View Full Version : Writing the UCAS Personal Statement for Medicine

lee4ever
16-07-2004, 10:22 PM
In view of the current 'application' season for UK medic aspirants, I think it's timely to start a new thread on writing an 'ideal' personal statement (p/s) for the UCAS form. It is important to realise that an impressive personal statement is equally as important as good predicted grades and.. yup.. a good open reference from your referee.
I would love to post my personal statement that I sent in last year but due to some unfortunate turn of events, which caused me to lose the last remaining copy of my p/s, I am unable to do so. However, I have come up with some pointers of writing a good p/s, which should hopefully sway the admission tutor's view in favour of yourself! This are, however, strictly my own opinion.

1) Content of the p/s: This is the most important part. The content of the p/s will definitely vary from one person to another, but I'll give a generalisation of the pertinent points that should be included in the p/s.

Paragraph 1: What sparked off your interest in medicine? (Talk a bit about your childhood/schooling days/family background & how it has resulted in your early inclination towards medicine) Warning: Never say that you chose medicine because of the money/glamour/title/status/you feel that you're smart etc etc. This will definitely work against your interest (i.e. sure kena reject one!)
What did you do in your primary/secondary school/college to further nurture your interest in medicine (OK... it would be good to mention here about involvement in extra co-curricular activities. e.g. St John Ambulance/Red Cresent which gave you an insight into the medical profession/sowed the seeds of medical aspiration. Leadership postions in school clubs/societies may be worth mentioning here since it is a way to serve your fellow students-sort of a moral responsibility)

Paragraph 2: Here's where you talk about your attachment in the hospital/shadowing doctors or equivalent. Try to give a clear, insightful explanation of what you did and most importantly, say what you learnt from your attachment. It's what you learnt & gained from the attachment that is more important, rather than just mentioning vaguely all the different departments that you were attached to, without saying what you benefitted from those attachments. Oh ya, don't forget to mention that from your attachement, you realise the challenges that a doctor will face, that it's not easy being a doctor. However, state that despite all the demanding nature of the job, it is the satisfaction of being able to make a difference to the patient's life, no matter how big or small that difference may be, that makes the effort worthwhile. (this will definetely make the admission tutor go: "oh my, this student really does have a realistic attitude towards medicine." Cool huh? :D )

Paragraph 3: Talk about your academic achievements in school so far to show that you are academically capable to meet the rigours of the medical course. Also, talk about your non-academic/co-curricular achievements, to show that you're an all-rounder and not just a good-for-nothing-except-studying bookworm. :D The admission tutors just luurve all-rounders. Mention about the titles of the books that you've read, just to show that you're a well-read & wee-informed person. (just make sure that the titles you mention aren't A-level texts!) Say that you're always interested in the latest developments in medicine/always read medical related news.(e.g. from New Scientist/Scientific American/The Lancet etc etc)

Paragraph 4: Your future plans and how you're going to use your medical education in the UK to fulfil those dreams. Don't forget to mention how you plan to contribute to your future uni in return: participate actively in student activities. Say that you hope to be an asset to your uni in the future.

2) Lenght of p/s: please note that the space given by UCAS on the form is very small, and would definitely not be enough if you want to include every single itsy-bitsy detail. OK... here's what you should do. Firstly, write a draft without limiting yourself to the space limit of the UCAS form. This will allow an uninhibited free flow of ideas. My first draft was four pages long! Then, read your draft again and cut down on the unnecessary bits, change the sentence structure in order to have shorter sentences, conveying the same idea and delivering the same impact as the original sentence. Join your ideas together where appropriate in a single sentence. I took nearly two months to come up with the final draft of my p/s!

3) Grammar: Please.. please use correct grammar, correct spelling etc etc. (Use UK spelling... not the US version) Have your English language lecturer/placement counsellor/friends/parents/brother/sister to proof-read your p/s. Ask them for their honest opinion and tell them not to be afraid to give their fair share of 'kutuking'!

Oh yeah, above all, don't be hesitant to spend too much time on preparing your p/s. Invest your time & effort in constructing your p/s and I'm sure you'll not regret it. Sure... it might even cause you to sacrifice your study time in order to do your p/s, but hey, without a good p/s, you might end up not getting a place in uni at all! Then, even straight As in your A-Levels would mean nothing at all.

Alrighty then, I think that's all for the time being. Hope this helps! Good luck in writing your p/s! :)

17-07-2004, 04:28 AM
Thanks to lee4ever for your great explanation! I hope everyone can benefit from this.

The_Observer
17-07-2004, 03:56 PM
Don't they have a face to face interview with you guys?
Or even a phone interview?

lee4ever
17-07-2004, 09:48 PM
The personal statement forms only part of the assessment criteria. There're lots of things that the admission tutor will look at besides the p/s : open reference, predicted A-Level grades, SPM results, performance in the interview, involvement in co-curricular activities, attachment at hospitals, etc. etc. and for some universities... an admission test!
Most UK medical schools require the students to attend an interview (or maybe even a series of interviews for that matter!) Only unis like Edinburgh, Leeds and St Andrews do not use an interview as part of their assessment. These unis use only the p/s as the sole criterion for making decisions, which only shows how important the p/s is, particularly if you're aiming for Edinburgh.
Majority of UK medical schools require the applicants to attend an interview, either in Malaysia or in the UK. Whether the interview is to be held in Malaysia or in the UK depends on the university concerned. So, it's best to find out about this from your MABECS counsellor.
Generally, Cambridge conducts its interviews in Malaysia (usually in Taylor's or Sunway Colleges). Oxford requires its applicants to be present at Oxford for an interview.
As far as admission test is concerned, there's the much-dreaded, much-feared & much-maligned Bio-Medical Admissions Test (BMAT). This test is a must for those who intend to apply to Oxford, Cambridge and University College, London (UCL). I sat for this test... managed to come out alive... can only say one thing about the test..." *&%#% test!"

