View Full Version : Smoking
16-11-2003, 02:41 PM
>> Thanks to royston for sharing the below. It is a very touching writing.
Smoke... hummm... I think I can help to put some words here since I am a smoker... I mean I am a heavy smoker.
Well, I don't feel sexy nor attractive while I smoke. That's why I hide myself when I smoke. I know it is really terrible and I will be killed at anytime.
From the article, I can see that the author is definitely not a smoker. He/She will not be able to imagine how a smoker think. Smoking will damage our lungs, but not our brain and thinking. We still conscious, know what the hell we are doing.
I am not qualified to speak on behalf of the pulic as I smoked 6 years only, since the first 1/2 year I joined Intel. Before that, I worked in my ex-company, I don't smoke.
You want to know why we smoke, you will need to know how to become a smoker. Do you know how to become a smoker? It was painful. When I lighted up my first cigarette, my head was dizzy, nearly wanted to vomit. I spent almost few months to take up the second stick. You have to smoke at least 5-6 packet before you able to smoke without pain. Funny huh? Why we still want to take up this painful experience and kill ourselves slowly?
I am not sure all smokers, but at least I wish to quit. Hey, this is not the common-phrase for a smoker. I am not addicted yet, I tried to quit before, I don't feel the "taggih". Why I picked up the cigarette again?
When I was lonely, I smoke.
When I was part-time study my dip, rushing my exams, reports throughout the night, for one week I slept only 1 hours per day, still got to work, I smoke.
When problems hit me, I need time to think and solve, I smoke.
When I depressed, I smoke.
Only time I don't smoke is, when I am busy, terribly busy.
From the examples above, I can see that, when my body idling, I smoke. When I need something to stimulate my brain before it rest, I smoke.
Whoever read this reply, please please please... don't pick up this habit. You will never know when it kills you, you will never know when you have the courage to quit it. It will never die, it will never stop.
Again, I know most of you are students. Jangan menghina saya. I do not blame Intel or pressures from Intel caused me smoke. A cow will not lower down their head if they don't want to drink. I picked up this bad habit myself. I never ever feel proud nor giving myself excuses to continue smoke.
Don't you know, I also feel very sad. One day at least 20 sticks, how bad my lungs will be? I am so scare that when I go for X-ray, there are two lung-shape spots on the x-ray film... hahaha !!
Anyway, nothing much I can say except... I am trying to quit, that's all.
Thank you.
~ roy ~
16-11-2003, 02:42 PM
royston, thanks a lot for sharing this with us, as i am reading this, i really feel like crying... it is so touching... It is very kind-hearted of you to share this with us and with a nobel intention of hoping others not to start smoking. I respect you and I respect your maturity. I really respect your determination in studying part-time while working...
royston, i fully support your effort to quit. Try as hard as possible. Do quit for your future and the future of future generation of Malaysia. If you could successfully quit, it would be a very good role model within Recom and hopefully your effort would help others to quit. We hope sincerely to hear your success story.
Thanks for sharing with us. Share a story with you, which i believe is in the news archive. Ling Leong Sik quit smoking, despite smoking 80 sticks a day, so that he would not let Dr. Mahathir down. That was in 1980s. Isn't that fantastic? Dr. M did not force Dr. Ling to quit, as Datuk Seri Lim Keng Yaik is still a heavy smoker.
royston
16-11-2003, 02:55 PM
Hi Chen Chow,
Thanks for reading my article. I used to say, I will always give my salute to you all, our Malaysian students who suffer overseas. No matter overseas or where, I have ever been a student before, I know how suffer you guys are.
I am willing to help anyone of you, any matter just shoot. I am struggling myself now to quit smoking. I don't like to give myself excuses such as "Tomorrow then I quit" or "This is the last pack/stick" ... haha!! Such a moron I am... :oops:
Listen guys, for those who are still a non-smoker. Let's have a deal... If I able to quit, you guys promise me not to pick up this habit, no matter how, OK?
~ roy ~
silverblue
16-11-2003, 02:59 PM
SMOKING IS LIKE BURNING MONEY AWAY.....
Smoking will not only kill you, it will also kill your loved ones around you as second hand smoking is more harmful....
Royston, I echo what ChenChow said about you... we are really grateful that you shared this with us and it's really heartening that you are still trying to quit. Perhaps people who have successfully managed to quit smoking (ahem ahem) can share their success stories to help Roy out here? Don't give up trying, Roy, if there's a WILL, there's a WAY (yea yea, I know la this maxim is trite, but it is also so damn true u know! :P )
royston
16-11-2003, 03:03 PM
What about the deal that I have proposed to you all? Anyone "dare" to promise? haha ...
~ roy ~
16-11-2003, 03:36 PM
I am a social smoker...
Smoking when the others around me smokes because i cant stand the secondhand smokes.
i would like to accept you chellenge but well, i cant cause i really hate secondhand smoking :wink:
I amy promise not to be addicted though :?
I take your dare, royston ... I won't ever smoke, ever .. I promise !!! how's that? :) ... the truth is I couldn't smoke even if I want to ... I'm alergic towards smoke though it's not critical ... so I'm pretty sure it's impossible for me to start smoking ... I should be grateful I have this allergy ...
royston
16-11-2003, 08:01 PM
alright man!!! i am glad that you guys support me in the same time make a promise for yourselves. Let's work it out...
~ roy ~
eeyore
16-11-2003, 11:53 PM
yay royston!! yeah, i won't smoke too. are you going to try aromatherapy or something like that? i mean, what's your plan to help you smoke? just your will? i'm just curious to know, because i know a lot of other smokers out there who want to stop and just don't have the will to do so, and when you are successful in quitting, i want to tell your story to my friends, about how you quit, and to help them quit too.
17-11-2003, 12:44 AM
royston, i promise you too. I will NEVER smoke. Lets make this promise together!!!
