View Full Version : Challenges ahead for our new PM ?
James
18-11-2003, 05:10 PM
Challenges internally, how can Pak Lah win back the Malay vote that about 65% vote for BA in 1999. How he prevent non muslim vote from going away? Externally, how he is going to change Malysia image as ""Potential incubator related to extreme Islamic"" and raise the nation relative competitiveness.
18-11-2003, 05:50 PM
i was reading in Mkini about hte difficulty that Pak Lah faces in selecting his DPM. It's as if any selection he makes will provoke a split of disunity in the party.
I;m not that well-versed with Malaysian political history, so could anyone elaborate and explain this?
18-11-2003, 06:05 PM
Challenges internally, how can Pak Lah win back the Malay vote that about 65% vote for BA in 1999. How he prevent non muslim vote from going away? Externally, how he is going to change Malysia image as ""Potential incubator related to extreme Islamic"" and raise the nation relative competitiveness.
I'm not sure how he could 'win back' the Malay. However, Pak Lah is pretty much a religious person. He has a deeper religious background compared to most politicians in UMNO, more important, more religious than Mahathir. Perhaps that alone will prove rather useful for BN to 'win back' the Malay.
As for the non-Muslims, I think it's easy. With DAP and KeAdilan stuck with PAS, I'm sure most non-Muslims will find it hard, or at least reluctant to support DAP and KeAdilan.
As for "Potential incubator related to extreme Islamic", I think we don't have a problem with that. The fundamentalist movement and PAS included have received quite a beating. Though some Malaysians are (or were) involved with JI, Malaysia has yet to suffer any bombing. Of course, hopefully never.
Internationally, we might have a problem but that merely is a short term headache. The media will get bored with us and there'll switch their binocular to some other direction, especially with the upcoming election in the US.
19-11-2003, 04:01 AM
i think the imminent challenges he has is to deal with the red tape and civil servants. no doubt he has to choose a DPM asap to guarantee more stability and stop rumors from spreading but i think most likely will be from one of the 3 vice presidents of UMNO as it always is based on the history. if he going to choose other people, i think he's going to face tremendous pressure from the supporters of the 3 vice presidents. maybe he just need more time to choose the right one to help him.
about how to win the non Malay vote, that's easy. as long as BN don't go extreme religious like PAS did, non Malay vote will be theirs.
i think one more challenge he is facing now is to walk out from dr m's shadow and build up his own image. right now the situation is, most foreigners when mention about M'sia will relate to dr m somehow. but i do think m'sia is more well known now. i had heard many times the professors using M'sia as an example or mention about M'sia.
Of course he has to deal with the economics issue especially after the rise of China economic power which weaken M'sia competitive edges.
22-11-2003, 03:34 PM
Abdullah Ahmad has just been sacked by UMNO high council.
but i thought he worked for NSTP instead of UMNO?
22-11-2003, 03:46 PM
Abdullah Ahmad has just been sacked by UMNO high council.
but i thought he worked for NSTP instead of UMNO?
Ala... It's common knowledge that NSTP, BH, Utusan are owned by UMNO, the Star by MCA, so why should they pretend that the press is independent? At least they are honest about this :wink:
22-11-2003, 09:21 PM
Ala... It's common knowledge that NSTP, BH, Utusan are owned by UMNO, the Star by MCA, so why should they pretend that the press is independent? At least they are honest about this :wink:
i guess their honesty will work against them this time.
but are you sure NSTP is not private? I know MCA owns the star.
I do realize nstp is 'fanatically loyal' to the govt but i dont know whether umno has any stake in its executive board.
noneedname
30-12-2004, 03:24 AM
--------
letter from friend -------------------
Humans have always migrated throughout history - ‘in search of better lives’. It is in our blood. Animals also do it. Some prefer to settle, others move on at whatever odds. The Chinese race is a good example of enthusiastic migrants. The Scots yet another.
Take the example of my own extended family. My father, who came from a poor family, emigrated together with his late father and late elder brother from Guangdong to Ipoh in 1923. The price they paid was separation from my late grandmother for a couple of years.
When reunited, the family expanded to a total of 10 children. Within one generation, eight of these children were able to go to university in Malaya (Singapore) and the UK. Three of these were Queen's scholars and another, a Colombo Plan scholar. This was during the time of the British, with free and fair competition prevailing.
Within another generation, my family were all dispersed around the world. Today, we have family in the UK, USA, the Middle East and Australia. There are only two families left in Bolehland (Malaysia) from the previous generation - and they are retired.
In this generation, we have 13 doctors - all but one specialists - with one the holder of personal chair in a UK university. I am sure all of us can attribute our various successes to being at the right place at the right time and also by being open minded, diligent and persistent.
The argument has nothing to do with patriotism or race. We all love Malaysia as a country but we objected to the form and type of governance and the society it created during various times.
