View Full Version : Pharmacy
09-07-2004, 07:47 PM
Seems like there's so little in pharmacy here in ReCom, wonder why. Hmm...let's start a discussion on Pharmacy.
An education counsellor once told me that pharmacy is one of the hardest course, even tougher than medic. How true is this? I heard a lot of my friends who claimed the same thing too.
The_Observer
10-07-2004, 02:16 PM
It is considered much tougher because you can't and you don't have the passion for studying pharmacy. If you have no real interest in what you study, of course it seems harder. I have never heard if a person dreaming to become a pharmacist.
The main thing pharmacists study are biochemistry and memorizing all those drugs out there. Biochemistry is a real killer to study (nearly all medical students hate the subject, ask them) and there is a tonne of drugs out there to study, not to mention its many generics. That is where its 'toughness' comes from...besides the issue of motivation.
Whereas we medical students have a lot of fun stuff to study like anatomy, histology (my favourite), microbiology etc. and some not-so fun stuff like embryology and so forth.
So, I guess its just a shift in emphasis that makes ppl think its harder.
10-07-2004, 02:31 PM
Yeah, I guess u have some points there, The_Observer. My lecturer used to tell me that students opt for Pharmacy after failing to get into medical schools. And I have never heard of anyone dreaming to be a pharmacist too.
Now that provides some explanation why even top scorers claimed that Pharmacy is a very tough course.
The_Observer
10-07-2004, 08:07 PM
I have a number of friends doing Pharmacy as well in UK and Australia.
Nevertheless, I still blur blur with the structure of their course...can anyone help me out...preferably a pharmacy student.
My friends and I imcommunicado liao...probably they studying very hard at the moment...no time to chit chat.
10-07-2004, 08:37 PM
You want their course structure? I think u can get it online....at those uni's online prospectuses...
But u need to do some searches though....
Gar87field
01-01-2005, 11:18 PM
Really? Wow...i'm so taken aback...because I'm interested in pharmacy since...should say when I started learning Biology and Chemistry since Form 4. Moreover, I've heard that pharmacy will be very useful in the next few years...really? So happy because I've always wanted to get a career closely related to my interest. If I don't have a financial problem, i'll probably in overseas now...studying pharmacy...so good...*sigh* :( (Now..looking forward to any scholarships...)
Can anyone share something about this course? Even though it's tough...but i will not give up... :o :Malaysia Boleh!!!
02-01-2005, 04:13 PM
Sometimes you cant say that you will like Pharmacy just because you like Biology and Chemistry. I like Biology and Chemistry too, but I dont really like the course I'm taking now (Biochemistry).. You have to consider the nature of the job also....what pharmacists do and how is their working environment. I did consider Pharmacy before...but changed my mind.... :roll:
Gar87field
04-01-2005, 01:18 PM
Perhaps you're right... Thanks for your advice anyway... So, do you mean that you regret taking your course?
04-01-2005, 09:30 PM
Wow...dont say that. Actually I felt regret ...but somehow kena lecture by my friends...haha. (very glad to have such friends)
Once we already made up our mind about a decision, then we shall not regret about it. Only fools regret and dont trust their own decisions. <---my fren said this...
and this:
every decision you make, no matter what it turns out to be it'll always be a lesson in your life. If it turns out awesome, take it as compliment but if it doesn't, don't regret the decision you made but take it as a comliment that life gave you. Not many times in this world, you'll made decisions that are difficult and often turns out to be good.
Thanks to babyshuyi for this invaluable advice~
leng_cyl
04-01-2005, 09:33 PM
hmm...i wonder to know about pharmacy also...
Waiting for spm result and form 6, thinking of my future, so blur right now, is it really so tough to study pharmacy?
If I interested in Biology, but I don't want to study medic, and I don't like chemistry so much, what else I can study? Nutrition? ??? hmm... @<hidden>@<hidden>"
To study pharmacy, is it sure I must interested in studying chemistry?
nwx86
18-03-2005, 02:54 PM
yeah, I agree, not much have been said about pharmacy compared to medicine...so, can anyone tell me the differences of taking up a pharmacy course locally and overseas?
Ixora
21-03-2005, 02:26 PM
can anyone tell me what subjects we have to take under pharmacy? :?:
nwx86
21-03-2005, 02:59 PM
Do you mean the subjects required to enter the course? Usually its STPM or A'levels for Chemistry and 2 other science subjects like maths, physics and biology...but check on the particular uni...as some make biology a compulsory subject.
