View Full Version : hand luggage-questions

sKYwalker
14-07-2004, 07:40 PM
gee...been a long time since i last posted sth..

heard from news tat starting from 1st of augest, the government is goin to limit only one hand luggage to all international travellers...dimension of the hand luggage is yet to be determined by the MAS. (should be different from the info in the small booklet we got during the pre-depature talk) stricter enforcement i assumed.

but, first of all, how do we define hand luggage?backpack , waistbag(dunno wat we call tat) included?? how bout laptop bags? if they r not considered hand luggage, we can bring them along with us in the plane??(in addition to the hand luggage)

waiting to be enlighthened...

14-07-2004, 08:05 PM
Is it for all international flights or just the ones which its final destination is USA?

edit: I Guess not http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/14/latest/17972Onepiece&sec=latest

14-07-2004, 08:38 PM
One hand luggage only???
Arrggh...
How about those students who wants to study overseas?
All put into cargo? How does the system works anyway? I'm very blur about these luggage system, cos i dont travel in aeroplanes much. I didnt even step outside Malaysia before besides going to Singapore.

14-07-2004, 08:44 PM
I think what MAS meant was, The carry on luggage. The one you carry to your seat. Everything else must be checked in. For International MAS Coach/Economy Class the Maximum weight is 64 kilograms.

14-07-2004, 08:58 PM
I think what MAS meant was, The carry on luggage. The one you carry to your seat. Everything else must be checked in. For International MAS Coach/Economy Class the Maximum weight is 64 kilograms.

Can you explain what is carry on luggage? 64 kg for one person to carry?

14-07-2004, 09:06 PM

Can you explain what is carry on luggage? 64 kg for one person to carry?

Ok when you check in for your flight, you can also check in your luggage. Meaning the luggage will be put in the cargo section of the plane. The maximum weight of all your luggage should not exceed 64kg.

The carry on luggage is what you can bring with you. A small bag so you can carry important and valuable items. Camera, Passport toiletries, Medication and few clothes.

MAS, currently lets its passengers carry as many as 3 carry-on-luggage which in my opinion is a little ridiculous.

wpyeoh
14-07-2004, 11:39 PM
Are you sure about the 64 kg, Thirdshifter? When I came to France I could only bring 30kg of check-in luggage. The carry-on luggage wasn't weighed; besides a luggage bag, I brought a backpack and a computer bag. Hope it doesn't change...

14-07-2004, 11:43 PM
I'm sure its 64kg for MAS international flights.

tunsrilanang
15-07-2004, 12:31 AM
yep, i think we can check in two 60 kg luggage.

15-07-2004, 12:56 AM
When I flew to Germany, we are allowed only 30kg per person for check in luggage.

Hand luggage wasn't very strict though, I brought a big backpack and my laptop bag on board.

But the overhead compartment's a bit small so I had trouble stuffing my backpack in. And I had to keep the laptop by my side.

Economy class has very cramped seats.

It is good to be strict too, so that it's fair to all. I saw a few of my friends who brought nearly 40kg+ and had to take the stuff out at the check in counter. It slows everything down and you have to open your luggage in public. I saw one of my friends even brought soft toys and pillow!!!! a HE!

And if your hand luggage is too big, it is dangerous to other passengers on board if it doesn't fit in the overhead compartment. Also if your bag takes up the whole compartment, it is not fair to the other passengers too.

15-07-2004, 08:43 AM
Kelvin, Did you fly Malaysia Airline? Because as far as i know Malaysian airline economy/coach is even an Expanded Economy class. Meaning it has more space and the Maximum luggage is 64kg. I know most other airlines limits are 25-30kg.

