View Full Version : 2 were murdered for a cell phone

30-07-2004, 01:14 PM
2 were murdered for a cell phone.

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/29/nation/8543215&sec=nation

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2004/7/30/nation/8556071&sec=nation

What has happened to Malaysians nowadays...

note: to all couples, choose a safer and better place to date next time.

30-07-2004, 01:28 PM
What has happened to Malaysians nowadays...

Errr... population control?

Well, these days death cases are frequently reported in the newspaper... A little dangerous to live in Malaysia already...

The_Observer
30-07-2004, 03:18 PM
Shows that Malaysia is slowly becoming a 'developed' / '1st world' country: Increase in violent crime.

30-07-2004, 03:41 PM
Scary la...I also read about this news. Main page on The Star newspaper...

Just a note for everyone out there : If someone wants to rob u, just give everything u have to them(hp, wallets, etc)... no use putting up a struggle(unless u are very confident of overpowering them la)... Remember, our lives are more important than money...(in fact..our lives are more important than anything u have).

Sad..

The_Observer
30-07-2004, 03:44 PM
The next best thing when in hot soup...RUN FIRST!
Can always fight later....

30-07-2004, 03:48 PM
The next best thing when in hot soup...RUN FIRST!
Can always fight later....

But sometimes cannot run also ler. My friend kena rob on highway (after kereta rosak). He tried to run away from the parang-wielding robbers but in the end kena caught up by them and kena slashed. Blunt parang somemore. Lucky thing not serious ler. Just before SPM if IIANM. :?

30-07-2004, 08:24 PM
It is possible that the murderers are not Malaysians at all. and if so, i believe that the murderers should be put to death under malaysian law for cold blooded killing. For crimes like this, the death sentence is the best deterrent.

imagine that.. 2 people with a chance to make it out for themselves but were killed because they were at the wrong place, at the wrong time. That sux, big time. One thing i like about the US is the ability to own guns. At least in situations like this, you have a standing chance.

30-07-2004, 08:59 PM
For the past week or so, we have been talking about a tagline for m'sia. and this truly shows that no matter what tagline we have, people will still never the tagline as who we are if we are unable to prevent crimes like this.

Let me share with all of you what happened to my aunt back home. She was walking out of a parking lot when 2 chinese guys came around in a motorbike and held her at knifepoint and robbed her. She gave them everything and pleaded for her driving license and I.C. back. They gave her a black eye and rode off. She was lucky to be alive.

Another case, my best friend's mom was mugged in front of her son during Hari Raya eve when she went Raya shopping. It was a glum Raya last year for them. Does this mean that we cant even enjoy our festive seasons peacefully?

We can onli talk about this, shake our heads and say 'too bad'. but when it happens to people close to us, that is when all of us will will say 'No more!'. What can we do as people to reduce crimes in m'sia? or are we going to wait for the 'fat policeman' to do it for us?
Thos who have mums and sisters back home, aren't you worried about their safety? I'm not a person of violence but when push comes to shove, I'm happy to say i will not hesitate to run people like this down with my car.

30-07-2004, 09:11 PM
Avoid dark and lonely places.... and go in groups.... Walk in places with more ppl.... If want pat tor, go to youth park, or places where got other couples as well.... Hmm.... Yeah, and always ready to kick them at the balls and CABUT!!!!

gatecrasher
30-07-2004, 09:18 PM
It is possible that the murderers are not Malaysians at all. and if so, i believe that the murderers should be put to death under malaysian law for cold blooded killing.
are you saying that if the criminals are malaysians, they should get a lighter sentence just because of that fact?

For crimes like this, the death sentence is the best deterrent.
i'm not so sure about that. perhaps it's true. but perhaps not either, because if capital punishment is the best deterrent then the states would have a lower crime rate than it does now. besides, many european nations (esp. scandinavia) where capital punishment isn't implemented have low crime rates.

oh wait... i can think of another point against capital punishment. it's hard to phrase... i'll try my best to illustrate it in an example.
say someone is planning to kill another person. he knows the consequences: he could face the death penalty, or spend the at least a decade holed up in jail. ok... he does it anyway, and prays he'll get away with it.
he doesn't want to die, but neither does he want to waste his time in jail. but the bottom line is he doesn't want to get caught in the first place. that is quite unthinkable.
i think what i'm trying to get across is that the consequences are not the topmost things in criminals' minds.

and then i've heard of those who actually want to die.

One thing i like about the US is the ability to own guns. At least in situations like this, you have a standing chance.
but doesn't its lax gun laws allow more of these situations to arise in the first place?

gatecrasher
30-07-2004, 09:21 PM
Yeah, and always ready to kick them at the balls and CABUT!!!!
if you must, you could also try out the GTP method. LOL! Grab, Twist, and Pull! :lol: go figure!

