View Full Version : Taylor's University College or...???
RagingBull
14-04-2010, 02:33 PM
Hi guys!
I am looking forward to joining Taylor's Univesity college for Diploma in Business. I would like to know what is the college like? I mean is it easy to get part-time jobs nearly? What about renting an apartment, is it easy to find one within a walking distance to the campus?
I know almost everyone asks which college is better. Well same is the case with me, unfortunately I can't find much information elsewhere which is how I ended up on this forum.
I want know which college is considered better b/w Swinburne and Taylor's. Swinbure offers the same diploma, Taylor's is also a bit expensive then Swinburne but from what I have read on the internet, Sarawak is kinda far away and isolated compared to the main cities. Is that true? Is getting a private accomodation any cheaper in Sarawak or would it be the same as finding one near Taylor's campus?
If anyone could please tell me that if I do this diploma can I transfer to any univeristy in Australia or just the university affiliated with the college, which would be uni. of South Australia. Also, I want to do bach. in economics later so does this diploma lead me to a economics degree?
I know this is probably a lot to ask but ANY info will be highly appreciated. Thanks!!!
14-04-2010, 08:12 PM
I juz read ur private message.. well, I did A levels, and not diploma in Taylor's. Well, since u r an international student, lemme juz share my experience in Taylor's.
I went to the Main campus in Subang Jaya to do my A levels, and there are several things u may want to know :
(1) Cost of living per day?
- The whole area is surrounded by good food! I really can't tell. If you have a tight budget, RM 10 would be enough for you. If you are a food-lover on the other hand, get ready to have a food-fest here! LOL.
- As for groceries, there is a really cheap wholesaler at USJ 1, which is 1/2 hour walk from Taylor's where it sells really cheap groceries.
- Rent is fairly expensive, depending on where u stay. The nearer it is to the college, the more expensive it will be.
(2) Halal food
- I presume if u need halal food, Malaysia has abundance of halal food but you have to watch out as there are many shops not selling halal food around Taylor's!
(3) Internet access
- There are many cyber cafes around. better ones reaches RM 2.50 per hour while a standard cyber cafe offers RM 2 per hour.
(4) Textbooks
- there is a textbook store just opposite the college. so no worries.
Oh, and life in college is really awesome. We do celebrate halloween, prom nights, have charity sales, and many more! There are also many clubs u can join! so, taylor's is indeed a good place. LOL.
*if there is anything more specific u want to know, feel free to ask. I really don't know what u want to know. LOL.
Oh and about Swinburne, truthfully, it is much more spacious than Taylor's. If u chose Swinburne, u have to transit from kuala lumpur to Kuching-I come from Kuching!!- the uni is really really big and quite modern as they have just renovated it. The lifestyle is also less hectic and cost of living is lower. :)
-but tat is of course if u r talking about Swinburne Malaysia and not Swinburne Australia. If it's australia, LOL. i have no info about it at all! :)
Cheers mate.
15-04-2010, 12:20 AM
I got a friend doing his foundation in business at Taylor's now. He is quite satisfied with the environment as well as the lecturers there. So, I guess diploma in business won't differ much from foundation course as the lecturers might be the same. As for the part time job, I think you can get one around that area but I don't encourage you to do part time job. Studies come first right? :))
For the Sarawak thingy, it depends on what you meant by "isolated". Since the place is less hectic, it is a rather good place to study and as what senksiang90 have pointed out, the living cost including accommodation is cheaper. It has relatively lesser temptation for entertainment too. So, you can just concentrate in your studies.
Swinburne and Taylors are both good colleges. A hectic life at Kuala Lumpur or a relatively peaceful life at Kuching, pick the one that suits you best. :)
RagingBull
15-04-2010, 12:31 AM
Thanks a lot man! Thats heaps of info!!! :)
Well from what you just told me about Swinburne, I may just go there. LOL..gotta admit though, Taylor's actually a little expensive. Is it Swinburne you're talking about which has a big campus? Which one would you say has better quality education b/w Swinburne and Taylor's?
On the website it says that Taylor now has a campus.
What about renting our own apartment, how much are the average rentals? Say I want to rent my own apt. for $200/month how far away is that going to be from Taylor's?
