View Full Version : University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus (UNMC)

superdupree
30-06-2010, 11:50 AM
Hi, I decided to kickstart this thread as I noticed many showing keen interest in studying/applying for UNMC.

Since I'm on my 4 month-long summer break so why not? (Yes! We enjoy a 4-month long summer break in UNMC-similar to the UK break)

Anyway, to introduce myself, I just finished my 1st year in Mechanical Engineering in UNMC and I am very actively involved in clubs and societies in uni. So I think I can give a fair bit of opinion on my uni.

So, ASK ME ASK ME :)

And oh yeah, the best thing about UNMC certificates is that no none whatsoever MALAYSIA is written on it! It is signed and certified by the same people as the UK campus one! Therefore our certificate is very very worth it!

A video on Nottingham's international campuses:

Here's the link : http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=367198768038&ref=mf

orthopod
30-06-2010, 12:08 PM
mechanical engineering cost 1 million in nottingham?wow..i doubt it..even medicine 5 years in nottingham doesnt cost 1million..how can engineering be 1 million..abt 300-350 at max for bachelors in notts will be enough..

superdupree
30-06-2010, 12:19 PM
mechanical engineering cost 1 million in nottingham?wow..i doubt it..even medicine 5 years in nottingham doesnt cost 1million..how can engineering be 1 million..abt 300-350 at max for bachelors in notts will be enough..

Cost of living and rent also included when I mean 1 million RM. To study any course at all in UK, if don't have RM 1 million in savings, don't ever try.

orthopod
30-06-2010, 12:23 PM
im a student in UK myself.i can assure u its not 1 million.less than half million for regular undergraduate.except for med/pharm

superdupree
30-06-2010, 12:26 PM
im a student in UK myself.i can assure u its not 1 million.less than half million for regular undergraduate.except for med/pharm

Even cost of living and rent included?

If so, thanks for correcting me :)

orthopod
30-06-2010, 12:29 PM
yes

one year tuition in notts
14260 x 3 x 5(in fact current exchange rate 4.9 only) =
8000 quids per year(which is generous for nottingham's low cost of living) x 3=

total cost including flights all <350000.Sorry 1 million is overestimate la..its not that expensive to study in UK

superdupree
30-06-2010, 12:31 PM
yes

one year tuition in notts
14260 x 3 x 5(in fact current exchange rate 4.9 only) =
8000 quids per year(which is generous for nottingham's low cost of living) x 3=

total cost including flights all <350000.Sorry 1 million is overestimate la..its not that expensive to study in UK

Thank you for pointing out:)

Shall edit my statement :)

THANKS AGAIN!!!

dragon
30-06-2010, 04:58 PM
How's the studying environment there? Are the lecturers local/seconded? What about security? Are u staying in the hostel? Any idea about civil engrg?

superdupree
30-06-2010, 11:45 PM
How's the studying environment there? Are the lecturers local/seconded? What about security? Are u staying in the hostel? Any idea about civil engrg?

The study environment here is very very independent. Little to zero spoon feeding. On first day of lecture, the lecturers will inform us what is required by this module, the learning outcomes and etc. Personally I like this kinda study environment as I am free to design my own timetable and be involved in other activities.

We have a mixture of both local and foreign lecturers. Half half I would say.

Security on campus is no problem! I used to stay on campus. For the past 2 years. But next year I;ve to live off campus as there is a change in policy. Only newcomers stand a chance for on campus accomodation.

What do you want to know about Civil? I'll see if i can help provide.

stpmmaths
01-07-2010, 02:01 PM
4 months Summer Break!! Wow! Is this the only break and when it starts and ends? :wink

I will start my Civil Eng at Nott this Sept :) If I'm not mistaken, Civil Eng in UNMC is still quite new and currently is not accredited by BEM. This is because this year will be the first graduated batch(No worries because by the time we graduate, UNMC's Civil Eng will already be accredited).

djfoo000
01-07-2010, 05:10 PM
Aloha. Linked from the Tajaan Tambahan thread. Sept 2010 MechEng newb (if all goes well) reporting in .

stpmmaths
01-07-2010, 08:38 PM
Superdupree will be our senior although same age. Haha =)

djfoo000
01-07-2010, 08:53 PM
lol. Take STPM is like that one loh. Enjoy (waste) one more year of schooling.

stpmmaths
02-07-2010, 09:13 AM
lol. Take STPM is like that one loh. Enjoy (waste) one more year of schooling.