Lets make it this way, if there are 25 Recom members pledge NEVER to pick up smoking, Royston you will quit smoking. Is this alright with everyone?
i have been smoking for few years. at 1st i wouldnt admit that i'm addicted to it. its always, "i just need a fix for today and i'm not a heavy smoker". but, i've been lying to myself by saying that i'm not addicted to it. Come to think about it, how can i explain smoking everyday just for the heck of it. no. i am addicted to it.finally i get to say it to myself that i'm addicted to it. i've quit once last august. for a month. it was hard. really hard. but i managed to do it for a month.but when the school started, i went back to my old habit.school are very stressful and i couldnt take it. so i smoke again. untill now.i try to quit. i mean it. now i'm just reduce the intake to one pack per day. but i tend to inhale more if i smoke less cigg.u guys should see the color of my cigg bud.its black. it scares me. and yeah, its burning my money too.btw, not many malaysian know that i'm smoking. i dont want to lie to them. its just i would give a wrong impression.how i wish i never took that first cigg. i still remember that day. how i regret about it.
and for those non-smoker and anti-smoker, please stop telling me its bad for my health. i know bout it. long before i had my 1st one. its annoying how ppl come to you and says "smoking kills".
soul_out
17-11-2003, 08:22 AM
I'm a part-time smoker despite i'm a pharmacy student, future health care professional... :lol: I used to smoke 1 pack a week, sometimes will increase to 1 pack a nite when go out, and now it reduced to 1 pack a month. I used to be the 1st runner-up in my secondary school cross country run, but now i can only run 3K non-stop.
To those who wish to quit smoking, you may speak to your doctor or pharmacist as they will help you with your smoking cessation plan. There's a thingy called Nicotine Patch, which is really great in smoking cessation. I suggest you speak your problem to your doctor or pharmacist, especially the one whom you trust and you know of as their couselling and encouragement plays an important role.
Some facts to share with you guys regarding smoking.
1. A cigarette contain more than 30 chemicals which is harmful to our lungs.
2. The harmful effect to our lungs is IRREVERSIBLE. That means, the damage that caused by smoking is permanant, even if you quit smoking. Scary rite?
3. Smoking will predispose to COPD(Chronic Obstruction Pulmonary Disease). Imagine you are having problem in breathing, almost suffocate when your lungs is not working well, always cough and need to bring along inhaler whenever you go in order not to die of suffocation...
4. Cigarette that made in M'sia contain higher Nicotine level than US and UK cigarette. So you'll die faster if you smoke M'sia cigarette relatively to some other imported cigarette that you can get in air port duty free shop.
silverblue
17-11-2003, 08:57 AM
Whenever you feel like smoking, chew GUM or eat a candy or sth like that... it should help I think...
Also, another very important thing if you are trying to quit is to get the full support of your loved ones, be it your gf, bf, mama or papa or close friends... it's really more comforting to know that so many people care for you..
Also, try to stay away as much as possible from people who smoke. If your friends smoke, ask them to try not to smoke in front of you.. cos I know if someone smokes when you are trying to quit, you'll feel that itch to smoke too! So just tell your friends that you are trying to quit and I am sure they'll understand...
Hope this helps! :D
GOOD LUCK! I'll be 110% supportive of anyone's attempt to quit smoking!
17-11-2003, 09:05 AM
i don't think smoking is bad. If you understand the consequences and you know what you are doing, then it's your choice. Your body. Your life. I mean, life is short, so do what you want.
But I am 110% most definitely positively against smoking in the midst of children. I think that is the most irresponsible thing anyone can do. People who do this should be banished from all humanity. THey should be sent to siberia where the only thing they can smoke is the condensation of their breaths as their pitiful tears make little cylindrical icicles that remind them of that last Marlboro they had.
soul_out
17-11-2003, 09:07 AM
It's rude to ask people not to smoke in front of you especially if that person is your boss... :lol:
royston
17-11-2003, 09:22 AM
Cheryl !!! How can you ask ppl to stay away from you when they smoke... hahahaha !!!!! I tried before and they pulled me together with them and gimme me a cigarette... damn it! even worst ... :lol:
Anyway, like ChenChow said, if 25 ppl replied and give me their promise of life, I will quit. Eeyore, I know what I am doing and I don't need anything to help to quit smoking. When I feel like to smoke, I will start it regardless how painful it was and now, I feel like to quit, so I don't need anything to help.
I am really glad that you guys are so supportive, thanks.
~ roy ~
hmm..what's wrong with telling ppl we don't like em smoking? we share the same air, and it's not fair for us, to be secondhand smokers. I do just that- tell ppl that please don't smoke in my way . all my guy friends know that i don't like the smoke coming out of the cigarette, so they will always try n make sure it doesn't go my way, even to the extent of changing their seats, just coz they know i don't like it. Good friends huh?
Thing is, i respect their need to smoke, so they should respect my wish. i told em straight out, that i don't mind them smoking, i just don't like the smoke. I think if we tell em nicely, ppl won't mind. In public places, it does feel kinda weird to say that to strangers. So sometimes, i resort to glaring or complaining loud enough for the whole shopping complex to hear hahah :wink: Most of the time, it works, but when it doesn't i just move to another place.
Well, roy, i don't hv anything against smokers. I've done it before, just a part of the curiosity of a teenager hahah...but thank God, i was not addicted. It was only done during the tense moment of my school years, plus i hv a lot of guy friends who are way older than me...influence..influence..hmm... :roll: but i've totally stopped doing that since i've found other ways of relaxing.
Anyway, i promise Roy, nvr gonna start a ciggie anymore. It's a vow, so hope it'll help you stop smoking. I'll be praying. Later, coz gotta run! 8)
for me,
i always ask ppl around me before i'm smoking. i wont smoke if they say no. but it annoy me when ppl say its ok for me to smoke in front of them and in the end they're struggling for clean air. just say it they're not comfortable. and i wont smoke in the 1st place.
and yeah. i think smoking is a choice. ppl should be allowed to choose wht they want to do with their life. but we must enlighten them like let them know the bad effects of smoking. but if he/she still want to smoke itss up to them.
i'm crapping, aint I. whatever!~
CrAzyCow
17-11-2003, 12:50 PM
Is good to hear that u all are considerate before u all smoke in front of non-smokers. *Round of applause for u guys/gals*
And also, pls watch for the no smoking signs. It is really annoying when ppl are smoking at a non-smoking area when the sign is just right beside them.
