View Full Version : No more JPA scholarship for overseas undergraduate studies ?
supergoh
14-06-2010, 09:14 AM
Next year,those who want to pursue overseas undergraduate studies through JPA scholarship may be disappointed.
http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/PSDtoendsponsorshipofundergradstudiesabroad/Article/
Maybe the main aim of the government is to save money.
edcac
14-06-2010, 09:20 AM
Meaning JPA PILN scholars won't be sponsored unless they are accepted to study in top foreign universities?
Another question, if we received this scholarship, upon completing our degree, are we obliged to repay the total amount of money spent by government to sponsor us?
Trident
14-06-2010, 09:39 AM
i think this is the response by the govt due to the immense flame their getting for the way the piln scholarship was given out, the politics card is an easy card to use so i guess the best way to take that out of the equation would be
a)no one else flies besides the cream of the crop
b)each races makes their own mara (sponsored abit by the gov and funded privately as well)
however here is a few points to raise
a)some people didnt even get a matrics offer or Uni offer with their spm results , this is indicating a lack of space in the tertiary education system , so how will the govt cope with the influx of students into matriculation colleges and public universities
b)how will private institutions react to such a proposal . i would assume a large number doing the pre u courses would be sponsered by government or corporate scholarships .so with that large number cut out , how will the institutions cope ?
c)an alternative to this(good world class education is everywhere else but not here) would be to instead bring experienced lecturers abroad here, this was the strategy that NUS implemented to increase its research and university rankings so it might work here as well
d)are the universities able to cope with a possible boom in student intakes . imagine every batch of students is in the 50,000 instead of 20000 . and this is the case each and every year from then on , so there must be plans to increase the infrastructure from now
topchef2
14-06-2010, 09:41 AM
i think this is a great move.I support this!!
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 10:40 AM
i think this is a great move.I support this!!
Me too, now only left with students with so called " Ivy League" material to sponsor. Wiser to spend money on quality students going to top universities than on those going to Poland or Russia.
BTW, JPA scholarship is under Prime Minister Dept whilst Matric & Pre-Uni education under Ministry of Higher Education. They may not see eye-to-eye on some entry criteria.
acgerlok7
14-06-2010, 10:55 AM
I support this! I believe the scholars will appreciate it more when after working hard in STPM/ A-lvls...then obtaining top-unis...then oni apply for the scholarship...in this case...there wont be som much bugging and flaming tht this and tht top student is treated unfairly....now all races fair...whoever whu get top-uni will be sponsored...=)
I don't think the government is doing it because of good economic sense but due to an urgency to conserve funds.......lesen judi bola anyone? Sudden proposals to remove subsidies? The country's finances are not too healthy and this is one of the spendings the government is trying to slash.
14-06-2010, 12:39 PM
In my opinion, I support the government decision on this. At least there is will less flow of riggit overseas which will strengthen our ringgit. Furthermore, there will be more JPA scholarships and it's time to improve the standard of our tertiary education system n finally thr will less students who are able to runway frm d contract which reduces government loses.
fokero
14-06-2010, 12:40 PM
so this mean, everyone has to work extra hard & then get indeed a very good result before applying the scholarships. it'll be harder. But, this will definitely ensure that only the best of the best will get the scholarship. i've to agree that there will be no more flaming from those who didnt get the scholarships.
but this also mean that gov dont have much money anymore to support all the students :P
14-06-2010, 01:00 PM
I support this!!! Apparently this is a great move by the JPA to solve those problems arose by those political parties now, due to unfairness in distributing the scholarships to post SPM students last year, as what those political parties claimed. Due to the rising number of outstanding students every year, lots of outstanding students didn't even stand a chance to secure the scholarship even though after appeal.
That's the best solution I can say, cause with this move, most of the SPM students would stop dreaming about JPA and starts to be more independent. They should stop depending merely on JPA and start to do their own researches about everything regarding their tertiary education pathway.
If they really wish to study abroad, those who don't have much financial constraint can opt for A-Levels and Ausmat in private colleges, and try their best to apply for admission into foreign top universities; Those who have serious financial constraint can just go for STPM, the cheapest yet broader pathway for students.
For students who wish to study A-Levels and Ausmat on their own, even if their family don't have financial mean to support their studies, they can still try their best in SPM and get strings of As; And most probably they can get some percentages of tuition waiver from the private colleges.
Besides, I believe that JPA Tajaan Tambahan would greatly increase in number to support those who get admitted into top universities abroad. Anyways, good luck to everyone who is going to study Pre-U programmes on their own, especially upcoming juniors. For those who have secured any scholarships this year, be grateful and study hard starting from now on! Don't waste the money invested on you by the government/bank/corporate companies! Good luck!
unsolvedcryptex
14-06-2010, 01:10 PM
Aiya, their policy changes all the time.
So hard to figure out what are they thinking.
And Tajaan Tambahan is stopped this year because of this? LOL
14-06-2010, 01:17 PM
Cause of they would increase the number of Tajaan Tambahan starting from next year onwards? :laugh
I would say that it's the ostrich mentality. Hiding their heads in mud to hide from the truth. Most are complaining that the giving of scholarships is rather unfair, and now they no scholarship is given. Is like a child telling his mom that he did not have enough vegetable, so the mom didn't give him any food so that he won't complain. By the way bumis still have Mara scholarship. I won't be surprised if BN continues to lose with this kind of mentality around.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 01:36 PM
By killing the PILN scholarship, in some way, govt has also done a quick-fix to ensure there won't be over-supply of doctor in the near future.
And they mentioned they are still willing to sponsor medical student to do their post graduate medical-specialty degree in oversea under Perdana Scholarship. In other word, do yr basic medical degree local & do yr post-grad overseas.
I would say that it's the ostrich mentality. Hiding their heads in mud to hide from the truth. Most are complaining that the giving of scholarships is rather unfair, and now they no scholarship is given. Is like a child telling his mom that he did not have enough vegetable, so the mom didn't give him any food so that he won't complain. By the way bumis still have Mara scholarship. I won't be surprised if BN continues to lose with this kind of mentality around.
Mara also mentioned next yr they will only sponsor ivy-league or oxbridge students. To me, Increase the allocation for ivy-league setara will be a fairer approach.
acgerlok7
14-06-2010, 01:57 PM
. To me, Increase the allocation for ivy-league setara will be a fairer approach.
they r doing tht indeed...chek out what datu Nazri said " those whu got admission into top-unis worldwide eg UNI cambridge or OXford MAY ( CAN) apply for thiis scholarship..its a big and huge hint tht all allocation meant or set for next year PILN initially will alll be transferred to the Tajaan Tambahan section....bcos they do not want to sponsor too many students overseas and in the ned those overseas students perform just above average or mediocre oni...
this year Tajaan Tambahan did not stop..but its allocation finish edi...but stil der is a long list of ppl applying it...so dey hv to put them on hold.:)
The Myth
14-06-2010, 01:59 PM
"The 1,500 scholarships offered by the Public Service Department (PSD) for undergraduate studies overseas will be phased out from next year."
Phase out?Does that means they will withdraw gradually or discontinue the whole thing drastically?
I'm surprised when most people support this move.I really hope the money will go to better investment like improving local university,I believe the amount of money saved from this approach if used properly will certainly bring a dramatic upswing to our standard of tertiary education.Then I'm happy for my younger siblings.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 02:03 PM
they r doing tht indeed...chek out what datu Nazri said " those whu got admission into top-unis worldwide eg UNI cambridge or OXford MAY ( CAN) apply for thiis scholarship..its a big and huge hint tht all allocation meant or set for next year PILN initially will alll be transferred to the Tajaan Tambahan section....bcos they do not want to sponsor too many students overseas and in the ned those overseas students perform just above average or mediocre oni...
The newly re-vamp Yr 2010 Times Education Ranking ( using Reuters statistics) will be release in this Sept-Oct. I predicted Oxbridge, Imperial will still remained in the Top 20 ranking table with possiblity of LSE or more Canada Uni joining the league table. If our govt have no plan to broaden the Top 20 criteria, I afraid those applying for Aust will not be considered...
Good point. Refer > http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8&q=define:+phase+out
I am neutral (no personal stand yet) as long as the money saved can be used properly to develop the "soft skills" under high transparency.
orthopod
14-06-2010, 02:05 PM
if they want to give tajaan tambahan then it has got to be strictly for the real ivy league schools o nly la..if wanna give for unis like edinburgh.that is a load of crap..its no where near ivy league standard..so how many can get in to oxbridge..hahaha..
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 02:13 PM
"The 1,500 scholarships offered by the Public Service Department (PSD) for undergraduate studies overseas will be phased out from next year."
Phase out?Does that means they will withdraw gradually or discontinue the whole thing drastically?
I'm surprised when most people support this move.I really hope the money will go to better investment like improving local university,I believe the amount of money saved from this approach if used properly will certainly bring a dramatic upswing to our standard of tertiary education.Then I'm happy for my younger siblings.
The Govt is already investing heavily in the local Uni, sadly, once they opt for political popularity & willing to compromise on the quality of student & teaching staff, don't expect the best result.
if they want to give tajaan tambahan then it has got to be strictly for the real ivy league schools o nly la..if wanna give for unis like edinburgh.that is a load of crap..its no where near ivy league standard..so how many can get in to oxbridge..hahaha..
