View Full Version : Survey: Turned down JPA for better things anyone??
well, there has been this talk abt those who gt jpa and those who reject it for a better offer... so it wud be gud to see if recommers here have sth better than jpa..
it wud be nice if its in this order
course offered:
spm results:
turned it down for:
:)):)
Orlando
26-05-2010, 12:59 AM
I wasnt offered(no news.. pretty much no hope) but i would have turned it down should I ever have been offered another scholarship at a foreign country. 6 years bond for my course(Accountancy).
cycycy
26-05-2010, 07:36 AM
I wasnt offered(no news.. pretty much no hope) but i would have turned it down should I ever have been offered another scholarship at a foreign country. 6 years bond for my course(Accountancy).
6 years isn't so bad actually. . but if there's a better offer. au revoir! :laugh
hmmm...so hw abt bank negara scholars...who just got the news...u guys turned it down...!!!???
terencegreen
31-05-2010, 03:23 PM
bump bump^^
bump bump^^
terrence i dun think anyone turned it down...hahahahaha any of ur frens did ah??......my frens two of them dropped architecture and went for Yayasan terengganu's architecture!!...hmmm:))
terencegreen
31-05-2010, 05:29 PM
terrence i dun think anyone turned it down...hahahahaha any of ur frens did ah??......my frens two of them dropped architecture and went for Yayasan terengganu's architecture!!...hmmm:))
well as far as i know most of them accepted it before making decision.i have a friend of mine got jpa engineering to uk as well as tm financial management.she did accepted on the web which means that people in jpa don't know how many would turn it down in the end.well thats not a god news indeed.haiz..btw is it true that there will be second intake for jpa??i mean as all those people who get through rayuan will go saing with the others kan?so is there second intake??
btw i think you know her..:lol:..
well as far as i know most of them accepted it before making decision.i have a friend of mine got jpa engineering to uk as well as tm financial management.she did accepted on the web which means that people in jpa don't know how many would turn it down in the end.well thats not a god news indeed.haiz..btw is it true that there will be second intake for jpa??i mean as all those people who get through rayuan will go saing with the others kan?so is there second intake??
btw i think you know her..:lol:..
yeah yeah...i know her!!...abt the second intake i am nt sure!!..now they are calling all 1500 students to ask them whether they confirm taking their offer or wat...thats wat i heard from ma fren....lets hope a lot turn it down...hehehehe:))
fokero
31-05-2010, 06:41 PM
lol.i did turn JPA down. i got better offer. =D
which course and wat offer that is better???
fokero
31-05-2010, 07:00 PM
which course and wat offer that is better???
okay2. i think i should tell it using the the way shown up there. :P
course offered:engineering
spm results:11A
turned it down for: YTN
well, i got YTN for engineering as well. maybe its better than JPA .lol:nuts
edcac
31-05-2010, 07:06 PM
Ara is hoping that more people will turn down jpa so that he'll get a better shot with his appeal. hehe. that's the way Ara!
yup yup edcac!!..hoping hard can manage to get one!!...:))
edcac
31-05-2010, 07:19 PM
another four more days oni! kinda excited for you guys!
unsolvedcryptex
31-05-2010, 07:34 PM
I din get any other offer but I got an offer from myself.
Study harder.
My sponsor? My parents
The fact that I am taking extra subjects and working like hell show that I really needed one so that i don't disappoint them. But it turned out that I gained nothing at last. Life still goes on and I am gonna work harder this time round. I dunno y with my results also get rejected. Unlike other sponsors, FAMA sponsorship is definitely the one I feel obligated to strive better.
Sounds nice and grateful but I am sad that I didn't get JPA
edcac
31-05-2010, 07:36 PM
What subjects are you taking for a levels? dont give up hope so soon, you might get after appealing.
vega_zeta
31-05-2010, 10:23 PM
i might turn the scholarship down...since i receive bnm scholarship...
but it's not confirm yet...because bnm haven't tell me the detail for the scholarship...am i being considered as mean as i can't reject jpa yet because i need to know where bnm want to send me...:omg
course offered : accounting
spm result : 10a+ only ----> a lot of other recommers got better results
turned it down for : bnm
unsolvedcryptex
01-06-2010, 12:00 AM
What subjects are you taking for a levels? dont give up hope so soon, you might get after appealing.