I wonder why this thread is so quiet? not much response received...
Youth
31-03-2005, 09:00 PM
mayb not many ppl here r interested in pharmacy...hehe...
i'm interested...i'm now studyin A-levels...
hmm...
leng_cyl :
a pharmacy course isn't jus consist of chemistry...from wat i know, u'll also learn about microbiology, psychology, biochem & some anatomy...i think it's not the interest on Chem that makes a person like about the course...it's the interest on the course itself & the nature of the job....coz u'll be dealing with it the rest o ur whole life...
b4 really making up ur mind...i suggest u to expose urself to more information about the job of a pharmacist...u can try to consult counsellor of some private Us in Malaysia tat offer pharmacy course...like IMU...or mayb u can attend any education fair around ur town...
the SPM is already released...so wat r u doin now?? joining NS?? or waiting for the STPM list??
try to find out more about those jobs u r interested in...then search for the course that gives u the degree to pursue ur dream....after tat onli u match it with ur qualifications...
there r a lot of jobs related to Bio & Chem...some of the hot ones besides medic & pharmacy r :
1. biotechnology
2. biomedicine
3. food tech
4. nutrition science
5. biochemical engineering
Youth
31-03-2005, 09:12 PM
can anyone tell me what subjects we have to take under pharmacy? :?:
is this wat u want?? i found this on IMU website
http://www.imu.edu.my/course_pharmacy_cur2.htm
At IMU
Semester 1 :
Basic Mathematics
Biological Sciences
General Chemistry
Genetics for Pharmacists
Human Biology
Pharmaceutical
Organic Chemistry
Introduction to Pharmacy Practices
Statistics for Health Professionals
English
Pengajian Islam/Moral
Semester 2 :
Cardiovascular System
General Pharmacology
Haematology
Pharmaceutical Organic
Chemistry 2
Pharmaceutics I
Physical Pharmacy
Understanding the Patient
Bahasa Malaysia
Semester 3 :
Drug Metabolism
Natural Products in Medicine
Microbiology for Pharmacists
Pharmaceutical Analysis I
Pharmaceutics II
Renal System
Respiratory System Skills
Development: Extemporaneous Dispensing
Semester 4 :
Biotechonology
Complementary Medicine
Gastrointestinal System
Immunology & ADR
Medical Chemistry
Pharmaceutical Analysis II
Pharmaceutics III
Skills Development: Dispensing, Pengajian Malaysia
Semester 5 :
Central Nervous System
Endocrine System
Management for the Pharmacist
Pharmaceutics IV
Reproductive System
Selectives, The Pharmacist as a Healthcare Professional
Semester 6 :
Cancer Chemotheraphy
Clinical Pharmacy I
Clinical Pharmacokinetics
Current Trends in Therapeutics
Elective*
Forensic Pharmacy
Musculoskeletal
Toxicology
Semester 7 :
Research Methodology
Research Project I
Research Project II
Semester 8 :
Clinical Pharmacy II
Clinical Pharmacy III
Clinical Pharmacy IV
Evaluating Pharmacotherapy: Critical Appraisal, Evidence-Based Medicine & Pharmacoeconomics
* The Electives component may be completed either locally or overseas.
leng_cyl
01-04-2005, 12:28 PM
the SPM is already released...so wat r u doin now?? joining NS?? or waiting for the STPM list??
try to find out more about those jobs u r interested in...then search for the course that gives u the degree to pursue ur dream....after tat onli u match it with ur qualifications...
there r a lot of jobs related to Bio & Chem...some of the hot ones besides medic & pharmacy r :
1. biotechnology
2. biomedicine
3. food tech
4. nutrition science
5. biochemical engineering
I'm waiting to study form 6, still one month more to go....
thx for your explaination, now still blur about future but I don't think too much about it for now, since I think myself still not mature enough, I may find out what I really interesting in during form 6 hard life, hehe^^
caboodle
02-04-2005, 01:18 AM
Hi, i m an imu student ,studying pharmacy sem 1 now, i believe every course has its own level of difficulty and challenges. For me, pharmacy is memang not an easy course to take.