If they hv Vet Medicine in Oxford, UCL or Imperial, then i would hv apply and not let you laugh at me going to Edinburgh
orthopod
14-06-2010, 02:17 PM
first and foremost SAM would not be accepted in those unis.but seriously,edinburgh is not ivy league.no where near.
acgerlok7
14-06-2010, 02:20 PM
i guess they will use th Times higher education ranking as a benchmark oso...and this time cos of th stringent process..guess they wont give sideliners any chances too.:( meaning those whu get unis out of top-20 are automatically out of consideration...thus...it means no monash..no sydney uni no carnegie mellon and all..
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 02:24 PM
first and foremost SAM would not be accepted in those unis.but seriously,edinburgh is not ivy league.no where near.
Lucky me.... everybody still addressed me as a doctor just like you :) And presumably my starting salary scale is UD41, just like you too.
Cambridge Vet degree is not even accredited by U.S, so getting Edinburgh Vet degree does hv its advantage
szying
14-06-2010, 02:38 PM
so after stpm still can apply for jpa scholarship to study overseas in top universities?
orthopod
14-06-2010, 02:40 PM
u dr redi?fuh.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 02:46 PM
u dr redi?fuh.
Not yet ! but someday i will be...just like you:wink
I think we are off-topic. chat with you later
14-06-2010, 02:46 PM
so after stpm still can apply for jpa scholarship to study overseas in top universities?
Yes you can. The JPA Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League dan Setara would still be continued I think, provided that you gain admission into top universities abroad after doing your STPM. :)
supergoh
14-06-2010, 04:15 PM
Just as I guessed , the aim of the government is to save money.
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/nazri-putrajaya-has-no-funds-for-bright-students/
14-06-2010, 04:18 PM
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/nazri-putrajaya-has-no-funds-for-bright-students/
Apparently, and to prevent the occurrence of Malaysia's bankruptcy by the year of 2019 as expected.
dianonaid
14-06-2010, 04:32 PM
If they can't afford international pre-u's, there's always STPM.
Maybe this is the time for people to stop being too depending on which University they're enrolling in, instead study hard and smart by using their own ability and independently; an initiative for excellence.
And for people to start believing, to have faith and to help each other improve Malaysia for the betterment of everyone.
Because by sending our best to the rest of the world, we're never going to be truly free and independent.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 04:39 PM
I still believe if you want to be a top class civil servant, you need to do Post Graduate oversea. Too many graduate scholars stop after getting their basic degree.
As a reference, just look at the profile of those cabinet ministers in Singapore, most of them attained post graduate degree from Harvard,Yale, Oxbridge or LSE. Comparatively, many of our M'sian ministers only hv a basic degree & graduated from some Tier-2 universities.
As long as our govt are keen to attract talented scholars to work as top legal brain, top doctors, top economic advisors or top researchers in this country, JPA scholarship program will still goes on.
terencegreen
14-06-2010, 05:57 PM
I beg to stay neutral too in this case, as i don't see the long time efficient if this comes into the action.As if they are really trying to decrease the students sent to overseas, will they really guarantee those bright students would secure a place in UPU or Matriculation as there are some bright students who eventually end up not getting both despite having excellent results.This still would be inefficient as the quota system still applies in this context.If they are bringing this into action, they should analise more on the long term effect and the series of problems that may arise due to this change of policy as more students would end up whining and moan if they didn't get place in matriculation and UPU.And we need more time to repair the mentality of upcoming SPM leavers to think that STPM can guarantee them a degree of their choice.Becaus eeventually IPTS seems not an affordable choice for most Malaysians nowadays.Besides this is only a short term solution so they should start searching for the holes for them to patch on.As eventually BRAIN DRAIN will continue to happen with or without sending students to overseas because some students who have been neglected by the goverment end up leaving the country for better offer.As a solution, like many have mentioned before, the goverment should use the money wisely to upgrade the infrastructure of IPTA as well as increasing the places in these IPTA for more students so that we don't have to worry about overflow of our graduates!!This may seem degressing but i am stressing more on the bigger picture.:winkJust my ONE Ringgit!!:amuse
Hear hear. It's useless to run away from the truth if your country's institution is not good enough. Great musicians and artists learned from imitating others first before exploring on their own. Personally I don't think IPTA and IPTS have reached the standard of providing quality graduates for the need of the developing country. We are a developing country and admitting it is not a step of going backwards, it's a step forward. There will never be such thing as learning too much from other people who are better. If they are really sincere developing the nations talents then show it. Invest more in education and not building a new parliament building or what.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 06:16 PM
Unless govt can defined 'Bright' student and how bright is considered bright enough to guarantee a place in local Uni, otherwise maybe by making SPM more difficult to score straight A or A+ and this allocation problem will vanish overnight.
Their problem is with the Chinese and the Indians complaining about uneven distribution. If not where did they get the idea of building a new parliament building. I believe insufficient funds is merely an excuse. They are merely hiding from the main problem by abolishing this whole program. Let's just wait and see what happens. Not to mention the votes where I believe someone will say that we are not thankful enough. If a country like Singapore can give scholarships out to those who deserve and also to foreign universities I don't think it's a bad thing to give out scholarships.
unsolvedcryptex
14-06-2010, 06:29 PM
Cause of they would increase the number of Tajaan Tambahan starting from next year onwards? :laugh
LOL. that is not the solution.
They should consider those good unis.
I know A LOT of ppl who got good uni but they got a letter stating that they have stop tajaan tambahan. so, i dunno wat government is thinking
this year Tajaan Tambahan did not stop..but its allocation finish edi...but stil der is a long list of ppl applying it...so dey hv to put them on hold.:)
They could have just given them now. Why are they holding it back if giving scholarship to those who got good uni offer is what they want to achieve. There's no difference between year, to give it this year or next year.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 06:31 PM
Their problem is with the Chinese and the Indians complaining about uneven distribution. If not where did they get the idea of building a new parliament building. I believe insufficient funds is merely an excuse. They are merely hiding from the main problem by abolishing this whole program. Let's just wait and see what happens. Not to mention the votes where I believe someone will say that we are not thankful enough. If a country like Singapore can give scholarships out to those who deserve and also to foreign universities I don't think it's a bad thing to give out scholarships.
meritocracy still exist..only amongst the bumi vs another bumi inside their own 55% allocation and non-bumi vs another non-bumi inside their own 45% allocation ; but not amongst bumi and non-bumi.
I noticed indian scholars with 7A or 9A( not even 7A+ or 9A+) complaining abt not being awarded a scholarship. If they are to compete openly with the chinese, do you think they stand a chance and will be given the 10% proportionately? After all, the chinese parents invested heavily on their children, better tuition class, better private school, more reading material or better computer. Quota or no quota, they will most likely to be on the losing end..
Glassylicious
14-06-2010, 06:34 PM
I disagree when you say that insufficient funds is not an excuse. Sending scholars to western countries costs so much money. 1 million ringgit per scholar in some courses/countries.
Also, your last sentence hinges on the assumption that the Malaysian government has stopped giving out scholarships completely. That's not true. They're going to reserve all scholarships for those who've obtained places in really good universities. And those are the ones who DO deserve scholarships, and HAVE proven that they deserve them.
14-06-2010, 06:46 PM
LOL. that is not the solution.
They should consider those good unis.
I know A LOT of ppl who got good uni but they got a letter stating that they have stop tajaan tambahan. so, i dunno wat government is thinking
Well, JPA is going to phase out the 1500 scholarships to merely 300 scholarships next year. At least there are still 300 places reserved under Perdana Scholarship, for those students who have gained admission into top foreign universities such as Oxbridge, Ivy Leagues, etc. Those who want to stand a chance to get the Perdana Scholarship should try their best to stand out from the rest and gain admission into those top schools, by doing their Pre-U programme on their own and attaining stupendous result in it. Correct me if I'm wrong. :)
CelineD
14-06-2010, 06:46 PM
meritocracy still exist..only amongst the bumi vs another bumi inside their own 55% allocation and non-bumi vs another non-bumi inside their own 45% allocation ; but not amongst bumi and non-bumi.
I noticed indian scholars with 7A or 9A( not even 7A+ or 9A+) complaining abt not being awarded a scholarship. If they are to compete openly with the chinese, do you think they stand a chance. After all, the chinese parents invested heavily on their children, better tuition class, better private school, more reading material or better computer. Quota or no quota, they will most likely to be on the losing end..
Agree with your first paragraph.
Your second, however...there's a lot of truth there right, but be careful with that bolded sentence...it sounded racist at first glance. Are you implying that Indians cannot outperform Chinese? That they don't try their best to do well? You're right, but only because(most)Chinese have the monetary advantage to afford private tuitions and good schools for their kids, which is good but consider the plight of the poor (not just Indians but of every race) who can't afford these stuff and have to work hard (Find info, devise study plans) by their own means. Please explain to me so that I don't misunderstand you!
I don't support the idea of quotas but with more resources, money etc.,but don't you think that the Chinese will take up most of the places in the non-bumi quota since they can afford better education to score in exams? Just for thought...no offense to all who did well by their own hard work=)
Mods if I am offensive please delete this post. I don't quite agree with the quoted statement above...
ps. I'm legally Chinese, but technically mixed blood--1/2 Chinese/Indian. Maybe weird that I pinned these words...
