View Full Version : US Universities Application Tips

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

31-07-2004, 06:54 PM
Since the bulk of ATU Recomers join ReCom after the university application process is over. Hence, I feel that there is a need to have this one thread, to fully concentrate on US University Application Tips.

So, this is a way for past ATU students to share their university application tips to the juniors who apply. Although majority of those who get help would be ATU 11, others who apply to US, can get a good idea too.

Hope you guys can share~! And also of course, invite those juniors to join ReCom and get benefits from it~! To those ATU 10 who are about to fly, Bon Voyage... The Land of Opportunities are waiting for you guys~!

Moderator Action: Subject edited to allow this thread to be more general for everyone that applies to US universities. - chenchow

naoj
31-07-2004, 08:50 PM
-cries-

Why is it sooooooo hard??! applications are 20 pages longgg...sob.

Hahaaha..just kidding. Thanks for the thread chen chow, we need all the help we can get.

My first question : should i get my teachers/other recommenders to write separate letters or fill in the spaces left for them in the application forms (eg stanford)?

Another question : Lets say i apply for 3 unis under jpa and 3 on my own. Eg:
under jpa: 1. harvard, 2. NYU, 3. UCLA
by my self : 1. cal-berkeley, 2. chicago, 3. Boston U

Say i dont get harvard(highly likely i wont) and i get the rest. Will jpa allow me to go to cal-berkeley instead of NYU (which is my 2nd choice under jpa)? Or will they make me go to chicago, which is the next highest ranked?

Thankums...i have lots more to aks, but quite brain dead, will ask more soon.

31-07-2004, 09:05 PM
woah, noaj!!! has ossp shown u the list of approved universities that u can apply to? maybe the list has changed, that i don noe, but as far as i know, we were not allowed to apply to NYU, Boston Uni, UCLA, cal-berkeley...maybe u better check it out before deciding...

i'm going to u of chicago...hehe...so if u haf any questions juz ask me...

tree007
31-07-2004, 09:42 PM
JPA will allow u to go for the unis u applied urself if...

1) the uni is ranked higher than the rest under JPA according to the ranking JPA uses.. (which is.. outdated.;.)

2) if the uni u got is freakin prestigious.. say.. UC Berkeley.. home to William Hung.. hehe..

on contrary with wat gal flower said.. INTEC did allow 2 students to apply for UC Berkeley.. but fail lah... 'cos... i think no A-Level n maybe no athletic background? just assumptions...
ohya.. if u really~~~~ wanna apply to UC Berkeley... here's some tips...

1) apply under INTEC.. 'cos they'be done stunt before.. they've managed to squeeze students in UC b4.. as in. they bended the UC rule which requires their undergraduates to have A-Levels 1st..

2) errrmm... show off ur athletic ability? not really sure wat Berkeley wants lah.. 'cos if u got no A-Level.. errr.. u have to be like.. really special????

maybe can ask Berkeley seniors here lor...

anyway.. good luck to 'ya on the apps... work extra hard on the esasys yar.. teacher recommendation.. i think write on separate sheet better kut.. just wat i think....

all the best!

31-07-2004, 11:13 PM
Uhmm... who's helping u guys out in the application in the OSSP? Pn. Umi or En. Sharim? If it's Encik Sharim, i guess u guys got to be extra careful, pay attention to details, and find infos by urself.... that guy's lazy! And maybe he's not updated to the latest news... i may be wrong... but just for precautions......

01-08-2004, 01:00 AM
Although I have not been through the JPA process of application, here's some general tips to keep in mind.

1. Since you're sponsored, try to apply to more private colleges. In general, private colleges (since students pay a lot more) are better funded and in general have more resources. Some colleges like UC Berkeley are very famous public colleges, but keep in mind that universities gain fame for their research, not undergrad teaching.

2. Do thorough research on the internet on the colleges. Don't just really on some rankings that some website or JPA gives you. These days, google searching capabilities are amazing.

01-08-2004, 04:01 AM
should i get my teachers/other recommenders to write separate letters or fill in the spaces left for them in the application forms (eg stanford)?

Either way works... Some universities would have 1-2 forms that would require you to get some teachers to fill up as recommenders.
However, you can always get more recommendation letters that are written on separate letters. So, basically ensure that you have your best recommenders fill up the form, and other recommenders use separate pieces.

Quantity should not be the main concern, but the quality fo the recommendation. My personal advice would be to get someone that really know you very well. Recommendation letter is not a letter where you just copy from your curriculum vitae that you are this national champion, this state athlete etc... but it is something for you to showcase something that is not shown from your certificates... like how hard you have struggled into becoming state athlete, what kind of special contribution you have done to your school etc...

My main advice on application is put a lot of efforts on your application essays and recommendation letters.

Feel free to keep the questions coming... naoj, invite your friends here to ask questions too...

SpRInG
01-08-2004, 03:47 PM
well, i just feel that ATU 11 is just so lucky and blessed to have this channel for them to gain information from experienced people.

Unlike us in ATU 10, most of us are unguided by anybody, going out there, in the midst of wilderness, confused by Suriana the Madam, making our ways to our respective unis...

:?

gatecrasher
01-08-2004, 10:17 PM
VERY IMPORTANT:
Don't stamp "Certified True Copy" on copies of your translated certs! It may seem convenient to just chuck them in together with copies of the originals to undergo the same process, but our dear suriana :twisted: says it's not advisable because "it will undermine your credibility".
Don't be like me... committed that mistake and had to photocopy and certify a mountain of translations again! it hurts your wallet too!

PS: Encik sohami is quite helpful and friendly compared to suriana and sharim. one is unfriendly while the other is lazy.

tree007
01-08-2004, 10:52 PM
no more suriana dy lah..

yeah.. go for suhaimi.. he rox man...

if u got any further questions just post lor...

more than happy to help u guys out.. (cheh... got that senior "feng ge" already.. muahahahahahah...)

gatecrasher
01-08-2004, 10:57 PM
huh? what happened to suriana?
her maternity leave turn into retirement? :twisted:

SpRInG
01-08-2004, 11:04 PM
hahaha
we will never know....
but it's for the good of everyone

muahahahha

:lol: :lol: :lol:

tree007
01-08-2004, 11:05 PM
wah lau eh...
u memang blur blur ler...
where got ppl maternity sooo long wan..
she since febraury on leave till we graduate meh?
yalor.. retire dy..
ish..
i tot every1 knew this...
do correct me if im' wrong...

gatecrasher
01-08-2004, 11:11 PM
hahaha
we will never know....
but it's for the good of everyone

muahahahha

yes indeed!
let's raise a toast to her!
may she have a long and happy retirement! many thanks to her for contributing to the common good!

01-08-2004, 11:12 PM
Haha... i dunno if i'm happy or sad that she had left, but think of the poor juniors under En Sharim... kesian kesian...

oh yeah, how come got more seniors here than juniors? Juniors no questions?

02-08-2004, 05:03 AM
hallo...elansar, seniors on holiday wat..... the juniors still have to slog day and night with their assignments and tests and speeches....not everyone is willing to go to cybercafe everyday like u lar... wait till their summer semester ler...

02-08-2004, 07:34 AM
I hope that those ATU sembang can be in other ATU threads kay? Leave this thread for serious advice on university applications for the ATU 11 and other US-bound students. I am sure you don't want those ATU 11 students, who would be joining ReCom to go through hundreds of posts to find about application stuff...

To those ATU 10 or anyone else that know some ATU 11 people, please pass the words around to invite them here.

02-08-2004, 09:17 AM
i think the juniors havnt really discovered recom as yet...i mean, at least not most of them...even if they had, most wouldn't have started being active...juz my speculation coz i was juz like tad...joined recom so long ago but only started to be more active when much later more of atu10 joined recom...i even forgot my nickname so i had to search for it...haha!

juniors, en sohaimi is the best...he will do everything to help..but remember that u r juz as required n expected to be independent n sorta self-sufficient. don get too boogled up over the application forms...stay cool...n do the application forms together with friends...it makes things so much easier that way...any doubts juz clarify wif us seniors or go to ossp n question them all u want...haha...juz remember to be specific wif ur questions coz sometimes they r a bit blur...

oh yeah...always check back wif ossp whether the uni u want to apply is approved...BUT there ARE cases where other unis not on the 'list' r allowed...as long as they r very prestigious....

02-08-2004, 10:22 AM
Realize about this Common Application Form for the application of US universities for Fall 2005.

There are 255 universities, including Boston Uni, Brandeis, CMU, CWRU, Cornell, Dartmouth, Duke, George Washington U, Harvard, John Hopkins, NYU, Notre Dame, Princeton, RPI, Rice, RIT, Rochester, Tufts, Vanderbilts, Washington, Wellesley, Wesleyan, Yale etc...

So, in fact, this year, the application is much easier if you are applying for these universities. You can just write one essay that fits for many universities.

The essays are:-
1. Evaluate a significant experience, achievement, risk you have taken, or ethical dilemma you have faced and its impact on you.
2. Discuss some issue of personal, local, national, or international concern and its importance to you.
3. Indicate a person who has had a signifi cant infl uence on you, and describe that infl uence.
4. Describe a character in fi ction, an historical fi gure, or a creative work (as in art, music, science, etc.) that has had an infl uence
on you, and explain that infl uence.
5. A range of academic interests, personal perspectives, and life experiences adds much to the educational mix. Given your
personal background, describe an experience that illustrates what you would bring to the diversity in a college community,
or an encounter that demonstrated the importance of diversity to you.
6. Topic of your choice.

gatecrasher
02-08-2004, 08:10 PM
the common application has been around for quite some time. it was designed for students from disadvantaged backgrounds or isolated communities who have difficulty obtaining application forms from all of the colleges they apply to.
that's why i've heard it is not advisable to use the common app. if the college you're applying to has its own form, as this might give the impression that you're lazy and not very enthusiastic about the place. however, some colleges eg harvard use the common app. instead of their own forms in some parts of the app. that, of course, you have to use. but otherwise, avoid common app if you can (i haven't come across any of my coursemates using it, but i may well be wrong). to save effort, you can still recycle ur essays by editing them to suit different colleges.

02-08-2004, 08:51 PM
I think some universities, like Cornell is having the common application for the first time. In the past, Cornell is having their own application form, but from this year, they are just utilizing the Common Application~!

03-08-2004, 12:53 AM
rankings are somewhat important.but it is not e'thing you see.

well,if you think you will be happier at harvard and NYU,then go ahead,do apply there.but keep searching,perhaps there are other "heavens" in usa that might fit you the best.

i have been in usa for sometime now.getting used to the american education system,the so-called,the "non-spoonfeeding system".

during my stay so far,i have been keeping in-touch with my fellow classmates who went to top unis.

some changed their majors becoz they cannot handle the courseworks at their respective unis.

imagine this,you start with huge dreams and ended up with something you can only cope with.

sure,if he/she changed her major becoz he/she found new love,then it's fine..but changing major becoz he/she couldn't enroll into the EE department seems troublesome.

i personally know someone who has to see the
counselor becoz she was badly depressed in her uni.she was one of the top ranked student in her state and now at usa,she is severely depressed.that for me is scarry.when you have potentials,and you fail to blossom with that potentials,then it is somehow such a great waste.

a university is the cradle for adulthood.

SO PLS PLS PLS,PUT RANKING ASIDE,FORGET IVY LEAGUES FOR A WHILE,FORGET ALL THE TOP 10,TOP 15 UNIS,FIND A UNI WHERE YOU WILL HAVE FUN.ASK YOURSELF WHAT YOU WANT TO DO IN YOUR UNI?

do you want to be the next man of the year?
or do you want to be a good pianist,as well as a good biotechnologist?
do you want to be an excellent engineer who will fight for an egalitarian society?
or do you just wanna be you,just a happier you?

in m'sia,you can easily find ppl with whom you might share the same head with.in usa,the numbers are scarce.yeas,some ppl wont have trouble at all befriending others,but not all ppl are the same.

so ask these 4 questions to urself:

1) are you a liquid person? can you adapt easily,to whatever circumstances you are placed in?

2) are you fine with the "give and take" situation?

3) are you okay being in the middle of your graduating class?

4) do you make friends easily?or are you a taciturn mortal who only speaks when it worths the talk?

if your answers are NO for question no. 1 and no. 4,then go to a uni with decent number of malaysian or else go to a uni with someone you know you will have blast with.

i applied to the same unis with my friends,i never care about the rankings,i just wanna have fun and get a degree at the same time.so here i am having fun,living a life.having my dreams built.i am still the same major as was written on the JPA's 1st letter to me.so regardless how stupid i might sound,trust me,it really works.at least for me.

so PLS PLS PLS,APPLY TO A UNI WHERE YOU WILL GROW.APPLY TO A UNI WHERE YOU WILL BE A BETTER MAN,A BETTER SURVIVOR.APPLY TO A UNI WHERE YOU WILL HAVE FUN AMID HOMEWORKS AND MIDTERMS.APPLY TO A UNI WHERE YOU CAN AT LEAST DO SOMETHING GOOD TO THIS WORLD AND YADA YADA YADA.

the same goes with asking these questions:

sure Victoria Institution and Aminuddin Baki are exellent schools,but will i be happier there?will i grow there?results apart,will i wake up e'day and face the day with gusto or will i just dragged my body to the dingy hall and towards the classrooms where if i failed to be present,i will screw up my midterms?

then again,it is ur life.you know what is good for yourself.just dont end up being so depressed at usa.what u see in tv,is only 10% of usa.it can be gloomy too.winter can create blues if you know what i mean.so check urself and check the uni.

it's 4 years long and perhaps the most important 4 years in ur life,it might drive you to great highways and it can even perhaps drive you to a dead end.

my best wishes.

03-08-2004, 01:12 AM
A long and good piece of advice, phantom.....

IMHO, it's IMPORTANT to choose University which u are comfortable to live in for the next 4 years.... That's why besides the ranking, go and find out more about the university....

