View Full Version : Q&A about Life in INTEC 2010
KwHau
04-06-2010, 04:17 PM
Hi,everyone.I'm new here.anyone got IMU twinning for pharmacy n will enter intec on this 4th of july??It'd be great to know u guys b4 entering intec^^
Yup Im one of them, along with a number or recommers. :) But doing med twinning In Imu.
Nice to meet you
francisooi
04-06-2010, 04:20 PM
Yup Im one of them, along with a number or recommers. :)
Nice to meet you
Nice to meet u too,KwHau..where're u from?:)
fird126
04-06-2010, 04:41 PM
i have a question. how are we supposed to get the bill for the registration? i tried putting my IC number in the intec website at the Student Billing Enquiry but it said no record.
KwHau
04-06-2010, 04:44 PM
Nice to meet u too,KwHau..where're u from?:)
Haha edited I'm doing imu twinning but med :amazed I'm from petaling jaya.
:))
How bout you?
i have a question. how are we supposed to get the bill for the registration? i tried putting my IC number in the intec website at the Student Billing Enquiry but it said no record.
you got the letter already?
lesto
04-06-2010, 05:47 PM
Patient... You'll have to wait for your letter to arrive first. If it HAS already arrived, i'm pretty sure the letter will mention the date that the billing system will be updated.
AnnieChan
04-06-2010, 05:52 PM
jpa is gonna bank in our allowance into our account right ? i heard its cimb bank. so, what if i dont have an acc with cimb, do i open one or does jpa handle that for me?
lesto
04-06-2010, 05:54 PM
jpa is gonna bank in our allowance into our account right ? i heard its cimb bank. so, what if i dont have an acc with cimb, do i open one or does jpa handle that for me?
You'll have to open one. It's compulsory. :) They will give you the instructions and bank forms in your letter.
AnnieChan
04-06-2010, 05:57 PM
ahhh okayy :) thanks dude ! any idea when the official letter is gonna come, anyone ?
lesto
04-06-2010, 06:01 PM
ahhh okayy :) thanks dude ! any idea when the official letter is gonna come, anyone ?
I got my letter roughly a month or less after the results were announced last year. :))
fird126
04-06-2010, 06:38 PM
Patient... You'll have to wait for your letter to arrive first. If it HAS already arrived, i'm pretty sure the letter will mention the date that the billing system will be updated.
i received my letter after a week they released the results. and yes, in the letter, it stated that the bill will be in the intec website. but i tried so many times and nothing happened. it always gave me the message of my IC number is not in the system.
Sheen
05-06-2010, 09:25 AM
i received my letter after a week they released the results. and yes, in the letter, it stated that the bill will be in the intec website. but i tried so many times and nothing happened. it always gave me the message of my IC number is not in the system.
Sabarlah, my dear fren...it happened to me too last year! But no worries, they will eventually key in your data into the system...almost at the last minute (sigh). So, just keep checking but be really patient.
If not mistaken, you pay your bills through Bank Islam, for juniors (my year) it's RM195.
lesto
05-06-2010, 01:28 PM
Sabarlah, my dear fren...it happened to me too last year! But no worries, they will eventually key in your data into the system...almost at the last minute (sigh). So, just keep checking but be really patient.
If not mistaken, you pay your bills through Bank Islam, for juniors (my year) it's RM195.
It's RM210 for guys. :)
uhanasz
07-06-2010, 12:02 PM
can i know,,usually how many new AUSMATian will enroll every year?
KHARTHIKD
07-06-2010, 12:42 PM
Hey, I need some clarification from JPA officers. But I don't have their number. Hence, may I know the JPA number ?
bubblegirl
07-06-2010, 01:32 PM
Hey, I need some clarification from JPA officers. But I don't have their number. Hence, may I know the JPA number ?
if nt wrong, is 0388853000..
lesto
07-06-2010, 01:36 PM
last year we had 209 students but i would expect a drop in the numbers this year because of the decrease in number of scholarships offered as compared to last year.
03-8885 3049
tra_omar
07-06-2010, 02:21 PM
Nope, not true, there are many international students who are private students in INTEC particularly from Nigeria. I'm not sure what they're studying tho but you can see them around in one large group usually.
And by the way, those who are in INTEC are not necessarily JPA scholars, they can be from other organisations too like Petronas, TNB, MARA, FELDA, etc...
Hye, I was wondering if the 'private students' are taking standard course like diploma which are not A-level, AUSMAT, etc.
YPing
07-06-2010, 03:06 PM
As in intec, thr will be around 160 students this year
farz92
07-06-2010, 07:08 PM
hi guys...
i just got my letter to join ausmat in intec 4 mara scholarship...
hope 2 see u'll there..:))
p/s: can bring bike aa?..
lesto
07-06-2010, 07:52 PM
hi guys...
i just got my letter to join ausmat in intec 4 mara scholarship...
hope 2 see u'll there..:))
p/s: can bring bike aa?..
Motorbike or bicycle? :P Both also can. :))
See you.
Sheen
07-06-2010, 08:14 PM
Ermm, this may seem out of place, but i'm wondering whc broadband is fast and suitable for use in akasia cemara?
I've stop using WiMax n am finding other alternatives.
farz92
07-06-2010, 08:55 PM
haha..motobike ar..cendana soo far frm intec maa...
baby92
08-06-2010, 12:14 AM
uhm.to the seniors, does coloured hair allowed? or we need to colour it back to black when we register at intec?
Sheen
08-06-2010, 01:56 PM
Good news! You are no longer secondary school students hence you have the freedom to dye your hair any colour you like! Hehe...there's no rule/law saying that you couldn't.
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 05:34 PM
hey, whats the MMS about.. i know what it is, but what do we normally do ? apart from games and aerobic exercises ?
lesto
08-06-2010, 07:14 PM
Good news! You are no longer secondary school students hence you have the freedom to dye your hair any colour you like! Hehe...there's no rule/law saying that you couldn't.
Are you sure? The Intec rule book here wrote 'SISWI - DILARANG MEWARNAKAN RAMBUT', yes, in capitals... i've never known anyone in intec who dyed their hair before tho.
hey, whats the MMS about.. i know what it is, but what do we normally do ? apart from games and aerobic exercises ?
Well, you'll have endless talks in the first two days, you'll learn and be forced to sing the UiTM's 2 most famous songs xP, you'll be brought to a tour around intec (which isn't really big, but quite far to go from one place to another nonetheless), and lastly you'll meet the director and other heads on Thursday i think to angkat sumpah and listen to her messages. I guess that's basically it... :)) Oh and of course, make as many friends as possible because that's the best time to know each other. Most of the people in your group might turn out to be your classmates in the future (because you're grouped according to courses). Enjoy MMS week while you can.
Tysle
08-06-2010, 07:39 PM
Motorbike or bicycle? :P Both also can. :))
See you.
Just wondering, is a bicycle useful to get one from hostel to college and back? :)
Is there convenient places for us to lock our bicycle?
bubblegirl
08-06-2010, 09:06 PM
Ermm, this may seem out of place, but i'm wondering whc broadband is fast and suitable for use in akasia cemara?
I'm having same question here..Which broadband is fast in akasia cemara? Hope some seniors can help, Thx!:)
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 10:23 PM
Just wondering, is a bicycle useful to get one from hostel to college and back? :)
im guessing you haven't been to Intec yet huh ? i went to check out both places..its not that far.. around 10-15 mins ? but why would you want to cycle when there are buses sending you back and forth?
lesto
08-06-2010, 10:48 PM
Highly unadvisable to travel by bicycle around shah alam because the roads (especially the roundabouts) are extremely dangerous! Some drivers enter the roundabouts without even looking at oncoming cars!
im guessing you haven't been to Intec yet huh ? i went to check out both places..its not that far.. around 10-15 mins ? but why would you want to cycle when there are buses sending you back and forth?
Yes you are absolutely right! If you have a car, then that's a different story la. Car more convenient. Btw, it takes you 5 minutes only to get from cemara/akasia to intec. :))
adwinH
08-06-2010, 10:53 PM
would it be okay just to walk to intec from akasia?
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 10:59 PM
it will take you bout 20 mins ? maybe more. besides, eventhough its the main road, its quite empty lol.. no houses nearby in some parts.. right, lesto?
lesto
08-06-2010, 11:24 PM
would it be okay just to walk to intec from akasia?
it will take you bout 20 mins ? maybe more. besides, eventhough its the main road, its quite empty lol.. no houses nearby in some parts.. right, lesto?
Again, why would you want (or need) to do that when there's free bus services which are very regular? And coupled with malaysian weather, i don't think its a good choice to do so.
However if you insist in walking, it takes you 30 mins to walk 2.4km according to Google Maps. Check out attachment.
Annie: Sorry but not really sure what yoou meant by 'empty'? :)
adwinH
08-06-2010, 11:28 PM
then we need to walk with more people to be safe. >.<
how much is the bus fare?
Again, why would you want (or need) to do that when there's free bus services which are very regular? And coupled with malaysian weather, i don't think its a good choice to do so.
However if you insist in walking, it takes you 30 mins to walk 2.4km according to Google Maps. Check out attachment.
Annie: Sorry but not really sure what yoou meant by 'empty'? :)
whoa, so the bus fare is free? hokay then. >.<
lesto
08-06-2010, 11:33 PM
then we need to walk with more people to be safe. >.<
how much is the bus fare?
whoa, so the bus fare is free? hokay then. >.<
DUDE.... (or in your case, dudette!) INTEC provides FREEEEEE bus services to ALLLLLLL students to transport students to AND fro between hostels and INTEC.
adwinH
08-06-2010, 11:35 PM
LOL, i never knew bout that before but now, yes. haha.
thanx for telling me that.
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 11:56 PM
adwinh, check out recom wiki on cemara and akasia :) it helps !
oh err. empty as in empty larr XP hahaha nevermind .. ignore my description =D
Nope, not true, there are many international students who are private students in INTEC particularly from Nigeria. I'm not sure what they're studying tho but you can see them around in one large group usually.
And by the way, those who are in INTEC are not necessarily JPA scholars, they can be from other organisations too like Petronas, TNB, MARA, FELDA, etc...
actually most of them are from Somalia. I knew one guy from Saudi Arabia and one from Palestine.
they are taking UPP, preparation before entering UiTM. they mainly study english, bahasa malaysia, maths, cultural study, etc.
they are nice people, do greet them when u see these international students :)
i'm using maxis and wow i'm lovin' the speed. good enough for a broadband.
but it kinda depends on your block/room. in my old room the speed sucks, my other housemates who use celcom surf with better speed though.
changing to a new room, well..is heaven for me but for them..:cry
i'd just phoned JPA and the lady told me that MMC is indeed Melaka Manipal Medical College.
So, it's still MMC guys =D
to MMMC-bound students,
just for extra info, if anyone asked where are you bound to, please say MANIPAL-twinning not MMMC-twinning. once you say the tripple M, the seniors sure will roll on the floor laughing. rofl :rofl
AnnieChan
09-06-2010, 01:15 AM
LOL why ? i dont get the joke..
bekann
09-06-2010, 04:58 PM
I am under Ausmat, going to New zealand for medicine.
Woohoo Audrey, ur going to New Zealand as well! I got accountancy though.
LOL why ? i dont get the joke..
twisted tongue. MMMC. u'll know if u try. and if u listen to that triple M many times
AnnieChan
10-06-2010, 01:10 AM
oh hahaha okay :) is there any other NZ bound chaps here? im headed to NZ too :D
khairul_izzat
11-06-2010, 02:37 PM
yeay,, i got my letter just now,, ;D
11-06-2010, 02:44 PM
yeay,, i got my letter just now,, ;D
Good for you. Read the instruction properly before filling up the form. It's is a bit confusing at times. If you have any prob, feel free to pose the question at this thread --> http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7002
victoria
11-06-2010, 09:00 PM
dear seniors, how many roommates will it b in gals' hostel? is it 2 ppl each room, n 1 hse 4 ppl? thx =)
lesto
11-06-2010, 09:27 PM
dear seniors, how many roommates will it b in gals' hostel? is it 2 ppl each room, n 1 hse 4 ppl? thx =)
Yes. You are right. :)
11-06-2010, 09:51 PM
yup, u r ight. if u already knw, y do u ask?:P
victoria
11-06-2010, 10:06 PM
LOL...juz wan to confirm abt it...bcoz some say 6 ppl in 1 hse...XD
lesto
11-06-2010, 10:43 PM
LOL...juz wan to confirm abt it...bcoz some say 6 ppl in 1 hse...XD
That's only for the junior guys who'll be staying in Cendana. :))
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 12:50 AM
Ola!!:D..