When exactly will the move be initiated? I'm a bit confused by the article.
Anyone,care to explain?
14-06-2010, 06:58 PM
The bad thing about these racial quota is that we are stuck in this framework of Chinese > Malay > Indian for wealth, and judge that we need to help people according to this racial profiling. However, that's also exactly where the problems of this country lie. People who need help are poor Malays, Chinese and Indians, people who deserve encouragement and rewards are excellent Malays, Chinese and Indians. Look at what we have achieved by such profiling for the last four decades.
edcac
14-06-2010, 07:00 PM
here's the Chinese version, I think. http://www.sinchew-i.com/node/158632?tid=3
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 07:05 PM
Agree with your first paragraph.
Your second, however...there's a lot of truth there right, but be careful with that bolded sentence...it sounded racist at first glance. Are you implying that Indians cannot outperform Chinese? That they don't try their best to do well? You're right, but only because(most)Chinese have the monetary advantage to afford private tuitions and good schools for their kids, which is good but consider the plight of the poor (not just Indians but of every race) who can't afford these stuff and have to work hard (Find info, devise study plans) by their own means. Please explain to me so that I don't misunderstand you!
I don't support the idea of quotas but with more resources, money etc.,but don't you think that the Chinese will take up most of the places in the non-bumi quota since they can afford better education to score in exams? Just for thought...no offense to all who did well by their own hard work=)
Mods if I am offensive please delete this post. I don't quite agree with the quoted statement above...
ps. I'm legally Chinese, but technically mixed blood--1/2 Chinese/Indian. Maybe weird that I pinned these words...
No offence intended, i am taking the Top 30 SPM students who received the national sponsorship as reference. There are only 2 indian , one at the 20th and another at 30th spot. The rest is chinese 15 pax ( occupying 6 out of top 10 spot) and bumi 13 pax.
In short, No, i am not looking down on them, only reality sucks. If they can excel more than their 10% racial allocation, so be it.. the chinese always said ' be it a black cat or a white cat.. whichever can catches rats is a good cat'. This country will benefits from having good talents people serving them at the end of the day..
CelineD
14-06-2010, 07:24 PM
No offence intended, i am taking the Top 30 SPM students who received the national sponsorship as reference. There are only 2 indian , one at the 20th and another at 30th spot. The rest is chinese 15 pax ( occupying 6 out of top 10 spot) and bumi 13 pax.
In short, No, i am not looking down on them, only reality sucks. If they can excel more than their 10% racial allocation, so be it.. the chinese always said ' be it a black cat or a white cat.. whichever can catches rats is a good cat'. This country will benefits from having good talents people serving them at the end of the day..
thank you so much for explaining...well now I know that you are a 100% meritocracy supporter:amuse
Sorry if my post offended anyone...it's just sad but also true that poor people of any race are denied opportunities to succeed sometimes just because they can't afford it. We should find ways to help them...if only I know how. Offering free/low cost tuition classes for friends who are not very well to do maybe is a good start? (By saying this I'm not implying that I'm rich...mid-range only...)
ps what's the chinese proverb for the saying 'be it a black cat or a white cat.. whichever can catches rats is a good cat'? i don't remember learning the proverb...
terencegreen
14-06-2010, 07:56 PM
I noticed indian scholars with 7A or 9A( not even 7A+ or 9A+) complaining abt not being awarded a scholarship. If they are to compete openly with the chinese, do you think they stand a chance and will be given the 10% proportionately? After all, the chinese parents invested heavily on their children, better tuition class, better private school, more reading material or better computer. Quota or no quota, they will most likely to be on the losing end..
I second CelineD in this matter too..
littlewhitegrass i have bolded some of the sentences in your second paragraph which seems flawed to my eyes.
For the first sentence.My question is why do you say or think so?For your information its not completely awarded based on their results nor social background[except for some cases] but it is offered to well rounded student who did remarkably great in academic, co-curricular activities and finally the most important thing[although they say only 5% counted] is interview which gives great impression on the panel to make decision whether to award that particular person the scholarship.And again this based n the competition between non-bumi like you have mentioned before.No matter if you are Chinese,Indian or others if you only manage to get straight A+ but not able to impress the panels that you worth it for the PEOPLE'S Money no one would award that person with a scholarship.[although it seems rare but my PO and as an analogy]
For the second sentence.Simply, it is not a must and it doesn't count in the criteria they want to award the students the scholarship.[you should know better]And it also depends on the particular individual family no matter Indian or Chinese, if you can't afford to send your child o tuition your not to blame.AND I KNOW STUDENTS WHO SCORED WELL DESPITE NOT GOING TO TUITION,SENT TO PRIVATE SCHOOL, OR GIVEN BETTER READING MATERIAL WITH COMPUTOR!![And he is Chinese]So again its not a must.Thats why we support the motion of awarding based on MERIT not social background.So again not a must.
For the third sentence.I am so offended by the sentence as i am an Indian and also a PSD scholar[Thank God].So my humble request is that please try to see this from a better perspective or if can't please try not to sound so offensive please.Thank you.
Mods, just like CelineD said if you think my post seems offensive please delete it on sight.Thanks.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 07:58 PM
ps what's the chinese proverb for the saying 'be it a black cat or a white cat.. whichever can catches rats is a good cat'? i don't remember learning the proverb...[/quote]
Its actually ex-chinese premier Deng xiao Ping who said that
14-06-2010, 08:12 PM
For the second sentence.Simply, it is not a must and it doesn't count in the criteria they want to award the students the scholarship.[you should know better]And it also depends on the particular individual family no matter Indian or Chinese, if you can't afford to send your child o tuition your not to blame.AND I KNOW STUDENTS WHO SCORED WELL DESPITE NOT GOING TO TUITION,SENT TO PRIVATE SCHOOL, OR GIVEN BETTER READING MATERIAL WITH COMPUTOR!![And he is Chinese]So again its not a must.Thats why we support the motion of awarding based on MERIT not social background.So again not a must.
I never attended any tuition though, and still managed to attain straight A+/A in my SPM last year.
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 08:21 PM
For the third sentence.I am so offended by the sentence as i am an Indian and also a PSD scholar[Thank God].So my humble request is that please try to see this from a better perspective or if can't please try not to sound so offensive please.Thank you.
I am really perplexed by this statement, where on earth did i mentioned this in my post ???
I never attended any tuition though, and still managed to attain straight A+/A in my SPM last year.
Ya man ! same here, no tuition , scored 2A in SPM and still awarded JPA scholarship...When there is a will, there is always a way :))
14-06-2010, 08:25 PM
Ya man ! same here, no tuition , scored 2A in SPM and still awarded JPA scholarship...When there is a will, there is always a way :))
But you excelled in your STPM right? :laugh You deserve the scholarship! :amuse Yeah, when there's a will, there's a way! :laugh
14-06-2010, 08:31 PM
However, have ur all realised tat only NST announced tat thr will not be overseas scholarship starting next year as i read STAR newspaper, watched d news on TV and checked on the Internet. There barely anything.
Things like this should be a headline of every newspaper, non?
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 08:38 PM
But you excelled in your STPM right? :laugh You deserve the scholarship! :amuse Yeah, when there's a will, there's a way! :laugh
not STPM, actually it is SAM.
Anyway i still hv UPM as local choice if i fail to secure JPA overseas scholarship, whichever university i go to, i m looking forward to work with animals for the rest of my life. It always feel great to able to chase my dream, who care abt making a million bucks but put up with annoying people and environment. At least my patients don't complain much....
unsolvedcryptex
14-06-2010, 08:42 PM
Well, JPA is going to phase out the 1500 scholarships to merely 300 scholarships next year. At least there are still 300 places reserved under Perdana Scholarship, for those students who have gained admission into top foreign universities such as Oxbridge, Ivy Leagues, etc. Those who want to stand a chance to get the Perdana Scholarship should try their best to stand out from the rest and gain admission into those top schools, by doing their Pre-U programme on their own and attaining stupendous result in it. Correct me if I'm wrong. :)
LOL that is not the way to cut out people from getting scholarship this year after getting admission into top uni.
They should just give it. Like I said, no difference on giving it now or next year. Why must they stop TTJ now?
And when I said A LOT im implying those who did their A levels in Taylors. Not a lot but considerable amount. wrong usage of word
14-06-2010, 08:44 PM
First of all, "better tuition class, better private school, more reading material or better computer" , i think thse qualities help d students to understand well the subjects. These things are not the main reasons y the students can excelled in SPM. There also students who dun hv these excelled in studies n there are also many students hv these luxury who didn't excel in studies. Therefore, the will n perseverance of d students play d major role in determining d level of excellence of d students.
In my opinion, evry1 frm evry race regardless of their results complains abt not getting JPA results. Only at times, some of their voices r louder thn d others. So, u shouldn't jump into conclusion. Thr also a lot of non-bumi who is also non-chinese excelled in studies. So, i do think tat they stand a chance.
unsolvedcryptex
14-06-2010, 08:47 PM
In my opinion, evry1 frm evry race regardless of their results complains abt not getting JPA results. Only at times, some of their voices r louder thn d others. So, u shouldn't jump into conclusion. Thr also a lot of non-bumi who is also non-chinese excelled in studies. So, i do think tat they stand a chance.
