View Full Version : Sunway UC Bound Students Under JPA

Pages : [1] 2

bekann
30-05-2010, 03:30 PM
Hey, anyone here going to Sunway University College under JPA. As far as I know, there are only a few Recommers so far going there.

znyi_beryl
04-06-2010, 05:38 PM
I'm an ex-jpa scholar being sent to Sunway UC....r u under PILN??i'm under PIDN...juz finish my final exam in Sunway...heading to Monash nex month...perhaps..haha

nikein
08-06-2010, 10:44 AM
Hey, anyone here going to Sunway University College under JPA. As far as I know, there are only a few Recommers so far going there.

hey bekann!! i was just about to ask about this. haha! i'll be going to sunway :) n i'm under jpa! finally i found someone! pheeww1 what course did u apply for?

LinnyT
08-06-2010, 12:02 PM
I have an offer from JPA to Sunway Coll as well to do Ausmat.

magdalyne
08-06-2010, 02:48 PM
me too!! i'll be going to sunway and im also under jpa. =)

AuDrEySnOwY
08-06-2010, 03:05 PM
may i know what course are you all taking and which country? eg, medicine to NZ, engineering to Aus, etc?

nikein
08-06-2010, 03:11 PM
omg!!! i'm soo excited!! i'm doing accounting, australia. :)

magdalyne
08-06-2010, 03:28 PM
law to australia. still waiting for the arrival of the letter. :)

nikein
08-06-2010, 03:42 PM
yeah, me too. the letter is sooo late! mara scholars got their letters already. i'm assuming they'll send it after 11 june so that they can send it together with the ones who appealed.

pothguru
09-06-2010, 12:16 PM
Hey i'm going to sunway for law in australia too =)

LinnyT
09-06-2010, 01:27 PM
Accountancy in aus. Still can't decide if i should take the scholarship.

yourhonor
09-06-2010, 02:22 PM
Accountancy in aus. Still can't decide if i should take the scholarship.

hmm why the reservation? you've already started studying by your own means? or you aren't sure if accountancy is for you??

anyway, i am offered law in australia, will be doing ausmat. hope to see u guys there!!:nuts:nuts

Jillace
09-06-2010, 02:57 PM
I'm going to Sunway UC AusMat, accounting in Australia too =)

bekann
09-06-2010, 04:52 PM
Woohoo. Finally found some recommers. I will be doing AUSMAT as well.
Gonna do Accounting in New Zealand :D

Hey, I just noticed. No one got New Zealand, other than me? :O

Jillace
09-06-2010, 09:46 PM
Woohoo. Finally found some recommers. I will be doing AUSMAT as well.
Gonna do Accounting in New Zealand :D

Hey, I just noticed. No one got New Zealand, other than me? :O

i have a friend get accounting new zealand too..will be also going to sunway ausmat :)

anyone knows that we are going to live in sunway UC's hostel or other places?

nikein
10-06-2010, 12:08 PM
wow! lot's of accounting :) n bekan, i have a friend being offered to NZ too. so don't worry :)

znyi_beryl
11-06-2010, 01:54 PM
i have a friend get accounting new zealand too..will be also going to sunway ausmat :)

anyone knows that we are going to live in sunway UC's hostel or other places?

Most probably will be a place called CASA SUBANG...all last batch JPA scholar in SUNWAY UC were sent to there....go GOOGLE it out....

Jillace
11-06-2010, 04:11 PM
Anyone here already received the letter? i haven't received yet :(

bekann
11-06-2010, 04:27 PM
Anyone here already received the letter? i haven't received yet :(

Yeah, I haven't receieved it as well. And yep, most probably in Casa Subang. Even JPA scholars to Taylors stay there I think.

11-06-2010, 05:54 PM
I got Accounting NZ, AUSMAT in Sunway. Anyone else?

bekann
11-06-2010, 08:25 PM
I got Accounting NZ, AUSMAT in Sunway. Anyone else?

hey congrats! exactly the same as me. :P

11-06-2010, 08:55 PM
hey congrats! exactly the same as me. :P

Cool! Anyone else? Looks like we'll be in the same class at Sunway!

Jillace
12-06-2010, 12:00 AM
Cool! Anyone else? Looks like we'll be in the same class at Sunway!
my friend got exactly the same with you both too:)

nikein
12-06-2010, 12:22 AM
Most probably will be a place called CASA SUBANG...all last batch JPA scholar in SUNWAY UC were sent to there....go GOOGLE it out....

i've googled it, but there are too many casa subang. where is it actually? like maybe the street name or any landmark? :)

aqilah92
12-06-2010, 12:28 AM
omg!!! i'm soo excited!! i'm doing accounting, australia. :)

me too... ausmat at sunway college.. register on 2nd july friday...
for 1 and a half year.... accountancy..
I dunno to accept or not.. because I already in ipta right now.. foundation uia... dilema...

12-06-2010, 12:47 AM
Yeah, I haven't receieved it as well. And yep, most probably in Casa Subang. Even JPA scholars to Taylors stay there I think.

Yup, we rule the 2nd floor! :laugh

i've googled it, but there are too many casa subang. where is it actually? like maybe the street name or any landmark? :)

Here are the details!
http://www.westminster.edu.my/images/accommodation.pdf

nikein
12-06-2010, 02:08 AM
me too... ausmat at sunway college.. register on 2nd july friday...
for 1 and a half year.... accountancy..
I dunno to accept or not.. because I already in ipta right now.. foundation uia... dilema...

well then aqilah92, choose wisely :) if u decide to go to sunway, see u there! :)

Here are the details!

thank you yanno! :) but looks like it's quite far compared to the sun-u residence (obviously -_- haha! ) won't that be hard?

bekann
12-06-2010, 09:44 AM

Here are the details!

Approximately how far is it from Sunway UC?

pinkwacko
12-06-2010, 02:28 PM
hey guys :)
im a newbie.
i got jpa too, accountancy. will be doing ausmat (australia) in sunway uc.

Jillace
12-06-2010, 04:30 PM
hey guys :)
im a newbie.
i got jpa too, accountancy. will be doing ausmat (australia) in sunway uc.
hi. i got exactly the same with you..see you in sunway ! :amuse

pinkwacko
12-06-2010, 05:11 PM
hi. i got exactly the same with you..see you in sunway ! :amuse

great to know jillace ! :)

btw do we need a laptop for ausmat?

znyi_beryl
12-06-2010, 05:13 PM

http://www.watieshahproperty.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/casa-subang1.jpg
this will be the one....at USJ....behind SUMMIT shopping mall...1 or 2km away from SUNWAY UC...bus is provided....

Jillace
12-06-2010, 09:16 PM
great to know jillace ! :)

btw do we need a laptop for ausmat?
yea, i think we need the laptop for assignments and presentations as ausmat is based on 50% coursework and 50% exam :)

pinkwacko
12-06-2010, 10:41 PM
yea, i think we need the laptop for assignments and presentations as ausmat is based on 50% coursework and 50% exam :)

okay thnks ;)

13-06-2010, 12:32 AM
thank you yanno! :) but looks like it's quite far compared to the sun-u residence (obviously -_- haha! ) won't that be hard?

Well, Casa Subang is not very far from Sunway UC by bus. But traffic jam constantly occurs at Subang Jaya so a normally 10-15 minute journey can take more than half an hour...

znyi_beryl
13-06-2010, 12:53 AM
guys, is it confirmed we will stay over there? i mean the casa subang? howd u guys know?

I'm senior...i stay at Casa Subang, and all other JPA scholar the same... but u can change to Sunway resident but nid to pay extra rm200 per month...

bekann
13-06-2010, 10:42 AM
I'm senior...i stay at Casa Subang, and all other JPA scholar the same... but u can change to Sunway resident but nid to pay extra rm200 per month...

Oooh. I wonder if it's worth paying. :S
Especially since everyday will have traffic jam there....

znyi_beryl
13-06-2010, 11:55 AM
Oooh. I wonder if it's worth paying. :S
Especially since everyday will have traffic jam there....

Ya,u're rite...traffic jam everyday...and you have to wake up very early in the morning for the bus...

aqilah92
13-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Is there any other fee we need to pay during registration day..?

viva
13-06-2010, 03:07 PM
I'm an ex-jpa scholar being sent to Sunway UC....r u under PILN??i'm under PIDN...juz finish my final exam in Sunway...heading to Monash nex month...perhaps..haha

znyi..may i noe, what is the cgpa dat jpa want 2 further our study 2 monash university??

znyi_beryl
13-06-2010, 09:24 PM
znyi..may i noe, what is the cgpa dat jpa want 2 further our study 2 monash university??

