View Full Version : Help: USM Medicine 10/11
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 12:32 AM
Hello there! This thread is opened up for prospective medic students to discuss on any topics or problems that need seniors' attention as well as their help.
Wish to know u guys beforehand.
SoooNegative
30-05-2010, 01:26 AM
So you got USM Medic already? Gratz. Though i feel that there is enough of it in other threads.
And about writing in large letters... Are you shouting?
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 01:28 AM
So you got USM Medic already? Gratz. Though i feel that there is enough of it in other threads.
Yup. I got Medic. Thx. Yes, there is enough of it in other threads but this thread is much more specific than the others. I guess so.:P
SoooNegative
30-05-2010, 01:48 AM
Yup. I got Medic. Thx. Yes, there is enough of it in other threads but this thread is much more specific than the others. I guess so.:P
Forgive me if i say this. Theres nothing here. You need to put forward a few questions first. Then people will have something to answer.
xiaoyu
30-05-2010, 11:12 AM
hi~i wish to ask that beside accept the offer online,do we need to send the lampiran A to usm or send anything to them now?
noeltan
30-05-2010, 03:05 PM
= =another question about the tajaan tambahan pelajar 9A JPA
quite of confused. dunno what to do after posting all my documents to JPA.
SoooNegative
30-05-2010, 03:12 PM
Looks like there aren't any seniors here. Maybe someone could go to the USM thread to bring a few over? haha.
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 04:35 PM
Gotta wait I guess. So u're 4 sure accepting the 'tajaan scholarship'. I heard my teacher said that those who accepted de scholarship are bound 2 serve 4 de government 4 10 years. Am I rite?
hi~i wish to ask that beside accept the offer online,do we need to send the lampiran A to usm or send anything to them now?
"Sekiranya calon MENERIMA tawaran, calon dihendaki mencetak Lampiran A dari website dan kembalikan semasa Pendaftran Diri di Desasiswa atau datang ke Unit Pengambilan & Kemasukan Pelajar, Aras 2, Canselori."
This was the info I obtained from buku panduan siswa sidang akademik 2010/2011 Kampus Kesihatan.
Looks like there aren't any seniors here. Maybe someone could go to the USM thread to bring a few over? haha.
Haha... Look like we gotta spoonfeed ourselves. Well, we still can exchange any info we know/get from other sources.
yennee
30-05-2010, 04:46 PM
hey,do u guys have lampiran E3,E4, AND E5??
and how to apply jpa for our course?
and do we need to send those lampiran back to usm before our registration day?thanks
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 04:56 PM
and do we need to send those lampiran back to usm before our registration day?thanks
I don hav de Lampiran E3,4 n 5. R u a ex-stpm or matric student?
I think we gotta wait 4 de offer letter from USM.
yennee
30-05-2010, 05:01 PM
ok ok.ex-matric student
how bout you?
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 05:26 PM
ok ok.ex-matric student
how bout you?
Ex-stpm student.
Which day did u go 4 de interview?
My interview was on 15.
erm...can i ask wat is tis about??
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 06:09 PM
It's regarding de JPA scholarship. I just found out dat we can actually apply through http: //esila.jpa.gov.my/portaljpa.php. This was de info I got. Anyone who's interested to apply it may visit de above website 4 more info.
Permohonan Biasiswa JPA diadakan secara online melalui laman web JPA:http: //esila.jpa.gov.my/portaljpa.php. Semua siswa baru yang berjaya mendapat tawaran Kursus Sains Perubatan, Sains Pergigian dan Sains Kesihatan di Kampus Kesihatan, USM yang berminat untuk mendapatkan biasiswa JPA , siswa diminta untuk membuat permohonan Biasiswa JPA lebih awal iaitu sebelum melapor diri ke kampus. Iklan permohonan Biasiswa JPA dijangka pada seminggu sebelum tarikh pendaftaran masuk ke IPTA yang akan diiklankan melalui Akhbar Utusan Malaysia, New Straits Times dan melalui laman web JPA sendiri.
dennisssj
30-05-2010, 06:10 PM
erm...can i ask wat is tis about??
tajaan tambahan SPM 9A 2008 only. meaning you took SPM in 2007. JPA din't continue it.
erm ok but wats d connection wif usm medic?? y post it in tis thread? any connection?
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 06:12 PM
Hello! Did u take de offer?
yennee
30-05-2010, 06:17 PM
Ex-stpm student.
Which day did u go 4 de interview?
My interview was on 15.
mine was on the 15th also.which session?where are you from??
i'm from SPM 2008.so how do i apply for it??thanks
ok ok.ex-matric student
how bout you?
hai! which matric r u frm?
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 06:28 PM
[QUOTE=yennee;326126]mine was on the 15th also.which session?where are you from??
Morning session. I'm from Ipoh, Perak. What bout u?
spongebob n yennee nice 2 met u guys! my future coursemate =D
yennee
30-05-2010, 06:37 PM
nice to meet u too,lcw
[quote=yennee;326126]mine was on the 15th also.which session?where are you from??
Morning session. I'm from Ipoh, Perak. What bout u?
wow,the world is so small.i'm from ipoh too!!!and morning session.haha.from kolej matrikulasi pahang.
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 06:45 PM
nice to meet u too,lcw
[quote=SpongeBobOct;326134]
wow,the world is so small.i'm from ipoh too!!!and morning session.haha.from kolej matrikulasi pahang.
Haha... I'm sad. Most of my future coursemates r 1 year old younger than me. I might b de oldest 1 among them. Wow, sad case le...:laugh
yennee
30-05-2010, 06:46 PM
[quote=yennee;326137]nice to meet u too,lcw
Haha... I'm sad. Most of my future coursemates r 1 year old younger than me. I might b de oldest 1 among them. Wow, sad case le...:laugh
nvm.older is wiser.haha.then u become our senior and take care of ur juniors la
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 06:48 PM
spongebob n yennee nice 2 met u guys! my future coursemate =D
Nice to meet u. What're ur matric result n MUET result? May I know?
yennee
30-05-2010, 06:49 PM
matric 4.0 muet band 4.eh check ur msg in ur profile
matric 3.95 muet band 4...both results so close yet so far!
thanks yennee 4 adding me :)
urs spongebob??
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 07:13 PM
matric 3.95 muet band 4...both results so close yet so far!
thanks yennee 4 adding me :)
urs spongebob??
Ex-physics STPM student. I did'nt take Biology in STPM.:P My STPM result was 4.0. Muet band 5.
Err. So far only 3 ReComeres who're going there.
Ex-physics STPM student. I did'nt take Biology in STPM.:P My STPM result was 4.0. Muet band 5.
haiz i envy ur muet result leh! mine only 4 more marks 2 band 5 :cry
reli? i saw got a few others tat post saying tat they got medic in usm d other day?
yennee
30-05-2010, 07:21 PM
i think there are more than 3 of us la.maybe they haven't join this thread only.i didnt take bio too.
lfwinks
30-05-2010, 08:09 PM
hi! i'll be joining you guys for USM medic too...
lowxuan
30-05-2010, 08:16 PM
Hi guy...MIGHT be joining if i click "terima"....stpm 09 leaver....cgpa 4.0 din take up bio==
natalie91
30-05-2010, 08:16 PM
hi my future coursemates ,i'll be joining u all too:)
yennee
30-05-2010, 08:20 PM
hello hello =)
Dora1212
30-05-2010, 08:26 PM
[quote=yennee;326137]nice to meet u too,lcw
Hi everyone.. i was an ex-stpmer who gt cgpa 4.0.. i was selected for medicine course n i accepted it adi.. SpongeBobOct, u r nt d only 1 oldest.. haha..
yennee
30-05-2010, 08:31 PM
so now we have 3 seniors.haha.looking forward to meet u guys
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 08:40 PM
[quote=SpongeBobOct;326142]
Hi everyone.. i was an ex-stpmer who gt cgpa 4.0.. i was selected for medicine course n i accepted it adi.. SpongeBobOct, u r nt d only 1 oldest.. haha..
Ic. Thx ya. I'm glad 2 hear dat. Haha!
Hi guy...MIGHT be joining if i click "terima"....stpm 09 leaver....cgpa 4.0 din take up bio==
What's ur choices in de upu list?
i think there are more than 3 of us la.maybe they haven't join this thread only.i didnt take bio too.
Did de interviewers ask u y u didn't take Bio? Did they ask u y u're now interested 2 read medicine? Howdid u rebut de interviewers?
yennee
30-05-2010, 08:42 PM
the interview is already over.don't talk bout it la
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 08:56 PM
the interview is already over.don't talk bout it la
Haha. Ok...
milniq
30-05-2010, 09:27 PM
USM is the only uni that accept students without bio so if u rejected usm which means u wont gt medic in upu di rite? So think twice before you decide..hehe...neway i am usmkk student...feel free to ask ya..
yennee
30-05-2010, 09:30 PM
not usm only.upm too.only these 2 accept physical student
milniq
30-05-2010, 09:33 PM
opps...sorry 4 d wrong fact...icic...thanks for correcting me huh...^^
yennee
30-05-2010, 09:35 PM
no prob =)
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 09:36 PM
USM is the only uni that accept students without bio so if u rejected usm which means u wont gt medic in upu di rite? So think twice before you decide..hehe...neway i am usmkk student...feel free to ask ya..
I guess UPM will still accept student without Physics 2 study medicine.
yennee
30-05-2010, 09:40 PM
true but they will also accept physical students.some of my seniors from physical they got upm medic
are you sure, milniq??? LOL.
yennee
30-05-2010, 09:47 PM
there's still upm.
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 09:48 PM
Does anyone here did compare or study de syllabus of Matric Biology books wif the Form 4&5 biology books?
Ya, you have to submit one or two lampiran before registration day, there should be a deadline given. The rest just keep them until your orientation week. You will have to send in during that week.
You decided to take JPA scholarship? No worries for this, the JPA fellows will go to USM and brief you guys. Follow their instructions and that will do. At least this is what we did last year.
natalie91
30-05-2010, 09:58 PM
I'm wondering whether will the orientation week a stressful 1? Like d one in matric? n do we need to go for any camp for physical training? cos in lampiran D they stated that
Pelajar dari PPSP dan PPSG akan
bertolak ke Kem bagi Program
PIMPIN Siswa pada 8 Julai 2010 jam
12.30 tengahari
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:01 PM
hey..ms. sub...so weird 2 see you emerge today...hehe...yaya...as for the JPA all medic and dental students will get the offer its just up to you whether you gonna accept it or not...
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 10:04 PM
Ya, you have to submit one or two lampiran before registration day, there should be a deadline given. The rest just keep them until your orientation week. You will have to send in during that week.
You decided to take JPA scholarship? No worries for this, the JPA fellows will go to USM and brief you guys. Follow their instructions and that will do. At least this is what we did last year.
R de scholars bound to serve government after graduating?
I'm wondering whether will the orientation week a stressful 1? Like d one in matric? n do we need to go for any camp for physical training? cos in lampiran D they stated that
12.30 tengahari
Erm, yup. If I'm not mistaken, some will b going 2 terengganu, others will stay in kelantan (not in USM Campus 4 sure). Haha.
12.30 tengahari
Regarding the orientation week, you may refer one of the posts in another thread, USM applicaton 2010/11, there is a brief description about it if I'm not mistaken.
Yeah, you are compulsory to attend the camp. It would be really fun, haha. Btw, what course do you get? Medicine?
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:06 PM
12.30 tengahari
hihi...as for the kem pimpin siswa...i wont call it as a physical training camp...enjoy it as its 1 of the best time u get to know most of your coursemates and friends...
Yes, 10 years for medicine and dentistry. Other courses, not sure. =)
Erm, yup. If I'm not mistaken, some will b going 2 terengganu, others will stay in kelantan (not in USM Campus 4 sure). Haha.