True True. I should save my time on recom and find MCA, which I didn't. But yeah sucked.
but yeah ure talking bout non-chinese lol
14-06-2010, 08:52 PM
not STPM, actually it is SAM.
Anyway i still hv UPM as local choice if i fail to secure JPA overseas scholarship, whichever university i go to, i m looking forward to work with animals for the rest of my life. It always feel great to able to chase my dream, who care abt making a million bucks but put up with annoying people and environment. At least my patients don't complain much....
Opps! Sorry~ That's great that you have your big dream now and on your way to achieving it. Good luck to you! :)
LOL that is not the way to cut out people from getting scholarship this year after getting admission into top uni.
They should just give it. Like I said, no difference on giving it now or next year. Why must they stop TTJ now?
And when I said A LOT im implying those who did their A levels in Taylors. Not a lot but considerable amount. wrong usage of word
Well, maybe they cut off the people from the TTJ Ivy Leagues dan Setara this year, before decided to phase out JPA PILN scholarship programme starting from next year? And as the implication, the number of scholarships for TTJ Ivy Leagues and Setara would increase significantly to 300 scholarships next year.
In my opinion, the reason why they reduced the number of TTJ this year is because of they have reached their budget allocated for this year due to the 1500 scholarships given to the post SPM students, and no much places allocated to TTJ scholarships this year. However the story would be totally different starting from next year. I'm just wondering, is the Perdana Scholarship = Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League & Setara?
14-06-2010, 08:56 PM
I
For the second sentence.Simply, it is not a must and it doesn't count in the criteria they want to award the students the scholarship.[you should know better]And it also depends on the particular individual family no matter Indian or Chinese, if you can't afford to send your child o tuition your not to blame.AND I KNOW STUDENTS WHO SCORED WELL DESPITE NOT GOING TO TUITION,SENT TO PRIVATE SCHOOL, OR GIVEN BETTER READING MATERIAL WITH COMPUTOR!![And he is Chinese]So again its not a must.Thats why we support the motion of awarding based on MERIT not social background. So again not a must.
I support most part of ur text except this 1. I still believe social background still hv 2 been counted in scholarship application. This is because evn if d rich kids dun get it, their parents can support them to do their tertiary studies. How about the poor students like me? They hv 2 depends on loans to pursue their tertiary studies.
However, i support d fact tat d weightage of family background should be low (5%-10%) as merit still hv 2 a main reason for awardin a scholarship.
True True. I should save my time on recom and find MCA, which I didn't. But yeah sucked.
but yeah ure talking bout non-chinese lol
haha, true true. The same thing can be applied for d chinese also but i wrote like tat jz 2 reply tat person post. No hard feelings intended. :P
lpsoldier007
14-06-2010, 09:09 PM
from Berita Harian.
Pemberhentian biasiswa luar negara tanda universiti tempatan diiktiraf
2010/06/14
KUALA LUMPUR: Pemberhentian pemberian 1,500 biasiswa Jabatan Perkhidmatan Awam (JPA) bagi pelajar melanjutkan pelajaran ke luar negara mulai tahun depan akan dilakukan secara berperingkat.
Menteri di Jabatan Perdana Menteri, Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz , berkata langkah itu bertujuan mengurangkan perbelanjaan kerajaan bagi menanggung pelajar yang menuntut di luar negara.
"Kita kurang secara berperingkat. Ini soal kemampuan kerana perbelanjaan untuk seorang pelajar terlalu mahal. Lebih untung kalau kita belanjakan untuk orang ramai," katanya.
Mohamed Nazri mengulas laporan media hari ini yang memetik beliau sebagai, berkata bahawa JPA akan menghentikan pemberian 1,500 biasiswa kepada pelajar bagi mengikuti kursus ijazah sarjana muda di luar negara tahun depan.
Namun, mereka yang mendapat tempat di universiti terkemuka seperti Oxford dan Cambridge, masih boleh memohon untuk diberikan biasiswa.
Menteri Pengajian Tinggi, Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin, berkata penamatan pemberian biasiswa itu dijangka mampu memberi kesan yang baik kepada pelajar tempatan.
Katanya, universiti tempatan bersedia menampung jumlah pelajar yang tidak dapat melanjutkan pelajaran ke luar negara berikutan keputusan itu.
"Apabila ramai pelajar tidak dihantar ke luar negara, ini bermakna ramai pelajar akan belajar di universiti yang terbaik di sini. Kita memang dari segi nak tentukan sama ada universiti itu mencapai kecemerlangan atau tidak, salah satu komponen yang penting ialah pelajar terbaik.
"Ini bukan soal tiada masalah. Dari segi IPT (Institusi Pengajian Tinggi) tempatan, kita sedia menampung jumlah pelajar," katanya di lobi Parlimen di sini.
Menteri Kesihatan, Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, berkata pihaknya menyambut baik cadangan itu sambil menyifatkan ia akan mengurangkan bebanan kos kepada kerajaan.
"Kita menyambut baik usaha ini untuk memberikan biasiswa kepada lebih ramai pelajar tempatan. Kalau kita beri biasiswa kepada 1,500 pelajar yang belajar di luar negara, memang tak cukup juga kerana tiap-tiap tahun yang merayu pun ramai juga.
"Banyak juga universiti luar negara yang ada kampus berkembar dalam negara kita. Sekarang ini, kalau RM1 juta hanya kepada tiga orang pelajar dan bagi kursus perubatan ia menelan lebih RM1 juta. Kalau kita nak hantar pun ialah untuk pakar," kata Liow.
Liow yang juga Timbalan Presiden MCA, berkata usaha menghentikan pemberian biasiswa tidak dilihat menyekat peluang mana-mana pihak malah dilihat mampu mengantarabangsakan universiti tempatan. - Bernama
acgerlok7
14-06-2010, 09:15 PM
Opps! Sorry~ That's great that you have your big dream now and on your way to achieving it. Good luck to you! :)
Well, maybe they cut off the people from the TTJ Ivy Leagues dan Setara this year, before decided to phase out JPA PILN scholarship programme starting from next year? And as the implication, the number of scholarships for TTJ Ivy Leagues and Setara would increase significantly to 300 scholarships next year.
In my opinion, the reason why they reduced the number of TTJ this year is because of they have reached their budget allocated for this year due to the 1500 scholarships given to the post SPM students, and no much places allocated to TTJ scholarships this year. However the story would be totally different starting from next year. I'm just wondering, is the Perdana Scholarship = Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League & Setara?
Indeed...i think they hv change the name of Tajaan Tambahan to Perdana Scholarship...i do tink JPA will def come out with a list of 'TOP UNIS' later on...if not the same flaming and ranting will stil goes on...whereby students will say 'i get this one...top skol for pharmacy...but no sch...i get top skol for engineer...top skol for law but no sch'....etc etc etc...and the same flaming happen agen...
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 09:16 PM
I'm just wondering, is the Perdana Scholarship = Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League & Setara?
No man! Perdana scholarship is for past JPA graduate doing post graduate or doctorate degree, not Ivy league setara.
acgerlok7
14-06-2010, 09:17 PM
Oh i seee.ooops my bad....that means tajaan tambahan diff case...=)
Kemai
14-06-2010, 09:24 PM
Interesting topic here . :)
14-06-2010, 09:26 PM
No man! Perdana scholarship is for past JPA graduate doing post graduate or doctorate degree, not Ivy league setara.
Oh I see. Sorry for misunderstanding the term there. How about the number of Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League and Setara scholarships that would be offered to those students next year? That means it has been abolished as well? How about 300 Perdana Scholarship that included in the 1500 PILN scholarships this year?
littlewheatgrass
14-06-2010, 09:34 PM
Oh I see. Sorry for misunderstanding the term there. How about the number of Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League and Setara scholarships that would be offered to those students next year? That means it has been abolished as well? How about 300 Perdana Scholarship that included in the 1500 PILN scholarships this year?
The way i see it, the news report is still unconfirmed since Nazri don't hv the final say on this matter.
Let's wait for a month or two when JPA received the memo from Prime Minister Dept spells out the actual condition and remaining criteria on allocation.
unsolvedcryptex
14-06-2010, 10:27 PM
The way i see it, the news report is still unconfirmed since Nazri don't hv the final say on this matter.
Let's wait for a month or two when JPA received the memo from Prime Minister Dept spells out the actual condition and remaining criteria on allocation.
yea true. their explanation isnt very clear in newspaper all the time. LOL avoiding things i guess
A lot got mixed up.
kaiyi
14-06-2010, 10:32 PM
I agree on this policy with the criteria that the government provide national scholarship for top SPM and STPM students as well as those who excel in certain field (like obtaining gold medals in olympid maths or science quizzes?). The government should carry out the cream de la cream system exactly.
Besides that, they should be more concern on the bonding matter, dont let the scholars to break bonds so easily. Producing a profession not only cost a lot money but also time.
By the way, just hope they wont cancel this decision upon the the objections and arguments by parents and students.
To students: if you really have high ability, you will be able to survive in any place or get another scholarship.