For those who are smoking n wants to quit, keep trying ... dun quit yah.
~smoke weed everyday...
with tht kind of encouragement from snoop dogg, i'm really proud to those who really stop smoking.
i'm not in the right mind now. so mind me if i'm being baddd.
silverblue
17-11-2003, 03:41 PM
Ok, here's my plegde...
I promise that I'll never start smoking in my entire life! ;)
Who's doing the headcount, Roy? hehe
royston
17-11-2003, 03:53 PM
Guys, a lot of replies but not much ppl directly or indirectly promised. Anyway, I have had a plan to quit smoking soon, I am not going to tell when and how, I am sort-of a result-orientation person.
Cheryl, regardless of how many people, I am very happy that my true story has triggerred the alert of recommers against smoking. I will quit soon.
By the way, thanks for your support and the rest too. I meant that.
~ roy ~
i wish i can quit. but not now.
i just couldnt live without it.
smoking is the only thing tht can keep me sensible right now. rather ironic. maybe i'll quit once i graduate which is in 4 years time
lets pray for it
royston
17-11-2003, 04:25 PM
Hey T, can I join you and quit it after 4 years ah? ssshhhhh.... no one will know this... :twisted:
~ roy ~
silverblue
17-11-2003, 04:32 PM
in 4 YEARS? urm.... i don't think this will work out leh...
if u wanna quit, you gotta start now... u've gotta be strong and determined and set goals that lead you to quit... u can start by aiming to reduce ur smoking now, gradually... you don't have to quit so suddenly...
eg. 1) reduce by __ # of sticks a day by week 1
2) reduce by __ # of sticks a week by week 4
3) Stop smoking by 6 months! ;)
or sth like that. Formulate your own goals and if possible keep them public so that the chances that you will achieve your goals are higher... trust yourselves, i think this will work! :)
royston
17-11-2003, 06:07 PM
Haaha... Cheryl, i was joking with theT, of course I planned to quit with no delay.
Well, your suggestion is tooooooo kind for me already. I planned to quit it within a week or two. I will not calculate that in terms of week but day. Eg.
1st Pack : 1 day
2nd Pack : 2 days
3rd Pack : 4 days
4th Pack : 1 week
5th Pack : STOP!!
The reason I use this method is because before the 2003 Budget announcement, I one-time bought 7 carton "Duty Not Paid" dunhill... :P
So now it is the last 1/2 carton, left about 4 boxes. I believe this way will be more effective. Gimme your support!!! Hahaha....
~ roy ~
18-11-2003, 02:14 AM
I fully support you, Royston!!! Hope that all of us could help Royston stop smoking!!!
way to go , Roy!
you can do it!
CrAzyCow
18-11-2003, 04:30 AM
Do u all still remember when u are small, when u want things really badly..u cry n beg.. but when u have it n u played it for a few times.... u just threw it aside..
So why dun, smoke 20-30 packets per day, until u are so so sick of it.. tht u will just quit on ur own. I dunno whether this will work since u might end up 6ft under by the end of 1st week. :)
18-11-2003, 04:54 AM
So why dun, smoke 20-30 packets per day, until u are so so sick of it.. tht u will just quit on ur own. I dunno whether this will work since u might end up 6ft under by the end of 1st week. :)
LOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!
You'll die first before you get sick of it!!!
18-11-2003, 05:01 AM
only about 100 sticks a day. I think can do.
Do u all still remember when u are small, when u want things really badly..u cry n beg.. but when u have it n u played it for a few times.... u just threw it aside..
i dont think its gonna work for ciggs.if u hv like 20-30 packets a day, its like taking pot without even taking it. jeez.. and who gonna be so generous to give that much supply :wink:
18-11-2003, 09:11 AM
Royston, you should try weed. :twisted: If I'm not mistaken, it's less addictive than cigarettes.
Anyway, I was just kidding. Nothing to contribute here... just wanted to jack up my # of posts so I can be a "best friend" heheh
royston
18-11-2003, 09:20 AM
topdog... do you think I never tried weed before? :twisted:
Only heroin I haven't try yet... heehee...
anyway, nothing much I am going to say here, coz I am concentrating to reduce it pack by pack.
~ roy ~
well, did you guys see the report in Utusan Malaysia last Sunday? there was this report on the effects of smokin..huhu..scary man. Thank God i don't hv that kind of lungs. 8O
More reason for you to stop smoking roy! :D
CrAzyCow
18-11-2003, 11:28 AM
Well, lets think it this way.. how many packets u smoke a day multiply by how long u have smoke till today?
So, let's count the future packets tht u are goin to consume..n have it all in a short period.. wouldn't it be the same as spending the same amount of money?
Anyways, my point is.. DUN SMOKE! n TRY to quit smoking if u are smoking!
attention! :!:
i don't smoke 8O thank you :D
and for non- smokers plz dont have the stereotypical thinking tht a smokers will become a drug users. while many drug users do smoke but there are a lot of smokers who dont do drug.
i take this excerpt from wht marina mahathir has to say
"We make all these tenuous leaps between cause and effect that sometimes I think it is a way of avoiding the truth about why we behave a certain way. Some of my favourites are ?smoking makes you take drugs? and ?drinking soya bean makes you gay?.
It is very likely that all drug users smoke, but not all smokers take drugs. Otherwise, what about all those doctors, executives, religious officials and politicians who smoke? Are they all potential drug users?
As for the soya bean connection ? well, we should educate all those Mat Salleh mothers in San Francisco and Sydney about the dangers of tofu."