3.4...u're taking ausmat or MUFY??for MUFY will be 75 marks per subjects....

pothguru
14-06-2010, 03:56 PM
Hey was wondering.... Can i choose between sunway residence and sunway apartment or have jpa chosen for me already? Din state clearly in the letter

Jillace
14-06-2010, 06:13 PM
under the orientation schedule for 2nd of july, it ends with hostel accomodation check-in rite. the venue is written as sun-u apartment & casa subang. so actually which one are us going to stay in? do we need to fill in the green hostel application form and pay the deposit as stated? if yes, which type of accomodation should we choose?
thanks in advance :)

viva
14-06-2010, 06:16 PM
3.4...u're taking ausmat or MUFY??for MUFY will be 75 marks per subjects....

MUFY..thanks znyi..is it difficult 2 get mark 75 for each subject?

bekann
14-06-2010, 08:13 PM
In the form, it's only stated either Sun-U apartments or Sun-U residences. What about casa subang?
And hey, there's a bbq on saturday, 3rd july :D

znyi_beryl
15-06-2010, 12:05 AM
MUFY..thanks znyi..is it difficult 2 get mark 75 for each subject?

erm...not really, just study consistently....

viva
15-06-2010, 01:00 PM
erm...not really, just study consistently....

znyi..how about the marking system? did it 100% based on exam paper?

znyi_beryl
15-06-2010, 03:24 PM
znyi..how about the marking system? did it 100% based on exam paper?

i took 4 subjects, English, Maths, Bio and Chem..
-For English u will have presentation+ essay+ listening skills for sem 1.Trial does not bring any marks.
-For maths u will have 3 topic tests+ 1 trial, all the marks will be consider as internal marks which allocated 50 % for ur total marks.
-For Bio, u will have 3-4 topic tests+ lab reports.
-For Chem, u will have topic tests+ trial+ lab reports + class quiz or maybe online quiz, total will be 50%..

All the information given is only for sem 1. There will be 10 subjects for u to choose depends on what courses are you taking. U have to meet the requirement. For some courses there will be some specific subjects that must be taken, u will soon get more details during the registry. Every subject will be the same, 50% internal and 50% external. There will be less or even no marks given on assignment for 1st sem. MUFY will more on study and assessment.

For 2nd sem, students are required to complete a research paper for Eng B. Eng B will have more presentations, be prepared=)
And not forget to mention that, all of u will have Malaysian studies for non-muslim during 1st sem and Islamic studies for muslim, there will be presentation too. Malaysian Studies and Islamic studies are must-passed-subjects. 2nd sem will be moral studies=)..Have fun=P

15-06-2010, 07:50 PM
I haven't got my letter yet. Can you guys tell me what it says?

viva
15-06-2010, 08:20 PM
i took 4 subjects, English, Maths, Bio and Chem..
-For English u will have presentation+ essay+ listening skills for sem 1.Trial does not bring any marks.
-For maths u will have 3 topic tests+ 1 trial, all the marks will be consider as internal marks which allocated 50 % for ur total marks.
-For Bio, u will have 3-4 topic tests+ lab reports.
-For Chem, u will have topic tests+ trial+ lab reports + class quiz or maybe online quiz, total will be 50%..

All the information given is only for sem 1. There will be 10 subjects for u to choose depends on what courses are you taking. U have to meet the requirement. For some courses there will be some specific subjects that must be taken, u will soon get more details during the registry. Every subject will be the same, 50% internal and 50% external. There will be less or even no marks given on assignment for 1st sem. MUFY will more on study and assessment.

For 2nd sem, students are required to complete a research paper for Eng B. Eng B will have more presentations, be prepared=)
And not forget to mention that, all of u will have Malaysian studies for non-muslim during 1st sem and Islamic studies for muslim, there will be presentation too. Malaysian Studies and Islamic studies are must-passed-subjects. 2nd sem will be moral studies=)..Have fun=P

huh..quite scare 4 me lol..hmm, btw thanks 4 ur al information..nyway, did u have passed into monash? znyi..wat do u mean internal and external?

bekann
15-06-2010, 08:28 PM
I haven't got my letter yet. Can you guys tell me what it says?

theres really A LOT in the letter, haha.
got a bit info on ausmat :)
the subjects ur expected to take if ur in law/accounts.

nikein
16-06-2010, 12:22 AM
this is post is for the seniors to answer. i would like to know, if i were to choose between sun-u apartmnt and casa subang, which is better? in all aspects. distance, facilities, etc. thank u :D

znyi_beryl
16-06-2010, 12:30 AM
huh..quite scare 4 me lol..hmm, btw thanks 4 ur al information..nyway, did u have passed into monash? znyi..wat do u mean internal and external?

I'm still waiting for results. Results is the total of internal and external. Is nothing to scare, just study consistently...

nikein
16-06-2010, 12:30 AM
which subject is better i'm planning to pursue in accounting. math specialist or psychology?

znyi_beryl
16-06-2010, 12:45 AM
this is post is for the seniors to answer. i would like to know, if i were to choose between sun-u apartmnt and casa subang, which is better? in all aspects. distance, facilities, etc. thank u :D

For sun-u apartment, the only good of it is apartment is nearer to college compare to casa subang. However, if u wanna buy daily stuffs, casa subang will be a better choice as nearby casa subang have mydin, summit (with cinema, but not 3D cinema). If u stay at sun-u apartment, the only place that u can go will be sunway pyramid.As u know, the prices will be higher.The only bad for casa subang will be it's location. It will be like traffic jam everyday.

viva
16-06-2010, 03:36 AM
I'm still waiting for results. Results is the total of internal and external. Is nothing to scare, just study consistently...

k..thanks 4 ur advise..but i stil dont understand about what u say internal and external...wat is dat actually??

chezzyola
16-06-2010, 02:43 PM
heylow guys.. im new here.. so, im goin to sunway collge too under jpa.. juz wanna ask ur opinion bout da subjects we're goin to take.. in da offr ltter, dey olredi gve a list of subject requirement WACE.. im a law bound student.. any opinion about the WACE subjects for 2 semestrs.. carreer entrprise/pscychology/english.. wich one.. :confused:

znyi_beryl
16-06-2010, 02:45 PM
k..thanks 4 ur advise..but i stil dont understand about what u say internal and external...wat is dat actually??

internal means all the assessments that have before ur final exam...u will have tests for every topic and the marks will be consider in ur final marks. Internal contribute 50% to ur final marks. For external will be ur final paper only. Final paper will be 50% + Internal marks 50% = 100%. So, internal assessments are very important, u have to study and achieve an average of 75% for every tests. (JPA ask for 75% for each subject)

bekann
16-06-2010, 05:31 PM
heylow guys.. im new here.. so, im goin to sunway collge too under jpa.. juz wanna ask ur opinion bout da subjects we're goin to take.. in da offr ltter, dey olredi gve a list of subject requirement WACE.. im a law bound student.. any opinion about the WACE subjects for 2 semestrs.. carreer entrprise/pscychology/english.. wich one.. :confused:

got EALD and advanced english also right?

pothguru
16-06-2010, 06:00 PM
Regarding the subjects given, are we suppose to take all in the list or can we choose?

chezzyola
16-06-2010, 06:32 PM
got EALD and advanced english also right?

erm.. for law bound students, stated der:

WACE(3sem)- EALD, maths, econs, politics&law

WACE(2sem)- career&enterprise/psyhcology/english

MQA compulsory subjects(1sem)- islamic/moral studies, malaysian studies

so, only da subject for WACE(2sem) we need to choose?? help me.. :))

bekann
16-06-2010, 08:15 PM

idk leh, up to you :D
i also haven't decided. for accts,
WACE (2 sem ) - career&enterprise, psychology, specialist maths

nikein
17-06-2010, 12:22 AM

as far as i know, for ausmat, u have to take 5 subjects. so as for law jpa students, all four subjects listed under 3sem is a must. n u can choose one from the 2 sem sbjects. as for the MQA, u have to at least pass. correct me if i'm wrong.

viva
17-06-2010, 03:41 PM
internal means all the assessments that have before ur final exam...u will have tests for every topic and the marks will be consider in ur final marks. Internal contribute 50% to ur final marks. For external will be ur final paper only. Final paper will be 50% + Internal marks 50% = 100%. So, internal assessments are very important, u have to study and achieve an average of 75% for every tests. (JPA ask for 75% for each subject)

k..thanks..now i know everyhing eventhough i didn't get da official letter from jpa.. i hope i can do my best 2 secure diz scholar..:)

bekann
17-06-2010, 10:11 PM
k..thanks..now i know everyhing eventhough i didn't get da official letter from jpa.. i hope i can do my best 2 secure diz scholar..:)

Are you going for Ausmat as well?

znyi_beryl
17-06-2010, 11:12 PM

I hope u understand all the info given is only for MUFY but not AUSMAT. What r u taking??