CelineD
14-06-2010, 10:48 PM
Its actually ex-chinese premier Deng xiao Ping who said that “白猫、黑猫,只要抓住老鼠就是好猫”。
Reality check, the thing with this country is that we only hv two classses of indians ie: who are either professional eg: lawyers or doctors or are working class eg: lorry driver or working in estate. The professional class are able to find a way out, but those student from working class parents are the one who are stuck in the "poverty trap". Noticed the correlation on those who did well are always those who speak English well, not Tamil.
Oh...i thought when you said 'the chinese always say...' you meant a proverb ('Ming ju')...that's why i asked...never came across this quote in 11 years of (direct and indirect)Mandarin education in school...TQ for enlightening me!:amuse
And, the bolded sentence is some food for thought for those people who totally refuse to let their kids learn or improve English bcos think not important, Western thing etc...learn alongside with mother tongue ok what...We do have the ability to be multi-lingual anyway.=)
Congrats 2 you both...:whoo Never attended any tuition? WOW...I tried not to, and so far kept out of those private tuition centers, but had to review with school and informal tuition before the major exams (PMR/SPM)...especially 4 add maths...for me the last-minute tuition helped me clinch an (unbelievable) A+ in +maths...
Anyway back to topic. (sorry for digressing so long!) total noob(is that the right word for 'blur newbie'?) here, but just how well do we have to do in pre-u level to even stand a chance for Ivy League scholarships, since JPA PILN is to be phased out?
-dream of doing a double program: few years in local u(to build maturity and not be so biased about local education) and do my final years in the UK (plan to do law actually)- so now i dunno...what about our younger bros and sis's?
14-06-2010, 10:59 PM
Congrats 2 you both...:whoo Never attended any tuition? WOW...I tried not to, and so far kept out of those private tuition centers, but had to review with school and informal tuition before the major exams (PMR/SPM)...especially 4 add maths...for me the last-minute tuition helped me clinch an (unbelievable) A+ in +maths...
Thanks a lot! All my siblings also didn't attend any tuition for now. :)
Anyway back to topic. (sorry for digressing so long!) total noob(is that the right word for 'blur newbie'?) here, but just how well do we have to do in pre-u level to even stand a chance for Ivy League scholarships, since JPA PILN is to be phased out?
Well, you have to gain admission into top foreign universities that included in the top 20 universities list approved by JPA, preferably by getting unconditional letters from those universities.
-dream of doing a double program: few years in local u(to build maturity and not be so biased about local education) and do my final years in the UK (plan to do law actually)- so now i dunno...what about our younger bros and sis's?
Not a bad idea at all! That's called as twinning programme. :)
15-06-2010, 03:59 AM
I wouldn't say Edinburgh is a load of crap but it is definitely not an ivy league level institution!
Plus, I agree whole-heartedly with the bolded. In fact, I have been championing this for quite a while now!
littlewheatgrass
15-06-2010, 07:50 AM
I wouldn't say Edinburgh is a load of crap but it is definitely not an ivy league level institution!
Plus, I agree whole-heartedly with the bolded. In fact, I have been championing this for quite a while now!
Agreed ,it is not ivy league
But why do you hv to struggle so hard to secure a place in the Top 10 universities when you can easier get a place in Edinburgh at 20th Spot? After all, all we want is to qualify for JPA scholarship.
Granted Ivy League Uni are where the best brainy scholars are, and you are taught by some of the best academicians in the world. As for me, other than Edinburgh, vet medicine course is only next available in Cambridge out of the entire 20 top universities.
Maybe someday I will go to some ivy-league Uni to do my post graduate, since it is less competitive to secure a place to do masters. But for now, I am just thrilled that i am 13 weeks away from Edinburgh.
JPA keeps forgetting that the Ivies are by no means THE best in the US. I'm sure almost everyone would agree that Stanford and MIT are on par, if not better, than most Ivies - and yet they aren't part of the Eight. And then you're still leaving out the top liberal arts colleges, which students still pick over Harvard and Co at times for their better quality of education.
I hope whichever list they come out with in the end shows a real effort to gauge quality and not one based merely on name or silly rankings.
littlewheatgrass
15-06-2010, 12:11 PM
JPA keeps forgetting that the Ivies are by no means THE best in the US. I'm sure almost everyone would agree that Stanford and MIT are on par, if not better, than most Ivies - and yet they aren't part of the Eight. And then you're still leaving out the top liberal arts colleges, which students still pick over Harvard and Co at times for their better quality of education.
I hope whichever list they come out with in the end shows a real effort to gauge quality and not one based merely on name or silly rankings.
Since you brought up this matter, based on strict interpretation, should Ivy league Uni like Dartmouth ( ranked 85th) and Brown (ranked 31st) be included in JPA list ??
Well, you're relying on rankings, which I wasn't for in the first place. And if you're doing so, you might want to consider several different rankings since they all employ different methodologies. The US News, for example, puts Dartmouth above Cornell, something QS, which you're using, will probably not do for a long time.
My point was for JPA to at least reexamine, if not rethink, their criteria for selecting colleges and not merely go for "The Ivies" because they're Ivies and have always been on a list used by JPA for the past years. There's no way to satisfy everyone and I don't see a way to make a definitive list myself or how to draw the line - was thinking aloud if widening it to more than 8 might be better.
As for whether I personally would include Dartmouth and Brown in the list, I'm in favor of undergrad-focused colleges (a sentiment captured by "If I had wanted to learn from a TA, I would have gone to Harvard", from the Brown CR) and I'm willing to appear irrational and contradictory to root for my own college, so I'd say yes. Even if I'd also concede that UChig and Duke, and possibly Rice, are better*.
* - in the stereotypical sense.
littlewheatgrass
15-06-2010, 01:05 PM
My point was for JPA to at least reexamine, if not rethink, their criteria for selecting colleges and not merely go for "The Ivies" because they're Ivies and have always been on a list used by JPA for the past years. There's no way to satisfy everyone and I don't see a way to make a definitive list myself or how to draw the line - was thinking aloud if widening it to more than 8 might be better.
JPA just adopted a popular ranking table as a guide. Can't blame them, after all we are only talking abt 30 -50 scholars every year who will be offered 'Ivy League setara' scholarship. They probably don't find it viable probing into too details to determine who Uni is best for engineering or economic or architecture etc. As you mentioned, the argument will never ends.
Glassylicious
15-06-2010, 02:35 PM
JPA just adopted a popular ranking table as a guide. Can't blame them, after all we are only talking abt 30 -50 scholars every year who will be offered 'Ivy League setara' scholarship. They probably don't find it viable probing into too details to determine who Uni is best for engineering or economic or architecture etc. As you mentioned, the argument will never ends.
Yeah, I kinda agree with your post; I think this best captures what's really going on at the moment.
The people who were behind this policy are also probably not too fussed on the finer details [e.g. the fact that rankings are not conclusive of a university's worth] of precise academic measurement, or it's just not their area of expertise, which I'm pretty sure is the case here.
eskremsedap
15-06-2010, 03:58 PM
although they are going to reduce the number of sponsorships starting next year, I think this will also affect the 1500 scholars this year. i have a hunch that some of us might continue doing degree locally after preparation program even we have secured a place in oversea. =.=
15-06-2010, 04:06 PM
although they are going to reduce the number of sponsorships starting next year, I think this will also affect the 1500 scholars this year. i have a hunch that some of us might continue doing degree locally after preparation program even we have secured a place in oversea. =.=
Nope it won't, because they have allocated certain amount of budget for the 1500 scholarships this year. So, most probably they won't change their scholars' initial tertiary education pathway.
littlewheatgrass
15-06-2010, 04:11 PM
As mentioned earlier in my post, let the dust settle first. Nazri is not the key decision-maker, Najib is..
Already latest media reported MIC & MCA asking govt to reconsider their decision citing poor students will lose out eventually. I just couldn't see the logic how poor students can be worse off getting PIDN instead of PILN
eskremsedap
15-06-2010, 04:39 PM
Nope it won't, because they have allocated certain amount of budget for the 1500 scholarships this year. So, most probably they won't change their scholars' initial tertiary education pathway.
thx for the info. lega sikit...
As mentioned earlier in my post, let the dust settle first. Nazri is not the key decision-maker, Najib is..
Already latest media reported MIC & MCA asking govt to reconsider their decision citing poor students will lose out eventually. I just couldn't see the logic how poor students can be worse off getting PIDN instead of PILN
yup, exactly.
lawrenceleong88
15-06-2010, 05:46 PM
Just watched the news...Datuk Ir. Dr. Wee Ka Siong said that JPA is the only scholarship offered by government for Chinese n Indian to go overseas, he also questioned that if this action is taken then should MARA scholarship be abolished as well...as any of these will cause reaction from the respective races...
kirara1987
15-06-2010, 06:21 PM
Interesting topic... I guess, in my opinion whether the whole plan will work out of not depends on the its implementation. Take our Malaysian education system for example, its policies has been changing at least 6 times since independence. If the government do plan to cut down the scholarships, they have to remedy the consequences that they are creating.
Offering local scholarships is not a bad thing per se, but is it worth the effort that SPM students had put in for their 17 years? Imagine yourself scoring straight A or A+ and all you get is local uni and matriculation, which in reality u only need to have average qualification to enter. So what's the point of studying so hard and get bonded blindly for ten years?
