View Full Version : Info: Hesitating to accept offer for Acturial Science in NTU
sengloon
08-04-2010, 05:36 PM
Hi hi i am new here..
Now hesitating whether I want to choose Actuarial Science in NTU because
1) No guarantee as all of them will be compete in 2nd year.
2) I found out none of the lectures are specialised in Act. Sc. They are in the career list now.
Is that true? Hopefully there will be some experience senior to guide me. Thank you.:(
08-04-2010, 05:53 PM
Thread title edited for clarity
Sengloon did you apply for NUS as well?You might want to compare between those two. Oh ya by the way is the application outcome published already? I guess I didn't get it.Haha.. How sad. NTU is a good uni and if you dont have other choices why not?
adele123
08-04-2010, 07:58 PM
1) NUS does not offer actuarial science, please take note. There's a collaboration with ANU. NUS and ANU offers Bachelor of Social Science (Honours in Actuarial Studies and Economics). It's a 4 year course, 2 years in NUS, 2 years in ANU.
2) At NTU, to do actuarial, you first need to enroll under bachelor of business. Based on your results, then you can choose to major in actuarial. Exact course details, i'm not too sure, since I don't study there. The results, i mean, is i think the 1st year degree results. I forgot actual details, since it was a long time ago, when my friend who studied there told me.
The requirement to major in banking and finance is actually higher than the requirement to major in actuarial in NTU (under Bachelor of business)
3) What do you mean none of the lectures specialised in actuarial science?
I took some time and checked out the NTU website. Their courses do corresponds to the CT 1 ~ CT 8 of the institutes subject. According to the website, whether you get the exemption for all the 8 CT, still depends on your final examinatoin.
Anyway, NTU is recognised by the Institute of Actuaries in UK.
PS: You won't understand what are the CT, but they are like sort of the first few examinations under the Institute of Actuaries
PPS: Yes, if you don't do well enough, you can't major in actuarial in NTU, but... it's still behind Banking & Finance, in terms of the grades you need to qualify.
PPPS: The title, need to be edited. =D It should be actuarial and NTU, I believe.
sengloon
08-04-2010, 08:24 PM
adele123, Thank you for sharing and about the title I guess its typing error, anyway i have changed it:P..Thank you..
Ya, it's a competitive course where everyone enroll into Nanyang Business School are going for major in AS..but recently the administration has put under CAREER OPPORTUNITY for hiring LECTURERS specialise on AS course. That's worried me. Furthermore, I had gone through the staff directory and never been any lecturers graduated in AS course.
CT is Core Technical..One has to take CA SA ST exams upon graduation to be a recognised actuary, provided he has been exempted from CT series :)
LLCH (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11554), yep i did, but I have chosen statistic instead of SOCIAL SCIENCE that is required for those who wants to pursue AS course. It's only 8 people will be chosen for going ANU study AS per year.
LOL don't worry the application outcome is not ready, it's my typing error sorry X.x
Gully
08-04-2010, 08:37 PM
Hey!! Dun worry, go for wad u like n beliv in urself, i noe ur good at hardworking so u can definitely get ur course!!
sengloon
08-04-2010, 08:40 PM
Hey!! Dun worry, go for wad u like n beliv in urself, i noe ur good at hardworking so u can definitely get ur course!!
ehy hw to change title ??
1) NUS does not offer actuarial science, please take note. There's a collaboration with ANU. NUS and ANU offers Bachelor of Social Science (Honours in Actuarial Studies and Economics). It's a 4 year course, 2 years in NUS, 2 years in ANU.
2) At NTU, to do actuarial, you first need to enroll under bachelor of business. Based on your results, then you can choose to major in actuarial. Exact course details, i'm not too sure, since I don't study there. The results, i mean, is i think the 1st year degree results. I forgot actual details, since it was a long time ago, when my friend who studied there told me.
The requirement to major in banking and finance is actually higher than the requirement to major in actuarial in NTU (under Bachelor of business)
3) What do you mean none of the lectures specialised in actuarial science?
I took some time and checked out the NTU website. Their courses do corresponds to the CT 1 ~ CT 8 of the institutes subject. According to the website, whether you get the exemption for all the 8 CT, still depends on your final examinatoin.
Anyway, NTU is recognised by the Institute of Actuaries in UK.
PS: You won't understand what are the CT, but they are like sort of the first few examinations under the Institute of Actuaries
PPS: Yes, if you don't do well enough, you can't major in actuarial in NTU, but... it's still behind Banking & Finance, in terms of the grades you need to qualify.
PPPS: The title, need to be edited. =D It should be actuarial and NTU, I believe.
adele123, Thank you for sharing and about the title I guess its typing error, anyway i have changed it:P..Thank you..
Ya, it's a competitive course where everyone enroll into Nanyang Business School are going for major in AS..but recently the administration has put under CAREER OPPORTUNITY for hiring LECTURERS specialise on AS course. That's worried me. Furthermore, I had gone through the staff directory and never been any lecturers graduated in AS course.