What are their research opportunities? How are the classes held? Are they by class discussion or by lectures? How big is the university? The social life of the uni? Do they party? Or do they just mug? Is the uni big? Is it in urban/suburb/rural area? What is the uni's girl:boy ratio (well, maybe the guys prefer a larger ratio?)? What can i learn or do in the university in my 4 years time? Can i carve my own niche in the university and the area around it?

This was what i did for choosing my univ....

1. If you made it into an IVY, go for it!
2. If u are accepted by 2 or more IVYs, then think the questions above comes in....
3. If got rejected by IVYs, meaning if u got stuck with non-IVY university, as long as they are not safety net, the ranking is not an important factor.... They are merely the same... Apply the questions above....

03-08-2004, 02:05 AM
Good sharing...

Ranking should not be the only thing seen, neither should just see whether so-and-so university is an ivy league, all those doesn't really matter...

What really matters is a BEST match between you and your university. Choose a university that fits well and one that can help you unleash your hidden and visible potential. It is a university that you really cherish you want to go and you will be enthusiastic to go to class every single day and make full use of your time in the university. Or else, you have made a wrong choice.

Among the considerations that you should put in:-
a) Do I prefer studying in huge university or smaller university.
- Each has its pros and cons. Studying in huge university would mean that there are more choices for you to make, since the university can afford to have more activities, more stuff for you, but what you have given up instead is individual attention. It is very easy to get drown into becoming one of the tons of the people there... and you are just a nobody. Does this matter to you? Everyone would look at this differently, and I guess we all are just basically pointing out some issues that you should think upon ...

--> I get to go out now... will continue my rambling on this issue later on...

Hopefully those ATU 1 to 10 students could share their experience and also ATU 11, this thread is for you guys, so please come and ask questions... Spread the words around~!

03-08-2004, 06:26 AM
when i applied to Brandeis, the application form that they ask me to download IS the common application form. so i guess i didn't have a choice, rite? so let the advice be: if u can get ur hands on the uni's original application form, use it. if u can't, go ahead and use the common application form. (i used Yale's original application form instead of the common application form)

ATU11 juniors, always bear in mind tad the uni u end up in is the place u'll have to earn a degree, where u'll be spendin ur next FOUR years in. so make a wise choice. don't let rankings fool you coz they r but only numbers. and numbers are not wat u use to gauge ur future happiness. remember tad.

gatecrasher
03-08-2004, 08:29 AM
and in all probability, by the time you receive news of the admission decisions, it won't matter so much to you that you'll be devastated not to get into your dream university. :)

tinny
03-08-2004, 10:39 AM
who knows a lot about stanford. thinking about stanford, uiuc and purdue for electrical. what do you seniors think? i'm atu11

03-08-2004, 11:31 AM
who knows a lot about stanford. thinking about stanford, uiuc and purdue for electrical. what do you seniors think? i'm atu11

I'm not an EE student, so can't advice u much on these unis.... But besides these unis, try applying to others like MIT, Cornell, CMU, and blah blah... I'm sure u dun want to get stuck with only 3 choices, yes? And from ATU10's experience, JPA initially refuse to send students to UIUC (even though their applications were approved by JPA itself and they got accepted into the uni) coz there are too many Malaysians there already.... But after some persuading sessions, most of them managed to go there...

good luck :wink:

NumpXP
03-08-2004, 11:40 AM
hi guys...
its amazing to find out this homepage...
but sure this forum is lack of atu11.maybe i should put an ads in every class to promote this website so more can take advantages from this discussion

nice advice phantom..!
but can u explain about the guy that change his EE major.is the major is too hard for him or the guys is hayut of the new surrounding???
i take EE too and i think cornell is my first choice so far. we have to send our choices before 20 august. i prefer a unis which i'll be happy to live in,not just that sit on top of some ranking. but it is hard to find out how is student life in certain unis just by exploring their website. I think the best way to find it out is to ask to the senior who has been there. is there anybody here would explain how is the student life in Cornell and Stanford :?:

03-08-2004, 10:40 PM
Welcome tinny and NumpXP to ReCom, hope that you guys can pass the news to more ATU 11 people... NumpXP, thanks for willing to help spread the words around ATU 11 people...

There are many past ATU people here... I am currently at Cornell doing ECE, ATU 5... So, any question on Cornell, feel free to ask me... Including me, 17 JPA scholars here... about half do ECE...

Tinny, on Stanford, there are a number of them here... am sure they would respond... The campus looks very grand and nice... I love the campus... and the weather... It is very competitive there, but nice environment and it is near to SF (biotech), Silicon Valley, Menlo Park etc... That's where all the incubators, VCs, biotech, start-ups are...

On EE or ECE, I would say that among the chioces would be MIT, Stanford, Cornell, Princeton, CMU, Illinois, Michigan, USC, Purdue... these are the ones that most Malaysians are in... I would say that different universities have their different uniqueness... I would let others elaborate on their universities...

I would elaborate on Cornell... NumpXP, since you are going to put Cornell as first choice, feel free to ask more questions to me here, or even email me... ask here would be good, so that others could benefit from it too...

On whether Cornell be a good match, you can evaluate yourself... I agree with you that looking on the website would not be the best option...

Cornell - the main advantages of it is that it is the largest ivy league, or even largest among those top universities... what does this means, it means it has the largest networking opportunities for you to grab... you need to take the initiatives, but anything is possible...it is up to you... the sky is the limits here ...

Diversity - at a campus of 3200 international students from 126 countries...what do you expect? There are 184 international students organizations... total of 1000 students organizations in any thing you can ever imagine... and of course you can start more... every week, there would be a number of cultural events, concerts, musical performances happening....and you can definitely have tons of chance to perform...

Choices of classes - you have your pick with the diversity of 4000 courses every semester... Compared to most universities, Cornell is very flexible in your course selection... you can choose to take the minimum 12 credit hours workload, or up to as much as you can take...current record is 60 credit hours... JPA is paying the same amount no matter how much you are taking...so, it is up to you...
(And I really mean you have the flexibility: like I am ECE major, I have taken courses like:- nanofabrication, decision analysis, negotiation, business law, managerial economics, managerial leadership, enterprise engineering, micro econ, macro econ, entrepreneurship, equestrian, riflery, archery, ballroom dancing, quality control, webpage design, social psychology, debate, international relations, financial and managerial accounting etc etc... I am taking French, wine tasting etc this coming semester too...)

So, you can really choose what you want to learn and really learn it... 4000 courses, 170 physical educations etc...

land of opportunities :- in fact, there are abundance of opportunities in every university, it is just whether you make full use of it or not... for instance, among the malaysians here, ivan (ATU 7) he has just gone to Portugal to represent Cornell in World Robocup Competition (robots to play soccer), Siew Im (ATU 7) has gone to Detroit for Hybrid Electric Vehicle competition, Cheryl (ATU7) and Kenny (Petronas) are the main coordinators (2 students selected out of 3200 internatinal students on campus) for the international students orientation for this Fall 2004 in coming..., and the list goes on and on... you just need to explore and get involved...you yourself will be the limitation of how much you can do...

Research - there are abundance of opportunities, with more than 50% of undergraduates are seriously indulging in research... It may not be as research-oriented as universities like Caltech, MIT, but if you are interested in research, getting a research grant at freshman/sophomore level is definitely possible~!

Business School - Although I won't say that Cornell Business school is good... it isn't that great, but I believe that for us in undergraduates, that is a good place to take courses and learn... I have taken a number of courses there since sophomore and I would say that it is enjoyable to be in class with half the students many years older than us... Explore...

People that you wish to meet :- ... This, there are tons of opportunities, although I believe that those universities in major cities and more strategic locations have more, like those in Boston, SF, New York, Philadelphia, but Cornell is not bad in these... In the past 3 years, I have gotten the chance to meet a number of such people, from Bill Gates to Bill Clinton, from Arun Gandhi (grandson of Gandhi) to Joseph Stiglitz (Former Senior VP of World Bank), from Sanford I Weill (former CEO of Citigroup ) to Kenneth I Chenault (CEO of American Express), from Scott Ritter (Former UN Chief Weapon Inspector) to Janet Reno (Former Attorney General of US), ... hundreds of such people... and you really get to talk to them... nice experience... and learn from them...

of course, not to forget the nice food (1st rank in dorm food in US - and you can really get lots of food you have back in Malaysia in dining hall, no kidding...even dim sum, rendang is available..), nice scenery, and of course very safe ( you don't even need to lock your door to test that it is almost crime free, or walk alone at 4am to assure yourself that it is very safe)...

So is Cornell a paradise? I would say it is up to you... As the campus is so big, individual attention may be less... like I can safely say that almost none of the undergraduate is so famous that every other undergraduates here know him/her; when you are organizing major events on campus, odds are there are other big events on the same day...; when you are just sitting in one of those seats among hundreds of students in the class...; after you try so hard, you may only get to the top 5% (or even top 50%) of the class and not the 1st rank...; etc etc etc... Is this what you care?

Stress in Cornell - this is an interesting one... Stress level is determined by you...since you decide how much courses to take each semester... and you only need very minimal to graduate, but most ... would want to make full use of the time, and take a lot more, get involved in a lot, and work a lot etc... so, measure yourself...

and it is ulu... i mean it... you have lots of waterfalls, lots of gorges, lots of garden, park...this is for nature lovers..golf course, orchards, plantations, ... .... this is a place for you to hang around and get indulged in studies and activities... of course there are some pubs, but not that many.... NYC, Toronto and Philadelphia is 4 hours away, Boston and Washington is 5 hours away, Niagara Falls (one of the seven wonders in the world) is 2.5 hours away, Syracuse and Binghamton 1 hour away etc etc... so, it is not that far...

guess, i will leave it at here... hope to hear from you guys... ATU 11, feel free to pop by questions... Without those questions, this thread is meaningless...

04-08-2004, 10:42 AM
numpXp wrote:

but can u explain about the guy that change his EE major.is the major is too hard for him or the guys is hayut of the new surrounding???
i take EE too and i think cornell is my first choice so far

well,certain unis have the cut-off cgpa to enroll into certain major.EE and mecha and CE being the most toughest to get into courses around.

for an example,certain uni only allocate 200 places for EE students.and e'fall,there might be around 300 to 600 something students applying.so only 200 students make the cut.so usually they used the cgpa as the yardstick.so you have to compete in order to achieve your dreams.sometimes even with cgpa like 3.5,you might be rejected and have to apply again next sem.

certain uni needs u to have 3.5 of cgpa.others 3.2,some might even as low as 2.0.so checked the uni 1st.

uni like umich,ann arbor is not really a safe school,i heard few engineering students there have to take actuarial science becoz they couldn't enroll into the engineering college.

so check the school 1st.

well,cornell sounds decent.

ask urself,do you have world-class achievement to get into?MIT for an example,really looked into world-class achivement,eg: used to represent the nation for this and that.

so study hard,get at least 1450 in SAT 1.and then try getting an average of 750 in 3 sat 2...maintain high cgpa at INTEC and you might attract any uni you want to enroll's attention.then again,having the grades doesnt mean the tickets to dream unis.

even with 1530 and straight 11 A1s in SPM and endless outdoor activities,Yale and Upenn might reject you.

so good luck.

04-08-2004, 12:01 PM
Have very good recommendation letters and application essays are very crucial, far more crucial than the SAT 1 & 2 grade, INTEC results etc...

For entrance into Cornell..

1350 would be a good minimum score to apply... 1400 would be better... But remember, SAT 1 score is just number, as Cornell Predsident put it...

SAT 2, I would say above 750 in math and physics would be crucial, if you are going for engineering...

TOEFL , it doesn't matter, as long as you meet the minimum requirement...

UiTM results, it is more meant to fulfill JPA requirement and for transfer credits.

Main thing, co-curricular activities have to be active and balanced, strong recommendation letters (those that can write really personal things about you) and strong application essays...

As phantom said, many 1400s, 1500s with tons of co-curricular activities, could be rejected... They look at each applicant on the overall, seeing whether you are a good match... you need to show your uniqueness to get accepted...

For Cornell, once can enter university, affliate into any major is pretty easy... ECE and CS are 2.5

naoj
04-08-2004, 04:00 PM
No no i dont wanna go to harvard, it was just an example..hahaha..i don't wanna go to harvard at all..not only am i underqualified (ie brain matter-wise)..i am also scared of the cold.

04-08-2004, 07:23 PM
No no i dont wanna go to harvard, it was just an example..hahaha..i don't wanna go to harvard at all..not only am i underqualified (ie brain matter-wise)..i am also scared of the cold.

I don't think the cold should be a big consideration... Seriously unless you have some sickness like asthma and pneumonia, the coldness is fine. You will adapt to it soon enough...

14-08-2004, 01:31 AM
Since ReCom is back, and I believe those ATU 11 students are currently preparing for applications, I am bringing this thread back to the front page again.

Hopefully more of those students could come forward and ask questions.

14-08-2004, 11:13 AM
www.essayedge.com

good reference on how to write application essays. check out the admissions essay 101
WARNING: just use it for reference, copycat essays are not favored by admission officers. Moreover, your essay may have resemblance with >100 essays from other applicants ..... it won't stand out........... what is most important is that you write something which truly reflects your identity, your personality, your passion......... something that makes you unique.....

tree007
15-08-2004, 12:10 AM
for those who are applying to EE.. dun get too carried away by applying to those super top unis... say.. Stanford, MIT... n put placing those REAL safety nets as safety nets.... please.. please... since EE got a WIDE range of unis to choose from, please do remember to apply to those errr.. "in between" unis... say.. CMU (dun mean to degrade CMU, but CMU like.. accept more studnets lah.. but for computer science, whoa.. super tough) n .... Northwestern? (sorry if i degraded any unis k? )....

