View Full Version : Preparations to UK ( + questions on UK unis)

30-07-2004, 10:22 AM
With 400 replies to the thread "Preparations to US", maybe we can start a thread to discuss about preparations to UK. I'm considering UK as a choice to study as well. Let's go!

Btw, to start the ball rolling, check out www.educationuk.org.my
There are UK Pre-Departure Briefings being held from June to December in various places in Malaysia.

Any seniors studying in UK willing to provide further help or advice? Thanks. :wink:

KinkiKISS
30-07-2004, 10:51 AM
i m going to UK too... but haven't deicided which part of UK? Which part of the UK is the best place to study?? hope to get some advices..

30-07-2004, 10:54 AM
i m going to UK too... but haven't deicided which part of UK? Which part of the UK is the best place to study?? hope to get some advices..

Best place to study? Different ppl have different opinions wor...
London should be a cool place to study...but it's freaking expensive to study there...

KinkiKISS
01-08-2004, 12:07 PM
ya..that's a big problem. But if u compare the fees with US..i think is almost the same..

SHuLy
02-08-2004, 08:12 AM
hey, what about the universities? campus? compact city? city?

jagganatha
02-08-2004, 10:33 AM
What bout OxBridge ?? Best choice ever..

Hafizul
02-08-2004, 11:32 AM
hey, its good to see that everyone is ' gearing-up' for their studies in UK..and for sure, I am greatful to help u guys with any questions..expecially bout Manchester..Salford Uni etc..just post it here and all the heros will 'save' u later.. :D

02-08-2004, 01:33 PM
hey, what about the universities? campus? compact city? city?

Eh, wat do u want to ask? U mean which type of uni is better? I would prefer campus uni...but each person has different taste rite?

What bout OxBridge ?? Best choice ever..

Yeah...those who are planning to study in UK, try to apply OxBridge. The only problem is whether they want to accept us to study there or not..hehe. Once u get the offer to study there....funding should not be a problem.

hey, its good to see that everyone is ' gearing-up' for their studies in UK..and for sure, I am greatful to help u guys with any questions..expecially bout Manchester..Salford Uni etc..just post it here and all the heros will 'save' u later.. :D

Are u studying in Manchester, Hafizul?

02-08-2004, 03:02 PM
If you're looking for somewhere to eat then i reccomend mawar restaurant. It costs something like 24 ringgit for nasi and ayam/ikan/daging. You get a malaysian atmosphere there too which cant be missed.

KinkiKISS
03-08-2004, 02:35 PM
is self-catered costs lesser in uk?

03-08-2004, 02:53 PM
If you're looking for somewhere to eat then i reccomend mawar restaurant. It costs something like 24 ringgit for nasi and ayam/ikan/daging. You get a malaysian atmosphere there too which cant be missed.

that's cheap, compared to US... i heard a plate of nasi lema costs about 10USD... wow!

anyway, why lar makan this kind of food there? Masuk kandang lembu menguak, masuk kandang kambing mengembek.

Steppe
03-08-2004, 04:06 PM
Two of my father's colleagues had just came back from UK from their daughter's and son's graduation in Sheffield and Leeds respectively.

Here is some information to share:

1. There are a lot of odd jobs around. Pay is about 5 pounds per hour. There are a lot of students working 20 hours a week and the earning is enough for lodging and food per week.

2. There is even a case of a guy who supported himself throughout the 3 years of course. He worked for 16 hours during summer holidays. He graduated with first class honours.
This does not come as a surprise. During my mother's time, there was a friend, a guy from Hong Kong who supported himself throughout the whole course, working 16 hours (2 shifts) during summer holidays. He also graduated with first class in civil Engineering.

I think it depends very much on one's mindset. If one is set and determined to pursue one's education and to succeed regardless of obstacles, one can overcome the obstacles. It can be difficult but the difficulties are short-lived within these few years.