For those flying to new york please get atleast business class its worth it. Being on a plane for more than 18 hours in economy/coach is too long.

sKYwalker
15-07-2004, 08:53 AM
the one-luggage limitation is for the economy class only.
and the specification of the dimension is on the papers already. 56 x 36 x 23cm.

sorry for the confusion caused. hand luggage, as thirdshifter had explained earlier, is the luggage u carry along with u to ur seat.

chillout
15-07-2004, 09:19 AM
only US is 64 kg le if i'm not mistaken

normal passengers 20 kg to anywhere in the world

students given 30 kg for other places not US

15-07-2004, 10:06 AM
Kelvin, Did you fly Malaysia Airline? Because as far as i know Malaysian airline economy/coach is even an Expanded Economy class. Meaning it has more space and the Maximum luggage is 64kg. I know most other airlines limits are 25-30kg.

For those flying to new york please get atleast business class its worth it. Being on a plane for more than 18 hours in economy/coach is too long.

Yup, I'm positive I was flying MAS. What other airlines would JPA use to send a bunch of us to Germany?

Yup, they have different baggage limitations on different flights. To Europe is only 30kg.

If expanded economy's seats are what I got, I wouldn't dare imagine how small the normal economy's seats will be.

15-07-2004, 01:38 PM
but from the pre-departure talk, i thought the luggage limit is like 2 30kg luggage? :? :? :?

15-07-2004, 02:41 PM
guys...dont tell me you guys wanna move all your stuff from malaysia to usa.

i didn't even bring any hand-luggage,except just a sling bag in which my dad placed my pasports etc and a towel,jeans,t-shirt,(JUST IN CASE SOMETHING WENT WRONG).and toothbrush,colgate,facial cleanser.that for me is good enough.

yeas,bring 2 huge bags,30 kg each.but when you check in,you gonna check in as group,i dont think they gonna charge you for the extra kilos.they might though.

pls bring things you deem proper.leave behind things that dont matter.

dont bring too many foods.pls learn to have international tongue.almost all the stuff in malaysia are available here in usa,at least in international markets.even sos maggi.

and listen,buy cheap luggages guys,seriously,when i arrived at my uni,i realized,both of my bags were in the worst conditions,so were all my friends.we actually saw our bags being thrown into the small plane like garbage.there you go RM 200 gone in 2 days.

Steppe
15-07-2004, 06:59 PM
One piece hand luggage enforcement on international flight, not domestic flight yet....

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/15/nation/8441963&sec=nation

I heard that for flight to Australia, the hand luggage must not exceed 5 kg.

chillout
15-07-2004, 07:18 PM
i think from malaysia to australia... the 5kg not so strict..
but definitely when u return from australia airport...
they will randomly check u...
and certainly 5kg n below...

they usually weigh all the cabin bags....
other bags they won't weigh kua...

kena caught once...
2nd time smart liao.. :P

15-07-2004, 07:57 PM
There is a trick I picked up from a traveller's guide book.

When you check in, get a "Fragile" sticker from the counter. Stick it on your luggage. That way, your luggage will most likely be placed on top of the pile rather than underneath it. Your luggage will also have better treatment.

And if you are in a hurry, this works wonders too since your luggage is on top, it will come out first on the conveyor belt when you are claiming your baggage.

There, just a tip from me. No extra charge and still not many travellers know this.

20-07-2004, 03:19 AM
Yeap. It's 2 X 30 kg. But my main concern is the dimension of the bag. I mean, takkan all ur clothes will weigh 60 kg, right? So i need more space to put light but bulky things...

oh yeah, just a survey... how much does one luggage cost u guys?

20-07-2004, 04:38 AM
For US definitely is 2 bags max so get the largest suitcases you can find. I would recommend the ones with the hard shells as they are more sturdy although may be a bit heavier.

I personally didn't need 60kgs. Don't buy too many winter clothes. Those things are bulky and you won't really need it since you're coming in fall. Shop here. Also would give you a taste of the style and fashion here.

Other than that I guess it's up to your creativity to use the space available.

jagganatha
20-07-2004, 10:19 AM
so whats final = 2 x 30 luggages, one hand luggage of 5 kg and one laptop.. correct me if i am wrong please..

20-07-2004, 12:45 PM
funny though, the hand luggage ruling did not mention backpacks at all...the size n weight of the hand luggage is stated...then items that are exempted from categorized as the one-piece hand luggage that can be brought on board with us r also stated...but nothing on backpacks....laptops can...shopping bags from the airport can...