Hello to all seniors and also my fellow campus-mate-to-be.
FYI i got PILN for US Engineering.I will be registering in INTEC this July 4th.And i will be doing ACTP[American Credit Transfer Program] there.:lol:
And i have went through almost ALL[30] pages in this thread but i could not find anyone in the same course with me!!Does that means that not many people will be in that program with me or s it a new thing there in INTEC??
ACTP is it a foundation program??Is it easy compared to A-level??:lol:
Thanks in advance.
AnnieChan
12-06-2010, 01:19 AM
OMGGGGG !!!! green apple! XD hahaha. you got it.. !? congats dude :) actp is american program.its totally different from a levels larr..
p.s : that doesnt mean no one's in the same course as you, it just meant there's no recommers among your future mates :D
KwHau
12-06-2010, 01:24 AM
Ola!!:D..
Hello to all seniors and also my fellow campus-mate-to-be.
FYI i got PILN for US Engineering.I will be registering in INTEC this July 4th.And i will be doing ACTP[American Credit Transfer Program] there.:lol:
And i have went through almost ALL[30] pages in this thread but i could not find anyone in the same course with me!!Does that means that not many people will be in that program with me or s it a new thing there in INTEC??
ACTP is it a foundation program??Is it easy compared to A-level??:lol:
Thanks in advance.
I have one of my friend getting the same course as you, and it seems she has no idea bout it either :oh Btw are you taking up chemical engeneering as well?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Education_Centre_(INTEC),_Malaysia#American_Credit_Transfer_Program_.28ACTP.29
and the info here doesnt tell me anything at all lol.. :))
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 01:28 AM
Hey Annie!!!yeah with God's blessing i got it:D..ceh very saint huh??any is it??thanks anyway..i was going through the pages and end up can't find coursemates..haha...means my course mates are not so good in venturing in the ne..lol..as they are nor recommer..lol..btw i got Cendana which means that no Wi-Fi...haiz..thank God got Celcom Broadband..hope good reception..lol..
anyway nice to meet you!!
**pstpst**i was jumping up and down and screaming like a girl when i knew it..haha
12-06-2010, 01:32 AM
Hey Annie!!!yeah with God's blessing i got it:D..ceh very saint huh??any is it??thanks anyway..i was going through the pages and end up can't find coursemates..haha...means my course mates are not so good in venturing in the ne..lol..as they are nor recommer..lol..btw i got Cendana which means that no Wi-Fi...haiz..thank God got Celcom Broadband..hope good reception..lol..
anyway nice to meet you!!
**pstpst**i was jumping up and down and screaming like a girl when i knew it..haha
Erm...well all junior guys would get cendana. Only later would you move to cemara. At least cendana is newer....
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 01:36 AM
I have one of my friend getting the same course as you, and it seems she has no idea bout it either :oh Btw are you taking up chemical engeneering as well?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Education_Centre_(INTEC),_Malaysia#American_Credit_Transfer_Program_.28ACTP.29 (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Education_Centre_%28INTEC%29,_Malaysia#American_Credit_Transfer_Program_.28ACTP.29)
and the info here doesnt tell me anything at all lol.. :))
ouh okay!!send my regards to him/her..lol..btw i'm not sure bout my major though..if i have to choose early then it would be chemical or mechanical..
thanks for the link..omg i don't see any top unis there in the uni list..as thee are rumours that not many top uni recognise actp and rumours about JPA may only sponsor students who got admission to top unis..can someone clarify that??thanks..
Erm...well all junior guys would get cendana. Only later would you move to cemara. At least cendana is newer....
ouh, okay.that means that juniors will be place there kan.btw is cendana also same with apartment like hostels or is it like dorm??:huh
CabalUchiha
12-06-2010, 01:41 AM
cendana rooms are so much better compared to cemara .... haha, there are less adfp/actp students coming to intec this year...
12-06-2010, 01:44 AM
ouh, okay.that means that juniors will be place there kan.btw is cendana also same with apartment like hostels or is it like dorm??:huh
I would say like apartment-like hostels. In cendana you'll be living with 5 other people while in cemara you would only be living with three others. The recom wiki provides more info on this, i think
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 01:45 AM
yeah thats why i was confused as most of them who are doing engineering get uk, german , japan and others but never heard for us[i mean for 2010 scholars] and i know my seniors who did adfp but in uniten so i'm not familiar with that.thanks anyway.
CabalUchiha
12-06-2010, 01:45 AM
top unis dont usually accept credit transfer, if u're aiming top unis, then work hard and hopefully get accepted through adfp. All top unis recognizes adfp.
the list of unis in actp is incomplete there, there are many more other unis.
its a very very small apartment, cendana ..
12-06-2010, 01:47 AM
Are you trying to scare terence? :laugh :laugh
On the bright side, there's less space to maintain :P
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 01:51 AM
top unis dont usually accept credit transfer, if u're aiming top unis, then work hard and hopefully get accepted through adfp. All top unis recognizes adfp.
the list of unis in actp is incomplete there, there are many more other unis.
haiz..so i can't get into top unis..but i dont understand..you mean i can change my course into adfp??please enlighten me..thanks..
hope can adjust the small space..:lol:
AnnieChan
12-06-2010, 01:57 AM
LOL. saint ? i see only horns on your head, dude XP hahah just kidding. :) ehhh, you're gonna be eating mamak everyday in cendana ..
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 02:10 AM
woah you ryte about the horn..haha..sshhhh..secret!!yeah i will of course and i'm sure world cup would be still around i guess..haha..lets be nocturnals there..haha..but do we have curfews there??
lesto
12-06-2010, 02:16 AM
haiz..so i can't get into top unis..but i dont understand..you mean i can change my course into adfp??please enlighten me..thanks..
hope can adjust the small space..:lol:
Hmmm... This seems new. They wrote there "ACTP" under kursus?? Usually the people heading to america will do a year of ADFP first, known as the foundation, and if they do not secure a place overseas then they'll continue on with ACTP in INTEC for their first degree year and later transfer to america. I'm not sure if you might be going thru ADFP in that case...
Btw, Cendana is really not too bad. It's very new and clean, at first it looks small, but after a while, you'll realised you wont need a large space anyway. :)) And the food... well... you'll have to experience it on your own. :P
terencegreen
12-06-2010, 02:24 AM
Hmmm... This seems new. They wrote there "ACTP" under kursus?? Usually the people heading to america will do a year of ADFP first, known as the foundation, and if they do not secure a place overseas then they'll continue on with ACTP in INTEC for their first degree year and later transfer to america. I'm not sure if you might be going thru ADFP in that case...
Btw, Cendana is really not too bad. It's very new and clean, at first it looks small, but after a while, you'll realised you wont need a large space anyway. :)) And the food... well... you'll have to experience it on your own. :P
OMG!!hope they will let me do adfp first so that i can give it a shot to go as freshmen in top uni..because there they stated:
Kursus Persedian : American Credit Transfer Programme(2 Tahun)
now this is scary..:lol: :sweat..
lesto
12-06-2010, 02:37 AM
OMG!!hope they will let me do adfp first so that i can give it a shot to go as freshmen in top uni..because there they stated:
Kursus Persedian : American Credit Transfer Programme(2 Tahun)
now this is scary..:lol: :sweat..
That is really unheard of before this... Well, very VERY few people enter into ivy leagues and standards every year, its like around 10 a year or smtg if i'm not wrong. I read about you questioning about ADFP/ACTP in the previous posts.
Well, according to my friends, :P Basically, ADFP is a rather tedious course la. Many assignments and presentations. And your English must be really good and polished to go thru the course, be it written or verbal, because you'll have lots of lessons on English, subjects like Oral communication, Critical Thinking, American Cultural Studies, Fundamentals of Speech Communication. Oh, and they have a killer subject, called Calculus. Apparently, it's so tough, the number of people scoring A's can be counted using the fingers. Btw, A in ADFP is 93. No joke! :P Anyway, what i heard from them is that the course is really packed and tedious, but at the end of it, you'll have loads of fun going through the course. Enjoy :))
victoria
12-06-2010, 12:29 PM
@<hidden> terencegreen: dun worry...u will meet many actp on d registration day...n 4 of my frens gt this program =)
one thing to ask: is it advisable for gals to subscribe p1 wimax at their hostel? or using broadband is more than enough? thx ^^
Geographicajan
12-06-2010, 04:07 PM
Hello,could anyone enlighten me about the accomodation at Cendana, as in how they locate the students and allocation of students per room or per unit (4 in a room??) as well as the overall living condition.Plus, cendana (for guys) is the furthest from Intec?
lesto
12-06-2010, 04:27 PM
Hello,could anyone enlighten me about the accomodation at Cendana, as in how they locate the students and allocation of students per room or per unit (4 in a room??) as well as the overall living condition.Plus, cendana (for guys) is the furthest from Intec?
There will be 6 in a unit (apartment-like hostel), 2 in a 2-bed bedroom and another 4 in a 2-double-decker-beds bedroom. They usually allocate the rooms according to your courses (Ausmat, ALM, ALG, ADFP......). If you have friends who are in the same course as you, you can just line up together and let the person-in-charge know that you wanna stay together in the same room.
Living condition... New, clean, quiet, peaceful, weather is rather cool (since its rather shady, has many trees around it). Yes Cendana is furthest from INTEC (around 15 minutes or so by INTEC bus).
The only complaints for Cendana is the variety of food and INTEC bus service. If these two problems are solved, Cendana would be a GREAT place to stay. :))
Geographicajan
12-06-2010, 04:39 PM
Lol.4 in a 2-double-decker-beds bedroom.So biased,it depends on luck somehow huh? ...haha...it doesn't matter anyhow.Thanks.:)
Abraham
15-06-2010, 08:50 PM
Just receive the Buku Panduan Pendaftaran Pelajar, I have a few questions to ask the seniors:
1. I am confused about the yuran pendaftaran. As JPA bond student, should I pay or the JPA already make it up for me? Besides, the yuran, according to page 8, is RM 265(male) and RM 250(female), but in page 25 it is RM210(male) and RM195(female), which is it?????
2. In page 9, the Keperluan peribadi the last line, "Baldi, sabun dan sebagainya." What exactly is sebagainya? I know it sounds stupid, but just in case something goes wrong.
3. And it also stated in page 9, "Menyediakan pasport antarabangsa". We haven't go overseas yet, why should we have the passport first?
4. About what we should wear. In page 14, it says " Memakai Tali Leher Pada Hari Isnin - Hari Korporat". It means from monday to "Hari Korporat"? What is Hari korporat? One more thing, we can't wear T-shirt for class right?
5. Also about clothing. It says "digalakkan memakai Batik", just in case, is there event(s) that Batik is compulsory?
6. For health examination, JPA also requires us to do it. So, is it we just do it once and tell the doctor to fill in both forms or need to do it separately?
7. INTEC requires 16 photos (Russian Program), does it include the photo we stick in the "BORANG MAKLUMAT PELAJAR BARU" or not?
8. The Borang Pendaftaran Pelajar Baru need to be hang in on the registration day, but I still don't know my program code or even the faculty I will be in, what should I fill in?
I still don't know many things about INTEC and JPA scholarship, so if I have asked something stupid, please forgive my ignorance. I hope seniors can help me in these questions above.
Thanks in advance.
june848
15-06-2010, 09:22 PM
Just receive the Buku Panduan Pendaftaran Pelajar, I have a few questions to ask the seniors:
1. I am confused about the yuran pendaftaran. As JPA bond student, should I pay or the JPA already make it up for me? Besides, the yuran, according to page 8, is RM 265(male) and RM 250(female), but in page 25 it is RM210(male) and RM195(female), which is it?????
2. In page 9, the Keperluan peribadi the last line, "Baldi, sabun dan sebagainya." What exactly is sebagainya? I know it sounds stupid, but just in case something goes wrong.
3. And it also stated in page 9, "Menyediakan pasport antarabangsa". We haven't go overseas yet, why should we have the passport first?