18-06-2010, 08:46 PM
Is it stated anywhere the subjects we have to take during AUSMAT for Accounting?

There isn't anything in my JPA letter even remotely related to AUSMAT, just the welcoming letter and the schedule. Shouldn't there be some sort of subject list? Or details on AUSMAT?

nikein
18-06-2010, 09:23 PM
there is a piece of paper telling us what subject we have to take. as for accounting, there is:

1) EALD
2) Econs
3) Math
4) Acc&Finance
5) Psychology/Career & Enterprise/Math Specialist

And MQA Subject : Islamic Studies/moral Studies and Malaysian Studies

18-06-2010, 09:39 PM
there is a piece of paper telling us what subject we have to take. as for accounting, there is:

1) EALD
2) Econs
3) Math
4) Acc&Finance
5) Psychology/Career & Enterprise/Math Specialist

And MQA Subject : Islamic Studies/moral Studies and Malaysian Studies

weird...i dont seem to have anything like that...maybe they forgot to put it in...can you tell me what else the paper says?

nikein
18-06-2010, 10:29 PM
well, that paper only says that. so nothing much.

viva
18-06-2010, 10:50 PM
I hope u understand all the info given is only for MUFY but not AUSMAT. What r u taking??

i'm taking 4 MUFY..

bekann
18-06-2010, 11:24 PM
i'm taking 4 MUFY..
u got JPA scholarship to do MUFY? oooh

znyi_beryl
19-06-2010, 03:37 PM
i'm taking 4 MUFY..

What course?

MLCH
19-06-2010, 06:26 PM
im under pidn supposed to register on 2nd july but i havent recieved any offer letter yet =(

Trish
19-06-2010, 07:28 PM
im going to sunway uc for ausmat and next to NZ for accoutancy under JPA. :) i just received the offer letter today!

bekann
19-06-2010, 08:33 PM
im under pidn supposed to register on 2nd july but i havent recieved any offer letter yet =(

u guys PIDN take MUFY eh?

viva
20-06-2010, 06:49 AM
yup.. i got MUFY at sunway UC.. course engineering..

MLCH
20-06-2010, 02:07 PM
u guys PIDN take MUFY eh?

yaa...why?

vignaa
20-06-2010, 07:46 PM
im going to to do MUFY in Sunway UC also! nice to meet u guys! =)

khool
20-06-2010, 09:07 PM
mufy students,any1 wans 2 buy books?im selling the bio text book n phy text book plus sum past year papers...

vignaa
20-06-2010, 09:43 PM
khool, i wanna buy it!! how to contact you?

bekann
21-06-2010, 12:03 AM
yaa...why?

just asking only la. that means got other JPA scholars at Sunway too! nice

znyi_beryl
21-06-2010, 03:21 PM
mufy students,any1 wans 2 buy books?im selling the bio text book n phy text book plus sum past year papers...

R u wee min??i'm ZOEY a~!!!!!!!

khool
21-06-2010, 08:39 PM
R u wee min??i'm ZOEY a~!!!!!!!
haha..yea...nice 2 c u here...hws hols

znyi_beryl
21-06-2010, 10:50 PM
haha..yea...nice 2 c u here...hws hols

erm...i just stay at home..doing something that i like lo...not like u la, go JOHOR find kakak^^

21-06-2010, 11:28 PM
All JPA PILN accounting students taking AUSMAT in Sunway, PM me your email address so that I can add you guys on Facebook. Then we can get to know each other before college starts! :-)

viva
22-06-2010, 12:27 AM
u got JPA scholarship to do MUFY? oooh

yes.. i got 4 PIDN..

What course?

jpa giv me engineering..

MLCH
22-06-2010, 11:38 AM
yes.. i got 4 PIDN..

jpa giv me engineering..

same! hey have you gotten any notification from sunway? i think they got my email address wrong :cry

bekann
22-06-2010, 12:22 PM
same! hey have you gotten any notification from sunway? i think they got my email address wrong :cry
I didnt get any emails from Sunway also. Only letters, by post.

22-06-2010, 12:52 PM
I didnt get any emails from Sunway also. Only letters, by post.

what letters? i only have the jpa letter. anymore?

anyway there's a piece of paper in the letter saying that as AUSMAT students, we have to buy a graphic calculator (CAS enabled) for RM480. what kind of calculator is that and why is it so expensive?

justzane92
22-06-2010, 01:04 PM
Hey guys!!
I also got PIDN to study MUFY in Sunway.
I got medicine..
However.. i only received the letters from Sunway UC.
I haven't receive anything from JPA..
Im worried because JPA might assume i rejected the scholarship.. this is because i only clicked "terima" at 8pm on 18th june..
This is because i got a phone call from Sunway telling me that i got it.. at that time..LOL
What do i do?? I'm in a huge dillema

22-06-2010, 01:07 PM
Hey guys!!
I got medicine..
Im worried because JPA might assume i rejected the scholarship.. this is because i only clicked "terima" at 8pm on 18th june..
This is because i got a phone call from Sunway telling me that i got it.. at that time..LOL

why dont you try calling jpa?

justzane92
22-06-2010, 01:20 PM
Ive been calling the hotline :0388853049
but there's no answer..
anyone has any other numbers i can call?? =D

MLCH
22-06-2010, 01:55 PM
Hey guys!!
I got medicine..

dont worry i havent got any offer letter also. should be receiving it this week

znyi_beryl
22-06-2010, 06:09 PM
Hey guys!!
I got medicine..

Go to this http://www.facebook.com/?ref=home#!/photo.php?pid=4206808&op=1&o=global&view=global&subj=1474717562&id=580886951&ref=pf
Good luck for medic students in MUFY...u gonna suffer...=)

chezzyola
22-06-2010, 06:48 PM
hello2 guys. i just want to confirm this matter. about the fees payable during registration. jpa told me, that we're to pay the 1000++ by ourselves. do you guys know about this? just want to make confirmation. thanks :))

bekann
22-06-2010, 07:56 PM
hello2 guys. i just want to confirm this matter. about the fees payable during registration. jpa told me, that we're to pay the 1000++ by ourselves. do you guys know about this? just want to make confirmation. thanks :))

I think so. It's mainly deposits right?

MLCH
22-06-2010, 08:26 PM
i thought it's 900?

chezzyola
22-06-2010, 08:53 PM
I think so. It's mainly deposits right?

erm. okie. coz i wonder, mayb some of our parents can afford to pay such fees. but, how about the less advantage one? 1000++ is way too costly i think! btw, mine is 1380. mayb different courses? hurmm~

22-06-2010, 09:15 PM
erm. okie. coz i wonder, mayb some of our parents can afford to pay such fees. but, how about the less advantage one? 1000++ is way too costly i think! btw, mine is 1380. mayb different courses? hurmm~

when you say 1380, you include the calculator's price right?

chezzyola
22-06-2010, 09:22 PM
when you say 1380, you include the calculator's price right?

erm, yeap. y? not compulsory mehh??:P

znyi_beryl
22-06-2010, 11:13 PM

Rm 550 for accommodation deposit
Rm 350 for sunway as student deposit( refundable)
Rm 480 for graphic calculator...

23-06-2010, 10:36 PM
what letters? i only have the jpa letter. anymore?

anyway there's a piece of paper in the letter saying that as AUSMAT students, we have to buy a graphic calculator (CAS enabled) for RM480. what kind of calculator is that and why is it so expensive?

The calculator is expensive because
1. It's imported
2. It has loads of functions
3. It can plot graphs for you

But mine's free~

23-06-2010, 10:41 PM
1. It's imported

But mine's free~

wow, where'd you get it?

viva
24-06-2010, 03:00 PM

dun worry..i also didn't receive any mail from jpa..:) but i already got da offer letter..hmm.. in my offer letter, they told me 2 give da evidence from da sponsorship body but where can i give them all da evidence..?? jpa didn't ask me 2 print anything..

