View Full Version : Stop the Malay/Bumi bashing!

12-07-2004, 09:02 PM
You guys colour blind abit can or not? You guys supposed to be educated!

I'm chinese, but some of you make me sick! Worst than those UMNO youth (read: Shiek Fadzir, Azimi Daim, and also Ghaffar Baba's "soak keris with Chinese blood" comment) nutcases.

To my malay friends, please ignore their crap.

12-07-2004, 09:14 PM
Im sure most of the bashing was directed to UMNO nuts not the Malays in general. I think it would be a better idea to name the group being bashed rather then grouping them by ethnics. After all Not all UMNO members are malays and not all of them are muslims and not all of them are nuts.

onehaz
12-07-2004, 10:32 PM
hear! hear!
its sad to note that despite these things (the nutcases' comments) are still prevalent in these "modern" (or "postmodern", depends how u look at it.) times.

isn't there anything that can be done ? :?

12-07-2004, 11:12 PM
what malay bashing is going on in recom? I haven't been keeping up to date

13-07-2004, 01:39 AM
Im sure most of the bashing was directed to UMNO nuts not the Malays in general. I think it would be a better idea to name the group being bashed rather then grouping them by ethnics. After all Not all UMNO members are malays and not all of them are muslims and not all of them are nuts.

excuse me,so it's fine bashing the umno dudes urgh?so all the freakin' things said towards umno is fine urgh?so ppl like me who thinks umno is fine need to learn to shut up?dream out!!and i mean that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

13-07-2004, 01:50 AM

excuse me,so it's fine bashing the umno dudes urgh?so all the freakin' things said towards umno is fine urgh?so ppl like me who thinks umno is fine need to learn to shut up?dream out!!and i mean that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Maybe you should read what i wrote again.[/b]

13-07-2004, 01:53 AM
whatever...bear in mind,am not gonna listen and kneel to your comments.you can call certain ppl nuts,and that based totally on your opinion.if i think those nuts are fine,you deserve to hear my points.and pls,throw away from you brain that umno is one sick party.

13-07-2004, 03:46 AM
Phantom, There's always the few fanatics in all parties. Since UMNO is a Malay/Bumiputera only party expect to have nuts in there. Keadilan, Dap and Pas all have their shares too.

I apologize if my comments came out as an attack on you. What i really meant was many people are bashing Malays because of UMNO policies. For an example, the Malays Special right was their(UMNO) Idea. Many non-Malay/Bumiputera hates Malays because of this.

Do remember that UMNO is the leading Malay Party and also the Largest group make up the goverment of Malaysia. If anything goes wrong there's only one place to point your finger at,UMNO.
Malays who don't support UMNO would be named 'pengkhianat bangsa'

I'm more than happy to hear your opinion as well. Just for the record i am a Malay as well.

13-07-2004, 06:15 AM
yo guys what's going on? calm down yo!

misled_youth please tell us where this bumi-bashing is coming from. everyone else, chill down first yo!

tunsrilanang
13-07-2004, 08:33 AM
wats with the comment 'soak the keris in chinese blood' thingie?

cerita la...i am blur about this.

The_Observer
13-07-2004, 08:37 AM
I concur with el_empty...bashing? What bashing?

Is it over the UMNO issue? JPA? Matriculation? Red-tape? Government policy? All of them?

Even if it is, I'll rather call it 'complaints' or 'frustrations' rather than racial 'bashing'. Most of us here usually refer to the Government not a specific ethnic group unless the situation demands it.

Anyway, I trust our moderators will lock up any threads that are being abused for 'bashing'.

13-07-2004, 04:20 PM

i don't think this, erm, comment should be attributed to ghaffar baba. i think it was made by a certain najib in the late 1980's in dataran merdeka during some perhimpunan. that's all i know.

deaf-knee
13-07-2004, 09:02 PM
wah. I think it's good to practice KELUHURAN PERLEMBAGAAN which says erm smth smth u must not talk abt sensitive issues.