If one can balance study and work, there will be no problem. The earnings during summer holidays can contribute to the Uni fees.

03-08-2004, 07:15 PM

Er....that will be in London? :roll: Where's that restaurant?

is self-catered costs lesser in uk?

It's always cheaper to "eat-in" instead of "eat-out". If u can cook, why not? U can really cut down ur daily expenses... That's what I heard and read. Eating out is always expensive...But if one cant cook(like me), then..problem problem problem. That's why I'm hoping I can stay in the Hall of Residence(catered). :(

that's cheap, compared to US... i heard a plate of nasi lema costs about 10USD... wow!

anyway, why lar makan this kind of food there? Masuk kandang lembu menguak, masuk kandang kambing mengembek.

Aiks...sure miss Malaysian food ma. How can survive with Western food alone? Rite? :D

Steppe, u mentioned about the guy who supported himself throughout the 3-year course. How is this possible? I dont think we can cover all the expenses(cost of living and tuition fees) just by working during the summers rite? Maybe, u can explain further?

The 2 guys mentioned in ur post, do they work during the summers only or they work during term-time as well?

03-08-2004, 07:55 PM
hmm...I have a friend who does freelance work (web design, etc) and gets about 2000 pounds a month...so if he gets paid every month....it sure pays at least for most of your tuition fees =)

Mawar Restaurant's in Edgware Road, every single M'sian who studies in London knows it I think...=)

03-08-2004, 08:04 PM
hmm...I have a friend who does freelance work (web design, etc) and gets about 2000 pounds a month...so if he gets paid every month....it sure pays at least for most of your tuition fees =)

Mawar Restaurant's in Edgware Road, every single M'sian who studies in London knows it I think...=)

Wow! 2000 pounds per month? Ur friend can stop studying and work fulltime already la...that's the average pay for ppl working in UK, IIANM. Your friend studying postgraduate course?

04-08-2004, 11:17 AM
he's still an undergrad in comp sci.....specialises in ActionScript for Flash...so that's why he gets paid so "highly" since not many ppl can do it for 2000 pounds!

but he's freelance, so it's on a project basis....so it's not exactly stable income

anyway, he's been doing this kinda work since secondary school....so he's pretty experienced =)

Steppe
04-08-2004, 05:47 PM
During my mother's time in 1977 - 1980 in UK, working is not legalised. The Uni fee was about 600 pounds plus, then 700 plus. There were odd jobs around and the pay was only about 1 pound plus. The guy worked part time during week days and worked during week-ends in Chinese restaurant as he was a Hong Kong Chinese. Weekends pay and over time pay was about 1.5 or twice the usual rate. During the 3 months summer holidays, he worked 2 shifts (8 hours each) daily. He worked very hard during the first 2 years so that he could save enough for the final year. Towards the end of the 1st semesters of final year, he had saved enough to get through the remaining 2 semesters. He graduated with a first class honours in Civil engineering. My mother and the rest of others could only 'salute' him for such perseverance and determination.

As for the present case, I heard that the guy worked week days and full time week ends (more pay), painting house, worked in canteen, etc. etc. If he worked 20 hours per week, he would earn more than 100 pounds per week which would be enough for food and lodging. If he worked during the 3 months summer holidays in 2 eight hour shifts, he will be earning about 80 pounds per day, minimum 7200 pounds for 3 months (have not taken into the account of 1.5 or twice the rate during week-end, overtime, holidays etc.). It is still possible to earn the Uni fees. Also, if your results are good, usually Uni gave a discount of about 2,000 pounds off.

04-08-2004, 09:12 PM
It is still possible to earn the Uni fees. Also, if your results are good, usually Uni gave a discount of about 2,000 pounds off.

anyway, just a note about Imperial College London - fees are about 14000 a year for an engineering course....it's really hard to find a job that can pay your fees.....and they don't give you discount either for good results =(

Steppe
04-08-2004, 10:22 PM
If one is not a JPA student and there is this constraint of funds from parents, one must avoid London areas. Accommodation, transport, living costs may be almost double than those places outside London areas e.g Sheffield, Leeds, Nottingham, Birmingham, Liverpool, Newscastle, Edinburgh,etc, etc. etc. Bigger cities like Manchester will cost slightly more.