There are 5 subjects in sem 1 that i m currently taking, foundation chem, bioscience, biopharmacy, physiology, and math.Please be informed that this is not the exhaustive list, coz there are other subj like microbio, pharmacology that u ll learn in following semesters..
SoI cant say much about other semesters now, i ll tell u guys more when i reach there.
But for me, yes, i believe in pharmacy you have to put in lots of effort, and you have to have passion in what you are studying. Appreciate it, then you ll be able to do well. And i have forgotten to mention that there are lots of lab reports that a pharm undergraduate has to deal with.. so learn to luv it ...:)
AS for pandaboy, there is no point regretting whatever course that u ve taken, learn to walk forward and not backward, because in life there is bound to be mistakes that you ll make, most importantly is your approach to it ..tada..
jingz85 *
02-04-2005, 02:42 AM
AS for pandaboy, there is no point regretting whatever course that u ve taken, learn to walk forward and not backward, because in life there is bound to be mistakes that you ll make, most importantly is your approach to it ..tada..
jingz85 *
Thanks... Regret but I'm still moving forward, don't worry. :wink:
By the way, I know who u r... :P Why aren't u registered?
Yae_Lina
13-04-2005, 11:25 AM
Hi, everyone! I've just joined, so 'Sila banyak beri tunjuk ajar' :D
I'm a Pharmacy Semester 5 student from IMU & I'm transfering to University of Strathclyde, Scotland in June.
In my personal opinion, pharmacy is a very diverse profession. U can choose to work:
1. hospital (government/private)
2. community (open your open pharmacy or work in chain pharmacies eg Guardian)
3. industry/marketing (pharmaceutical companies eg PharmNiaga)
4. government (registration of medicinal products eg Biro or Lembaga Pharmasi Malaysia)
5. education
6. R&D
7. publication (eg medical journals)
Pharmacists (esp community) earn lots of $$. However, all graduates are required to do 1 year pupilage + 3 years compulsory service with the government.
Every course is tough, but u'll surely manage if u have interest in the subjects. But it's also very important to choose the correct course, if not u'll b wasting ur time & ur parents' money.
My mom wanted me to take a medical degree, but I freak out at the thought of internal organs. My 1st choice was actually Biotechnology, but pharmacy offers more oppurtunities.
nwx86
13-04-2005, 05:23 PM
Hi Yae_Lina, I'm also a Pharm student but not at IMU. I came to know that all Pharm graduates frm IMU have to come back to work in M'sia....do you know y? and what do you think of the new BPharm course IMU is doing now?
13-04-2005, 08:49 PM
Hi Yae_Lina, I'm also a Pharm student but not at IMU. I came to know that all Pharm graduates frm IMU have to come back to work in M'sia....do you know y? and what do you think of the new BPharm course IMU is doing now?
Why u cant work in UK? Because UK Pharmacy Board doesnt recognise the degree.... U need to study a full 3 years (or 4 years for MPharm) if u wanna work in UK.... So IMU Pharmacy students who went for twinning in Strathclyde have to come back to Malaysia....
My friend, whose sister was graduated from Strathclyde-IMU told me that... :wink:
nwx86
15-04-2005, 12:59 PM
hmm, thats rather ironic, U get exactly the same degree from the same uni (thats wat i heard frm the roadshow) but yet one is recognised but one isn't....so, other than M'sia, where else the degree is recognised? Is it the same form med degree?
15-04-2005, 06:47 PM
hmm, thats rather ironic, U get exactly the same degree from the same uni (thats wat i heard frm the roadshow) but yet one is recognised but one isn't....so, other than M'sia, where else the degree is recognised? Is it the same form med degree?
Hmm...yup...I also dont really know why. Why didn't u ask IMU during the roadshow?
Med degree is different, graduates are allowed to work in UK...different twinning universities too, right?
nwx86
16-04-2005, 11:39 AM
hmm...its becoz I din know that when I went for the roadshow. My friend informed me about that long after that...
seancl85
14-06-2005, 04:07 PM
anyway,if u want more info about imu's pharmacy,med or dentistry..they are having a roadshow this month...i am also a person interested in pharmacy...by the way,pharmacy in imu is very xpensive..
same goes to sepang international college...if i am not mistaken there are only 3 private colleges offer pharmacy course in malaysia rite now..one is imu and another one is sepang and the last one is ...forgotten...