Since you mentioned cost of living in lower in Swinburne, I think thats what I might choose. Wouldn't the diploma from both institutes be recognized everywhere?
I really appreciate your help.
Cheers
@<hidden> BattleBoyz
Thanks man...much appreciated. I think I just chose Swinburne! LOL :P
15-04-2010, 01:03 PM
What about renting our own apartment, how much are the average rentals? Say I want to rent my own apt. for $200/month how far away is that going to be from Taylor's?
Since you mentioned cost of living in lower in Swinburne, I think thats what I might choose. Wouldn't the diploma from both institutes be recognized everywhere?
I really appreciate your help.
Cheers
Hmm.. RM 200 is kind of impossible to find in Taylor's seriously. Even a 30 minutes walk will cost u RM 700 per months to stay in an apartment. So, well, since u r on a tight budget, i suggest it to be Swinburne. Well, in terms of recognition I guess both are about the same. But surely the cost in sarawak is much lower. :)
RagingBull
15-04-2010, 05:33 PM
The thing is I want to move to Australia upon completion of the diploma, so I think Swinburne would be better in that regard cuz I would only have to transfer to their Australian campus whereas if i'm at Taylor's it'll be a different story, don't you think? Or would both be the same?
And I meant 200 Dollars which is about RM700, can I find a studio apt. in that much near taylor's?
AnnieChan
19-04-2010, 12:06 PM
From what i know, RM 700 in that area wont get you the entire apartment.. basically the rent for a studio apartment in Subang Jaya area, especially if you want the one walking distance from the campus, it will cost you bout RM 1800- RM 2400 per month.. I'm not too sure about this but there are people renting the apartment by rooms..
But I do have a ques, I thought foundation studies are all carried out in the new campus ( the lakeside one ) ??
You can easily get part-time work at Starbucks :) its just opposite Taylor's Subang Jaya campus ( assuming that if your to study there ). I asked before..the pay's RM4/hr and you just have to work a min 3 days per week. But whether it has changed their policy or not, that's your luck then. :D
RagingBull
19-04-2010, 06:24 PM
Thanks for all the info Annie! :)
Yeah, I will hopefully be going to the lakeside campus! I called Taylor's the other day and talked to someone in the career section, I told her my situation about renting my own apartment and she said she knows a few real estate people so she might be able to help me out with that once I get there. Even if the apartment isn't within walking distance, she said there's a college bus that will be to pick me up on a minimal monthly fee. So that doesn't sound too bad.
I'm not a coffee love but I won't mind working at Starbucks if I have to.:P What other places would there be where I could work?
And I take it RM4 is the minimum wage in Malaysia?
Glassylicious
19-04-2010, 06:37 PM
To be honest, I think it is unnecessary to rent an entire apartment. You can save so much just by renting a room in one of those houses at the T-junction near Taylor's. Many of those houses have been converted into "student houses", meaning the owner rents the rooms out to individual students. So if you don't mind sharing a house with other students, this could be a great option. Also, check out some of the shophouses along the Baker's Cottage stretch of road, I believe there are rooms for rent upstairs.
Edit: Yikes, my advice is mostly applicable for the Subang Jaya campus, not the Lakeside campus. Still, look into the option of getting an individual room as opposed to an entire flat/apartment.
P.S. You're not going to earn much working part-time, so that is not a viable solution. Remember that your studies are going to take up the bulk of your time, and earning RM4 per hour isn't going to cover much.
RagingBull
19-04-2010, 08:24 PM
Thanks Glassylicious! :)
Well since I am an international student. I'm not sure if I will have to pay for the on-campus accomodation, which for the lakeside residences has to be 6 months upfront. I don't know if they will provide me with some temporary accomodation till I can get my own apartment, or I may just have to pay for the on campus place and go apartment hunting cuz otherwise I won't have anywhere to stay when I get to Malaysia.
There's still time cuz I won't be going till at least mid-July and I have yet to submit my application which will be sometime this week. :) I just hope I get the visa soon enough. :P
I'm really excited about coming to Malaysia! :))
19-04-2010, 09:34 PM
now i'm confused. are u going to the lakeside campus or the main campus subang. u must know that it is of different buildings and quite far from each other. when u say foundation in business, u do u mean taylor's business school? the lakeside campus is for tertiary programme.. so... yeah..