Fees are even more expensive in London areas. Fees in Imperial U are 14,000 pounds vs <11,000 pounds in those above mentioned Uni for science, engineering courses, 1st/2nd year non-clinical medic. Also, odd jobs are more difficult to find in London areas as well.

The pharmacy course in Sunderland U is 6,000 pounds plus vs <11,000 pounds in above mentioned Uni (last year was only 5,000 pounds plus). The good part about UK education is that the degrees are recognised. When one has financial constraint, one has to consider all these factors. When the pharmacy student graduated and get registered with the qualifying board, he is recognised and can work in Canada, NZ, Australia and UK.

I heard that for some students who did twinning courses in Taylors with Sheffield U, they could get a discount of 2,000 pounds off. I had an ex- senior schoolmate who scored 4 As in A levels under Asian Scholarship in Singapore. He was offerred a discount of 1,000 pounds off the fees in Imperial college. Anyway, he got a scholarship to US.

SHuLy
14-08-2004, 09:41 AM
i'll be applying for medicine in UK.
can anyone here help disseminate any info about the universities available, what are the pros and cons, the environment, the course ..etc..

i know info is available in prospectuses, but just wanna hear from people who are there or have been there or have relatives there.

15-08-2004, 11:13 AM
Wow, that really impressed me Steppe. I mean..the guys who work + study and managed to obtain first class honours. *respect*

By the way, anyone knows how is the cost of living in Bristol is like? I mean....is it very expensive to study there compared to other parts of UK like Manchester, Sheffield or Newcastle?

SHuLy, u still havent got the brochure/booklet from MABECS talks yet?

15-08-2004, 02:23 PM
About Medicine in London. QMW is one of the oldest schools and has a campus feel. There are about 2000 rooms mainly for first years on campus. Also the standard of teaching is one of the best. It is part of the prestigious university of London. There are other colleges part of the university of london such as Kings that may offer medicine but im sure they're slightly more difficult to get into.

About Bristol. I think Bristol is probably as cheap as anywhere outside of london but i dont know how cheap it is.

SHuLy
15-08-2004, 05:03 PM
i do have the leaflets given out by MABECS. but they are quite brief about the universities and i think i would gain a better insight hearing from those who are there.

hafizul, how is manchester like? would u happen to know how is the medical faculty like? what about the students there? facilities wise--etc?

well, i will be submitting my UCAS form in a month's time. so it's really time for me to start deciding. it isn't easy....!!! i've been checking out the medical universities in UK for almost a year already!

initially, i really wanted to apply for Queen Mary. firstly, because it is one of the very few campus universities in London. but then, since the accomodation at the university is for first year students only, i'm afraid that my cost of living would be very high for subsequent years. does anyone here knows how much is the cost of living in London?

do northern areas such as edinburgh and glasgow have a nice climate??? i know that it will be colder, but how much colder is it? would it still be nice to live in such cold conditions? which area is nice to live in UK?

would anyone be able to give some views on medical universities in UK? and also how to really write an impressive personal statement...

thanks!!!

btw, AS results out already!!..the unofficial one that is.
who took AS last June 2004????--Kinkikiss?

15-08-2004, 06:55 PM
I heard Bristol is also expensive to live in..that's why I'm asking. Anyone else who know the cost of living in Bristol (say one year) or is currently studying there? Hope u can provide some information, ok?

SHuLy, check out Glasgow. My fren's brother studied there and she said it's quite good. Besides, it's the top uni for medicine according to some league tables. But the thing is that...u can actually save the cost of study there by twinning program with IMU.

