View Full Version : Japanese quizzes
Konnichiwa minna!
How about playing some quizzes about Japanese grammar/vocab? :) Let me think of a guideline:
1) Quizzes can be of any form including but not limited to multiple choices, translation, short anwer etc.
2) Anyone can post a quiz and anyone (except the poster, of course) can answer the quiz so I hope everyone will participate in it.
3) The poster of the quiz MUST KNOW THE ANSWER and probably the explanation too.
4) Preferably a quiz will has its question in English except for the particular parts where it is required to have japanese text. For example, if you want a translation, say "Please translate this" in English but leave the text in japanese.
alright hajimashou ...
the first quiz from me:
What does "来ています" (kite imasu) mean?
A. He is coming
B. He has comed
C. He is going to come
oops .. wrong! the answer is B. He has come
it's a common mistake to substitute "-te imasu" with English progressive verbs.
verbal -te imasu can carry two meanings depending on what kind of verbal is used.
1) if the verbal is an operational verbal (i.e can follow a 'wo' particle), "-te imasu" shows progressiveness.
2) if the verbal is a change-of-state verbal (i.e cannot follow a 'wo' particle), "-te imasu" shows that the subject is in the state shown by the verbal
"kuru" is a change-of-state verbal (i.e you can't say "X wo kuru") so "X ga kite imasu" means "X has come" ...
another example: "kaeru" (to return home) -> kaette imasu = he has returned home, not he is returning home.
so, how do we say "he is coming"? in japanese, there is no idea of progressiveness for change-of-state verbal. It is either "he has come" or "he has not come" ... when someone is in the way to come to your place, it is the same as saying "he is going to come", therefore it is sufficiently to say "kuru" or "kimasu" ..
my lecturer illustrated this idea by showing a timeline:
- X is on his way : "kimasu" = he is going to come
- the moment you 1st see X : "kimashita" = he came
- after that : "kite imasu" = he has come
as if to make things more complicated, the negative for "-te imasu" which is "-te imasen" behaves slightly differently from its positive counterpart
1) change-of-state verbals: "X-te imasen" = "haven't X"
2) operational verbals: "X-te imasen" can mean "haven't X" and can also mean "is not X-ing" depending on the context
"mada nani mo shite imasen" = I haven't done anything yet
"mou nani mo shite imasen" = I'm not doing anything already (i.e I've stopped doing anything)
ok, anyone wants to post the next quiz?
oo malunya hahaha... alasan aku: aku baru bangun tido tadik... hahaha
21-07-2004, 10:07 AM
Nice Luke... I thought what kind of quiz it will be...
can it be some twisted question such as:
サシバセソ
スビブベボ
hint: an occupation
ayark cannot understand! where's the question? what is "sashibaseso subibubebo"? japanese tongue-twister or what?
26-07-2004, 08:57 AM
It is a quiz which you have to see what has been done to the 2 line of words and figure out the name of an occupation ...
hint: dont you see that 2 of the words are placed at teh wrong plces?
aiya no one can / want to answer that la, schye .. so difficult .. need one who has large vocabs ..
endoru
31-07-2004, 07:09 AM
It is a form of riddle from the TV here in Japan. Two Japanese guys dressed up as monkeys testing 4 person who come from the Japanese entertainment world. Some weird TV show with "difficult riddles". Sometime ridiculous.
『バ』 と 『ス』 が逆になっている。
つまり、『バス』 が関連してくるはずだ。
『バス』 が反転している。
The "ba" and "su" is reversed.
So, "basu" should be related to this riddle. (basu = bus [ vehicle ] )
The "ba+su" is reversed.
職業?
なら、『バス運転手』 または 『バスの車掌』 にしか絞れないね。
Occupation ?
If so, it should either be a "bus driver" or a "bus conductor".
よく分からないけど、僕の答えは 『バス運転手』 だ。
I am not sure though, but my answer is "bus driver".
正しい?
Am I right ?
Peace !
31-07-2004, 09:29 AM
You are near to the answer but still near is not equal to right 8)
You are right about the BUS part, but you are thinking too much about the placement of two words...
There is a simpler words for the tranference of those words...
hint 2 : the answer will be a sentence too
endoru
31-07-2004, 09:47 AM
Near ?!?!
What other occupations has to do with buses ?
Haha.
サシバセソ
スビブベボ
『バ』 が 『ス』 と変わっている?移動している?間違っている?