UIUC n Michigan, to me, belong to that category too.. but sicne ATU10, i dun think any engineering student can apply there dy.. 'cos they're like.. super mega big malaysian kampung dy.. so now the're reserved for actuarial science....

so when placing ur uni choice, dun forget the "in-betweens"..
e.g.:
1) MIT
2) CMU
3) CWRU

just an example lah...

so dun go like apply....
1) MIT
2) Stanford
3) CWRU...

whoa.... just in case.. 'ya noe.. that year gets real competitive~~~...

tuinkle
15-08-2004, 04:15 AM
Great advice, tree007 :)

I've read in some "preparing-for-college-sort-of-magazine" that on your list of schools to apply to, you need some "reaching" schools (those that you prolly have less than 35% or so chance of gaining admissions, but that you really want to attend. Because who knows, they might see something very special in you), as well as the "standard" unis (those that you think you've got a pretty good chance of being admitted, but are competetive as well) and "safety-nets" (~80-99% Because who knows, those "reaching" and "standard" unis in your list, as tree07 said, might have a particularly competetive year)

I might have gotten the percentages wrong as I read it a good few years ago, but I hope you get the idea that they were trying to convey

15-08-2004, 08:41 AM
Fully agree with tree007. That's something to consider. Universities in the middle range, like what tree007 has said would help you get to the universities, as best as you could, while not jeopardizing your opportunities.

While those top unis (MIT, Harvard, Princeton, Yale, Stanford, Penn,...), these universities typically accept 1-3 Malaysians per year, hence the competitiveness is very strong.

Hence, I would strongly encourage the students to apply to these pretty competitive universities, yet not as difficult to get in (Cornell, CMU, Northwestern, Chicago, John Hopkins, Duke, Berkeley, ...) where there could be between 5-10 Malaysians getting in. This year, there are 9 Malaysians that are enrolling in Cornell as freshman. So, the chances are higher in that sense, while it is still pretty competitive.

I hope that my elaboration here won't heard anyone. I am in no intention to degrade any university. I apologize if I hurt anyone's feelings... The list of universities are just some of the universities that cross my mind and it is my personal observations.

naoj
15-08-2004, 09:50 AM
Yeah i understand what you all mean. If u apply for 2 extremely competitive unis and 1 safety, and you're good but don't get into your top two choices, it would be such a waste if you have to go to a safety right? I have some friends who are doing this mistake applying to like Harvard, UPenn, and UIUC or MIT, Stanford and RIT. But then again they have really high SAT scores, consistently above 1500 every Practice Test.

We should apply for the crazy competitive ones outside on our own right? And just stick to the "1 competitive, 1 quite competitive and 1 safety under JPA.

15-08-2004, 10:27 AM
naoj, guess you should have read many times before. SAT 1 results, in particular, is not that important in applying for those top universities.

It is just one of those many considerations that those universities put into evaluating the candidates. Getting 1500+ SAT 1 doesn't mean anything, unless the students have overall strong application - application essays, interview performance, recommendation letters, co-curricular activities, academic performance (SAT1, SAT2, high school results, current results, TOEFL) etc ... Hence, having a good SAT 1, but without any of the rest would mean nothing, especially in those very competitive universities.

20-08-2004, 01:28 PM
precisely...do u guys think that your seniors got into the prestigious unis base on the SAT scores alone? aww....come on! There are even those who got good SAT scores but got rejected....

gatecrasher
21-08-2004, 12:01 AM
yah yah...
your seniors got into the prestigious unis base on the SAT scores alone?
if only this were true... :wink:
kuching (assuming that's where you are) got renamed chicago worr... :twisted:
seriously, you're not there are you?

gatecrasher
21-08-2004, 12:19 AM
1st rank in dorm food in US
wah there's even a ranking for dorm food!! :D :D
where did you find it?

21-08-2004, 05:16 PM
yah yah...
your seniors got into the prestigious unis base on the SAT scores alone?
if only this were true... :wink:
kuching (assuming that's where you are) got renamed chicago worr... :twisted:
seriously, you're not there are you?

of coz the seniors didnt enter the prestigious unis base on the SAT scores alone. If it were to be based on SAT scores only, we all may not be studying where we are studying. Anyways, there are more important things than being in a prestigious uni.

i'm from Kuching...going to Chicago in sept...so i tot i'll juz change my location first la....wad la u...

gatecrasher
22-08-2004, 11:36 AM
of coz the seniors didnt enter the prestigious unis base on the SAT scores alone.
you don't seem to get what i'm saying. go figure.

Anyways, there are more important things than being in a prestigious uni.
ditto my above comment. just to set the record straight, i couldn't be happier with where i'm going. :D

lonewolfhan
22-08-2004, 11:59 AM
Hmm... i really have to reaffirm that SAT score is really really not so important...

honestly, i din believe that too when the seniors told us that... but now i know it is really true... i understand that most of u still do not believe in this... but please please dun be discouraged juz bcoz u think that ur score is not good enough...

DO apply to those unis which u THINK need High SAT score... coz the score is really not the most important criterion for the uni to decide who get in... u will regret if u juz give up b4 u try ! u never know what is going to happen ! =)

Good Luck guys.. hope to see u guys soon... (although it is one year away from now.. but im really excited to know that u guys are in the application process now.. ) =P

22-08-2004, 12:05 PM
Just a reminder here: I fully agree that SAT scores are not the sole determinant but this is not a reason for you to throw away your SAT books. I mean, you still need to study for SAT and remember that the higher your scores are, the better are your chances(by a small percentage only, if your score range is only in the 25th percentile)

22-08-2004, 08:48 PM
To those ATU 11 students, please feel free to pop by any question here...

23-08-2004, 03:37 AM
Guys, remember, apply to whatever universities that you think you will enjoy staying there, not which universities that most seniors go (jus because u want to follow them)...

and oh yeah, due to the unnegligible size of Malaysian population in Wisconsin, UIUC, and Michigan Ann Arbor, JPA might have some policy like sending less students to these universities (unless u are an actuarial science student, u might end up in mich ann arbor) unless u appeal to JPA...

23-08-2004, 08:38 AM
This year, perhaps some of the actuary science major should try to apply to Upenn to study Mathematics or something other than actuary. After admitted, maybe you can try to change major to actuary(changing major is not allowed but maybe in this case, jpa might approve it since till now, there is only one person who got it to Upenn to study actuary). FYI,there is only one actuary professor in Upenn and hence the number of students admitted are very limited.

25-08-2004, 08:22 AM
Here's the latest ranking from USnews, but remember not to read too much into it. It is just an overall ranking and not departmental ranking. For instance, if you are planning to major in Computer Science, the first rank university in that is Carnegie Mellon.

http://www.usnews.com/usnews/edu/college/rankings/brief/natudoc/tier1/t1natudoc_brief.php

tinny
27-08-2004, 11:56 AM
what are the factors that determine what universities you will enjoy best? How are we supposed to know what are the most suited universities for our liking? Obviously, there's not much info from the respective universites' websites. They're just praising their university. What we need is a personal comparison of universities.

are we allowed to transfer to another university after, perhaps, our first year?

In my statement to JPA, I declared my major to be electrical eng' but some people wrote electrical & electronic eng'. Do we need to specifically define our area of interest like that? Is there any difference? I thought it would be better to just say electrical eng' and later on I could choose what i am interested in. And I notice that only for electronics were there people who would specify it. Is electronics under a different school from electrical? For mechanical eng', they did not say they want to do automotive or whatever. They just mention mechanical right? I asked En. Shahrim, but he just blurted out a few blurry sentences that i could not understand.

27-08-2004, 08:49 PM
what are the factors that determine what universities you will enjoy best? How are we supposed to know what are the most suited universities for our liking? Obviously, there's not much info from the respective universites' websites. They're just praising their university. What we need is a personal comparison of universities..

you can check out the princeton review or US news ranking. the student/faculty ratio, alumny funding, percentage of admission is given. or you can ask the seniors in the particular uni
http://www.princetonreview.com/

are we allowed to transfer to another university after, perhaps, our first year?
lots of paper work and recommendation letters needed. and jpa will probably allow if you are accepted by a "higher" ranking uni...if not, i do not think it is possible.

as for the third question, i would like to know the answer myself :wink:

28-08-2004, 12:47 AM
what are the factors that determine what universities you will enjoy best? How are we supposed to know what are the most suited universities for our liking? Obviously, there's not much info from the respective universites' websites. They're just praising their university. What we need is a personal comparison of universities.

tinny, Welcome to ReCom~! And, feel free to ask any question that you have. On what are the factors that determine which uni you would enjoy best, I would say that it depends on what you care the most. For some, it would be the rigorous academic; for some, it would be the prestigiousness of the university/program; for some, it would be the diverseness of the courses/people in the university/ some choose the universities based on the activities that they are going to join/ some based on research/ teaching stuff/ alumni / location/ weather/ etc etc...

The list would be a never-ending one, and it would really depend on each individual, on what is more important to you. For me, when I choose Cornell, I based it upon the diversity of the university (4000 courses to be chosen from, students from 126 countries, 170 physical education choices, 1000 students organizations/clubs/societies etc), university overall prestige, availability of Business school courses for me to take while being undergraduate. This list will be different from person to person, so choose what you really care.

Yee Lyn described a number of ways of finding out about the universities, so I won't repeat them. Just would like to stress that knowing the seniors in the universities would give you a good idea. Utilize ReCom resources. Ask your other friends to utilize the resources here too~!

Yee Lyn answers it all. Try your best to enter the most suitable university that you hope to enter. If you really wants a transfer, it will be possible, but tedious.

In my statement to JPA, I declared my major to be electrical eng' but some people wrote electrical & electronic eng'. Do we need to specifically define our area of interest like that? Is there any difference? I thought it would be better to just say electrical eng' and later on I could choose what i am interested in. And I notice that only for electronics were there people who would specify it. Is electronics under a different school from electrical? For mechanical eng', they did not say they want to do automotive or whatever. They just mention mechanical right? I asked En. Shahrim, but he just blurted out a few blurry sentences that i could not understand.

You don't need to specify your area of interest now. Most universities, like Cornell, encourage students to take broad-based, so like for me, I am final-year student and I don't have any area of interest. Majority of Cornell students won't have area of interest. So, whether you declare an area of interest, would depend on you. Generally if you choose any specific area of interest, it would be in your 2nd or 3rd year in university.

Whether electronics would be under a different school from electrical, I believe not. This is university specific, but as far as I know, I haven't known any university has their electronics interest outside of electrical.

For declaration to JPA, basically it is more for formality. Declare as diverse as you can, like electrical, mechanical etc... You can change your major in US, like electrical to chemical etc... but that would need quite some paperwork and recommendation letters...

Hope that helps...feel free to pop by any question.

SpRInG
29-08-2004, 02:29 AM
UIUC is good wat.... how come nobody mention UIUC wan? this is so insulting

29-08-2004, 07:31 AM
UIUC is good wat.... how come nobody mention UIUC wan? this is so insulting
So, spring , are you encouraging more people to go UIUC? You should mention what you have to go through first before JPA allowed you to go there. BY the way, is JPA still restricting the universities that ATU 11 can apply to?

SpRInG
30-08-2004, 08:31 AM
yea, i'm still encouraging ppl to come.... koz it's a nice place.... =)

especially engineering students... better than cornell =)

31-08-2004, 08:57 AM
For those that want to look at university ranking, this is yet another alternative. Do not merely take all these ranking by the rank itself. This is just one of the many things that you should consider and do look into the details too.

This ranking is on academic ranking, i.e. about Nobel Prize Winners, Field Winners, citations in journals etc.

http://ed.sjtu.edu.cn/rank/2004/top500list.htm

tinny
01-09-2004, 02:36 PM
I have a problem with the dossier. My former school does not keep a record of exam marks. So should I just fake it. will they be able to detect it? also, can we just stamp and sign that ourselves - copying principal's signature?

KobeBryant
01-09-2004, 02:51 PM

can u tell me about actuarial science at UIUC ?
or anyone studying actuarial science in UIUC or Wisconsin ??

and actuarial seniors(other than ATU 10 , coz most of them go to michigan) , where do u all go ?

tinny
01-09-2004, 03:01 PM
can the UIUC guys describe more about how 'great' it is?

01-09-2004, 04:51 PM
I have a problem with the dossier. My former school does not keep a record of exam marks. So should I just fake it. will they be able to detect it? also, can we just stamp and sign that ourselves - copying principal's signature?

:?: :!: oh dear.... do they have a record of your exam grades (e.g. A, B,C,D,E)?any record at all? if not, i suppose you have to "fake" it. :? :? remember to check your SPM results and SPM trials results so that the marks are consistent with those results. Of course the university *rarely* track down your marks but it will be difficult to get approval from your principal.( try to explain your problem)

oh, and i do not think it will be advisable to stamp and sign it yourself. I mean, why do that if you can go through the proper channels? eheh :P sorry i have tht little thingy called conscience..... but its totally up to u.

oh...but the morally correct way is to write a letter ( with good reasons) followed with testimonies from your principal and teachers to prove that your school does not keep record of exam marks. haha :D do that at your own risk

02-09-2004, 12:54 AM

I would say that what you could do would be to find out your record book. Your school don't have a record, but you should have a record right? If yes, that solves the problems. Type it out and get your principal to certify.

If not, mention that your school don't keep a record, and write justification on why you lose yours,..beware, this may sound lame.

On whether faking it, I would say you should not do that There is no point in faking the results for the sake of submission. Copying principal's signature is definitely a big no-no. If you ever get caught by the univeristy for either of the offense above, you will be sacked from the university.

Cornell dealed with a student that did exactly like what you plan to do, faking high school results. That student was about to graduate and he applied for graduate school. The university counter-checked the information he gave for undergraduate and graduate school, and found that it was inconsistent. He was on the last semester, but he was sacked from the university. Wasted hundreds of thousands and leave bad name for himself. He didn't get his degree.

Although the chances of getting caught is very low, no point taking this risk.

tinny
02-09-2004, 01:16 PM
my school does not give out record books. it is typical of boarding schools. they just keep a record in the database and print them out and stick it on some wall so everyone can see. quite embarassing if you get bad grades.
what if I just submit the form 5 marks, trial, spm,and pmr marks. would that be ok? anyway form1 marks are totally irrelevant after 6 years, i reckon.

tinny
02-09-2004, 01:20 PM
I can't be bothered going to my old school(boarding school) over and over again. It's too far away. far from intec, and far from my house.