And wasting more than half a year of waiting(Now~) Hahaha :nod

tiantian
03-07-2010, 01:37 AM
How bout psychology courses in Nott? i just post up my application form,when could i receive the confirmation letter form them?
anybody else would be sponsored by jpa?

dragon
03-07-2010, 10:55 AM
4 months Summer Break!! Wow! Is this the only break and when it starts and ends? :wink

I will start my Civil Eng at Nott this Sept :) If I'm not mistaken, Civil Eng in UNMC is still quite new and currently is not accredited by BEM. This is because this year will be the first graduated batch(No worries because by the time we graduate, UNMC's Civil Eng will already be accredited).

Just wondering.. Why did u choose Civil over other majors?

superdupree
03-07-2010, 12:41 PM

Yup, this is our one and only break. Other than that only study breaks that we don't usually consider as holidays cause that is the time we study real hard for our exams.

Our semesters are only 10-12 weeks long, so you can imagine how cramp our class schedule and assignments dateline are.
We really follow the ang moh style of when we work we really work, when we play we really play. They work hard and play hard.

So be prepared for this.

The break begins end of May and ends in September when the new academic year begins.

How bout psychology courses in Nott? i just post up my application form,when could i receive the confirmation letter form them?
anybody else would be sponsored by jpa?

What kind of psychology? Management Psycgology or the Department of Science Psychology?

You should receive the confirmation letter once your application is approved by the respective faculty and admissions office.

If you need it ASAP, you can call up the uni and ask them to rush for you. Inform them that it is for the sake of JPA.

stpmmaths
03-07-2010, 01:43 PM
Yup, this is our one and only break. Other than that only study breaks that we don't usually consider as holidays cause that is the time we study real hard for our exams.

Our semesters are only 10-12 weeks long, so you can imagine how cramp our class schedule and assignments dateline are.
We really follow the ang moh style of when we work we really work, when we play we really play. They work hard and play hard.

So be prepared for this.

The break begins end of May and ends in September when the new academic year begins.

Ang Moh style :study(study hard) and :modsmack(play hard)

Just wondering.. Why did u choose Civil over other majors?

Interest :)

superdupree
03-07-2010, 01:49 PM
Ang Moh style :study(study hard) and :modsmack(play hard)

CUTE ONE!!! :knk

djfoo000
03-07-2010, 03:50 PM
it took me 2 weeks for them to reply my application. Call them up if it exceeded 3. At least it's way faster than the actual UK universities where they take up to 3 months just to give conditional offer.

The_Unfabulous
03-07-2010, 05:24 PM
I'm actually quite pleased with the way my application was processed.the officers were professional and kept me updated regularly through email. :w00t

stpmmaths
04-07-2010, 10:26 AM
I'm actually quite pleased with the way my application was processed.the officers were professional and kept me updated regularly through email. :w00t

Yea, well done UNMC staff :thumbs

The_Unfabulous
04-07-2010, 09:24 PM
Any idea on which accommodation to choose from?My friend who is studying there said off-campus accommodation is quite unsafe..

superdupree
05-07-2010, 02:03 PM
Any idea on which accommodation to choose from?My friend who is studying there said off-campus accommodation is quite unsafe..

By all means STAY ON CAMPUS!!

LOL, on campus accomodation now only for newcomers so yes quickly apply and grab a room!

it took me 2 weeks for them to reply my application. Call them up if it exceeded 3. At least it's way faster than the actual UK universities where they take up to 3 months just to give conditional offer.

HURRAH!!! Will see you this September then!

djfoo000
05-07-2010, 02:22 PM
^LOL. I got the offer looooong time ago. People should get into the habit of applying for things in advance. At least get the offer first ma. Decide later. Haha.

ferrari2win
05-07-2010, 06:09 PM
Hey, im just wondering is the uk campus and malaysia campus fees the same?