4. About what we should wear. In page 14, it says " Memakai Tali Leher Pada Hari Isnin - Hari Korporat". It means from monday to "Hari Korporat"? What is Hari korporat? One more thing, we can't wear T-shirt for class right?
5. Also about clothing. It says "digalakkan memakai Batik", just in case, is there event(s) that Batik is compulsory?
6. For health examination, JPA also requires us to do it. So, is it we just do it once and tell the doctor to fill in both forms or need to do it separately?
7. INTEC requires 16 photos (Russian Program), does it include the photo we stick in the "BORANG MAKLUMAT PELAJAR BARU" or not?
8. The Borang Pendaftaran Pelajar Baru need to be hang in on the registration day, but I still don't know my program code or even the faculty I will be in, what should I fill in?
I still don't know many things about INTEC and JPA scholarship, so if I have asked something stupid, please forgive my ignorance. I hope seniors can help me in these questions above.
Thanks in advance.
i'm not a senior but i'll answer according to what i understand.
1. i think intec fees are supposed to be paid by us, not jpa. i, too , am confused about the fees. there is a billing system on intec website. intec announced that u can check the bill by 21st june. so i think wait till then.
2. all the basic stuff u need, such as hangers, toiletries, iron, etc.
3. u don't have to make a passport yet.
4. no idea
5. i don't think so there's anyday where wearing batik is compulsory, unless there's a formal occasion.
6. just do once, make sure the doctor fills up all the forms. there should be 3, including intec's medical form.
7. to be safe, don't include.
8. the program code and student's ID can be obtained on intec's website.
i hope this helps you and sorry if there is any mistake.
AnnieChan
15-06-2010, 09:25 PM
Thanks in advance.
1. JPA doesnt cover our registration fees.. if im not mistaken, should be the latter lol..
2. sebagainya as in your necessities such as your daily stuff eg. toothbrush etc.
3. because you will need your passport sooner or later?
4. i think mondays = corporate days. yes, u can wear tshirts but on days that you don't need to be formal.
5. this i dont know.. formal should be fine, i suppose.
6.you do ONE medical checkup in a government hospital/clinic or private hospital ONLY. hand all 3 medical forms ( including the INTEC one ) to them.
7. just to be on the safe side, exclude the photos that you have to stick. if im not mistaken, you need to stick another one in JPA's Borang Biodata Pelajar.. that means get 20 photos; 16 as required, 2 to paste in the forms, another 2 just in case :)
8. if you aren't sure, just leave it blank and fill it in on the day itself. no worries. thats what most of us are planning to do anyways :D
i'm not a senior, but i hope it helps :)
Helios_0509
15-06-2010, 10:06 PM
6.you do ONE medical checkup in a government hospital/clinic or private hospital ONLY. hand all 3 medical forms ( including the INTEC one ) to them.
i don't think that we need to hand in the intec one coz when i read through syarat2 tawaran biasiswa persekutuan..i noticed that at no.7(b) Pemeriksaan perubatan..it's stated that pemeriksaan perubatan hendaklah dilakukan oleh pegawai perubatan kerajaan/doktor persendirian/doktor di hospital swasta di dalam DUA (2) salinan borang JPA/BMI/KESIHATAN seperti dilampirkan bersama.Satu salinan borang hendaklah dikembalikan ke JPA dan satu salinan ke institusi pengajian ketika melaporkan diri....
futhermore, it's stated that pelajar persendirian sahaja in buku panduan intec for report of health examination forms..
this juz my opinion...please do correct me..:)):P
pinky
15-06-2010, 10:12 PM
for a safer path, do both INTEC and JPA :)
Helios_0509
15-06-2010, 10:19 PM
for a safer path, do both INTEC and JPA :)
owh...ok..
but u know what my report of health examination forms were wrongly printed...so disappointed...:cry
but, i don't think it's a problem right...
coz that's not my mistake...haha:laugh
pinky
15-06-2010, 10:24 PM
owh...ok..
but u know what my report of health examination forms were wrongly printed...so disappointed...:cry
but, i don't think it's a problem right...
coz that's not my mistake...haha:laugh
wrongly printed?? how?? :huh
AnnieChan
16-06-2010, 12:21 AM
i don't think that we need to hand in the intec one coz when i read through syarat2 tawaran biasiswa persekutuan..i noticed that at no.7(b) Pemeriksaan perubatan..it's stated that pemeriksaan perubatan hendaklah dilakukan oleh pegawai perubatan kerajaan/doktor persendirian/doktor di hospital swasta di dalam DUA (2) salinan borang JPA/BMI/KESIHATAN seperti dilampirkan bersama.Satu salinan borang hendaklah dikembalikan ke JPA dan satu salinan ke institusi pengajian ketika melaporkan diri....
futhermore, it's stated that pelajar persendirian sahaja in buku panduan intec for report of health examination forms..
just so you know, JPA's forms and INTEC's has no relation. to Intec, you are considered a private student. so when you do your medical checkup, fil in all 3 :)
Just do the two in the JPA book and hand one to INTEC one to JPA. You don't have to do the one in the INTEC book.
Helios_0509
16-06-2010, 06:57 PM
hi, just wondering am i the only one who get into INTEC for engineering?
i went through few pages, but all are about medic and pharmacy.
any seniors here having AUSMAT in engineering?
we can choose the subjects on our own or it's given?
i heard that AUSMAT students will sit for the IELTS test, when usually do we sit for it?
don't worry...
a friend of mine will doing the same course like u there...
he's under MARA...:))
lesto
16-06-2010, 07:57 PM
Thanks in advance.
1. No, JPA doesn't pay for INTEC's registration fees, you'll have to fork out your own money. I paid RM210 last year, follow according to the billing system.
2. KAIN BURUK! Essential item! To clean all the dust and grime away. :P
3. Nope, passport is not necessary at the moment.
4. Monday itself IS Hari Korporat. Hari Korporat (no idea why they named it that way), nothing special about that day actually. I guess it's because it is the day everyone is required to wear formal wears like corporates. :))
5. Batik is not compulsory, and not really necessary either. You can wear it for fun if you want to. There MAY be occasions where you'll have to wear batik or baju melayu. Last year, in one of the events, I, and a few others in my group were told to wear baju melayu for the occasion. Some others were asked to wear batiks. So, I'd say, no harm in bringing one of those.
6. Just do the checkup once will do and ask the doc to fill both forms.
7. I can't remember about this, sorry...
8. Someone mentioned earlier, you can get it from the billing system, http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas
gibsy
17-06-2010, 10:11 AM
Glad that finally I found someone going to INTEC for Engineering. :D
No one going for ADFP Engineering? Where are you juniors? =.=
me!!!under MARA...i have go through all 34 pages but it seemed that ill be alone in this programmes..haha..
btw,i wan to ask u afew question..
1.what is ADFP all about,is it hard,how is the learning process(i though itll be absolutely difference with malaysian education standard)??
2.what is the chances to go overseas(US),is it needs a very huge effort of hardwork(burn midnight oil) to get the excellent result and secure place to top universities?(expecially for MARA student)
3.is it the laptop is compulsory??
4.is it hard for them (me though) who has a lot of problem on their english (grammar,vocabulary,writing and absolutely speaking) to go through this programmes??
thank you..ur cooperation are much appreciated
:amuseany adfpians-to-be here??
btw..welc0me to all juni0rs:amuse:amuse
me!!!under MARA...i have go through all 34 pages but it seemed that ill be alone in this programmes..haha..
1.what is ADFP all about,is it hard,how is the learning process(i though itll be absolutely difference with malaysian education standard)??
2.what is the chances to go overseas(US),is it needs a very huge effort of hardwork(burn midnight oil) to get the excellent result and secure place to top universities?(expecially for MARA student)
4.is it hard for them (me though) who has a lot of problem on their english (grammar,vocabulary,writing and absolutely speaking) to go through this programmes??
lesto
17-06-2010, 11:40 AM
1. ADFP is a pre-u programme before you enter into American universities. In your first semester, you'll learn English and some maths only, called pre-calculus. English subjects include writing and language awareness, critical thinking and oral communication. And yes, it is very different altogether, you'll be tasked with many presentations and assignments.
2. For MARA students, you'll need to secure a CGPA of 3.0 (or was it 3.5?) and above to reach the cut off point of MARA. Besides, you'll also need to secure a place on your own in american universities. Nothing comes easy, you'll always have to work hard to achieve success. :)
3. Of course it isn't compulsory, but it is highly essential as it will help you complete your assignments and presentations. If without a laptop, you can always head to the library or computer labs where there are hundreds over computers available for you. Cendana itself has 2 computer labs too...
4. Well, you'll definitely struggle if your English is a little weak, but if you put effort in it, do your best, i'm sure you can do well. :))
gibsy
17-06-2010, 12:32 PM
1. ADFP is a pre-u programme before you enter into American universities. In your first semester, you'll learn English and some maths only, called pre-calculus. English subjects include writing and language awareness, critical thinking and oral communication. And yes, it is very different altogether, you'll be tasked with many presentations and assignments.
2. For MARA students, you'll need to secure a CGPA of 3.0 (or was it 3.5?) and above to reach the cut off point of MARA. Besides, you'll also need to secure a place on your own in american universities. Nothing comes easy, you'll always have to work hard to achieve success. :)
3. Of course it isn't compulsory, but it is highly essential as it will help you complete your assignments and presentations. If without a laptop, you can always head to the library or computer labs where there are hundreds over computers available for you. Cendana itself has 2 computer labs too...
4. Well, you'll definitely struggle if your English is a little weak, but if you put effort in it, do your best, i'm sure you can do well. :))
oh thank you..emm..can i know,what is the percentage for them who success and get place at oversea???and how much student who failed and their scholar convert to PIDN??just curious...
intec_imu
17-06-2010, 02:28 PM
Hey guys, I'm sure u ppl r very excited n thrilled over the scholarship u've got.. Congratulations btw.. I am also a JPA scholar, currently at INTEC doin my A-levels and bound to IMU for medicine... If u hv any doubts or questions abt the imu twinning programme or even intec as a whole, feel free to ask me.. I'm willing to guide u cuz I was in ur shoes once and i remember being completely perplexed with my predicament.. Anyways, all the best to u guys in ur new venture.. Don forget to hv fun!!! To all those of u coming to INTEC, see u guys real soon...
lesto
17-06-2010, 03:26 PM
oh thank you..emm..can i know,what is the percentage for them who success and get place at oversea???and how much student who failed and their scholar convert to PIDN??just curious...
Hey there. I'm so sorry but i'm not in adfp, so i can't answer your questions. But from what i heard from my friends, many who are under MARA wasn't able to fly after finishing ADFP.
17-06-2010, 03:28 PM
LOL seems like lesto understands ADFP better than me huh? :amuse
1. American Education is slightly different from Malaysian Education (which is more prone to British Education), that's true. But I won't say ADFP is extremely easy and extremely hard either. First semester, you have to study what have stated by lesto, plus SAT and TOEFL. Second semester, Calculus 1, Chemistry 1, Introduction to Engineering, American Cultural Studies, Speech Communication, Advanced Composition, Critical Thinking. The list goes on for following semesters, no worries for that. You really need to work hard for it, seriously. Not to pressure you, but that is responsibility of a student. Haha.
2. Chances are depending on yourself. Everyone has chances, whether you want to fly or not, depends your own effort. For MARA students, you need to pass CGPA 3.0. But if you want to fly in 1 year go for Ivy League or Ivy League Standard, it will be 3.5.
3. I'd say yes. I received the same advice from seniors too last year. ADFP is assignments and presentations based, so it is more convenient to have your own laptop.
4. Well, when you come to this stage to go abroad, possessing a good command of English is fundamental (or perhaps necessary? If not how to communicate with foreign people? haha). But i am sure if you struggle hard and study smart, nothing is impossible.
Cheers.