CT is Core Technical..One has to take CA SA ST exams upon graduation to be a recognised actuary, provided he has been exempted from CT series :)
LLCH (http://www.recom.org/forum/member.php?u=11554), yep i did, but I have chosen statistic instead of SOCIAL SCIENCE that is required for those who wants to pursue AS course. It's only 8 people will be chosen for going ANU study AS per year.
LOL don't worry the application outcome is not ready, it's my typing error sorry X.x
adele123
08-04-2010, 08:40 PM
ah... orang yang sudah membuat penyelidikan, bagus bagus...
I believe, only NTU students will be able to tell you how competitive it is to major in Actuarial. =D
However, I heard NTU business school is pretty good. The absence of lecturers who aren't graduates of actuarial should not be your biggest worries, I think. Just my opinion. =D
sengloon
08-04-2010, 08:50 PM
Hi hi i am new here..
Now hesitating whether I want to choose Actuarial Science in NTU because
1) No guarantee as all of them will be compete in 2nd year.
2) I found out none of the lectures are specialised in Act. Sc. They are in the career list now.
Is that true? Hopefully there will be some experience senior to guide me. Thank you.:(
sorry here as i am new to this forum so i dono hw to change the thread title..
08-04-2010, 08:52 PM
sorry here as i am new to this forum so i dono hw to change the thread title..
Edited the title for you =) Sorry for putting in the wrong institution into the previously edited title.
You can edit the title by editing the first post of the thread, and changing the title
sengloon
08-04-2010, 09:00 PM
Edited the title for you =) Sorry for putting in the wrong institution into the previously edited title.
You can edit the title by editing the first post of the thread, and changing the title
thanky you..i have changed but the title remains original :oh
08-04-2010, 09:09 PM
thanky you..i have changed but the title remains original :oh
Hmm... never mind then. Feel free to PM any one the mods if you require assistance in this matter
lawteoh
08-04-2010, 11:27 PM
Already asked my senior who is studying actuarial science in NTU (final year) to give u a reply. (if she is free) :)
sengloon
08-04-2010, 11:35 PM
Already asked my senior who is studying actuarial science in NTU (final year) to give u a reply. (if she is free) :)
thankyou..i would like to chat with her:)
09-04-2010, 09:22 AM
thankyou..i would like to chat with her:)
A friend of mine did his first year for this course at NTU and he hated it. Not sure why but though.
sengloon
09-04-2010, 09:54 AM
A friend of mine did his first year for this course at NTU and he hated it. Not sure why but though.
ya I wondering because the 1st year curriculum all kinds of business..
its tough for me as a science student with no background for econ and Acc:oh
adele123
09-04-2010, 02:01 PM
I think you really don't need to worry about the lack of background in economics and accounting. I was a science student. I have never taken economics before but I don't find it an disadvantage. Just work hard.
No matter what, most actuarial students will need to do some basic accounting course, and slightly more advanced economics courses along with some finance-related course. Lucky for me, I only have to do one accounting course in ANU. I believe NTU students will have to do at least 2?
Only in about one sem, or 2 sems later that will start to study those actuarial courses (ie those courses that corresponds to the CT subjects under the institute)
You do know that you can still find a job elsewhere even after doing a degree in AS right?
The fact is that many people with the initial intention of doing AS end up doing something else. Be it finance, CS or engineering. The reason I guess is because AS did not turn out to be something that they expected to be. That is understandable because many would have heard of the 'math-eness' and because they can do maths in school and college, they feel that AS might be a suitable course. Well, that is just part of the story as AS involves some programming, econometric and financial knowledge. If one can integrate theory with application, then AS wouldn't be that difficult. I know of someone who went to Uni of Waterloo to do AS, found out his passion to be CS; he ditched AS, switched to CS, did internships with nVidia and Sony in silicon valley. He got placements with RIM, Google and EA too
So start your degree with an open mind, if AS is not for you, don't despair, chances are you will find something that interests you.
sengloon
09-04-2010, 07:46 PM
You do know that you can still find a job elsewhere even after doing a degree in AS right?
The fact is that many people with the initial intention of doing AS end up doing something else. Be it finance, CS or engineering. The reason I guess is because AS did not turn out to be something that they expected to be. That is understandable because many would have heard of the 'math-eness' and because they can do maths in school and college, they feel that AS might be a suitable course. Well, that is just part of the story as AS involves some programming, econometric and financial knowledge. If one can integrate theory with application, then AS wouldn't be that difficult. I know of someone who went to Uni of Waterloo to do AS, found out his passion to be CS; he ditched AS, switched to CS, did internships with nVidia and Sony in silicon valley. He got placements with RIM, Google and EA too
So start your degree with an open mind, if AS is not for you, don't despair, chances are you will find something that interests you.