How much will 1 year tuition fees cost for engineering + staying on campus
im asking cos everytime i google the fees it comes out in pounds lol just wanted too confirm

djfoo000
05-07-2010, 09:16 PM
^ obviously not the same la. have you tried the malaysian campus website?

MarknJun
05-07-2010, 10:56 PM
i feel tat nott is a good uni at 1st, and their entrance qualification for engineering course is B+B+B+, quite high. So i'm quite confident. Den a schoolmate of mine get B+BB get chem eng there, unconditional offer somemore. So i lose faith..
Sorry if i insult anyone.. I dunno how the system working..

djfoo000
06-07-2010, 12:38 PM
lol. Getting in is the easy part. Doing well and graduating with distinction is the tough part, i reckon.

superdupree
06-07-2010, 09:19 PM
i feel tat nott is a good uni at 1st, and their entrance qualification for engineering course is B+B+B+, quite high. So i'm quite confident. Den a schoolmate of mine get B+BB get chem eng there, unconditional offer somemore. So i lose faith..
Sorry if i insult anyone.. I dunno how the system working..

Anyway here is the entry requirements for all engineering courses in Nott:

1. Nott Foundation in Engineering : Average pass marks of 40% and above

2. A-Levels : BBB in Maths, Physics (or Chemistry for Chemical Engineering) and 1 other subject excluding General Studies

3. STPM : B+B+B+ in Maths, Physics (or Chemistry for Chemical Engineering) and 1 other subject excluding General Studies

4. SAM/AUSMAT/HSC : TER/ENTER/UAI 88 including Maths, Physics and Chemistry

5. Canadian Pre-U : 80% average based on 6 subjects, including Maths and Science subjects

6. IB : 30 points, including 5 points in Maths (SL) and 5 points in Physics (or Chemistry for Chemical Engineering)

7. UEC : 5 A's including Maths and Physics (or Chemistry for Chemical Engineering) and Grade B in 2 further academic excluding Mandarin.

8. Other equivalent qualifications will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

9. HND and other equivalent Diploma/Advanced Diploma with a minimum average Grade B (equivalent to CGPA above 3.2) and a Distinction in Maths will be considered for direct entry into Year 2

English Language Requirements :

SPM : Grade B+
GCE O-Level(1119) : Grade C
GCE/IGCSE : Grade C
IB : 5 points
UEC : Grade A2
IELTS : 6.0 (no less than 5.0 in any element)
TOEFL(PBT) : 550 with TWE 4.0
TOEFL(iBT) : 79 (no less than 17 in any element)

*adapted from our latest brochure

For your friends case, assuming it is STPM you are talkign about I really have no comments. Maybe case-by-case basis. And like what djfoooo said, entry does not guarantee us a degree. Year 1 is the real qualifying year. If students don't do well in Year 1, the uni will not hesitate to kick that particular student out.

Hey, im just wondering is the uk campus and malaysia campus fees the same?

How much will 1 year tuition fees cost for engineering + staying on campus
im asking cos everytime i google the fees it comes out in pounds lol just wanted too confirm

Of course it is different!

I can't answer you for the UK one but hey try googling harder, tution fees are definitely listed.

Anyway for Nott malaysian campus, assuming that you want to do an engineering course. Per year your tuition fees will be 34k. Depending on 3 or 4 year course, you can calculate it out on your own.

Staying on campus: say you choose a single room with an ensuite shared bathroom it will be RM465 per month. Food and leisure probably another RM500 per month.

Here's an estimate.

tiantian
10-07-2010, 07:14 PM
What kind of psychology? Management Psycgology or the Department of Science Psychology?

You should receive the confirmation letter once your application is approved by the respective faculty and admissions office.

If you need it ASAP, you can call up the uni and ask them to rush for you. Inform them that it is for the sake of JPA.

Science Psycho....Oups!!what i filled in the form is only "psychology"...how will they expect which kind of psyco m i going to take?:P

i get jpa in stpm,they will definitely continue sponsor me in nott?

tiantian
11-07-2010, 07:50 AM
what r the things that i need to do after accept the offer letter?
i totally have no idea in filling the application of accomodation form....can u all give me some guidance?
and i need to pay the tuition fee for the whole year during registration or just for 1 semester? i'm still waiting for the sponsor of jpa,can i choose to pay for 1 semester 1st?