20-07-2004, 07:39 PM
i've read this thingy in the news saying that there will be a space for us to put our hand luggage before boarding... if ur hand luggage cannot fit into the slot (i.e., too big), then u can't bring it in... How true is this arr?

21-07-2004, 07:57 AM
hmm...60kg?

I'm only allowed 30kg to London on a student ticket

jagganatha
21-07-2004, 09:28 AM
so am i right with the luggage restrictions :?: :?: :oops: :oops:

wpyeoh
21-07-2004, 09:50 AM
From the posts here and my own experience, it seems that for flights to US, it's 60kg and to other places 30kg (check-in luggage) For cabin (carry-on) luggage it should be one bag (with the new ruling) but I think laptop bags are acceptedas an extra bag, aren't they?

As for the Fragile stickers, i don't think it works. When we went to France, all of us stuck a fragile sticker on each and every one of our luggage. With every piece of luggage marked Fragile, do you think that the airport employees will take extra care?

21-07-2004, 11:50 AM
So what do you guys recommend? cheap luggage? i dunno... i afraid with all the throwing, my luggage will be horribly ripped apart if it's not strong enough, especially if the wheel of the trolley is not a built-in type. My friend's luggage's wheel came off while he was dragging his luggage in UK... so his advice was get a good bag... Just dun get hard cover (coz it will do scratches....).

21-07-2004, 01:36 PM
i've read this thingy in the news saying that there will be a space for us to put our hand luggage before boarding... if ur hand luggage cannot fit into the slot (i.e., too big), then u can't bring it in... How true is this arr?

tads wad the newspapers say isnt it...i'm sure they were informing..

sKYwalker
21-07-2004, 08:50 PM
quite agree with gal_flower..

wat r the rulings regarding backpacks?
any restrictions on the size and weight of them??

jagganatha
27-07-2004, 10:41 AM
guess its still what MAS briefed us about..

27-07-2004, 03:29 PM
As for the Fragile stickers, i don't think it works. When we went to France, all of us stuck a fragile sticker on each and every one of our luggage. With every piece of luggage marked Fragile, do you think that the airport employees will take extra care?

It doesn't work because ALL of you stuck the stickers. If you are traveling alone, it's great because not everyone will stick the stickers. If you are the only one, then your bag will be handled with care.

About the hard shell luggage, I don't recommend it from personal experience. This is because it can crack easily. Get a good canvas kinda luggage. It can't be torn unless cut by a sharp object. And if your luggage is being hurled around, it will not crack open.

jagganatha
30-07-2004, 09:42 AM
Wow thanks for the tip .. cool

03-08-2004, 12:21 AM
If i decided to get a bag pack instead of brief case as hand luggage, are there any particular dimension that we need to take note of? Do they mind the size of our bag pack? And yeah, if i'm bringing my sleeping bag there, can i just carry it separately or should it go into the luggage?

jun_wolverine
03-08-2004, 12:38 AM
If i decided to get a bag pack instead of brief case as hand luggage, are there any particular dimension that we need to take note of? Do they mind the size of our bag pack? And yeah, if i'm bringing my sleeping bag there, can i just carry it separately or should it go into the luggage?

just curious...
why do u wanna bring ur sleeping bag...

seriously ..
you can buy a sleeping bag in US for a very low price...

it will save you all the hassle

just my 2 cents

03-08-2004, 01:00 AM
Oh, coz i arrive 1 day earlier than the orientation date, and i can only check into my residence hall the day after i arrive (asked the student organization about it already, they said got to find my own accomodation).... And there's this very kind senior who offers us her place to sleep.... so that's why i need a sleeping bag immediately....

So, can i just carry it along with me? or in it goes into the luggage?

03-08-2004, 01:03 AM

If you are talking backpack that people bring along for hiking purpose, you might not be able to bring it with you as hand luggage.

