind you, the room is huge.
2.00-4.30
Document management
-Briefing on the test
- You must give your completed envelope to them.
4.30-5.30
-You must take bus to the main hall where you will do....
PETRONAS value profiling test
:survey questionairre
:45 minutes
:arrange 8 statements from most likely to be you to least likely to be you
*i finished it in 15 minutes...
5.30-8.30
-Asar, Maghrib, Dinner, and BREAK! Bring your physics book to study!
8.30-10.00
-MST (maths and science test)
*1 hour
*objective
*30 questions
*bring calculator
*tips: physics form 4 chapter 2, form 5 electricity (got other chapter osola...)
: add maths (jz revise logs, and for maths, study earth as sphere...)
: chemi
p.s: i din study at all lah... i jz hentam 3 questions...
-After the exam, you will given number for your interview.
example. mine is A-17-05. where A is your session, 17 is the panel and
05 is the candidate number.
time and venue for the next day are as follow...
1. Interview
venue: block B
Time: A: 7.30 a.m, B: 8.30 am, C: 1.00 pm, D: 2.00 pm
2. Exam
venue: main hall
time: A and B: 2.00 pm, C and D:8.00 am
10.00pm
-go to sleep! ;)
Second day
5.30 am
-wake up, bath, prepare for interview... Gosh! I'm in panel one!
- supposed to be breakfast... but the guy didnt come, so i, along with others, missed our breakfast....
7.30- about 11.00
-interview!
-We went into the discussion room first... (but we are not allowed to discuss there... Just had chat with others i the same group...) Same group sat around the same round table...
-My group members: Hud, Ibrahim, Diyanah, Amalina and me!
-We were given our case study paper... They call it cards though... There are cards A, B, C, D and A(copy). So, we took the 'cards' accordingly. All of us had different suggestions and solutions. So, we need to develop our points according to what we were given.We were given 30 minutes to do so. (Dont worry, you will have plenty of time to add more points while you wait in the waiting room.) Then, you go wait in the waiting room. One by one will be called from your group for individual interview. Dont worry, the panels are very kind. Just brush up on your english speaking skills. You'll have to introduce yourself and present your ideas to them. By the way, my topis is on advertisement. See? They give easy topics only. Then you will be called as a group for the discussion part. The panel will just watch you arguing with each other. My gorup is very cooperative. After we finish the interview, we had our breakfast. Then, we returned to hostel.
11.00-2.00
-Had lunch, waited in room for the exam. I listened to music and ate ice cream.
2.00-5.00
- Went to main hall.
First exam was English Placement Test (EPT)
*50 objective questions
*1 hour
*basically testing on your comprehension and grammar
Second exam was Critical reasoning test.
-divided into two segments: Verbal and diagrammatic series
* Verbal sumting sumting
-60 objective questions
-30 minutes
-Its like they give you an extraction of text. Then, they will give you a few statements in which you have to classify as true, false or uncertain. Yes, there will be some answers which are uncertain.
*Diagrammatic Series
-40 questions, 20 minutes
- Dont worry, its easy...
-Next, they will give you some survey form to ask you opinion about eduquest. Then, BALIK!!!
Overall, it was fun, but there's no tour around the campus and no outdoor activities....
If you have any questions, feel free to ask me...
If you have surat akuan, then put it. Or else, dont worry. They wont care about that very much.
p.s. my mum is a housewife, and i put in surat akuan.
tips please. is it necessarily to use english? what about bm? thank u.
deepkutty_92
13-04-2010, 02:46 PM
tips please. is it necessarily to use english? what about bm? thank u.
Well, for individual, they ask me questions in english, so i answered in english. For group, they say you can speak either in english or bm, but i answered in english. I think you better be prepared in english because they ask to speak in english for group interview in other panels. And, they are going to evaluate you in your skills in speaking english. Its one of the evaluation criteria.
13-04-2010, 03:31 PM
In Petronas proceedings, even in speaking with officers, we use english. only in informal conversations that we speak BM. LOL. the irony.
oh, and pls pls dont requote the whole interview thingy. it;s really irritating to scroll down longer than usual if everyone requotes it.
nuel92
13-04-2010, 04:40 PM
in the science test, does all the chap in the chemistry will be ask?
deepkutty_92
13-04-2010, 06:49 PM
in the science test, does all the chap in the chemistry will be ask?
nope... only some... but cant remember....:amuse but dont worry, its quite easy... you can do it....
deepkutty_92
13-04-2010, 09:35 PM
I dun think it will be a chemistry test. Thus, they will only test mainly the chemistry knowledge related to petroleum like carbon compounds.
Nope... I did the exam already.... They only ask very simple chemistry question... There's no questions on petroleum topics at all...
xiandagreat
13-04-2010, 10:26 PM
There are few main important elements about this camp:
Tests
1) Maths and science test (science and art stream students are separated, science stream students take maths and science test while art stream students take maths test only)
The questions are like this. 10 questions on physics, 10 questions on chemistry and 10 on mathematics.
the chemistry questions are easy, dont worry you guys can answer it. But, i suggest you to focus mainly on physics. Revise briefly on your physics especially first few chapters of form 4. The maths part is really easy. You are allowed to use calculators.
2) English Test
It was easy. There will be a few rational cloze and the rest of it is comprehension. All are objectives.
3) Critical Reasoning Test - Verbal
It was challenging. you have to answer 60 questions in 30 minutes. It is like EST. Every 4 questions are based on an excerpt. The excerpt is like a report. Below there are 4 questions based on it. The questions are consist of statements whereby you have to judge it based from the excerpt above. There are three choices of your answer. First is A - the statement is correct based on the above excerpt. B - the statement is obviously wrong from the excerpt. C - you cannot say as you need further information to judge it.
The main setback is the time constraint. You will have approx. 30 seconds for you to think for the answer. You have to be fast. Do it like the way it should be done. Dont try too hard to think about the answer. Just answer it and move on to the next question.