Btw, most unis that I've checked out only provide accomodation for first year undergraduates. I think it's the same for others. Only first year undergraduates are guaranteed uni accomodation. Unless we're lucky enough to get the uni accomodation for the length of the course... ^_^ which is possible since we're from Malaysia (so far from UK).

15-08-2004, 07:41 PM
cost of the rent for a room in london varies from 50pound cheapest rare to upwards of 100 pounds. I'd say its not so hard to find a room for about 60 pound a week. the best place to go is to the university of london accomodation website. just type in on google search. university of london accomodation and then fiddle about with that site until you find the section accomodation offfered and wanted. you may need to input your email address for password. and then you can browse the adds. i'll try and get the link to the site.

SHuLy
16-08-2004, 08:24 AM
according to a friend of mine who lived in london as a student, the accomodation rate ranges from 100-200 pounds per week!. queen mary's accomodation rates are OK. it's really affordable. but they expect u to shift out after the first year....so that's what i am worried about. i'm not sure about the availability of convenient and cheap accomodation in London...nanti pokai! haha!

bristol expensive?? really?? well, the only place that i have heard expensive to live in UK is London.

i am under JPA to study medicine in UK...IF i get into a uni there. *_*

yes, i heard that glasgow is a nice uni..but i am considering the weather there as well. it's quite up north..distance wise from central UK itself as well. anyone can give comments on this?

how is the weather in glasgow? would u be able to ask ur fren for me about that pandaboy???..pleaaseeee?? hehe..i really have to consider it seriously,lest i get an interview from that university, i will have to go there. say, does anyone know how much would it cost to fly to UK--for an interview. any recomers here who have undergone that experience?

bwaizz!

16-08-2004, 08:35 AM
Shuly, since you are on JPA, your allowance would be sufficient for the expenditure, although you won't be able to live luxuriously. If you are the type that live moderately, you don't have to worry too much. Most JPA scholars, do not need any money from their parents at all.

If I am not wrong, I heard that accommodation in London would be around 100 pound per week.

I think you should be able to get a round trip flight tix to London at around RM2000-2500 . Try to check with MAS, especially during their travel fair. Perhaps those in UK would be able to give you a better picture.

16-08-2004, 08:44 AM
hmm....60 pounds a week is really hard to find in Zone 1, perhaps in Zone 2 of London.

Anyway, near Imperial, you would be lucky to get 70 pounds for sharing a double room....last year I paid 87.5 pounds for a double...and the single room in my household had to pay 115 pounds

200 pounds is for the rich where you can get a studio perhaps in South Kensington or Glouceseter Rd, but for the posh Knightsbridge area, expect at least 250 pounds a week in a studio.

Check out findaproperty.co.uk for a range of prices =D

16-08-2004, 01:35 PM
SHuLy, i'll try to ask my fren about the weather in Glasgow. I will post up about it here... Anyway, my fren's bro is currently working in Glasgow, as a doctor of cos... so weather wouldnt be that bad I think..or else he will run somewhere else to work... (^_^)

How much roughly is the cost of living per year? Is it possible to survive with less than 5000 pounds per annum? Any money saving tips?

Btw, was told during a talk by British Council that it's cheap to travel by air across UK and even Europe. Costs around the same as taking trains.

SHuLy
19-08-2004, 10:44 AM
thanks so much for the help given!!!

comparing the train fares and air fares, it might be almost the same, but what is the price like? not point if both are costly! haha..so long as it does not exceed RM 4000 or RM 5000!!

would anyone here knows whether would it be worth going over to UK if an interview is offered by the uni?

thanks!

19-08-2004, 10:59 AM
hmm...think among London unis...the good and respectable ones in Medicine are Imperial, Queen Mary, UCL and King's...but just a disclaimer: I'm not a medicine student and these are what I gather from my frenz:

I would say since Queen Mary's in Zone 2 and is on the Eastern side of London, rent is much cheaper (50-80pounds a week) and you can live quite comfortably with 5000 pounds, student flats are quite widely available and you can get help from your universities' student accomodation office...and also you'll start earlier and end later than the rest as the course is 5 years as compared to 6 years for Imperial where you get a BSc along with your MBBS.

the rest are in Zone 1, and since I'm from Imperial, here's more about Imperial's school of Medicine which is actually a merger of many medical schools, and they have hospital campuses in Hammersmith, Chelsea-Westminster Hospital, Ashford (I think) and St. Mary's...and they are among the best-funded department in Imperial with a spanking new building, so you actually spend half the time in the city campus and half in the hospital campuses...

...also quite a bit of research is done in Imperial, in the field of medicine/biology...and one of the "stars" was a surgical robot seen in the James Bond movie "Die Another Day"

...as for the rest I'm not too sure, but heard that King's very well funded as well....but would be good if you can approach the committee members of the Malaysian societies of the university of your choice for clearer answers. Also, you can check out IC's Malaysian Society's Forum:

http://www.union.ic.ac.uk/osc/malaysia/forums/

and yes, an interview will definitely boost your chances if you can do it well =)

Also pandaboy, living costs in London has to be in the region of 5000 pounds minimum I think to include all the niceties like watching musicals, operas, plays and tasting the different kinds of food around occasionally and also inclusive of your rent.

Tips to save include sharing a room, walk instead of using the Tube, buy food that's gonna expire on the day itself/the next day and yeah...think that's all i can think of now

Also, air fares are cheap 'cos they are budget airlines like Ryanair and Easyjet which sells tickets as cheap as 99p (not inclusive of tax of course - another 20pounds i think)

SHuLy
19-08-2004, 02:09 PM
your quote for rent, is it twin-sharing rooms? en-suite facilities?
is transport expensive there?

how is the 'scenery'/atmosphere/area like in the Zone 2-namely, Queen Mary campus?

19-08-2004, 05:07 PM
In the area around qmw there are housing estate flats and there is a park called mile end park. It has some now decaying fountains although built in a modern style. also under a bridge nearby lies some fancy restaurants that liven up the area a little. Mostly the area is quite grey with flats but qmw itself has its own flats. there is a car dealership across the road from qmw and also a bar cafe type of place. there is also a branch of barclays bank, blackwells or waterstones bookshop and sta travel onsite. you'll find a shop selling most things in the students union building and it has a night club too called e1 which is the name of the district. If you go further west from qmw you'll find a cinema on the high road they do a special night on wednesdays where tickets are 3 50 thats very cheap. also there is a market. whitechapel market that is very messy looking. but the area itself around qmw is very old looking and from before the war era.

19-08-2004, 05:53 PM
your quote for rent, is it twin-sharing rooms? en-suite facilities?
is transport expensive there?

how is the 'scenery'/atmosphere/area like in the Zone 2-namely, Queen Mary campus?

ok, I'm just talking about renting a flat and sharing it with frenz, not hall accomodation, so the en-suite facilities and all depends on the flat you and your frenz will be renting.

anyway, as for the rents I mentioned the lower end 50-60 for twin-sharing rooms, 70 and above for single rooms in Zone 2.

For Zone 1, for example around Imperial i.e. South Kensington, Knightsbridge, Gloucester Rd, High Street Kensington, expect to pay 80-100 for a twin-sharing room, and more than 100 for a single.

However, all these quotes are just from experience and from my frenz...so just use them as a rough guide...and I can't be sure of them either.

19-08-2004, 06:51 PM
thanks so much for the help given!!!

comparing the train fares and air fares, it might be almost the same, but what is the price like? not point if both are costly! haha..so long as it does not exceed RM 4000 or RM 5000!!

This one, need some help from the seniors... :?

would anyone here knows whether would it be worth going over to UK if an interview is offered by the uni?

thanks!

