View Full Version : Fun: HOS VI: Silence is the key

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13

18-01-2012, 08:18 PM
No life! :p SPAM SPAM SPAM!!! I miss spamming. :cry

SPAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAM!!! I see you more on fb than here, haha!

18-01-2012, 08:57 PM

Weird, i don't see him here or there. :huh

KenT13
18-01-2012, 10:58 PM
Happy Chinese New Year people. Gong Xi Fa Chai. :D

18-01-2012, 11:27 PM
Wah, already in the mood... Gong Xi Fa Cai to you too!

19-01-2012, 07:37 AM

Yeah I'm on fb more. Here too quiet already. :p

Weird, i don't see him here or there. :huh

How come? :huh

Happy Chinese New Year people. Gong Xi Fa Chai. :D

I'm wearing ang ang today! Happy Chinese New Year people!!! :laugh

19-01-2012, 01:47 PM
Yeah I'm on fb more. Here too quiet already. :P

Then we should make some noise so more people will come here! :nuts

19-01-2012, 07:52 PM
How come? :huh

You don't seem to appear on my Home page. :P

CelineD
28-01-2012, 08:54 PM
Hi fellow Recommers,

If you guys don't mind and have the time, can you (if any) watch this cover that me and my sister made and give us some feedback if necessary? We're new to this video cover thingy and singing in public, so we're in need of (a lot of) guidance :)

19u3SpyyjYw

Thanks! :)

PS. this isn't spam, this is the real CelineD typing...

29-01-2012, 12:45 AM
Then we should make some noise so more people will come here! :nuts

Noise noise noise!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :laugh

You don't seem to appear on my Home page. :P

You don't seem to appear on my Homepage too! :huh We should spam each other's wall more. :p

Hi fellow Recommers,

If you guys don't mind and have the time, can you (if any) watch this cover that me and my sister made and give us some feedback if necessary? We're new to this video cover thingy and singing in public, so we're in need of (a lot of) guidance :)

19u3SpyyjYw

Thanks! :)

PS. this isn't spam, this is the real CelineD typing...

Hello CelineD! :) Nice video and well done on that! Feedback.. hmm need more practice in guitar strumming, and smoothen the chords changing. Vocal... you guys need to build up the harmonisation between your voices and that would be nice. :amuse

29-01-2012, 12:04 PM
Hey peeps, I'll be attending my pre-departure briefing for JPA on Tuesday and I was wondering, what exactly do they want us to do there from 7.30 to 5? Anyone here been to the briefing recently?

30-01-2012, 03:16 AM
Hey peeps, I'll be attending my pre-departure briefing for JPA on Tuesday and I was wondering, what exactly do they want us to do there from 7.30 to 5? Anyone here been to the briefing recently?

7.30 to 5? wow that's a bit longer than mine. Mine was until after lunchtime. Basically they gave us our blazers and money. We also had a talk by MAS on baggage and other flight/airport-related regulations. A bit of pep talk. That's about all I can remember I think.

31-01-2012, 01:20 AM
7.30 to 5? wow that's a bit longer than mine. Mine was until after lunchtime. Basically they gave us our blazers and money. We also had a talk by MAS on baggage and other flight/airport-related regulations. A bit of pep talk. That's about all I can remember I think.

All that only took 50% of the time spent in my briefing, which started at 9 something and ended at 4 something. The rest is just standing/sitting around idling or waiting.

KenT13
31-01-2012, 10:37 PM
Lynas in Malaysia to process radioactive ore? Anyone supports this?

01-02-2012, 08:06 PM

JPA suddenly told us that we could only bring 20 kg of luggage, even with the GRADS card. Their reasons?

- akan mengganggu proses check-in
- tak adil bagi mereka yang tiada
- memang confirm tak boleh

I have no idea what to say to them anymore.....

02-02-2012, 04:45 AM
JPA suddenly told us that we could only bring 20 kg of luggage, even with the GRADS card. Their reasons?

- akan mengganggu proses check-in
- tak adil bagi mereka yang tiada
- memang confirm tak boleh

I have no idea what to say to them anymore.....

:huh :huh :huh
weird...

02-02-2012, 07:44 AM
Check-in itu bukan individual check-in kah? Group check-in meh? Who cares if they don't have Grads card and you have? You kena bayar untuk Grads card juga kan? So who's to stop you from using it?

If you're going anywhere else but the US, then your limit is 20 kg per person. With Grads card you should be able to carry more.

If you're going to the US, then you're allowed two pieces of checked luggage, each weighing no more than 23 kg. So you get a maximum of 46 kg (or 100 pounds) for two pieces, excluding carry-on luggage.

If you call MAS and they tell you through the phone that it's 20 kg maximum for the US, you can just... well... screw them. It says two pieces in their website anyway. (I got cheated by the MAS telephone customer service operator when she told me I could only take 20 kg per person, and in the end my mother and I only packed 40 kg, when we could have both carried 92 kg in total.)

02-02-2012, 06:04 PM
Check-in itu bukan individual check-in kah? Group check-in meh? Who cares if they don't have Grads card and you have? You kena bayar untuk Grads card juga kan? So who's to stop you from using it?

If you're going anywhere else but the US, then your limit is 20 kg per person. With Grads card you should be able to carry more.

If you're going to the US, then you're allowed two pieces of checked luggage, each weighing no more than 23 kg. So you get a maximum of 46 kg (or 100 pounds) for two pieces, excluding carry-on luggage.

If you call MAS and they tell you through the phone that it's 20 kg maximum for the US, you can just... well... screw them. It says two pieces in their website anyway. (I got cheated by the MAS telephone customer service operator when she told me I could only take 20 kg per person, and in the end my mother and I only packed 40 kg, when we could have both carried 92 kg in total.)

Apparently MAS is in cahoots with JPA and will only allow us to use the card if JPA does. My whole batch is angry about this. They even pretended that previous batches flew with 20kg, even though we know no one did. It's frustrating.

02-02-2012, 11:06 PM
So what if MAS is in cahoots with JPA? It's you who are flying in the plane, not JPA. The boarding pass contains your name, not JPA. Unless it's a group check-in, I see no reason that they should deny you your use of the Grads card.

How can they mix professionalism with personal matters? MAS should know better (or do they? There are reasons why I don't fly MAS anymore).

03-02-2012, 01:09 AM
Apparently MAS is in cahoots with JPA and will only allow us to use the card if JPA does. My whole batch is angry about this. They even pretended that previous batches flew with 20kg, even though we know no one did. It's frustrating.

Really? I know I nearly freaked out when the JPA officer told me I couldn't use my Grads card when I was in the airport. Thankfully the MAS officer intervened and helped us check in with the card.

Grads card or not, I thought students are allowed 25 kg?

One more thing, will you be transiting anywhere? If so, then the Grads card is not allowed. Mine was a direct flight so it was okay to use it

03-02-2012, 01:49 AM
I think the transit applies for MAS flights to the US (in which case it doesn't matter, because you are allowed 46 kg in two pieces of luggage to the US). I'm uncertain whether there are other international flights that require you to transit at different places (but still effectively on the same plane to your final destination).

Glassylicious
03-02-2012, 03:02 PM
To Henry: I think JPA scholars fly in groups, and it's likely a group check-in.

To everyone else: I don't mean to add anymore uncertainty to the fray, but when I was at the airport about a week ago I saw a MAS bunting containing their baggage allowances. Apparently now US flights only allow one bag instead of two? And there's definitely no mention of that 46kg total!

Also, the "tak adil bagi mereka yang tak ada" argument is so shitty. If I paid for a business class ticket you can't very well expect me to adhere to the economy class baggage allowances and eat economy class food with the rest of them just because the vast majority of people sitting in economy can't afford to fly business. What bollocks. You paid for the GRADS card; you should be well within your rights to use it.

From personal experience, they try to scare you a lot during those taklimat, so try to take their words with a pinch of salt. What I usually do is to pack slightly more than the limit. If the limit is 20kg, you can get away with up to 24 or 25. Many pack up to 22 or 23 and they get through with no problems - airport staff usually ignore the extra 3 kg, and this is without student privileges.

If they DO have an issue with it, put on your muka kasihan and say you really have no money and can't afford to pay the excess baggage fees. Works all the time.

Seriously, guys, don't fret so much about it. Unless you're packing 40kg worth of stuff you really have nothing to worry about if you go a few kg over. Also, personal experience - you only end up using maybe 30-40% of the stuff you brought over. Trust me, you don't actually need so much stuff, even when you're moving countries.

03-02-2012, 03:14 PM
For US flights, and if you're taking Malaysia Airlines, it's still 23 kg per piece of luggage and you're allowed two pieces:

http://www.malaysiaairlines.com/my/en/book-and-plan/baggage/checked-baggage.html

That's one thing that people would often overlook when they're flying to the States. If MAS were to remove that two-piece luggage allowance, you can be sure many won't be flying with them then because all other airlines that travel to and from the US provide two-piece luggage allowance for their economy class passengers.

Edit: Also, in most cases, it's cheaper to travel with other airlines but MAS. And other airlines like SIA provide better in-flight services. Go figure.

Also, personal experience - you only end up using maybe 30-40% of the stuff you brought over. Trust me, you don't actually need so much stuff, even when you're moving countries.

Exactly. Please... please... don't be stuffing your luggage with bak kut teh spices, curry powder, etc. While I understand that getting used to food in another country will need some time, that extra luggage space can be better utilized by bringing stuff that you may need more, i.e. clothes, books, etc. Depending on where you are going, these items may be more expensive than if you purchase them in Malaysia. And if you're going to a country where it's unusually cold, you will want to have more thick clothing rather than bak kut teh, nasi lemak or... tom yam. :P

An Indian student really stuffed one of his luggage with curry powder and all the other spices and brought them to Texas all the way from India just because it's more expensive to buy them here. True, but if he were allowed only 20 kg of luggage, I wonder if he'd be bringing all those ingredients.

03-02-2012, 08:24 PM
Really? I know I nearly freaked out when the JPA officer told me I couldn't use my Grads card when I was in the airport. Thankfully the MAS officer intervened and helped us check in with the card.

Grads card or not, I thought students are allowed 25 kg?

One more thing, will you be transiting anywhere? If so, then the Grads card is not allowed. Mine was a direct flight so it was okay to use it

Nope, won't be transiting. Mine is a direct light from KL to Auckland.

Exactly. Please... please... don't be stuffing your luggage with bak kut teh spices, curry powder, etc. While I understand that getting used to food in another country will need some time, that extra luggage space can be better utilized by bringing stuff that you may need more, i.e. clothes, books, etc. Depending on where you are going, these items may be more expensive than if you purchase them in Malaysia. And if you're going to a country where it's unusually cold, you will want to have more thick clothing rather than bak kut teh, nasi lemak or... tom yam. :P

An Indian student really stuffed one of his luggage with curry powder and all the other spices and brought them to Texas all the way from India just because it's more expensive to buy them here. True, but if he were allowed only 20 kg of luggage, I wonder if he'd be bringing all those ingredients.

I only have clothes in my luggage, and it's almost 25kg already (perhaps due to the heavier winter coats). It's scary. Haven't even added in my shoes and other basic necessities yet.

04-02-2012, 12:30 AM
I only have clothes in my luggage, and it's almost 25kg already (perhaps due to the heavier winter coats). It's scary. Haven't even added in my shoes and other basic necessities yet.

Yes, winter clothing takes up a lot of weight. If only somebody has come up with a lightweight jacket that can keep you warm in the coldest weather (maybe there is already one in the market, but good stuff costs money).

That is why I have only two jackets for the coldest of winters, two hoodies for days when it's relatively warmer, and I just go tropical if it's warm.

Well, the only thing I find annoying is that you wake up at 8.00 AM to a temperature of -2 degrees Celsius, only to have it increase to 18 degrees Celsius at noon, 24 degrees at 2 PM and then 20 degrees at 5.00 PM. So more often than not, I have to go out in a jacket, only to find that I'll be bringing my jacket on my arm at noon when I get out of class for lunch, and so forth.

Yes, that's winter for me. But I ain't complaining. 18 to 24 degrees in winter is unusually warm.

eve88
29-03-2012, 06:12 AM
Shameless BUMP :P

So what is everyone doing other than to um... look bemused and wonder if we were ever that panicked post SPM results?

29-03-2012, 08:16 AM
Work, research, study, gym, swim, eat, sleep. And the cycle repeats. :cry

31-03-2012, 12:35 AM
I have returned. Muahahahaha.

Sry for d delay, my internet connection is vry 2 connect 2 recom. So, hw r u all?

31-03-2012, 12:28 PM
Weeeeeeeeeeeeee! A2 Trial is going on now~ One more week to go! xD

31-03-2012, 08:11 PM
Hey, nicholas. Hw r u doin? Long time no c?

31-03-2012, 08:26 PM
Yo, Boyz_Zoo! Long time no see! How's France?

31-03-2012, 08:30 PM
Ya, i'm doin well. Cause of my internet connection 2 recom is so slw, dun y.

Hw about u? Hw r u doin at Aus?

31-03-2012, 10:45 PM
Haha, good to see you back in the virtual world. I'm doing fine. Having mid-sem exams this week... Haiz... Other than that, Sydney's weather is unpredictable as usual. Oh ya! I recently went to the Harry Potter the Exhibition which is currently being held here! :D But still can't beat your fortune of being near to UK to go watch the upcoming Olympics LIVE, haha...

31-03-2012, 10:54 PM
Well, i dun hv Mid or final exams bt i hv consistent exams which is held practically once a week. Luckily, next week is my final week b4 d holiday. Hehe
The european weather is oso unpredictable. Global warming kot.
Pity, i'll heading 2 malaysia durin d olympics.

01-04-2012, 12:33 AM
Hey, nicholas. Hw r u doin? Long time no c?

Yea long time no see!!!! We shall definitely meet up sometime around June! Just before me flying off to the UK, or probably we can meet somewhere in Europe hahaha! xD :))

01-04-2012, 01:14 AM
Yea long time no see!!!! We shall definitely meet up sometime around June! Just before me flying off to the UK, or probably we can meet somewhere in Europe hahaha! xD :))

Whn r u flyin as i'll b at malaysia at july till sept.

01-04-2012, 09:13 AM
Whn r u flyin as i'll b at malaysia at july till sept.

Haha.. around September? We shall meet up around July then! :laugh

01-04-2012, 06:28 PM
Cool, u knw which uni r u goin? London is great bt it's kinda expensive. So, learn save up money thr

01-04-2012, 07:02 PM
Cool, u knw which uni r u goin? London is great bt it's kinda expensive. So, learn save up money thr

Haha I will firm either Cass or Warwick, for insurance it would be Heriot-Watt. :) London is freaking expensive!!! :oh

01-04-2012, 07:42 PM
Yup, especially d logging. D londeners pay it per week. Cost them half of their scholarship allowance. Gud choice. :-)

02-04-2012, 10:00 PM
Yup, especially d logging. D londeners pay it per week. Cost them half of their scholarship allowance. Gud choice. :-)

HALF OF THEIR ALLOWANCE? OMG~ That's quite a lot just for laundry. -.- Quite ridiculous also.

03-04-2012, 06:34 PM
HALF OF THEIR ALLOWANCE? OMG~ That's quite a lot just for laundry. -.- Quite ridiculous also.

Loggin nt laundry. Lolx

04-04-2012, 09:52 AM
Loggin nt laundry. Lolx

Ops! :P Hahahaha! *just to fill up 10 characters*

05-04-2012, 04:01 AM
spammity spam spam
whaddup y'all?

05-04-2012, 09:03 AM
OH MY GOSH!

It has been one year already since I last logged in ReCom. Lol! (Sorry ar been really busy)

Hey anyone still remembers me? >.<

05-04-2012, 09:24 AM
Yes, who can forget the one with a puppy-looking pancake for an avatar?

05-04-2012, 09:30 AM
Puppy-looking pancake? *sobs* (how cute it's...sigh)

You really on ReCom 24/7 huh. Ahhh... I miss ReCom.

05-04-2012, 10:16 AM
I'm only in ReCom after work, and during my occasional breaks. Hahaha....

05-04-2012, 10:18 AM
Spam spam spammmmmm! :p

05-04-2012, 09:39 PM
Hey oldies! Good to see that you guys still lurk here once in a while... :))

05-04-2012, 11:24 PM
Hey oldies! Good to see that you guys still lurk here once in a while... :))

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! :laugh

06-04-2012, 04:18 AM
OH MY GOSH!

It has been one year already since I last logged in ReCom. Lol! (Sorry ar been really busy)

Yes, who can forget the one with a puppy-looking pancake for an avatar?

More like the strangled-dog-in-towel avatar...:laugh

so how's everyone doing?

06-04-2012, 10:55 AM
You Lurkers...

06-04-2012, 02:07 PM
^ Whom did you refer to? :notrust (Bwahaha I miss this smiley)

By the way why I couldn't view some pages of ReCom Wiki? Why are there some weird codes appearing? Why "Studying Overseas" section still does not exist since last time until now?

06-04-2012, 08:57 PM
Ah, ReCom Wiki is having a lot of spams recently. I didn't have time to clean the site up so it gets worse day by day. If you want to help keep the site relatively spam-free, you can let mirianchoo (the head admin of ReCom wiki) know.

KenT13
14-04-2012, 09:17 PM
Guys, do you think PTPTN should be scrapped?

15-04-2012, 09:03 AM
Guys, do you think PTPTN should be scrapped?
No. Let's put it this way, the students know very well what they have signed for when they signed the agreement to get PTPTN loans. It is similar to borrowing money from the bank, you borrow, you pay.

18-04-2012, 10:13 PM
OH MY GOSH!

lolx. dun wry, v still rmbr u. Hw's Suresh doing? hehe
More like the strangled-dog-in-towel avatar...:laugh

so how's everyone doing?
Fine. Hw about u in germany?

starlover
19-04-2012, 06:34 AM
I miss everyone :cry

19-04-2012, 05:05 PM
N v miss u 2.:-)

19-04-2012, 07:31 PM
Spammers Gathering in December!!! :D Then we can all see each other again!

19-04-2012, 07:38 PM
Dec, i cn't b thr. Hw about july or august?