02-09-2004, 01:32 PM
for universities in the states, they emphasize on high school grades...yes, from form 1 to form watever tad u completed. it shows ur consistency in ur work n even if u had did badly in the past, ur high school records might show how much u haf improved from the poor results etc...this r all little tell-it-alls...

like it or not, u haf to go back to ur school n settle ur stuff for ur dossiers! it's already sept..isn't it time soon to hand in ur dossiers!? think of us last time from sabah n sarawak...we had even more trouble trying to settle our dossiers...if u cant keep going there often, then settle everything in a few trips...

don ever try faking it...juz ask the school to certify...all tad faking signatures n stuff can get u into more trouble than making a few trips to ur school...

02-09-2004, 01:34 PM

can u tell me about actuarial science at UIUC ?
or anyone studying actuarial science in UIUC or Wisconsin ??

and actuarial seniors(other than ATU 10 , coz most of them go to michigan) , where do u all go ?

try UPenn...it's worth a shot...
i think the rest went to UIUC or Purdue...

02-09-2004, 08:46 PM
I can't be bothered going to my old school(boarding school) over and over again. It's too far away. far from intec, and far from my house.

:idea: :idea: boarding schools!!! oh why didn't you say so! most of my friends from boarding schools get their academic transcripts straight from their boarding schools by informing the school office. You get the official academic transcript complete with all the school logo and principal signature....!! as you said...they probably have all your grades in their database!

02-09-2004, 11:39 PM

In which aspect? Hehe, please elaborate ,especially about how you manage to get to go to UIUC. Besides, nice is a subjective word and please don't quote my words at circles99.

tree007
03-09-2004, 09:41 AM
eh.. atu11 peeps!! come to CMU for engineering man.. very cool wan.... this morning just experienced sth that most other top skools wun offer.....

a blackout... :P

dunno whether is it pittsburgh or it's localized.. haha!

03-09-2004, 09:44 PM
eh.. atu11 peeps!! come to CMU for engineering man.. very cool wan.... this morning just experienced sth that most other top skools wun offer.....

a blackout... :P

dunno whether is it pittsburgh or it's localized.. haha!
Haha, in Cornell, I think an equivalent thing will be that of the crashing of the server on the day when add/drop classes begin. :D Can't really blame them anyway, I think except if it's a supercomputer, it isn't quite possible to handle so many commands at one time.

15-09-2004, 04:14 AM
Copied from another redundant thread.

- Is there any advantages in using the specialised application form over the common form when appliying to the universities?

- May I know, in general, how to get the application form? Do I need to apply through mail or will e-mail do?

- How long does it take for them to post me the application form?There is less than 3 months to the dateline of the appplication, is it still possible for me to get them?

- I'm planning to apply to these universities, the first 4 through INTEC, the rest by myself. Please state which Unis require the applicants to apply using the Specialised application form:

Through INTEC - MIT, Cornell, Wisconsin, Purdue.

By Myself - Stanford.

Thank you seniors. :D :lol: :lol:

i think there's another forum dedicated to tis: us universities application tips for atu11. so i think u better head there the next time.

but i shall juz answer ur questions k.
1. there are no advantages watsoever. it's guaranteed by the universities anyway. for some universities, the common application IS the only form to use. but if u can get ur hands on the university's application, y use the common application? to save trouble? i used the common application for brandeis coz tads all they haf but i used yale's original application...

2. my goodness! it's already september u know. i requested for the forms so much earlier. it takes them quite long to send the application to malaysia. u can request for the applications through the universities' website. if not, u can always fill in your application electronically. it's not email though. make sure there's nothing wrong before u submit it electronically. my advice is to request for the forms, but try to see the forms electronically to see how it's like. it's a matter of preference actually. i prefer to fill my forms by hand.

3. most of us (all of us maybe) use express delivery services like dhl, ups etc...it takes at max 5 working days but it costs a bomb...around rm70 for dhl...if u worry u might not get the forms in time, then use the electronic form. save u the sendin cost too.

4. first 4 thru INTEC? tad means u r one of those who got an extra uni izzit? find out urself which unis haf the common application. wad's the internet for? on the common application form is indicated which unis use the forms.

so which junior r u?

check it out here...there are 255 schools: www.commonapp.org

15-09-2004, 04:19 AM
As galflower said, there is no advantage of using the specialized form. Basically just use the form that is available in the university admission website.

Most universities are moving towards electronic submission. Hence, it would be better if you submit electronically. Not via email, but there would be link from the Uni admission website for you to submit your application.

Some unis put the form in PDF format, so you can just print them too. If you really want to get a hold of the form, click online for the uni to send you the form ASAP.

Go to the university admission website, and they will tell you which form should be used.

Feel free to post questions here at ReCom.org . Please help to spread the words to other of your ATU 11 friends to utilize ReCom.org to post questions. All questions, guaranteed reply within 6 hours.

tree007
15-09-2004, 08:11 AM
hey wild_card_my...

based on ur uni choices.... i suppose you're in engineering? n i suppose INTEC gave cornell as your 4th uni? if that is true, then most likely u're in E&E / ECE rite? if that is so, then~~..... i just got a suggestion..... if u got the extra cash... (i think it's like.. extra USD40-50? ) ... go apply to Northwestern or CMU on ur own.. 'cos frankly speaking... cornell, MIT and stanford r tough.... n northwestern n CMU r better than wisconsin (i think)... just in case lah....

just my thoughts....

n regarding the app, go online n request one.. whether or not it sampai to u in time is another question... but while waiting, go online n print out the form n start filling! hehe... hopefully u'll get the app the uni sent.. 'cos.. it's freakin cool! n nice! sa more got the catalog n plenty of uni info/pics.. wah.. chun chun... hehe.. good luck!!!!

n.. congrats on gettin a 4th uni~~!!! haha!

15-09-2004, 08:17 AM
n northwestern n CMU r better than wisconsin (i think)... just in case lah....

yes...

15-09-2004, 10:32 AM
go apply to Northwestern or CMU on ur own.. 'cos frankly speaking... cornell, MIT and stanford r tough.... n northwestern n CMU r better than wisconsin (i think)... just in case lah....
Yeah, I agree with tree. Aim for the best, but be practical and realistic. And FYI, Cornell is not as hard as MIT or Stanford. Besides, if you are not confident with the interview with MIT alumni, then don't attend it. Many may not agree with me but if you think your SAT scores(>1450, 800 for math2c and physics in SAT2), your academic result,extracurricular activities(something like representing the country or state and are leaders of several societies), recommendation letters and admission essays are already strong enough, then there is no need to attend the interview. However, the choice is still up to you.

Anyway, how come you get to know that you can apply for a fourth university so early wan? I think our batch only get to know it during October or November.

15-09-2004, 10:37 AM
izzit true that Engineering major students are not allowed to apply to Uni of Michigan Ann Arbor???
if it is, then, too bad... if not, what r u waiting for???
U of M's research is really really good... although i'm in Literature, Science and Arts school, but, the money allocated into the Engineering school and on research is really high... too bad i'm not in engineering...

16-09-2004, 08:31 AM
U Chicago, Case Western and CMU are in the same league as Brandeis's! Hmm... any chance to meet with ppl from these unis?

tree007
16-09-2004, 12:33 PM
got gua...hehe..

17-09-2004, 01:12 AM
U Chicago, Case Western and CMU are in the same league as Brandeis's! Hmm... any chance to meet with ppl from these unis?

why this thing called league?does that mean those outside the league is less important to be made friends?if that is so,imagine someone attending Calteh and think the rest of the unis in america as totally puerile.

no malaysian know what is brandeis or how good/bad is uni of chicago.they dont even have any idea that its tougher to attend Caltech than MIT.all they know is Harvard.perhaps,Yale.

b4 i applied to american uni,i thought Caltech is just a institute.worst more for RPI.the same misnomer we have in malaysia that institute/politeknik r less in standard compare to unis.

my point is: nobody cares which uni u attend.if u wish someone will actually google and find that you just attend a 20 something ranked uni in usa,you are wrong.ppl in malaysia only care that u r a us graduate.whether u attend CMU or colorado boulder or even Dartmouth,nobody in m'sia actually cares.

17-09-2004, 03:30 AM

why this thing called league?does that mean those outside the league is less important to be made friends?if that is so,imagine someone attending Calteh and think the rest of the unis in america as totally puerile.

no malaysian know what is brandeis or how good/bad is uni of chicago.they dont even have any idea that its tougher to attend Caltech than MIT.all they know is Harvard.perhaps,Yale.

b4 i applied to american uni,i thought Caltech is just a institute.worst more for RPI.the same misnomer we have in malaysia that institute/politeknik r less in standard compare to unis.

my point is: nobody cares which uni u attend.if u wish someone will actually google and find that you just attend a 20 something ranked uni in usa,you are wrong.ppl in malaysia only care that u r a us graduate.whether u attend CMU or colorado boulder or even Dartmouth,nobody in m'sia actually cares.

good 1!

17-09-2004, 04:52 AM

FYI, i was not priding myself in this league. I am just happy to know that there are some unis which my friends are going to share the same league as my uni's. which means, the more chances for me to meet these ppl coz we are going to compete with each other in sports... and this league is not formed via ranking system. it's more on regional and historical factor. there's nothing to be showed off... i'm just excited that some of my friends are in the same league as mine. dun misunderstand...

tree007
17-09-2004, 07:31 AM
damn.. i tot Caltech is freakin well known.. i mean.. everytime u c a press conference involving the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory ( like say.. regarding Spirit.. gee.. wat happened to the 2 rovers anyway?).. ... wah lah.. it's in Caltech....

nobody bothered to apply to Caltech 'cos it's like.. impossible...

17-09-2004, 10:54 AM
I thought in INTEC history there was one fella who did apply for it? Does any senior here know about it? It makes me wonder whether there are any Malaysians in Caltech. Anyway, Caltech is not the hardest to get into according to princeton review(MIT first, Princeton second followed by Caltech)

17-09-2004, 11:34 PM
well, for international students, it might be different... take Yale for example... there's someone with SAT score as low as 200+ for verbal and yet they are still accepted compared to those who got 700+ for verbal but got rejected... the way they accept ppl is very subjective...

17-09-2004, 11:36 PM
SAT Score = number (i.e., basically just a number, as Cornell President described it. What matters is behind the number.) There are at least 2 ReCom members that got wait-listed for Caltech, including one from INTEC.

17-09-2004, 11:41 PM
i agree it's just numbers, but to a certain extent, it does PLAY a role in student selection... there's a range of scores for them to accept students...

17-09-2004, 11:50 PM
I don't think so.... There are students with less than 1200 SAT here in Cornell and there are students with more than 1550 that got rejected...

For Cornell, main consideration is at application essays, recommendation letters, co-curricular activities + overall academic achievements (where SAT is part of these whole chunk of stuff)

18-09-2004, 12:02 AM
u can't use Cornell as the model for all uni's acceptance rate... anyway, SAT score still affects the acceptance TO A CERTAIN EXTENT... u dun see Cornell accept majority of ppl with SAT score lies below 1000, do u? i mean, even though u can't look completely at one's SAT score (flexibility, yeah), but there's still a lower limit, say, 1100? hmm... there are some exceptions, but i believe it works that way

18-09-2004, 12:45 AM
Yeah, agree..... SAT is just one of the many aspects considered....Agree that generally higher SAT would mean higher chance, but I just feel sad that many are merely concentrating on SAT, but not spending much time on the application itself.

naoj
18-09-2004, 01:43 PM
My question is this : UC davis and some other unis..stanford i think, request that we DO NOT send them any copies of certs,transcrpits etc. But jpa requires us to compile our thick thick dossier to send, so really do we send our certs etc to the unis or do we just fill in our co-cu particulars in the uni application form? Help!

Oh and one more thing..aiyoh...what is with all the AP thingys in the academic part of the application forms? whats a weighted GPA? *confused*

Thanks yaaaa.. :)

19-09-2004, 12:29 AM
My question is this : UC davis and some other unis..stanford i think, request that we DO NOT send them any copies of certs,transcrpits etc. But jpa requires us to compile our thick thick dossier to send, so really do we send our certs etc to the unis or do we just fill in our co-cu particulars in the uni application form? Help!

Oh and one more thing..aiyoh...what is with all the AP thingys in the academic part of the application forms? whats a weighted GPA? *confused*

Thanks yaaaa.. :)

In fact, JPA does not ask you to include thick dossier of certs. They only ask you to include some certs. I only include a few pieces of certs of state and national level. And I include a list of other stuff I have and I mention that I could send to the uni upon their request.
Send a lot of certs and if those certs are not that great, it only makes things worse.

On AP, it is called Advanced Placement. It is a test generally in US, for students in high schools to take college-level courses, and they get this AP Credit. Basically, it is like you take Calculus etc in UiTM, and you get credit for your undergraduate.

GPA is a kind of calculation of Grade Point Average. UiTM grading is on weighted GPA. Your high school may not.

For instance, say you take 3 courses:-
Calculus 1 (4 credits) A
Intro to Engineering (3 credits) A-
Physics (4 credits) B+

Say for the sake of explaining, A = 4.0, A- = 3.7, B+ =3.3 (This will differ by institution)
So, unweighted GPA would be = (4.0+3.7+3.3)/3 = 3.67

Weighted GPA would be = (4.0*4 + 3.7*3 + 3.3*4) /11 = 3.66

Feel free to inundate this thread with questions and invite your frineds to post questions here!

Skeith
19-09-2004, 05:06 PM
First off, Hi all im new here! :D
Took me quite a long while of pondering before i could find this place...definitely gonna spread the news to my peers

Now..i need some life saving. Lets do it systematically :P

1. INTEC GPA counts in applications? If yes, up to which semester? Does it include the extra classes for SAT 2?

2. Been reading and noticed that SAT actually comes second to academic transcripts and co-curiccular activities!! Problem is SAT is one thing i can depend on considering my co-cu wasnt outstanding at all for the last 5 years 8O :( . Must have national or state to at least qualify for Ivys?