Besides that, local universities do not always offer what you plan to do. The places offered for each courses are limited. It will be interesting to see how the government gonna arrange to cater more students local when they dun even have the capacity. Matriculation entries cater only to 10% non-bumi students and they have a quota system for local universities. Worst of all, A-Levels is not recognised in our local institution.So, unless they are willing to abolish the rules to fit the placement, I don't think this policy will work.
Secondly, I do think reducing the overseas scholarship should not be way to solve the finance crisis. Our local universities has yet to gain worldwide recognition, hence gaining experience and knowledge overseas must be encouraged, thus overseas scholarships should not be limited. Instead of cutting down the scholarships, they should reduce other expenditures like buying fancy cars and cut down unnessecary building projects which do not benefit the rakyat at all.
In the news, it was mentioned that they would consider Ivy League offers under overseas sponsorship. Without the sufficient funds to read a recognised foundation such as A-Levels how on earth will these student able to apply for these prestigious universities? The cost of living is rising tremendously and by reducing the amount of scholarships will increase the people's burden. Not to mention shattering the dreams and demotivating future upcoming SPM leavers.
15-06-2010, 06:48 PM
Without the sufficient funds to read a recognised foundation such as A-Levels how on earth will these student able to apply for these prestigious universities?
There are always certain percentages of tuition waivers scholarships offered by those private colleges to those bright students who have attained stupendous result in their SPM. If you are good enough with string of A+/A, you may even get 100% tuition waiver scholarships too! After getting the tuition waiver scholarships, if the students' parents still couldn't afford their children's Pre-U programmes, then the students themselves should realise their families' financial ability. They can go to work for these few months holiday from December to March, with an average salary of RM 1000 per month. RM 4k is enough for them to apply for A-Levels programme in TARC. If their parents could fork out a few more thousands to support their Pre-U programme, they can even opt for better colleges such as MCKL, INTI, UCSI, etc, with the aid of certain percentages of tuition waiver scholarships offered by the colleges. So, there's no reason for you not to get the chance to apply to these top universities. When there's a will, there's a way! :)
15-06-2010, 06:52 PM
There are always certain percentages of tuition waivers scholarships offered by those private colleges to those bright students who have attained stupendous result in their SPM. If you are good enough with string of A+/A, you may even get 100% tuition waiver scholarships too! After getting the tuition waiver scholarships, if the students' parents still couldn't afford their children's Pre-U programmes, then the students themselves should realise their families' financial ability. They can go to work for these few months holiday from December to March, with an average salary of RM 1000 per month. RM 4k is enough for them to apply for A-Levels programme in TARC. If their parents could fork out a few more thousands to support their Pre-U programme, they can even opt for better colleges such as MCKL, INTI, UCSI, etc, with the aid of certain percentages of tuition waiver scholarships offered by the colleges. So, there's no reason for you not to get the chance to apply to these top universities.
I would also like to add that STPM is recognised internationally and it's virtually free :)
15-06-2010, 06:56 PM
I would also like to add that STPM is recognised internationally and it's virtually free :)
Yep yep, if not A-Levels, STPM is the cheapest yet broadest pathway among all! :amuse
littlewheatgrass
15-06-2010, 09:55 PM
Bah! it is always the case, once politics come into play, all the truth are bent and the impact over-exaggerated.
Enclosed BILL GATES' SPEECH TO MT. WHITNEY HIGH SCHOOL
Love him or hate him, he sure hits the nail on the head with this!
To anyone with kids of any age, here's some advice. Bill Gates recently gave a speech at a High School about 11 things they did not and will not learn in school. He talks about how feel-good, politically correct teachings created a generation of kids with no concept of reality and how this concept set them up for failure in the real world.
Rule 1: Life is not fair -- get used to it!
Rule 2: The world won't care about your self-esteem. The world will expect you to accomplish something BEFORE you feel good about yourself.
Rule 3: You will NOT make $60,000 a year right out of high school. You won't be a vice-president with a car phone until you earn both.
Rule 4: If you think your teacher is tough, wait till you get a boss.
Rule 5: Flipping burgers is not beneath your dignity. Your Grandparents had a different word for burger flipping -- they called it opportunity.
Rule 6: If you mess up, it's not your parents' fault, so don't whine about your mistakes, learn from them.
Rule 7: Before you were born, your parents weren't as boring as they are now. They got that way from paying your bills, cleaning your clothes and listening to you talk about how cool you thought you are. So before you save the rain forest from the parasites of your parent's generation, try delousing the closet in your own room.
Rule 8: Your school may have done away with winners and losers, but life HAS NOT. In some schools they have abolished failing grades and they'll give you as MANY TIMES as you want to get the right answer. This doesn't bear the slightest resemblance to ANYTHING in real life.
Rule 9: Life is not divided into semesters. You don't get summers off and very few employers are interested in helping you FIND YOURSELF. Do that on your own time.
Rule 10: Television is NOT real life. In real life people actually have to leave the coffee shop and go to jobs.
Rule 11: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
KwHau
15-06-2010, 10:39 PM
Rule 11: Be nice to nerds. Chances are you'll end up working for one.
Offtopic : The last one's something new :grin:
15-06-2010, 11:16 PM
Just a FYI, it's actually not by Bill Gates.
http://www.snopes.com/language/document/liferule.asp
(I have this pet peeve about urban myths, misattributions and misquotations, sorry :))
AnnieChan
16-06-2010, 12:27 AM
listen up people.. BE NICE TO NERDS ! XD
p.s : sorry, digression ;)
kaiyi
16-06-2010, 11:04 PM
just hope they dont simply talk now and cancel then upon the complaints of public.
lowxuan
16-06-2010, 11:27 PM
stpm is internationally recognised and it's freeeee BUT u stilll have to pay or work hard for scholarship if u wan to go to overseas....after stpm
BUT 1 THING...msia universities are actually not bad...for those who never try out msia universities, just keep ur mouth shut and stop complain bout how bad is msia and bla bla bla...and how good is overseas and bla bla bla...as if U TRIED BOTH OVERSEAS AND MSIA!
anyway...Msia system is always unfair...especially education...=)
unsolvedcryptex
17-06-2010, 01:14 AM
BUT 1 THING...msia universities are actually not bad...for those who never try out msia universities, just keep ur mouth shut and stop complain bout how bad is msia and bla bla bla...and how good is overseas and bla bla bla...as if U TRIED BOTH OVERSEAS AND MSIA!
wow damn daring. lol:)):)):)):))
cant really blame those who complain. they nvr try but i guess some would have seen wat local U is like. They dun experience it themselves but mayb they did some tour inside or heard some stories inside.
I wasn't impressed by one of the uni in malaysia. I only visited that uni and I wasn't really impressed. Their command of english is poor. Even a graduate can't speak proper english when he was given a chance to speak. He can speak English but it's grammatically wrong here and there.
I wouldn't say local U is that bad to a really bad extent but definitely, local IPTA is something i will never opt for.
It's more of a preference.
littlewheatgrass
17-06-2010, 06:42 AM
BUT 1 THING...msia universities are actually not bad...
imo, only UM, USM, UTM & UKM are well established. The rest, not sure how good they are given many of them are less than 15 years old.
As for uni in uk, out of the 100+ universities, only the 29 uni inside the top 200 world ranking are worth mentioning. The bottom 50 or so uni in UK are merely re-brand polytechnics promoted in M'sia as IPTS World-Renowned twinning partners
JPA released data for YR 2008
Total Overseas scholarship awarded for Yr 2008 ( to include ivy-league setara & Perdana scholarship ) = 2850
Merit category: 59 bumi (20%) vs 241 non-bumi (80%)
Racial category: 557 (62%) vs 343 (38%)
Sabah/Sarawak bumi: 150 (100%)
Poor student: 841(56%) vs 657 (44%)
Total allocation : bumi 1607 (56%) vs 1241 (44%)
Note that if more scholarship are given out in the ivy-league category, the less scholarship will the SPM category received.
manglish_lysia
19-06-2010, 12:01 AM
To a certain extent, I do not agree with you though. Seeking to go oversea is everyone's dream and wish. We want to explore the other possibilities other than the malaysian life. However, how one judge a university varies since each of us have different demands. About trying out both, well, =)
I think it is a wise move for the government to do so. It minus all the rumors of unfairness, less burden to shield against public demand and the ever angry parents. If they do well in SPM, scholarship wil be available for them to do Pre-U. When they do continue to excel in Pre-U, that, in my opinion, is worth a scholarship. Pre-Uis different from SPM, Judging an applicant only at the SPM level, sometimes, might be misleading.
However, this will cause a much more stiffer competition to other scholarship and soon, there might be no more scholarship for Pre-U. But weird enough, I didn't read it on The Star. Anyone has any idea about this? :huh
lowxuan
19-06-2010, 12:14 AM
To a certain extent, I do not agree with you though. Seeking to go oversea is everyone's dream and wish. We want to explore the other possibilities other than the malaysian life. However, how one judge a university varies since each of us have different demands. About trying out both, well, =)
I think it is a wise move for the government to do so. It minus all the rumors of unfairness, less burden to shield against public demand and the ever angry parents. If they do well in SPM, scholarship wil be available for them to do Pre-U. When they do continue to excel in Pre-U, that, in my opinion, is worth a scholarship. Pre-Uis different from SPM, Judging an applicant only at the SPM level, sometimes, might be misleading.