19-04-2012, 08:33 PM
Haiz... Everytime got no chance to meet you guys since I left Taylor's...

20-04-2012, 05:04 AM
Dec, i cn't b thr. Hw about july or august?

I'll still be in New Zealand then... :P

20-04-2012, 05:32 PM
Haiz, ur summer is my winter n ur winter is my summer.

20-04-2012, 09:12 PM
Haiz, ur summer is my winter n ur winter is my summer.

Yup, true. I'm facing autumn now, and it's getting colder as winter approaches. :cry

20-04-2012, 09:56 PM
Yup, true. I'm facing autumn now, and it's getting colder as winter approaches. :cry

It's so warm now at my place... excellent moment to hit the pool and swim...

And ogle at all those hot girls in bikini sunbathing. WOOHOO!!!!!

*living up to my casanova status* :P

21-04-2012, 05:04 AM
It's so warm now at my place... excellent moment to hit the pool and swim...

And ogle at all those hot girls in bikini sunbathing. WOOHOO!!!!!

*living up to my casanova status* :P

Ah, I have yet to experience a proper summer here. Swimming pools are WAY too cold now. Oh wait, hot guy crossing the street! :P

21-04-2012, 05:40 PM
Why December???? I'm flying off in late August/early September! :O

21-04-2012, 07:08 PM
Why December???? I'm flying off in late August/early September! :O

Argh, you fly off way too early! :nuts

22-04-2012, 02:18 AM
lolx. dun wry, v still rmbr u. Hw's Suresh doing? hehe

Fine. Hw about u in germany?

Who's Suresh??? I think I'm making myself more stressed over here than it actually is. Because everything is voluntary (from classes to homework), it's freaking me out because I'm so undisciplined.

Spammers Gathering in December!!! :D Then we can all see each other again!

just like you did when you changed your plans one day before? Remember?
can't make it :cry how bout next year february?

It's supposed to be spring but it's like winter all over again. Brrr... still hot girls and guys can still be found in indoor pools :P

22-04-2012, 04:59 AM
Oh wait, hot guy crossing the street! :P

Sexy and I know it... :P

22-04-2012, 06:43 AM

That only happened because the original plan WAS changed one day before. I received an email on the date change at 12 am. :P

Sexy and I know it... :P

Wiggle wiggle wiggle wiggle!

It's supposed to be spring but it's like winter all over again. Brrr... still hot girls and guys can still be found in indoor pools :P

Ooooh yes, especially hot spring pools! :laugh

22-04-2012, 05:34 PM
Who's Suresh??? I think I'm making myself more stressed over here than it actually is. Because everything is voluntary (from classes to homework), it's freaking me out because I'm so undisciplined.

Should ask keiko on suresh. I'm a gud matchmaker. Hehe

Wah, long time haven go 2 swimming pool. Too bad Reutlingen's swimmin pool is 2 far away.

eve88
27-04-2012, 03:55 PM
I'll still be in New Zealand then... :P

YOURE IN NZ?!?!?!!??!

pfft.

anywhere near dunedin? :P

27-04-2012, 05:03 PM
YOURE IN NZ?!?!?!!??!

pfft.

anywhere near dunedin? :P

I'm in Auckland. A little too far from Dunedin. :P

eve88
30-04-2012, 07:52 PM
hmmmmm nah i dont go up to auckland often... oh well.

30-04-2012, 08:01 PM
wow, eve88. long time no c. hw hv u been doin?

eve88
01-05-2012, 05:30 PM
Still passing... (hehe thats Otago University MBChB for you - we aint worried till we actually fail)

I'm sorta showing this slow drop from Exactly Average to Just Above The Passing Mark ..............

01-05-2012, 11:01 PM
whn the goin gets tough, d tough gets goin. gud luc, eve. :)

02-05-2012, 02:00 AM
It's OK. As long as you're not doing engineering, you're fine. :nuts

sandwraith
09-05-2012, 08:32 AM
-.-' I am taking engineering. Oh yeah, this is my first 'spam'! *inserts dramatic orchestral*

eve88
10-05-2012, 08:27 AM
pfft.

you dont kill people if you make a mistake in engineering...

(well i guess you do, but its not like every single engineer will definitely make a fatal error...)

10-05-2012, 09:00 AM
Well, that's why we have professional indemnity insurance.

10-05-2012, 12:40 PM
Well, that's why we have professional indemnity insurance.

There's such insurance exists? Shall learn that soon haha! :P

10-05-2012, 05:27 PM
pfft.

you dont kill people if you make a mistake in engineering...

(well i guess you do, but its not like every single engineer will definitely make a fatal error...)

On contrary, engineering mistakes, when they do happen, kill hundreds at one go compared to the medical profession where the worst that can happen is your one patient dying.

By the way, Henry, since you're doing your postgrad in the U.S, what kind of norm are you using? Isn't it the ANSI norm? Won't it be different from what you learnt in Malaysia (ISO norm)?

10-05-2012, 10:29 PM
-.-' I am taking engineering. Oh yeah, this is my first 'spam'! *inserts dramatic orchestral*
welcome, young spammer. :-)

competition 2 henry_yew, another person who comes in with orchestral music.

10-05-2012, 11:56 PM
I didn't come in with orchestral music. I just came in.

12-05-2012, 11:50 PM
Hello, anybody thr? It's seemed to vry dusty here. It's 2 time 2 start spamming. hehe

day_dreamer
13-05-2012, 01:35 AM
everytime i spam here I jizzed in my pant

13-05-2012, 04:40 AM
Sounds so wrong.....

13-05-2012, 06:44 AM
Gay bars are pretty awesome! XD *random rant*

13-05-2012, 05:38 PM
Gay bars are pretty awesome! XD *random rant*
r u ok? hv u come out of d closet? hehe

13-05-2012, 06:40 PM
I thought he's already out a long time ago. online at least.

13-05-2012, 06:43 PM
Oh really, i nvr knw. Glad 2 d old members r comin 2 d hse. Hw's d life down south, yanno?

14-05-2012, 04:03 AM
Sorry for the late reply... T_T it's gonna be the end of the semester and yet assignments are still piling up... And the cold weather is making me crave for hot and spicy Malaysian food. Speaking of Malaysian food, can you easily find any in France?

14-05-2012, 04:14 AM

Aiyo you outdated lah...

p/s: Henry, you haven't answered my question... :cry

14-05-2012, 04:30 AM

Yes, I'm very much ok! The closet was getting a little too stuffy... :laugh

I thought he's already out a long time ago. online at least.

And since I came to NZ, offline as well. :)

And the cold weather is making me crave for hot and spicy Malaysian food. Speaking of Malaysian food, can you easily find any in France?

Nooooooooooooooooooooo, don't remind me! I miss nasi lemak!!!! :cry

14-05-2012, 05:55 AM
And since I came to NZ, offline as well. :)

Just out of curiosity, how did you tell people? I mean, how did it come up in conversation?

14-05-2012, 09:22 AM
Just out of curiosity, how did you tell people? I mean, how did it come up in conversation?

Well, I don't force it on people, but when it does come up, I tell them. For instance, because I joined UniQ (a university club for queer students) and Rainbow Youth (an Auckland-based group for LGBT's between the ages of 18-27), I go for meetings a lot. When people ask me where I'm going, I tell them, and from there they'd probably deduce that I'm gay. One guy actually asked "Are you gay?" and I said yes. LOL. :nuts

14-05-2012, 12:38 PM
On contrary, engineering mistakes, when they do happen, kill hundreds at one go compared to the medical profession where the worst that can happen is your one patient dying.

By the way, Henry, since you're doing your postgrad in the U.S, what kind of norm are you using? Isn't it the ANSI norm? Won't it be different from what you learnt in Malaysia (ISO norm)?

Sorry lah... didn't notice the question.

When you said "norm", I take it you meant "standards". Well, standards are just standards. They have to be based on engineering principles as well. Just because they have the American standards (like ANSI, ASCE, AISC, ASTM, etc.) and we have the British standards (now phased out, replaced by Eurocode, ISO, etc.) doesn't mean that I will have problems as engineers. In fact, the standards that they use in the US are applicable elsewhere, too. So does ISO, Eurocode, etc.

For instance, PETRONAS uses the American Petroleum Institute standards to design its offshore structures even if it is for a project in offshore Sarawak. And the steel sections are taken from the American Institute of Steel Construction (AISC).

Standards cannot replace engineering theories and principles. What I'm learning here in the US is engineering principles and theories. Yes, to some extent I use the ASCE for my research work, but I've used ASCE in my undergraduate years, too. Just because most people use ISO, Eurocode or BS doesn't mean that we can't use other standards - provided we're able to justify why.

day_dreamer
15-05-2012, 12:32 AM
I'm back in my hometown and it rains everyday !!! Damn !!

P1 Wimax sucks... I paid 99 per month for the speed of a snail !

15-05-2012, 12:54 AM
Sorry for the late reply... T_T it's gonna be the end of the semester and yet assignments are still piling up... And the cold weather is making me crave for hot and spicy Malaysian food. Speaking of Malaysian food, can you easily find any in France?
well, thr is some msian resto in paris n nice bt d places r 6 hours by train frm my place n it's expensive. so, i hv 2 cook myself. can't wait 2 go bac 2 msia this july. hehe
I'm back in my hometown and it rains everyday !!! Damn !!

