View Full Version : Help: Canada Universities

julia
23-07-2010, 04:34 PM
Is taking mechanical engineering in Ryerson University, Toronto Canada recognised or accredited by JPA or MARA?

I have check under the JPA list of qualification accreditation and Ryerson Uni is not in the list. Please help.

hawking_0103
24-07-2010, 09:26 AM
Yes you have 1 senior (2007 SPM) in Ryerson now.

Can I ask which batch are you in?

catnfish
04-08-2010, 10:09 PM
Is taking mechanical engineering in Ryerson University, Toronto Canada recognised or accredited by JPA or MARA?

I have check under the JPA list of qualification accreditation and Ryerson Uni is not in the list. Please help.

Why Ryerson? I personally don't recommend it. UofT or UBC would be definitely the better choice. There are lots of JPA seniors in McMaster too. Waterloo, famous for their largest co-op engineering in Canada. However, if you were under JPA, forget about Waterloo.

sleevelesssky
07-08-2010, 09:33 AM
May I be as bold as to presume that you are studying in Taylors? If that is the case, go to the Placement Center at level 1 in main campus to talk with any academic advisor.

davidchak
07-08-2010, 05:49 PM
Or McGill? McGill is the best university in Canada. If you are studying in Canada, (pardon me for saying this), but the only universities you should really go to is either McGill, UBC or UoT. These universities are the only ones that outperforms Malaysian universities. (particularly McGill, the best in Canada whose Times Higher Education ranking is way ahead of the other two)

bush
07-08-2010, 09:18 PM
That's because you go to McGill. Nothing special about McGill

superfluosO
07-08-2010, 10:40 PM
Or McGill? McGill is the best university in Canada. If you are studying in Canada, (pardon me for saying this), but the only universities you should really go to is either McGill, UBC or UoT. These universities are the only ones that outperforms Malaysian universities. (particularly McGill, the best in Canada whose Times Higher Education ranking is way ahead of the other two)

lol..i laughed when i read this.mc gill is not so great..the staff and professors there there are so underpaid that they can't run their programmes as efficiently as other provinces.U of t has got the best professional schools ,ie law and medicine/dentistry..waterloo is great for maths and engineering...queens and u of a are high up there too...how abt carleton,u o ottawa?from what i hear..the big consulting firms employ students from most well known schools in canada...like bcg employs a lot of graduates from calgary, u of a ,ubc, and the other schools too ,even york u..fyi bcg hardly employs anyone from even..NUS-too low standard for them.

catnfish
08-08-2010, 01:44 AM
lol..i laughed when i read this.mc gill is not so great..the staff and professors there there are so underpaid that they can't run their programmes as efficiently as other provinces.U of t has got the best professional schools ,ie law and medicine/dentistry..waterloo is great for maths and engineering...queens and u of a are high up there too...how abt carleton,u o ottawa?from what i hear..the big consulting firms employ students from most well known schools in canada...like bcg employs a lot of graduates from calgary, u of a ,ubc, and the other schools too ,even york u..fyi bcg hardly employs anyone from even..NUS-too low standard for them.

catnfish likes this.

bush
08-08-2010, 11:56 AM

This is where I have to step in and dispute some of the claims. The reason why McGill is reputable is because of its law and medicine programs, without these two programs, McGill is just like any other university. As such, all other programs ride on the popularity and prestige of these courses.....yes, Desautels ride on that reputation too.

To say U of T has the best law and med schools is inaccurate.

BCG recruits at York because of Schulich.

superfluosO
08-08-2010, 12:14 PM
u of t has got the best law and medical school in canada.period.mc gill cannot match u of t' s medical school. u of t's students get matched to the best residency programmes
in north america whereas mc gill is far behind in terms of residency match.their law students get good articling spots as well....maybe more mcgill law graduates get into firms like mccarthy tetrault..but thats just because its based in quebec....

and for your information bcg even recruits from schools like haskayne in alberta..don't see whats the point of going to schools like mcgill when the other lesser known schools have better employment rates at top firms.its the quality of the respective schools that matters.

bush
08-08-2010, 12:22 PM
Meh say whatever you want. J'men callis de tabarnac. You can be childish, so be it.