SHuLy
18-07-2004, 06:03 AM
many thanks lee4ever! since it took you 2 whole months to "narrow" down and compose your PS, i guess i should start mine right away..well, maybe when i get back to college....=)

sometimes, although you are sincerely aspiring to be a doc, but if you're not good with words and how to express...you might falter..and that's just what i am wary about..

18-07-2004, 09:01 AM
If I am not mistaken, Oxford conduct their interviews in Malaysia last year (Taylor's College). But I'm not sure whether it's for medicine or other courses.

Remember, personal statement is very very important! You really have to write out something which will make u stand out above the rest... But becareful. :wink: The best is seek MABECS for help. Write out ur personal statement and they will check it for u. They will try their best to help u based on their experiences. Good luck!

The_Observer
18-07-2004, 05:19 PM
Say...what does BMAT contain?

Down here they have UMAT (undergrads) and GAMSAT (grads)...is it the same?..I wonder...

lee4ever
18-07-2004, 08:56 PM
UK medical schools usually don't have any sort of admission test for the applicants. Mostly just require the applicants to undergo an interview. That's all. But, only Oxbridge & UCL require their applicants to sit for this test.
A summary of the BMAT: as I've said before... a @<hidden>#$%%# test!
Hehehe... just kidding..
OK... here a short review of what the BMAT actually is. It's a test designed to gauge the scientific & medical aptitiude of the student. It's places a very heavy emphasis on scientific aptitude, scientific knowlegde & logical and mathematical reasoning. (The maths is much tougher than SAT 1 Maths!)
The BMAT has three papers.

Paper 1: Scientific Aptitude - more of a logical & mathematical reasoning test. Lots of thinking needed here. 40 questions (long questions based on looong texts & complicated charts & diagrams) in 1 hour. (the most crap paper ever with the crappiest questions to accompany!))

Paper 2: Scientific Knowledge - you'll need your Physics, Bio, Chem & Maths knowledge here. A-Level knowledge of those subjects would suffice but the questions are very tricky. 30 questions in 30 minutes. (questions are answerable but... very very rush!)

Paper 3: Scientific Essay writing - you're give a list of 5 scientific & medical related topics. Write an essay of one A4 page long in 30 minuted. Most of the topics relate to scientific epistemology, philosophy of science, theory of knowledge (IB students have an advantage here...) & medical ethics. (I dunno about this section... I just wrote & wrote & before I knew it, 30 minutes was up!)

That's all I can say about the BMAT. If you people wanna know further about this *&%##%^ test, just pop by at www.bmat.org.uk

The_Observer
21-07-2004, 04:16 PM
Then I guess the Australian UMAT and GAMSAT are different then.

They are IQ and EQ exams...worse than Mensa...

SHuLy
27-07-2004, 07:15 AM
how is it like studying in a top-rated medical university compared to a moderate one?

The_Observer
29-07-2004, 08:38 PM
"What's Harvard but a name and a degree?"

SHuLy
30-07-2004, 09:51 AM
what i mean is the process of getting the degree....the studying part. not the name or prestige of the university.
the environment, the demands, the pressure..etc

sarahfoo
18-06-2005, 11:03 AM
I know this might be out of this topic :oops: but since you guys are talking about BMAT and GAMSAT, I was just wondering have anyone heard of the PQA (undergraduate) test. I heard that some australian universities need their applicants to take the test. How is the test like? I mean are the questions MCQ or structure? Are the questions something like IQ or some orther stuff? Do we need to write an essay? Is there any material that we can obtain to prepare for the test?

I have posted this question in the Medicine in Australia topic but to no avail. Anyway, hope you guys can help me out.[/list]

18-06-2005, 12:11 PM
I know this might be out of this topic :oops: but since you guys are talking about BMAT and GAMSAT, I was just wondering have anyone heard of the PQA (undergraduate) test. I heard that some australian universities need their applicants to take the test. How is the test like? I mean are the questions MCQ or structure? Are the questions something like IQ or some orther stuff? Do we need to write an essay? Is there any material that we can obtain to prepare for the test?

I have posted this question in the Medicine in Australia topic but to no avail. Anyway, hope you guys can help me out.[/list]

I've heard of it.....but can only vaguely remember what it's all about. Mind telling me which uni in australia requested u to sit for this exam? I know there's one similar type of exam required by australian uni for medics applicants....and u'll get the sample questions upon registration ...

sarahfoo
18-06-2005, 03:58 PM
I know there's one similar type of exam required by australian uni for medics applicants....and u'll get the sample questions upon registration ...

I think the test you are refering to is ISAT. Its some sort like an aptitiude test encompassing some maths,chem, bio and physics, i think. Not too sure though..

Mind telling me which uni in australia requested u to sit for this exam?

I too forgot which university in Australia which require their applicants to take the test. I was hoping some one currently studying medicine in Australia would clarify on the matter..

Thanks a lot anyway..

18-06-2005, 07:07 PM
Sarahfoo, your questions are already answered in the Medicine in Australia thread. Please read it here (http://recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=61778#61778). Thank you. :D

meselsohnstahl
02-04-2006, 04:28 PM
there was a post on personal statement that was locked... thought this might help those wanting to write their personal statements.. :lol: