View Full Version : Wanted: A tagline to define Malaysia

28-07-2004, 12:36 AM
http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/27/nation/8525385&sec=nation

DEPUTY Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has called on Malaysians to come up with ideas on the right image for Malaysia to project to the world.

He brought up the subject at the Kuala Lumpur Business Club a week ago, and expanded on it yesterday when he opened an investment conference in Kuala Lumpur.

According to Najib, countries are associated with certain famous landmarks, national characteristics or products, and these are strong selling points for the countries concerned when it comes to promoting tourism, foreign investments or even foreign policy.

The British will probably be known for giving the world Shakespeare, the English language and law, and the French their cuisine, wine and romance. Italy is famous for fashion, not to mention its glorious history, and Switzerland is renowned for its watches and the Alps. In Asia, Thailand is known as the ?land of smiles?, Japan ?land of cherry blossoms? while China has the Great Wall and India, the Taj Mahal.

So what should Malaysia be known for?

Is ?Malaysia, truly Asia? ? the slogan of the Tourist Development Corporation ? the right tagline to express our identity?

---- (read the rest of the commentary on their website) ----

So, what's YOUR tagline for Malaysia? Asam Laksa!?

28-07-2004, 01:06 AM
Since we are in the center of SEA: Try this:

"Malaysia: The Heart of SEA"

cquayhl
28-07-2004, 01:20 AM
Minum Milo, anda jadi sihat dan kuat?

Hmm...I like Jamaica's national motto 'Out of many, one.' It could apply to us too, except that they've taken it.
http://www.britannica.com/ebi/article?eu=297077&query=jamaica&ct=%22ebi%22

It's been applied to the US as well:
http://www.greatseal.com/mottoes/unum.html

Crossroads of Asia? That's cliched though.

Sorry, I don't have anything constrctive to say today...

28-07-2004, 02:15 AM
i think singapore has already taken the asia-esque theme already... something about being gateway to asia. and they're kinda successful too... dammit...

on a more positive note did you guys know that malaysia's actually very well known among the world's foremost ethnic musicians. every year the world music festival is held in sarawak. i know because i met the guy who co-founded it, while he was performing at my college.

28-07-2004, 03:59 AM
Personally, I still like Malaysia Truly Asia.

When I was in HK, I forget their tagline, but it is something like World in Asia... Gateway to Asia... something like that .

I think have having a good tagline would give Malaysia a focus on how to promote itself...

gonjeng
28-07-2004, 04:26 AM
i am with chenchow, prefer "malaysia, truly asia"...

it is because malaysia is more of a 'melting pot' for asians. china is well known for the chinese and their culture and india is well known for indians and their culture. but as for malaysia, explaining it using just one race/culture is inadequate - at least the other 2 race/culture has to be mentioned. and that is why malaysia is truly asia...

uh uh, how about "malaysia, the 3-in-1 asia"??? hehehe... :)

28-07-2004, 06:26 AM
wait wait...
i got it...

Malaysia: The Bolehland

hahahahaha
jk

28-07-2004, 08:49 AM
</sarcasm> Malaysia, land of the free <sarcasm>

deekay
28-07-2004, 01:46 PM
But if the "Malaysia Truly Asia" tagline has already been in use and the DPM has to bring this up, doesn't this imply that the "Malaysia Truly Asia" tagline has failed ?

Or izzit just a mental exercise for the rakyat to main-main to have something to talk about at the mamak stall ?

Let's see :

Beaches will have to compete with Thailand
Culture cannot compete with Bali
Twin Towers is not the tallest building in the world anymore
Infrastructure is among the best in some parts, amongst the worst in others
Friendly ? Govt offices don't seem to be.
Historical heritages cannot compare to India or Mid East

Food - got chance
Nature's Heritages - Mulu, Kinabalu, Taman Negara, Endau Rompin (which even the Malaysians have not visited)

I still like Malaysia Truly Asia

28-07-2004, 07:21 PM
what's wrong with "malaysia, truly asia" ? of coz, it's not exactly accurate, rite?! but it IS a tagline...true or not tads another thing?
Asia...hmm...tad includes China, Japan, Korea, Hong Kong, Taiwan etc....hmm...how truly Asia are we?

28-07-2004, 07:32 PM
some fellas at tdc must be feeling pretty peeved at najib's "request." they proabbly paid professional creative consultants a load of money to come up with "malaysia, truly asia" and there was najib going around saying we don't have a tagline, with the so-called people's paper lapping up his every word.:D

anyway i think "malaysia truly asia" is great.

gatecrasher
28-07-2004, 07:52 PM
Or izzit just a mental exercise for the rakyat to main-main to have something to talk about at the mamak stall ?
a distraction, perhaps? don't remember where i saw this:
magicians and politicians have something in common - they try to distract you from what they are really doing.
crapping here! :)

Food - got chance

yeah that's the best thing that can be said about malaysia without reservations and sarcasm!
so i'm trying to be constructive this time. hmm... why not make a mention of rojak?

gatecrasher
28-07-2004, 07:58 PM
what's wrong with "malaysia, truly asia" ? of coz, it's not exactly accurate, rite?! but it IS a tagline...true or not tads another thing?

yeah how many taglines are truly accurate? do they even have to be? you can't be 100% accurate when you're trying to convey a comprehensive message in just a few words.

28-07-2004, 11:59 PM
~What's the world without Malaysia?~

29-07-2004, 01:46 AM
~What's the world without Malaysia?~
will still be the world ... any differences without Malaysia? :? :?

29-07-2004, 02:27 AM
well,without malaysia,the world wont have so many things.palm oil,rubber,tins,oil,blah blah blah.

malaysia-truly asia,sounds decent.well,malaysia represent almost 2.4 billion ppl in asia,so aint that good enough?

29-07-2004, 07:16 AM
well,without malaysia,the world wont have so many things.palm oil,rubber,tins,oil...

not really, many other countries in the world produce them as well. :?

wait... isn't najib the deputy prime / defence minister? shouldn't this request be coming from the arts and culture minister or something?

29-07-2004, 12:21 PM
i dont really care about this stuff. I think it is superficial, much like the Malaysian Book of Record.

But one comment. Malaysia - truly Asia.

It's like saying Malaysia is more Asian than China or India or some other Asia country.

I would go for Malaysia, Asian melting pot or something.

29-07-2004, 01:49 PM
Haha.. without Malaysia.... We may not have Pak Lah to advise Bush and Blair about the whole Iraq issue... Singapore will lose its bickering partner... Indonesians will be left unemployed in their land... Less mamak stalls... The vaccine for denggue may not be found by this time... No Guy Sebastian.... no blah blah... u name it....

29-07-2004, 02:08 PM
How about this?

Malaysia's government sucks, but Malaysia's where I call home
FireDancerXXX live (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/FireDancerXXX)

29-07-2004, 03:20 PM
that sux.

29-07-2004, 04:01 PM
I hope we can be quite responsible enough to give suggestion about the tagline. Tag line such as this

How about this?

Malaysia's government sucks, but Malaysia's where I call home

would only jeoperdize this discussion and would result to this thread being locked. If you don't want to suggest anything, then please don't suggest anything. we're all here to discuss how to improve Malaysia, not the other way around.

gatecrasher
29-07-2004, 08:42 PM
Indonesians will be left unemployed in their land...
don't be so patronizing. :)
without malaysia, the situation (economic, political, etc.) in neighboring countries (neighbor of who?) will be different. who knows, their economy might be better? if not, they could still work somewhere else.

29-07-2004, 11:10 PM
That is, u are assuming... But because Malaysia's on the map, the fate of those indonesians who came here to look forward are brighter... I dun see how Melayu Raya can be as successful as Malaysia...