~~~~~
its good tht you dont smoke but plz dont judge to be bad just becoz they're smoking. at the same time i am against underage smoking. but if they're 18++ and decide to smoke. its up to them. as if they dont know the bad effect of it.
and i really pissed off by ppl who are bias to girl smoking. they're 18 and they're legal to smoke. wht make you right to call them bitch just because they smoke.smoking is bad to both men and women.so dont make it ok for men to smoke and not women.
royston
18-11-2003, 01:07 PM
Hi,
Initial intention Chenchow posted this forum is to alert those smokers/non-smokers/potential-smokers to have more knowledge on the disadvantages of smoking and so on, try to make this topic as healthy as possible...
Unfortunately it somehow been led to such sensitive sexist environment, man vs. woman smoker... I think I am old enough to tell, you guys might not necessary to have same thinking as mine... but should we try to stick this topic back to the pros/cons of smoking?
If anyone of you can help to search for more information about smoking, good (if any) or bad, post it here. You will be greatly appreciated!!
By the way, my personal feeling when I see women smoking... what is the big deal? Cigarette made by tobacco, not by dog, how can a woman become a bitch after smoking... :P
Frankly speaking, my gf is also a social smoker. She only takes 2 sticks per day. But since I told her I am going to stop, she will stop it as well. When I was conducting training in Cavite, Philippine, most of my female counterpart in PH smoking Marlboro!! In the whole smoking zone, hell... I am the only "dog" there, the rest are "bitches" ... hahahah !! (Sorry theT).
Anyway, I try to keep this topic alive and find more information regarding the consequences of smoking, hopefully this can trigger the alert of those young smokers to quit.
Thanks,
~ roy ~
i totally agreee with roy and theT. what's wrong with girls smoking? if guys can do it, why girls can't? i think it's mainly coz of our upbringing, the way we hv been taught, the normal conduct s of behaviour of guys n girls. Guys = tough, rough, smokers while girls=docile, very bersopan-santun, don't smoke.
Due to the many factors (globalization etc), ppl are becoming more aware n acceptable that female smokers exist. but still, there are some who are against this. I don't hv anything against female smokers. heck, i was one of em a few years back..
Underaged smokers...hmm..blame it on the ones who sell the ciggies to these underaged smokers. I still remember, this one nyonya of the small shop near my school, selambaly sell us students rokok, even when we were in our school uniform,the white baju kurung with the blue kain. I knowit's wrong, i was underaged but still, if access to ciggies is very hard, then there'll be no underaged smokers right? 8O
18-11-2003, 02:41 PM
family and friend main peranan penting
and i would add one more
girl friend..
if you love your son/friend/boyfriend
the right way is not to let him do what he likes to
but to use your affection, to stop him from doing so
sometimes it's hard to see you love one hurt
but it's for your future!
soon he'll learn a valuable lesson
18-11-2003, 03:05 PM
smokers are strange people. they spend money to burn their own lungs and then later in their life spend money for medication. they smoke so much to get themselves smell awkward and smoke so much to get their teeth yellower. but the worst thing is they smoke and damage others' health. oh well, i don't really smoke before and so i don't really know what the heck one will get from it but seems like smokers really enjoy that a lot. maybe it's another kind of insurance since you can sue the tobacco company and get a huge sum of money from them, hehe...
yeah..like the guy who became fat from eacting mcds burger. he sued McD, claiming that they are responsible for his obesity..ya right..i believe it is a sane and conscious deicison. dont blmae others for your mistakes. You should take responsibility for your actions.
royston
18-11-2003, 03:28 PM
Hi wwhong,
Well, I have to say that, I agree with your points but disagree with the way you express your points. No doubt, they smoke, they spent money hurt their lungs, spent money for med and so on ... but please... be kind to them as they are also same like you -- Human Being. They are not strange at all.
We get ourselves smell awkward, yellow off our teeth, that is our problem. Damaging others life... Well, you may ask a smoker to stay away from you ... equally, the smokers can ask you to stay away from them, right? I try not generate such extreme feeling amongst but as we have said, we respect each and everyone of us, we should not use those sensitive words to describe smokers.
Try to balance up this world... it is not all the smokers are acting like how you may imagine. Part of them are trying very hard to get rid of that habit, just like drug users... Instead of pointing to the person, we may try to point at the problem. The problem now is smoking, not smoker... right? This is a public web and a lot of ppl is reading our replies... So, try to suggest some positive feedback... I believe most of the smokers will appreciate if you can proactively suggest something good for them to quit smoking instead of calling them "strange people".
This is only my personal opinion, hopefully you don't take that personally.
Thanks,
~ roy ~
i know some smokers, who regret starting the habit. But at least, they hv the guts to admit their mistake. Some of us, pretend we don't hv any shortcomings, n in doing so, betray not only the world, but also ourselves.
I'm not saying that smokers are bad people and non-smokers are good, but we are different. So respect each others differences. After all, we are all humans. Like Roy said, it's better to suggest than to criticize.
Hmm, taufiq, talking from experience...hehehe 8)
19-11-2003, 08:07 AM
oops, sorry royston if my comment sound harsh to you. my apology. yeah, as always people have the choice to do what they want to do. i think i made the mistake drawing conclusion from just few instances. i had encounterd those irresponsible people who just kept smoking even though others had asked them not to.
actually, i think the solutions posted do not solve the root problem. the short term solutions are there but the long term solution is not. the most important thing is ur own will. the "don't deny your mind" mind frame shouldn't be applied if you want to quit smoking. actually, my own brother is a smoker for years. as other smokers who said they want to quit, he did try using some of the method posted here but at the end he still end up smoking until today. his own explanation, " smoking give me the kick. no matter you smoke or not, you still gonna die one day right? so why not?" The failure of quitting smoking is that you find excuse for yourself to smoke. i guess you did that too royston?
of course this is easier said than done(if it's easy dunhill won't be able to sponsor tv programme anymore) . what i m trying to say is it is all up to you whether you want to quit or not and how determined you are. of course the support from people around you is important but the key is in your own hand.
maybe i can share my uncle's experience here. he used to be a heavy smoker (u know ,those uncle who smoked 3 big packs of dunhill per day) until one day he vomitted blood and got sent to hospital. the doctor told him he won't be able to last long if he doesn't want to quit. of course, he never quit in just one day(quitting in one day almost is a mission impossible isn't it?). what he did was smoke lesser each day and my auntie helped him to control until he success. but the drive that made him quit completely is the thought that if he die his family is gonna be in deep trouble, u know, thinking of people you love is more important than your own "shock".
i dunno if i transfer the message clearly enough but hope you get that. good luck royston.
royston
19-11-2003, 09:21 AM
Hi wwhong,
I am so glad that you take my words positively. Well, I hate to see "sorry" or "apology" as I don't think so such words should exist in Recom if we are friends.