4) Critical Reasoning Test - Diagrammatic
You will have to answer 40 questions in 20 minutes. This is the test I think most students does not have enough time to answer all.
You are given 5 diagrams of pictures. You are required to guess the 6th picture based on the logical sequence. Trust me, if you come across a tough one, skip it! go to the next one. This test is mind-boggling. Though, it is challenging.
The Interview
Before the interview, the whole session like session A will be called into a medium-sized hall where there are many tables with the Panel Numbers attached to each tables. You then will sit with your friends in your respective panels. Then we were given a piece of paper where there is a case study on it.
Relax, there are many points and ideas given on the paper. Then, you will have 30 minutes to think about the problem. You can write extra ideas. Below, there's a given recommendation of the case. You can either follow it or disagree with it based on you reasons.
After that, you will have to wait for them to call you panel for the interview. While waiting for your group's turn, you can chit chat with your group friends and maybe 'pakat' with them in the group discussion interview later.
When your group is called to the interview you will be directed into a waiting room. Then, one by one names are called to go to each panel respectively.
You will conduct the one to one interview first. In fact it is 2 to 1 interview. There are two interviewers.
Ok, you may already hear different versions about the interview from other people. Some said they met a friendly or maybe a 'ok ok' one or maybe you have heard that most of them are friendly. But my case was, my interviewer was a LECTURER! She has a Phd, if i am not mistaken.
My first friend in my group told me his experience before my turn. After my friend wished them good afternoon, he sat down. Guess what?? Out of the blue, this was the question directed to him : "What qualities should one have to become a successful person?" My friend was flabbergasted! She didnt even ask him to introduce himself! And, the lecturer keep shooting him questions.
Until my turn. At that time, I kept grumble that I am so unlucky to get this interviewer. When I entered the room, I said Good Afternoon. Then, waiting for her to say 'you may have a sit' and I sat down. Surprisingly, she asked me to introduce myself first. At that time, I was happy. I bla bla bla everything... But later on, the amount of questions she asked and the number of questions she shoot at me was tremendous. But, i managed to answer every single one of them slowly and steadily. After asking all your particulars, they will ask what is your recommendation of conclusion of your case study. State why and give really firm and strong reasons.
Anyway, my interviewer was very polite and fluent in her english. Well, I hoped that you get a better one as compared to mine.
Now, the group discussion. We entered the room again with the same interviewers. I suggest you guys to really break the ice like I did and frankly speaking, we were enjoying inside the room. No tension and no stress. I am also very fortunate to have such a great and friendly team mates. We laugh and joke a lot inside. The interviewers also praised us well!.:P:P
After that, you are allowed to go home!!! There is no closing ceremony or whatsoever.
[quote=baby92;304708]u got perak too? same as me! i am also from east msia. we should meet then. :) btw, may i know what course r u taking?
i'm taking chemical engineering. not sure if i'm going to perak. since yesterday i've been trying to call the helpline bcuz i want to ask whether i can change the location or not but it is either engaged or to the voicemail.
don't know what's wrong with the helpline..:huh hopefully 2moro the helpline can be reach.
amienieya
13-04-2010, 11:08 PM
juz wanna ask... my friend satated that she had a pelajar persendirian... she asked me does that means you doesnt get the scholarship? Anyone know bout that?
baby92
13-04-2010, 11:14 PM
Well, for individual, they ask me questions in english, so i answered in english. For group, they say you can speak either in english or bm, but i answered in english. I think you better be prepared in english because they ask to speak in english for group interview in other panels. And, they are going to evaluate you in your skills in speaking english. Its one of the evaluation criteria.
thank you. i know that english is quite preferrable. but during my jpa's i answered in eng and they asked me to answered in bm. lol. nyway, u help me a lot alrdy afta u shared some of ur experience. thnx. ^^ btw, what course r u applying for?
14-04-2010, 12:24 AM
juz wanna ask... my friend satated that she had a pelajar persendirian... she asked me does that means you doesnt get the scholarship? Anyone know bout that?
Sorry I don't really get what you are trying to say. Mind to rewrite it in proper english?
14-04-2010, 05:57 AM
yes, it means u r given a place in UTP but u will have to finance urself for it,
The Interview
My first friend in my group told me his experience before my turn.
Anyway, my interviewer was very polite and fluent in her english. Well, I hoped that you get a better one as compared to mine.
Now, the group discussion. We entered the room again with the same interviewers. I suggest you guys to really break the ice like I did and frankly speaking, we were enjoying inside the room. No tension and no stress. I am also very fortunate to have such a great and friendly team mates. We laugh and joke a lot inside. The interviewers also praised us well!.:P:P
(1) U aren't suppose to talk or discuss while waiting for one another outside the interview room. Remember that. If caught u will be immediately be rejected.
(2) Great that u had an enjoyable time in the team discussion. :) well, u r lucky to have good mates around u. One of my fren, one of his member told everyone at the start in front of the interviewers said, can we make this quick please cuz i dont really have much time. So the interviewer limited them to 15 minutes only. LOL.
amienieya
14-04-2010, 11:08 AM
[quote=senksiang90;304885]yes, it means u r given a place in UTP but u will have to finance urself for it,
does it mean that we have to borrow from ptptn
darkbunny92
14-04-2010, 01:56 PM
[quote=senksiang90;304885]yes, it means u r given a place in UTP but u will have to finance urself for it,
does it mean that we have to borrow from ptptn
As u all said, if i fail in this camp, will i still going to study in utp???
This camp is for the study in utp or the scholarships??
TY if anyone can help me:))
xiandagreat
14-04-2010, 02:18 PM
yes, it means u r given a place in UTP but u will have to finance urself for it,
(1) U aren't suppose to talk or discuss while waiting for one another outside the interview room. Remember that. If caught u will be immediately be rejected.