I do not know what MAS policy is but when I went for a hiking trip in California, the person at the gate didn't allow me to check in my backpack as hand luggage. With that sleeping bag (of which I think is ridiculous unless you are going on a backpack trip or something), you probably won't be allowed to bring the backpack in.

Be mindful, (I assume) you are going on economic class. There is not much space inside.

cmhang
03-08-2004, 02:58 PM
erm... I know that we're allowed to carry one hand luggage + one laptop.... is it possible to get through with one hand luggage + one laptop + one small backpack (the kind that is like a school bag) too?? :oops:

03-08-2004, 07:48 PM
erm... I know that we're allowed to carry one hand luggage + one laptop.... is it possible to get through with one hand luggage + one laptop + one small backpack (the kind that is like a school bag) too?? :oops:

Can, if u managed to give strong reasons la..
I heard from the tv that they will consider case by case basis.. give it a try. Maybe ur case can be considered and they will let u in? :wink:

04-08-2004, 12:07 AM
Basically Malaysia Airlines is not introducing some kind of new ruling or anything, it is just that they are observing the international traveling procedure for luggage. They used not to care how much you carry for hand luggage, as long as you can carry, but right now, what they are saying is that they would observe the international standard for traveling.

Look at any airline in the world, it is the same case, one carry on plus personal items.

Hand Baggage Information

Malaysia Airlines subscribes to baggage security guidelines recommended by the International Transport Association (IATA) and its member airlines. It is the responsibility of all airlines to inform passengers of the importance of these guidelines.

This is why Malaysia Airlines has placed great importance on the control of carry-on baggage. Keeping an eye on the number and size of bags allowed on-board means that our passengers will enjoy the comfort of a well-kept cabin, free of any inconvenience and hazards, because:
There is ample storage space for all passengers' hand baggage.
Movement into and out of seats is easier.
Improved passenger boarding and disembarkation help on-time departure and arrival.
Cabin crew service along the aisle is smoother.
Transfers between flights are faster.
Emergency evacuation becomes easier.

Hand Baggage maximum linear dimensions (length + width + height) must not exceed 115 cubic cms, (56cm + 36 cm + 23 cm) total should read as 115cm, or 45 cubic inches (22'' + 14" + 9") and weigh not more than 05 kilograms.

Each passenger is allowed only one piece of hand baggage conforming to the size and weight mentioned above.

The cabin baggage size is an IATA (International Air Transport Association) guideline that is enforced by the airport authorities and operating airlines and are applied at all Malaysian airports.

The following articles can additionally be carried in the cabin:
a handbag, pocket book or purse
an overcoat, wrap or blanket
a walking stick
a small camera or a pair of binoculars
a reasonable amount of reading material for the flight
an infant carry cot
a fully collapsible invalid's wheelchair and/or crutches and/or braces/prosthetic devices provided the passenger is dependent upon them.

Above information is from Malaysia Airlines website.

04-08-2004, 12:10 AM
ElansarGelmir, you are just sleeping for one night outside, why need a sleeping bag... I believe sofa or even floor is decent enough to rest for one night... I have slept in so many different places in Malaysia and US, and I don't see any problem: from bus terminal, airport (i just spent 2 nights in airport last month, one in syracuse and one in HK and i did this in many places already), basketball court, bench in high school car park, corridor in my high school, class room table, floors...

So, my advice would be save the hassle... There is no need of a sleeping bag really...

04-08-2004, 02:50 AM
ElansarGelmir, you are just sleeping for one night outside, why need a sleeping bag... I believe sofa or even floor is decent enough to rest for one night... I have slept in so many different places in Malaysia and US, and I don't see any problem: from bus terminal, airport (i just spent 2 nights in airport last month, one in syracuse and one in HK and i did this in many places already), basketball court, bench in high school car park, corridor in my high school, class room table, floors...

So, my advice would be save the hassle... There is no need of a sleeping bag really...