P1 Wimax sucks... I paid 99 per month for the speed of a snail !
ah, d slow internet connection. i'm gonna 2 curse it whn i come.

eve88
23-05-2012, 12:23 PM
rain >>>> winter.

( I am soooooooo over going to the hospital every day. i wish. )

24-05-2012, 04:20 AM
rain >>>> winter.

( I am soooooooo over going to the hospital every day. i wish. )
it's raining here oso. damn, always hv 2 cycle under d rain.

day_dreamer
24-05-2012, 12:20 PM
i just jizzz in my pants. time to wear a skirt

sandwraith
25-05-2012, 10:37 PM
i usually dont mind rain but this morning the downpour was so heavy.. there were thunders and lightning going *crackboomboomcrack* At some point, the lightning thought that it would be funny to strike at a random utility pole causing the entire housing area to black out for four hours >_<

25-05-2012, 11:06 PM
the jpa supsense. too bad, v cn break recom's record this time.

any1 here?

25-05-2012, 11:25 PM
meeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

25-05-2012, 11:26 PM
finally, thr's 1. all the stress r buildin up in recom

sandwraith
26-05-2012, 12:01 AM
"A 53-YEAR-OLD man from Yunnan, China, has admitted to killing, skinning and making preserved meat out of over 20 teenagers, reported Kwong Wah Yit Poh.

The daily said the man even soaked the victims' eyeballs with rice wine and fed his three dogs with human flesh before selling the leftover as ostrich meat."

source: The Star

wow, he really hates us... ostrich meat, seriously?

26-05-2012, 12:10 AM
why did u suddenly start a topic about it?

sandwraith
26-05-2012, 12:18 AM
i was bored... but im fine now, i have found a movie to watch ^^

day_dreamer
26-05-2012, 01:24 PM
Anyone read XiaXue's blog recently ? Her revenge is pretty awesome.

For the first time I actually respected her !

eve88
26-05-2012, 04:44 PM
revenge against what? *goes look up her blog*

... now that, is what a call, a classy rant - if you want to sling mud, do it with style!

not that it wasnt justified, of course.

...Sooooo tempted to quote it in the political chauvinism thread lol. Derail ftw?

26-05-2012, 05:00 PM
Anyone read XiaXue's blog recently ? Her revenge is pretty awesome.

For the first time I actually respected her !

A good lesson for everyone. Do something with your digital profiling before you regret your entire life of what you did. Google your own name often :P

day_dreamer
26-05-2012, 11:16 PM
revenge against what? *goes look up her blog*

... now that, is what a call, a classy rant - if you want to sling mud, do it with style!

not that it wasnt justified, of course.

...Sooooo tempted to quote it in the political chauvinism thread lol. Derail ftw?

Actually you should really bring up this topic on the political chauvinism thread ! It really shows something about how easily we call a woman Bi*ch or Wh*re but what about men? The worse they can be called is a jerk or douche-bag.

27-05-2012, 04:13 AM
Actually you should really bring up this topic on the political chauvinism thread ! It really shows something about how easily we call a woman Bi*ch or Wh*re but what about men? The worse they can be called is a jerk or douche-bag.

Well, there's always asshole, dickhead, motherf*****, SOB, etc...

you get the gist of it. :P

day_dreamer
27-05-2012, 07:39 AM
Well, there's always asshole, dickhead, motherf*****, SOB, etc...

you get the gist of it. :P

Motherf***** sounds normal biologically. That's how you get babies, right ? LOL

27-05-2012, 07:47 AM
Wah, what's happening in HoS ah?!

day_dreamer
27-05-2012, 07:55 AM

anatomy class

27-05-2012, 12:40 PM
Motherf***** sounds normal biologically. That's how you get babies, right ? LOL

Errrr....not with you mother.... :amazed

spamming... :P

day_dreamer
27-05-2012, 12:55 PM
Errrr....not with you mother.... :amazed

spamming... :P

"future-mothers-to-be-Fu****"

27-05-2012, 03:50 PM
Oi!!!!!!!!

27-05-2012, 04:30 PM
Lolx, madness grow in this house

day_dreamer
28-05-2012, 09:35 AM
Lolx, madness grow in this house

House of Jizz. HAHAH !

gawughIGjK0

Watch this for fun folks. The video maker is a genius

ayjiahui
28-05-2012, 01:13 PM
um hi guys. at risk of sounding slightly pretentious, just throwing this out there before i start a new thread... but anyone want to parler française just for the heck of it [also my secret way of practicing using french in a non-academic setting]? would appreciate french grammar nazis.

28-05-2012, 01:35 PM
um hi guys. at risk of sounding slightly pretentious, just throwing this out there before i start a new thread... but anyone want to parler française just for the heck of it [also my secret way of practicing using french in a non-academic setting]? would appreciate french grammar nazis.

comment allez vous? :nuts

28-05-2012, 05:09 PM

It's parler français. U dun make it a female in this case.

Oui, je parle bien français. Mind I ask why french? :)

eve88
28-05-2012, 07:49 PM
ill pass on the french, unless you want me to use google translate to do it :D

ayjiahui
28-05-2012, 09:12 PM
It's parler français. U dun make it a female in this case.

Oui, je parle bien français. Mind I ask why french? :)

parce que j'étudie français maintenant. je voudrais pratiquer pendant l'été.

[also i don't get it. isn't the language always 'female'? so it's française when you are talking about the language?]

yayyayy.. ok i'll start a new thread for this. mwehehehe.

comment allez vous? :nuts

Bien, merci! Et vous? MDR!

28-05-2012, 10:35 PM
parce que j'étudie français maintenant. je voudrais pratiquer pendant l'été.

[also i don't get it. isn't the language always 'female'? so it's française when you are talking about the language?]

yayyayy.. ok i'll start a new thread for this. mwehehehe.

Bien, merci! Et vous? MDR!
C'est bien. Bon courage!!! :)
L'été, Je pourrai finalement rentrer chez moi.
Français means french as a language (female noun) n male french.
Française means female french. Tat's i said tat u no need 2 make it female by puttin d 'e' as french as a language is ody a female.

Vous- u use for if u r addressing more thn a person or giving tat person respect. U dun hv 2 giv Xon respect, hehe. So, u cn use "et toi?"

ayjiahui
28-05-2012, 10:38 PM
Française means female french. Tat's i said tat u no need 2 make it female by puttin d 'e' as french as a language is ody a female.

Vous- u use for if u r addressing more thn a person or giving tat person respect. U dun hv 2 giv Xon respect, hehe. So, u cn use "et toi?"

okk i'll start a thread. yayz!

lol re: Xon. but he began with vous so i've to continue it with vous anyway. yeaa... :)

28-05-2012, 10:40 PM
okk i'll start a thread. yayz!

lol re: Xon. but he began with vous so i've to continue it with vous anyway. yeaa... :)

Haha, tat's true. U should thx him for talkin 2 u with respect. Xon the "Gentleman" Hehe

day_dreamer
28-05-2012, 11:11 PM
Ich sprache Deutch, nicht Französisch

eve88
30-05-2012, 11:08 AM
Rant about the frequent derailments in the political chauvinism thread...

Can everyone just STOP FEEDING THE TROLL?!

30-05-2012, 08:58 PM
Rant about the frequent derailments in the political chauvinism thread...

Can everyone just STOP FEEDING THE TROLL?!
lolx. i ws hopin 2 c a catfight btwn ayjiahui and shuwenteo at thr. hehe

Looks like Political chauvinism in Malaysia (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=15328) is becoming d next house of spammers.

30-05-2012, 09:52 PM
Shuwen... I dunno what's in her mind whenever she posts now. She can just shove in pictures and videos which are so unrelated to the discussion as if they're valid arguments. She was really nice when she first came, spicing up ReCom during its dead season. Now, she seems like a very deluded person (at least in politics).

30-05-2012, 10:15 PM
somethin mite hv happened in her personal life until she need 2 let go her hatred by spammin d pic n videos at recom

eve88
31-05-2012, 05:29 AM
Epic Troll is epic.

adele123
03-06-2012, 11:44 AM
too lazy to open a new thread

Interested applicants please post / e-mail your resume stating current and expected salary and a recent passport-sized photograph (n.r.)

can someone help with the n.r. part? it means non-returnable or what?

day_dreamer
03-06-2012, 10:37 PM
too lazy to open a new thread

can someone help with the n.r. part? it means non-returnable or what?