(2) Great that u had an enjoyable time in the team discussion. :) well, u r lucky to have good mates around u. One of my fren, one of his member told everyone at the start in front of the interviewers said, can we make this quick please cuz i dont really have much time. So the interviewer limited them to 15 minutes only. LOL.
Really? We shared many light moments while waiting for our respective names to be called. The person in charge in the waiting room was also friendly. They told us to relax and even told us jokes. We had a great moment at that time.
Wow, that guy really said that in front of the interviewers? It's rude actually.
Maybe it will affect his marks in the interview.
We can't question or give any instructions to the interviewer as they are the ones who are giving the scholarship. Remember, petronas do not owe you. They can kick you out at their will. So, please be very respectful in interview.
hi there!!! i got this eduquest also
and i'm offered for electrical engineering but i don't like it
is there any way to change it??
u can change it if u r selected to study in utp......
btw, wat course r u interested?
naz_arisz
14-04-2010, 05:25 PM
hmm can those who hav completed d educamp share about the titles for the case study? n also suggest me wut topics shud i stdy for maths...tq soo much!
fird126
14-04-2010, 06:15 PM
hmm can those who hav completed d educamp share about the titles for the case study? n also suggest me wut topics shud i stdy for maths...tq soo much!
mine was about traffic jam. other groups got advertisement.
14-04-2010, 06:32 PM
For those who have done their EduCamp in UTP, I'm not sure if you've noticed a lecturer by the name of Dr. S. Liew. He's my lecturer and he did tell me some of the responses given by the EduCamp participants on certain questions which he asked.
As for the case study, he felt that the system should be revamped. Mind you, this lecturer of mine is quite an influential person. I think he knows perfectly well that the topics on the interviews are easily leaked to others (through ReCom, for example :P). And it isn't very fair for students, especially those from rural areas, to be speaking about traffic jams when they have little experience about seeing one, much less able to extend fully on methods of resolving traffic jams and how effective those methods can be.
If this interview system remains as it is, then there's no need to fear about change. However, as I said, my lecturer is quite influential, if PETRONAS does decide to change, then it will not be such a breeze for some students.
i just back from eduQuest camp... i wish all the 3rd batch and 4th batch candidates all the best. hahaha~ do some phyics, chemistry and add maths revision before you go...
good luck!
hi, i just back from eduQuest... for case studies, it about current issues... they are not very hard as there are guides given.. and they will help you in the case study.. so, is not hard. try your best to give your opinion and ideas. i wish you all the best. good luck! ^^ enjoy the camp! the food there are nice!! hahahah!!
abyss
14-04-2010, 10:07 PM
i just back from eduQuest camp... i wish all the 3rd batch and 4th batch candidates all the best. hahaha~ do some phyics, chemistry and add maths revision before you go...
good luck!
hi, i just back from eduQuest... for case studies, it about current issues... they are not very hard as there are guides given.. and they will help you in the case study.. so, is not hard. try your best to give your opinion and ideas. i wish you all the best. good luck! ^^ enjoy the camp! the food there are nice!! hahahah!!
haha..i will have lower expectation,(so i will feel the things there are nice)-because sb says about bad experience there.....
i also have bad experience at there...:( but is still ok. i learn things from the camp...
naz_arisz
15-04-2010, 02:01 AM
thanx guys for helping! hmm wut about d maths topics?
15-04-2010, 02:17 AM
Revise your logarithm, completing the square, earth as a sphere, factorisation and it'll do you good. Don't forget about your physics too, questions regarding Heat, Forces and motion, Impulse and some simple chemistry questions were asked too. Don't worry, you can do it. :)
As for the interview part, do prepare a good, long self-introduction, because when I was in, they just wanted me to talk talk talk until the end of my world. You can promote yourself with your academic achievement, leadership qualities you possess, and some extra-curricular activities you participated in.
But here are some of the aspects they look for in candidates:
- self-confidence
- achievement motivation
- purposeful curiosity
- mental alertness
- empathy
Lastly, the advice they gave us is, "See the topic beyond what you can imagine". That's all for now. Best of luck! =)
frozenkeylfc
15-04-2010, 01:14 PM
thx for the sharing of precious experience.. ^^ can i know more information on "Petronas value profiling test" and "critical reasoning test"? at least i can obtain an rough image of them..
your reply is appreciated.. thx a lot..
littlesnowgirl
15-04-2010, 03:07 PM
thx for the sharing of precious experience.. ^^ can i know more information on "Petronas value profiling test" and "critical reasoning test"? at least i can obtain an rough image of them..
Basically, petronas value profiling test has nothing to do with our knowledge. It is to test our personalities and interests so that Petronas would know which job we're truly capable of.
As for the critical reasoning test, it's some understandings of certain english passages. Nothing to prepare though. Because it tests on your ability to think and analyse.
May i know more topics of case study? thanks...
i'm from 2nd batch. my case study topic was 'refugees', my roommate get 'global warming', and my other friend get case study bout internet(i'm nt very sure)... ok, so mostly probably, case study will be current issues... try ur best to bring out ur own idea and opinion, dun worry as there are guides given. good luck! hope you get petronas sponsorships!
Elite92
15-04-2010, 09:23 PM
i make a very big mistake:cry,i juz cant find my slip bank,bt i got its copy
Can i use it??:(
fird126
15-04-2010, 09:26 PM
i make a very big mistake:cry,i juz cant find my slip bank,bt i got its copy
Can i use it??:(
if i'm not mistaken, yes u may. they already have the records after all.
My seniors tell me tat...
Batch 1-3 is sponsored by petronas...
while batch 4 ll b private....
16-04-2010, 08:56 PM
One thing u guys may want to know is Petronas-despite it's strict rules and interviews-are actually quite lenient. If you forget to bring along any certs or anything important that needs to be handed it, u can do so after the interview. :) no worries man.
i'm from 2nd batch and i'm private.... ==
I think which batch we are in depends on our residential area.. Im the 4th.. by the way, how to confirm whether mine is private or sponsored?
one more thing, my mum is a housewife.. so no need to replace her slip gaji with anything? (if I dun have a surat akuan) thanks..