You seem to know quite a lot. Good good. =)
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:09 PM
ya...same as the overseas programme...the service duration is 10 yrs...so think twice...
natalie91
30-05-2010, 10:09 PM
Regarding the orientation week, you may refer one of the posts in another thread, USM applicaton 2010/11, there is a brief description about it if I'm not mistaken.
Yeah, you are compulsory to attend the camp. It would be really fun, haha. Btw, what course do you get? Medicine?
yup,i got medicine:)
hey..ms. sub...so weird 2 see you emerge today...hehe...yaya...as for the JPA all medic and dental students will get the offer its just up to you whether you gonna accept it or not...
So what's your problem now?? Haha..
yennee
30-05-2010, 10:10 PM
12.30 tengahari
yea matric one was so hectic and tiring.but i think this one will be less stressful then in matric.
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:12 PM
yea matric one was so hectic and tiring.but i think this one will be less stressful then in matric.
hahax...dont worry...it will be tiring but fun 1...there will be some boring talk but just a while only....
So what's your problem now?? Haha..
hahax...i got no prob with that just dint see you on recom for years...
natalie91
30-05-2010, 10:15 PM
ya...same as the overseas programme...the service duration is 10 yrs...so think twice...
however fees for local universities are not that costly as compared to overseas programme ,i'm wondering why the service duration is also 10 yrs, hehe..ohya,n abt that , may i know what is the approximate total fees that we need to pay for the total 5 yrs ?
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 10:19 PM
So, not worth it rite? The amount awarded is not de same le.
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:21 PM
however fees for local universities are not that costly as compared to overseas programme ,i'm wondering why the service duration is also 10 yrs, hehe..ohya,n abt that , may i know what is the approximate total fees that we need to pay for the total 5 yrs ?
yup...its true...thats why i said think twice...hehe...erm...if you mean tuition fee...900 per sem which means 1800 per yr...hehe...do your maths...lazy to count...+ some daily expenses which is bout 500++(not sure bout others but this is how much i spend in a month lar)...decide yourself lar..
SpongeBobOct
30-05-2010, 10:22 PM
Less than Rm 45000 4 sure..
So, not worth it rite? The amount awarded is not de same le.
And fyi, the amount that USMKK folks get is less than other students in UM, UKM or UPM etc etc. It's very unfair but still, I apply for JPA. After all, it depends on individual's preference.
natalie91
30-05-2010, 10:24 PM
haha, i really hope so:)
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:27 PM
And fyi, the amount that USMKK folks get is less than other students in UM, UKM or UPM etc etc. It's very unfair but still, I apply for JPA. After all, it depends on individual's preference.
yup...its less somemore...its very depend on yourself...since medical dr's compulsory service is 4 yrs...so its actually just 4yrs+6yrs lo...
I thought it's been shortened to 2 years?
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:37 PM
I thought it's been shortened to 2 years?
yaya...2 yrs of HO and 2 yrs of compulsory service...correct me if i am wrong...
Dora1212
30-05-2010, 10:49 PM
yaya...2 yrs of HO and 2 yrs of compulsory service...correct me if i am wrong...
So, cn we further studies during d 2 years of compulsory service??
milniq
30-05-2010, 10:54 PM
erm...sorry not very sure with that...hope that those medic seniors able to give you the ans...
beederbest
30-05-2010, 11:27 PM
wad i heard from 1 of the doctor doing specialisation now u can further studies during the compulsery service~ if u take specialisation course from other countries some allow u to do it during ur housemanship~
there's always other choices of scholarships for u to apply eg hong leong, tanjong, kuok's etc these are scholarships without any bond.
Does anyone here did compare or study de syllabus of Matric Biology books wif the Form 4&5 biology books?
dun have to worry much bout comparing matric biology n form 4 n 5 bio~
only a small part that the pre-u bio students study is necessary for u to know in order to cope with first year studies~ there might be some intro for some chapters which seem more like revision for bio pre u students but for physics students would require some extra effort~ but dun worry that accounts for only a really little part of all the things u need to learn in 1 whole year~ and there are physics based students who did quite well in medicine here~ good luck~
lfwinks
30-05-2010, 11:40 PM
will USM post the surat tawaran and the rest of the lampirans to us??
beederbest
30-05-2010, 11:47 PM
will USM post the surat tawaran and the rest of the lampirans to us??
yes~ and u will be keep waiting for it until suddenly 1 day the thick envelope written USM on the top appear in ur mail box~
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 12:21 AM
so now we have 3 seniors.haha.looking forward to meet u guys
Who r the 3 seniors u mean?
BONDED for 10 years...I don't recommend JPA sponsorship...it is not worth it...by comparison with the sum it provides...
U waste precious years n miss the opportunity when u r invited to work in private hospitals...
N yup...some Kelantan some Terengganu...that's last year format...dunno about this year...
You seem to know quite a lot. Good good. =)
I think cos I replied in one of the thread involving SpongeBobOct n SoooNegative...
It's Rm1800 for our tuition fee(Medicine course fee) per year...with the one time fee during admission...n hostel fee for every year...
Should be like this...Refer to the Table of Fees for more info..
haha, i really hope so:)
I hate the Matric timetable very much...it wastes lots of time waiting in between breaks...n pointless activities like biomate n chemfriends...In my opinion...haha...
It makes the after school hours so short...
Yea...4 years...u r right
wad i heard from 1 of the doctor doing specialisation now u can further studies during the compulsery service~ if u take specialisation course from other countries some allow u to do it during ur housemanship~
there's always other choices of scholarships for u to apply eg hong leong, tanjong, kuok's etc these are scholarships without any bond.
dun have to worry much bout comparing matric biology n form 4 n 5 bio~
only a small part that the pre-u bio students study is necessary for u to know in order to cope with first year studies~ there might be some intro for some chapters which seem more like revision for bio pre u students but for physics students would require some extra effort~ but dun worry that accounts for only a really little part of all the things u need to learn in 1 whole year~ and there are physics based students who did quite well in medicine here~ good luck~
During the remaining years after the initial 4 years...u can do further studies of specialization...
But these scholarships require ur Exam result...the time for us to provide them the exam result always crashes with their closing date right?
Yea...u dun have to study or revise ur old bio stuffs...just focus on wat u will be taught here...U don't even have to bother much of extra study materials actually...
yes~ and u will be keep waiting for it until suddenly 1 day the thick envelope written USM on the top appear in ur mail box~
It varies among regions...some get it early some very late..in my case n my friends...very very late...
I printed it myself early in several copies cos it came extremely late last year...remain in touch with other future coursemates so tat u will know when is too late...
No...it's COMPULSORY service...
The rules get stricter every year...from this year onwards...Overseas Jpa scholars will not be allowed to use "Marriage" as a reason to avoid servicing...I m not sure if it applies to local JPA sponsorship...
lowxuan
31-05-2010, 12:31 AM
What's the different between the JPA Sponsorship and JPA Tajaan Tambahan 2008 untuk spm 2007?
beederbest
31-05-2010, 12:34 AM
During the remaining years after the initial 4 years...u can do further studies of specialization...
But these scholarships require ur Exam result...the time for us to provide them the exam result always crashes with their closing date right?
Yea...u dun have to study or revise ur old bio stuffs...just focus on wat u will be taught here...U don't even have to bother much of extra study materials actually...
It varies among regions...some get it early some very late..in my case n my friends...very very late...
I printed it myself early in several copies cos it came extremely late last year...remain in touch with other future coursemates so tat u will know when is too late...
The rules get stricter every year...from this year onwards...Overseas Jpa scholars will not be allowed to use "Marriage" as a reason to avoid servicing...I m not sure if it applies to local JPA sponsorship...
regarding further studies during compulsory service, from what i understand, if u do not wish to work in msia in future then as long as there is a university from other countries that accept u then u can further ur studies~ if want to further studies studies during compulsory service u have to do it part time but not full time~ which means u need to study n work at the same time~ correct me if im wrong~
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 12:38 AM
What's the different between the JPA Sponsorship and JPA Tajaan Tambahan 2008 untuk spm 2007?
Tat Tajaan Tambahan is due to some sort of promise made by the government...
Due to the promise...after running it for tat particular year...it is aborted...
Jpa sponsorship is giving u an amount of allowances for a year...
This depends on the state where u r doing ur study...for Kelantan as stated by anqi n milniq...the amount of allowance is lower...although the cost of living in Kelantan isn't really low at all..the food is not even cheap compared to Penang...
regarding further studies during compulsory service, from what i understand, if u do not wish to work in msia in future then as long as there is a university from other countries that accept u then u can further ur studies~ if want to further studies studies during compulsory service u have to do it part time but not full time~ which means u need to study n work at the same time~ correct me if im wrong~
Thanks a lot for ur info!
Yet..the final decision is made by JPA...we will never know when the policy changes again...when they announce the change on newspapers...it's already too late to change ur decision...
beederbest
31-05-2010, 12:44 AM
Thanks a lot for ur info!
Yet..the final decision is made by JPA...we will never know when the policy changes again...when they announce the change on newspapers...it's already too late to change ur decision...
that's true~ they always change~
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 08:54 AM
Who r the 3 seniors u mean?
BONDED for 10 years...I don't recommend JPA sponsorship...it is not worth it...by comparison with the sum it provides...
U waste precious years n miss the opportunity when u r invited to work in private hospitals...
N yup...some Kelantan some Terengganu...that's last year format...dunno about this year...
I think cos I replied in one of the thread involving SpongeBobOct n SoooNegative..
It's Rm1800 for our tuition fee(Medicine course fee) per year...with the one time fee during admission...n hostel fee for every year...
Should be like this...Refer to the Table of Fees for more info..
I hate the Matric timetable very much...it wastes lots of time waiting in between breaks...n pointless activities like biomate n chemfriends...In my opinion...haha...
It makes the after school hours so short...
Yea...4 years...u r right
Finally, our future senior has come to save de day. Haha...:P
xiaoyu
31-05-2010, 09:49 AM
:))halo~sorry i dint even introduce myself before asking question~
i am from taiping,perak~i am ex-stpm but i dint score 4.0,only 3.92~
i am very excited and nervous lel~
hope to meet u all soon in usm~:amuse
Hai everyone.. nice 2 meet u o here! welcome 2 USMKK big family..
zhiling
31-05-2010, 12:41 PM
Hai! Nice to meet u all. For those who are 2010/2011 intake, welcome to usmkk!
beederbest
31-05-2010, 12:50 PM
Hai! Nice to meet u all. For those who are 2010/2011 intake, welcome to usmkk!
Hi~ Zhi Ling jie jie~~~
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 12:52 PM
Good day to all new students...Welcome to join USM Health Campus...
It won't take long for u to adapt to the life here...
If u have any laptop problems, be it virus or any technical issue...N if u wanna register for the free wifi early...seek out me n Karn...we will be glad to help...(Karn is not here yet...==")
zhiling
31-05-2010, 12:53 PM
The amonut jpa scholar will get for 1 year is rm10000 something, so 5 years will get roughly rm50000.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 12:54 PM
Hi~ Zhi Ling jie jie~~~
Ur post makes juniors mistaken her as an old old senior...haha...
zhiling
31-05-2010, 12:54 PM
Hi~ Zhi Ling jie jie~~~
What jie jie la.....yor~
CINDY91
31-05-2010, 12:55 PM
Hi, i m kmp's ex-student. Hv a few qs to ask:
a) do we nid to open an account b4 going or open when we r register?
b) how is the hostel? how many people in one room? is there any water cooler machine?
c) can we bring iron,table fan or small radio?
d) wat is the duration of kem pimpin siswa?
e) How is the study schedule? Start n end at wat time?
f) do we nid to bring a small medic dictionary?
zhiling
31-05-2010, 12:56 PM
Ur post makes juniors mistaken her as an old old senior...haha...
yalo~i am same year with you all lie......ok!
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:01 PM
b) how is the hostel? how many people in one room? is there any water cooler machine?
U will open an account with ppl guiding u through the process...