MLCH
24-06-2010, 04:37 PM
dun worry..i also didn't receive any mail from jpa..:) but i already got da offer letter..hmm.. in my offer letter, they told me 2 give da evidence from da sponsorship body but where can i give them all da evidence..?? jpa didn't ask me 2 print anything..

you mean you got offer letter from sunway and not from jpa? im stuck in the same situation as you also....about the evidence thing. i have no idea :notrust

viva
25-06-2010, 01:23 AM
you mean you got offer letter from sunway and not from jpa? im stuck in the same situation as you also....about the evidence thing. i have no idea :notrust

yaya..laz week da girl dat called me also from sunway uc, not from jpa..:notrust
but i think we dun hav 2 worried about da evidence things coz da jpa have told them about us(i mean da scholarship student).. da girl from sunway uc called me and said congrates..:)) so dat mean they all already know about us..:)

Trish
25-06-2010, 05:38 AM
1. It's imported

But mine's free~

cool.. how did you get it free?

and i would like to ask, how are the facilities and stuff in casa subang? are the rooms well kept and all? :S just curious! :)

25-06-2010, 09:18 AM
yaya..laz week da girl dat called me also from sunway uc, not from jpa..:notrust
but i think we dun hav 2 worried about da evidence things coz da jpa have told them about us(i mean da scholarship student).. da girl from sunway uc called me and said congrates..:)) so dat mean they all already know about us..:)

weird...nobody called me at all, not even JPA...is something missing here?

and i would like to ask, how are the facilities and stuff in casa subang? are the rooms well kept and all? :S just curious! :)

i second that. can someone describe casa subang to us? is the living condition better or worse than the sunway hostel?

Another question : which broadband service is the best around Sunway? Maxis, Digi, or Celcom?

viva
25-06-2010, 06:20 PM
hey guys... do u noe where we gonna live?
sumone said in casa subang and da others said in sunway hostel..
which one is true?

25-06-2010, 06:23 PM

JPA managed to sponsor us calculators :))

Casa Subang is basically alright but let me warn you that it isn't the most fantastic apartment in Subang Jaya. The elevator is super slow and you'll have to wait for the bus in the morning during "peak hour" where most students will be coming down to board the bus (around 7.00). However, since you guys are taking the bus to Sunway I don't think you'll face this problem. For Taylor's bus we usually wait for the it to arrive where as for Sunway bus the drivers usually have to wait for them :laugh

There is also housekeeping service once in 2 weeks if I'm not mistaken but they do not thoroughly clean your unit so you'll have to keep your rooms clean yourselves. Restaurants, laundry service and grocery store are also available on the 1st floor. There is also a swimming pool there.

These are basically what Casa Subang has. You'll discover "much more" once you start staying here. :wink

Trish
25-06-2010, 07:32 PM

Casa Subang is basically alright but let me warn you that it isn't the most fantastic apartment in Subang Jaya. The elevator is super slow and you'll have to wait for the bus in the morning during "peak hour" where most students will be coming down to board the bus (around 7.00). However, since you guys are taking the bus to Sunway I don't think you'll face this problem. For Taylor's bus we usually wait for the it to arrive where as for Sunway bus the drivers usually have to wait for them :laugh

There is also housekeeping service once in 2 weeks if I'm not mistaken but they do not thoroughly clean your unit so you'll have to keep your rooms clean yourselves. Restaurants, laundry service and grocery store are also available on the 1st floor. There is also a swimming pool there.

These are basically what Casa Subang has. You'll discover "much more" once you start staying here. :wink

thx. you mean it does not look like how it looks in pics(the website they gave earlier)? so how many people per room and how many rooms per apartment?
lol. you mean the bus only makes one trip? or they have their schedule?

which one is true?

the sunway lady called me up today to ask for the confirmation and all, i asked her about the hostels, she told me jpa students will stay in casa subang and they will brief us about it on 2nd of july. stay tune :)

Another question : which broadband service is the best around Sunway? Maxis, Digi, or Celcom?

my friend told me, we dont have to get a broadband, because sunway area has wifi. Aint so sure bout this! :)

25-06-2010, 07:36 PM
thx. you mean it does not look like how it looks in pics(the website they gave earlier)? so how many people per room and how many rooms per apartment?

the sunway lady called me up today to ask for the confirmation and all, i asked her about the hostels, she told me jpa students will stay in casa subang and they will brief us about it on 2nd of july. stay tune :)

my friend told me, we dont have to get a broadband, because sunway area has wifi. Aint so sure bout this! :)

OMG, do we really have to stay at Casa Subang? I would really have preferred the hostel since it's much more convenience (no need to get up so early). So sad... :cry

But some of my friends use broadband there, but i'm not sure which type. nobody said anything about wifi. i'll try asking around somemore...

bekann
25-06-2010, 09:31 PM
OMG, do we really have to stay at Casa Subang? I would really have preferred the hostel since it's much more convenience (no need to get up so early). So sad... :cry

But some of my friends use broadband there, but i'm not sure which type. nobody said anything about wifi. i'll try asking around somemore...

My friend at casa says there's free wifi at casa. and free wifi at sunway uc. and of course la, sunway..everywhere also got free wifi. haha :D

25-06-2010, 09:36 PM
My friend at casa says there's free wifi at casa. and free wifi at sunway uc. and of course la, sunway..everywhere also got free wifi. haha :D

but it's slow right? i need high speed internet...:P

bekann
25-06-2010, 09:50 PM
but it's slow right? i need high speed internet...:P

idk about that. if you want high speed, better buy broadband la then. :P

znyi_beryl
25-06-2010, 10:43 PM

Ya, u're right...Sunway students seldom wait for their bus, driver will wait for you normally=P...

25-06-2010, 10:52 PM
Ya, u're right...Sunway students seldom wait for their bus, driver will wait for you normally=P...

oh, how nice of him! :laugh

Any idea if we can choose our own rooms or roommates? Also, do we have to pay the bus fare for the bus to college?

znyi_beryl
25-06-2010, 11:01 PM

it is exactly like the pics, the building...
For sunway students, normally there will be 7 people per unit ( 2 twin sharing, one master bedroom, 1single room. 4 rooms per unit)
For transportation, there will be 4-5 time slot everyday until 10am. (casa-sunway).
sunway-casa bus will start at 3.30pm everyday until 10pm.
Wifi will be provided for jpa students but have to wait for few weeks to settle, officer will follow up.
*Pls do not hope for fast speed. Don't complain on something which is FREE.

oh, how nice of him! :laugh

Any idea if we can choose our own rooms or roommates? Also, do we have to pay the bus fare for the bus to college?

Sorry, there's no way of choosing roommate or housemates or even own room for the 1st attempt. After check-in, you can apply for changing unit or room at sunway resident office.=)

which one is true?

casa subang- jpa students
sun-u apartment- mara students
sun-u resident- apply for transfer (anyone can apply,pay extra rm 200 per month)

25-06-2010, 11:50 PM
one more question, can we cook at casa subang?

znyi_beryl
26-06-2010, 12:09 AM
one more question, can we cook at casa subang?

of course....:laugh

26-06-2010, 01:05 AM
Oh dear, I just realised I had so many typo errors in the previous post because I was typing it in a hurry...:sweat

znyi_beryl mentioned 7 people per unit. However, the units next to the lifts are smaller and they accommodate only 5 each.

The buses have their schedule. You'll be confused at first but you'll get the hang of it later...

gomugomu22
26-06-2010, 01:48 AM
i got a question . i got mufy . in the hostel application form stated to pay rm500 for application fee . is it to be paid on the registration day ?

znyi_beryl
26-06-2010, 02:23 PM
i got a question . i got mufy . in the hostel application form stated to pay rm500 for application fee . is it to be paid on the registration day ?

Jpa had paid for you=)

27-06-2010, 11:58 AM
I just got a call from Sunway, asking me if I was going to accept the JPA scholarship, so I said yes. Anybody else got this call?

bekann
27-06-2010, 02:16 PM
I just got a call from Sunway, asking me if I was going to accept the JPA scholarship, so I said yes. Anybody else got this call?