AllenChew
17-04-2010, 05:03 PM
I think which batch we are in depends on our residential area.. Im the 4th.. by the way, how to confirm whether mine is private or sponsored?
one more thing, my mum is a housewife.. so no need to replace her slip gaji with anything? (if I dun have a surat akuan) thanks..
ur borang permohonan online thr got stated whether u r applying for penajaan o persendirian
if ur mum is a housewife..then no nid to handup any document for the slip gaji(no surat akaun oso nvm)
i tink it's wrong bcoz i went for 1st batch sum of them r private
value profiling test is jz a simple test for ur own personality..while critical reasoning test for ur IQ...be caution during tis test cause the time given is nt enuf~~
ee..i apply for penajaan..but i filled in i will consider persendirian if my application unsuccessful..hehe..
my surat panggilan there written im invited to attend eduquest camp untuk memilih pelajar penajaan petronas..so i assume mine is sponsored...thanks ya..
17-04-2010, 07:04 PM
whether sponsored or not, in the end, it is up to Petronas to decide. They have full discretion in deciding whether u should get a sponsorship or not
dak_kg-jer
18-04-2010, 12:33 PM
hi! i also will attend the edu camp this tuesday i'd like 2 ask.. is that true the ratio in a group only 1: 6 to get accepted?? then it must be so hard to get the sholar...
i choose geophysics s my soon-to-be course.. so, is there also any high-chance to get the scholar? b'coz 4 accountants n geologist there was..
hope 2 have a better chance :-)
AllenChew
18-04-2010, 12:51 PM
hi! i also will attend the edu camp this tuesday i'd like 2 ask.. is that true the ratio in a group only 1: 6 to get accepted?? then it must be so hard to get the sholar...
i choose geophysics s my soon-to-be course.. so, is there also any high-chance to get the scholar? b'coz 4 accountants n geologist there was..
i din heard any about the 1:6 ratio at thr..i tink it's totaly based on ur performance in interview...but i heard tat petronas lacks of accountants...n they may gv more places to engineering...but chances still are..depends on ur performance la..all da best
18-04-2010, 03:24 PM
well.. im not too sure but I remembered the ratio was 1:3 actually.. erm.. every year, there would be 600 sponsorships handed out and 200 for OVS programme.
Yes,geophysics is a rare field and so u stand a pretty awesome chance if ur interview goes on smoothly. ;)
frozenkeylfc
18-04-2010, 04:13 PM
hey.. i would like to ask, do we need to study all the syllabus in spm of physics, add math as well as chemistry to sit for the science and math test?
any reply is appreciated... ^^
Huwiez
18-04-2010, 04:31 PM
hey.. i would like to ask, do we need to study all the syllabus in spm of physics, add math as well as chemistry to sit for the science and math test?
any reply is appreciated... ^^
not really, because the test is simple.
there are 4 papers: 2 IQ test, English and Math-and-science
IQ test, spontaneous lo....
english: spm level
Math-and-Sc: including mt, physics and chemistry (no bio at all) quite easy, can pass even without study at all, but to those aiming for 100%, u may see through the SPM syllabus
don't worry, everything is in objective:))
good luck!!
hsyazana
18-04-2010, 05:20 PM
hi, i'm going to educamp this tuesday and would like to know the questions they will ask..:):)
dak_kg-jer
18-04-2010, 05:34 PM
i din heard any about the 1:6 ratio at thr..i tink it's totaly based on ur performance in interview...but i heard tat petronas lacks of accountants...n they may gv more places to engineering...but chances still are..depends on ur performance la..all da best
LOL.. :P
thanx a lot senksiang90.. at least, it do gave some some extra enthusiasm there.. lol..:laugh
abyss
18-04-2010, 05:36 PM
u will know when u r there...btw, the topics given may b different...
dak_kg-jer
18-04-2010, 05:38 PM
i'm so scared that i don't have ample time to revise those 4 subjects.. T_T
18-04-2010, 06:29 PM
Don't worry. For my batch, the questions weren't unexceptionally hard. Just do a quick revision on all 4 subjects and you are ready to go! :) Don't be nervous, stay calm. For you to worry way before the camp, it shows that you'll be doing a lot of preparation.
Best of luck then! :D
P.S. do browse page 12 if you want the topics that were asked during the first educamp. ;)
omg!>< impossible to review those massive subjects in 1 day... T.T is it really that simple that no need to revise? which chapters got difficult questions? please~
AllenChew
18-04-2010, 08:05 PM
hey relax guys..the math n science test nt rely a hard test...mos of the ques is phy n add math ques..math n chemistry jz be a very small part...mos important is tat u r able to recall back wat u learnt before~~
im scared of cannot recall them...=S im going tomorrow.. since im from johor... so any suggestions which chapters should i revise? and... the one-to-one interview is just on the case-study? nothing else?
AllenChew
18-04-2010, 09:35 PM
im scared of cannot recall them...=S im going tomorrow.. since im from johor... so any suggestions which chapters should i revise? and... the one-to-one interview is just on the case-study? nothing else?
i tink ur test will be different ques wif mine...but for my one forces n motion tat chp given priority in physics..while add math almos every chapter oso hv sum.
for one on one interview...it's introduction on urself n a simple briefing on the case study only..the real discussion is in the group discussion~
btw wish u gud luck tomorrow^^
abyss
18-04-2010, 10:15 PM
can check in tomorow?? tomorow is perak public holiday....
mayb i will be staying in hotel tomorrow.. but i will try to call them if room s availale a day earlier..
acgerlok7
18-04-2010, 10:42 PM
jus for info...i tink th boys would be staying in a place called IKBN..lyk 10 mins bus ride frm UTP..hmm...for my batch...i styed in a small motel in Menglembu first b4 i depart the next day...lol
AllenChew
18-04-2010, 11:00 PM
jus for info...i tink th boys would be staying in a place called IKBN..lyk 10 mins bus ride frm UTP..hmm...for my batch...i styed in a small motel in Menglembu first b4 i depart the next day...lol
no..for my batch..sum of them stayed in IKBN while sum of them(include me) stay in utp hostel together wif current utp student..they said those who registered earlier will be distributed into IKBN which is worse than utp hostel..luckily i registered almos at the end~:P
for one on one interview...it's introduction on urself n a simple briefing on the case study only..the real discussion is in the group discussion
how the discussion will be? i thought everyone in each team will be given different topics?
abyss
18-04-2010, 11:08 PM
All of us will be checking in n registering at UTP??
then shutter bus will send us to hostel to put down stuff before program starts??