RagingBull
20-04-2010, 02:47 AM
I thought I was going to the Lakeside campus...lol I dunno so far I think I am going into the lakeside campus, and yeah I mean Taylor's Business School.
21-04-2010, 10:47 PM
I thought I was going to the Lakeside campus...lol I dunno so far I think I am going into the lakeside campus, and yeah I mean Taylor's Business School.
Yes, you are going to the Lakeside Campus.
Subang Jaya campus is now only for pre-university courses. The former Taylor's Business School building (near the Subang Jaya Pre-U campus) is also now for the International Canadian Pre-U Programme.
AnnieChan
22-04-2010, 12:31 PM
If you're going to the lakeside campus, maybe you could find a room in the housing area where the campus is. Like what glassylicious said, you shouldn't be renting an entire apartment.its quite wasteful if you aren't gonna spend most of your time there.. Try looking into houses already on rent ( by rooms )near the lakeside campus.. There are plenty of international students at that campus seeing as the degree students are based there.. so you could get some extra advice once you're here.. Where are you from by the way?
RagingBull
23-04-2010, 01:16 AM
Thanks Annie, though I think i'm certain now that i'll just go on with the on-campus accomodation and then go house hunting for my private apartment at least that way I will be sure I have somewhere to go once I get there. LOL
Yeah, I have seen a couple of property websites with the rental ads for rooms so maybe I can just find one like you said.
I'm from Pakistan. I just sent my application yesterday so all I gotta do now is wait. They say it'll take about 8 weeks to process the visa. Gotta admit...the waiting totally sucks. :P Oh well, its not THAT long now. I'm really psyched about being there now!!! :))
AnnieChan
25-04-2010, 10:09 PM
i see.. hope you won't find it too difficult :)
alinasir
16-05-2011, 07:50 PM
hey ppl
who attends taylors lakeside campus? im a will be attending student so wanted to know about about the casmpus and the place just to get familiar how the place works? thankz
bubu24
16-05-2011, 08:29 PM
hey ppl
who attends taylors lakeside campus? im a will be attending student so wanted to know about about the casmpus and the place just to get familiar how the place works? thankz
i'm going to attend there soon too...what course r u taking?
RagingBull
17-05-2011, 01:18 AM
The place is big! A lot of eating places LOL
And its getting crowded day by day.
I haven't updated here since I moved here. I am in my third semester now. Took a while to get used to things, stayed at the hostel at campus for 6 months before I moved out in my own private accomodation.
@<hidden>, What course are you taking?
bubu24
17-05-2011, 01:52 AM
The place is big! A lot of eating places LOL
And its getting crowded day by day.
I haven't updated here since I moved here. I am in my third semester now. Took a while to get used to things, stayed at the hostel at campus for 6 months before I moved out in my own private accomodation.
@<hidden>, What course are you taking?
I'm taking pharmacy :)
how about you?
RagingBull
17-05-2011, 03:54 PM
I'm in DIB (Diploma in Business).
When do your classes start?
bubu24
17-05-2011, 04:08 PM
I'm in DIB (Diploma in Business), in my 3rd semester now. :)
When do your classes start?
i have to register on 25 june :)
btw, do you meet any jpa scholars doing their degree there? :)
RagingBull
17-05-2011, 04:10 PM
Oh, that's cool!
Ah, I am not a local so I don't know who JPA scholars are, sorry. :P
bubu24
17-05-2011, 04:12 PM
Oh, that's cool!
Ah, I am not a local so I don't know who JPA scholars are, sorry. :P
hahas, it's alright..thanks so much for ur info! :)
owh, where are u from? :)
RagingBull
17-05-2011, 04:15 PM
Been in Malaysia for almost 9 months now.
Still struggling to get used to everything, not quite adjusted to the new environment.
I take it you're a local? or am I wrong? LOL
bubu24
17-05-2011, 04:18 PM
I'm from Pakistan, been in Malaysia for almost 9 months now.
Still struggling to get used to everything, not quite adjusted to the new environment.
I take it you're a local? or am I wrong? LOL
yes, you are right, i'm a local
owh, dun worry, u'll get used to it soon :)
good luck then!