13-07-2004, 09:15 PM
wah. I think it's good to practice KELUHURAN PERLEMBAGAAN which says erm smth smth u must not talk abt sensitive issues.

lol. the constitution should be respected if everybody respects it. If one side respects it and the other doesnt, there is no use to adhere to keluhuran perlembagaan.

anyway, I dont see any Malay bashing going on. what on earth are you talking about misled_youth?

13-07-2004, 09:30 PM
Whack whack! Whack whack! u mean this bashing? :roll:

do u mean some recent news appear in the paper?

13-07-2004, 11:14 PM

http://www.suaramalaysia.com/archives/2003/10/pas_to_release.html

Read that.

Ai yah... just realised some thing... many of the Bumi/Malay bashers are Bumi/Malay's themselves. Ai sey...

Anyway... just something to remind you guys, we should be colour blind.

deekay
14-07-2004, 03:15 AM
I agree with misled_youth : we should all be colour blind and treat each other with respect, dignity and equality.

Now, if only this is practiced by everyone in the world - a pipe dream perhaps, since race, religion, cultures, ethnicity, etc cause much divisiveness.

What can we change ? Or perhaps to be more specific, what can we change in Malaysia?

Does a secular state promote these ideals better in a multi-racial, multi-religious, multi-lingual, multi-ethnic country like Malaysia ? Or should we stick with the current NDP defined, institutionalised differentiation amongst the races.

Read a recent news article which asked the question whether the government in Malaysia was practising tolerance or segmentation.

Got to change from the top for everybody's benefit .... otherwise, we will all regret it.

The_Observer
14-07-2004, 07:45 AM
Tell that to the Government.

By tonight, some black colour Proton Wira will be waiting outside your home (or your parent's home).

14-07-2004, 08:05 AM

http://www.suaramalaysia.com/archives/2003/10/pas_to_release.html

Read that.

Ai yah... just realised some thing... many of the Bumi/Malay bashers are Bumi/Malay's themselves. Ai sey...

Anyway... just something to remind you guys, we should be colour blind.

aiyah misled_, next time state what you're referring to and include the relevant source or article lah. you raised quite a panic by randomly screaming into the thread.

gonjeng
21-07-2004, 07:01 AM
aiseh, tuh laa pasal... i thought there were some racial slurs being passed around here, which will make me quite surprise. thank God none exist...

anyway, frankly speaking, this political thingie has make me sick - the only part i hate about malaysia. you'll find so many ppl say this and that and yet, nothing is done. talk is cheap yo! making promise is not as easy as keeping it. regardless to which party, sume 2 x 5 aje :p

~peace out~

burningBUTTERFLIES
21-07-2004, 01:23 PM
how nice if everyone from different races marry one another. Then there wouldn't be any racism =).

The_Observer
21-07-2004, 03:57 PM
Errr.....I wish to decline that offer, thank you....

21-07-2004, 09:18 PM
Ditto!

gatecrasher
21-07-2004, 11:38 PM
how nice if everyone from different races marry one another. Then there wouldn't be any racism =).
the former (interracial marriage) is a result of the latter (no racism), not the other way round.

21-07-2004, 11:42 PM
the former (interracial marriage) is a result of the latter (no racism), not the other way round.

actually, it could work both ways. either ways are equally possible.

gatecrasher
22-07-2004, 12:00 AM
oops... ya hor

but a certain degree of tolerance and integration is still needed before interracial marriages can happen.

22-07-2004, 12:09 AM
oops... ya hor

but a certain degree of tolerance and integration is still needed before interracial marriages can happen.

but marriage could bring about that certain degree of tolerance and integration. =)

which one comes first? the chicken or the egg?

22-07-2004, 11:33 AM
oops... ya hor

but marriage could bring about that certain degree of tolerance and integration. =)

which one comes first? the chicken or the egg?

The certain degree of tolerance and integration is needed between the couples and maybe their family to make the Marriage happen i n the first place.

retroque
22-07-2004, 03:48 PM
aiya.....when u fall in love....nothing is impossible....or like they say it these days...impossible is nothing...hehe :D

gatecrasher
22-07-2004, 07:11 PM
aiya.....when u fall in love....nothing is impossible....or like they say it these days...impossible is nothing...hehe :D
easier said than done!