Maths, Further Maths, Chem and Physics
fokero
01-06-2010, 12:29 AM
thats quite a challenge. :P
edcac
01-06-2010, 09:14 AM
Let me guess, you want to be an engineer? Good luck, and yea, I think if you study under PaMa scholarship, you will be motivated to do better.
01-06-2010, 10:45 AM
To all of you guys who are rejecting JPA, can you inform JPA immediately so that your scholarships can be given to those who are appealing for it (like me)? Anybody who got Accounting and is rejecting it, please tell JPA ASAP! :-)
hahahha...not only accountings...but also all other fields....do inform them by 2day coz...then they wud be able to help other deserving students who are appealing!!...k....pls and tq...:))
unsolvedcryptex
01-06-2010, 08:24 PM
thats quite a challenge. :P
quite a challenge ? yes! for ppl who are not sponsored. We have to work like ten times more than others. My meaning is that they can't just apply to any uni without scholarship. We need to get like top uni to get a scholarship.
Let me guess, you want to be an engineer? Good luck, and yea, I think if you study under PaMa scholarship, you will be motivated to do better.
Motivated? Yes. At the same time felt stressful. When I got my results, I thought, I will at least get JPA, but turned out not.
Imagine yourself getting one of the top unis in the world and you think that you are getting one from JPA for Tajaan Tambahan or other companies, then rejection comes again.
So pretty much the same thing. Expecting myself to stuck in local private u in the end despite taking pre u courses.
I was happy at my spm results but Heck! Imagine being happy with your uni offer and no scholarship also. Hopefully it's fairer for undergraduate.
edcac
02-06-2010, 09:10 AM
Motivated? Yes. At the same time felt stressful. When I got my results, I thought, I will at least get JPA, but turned out not.
Don't stress too much, or you'd be pre-maturely old. Have you started your class?
fokero
02-06-2010, 09:41 AM
yeah. kinda right. dont be too stressed up.
CCY_to_the_top
02-06-2010, 11:25 AM
okay2. i think i should tell it using the the way shown up there. :P
course offered:engineering
spm results:11A
turned it down for: YTN
well, i got YTN for engineering as well. maybe its better than JPA .lol:nuts
think twice. Bond issues. unless you really wanna work for YTN, take it.
JPA engineering is amazing. especially u get to go to intec (US bound). And JPA releases lot of student every year.
think twice. Bond issues. unless you really wanna work for YTN, take it.
JPA engineering is amazing. especially u get to go to intec (US bound). And JPA releases lot of student every year.
he gt france engineering under jpa...and gt uk under ytn...of coz..every one wud choose ytn if in his place!!..hehheeh
acgerlok7
02-06-2010, 11:53 AM
Exactly same combo and college i'm going too...Don't be too sad! lets prove we can do better than scholars.=):P
vega_zeta
02-06-2010, 01:27 PM
Guys...help me...i've been sending email to jpa so many times...at esila@<hidden>
but i keep receiving an email from yahoo, telling me that the email wasn't able to be send due to the receiver's inbox is already full. what should i do? i'm turning down jpa accountancy at uk
acgerlok7
02-06-2010, 01:39 PM
calling up JPA and tell them wud be a good option.+)
02-06-2010, 02:31 PM
Guys...help me...i've been sending email to jpa so many times...at esila@<hidden>
but i keep receiving an email from yahoo, telling me that the email wasn't able to be send due to the receiver's inbox is already full. what should i do? i'm turning down jpa accountancy at uk
OMG, please call and inform them immediately! I really need that scholarship!
terencegreen
02-06-2010, 03:46 PM
thank god the results for rayuan is postponed till 11th of Jun..good news..you guys still have time to tell em if u are turning down the offer..thanks in advance..lol..
unsolvedcryptex
02-06-2010, 07:44 PM
Don't stress too much, or you'd be pre-maturely old. Have you started your class?
Yes. Started already
Exactly same combo and college i'm going too...Don't be too sad! lets prove we can do better than scholars.=):P
Oh. Maybe we're clsmates also we dunno. LOL
proving we can do better? you might be better but they got the scholarship.
Glassylicious
02-06-2010, 07:47 PM
I don't quite see the point of this statement. This seems to be a rather short-sighted argument. Whether they got the scholarship or not is no indication as to how they'd end up ten years down the road.
fokero
02-06-2010, 08:13 PM
there's nothing different between having a scholarship or not. it's all up to u. whether u can succeed or not. -.-
edcac
02-06-2010, 08:52 PM
thank god the results for rayuan is postponed till 11th of Jun..good news..you guys still have time to tell em if u are turning down the offer..thanks in advance..lol..
Hmm, I have friends who said it's postponed too, but when I go to the esilav2 website it still says 4th of June.
02-06-2010, 09:06 PM
Hmm, I have friends who said it's postponed too, but when I go to the esilav2 website it still says 4th of June.
when i go to the website, it says this :
JPA masih lagi di dalam proses mempertimbangkan rayuan PILN 2010, tawaran ke Universiti-Universiti Penyelidikan (Research Universities) 2010 dan tawaranPIDN 2010 bagi lepasan SPM 2009. Berikutan banyaknya rayuan yang diterima, Jabatan ini memerlukan sedikit masa lagi untuk meneliti setiap rayuan tersebut. Keputusan mengenai rayuan dan tawaran tersebut akan diumumkan pada 11 Jun 2010 mulai jam 3 petang.
jeffreyyeoh
02-06-2010, 09:13 PM
u shud go to see the website now ...they change again
http://www.guangming.com.my/node/75456?tid=3
yup...u need to call them up...can do so..2mrw!!...
sugarspice
02-06-2010, 11:05 PM
hey there is no point sending email to that email address. I remember last time when I did two years ago, the same thing happened. Their inbox full blabla. If you know who is in charge of your scholarship, then try emailing them, but they will not reply to you.
So the best thing is to call them up. Or better, go to Putrajaya and talk to them face to face. But since your case is rather simple, I reckon by calling the main line, 8885 3000 will do.
unsolvedcryptex
02-06-2010, 11:07 PM
I don't quite see the point of this statement. This seems to be a rather short-sighted argument. Whether they got the scholarship or not is no indication as to how they'd end up ten years down the road.
I never say how they will end up 10 years later. I am just saying you can prove if u want to but they have scholarship to study and u're partly funding urself. It's just a comparison about now.
there's nothing different between having a scholarship or not. it's all up to u. whether u can succeed or not. -.-
No difference? LOL coming from a scholar of coz no diff lo:P
There's a difference. One is free education another 1 is.. erm FAMA.
sugarspice
02-06-2010, 11:22 PM
I never say how they will end up 10 years later. I am just saying you can prove if u want to but they have scholarship to study and u're partly funding urself. It's just a comparison about now.
I think Glassy was trying to imply that the future of scholars is not necessarily brighter than those without. In fact, in the future you may not be utilising what you have studied during your tertiary education, and on the whole it boils down to one's personality. I have known alot of people who fail their SPM or STPM but now earning five figure salary per month. Take it easy, :):) and be optimistic!
03-06-2010, 12:51 AM
I wish to give an advice as a senior: Do not think of JPA as an inferior scholarship compared to other scholarship providers. Yes, it has lower stipend, less selectivity, more students, and reduced personal attention, but as you progress down the road, you will realize that JPA has unparalleled flexibility; this should accounted highly.