However, this will cause a much more stiffer competition to other scholarship and soon, there might be no more scholarship for Pre-U. But weird enough, I didn't read it on The Star. Anyone has any idea about this? :huh
I agreed the bolded part anyway. Anyway, if they wanna cancel JPA PILN...pls cancel MARA as well, if not, open MARA for everyone. Yea, it's true that everyone thinks that " The moon in other countries is ROUNDER AND BRIGHTER". I agree that should go out of Malaysia and experience the life out there TO THE EXTENT THAT, STOP CRITISING AND STEPPING YOUR OWN COUNTRY UNDER YOUR FEET.
You are using MALAYSIA passport, you are holding MALAYSIA identity card. That's all.
Hi,
Is the PILN for those who just completed SPM, for pre-U and U.
Or is it also for those who did pre-U on their own and want to apply for overseas U?
If not, is there a JPA scholarship for those who already did pre-U and want to apply for U?
Because as far as I know, I've known people who have gotten the Ivy League scholarship for just the Uni.
But if ur not applying to the Ivy's but want a scholarship for just the Uni fees, is it the PILN?
20-08-2010, 07:57 AM
Hi,
Is the PILN for those who just completed SPM, for pre-U and U.
Or is it also for those who did pre-U on their own and want to apply for overseas U?
If not, is there a JPA scholarship for those who already did pre-U and want to apply for U?
Because as far as I know, I've known people who have gotten the Ivy League scholarship for just the Uni.
But if ur not applying to the Ivy's but want a scholarship for just the Uni fees, is it the PILN?
PILN is only eligible for those who have just completed SPM and are applying scholarship for Pre-U and degree study abroad.
Yep, it's called as JPA Tajaan Tambahan Scholarship. The number of these scholarships given every year varies due to the uncertainty in the JPA government policy. JPA changes their policy every year, and it's not certain that JPA will continue to give out this scholarship in the following year. You can get more info here:
http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411
If you are not applying to top universities, this is not fall under JPA Tajaan Tambahan Ivy League dan Setara then. At the same time, it's not fall under PILN as well cause PILN involves Pre-U programmes as well and it's only opened to post-SPM students.
Rocky
03-01-2011, 11:38 PM
u people missed a very important article..which came immediately after that one:
http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/PSDtoendsponsorshipofundergradstudiesabroad/Article/
dun give up--- all hopes not lost!
bekann
04-01-2011, 09:48 AM
You are using MALAYSIA passport, you are holding MALAYSIA identity card. That's all.
Well, to be fair, it wasn't really by choice.
kaiyi
10-01-2011, 05:31 PM
I agree the government to stop sponsoring post-SPM students to overseas(there are cheap STPM) and thought the action of giving out scholarships to top 30 SPM scorers is wise.
Btw, talking about the differences of local and overseas universities, local U's students COPY assignments. They got the samples from seniors, changed a few words, then passed up. At least, UM and UTM do this. If you don't copy, you won't get A -- experience from my friend's friend.(He started to copy at the second semester.)
eve88
11-01-2011, 02:10 PM
Whats to say, though, that we don't do any copying overseas?
(Granted, its *much* harder to pull off undetected.)
---
On another note, has there been a corresponding change in the amounts of MARA scholarship being awarded? Just curious.
takiokirifuda
12-01-2011, 12:31 PM
Well, I think this might be a good idea. Instead of sending the students to foreign universities, why not allocate more money or funding to local university. Well, we have UM, USM, UKM and UTM. They are the universities that got place in world renown universities rank (according to Times magazine). Give them more fund, let them to do more research, develop the state university such as UNIMAS (I'm from Sarawak), make those universities to catch up with other foreign university. At least, there are 'seeds' that we had plant, just wait for 'it' to grow.. When it had grew, our future generation will obtain the benefits. And, we might create a more advance invention, professional carriers will be improve, and we might stand as high as Japan or Korea. They are Asian country that had achieved Hall of Fame in Advance Country.
djfoo000
25-01-2011, 11:45 AM
I agree the government to stop sponsoring post-SPM students to overseas(there are cheap STPM) and thought the action of giving out scholarships to top 30 SPM scorers is wise.
Btw, talking about the differences of local and overseas universities, local U's students COPY assignments. They got the samples from seniors, changed a few words, then passed up. At least, UM and UTM do this. If you don't copy, you won't get A -- experience from my friend's friend.(He started to copy at the second semester.)
Sure or not? "Don't copy won't get A". Citations? Interesting revelation.
KenT13
26-01-2011, 09:59 PM
Hmm, the gov should give more than 30 scholarships. like 100-150. come on there's a lot of good students in msia.(not me)
slappyfin3
26-01-2011, 11:20 PM
Well, there are other scholarship opportunities for the good students like Shell, Sime Darby, Petronas, Bank Negara et al. so the reduction of the number of JPA scholarships wouldn't mean that only 30 people will get a ride to an overseas university of their dreams :)
I agree with takiokirifuda, if most of the good students keep going overseas, how are we going to develop our local universities into world-class institutions? Also, since going overseas costs much more than studying locally, the government could sponsor more students this way.
weixiang
27-01-2011, 09:43 AM
Hmm, the gov should give more than 30 scholarships. like 100-150. come on there's a lot of good students in msia.(not me)
Look like we will never satisfy with what we have right? Haha.
djfoo000
27-01-2011, 02:17 PM
make more people take STPM. Then start talking about reducing brain drain.
unsolvedcryptex
27-01-2011, 08:39 PM
make more people take STPM. Then start talking about reducing brain drain.
Still don't know why I didn't receive any matrix and STPM offer despite scoring good results in SPM 09. Not that I would go now since I am happy with A level
I would assume glitches happened.
kinon
28-01-2011, 03:44 PM
I agree with djfoo00. If they want more qualify students than they should have stress more on stpm than spm takers..
28-01-2011, 04:01 PM
I agree with djfoo00. If they want more qualify students than they should have stress more on stpm than spm takers..
Not just that. They should improve the teaching quality of Form 6...
sugan
28-01-2011, 05:25 PM
i think the main point is that priority should be given to pre - u students as they have took a step closer to be an undergraduate and had more time over about their future.
Speaking about JPA's overseas scholarship , it would be cheaper for JPA if the only had to fund students that have completed pre-u education . in other words , just fund the degree program. Thus, more students could enjoy the limited fund provided by JPA.
However, as the pre -u education in Malaysia is diverse, the issue of which pre -u courses are accepted would arise.
Live sex webshows (http://livesexwebshows.com/)
CissNei
29-01-2011, 10:08 AM
Pre-u's cheap compared to the costs overseas. Wouldn't make that much of a difference imho
cycycy
29-01-2011, 11:23 AM
i think the main point is that priority should be given to pre - u students as they have took a step closer to be an undergraduate and had more time over about their future.
Speaking about JPA's overseas scholarship , it would be cheaper for JPA if the only had to fund students that have completed pre-u education . in other words , just fund the degree program. Thus, more students could enjoy the limited fund provided by JPA.
However, as the pre -u education in Malaysia is diverse, the issue of which pre -u courses are accepted would arise.
I couldn't agree more. On the other hand, they can be more sure of the ability of scholars, as I find pre-U entirely different from SPM. Some people may not do that well in pre-U, as some pre-U courses require good analytical and reasoning skills, while some can score in SPM by 'regurgitating'.
Pre-u's cheap compared to the costs overseas. Wouldn't make that much of a difference imho
For one student, it doesn't make much difference relatively, but JPA funds thousands of overseas scholars. When multiplied, it makes a big sum. :oh
djfoo000
29-01-2011, 02:31 PM
Still don't know why I didn't receive any matrix and STPM offer despite scoring good results in SPM 09. Not that I would go now since I am happy with A level
I would assume glitches happened.
Did you apply for matrix? Probably not shortlisted. As for F6, you need to check with the respective schools as to whether you qualify. It doesn't take much to qualify for F6 and I bet they dun send out notification to every qualifying student due to the sheer number of students that qualify (which is like at least 60% of SPM candidates). Well since you're happy with A levels then have fun.
I don't think they will ever stop sponsoring SPM-leavers coz of political reasons. I know it's a cliche to say that, but it's true.
About sponsoring based on pre-U, IMHO it'll be easier to sponsor students based on the universities and courses that they were accepted into, since the question of what pre-U the student went to is irrelevant at that stage.
Wait, are we still on the topic of brain drain or sponsoring students going overseas?
Nironha
29-01-2011, 02:48 PM
JPA scholarship are only for Malaysian students??
CissNei
29-01-2011, 04:18 PM
About sponsoring based on pre-U, IMHO it'll be easier to sponsor students based on the universities and courses that they were accepted into, since the question of what pre-U the student went to is irrelevant at that stage.
But why? Is it because one university is better to the other due to a higher ranking on one or a number of ranking tables? I have always found the idea of university ranking weird, as you can't really compare between universities, it's like comparing apples with oranges. Both are fruits, but.. different.
slappyfin3
29-01-2011, 04:47 PM
JPA scholarship are only for Malaysian students??