N.R. = Non-returnable =)

adele123
03-06-2012, 11:39 PM
okay, just need someone to firm what i had in mind

04-06-2012, 02:09 AM

siva or adelyn, can you teach me french? :P haha. I was travelling the other day and it's mortifying to attempt to pronounce french words. We were trying to order medium-sized sandwiches and luckily I stood behind my friend who pronounced it the way it looked (moyen) and the guy repeated it properly and I was just able to mumble something that sounded (i hope) close to it when it came to my turn :laugh

Ich sprache Deutch, nicht Französisch

It's 'spreche' not sprache (sprache = language) and 'kein Französisch' I don't know why but you don't use 'nicht' in this case.
Ich spreche auch Deutsch. Wie geht es dir? :)

04-06-2012, 06:57 PM
siva or adelyn, can you teach me french? :P haha. I was travelling the other day and it's mortifying to attempt to pronounce french words. We were trying to order medium-sized sandwiches and luckily I stood behind my friend who pronounced it the way it looked (moyen) and the guy repeated it properly and I was just able to mumble something that sounded (i hope) close to it when it came to my turn :laugh

It's 'spreche' not sprache (sprache = language) and 'kein Französisch' I don't know why but you don't use 'nicht' in this case.
Ich spreche auch Deutsch. Wie geht es dir? :)
sure, whr did u go? Paris?

clarrie93
05-06-2012, 12:04 AM
*posting for the sake of posting*

Hi :D

05-06-2012, 02:05 AM
sure, whr did u go? Paris?

Brussels

Hi! Right back at you! :laugh

06-06-2012, 12:12 AM

hey urself, stranger. :)

Brussels

Hi! Right back at you! :laugh
Oic. wat r d words tat u think tat u'll usually whn u go travelling?

eve88
06-06-2012, 09:45 AM
where is the train station / airport / toilet / hotel?

hi clarrie!

07-06-2012, 03:52 AM
Brussels

Did you eat Brussels sprouts?

07-06-2012, 04:01 AM
Did you eat Brussels sprouts?

Ahahahaha! Good one. No they're famous for this mussel dish actually.

07-06-2012, 06:48 AM
I travelled to Europe about 12 years ago, and I did go to Brussels, though I had little impression of it and was more excited about going to the UK (travelling in countries where people don't speak much English was just too stressful for a 12-year-old; travelling to the UK made me felt at home for a bit). After my tour, I spent three weeks visiting my relatives at the southern part of the Netherlands and northern part of Belgium. So it was either Eindhoven in the Netherlands or Braschaat in Belgium. European scenery is just so beautiful.

day_dreamer
07-06-2012, 03:00 PM
Bros and Sis,

Do you consider the term "apunehneh" a racist one or simply a term filled with nostalgia of your childhood in Malaysia?

07-06-2012, 05:41 PM
Anyone fancy a game of chess?

♜♞♝♛♚♝♞♜
♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟

♙♙♙♙♙♙♙♙
♖♘♗♕♔♗♘♖

19-06-2012, 03:08 AM
^ bump. Hello, any1 thr?

*hearing my own voice echoed.

19-06-2012, 03:37 AM
No, nobody's here. I'm not here.

19-06-2012, 03:48 AM
wat r u doin online this late?

19-06-2012, 04:22 AM
Late? It's 3.22 PM at my side now. You call that late?

19-06-2012, 04:43 AM
Weee I'm up! Late.. okay it's early in the morning. :)

19-06-2012, 04:56 AM
Late? It's 3.22 PM at my side now. You call that late?
oops, i forgot tat u r no longer in msia. haha
Weee I'm up! Late.. okay it's early in the morning. :)
u r in uk rite? it's jz around midnite thr.

19-06-2012, 05:12 PM
oops, i forgot tat u r no longer in msia. haha

u r in uk rite? it's jz around midnite thr.

Nope, still in Malaysia. It was already 4am.. I guess, around that.

KenT13
19-06-2012, 08:20 PM
♜♞♝♛♚♝♞♜
♟♟♟♟♟♟♟♟

♙♙♙♙♙♙ ♙
♖♘♗♕♔♗♘♖
Your turn?

eve88
28-06-2012, 08:58 PM
talking about time... 1 a. m. Friday morning. Why am i still awake?

(pointless rant follows)

first week back from a 2 week break, cant get to sleep at my normal schoolnight time of about midnight. Adjusting... which is okay. But sleeping at 2 and waking at 745 for 4 nights in a row makes for miserable days.

Which are 830am to 5pm of class. (30 mins morning tea, 1 hr lunch). But lunchtimes running around doing random elective organizations stuff (yeah, left it for the LAST possible moment). ....... which would be fine BUT

Monday 830am to 11pm
Friday 830 am to 11pm.

Will. Need. Coffee. Am. Already. Going. Insane.

29-06-2012, 03:53 AM
I am freezing in Dunedin. :D

♜♞♝♛♚♝♞♜
♟♟♟♟ ♟♟♟

♙♙♙♙♙♙ ♙
♖♘♗♕♔♗♘♖

29-06-2012, 05:00 AM
Apparently the space doesn't work, which gave the impression to me that there were invalid moves involved above. Maybe going D3-D6 for example might help.

eve88
29-06-2012, 02:24 PM
@<hidden> : how long do you have in Dunedin? want to meet up over the weekend?

29-06-2012, 07:19 PM

Third day today. *shivers violently* :P

29-06-2012, 11:19 PM
Pakai jacket, mittens, snow-cap, etc. lah to keep yourself warm.

30-06-2012, 06:28 AM
Pakai jacket, mittens, snow-cap, etc. lah to keep yourself warm.

Yup, had all of those on. And it was still pretty cold at times. :laugh

And by the way, nice meeting you! Mini gathering in Otago! :nuts

eve88
30-06-2012, 08:05 AM
and it was actually sunny! lol. hehe yeah, nice meetin up :P

(we're not QUAINT. ugh.)

01-07-2012, 01:50 PM
and it was actually sunny! lol. hehe yeah, nice meetin up :P

(we're not QUAINT. ugh.)

From Google:

quaint/kwānt/
Adjective: Attractively unusual or old-fashioned

Seems to fit Dunedin pretty well. :P

Chelsea
03-07-2012, 05:21 PM
Just a random question.
For a student studying alevels,
a) Will they receive a testimonial from their school/college when they graduate?

b) Imagine that I am an Alevels student that frequently skip classes. The alevels exam is fully exam oriented. Well, I do well in my exams. Get straight A's. How would this affect my application for the universities overseas and locally? Lets just say probably somehow I can get a lecturer to give me a good reference letter. Will anyhow my non attendence affect me? Basically what is the consequences. Will it be shown in my testimonial or something like that?

Thanks anyways.

07-07-2012, 12:50 PM
Just a random question.
For a student studying alevels,
a) Will they receive a testimonial from their school/college when they graduate?

b) Imagine that I am an Alevels student that frequently skip classes. The alevels exam is fully exam oriented. Well, I do well in my exams. Get straight A's. How would this affect my application for the universities overseas and locally? Lets just say probably somehow I can get a lecturer to give me a good reference letter. Will anyhow my non attendence affect me? Basically what is the consequences. Will it be shown in my testimonial or something like that?

Thanks anyways.
Well, it's an advantage 2 receive a testimonial bt it depends on ur lecturers. They hv 2 decide on whether wan 2 giv u or nt.

dmahitler
09-07-2012, 10:26 PM
The following contains pseudo-philosophical emotional rants, but the end of the passage you will find that I am a fool --

Why is life so difficult? I've spent 21 years of my life pursuing greatness - I've studied hard, actively participated in extracurricular activities, indulged myself in various sports - thinking that all of these things will make me happy. After SPM, I won a scholarship, and after that I defied all odds by securing a place at an elite college in the USA. College life is absolutely amazing, it has far surpassed any prior expectations I have of America - school's good and my future career path seems awesome. I recognize the fact that I'm an extremely lucky person, and that a lot of people would want to be where I am now. I thought that by now, I'd be happy. But I'm not happy. Someone from the past still haunts me, and I miss that person very much. I just can't forget that person. I realize that this sounds incredibly stupid to you right now. A smart person will never let his/her emotions get in the way - right? My life is going great, why should I let one person ruin it? It doesn't make sense to me. Am I just a hopeless idiot?

10-07-2012, 05:51 AM
The following contains pseudo-philosophical emotional rants, but the end of the passage you will find that I am a fool --

Why is life so difficult? I've spent 21 years of my life pursuing greatness - I've studied hard, actively participated in extracurricular activities, indulged myself in various sports - thinking that all of these things will make me happy. After SPM, I won a scholarship, and after that I defied all odds by securing a place at an elite college in the USA. College life is absolutely amazing, it has far surpassed any prior expectations I have of America - school's good and my future career path seems awesome. I recognize the fact that I'm an extremely lucky person, and that a lot of people would want to be where I am now. I thought that by now, I'd be happy. But I'm not happy. Someone from the past still haunts me, and I miss that person very much. I just can't forget that person. I realize that this sounds incredibly stupid to you right now. A smart person will never let his/her emotions get in the way - right? My life is going great, why should I let one person ruin it? It doesn't make sense to me. Am I just a hopeless idiot?

We like to think that we are masters of our own emotions, but that is rarely true. Your emotions are a central part of your being, and it is extremely hard, if not impossible, to ignore them entirely.

It's alright to have emotions. Just be sure to balance it out with a good dose of common sense. Being smart has nothing to do with it; what matters is experience, and knowing how to rein in a restless heart when you have to. Following my heart has led to several mistakes in my earlier days, and while they are painful, these experiences have also taught me well, making me more aware and thus in control of matters of the heart.