If u can go to UK for the interview, that will be an advantage! Let them know that u r willing to travel that far, with that 13 hours flight...so that they know u really wanna study medicine in that uni. Some ppl managed to get offers even though they have their interviews here in Malaysia, but there are also those who were rejected by all 4 unis. My JPA fren have to wait for one more year to apply again to UCAS cos he got rejected by all 4 unis he applied to. Really dunno what went wrong, he's an intelligent student and he got 4 A's in his Alevels.

By the way, I asked my fren about the weather in Glasgow. She said that it can reach -10degrees celcius during winter! Gee...I probably might end up in Uni of Newcastle upon Tyne which is near Scotland too...I might get that kind of weather too.... I asked my fren how can her bro stand that kind of weather..so cold! She just answer.... "USE HEATER!!" Kena man me....DUH! :lol:

23-08-2004, 09:28 PM
when you arrive in the uk your first port of call should be malaysia hall. Once the place is fully operational in september/october you should be able to get a room and meal . room should be cheapest around. There are 55 or so rooms to be available from mid september/october. The canteen should also be operational by then. just type in google search malaysia hall london and you should get details of it.

24-08-2004, 02:37 PM
Roughly, how much do we need for our cost of living outside London? Is 5000 pounds or less enough? :roll:

SHuLy
27-08-2004, 12:32 PM
i think glasgow and london Unis are out of my options.

usually, those who get offers will get MORE than 1 offer., whereas those who (although scored well) did not get, won't even get a single one. i really don't know how to put this phrase in proper grammar but i sure do hope that you guys get the meaning.

i think the universities think alike. somehow, there's just gotta be some kinda 'magic' in the personal statement...does the teacher;s reference play a crucial role? personally, i think so.

oh, and i am refering all my msgs to the medicine course

28-08-2004, 10:29 AM
hmm...perhaps...medicine's always oversubscribed...so what are your other options now?

SHuLy
01-09-2004, 10:36 AM
i am still considering whether or not to take the risk of applying to top-notch unis. ..and also scottish uni.

weich, a bit about urself?

01-09-2004, 11:49 AM
Shuly, do you have a limit of how many universities that you are allowed to apply? If there is no limitation and if it does not cost too much, why not applying more? All the best~!

01-09-2004, 12:51 PM
UCAS only allows up to 4 choices of uni for medicine....Cant apply so many for UK...
Maybe u can reserve one slot for a uni with lower requirement?

I'll be heading to University of Bristol to study Biochem, anyone else heading there?

KinkiKISS
01-09-2004, 01:16 PM
Is there can provide some opinions about Heriot- Watt uiversity?

01-09-2004, 04:12 PM
i am still considering whether or not to take the risk of applying to top-notch unis. ..and also scottish uni.

weich, a bit about urself?

have a mix of both i think...

anyway, 'bout myself I'm from Imperial College, London, going into my 3rd year of a degree in Aeronautical Engineering... =)

hey KinkiKISS, Haven't been to Herriot-Watt so can't say anything... =P

02-09-2004, 03:39 PM
Is there can provide some opinions about Heriot- Watt uiversity?

What are u planning to study, KinkiKISS?

SHuLy
03-09-2004, 11:56 PM
horrid UCAS i tell u..

first, they limit the number of universities that medical-aspiring students can apply to...

secondly, my gosh! the personal statement space is so limited!

i still got about 10 days left to finalise my choices. it is narrowing down..hehe! finally! but i still have doubts. cuz if i don't get..it'll be like "hmm, would i have secured a place if i applied to another uni?" and then also, "what if i had applied to a better uni?"

04-09-2004, 10:24 PM
hmm...what results are you expecting to get/already got? If you're gonna get all As I'm sure you stand a very good chance in getting your 1st choice!

Anyway, good luck =)

05-09-2004, 11:30 AM
BRITISH Council Education UK briefings will be held from Sept 6 to18 to enable UK-bound students to find out more about what to expect as international students in the United Kingdom.