Bush, thank you for ur advices and ur fren is good. Sure he did achieve what he wants to be. To me, I am interested in finance line since f4f5. Become an actuary is tough, but recent market need a lot of actuarial graduate. They need not actuary but 'actuarial mind' students are in great demand.
10-04-2010, 08:43 AM
Bush, thank you for ur advices and ur fren is good. Sure he did achieve what he wants to be. To me, I am interested in finance line since f4f5. Become an actuary is tough, but recent market need a lot of actuarial graduate. They need not actuary but 'actuarial mind' students are in great demand.
How much do you know about finance sengloon? I said the same thing to myself many many years ago and unsurprisingly, many things come along the way and altered my course of life altogether. Here I am thinking of switching to do applied maths after being on the 'finance' path for 5 years! Then again, take our posts with a pinch of salt and ultimately, you do what you think is best for you.
ya I wondering because the 1st year curriculum all kinds of business..
its tough for me as a science student with no background for econ and Acc:oh
It will be tough but the environment forces you to adapt and adjust so one way the other you will have to deal with it. Fret not, many will be in the same predicament as you are, coming from a 'science' background at all.
cfliang
10-04-2010, 10:30 AM
What if I graduated with AS and found out that I don't really like working in the insurance field and wish to transfer to other fields like manufacturing or business? Will I experience much disadvantage in venturing into other fields which I don't have any degrees related to them?
p.s. Sorry for going a bit off topic.
Actuaries do not just work in insurance you know?
adele123
10-04-2010, 01:07 PM
Become an actuary is tough, but recent market need a lot of actuarial graduate. They need not actuary but 'actuarial mind' students are in great demand.
^ I think unless there's solid proof, I'm not sure if this is true...
IMHO, many malaysians are studying actuarial and seems that nobody knows whether there is a demand or not for actuary
@<hidden>
There are 4 main fields that actuaries work in.
1) General insurance
2) Life Insurance
3) investment
4) Superannuation
These 4 fields both require different skills. during your degree, your university will teach you all the subjects require in the above 4 fields. After you degree, you will choose your area of specialization.
Actually, I believe many who intend to study actuarial have no idea what's coming for them. Don't have to worry since it's not like you can only work as traditional actuarial job.
sengloon
11-04-2010, 11:22 AM
ehy...thank you all the guys sharing all your opinions here :)
finally I've made up my mind..Don't want to take risk as there is broader area of career for MATHS and ECONS include Act.Sc. Only that there is no exemption for prof papers. lolx:P
cfliang
11-04-2010, 12:52 PM
finally I've made up my mind..Don't want to take risk as there is broader area of career for MATHS and ECONS include Act.Sc. Only that there is no exemption for prof papers. lolx:P
Glad that you have made your decision and good luck for you.
By the way, which university did u apply for Maths and Econs? Is it NTU?
sengloon
11-04-2010, 03:49 PM
Glad that you have made your decision and good luck for you.
By the way, which university did u apply for Maths and Econs? Is it NTU?
ya NTU ..waiting for result of the application:) guess it will be end of april
confuser008
11-04-2010, 08:21 PM
Maths & Econs? Haha...this is the course that I am currently suffering from....All about proving...
sengloon
12-04-2010, 12:57 AM
Maths & Econs? Haha...this is the course that I am currently suffering from....All about proving...
ehy nice to meet u here:) guess i will be ur junior in coming time..haha
so what advice u can give regarding this?? I heard it's 50 mahts 50 econs right?? and is it a new course in NTU ?? how about job prospect ??
lowch1
12-04-2010, 07:22 AM
heyhey, if you wish to take another programme, while keeping ur options to venture into Act Science open, I would suggest you take Mathematical Sciences in NTU. They have a statistical track in that programme that will help you to get started in the actuarial career. But, of course, if you are looking for an option in the economics field, Maths and Econs would be a better fit.
FYI, Actuarial has less economics stuffs than you thought.
All the best!
Added: http://www.spms.ntu.edu.sg/mas/Undergraduates/MathEconCurriculum.htm this is what you are going to take under this programme. =]
lowch1
16-04-2010, 02:59 PM
^ I think unless there's solid proof, I'm not sure if this is true...
IMHO, many malaysians are studying actuarial and seems that nobody knows whether there is a demand or not for actuary
@<hidden>
There are 4 main fields that actuaries work in.
1) General insurance
2) Life Insurance
3) investment
4) Superannuation
These 4 fields both require different skills. during your degree, your university will teach you all the subjects require in the above 4 fields. After you degree, you will choose your area of specialization.
Actually, I believe many who intend to study actuarial have no idea what's coming for them. Don't have to worry since it's not like you can only work as traditional actuarial job.
I agree with you Adele. Haha.. I feel the job market is actually quite saturated especially in Singapore for traditional actuarial jobs. Am currently looking for opportunities elsewhere. Haha..