I assume all interviewees are wearing formal uniform during registration(8-6?).
acgerlok7
18-04-2010, 11:24 PM
no..for my batch..sum of them stayed in IKBN while sum of them(include me) stay in utp hostel together wif current utp student..they said those who registered earlier will be distributed into IKBN which is worse than utp hostel..luckily i registered almos at the end~:P
wah...lucky fella lar u...LOL...i was th first few to register...damn:(...lol...TRUE...IKBN sucks
AllenChew
19-04-2010, 01:42 AM
how the discussion will be? i thought everyone in each team will be given different topics?
4 o 5 in a group given a same topic...but each person will be given a dfren solutions for the problems...after discuss about why the problems happened...then u hv to make judgement about ur solution that u get..u cn either stand on ur own side o agree others solutions...
All of us will be checking in n registering at UTP??
then shutter bus will send us to hostel to put down stuff before program starts??
I assume all interviewees are wearing formal uniform during registration(8-6?).
registration at utp..then u will either check in into utp hostel o IKBN depends on ur luck..but tips for u all..better register at the last...means nearly 10am..then u will be arranged to stay in utp hostel that is better than IKBN(tat was wat i did xD)
wah...lucky fella lar u...LOL...i was th first few to register...damn:(...lol...TRUE...IKBN sucks
lol...yaya...i heard tat IKBN nid wake up very early..then thr r even no keys for u all as the door no nid to lock..n IKBN has been emptied for a long time...
19-04-2010, 05:19 AM
it's funny how last year's Educamp thread is dominated by Sarawakians and this year hardly a word from Sarawak. LOL.
dak_kg-jer
19-04-2010, 07:16 AM
hey relax guys..the math n science test nt rely a hard test...mos of the ques is phy n add math ques..math n chemistry jz be a very small part...mos important is tat u r able to recall back wat u learnt before~~
:cryso scary~
4 physics, they r testing about calculation @<hidden> just about knowledge??
lol..:P
quite weird when ques in physics doesn't have calculation..
and that what i scared of:(...
AllenChew
19-04-2010, 11:32 AM
:cryso scary~
4 physics, they r testing about calculation @<hidden> just about knowledge??
lol..:P
quite weird when ques in physics doesn't have calculation..
and that what i scared of:(...
for physics,theory and knowledge more than calculation
dak_kg-jer
19-04-2010, 12:07 PM
really? is that so?:nod lol..
it do makes me very relieve...:amuse:amuse
thanx...
What about chemistry? how many questions are there? simple theory or some which need to be memorized( like identifying cations etc.)?
abyss
19-04-2010, 04:26 PM
wat is meant by " no. siri borang"??
bank slip no. ???
wat is meant by " no. siri borang"??
bank slip no. ???
no.siri borang is the no. siri in your borang permohonan
bank slip no. is the cimb bank slip u used to pay them
dak_kg-jer
19-04-2010, 05:42 PM
What about chemistry? how many questions are there? simple theory or some which need to be memorized( like identifying cations etc.)?
:cryyou remind me of hard topic in chemistry...
anyway, thanks 4 the reminder..
frozenkeylfc
19-04-2010, 08:22 PM
i am informed that we are going to sit for the petronas profiling test and math & science test on the 1st day while we will attend the personal interview on the second day .. is that true??
AllenChew
19-04-2010, 09:10 PM
chemistry is a small part oni i tink..for my test oni 2 ques about chemistry out of 30...n it's simple therory:)
i am informed that we are going to sit for the petronas profiling test and math & science test on the 1st day while we will attend the personal interview on the second day .. is that true??
ya..u r rite...there are english test n IQ test on 2nd day oso:)
hehechicken
19-04-2010, 11:06 PM
well.. im not too sure but I remembered the ratio was 1:3 actually.. erm.. every year, there would be 600 sponsorships handed out and 200 for OVS programme.
Yes,geophysics is a rare field and so u stand a pretty awesome chance if ur interview goes on smoothly. ;)
there were 1.4k candidates shortlisted for the camp and about 130 will be for overseas and 300 for UTP. i'm certain
20-04-2010, 05:36 AM
there were 1.4k candidates shortlisted for the camp and about 130 will be for overseas and 300 for UTP. i'm certain
well the stats i took was 2 years ago when i attended educamp in year 2008. Well, obviously the new management are reducing intake eh.. last time it used to be 1800 candidates short-listed. Very well then. LOL.
Good luck in the results man!! it's gonna be released on.. i'm not too sure but previous years, petronas result will be the first to come out. so, look forward to it. :)
After all, after going through such an awesome interview experience, it only gets sweeter if you actually secured the sponsorship right? The harder the interview, the sweeter the success tasted if you get 'em. Cheerio!!
I heard that 10K were shortlisted, 2K attended EduQuest Camp, 600 will be their intake.
Well..Everything went smooth for me..n.n just the interview was more exciting than i expected..like debate..lol..
Anyone knows how many percent does the test count for??
acgerlok7
22-04-2010, 12:52 PM
I heard that 10K were shortlisted, 2K attended EduQuest Camp, 600 will be their intake.