As I have said earlier, I will not give any comment on when/how I quit smoking, I have my own method but somehow when silverblue suggested a way for me, then must as well I tell her my own way... haha...
I understand you points and appreciate those examples that given by you. I have admitted to hospital before and my doctor told me to stop smoking as well. That time I didn't have the will yet but somehow this round, I think I am going to make it. I have my family but no wife or kids yet. Anyhow I will not use anything to make myself stop. I just feel like quitting it ... kinda tired keep holding that piece of tobacco with my fingers...
That's all, and Welcome Aboard !!
~ roy ~
ciwan
19-11-2003, 01:26 PM
i personally hate smoking
when i was in primary school, my dad always tell me to buy him the cigarettes
i was frustrated and irritated
i used it as my motivation to not smoking
plus it's good for our health anyway
so dont smoke and for those smokers, lets put an effort to stop smoking
not only that you help making yourself healthy, you also help others to live longer :D
bagusnya! keep it up man! 8)
royston
20-11-2003, 03:29 PM
Hey, I have found something interesting regarding to Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD), a type of smoker disease. Do take a look at the link below:
http://www.utusan.com.my/utusan/content.asp?y=2003&dt=1116&pub=Utusan_Malaysia&sec=Kesihatan&pg=kn_01.htm
~ roy ~
20-11-2003, 03:55 PM
I just signed a pledge that i will live a tabacco-free life and help others to do the same.
Actually my girlfriend crushed my ciggies everytime she see it, forced me too. And ofcourse tommorow(November 11) is going to be the smokeout day so might as well give it a shot.
I'll stop at CVS to get some nicotine patches and gum.
20-11-2003, 04:03 PM
Actually my girlfriend crushed my ciggies everytime she see it, forced me too. And ofcourse tommorow(November 11) is going to be the smokeout day so might as well give it a shot.
Unless you have a time machine, I think you meant Nov 21st instead of Nov 11th.
20-11-2003, 04:06 PM
i meant to type 20th. I guess 4 hours without cigg. is already getting me =)
LET US ALL CELEBRATE THE GREAT AMERICAN SMOKEOUT
quit smoking for at least one day!
yay!
i can do it!, for one day btw :D
21-11-2003, 02:17 PM
That would be a very positive sign.
I read in a campus newspaper over here, urging people who at least stop smoking a day, to donate the money saved to charity. So, you would be doing another good deed of helping those needy ones!
CrAzyCow
22-11-2003, 03:25 AM
If u have a non-smoking gf or bf rite, u shud ask them to help u. Let them control the quantity of cigarattes u can have a day. hehe.. Might be helpful might be not. But dun fight over it ya.
i didnt smoke for one whole day yesterday
yay
but continue today
:oops:
silverblue
22-11-2003, 11:56 AM
Hehehe I know this day was like 6 months ago (or 6 months later) but for your information,
MAY 31
of every year has 2 important significance...
1) it has been assigned as WORLD NON-SMOKING DAY!! hehe
2) it is also a very special day for me (hint hint! hehe) ;) it's for me to know and for you to find out! :P
ma256
25-11-2003, 05:35 AM
Hehehe I know this day was like 6 months ago (or 6 months later) but for your information,
MAY 31
of every year has 2 important significance...
1) it has been assigned as WORLD NON-SMOKING DAY!! hehe
2) it is also a very special day for me (hint hint! hehe) ;) it's for me to know and for you to find out! :P
hmmm dying to know what May 31st is for you. hahah.
ma256
25-11-2003, 05:37 AM
yeahhh that was my first post. here's the second. another 292 posts to beat chenchow..
royston
25-11-2003, 08:28 AM
i guess May 31 is her birthday. Anyway, welcome aboard ma256.
~ roy ~
silverblue
25-11-2003, 09:35 AM
LOL... haha good guesses guys.. :P Roy knows the answer now...
That's why every May 31st, no one at home smokes... (I used to live with 11 other people in my house...) or their ears will go deaf with all my whining!! :lol:
Well, coming back to the smoking topic.... how's the quitting job working for you, huh Roy? Keep us up to date so that we can continue to support your efforts! :)
To theT: were you also trying to quit?
silverblue
25-11-2003, 09:38 AM
Oh, by the way... I was just thinking...
smoking cigarettes is one thing, how about smoking weed? This is particularly pertinent to those who are studying in US... cos I know that it is wildly popular and easily available here esp at parties....
anyone dare to confess to ever taking them before? what do you think about smoking weed as compared to cigarettes? why do u do it?
royston
25-11-2003, 09:43 AM
*sigh*, I know your birthday, it is not a big deal as you are not going to give me a prize... :P
Anyway, as I have mentioned, now is almost the 3rd week. I am still working on with my plan, so far the first 2 weeks I am fine, but I realized that the plan is easy to type, hard to work it out... haha...!! :lol:
Talking about weeds, I tried it before, I mean... just a few times. And I tell you, I was reaching the sky ... !!!! Damn it!!! So GOOOOOD !!!! Muahahahahaaa !!!!
But I have stop that for few years, now Dunhill only used for soccer, not not puffing... hahaha..!