There is no exact percentage though. Again, to fly or not, depends on your own effort. Perhaps if go for Ivy League Universities it will be harder, but usually students go for ACTP they get into the universities. About PIDN i am not sure, but as long as you pass the cut off point, and depends the percentage of admission of universities also, and many other factors.
gibsy
17-06-2010, 05:11 PM
Hey there. I'm so sorry but i'm not in adfp, so i can't answer your questions. But from what i heard from my friends, many who are under MARA wasn't able to fly after finishing ADFP.
wahh!!!i got a big SMASH on it!!!itll drive me crazy....i hope that it not will be happened to me...it seemed that i need to struggle for whole year in order to get excellent result and secure place into ivy league
LOL seems like lesto understands ADFP better than me huh? :amuse
1. American Education is slightly different from Malaysian Education (which is more prone to British Education), that's true. But I won't say ADFP is extremely easy and extremely hard either. First semester, you have to study what have stated by lesto, plus SAT and TOEFL. Second semester, Calculus 1, Chemistry 1, Introduction to Engineering, American Cultural Studies, Speech Communication, Advanced Composition, Critical Thinking. The list goes on for following semesters, no worries for that. You really need to work hard for it, seriously. Not to pressure you, but that is responsibility of a student. Haha.
2. Chances are depending on yourself. Everyone has chances, whether you want to fly or not, depends your own effort. For MARA students, you need to pass CGPA 3.0. But if you want to fly in 1 year go for Ivy League or Ivy League Standard, it will be 3.5.
3. I'd say yes. I received the same advice from seniors too last year. ADFP is assignments and presentations based, so it is more convenient to have your own laptop.
4. Well, when you come to this stage to go abroad, possessing a good command of English is fundamental (or perhaps necessary? If not how to communicate with foreign people? haha). But i am sure if you struggle hard and study smart, nothing is impossible.
Cheers.
There is no exact percentage though. Again, to fly or not, depends on your own effort. Perhaps if go for Ivy League Universities it will be harder, but usually students go for ACTP they get into the universities. About PIDN i am not sure, but as long as you pass the cut off point, and depends the percentage of admission of universities also, and many other factors.
but im not from ACTP students..im from ADFP student....can i change my programmes??
Abraham
17-06-2010, 05:18 PM
1. No, JPA doesn't pay for INTEC's registration fees, you'll have to fork out your own money. I paid RM210 last year, follow according to the billing system.
2. KAIN BURUK! Essential item! To clean all the dust and grime away. :P
3. Nope, passport is not necessary at the moment.
4. Monday itself IS Hari Korporat. Hari Korporat (no idea why they named it that way), nothing special about that day actually. I guess it's because it is the day everyone is required to wear formal wears like corporates. :))
5. Batik is not compulsory, and not really necessary either. You can wear it for fun if you want to. There MAY be occasions where you'll have to wear batik or baju melayu. Last year, in one of the events, I, and a few others in my group were told to wear baju melayu for the occasion. Some others were asked to wear batiks. So, I'd say, no harm in bringing one of those.
6. Just do the checkup once will do and ask the doc to fill both forms.
7. I can't remember about this, sorry...
8. Someone mentioned earlier, you can get it from the billing system, http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas
Thanks for the answers. I have some other questions.
1. So other than Monday you can wear T-shirts even to tuition?
2. In the book also require us to get a "salinan surat kesihatan". Which surat kesihatan does it refers to?
And somemore, really don't have any seniors in INTEC who are taking Russian Program?
Sad, feel so lonely....
lesto
17-06-2010, 08:19 PM
Thanks for the answers. I have some other questions.
1. So other than Monday you can wear T-shirts even to tuition?
2. In the book also require us to get a "salinan surat kesihatan". Which surat kesihatan does it refers to?
And somemore, really don't have any seniors in INTEC who are taking Russian Program?
Sad, feel so lonely....
1. Tuition? There's no such thing as tuitions in INTEC. :) All the classes are classroom style (like in your secondary school), they do not have lectures (but the one teaching you are called lecturers, ironic eh?).
To answer your question, yes, for guys, you can wear anything you want from Tuesday to Friday, but you must conform to these rules: your t-shirt MUST have collar, must wear long pants that cover legs (jeans is allowed), and shoes (no slippers/flip flops, sandals still okay).
2. I think you just make copies of everything to be safe... :))
I'm pretty sure you'll meet up with your coursemates and classmates very soon in intec. :) The seniors are already in Russia, that's why you aren't able to find any seniors here.
kudis
17-06-2010, 11:23 PM
correct me if i'm wrong, but the whole point of ADFP is to prepare students for prestigious US colleges, correct? a cursory view of the courses and schedule seems to confirm the fact that a student's performance in said program HARDLY impacts his/her application. as far as I know, what you need to get into good schools are:
1. SPM
2. TOEFL
3. SAT
4. Subject Tests
5. recommendation letters
6. essay
granted SAT/TOEFL related classes are helpful and so is pre-calc for Subject Tests BUT all that matters is your test scores from the real tests and not your GPA at Intec. So the question is, if you're accepted to an Ivy league or prestigious schools like MIT, Caltech or Stanford but your GPA at Intec falls below the threshold, will they cut off your scholarship? I think you have to manage your time wisely and not be so obsessed with your GPA but instead work on your essays(it's not as trivial as it sounds and you need to make yourself stand out from the crowd.) If I'm not mistaken, there are applicants from the US who submit samples of their other talents like music mp3s, artwork etc even though they plan to major in science/engineering. A lot of those people in charge of admission want to know why you fit in the school you're applying to. what you can offer as a member of their community and how you can benefit from the school's education and culture. Just showing high test scores and high GPA at Intec hardly make you look interesting. Remember, as an international student, you are subjected to a 10% quota or less for top schools and you're competing with top scorers from Russia, Eastern European countries, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, Korea, India, Pakistan etc. still think your ADFP GPA is gonna make you stand out? I think an essay that describes your experience as a volunteer in wildlife conservation or teaching special needs students is far more useful.
just my dua kupang.
18-06-2010, 01:23 AM
but im not from ACTP students..im from ADFP student....can i change my programmes??
You don't have to worry this. You will be automatically changed to ACTP if you go for second year at INTEC.
kudis
18-06-2010, 11:15 PM
here are some vids about application essays just to illustrate their importance:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-JFPXcppp1k&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F9NTJaMAlNM&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CrwmVPHoucw&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ago6tIEnL0g&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U1VttZ6L5xI&feature=related
and for laughs, watch "How I Got into College". old movie but gives an idea about the process and the length some would go to to get into their dream school.
Abraham
22-06-2010, 05:06 PM
Sadness my bill hasn't generated. Anyway, I still got a feel questions.
For those who got the experience to fill in the "BORANG MAKLUMAT PELAJAR BARU", at bahagian iii, the MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK go some weird stuff. At 1st i thought it only require us to fill in our SPM result, but from the column I see it is not. For columns Kelulusan/Pangkat/Nama Sekolah/Tahun masuk/ Tahun tamat, what should I fill in? I know about the school's name thing as I only studied in one secondary school.
Thanks in advance again to those who shall help.
The venue of registration of my program still haven't out T.T
KwHau
22-06-2010, 05:40 PM
Sadness my bill hasn't generated. Anyway, I still got a feel questions.
For those who got the experience to fill in the "BORANG MAKLUMAT PELAJAR BARU", at bahagian iii, the MAKLUMAT AKADEMIK go some weird stuff. At 1st i thought it only require us to fill in our SPM result, but from the column I see it is not. For columns Kelulusan/Pangkat/Nama Sekolah/Tahun masuk/ Tahun tamat, what should I fill in? I know about the school's name thing as I only studied in one secondary school.
Thanks in advance again to those who shall help.
For the borang maklumat pelajar baru, how you guys fill in the maklumat akademik?
Kelulusan just write SPM, pangkat just write the result (e.g 9A1 2A2)?
Thanks~~~
SPM - (results) - school name and 2005/2009 if you didn't transfer during secondary school
Primadonna
22-06-2010, 06:46 PM
You don't have to worry this. You will be automatically changed to ACTP if you go for second year at INTEC.
Is this only applicable to JPA scholars?? how about Bank Negara scholars in INTEC? wil their scholarship be terminated if they cant get themselves a place in the prestigious US universities after ADFP or they wil continue to do ACTP in INTEC??
mimjamil
23-06-2010, 12:46 AM
can i change my subjects for a-level?for example if i want to change physics to maths.thank you!
23-06-2010, 01:27 AM
can i change my subjects for a-level?for example if i want to change physics to maths.thank you!
The subject combination is fixed, and can't be changed.
safalhabshi
23-06-2010, 12:14 PM
hey, juz curious....is the gym in cendana well-equipped....n not juz an old abandont gym???? :)
lesto
23-06-2010, 04:39 PM
hey, juz curious....is the gym in cendana well-equipped....n not juz an old abandont gym???? :)
Well, not exactly sure what you meant by well-equipped. But the gyms are quite ok, small though... they have one threadmill, 4 cycling machines (2 of the monitor screens aren't working tho), a set of dumb bells, a multi purpose machine, and 2 or 3 other machines which i don't know their names but good and working ones. That's all...
jinong
23-06-2010, 11:15 PM
Hi,im doing engineering under ADTP
juz wan to ask a question,according to the intec booklet,we nid to prepare a 'salinan laporan surat/sijil kesihatan'
means we hav to photostat the report of our medical checkup or juz giv 1 set of the medical report inside our JPA book will do?
KwHau
24-06-2010, 12:06 AM
Hi,im doing engineering under ADTP
juz wan to ask a question,according to the intec booklet,we nid to prepare a 'salinan laporan surat/sijil kesihatan'
means we hav to photostat the report of our medical checkup or juz giv 1 set of the medical report inside our JPA book will do?
Was juz wondering the same thing. Anyone can help? :cry I was planning on photostating the medical checkup since not all intec students have the jpa one..
Tysle
24-06-2010, 12:13 AM
Can someone clarify the dress code for girls in INTEC? :) Thanks.
prawnie
24-06-2010, 08:21 AM
Can someone clarify the dress code for girls in INTEC? :) Thanks.
Basically it's Baju Kebangsaan on Mondays and Fridays - most girls wear Baju Kurung and some Baju Kebaya (should not be body-hugging).
On other days - Long-sleeved shirts and Long pants/Long skirt. You can wear short-sleeved shirts/blouse but wear a jacket or cardigan on the outside.
However, I heard that the Japan programme students wear formal on weekdays except Mondays and Fridays. Not too sure about this.
Primadonna
24-06-2010, 10:48 AM
Was juz wondering the same thing. Anyone can help? :cry I was planning on photostating the medical checkup since not all intec students have the jpa one..
ya, regarding the sijil kesihatan 1, any seniors plz help us!!!
div1ne
24-06-2010, 09:54 PM
I have a major problem here. I just realized there's no bank Islam in my area (Sarikei, Sarawak), and the nearest would be in Kuching (5 1/2 hours drive) or in Miri (8 hours drive LOL). So, can i do the payment via interbank transaction? And do we have to open an account for Bank Islam? lolwut.
leroy92
25-06-2010, 01:45 PM
Hey lynn0915, Im also going for engineering. Taking ausmat as well. =) Haha.
AnnieChan
25-06-2010, 02:54 PM
I have a major problem here. I just realized there's no bank Islam in my area (Sarikei, Sarawak), and the nearest would be in Kuching (5 1/2 hours drive) or in Miri (8 hours drive LOL). So, can i do the payment via interbank transaction? And do we have to open an account for Bank Islam? lolwut.
heyy.. you will need the bank slip as proof that you've paid. when are you coming over for the registration.? im guessing a day or two earlier right? maybe you can pay the fees once you get here?
jinong
25-06-2010, 07:26 PM
in my offer letter,it states there im doing ACTP engineering at INTEC,but when i login in the intec web,it says im doing ADTP,and i checked oso,registration date for ADTP is on 4th of JULY while ACTP is on 11th of JULY,and my offer letter asked me to register on 4th of JULY,anyone else is experiencing this prob?or experienced this prob?
terencegreen
25-06-2010, 08:18 PM
in my offer letter,it states there im doing ACTP engineering at INTEC,but when i login in the intec web,it says im doing ADTP,and i checked oso,registration date for ADTP is on 4th of JULY while ACTP is on 11th of JULY,and my offer letter asked me to register on 4th of JULY,anyone else is experiencing this prob?or experienced this prob?
woot woot!!hey i got actp for engineering too!!lol..yeah i checked out the web and stated adfp also..so i asked around with the seniors and they told me that we would have to do adfp for the first year as foundation then only we would have to actp.so there are two ways for us to fly to US..first is after foundation, given that you scored well in sat 1 and 2 as well as toefl and gained an admission into top unis in US..but if you don't get any admission then you have to do actp which is a first year degree program..then you will go to us as a transfer student..but it is confirmed if you go as transfer student..hope this helps answering ur question..
p/s:you can view my visitor's message on my profile where there is a conversation with a senior who is currently doing actp in intec..he is the one explained to me the process..lol..:)
victoria
25-06-2010, 08:30 PM
Is there any wifi connection at akasia? we have to pay how much for it?
prawnie
25-06-2010, 10:44 PM
Is there any wifi connection at akasia? we have to pay how much for it?