The briefings are free and will cover aspects like preparing for the journey, entry clearance, arriving there, medical services, accommodation, transport, living and working in the UK. Places are limited.

To register for your place or for more information, visit www.educationuk.org.my

From http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/9/5/education/8771626&sec=education

05-09-2004, 02:43 PM
Are electronic stuffs like digicam, radio, PDA, webcam and etc cheaper there in the UK? Or should I buy them here in Malaysia? What are the things that are cheaper in the UK compared to Malaysia?

05-09-2004, 03:58 PM
hmm...electonic stuff's generally more expensive, but that there are places that sell PC hardware stuff for a reasonable price, maybe you should check out ebuyer.co.uk for their prices and compare, also include the VAT and delivery charges for consideration =)

As to what's cheaper? Hmm...probably winter wear i guess, and sometimes branded wear when it's on sale and that's about it I guess...the rest are more expensive!

05-09-2004, 04:37 PM
In that case, I'll have to buy the electrical stuffs here? Btw, what is VAT again? Is it some kind of tax that we have to pay, but we can redeem it later when we leave UK? Something like that? I've forgotten already.

Is it more common to buy stuffs online in the UK? :?

When are winter clothes be cheaper? Usually after winter rite?

05-09-2004, 11:01 PM
yup....buy it here in Malaysia.

VAT's Value Added Tax which is a tax on consumer goods and it's 17.5% of the original price, which is quite high! But if you would like to understand it better, try the UK customs website.

winter clothes are bulky and i think it's not really worth it for you to bring it in in expense of something else which is more worthwhile bringing it in e.g. clothes, ur electronic stuff, etc.... but you can get more fashionable ones and you can still spot bargains even when it's b4 winter! Of course, during the winter sales you can get good discounts...but sometimes you really can can get good deals, like last year I bought 2 pairs of fleece pullovers for about 10 pounds...

SHuLy
05-09-2004, 11:13 PM
weich and pandaboy, where will both of u be going?

06-09-2004, 09:09 AM
i'm already in Imperial, starting 3rd year this coming Oct =)

06-09-2004, 11:51 AM
weich is a senior.. ;)
I'll be heading to Bristol end of september... ^_^

Thanks a lot for ur advice, weich. :)

Btw, questions about visa application. Are they very strict with their photos requirement? It was stated on their webstite that they need photos with light background. Can I use my passport photo(with blue background)?

06-09-2004, 12:57 PM
ok i never need to apply for the visa during my time and I was lucky to get a 4 year visa upon arrival at Heathrow Airport, but the following is advice from the ppl in Imperial College's Malaysian Society when applying for the visa over here in M'sia:

IMPORTANT NOTICE FOR THOSE WHO HAVE YET TO APPLY FOR THEIR VISA!!

1. The last time I applied, I only got a one year visa because I didn't have the cover letter stating the duration of my course was four years. Since I was studying for an MEng degree, the ppl at the immigrations in UK thought that I was just taking a one-year Master course. So REMEMBER TO ATTACH THE COVER LETTER STATING THE DURATION OF YOUR COURSE WHEN YOU APPLY FOR YOUR VISA.

2. I just went to apply for my visa a couple of days back, and lots of ppl (including me) got caught with the new passport photo regulations. Please note that the new passport photo size is 45mm x 35mm, and you're required to trim out all the white edges of the photos. MOST IMPORTANTLY!! Your photos must have a LIGHT background. Mine was a light shade of blue, but the immigration officers at the visa application department didn't accept it. What they're looking for are WHITE OR OFF-WHITE backgrounds.

3. The application fees (RM 263 + RM 35) must be paid via bank draft, but you can purchase the bank draft on the spot, so no worries about that.

*** Go there as early as you can!! September is the prime time for people applying for UK visas. I had to wait 1.5 hours even though I arrived at 10 am ***

so i guess your blue background photos won't do!