Yeah, me too :D

MLCH
27-06-2010, 04:19 PM
i got it ages ago...lol. have you guys recieved the letter from sunway?

bekann
27-06-2010, 05:53 PM
i got it ages ago...lol. have you guys recieved the letter from sunway?

Yeah. together with the JPA documents etc.

MLCH
27-06-2010, 09:04 PM
Yeah. together with the JPA documents etc.

do you know anything about da $$$$$$$$$$$$$$? should we open any bank account and what bank? :)) $$$$$$$$$$$$ very important :))

27-06-2010, 09:16 PM
do you know anything about da $$$$$$$$$$$$$$? should we open any bank account and what bank? :)) $$$$$$$$$$$$ very important :))

for piln, we have to open cimb accounts and provide jpa with the account numbers. i guess it'll be the same for pidn.

by the way, will all of us be staying together, or scattered around with normal students? i'd prefer staying with those whom i share a course with. it's easier to conduct our studies and discussions.

MLCH
27-06-2010, 09:18 PM
alamak cimb. haha ok thanks for the information

znyi_beryl
27-06-2010, 09:21 PM

Bank Islam. Jpa will settle, but u have to go to nearby Bank Islam to get ur atm card.:laugh

for piln, we have to open cimb accounts and provide jpa with the account numbers. i guess it'll be the same for pidn.

by the way, will all of us be staying together, or scattered around with normal students? i'd prefer staying with those whom i share a course with. it's easier to conduct our studies and discussions.

it is not the same with piln, pidn will be bank islam.

viva
28-06-2010, 05:23 PM
hmmm..why friday? can we go back 4 a while after the registration?

28-06-2010, 08:25 PM
hmmm..why friday? can we go back 4 a while after the registration?

i think you can. but according to the schedule they gave us, there's a barbecue on saturday night so i'm sure you won't want to miss that! :laugh

registration ends in the evening on friday, so you should be able to go back after that. :)

Trish
28-06-2010, 09:45 PM
yeah me three :)

and i would like to ask, where is casa subang situated in? ss wat?

viva
28-06-2010, 10:34 PM
i think you can. but according to the schedule they gave us, there's a barbecue on saturday night so i'm sure you won't want to miss that! :laugh

registration ends in the evening on friday, so you should be able to go back after that. :)

really?:nuts why in my schedule they did not mention about da bbq?:notrust..

28-06-2010, 10:36 PM
really?:nuts why in my schedule they did not mention about da bbq?:notrust..

dunno...it's mentioned in mine...maybe it's for piln students only? try to sneak in...:laugh

viva
28-06-2010, 10:43 PM
dunno...it's mentioned in mine...maybe it's for piln students only? try to sneak in...:laugh

not fair:(..k..i'm back home doing my own bbq:cry

MLCH
28-06-2010, 10:44 PM
eee i want join bbq also

gomugomu22
29-06-2010, 01:46 AM
kinda confuse here . mufy is at monash uni or syuc ?

bekann
29-06-2010, 10:41 AM
yeah me three :)

and i would like to ask, where is casa subang situated in? ss wat?

It's in USJ 1 i think.

kinda confuse here . mufy is at monash uni or syuc ?

MUFY is at SYUC.

MLCH
30-06-2010, 09:58 PM
erm...is there any dress code on the registration day?

30-06-2010, 10:03 PM

I'm not sure. JPA didn't say anything in their letter. I think I'll just go casual. :)

znyi_beryl
30-06-2010, 10:40 PM
I'm not sure. JPA didn't say anything in their letter. I think I'll just go casual. :)

u guys better be formal. JPA officer will be there.

magdalyne
30-06-2010, 11:25 PM
u guys better be formal. JPA officer will be there.

So, do we really need to dress in formal?

gomugomu22
01-07-2010, 12:05 AM
is it only jpa&mara scholar register on 2nd july ?

Trish
01-07-2010, 12:36 AM

nope. i have a friend of mine(non-jpas scholar) registering on tht day too, for a different course. but aint sure she will be joining the orientation or nt.

01-07-2010, 12:41 AM

Just wear decently (e.g. jeans and t-shirt).

viva
01-07-2010, 12:49 AM
really?? but i prefer 2 wear casual..

01-07-2010, 08:13 AM
Just wear decently (e.g. jeans and t-shirt).

ok, i was planning to wear that... :)

petronas also...

really?? but i prefer 2 wear casual..

yeah, me tooo...:P

MLCH
01-07-2010, 10:59 AM
ok thanks for the information! haha see you guys there :))

sHerRysAsukE
01-07-2010, 12:35 PM
good luck in your MUFY guys..

znyi_beryl
01-07-2010, 12:56 PM
So, do we really need to dress in formal?

it is better to wear formal.:amuse

viva
01-07-2010, 09:46 PM
2morrow is da day..
c u guys there!!

01-07-2010, 09:49 PM
2morrow is da day..
c u guys there!!

Yeah yeah! See you!!! :nuts:nuts:nuts

lishing
11-11-2010, 08:05 PM
hey there, can i ask more bout the CAL offered there? i'm planning to take up pre-business and pre-law studies. if i happen to obtain good results in Alevels, do i stand a high chance to earn a scholarship to Aus or SG? planning to do a double-degree thingy in future though.

how bout the accommodation there? what's the difference between an air-conned and a non-air conned room? and the difference btw a 4-sharing(near window) 4-sharing (near door) and twin-sharing?

i've been offered the a-levels scholarship, bout rm12,000 to study in SUN-U. had been informed that we can convert this scholarship into a thingy which covers the tuition fees. anyways, is it a good choice studying in SUN-U for pre-law and pre-business studies?

bekann
11-12-2010, 01:32 PM
hey there, can i ask more bout the CAL offered there? i'm planning to take up pre-business and pre-law studies. if i happen to obtain good results in Alevels, do i stand a high chance to earn a scholarship to Aus or SG? planning to do a double-degree thingy in future though.

how bout the accommodation there? what's the difference between an air-conned and a non-air conned room? and the difference btw a 4-sharing(near window) 4-sharing (near door) and twin-sharing?

i've been offered the a-levels scholarship, bout rm12,000 to study in SUN-U. had been informed that we can convert this scholarship into a thingy which covers the tuition fees. anyways, is it a good choice studying in SUN-U for pre-law and pre-business studies?

As far as I know JPA doesn't send scholars to Sunway for A-Levels. I think the variation in the different types of accomodations is quite obvious. You should probably re-direct this question to the Sunway University College thread as this current thread mostly comprises AUSMAT and MUFY students. Ultimately, Sunway is well known for their Pre-U studies as well as their financial courses.

lewis17
22-05-2011, 02:13 PM
last post for this thread was 162 days ago..:amazed was wondering how many sunway uc bound students under PILN 2011?? so far i only noe VERY FEW...:( like 2 only i think..

22-05-2011, 02:50 PM
last post for this thread was 162 days ago..:amazed was wondering how many sunway uc bound students under PILN 2011?? so far i only noe VERY FEW...:( like 2 only i think..

For PILN 2010, there were 95, to be exact; 60 Accounting students and 35 Law students.

Should be around the same number this year....

Wow, looking through this thread surely brings back memories. I wonder how many Recommers I know in AUSMAT without actually knowing they are ReCommers? :P

bekann, any idea who all the people on the first page were?

lewis17
22-05-2011, 04:41 PM
last yr was law n accounting at sunway.. does it mean non-science course to australia=ausmat at sunway UC?? if so then is finance/econs and tourism for this yr cos law is at UK and nt australia...

azmionorac
22-05-2011, 05:49 PM
Hi there, im going to sunway too in july but im but im under shell not jpa :))

lewis17
22-05-2011, 07:11 PM
Hi there, im going to sunway too in july but im but im under shell not jpa :))

wat course?

bekann
22-05-2011, 08:13 PM
Dominic, yeah. I know maybe 3 or 4 people. LOL. MUFY people, don't ask me lah.

And people, relax..haha. Initially I thought that there was only going to be 30 students for Ausmat. Hard to find people through ReCom as well.

azmionorac
22-05-2011, 08:36 PM
wat course?
A levels and then geology :)) what about you?

lewis17
22-05-2011, 08:56 PM
A levels and then geology :)) what about you?

ausmat then finance/economics depend my ausmat results..:))

NanaLiew93
23-05-2011, 12:43 AM
MUFY in July!! :D Jpa bound.

lewis17
23-05-2011, 08:07 AM
MUFY in July!! :D Jpa bound.

nice..wat course? saw scholar info database.. how come u r spm 2011? isnt suppose to be spm 2010?