3. Does applying through JPA give you more chance of admittance compared to self-application? Shall i put my most significant preferances in the 3 slots offered by JPA?

4. How many recommendations do you guys send to the unis? I seriously doubt more is better but i wanna know for sure.

5. How many certs did u guys enclose with ur applics? Its sad to say that most of my certs are...not going to help much...and i dont have a lot of them to begin with? Anyone can gimme an considerable amount?

Hehe will be back once I think of more.. Thanks guys for helping us out. Finding this page today is like stumbling upon gold. Keep up the good work 8)

/Skeith, ATU11

20-09-2004, 12:01 AM
Welcome Skeith to ReCom~! Yaeh, please help to spread the words to your peers.

First off, Hi all im new here! :D
Took me quite a long while of pondering before i could find this place...definitely gonna spread the news to my peers

Now..i need some life saving. Lets do it systematically :P

1. INTEC GPA counts in applications? If yes, up to which semester? Does it include the extra classes for SAT 2?

2. Been reading and noticed that SAT actually comes second to academic transcripts and co-curiccular activities!! Problem is SAT is one thing i can depend on considering my co-cu wasnt outstanding at all for the last 5 years 8O :( . Must have national or state to at least qualify for Ivys?

3. Does applying through JPA give you more chance of admittance compared to self-application? Shall i put my most significant preferances in the 3 slots offered by JPA?

4. How many recommendations do you guys send to the unis? I seriously doubt more is better but i wanna know for sure.

5. How many certs did u guys enclose with ur applics? Its sad to say that most of my certs are...not going to help much...and i dont have a lot of them to begin with? Anyone can gimme an considerable amount?

Hehe will be back once I think of more.. Thanks guys for helping us out. Finding this page today is like stumbling upon gold. Keep up the good work 8)

/Skeith, ATU11

On your question 1, basically everything will be factored in, but frankly INTEC results won't count for much, because you won't really have much results by the time you send. Basically, I guess your first semester. And the unis look at all these in overall sense. There would be no GPA for your SAT 2 preparation time.

Q2, have good recommendation letters and application essays. Those are important. Try your best for SAT, but that is not the main aspect, in particular for top unis. In overall, I would say that eventually they look at your overall performance, so your results, essays, rec. letters, co-cu, activities etc will factor in.

Q3. Basically JPA just helps you to pay for it and post it. You are still filling up the forms, just like anyone else. And basically it is about the same.

Q4. Quantity is not the main consideration. What matters is whether those rec. letters would help you. Send in rec. letters that would be convincing and personal to the unis. If you think you have 3 good ones, then send 3. If you have 5, then send 5. Don't just send extra to make up the numbers.

Q5. Don't send too many. I send about 10. But that varies from people to people.

tree007
20-09-2004, 12:38 AM
i sent a whole stack of pretty much worthless certs... but of course.. that din earn me any Ivy's lah... haha... 'cos my cocu also not outstanding... haha.. so just include all those sijil penyertaan.. hahaha!

20-09-2004, 02:58 AM
skeith wrote:

2. Been reading and noticed that SAT actually comes second to academic transcripts and co-curiccular activities!! Problem is SAT is one thing i can depend on considering my co-cu wasnt outstanding at all for the last 5 years . Must have national or state to at least qualify for Ivys?

plenty of outside classroom are not a promise of getting ur dream uni.american kids are very into volunteer jobs,which we in malaysia care too little about.what the unis r looking are for profound achievements.eg: international level/national level achievements.if u dont have all of that,dont fret,try joining any research project at the local uni or with ur friends.this is especially crucial if u want to attend Caltech and MIT.

U won JPA scholarship.hence,you are a goverment scholar.ppl might argue that most JPA scholars dont have 4.0 at american uni and ergo not all are smart.yeas,but since you are applying as a goverment scholar,it shows u have already do well academically.certain unis accept u just becoz u r a JPA scholar.THIS IS NOT BECOZ the factor: JPA CAN PAY THE TUITION alone...ALL UNI in america practised EQUAL ADMISSION POLICY IN WHICH THEY PROMISED NOT TO DISCRIMINATE STUDENTS BASED ON ABILITY TO PAY THE TUITION,RACE AND RELIGION.

giving a jpa scholar a place means,someone out there will be denied a place.and that someone can sue the uni for denying him/her a place.so the uni has to make a wise decision here.

i believe being a goverment scholar gives u an extra edge over others.use it wisely.

sent at least 3.but make sure all of them are neatly placed in envelopes and you don't read them at all.the unis r looking for honest recommendation letters,not praising letters per se.

well,sent the sijil berhenti sekolah and perhaps write a CV if u have too many certs.i dont really see a trend of giving certs here in usa.i have joined some volunteer works here and none give me certs.i think it is trend back at the Bolehland rather than a worldwide tradition.

all da best.

lonewolfhan
20-09-2004, 09:16 AM
Hmm.. about the certs... i was to lazy to take out from my dossier... so i ended up sending the whole pile to the unis i applied to... but i really dont think they will waste their time looking at the photocopied certs... :P

Oh yeah... i remember something about being put into a waiting list for a certain uni... there was someone who told me that "Being in a waiting list for an ive league is equal to NO CHANCE to enter already... "

I just want to say.. anything can happen... miracle did happen on me when i got accepted by Brown after being put in the waiting list for a few months.... so.. dont give up so soon ya ! ..: keep your fingers crossed :.. :)

lonewolfhan
20-09-2004, 09:19 AM
About the INTEC GPA... although it is not so important for your application... but you may want to try to get better grade so that you stand a better chance to get your credits transfered when you are in your uni....

20-09-2004, 11:25 AM
agree with lonewolfhan on the transfer credits and it is also good preparation for you before you go to US!!!

Good Luck in your applications!!!

20-09-2004, 01:03 PM
I'm sure they are not so free as to go through all your certs! That's what your CV is for. I think as long as you got everything on the CV it's fine...

your GPA in INTEC does not really count in uni...but don forget abt JPA's requirements...BUT if you perform terribly, the uni juz might take tad into consideration...they'll be thinking: 'hey, this kid's not performing...maybe we're commiting a mistake'.

20-09-2004, 11:42 PM
Your GPA in INTEC does not really weigh so much in your application. But the purpose of the ATU program is to prepare you for the academic challenges in the US. In fact, it makes life easier here(get to transfer a few credits and can take less subjects) if you do well while you are still in INTEC.

tree007
21-09-2004, 01:05 AM
well.. if u do get bored at INTEC, u can always challenge urself to maintain a 4 flat at INTEC... hahahahaha... but if u duwan.. then.. enjoy lah.... get 3 above enuf dy lah... :P

21-09-2004, 01:55 AM
And during the tons of free time at INTEC, enjoy, have delicacy of Malaysian food, learn as much new stuff as you wish, come ReCom more often, and also prepare to come US next August~!

tree007
21-09-2004, 05:13 AM
yeah... if possible... u go to those mamak stalls... n observe how they cook maggi goreng ke... make roti canai ke.. roti pisang ke... apa-apalah... so next time come US can do some.. haha...

21-09-2004, 10:08 AM
yeah, though you may feel jelak with them after eating it day after day, you'll still miss it when you come here. Btw, what's the latest recreation in INTEC nowadays?

21-09-2004, 01:16 PM
Btw, what's the latest recreation in INTEC nowadays?

study 24/7? :lol:

sickpsycho
22-09-2004, 12:28 PM
Hello,

am from ATU 11. recently registered. got a few questions:

a) in the light of the things that have happened and are still happening (violence, terrorism...etc), do the Americans treat foreigners differently than they did before?

b) do Muslims, in particular, get discriminated, especially the girls who wear tudung since the Americans see that as the identifying factor of a Muslim?

Just curious, and more than slightly concerned.

Skeith
22-09-2004, 01:27 PM
Btw, what's the latest recreation in INTEC nowadays?

if its not cs at warnet its sports, nothing new really

Oh yea thanks guys for the answers, heres more to keep u bz :P

1. How are credit hour transferable? Which subjects do uni take and which are the ones they dont?

2. Did u guys take Calculas 1 in Sem 2? I heard only 90+ scorers in Sem1 can take Cal1.. Is cal1 transferable?

3. Computer science anyone? I'm a rare species here hope someones share my major. Where are u guys taking CS now?

4. Ideas on personal statement. What do u think is the best thing to write about yourself? An experience? A dream? .. How many of u wrote a story relating to urself instead of one that explains plain old u? :P

Haha enjoy cracking these questions...Thanks again 8)

/Skeith, countdown till SATS > 2 weeks

22-09-2004, 05:47 PM
Hello,

am from ATU 11. recently registered. got a few questions:

a) in the light of the things that have happened and are still happening (violence, terrorism...etc), do the Americans treat foreigners differently than they did before?

b) do Muslims, in particular, get discriminated, especially the girls who wear tudung since the Americans see that as the identifying factor of a Muslim?

Just curious, and more than slightly concerned.

being a muslim or not in usa doesn't mean anything.ppl dont care what religion or what faith u r,whether u embarce atheism or one religious geek.

though i never heard any of my friend being put down,teased off be there at my uni or other uni i am familiar with,i still dont deny there must be some ill-treaments towards muslims in usa.i remembered reading in new york times about a lady with hijab being stopped by a total stranger at walmart and being told " you should be embarrassed to be a muslim".

well,one thing you need if you wanna be alive and kickin' in this world is to ignore certain things.and if you are good with words,you should yelled back at that total stranger.but that's like one in 100 000 cases.those caucasian men living in a rural area are more inclined to discriminate than white,educated man in city.

dont fret,trust me,we in malaysia have more racialist than american does.

american will welcome you with great smile.they would even say hi to you while you are walking alone.and the bus drivers are so so friendly that you could ask him questions and he would reply with great gusto.for me,i love american ppl attitudes than most malaysian.and never in my life here in usa,i feel like a second class citizen or else a foreigner.

but then again,since u r a foreigner,the americans dont mind u making mistakes when it comes to their cultures/languages..like saying lift for elavator,saying tomato sauce for kecthup and stuff.

well,america is truly more muslims than the craps and jerks who called themselves as muslims back in Bolehland.

2) most of my lady friends wear hijabs here.they never told me that they havebeen picked up by certain ppl.never even once.but since you wear hijab,u r totally unique,ppl know u becoz there will be like less than 30 ladies with hijab in the whole uni.so wearing hijab makes u stand out of the crowd.so u better performed well academically becoz ppl know you,not from ur name or ur country,but from ur hijab.

dont worry,come here to usa and you will realized this is truly a great land with great ppl who just wanna have fun.

22-09-2004, 09:55 PM
1.. How are credit hour transferable? Which subjects do uni take and which are the ones they dont?
Which subject you will be able to transfer depends very much on your uni. But basically, calculus is the one that you definitely be able to transfer.

2. Did u guys take Calculas 1 in Sem 2? I heard only 90+ scorers in Sem1 can take Cal1.. Is cal1 transferable?
90+ is not that hard, isn't it? Anyway, you can take calculus 1 even if you are in the B+ range. You just need to ask Pn Umi to give you the permission. And yeah, calc is definitely transferable though while at the uni, you might want to take placement test to see whether you have master the subject or not. If not, then it is recommended that you do not transfer it but study it again.

3. Computer science anyone? I'm a rare species here hope someones share my major. Where are u guys taking CS now?

Too bad Teng is not here. Anyway, just post your questions about CS here,I'm sure there are seniors who will be able to answer your questions.

4. Ideas on personal statement. What do u think is the best thing to write about yourself? An experience? A dream? .. How many of u wrote a story relating to urself instead of one that explains plain old u? :P
Its up to you actually. But I recommend that you write on an experience that reflects your character. For instance, how you took the initiative to participate in a science competition and how you work toward winning or how you survive in the forest during your scout jamboree etc. There are tons of other things that you can write about, but make sure that your essay reflects not only you, but what is unique about you.

Anyway, good luck in your SAT.

23-09-2004, 08:46 AM
sickpsycho, I guess phantom has answered your questions. Generally, I would say that things are fine over here. 99% of students on your campus would be open-minded and respect one another's culture. So, I would say that generally, you would not face any problem. Nevertheless, in any community, I would assure that you would face some kind of racist people, irrespective of where you are. However, be rest assured that majority, if not all, of the people that you would mingle with, are very respectful of others culture. For instance in Cornell, Ramadhan is celebrate widely, and there is buka puasa banquet over here everyday~! So, please rest assured. Anyway, Welcome to ReCom~! And please help spread the words among your friends~!

Skeith, yeah, most of the questions have been answered by Chiun Lin~! Com Sci, there are a number of CS major. Luke, Jiin Joo and others here are/were CS major. So, feel free to pop by any question~! I think a number of CS majors are in Cornell, CMU, etc ( I will let those who know to share).

On personal statements, I agree with Chiun Lin that you need to write something that reflect your character. And a good way to judge it would be to take that personal statement and put it on others, it would not fit others. Basically, it uniquely describes you. Have a good theme for what you write, basically something that stands out and unique and not something like a dream, which other students would write similarly.

Good Luck~! Lets keep the questions flowing in~!

lonewolfhan
23-09-2004, 12:26 PM
1. How are credit hour transferable? Which subjects do uni take and which are the ones they dont?

What subjects u manage to transfer depends on which university you are going to.. some uni do not accept a single credit from INTEC, if im not wrong... UC Davis and Uni of Chicago are among those uni....
However, Calculus will be able to transfered for most of the uni... u may need both Calculus I and II in INTEC to do this..

You need both Cal1 and Cal2 to transfer the credits. Hmm... 90+... it is damn easy for some people ( such as ChiunLin... hehe.. ) for me... it is HARD! :? but B+ and above shud be able to move on to Cal 2.