Perhaps you'll forget about this someone when you meet another someone who sweeps you off your feet. But until then, just live your life. Hangout with friends. Do things that make you happy. Don't dwell on the past. Getting over someone is hard at first, but after a while, you'll realise that you're thinking less and less of that person, and soon, nothing at all. I went through that. Took me a good part of 5 months, but I got over it. So will you, so don't give up and call yourself hopeless just yet. Many times in the past, I have felt exactly the same way, but it passes.

What I can say is, you won't be the first person to do something stupid because of your heart. It happens, and you shouldn't beat yourself up over it. Just learn from the experience, and be stronger next time.

eve88
17-07-2012, 01:08 PM
DERAIL TIME!

Why would ANY junior ask me for advice at all?! I'm like the most average of average med students, ever. Gosh. *headdesk* Now I'm going to ruin their whooolleee life! *cue melodramatic music*

18-07-2012, 12:45 AM
I feel the same as you sometimes. Nay, scratch that, ALL THE TIME.

18-07-2012, 11:54 AM
SPAM SPAM SPAM!!! I miss the good old spamming people. :cry

18-07-2012, 01:15 PM

Awwwwww....we miss you too! Where are you right now, actually?

19-07-2012, 01:08 AM

U Spam - I Ban? :P :P :P

Glassylicious
25-07-2012, 01:12 PM
Hey everyone. See Hua, 4seasonspring and I will be meeting up in KLCC for a drink at 2PM this Sunday [29th]. You're welcome to drop by if you're in town!

eve88
26-07-2012, 05:40 AM
Sure - pay for my return flight tickets ktx

31-07-2012, 02:58 PM
Sure - pay for my return flight tickets ktx
NZ vry nearby. Jz swim bac loh. haha

ReCom is vry peaceful ody, nw tat evry1 is avoiding the troll.

01-08-2012, 12:35 PM
Awwwwww....we miss you too! Where are you right now, actually?

Haha I'm at home! Still in Seri Kembangan. In less than 2 weeks time, A-Levels result is coming out! :cry So yeah, I'm waiting to fly off! :amuse

01-08-2012, 01:44 PM
Hey, i thought tat u fly ody. Y didn't come for recom gathering?

01-08-2012, 05:58 PM
Haha I'm at home! Still in Seri Kembangan. In less than 2 weeks time, A-Levels result is coming out! :cry So yeah, I'm waiting to fly off! :amuse

Haha, congratulations to you! You're finally flying! :laugh

02-08-2012, 03:20 AM
Hey, i thought tat u fly ody. Y didn't come for recom gathering?

Oh you were there too? LOL! Nope not yet. I had something else on that day, so yeah. Sorry! :S

Haha, congratulations to you! You're finally flying! :laugh

Hahaha!!! Like... finally, eh? :P I'm still waiting for my result! Either London or Scotland now. :nod

02-08-2012, 03:45 AM
Hahaha!!! Like... finally, eh? :P I'm still waiting for my result! Either London or Scotland now. :nod

OMG Scotland would be so cool! Go there, so that I can visit you one day! :nuts

eve88
02-08-2012, 05:13 PM
gosh, can we stop feeding the troll? please? :P

02-08-2012, 05:16 PM

I've given up on providing valid arguments. For now I shall simply play with her.

eve88
02-08-2012, 05:19 PM
Meh, she's on my ignore list and staying there :D

marczeman
02-08-2012, 05:22 PM
Ahh but what would ReCom be without her? Especially in the off-season.

eve88
02-08-2012, 05:45 PM
I'd be glancing at the front page unchanging for days :D

02-08-2012, 06:41 PM
bt thn, recom will b borin. I hv been eating popcorn and watching hw crazy cn the arguments go. haha

02-08-2012, 06:43 PM
bt thn, recom will b borin. I hv been eating popcorn and watching hw crazy cn the arguments go. haha

please do. it's quite fun playing her role, especially against herself. :P

02-08-2012, 06:50 PM
please do. it's quite fun playing her role, especially against herself. :P
Enjoy, i wanna whn she'll learn 2 argue diplomatically. :)

marczeman
02-08-2012, 07:05 PM
We should start our own mock religion here on ReCom. Ten Commandments and everything.

02-08-2012, 11:18 PM
I wonder if she actually reads this thread and realises we've been talking about her.

03-08-2012, 01:38 AM
Who are you guys talking about? The 'her'? O.o

OMG Scotland would be so cool! Go there, so that I can visit you one day! :nuts

Oh no!!! :cry I shall meet my requirement to City University (Cass) and reside in London for the next 3 years! :laugh I will be really disappointed at myself if I failed to even get A*AA, with an A* in Maths.

03-08-2012, 04:26 AM
I wonder if she actually reads this thread and realises we've been talking about her.

I don't think she's an HOS member. However, she deserves to be made one, based on her ability to troll and spam. And quoting the Bible on why we shouldn't 'judge' her to be a troll? Priceless irony.

Who are you guys talking about? The 'her'? O.o

Go to the religion and LGBT thread. You'll see it all unfold before your eyes. :P

Oh no!!! :cry I shall meet my requirement to City University (Cass) and reside in London for the next 3 years! :laugh I will be really disappointed at myself if I failed to even get A*AA, with an A* in Maths.

LOL so scary la you! So I take that London is a lot better than Scotland. :amuse

03-08-2012, 12:19 PM
Go to the religion and LGBT thread. You'll see it all unfold before your eyes. :P

LOL so scary la you! So I take that London is a lot better than Scotland. :amuse

Ah I see! Wait, it's time for me to stalk! :P

Apparently! For Heriot-Watt University in Scotland, I would only need AAB to meet the requirement! Also, London is more vibrant compared to Scotland, although Scotland has really nice scenic views. :amuse

*EDIT: Oh, her. Mmm. Oh well I have no comment lol! :p*

marczeman
03-08-2012, 06:18 PM
Damnit, can't believe I got cremated.

03-08-2012, 07:22 PM
u r d godalmighty? :lol

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 07:45 PM

that was really funny la. hahaha.

but really, is this what is going to happen every time a thread gets out of hand? =__=

03-08-2012, 08:02 PM

but really, is this what is going to happen every time a thread gets out of hand? =__=
until the troll learn its lesson or whn v start ignorin d troll.

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 08:07 PM
until the troll learn its lesson or whn v start ignorin d troll.

ya but neither will happen.

Young
03-08-2012, 08:09 PM
Ignoring shuwen won't work at all because she ALWAYS hijacks threads or creates threads of her own.

marczeman
03-08-2012, 08:12 PM
u r d godalmighty? :lol

Yeah lol. But vseehua caught me within 10 minutes and buried my ass :laugh. At least the post is still there.

Yeah mods flex their muscles too much la. Lol, just when it gets exciting.

03-08-2012, 08:20 PM
Ignoring shuwen won't work at all because she ALWAYS hijacks threads or creates threads of her own.

let's just pretend she doesn't exist. whatever she does, we won't take notice at all. if she pops into a thread, we ignore her comments completely. if she starts a new thread, none of us comment on it. that should work.

03-08-2012, 08:25 PM
let's just pretend she doesn't exist. whatever she does, we won't take notice at all. if she pops into a thread, we ignore her comments completely. if she starts a new thread, none of us comment on it. that should work.
tat's d same thing tat i ws thinking. sooner or later, she will get bored if ppl dun talk 2 her.... hopefully

Young
03-08-2012, 08:29 PM
tat's d same thing tat i ws thinking. sooner or later, she will get bored if ppl dun talk 2 her.... hopefully

She NEVER gets bored. Ignoring her also doesn't solve her thread-spamming problem. Seriously, 474 threads started by a single person is ridiculous.

03-08-2012, 08:31 PM
speaking of the troll, i thought previously she learned her lesson during d bersih thread. Y is she still continuing her radical stand n nw with religion involved?

She NEVER gets bored. Ignoring her also doesn't solve her thread-spamming problem. Seriously, 474 threads started by a single person is ridiculous.
I hv noticed. Jz let her b as sooner or later, the admin will take d necessary actions.

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 08:32 PM
speaking of the troll, i thought previously she learned her lesson during d bersih thread. Y is she still continuing her radical stand n nw with religion involved?

I hv noticed. Jz let her b as sooner or later, the admin will take d necessary actions.

this has been going on for at least a year. if not now, then when?

marczeman
03-08-2012, 08:33 PM
Btw I've recently noticed that she's now also on Lowyat's Education Essentials forum under a different username. Didn't take me long to figure out that it was her lol. Here are the topics she's started:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Search&nav=au&CODE=show&searchid=ea06dadb0dffffbadfe92387b0f1afe9&search_in=topics&result_type=topics

EDIT: But she never gets much time on the front page over there because it's a much busier place. She's largely ignored.

Young
03-08-2012, 08:34 PM
It's going from entertaining to annoying and now to downright offensive. Might as well rename ReCom to ShuWenCom or ColbySawyerCom or JesusCom ( God forbid).

Btw I've recently noticed that she's now also on Lowyat's Education Essentials forum under a different username. Didn't take me long to figure out that it was her lol. Here are the topics she's started:

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?act=Search&nav=au&CODE=show&searchid=ea06dadb0dffffbadfe92387b0f1afe9&search_in=topics&result_type=topics

Interesting. She used to be called invinciblebunny.

marczeman
03-08-2012, 08:39 PM
At times she does seem like she has a genuine interest in helping people study in the US though.