23-05-2011, 09:14 AM
Dominic, yeah. I know maybe 3 or 4 people. LOL. MUFY people, don't ask me lah.

And people, relax..haha. Initially I thought that there was only going to be 30 students for Ausmat. Hard to find people through ReCom as well.

LOL why can't I ask you? :)

znyi_beryl
16-06-2011, 01:56 PM
Hi everyone! senior of MUFY at Sunway and gonna be 2nd year senior in Monash (Biotechnology). Welcome to ask me if you got any question! =)

rrawrr
16-06-2011, 10:57 PM
Hi everyone! senior of MUFY at Sunway and gonna be 2nd year senior in Monash (Biotechnology). Welcome to ask me if you got any question! =)

Hi senior:) I got MUFY july intake at Sunway. Can i know what books are used for MUFY and where can we buy them? Also, is it very hard to get 360 marks? Thanks so much for helping!! :)

thebenjybenjy
16-06-2011, 11:04 PM
I got MUFY too. Isit hard? ahaha. Hey rrawrr, where will you be staying?

znyi_beryl
17-06-2011, 12:03 AM
Hi senior:) I got MUFY july intake at Sunway. Can i know what books are used for MUFY and where can we buy them? Also, is it very hard to get 360 marks? Thanks so much for helping!! :)

I guess you're taking medic rite? okay, actually what you need to buy is only one book for Biology and you can get it in Sunway University bookstore. While for other subjects, notes will be given and I don't see the point of buying any books.
No to say hard to get 360, just study consistently.
p/s: one small secret: If you get close to 360 is still ok. But for MUFY english, it is a must to score above 80.

Btw, what course are you taking?

thebenjybenjy
17-06-2011, 12:18 AM
I guess you're taking medic rite? okay, actually what you need to buy is only one book for Biology and you can get it in Sunway University bookstore. While for other subjects, notes will be given and I don't see the point of buying any books.
p/s: one small secret: If you get close to 360 is still ok. But for MUFY english, it is a must to score above 80.

Btw, what course are you taking?

MBBS also. Hahaha thanks for the info.:)

rrawrr
18-06-2011, 04:50 PM

All JPA scholars will be staying at Sunway Monash Residence. Check this out. http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/studentrecruitment/accommodation/Sunway-Monash-Residence.html Cool huh!! :P

Btw, there's a group on Facebook for Sunway bound scholars:) Do join:)

Yup, medic. Oh, and one more question. Are jpa scholars allowed to take 10 units? As in extra physics? Thanks so much for all your help senior:)

znyi_beryl
18-06-2011, 11:48 PM
All JPA scholars will be staying at Sunway Monash Residence. Check this out. http://www.monash.edu.my/advancement/studentrecruitment/accommodation/Sunway-Monash-Residence.html Cool huh!! :P

Btw, there's a group on Facebook for Sunway bound scholars:) Do join:)

Yup, medic. Oh, and one more question. Are jpa scholars allowed to take 10 units? As in extra physics? Thanks so much for all your help senior:)

Well, for my batch, medic students are allowed to take one extra unit during sem 2, but I'm not sure whether can take up to 10 or not. U can choose whatever subject you wan as long as you fulfilled the requirement. =)

thebenjybenjy
21-06-2011, 12:57 AM
What about the bank account? How are we supposed to receive our allowances? And do we have to pay the rent first then claim from JPA? (note that i haven't received my parcel yet, hehe, cause i appealed only got it)

lewis17
21-06-2011, 11:32 AM
What about the bank account? How are we supposed to receive our allowances? And do we have to pay the rent first then claim from JPA? (note that i haven't received my parcel yet, hehe, cause i appealed only got it)

we will open bank account, but im not sure we open ourselves or jpa open. call them up to be sure. no need to pay rent 1st.

21-06-2011, 11:56 AM

For JPA scholars, there will be certain reductions to your Monash unit. Firstly, all of you will be staying in the tower with single rooms only, so no attached bathroom. Also, no mini bar fridge in your room, just a normal one in the kitchen. Next, you will find that there is no air-conditioning and television, plus a kitchen where you're not allowed to cook. Internet is provided for students, but limited to 1GB per month. Any extra, and you'll be footing your own bill. Lastly, there's a curfew, which states that you must return to your hostel by 12am or risk being locked out, except weekends and public holidays where it's extended to 3am.

That's all I got from the briefing anyway. Sounds pretty depressing, but that's how it is.

we will open bank account, but im not sure we open ourselves or jpa open. call them up to be sure. no need to pay rent 1st.

you should be opening it yourself.

JPA will bank your allowances directly into your bank account. and they will pay the rent, so you don't have to worry about it.

Those who appeal will get their letters later than the normal students, s o it's pretty normal.

azmionorac
21-06-2011, 03:07 PM
Hi there,

i was just wondering what bank is closest to the college?

thebenjybenjy
21-06-2011, 03:42 PM
No air cond. :((((((((((((((

21-06-2011, 04:35 PM
Hi there,

i was just wondering what bank is closest to the college?

There are no banks close to Sunway University, but if you walk over to Sunway Pyramid, there will be Public Bank and CIMB Bank across the road.

thebenjybenjy
21-06-2011, 04:39 PM
can i ask where did you get the info bout the hostels?

21-06-2011, 04:45 PM
can i ask where did you get the info bout the hostels?

I'm moving there, with the rest of last year's JPA batch this Friday. We had the briefing about the hostel a couple of days ago.

znyi_beryl
21-06-2011, 11:24 PM
To all who may concern, there will be Maybank and CIMB atm machine in Sunway University.
JPA will open account for JPA scholar, it is Bank Islam. The nearest Bank Islam atm machine near Casa Subang will be at Mydin.

FYI, Monash Hostel is not ready for rental at the moment. =)

azmionorac
22-06-2011, 01:24 AM
To all who may concern, there will be Maybank and CIMB atm machine in Sunway University.
JPA will open account for JPA scholar, it is Bank Islam. The nearest Bank Islam atm machine near Casa Subang will be at Mydin.

Hi are u a senior in sunway university?

so there are maybank and CIMB atm machines on campus now or are they going to install them in the future?

znyi_beryl
22-06-2011, 09:44 AM
Hi are u a senior in sunway university?

so there are maybank and CIMB atm machines on campus now or are they going to install them in the future?

Yup, I am ex-mufian, just finish my first year Moansh examination. There ARE atm machines there, from long time ago.

bekann
22-06-2011, 11:53 PM

JPA did not open bank accounts for Ausmat students. We had to open CIMB accounts by ourselves. No biggie lah, if you ask me. But just wait for further instructions.

Sunway Monash Residences (SMR) will be available to all starting from the 1st of July 2011. But we (Ausmat July 2010 intake) are moving there this weekend.

SMR isn't as convenient as Casa Subang in some ways, because at the moment it is only accessible via Sunway South Quay. The walkway via Monash University can't be used unless you have an access card/hostel card (this may change later on). There will be bus service from SMR to Sunway College though.

But if and once we get permission to use the walkway to Monash, it'll be easier cause it's just a 10 minute walk to college. Then you can go to Pyramid of course, using the canopy walk. Fyi, there is a free shuttle bus service around Bandar Sunway. It has a certain route with specific stops, and one of them is Monash University and of course, Sunway University.

jessica9310
23-06-2011, 10:46 AM
FYI, this is what I get from Official Sunway University College Thread: Hi there. At the moment, there are no free shuttle bus service from Sunway Monash Residence to Sunway University. You can opt for the normal fee shuttle from Monash University to Sunway University vice versa.

Btw, can we straight away go back home after registration on 1 July or we have to stay there??

23-06-2011, 11:49 AM
FYI, this is what I get from Official Sunway University College Thread: Hi there. At the moment, there are no free shuttle bus service from Sunway Monash Residence to Sunway University. You can opt for the normal fee shuttle from Monash University to Sunway University vice versa.

There are buses, but only for JPA students. Probably us and you guys as well.

WeijieKhor
23-06-2011, 01:50 PM

Where did u know that JPA will open Bank Islam account for JPA scholars? Mind to tell me? Thanks C:

23-06-2011, 03:30 PM
Where did u know that JPA will open Bank Islam account for JPA scholars? Mind to tell me? Thanks C:

they did that for last year's MUFY scholars, but the AUSMAT scholars had to open their own CIMB accounts.