30-07-2004, 09:33 PM
It is possible that the murderers are not Malaysians at all. and if so, i believe that the murderers should be put to death under malaysian law for cold blooded killing.
are you saying that if the criminals are malaysians, they should get a lighter sentence just because of that fact?

Nopes
2 different topics. Sorry for the misunderstanding. i was trying to state 2 different points. We have a lot of unemployed foreign nationals in our country and it could be possible they are turning to crime. Irregardless of nationality, i'm saying apply the capital punishment to EVERYONE. It is just my opinion. If you kill someone in cold blood, you deserve to die, no matter what country/race/ethnic origin you come from.

About guns, could be possible that crime rate is higher because of guns but at least you would have a chance to defend yourself.

Avoid dark and lonely places.... and go in groups.... Walk in places with more ppl.... If want pat tor, go to youth park, or places where got other couples as well.... Hmm.... Yeah, and always ready to kick them at the balls and CABUT!!!!

What if they come and look for you at home? Where will you run then? Avoiding those places are only short term solutions, similar to avoiding problems instead of solving them.

30-07-2004, 09:45 PM
Yeah, and always ready to kick them at the balls and CABUT!!!!
if you must, you could also try out the GTP method. LOL! Grab, Twist, and Pull! :lol: go figure!

Eee.... u dare to touch arr?

Giving gun rights (as what the Second Amendment claims) to any Tom and Harry will mean that any crooks will have easier access to firearms, and thus, enhance more crimes in a country where the policemen still have pot bellies and hardly do their duty well. Think about it.

cmhang
30-07-2004, 09:58 PM
What if they come and look for you at home? Where will you run then? Avoiding those places are only short term solutions, similar to avoiding problems instead of solving them.

Yeah. I agree. Criminals today not just hide in dark corners. There are lots of cases where ppl get robbed right in front of their houses.... some even forced their way into your house. It's a bit scary to think about it... and makes me sad to think about the increasing crime rate. :cry:

gatecrasher
30-07-2004, 10:02 PM
Eee.... u dare to touch arr?
if you must larr... sometimes in hairy situations (to borrow a term from roald dahl, in case you get the wrong ideas) you gotta do hairy things. :)

Giving gun rights (as what the Second Amendment claims) to any Tom and Harry
Tom and Harry have a missing partner... are you wary of Dick now? :oops:

30-07-2004, 10:03 PM
Ok...since you have put it that way...
so lets say no firearms for everyone..what do we do? continue to hide and live in fear everyday? I'm open to ideas, any suggestions?

31-07-2004, 01:41 PM
Still, I think it is better than those robbers shoot you even before you notice them because they are afraid that you may resist ... At least now, most of them are still at the level of threating rather than killing for money/things ...

31-07-2004, 02:51 PM
It's palpable if there's Tom and Harry, there's Dick.... :wink:

Well, another case today.... a psycho father strangled his 3 children to death out of LOVE and took his own life.... damn psycho...... poor kids

The_Observer
31-07-2004, 07:05 PM
Recently in the news, some guy was beaten to death because of a stare....go check online.

Now this is interesting because...hypothetically...it maybe a clash of culture for someone from overseas. I shouldn't be bringing this up again but I can't help but be interested in how ppl can change living away from home for such a long time.

Normally in Western cultures, one has every right to scold someone who stares at you...but in M'sia of course...it's different.
Interesting but potentially dangerous too.

31-07-2004, 07:30 PM
Still, I think it is better than those robbers shoot you even before you notice them because they are afraid that you may resist ... At least now, most of them are still at the level of threating rather than killing for money/things ...
it's kinda creepy when I think about how easy it is to lose one's life while it takes so many things for parents to nurture you since birth ... and now after twenty years or so, someone come and stab you and all those years come to the end .. just because of a heartless animal with a piece of steel wants some mere colorful papers you possess...

endoru
31-07-2004, 07:45 PM
it's kinda creepy when I think about how easy it is to lose one's life while it takes so many things for parents to nurture you since birth ... and now after twenty years or so, someone come and stab you and all those years come to the end .. just because of a heartless animal with a piece of steel wants some mere colorful papers you possesses...

Some mere colorful papers.
"No money no talk".

The world is all about money and materialism is the core nowadays.
We who own money may not understand the desperation of those who had to do such a thing.
Yeah, of course, it does not mean that that gives you the right to take another person's life but, the power of these mere colorful pieces of paper ... can make a man go insane.

How to solve such problems ?
Well, here in Japan, education works a lot I believe.

