View Full Version : PHP code...

da-hype
09-07-2004, 10:55 AM
Here's an idea for admins here...

why not make a PHP code to delete user accounts that have not been active for 3 months or more... so takde lah habiskan space database. :P It would alos be good so we actually know how many are active :P

just a thought...

09-07-2004, 10:24 PM
hmm. in terms of space , i agree that we save some space. but I sometimes see ppl who have not been here for such a long time suddenly pops up. so, I think if we delete them, they will left recom website with despair.
plus, right now, we're running on bachok's linux and my 80G western digital harddrive. we just need a bit more money to buy a bigger space. (hint hype, donate :) ).

anyway, great suggestion. does anybody know how people do mirror with database?

10-07-2004, 01:50 AM
plus, right now, we're running on bachok's linux and my 80G western digital harddrive. we just need a bit more money to buy a bigger space.
Aren't we going to use webhosting service instead? Wouldn't it be easier on you two (you and bachok)? but 1st we have to make sure the webhost we are going to use is reliable ... now that's hard to find ..

I did some googling and found these:

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Backup.html
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/mysqldump.html

basically we can backup the database and "unbackup" (restore?) the database on the mirror server ...

And this is even better if you know all the I/O storage stuff: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/mysql/en/Replication.html

10-07-2004, 02:20 AM
hmm. in terms of space , i agree that we save some space. but I sometimes see ppl who have not been here for such a long time suddenly pops up. so, I think if we delete them, they will left recom website with despair.

plus, right now, we're running on bachok's linux and my 80G western digital harddrive. we just need a bit more money to buy a bigger space. (hint hype, donate :) ).

I really agree on this one...

10-07-2004, 07:32 AM
Aren't we going to use webhosting service instead? Wouldn't it be easier on you two (you and bachok)? but 1st we have to make sure the webhost we are going to use is reliable ... now that's hard to find ..

try liquidweb.com, use to be hosted there - they are really good but expensive.

wouldn't mind sharing the space if you post how much bandwidth/space/mysql databases you use per day/month.

da-hype
10-07-2004, 01:01 PM
masterof_none,

that's why i said.. set it to delete the account after 3 months of being not active.. 3 months was only an example... you an set it to a year or 2 if you want..

cause i honestly think.. if a user submits pictures files.. news and so on.. then dia tak active.. it just a waste.. tak kira lah besar mana HD tu.

BTW... Avatar tu takleh besarkan ke size dia ke 60kb 120*120 ke :P