Hmm.... write whatever you feel like writing ! try to write whatever which is in your mind.... "Follow your instinct" (Sorry... this is a bit cliche... but it is true... :D ) I wrote about my family though...

lonewolfhan
23-09-2004, 12:30 PM
About the food... Lol... i only miss LAKSA !!!! dun really miss the Mamak Roti Canai and Mee Goreng...

Err... try not to study 24/7 in INTEC... hehe... bad advice eh... but my point is try to ENJOY yourself and hang out with friends more... lol.. but different people have different priority... so its up to you!

Psst psst... you might need to study 24/7 in the states... so try to enjoy 1st... HINT ! :P

lonewolfhan
23-09-2004, 12:31 PM
Oopss... not trying to gain posts here...

coz i just realize that u guys will have SAT in 2 weeks time..

so GOOD LUCK to all of you !!! All the BEst !!! :D

tree007
24-09-2004, 12:40 AM
yeah... dun study 24/7....u dun need to... .. play games.. like... simcity.. haha!

good luck for ur SAT 2!!!! make sure u guys bring ur calculator!!! haha!

damn.. missin Ameer Ali.. hahahaha.... Maggi Goreng tak mau cili padi dan teh ais satu!!!

24-09-2004, 01:31 AM
yeah don't study 24/7, cause if you do, then you'll be like studying 30/7 during the second sem. Get what I mean?And don't be crazy like tree who plays simcity even before calculus exam. :)

hungwei
24-09-2004, 10:02 AM
Agreed...study well....but some sim city would be nice to ease the tension...hehe....bad advice huh?

24-09-2004, 10:38 AM
whaahaha... STUDY??? hmmm.... 24/7??? 30/7 in US...
why u all so studious wan.... ENJOY life lar.... still remember those 2nd intakers go play warcraft almost every night right before SAT1 and SAT2.... CHILL.....
anyway.... just to update some of u about the latest MBA ranking in the united States....according to Wall Street Journal.... the top ranking goes to Uni of Michigan Stephen Ross Business School.....
(stephen Ross just donated 100 million USD to the business school, that's why the business school is named after him)*Cheers and Applause....*second goes to CMU business School.... UPenn Wharton school is placed fourth....

so , those who want to apply for business school.... u know where to go lar.... :P wahahahaha

oh yar...hope that ATU 10 ppl pick up some sports in US lar.... dun study all the time.... if not, the freshman 15 myth will be true forever....

i play sports almost everyday now though.... wahahaha...
i dunno abt engineering... but actuarial math under liberal science and arts is very manageable.....maybe becoz i only need 5-6 hrs of sleep a day....

Skeith
24-09-2004, 10:56 PM
urgent!

1. Will OSSP request application forms from the 3 universities which i am applying under JPA? Or will I have to do it myself?

2. Q. bout recommendations. Some uni. need the recommender to fill in their recs. in the applic form itself? Do i need to approach the recommender again? I got it done on another separate piece already....

tree007
25-09-2004, 04:28 AM
1. Will OSSP request application forms from the 3 universities which i am applying under JPA? Or will I have to do it myself?

no. u should've applied for forms by now... okok. u're not too late.. haha.. so go do now!!

2. Q. bout recommendations. Some uni. need the recommender to fill in their recs. in the applic form itself? Do i need to approach the recommender again? I got it done on another separate piece already....

depends on wat recommendation form. if the form explicitly asks for the teacher to fill it in.. then.. of course fill it in the form lah..usually they'll have some boxes for the person to tick... OR...... the form may state that the applicant may attach the recommendation on another sheet.. so.. u just staple the recommendation sheet onto the application lor...

hope that helps..

25-09-2004, 08:29 AM
urgent!

Wah, it's actually quite late already!! Better go request the application form ASAP. And you better request two copies by using two names. My first MIT application forms were thrown into a pool of water by a careless postman and I have to request it again(anyway, MIT is the quickest in sending application forms while Stanford is the slowest. That's based on my experience, though)

25-09-2004, 01:16 PM
Or if the university is providing the form online, print the pdf form online. That's good enough, while at the same time, request for the application forms.

Skeith
25-09-2004, 02:53 PM
Thanks, already sent my requests. (Post count +1) :lol:

lonewolfhan
26-09-2004, 11:58 PM
Whoaa.... play sports everyday... i hope i have the time... i can only look at the gym everyday i pass by.. hardly have time to go.. .DAMN IT !!! isnt engineering supposed to be more slack one ? Hahaha.... Darn!!! i will have to start organizing my time.... Grrr... if not i will be wasting my GYm Subscription... but decent merson.. u can transfer 30 credits... that is what makes u more free than us... pity us.,.. >_<

27-10-2004, 08:59 AM
To those who are applying for universities, please feel free to pop by your questions here~! ATU 11 students, please help to spread the words around that ReCom is back~!

I have a copy of Cornell Big Red Book 2004-2005. If any of you guys want, please let me know. I don't mind post to one of you and you guys share and have a look.

Skeith
12-11-2004, 05:48 PM
YES! its back
now i can really get some help..finally...thx guys for bringing recom back there's so much to ask. :D :D

1. Can we apply for the uni financial aids if they allow international students to do so? But does JPA allow us?

2. Declaration of Finance or FA.. we get the ones for our xtra universities from JPA office or what?

3. Personal statement..story mode or plain factual? Dreamy or reality?

4. Datelines are mostly Jan 1...but preferable to submit by when?

5. Anyone got into Princeton Yale or Stanford last year? Just want a number for research purposes :P

THANK YOU SO MUCH

Holiday in Malaysia btw. Its Deepavali and Hari Raya. So to those celebrating Hari Raya and Deepavali, enjoy urself and Happy Deeparaya!

Skeith
12-11-2004, 05:58 PM
oh btw im interested in applying to UC Berkeley but they require STPM level for malaysian applicants..

But i heard there were previously students who got in without stpm..anyone noe them? and why?

Anyway, isit reasonable for me to waste US$60 for it? Opinions anyone?

12-11-2004, 11:00 PM
YES! its back
now i can really get some help..finally...thx guys for bringing recom back there's so much to ask. :D :D

1. Can we apply for the uni financial aids if they allow international students to do so? But does JPA allow us?

2. Declaration of Finance or FA.. we get the ones for our xtra universities from JPA office or what?

5. Anyone got into Princeton Yale or Stanford last year? Just want a number for research purposes :P

THANK YOU SO MUCH

Holiday in Malaysia btw. Its Deepavali and Hari Raya. So to those celebrating Hari Raya and Deepavali, enjoy urself and Happy Deeparaya!
1. No, do not apply for financial aid!! What's the purpose of applying for a financial aid when you are already sponsored? It hurts your chances of admission also.

2. Go to JPA office at Putrajaya and get them yourself.
3. Both acceptable, but should be reality. What can your dream tell about you?
4. The earlier the better, but don't rush, take your time.
5. None got into Yale or Princeton last year. Iceberg got into Stanford.
As for Berkeley, I'm sure Tree will tell you that it's not worth it to apply. Wait for his reply.

z
12-11-2004, 11:02 PM

The magic number for Stanford was 3 for the Class of 2008.
Class of 2007: 8
Class of 2006: 4

The number of Malaysians and Singaporeans have dropped a little, while number of South Asians (Indians, Pakistanis) has increased slighty. The largest contingent of international students come from East Asia - Korea and China.

z
12-11-2004, 11:08 PM
oh btw im interested in applying to UC Berkeley but they require STPM level for malaysian applicants..

But i heard there were previously students who got in without stpm..anyone noe them? and why?

without STPM/A-Levels... not that i know of.
also, keep in mind that the UC's budget got cut and they admitted too many students this year, resulting in students being sent to community colleges for 2 yrs before finishing up their degrees at Cal (UC Berkeley).

i wonder if your chances of admissions increases if you're not applying for financial aid. also, i wonder if it helps because you're paying the full tuition because you're out-of-state (i.e. not from California)...

aiyah... come to Stanford lah :P

13-11-2004, 12:26 AM
YES! its back

THANK YOU SO MUCH

Thanks for supporting ReCom~! Please help us spread the words around that ReCom is back~!

1. Your allowance from JPA is sufficient, so I don't see a point of applying for financial aids. For some universities, it is supposed not to affect your application chances, but for some universities, :roll: :roll: Stanford, it would affect your chances.

2. Chiun Lin answered it already.

3. For personal statement, I would say that what matters is that it showcases your unique characteristics. it is not a page where you say that you got first in this and first in that. Your CV said it all. Write about stuff that your CV could not contain and it highlights your aspiration, dream, success, achievement, failure, challenges etc...

4. Chiun Lin answered it well...

5. For Princeton, each year on average 1-2 Malaysian entered. Yale is about the same, 1-2 Malaysian per year. Harvard 1 each year, MIT 1-3 each year, Penn 2-5, Cornell 3-15. We had 9 Malaysians in Cornell for Class of 2008, 3 in Class of 2007, about 15 in Class of 2006, 7 in Class of 2005. It varies, so basically if there are a lot of good students apply, the chances of getting in still stays the same, at least, it won't look at geographical area. Raffles JC in Singapore got 80+ students admitted to Cornell last year, of course, not all enrolled. The number I gave above for Malaysians are the number that enrol, it is highly likely that there could be more that have been gotten acceptance.

All the best~!

naoj
13-11-2004, 10:43 AM
heya kudos to the recom team for getting it back up! :) WOOHOO!! SAT 1 is done!! SAT II so hard lah..whyyyyyyy.. heheh anyway...

Sigh millions of questions, suffering in the pile of application essays to write.

1. For the Secondary school report, do we have to give a copy to INTEC to fill in (in addition to the mid year report) and another to our previous sec. school? Or just giving the midyr report to intec and the sec. school report to our previous sec. school is enough?

2. What kind of school is INTEC? Public? Private? Independent? Some unis ask and i dunno how to fill.

3. For unis we apply for on our own, in addition to the FAS that we need to get from JPA direct, what about the translated versions of our SPM results and INTEC lecturers recommendation letters? Do we get those ourselves too from JPA and lecturers? Or certified true copies only can ar?

To z, hahaha we ALL wanna go stanford, just that getting in is a TRIAL. apparently chelsea clinton and reese witherspoon are alumni...true ar? :P:P

13-11-2004, 11:54 AM
1. For the Secondary school report, do we have to give a copy to INTEC to fill in (in addition to the mid year report) and another to our previous sec. school? Or just giving the midyr report to intec and the sec. school report to our previous sec. school is enough?

2. What kind of school is INTEC? Public? Private? Independent? Some unis ask and i dunno how to fill.

3. For unis we apply for on our own, in addition to the FAS that we need to get from JPA direct, what about the translated versions of our SPM results and INTEC lecturers recommendation letters? Do we get those ourselves too from JPA and lecturers? Or certified true copies only can ar?

To z, hahaha we ALL wanna go stanford, just that getting in is a TRIAL. apparently chelsea clinton and reese witherspoon are alumni...true ar? :P:P

1.just give the midyr report to intec and the sec. school report to your previous sec. school ...... i didn't even fill in the midyear report to all of the universities i applied to.

2. INTEC is public....well, at least, UITM is a public university

3.yes, you need translated versions of your SPM results for those universities. i didn't get recommendation letters from INTEC lecturers for those extra universities, but you can get them..... you can get the translation of your SPM results from the Examination Board (Lembaga Peperiksaan) in jalan duta (correct me if i am wrong..... ) just remember to fotocopy your SPM slip, bring the original copy and fotocopy, your IC , some cash.....ermm...i don't remember what else....somebody pls help me here....anyway, when i was there, i didn't bring a fotocopy and the officer took pity on me and fotocopied it for me anyway...muahaha :P so a pitiful face helps too....just kidding....

last of all, don't be so pressured.....remember, in life, everything happens for a reason

in the international students orientation we were told ( i can't remember the exact words

"the process of choosing incoming freshmen is a very difficult one. the ones whom we reject are all also very talented and intelligent people. in evaluating your applications, the competition was so close that we could have chosen any another person..............but in the end we chose you. Use your opportunities in this university because we believe that it will contribute towards your own growth as an undergraduate and you will bring a greater diversity and inspiration to the community here."

naoj
13-11-2004, 01:20 PM
iceberg...you're so encouraging...thankssssssss....... :D

13-11-2004, 10:10 PM
Give it your best shots, naoj~! Stanford campus is fantastic~! I love it the moment I visited there~! I am praying hard that Stanford accepts me for my master too~!

All the best~! To those who wants a diverse education and a university where you can choose courses very diversely, yet at a pretty high level with tons of opportunities, try Cornell too~! It has very nice scenery.

How many of you guys are trying out Cornell?

naoj
14-11-2004, 01:32 AM

a LOT. if a lot of the applicants get in it;ll be a msian kampung too..hahahhaa...good luck all...n thanks for all the encouragements seniors

14-11-2004, 03:29 AM
I would say that it won't be a kampung Malaysia, if you choose to mingle freely. There are 3000 freshman each year, so even if 30 get in, that's only 1% right?

14-11-2004, 06:32 AM

a LOT. if a lot of the applicants get in it;ll be a msian kampung too..hahahhaa...good luck all...n thanks for all the encouragements seniors
how many is a LOT? By the way, don't worry too much about SAT2. For physics and maths, it's not that hard to get 800 as long as you practice a lot. I'm saying this not from my viewpoint but from my other friends'. Besides, is OSSP after your university applications yet?