Tysle
03-06-2010, 01:00 AM
I was in Taylor's too but I accepted JPA scholarship and left. Best of Blessings to you two Taylorians. :D
03-06-2010, 01:42 AM
I was in Taylor's too but I accepted JPA scholarship and left. Best of Blessings to you two Taylorians. :D
You're just totally opposite of me! I've just got BNM scholarship and would be doing A-Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya! Taylorian-to-be! :laugh
orthopod
03-06-2010, 05:07 AM
goodness..jpa scholarship is the best one..its literally BONDLESs..the people i know of JPA scholarship are doing very well once they finished their studies and earning tonnes.My cousin works for mckinsey and has got a big fat salary and she's only 22!!!and JPA scholar..
is the allowance really that inferior?I dont think sponsors like BNM and petronas give any MORE than JPA does and 950 quids in london is excessive.if you are thrifty you save so much..enough to buy a good car and other luxury items..
Personally I think JPA is THE BESt scholarship out there.
sugarspice
03-06-2010, 07:27 AM
But then if you're under JPA and doing medicine or pharmacy surely you will be tied down? Has anyone heard of JPA scholars studying these so called critical courses and lucky enough to break the bond?
orthopod
03-06-2010, 08:47 AM
plenty.most just "pay back" 25% at max
edcac
03-06-2010, 09:13 AM
You're just totally opposite of me! I've just got BNM scholarship and would be doing A-Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya! Taylorian-to-be! :laugh
Hey, good to know you got BNM! Studying accountancy? So not waiting for JPA's appeal anymore?
lamentation
03-06-2010, 09:30 AM
[QUOTE][/QUOTEOriginally Posted by Nicholasng925
You're just totally opposite of me! I've just got BNM scholarship and would be doing A-Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya! Taylorian-to-be!
Congrats so happy for you. When 1 door closes another door will open. You had found it.
vega_zeta
03-06-2010, 11:21 AM
hi guys....finally, i receive 2 emails from jpa yesterday...
hope everyone who make the rayuan can get the scholarship
all the best guys!
lamentation
03-06-2010, 11:24 AM
hi what emails may i know ?
unsolvedcryptex
03-06-2010, 11:29 AM
I think Glassy was trying to imply that the future of scholars is not necessarily brighter than those without. In fact, in the future you may not be utilising what you have studied during your tertiary education, and on the whole it boils down to one's personality. I have known alot of people who fail their SPM or STPM but now earning five figure salary per month. Take it easy, :):) and be optimistic!
Yea I know that but I am not implying that their future is dark either w/o scholarship.
acgerlok7
03-06-2010, 11:33 AM
I'm also Taylorian-to-be actually..:)) just registered for their July A-Levels Programme two weeks ago..xD
legendera10
03-06-2010, 11:36 AM
hi guys....finally, i receive 2 emails from jpa yesterday...
hope everyone who make the rayuan can get the scholarship
all the best guys!
d email write wat?rayuan success?
acgerlok7
03-06-2010, 11:38 AM
[QUOTE][/QUOTEOriginally Posted by Nicholasng925
You're just totally opposite of me! I've just got BNM scholarship and would be doing A-Levels in Taylor's College Subang Jaya! Taylorian-to-be!
Congrats so happy for you. When 1 door closes another door will open. You had found it.
I haven't found my another door:cry:( rejected by all the scholarships apparently...have to fund myself for the moment...-__-
vega_zeta
03-06-2010, 11:40 AM
the email is about my "pembatalan penerimaan tawaran" is a success
legendera10
03-06-2010, 11:41 AM
the email is about my "pembatalan penerimaan tawaran" is a success
y u reject jpa?
vega_zeta
03-06-2010, 11:47 AM
i got bnm...
fokero
03-06-2010, 12:47 PM
i got bnm...
gud luck to u as a BNM scholars :laugh:laugh
vega_zeta
03-06-2010, 12:50 PM
tqvm fokero
fye92
03-06-2010, 01:02 PM
i turned jpa down. Biotechnology and I take Petronas for Petroleum Engineering
fokero
03-06-2010, 01:08 PM
tqvm fokero
so, where will BNM send u?
i turned jpa down. Biotechnology and I take Petronas for Petroleum Engineering
can u state the place JPA wanna send u & also for Petron . thanks:laugh
fye92
03-06-2010, 01:19 PM
JPA gave me OZ. Petrons US. Why?
vega_zeta
03-06-2010, 01:21 PM
uk...or are u asking for the pre-u?---->kyuem
same place as yours i guess
fokero
03-06-2010, 03:58 PM
JPA gave me OZ. Petrons US. Why?
just asking, bcos I heard JPA also send students to do biotech in UK. well, all d best for u fye. US is awesome:P
uk...or are u asking for the pre-u?---->kyuem
same place as yours i guess
LOL. hello there college mate. :laugh:laugh
03-06-2010, 04:20 PM
Hey, good to know you got BNM! Studying accountancy? So not waiting for JPA's appeal anymore?