Well..Everything went smooth for me..n.n just the interview was more exciting than i expected..like debate..lol..
Anyone knows how many percent does the test count for??
Not sure la..but how was ur test?i found the critical reasoning test hard, tough yet exciting..lol
reshasymphonia
22-04-2010, 02:02 PM
Not sure la..but how was ur test?i found the critical reasoning test hard, tough yet exciting..lol
I liked the MST! :D I couldnt remember anything till the add maths part.. then my brain started working again and thank god i rmbed almost everything. I didn't have time to finish the last CRT test. The Verbal one was... well the feeling i had after that kinda resembled the feelings i have every time i finished moral exam. Wad batch are u in? I'm from 20-21st batch haha, just came back yesterday :P
oo...because I didn't do well in diagrammatic critical reasoning...so...want to know whether it is important...others easy...n.n
stephanie171992
24-04-2010, 02:29 PM
yea.. your right.. i went for the educamp on 11mac.. first batch around 390 were shortlisted.. its pretty good.. ermm.. do you have any idea when the result will be out..? whether or not we are offer with the sponsorship :)
xiandagreat
24-04-2010, 07:23 PM
yea.. your right.. i went for the educamp on 11mac.. first batch around 390 were shortlisted.. its pretty good.. ermm.. do you have any idea when the result will be out..? whether or not we are offer with the sponsorship :)
I am also from the first batch. How do you know that 390 are shortlisted from the first batch? the 390 including overseas and local?
abyss
24-04-2010, 07:28 PM
or is ut 390 students attend the 11st mac educamp???
mine is around that no. too
jaekame
24-04-2010, 08:38 PM
just asking. if i accept jpa offer for engineering japan, which im going to accept. yes! :D the registration is on this tuesday... then i get the petronas scholarship, just fyi, im aplying chemical engineering overseas program. which one is better? jpa or petronas scholarship?
stephanie171992
26-04-2010, 09:28 PM
I am also from the first batch. How do you know that 390 are shortlisted from the first batch? the 390 including overseas and local?
sorry.. its 390 attended the camp.. means also 390 got shortlisted for the interview only.. but the result who actually got the sponsorship havent actually come out yet.. but i heard some rumors saying it will be out maybe 9th may.. just rumors.. it could be true and maybe not..:)
xiandagreat
27-04-2010, 12:19 AM
The result will be out on the 7th of May. Offer letters will be sent starting on 8th May. I got this info by asking my interviewer. Hope this will help.
Adi29
27-04-2010, 09:31 AM
The result will be out on the 7th of May. Offer letters will be sent starting on 8th May. I got this info by asking my interviewer. Hope this will help.
Owh okay..I tot its the 6th of may..?
that means only 10% will get? like jpa? and if i apply overseas, then i dun get it, will they give me study in utp?
abyss
27-04-2010, 07:15 PM
that depends on ur application n courses....
stephanie171992
27-04-2010, 10:06 PM
i applied overseas too... the interviewer did ask me whether i would consider if i was given utp... so im guessing if we're good they would either offer us utp if we didn't get overseas.
28-04-2010, 05:51 AM
If you get UTP, you'll have a very luxurious life there. But there's a hiccup, it's in the middle of nowhere.hehe.
A JPA scholar, we always have just enough to get by. Sometimes we have to starve as well if we have to pay for books and all. Yeah, we don't get any book allowance.
It feels just like yesterday I went to educamp though it's been 2 years already.hehe.
extell
28-04-2010, 09:34 AM
Sometimes we have to starve as well if we have to pay for books and all. Yeah, we don't get any book allowance.
Waaaa, seriously? And UTP sound like my prep college for JPA scholars, KTT....out of nowhere, surrounded by jungle and hills...:amuse
abyss
28-04-2010, 12:25 PM
utp r surrounded by palm oil trees...not jungle ^^
28-04-2010, 02:12 PM
i think UTP is super awesome. not really sure about it though but from the pictures and friend's suggestions, it seems to be a great place to study..
xiandagreat
28-04-2010, 02:47 PM
UTP is just 30 minutes away from my house. If I really get to study there, it will be great for me!
baby92
02-05-2010, 03:37 PM
is that true? wow.. its just around the corner. i hope ill get it. -_- but some of my frens said that it will be out on the 6th? which one actually?
xiandagreat
02-05-2010, 03:59 PM
is that true? wow.. its just around the corner. i hope ill get it. -_- but some of my frens said that it will be out on the 6th? which one actually?
yeah, this was what my interviewer told me..
baby92
02-05-2010, 05:20 PM
yeah, this was what my interviewer told me..
any idea how we can check on it? or they'll call us?
xiandagreat
02-05-2010, 05:26 PM
any idea how we can check on it? or they'll call us?
they told me to regularly monitor the site where the online application was done previously (spmonline.petronas.com.my).
Adi29
04-05-2010, 08:59 AM
So when is the result out..? lol...
6th or 7th..?
So when is the result out..? lol...
6th or 7th..?
one day doesnt make a difference right -___-
just keep checking can ady lah
Adi29
04-05-2010, 10:46 PM
its 6th is it..?
baby92
04-05-2010, 11:15 PM
hope its on the 6th. the sooner, the better. lols..
Adi29
05-05-2010, 08:55 AM
Ya...theres no news again though on the website..
holmes9216
05-05-2010, 10:32 AM
could i appeal if rejected?i apply 4 utp in geosc course n really hope 4 it.
Adi29
05-05-2010, 10:36 AM
Not really sure..dont think can...Dude..think positive..why talk of appeal..u might get it you know..hehe.. *fingers crossed* Lets pray to God that we get it..lol..
nervous~=S haha... if get petronas scholarship, are you all still going for f6?
how much will be given when we go overseas? jpa give more?
Adi29
05-05-2010, 10:50 PM
If get Petronas then u go form 6 again kinda wasting money..lol..
Overseas..erm i forgot but they did say if i'm not mistaken.
Any news..?