This spurred our migration and our decision to work and live away from the land we were born in. Some of us have even maintained our Malaysian citizenship in hope that things will change and we may be able to return. Nonetheless, we are thankful that we have not been hindered in our move across borders. We are also thankful that holding a Malaysian passport today will facilitate movement between many countries compared to say, 20 years ago.
In short, our leaving was our silent, peaceful protest. It will of course fall on deaf ears because the existing muhibah ruling class will only be interested in furthering their own wealth and well-being and not those of the rakyat. Fortunately for some of us, we could vote with our feet. So let it be.
We take a larger global view and see that we contribute to the world, not directly Bolehland. My question is: Have you considered that those who do not migrate are the ones who are truly enslaved?
And to the present government I ask: How do you think you could lure people like us back? (Hint: Better money would not work - as we get less where we all are.)
------------
30-12-2004, 03:29 AM
I would say that in the land of Malaysia, opportunities are there wide open for everyone, and I would say that if everyone is waiting for others to make you richer, better, then this thing will not happen.
Why should the government lure you back? It is true that you are a Malaysian, but is Malaysia in your heart?
I would question that: Have you ever done initiatives and stuffs to help making Malaysia prosper in the last few years, when you are abroad? If not, then why?
We can't be passive people, waiting for changes to happen. and here in ReCom, we are hoping that we can get people engaged to the issues, and take positive actions to bring on changes.
coolstudy
20-06-2005, 04:13 AM
Chinese getting straight As are not allowed into universities. Not allowed civil service jobs. That is blatant discrimination.
Why do you support such discrimination?
Chinese Malaysians have built very successful businesses, hence they have the wealth that they have. This is not greed. They worked for what they now own.
Why do you envy what does not belong to you? Is this not greed?
It is quite untrue that business offers are conducted on the basis of race. Starting any business is very very hard work, but the malays did not have a hard working tradition to persevere. This is a cultural change the malays need in order to conduct businesses successfully.
Armed with this knowledge, do you still insist that Chinese Malaysians are greedy, and therefore it is right for malays to take what does not belong to them?
Your perception of business in Malaysia has got to be wrong.
Most goods and services can be conducted in open markets, and there is no particular reason to single out malays so that Chinese businessmen should swindle them. There are lots of swindlers in business so it is not just malays who get swindled.
Successful businessmen depend on providing real benefits to customers and partners so that it is worthwhile for them to do business again and again to both parties benefit. It is only when customers also get rich that businesses can grow.
The discrimination against Chinese, Indians and other peoples cannot be tolerated in the modern world. Countries that do this will face long-term decline.
Hard working people are not greedy as you accuse them. They are hard working because they have a mission in life to prosper, to give offspring a good chance in life to live to the full, to contribute their talents to the betterment of society……….
This is not greed.
Whereas, envy of others wealth and taking what they have not worked for is greed.
I would put is stronger. It is robbery and corruption. You talk like a Mafia extortionist when you said that worse could happen to the Chinese, so be thankful because there are more malays than Chinese, and therefore they can take even more from the Chinese if they want to.
You have to be joking to believe that your greed and prejudices are the wonderful things about Malaysia. Well, may be you do.
Malaysia as describe it is a country based on racism, lack of a conscience, and greed (taking from hard working foreigners).
Meritocracy is denounced. Robbing the wealthy is promoted.
How can there be a good future for such a country?
the-model-racist-nation
05-11-2005, 12:57 AM
Moderator action: Deleted (inflammatory remarks)
05-11-2005, 08:01 AM
The model racist nation,
We know who you are. Please stop making racially imflammatory comments.
06-11-2005, 07:31 PM
Chinese getting straight As are not allowed into universities. Not allowed civil service jobs. That is blatant discrimination.
Why do you support such discrimination?
{...}
I assume this reply was meant for Chenchow.
He supports having Umno* stepping over his rights and that of his brethens.
He likes to be treated as an outcast. A Chinaman, an immigrant who does not belong in this country. Penumpang.
That's his defination of being "Malaysian".
*Umno - being a majority party, suffers from insecurity and denial syndrome. Its a big bully. Surprisingly, a lot of Malaysians enjoy being bullied.
---
Point of clarification:
- I'm not picking on chenchow. I'm denouncing all the other retarded and myopic Malaysians out there. That's what chenchow represents.
- Chenchow: Wake up! When are you ready to meet misled_youth for a tea?
29-11-2005, 09:29 AM
He will have to survive the UMNO election after losing the support of two UMNO warlords (Read: AP and Money politics). Up till now, I applaud some of the stuff he did since he got into power. We will wait a few more years and see whether things go the way i predict them to.
Maxforce
29-11-2005, 07:52 PM
I applaud some of the stuff he did since he got into power.
Agreed. But I think the pace is a bit too slow to my taste.
17-12-2005, 08:41 AM
I applaud some of the stuff he did since he got into power.
Agreed. But I think the pace is a bit too slow to my taste.
True, but fighting a battle on both fronts is never easy...