Yes. RM20 for registration fee, and RM100 per semester (5 months).
fiey111
26-06-2010, 12:36 AM
which 1 is better..wifi or broadband??
Abraham
26-06-2010, 07:03 AM
How is the speed? Unlimited downloads?
lesto
26-06-2010, 10:47 AM
How is the speed? Unlimited downloads?
Cendana has no wifi. :)
prawnie
26-06-2010, 11:41 AM
which 1 is better..wifi or broadband??
You'll have to ask someone who has tried both.
For wifi, the speed depends on where you use it. Some rooms get better connection, some rooms don't. And there are some websites that are blocked.
pinky
26-06-2010, 03:07 PM
for ausmatians, do we really need the laptop for the first two months? i'm planning to bring it after 2 months?
Primadonna
26-06-2010, 03:50 PM
[quote=terencegreen;335914]woot woot!!hey i got actp for engineering too!!lol..yeah i checked out the web and stated adfp also..so i asked around with the seniors and they told me
26-06-2010, 04:20 PM
I think for my year the students still could pay that registration fee on spot when they were registering. They usually will announce who has not paid the fee yet, so there you go. :)
Any seniors clarify this? I *think* only, not sure whether it is that Bank Islam payment..
Hi :) i would like to ask for A-Level Medicine, class starts at 8 and ends at?
Primadonna
26-06-2010, 10:08 PM
woot woot!!hey i got actp for engineering too!!lol..yeah i checked out the web and stated adfp also..so i asked around with the seniors and they told me that we would have to do adfp for the first year as foundation then only we would have to actp.so there are two ways for us to fly to US..first is after foundation, given that you scored well in sat 1 and 2 as well as toefl and gained an admission into top unis in US..but if you don't get any admission then you have to do actp which is a first year degree program..then you will go to us as a transfer student..but it is confirmed if you go as transfer student..hope this helps answering ur question..
p/s:you can view my visitor's message on my profile where there is a conversation with a senior who is currently doing actp in intec..he is the one explained to me the process..lol..:)
hw bout ADFP program? we taking the ADFP wil sit for SAT I and SAT subject tests in the end of this year? and we will apply for US uni using the SAT results we sat in the end of this year? we hav to apply all by ourself right? hw bout the essays and testimonials stuff?wouldn't it b all too rush? any seniors plz clarify this...
terencegreen
27-06-2010, 12:10 AM
hw bout ADFP program? we taking the ADFP wil sit for SAT I and SAT subject tests in the end of this year? and we will apply for US uni using the SAT results we sat in the end of this year? we hav to apply all by ourself right? hw bout the essays and testimonials stuff?wouldn't it b all too rush? any seniors plz clarify this...
i'm not a senior but i guess i can answer those question with YES!!haha..but don't worry as for the first sem we will be taught all about english[guess so..:p http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Education_Centre_(INTEC),_Malaysia#American_Degree_Foundation_Program_.28ADFP.29 ] so you don't have to worry about the whole SAT 1 and SAT 2 as well as TOEFL..as we will get time to cover our lost vocabs..haha..for the application stuffs..don't worry..i believe people did that before so it won't be that rushy lo..haha..i know a senior who did adfp in engineering at UNITEN flying this september..as she said it would be fine..so yeah i beleive her..it would be fine..lol..hope this help answering your qustions..just my ONE ringgit!!:laugh
[p/s:there will be a workshop for students who wants to study in US, conducted by Malaysian students who got admissions in Top US Unis, studying n one or an alumni in those unis.the workshop gonna be all about the application process and stuffs..so maybe it will be more helpful to hear from them who know the process..mabe you can visit their web and sign up yourself.. http://usapps2010.wordpress.com/ ]
Hi :) i would like to ask for A-Level Medicine, class starts at 8 and ends at?
ALM's timetable (especially 1st sem) are not tight. Believe me, other programs always envy ALM students because we are so free~ :laugh But having a less packed schedule does not mean less assignments and easier tests/exams.
Most of the classes started at 8 everyday but some (including my class) have one or two days started at 9 or 10. It depends on your class timetable. The latest your class ends is at 4 (my 1st sem,my class never end at 4 haha we got back earlier :amuse) Except if you have replacement classes, there may be a chance you got back at 5 or even 6.
The shortest class I have in a day is one hour from 11-12 :confetti
HaruHaru
27-06-2010, 01:23 AM
may i know isit worth to subscribe the wifi in the hostel??they got block anything?
prawnie
27-06-2010, 09:58 AM
may i know isit worth to subscribe the wifi in the hostel??they got block anything?
it depends on what you are using it for. if you want to watch movies/drama/play games online, i would say it's not worth it because the line is quite slow. if you use it for info-searching purposes, it should be ok. Do take note, Cendana DOES NOT have hostel wifi.
HaruHaru
27-06-2010, 01:15 PM
btw how much is it??they got block anything??msn??pps??
lesto
27-06-2010, 02:22 PM
Aren't you supposed to be staying in cendana? :huh
prawnie
27-06-2010, 04:02 PM
Please read previous posts before asking questions which may have been answered. MSN and Youtube are not blocked, but PPS is blocked.
Do take note:
ONLY Cemara and Akasia (for male seniors and female juniors+seniors) have this hostel wifi facility. Cendana (for long-programme male juniors) does not have hostel wifi facility.
Tysle
27-06-2010, 05:08 PM
Basically it's Baju Kebangsaan on Mondays and Fridays - most girls wear Baju Kurung and some Baju Kebaya (should not be body-hugging).
On other days - Long-sleeved shirts and Long pants/Long skirt. You can wear short-sleeved shirts/blouse but wear a jacket or cardigan on the outside.
However, I heard that the Japan programme students wear formal on weekdays except Mondays and Fridays. Not too sure about this.
Thanks for the reply.
For the other days, can we wear round-collared T-shirt with our cardigan? :)
prawnie
27-06-2010, 05:12 PM
Thanks for the reply.
For the other days, can we wear round-collared T-shirt with our cardigan? :)
Girls, yes.
Tysle
27-06-2010, 05:22 PM
Girls, yes.
Great. Thanks a lot. :D
chaiyeen
27-06-2010, 06:46 PM
Hey, it is a must for us to open a new account in bank islam? Or just pay the bill will do?
27-06-2010, 07:28 PM
Hey, it is a must for us to open a new account in bank islam? Or just pay the bill will do?
jz pay d bill will do.
HaruHaru
27-06-2010, 07:32 PM
erm,im currently stay in cemara hostel.
sorry becuz i din notice previous post. thanks for reply me.=)
Primadonna
27-06-2010, 08:46 PM
i'm not a senior but i guess i can answer those question with YES!!haha..but don't worry as for the first sem we will be taught all about english[guess so..:p http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/International_Education_Centre_(INTEC),_Malaysia#American_Degree_Foundation_Program_.28ADFP.29 ] so you don't have to worry about the whole SAT 1 and SAT 2 as well as TOEFL..as we will get time to cover our lost vocabs..haha..for the application stuffs..don't worry..i believe people did that before so it won't be that rushy lo..haha..i know a senior who did adfp in engineering at UNITEN flying this september..as she said it would be fine..so yeah i beleive her..it would be fine..lol..hope this help answering your qustions..just my ONE ringgit!!:laugh
[p/s:there will be a workshop for students who wants to study in US, conducted by Malaysian students who got admissions in Top US Unis, studying n one or an alumni in those unis.the workshop gonna be all about the application process and stuffs..so maybe it will be more helpful to hear from them who know the process..mabe you can visit their web and sign up yourself.. http://usapps2010.wordpress.com/ ]
the senior u mean is under JPA? she takes wat course? she is being admitted to which US uni?
yvonne91
27-06-2010, 09:24 PM
SAT subject test is optional. if you're planning to fly in one year, then the subject test is a must. for those who plan to fly in two years time, SAT I is actually not so important as compared to TOEFL. and yes, we have to translate our certificate, but only international and national certs. and some important certs that you think will help you. they don't really look at your certs. :) and then you give all your stuffs to the ossp ( a place where you will go very often when you are applying for unis) don't worry too much, it's still very long. even I, myself haven't have my TOEFL. Btw, not many people actually apply to fly in one year for JPA scholars. only those who are really really brilliant and talented and...hmm...excellent apply for it.:P
ALM's timetable (especially 1st sem) are not tight. Believe me, other programs always envy ALM students because we are so free~ :laugh But having a less packed schedule does not mean less assignments and easier tests/exams.
Most of the classes started at 8 everyday but some (including my class) have one or two days started at 9 or 10. It depends on your class timetable. The latest your class ends is at 4 (my 1st sem,my class never end at 4 haha we got back earlier :amuse) Except if you have replacement classes, there may be a chance you got back at 5 or even 6.
The shortest class I have in a day is one hour from 11-12 :confetti
OMG. what you've said is very true! when we were just on our way to intec, they finished their class..OMG. and it's 9am. :))
AnnieChan
27-06-2010, 09:58 PM
is there anything particular for us to prepare for the MMS ?
yvonne91
27-06-2010, 10:03 PM
is there anything paticular for us to prepare for the MMS ?
aha..sports attire. hmm..baju kurung...
lesto
27-06-2010, 11:55 PM
is there anything particular for us to prepare for the MMS ?
Lots and lots of sleep. :))
terencegreen
27-06-2010, 11:58 PM
the senior u mean is under JPA? she takes wat course? she is being admitted to which US uni?
yup she is under JPA..she did adfp at UNITen and got admission into University of Washington..[i bet we're degressing, ain't we??:huh]
chaiyeen
28-06-2010, 11:06 AM
according to the intec booklet,we nid to prepare a 'salinan laporan surat/sijil kesihatan'
Can someone answer this question? Thanks :amuse
bubblegirl
28-06-2010, 11:17 AM
aha..sports attire. hmm..baju kurung...
girls' sports attire need to be long-sleeved? or short-sleeved will do?:)
chaiyeen
28-06-2010, 11:27 AM
girls' sports attire need to be long-sleeved? or short-sleeved will do?:)
According to the INTEC booklet, short-sleeves during sports is allowed.
dee312
28-06-2010, 12:15 PM
i did my JPA medical check up at a private clinic.
because its stated in the instructions, "doktor persendirian" and he's our family doctor.
but at the top of the form, only government hospital/clinic or private hospital.
i'm quite confused but we're in such a hurry. so, we end up just going to a private clinic.
is it okay?
if its not, will the JPA ask me to do the checkup again?
200 is not a small amount. aiyoo.
yvonne91
28-06-2010, 01:19 PM
According to the INTEC booklet, short-sleeves during sports is allowed.
but, ppl don't wear short-sleeves, in case kena tangkap:P...and there will be intec and cemara long sleeve shirts for you. don't worry. they will assign you to wear the shirt for each day.
because its stated in the instructions, "doktor persendirian" and he's our family doctor.
but at the top of the form, only government hospital/clinic or private hospital.
i'm quite confused but we're in such a hurry. so, we end up just going to a private clinic.
is it okay?
actually, they don't really care about it. last time i did mine in private hospital. BUT, some did in private clinic. no one cares about it also. :P
Can someone answer this question? Thanks :amuse
hmm...i remember i didnt photocopy anything for the kesihatan part. :)
dee312
28-06-2010, 01:21 PM
oh thanks a lot yvonne!
(:
i called jpa and they said. "boleh, tapi kos tanggung sendiri"
(:
28-06-2010, 01:25 PM
is it okay?
JPa officer wont accept your medical check-up by private clinics...
But dont worry..INTEC will help you...
donut
28-06-2010, 02:11 PM
I dunno if anyone asked this yet. I am in a hurry actually. We are required to pay our registration fees is it? The RM250.00. Shouldn't our sponsors pay them for us?