Alexis Ma
12-07-2010, 04:10 AM
Do we have to state whether we want to study for the Bachelor of Engineering or the Master of Engineering on the application form to UNMC?

More importantly, does the JPA support the MEng under the JPA 9As scholarship?

Help :(

12-07-2010, 06:40 PM
what r the things that i need to do after accept the offer letter?
i totally have no idea in filling the application of accomodation form....can u all give me some guidance?

After you accept the offer letter, just wait until the registration day. Which part of your accommodation form that you don't know how to fill?

Do we have to state whether we want to study for the Bachelor of Engineering or the Master of Engineering on the application form to UNMC?

If you are applying for undergraduate studies, then I think you need to fill in Bachelor of Engineering. A few months ago, a staff from UNMC told me that we don't have to decide to finish our studies until degree or until master until year 2 or so(if my memory serves me well).

For the JPA thingy, I'm not so sure since I'm new to UNMC. Try to call JPA people to clarify it.

tiantian
12-07-2010, 08:43 PM
After you accept the offer letter, just wait until the registration day. Which part of your accommodation form that you don't know how to fill?
i'm swinging between" Single Shared Bathroom" and "Twin Share in 6 Bedded Flat"
which one is better actually?

A few months ago, a staff from UNMC told me that we don't have to decide to finish our studies until degree or until master until year 2 or so(if my memory serves me well).
That's mean we will probably be kick-out anytime?haha...:P

tai
14-07-2010, 10:30 PM
Can u do me a favor? do u know anybody of ur friends r planning to rent out houses in bandar sunway semenyih?? Ur help would be deeply appreciated:)

15-07-2010, 04:49 PM
my gf's at Nottingham Malaysia. hehe.

16-07-2010, 02:44 AM
i'm swinging between" Single Shared Bathroom" and "Twin Share in 6 Bedded Flat"
which one is better actually?

That's mean we will probably be kick-out anytime?haha...:P

For me, the former will be better than the latter but both of them are good enough for normal students. The former is quite hard to get(hardly available), so you can opt for the latter(cheaper) or get a Single Shared Ensuite Bathroom(which is better but more expensive).

Hahaha, no la, it means you don't have to decide that early. You can make your decision later. :wink

my gf's at Nottingham Malaysia. hehe.

Wow!! :amuse:amuse

The_Unfabulous
17-07-2010, 04:57 PM
I still have not sent the accommodation form..haih..
want to get the Redang room as my friend is staying there but i guess it's very unlikely at this time

blubber
03-08-2010, 07:23 PM
may i know how is the four sharing room like? is it like this? http://www.facebook.com/pages/Student-Association-University-of-Nottingham-Malaysia-Campus/31806985228?v=wall#!/photo.php?pid=1283208&id=31806985228&ref=fbx_album&fbid=32261855228

kwasky
12-08-2010, 10:26 PM
hey guys, i just handed in my application form n whatnots tday to Notts so HELLO WORLD... recent IB graduate and now trying to scour around for some information. Anyone know what ChemEng is gonna be like at notts? I mean i read the programme modules on the site but it doesnt really say anything about practical stuffs, and getting you hands dirty. Any clue anyone...?

13-08-2010, 03:10 PM
may i know how is the four sharing room like? is it like this? http://www.facebook.com/pages/Student-Association-University-of-Nottingham-Malaysia-Campus/31806985228?v=wall#!/photo.php?pid=1283208&id=31806985228&ref=fbx_album&fbid=32261855228 (http://www.facebook.com/pages/Student-Association-University-of-Nottingham-Malaysia-Campus/31806985228?v=wall#%21/photo.php?pid=1283208&id=31806985228&ref=fbx_album&fbid=32261855228)

The one in the picture is not a four sharing room. If I'm not mistaken, that one is a twin shared six bedroom flat. Anyway, here is a rough idea on how a four sharing room looks like: four single bed arranged in a row, with a table in front of each bed, cupboard will be at the side of the room, a quite spacious toilet with two bathrooms. :)

djfoo000
13-08-2010, 04:36 PM
what about a 'single shared bathroom in 5-bedded Flat'?

