View Full Version : Discussion: Appeals to NUS
extrio
23-05-2010, 01:32 AM
Hey anyone considering appealing to NUS ? See the thing is, i was offered a course in NUS but it wasn't my first choice..appealing is my only possible chance..(if its possible)..anyways..anyone who's familiar with this would u pls offer a piece of advice or something? ...
mitsukolyn
23-05-2010, 01:37 PM
may i know what is ur first choice? Usually if it was a very competitive courses like Medicine, Dentistry and Pharmacy, you can give it a try but the chances are low...But I'm not sure about it...Maybe I'll let other experienced seniors to answer your queries...Im sorry that I am unable to answer you...
extrio
24-05-2010, 12:22 AM
yeah...i guess its gonna be really hard..was kinda bummed when i dint get pharm..maybe i was being overambitious,but if theres any chance that i'll be able to change that ,im not giving up..thanks mitsukolyn,for your concern.. i hope some seniors would give me some pointers here..
Hi extrio,just to help out,I suggest you looking through this thread from another forum:
http://forum.brightsparks.com.sg/showthread.php?t=3365
Some of the things they discussed might not be that relevant but it should help you to get a general sense of how it is like to appeal for another course in NUS.
tmnet89
24-05-2010, 02:14 PM
Hey anyone considering appealing to NUS ? See the thing is, i was offered a course in NUS but it wasn't my first choice..appealing is my only possible chance..(if its possible)..anyways..anyone who's familiar with this would u pls offer a piece of advice or something? ...
Hey, nice to meet you. I would like to share my view on this.
I was in NUS welcome tea 2010 in KL recently, and came accross the same case as you. After a student consulted by Office of admissions officer, she was encouraged to give a try to appeal for another course. Hence, it's no harm on trying. The thing is you have to accept the course NUS offered you first then only can make appeal. This is to prevent you be withdrawed from the initial course IF you appeal is unsuccessful.
Frankly speaking, you must be interested in these 5 choices you provided in application, Otherwise, what for you put it in if you dislike?[it's possible to choose less than 5 courses, as long as the course you prefer] Not all ppl will get the 1st choice surely, unless your result is extremely good. Hereby i enclose a grade review for ur reference, thing has been becoming more competitive as you could see...http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/gradeprofile/sprogramme-igp.html
I'm not saying that your appeal will not be accepted. It depends on the number of empty places NUS has. Hence, the percentage of getting it is very low since NUS has made the choice fairly. Nevertheless, the appealing exercise for current student will be held twice a year, which the grade in university exam will be reviewed. You may continue to appeal for the choice you want then.
All de best to you! :)
sofiazee
23-06-2010, 05:00 PM
Hey extrio! I called up NUS just now and they confirmed that the appeal results has already been released and will be doing so in batches, and that it would be faster to check through the website. Have you received yours?
extrio
05-07-2010, 10:04 AM
Omg sofiazee.. What is taking them so long to process my appeal? Ugh .. So yeah my status is still appeal received but I honestly think i don't stand a chance, I'm being realistic really .. My relative's friend called up NUS that day to ask for the appeal thingy i suppose and the admin or whoever it is said that we need to get 4 flat to get in. In other words , no chance lah..haih.. So, is your appeal successful? If yes, all the best to you.. I already enrolled myself in ucsi for pharm.. Yup..keeping d passion alive man!lol..
sofiazee
06-07-2010, 07:28 AM
Hi extrio. I'm still waiting for my appeal result too. They said they're gonna release all appeal results until end of July OMG. I'm currently using the wifi in USM, not bad la the connection but overall, I might prefer NUS...
Good luck to you too, extrio! I'll be stalking the admissions page everyday (if I get the time), hahaha.
teo18
06-07-2010, 10:32 AM
I am also waiting for my appeal.Hope all of us get in