I mean, i read this at the soalan lazim there? Hehe. So i am wondering.
Saya pelajar tajaan (MARA/KPM/KPT dan sebagainya), adakah saya perlu
hadir untuk pendaftaran dan membuat bayaran?
Pelajar yang ditaja perlu menyerahkan satu salinan surat perjanjian ke Zon Kewangan 16. Pelajar perlu membayar yuran pengajian kecuali dinyatakan di dalam surat perjanjian bahawa pihak universiti perlu menuntut daripada penaja. Pelajar ini perlu hadir ke Zon 16 bagi tujuan pengesahan penajaan.
I remember reading that if we are under sponsorship we don't ahve to pay le.
i called jpa and they said. "boleh, tapi kos tanggung sendiri"
(:
Thanks so much for this! Cause i went to do at private also since they said persendirian can. Hehe. :)
28-06-2010, 02:12 PM
I dunno if anyone asked this yet. I am in a hurry actually. We are required to pay our registration fees is it? The RM250.00. Shouldn't our sponsors pay them for us?
Pelajar yang ditaja perlu menyerahkan satu salinan surat perjanjian ke Zon Kewangan 16. Pelajar perlu membayar yuran pengajian kecuali dinyatakan di dalam surat perjanjian bahawa pihak universiti perlu menuntut daripada penaja. Pelajar ini perlu hadir ke Zon 16 bagi tujuan pengesahan penajaan.
Thanks so much for this! Cause i went to do at private also since they said persendirian can. Hehe. :)
The RM250 is for you to pay.
It's like college registration fee...
donut
28-06-2010, 02:34 PM
The RM250 is for you to pay.
It's like college registration fee...
Okayy. and i guess my sponsor won't pay me abck as well. wah, i'm getting broke and i haven't gone studying yet. XD THANKYOU! :)
28-06-2010, 02:41 PM
Okayy. and i guess my sponsor won't pay me abck as well. wah, i'm getting broke and i haven't gone studying yet. XD THANKYOU! :)
save up some money since you will only will get scholarship allowances after around 3 to 4 months after enrolling.
But the good thing about that, you will have plenty of money to be spent then.
tracy12
28-06-2010, 02:56 PM
can we wear formal wear(slack and long sleeves shirt) on registration day??
or we have to wear baju kurung??
28-06-2010, 03:04 PM
It is advisable to wear baju kurung because baju kurung is one of the main attire in UiTM. Girls need to wear baju kurung for every Monday and Friday.
chaiyeen
28-06-2010, 03:31 PM
hmm...i remember i didnt photocopy anything for the kesihatan part. :)
Ohhh so I just ignore the 'salinan sijil kesihatan'? :huh
yvonne91
28-06-2010, 03:50 PM
aha.i was one of the weirdo who wore formal wear. again, no one cares. but you will look odd. so it is more advisable to wear baju kurung. BUT, you will need to wear again on monday. 'coz i got only one baju kurung when i first came in, i terpaksa wore formal wear on tat first Sunday. actually 5 out of 100 wore formal wear.:P
aiping
28-06-2010, 03:52 PM
For girls, we have to wear baju kurung on registration day..
Page 12(Intec Booklet), Sahsiah rupa diri semasa mendaftar
Pelajar siswi hendaklah memakai baju kurung dan berkasut.
Pelajar siswa hendaklah memakai baju kemeja, berseluar "slack" dan berkasut.
:)Hope this can help you
yvonne91
28-06-2010, 03:57 PM
Ohhh so I just ignore the 'salinan sijil kesihatan'? :huh
wait. this one i am not very sure though. i remember i doubted about this also last time. and i remember calling intec. aha. :P okie, i double confirmed with my friends. no need to photocopy . just hand in the original results.
lesto
28-06-2010, 04:19 PM
Actually, if you are under JPA sponsorship, you will need to pay the registration fees. Other sponsors (eg. Petronas, MARA, TNB, EXCEPT JPA) will pay for your fees, so you don't have to do so.
chaiyeen
28-06-2010, 04:22 PM
wait. this one i am not very sure though. i remember i doubted about this also last time. and i remember calling intec. aha. :P okie, i double confirmed with my friends. no need to photocopy . just hand in the original results.
Okay thanks :))
How about the 'Salinan Surat Tawaran'?
donut
28-06-2010, 04:30 PM
save up some money since you will only will get scholarship allowances after around 3 to 4 months after enrolling.
But the good thing about that, you will have plenty of money to be spent then.
:] Hee. So much money to be taken out in one go, that is very saddening. anyway, Thanks again! :))
aha.i was one of the weirdo who wore formal wear. again, no one cares. but you will look odd. so it is more advisable to wear baju kurung. BUT, you will need to wear again on monday. 'coz i got only one baju kurung when i first came in, i terpaksa wore formal wear on tat first Sunday. actually 5 out of 100 wore formal wear.:P
So, it is advised that during registration day, we wear baju kurung is it? i mean, to look blend in? :P hehe
Actually, if you are under JPA sponsorship, you will need to pay the registration fees. Other sponsors (eg. Petronas, MARA, TNB, EXCEPT JPA) will pay for your fees, so you don't have to do so.
Ahh. Thanks lesto! :)
That refers to the letter our sponsor sent to us rite? I photostated that one and had it sahkan. :]
yvonne91
28-06-2010, 05:34 PM
Okay thanks :))
yup. this one i did photocopy and get it certify as well. :))
yuhoo,, donut...yes, baju kurung is preferable.
*when i saw your name, i thought of my friend who wrote 'donut' in her test last time. and the lecturer says: it's doughnut!not donut.hahahah....* okie, fine. not funny.:)
aiping
28-06-2010, 06:07 PM
Do we need to bring X-ray film along?
Last time, my senior brought it. So, I'm confused.
yvonne91
28-06-2010, 06:14 PM
Do we need to bring X-ray film along?
Last time, my senior brought it. So, I'm confused.
i brought it as well . but no use at all. no one looks at it. we don't even need to hand in to anyone. but just in case, bring it. ~ i brought it for the first few days of MMS..~:notrust
fiey111
28-06-2010, 10:20 PM
guys..
i've olredy paid rm 250 last wednesday..
but the status at intec uitm website still state that 'belum dibayar'..
what should i do??
28-06-2010, 10:24 PM
guys..
i've olredy paid rm 250 last wednesday..
but the status at intec uitm website still state that 'belum dibayar'..
what should i do??
call the intec people and confirm it with them...
You might need the copy of payment slip for prove
fiey111
28-06-2010, 10:26 PM
thanx a lot for the quick respond..^_^
AnnieChan
28-06-2010, 10:40 PM
are there any books that we have to buy yet?
28-06-2010, 10:41 PM
are there any books that we have to buy yet?
the lecturer will tell you when the class starts.
So dont worry much~
Tysle
28-06-2010, 10:47 PM
Just to clarify, JPA doesn't not tanggung sepenuhnya for our course at INTEC that's why we need to pay RM 250 for yuran-yuran lain. The purple box shows the scholarships that tanggung sepenuhnya for it's scholars and JPA is not one of them. ;)
http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas/
vampiric_guy_01
29-06-2010, 08:33 AM
Just wanna ask something but dunno whether is racist or not ...just curious..
how many percentage of the population there is chinese ?(just curious cos i'm a chinese from mrsm where only 5% there is chinese)
are there many christian ?
donut
29-06-2010, 01:26 PM
yuhoo,, donut...yes, baju kurung is preferable.
*when i saw your name, i thought of my friend who wrote 'donut' in her test last time. and the lecturer says: it's doughnut!not donut.hahahah....* okie, fine. not funny.:)
Hahaha. The *okie not funny* is funny =D Hahaha. I <3 eating donuts :))
Ooh, okay. Baju Kurung it is! THANKS!
Just to clarify, JPA doesn't not tanggung sepenuhnya for our course at INTEC that's why we need to pay RM 250 for yuran-yuran lain. The purple box shows the scholarships that tanggung sepenuhnya for it's scholars and JPA is not one of them. ;)
http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas/
Oooh. Ah, I ignore everything else there and straight submitting in my IC. Hehe. Paiseh lorh! Thanks Tysle!! I just paid this morning also! =D THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU :laugh
whiteknight
29-06-2010, 01:53 PM
how many percentage of the population there is chinese ?(just curious cos i'm a chinese from mrsm where only 5% there is chinese)
Hmmmm........ I'm a Christian! Try googling Campus Alive. There should be a sizeable population if I'm not mistaken. I'll probably join that! I can't answer the former due to lack of knowledge.
lesto
29-06-2010, 04:37 PM
There is quite a number of Chinese in INTEC, I would say roughly around 30-35% of students in INTEC are Chinese.
Are you a Christian yourself? If you are, and to all others reading too, I invite you guys to come and join us at Campus Alive. It's actually a Christian Fellowship held for the students of INTEC. More details at our blog www.campusalive.wordpress.com or if you have any other enquiries you can always ask me too... =) Hope to see you there.
Hmmmm........ I'm a Christian! Try googling Campus Alive. There should be a sizeable population if I'm not mistaken. I'll probably join that! I can't answer the former due to lack of knowledge.
Hey there! Really glad to hear your interest in joining campus alive. Looking forward in seeing you juniors!
vampiric_guy_01
29-06-2010, 09:37 PM
of course i'm a christian ..if not why i ask? lol
but i don't really go to church always cos my life is kind of busy (form 4 n 5 in boarding school) ... both my parents are christian so i am a christian too ..and i believe in Jesus Christ and looking forward to understand more on it ....
Tysle
29-06-2010, 11:31 PM
Hahaha. The *okie not funny* is funny =D Hahaha. I <3 eating donuts :))
Ooh, okay. Baju Kurung it is! THANKS!
Oooh. Ah, I ignore everything else there and straight submitting in my IC. Hehe. Paiseh lorh! Thanks Tysle!! I just paid this morning also! =D THANKYOUTHANKYOUTHANKYOU :laugh
Haha and your welcome Donut. :D Would love to meet you all in real life.
From, what I've heard Campus Alive which is the CF there is really active and awesome! I'll definitely be joining Campus Alive there. Here's the website:
http://campusalive.wordpress.com/
You can even read up more about INTEC in the INTEC-All About It! section on the page. :D
Oops, did not see Lesto's post in being over excited in talking about CA. Sorry.
AnnieChan
29-06-2010, 11:50 PM
start packing, people :)
freylifej
30-06-2010, 01:00 AM
I've packed my bantal+sarung bantal and cadar only...hahaha
chaiyeen
30-06-2010, 01:19 AM
I'm halfway packing hehehe. I'm thinking whether to bring a thick or thin blanket. Will it be cold/ cool there at night?
AnnieChan
30-06-2010, 01:20 AM
how am i suppose to pack my bantal? XP hahha..
note to self : get your lazy ass up and start packing. XD
30-06-2010, 01:24 AM
I'm halfway packing hehehe. I'm thinking whether to bring a thick or thin blanket. Will it be cold/ cool there at night?
believe me!
DAMN HOT!!!
AnnieChan
30-06-2010, 01:26 AM
:laugh give me motivation to start :P it'll be warm. no a/c mah :notrust:))
pinky
30-06-2010, 01:29 AM
believe me!
DAMN HOT!!!
i cant stand HOT nights! :cry
AnnieChan
30-06-2010, 01:49 AM
take a cold shower before you sleep XP
freylifej
30-06-2010, 02:08 AM
I dun think ba...if cold then wear long pants and jacket then the next coming week bring a thicker one...hahahaha
jinong
30-06-2010, 11:26 AM
do we hav to bring our own sport attire or we hav to buy there?
chaiyeen
30-06-2010, 11:30 AM
believe me!
DAMN HOT!!!
Super bad news :cry
I feel like bringing an extra table fan, should I? :notrust
yvonne91
30-06-2010, 11:42 AM
do we hav to bring our own sport attire or we hav to buy there?
sport attire as in the one you need for MMS? or just sports? :) If it's for MMS, bring your own tracksuit, shoes and u will have to buy your intec and cemara/akasia/cendana shirt when you're there. If it's for your own sport activity, aha, of course, your own T-shirt. no need to buy. :P
Super bad news :cry
I feel like bringing an extra table fan, should I? :notrust
many did that. it is advisable to have a fan. you will sweat when you sleep. and when you wake up, your back would be totally wet. that's what happened to my friends. IT'S WET!!!!but when the monsoon season comes, yeah yeah, ahhhhh...so nice to sleep even without the fan...so , FAN FAN FAN...:))
donut
30-06-2010, 12:00 PM
Haha and your welcome Donut. :D Would love to meet you all in real life.