14-11-2004, 01:54 PM
did anyone apply to uni like:

a) Colorado- Boulder
b) UNC-Chartlotte
c) Emory Uni

Apart from Cornell,Dartmouth College is another Ivy worth looking at.Just dont apply to Upenn if u hate crossing city-roads to classes.but with 3 stories for gym alone,it's a uni u'll have six-packs in no time.and the crazy part is,there's unisex shower with only curtain and no door at the dorms. :P

Skeith
14-11-2004, 07:48 PM
u penn sounds encouraging too.. :P

bout those 3 unis i dont think anyone is applying, not to mention i havent heard of them before too.

naoj
14-11-2004, 08:41 PM
did anyone apply to uni like:

a) Colorado- Boulder
b) UNC-Chartlotte
c) Emory Uni

Apart from Cornell,Dartmouth College is another Ivy worth looking at.Just dont apply to Upenn if u hate crossing city-roads to classes.but with 3 stories for gym alone,it's a uni u'll have six-packs in no time.and the crazy part is,there's unisex shower with only curtain and no door at the dorms. :P

I know emory is good but jpa doesnt let us apply those three.sadly.

naoj
14-11-2004, 08:44 PM
Besides, is OSSP after your university applications yet?

YEAH. Blekss. We're all dying with the essays. Anyone can help on northwestern ar? so many short questions, quite mah fan. UC davis already collected and going to be sent / sent already. States must be pretty cold now... :P

14-11-2004, 11:51 PM
As of now, we have had a pretty warm winter.... much warmer than the past few years, and it is still beautiful out there...whereas typically by now, should be snowing....global warming at play?

15-11-2004, 02:41 AM
Besides, is OSSP after your university applications yet?

YEAH. Blekss. We're all dying with the essays. Anyone can help on northwestern ar? so many short questions, quite mah fan. UC davis already collected and going to be sent / sent already. States must be pretty cold now... :P
Take your time with the essays. If you can't meet the deadline set by OSSP, then tell them that you'll send the applications yourself. It's better to spend some extra money than to send in a lousy admission essay.

tuinkle
15-11-2004, 07:55 AM

Hi Skeith,

Yeah, I'm one of those at Cal without STPM. I opted to attend 2 years of community college first, before transferring (those 2 years were great!)

I don't know if A' Levels count as STPM :?: If it doesn't then yes, there are a few Malaysians here that took that route (under JPA as well as family sponsored individuals). Most of them went to private colleges like Sunway. If you'd like to contact them, just leave me a message and I'll hook them up with you.

Wasting money? I guess that's subjective. I am not sure what your academic background is, if money is an issue etc, but if there is even a remote chance that you qualify for any of your dream universities, by all means APPLY! It's a once in a lifetime deal. Maximize it.

I'm sure you've heard the sphiel... :D
Berkeley's not only a top ranked university (#2 in the world according to THES), but also a really happening place academically (Bill Gates, Al Gore visiting, Dean of the Haas School of Business chosen to be the director of the California Department of Finance etc) as well as social-scene wise (think William H... just kidding :) ). We also have the nation's 5th ranked college football team and a GREAT Cal spirit! (Our mascot is also a Bear, and uh, not a Tree....)

So yes, if you qualify for admissions, APPLY! There are only a handfull of Malaysians here. Hopefully the admissions panel will take that into account :)

tree007
15-11-2004, 10:25 AM
yeah.. i believe A-Levels is accepted in Berkeley..
but if u wanna get in Berkeley with only SPM w/o STPM/A-Levels.. then.... that's tough if not impossible..

15-11-2004, 12:26 PM
Yeah, I understand that the application is costly, but I would say that if you could afford it and you are willing to put in efforts towards getting in (make good efforts in writing your application essays), then go all out to apply.

However, if you are just going to make half-hearted effort, then don't waste your money.

Hope that more questions can come in over here.

naoj
15-11-2004, 10:01 PM
hmm..for the applications we send on our own, should we send via normal slow airmail or send via fedEx (aand other cepat mail systems, whatever they may be)??

and how long does airmail take?2weeks?

16-11-2004, 01:30 AM
I would say that at the minimum send by registered mail. Typically they will take 2 weeks or so, but usually it is counted from the postmarked, so it doesn't matter.

FedEx or other courier is only necessary if you are short of time.

aquila
16-11-2004, 01:37 PM
Apply to Duke! We only have 10 undergrads. There will be no Msian kampung here, I assure you. Plus, the Malaysians here have their own circles of friends. ;P

Skeith
16-11-2004, 10:08 PM
Need honest opinions.

Will the mentioning of JPA in essays or any other application criterias help in getting admitted? I mean, by getting the JPA scholarship, we have proven to be more mature - if not smarter or better- than most of our peers. On the other hand, it looks redundant not to mention cocky.

So should I stress on this point? Hehe plus being a JPA scholar means supported tuition fees . Im sure the colleges would be happy. Then again, the matter of arrogance is at hand.

Im lost. I need points for essays.

naoj
17-11-2004, 12:25 AM
Need honest opinions.

Will the mentioning of JPA in essays or any other application criterias help in getting admitted? I mean, by getting the JPA scholarship, we have proven to be more mature - if not smarter or better- than most of our peers. On the other hand, it looks redundant not to mention cocky.

So should I stress on this point? Hehe plus being a JPA scholar means supported tuition fees . Im sure the colleges would be happy. Then again, the matter of arrogance is at hand.

Whoa...ohhkayy..

17-11-2004, 12:58 AM

From my point of view, getting JPA maybe proves you to be better or smarter than most of your peers. But then again, if you're applying for ivy league, I'm sure most the applicants are in the top 10th percentile of their classes and they too can claim they are better or smarter than their peers. Get what I mean? Getting JPA may prove your worth, but it doesn't tell the admission officers what is special about you to deserve to be admitted among all the other "better" applicants.

Points for essays? Don't you all write journals? They are good sources of inspiration if you really put in some effort into writing them. If not, go speak with the lecturers, I'm sure they'll be able to provide you with some guidelines.

wawa
17-11-2004, 05:20 AM
I'm not too sure how is it now, but when I applied some unis have a section for you to fill up all your glory(ie what you won etc etc blah), you could probrably put it there.

Like ChuinLin said, you're looking for something that stands you out amongst other applicants. So what if you have been funded by the govt? Top applicants from other countries like Singapore probrably have equal footing. ( unless your applying for Stanford -$$$ :P )

Try someother prestigious competitions which they have better understanding or personal experience which they can relate to better loh.

Anyhow, good luck to all applicants, may you get all your desired uins! I wanna go US too... :)

18-11-2004, 12:16 PM
Come la - no one is stopping you :) I talk to a few folks and many of them agree that it's never too late to go overseas. If you're local doing your undergrad, try for a masters program or a PhD. Altenatively, you can start working first and apply for overseas training. Either way, it's definitely a fun way to meet people, widen your horizons and sharpen your adaptability skills.

18-11-2004, 12:29 PM
First of all, I would say that being JPA scholars do not mean that we are more mature, or smarter or anything of that sort. Personally, I would say that as JPA scholars, we should be humble in trying to learn with others and help others or seek help from others whenever the need arises. Guess that's just a little philosophical thoughts on my mind.

Back to application, I would say that you could mention that you are being selected by the government to sponsor for your undergrad. That's something, but frankly, that does not mean a lot to the top universities. There are many top students who are equally qualified. You need the umph to get the better of others.

18-11-2004, 12:31 PM
being a jpa scholar means you are lucky. no more, no less.

Skeith
18-11-2004, 11:55 PM
haha i agree with topdog
yeah i gotta review about what i thought. And chenchow, you're right about JPA students not being the most mature or smarter ones. Thanx for the advice.

applications is not easy. But thinking about semester 2 which would be total vacation makes me hyped and wanna get it over quickly. :P

Oh yeah 1 more thing. Did anyone attend interviews with alumnis? Sounds important but I don't see any of my peers doing it

19-11-2004, 12:11 AM
haha i agree with topdog
yeah i gotta review about what i thought. And chenchow, you're right about JPA students not being the most mature or smarter ones. Thanx for the advice.

applications is not easy. But thinking about semester 2 which would be total vacation makes me hyped and wanna get it over quickly. :P

Oh yeah 1 more thing. Did anyone attend interviews with alumnis? Sounds important but I don't see any of my peers doing it

ermm....what semester 2 are you talking about?? don't recall my second quarter in Intec as a vacation...... :roll: in fact it was way more hectic than my first quarter....WAY more hectic....

oops sorry for the digression...... in general interviews with alumis are important especially if you can use it to get to know them well and convince them that you are THE material for that university. but, i know people who have attended interviews but do not succeed in those applications....and these are very dynamic people... i guess the interviews, like all the other college application sections, are not the determinative factor but just one of the many different factors ......these make up the nuances of your character which they pick up from your portfolio........

maybe it works both ways......the alumnis may discover that you are NOT the material for the unis..... but its all for the better..... incompatible partners make unhappy marriages... :P

19-11-2004, 12:52 AM
I would say that if you can schedule for an interview, go ahead and do so. No one can pinpoint down what's really important and what's not. Don't think of shying away from interviews because you're afraid it'll lower your chances or anything like that. It's part of your evaluation to decide whether you're suitable or not. Think of it as a chance to prove yourself or project yourself better and as a chance to learn more about the school you are applying too. In a way, it could be a good networking experience as well. And this is from my experience: I went for Yale's alumni interview. I think that helped incredibly a lot in getting me into the waiting list. I NEVER expected it at all...I might not have even made it that far. Besides, I now know the alumni interviewer and he was incredibly nice at checkin on me and putting me in contact with people he knows who went to University of Chicago (where I am now). And we had a luncheon with every applicant and I met a few new friends there too. It'll be worth your while!

naoj
19-11-2004, 01:27 PM
aiyooo...how to write the "Why do u want to attend XXX University?" type questions? -put emot icon for crying here, since there's none in the choices..hehe-

Skeith
19-11-2004, 03:37 PM
The cry emo ::cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

basically just praise the university :P
or talk about ur aspirations

19-11-2004, 10:13 PM
aiyooo...how to write the "Why do u want to attend XXX University?" type questions? -put emot icon for crying here, since there's none in the choices..hehe-
There are a lot of things that you can write about, here are some suggestions:
1) diverse community
2) balance academic and social life
3) academically challenging
4) faculty to student ratio, department ranking, award-winning professors.
5) facilities
Lastly, you must not only tell them why you think the university is good, but you must also tell them why you are good for the university.

naoj
19-11-2004, 11:50 PM
thanks! helped somewhat. :)

20-11-2004, 02:48 AM

I would say that you should do an in-depth research on that university. Know a lot of technical details, instead of those basic details you find in their FAQ. Say, try to pin point areas that interest you. Like for those who are applying to Cornell.

"The diversity in Cornell attracts my attention and I would hope to learn from those thousands of international students."

vs

"The diversity in Cornell attracts my attention and I would hope to learn from those 3200 international students from 126 countries, as well as 184 international students organizations on campus. Activities such as the sold-out events like China Night, Diwali Night, Iftaar Banquet, Malay Interactive Wedding etc would allow me to learn the culture of students from diverse background"

Which statement shows more substance? If you are not interested in Cornell, would you go and find out about such information?

Do such detailed analysis on various different aspects of the university that interests you, be it its cutting-edge research, its diversity, its sports activities, its success in world domain.

Tips for those who are applying to Cornell, the following are aspects which you can try to do research on:-
1. Partnership with Peking Uni, Tsinghua and Nanyang Technological Uni. This is the latest MoU signing.
2. The world most advanced nanotech labs - Duffield Hall
3. The diversity of campus with the stats above.
4. World competitions like Robocup, FSAE, Snake Arm, Autonomous Underwater Vehicle etc.
etc etc...

Get detailed information from those aspects that interest you is essential. That sets you apart.

Sources of information:-
1. Googled it
2. Contact seniors.
3. Read the uni newspapers.
4. Ask here in ReCom.

For those coming to Cornell, http://www.news.cornell.edu/Chronicle/Chronicle.html is an important source of campus news.

Good Luck~!

Skeith
21-11-2004, 02:35 PM
Can I send only my retake SAT score? It was higher than the first, and it'll make a better impression if I send it alone. Collegeboard settings is not a problem, I could configure it to send only my second score.

Advisable to do so?

21-11-2004, 02:51 PM
Can I send only my retake SAT score? It was higher than the first, and it'll make a better impression if I send it alone. Collegeboard settings is not a problem, I could configure it to send only my second score.

Advisable to do so?

hmm... collegeboard has a new system???

as far as i know, previously, Collegeboard will send all ur tests scores (from ur very first, til ur last) to the selected Unis...

if u are thinking of configuring it by changing ur name (like making it a full name, or dropping something) or something along the line (changing address, or this and that) it is NOT advisable to do so, becoz the University admission officers might think that there are 2 different apllicants with the similar (but not the same) name...

since u are showing improvement, i dun think it will give anybody bad impression... but, who can tell what others are thinking...:P

21-11-2004, 03:28 PM
i thought only the highest score would be sent?

21-11-2004, 04:24 PM
why are you guys so freaked out about this. PLEASE. what is the problem with collegeboard sending all your scores? One. Only the highest score would be taken into consideration...and that's your highest math n ur highest eng. Two. If there's an improvement, it shows an even better impression about you. Three. What is the big deal? SAT scores are not everything. Ask all the seniors and they'll tell you that. As long as you don't screw it totally, it doesn't really matter. Try counterarguing this and I'll have more to say.

Skeith
22-11-2004, 12:17 AM
point taken.

Btw, the app forms are confusing for the education data. Our edu system is different than that in the US. I figured I could write a brief letter explaining our system, and giving the transcripts instead of filling in those blanks. Did anyone do this last year? Even the OSSP was rather confused. I mean, after years of helping the students fill in forms and mr.suhaimi couldn't tell me exactly what to do. Pls help

z
22-11-2004, 02:50 AM
i think the schools are familiar with education systems of international students. just fill in the forms to the best of your abilities.

naoj
23-11-2004, 08:52 PM
is there a specific financial statment form we/jpa have to fill in (not fin. aid) to prove that we can afford to pay for uni fees? or is the jpa FAS enough?

thankums.

23-11-2004, 11:58 PM
just the jpa FAS letter will be fine...

z
24-11-2004, 04:21 AM
in cases of schools with stricter privacy policies, you may need to fill in a consent form or sign a information release form to give JPA access to your account or academic records.