Young
03-08-2012, 08:44 PM
At times she does seem like she has a genuine interest in helping people study in the US though.

It's not an interest anymore- it's a blinded obsession. She will encourage people to study in the US even if there are strong points AGAINST studying particular courses/institutions. Christianity, US education and DAP are all equally strong obsessions of hers. They can do no wrong in her eyes.

03-08-2012, 08:59 PM
this has been going on for at least a year. if not now, then when?
whn d time is rite.... i guess or whn d mods finally get fed up with her.
She will nvr learn frm wat u say. Talking 2 her will jz cause another thread 2 b locked.

with the christian thread closed, nw it's d end of d world thread. haizz

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 09:46 PM
could u be more empathetic? :cry

we were, in the beginning. and then we got annoyed.

Young
03-08-2012, 09:49 PM

We really tried. But it is extremely offensive to many people for you to go "you poor thing, you don't know better, you don't know God like I do, I will pray for your misguided soul." It's pretentious and completely uncalled for.

03-08-2012, 10:00 PM
I knw tat u mean well by exposing the problems in country's politics n religion problems bt i hv always told u tat u need 2 b more diplomatic.

Whn u disagree with other pp's post, u should nt taunt their post by calling it ridiculous. Instead of reply one's post with pic, try 2 express it in a clearer way. N if u can't find a way 2 reply, do some research b4 answering. Tat's d only way u will respect ppl's posts and ppl will respect u. Hv u noticed hw evry1 else r able to discuss/debate well among each other, tat's because they do it diplomatically.

If u could change, no 1 here will ever disrespect u.

did i hurt u? could u allow me to have a sense of dignity here? please?

i am human, too

who are u to judge me?
yes, u did hurt us whn u disrepected us.

V r tryin 2 help u. Whn some1 doin somethin wrong, ppl around u will try 2 help u. Whn i ws young, i ws vry mischievous, bt thanks ppl's critique on my behaviour, i changed and my life hv improved. Try 2 ponder about wat's happening 2 u and why.

03-08-2012, 10:05 PM
i am human, i will make mistakes. how could u say i am not respecting people? could u read my mind?
Yes, i knw tat u r a human. Tat's y, sooner or later, evry1 will forgive ur mistakes.
I dun read minds bt u do it by the manner to reply 2 the posts. Mayb u like to reply it in an aggressive manner bt in general, ppl tend 2 find it offensive.

were they? hahahaha
I dun quite understand by wat u mean. Could it clarify it better?

*i try 2 do my best 2 reply 2 d contents of ur post instead of simply posting. tat's y i asked u 2 clarify for me. U cn do it 2 if u dun understand wat the others were saying. They won't get angry for tat

marczeman
03-08-2012, 10:08 PM
Shuwenteo I think everyone's annoyed about your complete disregard for netiquette here on ReCom. When you choose to start a thread, you choose to start a discussion. You are obliged to engage.
Your messages are mostly harmless but your manner in presenting them is not in the spirit of this forum. Or any forum for that matter.

03-08-2012, 10:15 PM
they were pushing me to the wall and i hv no choice.
i notice tat. Bt did u realise b4 they started 2 do so, did u replied well 2 their posts? U hv been posting video n pics as replies n certains of these pics n videos r irrelevant.

The moment they starting pointin ur mistakes, u started 2 reply their posts with words which ws a gud start. Bt thn, u still didn't reply their posts n always divert d topics, tat caused them 2 feel angry. Thn, evry1 started 2 dispute causing threads to b closed.

If u tried better in replying diplomatically, i believed tat they will do d same. If they dun, I'll b thr 2 support u. :)

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 10:21 PM
they were pushing me to the wall and i hv no choice.

are you kidding me? if this is what you choose to believe then fine. but in our defense, we tried to engage you and then you hurled comments at us like "cybertrooper" whenever we disagreed with your points.

very frankly, it's a bit too late to try to appeal to our empathy. at least if you apologize, and actually bother to change then maybe we can start talking.

i mean, please la. time and time again, we've written lengthy posts in hope that it will appeal to your sense of logic. every time this post is written, you shoot it down and ignore it.

so yeah. we pushed you to the wall? please. every time you post, we try to engage you. so please don't try to twist the situation ok?

03-08-2012, 10:29 PM
thats my style. i am trying to learn. could u be more considerate in handling that?

by the way, i see many of u are no defferent than those opposition/bn supporters who wrote on fb wall. thats why i find comfort in dap.
Evry1 has a lvl of tolerance bt it has limits. V hv tolerated u for quite some time.

I hv said this many times b4. ReCom is a forum nt a social networking site. It's whr v hv intellectual discussions. V r trying 2 debate in a proper manner nt like the politicians in dewan rakyat.

PS: V r reaching soon the 3000th post. Who will get it? hehe

03-08-2012, 10:39 PM
but jesus doen't.

http://a8.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/c0.0.403.403/p403x403/205415_331680290255496_61183763_n.jpg
I'm nt a christian n I prefer nt to debate too much in religion. However, I presume tat most religion prefer us 2 blend well with the society.

Imagine whn u become a doc, hw will u tell d patients' family whn d patients died.
A) "Hey, ur son die ody. Dun forget 2 pay d hospital bills b4 taking d body"
B) "We tried our vry best 2 save him bt it ws too late. I'm sry for ur lost"

This situation tell u clearly tat v must control the manner we speak as v can offend other ppl if v r nt careful.

03-08-2012, 10:57 PM
feel free 2 hate me. cause we don't know each other. hahaha
I dun hate u. I'm concern about u evn though v hv nvr met in person. Tat's y I trying 2 explain 2 u y evry1 is angry with u n y I cn't support ur stand.

I'm nt sure tat u knw this or nt. Whn u first came into ReCom, u r well respected for ur posts in helpin ppl in scholarships. Bt whn u start spamming n treated ReCom as Facebook, ppl got angry.

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 11:05 PM
ayjiahui, did u really understand abt our situation when u wrote this? they are human too, they need our support!
http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/opinion/article/i-dont-support-the-opposition/

i am busy. i didn't hv time to reply to private mesgs.

if you think that i'm really against the opposition then i'm sorry to say that you have not read my article properly. PLEASE READ AGAIN.

"I support the best party, which happens to be the opposition at this particular time. And for that reason I would be more than happy to give them my support now."

and just to clarify, the only reason why i titled the article that way is because it is one of the few ways i know that it'll get attention. was it misleading? YES it was. but i did it intentionally.

03-08-2012, 11:08 PM
i am busy. i didn't hv time to reply to private mesgs.
huh? I hv never send a private message 2 u in my life. All I hv done is tryin 2 explain 2 u wat's happening n I presume my colleagues in ReCom agree with wat I'm saying. If u think wat v r sayin r a waste of ur time. Go ahead bt plz dun come bac, asking for empathy.

03-08-2012, 11:13 PM
Spam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03-08-2012, 11:13 PM
Spam!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

03-08-2012, 11:16 PM
i mean i received a large volume of messages in my inbox be4. i couldn't reply to mano of them. that mede me feel a bit guilty. :cry
It's ok. Now, u hv the opportunity 2 express ur point of view 2 evry1 in this open thread and u dun hv 2 wry much of mods coming in 2 intervene as this thread is meant 2 b spammed. :)

However, flamming posts r nt tolerated though.

ayjiahui
03-08-2012, 11:19 PM
i know u r supporting opposition. but can u feel our pain? we r desperate cause we r poor. we cant survive under bn regime.

i don't understand you...

Young
03-08-2012, 11:41 PM
u will never understand us. many people r desperate for change.
look for the comments below my video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h48Ce-qoIzo

*THIS IS ME BEING REASONABLE, SHUWEN. I DO NOT WANT TO ANTAGONIZE YOU. PLEASE DON'T POST PICTURES/VIDEOS/ONE-LINERS/JESUS MESSAGES.*

I think you misunderstood the point of ayjiahui's article. From what I understand, the article was meant to show how divided we are as far as politics is concerned. As mentioned, we have a very 'with us or against us' culture. Just look at the way you're responding- "you will never understand us. many people are desperate for change", etc.

It's as if any shred of disagreement with the opposition is unfathomable. Ayjiahui's point is that we are too obsessed with taking sides to the extent where we forget the whole point of politics- to vote the best policies and leaders.

She's not saying the opposition are bad- she's saying they're not perfect. She's saying it's perfectly acceptable to vote for the opposition and to want change, but also cautions us about being too entrenched in a single party/side because such a dichotomized electorate is detrimental to the nation as a whole.

We are not serving parties when we vote; we are serving the country. And I think we have become so obsessed with this whole Pakatan vs BN tirade that we have forgot this message.

04-08-2012, 06:21 AM
If you really want to engage in proper discussion, then please:

1) Don't patronize/condescend others. It projects a holier-than-thou attitude that no one likes.

2) Don't ignore other people's posts completely, or give short, unrelated replies. It's rude, especially when the posts were written for you. I have been doing exactly the same thing to you for the past couple of days, and I doubt you liked it much.

3) If you don't have time to reply, then don't. Take your time and do some research before replying. We can wait. We're not going to hound you because you have a busy life. We all study and work so we know what it's like.