BTW, any future AUSMATIANS here?

lewis17
23-06-2011, 04:06 PM

here..:laugh

znyi_beryl
23-06-2011, 04:23 PM

You study MUFY? I'm ex-Mufian so I know. =)

thebenjybenjy
23-06-2011, 06:00 PM
when will the allowance come in? According to a friend, SMR is actually quite far down the road. Hope there'll be shuttle buses lol.

WeijieKhor
23-06-2011, 06:02 PM
they did that for last year's MUFY scholars, but the AUSMAT scholars had to open their own CIMB accounts.

Thanks very much ;) btw i'm going to do foundation at Taylor's. Haha sorry for asking question here. Hmm,it makes me very confused because there is different replies from JPA officers. Some got email reply that JPA will open Bank Islam for PIDN. Some phoned JPA officer and they said open bank account due to which uni u're going. But for Taylor's, the officer supposed me to open CIMB account. so i just asked here :wink

23-06-2011, 09:59 PM
when will the allowance come in? According to a friend, SMR is actually quite far down the road. Hope there'll be shuttle buses lol.

Your allowance comes in late July. Last year we survived on our own money for the entire month.

Yeah, there will be shuttle buses.

here..:laugh

haha, welcome to Ausmat Sunway! :laugh

lewis17
23-06-2011, 10:11 PM
haha, welcome to Ausmat Sunway! :laugh

finance/econs, aussie bound..

thebenjybenjy
24-06-2011, 08:03 PM
I got a call from Sunway and they told me to bring 900bucks as deposit for the course and accomodation. Is it true?

anisa93
26-06-2011, 10:20 AM

hiiii... i will be a new MUFian tooo.. i'm taking Biotechnology..
what are the subjects that should I choose? English, check(i mean since it is a compulsory subject right?).. what about if i take mathematics, biology and chemistry only??? :))any advice????

znyi_beryl
26-06-2011, 12:52 PM
hiiii... i will be a new MUFian tooo.. i'm taking Biotechnology..
what are the subjects that should I choose? English, check(i mean since it is a compulsory subject right?).. what about if i take mathematics, biology and chemistry only??? :))any advice????

Yes, English, Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry are the right combination in order for you to enroll the course in Monash University. Biology in not compulsory but I advise you to take. It is compulsory to pass English, Chemistry and Maths with 65 marks, if I'm not mistaken because I took MUFY two years ago...:laugh

26-06-2011, 11:11 PM
By the way people, Monash Residence is AWESOME!

thebenjybenjy
26-06-2011, 11:15 PM
By the way people, Monash Residence is AWESOME!

REALLY?? Hahahaha. Cant wait. But no air cond right? Got tv? Tell us more!

27-06-2011, 12:34 AM
REALLY?? Hahahaha. Cant wait. But no air cond right? Got tv? Tell us more!

There's no aircond, but there's a ceiling fan, so it doesn't get too hot here. There's no TV either, but one of my housemates brought one from his home.

The place is nice! I feel that the designers actually gave some thought to the aesthetics of the place, unlike normal hostels. The kitchen is equipped with a water dispenser (which gives out both hot and cold water), a microwave, and a huge refrigerator. There are also individual shelves for each person in the house, so you won't have to fight with your housemates for storage space. There are 6 toilets, divided into three for bathing and three for ummm.... excretory purposes? LOL. There's hot water for the showers as well.

The rooms are pretty great as well. There are 8 individual rooms per unit, each equipped with a study table, a chair (one of those cushion chairs you'd see in offices), a bookshelf (3 levels), a wall rack, a wardrobe (huge!), a bed and a ceiling fan. Rooms 1 to 6 are pretty big, whereas rooms 7 and 8 are slightly smaller. The entire place is still pretty big though.

The facilities available include a swimming pool, a basketball court (half of it actually), a sort of recreational garden where there are equipments for exercising, a convenience store, and a gym, all free of charge for residents.

It takes about 10 minutes to walk to college, or less if you're a fast walker. There are also shuttle buses in the morning and nights for transportation to and from college. no public transport around here though, so if you want to go to KL, you need to walk to college and catch a bus there.

All in all, the whole place is pretty comfortable, and rather luxurious compared to where we had been staying before. I think you guys will like it too.

thebenjybenjy
27-06-2011, 02:26 AM
Wow. Very informative piece. Thanks. Which floor are you? Are all JPA students gathered in a floor or two?

27-06-2011, 12:33 PM
Wow. Very informative piece. Thanks. Which floor are you? Are all JPA students gathered in a floor or two?

Guys on the 3rd floor, girls on the 6th floor. JPA and Petronas people are together. But the two floors are full, so you guys will probably be on other floors.

jessica9310
28-06-2011, 09:37 PM
Hey seniors, mind recommending any restaurants or mamak shops selling NICE food at CHEAP price?? : )

28-06-2011, 10:28 PM
Around Monash Residence, there's practically nothing for now. A cafeteria should be opening up soon but I'm not sure when.

At Sunway, exiting from the side gate, you'll find many restaurants; some cheap, some affordable, some expensive. But it all comes down to your budget, and how much money you have to spend. If you want a large variety of choices, there's a place called Rock Cafe near college (1-2 minutes walk probably) where they have many stalls for you to choose from. The rest are mostly colour-coded (Pink, Orange, White, Green) most of which sell pretty much the same things, but not as much choices as Rock. You can also opt for Lunch Box, also nearby, but its slightly more expensive than the others. For those who love Chinese food, there's a restaurant called Platters (non-9halal) which serves pretty good Chinese food (meals and stuff) but it's pricey (about RM10-20 per meal). Of course, there's always Sunway Pyramid which is a 5-minutes walk from college through the canopy walk (a walkway directly from college to Pyramid), but you'd have to be rich to eat there.

That's all I can say. Go and explore the place for yourself when you come in! :-)

UPDATES : Monash Residence looks nice at first sight, but seems to develop problems as we go along. First my water dispenser broke down, then my fridge broke down, started leaking water, and spoiling everything inside. Now, one of the units has become flooded because the toilet was clogged. I shall retract my previous statement that Monash Residence is awesome. :-(

jessica9310
29-06-2011, 09:31 PM
UPDATES : Monash Residence looks nice at first sight, but seems to develop problems as we go along. First my water dispenser broke down, then my fridge broke down, started leaking water, and spoiling everything inside. Now, one of the units has become flooded because the toilet was clogged. I shall retract my previous statement that Monash Residence is awesome. :-(

Urgghhh, sounds so depressing man!!! :(

29-06-2011, 10:41 PM
Urgghhh, sounds so depressing man!!! :(

And guys can't enter girls' units, and vice versa. Even group discussions are not allowed and you'll get into trouble if you're caught. Wonder why they put so little trust in us. It's not like we're gonna jump into bed with each other at every possible opportunity. :notrust

lewis17
29-06-2011, 11:23 PM
And guys can't enter girls' units, and vice versa. Even group discussions are not allowed and you'll get into trouble if you're caught. Wonder why they put so little trust in us. It's not like we're gonna jump into bed with each other at every possible opportunity. :notrust

jpa said that or sunway said that?

29-06-2011, 11:50 PM
jpa said that or sunway said that?

The hostel management said that. My friends have been caught before.

thebenjybenjy
30-06-2011, 01:28 AM
URGH. SO DEPRESSING. My first impression of it is now damaged.

lewis17
30-06-2011, 08:42 AM
lets hope whatever unit we stay wun be bad..*fingers crossed*

bekann
30-06-2011, 08:17 PM
Flooding on the 3rd floor. Wheeeeeeeeee. hahaha.
What time you guys coming to college tomorrow?

jessica9310
30-06-2011, 08:29 PM
Flooding on the 3rd floor. Wheeeeeeeeee. hahaha.
What time you guys coming to college tomorrow?