~ roy ~
weed is easier to get in malaysia
and way cheaper.
so if anyone started to smoke weed in the US, they're just burning their money.
i'm not suggesting tht we should smoke weed. but for my personal opinion, i think marijuana should be legalized. for various reason. the gorvernment actually spend do much money in fighting againsts the drug when the money can be used for something more useful.
we've know about the Prohibition in the US.just apply it to the worlds today. instead of alchoholic beverages now its weed.
25-11-2003, 10:29 AM
What do you think of the argument that weed is a gateway drug?
Do you think this will be true if weed is legalized?
I personally don't think there is anything wrong with weed other than occasional brain sputters....wait...that does sound bad doesn't it?
hehehe
~ Person I want to meet: Someone born on the 20th of April @<hidden> 4:20 ~
silverblue
12-12-2003, 11:57 AM
I have a huge dilemma here. And I hope people can give their opinions on how I can approach this problem... here it goes:
I have a very very close and dear friend whom wants to start smoking. The reason he gave was because because smoking helps to keep him awake when he needs to study at night and also help him to release tension. However, as I've known him for a long time, I know he'll definitely get addicted to it.... and will start turning into a chain smoker or sth (cos he's smoked b4 and he was really addicted to it. Then he stopped for a year and half). I don't want him to fall into the same trap again, but I dont know how to advise him as he wouldn't listen to me. :(
Should I continue to persuade him not to smoke and reiterate about the disadvantages of smoking or should I let him be?
silverblue
12-12-2003, 12:02 PM
He promised me that he will only smoke when he feels the urge to and promised that he wont let himself get addicted....
however, eversince i'd agreed to that, within 2 hours, he'd already indulged in TWO sticks!! :(
I dont believe that he will smoke moderately as he pledged he would... and it's just sad that this is happening when I can actually do sth to prevent it...
12-12-2003, 01:09 PM
easy, tell him you'll be his gf if he doesnt smoke =)
j/k but the concept is there. it's reward/punishment thing.
12-12-2003, 01:17 PM
give him weed or spank him whenever he smokes? just kidding.
silverblue
12-12-2003, 01:23 PM
:cry: not helping... :cry:
12-12-2003, 02:21 PM
Royston, I think this is where your help could come in. Please share with us how is your progress in eliminating your smoking habit...
Guys, I think silverblue is asking this for genuine help, so I hope that you guys could be a little bit more serious in helping her, kay? no offense to anyone...
12-12-2003, 04:00 PM
chen chow is such a caring senior. cornell people really untung.
silverblue, talking about how to stop your friend from smoking, I think the most you can do is just to support him and warn him cos at the end the key still in his hand.
of course how to suppot him or warn him or stop him have to depend on situations. try scare him, maybe it will work. just my 2 cents.
soul_out
12-12-2003, 09:19 PM
What do you think of the argument that weed is a gateway drug?
Do you think this will be true if weed is legalized?
I personally don't think there is anything wrong with weed other than occasional brain sputters....wait...that does sound bad doesn't it?
hehehe
~ Person I want to meet: Someone born on the 20th of April @<hidden> 4:20 ~
Actually, Weed=Marijuana=Cannibis.
Some facts to share.
1. In general, cannibis has a relaxing effect and can enhance enjoyment of social events or activities such as listening to music.
2. It won't predispose to any psychotic illness unless the user is suffering from psychological illness. So people with mental illness should not take it, as it will make them confused or psychotic.
3. In short term, cannabis can interfere with concentration, slow down reaction and cause short-term memory loss.
4. Cannabis is probably damaging to the lungs if smoked, not evidence-based as no clinical trial is done before.
5. Physical dependence(addict) does not occur, while some people can become psychologically dependent.
Reasons why cannabis is not legalised.
1. Statistically showed that heroin users are usually start with cannabis 1st.
2. Statistically showed that people who smoke cigarette, drink alcohol and/or smoke cannabis at early age are more at risk of developing drug or alcohol misuse problems in later life.
In UK, drug addicts are treated with methadone,a non-addicted opioid,to replace heroin in those addicts life.Methadone is FOC with the condition that addicts must register with health board and get their daily supply of methadone from pharmacy. What bout US?
P/S: The details above are extracted from my 2nd Year text book...:P
royston
12-12-2003, 09:49 PM
guys...
i know what i am going to tell is totally not related to this topic and even if i am the Forum Manager, I will not allow this thing happened. But I just wanna tell...
My gf is now in hospital... for two days, we are still waiting for the doctor's report. Something that the doctor told us but it is also something that can't confirmed yet.
I will not be around these few days, and of course, sorry guys, I smoke back... I have made a commitment with her, if she can be alright and walk out from that hospital, I am not going to follow whatever fucking schedule, just -- stop smoking and register with her.
I am sorry that I can't control my mood, I was trying to find someone to talk to but no one. I can't show her how worry I am as I got to be strong so that she can lean on me. You guys are my new friends, I can only use my 10 fingers to talk to you all, sort of a relief.
U know, I am a free thinker. I have no god, no religious and so on but since yesterday I prayed. I prayed to the air, hopefully anyone passed by and give me a hand. Tomorrow will be the time I know the report, I got to be there before 7am so that she will not be taking the result alone.
Guys, especially Sham, Yusof and Chenchow, please help me to delete away this message. I know this is totally not related to "Smoking"... I misused the rights of replying message to burst out what I have kept in my heart for these 2 days.
I am tired... do u know how tired it will be? damn... !!
got to take a rest before going to meet her later, another 1 hour for me to rest. See you guys, if she is OK, I will show her on the cam during our meeting on 24th, so that you guys will jealous, especially Ah Chye... :)
~ roy ~
12-12-2003, 10:23 PM
got to take a rest before going to meet her later, another 1 hour for me to rest. See you guys, if she is OK, I will show her on the cam during our meeting on 24th, so that you guys will jealous, especially Ah Chye... :)
~ roy ~
Of course she will be OK cos i am jealous NOW!!!
12-12-2003, 11:34 PM
hope your gf will become well soon, royston.
good luck. may the force be with u.
