View Full Version : UM Dentistry 2010/2011

imdentalking
19-06-2010, 10:53 PM
a new thread for those who get um dentistry for this 2010/2011...come and know each other!!!!!:)

KyleT
20-06-2010, 08:47 AM
Hello all ^^

smy
20-06-2010, 11:47 AM
just a ques here,how many places are allocated for dentistry in um and is it hard to secure a place in dentistry at govt unis with a cgpa of 4.o?

aegisshi_T
20-06-2010, 12:11 PM
hi coursemates ^^

infinity
20-06-2010, 12:15 PM
hihi...^^ may i know u guys get into which college?

Ahfeng_65
20-06-2010, 12:52 PM
halo, nice to meet you all. ^^

dsn
20-06-2010, 04:57 PM
Hello^^I got 2.
What college u all get admitted?
imdentalking, u r from muar?

infinity
20-06-2010, 05:41 PM
hihi..dsn..^^nice to meet u..i gt 1st..do any1 know how far is our hostel from our faculty??

Ahfeng_65
20-06-2010, 08:21 PM
1st college is the nearest to the faculty. Faculty juz behind the 1st college.

infinity
20-06-2010, 08:32 PM
really? u also got 1st?

imdentalking
20-06-2010, 09:50 PM
just a ques here,how many places are allocated for dentistry in um and is it hard to secure a place in dentistry at govt unis with a cgpa of 4.o?

i not sure about this...but i heard from my senior usually they will allocate around 70 till 80...even u get 4.00,u will nt guarantee ur seats in this course,as this course is extremely competitive...beside results,u nid to be good in other aspects as well..

Kime
20-06-2010, 10:38 PM
Hi there! Anyone from STPM?

KyleT
20-06-2010, 11:22 PM
I'm from STPM
Nice to meet you

Kime
21-06-2010, 01:20 AM
Hi KyleT. Nice to meet you too & welcome to UM dentistry~ Im your going-to-be 2nd year senior. hehe

so far only 1 ppl from STPM huh?

dsn
21-06-2010, 10:57 AM
Hi senior, I also from STPM..^^
Anyone stay in college 2?

infinity
21-06-2010, 12:51 PM
Hi KyleT. Nice to meet you too & welcome to UM dentistry~ Im your going-to-be 2nd year senior. hehe

so far only 1 ppl from STPM huh?

hihi..senior..nice to meet u..^^ do u know what we need to bring besides all the documents? i am quite worry :cry

Ahfeng_65
21-06-2010, 04:39 PM
u have to back to secondary school to get ur spm certificate, not the result slip, this is important ^^

clever
21-06-2010, 04:48 PM
halo!! i am dental 10/11!! so how r u guys??? hope to see u all in UM!!

Kime
21-06-2010, 07:46 PM
Hi senior, I also from STPM..^^
Anyone stay in college 2?

Hi. Nice to meet you =P

hihi..senior..nice to meet u..^^ do u know what we need to bring besides all the documents? i am quite worry :cry

Just bring anything you think is necessary for you as a student and a resident in your residential college. Electrical appliances are not allowed btw.

Huh? What are you worrying about?

infinity
21-06-2010, 07:58 PM
Hi. Nice to meet you =P

Just bring anything you think is necessary for you as a student and a resident in your residential college. Electrical appliances are not allowed btw.

Huh? What are you worrying about?

actually i heard my friends said that miggu haluansiswa was terrible! is that true??:cry

dumbledore
21-06-2010, 08:13 PM
actually i heard my friends said that miggu haluansiswa was terrible! is that true??:cry

hey evry1,,haiya, y worry so much.. haluansiswa is one of the best experience u could ever have! it is so much fun.. trust me.. just enjoy it..2nd college isit? if yes, u'll be seeing me during haluansiswa..2nd year dental student btw..=) have fun je!!!

clever
21-06-2010, 09:36 PM
one of my fren from other faculty told me, minggu haluansiswa is very fun!! but when orientation wif senior is horrible and terrible!!! so i think all of us have to mentally prepare "bully" by the senior..... we so pitiful.....