14-08-2010, 03:53 PM
what about a 'single shared bathroom in 5-bedded Flat'?

You have a small bedroom of your own with some furniture and you will be sharing the same bathroom with another four students.

djfoo000
16-08-2010, 07:43 PM
hrmm... 'Small' isn't that comforting a word to see when a bedroom is described... haha.

quen123
17-08-2010, 02:04 AM
Hi, I decided to kickstart this thread as I noticed many showing keen interest in studying/applying for UNMC.

Since I'm on my 4 month-long summer break so why not? (Yes! We enjoy a 4-month long summer break in UNMC-similar to the UK break)

Anyway, to introduce myself, I just finished my 1st year in Mechanical Engineering in UNMC and I am very actively involved in clubs and societies in uni. So I think I can give a fair bit of opinion on my uni.

So, ASK ME ASK ME :)

And oh yeah, the best thing about UNMC certificates is that no none whatsoever MALAYSIA is written on it! It is signed and certified by the same people as the UK campus one! Therefore our certificate is very very worth it!

A video on Nottingham's international campuses:

Here's the link : http://www.facebook.com/video/video.php?v=367198768038&ref=mf

what is nottingham famous for? like the course most students study there
need help ASAP! thx

loooks like most of u here is in engineering.. loL

Yard1990
18-08-2010, 03:01 PM
Hello guys.. I wanna ask.. I took International Baccalaureate as my foundation. and Im willing to study in chemical engineering in UNMC. Does this university require each subject requirement? If it is so. whats the minimum it will be.. Thank You.. Hope u guys can reply this

chele
26-08-2010, 01:14 AM
Hey everyONEEEEE!!! =D great to meet all of you!! =)

what is nottingham famous for? like the course most students study there
need help ASAP! thx

loooks like most of u here is in engineering.. loL

Im not!! xP im doing pharmacy degree (MPharm) in notts.will be in my year 2 this coming sept! What i heard when i was in year 1 was that notts in malaysia is famous for its engineering courses.and their office building is super cool! (i like their design xD) i've an amount of frens who are doing psychology and business degree too.

yAn_Ne
26-08-2010, 08:55 PM
I got offer from Pangkor/Kapas hall.Is it far from my faculty?I will be doin Mpharm

blubber
26-08-2010, 09:08 PM
I got offer from Pangkor/Kapas hall.Is it far from my faculty?I will be doin Mpharm

Yes its pretty far.. But the nearest faculty to it is the Pharmacy building.. I'll be staying there too :))

yAn_Ne
26-08-2010, 09:40 PM
oh...15 minutes walking distance?haha...

chele
26-08-2010, 09:55 PM

Tioman,Langkawi,Redang halls are nearer as compared to pangkor/kapas halls. But soon you'll find shortcuts so it'll be okay i guess =) though i think that the distance from the hostels to each faculty is approx the same..

yAn_Ne
26-08-2010, 10:57 PM
shortcut?there is a shortcut to go to science faculty from pangkor/kapas hall?

chele
26-08-2010, 11:28 PM
shortcut?there is a shortcut to go to science faculty from pangkor/kapas hall?

haha. well there are paths beside the tennis court that leads to the student association building which then leads to the faculty building.haha.but once you familiarize with the school you find that a shorter distance by 5 mins counts alot when you're late for class xD

yAn_Ne
26-08-2010, 11:46 PM
haha...thanks:)

justinloh91
10-09-2010, 12:53 AM
Hey, I'm a prospective student of UNMC. Was wondering how is the internet connection over there like?

11-09-2010, 07:40 PM
Hey, I'm a prospective student of UNMC. Was wondering how is the internet connection over there like?

The internet wifi in library and computer room is quite fast but the connection in your room(if you are staying in campus) is kinda slow. You can choose to upgrade it though but they will charge you according to the internet speed you want to upgrade to.