13-12-2003, 12:41 AM
don't think we need to delete your msg roy,
If anything, we'll leave it on to show our solidarity.
Hope your gf gets better soon.
13-12-2003, 12:42 AM
Fully agree with littlebigone, royston.
Everyone in Recom would like to wish that your gf can get better soon! We would all pray for her health. May God Bless Her.
13-12-2003, 12:47 AM
Royston, we got your back brother!
royston
13-12-2003, 12:48 AM
thank you guys... i still have no regret to join recom. malaysians are still malaysians, you guys are so kind-hearted. just now i went to visit her and she will be meeting u guys up during the meeting...
thanks for the pray as well... this is what i can do... the rest i leave it to God. Got to sleep... tomorrow morning 7am i will be going there again and now is almost 12 midnight. see you all ...
~ roy ~
royston: aww i'm sorry . hope she get well soon.
btw, back to smoking and drug taking.
making conclusion that smoking leads to drug taking is absurd. its like saying drinking soya will maje you gay. i quoted this from marina mahathir writing. ok.
while its true that many drug addicts started used to smoke prior to taking drugs. but not all smokers will become a drug addict. there's a lot of professor, intellectualls, politician out there who are heavy smoker. when i say heavy smoker i mean really heavy. so are we saying that these people are the potential drug addict.
and yeah, cannabis and marijuana might be in the same group but its not the same thing. its a variation of weeds like how we hv different kind of durian. marijuana if i'm not mistaken the leaves is separated into 7 and cannabis into 9. or the other way around. correct me if i'm wrong.
13-12-2003, 07:47 AM
I agree that smoking cigarettes won't make u a drug addict. Btw did marina mahathir really use that soya bean wont make you gay analogy? I know she's an intelligent woman, but man that's lame.
Marijuana can't even be compared to cannabis. Don't know much about drugs, but i think cannabis is the "heavier" drug, no?
13-12-2003, 08:34 AM
Marijuana is the thing you smoke from a cannabis plant. But a lot of people call it a marijuana plant anyway, since the subspecies needed for to make marijuana is specific. Cannabis used to make hemp cannot be used to make marijuana.
soul_out
13-12-2003, 08:38 AM
Marijuana is the thing you smoke from a cannabis plant. But a lot of people call it a marijuana plant anyway, since the subspecies needed for to make marijuana is specific. Cannabis used to make hemp cannot be used to make marijuana.
You are right. But the active component is the same. Same effect to the body.
13-12-2003, 08:52 AM
the active component is THC and the amount in hemp is not enough to make you high. All the smoke will make you sick before it does.
huilinchin
13-12-2003, 01:42 PM
Royston, good spirit! Keep it up!
Count me in. I am not going to smoke too. :)
-Hui Lin ^_^
13-12-2003, 10:53 PM
Marijuana seems pretty common in the states. I think I saw a survey somewhere that mentioned that 60% of a certain demographic (college students, males females.. not sure) have smoked it before.
There are also plenty of talk about legalizing marijuana in California which is a pretty good topic for debate. IIRC cigarettes are even more addictive than marijuana, and alcohol actually causes more harm than marijuana. But heh what do I know. Who's up for some vodka lovin'? ;)
Anyway back to smoking - I think that if you try to quit cold turkey, it'll never work. Just slowly reduce your consumption until zero. Of course I haven't quit smoking yet. I haven't started! :P
14-12-2003, 10:32 AM
you should come to ann arbor during hash bash. lots of marijuana smoked in public
14-12-2003, 10:50 AM
Marijuana seems pretty common in the states. I think I saw a survey somewhere that mentioned that 60% of a certain demographic (college students, males females.. not sure) have smoked it before.
There are also plenty of talk about legalizing marijuana in California which is a pretty good topic for debate. IIRC cigarettes are even more addictive than marijuana, and alcohol actually causes more harm than marijuana. But heh what do I know. Who's up for some vodka lovin'? ;)
Anyway back to smoking - I think that if you try to quit cold turkey, it'll never work. Just slowly reduce your consumption until zero. Of course I haven't quit smoking yet. I haven't started! :P
I quit cold turkey. Many have done it. Just for the record i smoked since 11 and was a heavy smoker since i was 15. Quitted about 3 weeks ago.
14-12-2003, 12:40 PM
I quit cold turkey. Many have done it. Just for the record i smoked since 11 and was a heavy smoker since i was 15. Quitted about 3 weeks ago.
Good job dude. I salute you for that.
silverblue
14-12-2003, 03:08 PM
WOA... how did u do it?
Unless you had an absolutely STRONG will-power, determination and motivation to abstain from smoking, don't think it'd be easy...
Please do share, if you can, WHY and HOW you stopped smoking...
I hope that ur experience will inspire current smokers to follow ur footsteps... :)
14-12-2003, 10:04 PM
yeah, thirdshifter, your determination and spirit is really awesome. You should share what the reasons behind it... It will be a fantastic learning experience for Recom members.
14-12-2003, 10:27 PM
Keep it up forever!
I have been seeing the number of days in his Yahoo messenger status increasing day by day.
It is really amazing.
What is your secret behind the "(monitor)screen" ? 8)
princess_ac
14-12-2003, 10:54 PM
My ex bf was a heavy smoker. He smokes like a chimney....i tame him down by letting him know that I wont be kissing him if he smokes. Boy! I hate the breath after he smokes. Its such a turn off.hehe~
Because of that few lines of sentence, he actually smokes less and he doesn?t even smoke at all when I?m with him :lol:
14-12-2003, 10:56 PM
your ex. are still with him or have you broken up? Your tense usage seems to contradict the time continuum :)
princess_ac
14-12-2003, 11:04 PM
p/s : he WAS my bf. but we broken up. but we are still gOOd friends tho. we do hangout and all quite often and everytime we do he doesnt smoke infront of me. of course minus the kissing part.mwahahaha
15-12-2003, 03:52 AM
It's not hard to find motivation. I baught a carton of cigarrette, took one cigarratte out.. not a pack but a single cigar then i lit the rest on fire. So it gave me a visual memory of what i'm burning and how much smoke i would inhale.