I'll let the number of breakthroughs at Mcintyre speak for itself. Whether you like it or not, McGill's name is famous around the world because of medicine and the health sciences followed by law.

On rates, a small graduating class of 1000 with a placement rate of 10% makes 100 offers. For a school of McGill with a graduating class of 4000 with the same rate of 5%, that makes 200 offers. Which is better? Rates on its own do not project an accurate picture.

superfluosO
08-08-2010, 12:37 PM
don't show off.speak english.go rattle off your french to some ppl in quebec.

bush
08-08-2010, 12:40 PM
Childish is childish. Canada has culture because of Quebec. The sooner you and the rest of western canada learn that, you will be nothing more than uncivilised western barbarians.

catnfish
08-08-2010, 04:24 PM
Okay, I would say, UofT or Mcgill, either which is better, they are equally one of the best in Canada. It would be only a slight difference, if you insist on comparing them. After all, the future depends more on the individual. If anyone of you thinks yourself is so great, go to Harvard or MIT then, don't mess around here making hateful posts.

P/S: Education doesn't mean everything. I would say, respecting others would bring you further, definitely. Try think about it.

Glassylicious
08-08-2010, 05:18 PM
I would like to remind everyone here to remain civil in their discussions. Please refrain from flaming. Thank you. =)

sleevelesssky
08-08-2010, 05:45 PM
Where you go to college/university doesn't matter. It's what you do when you get there that counts. (Forbes, 2009).

catnfish
08-08-2010, 07:26 PM
Where you go to college/university doesn't matter. It's what you do when you get there that counts. (Forbes, 2009).

catnfish likes this.

Exactly. This is what I meant. Give me 5. xD

P/S: Let's show the smiley face and spread the love, not anger nor hatred. Smile like this :)

davidchak
09-08-2010, 02:59 AM
Look pal, I am referencing my statement based on THE ranking, no more and no less. it may be true, it may be false, but at least its quantifiable, and one you could look at its methodology, not like some hearsay business.

While I may be biased in saying this, but if most of you thats going to Canada are sponsored students, why bother about employment rate after you graduate? You are bound to serve your sponsors - whoever they are. You should care about how much you get to learn oversea - hence the bringing in of the school's quality (and hence my use of THE ranking

Yeap, Queens have got a pretty good program, that would be the fourth university I'd recommend. So is waterloo - but then again, if you are sponsored (again, I am assuming this, because the OP said that he is JPA sponsored), Waterloo mandatory co-op bars most sponsored students.

You said something about bcg hiring kids from those university. Do you mind citing where you've got those information? Because you know, citation is always good in any kind of arguments.

I have no intend to further heat up the topic, lets keep the discussion..uhm..in a civilized manner, shall we?

hawking_0103
09-08-2010, 06:02 AM

Look pal, I am referencing my statement based on THE ranking, no more and no less. it may be true, it may be false, but at least its quantifiable, and one you could look at its methodology, not like some hearsay business.

Don't just say "McGill is the best university in Canada" just because you're in McGill.

FYI, uofT outperforms McGill to shame, it is ranked 8th in the world now in engineering as in 2009. You have to know what OP is studying, and don't just blindly assume McGill is the best.

If they'd decided to go Ryerson, I still see nothing wrong with that. It is still, their choice.

PEACE

To OP, if your decided to go for Ryerson, your life is not gonna be awesome as people in uofT. We have awesome student clubs and again, it all depends of what you choose in terms of gaining social experiences while pursuing your studies in university.
Ryerson is smaller, sits right in the center downtown core which IMO doesn't make sense if you're serious about studying. I went to Ryerson before and from what I've seen facility wise, uofT is way better.
Do yourself a favor and give a thought for a sec.

davidchak
09-08-2010, 09:35 AM
Yes, I agree, we dont know what the OP is studying. But based on his statements, he is prolly engineering, social science, or business. I didnt say UoT is no good. In no way I say McGIll is the best because "I am in McGill."