KyleT
21-06-2010, 09:51 PM
what's the difference between haluansiswa and orientation wif senior? I tot haluansiswa is orientation

clever
21-06-2010, 10:40 PM
i also dunno wat is the difference.... ask Kime, dumbledore or ahfeng loh!! i hope they are gud senior..... i ask my fren juz now, they say haluansiswa is college de orientation and officially de, but orientation wif senior is illegal, sometime so call ragging loh.... i dunno correct or not leh....

bluemoon
21-06-2010, 11:31 PM
hallo...nice to meet u all here...

one of my fren from other faculty told me, minggu haluansiswa is very fun!! but when orientation wif senior is horrible and terrible!!! so i think all of us have to mentally prepare "bully" by the senior..... we so pitiful.....

really? i din heard be4 o? i though onli got 1 week orientation? like wat they do at matrik?

clever
22-06-2010, 12:02 AM
u try ask ppl from other faculty loh.... they say dental de orientation is the most pitiful de..... 1 week is college's orientation, after tat gt senior de orientation..... i am not sure the procedure, juz knoe pitiful only..... sigh....

Kime
22-06-2010, 12:56 AM

Well, it really depends on which RC you are in... But basically it would be more or less the same for every college.. Anyway, it is not terrible la... To me, it is very fun instead!

what's the difference between haluansiswa and orientation wif senior? I tot haluansiswa is orientation

Haluansiswa is specially prepared for all new batch's students--- like you all. Everyone must join it. Orientation pulak is something like a process where juniors get to know seniors. Both are fun!

i also dunno wat is the difference.... ask Kime, dumbledore or ahfeng loh!! i hope they are gud senior..... i ask my fren juz now, they say haluansiswa is college de orientation and officially de, but orientation wif senior is illegal, sometime so call ragging loh.... i dunno correct or not leh....

wah wah, never met us but ady doubted whether we are good or not arh? XD
I am good senior, don't worry~
don't be misled by your friend's words. ragging?! come on! what he/she knows about orientation?
anyway, just enjoy it can ady...
a quote for you: DON'T WORRY, BE HAPPY =)

clever
22-06-2010, 10:08 AM
haha!! i hope u really a GOOD senior loh!!! i dun think my fren wan to cheat me since he is study ad 2 yrs in UM loh..... he say thi is tradition of um.... y gt this kind of BAD tradition... sigh.... but then never mind lah!! just see wat are the real orientation by the senior!!

Ahfeng_65
22-06-2010, 11:50 AM
haha!! i think in this world gt good ppl and bad ppl, juz how u see from which aspect loh!!! by the way, i think u should go for the preparation for the enrollment... anything will be fine after u enter Uni, dun worry too much. any doubt in preparation can send a msg to me, becoz i gt all the information ^^

walrein_lim88
22-06-2010, 12:01 PM
hey evry1,,haiya, y worry so much.. haluansiswa is one of the best experience u could ever have! it is so much fun.. trust me.. just enjoy it..2nd college isit? if yes, u'll be seeing me during haluansiswa..2nd year dental student btw..=) have fun je!!!

we still very worried for it.....:cry:cry

Ahfeng_65
22-06-2010, 12:09 PM
everything will be fine after u enter Uni ^^ send me a msg if face any problems in the college or faculty.

curry
22-06-2010, 04:46 PM
helo, nice to meet evry1... so scare wan go university lo...how o??

dumbledore
22-06-2010, 06:59 PM
dont worry about haluansiswa and orientation, just go in with an open mind, and just have fun! =)

clever
23-06-2010, 06:33 PM
do we have to wear long pants all the time???

Kime
23-06-2010, 07:51 PM
do we have to wear long pants all the time???

Yup, and must be in formal attire all the time. Especially for guys, have to be in full set of formal shirt, a pair of trousers and leather shoes. No excuses. Haha... Only that you are not necessary to put on your tie for your first and second years. If wanna put oso can lar...

