View Full Version : Discussion: JPA Medicine 2010 (Non middle east)

Adi29
22-04-2010, 09:06 AM
Hey this thread is for those who applied medicine under PILN JPA 2010.
Lets discuss here..

Owh and seniors studying medic under JPA do come here and give us advice..hehe..

:))

zahra
22-04-2010, 09:14 AM
I applied for Medicine too... Lalala...

Adi29
22-04-2010, 09:18 AM
Owh okay..hihi..found one person..hehe..
So u got any phone call yt..?

zahra
22-04-2010, 09:22 AM
Not yet. Be patient la... Haha. Third week of May is still a long way to go.

candelifera
22-04-2010, 09:25 AM
I applied for med too. :)

Adi29
22-04-2010, 09:41 AM
Okay..haha
cz those applying for engineering said it will be out on end of april..heheh

Hi candelifera... :)

june848
22-04-2010, 12:05 PM
i applied for medic too......
i've a friend who juz got to do engineering in us......under jpa
in other threads i read, some have called jpa and ask when the results will b out......
they said its at the end of dis month.....

Adi29
22-04-2010, 12:07 PM
Hi June..hehe...Thanx for joining..haha..
Owh ur friend is it this year or last year..? lol..

Ya thats wad i read too..Lets hope we will all get it.. :)

AnnieChan
22-04-2010, 12:43 PM
gosh.. so many future docs here huh :) i applied for med as well.. where would you guys head to if JPA gives you the choice? :P ( its near IMPOSSIBLE but IF larr :) )

22-04-2010, 04:00 PM
Reminder: Since this thread comes under education forum, please refrain from having chit-chatting and friend-making posts here. Any irrelevant posts would be deleted without further notice. There is already a thread for speculation of application results date, so please do not do it in multiple threads.

Thank you.

Adi29
22-04-2010, 04:57 PM
Yup..many future doctors..But must be good one..Lol..
If can choose arr...I dont think i wanna choose..Lol..
Will go wherever they send me..hehe..even local..lol.

AnnieChan
22-04-2010, 10:11 PM
oops.. sorry bout that. by the way, what are the odds that most people will get twinning program instead of studying fully overseas?

Adi29
22-04-2010, 10:35 PM
Erm..well it depends if u tell them u want twinning and if they think u can..lol..
So little medic applicant..? hehe..Btw, whens our result..?

22-04-2010, 10:56 PM
oops.. sorry bout that. by the way, what are the odds that most people will get twinning program instead of studying fully overseas?Actually, for full course in UK, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia etc... places are very limited. I'm not sure about the exact number, but it's definitely small, perhaps around 50-100 in total every year. The remaining places go to countries like Czech Republic, Poland, India, Russia, and twinning programmes like PMC, IMU, MMMC. I'm not saying it is impossible, but don't put high hope that you will get the full course in western countries.

Adi29
22-04-2010, 11:28 PM
Actually, for full course in UK, Ireland, New Zealand, Australia etc... places are very limited. I'm not sure about the exact number, but it's definitely small, perhaps around 50-100 in total every year. The remaining places go to countries like Czech Republic, Poland, India, Russia, and twinning programmes like PMC, IMU, MMMC. I'm not saying it is impossible, but don't put high hope that you will get the full course in western countries.

thanx miracle seed for ur clarification..Btw if we dont get full western we will automatically be transfered to twinning or other country..?

23-04-2010, 12:01 AM
thanx miracle seed for ur clarification..Btw if we dont get full western we will automatically be transfered to twinning or other country..?It is not that you would be transferred, but you would receive the offer letter stating the course offered directly, e.g. PMC, IMU, UK, India etc..., if you manage to secure the scholarship.

Adi29
23-04-2010, 12:03 AM
Owh okay...Btw do you think the percentage for us is high this year..? avtually i dont mind where they send me..

23-04-2010, 12:12 AM
Owh okay...Btw do you think the percentage for us is high this year..? avtually i dont mind where they send me..

56% of total places offered is for medic/medic related courses. The remaining 44% will be distributed for every other courses according to the quotas set by JPA. That is what i read in the newspaper.

23-04-2010, 12:18 AM
Owh okay...Btw do you think the percentage for us is high this year..? avtually i dont mind where they send me..For the year where they offer 2000 places overall, about 500 goes to medicine, so do the maths to get the places offered this year, if the percentage remains the same. Anyway, I think reduction isn't too much since they have removed some courses from the list (e.g. actuarial science)

23-04-2010, 12:31 AM
For the year where they offer 2000 places overall, about 500 goes to medicine, so do the maths to get the places offered this year, if the percentage remains the same. Anyway, I think reduction isn't too much since they have removed some courses from the list (e.g. actuarial science)

JPA only offers 1500 places for PILN scholarship and 1900 places for PIDN scholarship this year.