23-07-2004, 12:34 AM
If you marry, then u tolerate, chances of clearing racism is 50% (coz 50% could amplify the latter)... however, if you learn to integrate and tolerate, then u are building a harmonious environment right before u marry, and that time, marry or not marry, there won't be any racism... So it's not the issue of the chicken or the egg? it's the issue of is it better if the chicken comes first or the egg?

23-07-2004, 12:50 AM
i'm pretty sure like that's gonna happen..marriage is not the perfect answer,those kids from the intermarriage are thrown to choose 2 races.and which one they gonna choose?i think racial harmony is hard to tune in malaysia when they are still chauvanist in m'sia.

23-07-2004, 12:58 AM
interacial marriage is a not popular becoz of the fact that most parents drill into their kid's head that they would sooner die than let them marry interracially. it is an impression that has been planted at a very very young age and the idea is to maintain the purity of your lineage.

plus, i think most Chinese guys are scared of 'berkhatan':lol:

as has been said, and will be repeated, yet another 'chicken or egg' question...

kucingbiru
23-07-2004, 01:40 AM
plus, i think most Chinese guys are scared of 'berkhatan':lol:

i've heard about an adult "berkhatan" after converting to Islam (or maybe to judaism too i guess). but i think it's not really necessary for adults. let me be honest here. I can't tell the difference between a circumcised and an un-circumcised adult dick.

23-07-2004, 01:49 AM
urghhhhh?there are huge differences dude.it's more to health than religion factor.ppl who are circumcised have lesser chance of getting some type of cancer,prostate cancer i think.plus,it's clean that way.and nicer.

anyway,if you want intermarriage,you need to give and take.you have to sacrifice certain culture of yours in order to have a long lasting marriage.anything for love.but then again,at the end of the day,intermarriage products aka the mixed race ppl are left to decide which race they ought to mix with.it's hard for them.plus,they have to answer questions from total strangers all their life time.life sux being a mixed dude,it's true in my cousin's case.

kucingbiru
23-07-2004, 01:58 AM
i only notice the difference between circumcised and not circumcised kids' penis. but mine is no different from Bruce Willis' or Mark Ruffalo's (except for color). <---i'm not being dirty. if you think i am, better grow up.

23-07-2004, 03:04 AM
Err... I hate to go off topic here, but you guys better read this.

Is a circumcised penis really better?

http://www.sexasnatureintendedit.com

23-07-2004, 03:49 AM
Realizing that this discussion has really gone off topic, I would like to invite all of us to get back to the right direction (as the topic suggested). Hope the author can come and summarize what he or she thinks, and whether or not everything is done.

<off-topic>
regarding berkhatan and everything that go with intermarriage in our society, it's really about your faith and love. I don't think you need to be scared of the 'Tok Mudim'.(now, we've doctors, it's even easier).
I recalled my experience, and it's sort of fun. I think that's the only thing in my childhood where I got so much attention (and pocket money too).

anyway, berkhatan is a religious thing. You might argue anything that go with it, but, again, like I said. it's all about faith and love.

</off-topic>

Again, this discussion not supposed to be about 'berkhatan'. Let's discuss back about this topic 'Stop the Malay/Bumi Bashing', else, we can lock this thread.

23-07-2004, 12:56 PM
Syamsul, allow me to go off topic one more time here...

i only notice the difference between circumcised and not circumcised kids' penis. but mine is no different from Bruce Willis' or Mark Ruffalo's (except for color). <---i'm not being dirty. if you think i am, better grow up.