06-09-2004, 02:24 PM
Thanks weich for the info!
Gee..why cant they standardise the photo specs according to Malaysian passport? Now i have to take photos again. :?

Why must be white? Hmph!

06-09-2004, 02:45 PM
By the way, is there any instant photo booth at the visa application centre? I might as well get my pics taken there... :?

06-09-2004, 08:20 PM
hmm...no idea man..don't think so i think 'cos from the forums over in the IC MSoc, most of them turned back to get new photos...so i guess not

06-09-2004, 09:09 PM
I just took another set of photos today...this time with white backgroud...dun wanna get rejected like at the immigration department again... :)

But a fren of mine(going to uk also) sent me an sms and told me tat her visa application with blue background photo was accepted. Weird... :? Anywya, i dun wanna take any chances anymore..

07-09-2004, 09:42 AM
yup..better to be safe...no point wasting time going back & forth if it's just b'cos of a photo!

07-09-2004, 03:40 PM
Yup. Will be applying for my visa tomorrow after my photos are ready for collection.

Just got my bank draft for my first payment today. If I bought the bank draft yesterday, I could have save RM110.
:( Only a 0.019 increase in exchange rate... :shocked:

At the meantime, are vaccination free under the NHS? Jabs like hepatitis and etc? I only know that meningitis jabs are free...dont know about others.

Btw, seems like weich is the only one senior helping out here...sorry to trouble u. Are there so few ppl studying in the UK?

07-09-2004, 09:39 PM
there's lots but i think most jpa scholars are in the US..u can get a meningitis jab in M'sia for free as well i think...the rest are not free i think...hepatitis jabs are pretty expensive and you gotta take them in stages...and UK doesn't really have any bugs during winter

07-09-2004, 09:47 PM
Oh ya, r u a JPA scholar? Forgot to ask...

Ya, hepatitis jabs are in stages IIANM also...thats why I think it's better for me to take all the jabs in the UK ( so the body can adapt, rather than taking one jab here in Msia and the rest in the UK). Anyway, I'll check out with my GP first...Just wanna know whether it's free or not in the UK.

08-09-2004, 09:36 AM
no...on father/mother scholarship...hehe...u?

anyway, don't think the Hep jabs are free....and don't think you need them...anyway, I only got my 1st stage...and they did not really care...but you could probably check out at the NHS website.

08-09-2004, 04:48 PM
Also on PaMa scholarship... :(

Hepatitis jabs not important? Better be careful ma..

I just applied for my visa today. Wow, the place is so small and so packed. Pity some parents and students also. One guy who came with his mum came twice already bcause his photo was rejected. Taking a closer look, his photo looks ok, just slightly greenish background...very light. But still rejected. I hope mine was ok...now i just have to wait for the application result.

They are very very strict with the photo specs. I have to cut my photo according to the measurements (35mm x 45mm). And MUST have white background(grey also can..but must be very light).

hannna
13-11-2004, 11:02 PM
has anyone been writing any ucas personal statements lately...?

04-12-2004, 06:46 AM
Your International Passport is the property of the Malaysian Government. It REQUIRES YOU to register at the nearest Malaysian Embassy/Mission once you are out of Malaysia, failing which under Clause 25(2) of the Constitution of Malaysia, your citizenship may be withdrawn.

What does this means? Does this mean that I have to register wih the nearest Malaysian Embassy once I'm in the UK? I'm already 2 months here....I didnt register at any malaysian embassy. Anyone studying in the UK can confirm this?

link: http://www.masduke.com/registration.php

05-12-2004, 09:26 PM
don't think they'll do anything...but it's just an online registration anyway, so just do it?

05-12-2004, 09:46 PM
don't think they'll do anything...but it's just an online registration anyway, so just do it?

I dont know what it is for...cannot simply register...lol
Did u register?