Let us take China.
China educates those who are real talented.
I mean the educated are only based in Shanghai or Beijing.
So, a 30 year old guy who would go to some valley which is miles away from modernization and may not understand another 30 year old guy who is staying there.

What do I mean ?
The difference between those who are educated and those who aren't is far too big in China.

So, the key is to educate everyone till a certain level.
Making sure that everyone goes to primary school.
Making sure that everyone goes to secondary school.
And at least, pass SPM.
Then, everyone will reach a certain level of thinking where everyone is equal.

But, such systems does not support super geniuses.
Haha.
In Japan, almost everyone is educated properly at least to junior high school.
That is why.
Cell phones is not something valuable to be stolen.
I lost my cell phone thrice.
Once in Tokyo.
But, the person who found it returned it to me.

In short, proper and equal education may cut down the number of such cases back in Malaysia.

What do you guys think ?
In other words, make every single Malaysia literate and educate everyone the proper moral values of the society.
Those who do such crimes are usually not educated well or too educated. Haha.
The value of life must also be educated.
The meaning of pain as well too.

I am sorry.
When I do talk, it is hard for me to stop.
Hehe.
Peace !

01-08-2004, 12:56 AM
So, the key is to educate everyone till a certain level.
Making sure that everyone goes to primary school.
Making sure that everyone goes to secondary school.
And at least, pass SPM.
Then, everyone will reach a certain level of thinking where everyone is equal.

But, such systems does not support super geniuses.
Haha.
In Japan, almost everyone is educated properly at least to junior high school.
That is why.
Cell phones is not something valuable to be stolen.
I lost my cell phone thrice.
Once in Tokyo.
But, the person who found it returned it to me.

In short, proper and equal education may cut down the number of such cases back in Malaysia.

What do you guys think ?
In other words, make every single Malaysia literate and educate everyone the proper moral values of the society.
Those who do such crimes are usually not educated well or too educated. Haha.
The value of life must also be educated.
The meaning of pain as well too.

The keyword is 'pass'. I would say the government does that by playing around with the grade curve. Don't they make sure that at least a certain number of people 'pass'?

Hrm...everyone is equal...thats a point to consider. Ask yourselves, what determines equality? Your education? Your family class? Your income?

I would say that education is most likely the best way. UNFORTUNATELY, as long as inequality still exist, crimes will persist.

On the side, I would say that the 'Malaysian race' is still not in place yet. Compared with the japanese and koreans, we do not have a national identity. hence, you have one poorer group of people who rob another more well-to-do group of people. u see, IMHO, this kind of unity will only happen if we have to face something as a people, not as individual races.

The influx of foreign workers are also another cause. They come in, work for a while and then when they become unemployed, they turn to crimes out of desperation. I feel that all the jobs that foreign workers that do at construction sites, etc... can be replaced with robot or high tech tools. You can say i'm pro-technology. When their time is up in m'sia, these workers should be shipped home, period. Slowly, replace all these workers with new technology. In no time, we will see our country turn into a developed and peaceful country.

I apologize if my suggestions are a lil bit too 'un-emotional'. I'm merely looking at this from an engineering POV. Solution should be implemented at the bud of the problem. Prevention is the best cure. An independent commission composed of criminal psychologists, economists and law enforcement officials should be establish to look into the cause of this rise in crime and suggest steps to nip it at the bud.

Guns are a personal preference i have to admit. Maybe not in m'sia i guess...

As i have said...and i will reiterate it again...

1-Death penalty for killers - kill someone in cold blood, you gotta die

2-ship unemployed foreign workers back home. and replace jobs that need them with high tech solutions.

3-have a COMPULSORY physical review on every member of the the police force every year(refer to malaysian police thread)

I want to say that I want my family and loved ones to be able to walk the streets with no worries. I really worry for the safety of my family and loveds ones back home and i really want them to enjoy their life without worrying about being mugged, robbed or even assaulted.

01-08-2004, 06:12 AM
http://www.nst.com.my/Current_News/NST/Sunday/Frontpage/20040801074920/Article/indexb_html

Talk is cheap, lets see if action is being done...

endoru
01-08-2004, 10:55 AM
On the side, I would say that the 'Malaysian race' is still not in place yet. Compared with the japanese and koreans, we do not have a national identity. hence, you have one poorer group of people who rob another more well-to-do group of people. u see, IMHO, this kind of unity will only happen if we have to face something as a people, not as individual races.

Sigh.
How true this is.

Read (past tense) the article.
"Expressing dismay".
A committee on crime will be set up soon it seem, says Pak Lah. (ahem ... I have not been in Malaysia for quite sometime ... and I am not the news reading type ... but are the media still referring to our PM as Pak Lah ?)