The hostel...about 4 in Nurani n 3 in Murni...Water cooler is available...
U r not allowed to bring iron/water heater...but if u do...hide them...in the cupboard n lock it...
The duration of the camp is about 3 days 2 nights...Should be on the end of orientation week...
Study schedule varies with every block...Usually starts at 8.30 a.m....ending time always changes...
Small medic dictionary...Stedman's Medical Dictionary(Just install it)...We can provide u...especially those who study using soft copy...
zhiling
31-05-2010, 01:01 PM
if u want to apply ptptn or jpa, then only u need to open, open at ur hometown or when u go to usm is up to u
for 1st year, 4ppl 1 room. there is a water cooler
desasiswa not allow us to bring, but after orientation week u can bring ilegallly,haha
kem is 3 days 2 nights
study schedule change every week, normally until 4 or 5pm but some can go back early
depends on u, but is good to have 1
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:10 PM
The good thing about USM orientation is it only lasts for a week...then u begin learning about bioethics n social health...then proceed to nursing in which u r allocated in various department in the USM hospital..wearing white coats...n learn about nurses...
In USM I think it may be the best choice to study medicine since it doesn't have a long period orientation which includes ragging, which is the activity where seniors force their juniors to do stuffs. E.g. Some wake their juniors at the middle of the night n forced them to write 6 essays, some make them call all seniors through phone n talk till they r asked to stop, some forced the juniors to run to the top floor to retrieve something then run down to the ground floor only to be flushed wet by buckets of water by the seniors. These r unethical at all for medical students n these ruin our should-be helpful n not a sadistic(enjoy when u see other ppl suffer) mind. USM bans ragging at all costs n any offender will be charged seriously.
We have the first block which is the bioethics n social health to instill proper conduct of a doctor including family n society wellness. This block is operating while other unis are still having their ragging activity. We have the nursing block at the third week where we r allowed to go with white coats n visit to every department in USM hospital to be exposed how the nurses do their everyday task n learn about it so we r capable of doing some of their jobs ourselves even as doctor. Such as how nurses fold bed linen which requires specific technique n how to shift the patient from one end to another end of the bed(head to foot position I mean) n oso how to interact wif patients even more at the psychiatry ward.
natalie91
31-05-2010, 01:12 PM
desasiswa not allow us to bring, but after orientation week u can bring ilegallly,haha
will they conduct spot check on us during and after the orientation week?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:14 PM
It depends...Last year I've experienced no spot check at all...
Let's see if u r lucky this year...
Just keep the cupboard locked n try leaving b4 they come...in this way they can't force u to unlock it...
beederbest
31-05-2010, 01:18 PM
a)
a.they will guide u for the registration process for bank islam
b. hostel or first year either 3 or 4 person in a room. got water cooler machine as well as RO water machine. RO water need to pay but very cheap 10 cents for almost 1 litre.
c. it is stated cannot use other electrical appliances except laptop n hp. iron is provided for free in pantry~ small radio should be ok~ fan i would suggest u to buy after u finish orientation. since if found out that u bring need to charge rm50. i suppose officers are more hardworking during orientation week~haha
d. the kem lasts for 3 days. sleep in tent.
e. study schedule depends. usually start at 8.30am or 10.30am then afternoon starts at 2pm till 4pm (lecture or lab). sometimes the timetable is pack sometimes loose.
f. if u think it's not hard to bring then it's ok to bring. but then nowadays lots of soft copy for e-dictionary. just download a few in your laptop as well as ur handphone that would be easier. no need to bring the thick stuff everywhere.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:22 PM
a. if not mistaken u have to~ that's wad i did. recheck the info that u'll receive together in the envelope after u received.
b. hostel or first year either 3 or 4 person in a room. got water cooler machine as well as RO water machine. RO water need to pay but very cheap 10 cents for almost 1 litre.
c. it is stated cannot use other electrical appliances except laptop n hp. iron is provided for free in pantry~ small radio should be ok~ fan i would suggest u to buy after u finish orientation. since if found out that u bring need to charge rm50. i suppose officers are more hardworking during orientation week~haha
d. the kem lasts for 3 days. sleep in tent.
e. study schedule depends. usually start at 8.30am or 10.30am then afternoon starts at 2pm till 4pm (lecture or lab). sometimes the timetable is pack sometimes loose.
f. if u think it's not hard to bring then it's ok to bring. but then nowadays lots of soft copy for e-dictionary. just download a few in your laptop as well as ur handphone that would be easier. no need to bring the thick stuff everywhere.
Do they impose a penalty for bringing fan? I brought it on the first day so I think it is permitted since I won't have some banned items on my table...It's so damn hot in Kelantan...
erm about d hostel v ned 2 stay there 4 d 1st yr ryte n then 2nd yr? if v wan 2 continue staying in d hostel 4 the 5 yrs v r there can ma? thanks
zhiling
31-05-2010, 01:27 PM
ya, it depends. last year i kena spot check once but actually it is nothing. i lock all my stuff in my cupboard, they did not ask me to open. one of my friend she say they even dont step in her room, just ask if u got bring any electrical device and of course u should answer no.
erm about d hostel v ned 2 stay there 4 d 1st yr ryte n then 2nd yr? if v wan 2 continue staying in d hostel 4 the 5 yrs v r there can ma? thanks
can but it depends on the merit marks u get through activities
beederbest
31-05-2010, 01:31 PM
Do they impose a penalty for bringing fan? I brought it on the first day so I think it is permitted since I won't have some banned items on my table...It's so damn hot in Kelantan...
last time when CK bought the fan we did 38 if not mistaken they do impose penalty for fan~ yea~ seriously next semester i'll buy a fan too~
most of the students here stay in the hostel for 5 years. but some (around 10-15 percent) will not be able to get the hostel due to low merit marks. u can get the merit marks by joining extra co-curricular activities~
i heard in main campus some of them ned 2 stay in a different hostel 4 orientation wek (which is nearer) n then after orientation then only they wil shift bck 2 d hostel that they r supose 2 stay 4 their 1st yr...so does tis hapen in kelantan campus?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:35 PM
last time when CK bought the fan we did 38 if not mistaken they do impose penalty for fan~ yea~ seriously next semester i'll buy a fan too~
most of the students here stay in the hostel for 5 years. but some (around 10-15 percent) will not be able to get the hostel due to low merit marks. u can get the merit marks by joining extra co-curricular activities~
See this...
1. You are not allowed to change rooms upon registration and are prohibited from bringing in unauthorized person/individual into the hostel premises.
2. Ensure that the key is kept in a safe place and is always brought along when you leave your room.
3. Ensure that you always lock your room when you go out.
4. You are not allowed to rearrange the furniture and other amenities provided
5. Ensure that you keep all valuables under lock and key in the cupboards so provided.
6. You are prohibited from using an Immersion Heater for cooking food or heating water.
7. Ensure that your room is kept neat and clean always. Please be informed that the University does not provide room cleaning services.
8. Ensure that the mattress and pillow are always encased in their respective covers.
9. Clothes should not be hung openly except in the closet and laundry should always be hung dried on the clothes line as provided.
10. You are prohibited from laying out the mattress in the room floor.
11. Please unsure that you empty your rubbish basket into the rubbish bins located in the pantry every morning to facilitate proper rubbish collection and disposal.
12. You are not allowed to nail on the wall except on the notice boards so provided.
13. An iron and kettle are available in the pantry and you can use these appliances there.
14. Bathrooms are adjacent to each room. Please use the facilities responsibly.
15. Please use the toilet and the sink responsibly.
16. You are prohibited from clogs/slippers at all public areas such as in the Visitors Room, the Secretarial, the Meeting Room and the Office.
17. TV facilities are also available. Please keep the volume down.
18. Ensure that after 12pm, the room lights were switched off if necessary you can use the table/study lamp so provided.
19. You are refrained from acting boisterously after 12pm.
20. Ensure that you do not bringing any member of oppsite gender/sex into the rest room area. This is very serious offence.
21. You are prohibited from bringing in alcoholic beverages into the hostel premises. All forms of gambling are strictly prohibited.
22. You are reminded that the Campus ground are designated No Smoking zones. Ensure that you do not smoking in the campus.
23. Distribution/possession and the use of the drug is an offence.
24. You are prohibited from disseminating prohibited printed material as well as possessing pornographic material.
25. The safety of all personal effect is you sole responsibility.
26. All visitors must leave the hostel premises before 10.00 pm
27. Occupants will be provided with a blanket, a pillow, a mattress, pillow casing, locker/cupboard. These amenities should be used responsibly. Any loss or damaged should be borne by the occupant.
28. Before leaving your room, remember to switch off the light and the fan.
29. You should be properly attired when you are in the dining hall.
30. You are responsible for maintaining the cleaness of the hostel premises and its surroundings.
31. Ensure that you return the room key, pillow, blanket, and pillow casing to the Accomadation Secretariat before checking out. All vehicles should be parked at the designated parking lots.
32. To avoid disturbance from animal and insect, occupant are advised to refrain from bringing in cooked food into the hostel premises.
33. You are requested to take care of all the amenities provided.
34. You are strictly prohibited from bringing food and equipment from the canteen into your rooms.
35. You are reminded not to loiter especially outside he hostel after 12 midnight.
36. If an emergency arises, please contract your contigent's liaison officer or the Accomadation Secretarial (information pertaining to the Secretarial are included in this website)
This is from USM Desasiswa Tekun...Of cos u may find some of these regulations unlike ours...but generally all USM Desasiswas do not ban on table fan...
They emphasize on heat producing device cos it may exceed the limit n may trip off the entire power supply...During matric...we r allowed to bring them as long as it is SIRIM certified...dunno y is it so strict in Uni...
zhiling
31-05-2010, 01:36 PM
i heard in main campus some of them ned 2 stay in a different hostel 4 orientation wek (which is nearer) n then after orientation then only they wil shift bck 2 d hostel that they r supose 2 stay 4 their 1st yr...so does tis hapen in kelantan campus?
No. kelantan only got 2 desa, u will stay in the room which u get during orientation week for the whole year
See this...
1. You are not allowed to change rooms upon registration and are prohibited from bringing in unauthorized person/individual into the hostel premises.
2. Ensure that the key is kept in a safe place and is always brought along when you leave your room.
5. Ensure that you keep all valuables under lock and key in the cupboards so provided.
6. You are prohibited from using an Immersion Heater for cooking food or heating water.
7. Ensure that your room is kept neat and clean always. Please be informed that the University does not provide room cleaning services.
8. Ensure that the mattress and pillow are always encased in their respective covers.
9. Clothes should not be hung openly except in the closet and laundry should always be hung dried on the clothes line as provided.
11. Please unsure that you empty your rubbish basket into the rubbish bins located in the pantry every morning to facilitate proper rubbish collection and disposal.
12. You are not allowed to nail on the wall except on the notice boards so provided.
13. An iron and kettle are available in the pantry and you can use these appliances there.
16. You are prohibited from clogs/slippers at all public areas such as in the Visitors Room, the Secretarial, the Meeting Room and the Office.
18. Ensure that after 12pm, the room lights were switched off if necessary you can use the table/study lamp so provided.
20. Ensure that you do not bringing any member of oppsite gender/sex into the rest room area. This is very serious offence.
21. You are prohibited from bringing in alcoholic beverages into the hostel premises. All forms of gambling are strictly prohibited.
22. You are reminded that the Campus ground are designated No Smoking zones. Ensure that you do not smoking in the campus.
24. You are prohibited from disseminating prohibited printed material as well as possessing pornographic material.
27. Occupants will be provided with a blanket, a pillow, a mattress, pillow casing, locker/cupboard. These amenities should be used responsibly. Any loss or damaged should be borne by the occupant.
30. You are responsible for maintaining the cleaness of the hostel premises and its surroundings.
31. Ensure that you return the room key, pillow, blanket, and pillow casing to the Accomadation Secretariat before checking out. All vehicles should be parked at the designated parking lots.
