View Full Version : How to apply for singapore university
may somebody tell me the procedure to apply uni in singapore.....do we need to apply it earlier with forecast results?and how many scholarship can i apply for?like A star.....and how to apply those scholarships......thank u
yizheng
14-08-2004, 01:28 AM
Can apply after STPM for ASEAN Undergrad Scholarship. NUS and NTU are going to some schools to recruit...
For other scholarships like ASTAR, SIA etc... I'm not sure, but can try using STPM...
gohweihan
14-08-2004, 04:28 PM
Application for SG generally opens in October and closes in March/April, so you can use trial results to apply if the real results are not out yet.
For those who wants to apply for ASEAN, Nanyang (NTU) or NUS scholarship would need to apply to the university first. It's usually a joint application procedure for ASEAN/Nanyang and ASEAN/NUS, depending on which university you applied to.
During my year, the ASEAN/Nanyang joint application was done online separate from the university application.
15-08-2004, 11:05 AM
littleprince, what are u studying now? If u r using trials or forecast to apply for NUS, my fren told me that they will need ur SAT results (yes, u have to sit for SAT if u wanna enter using ur forecast results). Or else, u wait till ur final result is out and apply using that final result.. For scholarships, check this out
http://www.nus.edu.sg/oam/scholarship/
Hope that helps.
thanks for help , but i got ns , ermmm, worry cant apply in on time.
You can apply right after your results come out loh. Prepare first, like photocopying your original results (SPM, MUET, etc) which will make life easier then
btw, have fun with ns
15-09-2004, 04:04 AM
Little prince, being in NS does not mean that you can't apply in time. As wawa said, prepare your document in advance. Bring some copies to NS and leave some copies for your parents. Get all those certified ready. So, you can definitely apply pretty fast. If you are trying for various Malaysian scholarships, they will do their interview at NS camps.
last time the trainee do their interviews in ipta, now we have to stay in the camp for 3 months , and there are many camps , r u sure they will do the interview in camp?
18-09-2004, 12:52 AM
I am sure they will make arrangement. In a way, I think staying in camp would promote spirit of the whole group and I believe that in terms of applications of scholarships etc, they will consider all NS applicants.
And I guess the onus is for you to reflect to the supervisors there. Tell them in advance when they ask you whether you have any question. Let them know and I am sure majority of them would be willing to help you get it worked.
In fact, based on the feedback from participants, most students prefer the life in camps.
bunny
08-12-2004, 09:08 AM
Are u still interested in applying for scholarships in Singapore? These scholarships offer education overseas as well as in NUS/NTU. There are many scholarships that malaysians can apply to:
Scholarships that offer studies in overseas and local(singapore) unis:
ASTAR
ST (Singapore Technologies)
GIC
SIA
PSA (port of Singapore Authorities)
MAS (Monetary authorities of Singapore)
DBS
EDB-firefly
SPH (Singapore Press Holdings)
Sembcorp
Since these scholarships do offer overseas education, I think you might wanna apply to Unis in the US, UK and Australia. Having secured a place in top universities would help your application. If not, some of the scholarships can actually guarantee you a place in some universities. I know ASTAR and EDB-firefly could get you a place in one of the top engineering unis in US, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign (UIUC) anytime. ASTAR could also get you a place in University of California San Diego which is one of the top schools for biological sciences. To find out more about how and when to apply to these scholarships, you can go to the websites. Just google for these companies. They will have forms which you can print out. Hope this helps!
08-12-2004, 09:34 AM
lookout! some of these scholarships require you to become a Singaporean PR then citizen upon completion of studies (not to mention bond...)
bunny
08-12-2004, 11:41 AM
There is a 6 year bond attached to the overseas scholarship, which is actually shorter than the bond attached to most if not all malaysian scholarships and most of them do not require you to be a singapore citizen. Only ASTAR has that requirement. for the other scholarships, usually you are required to be a Singapore PR.
nxwen
09-12-2004, 10:07 AM
Whay baffles me is that if u r got ns, that means u r quite young rite? Unless u r one of those PTS 'langkau' students.
For S'pore uni, applications are done online now. Then u send yr supporting documents to them. It's quite easy.
There is another sholarship called Singapore scholarship, given by the government too. It's something like ASEAN. U need to go to d High Com to get the forms though. Oh, and S'pore uni wants translated documents if it is not in English. So get these prepared too.
Which intake of ns are u in? Perhaps u could work it out wif the uni?
I believe they will understand yr pedicament. Hope this helps.
nxwen
09-12-2004, 10:23 AM
Sorry bout that question whether u r a PTS student. New here. Anyway, the closing date is usually around middle of March. And I heard that STPM results will out on 26 Feb.
thanx for all helps....... i still didnt receive any letter bout ns leh...my teacher helped us send postpone letter adi....
however , about singapore , are study life there very tough and tension?
10-12-2004, 03:25 AM
if you want to go to a good school, i hope you're not afraid of a life that's "tough and tension." if you are, then don't bother applying
GohYY
26-12-2004, 01:26 AM
i've studied in Singapore for the past 4 years and for the first year... whoa... bad... BUT i discovered that it is as 'tough and tension' as you allow it to be. It all depends on your attitude to it. Sure, a higher percentage of people around you are going to be more 'tense' than compared to M'sia, but if you don't want to 'tense' up with them, then don't. It's up to you. Haha, if only i realised this sooner...