The_Unfabulous
20-09-2010, 09:16 PM
Tomorrow im going for the registration..anyone else?? :))

superdupree
27-10-2010, 11:03 PM
Hey! Sorry for the long absence. So to all the new students, how are you adapting?

yAn_Ne
28-10-2010, 10:48 PM
haha...i like here!the campus is nice,though it is small.i m enjoying my life,though it is hectic!

khaishin
30-10-2010, 01:44 PM
To all accounting students!!! Good news for you!!! :clap:

5zJmI3qnElY

The second Malaysian Accounting Students Convention (MASC) is back to you again!!! :D
Fyi, MASC is the first convention that gathers all the accounting students from both public and private institutions.
This year, it will be held from 14 to 17 Dec 2010 in University of Malaya!
We have Genting & ICAEW as our title sponsors, PwC, BDO & Cheng&Co as our event sponsors, Jobstreet and GradMalaysia as our official career partners!

The event highlight of MASC 2010 is a entrepreneur based KL Explore Race which would be held around Pavilion, Wisma Genting and Berjaya Times Square. Throughout this 4-day-3-night-convention, we will have 3 talks and 1 forum.
Our speakers include Dato Johan Raslan(chairman of PwC Malaysia), Ms Theresa Goh ( Deloitte's Malaysia - leader in transfer pricing), Mr Jason Lo ( CEO of TuneTalk), Dr Veerindeerjeet Singh (Managing Director of Taxand Malaysia), Mr Siew( Staff Partner of KPMG) etc etc.

So far, we have had participants from Sunway, UM, UPM, Taylor, Swinburne Sarawak, Monash, UCSI, HELP, UUM, Uniten, etc etc :thumbs:
You may register online at our official blog, please be fast!! Seats are limited!!! :hehe:

For complete details, please visit our official blog >> http://masc10.blogspot.com
or
Find us in Facebook to watch our FANTASTIC VIDEO >> http://www.facebook.com/masc10

Let's watch our corporate video, hear what do corporate peple like HR manager of E&Y, Mr Jason Lo, CEO of 8tv & Mr John Zinkin say about MASC 2010! =D
V7QHzXnv4cQ

You may ask, why should you join MASC? :blink:

1. To enlarge your social network
MASC is a national event that gathers accounting students from both PUBLIC and PRIVATE
institution. Hence, it is a GREAT OPPORTUNITY for you to make new friends, who hail from
different hometown, different universities and different background.

2. To meet your future employers
This year, we are glad to have ICAEW & Genting as our title sponsor, while Pwc, Cheng & Co, BDO
are our event sponsors. Besides, we do have Dato Johan Raslan, the chairman of PwC, Dr
Veerindeerjeet Singh, Managing Director of Taxand Malaysia, Mr Jason Lo, the CEO of Tune Talk,
Dato Gan Ah Tee from BDO, Mr Siew from KPMG, Ms Theresa from Deloitte etc etc as our speakers!
Hence, this will be a GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY for you to meet up with them!!

3. To widen your perspective & gain new insights
Throughout this 4 days 3 nights convention, we will have 3 talks and 1 forum as well as talks from
our sponsors. The topics of our talks are as follows:

i. The Role of Youth in Malaysia's Economy
ii. Motivation Towards Entrepreneurship
iii. GST, RPGT & Transfer Pricing
iv. Local vs Foreign Undergraduate ( Forum )

Above are the topics that we are going to discussed with you during MASC 2010! For sure you can
gain a lot from these topics as well as speakers, giving you a new insight and perspective on certain
issues.

4. To immerse yourself in the world of accounting
Although our topics this year is not about professional accounting skills, eg: auditing, etc. Yet, 98%
of our participants are taking Accounting course and most of our sponsors are from the Accounting
field! So, throughout this 4-day-convention, you could really immerse yourself in the world of
Accounting!

5. To HAVE FUN!!!
The highlighted event of MASC 2010 is KL Explore Race. It will be held in the prestigious golden
triangle area of KL, which is around Berjaya Times Square, Wisma Genting and Pavillion. It is
organised based on entrepreneur concept, about money generating! So, participants is going to
fully utilise their soft skills and knowledge to generate money in order to win the game!

Let's join Malaysian Accounting Students Convention (MASC) together!!
Do not miss this GOLDEN OPPORTUNITY to enlarge your social network, meet new friends and future employers!!! :clap:
Be fast to register !!!! Seats are running out!!!!!!!!!!!! :thumbs: http://masc10.blogspot.com

October 30, 2010, 11:33 amRegister now!!!