Haha... well, i'm sure that i dun want to spend my first day in US sleeping on some unproperly laid floor.... After all, it's not heavy... juz bulky... i'll be sleeping in my senior's room, but i dun think she has enough beds (there's another girl sleeping there as well)... so a sleeping bag would be necessary for me...

theT
04-08-2004, 03:02 AM

Haha... well, i'm sure that i dun want to spend my first day in US sleeping on some unproperly laid floor.... After all, it's not heavy... juz bulky... i'll be sleeping in my senior's room, but i dun think she has enough beds (there's another girl sleeping there as well)... so a sleeping bag would be necessary for me...

maybe, you can vacuum out the sleeping bag (put it in a plastic bag and let the vacuum suck all the air). sleeping bag will be rather small after being vacuumed.

04-08-2004, 05:43 AM

So, you are bringing that sleeping bag just for one night?

04-08-2004, 08:38 AM

So, you are bringing that sleeping bag just for one night?

Haha... obviously no... err... not sure... Well, one thing for sure, i might need it some other time besides my first day, yes?

SpRInG
04-08-2004, 06:45 PM
so, now, back to the question,

is a backpack still considered as a hand luggage?

can i haf like a hand luggage, as in a luggage bag, according to the size determined, a laptop, and a backpack?

04-08-2004, 11:06 PM
so, now, back to the question,

is a backpack still considered as a hand luggage?

can i haf like a hand luggage, as in a luggage bag, according to the size determined, a laptop, and a backpack?

Huh? so u are just bringing one hand carry luggage bag, a laptop and a bagpack?

14-08-2004, 12:53 AM
Your bagpack is considered a hand carry, as long as it fulfills the size that I paste in this thread earlier.

If you are bringing one hand carry, one laptop and one bagpack, make sure your bagpack is very small~!

Melo_15
14-08-2004, 03:00 AM
Ei skywalker!!! long time no see man!! how r u? im in Gatech

well when i flew here, i carry one back pack...whick is the carry-on-board luggage....u can also bring one separate laptop bag....which mean the one piece luggage rule still applies....

14-08-2004, 06:15 AM
Ei skywalker!!! long time no see man!! how r u? im in Gatech

well when i flew here, i carry one back pack...whick is the carry-on-board luggage....u can also bring one separate laptop bag....which mean the one piece luggage rule still applies....

Nick, u reach ur uni liao? Cool... Can u tell us about ur flight experience here? well, not too detail, but highlight those that u think we should know or be aware of... can? thanks a lot!

14-08-2004, 06:45 AM
For those preparing to fly, check on this tips:-

http://www.lawa.org/lax/htmlpass/pdf/TSA-LAX_tips.pdf

This is from Los Angeles Airport list.

sKYwalker
14-08-2004, 07:23 PM
hi melo_15!!

so how's ur life there? enjoyable?

hope to hear from u...can email me. or keep ur msn messenger on the whole day...(ur room has 24 hour connection to the internet, rite?)

panda also went there dy...haiz. see u guys there soon!

and one question bout things to be put in luggage..can we bring medicine??coz i am concern whether the action of bringin any medicine will be considered as illegal (drug trafficking?) or will bring any trouble to the owner. i certainly do not hope the police dogs will come sniffing around my bag juz because i bring some panadols or chinese tablets (those traditional one)......

15-08-2004, 08:43 AM
Medicine is generally fine, if you bring a little bit with the right label there. I mean a little bit as in like 10-20 panadols, and not like 100-200 panadols. Just sufficient for your personal consumption.

I would advise put it in checked-in luggage.

16-08-2004, 01:45 PM
For medicine..i think u need to declare it or something....at the custom checkpoint... that's what i heard... :roll:

19-08-2004, 11:14 AM
don't need la - later the custom person dig further into your bag and find your well packed bak-gua how?

this the seaons... in 1 day time I'll be celebrating my 4th anniversary in the United States. Any suggestions as to how to celebrate?

19-08-2004, 11:48 PM
don't need la - later the custom person dig further into your bag and find your well packed bak-gua how?

this the seaons... in 1 day time I'll be celebrating my 4th anniversary in the United States. Any suggestions as to how to celebrate?