AllenChew
06-05-2010, 01:09 AM
nervous~=S haha... if get petronas scholarship, are you all still going for f6?
how much will be given when we go overseas? jpa give more?
not clear about how much..but petronas definitely give more~~the only worse part of petronas is it's a long bond...i heard jpa just giving scholars relatively sufficient allowance and daily expenses..but not much..u mus get rid of luxurious in order to survive~:)
Adi29
06-05-2010, 10:00 AM
yup..thats true..lol..
Its out 2day...??
Is the result suppose to be out today..? How do we check..?
baby92
06-05-2010, 11:20 AM
yup..thats true..lol..
Its out 2day...??
Is the result suppose to be out today..? How do we check..?
i thot it will be out today too. maybe its on the afternoon. just keep checking the website.
Adi29
06-05-2010, 11:24 AM
owh okay check website..> not phone call rite..?
han1992
06-05-2010, 11:26 AM
so we can onli check through website????
Adi29
06-05-2010, 11:26 AM
i have no idea..
But is it today..?
han1992
06-05-2010, 11:27 AM
i have no idea..
But is it today..?
the interviewers told me so...:huh
Adi29
06-05-2010, 11:30 AM
owh okay..cz some ppl say 2mrw at 5pm.
baby92
06-05-2010, 11:31 AM
yeah. my father did some phone calls too. they said it will be out today.. the latest is tomoro. but i reli wish its today...
Adi29
06-05-2010, 11:35 AM
u father called today..? or when..? lol..
baby92
06-05-2010, 11:38 AM
no.. he did it couple of days ago.. hais.. i reli wish it will be today..
Adi29
06-05-2010, 11:41 AM
owh okay..btw which number ur dad called..? i called no one asnwer..lol..
or maybe can try call again..Wad di the officer say to ur dad..?
baby92
06-05-2010, 11:50 AM
idk.. my father got some frens over there. so i guess he phoned his fren. the officer said most probably today.. if not today, maybe its tomoro..
Adi29
06-05-2010, 12:09 PM
owh okay..thanx 4 the info..if got any info pls post up here..hehe
How will we know the result of the interview..?? some say by phone call..??
xiandagreat
06-05-2010, 12:17 PM
owh okay..thanx 4 the info..if got any info pls post up here..hehe
How will we know the result of the interview..?? some say by phone call..??
i think you can check it online (spmonline.petronas.com.my).
Adi29
06-05-2010, 12:20 PM
not thru call..?
Not yt out rite..?
nuel92
06-05-2010, 12:32 PM
the interviewer said it will be out via the webiste but the website is not updated yet... i'm nervous now
xiandagreat
06-05-2010, 01:06 PM
the interviewer said it will be out via the webiste but the website is not updated yet... i'm nervous now
Chill down.. Dont be too nervous. Nervousness will make things worst.
Adi29
06-05-2010, 02:52 PM
same..nervous but cant do anything..
littlesnowgirl
06-05-2010, 05:51 PM
Guys. i went to check my status on www.spmonline.petronas.com.my (http://www.spmonline.petronas.com.my).
it says congratulations, but my offer is pretty weird!!
i applied for finance overseas yet i end up getting this:
Program: program asas/ijzah pertama (UTP)
Kursus: Sarjana Muda Sistem Maklumat Perniagaan
Institusi: UTP
It's not within my 3 choices of course and it's local.
Does that mean i fail to secure an overseas scholarship?
Huwiez
06-05-2010, 05:56 PM
Omygod!!! i gt it!!! Accounting in New Zealand....
anyone else?
06-05-2010, 06:02 PM
Mine is worse. It says it's still in process. :laugh
06-05-2010, 06:05 PM
Guys. i went to check my status on www.spmonline.petronas.com.my (http://www.spmonline.petronas.com.my).
it says congratulations, but my offer is pretty weird!!
i applied for finance overseas yet i end up getting this:
Program: program asas/ijzah pertama (UTP)
Kursus: Sarjana Muda Sistem Maklumat Perniagaan
Institusi: UTP
It's not within my 3 choices of course and it's local.
Does that mean i fail to secure an overseas scholarship?
Yes, but you got full scholarship for your studies at UTP. Look at the good side. Congratulations for securing it!! :)
littlesnowgirl
06-05-2010, 06:10 PM
urm.. it's a completely different course. could there possibly be a mistake? So sad..
=(
Adi29
06-05-2010, 06:10 PM
Mine is worse. It says it's still in process. :laugh
Restless is urs pelajar persendirian too..?
xiandagreat
06-05-2010, 06:12 PM
Yes! I got it!
Petroleum engineering in United States
06-05-2010, 06:14 PM
Restless is urs pelajar persendirian too..?
No. I applied overseas. It says I need to check after 9pm tomorrow. You?
But hey guys! The results are finally out! No more waiting!!! :laugh Congratulations to those who got it. As for those who didn't, don't worry okay? There are still a lot of roads you can go. :wink Those who got it just got shortcuts. :))
Adrian92
06-05-2010, 06:22 PM
Congrats to those who gt it!!
06-05-2010, 06:24 PM
urm.. it's a completely different course. could there possibly be a mistake? So sad..
=(
I don't think there's a mistake. They are the one sponsoring you, so they decide what course they would like you to study. Sorry to say that. :(
syairahusna
06-05-2010, 06:30 PM
Yes! I got it!
Petroleum engineering in United States
Congratulations, so do u have to undergo the pre-u course locally??
littlesnowgirl
06-05-2010, 06:30 PM
Okayy=) thanks for the comments..Hmm.
xiandagreat
06-05-2010, 06:35 PM
Congratulations, so do u have to undergo the pre-u course locally??
yes, pre-u in local and degree in the US.....
baby92
06-05-2010, 06:36 PM
No. I applied overseas. It says I need to check after 9pm tomorrow. You?
