View Full Version : Malaysian Police Force
08-07-2004, 01:28 PM
With the number of crimes increasing day by day, is there something wrong with the society? Or, is there something wrong with our own police force?
Recently, a thief broke into my neighbour's house in broad daylight time, a witness called the police but didnt arrive soon enough to nab the thief. The thief, with few gang members also managed to broke into another house nearby. They managed to escape in time before the police came. What's wrong with the police? Where are they when we need them?
Also, I realised that they are a lot of policemen who are not physically fit enough to help curb crimes. This is especially true for those officers with higher ranks. Hard to believe? Just watch the news reports or interviews with those officers. The government already starting to take steps to help fat soldiers to lose weight, by giving them holiday rewards.
?Shed fat and earn a trip? (http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/8/nation/8391303&sec=nation)
I think the same should be done to the police forces.
What do u guys think? Should the government pay more attention to the police as well? Rather than blaming parents for their children's misbehaviour? I think the police should be blamed as well, as those criminals will continue to do more crimes. They are feeling superior over the police.
Let's discuss.
Just a thought: I am thinking of joining the police force once I graduate.
kucingbiru
09-07-2004, 03:06 PM
you watch Gerak Khas too much!! :P
09-07-2004, 03:43 PM
I think the Malaysian Police Force is short of capable ppl. If u think u can, and being a police officer is somethin u want to do, why not?
The_Observer
09-07-2004, 05:58 PM
Yeah, I agree...I got a few friends (and they are Chinese) who intend to join the police force as well.
I support your decision fully!
I am sure we need new blood to clean up the force and give it a new and better identity. Especially, a 'ReCom'mer.
Still, I don't think the Police are to be made the scapegoat for all that has happened recently.
There are a lot more things to consider. Personally, I don't blame the school either. I place a lot of the onus on the parents especially.
09-07-2004, 07:05 PM
But our police forces showed a lot of bad things about them.
My fren, a band member told me that there was once when she joined a march (kawad kaki) and a group of policemen were there too. They tease the girls, esp those from girls' school. Really a bad image shown by them.
How about those police involved in corruption? My dad told me about what a police inspector told him when he gave a talk in the company my dad's working. He said 6 out of 10 policemen practices corruption. They accept bribes and so on. 6 out of 10 is a large number.
I think the government should deal with this matter more seriously.
10-07-2004, 06:15 AM
i think the govt. and kementerian dalam negeri are to be blamed for this fiasco. the police are highly underpaid, and extremely mismanaged. i think a recent report on the alleged understaffed police force revealed that malaysia actually has one of the highest ratio of policemen per thousand residents. however, few do actual policing - most work for the Special Branch and Bukit Aman.
Lancelot
28-07-2004, 09:17 AM
If anyone has been staying in Japan, he will notice that it is very amazing here. The police officers here treat you as if you are their customers. Very polite.
police officers in malaysia, mostly that i met, are corrupt. I feel so disgusted everytime I read their motto whener I pass by the police station. Those occasion that I encounted them, they show me how low a person can be. They can be bought for a few ringgit. That's why you can get away with speeding tickets. Or with unformal khalwat charge(I said unformal coz usually the police would wear their uniform but wearing another jacket to cover their name tags). But sometimes they release some gangs and underground group for a few thousand of ringgit. where is their dignity, they're suppose to protect the people. instead, they let the gangs to go untouched. Those gangs who are drug dealer and sometime rob some places.
I've seen god cops too. I pity them, coz they're working so hard while other unethical cop are in the hand of the gangs.
29-07-2004, 12:11 AM
aiyah... police in malaysia only functions when it's near hari raya. That's when they need to buy new clothes for their kids!
deekay
29-07-2004, 12:25 AM
The Malaysian police force should be paid more or have better benefits.
However, I expect them to have higher entry standards too so that the force gets better people.
You pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
29-07-2004, 02:00 PM
We have to bear in mind who are those policemen anyway... Though some may have high educations, i think majority of them are made up of those who can't be successful in academics... That's why they got into the police force. So instead of working out of passion, they are working as a last resort.... And thus, when they are already lazy when it comes to studying, they might be lazy doing their jobs... what's more if they have a TIDAK APA officer... sama-sama happy... no worries... rakyat rugi, kita cuti....
But there are some who really work hard to curb crimes.... those should be applauded....
Though raising their pay may make them appreciate their jobs, but after these few weeks ringing up JPA staffs makes me realize that high pay won't make u efficient either. They are basically lazy... They dun neglect one job to find another... they neglect their job to idle.... JPA staffs are well paid... and for the past two weeks i've been ringing the JPA officers (2 or 3 of them) every working day without fail, as early as 8.30 am to 11 am, then from 2.30pm to 4 pm.... about five or six times a day...... and not even once they pick up my call.... :evil:
deekay
30-07-2004, 02:42 AM
Though raising their pay may make them appreciate their jobs, but after these few weeks ringing up JPA staffs makes me realize that high pay won't make u efficient either. They are basically lazy... They dun neglect one job to find another... they neglect their job to idle.... JPA staffs are well paid... and for the past two weeks i've been ringing the JPA officers (2 or 3 of them) every working day without fail, as early as 8.30 am to 11 am, then from 2.30pm to 4 pm.... about five or six times a day...... and not even once they pick up my call.... :evil:
Someone should remind them that it is the taxpayers who are paying their gaji and they should serve the rakyat.
I doubt if having voice mail systems or (gasp) online Customer Relatonship Management (CRM) systems will help. A clear case of 3rd World mentality, sad to say.
No pride in their job ? Got sideline business to attend to ? Understaffed ? Underpaid ?
Perhaps the knowledge that they won't get fired even if they underperform ? Promotion thru attrition ?
30-07-2004, 11:37 AM
Perhaps the knowledge that they won't get fired even if they underperform ? Promotion thru attrition ?
Spot on... They assume, and yes, it has been proven to be true, that their job in the govt sector is guaranteed and secured.... And promotion is still possible..... So, why lar work so hard? It's not that they cannot be promoted if they dun do their job well... this is not Singapore, this is Malaysia....
31-07-2004, 12:31 AM
I have an idea...
Why dont we subject the police force to a Physical review board every year? If they pass, they remain on the force and may get a year end bonus. If not, they get a warning first, some grace period and then discharged if they dont get into shape.
As they say 'shape up or ship out'!
31-07-2004, 11:03 PM
Haha.... well, not only for police force... i think it's good to do it for all Malaysians... can't help noticing lots of ppl with bulging bellies these days... (i am almost there!!!) Why dun we have a standardized PE test as well?