Its hard to burn cigarretes like that.. it cost to god damn much in the first place.
So after i did that i signed one of those pledge.. i would start living a tabacco-free life and help others do the same then put in on the wall.
and then i smoked my last cigaratte.
Right now, i don't easily get irritated and it gets better everyday. Everything smelss better. Food taste good. No more after smoking head aches.
Overall i think it was a wise choice.. also the fact that my girlfriend promised a big party on the 30th day as an incentive.
It's never to late to quit..
silverblue
15-12-2003, 03:59 AM
That's really amazing how you were able to sum up courage to do that! My salutes to you...
Bet your gf was a great motivation too! ;)
I just hope that more smokers out there will read this and take this as an exemplary attitude... :)
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 06:47 AM
For your information there are about 400 to 500 Malaysians here, a good amount of Malaysian is doing their Master and researchs here...
But most of them are living in Off Campus area, and there are many Kampungs here :)
15-12-2003, 07:17 AM
For your information there are about 400 to 500 Malaysians here, a good amount of Malaysian is doing their Master and researchs here...
But most of them are living in Off Campus area, and there are many Kampungs here :)
phew.. that's alot.. she wants to go to UCONN because she hates UB.
1st_Spirit
15-12-2003, 07:21 AM
It's true that here there are a lot of Malaysian student's probably one of the Largest after India, Korean, Japan, and China... Top 5 I think...
If she is studying in Madical School at UB, then I suggest her to stay because UB has a very good Med.School ranking and probably top 10, but other......... I don't know...
On the other hands, Ucornell might offer a better opputunity for a better learning enviroment and more competative studies...
sugan
23-04-2011, 11:44 PM
Do you smoke? Why ?when do you smoke?
No. I don't because it simply that it is bad for my health.
xxxVirtualBoyxxx (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/xxxVirtualBoyxxx)
KenT13
24-04-2011, 12:10 AM
YES I smoke, I knOw it's bad for my health but I can't help it. As we learnt in science classes, air particles diffuse quickly, always before
I could get away, second-hand smoke gets in my nose. 2nd hand smoke is deadlier than first hand-.-
24-04-2011, 12:17 AM
That passive smoking ("second hand smoke") is more detrimental than active smoking has to be one of the biggest health-related myths out there. If you are a smoker you increase your chance of getting lung cancer by 10 times, and various other cancers, AND heart disease and erectile dysfunction and narrowed leg arteries. If you are a passive smoker, your chance of lung cancer and other lung problems only increase by up to 2 times. Yes it's still bad, but not as bad as smoking cigarettes yourselves.
AlternateF4
24-04-2011, 12:26 AM
I think Malaysia should ban smoking. It's not that ppl don't know smoking is bad, it's just that politicians and law-makers themselves are smoking, not willing to give up the habit/addiction. The best thing to do now would be educating the future politicians(children nowadays, us) not to smoke. Hopefully, in 10 to 20 years to come, smoking will be banned.
kaiyi
24-04-2011, 09:26 PM
I don't think any country will succeed in banning smoking, simply because the smokers populations are too big and they'll against this.
Is smoking that addictive?(just asking out of curiousity)
24-04-2011, 09:41 PM
All modern governments are heavily infiltrated by industrial lobbyists and it's very difficult for any of them to go against any industry's interest, especially one as huge as the tobacco industry.
24-04-2011, 09:48 PM
Not to mention the amount of sin tax revenue that is lost if cigarettes are banned.
marczeman
24-04-2011, 10:02 PM
plus some people just can't function without a fag. imagine what would happen to our workforce lol.
Laavania
24-04-2011, 10:08 PM
I don't think any country will succeed in banning smoking, simply because the smokers populations are too big and they'll against this.
Is smoking that addictive?(just asking out of curiousity)
Most smokers want to stop but they fail miserably.Smoking is a physical addiction that produces a "chain reaction" in the body.At a point when this smokers stop they may face severe emotional and physical reactions.
24-04-2011, 10:23 PM
Not to mention the amount of sin tax revenue that is lost if cigarettes are banned.
Actually I am not a big fan of this argument. I don't have the actual figure to back me up at this point, but I suspect that the loss we suffer from the loss of lives and productivity from cigarette smoking far outnumber the tax that we gain from cigarettes.
I know I may come on strongly on this but I don't see any benefit in smoking at all.
Taxes, income for farmers and all that stuff I don't buy. What's the point in making money if it's off harming people's health? It's killing people, and to me it's no different from blood diamonds.
Not to mention very annoying. I have a right to breathe fresh unpolluted air, unfortunately my room is right next to the side gate in the uni halls so every time I have to tolerate (and why should I have to?!) people smoking outside, which causes the cig smoke to enter my room.
Rather than banning smoking, maybe we should put up a law that smokers need to carry a plastic bag that they need to blow the smoke into when they smoke. Or they can just swallow all the smoke whole. I mean, seriously, I don't mind people risking their health to enjoy the intake of those chemicals, because it's the choice that they made even after knowing the effects of smoking, but I just wish they were not too kind and generous to share them with me when I'm not even asking. Sharing, in this case, is not caring at all.
Not forgetting to mention:
Malaysians smoke nine billion sticks of illegal cigarettes every year (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/4/26/nation/20110426082729&sec=nation)
It has a higher content of tar and nicotine. And in it's our air, when we eat at the mamak, when we take a walk in the park. It's everywhere.
KenT13
27-04-2011, 12:24 PM
Not forgetting to mention:
Malaysians smoke nine billion sticks of illegal cigarettes every year (http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2011/4/26/nation/20110426082729&sec=nation)
It has a higher content of tar and nicotine. And in it's our air, when we eat at the mamak, when we take a walk in the park. It's everywhere.
Haha, i wanted to post this yesterday :P
It's another World Record for Malaysia !!! something to be proud of?