But hey guys! The results are finally out! No more waiting!!! :laugh Congratulations to those who got it. As for those who didn't, don't worry okay? There are still a lot of roads you can go. :wink Those who got it just got shortcuts. :))
same with me!!!! whats the problem actually? im nervous.. i applied for overseas too. is that means overseas will be revealed tomoro?
06-05-2010, 06:42 PM
Will you be worried about the sponsorship things then? Won't you be worried if you won't be employed in the end and you'll need to pay back?
same with me!!!! whats the problem actually? im nervous.. i applied for overseas too. is that means overseas will be revealed tomoro?
I got a feeling I know you. :lol I don't think overseas will be revealed tomorrow, cause some said new zealand and US scholarships for accounting and petroleum are out. However, I would like to ask if you applied for chemical engineering? Maybe chemical engineering's result are not out yet?
syairahusna
06-05-2010, 06:47 PM
So, do scholars will do pre-u at UTP or any private college??
iyouweblog
06-05-2010, 06:48 PM
i hope those (i m one of them) who got the message that ask us to wait till 2morrow doesn't mean that we are rejected... hahahaha
syairahusna
06-05-2010, 06:50 PM
:lol I don't think overseas will be revealed tomorrow, cause some said new zealand and US scholarships for accounting and petroleum are out. However, I would like to ask if you applied for chemical engineering? Maybe chemical engineering's result are not out yet?[/quote]
I didn't intend to hurt anybody's feeling but I got Econs in UK..
xiandagreat
06-05-2010, 06:51 PM
So, do scholars will do pre-u at UTP or any private college??
i think it will be in a private college. Definitely not utp
baby92
06-05-2010, 06:52 PM
I got a feeling I know you. :lol I don't think overseas will be revealed tomorrow, cause some said new zealand and US scholarships for accounting and petroleum are out. However, I would like to ask if you applied for chemical engineering? Maybe chemical engineering's result are not out yet?[/quote]
no. i applied for geology.. hmm. sad.. i just hope that im not rejected.. is there any possibilities its bcoz im from the last batch educamp?
pree92
06-05-2010, 06:53 PM
helpppp me.. when i logged in it says Dimaklumkan bahawa permohonan anda untuk mendapatkan Pinjaman Pendidikan PETRONAS / Kemasukan ke Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) sebagai pelajar persendirian adalah tidak berjaya.
does that mean i didnt get it at all??? i applied for luar negara though.. goshh:(
06-05-2010, 06:58 PM
helpppp me.. when i logged in it says Dimaklumkan bahawa permohonan anda untuk mendapatkan Pinjaman Pendidikan PETRONAS / Kemasukan ke Universiti Teknologi PETRONAS (UTP) sebagai pelajar persendirian adalah tidak berjaya.
does that mean i didnt get it at all??? i applied for luar negara though.. goshh:(
Sad to say, but i think so. :( Don't worry yet. Maybe there's still JPA? :))
no. i applied for geology.. hmm. sad.. i just hope that im not rejected.. is there any possibilities its bcoz im from the last batch educamp?
Nop, I am from the first batch. But I think there's a possibility that we may be rejected too. :omg But don't fret. It's okay. No point worrying now right?:wink
I didn't intend to hurt anybody's feeling but I got Econs in UK.. ]
Ah! No no. You are not hurting. BIG Congratz to you! :laugh You must be really good. :wink
pree92
06-05-2010, 07:05 PM
which batch are you guys from ?
baby92
06-05-2010, 07:06 PM
restless, what do u apply for? i hope im not rejected. i really want this.. compare to jpa..
Rach92
06-05-2010, 07:08 PM
petronas results are out!!
dYaNa92
06-05-2010, 07:10 PM
Well mine..
Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa permohonan anda masih dalam proses.
Sila lawati laman web ini semula pada 7 Mei 2010 bermula jam 9 malam untuk mengetahui status permohonan anda.
Sekian, terima kasih.
baby92
06-05-2010, 07:11 PM
petronas results are out!!
i know.. but then they said mine is stil in process. have to wait till tomoro nite. what bout u?
Well mine..
Adalah dimaklumkan bahawa permohonan anda masih dalam proses.
Sila lawati laman web ini semula pada 7 Mei 2010 bermula jam 9 malam untuk mengetahui status permohonan anda.
Sekian, terima kasih.
we are in the same case. i wonder whats the real problem actually..
06-05-2010, 07:13 PM
restless, what do u apply for? i hope im not rejected. i really want this.. compare to jpa..
I applied chemical engineering. Maybe some of the courses aren't out yet?
baby92
06-05-2010, 07:14 PM
i see. hope u'll get it.. ;)
syairahusna
06-05-2010, 07:16 PM
Ah! No no. You are not hurting. BIG Congratz to you! :laugh You must be really good. :wink[/quote]
Thanks but actually I'm not that good lorh..
dYaNa92
06-05-2010, 07:16 PM
yeah..me too..applied 4 chem engineering..
i wanna know whether if we get petronas then no more chance to get jpa??
pree92
06-05-2010, 07:21 PM
guys mine says anda tidak berjaya for pinjaman pendidikan / UTP .. so does that mean that my overseas application results are still not out yet? if i failed both, what would they say. cos as far as i know, overseas is known as PENAJAAN not pinjaman rite?
06-05-2010, 07:22 PM
yeah..me too..applied 4 chem engineering..
i wanna know whether if we get petronas then no more chance to get jpa??
We may still have the chance to get JPA. It's said that if you got JPA, maybe you'll get Petronas local. Or if you got Petronas overseas, maybe you'll get PIDN. And they say it's rare to get both overseas, but there's still the possibility there if you are good and you apply different courses. (correct me if I said it wrongly:lol Do check back the threads)
Thanks but actually I'm not that good lorh..
Haha. For one who got it overseas, you must be good. Or else those who didnt' get it will be worse than good. :laugh Still, congratz.
i see. hope u'll get it.. ;)
Thank you. I'll give you my hope too. :wink