they are also few universities in indonesia that offer pharmacy...the fees is a lot more cheaper than private colleges in m'sia...i just went for a uni entrance test...i put my 1st choice dentistry and second choice pharmacy...the test was very hard...not really sure can get or not... but just to inform some of u guyz...there are a lot of ways beside studying it in uk,us and australia....considering nearer to our home and cheaper.and minus some bencana alam lar..haha
14-06-2005, 04:18 PM
The other private university offering Pharmacy should be Sedaya University College...offering twinning program with Curtin University and USM I guess...
nwx86
15-06-2005, 05:36 PM
they've already stopped the twining course with USM, but they'll be having their own course pretty soon...i think...thats what they told me.
15-06-2005, 08:27 PM
they've already stopped the twining course with USM, but they'll be having their own course pretty soon...i think...thats what they told me.
They already having their own course already.... since they got the University College status...IIANM...
About the USM twinning.....I heard somebody from my Alevels batch got in.....that was... last year July.
seancl85
15-06-2005, 09:11 PM
anyway,does pharmacist earning a lot?...how much do they earn?...n izzit our country in need of more pharmacist?
nwx86
17-06-2005, 04:21 PM
pandaboy, u r right, but thats the last batch for the course. It was my intention to go for that course too. Sadly, I was still persuing my pre-U last year, unable to make it.
seancl85, yes, our country is in need of pharmacists.
chien
27-06-2005, 09:50 PM
i'm also interested in pharmacy, and I heard Nottingham University is offering MPharm...it's a 2+2 twinning program and you'll be offered scholarships if your results are good...anyone planning to join Nottingham?
kintaro_kun
30-08-2005, 04:49 PM
the european union prohibits twinned pharmacy programme from any member of the european union from being recognised for practise in the european union. people should have checked before they enrolled. as they say, read the FINE prints.
to be able to practise in the uk(to register in the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain) if you are not a uk graduate in pharmacy, refer to this site:
http://www.rpsgb.org.uk/members/
it seems to me if you really want to practise in uk,the better alternative would be to get an australian, new zealand pharm degree as a stepping stone.refer to the above site to know why.
seancl85
02-09-2005, 11:35 AM
so now..UCSI(sedaya)...is having their own programmes?...no more twinning with curtin and usm...since they have got uni college status?...coz i have one friend just admitted this year...not really sure is he following the twinning programme or ucsi own programme
kintaro_kun
02-09-2005, 05:18 PM
so now..UCSI(sedaya)...is having their own programmes?...no more twinning with curtin and usm...since they have got uni college status?...coz i have one friend just admitted this year...not really sure is he following the twinning programme or ucsi own programme
they have that twinning with curtin as well as their own's now, no more with usm. their own pharm degree starts this year, their medical degree too.
kintaro_kun
02-09-2005, 05:19 PM
they have that twinning with curtin as well as their own's now, no more with usm. their own pharm degree starts this year, their medical degree too.
seancl85
07-10-2005, 04:32 PM
just curious...has ucsi own pharmacy programme now ..has been accreditted by LAN....n how bout imu bac.pharmacy not the master 1...i heard it has not been accreditted yet..izzit true
How about Pharmacy in S.I.T International College? the have a 2+2 twinning programme with University of South Australia.
kintaro_kun
22-10-2005, 02:37 PM
How about Pharmacy in S.I.T International College? the have a 2+2 twinning programme with University of South Australia.
i've got 2 friends who studied the twinned programme, one is working in sydney and another one in hong kong now. quite fun, i guess.
is it very competetive to enter SIT pharmacy twinning programme??
i mean for STPM student....do they offer scholarship after u completed the second year b4 goin to AUS??
anyone doing pharmacy in SIT now??well u may share some of ur experience here...thanx!~
nwx86
23-10-2005, 12:27 AM
As for whether it is competative or not, I should say its not the question here. Its whether your results comply with the minimum requirements or not. Try applying the moment you have your results or with your forecast results.
thanx for ur reply...i appreciate ur effort!~
yea....my results were not so good....can't enter public uni...for pharmacy...
i got cgpa 3.67 only.....i met the minimum requirement....so i think my chance is lil bit high .....
anyway are u one of the pharmacy student in SIT??
i do hope they offer scholarship partial ...or maybe quarter ....after u completed the second .....with excellent results b4 heading towards AUS uni....