Yes JPA only sponsors Malaysian students
But why? Is it because one university is better to the other due to a higher ranking on one or a number of ranking tables? I have always found the idea of university ranking weird, as you can't really compare between universities, it's like comparing apples with oranges. Both are fruits, but.. different.
Well, I guess it would be to make sure that the money spent on sponsoring that student is well spent. As for the matter of ranking tables, although I agree that it is crazy to try and quantify a university's quality, they do hold some truth.
sugan
29-01-2011, 05:53 PM
back to the question,
No more JPA scholarship for overseas undergraduate studies ?
No, it will still be there but some amendment need to be done to improve the system for the be benefit of all Malaysian students.
some opinion given are
a) to reduce allocation this scholarship to fund studies locally
b) reduce allocation for spm leaver to fund pre-u students
c) fund students with university offer letter only
d) avoid / reduce scholarship volatility due to political reasons ( economical reasons are acceptable)
Roll A Joint (http://howtorollajoint.net/)
unsolvedcryptex
29-01-2011, 08:51 PM
Did you apply for matrix? Probably not shortlisted. As for F6, you need to check with the respective schools as to whether you qualify. It doesn't take much to qualify for F6 and I bet they dun send out notification to every qualifying student due to the sheer number of students that qualify (which is like at least 60% of SPM candidates). Well since you're happy with A levels then have fun.
Yes, I did apply for matrix. However, I was rejected by matrix. Some rumours I heard before is that if I apply to matrix, Form 6 offer is unlikely to reach me, which is entirely not true considering that Form 6 offer is offered after matrix results. It's common sense to know that rejected matrix applicants, who are not able to fund themselves at private college, will resort to form 6. If matrix and form 6 departments can learn of the list of applicants on each other's department, it's easy to find out who are rejected on the matrix list.
I am from a school that offers Form 6. Generally, my friends who graduated with me, who did not choose private college or other program, had automatically received an offer. Offer is done online, and one can check it online. It doesn't take much to send notifications. Contrary to your point where sheer number of students who qualify, I believe that my results would have qualified.
Again, I am not saddened by that rejection, but rather, till today, I learnt of the government's real flaws in administration myself, compared to hearsay tales.
I hope a lot of improvement should be done in our system, especially when it comes to education.
CissNei
30-01-2011, 10:25 AM
Yes, I did apply for matrix. However, I was rejected by matrix.
Didn't get matric 5 years ago either *shrugs*
sugan
30-01-2011, 02:14 PM
no offence, but what does getting matrix has to do with 'No more JPA scholarship for overseas undergraduate studies ?' ?
Glass Pipe (http://glasspipes.net/)
unsolvedcryptex
30-01-2011, 03:56 PM
no offence, but what does getting matrix has to do with 'No more JPA scholarship for overseas undergraduate studies ?' ?
Backing up the point about brain drain. It somehow shows the lack of commitment of the government to retain good students. I am aware that matrix is competitive as well, but if a student has done well in SPM, there is no reason to reject the student.
I think my results is somewhere at recom, and all I can say is I achieved the highest grade in the 9 subjects (5 core + 4 Sciences and Math).
djfoo000
30-01-2011, 06:22 PM
Yes, I did apply for matrix. However, I was rejected by matrix. Some rumours I heard before is that if I apply to matrix, Form 6 offer is unlikely to reach me, which is entirely not true considering that Form 6 offer is offered after matrix results. It's common sense to know that rejected matrix applicants, who are not able to fund themselves at private college, will resort to form 6. If matrix and form 6 departments can learn of the list of applicants on each other's department, it's easy to find out who are rejected on the matrix list.
I am from a school that offers Form 6. Generally, my friends who graduated with me, who did not choose private college or other program, had automatically received an offer. Offer is done online, and one can check it online. It doesn't take much to send notifications. Contrary to your point where sheer number of students who qualify, I believe that my results would have qualified.
Again, I am not saddened by that rejection, but rather, till today, I learnt of the government's real flaws in administration myself, compared to hearsay tales.
I hope a lot of improvement should be done in our system, especially when it comes to education.
LOL By notification I meant by mail, because that's what I thought you were refering to, since it is unpractical to send physical notification for F6 when almost every SPM candidate is qualified to. You mean you weren't offered to do F6? That's weird because as long as your BM gets a credit, your name would've appeared on the list.
I mean, all my friends knew to check online for F6. Those who were lazy to print the letter went back to the F5 school to get a signed letter instead.
I'm not implying that due to the sheer number of student who qualify, that you would be among those who didn't qualify. It's almost impossible NOT to qualify for F6.
And matrix and F6 places do not overlap, as in, one does not negate the other. My friend got both offers and stayed on in F6 coz of personal reasons.
unsolvedcryptex
31-01-2011, 12:04 AM
LOL By notification I meant by mail, because that's what I thought you were refering to, since it is unpractical to send physical notification for F6 when almost every SPM candidate is qualified to. You mean you weren't offered to do F6? That's weird because as long as your BM gets a credit, your name would've appeared on the list.
I mean, all my friends knew to check online for F6. Those who were lazy to print the letter went back to the F5 school to get a signed letter instead.
I'm not implying that due to the sheer number of student who qualify, that you would be among those who didn't qualify. It's almost impossible NOT to qualify for F6.
And matrix and F6 places do not overlap, as in, one does not negate the other. My friend got both offers and stayed on in F6 coz of personal reasons.
I have never indicated any mail rejection or offer in my previous post. Yes, I am implying online status. It's weird for me too. I don't really know how the system works.
Your last point have further enhanced my point where it's highly impossible where I do not receive offers from any of the two program. I may have applied for matrix, and if it's really true that they do not share the same database, then it is highly impossible that they have known about my application for matrix. And thus, I would stand equal chance compared to those who did not apply for matrix.
Anyway, I wish to stop this discussion. As a lot have told me before, since I am happy with A level, just treat it as an experience that you can relate to others not to be overly confident about the whole system. There are still a lot of room for improvement in order to retain the best talent for our country. I hope to see more transparency in the selection. Even if these student, who are more inclined to choose private colleges apply for matrix, do apply for matrix, the government would have been able to persuade them psychologically. An offer at hand will give these students a sense of belonging.
Cactus
25-02-2011, 10:51 PM
I just called JPA this afternoon to enquire about the "Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setara" thing. (link: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411&page=169)
An officer told me "tiada peruntukan", "memang tak dak tahun ini".
*sighs*
sugan
26-02-2011, 03:28 PM
I just called JPA this afternoon to enquire about the "Tajaan Tambahan JPA - Ivy League dan Setara" thing. (link: http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=7411&page=169)
*sighs*
are you a stpm student?
did you get any admission overseas?
I dont think they sent stpm students overseas anymore, but no harm trying to ask
just monitor the jpa site periodically
California medical marijuana dispensary (http://california.dispensaries.org/)
sugarspice
26-02-2011, 08:11 PM
*sighs*
wow, that's so depressing.....:(
Cactus
26-02-2011, 10:31 PM
are you a stpm student?
did you get any admission overseas?
I dont think they sent stpm students overseas anymore, but no harm trying to ask
just monitor the jpa site periodically
Yes....2 "prestigious" UK universities. (Got rejected by Cambridge though.)
Well, at least I tried. Will keep trying until I got into a university, haha.
------------------
Sugarspice: It is rather disappointing, but I never let myself put too much hope on this JPA scholarship. Too much uncertainty. I suppose there's no harm trying to send the documents anyway?
caretime
23-03-2011, 05:02 PM
Hello I have a question. You see, I've got a conditional offer to study at Cambridge, so according to that piece of article you posted http://www.nst.com.my/nst/articles/PSDtoendsponsorshipofundergradstudiesabroad/Article/ I still can apply for the PSD right. Question is, how? What website do I go to? can someone please please help me! Just point me to right direction pleasee. Thanks!
I have gone through the JPA website which was recently opened to the SPM students of 2010, but there doesn't seem to have any link which is relevant for me. I'm current studying A levels finishing in June. Help help. Thanks :):):)
yiling
23-03-2011, 05:21 PM
Search for JPA Tajaan Tambahan Ivy league and Setara thread. I'm not sure this scholarship is continued this year but yeah, no harm trying out.
caretime
23-03-2011, 05:31 PM
but the article says that they'll still give for Oxford and Cambridge.
yiling
23-03-2011, 05:40 PM
Just try to apply. No 100% guarantee you'll get it and the course you taking must be the course they want. and you must get the UNCONDITIONAL offer first for that scholarship. there's a JPA ivy league and setara scholarship thread here in RECOM, read through once and you'll know what to do.
caretime
23-03-2011, 05:54 PM
Yes that's my question, how do I apply?
I can't find any link on the JPA website. However, there's a link for the Luar negara for lepasan SPM 2010 students.
Do I apply using the application process as them, or will JPA open another scholarship for Top foreign universities scholarship or something.
littlewheatgrass
23-03-2011, 06:04 PM
Yes that's my question, how do I apply?
I can't find any link on the JPA website. However, there's a link for the Luar negara for lepasan SPM 2010 students.
Do I apply using the application process as them, or will JPA open another scholarship for Top foreign universities scholarship or something.
As mentioned by others, you can't apply online. For JPA ivy league category, you need to write in and attached your Unconditional offer letter. Do read thru JPA lvy league thread esp Yr 2010 posts and understand some of the requirement.