Nope, I would be studying Actuarial Science! Most probably would not waiting for JPA's appeal anymore! :)
Thanks a lot! Yep, I'm just way too lucky to secure this! And yeah, this is my another door apparently! :amuse
I haven't found my another door:cry:( rejected by all the scholarships apparently...have to fund myself for the moment...-__-
Hey! Don't give up still, okay? I'm sure you would find your another door in the near future, hopefully after completing your A-Levels with flying colour! You would be my college mate very soon! Looking forward to meet you in 2 weeks time! :amuse
just asking, bcos I heard JPA also send students to do biotech in UK. well, all d best for u fye. US is awesome:P
Yep yep, the top student in my school have got JPA to do Biotechnology in UK too! :)
answatch
03-06-2010, 05:13 PM
hi fye92, i also got petronas in petroleum eng..and also in us..but i think i will turned petronas down bcoz i got jpa medic..haha..do i need to call ptronas to tell that i got jpa and want to go for it?..ive already accepted the ptronas offer and not sure if i can turn it down..
04-06-2010, 10:38 AM
hi fye92, i also got petronas in petroleum eng..and also in us..but i think i will turned petronas down bcoz i got jpa medic..haha..do i need to call ptronas to tell that i got jpa and want to go for it?..ive already accepted the ptronas offer and not sure if i can turn it down..
it's best u think careful on which field u wan 2 be in. Eng or medic. Only after tat, yes, you should call one of them to tell tat u r goin 2 reject their offer.
acgerlok7
04-06-2010, 12:13 PM
Where does petronas send u for ur pre-uni? ....hmm...yeah...i agree wif boy_zoo...its best to really think carefully about ur interest...what type of career will make u beaming once u thought of it...career is going to be for life...not lyk high skol anymore...:)
edcac
04-06-2010, 02:23 PM
Nope, I would be studying Actuarial Science! Most probably would not waiting for JPA's appeal anymore! :)
I see, glad to hear about it. :)
answatch
04-06-2010, 03:03 PM
IB in Sri KDU..thanx a lot guys
fokero
04-06-2010, 06:25 PM
IB in Sri KDU..thanx a lot guys
oh. thats a nice place to study IB. so, have u decided yet which one to take? between Medic & Engine. think carefully & all the best in yr future undertaking :)
04-06-2010, 09:02 PM
I see, glad to hear about it. :)
Thanks ya! Good luck to you in your future endeavour! :)
zarionette
04-06-2010, 11:13 PM
Hey, congrats.
04-06-2010, 11:40 PM
Hey, congrats.
Hey zarionette! Thanks a lot! Good luck to you in your future endeavor! :)
zarionette
04-06-2010, 11:52 PM
quite a challenge ? yes! for ppl who are not sponsored. We have to work like ten times more than others. My meaning is that they can't just apply to any uni without scholarship. We need to get like top uni to get a scholarship.
Imagine yourself getting one of the top unis in the world and you think that you are getting one from JPA for Tajaan Tambahan or other companies, then rejection comes again.
So pretty much the same thing. Expecting myself to stuck in local private u in the end despite taking pre u courses.
I was happy at my spm results but Heck! Imagine being happy with your uni offer and no scholarship also. Hopefully it's fairer for undergraduate.