Changed ? Moved ? Wrongly placed ?
Phew.
This might take me some time to figure it out.
Plus it must be in the form of a sentence ?
Double triple tough.
How do you expect beginners to solve such quiz ?
Hehe, peace !
31-07-2004, 09:51 AM
『バ』 が 『ス』 と変わっている?移動している?間違っている?
Changed ? Moved ? Wrongly placed ?
The answer is there!!!!!!
sapa cepat dia dapat.... anyone?
endoru
31-07-2004, 10:30 AM
The answer is here ?!?!?
キャ~、後ちょっとかな?
GOT IT !!!
『バ』 『ス』 が 移動している ⇒ バスが移動 ⇒ バス[がいど]う ⇒ バスガイド
Ba su ga idoushiteiru ⇒ basugaidou ⇒ basu[gaido]u ⇒ basugaido
バス + ガイド = bus + guide
Answer : a bus guide
The person who goes together with a tour in a bus to explain about the places they are traveling through !!!
Hehe.
Peace !
What will I get for answering ?
aiya that difficult aaaaa?
*open window and jump outside*
oops .. my room is on ground floor :P
senseitachi, something easier pleeeeaase :cry: :cry:
endoru
31-07-2004, 10:44 AM
You got to ask the Quiz Master himself.
I am just trying to answer the quiz.
It took me sometime.
You need to know Japanese language well to answer that.
Haha.
Peace !
31-07-2004, 01:01 PM
The answer is here ?!?!?
キャ~、後ちょっとかな?
GOT IT !!!
『バ』 『ス』 が 移動している ⇒ バスが移動 ⇒ バス[がいど]う ⇒ バスガイド
Ba su ga idoushiteiru ⇒ basugaidou ⇒ basu[gaido]u ⇒ basugaido
バス + ガイド = bus + guide
Answer : a bus guide
The person who goes together with a tour in a bus to explain about the places they are traveling through !!!
Hehe.
Peace !
What will I get for answering ?
Yeah...
that is the answer :D
In fact, I cant figure out the answer too when i saw this question on TV, but I think it is quite a nice quiz so i post it up here :D
I will leave the next Q to Andrew@<hidden>
31-07-2004, 01:02 PM
Oh..before i forget...
cookies for endoru 8)
endoru
31-07-2004, 01:51 PM
Cookies, when and where ?
No, you are not going to throw that task over to me.
You come out with something.
I have no idea what to come out with.
Hmm.
Urgh, fine, let me come out with one.
QUIZ NO 2 :
何歳になると、天才になりますか。
Nan sai ni naru to, tensai ni narimasuka.
At what age, will anyone become a genius ?
No hints because I think it is simple.
Of course, it has something to do with language.
Hehe.
Peace !
Happy solving !
02-08-2004, 06:44 AM
I will leave it to others...
The answer is there :D
Maybe we could have a ranking here...
Japanese quizzes ranking
endoru = 1 cookie
endoru
02-08-2004, 01:05 PM
Wah, got ranking system one ar ??
Yeah, this should be simple.
The answer is already there.
Hehe.
Happy solving !
Peace !!
japanese sure love to play with words :lol:
let me try ..
Nan sai ni naru to, tensai ni narimasuka.
becomes
Nana sai ni naru to, tensai ni narimasuka.
so the answer is "nana sai" (7 years old) !!
どう?
03-08-2004, 08:49 AM
I am not sure about the answer but I am thinking of another number which is bigger than 7 :?
retroque
03-08-2004, 09:05 AM
hehehe
i dont think it's 7.in fact i think the key to this quiz lies in the combination of english and japanese .am i right?
n yeah...i think its bigger than 7.:D
in fact i think the key to this quiz lies in the combination of english and japanese .am i right?
you mean "ten" (10) "sai" (years old)? sou ka na ...
03-08-2004, 09:42 AM
I think we will need to wait for endoru to confirm the answer :D
I think "10" is the answer.
endoru
03-08-2004, 11:02 AM
PING PONG !
It is the number "10". As in TEN for the TENsai where SAI means age !!
LUKE, Congratulations ! 1 cookie for you !
Retroque, you were getting somewhere.
You should have guessed a number when you could have !
Anyway, wasn't that simple ?
Hehe.
Peace.
Next, you will get a quiz from the quiz Master, Seng Chye !
retroque
03-08-2004, 11:16 AM
not that im boasting or what..but i did guess the answer was ten .but i also didnt want to spoil it for luke .hehe..so much for excuses.
endoru
03-08-2004, 11:23 AM
For that spirit, shall we give you HALF a COOKIE ?