Registration time - 8.00 am to 9.00 am
Hostel accommodation check-in - 1.00pm - 3.30 pm

Lol...Are you going to welcome us at the main entrance there?? HAHAHA:P

bekann
30-06-2011, 08:47 PM

Lol. Yes, with red carpet and confetti. :D
We'll probably bring you on a tour around college.

jessica9310
30-06-2011, 09:22 PM

Wow cool!! haha... Oh really?!! I think should be next week ba..:laugh

30-06-2011, 09:47 PM

There'll be a group of my friends who'll be taking you guys around college, bekann included. Be nice to them! :laugh I won't be there though; my timetable prevents me from it. :P

With rows upon rows of seniors cheering by the sidelines.... :nuts:nuts:nuts

Wow cool!! haha... Oh really?!! I think should be next week ba..:laugh

Yup, probably will be. And bekann will be very happy to be your tour guide. :laugh

By the way, don't bother asking other seniors about me because that's not my real name. (I know, this sounds really creepy, right?) Haha, only bekann knows who I am and I trust him not to divulge that information. There is a Dominic in AUSMAT, but he's not me, so don't go hounding him. I am one of your seniors though. ^^

peifen93
30-06-2011, 10:34 PM
Welcome to all new Ausmat July 2011 Intake students :D

znyi_beryl
01-07-2011, 01:28 PM
Welcome to all juniors, enjoy ur days in SUNWAY =)

bekann
01-07-2011, 02:40 PM
My bad, tour next week. Haha, you guys got any idea what time it is?

anisa93
02-07-2011, 11:53 AM
Yes, English, Mathematics, Biology and Chemistry are the right combination in order for you to enroll the course in Monash University. Biology in not compulsory but I advise you to take. It is compulsory to pass English, Chemistry and Maths with 65 marks, if I'm not mistaken because I took MUFY two years ago...:laugh

thanks for a very beneficial information....:)

02-07-2011, 09:50 PM
This thread has become unusually quiet since everyone entered Monash Residence. Busy settling in?

thebenjybenjy
03-07-2011, 12:31 AM
Yeah. And busy looking for a way to get my dongle ID. Anybody knows how?

03-07-2011, 12:37 AM
Go here: https://izone.sunway.edu.my/user_login.asp

Type in your student ID as the username and you password (do you have them yet?) Click Login, and you'll be directed to a your own account, where you'll see 'FAQs for YES' at the left side of the page. Click on it to get your YES ID and password.

If you don't have your Sunway username and password, you'll have to wait until they give it to you. However, the YES dongle has a 1 GB limit, which gets used up pretty fast, so I'd advise you to not use it too much.

BTW, how are you online? Broadband?

(I changed the link. Gave the wrong one at first.) :P

thebenjybenjy
03-07-2011, 12:46 AM
Go here: https://izone.sunway.edu.my/user_login.asp

Type in your student ID as the username and you password (do you have them yet?) Click Login, and you'll be directed to a your own account, where you'll see 'FAQs for YES' at the left side of the page. Click on it to get your YES ID and password.

If you don't have your Sunway username and password, you'll have to wait until they give it to you. However, the YES dongle has a 1 GB limit, which gets used up pretty fast, so I'd advise you to not use it too much.

BTW, how are you online? Broadband?

(I changed the link. Gave the wrong one at first.) :P

I'm not at Residence now. Hahaha. Then i think we've gotta wait until thursday when they give us the ID. Sighh. Is the connection fast?

03-07-2011, 02:30 AM
I'm not at Residence now. Hahaha. Then i think we've gotta wait until thursday when they give us the ID. Sighh. Is the connection fast?

I have no idea. Mine isn't working and since I already have my own broadband, I won't be using it anyway.

My friends said that the speed is OK for normal web-surfing, but I'm not sure what happens if you try downloading anything. Nobody is willing to do that, due to the usage limit.

What course are you taking?

lewis17
03-07-2011, 01:25 PM
any1 have any idea if 2 hrs of normal web surfing(no download documents or watch videos) will exceed 1GB data usage?

03-07-2011, 01:31 PM
any1 have any idea if 2 hrs of normal web surfing(no download documents or watch videos) will exceed 1GB data usage?

Probably not. It should take up about 100MB or less.

thebenjybenjy
03-07-2011, 07:33 PM
i Tried once with celcom broadband. i just browsed facebook with no vids and downloading, i only used less than 10mb/

jessica9310
06-07-2011, 08:55 AM
Its' been ages since I last logged in to recom!!! miss here so much... HAHAHA

jessica9310
07-07-2011, 01:36 PM
By the way, don't bother asking other seniors about me because that's not my real name. (I know, this sounds really creepy, right?) Haha, only bekann knows who I am and I trust him not to divulge that information. There is a Dominic in AUSMAT, but he's not me, so don't go hounding him. I am one of your seniors though. ^^

HAHAHA, why don't you just reveal your true identity?? Then we can thank you in person for providing us useful information here... haha:laugh

My bad, tour next week. Haha, you guys got any idea what time it is?

Seriously?!! I didnt see any seniors during the tour this tuesday...:huh

bekann
07-07-2011, 03:25 PM
HAHAHA, why don't you just reveal your true identity?? Then we can thank you in person for providing us useful information here... haha:laugh

Seriously?!! I didnt see any seniors during the tour this tuesday...:huh

Yeah, we didn't bring anyone on any tour also. huhu.

07-07-2011, 03:58 PM

You can always thank me here on ReCom. :laugh

Yeah, we didn't bring anyone on any tour also. huhu.

LOL what happened?

liang93
08-07-2011, 08:29 AM
I m at sunway coll too^^
currently studying MUFY
being sponsored by JPA under PIDN

thebenjybenjy
08-07-2011, 09:21 AM
liang93 is my roommate! hahaha. hello liang. :D

jessica9310
08-07-2011, 09:46 AM
I m at sunway coll too^^
currently studying MUFY
being sponsored by JPA under PIDN

== no one wants to know you one, no need to post this laa...:P

By the way, which clubs/ societies do you guys join??

08-07-2011, 11:26 AM
Which floor are you all staying at? I noticed newcomers on level 4, 5 and 7.

jessica9310
08-07-2011, 01:43 PM
Which floor are you all staying at? I noticed newcomers on level 4, 5 and 7.

Ohh, mine's not in the list...haha...I'm staying at level 6..:) Btw, my room is damn cold man especially at night...XD

08-07-2011, 01:47 PM
Ohh, mine's not in the list...haha...I'm staying at level 6..:)

Oh, I never noticed that. Maybe because the 6th floor is already populated by my batch so I didn't notice any difference. And there are newbies on my floor as well, forgot to mention that. :-)

znyi_beryl
09-07-2011, 04:29 AM
Excuses me, may I know where are those new MUFY-ians staying now?

jessica9310
09-07-2011, 10:56 AM
Excuses me, may I know where are those new MUFY-ians staying now?

we're all staying at sunway monash residence :)

znyi_beryl
09-07-2011, 12:23 PM
we're all staying at sunway monash residence :)

OMG! That's such a nice offer from JPA. Do you all need to pay extra for the condo?

jessica9310
09-07-2011, 08:07 PM
OMG! That's such a nice offer from JPA. Do you all need to pay extra for the condo?

yea, SMR's very niceee:)) nopee... but no air-cond and TV :nuts

znyi_beryl
09-07-2011, 09:06 PM
yea, SMR's very niceee:)) nopee... but no air-cond and TV :nuts

Not fair enuf =(
:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry

thebenjybenjy
10-07-2011, 01:08 AM
Not fair enuf =(
:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry:cry

heyy. :D you are ex-mufy right? Can you sell your graphing calculator to me? :D

10-07-2011, 04:11 PM
Hey people! So how was your first week at Sunway? Interesting? Fun? Scary? Confusing? Liberating, perhaps?

lewis17
10-07-2011, 06:03 PM
Hey people! So how was your first week at Sunway? Interesting? Fun? Scary? Confusing? Liberating, perhaps?

one word: awesome

jessica9310
10-07-2011, 06:08 PM

The orientation was so boring:((most of the time)... Luckily there are friends to chit chat...:laugh Kinda fun also...:) Oh ya, there's a hole in my wallet ady because of the expensive fooddddd!!!:cry

10-07-2011, 07:08 PM
The orientation was so boring:((most of the time)... Luckily there are friends to chit chat...:laugh Kinda fun also...:) Oh ya, there's a hole in my wallet ady because of the expensive fooddddd!!!:cry

Haah, true. I was so glad to finish mine last year. If you want cheaper food, head out the side gate of the college, turn right, walk along the pavement, cross the road, and you've arrived at Rock Cafe, where there is affordable food and plenty of choices! Don't eat in the cafeteria, you'll go broke pretty fast. And the food isn't that nice anyway so it's not worth it.

one word: awesome

Haha, I felt the same way during my first semester. You'll soon discover how much free time you have during the next 6 months. Spend it wisely, since you won't have that much come next year. :)