Dont just read half of what i said and judge prematurely. I said: "particularly McGill, the best in Canada whose Times Higher Education ranking is way ahead of the other two which is indeed a fact." (read: http://www.topuniversities.com/world-university-rankings - McGill is 18th, UoT 29th, UBC 40th, UoA 59th, Queens 118th.The use of "way ahead" is not much of an exaggeration here) And yes,I agree, UoT outperforms McGill in Engineering. But I am merely stating the overall ranking, not individual field.

if your decided to go for Ryerson, your life is not gonna be awesome as people in uofT. We have awesome student clubs and again, it all depends of what you choose in terms of gaining social experiences while pursuing your studies in university.

See what you did there? Now, thats what I'd call a subjective statement. :)

ANYWAYS, arguments aside, to the OP, if you want an objective, student centered, Canadian based perspective, do check out Globe and Mail (a Canadian publication) and compare them side by side:

http://www.globecampus.ca

bush
17-08-2010, 04:19 PM
Yes, I agree, we dont know what the OP is studying. But based on his statements, he is prolly engineering, social science, or business. I didnt say UoT is no good. In no way I say McGIll is the best because "I am in McGill."

Dont just read half of what i said and judge prematurely. I said: "particularly McGill, the best in Canada whose Times Higher Education ranking is way ahead of the other two which is indeed a fact." (read: http://www.topuniversities.com/world-university-rankings - McGill is 18th, UoT 29th, UBC 40th, UoA 59th, Queens 118th.The use of "way ahead" is not much of an exaggeration here) And yes,I agree, UoT outperforms McGill in Engineering. But I am merely stating the overall ranking, not individual field.

See what you did there? Now, thats what I'd call a subjective statement. :)

ANYWAYS, arguments aside, to the OP, if you want an objective, student centered, Canadian based perspective, do check out Globe and Mail (a Canadian publication) and compare them side by side:

http://www.globecampus.ca

It is also a fact that McGill doesn't do as well as UofT and UBC here......

http://www.universityworldnews.com/article.php?story=20100813204958643

hhhcce
31-08-2010, 10:37 PM
I LOLed at almost all the posts.

bush
31-08-2010, 11:21 PM
I LOLed at almost all the posts.

Blah blah blah.....go to california lah you......kecoh

slappyfin3
01-09-2010, 10:30 PM
To bush, I can't believe you used the F word for some silly argument. I expected more from a ReCom staff

hhhcce
01-09-2010, 11:06 PM
To bush, I can't believe you used the F word for some silly argument. I expected more from a ReCom staff

He is always that mean (LOL) and whatever he wrote, he meant the opposite.

bush
02-09-2010, 12:37 AM
La meme chose....j'men callis...

sleevelesssky
02-09-2010, 12:46 AM

I apologize on his behalf. Bush is well, bush.

Kemai
02-09-2010, 05:12 PM
one expression .. -_-"

bush
19-09-2010, 06:01 PM
UofT>McGill according to THES-Reuters. Anything to say now?

slappyfin3
21-09-2010, 12:41 AM
Just a few quick questions :
1. How hard would it be for an A Level student to get into UofT?
2. Is there any way for me to show my Extracurriculars or is my entire application simply my transcript?
3. How much would applying to UofT cost :S ?

Thanks a lot

sleevelesssky
21-09-2010, 06:33 PM
UofT>McGill according to THES-Reuters. Anything to say now?

Well - it's just yet another ranking. I prefer UofT over McGill anyway for your knowledge.

slappyfin3
22-09-2010, 01:56 PM
What were the aspects you considered in the making of your decision?