Well as for the ladies, just smart and tidy can ady.. not too exposed... but formal attire is always most encouraged lar... :)

Ahfeng_65
24-06-2010, 11:17 AM
yaya. when u are in the college, after u left ur living block, u have to wear long pants. this is for the ppl who live in 1st and 2nd college. In 6th college, it is not necessary for u to wear long pants, u can wear shorts, but remember too sexy loh ^^

infinity
25-06-2010, 03:04 AM

omg...really?? u sure or not? how to be mentally well prepared? u seems to know many seniors..but will be helpful to us? i m very scared..u must gv me a helping hand...:cry

KyleT
25-06-2010, 04:04 AM
got such thing arr? hmm... nv heard about it before... where u get this info ya, clever?

one more week to go!! can't wait to enter Uni ^^

clever
25-06-2010, 09:45 AM
from my fren of engine fac and law fac loh... sigh... me also scared leh....

bluemoon
25-06-2010, 12:47 PM
erm...wana ask: for the x-ray n body check-out...can we go to private clinic? will it be accepted?

infinity
25-06-2010, 12:57 PM
erm...wana ask: for the x-ray n body check-out...can we go to private clinic? will it be accepted?

my brother say can...he is also a ex-UM student..

from my fren of engine fac and law fac loh... sigh... me also scared leh....

hi.. my brother also frm engine fac last time...but he told me their orentation is nothing scary but fun..are u sure ur friends give u the right information?? sorry if i had say anything that hurt ur feeling..just wan a comformation..:(

Ahfeng_65
25-06-2010, 01:41 PM
bluemoon, last time i also go private hospital. becoz government de too many ppl liao. then have to wait long long time. ^^

clever, minggu haluansiswa very fun de, can knoe so many ppl from different place, and having so much of fun. i think matrix de student experience orientation b4 ad, juz looks alike loh! ^^

clever
25-06-2010, 08:36 PM
thx kime and ahfeng guidance ^^ hope to c u soon in um!!

bluemoon
25-06-2010, 09:45 PM
infinity & ah feng, thanks yo...:)

Ahfeng_65
25-06-2010, 11:47 PM
welcome ^^ see u all in the 1st day of class. any question send a msg to me regarding to faculty or residential college.

edinz
26-06-2010, 02:18 AM
my brother say can...he is also a ex-UM student..

hi.. my brother also frm engine fac last time...but he told me their orentation is nothing scary but fun..are u sure ur friends give u the right information?? sorry if i had say anything that hurt ur feeling..just wan a comformation..:(

my sis hav juz graduated from UM in dentistry
she told me that...orientation with seniors will be veri nice..
hahah ya..got some seniors will bully us..
and she said we have to ask for their signatures at night..
knocking their doors..must begging also..something like dat la..
hahahah..

KyleT
26-06-2010, 03:16 PM
hahahah..
I c... that doesn't seem difficult... I think it's a good way for us to get to know the seniors too
Hope everything goes smoothly for all of us =)

mightymike
26-06-2010, 03:52 PM
hey guys.

yesterday i'd reveiced da letter wit docs 4m um..bt nt sure hw 2 pay da fees? izit i oni hav 2 pay da haluansiswa fees (rm262) during da registration day.. n hw abt da yuran tidak b'ulang, yuran falkulti n others???

any1 here hav applied 4 ptptn loan? shld i apply nw o wait til after i register at um 1st?

infinity
26-06-2010, 11:23 PM
hahahah..

huh....luckily...i was so scared when clever said we have to be mentally well prepared for the coming orentation.wow...ur sis is our senior too?wow......senior ah feng ,u know her too?

hey guys.

yesterday i'd reveiced da letter wit docs 4m um..bt nt sure hw 2 pay da fees? izit i oni hav 2 pay da haluansiswa fees (rm262) during da registration day.. n hw abt da yuran tidak b'ulang, yuran falkulti n others???

any1 here hav applied 4 ptptn loan? shld i apply nw o wait til after i register at um 1st?