32. To avoid disturbance from animal and insect, occupant are advised to refrain from bringing in cooked food into the hostel premises.
34. You are strictly prohibited from bringing food and equipment from the canteen into your rooms.
35. You are reminded not to loiter especially outside he hostel after 12 midnight.
36. If an emergency arises, please contract your contigent's liaison officer or the Accomadation Secretarial (information pertaining to the Secretarial are included in this website)
This is from USM Desasiswa Tekun...Of cos u may find some of these regulations unlike ours...but generally all USM Desasiswas do not ban on table fan...
They emphasize on heat producing device cos it may exceed the limit n may trip off the entire power supply...During matric...we r allowed to bring them as long as it is SIRIM certified...dunno y is it so strict in Uni...
erm based on d bolded sentences above, does it means tat d toilet is unlike d toilet lik in matric?? basicaly how is d toilet? n is table lamp reli provided? cz last time in matric it is x provided n v hav 2 bring our own n my roomate even resort 2 hp light 2 study during early in d mor!
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:47 PM
erm based on d bolded sentences above, does it means tat d toilet is unlike d toilet lik in matric?? basicaly how is d toilet? n is table lamp reli provided? cz last time in matric it is x provided n v hav 2 bring our own n my roomate even resort 2 hp light 2 study during early in d mor!
Toilets in matric..the worst of all...bad memories...
Here the toilets in Nurani are sandwiched in between 3 rooms on the left n 3 rooms on the right...
Table lamp...buy it urself...Basically...no one will force u to turn off the light at 12am...only ur roommates...I do bring table lamp if my new roommates want the lights off at 12am...last year my roommates don't mind having it turn on after midnight...
beederbest
31-05-2010, 01:50 PM
washroom will be like 6 rooms (around 16 people) share a washroom which has 3 toilets n 3 showers. it's just adjacent to your room. this is for desa nurani.
for murni the washroom is located further from ur room. not sure how's the interior like.
table lamp is attached to the wall right in fron tof ur study table. about the off main lights after 12, they are not strict bout this. as long as ur roommate has not sleep yet u can on the light till morning.
Toilets in matric..the worst of all...bad memories...
Here the toilets in Nurani are sandwiched in between 3 rooms on the left n 3 rooms on the right...
Table lamp...buy it urself...Basically...no one will force u to turn off the light at 12am...only ur roommates...I do bring table lamp if my new roommates want the lights off at 12am...last year my roommates don't mind having it turn on after midnight...
i totally agree wif u about d matric toilet! so i think i wil bring my own table lamp on d registration day itself cz i m x sure when i wil b going bck 2 my hometwn n i dont think its anytime soon since its so far away but seniors is it advisable? its not a banned item ryte? erm basicly is table lamp provided there? cz lawrence ask me 2 buy myself
beederbest
31-05-2010, 01:55 PM
table lamp good to bring 1. sometimes the table lamp's light is not strong or sometimes too strong. not banned.
zhiling
31-05-2010, 01:57 PM
i totally agree wif u about d matric toilet! so i think i wil bring my own table lamp on d registration day itself cz i m x sure when i wil b going bck 2 my hometwn n i dont think its anytime soon since its so far away but seniors is it advisable? its not a banned item ryte? erm basicly is table lamp provided there? cz lawrence ask me 2 buy myself
where r u from?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 01:58 PM
First impression to ur name is Lee Chong Wei!
Bring it for ur convenience...u r from which Matric? Haha...matric toilet...gross...
It is provided...it has a very strong glare...unless u do some modification to it...such as adding some thing to shade it or the angle of the metal sheet...
I possess my own table lamp since matric so I don't have to buy another one..in ur case u dun have any so u can save ur money by doing those modifications haha...
Table fan is a necessity...u can imagine how it's like during the hot season in Kelantan..consider it a sauna...especially if u r staying on the side facing west...n ur bed is right next to the windows...
if let say v r allow 2 stay there 4 d whole 5 yrs v r there wit d criteria of getting sufficent merit marks, wil v b staying in d same room 4 d 5yrs?
where r u from?
i m frm kl :)
zhiling
31-05-2010, 02:03 PM
if let say v r allow 2 stay there 4 d whole 5 yrs v r there wit d criteria of getting sufficent merit marks, wil v b staying in d same room 4 d 5yrs?
i m frm kl :)
If kl u can go home , not far plus got plane.
when u r in usmkk u will see most of the ppl r always planning when to go home.
no, every year u will get different room. if u have more marks, u can get double room or single room
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:05 PM
no, every year u will get different room. if u have more marks, u can get double room or single room
I think it will be boring n lonely in single n double rooms...so better not score too high in co-curriculum or apply for these special rooms...haha...
If u don't plan to go home during ur first year...u don't have much chances in the following years...an advice from a fifth year senior...
First impression to ur name is Lee Chong Wei!
Bring it for ur convenience...u r from which Matric? Haha...matric toilet...gross...
It is provided...it has a very strong glare...unless u do some modification to it...such as adding some thing to shade it or the angle of the metal sheet...
I possess my own table lamp since matric so I don't have to buy another one..in ur case u dun have any so u can save ur money by doing those modifications haha...
Table fan is a necessity...u can imagine how it's like during the hot season in Kelantan..consider it a sauna...especially if u r staying on the side west...n ur bed is right next to the windows...
lolx....fyi i m a gurl n chong wei is a guy! but i shal take it s a compliment since he is a gud badminton player in our country while i sucks in it! haha...i m frm matrik melaka (d oldest matrik = old facilities)...
Oo...i do hav my own tamble lamp since matrik so i guess i shal bring it along wit d condition my luggages r not over d allocated weight (i m going by flight)!
haha..yeah i do plan 2 buy a fan cz i sweat a lot n i cant tahan hot! gosh tats scary!
natalie91
31-05-2010, 02:06 PM
double room as in 2 ppl per room?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:08 PM
double room as in 2 ppl per room?
Yes...
Referring to the hot weather...there could be an entire week where there is no cloud in the blue blue sky...
Guys take off their clothes when it's hot...however not applicable to gals right?
plane expensive er if wana travel so many times!! haha i think its d same condition evywhere wif students staying in hostels away frm home! tat hapen a lot when i m in matriks n i m one of those cz last time melaka n kl vy near ma...hehe....i go bck almost 1nce a month but now i dont think so can in kelantan!
thanks a lot seniors 4 answering al my questions! hehe i guess i ask 2 much :P
Yes...
Referring to the hot weather...there could be an entire week where there is no cloud in the blue blue sky...
Guys take off their clothes when it's hot...however not applicable to gals right?
gosh tats scary!!! lolx of cz NOT! erm wana ask d bed there is it double decker bed?
lowxuan
31-05-2010, 02:17 PM
>_<....i scare hot...T_T ...sigh*....senior...wat's the clothing code in usm?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:22 PM
plane expensive er if wana travel so many times!! haha i think its d same condition evywhere wif students staying in hostels away frm home! tat hapen a lot when i m in matriks n i m one of those cz last time melaka n kl vy near ma...hehe....i go bck almost 1nce a month but now i dont think so can in kelantan!
thanks a lot seniors 4 answering al my questions! hehe i guess i ask 2 much :P
gosh tats scary!!! lolx of cz NOT! erm wana ask d bed there is it double decker bed?
Ya..double decker...I prefer the one on the lower deck...I may sleepwalk so if I am sleeping on top deck...I will sleepdrop instead...
Clothing code...absolutely none...I mean...not so strict
No dress code in hostel...for classes...u may wear formal/office wear or plain collared t-shirt + slacks...
But I heard one of my friend who applied to be a guide during orientation said...this year it will be much stricter...maybe gonna wear formal clothes most of the time...don't know how true is this...
Formal clothes=hot...
Ya..double decker...I prefer the one on the lower deck...I may sleepwalk so if I am sleeping on top deck...I will sleepdrop instead...
Oo...but d top deck should b cooler ryte cz nearer 2 d fan? wait...d fan is ceiling fan o wall fan? ha? reli ah? i read in d buku panduan tat they say can wear semi formal meaning colar t wit jeans? oh no meaning lik last time in matriks la if ned 2 wear formal! damn hot wei!
beederbest
31-05-2010, 02:25 PM
dress code is formal for medic students.
for the first month 100 percent wear formal. 3 months later 80 percent some swtch to collar T and cotton pants. 6 months later only 20 to 30 percent still wear formal.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:26 PM
for the first month 100 percent wear formal. 3 months later 80 percent some swtch to collar T and cotton pants. 6 months later only 20 to 30 percent still wear formal.
Yea...I should put it like that...I will also be wearing formal in the first month...
erm can i ask wat about shoes? n i wana ask is short sleeve formal shirt allowed?
last time in matric they forbid it so must b long sleeve o at least 3/4 sleeve!
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:32 PM
Oo...but d top deck should b cooler ryte cz nearer 2 d fan? wait...d fan is ceiling fan o wall fan?
It depends whether u open the window or not...N there r a couple of windows...decide on which to open...
The fan is ceiling fan...it directs downwards...sometimes in certain room...The wind from the fan will reach straight down n doesn't supply the top deck...T.T...the lower deck occupant will shiver in a cold weather if left windows opened...
I've slept at the top deck for only 2 rooms so far...both give me a different feel...one is cold another is hot...conclusion is ...it depends...
erm can i ask wat about shoes?
Male...black shoes(leather-like)...when wearing formal...
Or sports/casual shoes ...when wearing collared T-shirts...
Females...I don't notice much about it...XD
I don't think it's high heel...maybe any shoe will be ok...
beederbest
31-05-2010, 02:34 PM
erm can i ask wat about shoes?
should be formal fully covered shoes. but 1st month 100percent fully covered shoes for girls. guys 100 percent black shoes. then 3 months later 80 percent still keep with it some switch to sports shoes n casual fully covered shoes. 6 months later, around 50 percent remain wearing formal shoes... the rest sport shoes, casual shoes and even sandals.
p/s anyway sandals really not advisable.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 02:39 PM
erm can i ask wat about shoes? n i wana ask is short sleeve formal shirt allowed?
last time in matric they forbid it so must b long sleeve o at least 3/4 sleeve!
About the sleeves...Males...short or long ...both accepted
Females...nobody cares isn't it...the clothes r so different for every person...I can't make a summary...
should be formal fully covered shoes. but 1st month 100percent fully covered shoes for girls. guys 100 percent black shoes. then 3 months later 80 percent still keep with it some switch to sports shoes n casual fully covered shoes. 6 months later, around 50 percent remain wearing formal shoes... the rest sport shoes, casual shoes and even sandals.
p/s anyway sandals really not advisable.
Progressions...I m the one in sport shoes even when I'm wearing formal at the late six months...but do wear black shoes during exam...if u don't u may be warned by the examiner...I did...but I told him my black shoes are spoiled...
beederbest
31-05-2010, 02:41 PM
About the sleeves...Males...short or long ...both accepted
Females...nobody cares isn't it...the clothes r so different for every person...I can't make a summary...
female is like anything can do~ as long as it's not sleeveless.
but for orientation week purpose~ most of the girls wear baju kurung~ u can also wear long sleeved shirt with long pants.
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 02:52 PM
Good day to all new students...Welcome to join USM Health Campus...
It won't take long for u to adapt to the life here...
If u have any laptop problems, be it virus or any technical issue...N if u wanna register for the free wifi early...seek out me n Karn...we will be glad to help...(Karn is not here yet...==")
Sure. I'll come to u. I think I know how u look like. Haha.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 03:23 PM
Sure. I'll come to u. I think I know how u look like. Haha.
Okay...how can u be sure of my look?
R u an avid gamer?
dennisssj
31-05-2010, 03:31 PM
i'm from SPM 2008.so how do i apply for it??thanks
go check out esilav2 website.. normally the application form is much more easier.. no need much information as your data already with JPA.. they just want to know your STPM results.