I thought u're a girl.... sorry! :oops:

debbie
23-07-2004, 01:28 PM
I'm all in for intermarriages. Well, I'm a product of one myself, and trust me it's really cool. You have ppl walking up to you saying "Ilike your hair." or "Are you from overseas,ah?" or "Mat Salleh campur apa?" which makes me roll my eyes...."Ai... aunty, saya bukan Mat Salleh.I'm just as Asian as you."
The pros of mixed raced marriages : the kids are gorgeous (though not in all cases), they grow up with the best of both worlds, they're skin colour blind, they speak both languages and they are the glue tht holds both races together. Besides, there's a beautiful merging of culture.
I wouldn't mind marrying a person from a different race when I grow up regardless of skin colour though I really can't if the person's Malay. I dont fancy being a Siti Fatimah Abdullah.. er.. no offense to the Malays. So if you get a potential life partner of different race, put down all reserves... it'll be fantastic, believe me.

23-07-2004, 03:28 PM
well misled_youth clearly was stoned when he started this thread:)

The pros of mixed raced marriages : the kids are gorgeous
gotta agree with this.

personally, race won't be an issue when i finally settle down with my future wife, but religion would. no appending of 'abdullah' to my name, thank you.

Randomphantom
23-07-2004, 03:29 PM
Well I guess u are the lucky few who aren't exposed to worser forms of racism. That said I think intermarriages do produce cooler genes in their offspring. Maybe its the dominant gene thingy in some Mendel's law. No wonder the prominent faces on Malaysian tv are frequently of mixed parentage. I think the bigger problem with intermarriages would be when both are from different religions.

debbie
23-07-2004, 07:07 PM
Yeah..race and skin colour is nothing..it's converting to being a muslim tht's a nightmare! Think of it.. parting with pork..no more bak kut teh.. I can bear with tht..but think of the dressing issue. I'd have to go "under-cover", no more tennis skirts/shorts and I can't run in baju kurung.How sad..so no way, no no , no how.. it's out of the question.

gatecrasher
23-07-2004, 07:25 PM
Yeah..race and skin colour is nothing..it's converting to being a muslim tht's a nightmare! Think of it.. parting with pork..no more bak kut teh.. I can bear with tht..but think of the dressing issue. I'd have to go "under-cover", no more tennis skirts/shorts and I can't run in baju kurung.How sad..so no way, no no , no how.. it's out of the question.
haha... thanks for saying that! don't forget fasting for a month too. for me, it's the effect on my diet that hurts most. that's because the dress code is still negotiable - there are muslims who don't tutup aurat, but as far as i know, none who eat pork. pork seems to be strictly taboo.
no offence to the muslims... it's just that i've grown up without these restrictions and find it unthinkable to adapt to them.

23-07-2004, 07:33 PM
no offense..no offense..yet you are offending ppl...

care to read the research done elsewhere that prove pork contain more bad bacterias than any meat?why dont you pour a coke drink on the meat and see what happened..this was a reseach done at singapore.

well,if you love someone,go ahead marry that person.you dont need to be siti fatimah abdullah if you marry one,you can still opt to put ur family name.see,you dont know anything and pretend like knowing e'thing.and then saying,"no offense,no offense".

what you know is a superficial bias circulating you.might wanna throw them out.

am pretty sure there are so many non-muslims who converted islam and never have hard time with it.the problem is when you fail to differentiate between being a malay and a muslim.

and you might speak a different case when it comes to intermarriage kids.some only know one language you see.

23-07-2004, 07:46 PM
To be honest i dont mind interracial marriage but i'll prefer marrying a nice malay girl from the kampungs. I've had to much experience with urban Malays,Chinese,indian. Ha Mat saleh is totally out of the question you gotta be insane.

debbie
23-07-2004, 07:57 PM
Nice Malay girl from the kampung.. don't you think it's a delusion? *laughs* Sorry, sorry..
But there are urban non-Malays who are really nice..some whites are really nice too. Just meant 2 uh.. "enlighten" u. But nice kampung girl?..not materializing, then again .. just my humble point of view

23-07-2004, 08:34 PM
To be honest i dont mind interracial marriage but i'll prefer marrying a nice malay girl from the kampungs.
good luck in finding one! :wink:

23-07-2004, 08:44 PM
Moderator Action : Topic Locked

Discussion for interracial Marriage has been moved to this thread:

http://recom.homelinux.org:8000/~recom/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=27226&sid=dfc9f2621f1fa910ac2c4ebbedeb51d4#27226