kintaro_kun
01-11-2005, 04:33 AM
thanx for ur reply...i appreciate ur effort!~
yea....my results were not so good....can't enter public uni...for pharmacy...
i got cgpa 3.67 only.....i met the minimum requirement....so i think my chance is lil bit high .....
anyway are u one of the pharmacy student in SIT??
i do hope they offer scholarship partial ...or maybe quarter ....after u completed the second .....with excellent results b4 heading towards AUS uni....
here's something i copied directly from the university of south australia's webpage:
SIT International College Scholarships
Up to two scholarships are offered to students enrolled in the third year of the Bachelor of Pharmacy programs taught as a twinning program with SIT International College (SIT).
Up to two scholarships are offered to students enrolled in the fourth year of the Bachelor of Pharmacy programs taught as a twinning program with SIT.
A Maximum of one scholarship will be awarded to students in the second year of either Bachelor of Applied Science (Food Science and Nutrition) or the Bachelor of Medical and Pharmaceutical Biotechnology.
The scholarships will be awarded on academic merit and are intended to encourage entry into the program, encourage outstanding students, and maintain high academic achievement across courses taught in the program.
For more information contact:
Program Support Officer
School of Pharmacy and Medical Sciences
Emma Widdison
Tel: 8302 2383
Email: emma.widdison@<hidden>
Value: A rebate of 25% of the fees payable to SIT for the year in which the scholarship is awarded
hope it helps... :D
Hi.
Managed to pop by this forum while googling for something else.
I am a 3rd year Pharm student in NUS and though I don't claim to know the profession inside out, I guess I do know a fair bit about it to give a rather balanced view (I hope).
Pharmacy, by far, is the least recognised profession in SEA. Talk to anyone about Pharmacy and they give a "huh" look. Of course they know that pharmacists deal with drugs, but I doubt they know very much about the nature of the job.
Indeed, there are many opportunities offered to pharmacists besides working in the retail and hospital sector. One very exciting pathway is to get yourself into the big pharma companies and be part of the revolutionary drug discovery process.
And there is this dispensing rights thing brewing in this region. FYI, pharmacists have FULL dispensing rights in countries like US, Australia, NZ, Taiwan, Japan etc. SEA is still far from achieving that status (due to low number of pharmacists and basically the mindset of the population) but we can foresee that one day it will be a reality. And why do we focus on dispensing rights? This is because, pharmacists, with greater knowledge of drugs, pharmacology and medicinal chemistry, is in a better position (than the doctors. They should really just stick to diagnosing their patients properly) to determine which drugs will be the most beneficial to the patient.
And for those intending to think of putting pharmacy as a 2nd choice after medicine or dentistry, I urge you not to do so. It is very different from the other two professions and unless you have the passion, you will never enjoy the course.
Btw, there is quite a fair bit of Chemistry in pharmacy.
much gratitude to those who answered my doubts......
thanx a lot.....
those informations really helps a lot.......now i'm goin to apply for dat course n strive my best to achieve excellency...
btw.....i'm considering NUS-pharmacy as well......
can anyone tell me how was it to study in singapore.....????
living cost...accomodation n study enviroment there???
WinnieH
05-03-2006, 05:44 PM
much gratitude to those who answered my doubts......
thanx a lot.....
those informations really helps a lot.......now i'm goin to apply for dat course n strive my best to achieve excellency...
btw.....i'm considering NUS-pharmacy as well......
can anyone tell me how was it to study in singapore.....????
living cost...accomodation n study enviroment there???
oh i heard that it's pretty hard to enrol into NUS Pharmacy... they're like... picking the creame de la creame only... and my sis who scored all A in STPM didn't get it... she's in NUS now doing Science.
f0reva
22-03-2006, 02:00 PM
well.. i'm into pharmacy.. spm leaver...hopefully can get scholarships.. if not i wil be goin to aimst for the pharmacy degree.. seems like everybody's keep sayin bout imu..sit.. those colleges for pharmacy.. 8O
I got to know some Australian universities which offer pharmacy programmes from
http://www.pharmacy.org/schools.html
Australian universities offering pharmacy degrees :
1) University of Sydney
2) University Of Queensland
3) Charles Sturt
4) Monash University
5) University of Tasmania
6) University Of Western Australia
7) La Trobe
8 ) Curtin University of Technology
9) University Of South Australia
10) James Cook University
Do you guys know which university of the above is more reputable for its pharmacy programme ? I am aware that Sydney and Queensland are in the G8 ( Group Of Eight )
kintaro_kun
26-06-2006, 07:08 PM
monash and UWA are also included in the G8 group.