4) Accept that not everyone is Christian, and not everyone wants to be. The way you're spreading Christianity only makes others want to stay away from it. You should lead by example, not suffocate us with biblical verses and beautiful pictures. Be a good Christian, and others will see the value in your religion.

5) If you disagree with someone, don't call their posts ridiculous. We are not MPs in Parliament; here we believe in courtesy and diplomacy. The way you reply only serves to annoy people more.

6) Lastly, accept that others may think differently from you. If you want us to respect you, then please, respect us as well.

eve88
04-08-2012, 07:49 AM
*munches popcorn at the troll-baiting*

Damn, i was hoping vseehua was feeding troll instead of closing the thread. how boring.

04-08-2012, 09:21 AM

Damn, i was hoping vseehua was feeding troll instead of closing the thread. how boring.

The rule of thumb is not to entertain. Entertaining someone who isn't going to engage with you properly in a discussion is just like digging your own grave. I learned it the hard way, and I thought the rest of us would have already learned it as well. We're not bound by any duty to correct perception or whatever.

If you find yourself in a situation where the other party isn't engaging you in a constructive discussion, just walk away.

04-08-2012, 09:28 AM

Argh, now you've made me crave popcorn....

04-08-2012, 11:36 AM

5 years ago I would have done just that. However, I realized sooner that it'll be like a chicken and duck trying to talk to each other; we will never understand each other, and it will only be a huge waste of time to continue.

marczeman
04-08-2012, 12:29 PM
5 years ago I would have done just that. However, I realized sooner that it'll be like a chicken and duck trying to talk to each other; we will never understand each other, and it will only be a huge waste of time to continue.

But it's not a conversation between two people. Shuwen may ignore anything and everything, but when Young or Dominic or whoever makes a salient, well-researched reply, I (spectator and minor participant to discussion) learn something too. I personally grow in my understanding of the topic. In that sense, keeping the thread open has its merits. So long as we're not doing anything illegal or making blatant personal attacks, I don't see why the thread can't remain. Just saying. :))

eve88
04-08-2012, 03:49 PM
Research? .... do people even Do that?

*blinks*

But yeah, all joking aside, thanks to the mods thats dealing with things like that :P Did i mention you guys are awesome?

marczeman
04-08-2012, 06:03 PM
Research? .... do people even Do that?

http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=398207&postcount=28

http://www.recom.org/forum/showpost.php?p=398354&postcount=74

People take the effort to make replies worth reading. And I like reading them lol.

i like you, marczeman. u hv indirectly spoken on behalf of me. :))

:huh Okay.

ayjiahui
04-08-2012, 06:34 PM

1) Don't outnumber someone by 3 or 4 *people*, or give *long*, *well-researched* replies. It's rude, and it projects a holier-than-thou attitude especially when all those posts were specifically targeting at someone. You're hounding someone but you never realized. If we do the same thing to you in another forum, I doubt you liked it much. If you respect someone, then don't.

2) Accept that not everyone is Atheist/Buddhist/whatsover, and not everyone wants to be, especially in this conservative society. The way you're spreading LGBT only makes others want to stay away from it. You should lead by example, not suffocate us with immoral threads. Be a good Atheist/Buddhist/whatsover and others will see the value in your religion.

3) If you disagree with someone, don't hound them with many replies. They are neither Lord God nor MPs in Parliament. The way you reply only serves to annoy *people* more.

6) Lastly, accept that others may not necessary be at the same level of knowledge that you have. If you want someone to respect you, then please, respect them as well.

Please, don't assume I didn't know what she said. :cry

1) Unfortunately shuwen, if you are going to make comments that are un-researched, derogatory and hurtful, you better expect backlash. Yes we are hounding you because you have made many unfounded comments and you know what? I honestly think you deserved every ounce of the backlash you've received. Because HEY, you wouldn't listen?

2) I can't believe you're using this argument. No one is preaching the world to be gay, yknow?

3) Like my answer in part 1), unfortunately, you kinda deserve it. I mean, use your brains la. We are not "hounding you". We are not trying to gang up on you. It just so happens that as individuals, the rest of us see eye to eye. We do not, cannot see ANY logic in the way you present things. Sorry la... you kinda deserve it.

6) If you aren't at "the same level of knowledge" as others, then please. Don't act like you know so much. You're just embarrassing yourself. Again, WE HAVE TRIED TO RESPECT YOU BUT YOU HAVE NEVER GIVEN US THAT KIND OF RESPECT. EVER.....

Well, from the way you say "but can u feel our pain? we r desperate cause we r poor. we cant survive under bn regime." it is clear that you understand nothing from my article. Was Young incorrect to make such an assumption? I think not. If you truly understood my article, you would understand that I realize the faults of BN, and want change as well.

ANother thing is don't feed someone with internet criticisms. :notrustI can come up with lots of links to attack your faith too.

Do you see your problem? You only pick and choose what you want to hear.

No one is attacking your faith. People are just pointing out what flawed with the bible. Learn the difference, O' Mighty Liberal Arts Student.

ayjiahui
04-08-2012, 06:46 PM
Do you really believe that personal attacks can help someone? Sorry la.

Well, normal people won't call it attacks. Normal people would call it pointing out the truth. And usually that helps normal people.

Don't know why that's not helping you though.

ayjiahui
04-08-2012, 06:52 PM
if thats what makes u sleep at night. bye bye :)

bye shuwen!!! don't worry, i don't think about my responses to you before i sleep.

Young
04-08-2012, 07:00 PM

1) Don't outnumber someone by 3 or 4 *people*, or give *long*, *well-researched* replies. It's rude, and it projects a holier-than-thou attitude especially when all those posts were specifically targeting at someone. You're hounding someone but you never realized. If we do the same thing to you in another forum, I doubt you liked it much. If you respect someone, then don't.

2) Accept that not everyone is Atheist/Buddhist/whatsover, and not everyone wants to be, especially in this conservative society. The way you're spreading LGBT only makes others want to stay away from it. You should lead by example, not suffocate us with immoral threads. Be a good Atheist/Buddhist/whatsover and others will see the value in your religion.

3) If you disagree with someone, don't hound them with many replies. They are neither Lord God nor MPs in Parliament. The way you reply only serves to annoy *people* more.

6) Lastly, accept that others may not necessary be at the same level of knowledge that you have. If you want someone to respect you, then please, respect them as well.

1. It's rude to give well-researched replies? What the heck? So people who know something and are bothered enough to point it out to you are 'holier-than-thou'? Would you rather me pull out a post from my @<hidden>$$ than thoroughly research something AND THEN condense it for you for ease of reading? I did it because I respect you enough to not make you go through individual links and articles on your own, but I guess I should really rethink my position on you now.

2. Nobody's forcing you to be an atheist/Buddhist/etc. I have NEVER told you to be an atheist. You, on the other hand, have tried multiple times to tell people to repent, and believe in Jesus and bla bla bla... who's the disrespectful one now? And what the heckkkkk, spreading LGBT? All the LGBT society want is acceptance. They're not trying to make you like girls. -.- You have a very skewed perception of the LGBT movement. And here you go with value judgements again- immoral threads. Ugh.

And is it wrong to assume that you did not get the message of ayjiahui's article? Because most people seem like you didn't.

04-08-2012, 07:08 PM
But it's not a conversation between two people. Shuwen may ignore anything and everything, but when Young or Dominic or whoever makes a salient, well-researched reply, I (spectator and minor participant to discussion) learn something too. I personally grow in my understanding of the topic. In that sense, keeping the thread open has its merits. So long as we're not doing anything illegal or making blatant personal attacks, I don't see why the thread can't remain. Just saying. :))

Here's something else that might be of interest. It helps you see things from a different perspective.

http://www.thegodarticle.com/7/post/2011/10/clobbering-biblical-gay-bashing.html

04-08-2012, 08:22 PM
Oh come on! GIve me a break! There is simply no way to say that some doctrines in the Bible are discriminatory. There is simply no way. Either one book is right, or neither are right.

There are many interpretations of the bible. Stop thinking that only yours is right. There are other christians/bishops/clerics who interpret the bible differently.

By the way, you missed my point yet again. I'm not gay because I enjoy sex with guys, I'm gay because I fall in love with men. And sex with animals isn't consensual, it's a one-sided thing, meant to pleasure only the person.

If you want to make rash, ridiculous comparisons here, let's compare Christianity to Nazism, shall we? They both have someone at the top who wants everyone to do what he says, and that those who don't will be killed/burn in hell. That 'someone' also rules that only a certain type of people can survive, others will die and go to hell. Both have killed so many Jews. Does that mean they're the same?

plawks
04-08-2012, 08:38 PM
See? I can make a worthless statement without any semblance of evidence or an example as well.

You don't say?

04-08-2012, 08:42 PM
Hahaha! Bible can be legend. It is a book written by men, several thousand years ago, and is barbaric and destructive towards humanity. See? I can make a worthless statement without any semblance of evidence or an example as well.

I understand that you're gay. So basically no matter what the facts are you will twist them or outright deny them to suit your magical beliefs.

You have proven over time that you can make worthless, evidence-less statements, so none of us doubt that.

And I understand that you're a bigot. No matter what the facts are you will twist them or outrightly deny them to suit your magical beliefs.