From, what I've heard Campus Alive which is the CF there is really active and awesome! I'll definitely be joining Campus Alive there. Here's the website:
http://campusalive.wordpress.com/
You can even read up more about INTEC in the INTEC-All About It! section on the page. :D
Oops, did not see Lesto's post in being over excited in talking about CA. Sorry.
Me too :] We'll be meeting you soon rite? In just a few more days. Haha :P
The more the merrier, this means you are enthusiastic about this Campus Alive :D
chaiyeen
30-06-2010, 12:37 PM
sport attire as in the one you need for MMS? or just sports? :) If it's for MMS, bring your own tracksuit, shoes and u will have to buy your intec and cemara/akasia/cendana shirt when you're there. If it's for your own sport activity, aha, of course, your own T-shirt. no need to buy. :P
many did that. it is advisable to have a fan. you will sweat when you sleep. and when you wake up, your back would be totally wet. that's what happened to my friends. IT'S WET!!!!but when the monsoon season comes, yeah yeah, ahhhhh...so nice to sleep even without the fan...so , FAN FAN FAN...:))
OK I am bringing one!!!! :cry I will definitely miss the a/c.
jinong
30-06-2010, 12:39 PM
meaning we r wearing sport attire for the whole week of mms?
freylifej
30-06-2010, 12:44 PM
Emmm...I have a question here...hope seniors can help me on it...Can I apply for a 2week's holiday for an exchange program? I am looking forward to participate in an exchange program and they accepted me but my problem now is my school days..Will INTEC and JPA allow me to apply for holiday to attend this exchange program?
[quote=yvonne91;337481]sport attire as in the one you need for MMS? or just sports? :) If it's for MMS, bring your own tracksuit, shoes and u will have to buy your intec and cemara/akasia/cendana shirt when you're there. If it's for your own sport activity, aha, of course, your own T-shirt. no need to buy. :P
meaning we r wearing sport attire for the whole week of mms?
I thought we dun have any vigorous activities that need sports attire during the week?? >.<
30-06-2010, 01:16 PM
I thought we dun have any vigorous activities that need sports attire during the week?? >.<
Usually you will have one aerobic sessions.
And you will have outdoor discussion session. So it's more comfortable to be in sports attire.
yvonne91
30-06-2010, 01:31 PM
Emmm...I have a question here...hope seniors can help me on it...Can I apply for a 2week's holiday for an exchange program? I am looking forward to participate in an exchange program and they accepted me but my problem now is my school days..Will INTEC and JPA allow me to apply for holiday to attend this exchange program?
[QUOTE=jinong;337505]
for the holiday right, i think you have to ask intec and jpa. JPA once said: kalau aktiviti itu menganggu pelajaran harian anda, anda tidak dibenarkan berbuat demikian.
you may ask the jpa officers when they have their talk in INTEC. Q&A is available at the end of the session. you question is appropriate to be asked there. :)
jinong
30-06-2010, 01:44 PM
i really hav problem filling in the forms inside the intec book,b4 this i decided to leave them blank and fill them in during our registration,but i rechecked and realised there are alot of spaces i left blank,so im asking here...
BORANG PENDAFTARAN PELAJAR BARU(pg 25)
KAMPUS/Fakulti: intec i suppose?
BORANG MAKLUMAT PELAJAR BARU(pg 27)
PROGRAM:what shld i write?ADFP or ACTP?or something else?
Warna: (juz below no. kad pengenalan)juz leave blank or blue?
B. Nama Suami/Isteri/Waris:lol who shld i put here?leave blank?
iii. MAKLUMAAT AKAMEDIK how shld we fill in the table? these are the info we shld fill into the table-kelulusan,pangkat,nama sekolah,tahun masuk/tamat
BAHAGIAN PERKHIDMATAN PELANGGAN & PENGURUSAN KOLEKSI PERPUSTAKAAN INTEC (pg 31)
NO. ID PELAJAR:just put the no. pelajar?the 201060... thing?
FAKULTI/PUSAT/UNIT:again?
UiTM KAMPUS: INTEC?
TARIKH MASUK/TAMAT:4/7/2010 til?
KATEGORI PELANGGAN:so we r pelajar sepenuh masa rite?
LAPORAN PEMERIKSAAN KESIHATAN(pg 33)
Bahagian 1
Sesi Kemasukan: its a 4 digits number?
Kampus: again...
ok,thats all,sry for asking so many questions,and mayb my post is a repeated post..but its juz hard to search thru 40 pg+ thread,so pls help :)
freylifej
30-06-2010, 02:22 PM
for the holiday right, i think you have to ask intec and jpa. JPA once said: kalau aktiviti itu menganggu pelajaran harian anda, anda tidak dibenarkan berbuat demikian.
you may ask the jpa officers when they have their talk in INTEC. Q&A is available at the end of the session. you question is appropriate to be asked there. :)
Ok..thanks for answering me..=)
bubblegirl
30-06-2010, 03:38 PM
Hmm..just want to ask..when is intec's semester break?
Do we have holidays when schools' holidays? such as march, june, august and sept-dec holiday..
Tysle
30-06-2010, 04:08 PM
Me too :] We'll be meeting you soon rite? In just a few more days. Haha :P
The more the merrier, this means you are enthusiastic about this Campus Alive :D
I guess I am. :D In fact, I heard that they have prepared goody bags for us juniors who are coming in.
See you on Sunday. :)
i really hav problem filling in the forms inside the intec book,b4 this i decided to leave them blank and fill them in during our registration,but i rechecked and realised there are alot of spaces i left blank,so im asking here...
iii. MAKLUMAAT AKAMEDIK how shld we fill in the table? these are the info we shld fill into the table-kelulusan,pangkat,nama sekolah,tahun masuk/tamat
Bahagian 1
ok,thats all,sry for asking so many questions,and mayb my post is a repeated post..but its juz hard to search thru 40 pg+ thread,so pls help :)
hey, i'm not a senior, but i believe this is how it's filled:
KAMPUS/Fakulti: sorry, no idea on this one. i'm leaving it blank till i get there.
PROGRAM: it's the one that shows when you log into the INTEC website to get your bill. like a-level medicine, for example.
Warna: biru
B. Nama Suami/Isteri/Waris: unless you're married, your waris refers to your parents
iii. MAKLUMAAT AKAMEDIK how shld we fill in the table? these are the info we shld fill into the table-
kelulusan: SPM
pangkat: i'm not sure, so i'm leaving it blank, but should be your spm results?
nama sekolah: your sch's name la..
tahun masuk/tamat: the year you entered the school and the year you left it (2009)
NO. ID PELAJAR:yes, it's the 201060...
FAKULTI/PUSAT/UNIT: no idea
UiTM KAMPUS: no idea
TARIKH MASUK/TAMAT: leave it blank. you don't know this. none of us do. haha.
KATEGORI PELANGGAN:yes. it's S1
Bahagian 1
Sesi Kemasukan: 2010
Kampus: no idea. again.
sorry for the parts i don't know, but i think the rest should be right. anyone correct me if i'm wrong. =)
jinong
30-06-2010, 04:37 PM
thx for ur answer,waiting for seniors to answer the part that she doesnt oso..
anyway,i hav another question here,where can we get BORANG DAFTAR PELANGGAN(PERPUSTAKAAN)?
Its stated in the senarai semakan semasa pendaftaran,and i cant find anything like this,i can only find BORANG DATA PELANGGAN,but the senarai stated both daftar and data,so i believe they r 2 different forms..so where can i get it?
prawnie
30-06-2010, 04:59 PM
Hmm..just want to ask..when is intec's semester break?
Do we have holidays when schools' holidays? such as march, june, august and sept-dec holiday..
well it depends on what programme you're in. ALM holidays are about the same as the government primary and secondary school holidays - march holidays, august/september holidays, and november-december holidays. mid-year holiday usually starts in the middle or end of may, and ends either end of june or beginning of july.
ADFP students have very short holidays except the one in year-end.
You will know your when semester breaks start after you've registered in INTEC. You can check it online through student portal after the registration is done.
lynn0915
30-06-2010, 05:03 PM
MAKLUMAAT AKAMEDIK
SPM - (results) - school name and 2005/2009 if you didn't transfer during secondary school
BAHAGIAN PERKHIDMATAN PELANGGAN & PENGURUSAN KOLEKSI PERPUSTAKAAN INTEC
i wrote this..
nama kolej/institusi : international education centre (intec)
bidang pengajian : farmasi
negara/program : new zealand / australia matriculation (ausmat)
from previous posts, for bahagian perkhidmatan pelanggan & pengurusan koleksi,
fakulti/pusat/unit : INTEC
UiTM kampus : shah alam
i think i'm gonna put like that.
any seniors pls correct me if i'm wrong.
for the borang daftar/data pelanggan,
is there any different with borang data pelanggan and borang daftar pelanggan? i dont have borang data daftar pelanggan. do u have it anniechan?
nope.. just the borang data pelanggan only.
as i know, many of us only have borang data pelanggan
Abraham
30-06-2010, 05:32 PM
Seniors, I have a question. Do we have electric plug in our own room? I wanna open my laptop whole night and download torrents. I need at least 20 Gb of torrents a month, so I need to access to electricity at night the whole time.
yvonne91
30-06-2010, 05:40 PM
Seniors, I have a question. Do we have electric plug in our own room? I wanna open my laptop whole night and download torrents. I need at least 20 Gb of torrents a month, so I need to access to electricity at night the whole time.
of course you'll have it. in the kitchen, in front of your own table, in the room. many. but some of them cannot be used. =D
oopss, forgot to remind this. better keep your laptop, even at night, when you're sleeping. pencurian laptop is very very very popular at akasia as well as cemara. Even if your laptop is in the locker itself, it is not safe. they will break open it.
KwHau
30-06-2010, 05:44 PM
anyway,i hav another question here,where can we get BORANG DAFTAR PELANGGAN(PERPUSTAKAAN)?
Its stated in the senarai semakan semasa pendaftaran,and i cant find anything like this,i can only find BORANG DATA PELANGGAN,but the senarai stated both daftar and data,so i believe they r 2 different forms..so where can i get it?
Yeap having the same problem here. But after looking through posts and searching through the documents I was convinced that there are the same.
Or rather theres only a Borang Data Pelanggan and no Borang Daftar Pelanggan
Anyone who has one is free to let me know :amuse
yvonne91
30-06-2010, 05:54 PM
OK I am bringing one!!!! :cry I will definitely miss the a/c.
If you really need the air-cond that much, haha, go to the study room!!!!!! you'll have the air-cond and a nice place to study. :))
Bahagian 1
okay,
kampus/ fakulti : INTEC, Uitm
program : are you an ADFP student? if yes, ADFP. and not ACTP. ACTP-ians are the seniors. :))
i guess other questions were answered. :)
30-06-2010, 06:11 PM
of course you'll have it. in the kitchen, in front of your own table, in the room. many. but some of them cannot be used. =D
oopss, forgot to remind this. better keep your laptop, even at night, when you're sleeping. pencurian laptop is very very very popular at akasia as well as cemara. Even if your laptop is in the locker itself, it is not safe. they will break open it.
I guess you are a male...
20GB of torrents, you surely are heavy downloader, so I advice you not to subscribe mobile broadband.
I'm not sure of robbery cases in Cendana, better have a Cendana senior to confirm about it.
You will have plenty of plugs, In Akasia, one plug per room but got more at the pantry and study tables. But I advice you to bring extension. You dont have to pay for electric charges but have to pay RM10 per electric appliances(all appliaces which use electric) in every semester.
syairahusna
30-06-2010, 07:08 PM
Hello everybody.. I've been watching this thread for quite sometime and now, I hv some serious problem...
Okay.. It's about the registration fee..
When my ayah went to bank Islam to pay 'em, the officer said the student ID supposed to be 13-digits and not 10-digit..
Anyone could explain this to me?
