View Full Version : Books on increasing learning abilities...
10-07-2004, 05:29 AM
Hi...
to become a powerful student a student cannot just learn by being a book worm.
It?s much easier to learn and get good grades if you have high learning ability.
it?s better to have good thinking method, memory and creativity compare to studying for long hours .
why having hard time studying and tuitioning non stop, when having photographic memory, photo reading can make your life easier.
In this thread we recommend some books on how to improve our learning abilities.
enjoy!
10-07-2004, 05:39 AM
Tony Buzan
Use Your Memory -- improve your memory with various practical methods
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0563371021.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg
Speed Reading
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0452266041.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg
Mind Mapping
http://images.amazon.com/images/P/0007146841.01.MZZZZZZZ.jpg
10-07-2004, 05:43 AM
Edward de Bono
Water Logic
Six Thinking Hats
Lateral Thinking
10-07-2004, 10:03 AM
iQing, do u actually read all those books? Or just recommending the books?
If u have read the books, what do u think about the books?
It's been quite some time since I last touch a book like those....
I'm quite a lazy person..... :lol:
kevinkhoo1986
10-07-2004, 03:19 PM
I could hardly found this type of book in Klang. Perhap i can try it in KL. But i am quite lazy to read this type of book :D
The_Observer
10-07-2004, 07:50 PM
Walao...I always disliked Tony Buzan's stuff....
teazo_darren
12-07-2004, 08:06 PM
i always have a habit that used in study.that's doing research and deep study b4 i accept anything.even a bullshit or accusation...juz i will accept with the solid evidences...then doing the further analysis.for it...~
Walau, CC, I'm the other way leh. I refuse to accept until i'm firmly convinced myself that its correct.
12-03-2005, 07:41 AM
Walau, CC, I'm the other way leh. I refuse to accept until i'm firmly convinced myself that its correct.
That's not CC ....optical illusion...hehe :D
nxwen
12-03-2005, 11:49 PM
Kevin, perhaps you can try MPH. I had seen Tony Buzan's books on MPH book shelves.
However, I'm quite lazy to read too. And even lazier to practise what I read. :lol: I don't know about you guys, but I find it quite troublesome to mind-map. (Partly caused by my habit of studying last minute :oops: ) In the end, it's called LAZY.
UKnowMe
14-03-2005, 01:52 PM
i never read this type of book before (coz i m lazy) but I agree to those method and what IQing wrote.
Irresistible
25-07-2005, 08:08 PM
I have already read mind mapping & speed reading written by Toy buzan, but I didn't practice the exercises in the Speed Reading books, quite troublesome. Speed reading actually help u read faster (up to 1000 words/ min) so than u have more time to read a book 3-4 times to reinforce your memory.
The problem for mind mapping is not all things can mind mapped. How to mind map accounting??? And my reading speed is as slow as b4. The only way to achieve excellent result for a limited talent person like me is STUDY HARD.
25-07-2005, 08:23 PM
I have already read mind mapping & speed reading written by Toy buzan, but I didn't practice the exercises in the Speed Reading books, quite troublesome. Speed reading actually help u read faster (up to 1000 words/ min) so than u have more time to read a book 3-4 times to reinforce your memory.
The problem for mind mapping is not all things can mind mapped. How to mind map accounting??? And my reading speed is as slow as b4. The only way to achieve excellent result for a limited talent person like me is STUDY HARD.
typical rock lee
A young but earnest Zen student approached his teacher, and asked the Zen Master:
"If I work very hard and diligent how long will it take for me to find Zen."
The Master thought about this, then replied, "Ten years."
The student then said, "But what if I work very, very hard and really apply myself to learn fast -- How long then ?"
Replied the Master, "Well, twenty years."
"But, if I really, really work at it. How long then ?" asked the student.
"Thirty years," replied the Master.
"But, I do not understand," said the disappointed student. "At each time that I say I will work harder, you say it will take me longer. Why do you say that ?"
Replied the Master," When you have one eye on the goal, you only have one eye on the path."
ice111
25-03-2006, 12:08 AM
Hello...
Can anyone tell what it means?
When you have one eye on the goal, you only have one eye on the path.
25-03-2006, 01:58 AM
er... how about understanding? if u understand it, u don't need to go through all these BS of mind mapping, and speed reading...
if there's a speed reading that can increase ur understanding, and not making u read faster, so that u can read many more times, then, it would be great...
22-06-2007, 11:11 AM
Replied the Master," When you have one eye on the goal, you only have one eye on the path."
This is an ld thread and I decided to dig it out.
Well, actually I agree with this statement for a long time ago, Just that I dont have any reliable source to support my view.
Anyway, anyone there, What you think of this statement?
Just like, If you are thinking you want to get JPA and other scholarships, or you are thinking of getting straight A1 always, will it really works. It will just make you to end up with one eye.
Well, I am not saying creating a target or an aim is not good, just that in between, we should balance up our life.
Opinions?
22-06-2007, 11:12 AM
Edward de Bono
Water Logic
Six Thinking Hats
Lateral Thinking
anyway, These titles have attracted me, I hope I can get any of them later.
I came across Six Thinking Hats in the book entitled How To Have A Beautiful Mind by Edward de Bono.
He devised the Six Hats method of better thinking in 1985, a method that will help to enhance the conversation and so develop a beautiful mind.
An excerpt from the book,
"The metaphor of six coloured hats - white, red, black, yellow, green and blue - is used to align the thinkers or members of the discussion so that they arr all looking in the same direction at any one time. It is essential that everyone is wearing the same hat at the same moment. It is completely wrong for different people to be wearing different hats."
The Red Hat represents Emotional thinking. The Yellow Hat represents Positive thinking. The Black Hat represents Critical thinking. The White Hat is purely the facts. The Green Hat is Creative thinking. The Blue Hat represents the Big Picture, sort of looking at it from all the viewpoints.
[resource from wikipedia]