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 03:38 PM
See this...
It's regarding the info No. 27, I got another statement which is totally in contradiction with ur info. I'm confuse now.
"c). Sepanjang tempoh penginapan di Desasiswa, anda dikehendaki membawa sendiri bantal, sarung bantal dan cadar kerana pihak USM tidak menyediakan kemudahan ini."
Overall, do we need 2 bring stuff?
Okay...how can u be sure of my look?
R u an avid gamer?
Do u possess a FB account? If u do, den I think I got u.
Haha...:P
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 03:41 PM
It's regarding the info No. 27, I got another statement which is totally in contradiction with ur info. I'm confuse now.
"c). Sepanjang tempoh penginapan di Desasiswa, anda dikehendaki membawa sendiri bantal, sarung bantal dan cadar kerana pihak USM tidak menyediakan kemudahan ini."
Overall, do we need 2 bring stuff?
Do u possess a FB account? If u do, den I think I got u.
Haha...:P
Yea...I mentioned it's from Desasiswa Tekun...n mentioned there r some regulations unlike our Desasiswa Nurani n Murni...I posted this to highlight about the table fan but not all of the other regulations...
U will have to bring ur pillow ...pillow case...n ur bed sheet...
Yea...u tracked my facebook...n I don't know if ur jinggago works on facebook...
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 03:44 PM
Is there anyone here who was born in Perak n has de intention 2 apply 4 yayasan Perak biasiswa? They'll give away Rm 1000 2 a Perak-born student who had received an offer from public uni.
yennee
31-05-2010, 03:48 PM
no but since u've mentioned it,i'm interested =)
but i thought they will see ur family's income first?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 03:50 PM
So sad that there's no such thing for Penangites...
I went to Ipoh yesterday on my way back from KL..
Such good business at 老王芽菜鸡...even during power failure...candlelight dinner...
Shops in Ipoh seem to close very early...n lots of pretty gals too...
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 04:13 PM
Yea...I mentioned it's from Desasiswa Tekun...n mentioned there r some regulations unlike our Desasiswa Nurani n Murni...I posted this to highlight about the table fan but not all of the other regulations...
Yea...u tracked my facebook...n I don't know if ur jinggago works on facebook...
Haha. U may try it le.
Yes. U're right. Parents' monthly income less than Rm 1500. Most of de time, non of de scholar recipients will not show the exact amount of their parents income. so, anyone-Perakians may simply apply 4 it through the following website:
http://yayasanperak.com.my/borang/borangDermaSiswa.pdf
Young
31-05-2010, 04:16 PM
*Chuckles*
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 04:17 PM
So, how's ur tracking activity? Did u manage to get me? Haha...
yennee
31-05-2010, 04:18 PM
yes yes you're right.many leng luis in ipoh.hahaha
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 04:22 PM
So, how's ur tracking activity? Did u manage to get me? Haha...
Ya ...got ya...tjl...but this time is not really an interesting tracking...XD
yes yes you're right.many leng luis in ipoh.hahaha
N they luv wearing white...while I was wearing black last nite haha...
Ppl r tall too...or is it?
*Chuckles*
*Grin* *Grin*
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 04:35 PM
Ya ...got ya...tjl...but this time is not really an interesting tracking...XD
Oh, dat's too bad. :nod
By the way, do we need to buy pin no. from any BSN 4(PTPTN)? If dis was mention b4, pls 4give me la because sometime I may miss dat part too.
yennee
31-05-2010, 04:35 PM
some are really tall but those i saw not very tall ni
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 04:42 PM
Oh, dat's too bad. :nod
By the way, do we need to buy pin no. from any BSN 4(PTPTN)? If dis was mention b4, pls 4give me la because sometime I may miss dat part too.
I dunno...N I never mentioned it b4...so haha...can't forgive u...
I apply for nothing...no JPA n no PTPTN...only FAMA scholarship
some are really tall but those i saw not very tall ni
I see...thx for telling...
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 04:46 PM
I dunno...N I never mentioned it b4...so haha...can't forgive u...
I apply for nothing...no JPA n no PTPTN...only FAMA scholarship
I see...thx for telling...
How 2 apply 4 it? Is it still open?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 04:48 PM
How 2 apply 4 it? Is it still open?
It's already open for quite long ago...
It's wat we Uni students call Father Mother Scholarship...
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 04:49 PM
So sad that there's no such thing for Penangites...
I went to Ipoh yesterday on my way back from KL..
Such good business at 老王芽菜鸡...even during power failure...candlelight dinner...
Btw, Ipoh is also famous 4 heong pian, roast duck & roast pork. If & only if u r interested in those foods.
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 04:52 PM
Btw, Ipoh is also famous 4 heong pian, roast duck & roast pork. If & only if u r interested in those foods.
Dah makan...昆仑喇叭。。。Gunung rapat heong pan...haha
Roast duck n pork I haven't tried b4(I mean in Ipoh)...I rarely go to Ipoh...
Usually Ipoh ppl luv to work in Penang but not many Penang ppl will choose to work in Ipoh...maybe due to not so many job opportunities...
yennee
31-05-2010, 05:00 PM
many nice food in ipoh.dim sum,tau fu fah.yummy~
yea because penang is more developed than ipoh.ipoh is still developing slowly.
Is there anyone here who was born in Perak n has de intention 2 apply 4 yayasan Perak biasiswa? They'll give away Rm 1000 2 a Perak-born student who had received an offer from public uni.
ya.. rm1000 wil b given 2 de Perakian. but wil get it when u in Uni so ask ur parent 2 go 2 take. not sure rm1000 or rm1200..4get d..
xiaoyu
31-05-2010, 05:02 PM
i heard some say girls must buy blue or purple baju kurung~is it true?i have orange one~
har? no la..any colour also ok.. no prob de.
yennee
31-05-2010, 05:06 PM
har? no la..any colour also ok.. no prob de.
where got such thing??i don't think usm is that strict la
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 05:08 PM
where got such thing??i don't think usm is that strict la
Uni students=almost full-grown adults...
Dun nid them to act like our parents haha...
Tell me which USM senior told u tat...XD
[quote=lawrenceleong88;326625]Uni students=almost full-grown adults...
Dun nid them to act like our parents haha...
ya..agree. even there r some 'rules' 4 wad 2 wear, ppl also not follow de..right?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 05:15 PM
ya..agree. even there r some 'rules' 4 wad 2 wear, ppl also not follow de..right?
Yup...I've just read the yellow book...The guidebook n objective book of USM Medicine Phase One...
There is a section about the dress code...but obviously most of us do not obey it...haha
yennee
31-05-2010, 05:16 PM
when will we be receiving the letter??
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 05:18 PM
many nice food in ipoh.dim sum,tau fu fah.yummy~
yea because penang is more developed than ipoh.ipoh is still developing slowly.
These are among my favourites...Tau fu fa...Dim sum...haha...
Maybe I love them cos I'm a Cantonese...
when will we be receiving the letter??
The package will arrive at random time...different for every person...
Yup...I've just read the yellow book...The guidebook n objective book of USM Medicine Phase One...
There is a section about the dress code...but obviously most of us do not obey it...haha
wow..u stil keep de book ar? mine 1 in recycle bin d..
yalo.. some wear t-shirt 2 kuliah also.
george1209
31-05-2010, 05:41 PM
are you guys took stpm ?? what urs result and MUET result? curious to know because i aim to take medic in the future..!!
emm..just ignore my question - -i saw urs result in previous page.. thanks..
but i so curious..why u all take medic since u not taking biology when matrix/stpm??
edinz
31-05-2010, 05:50 PM
lawrence the medic books are expensive right?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 06:21 PM
lawrence the medic books are expensive right?
U will only need one for first year...it's about RM90++
Atlas of Human Anatomy
are you guys took stpm ?? what urs result and MUET result? curious to know because i aim to take medic in the future..!!
emm..just ignore my question - -i saw urs result in previous page.. thanks..
but i so curious..why u all take medic since u not taking biology when matrix/stpm??
Who r u referring to? Very confusing post u have here...haha...
wow..u stil keep de book ar? mine 1 in recycle bin d..
yalo.. some wear t-shirt 2 kuliah also.
Keep la...y throw lol...
Cos I study by soft copy thus very less load to bring home after a year...This yellow book isn't a problem...
I wear t-shirt but it's becos I m in Lecture Hall 7 most of the time...the lecturer won't get to see us in Lecture Hall 7...Even if he/she does...nobody cares about our attire...
milniq
31-05-2010, 07:13 PM
wow...so surprise that so many seniors turn out....kekeke...paiseh for busybody-ing...cz i m not medic stud...
erm...as for the medical books...it actuallly depends on your repective direct senior...some will adviced you to buy few more book...for reference...but Netter's Atlas of Anatomy is a must....
lfwinks
31-05-2010, 09:48 PM
will there be any ''karnival'' as in matric where we can buy things like pails, and stuffs like that??
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 10:03 PM
will there be any ''karnival'' as in matric where we can buy things like pails, and stuffs like that??
Haha..soundls like Matric first day..
Sorry for dissapointing...NO....XD
no such karnival, but u can get those thing in de "shopping centre" in front of USM like Mydin n Nirwana.
lfwinks
31-05-2010, 10:11 PM
oh, i see.... which means we have to bring them all with us on the first day?? haha that's too bad by the way, they provide tables for each one of us in the room right??
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 10:18 PM
oh, i see.... which means we have to bring them all with us on the first day?? haha that's too bad by the way, they provide tables for each one of us in the room right??
Yea...table for each...
U can buy gradually from the nearby shopping centres...as mentioned by zme...
There is KB mall but u will have to take a bus ride...
Why don't u bring it all..if u r coming by car...
no need 2 bring table, coz no place 2 put. better bring all if u go by car coz on dat day de shopping centre wil b crowded.
lfwinks
31-05-2010, 10:25 PM
ooh, thanks... i'm coming by flight, so, that's the problem.. haha i heard my mum's friend say that there's a Mydin mart right in front of USM, is it??
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 10:28 PM
ooh, thanks... i'm coming by flight, so, that's the problem.. haha i heard my mum's friend say that there's a Mydin mart right in front of USM, is it??
Oo..problem it is...I never board a plane b4...how much will it fine if u exceed the limit?
Yea...about a 10 minutes walk will bring u there...
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 10:40 PM
May I know where r u from? What course did u get?
lawrenceleong88
31-05-2010, 10:50 PM
Her profile says it's Johor Bahru...This is Medicine thread right?
Refer post #31 Page 4
lfwinks:hi! i'll be joining you guys for USM medic too...
lfwinks
31-05-2010, 11:23 PM
Oo..problem it is...I never board a plane b4...how much will it fine if u exceed the limit?
thanks..i have no idea... haven't been fine before. but i think it's going to be expensive.. haha
ya, i'm from johor bahru... and obviously, i got medic... haha
SpongeBobOct
31-05-2010, 11:55 PM
thanks..i have no idea... haven't been fine before. but i think it's going to be expensive.. haha
Haha. Confucius got me confused.
By the way, USM had updated the Permohonan@<hidden> web. Pls check de web 4 more info on Lampirans.
beederbest
01-06-2010, 06:52 AM
within 10 minutes can even reach KFC ady~ ^^
u're using airasia or mas? usually the officers allow you to exceed 5kg than the limit unless the officers are in bad mood that day. normal airasia luggage weight is 15kg mas 20kg. i think for airasia if check in cargo for extra luggage on the spot each luggage cost you rm30. mas not sure. if they count by Kg then it would be disastrous to your pocket. for hand carry now they implement 1 passenger 1 hand carry n cannot exceed 7 or 9kg~have to check back~ this should be for airasia but so far they do not weigh your hand carry item. but some passengers are asked to check in their extra hand carry luggage into cargo.