All the best in your studies. Have you tried getting partial tuition fee waivers from taylors? Or any other scholarships? If i were you, i would get a decent scholarship from any organisation for now, just for the sake of getting a scholarship, for my little peace of mind, cuz that's what i've been working so hard for during SPM. I'm sure you'll do extremely well in a-levels, even with the stress and all, and am hoping that you'll then secure an undergraduate scholarship. Best of luck!:)
LinnyT
08-06-2010, 12:00 PM
Hi everyone. First time posting. Anyway, I got accountancy in Aus. I am still contemplating about accepting this scholarship. I initially intended to work overseas for a couple of years after studying. But if i accept this scholarship, I wouldn't be able to do so anymore. Plus, I'm already halfway through my Pre-U programme so if i were to accept this offer, I would have to repeat and everything will be delayed by a year. So is it better to accept or reject?
well, if u have the money to support ur studies overcs, then u can reject it!!..but if udun then better to take the scholarship!!
LinnyT
08-06-2010, 12:29 PM
well, if u have the money to support ur studies overcs, then u can reject it!!..but if udun then better to take the scholarship!!
It's not like i have plenty of money ready for my education. However, I'm pretty sure my family will be able to fund me one way or another if I did not receive this scholarship.
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 12:46 PM
i suggest when it comes to this money issue, the best alternative is to discuss your plans with your parents. but, why burden them when you can easily work overseas after serving your bond?
topchef2
08-06-2010, 01:06 PM
It's not like i have plenty of money ready for my education. However, I'm pretty sure my family will be able to fund me one way or another if I did not receive this scholarship.
so what is your point really?For accountancy I doubt there will be a bond associated with your scholarship..once you graduate,there would not be any gov jobs so they will release you..lol
LinnyT
08-06-2010, 01:14 PM
Hmm, how do you know there wouldn't be any jobs? Just an assumption is it? My point is the only pro about taking JPA is I get to save money. But is that amount of money worth saving if I have to repeat my Pre Uni (waste a year) and be bonded for 6 years.
Orlando
08-06-2010, 01:16 PM
so what is your point really?For accountancy I doubt there will be a bond associated with your scholarship..once you graduate,there would not be any gov jobs so they will release you..lol
did it happen for you?.. but theres always a chance u might get a job right?
AnnieChan
08-06-2010, 05:28 PM
topchef2 is in our year, orlando.. aspiring medic :)
the thing with jpa bonds, if jpa do not offer you any posts within a year ( depending on contract ), you are automatically released from your bond.
i think the issue here is the amount of time wasted if she should accept jpa's offer. but personally, one year wouldn't really make any difference lol.
sugarspice
08-06-2010, 05:47 PM
This is what I heard from seniors. Don't know how true it is though.
Upon graduation, JPA will not find you a job. The scholar needs to find him/herself a job. You can apply up to a few jobs (don't know the exact number), then if you got turned down by all of them, you are free. But I suppose this does not apply to critical courses.
jamesdavid66
10-07-2010, 12:54 AM
have there been any cases where the guy appealed to change the country of destination and succeded? for example he got medicine in poland but tried to change to australia perhaps?? for jpa scholar
course offered: chemical engineering
spm results: 8 A + and 2 A
turned it down for: MAHB, UK accountancy!!
catnfish
10-07-2010, 12:59 PM
have there been any cases where the guy appealed to change the country of destination and succeded? for example he got medicine in poland but tried to change to australia perhaps?? for jpa scholar
As far as I'm concerned, it's impossible. Either you turn down or accept their offer. Not changes regarding the country. The only changes I get to know so far, it's those who changes from Medicine to other courses after the hospital one day trip. All the best.
Hmm, how do you know there wouldn't be any jobs? Just an assumption is it? My point is the only pro about taking JPA is I get to save money. But is that amount of money worth saving if I have to repeat my Pre Uni (waste a year) and be bonded for 6 years.
There is nothing as assumption in Economics world. What TopChef2 said is true, based on the figures of the JPA bonded and released students. However, it is undeniable that there is still a possibility that you will get bonded, though the chance is minimum. As far as I'm concerned, there is nothing as waste when it comes to education. 1 year isn't much too. Getting JPA is not all about saving money, it brings you something more. Try talk to any education counselors before you make any critical decisions. More importantly, communicate with your parent well, they might not tell you their real situation as what most parents used to do. All the best.