View Full Version : BookCrossing

burningBUTTERFLIES
10-07-2004, 12:04 AM
It's here in M'sia... anyone interested? =)

Just a lil' intro to this concept: Someone release their books (but it will be given a registration code, by the BC) and it will be passed from one person to another. Everytime someone is done reading the book, they type up a review/comments abt that particular book. more info: http://www.bookcrossing.com

though i'm a bit hesitant to release my own books... it cost quite a lot, after the whole conversion thing, but i have some that am willing to let go (dont worry, not ciplak books, won awards wan)

wpyeoh
10-07-2004, 08:55 PM
I heard about that before...but what do you mean by "it's here in M'sia" ?

burningBUTTERFLIES
10-07-2004, 10:43 PM
There are books released here in M;sia la... so I'm wondering if anyone has a good book to 'release, am v v interested. but they have to register that book over at BC la

there are some who leaves the book in certain places, then it will be picked up (a place not soopen so the public wont take it). another option is that the two ppl meet up and exchange

u up for it? =)

Aki
10-05-2005, 08:12 AM
Sounds interesting,but I wonder how many Malaysians know about this.....

balderdash
10-05-2005, 11:40 AM
I think I registered with bookcrossing about 2 years ago but still am hesitant to go about it cos i love my books too much! The books released in Singapore and Malaysia (mostly KL, none in Ipoh, where I am from) are mostly teeny bopper books or other such stuff.....so it was a tad disappointing for me too.

Aki
12-05-2005, 10:46 AM
Yeah,i love my books so much,its ok that i lent them to other ppl,but i don't like the idea of leaving the books somewhere and wait for somebody to pick them up.(What if a garbage collecters pick them up and throw them as rubbish?)

khiahsu
21-04-2007, 10:10 PM
somehow,I just think it won't work here in Malaysia.:\

burningBUTTERFLIES
22-04-2007, 02:35 AM
khiahsu: They do actually. If you're in KL, they have a meetup every month, where they sit around, chat and exchange books. Book release 'in the wild' (aka release them in random public places) is probably not a very good idea for m'sia at the mo'.... but they do release books at book fairs and such.

I've released a few books, via another bookcrosser, in a book fair. I thought it's gone forever but 2 years lter I got a good review on it... which just makes me feel nice XDXD

Another way: I had this bookcrosser who saw my book wishlist and did a RABCK, which stands for Random Act of Bookcrossing Kindness, and sent those books via snail mail to me absolutely free.

Since I joined Bookcrossing, i've read at least 12 books from exchanging. And I loved it. However, I haven't gone for a meeting in a year due to time constraint...