Registration is meeting its deadline soon!!!!~~

Be fast to grab the chance!! http://www.facebook.com/masc10

superdupree
06-11-2010, 12:04 AM
haha...i like here!the campus is nice,though it is small.i m enjoying my life,though it is hectic!

Great what course are you doing?

adhitomax
01-12-2010, 12:43 AM
Hello there,
I'm an international student and I've been living in Malaysia for over 4 years. I'm interested in applying to Bachelor of Electrical Engineering and I registered and went well, except that I now have to look for accommodation somewhere around the campus. I'm not familiar with the location so I did some research where I found living there is scary as there are so many criminal case around the campus. I'd love to live off-campus, but those words I heard really scare the hell out of me. I don't mind living on-campus but since I can only stay there by 1-2 because they will put new students over me, Living on-campus is not really my choice.

So my point is, do you have any suggestions, or any choice other than those two ? Is living in Kajang safe ? I currently live in Subang, how many hours will it approximately take if I choose to travel from Subang to the campus by mass transportation ?

Thank you.

JWeil
01-12-2010, 05:21 AM
Hi,

Is anymore studying medicine at the UNMC? If you are can you please respond and tell me about your experience so far?

harryplopper
18-12-2010, 01:48 PM
does anyone know if the rooms at kapas halls have a tv.... specifically the Single Shared Ensuite Bathroom ?

cheers....

18-12-2010, 05:16 PM
does anyone know if the rooms at kapas halls have a tv.... specifically the Single Shared Ensuite Bathroom ?

cheers....

Nope, televisions are not provided in the hostels. You can only watch television show at Student Association building and there are only two of them.

yAn_Ne
18-12-2010, 08:07 PM
errr..UNMC dont have medicine course.

viva
20-12-2010, 02:54 AM
i really want 2 enter UNMC but now i'm doing another pre-u foundation..im a jpa scholar..can i use my pre-u fondation certificate 2 enter UNMC for my degree? anyone pliz answer me...

yAn_Ne
20-12-2010, 03:51 PM
i really want 2 enter UNMC but now i'm doing another pre-u foundation..im a jpa scholar..can i use my pre-u fondation certificate 2 enter UNMC for my degree? anyone pliz answer me...

Hmm..why dont u call up the admin ppl and ask them?

viva
20-12-2010, 05:59 PM
Hmm..why dont u call up the admin ppl and ask them?

hmm, im not goimg 2 enter it for now..
im still doing my foundation in Monash uni sunway campus..
foundation here is very tough..
im scared dat i cant enter Monash..
if let say u know anything, pliz inform me k..

yAn_Ne
23-12-2010, 07:28 PM
hmm, im not goimg 2 enter it for now..
im still doing my foundation in Monash uni sunway campus..
foundation here is very tough..
im scared dat i cant enter Monash..
if let say u know anything, pliz inform me k..

My fren did MAFY(i m nt sure abt the spelling,sry:()and now she is doing Mpharm in nottingham:)

viva
24-12-2010, 10:41 AM
My fren did MAFY(i m nt sure abt the spelling,sry:()and now she is doing Mpharm in nottingham:)

huhu..actually it is MUFY(monash university foundation year)..hehe:laugh
owh, so dat mean i stil have da chance 2 get into nttgham if let say i cant enter monash..??:(..
monash requirement is quite high u know..:cry
so ur fren dont have 2 do da foundation again??
juz get into nttgham 2 do degree..really???
does she is a jpa scholar??

yAn_Ne
25-12-2010, 12:29 AM
huhu..actually it is MUFY(monash university foundation year)..hehe:laugh
owh, so dat mean i stil have da chance 2 get into nttgham if let say i cant enter monash..??:(..
monash requirement is quite high u know..:cry
so ur fren dont have 2 do da foundation again??
juz get into nttgham 2 do degree..really???
does she is a jpa scholar??

haha...sorry sorry..MUFY!:P
err...nope...she did MUFY(haha) and now she is doing Mpharm.but she said you have to meet the requirement as well.no no..she is nt a jpa scholar.

viva
27-12-2010, 01:17 AM
haha...sorry sorry..MUFY!:P
err...nope...she did MUFY(haha) and now she is doing Mpharm.but she said you have to meet the requirement as well.no no..she is nt a jpa scholar.