i gt bring extra money for the minggu haluwansiswa ...but my bro said ptptn will then help us to settle...so,i jz bring it incase i need it^^

Ahfeng_65
27-06-2010, 12:50 AM
Infinity, i dunno edinz sis... becoz me only 2nd yr... haha!!

ptptn will send u a cheque to ur house and u juz go to the bank and "cheque in", means u accept ptptn ^^

i think minggu haluansiswa no nid cost money... becoz food ad provide by the college ^^

dumbledore
27-06-2010, 12:52 AM
hey guys.

the only thing you have to pay first is rm262 for haluansiswa. this payment has to be done through bank Islam (double check what's written in the letter). once you have paid, make sure bring the proof of payment during haluansiswa. don't forget that. regarding other payment, it would be done later. as long as you settle it before your exams. so now, just pay for haluansiswa. :)

mightymike
27-06-2010, 06:18 AM
hi. thankz infinity, ahfeng n dumbledore 4 ur prompt replies.

jz cnt wait for 7/4..haha...

Ahfeng_65
27-06-2010, 03:28 PM
haha!! wish u have fun in haluansiswa ^^

Kime
29-06-2010, 06:59 PM
Hey 'Juniors', still got anything u all are not clear with/ in doubt that u wanna ask before entering to U? :oh

mightymike
29-06-2010, 08:05 PM
hi kime,, thanz 4 ur offer

i wan 2 ask when shld i apply ptptn (b4 i enter um or some1 wil guide us in doin so?)

Kime
30-06-2010, 01:18 AM
Hi Mightymike, nice name huh! XD

Better apply it after you've entered U, & don't worry, there're lots of people there to guide you. PTPTN officers will come to UM, you would have to print out the multi-pages agreement booklet from the internet & prepare all the documents needed. That would still take some weeks before this happens. Haha. Now, just get ready to step in into UM! :))

mightymike
30-06-2010, 07:34 AM
thanz kime hope 2 c u there haha...btw r u pm during da haluansiswa???

dumbledore
30-06-2010, 01:50 PM
hey any 2nd college juniors here? can't wait for u guys to come in this sunday!!! =)

Kime
30-06-2010, 02:04 PM
thanz kime hope 2 c u there haha...btw r u pm during da haluansiswa???

Welcome. Owh, I'm not a PM. Dumbledore is. Haha, going to stay at 2nd college huh? Then you will see her there during haluansiswa!

dumbledore
30-06-2010, 02:45 PM
Welcome. Owh, I'm not a PM. Dumbledore is. Haha, going to stay at 2nd college huh? Then you will see her there during haluansiswa!

Kime, which one of my coursemates are u leh? aiseh u let out my identitiy dy..hahaha..no worries juniors, ill see u all on sunday! have fun during haluansiswa.. =)

Kime
30-06-2010, 03:10 PM
Kime, which one of my coursemates are u leh? aiseh u let out my identitiy dy..hahaha..no worries juniors, ill see u all on sunday! have fun during haluansiswa.. =)

Depressed. U still dunno me after 1 year uni life. Nvmd, maybe coz I liked to lay low all this while~

dumbledore
30-06-2010, 07:53 PM
Depressed. U still dunno me after 1 year uni life. Nvmd, maybe coz I liked to lay low all this while~

aiyo kime janganlah sedih..not to worry, i'll find u once school reopens..=)

shaifunizam
02-07-2010, 09:55 AM
hye..i'll stay at 2nd college..kolej tuanku bahiyah...

dumbledore
03-07-2010, 12:36 AM
hye..i'll stay at 2nd college..kolej tuanku bahiyah...

hi shaifunizam! hope to see you on sunday, look for me k..=) very easy to spot me.. hope u enjoy the haluansiswa!

clever
04-07-2010, 04:52 PM
what a boring minggu haluansiswa... i think i will skip the whole week, since nobody will know!! haha!!

clever
12-07-2010, 05:03 PM
when orientation will start? i am very bored...

Faker
15-07-2010, 07:17 PM
聪明反被聪明误
强就好别假强