CINDY91
01-06-2010, 12:16 PM
[quote=lawrenceleong88;326664]U will only need one for first year...it's about RM90++
Atlas of Human Anatomy
Where can we buy dis book? We buy fr the outside bookstore or in de campus? May i noe the publisher n author?
Is round-necked t-shirt permitted when attending lecture? I tot for med students, we must wear formal shirts during clinical years or visiting HUSM rite?
lawrenceleong88
01-06-2010, 12:24 PM
Where can we buy dis book? We buy fr the outside bookstore or in de campus? May i noe the publisher n author?
Is round-necked t-shirt permitted when attending lecture? I tot for med students, we must wear formal shirts during clinical years or visiting HUSM rite?
There will be bookstores representatives coming to USM every few weeks...Wait patiently till u get one with a good n affordable price...cos they come with different prices for the same book...
The author is Frank H. Netter. published by Saunders/Elsevier...visit elsevierhealth.com...
The version is not for sale in Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan or USA...
When attending lecture u try wearing formal clothes in the beginning of the year...observe the changes in other students then u can keep up with the fashion...ppl wearing t-shirts will pop out soon...
During clinical years which is during year 2 till 5...u get a lot of sessions to visit HUSM thus u have to wear formal clothes + white coat to visit the hospital...
It is recommended to wear collared t-shirt...cos if without collar...u r not allowed to enter the library..or at least warned by the guard of the library when u exit it...
SoooNegative
01-06-2010, 03:24 PM
There will be bookstores representatives coming to USM every few weeks...Wait patiently till u get one with a good n affordable price...cos they come with different prices for the same book...
The author is Frank H. Netter. published by Saunders/Elsevier...visit elsevierhealth.com...
The version is not for sale in Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan or USA...
When attending lecture u try wearing formal clothes in the beginning of the year...observe the changes in other students then u can keep up with the fashion...ppl wearing t-shirts will pop out soon...
During clinical years which is during year 2 till 5...u get a lot of sessions to visit HUSM thus u have to wear formal clothes + white coat to visit the hospital...
It is recommended to wear collared t-shirt...cos if without collar...u r not allowed to enter the library..or at least warned by the guard of the library when u exit it...
Almost like matrics. =.=
lawrenceleong88
01-06-2010, 03:30 PM
Almost like matrics. =.=
Hehe...but I remain wearing formal clothes till the end of the year in matric...
SoooNegative
01-06-2010, 03:35 PM
Hehe...but I remain wearing formal clothes till the end of the year in matric...
Yea. Almost only. Matrics is stricter. even outing also have to apply...:oh
lfwinks
01-06-2010, 08:39 PM
u're using airasia or mas? usually the officers allow you to exceed 5kg than the limit unless the officers are in bad mood that day. normal airasia luggage weight is 15kg mas 20kg. i think for airasia if check in cargo for extra luggage on the spot each luggage cost you rm30. mas not sure. if they count by Kg then it would be disastrous to your pocket. for hand carry now they implement 1 passenger 1 hand carry n cannot exceed 7 or 9kg~have to check back~ this should be for airasia but so far they do not weigh your hand carry item. but some passengers are asked to check in their extra hand carry luggage into cargo.
thanks for the info...i guess i'm going by MAS this time... i flew by airasia the last time i came for the interview
george1209
01-06-2010, 08:45 PM
may i know what you all co-curiculum marks ??
does this really important ??
lawrenceleong88
01-06-2010, 10:39 PM
may i know what you all co-curiculum marks ??
does this really important ??
Zzz...of course it is...
U believe it isn't?
Mine is...between 97 to 100...
But u don't expect everyone here to be answering this right? Or u can try leaving a Visitor Message for everyone here...haha
So u didn't manage to enter Matric right? Going for Form 6?
yennee
01-06-2010, 10:43 PM
wah ur coco marks so high..
lawrenceleong88
01-06-2010, 10:47 PM
wah ur coco marks so high..
It has no significance now...=="
yennee
01-06-2010, 11:00 PM
lol.it has last time
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 11:44 AM
This is the interactive page...providing a very clear plan of USM health campus layout...
http://registry.usm.my/admis/movie/mapkesihatan2.swf
lowxuan
02-06-2010, 12:19 PM
@<hidden>,
do u have any link or anything or anywher who show wat r we going to study in the 1st year ?
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 12:22 PM
@<hidden>,
do u have any link or anything or anywher who show wat r we going to study in the 1st year ?
From quansheng...there is another chinese written part..but I won't be quoting it here...cos I might be asked again by others to translate it myself...=="
Note that the topics of phase 2 n 3 might not be 100% accurate...n they r not in the correct order...since this isn't a recently up to date version...
(A) Kursus Teras
修读学科 :
http://quansheng.org/kexi0910/USM%20yixue%20xi%20fen%20xiao/USM%20yi%20xue%20xi%20fen%20xiao%20kexijieshao%20yixue_clip_image002.jpg
rida2104
02-06-2010, 03:12 PM
when we will receive the official offer letter from USM?
beederbest
02-06-2010, 03:21 PM
when we will receive the official offer letter from USM?
last timei received mine 1to 2 weeks before the registration day in usm.
rida2104
02-06-2010, 03:25 PM
last timei received mine 1to 2 weeks before the registration day in usm.
very late.. isn't it?
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 03:35 PM
very late.. isn't it?
As mentioned b4...u may receive it early/late...
For 1 or 2 weeks before registering...consider it a bit late...
But then as seen on news yesterday...there r about 1000+ ppl haven't clicked the Accept/Refuse button...this may be causing it as well...
馬來西亞理科大學完成招收2010/2011學士學位新生,理大共提供3694個學額,其中2690名被錄取者確定接納有關名額。
這也意味,有關的學額仍未填滿,未被錄取的申請者,即日起可通過書信方式直接向理大作出上訴,以填補有關空缺,上訴截止日期為6月21日。
USM provides 3694 places...2690 places r confirmed accepted by the students...
This means that those who would like to appeal can appeal beginning today through written form...to fill it the empty spaces...effective till June 21st...
Correct me if I'm wrong...
SpongeBobOct
02-06-2010, 06:30 PM
@<hidden> Seniors
May I know what type of language do the lecturer use to lecture students?
edinz
02-06-2010, 07:06 PM
of cos english
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 07:11 PM
of cos english
But some use Malay...n some use English that it won't be easy to catch its content...E.g. Some Prof./Assoc. Prof. from India...Bangladesh...with their hometown accent...
george1209
02-06-2010, 07:29 PM
Zzz...of course it is...
U believe it isn't?
Mine is...between 97 to 100...
But u don't expect everyone here to be answering this right? Or u can try leaving a Visitor Message for everyone here...haha
So u didn't manage to enter Matric right? Going for Form 6?
ya..didn't manage to get matric....currently in form six but maybe will go to a-lvl .. senior have any suggestion... ?:)
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 07:33 PM
ya..didn't manage to get matric....currently in form six but maybe will go to a-lvl .. senior have any suggestion... ?:)
Haha...no...
Do ur best...
CINDY91
02-06-2010, 10:18 PM
Where is de nearest place to buy fruits n breads? Any mini-market in de campus?
De campus provide food during weekend or we hv to go out to buy?
Wat shud we rely on during de first few weeks since we don hv any reference?
lfwinks
02-06-2010, 10:23 PM
is it ok for girls to wear short sleeves collared t-shirt, it doesn't have to be long sleeves right??
lawrenceleong88
02-06-2010, 10:28 PM
Where is de nearest place to buy fruits n breads? Any mini-market in de campus?
De campus provide food during weekend or we hv to go out to buy?
Wat shud we rely on during de first few weeks since we don hv any reference?
Yes..mini markets r available..one in Murni...one in Nurani hostel...Some located at hospital region...
Campus provides u with cafes...u buy the food from cafe...
Wat r u relying on the first few weeks? Food? I don't get wat u mean...
U can rely on seniors who r there...
is it ok for girls to wear short sleeves collared t-shirt, it doesn't have to be long sleeves right??
As long as it is collared..it is good enough...
Don't care about sleeves...
rida2104
02-06-2010, 11:47 PM
usm already lock up d pohon.usm... i forgot to save n print all the lampirans "panduan siswa baru". anyone already save a copy of it? do you mind to email me the copies?? pliz... email me at eewey_2104@<hidden>
natalie91
03-06-2010, 12:31 AM
do we have to change room after every semester(4 to 5 months)? and during the period of long holidays ,where should we put our stuffs like pails,books,small drawer,table fan,etc if we cant bring all these stuffs back to our homes since some of us r sitting bus or plane. Is there a store room to store all these stuffs?
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 12:39 AM
do we have to change room after every semester(4 to 5 months)? and during the period of long holidays ,where should we put our stuffs like pails,books,small drawer,table fan,etc if we cant bring all these stuffs back to our homes since some of us r sitting bus or plane. Is there a store room to store all these stuffs?
Semester system doesn't really apply for Medicine students...we don't use the term to describe our period...
We change room every year...not the 4 to 5 months...
U don't have a long holiday in the middle of ur course...not really long...n the period for holidays differs for every Medicine student year...
For me..Year 1 year end holiday is from May 7th till July 11th...about 2 months...I brought 50% of my possessions home n the rest left in the pantry(acts as store room now).
That's why I say use soft copy instead of hard copy will save u trouble at year end...
For me..I left my pails, table fan from ur list of items at the store room...which are things tat will be reused the next year...Small drawer? Table comes with a small drawer...they are left in my room
I bring home most of the clothes to change some new ones...n all food remains too...
beederbest
03-06-2010, 12:42 AM
they will open up pantry room n storeroom for u to keep your things~ not somuch to worry~
natalie91
03-06-2010, 12:58 AM
For me..I left my pails, table fan from ur list of items at the store room...which are things tat will be reused the next year...Small drawer? Table comes with a small drawer...they are left in my room
I bring home most of the clothes to change some new ones...n all food remains too...
hehe, sorry ,not small drawer, is a small shelf so that i got more space to put my books, foods and stuffs. I used to bring one during my matric.
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 01:00 AM
hehe, sorry ,not small drawer, is a small shelf so that i got more space to put my books, foods and stuffs. I used to bring one during my matric.
Omg...u can bring this while travelling via bus n plane? Amazed...haha
Above ur table there r 2 layer of metal shelves attached to the wall...enough for u to put most of ur things there...still thinking of bringing the shelf?
natalie91
03-06-2010, 01:11 AM
Omg...u can bring this while travelling via bus n plane? Amazed...haha
Above ur table there r 2 layer of metal shelves attached to the wall...enough for u to put most of ur things there...still thinking of bringing the shelf?
Haha. Actually i'm coming by car for the 1st time so i've got no prob in bringing the shelf. What worries me is during that period of holidays but since there is a pantry available, i've got no worries now. Thanks senior lawrence for answering my ques patiently,haha.
CINDY91
03-06-2010, 08:28 PM
Ooopss...sori.. i mean de study materials. Since we don hv any reference books yet right?
SapphireDragon
03-06-2010, 08:33 PM
"There will be an oversupply of doctors in 5 to 6 years time and students should be aware of this future trend" says MCA President Chua Soi Lek today in The Star.
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 08:54 PM
Ooopss...sori.. i mean de study materials. Since we don hv any reference books yet right?
Once the class starts...then u will have study materials...don't be too tensed for the first few weeks...Dun worry that "OMG...what r these? They look so important! Do I have to memorise all these? How will these be asked in exam? What format will it be?"
Just relax...okay...at about halfway throughout your first year...u will find the first few weeks less important than other topics u r gonna study later...Those r meant to mould ur personality n give u an idea about behavioural sciences...
"There will be an oversupply of doctors in 5 to 6 years time and students should be aware of this future trend" says MCA President Chua Soi Lek today in The Star.
Yea...SapphireDragon..but there's a much suitable thread out there...it's the "Would there be an excess of medical doctors in this country in the future? " thread...I will join the aforesaid discussion very soon...haha
Ur post here may cause unnecessary discussion in USM Medicine thread which is junior-centered...