30-07-2004, 01:05 AM
That is, u are assuming... But because Malaysia's on the map, the fate of those indonesians who came here to look forward are brighter... I dun see how Melayu Raya can be as successful as Malaysia...

aren't you assuming too?

the non-existence of malaysia does not mean the existence of Melayu raya. It could be Malayan Union or some other institution.

but one thing for certain, things in modern SEA would be very different without Malaysia since we are one of the main drivers on various issues in SEA.

and voila! the train has digressed.

30-07-2004, 02:40 AM

aren't you assuming too?

Oopss!

chess_the_world
24-05-2008, 04:47 PM
http://www.recom.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=57&stc=1&d=1211618838

http://www.coloursofmalaysia.com.my/
Millions of colours, Millions of Smiles?????
I think I love 'Malaysia, Truly Asia' much more.

By the way, get a fascinating glimpse into Malaysian culture, which will be showcased in colourful parades and traditional performances, as well as crafts this May 24 at Palace of Justice, Putrajaya.

http://www.recom.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=58&stc=1&d=1211618838
Don't forget to sample the mouthwatering local delicacies along the way. Pre-show will commence at 5pm while the main event will take centre stage at 8.30pm. Post-show will start from 10.30pm onwards, complete with a dazzling display of lightshows and fireworks.

Free to all!!

Aelean
31-05-2008, 11:56 PM
Malaysia- The Penis of Asia

01-06-2008, 12:02 AM
Malaysia- The Penis of Asia

Lol , where does your inspiration come from ?

Aelean
01-06-2008, 12:17 AM
penis= reproductive organ
phallic symbol= power, virility, productiveness, unafraid to break through barriers and explore unknown areas...

lolll u can think of the rest.

qwerkie
01-06-2008, 12:22 AM
^ o-k-a-y....

how about Malaysia, Sunset Shadow of Singapore

hey, we might as well capitalize on an existing brand since it's working for them..

Aelean
01-06-2008, 12:24 AM
Penis Of Asia.

01-06-2008, 08:07 AM
Please refrain from vulgarity.

duke23
01-06-2008, 10:20 AM
haha..this is hillarous..everytime i say to someone here im from malaysia(usually they assume im a south asian..read :PAKI ,indian.)..people become surprised..and when i ask them in return..have u been to malaysia..so far..all have them have said they've been to thailand and singapore..but not malaysia..oh 1 guy said he has been to batang berjuntai..haha..(of all places)..cos he said he attended his friend's brother's wedding..

01-06-2008, 10:32 AM
Malaysia -- Integrity Leads Prosperity

01-06-2008, 01:47 PM
How about this:
Malaysia, A democratic heaven free of corruption
http://www.worldaudit.org/corruption.htm
One of the seven wonders in Malaysia 2007/2008: Zakaria's Palace.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ovUM9Jl2cTM
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2007/11/12/nation/19444566&sec=nation

Aelean
01-06-2008, 09:12 PM
'Penis' is not a vulgar word.

I meant for it to bring along all the positive connotations people normally affliate with 'penis'.

01-06-2008, 09:22 PM
Arrgh. Does Aelean, the penis of ReCom sound alright? If it does, then I shall remove my notice there.

Aelean
02-06-2008, 10:18 AM
Recom does not look like a penis.
Peninsular Malaysia on the other hand...

02-06-2008, 10:20 AM
Looks more like a potato.

Shawn_Paul
02-06-2008, 02:56 PM
Peninsular? Looks like a .. =.=
Potato? That's one weird looking potato Youngyew =D

alepbing
02-06-2008, 03:36 PM
Malaysia, people here are tired.

orrrrr...

Malaysia, we rarely change hehe

although i still think Malaysia Truly Asia is one of the best to describe our culture, food, heritage and custom

btw, as much as i want to avoid from profane replies, i just want to ask..
if the peninsula is penis of asia, what is singapore then? hehe. and those islands in malay archipelago?

Aelean
02-06-2008, 03:59 PM
lolll
it's fun to imagine