What do you think of this Seng Chye ?
Hehe.
Peace !
03-08-2004, 12:31 PM
はしのはしに、はしのはしで、はしづまとはしひろがもを食べた。
hashi no hashi ni hashi no hashi de hashizuma to hashihirogamo wo tabeta.
Please state the kanji and the meaning of each はし(hashi) above.
note: Those in Japan, no dictionary please :twisted: Those in Malaysia ... don't ask Japanese or those in Japan. NO COOKI FOR THOSE WHO CHEAT :evil:
** I will make it a multiple choice Q if no one can answer it later ... In fact, I myself checked the dictionary to make this question :oops:
endoru
03-08-2004, 12:54 PM
What he said is true. I can be the witness and I won't be answering this quiz 'cos we talked over it at Yahoo! Msgr.
It is rather tough.
Even for me !
But all the best kay.
PS. Hey Seng Chye, how about the half a cookie to Retroque ?
16-08-2004, 11:34 AM
[b]PS. Hey Seng Chye, how about the half a cookie to Retroque ?
hehe, if he want it , he will need to claim it here :)
[b]PS. Hey Seng Chye, how about the half a cookie to Retroque ?
hehe, if he want it , he will need to claim it here :)
I don't want to share my cookie .. give him a new one :P
aiya cannot do lor without refering to dictionary ... come on sensei, "open book" ni shite kudasai ne? ne?
19-08-2004, 04:57 PM
Please state the kanji and the meaning of each はし(hashi) above.
note: Those in Japan, no dictionary please :twisted: Those in Malaysia ... don't ask Japanese or those in Japan. NO COOKI FOR THOSE WHO CHEAT :evil:
** I will make it a multiple choice Q if no one can answer it later ... In fact, I myself checked the dictionary to make this question :oops:
I said no dictionary ONLY for those in Japan :wink:
endoru
20-08-2004, 11:10 AM
Yeah !!
GO GO GO and open your books !
I am back ...
Peace !
14-09-2004, 10:55 PM
http://www.recom.org/modules/coppermine/albums/userpics/10375/normal_phone.JPG
Ermm, while waiting for the answer for the translation which the level is quite high. Let us start with more practical translations. I have taken a lot of these kind of photos recently for our lovely SIg 8)
Okies... cookies is here...
come and grab them :)
14-09-2004, 11:05 PM
niisang, cookies are here heheh...
14-09-2004, 11:07 PM
please set your mobile phone to silent mode and refrain from talking on the phone?
hihi
retroque
15-09-2004, 07:00 AM
hahahaha....what laa schye....no meaning if there is a 'translation' (though i didnt notice it the first time)...:P
WOW!! budakkerek is able to translate that!! ajaib ajaib!! :lol:
haha I was slightly surprised seeing that the translation given in the picture is quite 'English' ... up until now, one of my impressions about japanese people is: their English sux!! :lol: ... but it doesn't seem so in the picture Schye posted ..
so, I want to ask fellow Malaysians in Japan, how is the level of English profiency of Japanese people in general?
(haha I borrowed endoru's style of bolding text here and there)
15-09-2004, 11:42 AM
hihi...for once, i beat you guys hahaha...
*terbukti kehebatan me hihihi* :p
15-09-2004, 01:50 PM
niisang, cookies are here heheh...
argh.... In fact I changed the word cookie to cookies before posting... hihi...lupa to change the "is" ...
cos I know a cookie will be not enough for kerek maaa...
About the photo posted..hmmm..
I did plan to erase it but then ...
I had only like 5 minutes left before midnight (my internet connection will be cut at midnight -- Schye = Sengdirella) ...
16-09-2004, 09:46 AM
hihi..nvr expected you to be so generous..hihih...i know you syg me, niisang!
*more cookies for me, for praising you in public!* :D
Schye = Sengderella *another spelling error hahaha*
oke..more questions!
*nak test power heheh* :P
watashi yatte miru :)
I ate hashizuma (a food, perhaps) and hashihirogamo (another food) using Hashi's (a person) chopsticks at the edge of a bridge.
;)
uh, what are hashizuma and hashihirogamo?
16-09-2004, 10:38 AM
why would you eat sthing *that you dont even know what it is haha* using some Hashi person's chop stick on a BRIDGE?
i repeat, on a bridge!