Thanks in advance..
terencegreen
30-06-2010, 07:18 PM
Hello everybody.. I've been watching this thread for quite sometime and now, I hv some serious problem...
Okay.. It's about the registration fee..
When my ayah went to bank Islam to pay 'em, the officer said the student ID supposed to be 13-digits and not 10-digit..
Anyone could explain this to me?
Thanks in advance..
yup..the id is the bil number..for example mine..2010XXXXXX701..the first ten numbers are your student id..last 3 numbers would be the 701 i think..better you check at the billing site in intec web..there is a column stating ur bill number..hope this helps..
p/s:intec billing web n case you don't know http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas/
syairahusna
30-06-2010, 07:31 PM
yup..the id is the bil number..for example mine..2010XXXXXX701..the first ten numbers are your student id..last 3 numbers would be the 701 i think..better you check at the billing site in intec web..there is a column stating ur bill number..hope this helps..
p/s:intec billing web n case you don't know http://topaz.kampus17.uitm.edu.my/nsas/
Hi Terence, thanks for replying in a quick manner..
Back to billing, I've checked the billing web but it stated there that my bill has not been generated yet..
and yes, I've got that 2010xxxxxxx thingy but without 701 or any 3-digits more
30-06-2010, 07:35 PM
Hi Terence, thanks for replying in a quick manner..
Back to billing, I've checked the billing web but it stated there that my bill has not been generated yet..
and yes, I've got that 2010xxxxxxx thingy but without 701 or any 3-digits more
syaira, go back to that website. If seriously the bill isnt up yet, call intec... They will help you
syairahusna
30-06-2010, 07:48 PM
syaira, go back to that website. If seriously the bill isnt up yet, call intec... They will help you
Well, I checked the billing web for everyday since last Monday.. :( Haiz.. :cry
I Seriously think I should call INTEC now..:nod
Thanks nemosmknimh...:)
30-06-2010, 07:55 PM
nemo would do!
Welcome to INTEC!
vampiric_guy_01
30-06-2010, 08:03 PM
erm..mind if i ask? isn't there any fan in the hostel that we have to bring a fan ? seems like have to bring the whole house to there ..@<hidden>@<hidden> ....
so many matter to be think i gonna nuts.....
vampiric_guy_01
30-06-2010, 08:05 PM
erm..mind if i ask? isn't there any fan in the bedroom of the hostel(cendana) till we need to bring a fan ?? seems like better bring the whole house there..lol
so many thing to thinks ...
30-06-2010, 08:10 PM
erm..mind if i ask? isn't there any fan in the bedroom of the hostel(cendana) till we need to bring a fan ?? seems like better bring the whole house there..lol
so many thing to thinks ...
I guess there got fan but still hot, seriously!
vampiric_guy_01
30-06-2010, 08:14 PM
==!! dunno wat to say alrd...... just can 走着瞧...
fird126
30-06-2010, 08:37 PM
if i'm not mistaken u r BNM scholar right? if that's the case, ur bill won't be generated because u don't have to pay anything. there's a column in the page where you have to key-in ur I/C number explaining that BNM , Felda, TNB etc scholars don't have to pay anything because u are fully sponsored including the registration fees. :)
donut
30-06-2010, 08:58 PM
I guess I am. :D In fact, I heard that they have prepared goody bags for us juniors who are coming in.
See you on Sunday. :)
Haha. Haik! See you! :]
*It would be funny seeing everyone asking people are they recommers XD Hahaha*
vampiric_guy_01
30-06-2010, 09:40 PM
Yeap having the same problem here. But after looking through posts and searching through the documents I was convinced that there are the same.
Or rather theres only a Borang Data Pelanggan and no Borang Daftar Pelanggan
Anyone who has one is free to let me know :amuse
same case with me too.,...so how? any solution??
at the senarai semakan semasa pendaftaran (INTEC book)
no 8. salinan laporan pemeriksaan kesihatan
we need to photocopy the JPA one or no need to bother that ?
because JPA give us 2 medical check up forms....
30-06-2010, 09:45 PM
same case with me too.,...so how? any solution??
at the senarai semakan semasa pendaftaran (INTEC book)
no 8. salinan laporan pemeriksaan kesihatan
we need to photocopy the JPA one or no need to bother that ?
because JPA give us 2 medical check up forms....
The 2 med check up form will be given to JPA.
And JPA will give one copy of that to INTEC.
So dont bother bout it.
vampiric_guy_01
30-06-2010, 10:23 PM
thanks..u really helped a lot
Bahagian 1
erm..correct me if i'm wrong but the LAPORAN PEMERIKSAAN KESIHATAN pg 33 is for private student only isn't it?
AnnieChan
30-06-2010, 10:27 PM
not sure.. many just filled it up together with the two copies of JPA's medical form to be on the safe side..
bubblegirl
30-06-2010, 10:28 PM
well it depends on what programme you're in. ALM holidays are about the same as the government primary and secondary school holidays - march holidays, august/september holidays, and november-december holidays. mid-year holiday usually starts in the middle or end of may, and ends either end of june or beginning of july.
ADFP students have very short holidays except the one in year-end.
You will know your when semester breaks start after you've registered in INTEC. You can check it online through student portal after the registration is done.
ic..bt I am AUSMAT student..:))
anyway, thx for d info..
30-06-2010, 10:38 PM
For Ausmat students, you will have plenty of holidays!!!!
Just look at the calender...
Whenever the normal schools have holidays, you are also have it..
chaiyeen
30-06-2010, 11:10 PM
For Ausmat students, you will have plenty of holidays!!!!
Just look at the calender...
Whenever the normal schools have holidays, you are also have it..
This is what I like the most :laugh:laugh:laugh:laugh:laugh
lesto
30-06-2010, 11:13 PM
I guess you are a male...
20GB of torrents, you surely are heavy downloader, so I advice you not to subscribe mobile broadband.
I'm not sure of robbery cases in Cendana, better have a Cendana senior to confirm about it.
You will have plenty of plugs, In Akasia, one plug per room but got more at the pantry and study tables. But I advice you to bring extension. You dont have to pay for electric charges but have to pay RM10 per electric appliances(all appliaces which use electric) in every semester.
20GB. Wow. Even P1 Wimax wouldn't be enough for you...
I've not heard of missing laptop cases before in my stay in Cendana for the last 2 semesters. I highly advise you not to leave your laptop on its own in the hall middle of the night tho. Better to be safe than sorry.
Just to let you know, officers have access to your room anytime because they have the keys. At times, they will pass keys to people like handymen, plumber, cleaners to manage your room's repair works. So, if you leave your laptops around, you are encouraging them to take it!
Cendana has ample of electric plugs. There are 6 plugs in the living room, 4 in each bedroom and 2 in the toilet area.
Tysle
30-06-2010, 11:57 PM
If it's not safe even in the locker, then what am I to do with the laptop? There doesn't seem to be any better place to put it.
yvonne91
01-07-2010, 12:04 AM
If it's not safe even in the locker, then what am I to do with the laptop? There doesn't seem to be any better place to put it.
yup,obviously no other place. so pray hard..aha. my friend locked her room and someone even broke the lock. it's her room, and not the unit.
01-07-2010, 12:06 AM
yup,obviously no other place. so pray hard..aha. my friend locked her room and someone even broke the lock. it's her room, and not the unit.
That depends on which block you are in...
Block 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 are more prone to robbery...
So far Block 6, 7, 8 and 9 are quite safe because it's near to guards...
but better beware...
lesto
01-07-2010, 12:06 AM
Get good locks for your locker. Make sure your locker cannot be pried open. Maybe you can lock your laptop bag too? If you realise your locker can be pried open/spoiled or needs repair, inform the officers at the hostel's office immediately.
vampiric_guy_01
01-07-2010, 12:09 AM
how about the security in cendana ? cos my frens n i all plan to bring laptop..worried ..==
yvonne91
01-07-2010, 12:11 AM
That depends on which block you are in...
Block 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 are more prone to robbery...
So far Block 6, 7, 8 and 9 are quite safe because it's near to guards...
but better beware...
that's what i hated so much. we had been moving from block 2 to block 1..aha...which the security is becoming worse.:notrust ppl can just jump inside through the fence at the back . and due to the increase in cases, there are some rs patrolling at night. and they even added lights at the fence itself..:amuse
btw, don't worry too much. lappies shouldnt be a problem.. teehee...^_^
01-07-2010, 12:20 AM
how about the security in cendana ? cos my frens n i all plan to bring laptop..worried ..==
Cendana should be relatively safe as you all will be living practically next to a Balai Polis
vampiric_guy_01
01-07-2010, 08:29 AM
we just can go in and out of the hostel anytime or got time restriction ?
Abraham
01-07-2010, 09:31 AM
Senior in my hometown says even cendana which is near police station also got people's thing being stolen. And after reading these posts, I think will only download things in the morning with myself at the front of the laptop supervising it.
But... even i put in the locker will be stolen, then what should I put my laptop at night then if cendana is the same as cemara and akasia?
prawnie
01-07-2010, 09:42 AM
There's curfew - Everyone must be back in the hostel by 11.00pm. But I heard that it's not that strict for the guys, VERY strict for the girls. Still, the rule is that Everyone must be back in the hostel by 11.00pm.
Senior in my hometown says even cendana which is near police station also got people's thing being stolen. And after reading these posts, I think will only download things in the morning with myself at the front of the laptop supervising it.
But... even i put in the locker will be stolen, then what should I put my laptop at night then if cendana is the same as cemara and akasia?
I've heard of quite a number of lost-laptop cases in Cendana, most of it occurred because the laptops were left unattended at the 'living room'. So far I have not heard of cases where laptops in lockers were being stolen. It's the same in Cemara and Akasia, where the laptops that were stolen were left unsupervised too.
donut
01-07-2010, 11:18 AM
I ask ho, we register this Saturday is at Akasia there rite? Not INTEC, UiTM campus rite?
Paiseh.
01-07-2010, 11:19 AM
I ask ho, we register this Saturday is at Akasia there rite? Not INTEC, UiTM campus rite?
Paiseh.
yup
at akasia cemara...
boys will reister at Cendana
donut
01-07-2010, 11:22 AM
yup
at akasia cemara...
boys will reister at Cendana
:D Thanks nemo! Or else I'll be going to the wrong place later.
lesto
01-07-2010, 03:26 PM
Don't worry too much tho. ALMOST everyone in INTEC has a laptop, i think. Just be careful where you put your expensive belongings, never leave it unattended, always lock them up in your locker, and LOCK your main doors. Some of the stolen laptop cases happened because they simply didn't lock their doors!
Yes, true, Cendana is not so strict but try not to be back after 11pm. The guards there won't look too happy but they will allow you to enter. However, after 12pm, the Cendana gate closes by this time, and you'll have trouble entering the hostel by then.
Paiseh.
You register on Saturday?? Not Sunday meh?
freylifej
01-07-2010, 03:36 PM
Paiseh.
Eh? not Sunday meh?:huh
Abraham
01-07-2010, 04:32 PM
My form says 4 July. If it is Saturday I am a dead person right now.
01-07-2010, 04:35 PM
My form says 4 July. If it is Saturday I am a dead person right now.
july 4 is a sunday leh
jeffreyyeoh
01-07-2010, 04:51 PM
can a person who got imu twinning programme be my roommate(I got mmc) as we will be studying the same thing ,A-level medicine?
vampiric_guy_01
01-07-2010, 07:21 PM
its 4th july . Sun ..bah ...!!==
donut
01-07-2010, 11:03 PM
You register on Saturday?? Not Sunday meh?
OHH! PAISEH ne! I didn't realise I said Saturday. Paiseh =/
I must have write wrong. Sunday Sunday.
its 4th july . Sun ..bah ...!!==
Oops. I didn't know one of my mistype could lead to such a rage =/. Mianada. Sorry Sorry. It's Sunday. Paiseh.
vampiric_guy_01
02-07-2010, 08:35 AM
maybe its because u can't wait too register ~ so eager o? donut u going for wat course?
donut
02-07-2010, 09:19 AM
maybe its because u can't wait too register ~ so eager o? donut u going for wat course?
Hahaha. Sorry yeah guys. =O very paiseh. Me? I'm going A levels. You le?
terencegreen
02-07-2010, 09:42 AM
one question, do we have water cooler in our hostels in cendana??thnks in advance..