Adi29
23-04-2010, 08:19 AM
JPA only offers 1500 places for PILN scholarship and 1900 places for PIDN scholarship this year.

Owh okay..so we have 56%..? Which newspaper u read btw..?
And erm our results will be out on may or end of april..? lol..
Are u a medic student btw..?

23-04-2010, 11:16 AM
Owh okay..so we have 56%..? Which newspaper u read btw..?
And erm our results will be out on may or end of april..? lol..
Are u a medic student btw..?

First of all, I am not a medic student. I read it on Star newspaper quite some time ago. I am not sure whether our results will be announced at the end of April or May, there are people who called JPA and the staffs said end of April. So, just keep checking the website next week. If its not announced, then wait until May and for sure it will be out by mid-May. Keep your fingers crossed and good luck! :)

Adi29
23-04-2010, 11:26 AM
First of all, I am not a medic student. I read it on Star newspaper quite some time ago. I am not sure whether our results will be announced at the end of April or May, there are people who called JPA and the staffs said end of April. So, just keep checking the website next week. If its not announced, then wait until May and for sure it will be out by mid-May. Keep your fingers crossed and good luck! :)

Hey..thanx battleboyz..Really hope i get it..haha
Where r u studying now..?

23-04-2010, 11:33 AM
Hey..thanx battleboyz..Really hope i get it..haha
Where r u studying now..?

Digression: I am currently a spm leaver, waiting for JPA scholarship and I got matriculation. Going to matriculation if i don't get JPA. If wanna chat then pm me yeah. Don't chat here. :wink

Adi29
25-04-2010, 09:15 PM
56% of total places offered is for medic/medic related courses. The remaining 44% will be distributed for every other courses according to the quotas set by JPA. That is what i read in the newspaper.

Owh okay..so its around 800+ la...
okay..which newspaper is dat btw..?
hehe..

smy
25-04-2010, 10:02 PM
star newspaper.or u can go to BERNAMA to check.one of the recommer actually posted the link in one of the thread.

Adi29
27-04-2010, 04:23 PM
which thread is it in..?

iceyaisha
27-04-2010, 06:14 PM
I applied for Medicine too. Hoping to get the scholarship and being sent to countries like Australia and New Zealand. Hmm, but we have no choice don't we? Hehex. I'd be very grateful, if I am awarded the scholarship anyway. :D

Adi29
18-05-2010, 10:12 AM
I heard got someone got called for Russia and India..? Anyone..?

frozenkeylfc
18-05-2010, 12:39 PM
i applied medicine too.. actually i dont really care where i will be placed, as long as i can seruce a scholarship...even i am given a local scholarship, i will feel extremely grateful toJPA.. btw, why there are onli 1900 local scholarships this year, i thought it is about 10000 local scholarships in the previous years...

behdiary
18-05-2010, 01:26 PM
I heard got someone got called for Russia and India..? Anyone..?

OMG...when they know the results ? Which state's people are they ? Meaning we will get their calls if we get it by today ?fingers crossed.

cclim
18-05-2010, 05:18 PM
OMG...when they know the results ? Which state's people are they ? Meaning we will get their calls if we get it by today ?fingers crossed.

According to 1 of my fren who call JPA, the result will be announced starting from today to 21th of May. But, another fren say got some already received the call since 12th of May. Its really really confusing...

Adi29
18-05-2010, 09:57 PM
u mean got ppl got the call for medic alrdy..??

iceyaisha
18-05-2010, 10:02 PM
According to 1 of my fren who call JPA, the result will be announced starting from today to 21th of May. But, another fren say got some already received the call since 12th of May. Its really really confusing...

Really??? For medic wor, sure? I thought we have to check online on eSilav2?

khoo
19-05-2010, 12:01 AM
i applied medicine too.. actually i dont really care where i will be placed, as long as i can seruce a scholarship...even i am given a local scholarship, i will feel extremely grateful toJPA.. btw, why there are onli 1900 local scholarships this year, i thought it is about 10000 local scholarships in the previous years...

There are 2 types of PIDN. One meant for SPM leavers and this is 1900 places for year 2010. Another one meant for matric and STPM students and this is 10,000 places yearly. For SPM leavers who applied for PILN but did not get the PILN may get PIDN if JPA think you are good.

cclim
20-05-2010, 04:02 PM
Really??? For medic wor, sure? I thought we have to check online on eSilav2?

Well, most of my seniors said that we have to check on esila, but i dun noe why 1 of my fren said that some russia and india already receive call, maybe she is trying to fool me... Anyway, dun worry too much about it la, russia and india are not so good...

iceyaisha
20-05-2010, 04:46 PM
India has good practicals for medicine. Russia, no. Hehex. Anyway, Good Luck, tomorrow! :D

Adi29
20-05-2010, 04:57 PM
India has more cases..hehe..Russia have good lecturer..actually any country would be good..its how we use the oppurtunity given to us to study..and the initiative we put in..