MarknJun
03-06-2010, 11:13 PM
Hi =)
Anyone here going for interview, programme medic@<hidden> under usm one?
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 11:21 PM
Hi =)
Anyone here going for interview, programme medic@<hidden> under usm one?
U r going for Nus n Ufo? Anything to do with this medic@<hidden>?
Care to tell more about this?
MarknJun
03-06-2010, 11:27 PM
Yaya, most probably going to NUS.
Its different thg.
Sorry sorry, I cant find any threads regarding the new programme by usm, medic@<hidden>, which my friend going to be interviewed dis saturday.
Its a 5 years programme introduced by usm, collaboration with Karnataka Lingayat University. Successful candidates wil go to india for study, and accredited USM medical degree.
She's not so sure bout everythg, whether can borrow loan or not, etc.
So i'm asking on her behalf.
Anyone anyone?
beederbest
03-06-2010, 11:44 PM
Yaya, most probably going to NUS.
Its different thg.
Sorry sorry, I cant find any threads regarding the new programme by usm, medic@<hidden>, which my friend going to be interviewed dis saturday.
Its a 5 years programme introduced by usm, collaboration with Karnataka Lingayat University. Successful candidates wil go to india for study, and accredited USM medical degree.
She's not so sure bout everythg, whether can borrow loan or not, etc.
So i'm asking on her behalf.
Anyone anyone?
there's a group of people from india who came to our campus this year n being introduced the system in usm here. i once talked to one of the indians from this group of people which is the registrar from the uni in india that's going to collaborate with usm. what i got was the school in india is going to offer subjects like anatomy for 100 students from usm~ details not too sure~ mayb u can try ask ur fren how did he or she get the interview?
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 11:49 PM
there's a group of people from india who came to our campus this year n being introduced the system in usm here. i once talked to one of the indians from this group of people which is the registrar from the uni in india that's going to collaborate with usm. what i got was the school in india is going to offer subjects like anatomy for 100 students from usm~ details not too sure~ mayb u can try ask ur fren how did he or she get the interview?
And also MarknJun...how did ur fren know about this unique programme? Is she from Matriculation or Form 6?
I think she will be the first batch...so it's impossible to get info from seniors...
She should contact USM personally to clear her doubts...
MarknJun
03-06-2010, 11:49 PM
She applied for the programme during march.
thru pohon.usm.my/india, after her STPM.
She got the phone call yest, calling her to go kl for interview session.
lawrenceleong88
03-06-2010, 11:52 PM
She applied for the programme during march.
thru pohon.usm.my/india, after her STPM.
She got the phone call yest, calling her to go kl for interview session.
According to the website...
Interview's Information
Place Date
Universiti Sains Malaysia, Main Campus,Pulau Pinang
:
03 JUN - 04 JUN 2010
Universiti Sains Malaysia,Health Campus,Kubang Krian,Kota Bharu,Kelantan
:
03 JUN - 04 JUN 2010
Ask her whether it's in KL or Penang or Kelantan...reconfirm it...
MarknJun
03-06-2010, 11:58 PM
And also MarknJun...how did ur fren know about this unique programme? Is she from Matriculation or Form 6?
I think she will be the first batch...so it's impossible to get info from seniors...
She should contact USM personally to clear her doubts...
Ya ya, if she got the offer, she'll be the 1st batch.
From form 6, she get to kno dis programme thru STAR newspaper.
The advertisement only show up twice only according to her.
So i think that's y few ppl know.
But according to one newspaper article, they'll be sending 100 students 1st among the 500 applicants.
If the programme doing well, they wil send students for dentistry.
The article(she found in usm website n email me):
USM to franchise medical degree
MALAYSIA'S bid to be an exporter of quality tertiary education will see Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) establish an offshore presence in India by the middle of this year.
USM vice-chancellor Tan Sri Dzulkifli Abdul Razak told Business Times in Penang that the university plans to franchise its five-year medical degree programme by joining forces with KLE University's Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College in Belgaum, Karnataka state.
The move is seen as benefiting both institutions of higher learning, which are eyeing to recruit overseas students for their medical degree courses.
KLE University, or Karnatak Lingayat Education, is sponsored by KLE Society, established in 1916.
The university was set up in 2006 and boasts of faculties of dentistry, pharmacy, ayurveda, physiotherapy and nursing as well as medicine.
Dzulkifli said USM was invited by KLE to franchise its medical degree on the Indian subcontinent, adding that response from private students has been overwhelming.
"We were only looking at an initial 100 students and have received 500 applications so far," he said.
Dzulkifli said USM will not be committing any capital to the venture as all the infrastructure will be provided by the Indian partner.
"USM will have a permanent deputy dean based in India and the course will be run by Indian academics who are trained by us."
USM's School of Medical Sciences is located in Kubang Kerian in Kelantan.
"We will begin in July by franchising the five-year medical degree, after which we may consider dentistry and pharmacy.
"If this venture is successful, we may consider duplicating the franchising model in the United Arab Emirates," Dzulkifli said.
Apart from tapping the lucrative foreign student market, USM is also looking at giving its medical students exposure as exchange students in India, one of the few remaining countries where medical students can work on cadavers.
(New Straits Times, 4 Mei 2010, ms B5, News)
And she asked tat ques ady, usm officer said change venue.
Thanks yea. =)
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 12:07 AM
Ya ya, if she got the offer, she'll be the 1st batch.
From form 6, she get to kno dis programme thru STAR newspaper.
The advertisement only show up twice only according to her.
So i think that's y few ppl know.
But according to one newspaper article, they'll be sending 100 students 1st among the 500 applicants.
If the programme doing well, they wil send students for dentistry.
The article(she found in usm website n email me):
USM to franchise medical degree
MALAYSIA'S bid to be an exporter of quality tertiary education will see Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM) establish an offshore presence in India by the middle of this year.
USM vice-chancellor Tan Sri Dzulkifli Abdul Razak told Business Times in Penang that the university plans to franchise its five-year medical degree programme by joining forces with KLE University's Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College in Belgaum, Karnataka state.
The move is seen as benefiting both institutions of higher learning, which are eyeing to recruit overseas students for their medical degree courses.
KLE University, or Karnatak Lingayat Education, is sponsored by KLE Society, established in 1916.
The university was set up in 2006 and boasts of faculties of dentistry, pharmacy, ayurveda, physiotherapy and nursing as well as medicine.
Dzulkifli said USM was invited by KLE to franchise its medical degree on the Indian subcontinent, adding that response from private students has been overwhelming.
"We were only looking at an initial 100 students and have received 500 applications so far," he said.
Dzulkifli said USM will not be committing any capital to the venture as all the infrastructure will be provided by the Indian partner.
"USM will have a permanent deputy dean based in India and the course will be run by Indian academics who are trained by us."
USM's School of Medical Sciences is located in Kubang Kerian in Kelantan.
"We will begin in July by franchising the five-year medical degree, after which we may consider dentistry and pharmacy.
"If this venture is successful, we may consider duplicating the franchising model in the United Arab Emirates," Dzulkifli said.
Apart from tapping the lucrative foreign student market, USM is also looking at giving its medical students exposure as exchange students in India, one of the few remaining countries where medical students can work on cadavers.
(New Straits Times, 4 Mei 2010, ms B5, News)
And she asked tat ques ady, usm officer said change venue.
Thanks yea. =)
U r welcome...
Wow...she's a lucky one...hopefully the venue won't be a problem to her...do make it in time...
beederbest
04-06-2010, 12:31 AM
U r welcome...
Wow...she's a lucky one...hopefully the venue won't be a problem to her...do make it in time...
btw can we the 09/10 first yearbatch apply for a transfer to india for the study...mayb like student exchange... who knows they still got seats?~~haha
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 12:35 AM
btw can we the 09/10 first yearbatch apply for a transfer to india for the study...mayb like student exchange... who knows they still got seats?~~haha
Do u wish to go there so much lol...?
The weather kills...it's reported to be 47 degree celcius in this week!
The cert is still from USM...n u get to suffer through the seasons...the hygiene level is different from one region to another in India...expect typhoid n any pandemic...
What if u contract some rare/new found deadly virus there?
Good to study epidemiology n anatomy though with so many fresh specimens n all-time available diseases...^^
beederbest
04-06-2010, 12:44 AM
Do u wish to go there so much lol...?
The weather kills...it's reported to be 47 degree celcius in this week!
The cert is still from USM...n u get to suffer through the seasons...the hygiene level is different from one region to another in India...expect typhoid n any epidemic...
What if u contract some rare/new found deadly virus there?
Good to study epidemiology n anatomy though with so many fresh specimens n all-time available diseases...^^
haha...if can go like 3 months i guess i'll go...open up eyes to the medical sch in india..how it runs n so on... i guess wont be dead too~ n can have all the cadaever which is so 'cool'~ choose to go during winter~hahaha~ ok enough for dreams... back to usm medicine 10/11 thread~
tips for future juniors:
to avoid mosquitoes, u can buy mosquito netting in the shops opposite the campus n install it to your room window...for me i use binding tapes to stick it to the window frame.
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 12:49 AM
haha...if can go like 3 months i guess i'll go...open up eyes to the medical sch in india..how it runs n so on... i guess wont be dead too~ n can have all the cadaever which is so 'cool'~ choose to go during winter~hahaha~ ok enough for dreams... back to usm medicine 10/11 thread~
tips for future juniors:
to avoid mosquitoes, u can buy mosquito netting in the shops opposite the campus n install it to your room window...for me i use binding tapes to stick it to the window frame.
Haha...Then it would be better if we ask USM to set up a franchise in Japan...in spite of the natural disasters(danger lurks in every country)...at least it has a much comfortable clinical setting...Why India n United Arab Emirates? They luv the heat?
For the mosquito tips...I think we won't be applying it next year cos we'll be moving to the higher floors...
beederbest
04-06-2010, 12:55 AM
Haha...Then it would be better if we ask USM to set up a franchise in Japan...in spite of the natural disasters(danger lurks in every country)...at least it has a much comfortable clinical setting...Why India n United Arab Emirates? They luv the heat?
For the mosquito tips...I think we won't be applying it next year cos we'll be moving to the higher floors...
haha~ no idea...mayb they like desserts n curry~haha...joking. usually 1st years will be staying in ground floor.. for us hopefully
dun move up to too high~ walk till tired~ but can savee some blood from mosquitoe~
natalie91
04-06-2010, 01:07 AM
can we use the mosquitoes repeller like the ridsect mat ? I stayed on the 4th floor during matric but still unable to avoid those bloodsuckers though:(
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 01:13 AM
haha~ no idea...mayb they like desserts n curry~haha...joking. usually 1st years will be staying in ground floor.. for us hopefully
dun move up to too high~ walk till tired~ but can savee some blood from mosquitoe~
Back to the medic@<hidden> spotted this finally "Apart from tapping the lucrative foreign student market, USM is also looking at giving its medical students exposure as exchange students in India, one of the few remaining countries where medical students can work on cadavers."
U can fulfill ur Indian dreams perhaps! Sorry I didn't notice this just now...
beederbest
04-06-2010, 01:16 AM
can we use the mosquitoes repeller like the ridsect mat ? I stayed on the 4th floor during matric but still unable to avoid those bloodsuckers though:(
yea the ridset mat m roommate use quite ok... but that is with my room already installed with netting. n not forget to mention bout 'little charlie' in the campus.. can cause skin inflammation after it passed by ur body. i got once. if got condition have to get kind of cream to apply on the skin, can get the cream from campus student clinic.
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 01:20 AM
Haizz...I stayed in ground floor during Matriculation...bad luck...swarms of mosquitoes...
Same here in my first year...but not as serious as Matric...
Just use whatever u have to exterminate them! But don't overdo it...it's poisonous after all...