*mumble* Why would anyone sane eat sthing on a bridge?
hahaha...
you guys are so IMPOSSIBLE!
hahaha....
ape ni cik adik? orang tengah bincang pasal hal ehwal antarabangsa le .. budak kecik jgn nyampuk ... nah 20 sen buat beli belon ... gi main jauh2 aaa ... :twisted:
16-09-2004, 11:50 AM
how international can a food be? haha..
Luke, you wanna upah me with belon? hmm..sungguh murahan kamu ini *shake head in disbelief*
:p
17-09-2004, 04:41 PM
watashi yatte miru :)
I ate hashizuma (a food, perhaps) and hashihirogamo (another food) using Hashi's (a person) chopsticks at the edge of a bridge.
;)
uh, what are hashizuma and hashihirogamo?
I will write it in kanji again and maybe you could have a clearer picture of it ;)
橋の端 に 箸の端 で 愛妻 と はしひろがも を 食べた。
PluE_87
13-12-2004, 11:03 PM
Just wondering. Because the kanji 愛妻 would not be pronounced as "hashizuma..."??? The first word would mean... love, or beloved... And the second one would mean wife... But I'm just an idiot. So don't mind me.
14-12-2004, 03:30 PM
eh....nani?
knp mau give up? you can try also...if you think you can. Like me, whenever i see kanji, i would run run run heheh :lol:
it's been 3 months already... lol i blame the quake
14-12-2004, 08:37 PM
yeah..i agree.
the quake really "shook" our learning hohohoh..
anyway, just glad everyone is okay :D
17-12-2004, 09:13 AM
Just wondering. Because the kanji 愛妻 would not be pronounced as "hashizuma..."??? The first word would mean... love, or beloved... And the second one would mean wife... But I'm just an idiot. So don't mind me.
Yupe, it means beloved wife :)
Sorry for the late reply :(
I have moved to another place and I cant have internet connection unless I purchase a wireless one. As I have only 3 more months here so I think I will be using libraries PC until I move to Tsukuba. Getting back to normal life now though things are not the same anymore :( Well, but gladful that I am still ALIVE lol
hihihi ... still waiting for reply or I will tell the answer maybe next week or next next week or next year?!
moshikashite, rainen made onrain dekinakattara, kokode saki ni itteoku wa. akemashite omedetou!!rainenn mo yoroshiku ne!
もしかして来年までオンラインできなかったら、ここで先に行っておくわ。明けましておめでとう。来年も宜しくね!
08-01-2005, 10:07 PM
aiseh..so quiet nee?
11-01-2005, 11:57 AM
Well, it seems that our main anchors here are either busy with their Final Year Project or inactive or dont have internet access cos of the EQ (me), so its time for you all to ROCK yourself :D
I will login from time to time but jsut cant spend too much time here anymore. Ganbatte!
11-01-2005, 12:36 PM
aiseh...Luke sensei also, gone..haiyoo...why la..so sad...sabishii :cry:
14-03-2005, 12:47 PM
well, well, well ...
since we have some new members, here is another QUIZ ....
わたしのまわりにはくうきがあります。 きみのまわりにはなにがありますか。
watashi no mawari niha kuuki ga arimasu. kimi no mawari niha nani ga arimasuka
Those who know Japanese please dont read the translation below
There is "kuuki" around "watashi", what does "kimi" has around "kimi" ?
.....................................................................................................
11-05-2005, 06:16 PM
It seems that no one get the answer. Here is a hint.
KIMI != 君
わたしのまわりにはくうきがあります。 きみのまわりにはなにがありますか。
watashi no mawari niha kuuki ga arimasu. kimi no mawari niha nani ga arimasuka
shiromi (白身) ? :wink:
18-05-2005, 08:49 PM
Sasuga ...
Here comes another one...
7人の子供がHide n Seek@鬼ごっこをやっていた。一人(鬼)が車の中をのぞいたら、何人かの子供を見つけた。では、何人でしょう。
18-11-2005, 07:22 PM
Boo...t
(sound when you got an answer wrong in Japan. btw, when you got it right, you will get a "Ping Pong")
HINT:
7人の子供がHide n Seek@鬼ごっこをやっていた。一人(鬼)が車の中をのぞいたら、何人かの子供を見つけた。では、何人でしょう。
車の中をのぞいたら...?
endoru
13-12-2008, 06:35 AM
Seng Chye, 答えは?www