UWA only offers pharm as a graduate entry degree, so, if you dun already have a degree, you can cancel UWA option out.
i dunno whether they have rankings regarding to pharm degrees though, but what i do know is that no aus pharm graduates are unemployed in aus. kinda like doctors, no matter whether your medical school in aus is reputable or not, you can still find a job(this only applies for aus citizens and pr, they have policies that go against foreign national practicising in aus, regardless of your aus medical school).
hunliang
28-06-2006, 10:25 PM
i'm back!!!
UQ is also a G8, and there are still new unis offering pharmacy programmes like Murdoch uni (graduate entry too) and Griffith uni.
As Kintaro-kun said that there is no jobless pharmacist around now. So if u want a job here, just apply for PR here, simple as that.
However, the job market maybe saturated in a few years...so nothing is certain.
btw, anyone going doing UWA pharmacy here or starting next sem???
hi... i applied for Mpharm imu, so i am preparing for the interview..
anyone been to imu interview before, can share with me, what do they ask? and what should i prepare?
i heard they asked alot about cases which require us to choose, such as life saving or meeting etc...
and i heard Mpharm student after graduating from scotland is a master, while Bpharm only bachelor, i dont quite understand this, since both courses are the same length, and differ only in the last year, am i right?
thanks first if anyone can enlighten me....
pringles
30-09-2006, 10:04 PM
I am a first year student studying Master of Pharmacy(it is an undergraduate master, not a postgraduate master) in Manchester U in UK. If you have any question about Pharmacy course, pls feel free to ask me. You can post it here or if you are too shy :oops: ,
then e-mail me. My e-mail is yinyang56@<hidden> and pls write 'Pharamcy' on the title. I always throw all the e-mail not from my addrees book to junk mail.
hey pringles...which is the top university to study pharmacy in UK...??Is it Uni. of Nottingham??
sunshine88
01-10-2006, 08:20 AM
hey pringles...which is the top university to study pharmacy in UK...??Is it Uni. of Nottingham??
haiyah..forget to log in..I send this post....
wandkey
13-10-2006, 10:35 PM
I'm an upper 6 science side student, hoping to do pharmacy. I would like to apply for some foreign universities. However, I'm concerned that my forecast results may not meet the mark. My school had two mock exams. And I only managed to get at most B+ for bio and maths, and B- for chem... I'm wondering if I apply using these results, would I even be considered for conditional offer?
And btw, I heard that Nottingham University in Malaysia has a good pharmacy course. How many students do they accept per intake?
sunshine88
14-10-2006, 08:15 PM
based on the undergraduate 2007 prospectus i got from Uni of Nottingham,the estimated intake of international students for pharmacy course is 45 ppl..per intake
In case u wanna further infos and have some enquiries,email them to
pharmacy_enquiries@<hidden>
and the link to the pharmacy site is
www.nottingham.ac.uk/pharmacy
all the bez!
wandkey
17-10-2006, 09:05 PM
Thanks sunshine88 for your help.
Another question I have concerning the Malaysian campus of University of Nottingham, I heard the Master of Pharmacy course offered is not yet accredited by the Pharmacy Board of Malaysia. However, to my understanding, the degree we would get from there is from the Uni of Nottingham, which doesn't specify whether it's from Malaysia or not. So, would the 2+2 Master of Pharmacy done partially in Msia be recognised?
linkin_suan
03-01-2007, 11:34 AM
Let us discuss pharmacy in Aus here.Anyone has experience or info about studying pharmacy in Aus?How is it like?I heard that pharmacy in Aus is comparatively more difficult than pharm in UK. Is it true?
I am furthering my studies to Aus this feb in pharm also...Let's share our experiences...
linkin_suan
03-01-2007, 11:46 AM
I got to know some Australian universities which offer pharmacy programmes from
http://www.pharmacy.org/schools.html
Australian universities offering pharmacy degrees :
1) University of Sydney
3) Charles Sturt
4) Monash University
6) University Of Western Australia
7) La Trobe
8 ) Curtin University of Technology
9) University Of South Australia
10) James Cook University
Do you guys know which university of the above is more reputable for its pharmacy programme ? I am aware that Sydney and Queensland are in the G8 ( Group Of Eight )
As far as i am concern,these are the recognised uni offering pharmacy in Aus:
1) University of Sydney
3) Monash University
4)University Of South Australia
6) Curtin University of Technology
It is said that pharm in University of Sydney is the most prestigious.The 1st 3 unis are in the G8.I may be going to University of Queensland this feb if i got the unconditional offer...
pringles
14-02-2007, 05:19 AM
Thanks sunshine88 for your help.
Another question I have concerning the Malaysian campus of University of Nottingham, I heard the Master of Pharmacy course offered is not yet accredited by the Pharmacy Board of Malaysia. However, to my understanding, the degree we would get from there is from the Uni of Nottingham, which doesn't specify whether it's from Malaysia or not. So, would the 2+2 Master of Pharmacy done partially in Msia be recognised?
I know this is really late for a reply. I have been absent from recom for quite a long time.So, the best way to get hold of me is to send me an e-mail titled 'Pharmacy-recom' to yinyang56@<hidden>
Anyway, about Malaysian Nottingham campus, and from what I read at Brit Pharmaceutical Journal, it CAN(not WILL) be recognised in UK and definitely in M'sia (check JPA website). And the cert will look the same. It can be recognised in UK as you will spend at least TWO years there. But pls beware that it has not gained recognition YET.
But i will recommend you to go to UK if you are able to or manage to het scholarship(I know it is hard) to experience the culture there. 2 years are just too short. But this is just my idea though
pringles
14-02-2007, 05:22 AM
I'm an upper 6 science side student, hoping to do pharmacy. I would like to apply for some foreign universities. However, I'm concerned that my forecast results may not meet the mark. My school had two mock exams. And I only managed to get at most B+ for bio and maths, and B- for chem... I'm wondering if I apply using these results, would I even be considered for conditional offer?
And btw, I heard that Nottingham University in Malaysia has a good pharmacy course. How many students do they accept per intake?
Are you taking A Level? A level don't have B+ or B- unless the marking has been changed this year.
Many uni will ask for ABB(Manchester, cardiff etc), some will accept BBB(King's college, london school of pharmacy etc..). That is in my year(1 year ago) though.
wandkey
28-02-2007, 11:29 AM
Thanks for the help Pringles. Better late then never anyway. Hehe.
To answer Pringles question, I'm not taking A levels, but STPM instead.
Ok, some time has passed since my last post. And now the situation has changed.
So far, I have applied for UK unis through UCAS and also for Nottingham Malaysia.
The conditional offers I received thus far are as follows:
Bath: ABB
Bradford: BBB
Brighton: BBB, but they need you to pay 1000pounds if you accept the offer, even if it's just conditional
Manchester: ABB, plus band 7 in IELTS
Nottingham Malaysia: A, B+, B+ (STPM)
Now I'm wondering which 2 offers to choose to accept for UCAS, but I've yet to hear from Strathclyde and Portsmouth. I'm hoping that STPM results would be released by then so that it would be easier to decide.
napoloeon
12-04-2007, 01:42 AM
I think i better post it here again since it is the "genuine" pharmacy thread.
Just a summary:
IMU twin with university of Strathclyde(scotland,uk). It's a 2.5(local) + 1(uk) twinning course. However, the Mpharm degree awarded is not accredited by the Royal Pharmaceutical Of Great Britain meaning that upon finishing d course u must return back to malaysia to practice as pharmacist(except u continue to study for higher degree) .
There's another option also if u opt for uk. University of Nottingham malaysia campus also offer Mpharm. Its actually a 2 + 2 course meaning dat u will do d first 2 years at malaysia campus and d final 2 years at uk campus. As it is a relatively new course(started in 2005), so it hasnt received the accreditation from the authority at the moment but the accreditation process should be completed in may 2007(u can call them).
For Australia, SIT college twin with the University of South Australia to offer Bpharm. Its a 2 + 2 course also. It is accredited by the Pharmacy Boards of South Australia.
Well, all the pharmacy courses i mentioned above is fully accredited by the Pharmacy Boards of Malaysia. If u wan 2 have a overseas pharmacy degree but money is d matter, those will be a better choices cause it is far more cheaper compare to staright away do it 4 years overseas.
Too_Old
12-04-2007, 12:10 PM
My advises to those wanting to do pharmacy are:
1. Very strong in chemistry in the study years.
2. Unless you work in industries or places like that, you must have a genuine interest in dealing with people.
3. An extremely versatile course with many options of employment.
4. Dispensing right? Well, be prepared to be kept waiting.
nwx86
12-04-2007, 01:03 PM
V agree with Too_Old... Communication was taught in the first semester..
hunliang
12-04-2007, 03:37 PM
I second that....
Plus you must like to talk!
linkin_suan
12-04-2007, 07:03 PM
I agree with all of you!! Verbal and non-verbal communication are essential. They are not easy..
Btw,I am doing 1st year pharm in University of Queensland,Aus.
Too_Old
12-04-2007, 10:35 PM
One of the most effective and cheapest way to develop public speaking and leadership skills is to join the Toastmasters. They are the world largest non-profit organization solely devoted to those.
You learn soft skills based on 2 things:
1. There are no teachers & trainers. Only manuals or project exercise that's proven to work based on their 82 years history. And there are many manuals ranging from the basic to more advanced one like Management Speeches to Technical Presentation to Speaking in Front of TV to Humorous Speeches to Public Relation. You got the idea. Also Leadership manuals.
2. Their "educational meeting" is simply a meeting of fellow members that provide each other with a positive & supportive environment in which every member has the opportunities to develop their soft skills. In other word, it's like learning to swim whereby the only way to learn is to do it and you needed a swimming pool with people giving your encouragement (positive environment). Their "educational meeting" is that pool.
There are many clubs all over the world and in almost all the major towns in Malaysia. The only criteria to be a member is 18yrs and above.
http://www.toastmasters.org/
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toastmasters_International
starrie
26-06-2008, 10:03 PM
hey i m new here...now in a level...n is under jpa 4 imu twinning later on...
1st thing i m glad tat u r in imu...how's imu?how u describe it?(i mean fr all aspects like lecturers,environment...)--i asked tis coz i'd heard lots of -ve comments bout imu..
by d way, i don really like chemistry if compared to biology(basically bcoz of d complicated chemical formula...n y i chose pharm is bcoz i don really like a doc's life)...so will it b difficult 4 me to study pharm?
thx
runninghorse
27-06-2008, 12:08 PM
can a graduate from pharmacology register to be a pharmacist in malaysia?
starrie
27-06-2008, 08:47 PM
just to mention tat my above post is referring to anyone who has been studying in imu or elsewhere in pharmacy (coz i forgot to quote the msg):))...thx yeah...
kintaro_kun
30-06-2008, 03:56 AM
can a graduate from pharmacology register to be a pharmacist in malaysia?
quite simply, no.
amjay6
06-08-2008, 10:14 AM
found this thread a little late. hope you guys still can help me out.
i've got my stpm results this yr and hv decided to take pharm. now it's the matter of choosing a Uni to do it.
can someone tell me the pros/cons betw twinning in Aus as opposed to UK?
and how can i check whether the degree is recognised by our pharm board, any link?
i'm considering IMU, HICT, and nottingham.
thanks in advance
Athersin
06-09-2008, 11:51 AM
I am very interested in giving advice on prescription of medicine as this can give healing moment to the patients, i like seeing people feel well all the same time and provide mental counselling to the patients. But 1 thing that i dislike of is i am dread of working in a research lab, working and toiling around with the reseach work without having socialize with other people. I am totally bored of this kind of turmoil.
I understand that a pharmacist must have worked in a research lab .As i am not really into pharmacy career yet, thus i need some advice on the study of pharmacy.
And with my interest and my situation mentioned above, hope fellow could give some constructive advice on me.Am i suitable to be embarked in pharmacy career?
Athersin
17-11-2008, 10:10 AM
ANybody who is interested in Pharmacy?
What does a pharmacist do besides prescribing medicine. It would be a total boredom for me to confine myself into a research lab or a counter .
cindyTSC
20-04-2011, 02:11 PM
i'm also interested in pharmacy, and I heard Nottingham University is offering MPharm...it's a 2+2 twinning program and you'll be offered scholarships if your results are good...anyone planning to join Nottingham?
hi...what r u studing nw?is it Mpharm in the university of nottingham?