Keep the windows n curtains closed when it's cool enough...buy a mosquito electrocuting racket if it persists...
yea the ridset mat m roommate use quite ok... but that is with my room already installed with netting. n not forget to mention bout 'little charlie' in the campus.. can cause skin inflammation after it passed by ur body. i got once. if got condition have to get kind of cream to apply on the skin, can get the cream from campus student clinic.
The charlie he's referring to rove beetle...causing paederus dermatitis...
04-06-2010, 04:04 AM
Back to the medic@<hidden> spotted this finally "Apart from tapping the lucrative foreign student market, USM is also looking at giving its medical students exposure as exchange students in India, one of the few remaining countries where medical students can work on cadavers."
U can fulfill ur Indian dreams perhaps! Sorry I didn't notice this just now...Sorry for interrupting but Malaysia doesn't use cadaver for anatomy?
lawrenceleong88
04-06-2010, 11:52 AM
Sorry for interrupting but Malaysia doesn't use cadaver for anatomy?
Malaysia does...Isn't it that there r more cadavers in India? I thought quite a number of people in India sell the dead bodies of family members for medical studies?
That's just a quote from MarknJun post #219(quoted from another website)...not my opinion actually...
Shirley
05-06-2010, 01:28 AM
HeLLO!!! I have juz get to know this thread here and juz finish viewing all the discussions...
I am an ex Stpm leaver and am glad to know few of the future coursemates here in medical course.
In btw, i hav viewed the buku panduan on9 and i see it is written that collared shirt and jeans is allowed to wear during lectures in kuliah...so i don think there is any changes this year in dress....hope there is not...hehe
Also, seniors, I hav a question regarding to dressing code in Kelantan. Is it compulsory for us especially gals to wear pants or skirt below knee when we go outside of the campus, for instance, when we go to KB MALL or any food stalls around there? Even if the pant is shorter a bit, juz above knee slightly, it is also nt allowed to wear like that?
lowxuan
05-06-2010, 05:33 AM
To senior....Just wanna ask....any "ghost story" in USM health campus? or somewher that we shudnt go...or something that we shudnt say....or something we shud do before we settle in the hostel. You know.....we study in NEAR or IN hospital...Eventually...we live near hospital right?
lawrenceleong88
05-06-2010, 07:00 AM
HeLLO!!! I have juz get to know this thread here and juz finish viewing all the discussions...
I am an ex Stpm leaver and am glad to know few of the future coursemates here in medical course.
In btw, i hav viewed the buku panduan on9 and i see it is written that collared shirt and jeans is allowed to wear during lectures in kuliah...so i don think there is any changes this year in dress....hope there is not...hehe
Also, seniors, I hav a question regarding to dressing code in Kelantan. Is it compulsory for us especially gals to wear pants or skirt below knee when we go outside of the campus, for instance, when we go to KB MALL or any food stalls around there? Even if the pant is shorter a bit, juz above knee slightly, it is also nt allowed to wear like that?
For last year...the buku panduan is somewhat similar to this...but one or two weeks before that...my school had a senior n junior gathering for every local Uni + register for alumni association...then the seniors told us that something about the link between Apex n wear those formal clothes(encourage to wear them unless u try to stand out from the crowd).
There is no such strict dress code in Kelantan actually...U r being misled by certain political parties...I didn't know that as well till I came to Kelantan n discussed about the fake rumors about Kelantan with my relative there...
Haven't u see a lot of Thai gals around? They could be anytime hotter than u are...Wear what u like..for non-Muslims...
I heard of ppl telling stories that certain meat is not sold in Kelantan as well...it's all false...Whereas in other states...they r asked to sell behind black glasses(not to be mistaken as sunglasses)
To senior....Just wanna ask....any "ghost story" in USM health campus? or somewher that we shudnt go...or something that we shudnt say....or something we shud do before we settle in the hostel. You know.....we study in NEAR or IN hospital...Eventually...we live near hospital right?
I haven't heard of any taboo in USM so far...
Ghost story err...ya..one of the ReCom friends who was semi-active here last year said he encountered some supernatural phenomenon when he was driving around the golf course at midnight..but who would go to such deserted place at that time? Maybe u can experience in first hand!
xiaoyu
05-06-2010, 08:52 AM
:Phow bout the orientation week?
i heard from my um frend saying that the week is horrible~any idea?
lawrenceleong88
05-06-2010, 05:57 PM
:Phow bout the orientation week?
i heard from my um frend saying that the week is horrible~any idea?
I thought I posted about this before?
http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=326478&postcount=93
"The good thing about USM orientation is it only lasts for a week...then u begin learning about bioethics n social health...then proceed to nursing in which u r allocated in various department in the USM hospital..wearing white coats...n learn about nurses...
In USM I think it may be the best choice to study medicine since it doesn't have a long period orientation which includes ragging, which is the activity where seniors force their juniors to do stuffs. E.g. Some wake their juniors at the middle of the night n forced them to write 6 essays, some make them call all seniors through phone n talk till they r asked to stop, some forced the juniors to run to the top floor to retrieve something then run down to the ground floor only to be flushed wet by buckets of water by the seniors. These r unethical at all for medical students n these ruin our should-be helpful n not a sadistic(enjoy when u see other ppl suffer) mind. USM bans ragging at all costs n any offender will be charged seriously.
We have the first block which is the bioethics n social health to instill proper conduct of a doctor including family n society wellness. This block is operating while other unis are still having their ragging activity. We have the nursing block at the third week where we r allowed to go with white coats n visit to every department in USM hospital to be exposed how the nurses do their everyday task n learn about it so we r capable of doing some of their jobs ourselves even as doctor. Such as how nurses fold bed linen which requires specific technique n how to shift the patient from one end to another end of the bed(head to foot position I mean) n oso how to interact wif patients even more at the psychiatry ward."
Now u know why your UM friend said it's horrible?
Shirley
05-06-2010, 06:48 PM
For last year...the buku panduan is somewhat similar to this...but one or two weeks before that...my school had a senior n junior gathering for every local Uni + register for alumni association...then the seniors told us that something about the link between Apex n wear those formal clothes(encourage to wear them unless u try to stand out from the crowd).
There is no such strict dress code in Kelantan actually...U r being misled by certain political parties...I didn't know that as well till I came to Kelantan n discussed about the fake rumors about Kelantan with my relative there...
Haven't u see a lot of Thai gals around? They could be anytime hotter than u are...Wear what u like..for non-Muslims...
I heard of ppl telling stories that certain meat is not sold in Kelantan as well...it's all false...Whereas in other states...they r asked to sell behind black glasses(not to be mistaken as sunglasses)
I haven't heard of any taboo in USM so far...
Ghost story err...ya..one of the ReCom friends who was semi-active here last year said he encountered some supernatural phenomenon when he was driving around the golf course at midnight..but who would go to such deserted place at that time? Maybe u can experience in first hand!
Haha...tats good. I juz afraid that later we will get penalties of nt following the dressing code. I still rmb, when i went for interview, I saw everyone wearing pants below knee and none wear pant above knee...heheheh
Is there any food sold by chinese ppl in cafeteria? Or the nearest one is in Kota Bahru?
In btw, do u bring laptop along during lectures?
beederbest
05-06-2010, 07:24 PM
Haha...tats good. I juz afraid that later we will get penalties of nt following the dressing code. I still rmb, when i went for interview, I saw everyone wearing pants below knee and none wear pant above knee...heheheh
Is there any food sold by chinese ppl in cafeteria? Or the nearest one is in Kota Bahru?
In btw, do u bring laptop along during lectures?
there is one vegetarian stall that sells chinese food n another caferia in health science school that sells chinese food~ it's a bit further from your hostel but can be considered near if you walk from the medical school.
for the question bout bringing laptop, for those who study using laptop usually will bring it along to the lecture hall. eg. me & lawrenceleong here.
erm seniors, i wana ask can v chose our own bed n table in the room or it is assigned? i knw rooms are assigned...
SpongeBobOct
05-06-2010, 09:54 PM
erm seniors, i wana ask can v chose our own bed n table in the room or it is assigned? i knw rooms are assigned...
I think we gotta fight tooth & nail with our future roommates 4 the bed n table...:P
Haha, jus kidding. I'm bout 2 ask de same question...:))
lawrenceleong88
05-06-2010, 10:20 PM
there is one vegetarian stall that sells chinese food n another caferia in health science school that sells chinese food~ it's a bit further from your hostel but can be considered near if you walk from the medical school.
for the question bout bringing laptop, for those who study using laptop usually will bring it along to the lecture hall. eg. me & lawrenceleong here.
And the nearest one should be in Kebun Sultan...or u can say most, if not all Kebun Sultan stalls are operated by Chinese or Thai...
N yea..a laptop is a must for us both...u can look up vocabulary n the digital version of Atlas of Anatomy n other e-books during lectures easily...
Haha, jus kidding. I'm bout 2 ask de same question...:))
First come first serve basis...haha...
Peace...don't fight over minor issue..^^
rida2104
07-06-2010, 01:03 PM
its already 7th june... where is the official offer letter from usm??? anyone already got it???????
natalie91
07-06-2010, 09:44 PM
do we have someone like felo in every hostel block?
lawrenceleong88
07-06-2010, 09:52 PM
do we have someone like felo in every hostel block?
NO...haha...Matriculation life...
yennee
09-06-2010, 01:24 PM
yea.has anyone receives the offer letter??
chubbchix
09-06-2010, 04:06 PM
hellooooo.
just wanna ask,we cant bring an iron for reaal?
yea.has anyone receives the offer letter??
not yet.*sigh* i do reaaaaally hope that we can get it by this week.
senior,HELP. i wanna ask some question :
1. do you suggest us to bring our laptop since the first day or after one semester? & does laptop is widely use to do assignments or tutor or wtv?
2. how many formal attire do we have to bring? is it true that we have to wear formal to classes? T.T
3. cant we bring our own iron?
4. what to wear on registration day?
fuhh,there's a lot of question.someone helpppppp.
i'm lost T.T
THANKS IN ADVANCE :)
lawrenceleong88
09-06-2010, 05:11 PM
hellooooo.
just wanna ask,we cant bring an iron for reaal?
not yet.*sigh* i do reaaaaally hope that we can get it by this week.
senior,HELP. i wanna ask some question :
1. do you suggest us to bring our laptop since the first day or after one semester? & does laptop is widely use to do assignments or tutor or wtv?
2. how many formal attire do we have to bring? is it true that we have to wear formal to classes? T.T
3. cant we bring our own iron?
4. what to wear on registration day?
fuhh,there's a lot of question.someone helpppppp.
i'm lost T.T
THANKS IN ADVANCE :)
I think there r questions here which have been answered...but it seems like u insist on not believing...What can I do for u?
I will only answer those which r fresh questions...
Bring an adequate amount of formal attire...it depends on how frequent u circulate them n how frequent u plan to do the washing every week...
Wear formal attire on registration day...for whatever date/time/venue...wearing formal is better than casual if u r not confirmed which u should wear...
chubbchix
09-06-2010, 05:15 PM
I think there r questions here which have been answered...but it seems like u insist on not believing...What can I do for u?
I will only answer those which r fresh questions...
Bring an adequate amount of formal attire...it depends on how frequent u circulate them n how frequent u plan to do the washing every week...
Wear formal attire on registration day...for whatever date/time/venue...wearing formal is better than casual if u r not confirmed which u should wear...
hihi,my mistake bcoz i ask questions before reading those previous post.
sorry meh^^
i have to bring lots and lots of coins right? i dont really favour in washing clothes by hands. :)
lawrenceleong88
09-06-2010, 05:21 PM
hihi,my mistake bcoz i ask questions before reading those previous post.
sorry meh^^
i have to bring lots and lots of coins right? i dont really favour in washing clothes by hands. :)
U can bring coins n another alternative is u can exchange with the cafe...
natalie91
10-06-2010, 01:06 AM
NO...haha...Matriculation life...
O.o may i know what is penggawa?