really..:huh??
k, thanks 4 ur info:)
i will d my bez 4 da 2nd sem:amuse

Richman
27-12-2010, 12:54 PM
eh, i would like to know about the fees for study IT Security and robotic engineering...
anyone can help me?

yAn_Ne
29-12-2010, 12:22 PM
really..:huh??
k, thanks 4 ur info:)
i will d my bez 4 da 2nd sem:amuse

np:)
all the best for u!!!:))

zeeyang
03-02-2011, 10:49 AM
Hi guys, i am very interested to study in Nottingham Malaysia.

I am currently a SAM student. I want to ask, is it recommended for SAM students to study here? I believe SAM study less in-depth as it is an Australian Pre-U and Nottingham is a UK university. Will I have a hard time coping in the first year?

And should I go for the January or September intake?

edited: for mechanical engineering (maybe civil too:P)

vaanbalthier
13-07-2011, 11:11 PM
Hello.

Urm, I already got the unconditional offer from UNMC for Mechanical Engineering, for undergraduate studies, which commences in September.

What do I do now? Do I just wait? I already submitted my application for residence too.

14-07-2011, 05:01 PM
Hi guys, i am very interested to study in Nottingham Malaysia.

I am currently a SAM student. I want to ask, is it recommended for SAM students to study here? I believe SAM study less in-depth as it is an Australian Pre-U and Nottingham is a UK university. Will I have a hard time coping in the first year?

And should I go for the January or September intake?

edited: for mechanical engineering (maybe civil too:P)

The difference between January and September intake is the time frame. The things you learn is the same. for January intake, you start a few months later than those in September intake, so you find it a little bit harder to cope up with those that started earlier than you. For January intake, you don't have the long summer holidays between your undergrad first year and second year. The holidays will be used to cover up those that you missed in the first few months of September intake students.

Hope my help is not too late for you.

Hello.

Urm, I already got the unconditional offer from UNMC for Mechanical Engineering, for undergraduate studies, which commences in September.

What do I do now? Do I just wait? I already submitted my application for residence too.

Yup, just wait until the registration day and remember to bring your letters on that day. Welcome to UNMC! =)

lhc10001
14-07-2011, 07:57 PM
hey guys, im stpm graduate...n jpa offers me to study either in local public or private uni...among the list of local private uni, im interested in bachelor of arts (hons) finance, accounting and management in UNMC...
but i heard from frens that UNMC is well-known for its science courses only...so i wanna ask how's the accounting course in UNMC ?

28-07-2011, 12:14 AM
hey guys, im stpm graduate...n jpa offers me to study either in local public or private uni...among the list of local private uni, im interested in bachelor of arts (hons) finance, accounting and management in UNMC...
but i heard from frens that UNMC is well-known for its science courses only...so i wanna ask how's the accounting course in UNMC ?

I'm not taking this course, so I helped you to ask some seniors. He told me that the course has a very good main lecturer(as in his teaching skills) and the most other lecturers are quite supportive. However, there's one or two modules that keep has it's lecturers changed every semester. Generally, he thinks it is worth studying this course in Nottingham.

Hope this helps. :)

lhc10001
28-07-2011, 06:50 PM
thank u so much...however, i decided not to study in UNMC edy...bcos i've been to UNMC n ask for information...according to the staff there, she said the graduates for this course can only skip 4 acca papers...usually, accounting degree holder for other uni usually can skip 9 acca papers...anyway, thx a lot.

wookiezzz
14-08-2011, 06:36 PM
To those who are coming to Nottingham this September,

Congratz to your offers! Join our forum in lowyat.net to meet some new/old members! You may ask (question that aren't googlable), chat and flirt in the thread with no limitations! Link is below

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1935883

cheers!

Matt, will be studying econs coming september.

Strada
27-02-2012, 08:23 PM
Hey guys, just sent my application form in Im doing computer science, anyone else doing that? Id like some feedback on the program.. Also how are the accommodation facilities? I havent got my accommodation form yet but will soon so id like to know from real students. Last but not least is it fairly easy to get to KL? Im guessing there must be not much to do at UNMC itself