Celebrate by eating bak-gua lor...haha :lol:

Medicine really no need to declare meh? That's what I think I heard during the talk from British Council....couldnt remember...need to upgrade memory...

20-08-2004, 01:53 AM

go bungee jumping!!! eheh sorry off topic... :oops:

20-08-2004, 02:27 AM

celebrate with a recom gathering in new york city.
8)

theT
20-08-2004, 12:37 PM
I'm going to NYC this Sunday. Can't wait!

Fringe and Howl Festival. Looking foward for that. Anyone been there?

20-08-2004, 01:04 PM
hmmm...i'm thinking of california for new year...tads a bit crazy rite... missing all the snow action!
oops! run away from topic liao...
how much luggage in total did u guys all bring...i haf a feeling i'll be bringing the max!

21-08-2004, 12:56 AM
eh digress one more time

T if you wanna have a mini recom gathering, nyc chapter, email me at mint [at] mintlab.org

i've been trying to org this gathering for YEARS...

22-08-2004, 04:07 AM
Hand luggage i think can exceed 5 kg kua... coz their main concern is space, not weight... So i think i'll be carrying more stuffs in hand luggage... oh yeah, where to put my tao sar piah? in the check in luggage or hand luggage? if check in luggage, then it will be tao sar powder dee...

lonewolfhan
22-08-2004, 12:01 PM
Hand luggage is 7KG i guess... but the bag has to be able to be put on the compartment !

Tao Sao Piar ah.. hehehe... of coz put in hand luggage la... but u will have to finish it b4 u enter LA>.. coz i think we are not allowed to bring any food into USA !

22-08-2004, 12:08 PM
Hand luggage is 7KG i guess... but the bag has to be able to be put on the compartment !

Tao Sao Piar ah.. hehehe... of coz put in hand luggage la... but u will have to finish it b4 u enter LA>.. coz i think we are not allowed to bring any food into USA !
Hei, who says we are not allowed? Didn't you see how much food did Yong Sheng bring? We are allowed to bring food but you need to report it to the custom. The MAS people will give you the forms to fill in while on the flight to LA.

lonewolfhan
22-08-2004, 12:13 PM
OH yeah... forgot that we need to declare the food we brinG ! but they might throw away the food if they dun like it ! haha... do u think they will like tao sar piah ? Hope so !!! good luck ya !!! =)

WHAT ? how many things did yong sheng bring ? Crazy lerr... need so much food meh ? not like we dun have food here laa...
then his luggage muz be full with food only... hehe... =)

gatecrasher
22-08-2004, 12:35 PM
can bring photocopied materials or not? a few sheets should be ok, right? but how about one whole book? put in hand luggage or check-in?
anyway, i'm afraid there'll be too much food in the states, or at least where i'm goin. wasting the money i paid for food only...

22-08-2004, 12:39 PM
Whole book?
u can try but I advise u not. you can put it in the check-in luggage i guess. in US, photocopying whole books is a serious offense.

22-08-2004, 11:47 PM
Odds are you are not going to get caught for photocopying book while entering US, but as digimuthu said, it is serious offense to bring in photocopying book etc, which infringe the copyright.

the limit for carry-on luggage is 5kg. Usually they don't care how heavy it is, but remember that they have every right to stop you from bringing it in.

For food, absolutely no meat into US.

23-08-2004, 03:43 AM
wah? seriously must declare arr? then mah cannot hide bak kua dee? ah, forget about bak kua... no meat allowed, though MANY succeeded smuggling them in... they are indeed lucky. if we bring maggi (curry flavor, can we find them in US?), must we declare them as well? what about things like Springles and stuffs? wah, ma fan leh...

23-08-2004, 12:27 PM
I wonder why u guys so eager to bring food there... Too much space in ur luggage? I rather save more place to put my clothes and other belongings.... bringing in food will only bring trouble la...

23-08-2004, 12:55 PM
hrmm
just a tip,

if you want to bring food, freeze dried food is OK. I had one bag full of food + medicine when i came here. Those who have allergies, stock up on your anti-histamines, the ones here dont work too well. I also brought my own coffee supply as American coffee is pretty much caffienated piss. And if u want to have something nice every once in a while... bring some maggi soup or meat mixes. others..not really worth it to bring.

have fun!

23-08-2004, 05:39 PM
I wonder why u guys so eager to bring food there... Too much space in ur luggage? I rather save more place to put my clothes and other belongings.... bringing in food will only bring trouble la...

Aiyah, we won't be eating tao sar piah, bak kua, mooncake, chang, chee cheong fan, char koay teow, nasi lemak, roti canai and the whole load of nice Malaysia food there liao for 1 year (for me, 2 years, coz got to stay and take Summer class, sob sob)... so better bring many food there... somemore if they (non-Malaysians) want to try, then mah promote our food there lor... scheisse, what if the customs decided that they like my tao sar piah and take it from me? ahaha... juz crapping...

i dun think i'm bringing much food... more on miscelleneous like stationeries, shoes, souveniers, shoes, and one luggage full of clothes...

yeah, just got my medicines... dunno if they understand what is pil chi kit arr??? and dunno if my supplies of hand cream is sufficient for a year or not... i have skin allergy.

23-08-2004, 09:27 PM
ElansarGelmir, you are going to Boston...so, just drop by Penang restaurant there, and you will get a perfectly authentic Malaysian or rather Penang food....

And of course you can buy all those food here in US. Cornell for instance has mooncake festival every year, where there are campus-wide huge celebrations where students eat mooncake. So, there is definitely no problem in getting mooncake.

Maggi curry flavor, I am sure you can get it here. At Wegmens, a grocery store nearby, each packet is 39 cent and it is exactly like the one in Malaysia. In fact, it is written "Product of Malaysia".

Pringles, you can definitely get it here....

24-08-2004, 05:12 AM
ElansarGelmir, you are going to Boston...so, just drop by Penang restaurant there, and you will get a perfectly authentic Malaysian or rather Penang food....

And of course you can buy all those food here in US. Cornell for instance has mooncake festival every year, where there are campus-wide huge celebrations where students eat mooncake. So, there is definitely no problem in getting mooncake.

Maggi curry flavor, I am sure you can get it here. At Wegmens, a grocery store nearby, each packet is 39 cent and it is exactly like the one in Malaysia. In fact, it is written "Product of Malaysia".

Pringles, you can definitely get it here....

oh? :idea:

Milo?

wpyeoh
24-08-2004, 09:56 AM
I'm sure you can find snack food everywhere; you don't have to bring it.

Anyone who's planning to cook overseas, if you think you might miss the curry stuff, buy some of the ready-mixed perencah and bring it, since you might not find the ingredients there...;-) And if you've run out of it before you are ready to come back, and you don't need anything else, just ask your parents to pop a few packets into an envelope and send it to you...it's cheaper than sending a parcel.

gatecrasher
24-08-2004, 09:51 PM
digress short while - my apologies -
wpyeoh, the food in france is very good right? shiok... :D please correct me if i'm wrong.

24-08-2004, 11:24 PM
ElansarGelmir, of course you can find Milo... just go to the local oriental grocery store, and you will find it~!

wpyeoh
25-08-2004, 10:15 AM
Wow, can find Milo? So good....waah...I'm jealous... ^_^ (no Milo in France, you know)

digressing paragraph ^_^:
Gatecrasher, some of the food is good, but some (to me) are a bit tasteless. Hehe...have to know what to order la... But eating outside is way expensive so we don't go out to eat except on special occasions, with our teachers.

jagganatha
26-08-2004, 01:39 PM
ok ok here's the latest info for baggage.. maximum luggage for the states is 64 kg ( 32 for each bag, max 2 bags).. AND MOST IMPORTANT THEY DONT CHECK YOUR LUGGAGE OR LAPTOP SO BRING YOUR "CD'S" :wink: :wink: AND WHATEVER SOFTWARE for those who are still packing..