MSD asks for your semesterly/quarterly results too.

25-11-2004, 01:44 AM
As has been said and mentioned, SAT score doesn't really matter. Don't play with the system, especially if you plan to submit two with different names or anything like that. However, as far as I know, Collegeboard sends all the grades, unless they change it recently.

Sending all the grades do not affect you in any form.

26-11-2004, 10:03 AM
Just found out a wierd requirement in Berkeley:-

To satisfy the minimum requirements for Eligibility by Examination Alone, you must fulfill both of the following criteria:

Achieve a composite score of 31 or higher on the ACT or a total score on the SAT I of at least 1400.
Earn a total score of 1760 or higher (1850 or higher for nonresident applicants) on the three SAT II: Subject Tests with a minimum score of 530 on each test.

Seems like the only uni that cares so much about SAT.

naoj
26-11-2004, 05:04 PM
Just found out a wierd requirement in Berkeley:-

To satisfy the minimum requirements for Eligibility by Examination Alone, you must fulfill both of the following criteria:

Achieve a composite score of 31 or higher on the ACT or a total score on the SAT I of at least 1400.
Earn a total score of 1760 or higher (1850 or higher for nonresident applicants) on the three SAT II: Subject Tests with a minimum score of 530 on each test.

Seems like the only uni that cares so much about SAT.

But this is only if u apply under the "examination alone" system..if u only submit your test scores, not the normal application process where we submit our cca etc. at least that's what i understand. i stand corrected if otherwise =)

naoj
26-11-2004, 10:06 PM
hey, was just wondering, (maybe im not looking in the right place of the forums), but are there any super-duper seniors who are back and already serving out their bonds? i always wondered what will happen to us, where we'll go...i fully intend to serve out bond, no intention nor money to break it, just wondering ,,, curious and all..

26-11-2004, 11:56 PM
But this is only if u apply under the "examination alone" system..if u only submit your test scores, not the normal application process where we submit our cca etc. at least that's what i understand. i stand corrected if otherwise =)

I am not too sure, in fact, that's what I was told by a friend of mine who was devastated when found out that UC Berkeley has such a requirement. Anyone who knows better on this?

On your question on whether anyone is already out there serving bonds, the first batch after financial crisis would be graduated coming May. I know of some who finished early last year, but those whom I know have continued JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program, since right now, JPA is strongly encouraging students to continue for Master and PhD.

Skeith
28-11-2004, 11:55 AM
just wondering

1. can we use bank drafts from non-US banks like Maybank? Or must it only be US banks like Citibank. (application fees)

2. Stanford's recommended dateline is Dec 1. but the form said postmarked by dec 15. DOes it mean latest to send out the materials is still dec 1, but there is allowence of 15 days for it to reach?

What if I Fed-ex the stuff, say by dec 4 and reach by dec 9. Fed ex has no postmark i think.

Lost. Pls help dateline is very sooon.

28-11-2004, 12:48 PM
1. yes you can use bank draft from Maybank. They have an office in New York which handle international transactions...

2. I think your FedEx will work.... postmark means the date of postage is 15 dec ....means the last date you can send the mail FROM malaysia.....no matter when it reaches Stanford........... maybe the dec 1 requirement is only in the anticipation that your mails are delayed by hurricanes...<-- mindless hypothesis ...feel free to disregard my authority....

anybody has differing opinions??!! i don't want to be responsible if this guy misses his deadline!!

29-11-2004, 06:54 AM
Basically the uni just wants to get the stuff earlier, the earlier means the more spread out their work would be, so try to send earlier, but absolute deadline is to drop your application stuff at FedEx office or whereever latest before they close office on the 15th Dec. I wouldn't suggest that you wait until the last minute, what if there is a traffic jam on the way to go to FedEx office?

02-12-2004, 12:41 AM
To those who are applying to Cornell, there would be an online prospective chat on 8th of December 2004 at 7pm to 9pm US Eastern Time (9th December 8am to 10am Malaysia Time).

I believe that the admission website would have more information about this as the date comes. Please spread the words to those who plan to apply.

All the engineering admission officer would be there replying questions, as well as a few selected engineering students. Hence, if you ask intelligent questions and show that you are really interested in Cornell, you would get an added boost with your applications. Those are the same people that would read and review your applications, as well as approve your applications~!

Good Luck!!!

Skeith
07-12-2004, 05:11 PM
ossp are moving finally. ppl handing up their forms already and the office is getting ready to send the bulks out. :)

This question seems to be the least important of all. But im still gonna ask anyway. So :

How do we package our forms, school report, transcript..blabla
to look good?

I mean, I thought (wild idea) that we would wanna convince the unis that the rec letters are not read, the school report is honest and the transcripts are for real, despite that there is are signatures all over them. If it were me, I would still think some ppl faked the stuffs out.

So putting all the school report, recommendations, transcript in 1 envelope...and the forms in another....and the dossiers in yet another....is that a goood idea?

Or am I just thinking too much. My brain has fried thanx to the tedious process. But then again it might be a good idea. Hoping for good comments :P

Btw, Happy hols to others from ATU 11. Enjoy the month and come back fresh for the next sem

/Skeith

08-12-2004, 12:30 AM
Typically the recommendation letter is sealed in an envelope, with the recommendor sign across it.

Anyway, in US, it is always trust. An analogy, when you go up the bus, they won't check how much you pay, because they have the trust that you pay in full and it is the same case here. For exams, some universities do not have professors or anyone proctoring it, because they have the trust that you won't cheat and you just sign that you do not cheat.

Anyway, never ever have any wild idea of cheating, if anyone out there thinks of doing so, the repercussion is very serious. One student in Cornell, he got in perfectly with faked credentials etc. Later, he applied for graduate schools including Cornell and somehow he forgot what he had faked and he faked different stuff, and they managed to track online within the system that he cheated and they checked on it. He got sacked from the university in the last semester, for cheating that he was 1st ranked in his high school, when he was like 3rd rank or something like that. It is not worth it to cheat.

08-12-2004, 05:44 AM
Reminder to all those who are applying to Cornell Engineering. This is very essential.

There would be an online prospective chat on 8th of December 2004 at 7pm to 9pm US Eastern Time (9th December 8am to 10am Malaysia Time) for all Cornell engineering applicants.

All the admission officers who would determine your admission will be online to chat with you, and get to know more about you. Please make sure that you make good impression of yourself and that would help you fulfill your dream of coming to Cornell!

nxwen
08-12-2004, 02:34 PM
Hi, I'm new here. Juz finish my stpm.

Been reading how to apply to US unis. and it's WOW, I need so many stuffs. plus a gap year to wait for my results and boost my cca. I studied stpm in tar college, so my cca practically equals zero as activities here r more suitable for diploma students. My lecturer keep asking me to try for US unis(mainly) or juz get out of M'sia. so here I am, dazed by all the info.

I was quite shocked that RJC in S'pore can get so many students into US unis. I rejected an offer to that JC under ASEAN scholarship, don ask me why, still haunts me and anyway its in the past.

I juz wan to know, where can I get my certs translated? I need these even to apply for S'pore uni. Sigh...

Hope u guys can help me. Thanx.

08-12-2004, 02:40 PM
nxwen, good luck in your applications. If you feel that you would like to apply to US, you would need to act fast, and have you taken your SAT and TOEFL? because most deadlines are end of this month and if you haven't taken those tests, it would be almost impossible to meet this application deadline, but you can definitely apply end of next year for admission in August 2006.

On translation of certifications, you do your own translation. If there is any word that you would like others to help in translating, feel free to post it here! Welcome on board~!

nxwen
08-12-2004, 03:05 PM
About translation, I heard that we can't our own translation. must send to some firm or somebody to translate.

If I'm going to apply to US( not sure yet, parents not supportive of gap year thingy and after the S'pore episode), I will take a gap year, during which I will take the SAT. That means going in 2006. Do I need to take TOEFL if I score well in the verbal part of SAT? Coz a fren in UWC said that a good score would suffice. Is IELTS not recognised in the US?

I am still in the blur state, not knowing wat to do. I took Bio and Chem in stpm. Drop physics after first year (a bit regret). As such, my first year finals result script has physics in it (terrible results), but not in my trials and stpm results slip. My results are not consistent as I study at the last minute(cramming). Will it leave a bad impression? Can I take physics in SAT 2 and then apply for some course which require physics? Wat subject do u advise to take in SAT 2?

Bout cca, my sport activities is zero, an ankle twist last year did not help as well(got it in wushu). How can I boost my cca? I really need help as this is my weakest link!

lyzzy
08-12-2004, 03:40 PM
you can translate your own documents.

toefl depends on individual requirements of each univ.

ielts= no.

consistent results are a good thing. sat2: whatever you feel like studying (read: whatever you are good at) writing is a must.

well... if your cca is zero, you are probably going to find it very hard to get admitted to top twenty five-or-so private universities.

z
08-12-2004, 05:07 PM
CCAs are important... but i feel that it's just an easy way of gauging an applicant's energy/interests/passion/personality/contribution to society/etc.

i think the point is to make yourself outstanding, but not necessarily through conventional means, i.e. participation in CCA (aka school clubs/activities).

i'm pretty sure you can talk about your hobby, or some projects that you pursue on your own, or research during your free time, etc.

good luck :)

skybound
08-12-2004, 09:48 PM
hi!
you know for the mid year report...
should i attach the teacher recommendation from intec in the space for the counselor/principal?
or are the intec teacher recs absolutely redundant?
lol im not really sure what they are for cos most of us got rec letters from our teachers in school...
are the intec ones some form of backup?

08-12-2004, 11:59 PM
For those applying to Cornell Engineering (It is at 8am Malaysia time on Thursday), the link is at:-
http://www.interactionsoftware.com/openhouse/default.asp?SchoolId=1000351518

I am 100% sure that you can do your own translation.

On if you do well in verbal, it would depend on universities, but most universities would still require TOEFL. For Cornell, TOEFL is waived if you get 670 in Verbal.

They would look at overall, but I am sure you can have other aspects that look greater. May be you can study hard for Physics for SAT 2 and then get 800 for it. That would compensate very well for it! On courses for SAT2, it would depend on the program that you are applying, and what the universities require.

On CCA, I would say that you could include your injury while taking part in wushu. However, CCA is not only sports, and as z mentioned, you can showcase all those skills from many aspects. Research/community service/hobby etc, and you have one more year to get involved.

For mid year report, give it to Cik Umiatun and she would be able to fill that up.

For recommendation letters, you can submit as many recommendation letters as possible, although don't just care about the quantity. It's the quality that matters. The rec letters by INTEC would be essential.

lyzzy
09-12-2004, 01:12 AM
I agree with you on the other aspects, but I doubt that this is true.

They would look at overall, but I am sure you can have other aspects that look greater. May be you can study hard for Physics for SAT 2 and then get 800 for it. That would compensate very well for it! On courses for SAT2, it would depend on the program that you are applying, and what the universities require.

From admission books I read, it seems that high school (in our case A Levels or STPM or anything else plus SPM) grades are really very important as well. Apparently, getting a high score in SAT/SAT IIs and getting low grades in school means that you probably "haven't applied yourself fully in school." Or something like that (don't have book so can't quote properly). But then again, high SATs help nevertheless.

When an admission officer was asked which applicant would have a higher chance of being accepted, the one with a lower GPA but high SAT scores, or the one with a low SAT but higher GPA,he answered, "high SAT scores and high GPA."

(paraphrased.)

09-12-2004, 02:43 AM
of course unless you apply to those universities who say that those scores are just numbers, and they would see why you get those scores. May be you have some reasons behind it. Nevertheless, whine and complaint too much in application essays won't help much either.

z
09-12-2004, 03:12 AM
back in F4/F5, I was getting C's in my school's BM exams... in fact, everyone except for the top few, were getting C's... scores for some other subjects were also rather mediocre. granted, those exams were hard.

anyway, there are few ways to tackle this situation:
1. look at trend of your scores - improving over time?
2. look at the relative scores - how do you fare amongst your peers?
3. talk about it as a learning experience - how you dealt with the situation.

nxwen
09-12-2004, 09:52 AM
Thanx for d info

My cca in not exactly zero, juz for sports. Used to play basketball until the school demolished the court in F4. Yeah, will be using this one year to get really involved.

I got A2 in physics in SPM (this cause me to lose out for jpa). But a C in my finals last year. My last year results was horrible, but this year mostly at A's. Back in school the results depends on my liking of the subjects. If I like it, then the score will maintain high overall, if I don't like it, then horrible marks. Btw, do they look at Moral, coz some of my moral marks are around 50 :( (everybody else in my school too), but A1 in SPM.

Anyway, as I will be taking SAT next year after Jan, there will be a new SAT. If I am not mistaken, writing will be part of SAT1, so do I still need to take writing in SAT2?

Hope u guys can help me. Thank you very much!

09-12-2004, 11:03 AM
nxwen, as z explained, if you are gradually improving, that would be a great positive sign! So, basically there is no hard and fast rule about it.

hihihi
09-12-2004, 04:22 PM
nxwen, no need to regret that you didn't choose to accept asean scholarship cause there's always pros and cons for everything:) I myself struggled a lot for the past few months as i went in as a second-intaker...:p

Erm...I'm thinking of going to US after A-level too but I have not taken SAT and TOEFL, is it better for me to take them next year or in 2006(that means i'll have one-year-gap b4 continuing)? I don't think I can do well if I take it next year and I'm thinking of improving my CCA record in that one year gap + I don't mind slowing down a year since i've saved a year because of PTS.

Skeith
10-12-2004, 06:50 PM
argh i missed the cornell admission office chat.... :cry:
sigh

oh btw...i've a problem bout SAT. Stanford sets its dateline at 15 DEC, but SAT 2 only comes out like 19 DEC. So if i send after that I'll reach like Jan 1...just nice for other unis..but will it be too late for stanford?

Or did you guys send SAT 1 scores first...then SAT 2. I figured i'm not that rich ...trying to save as much as I can.

Can someone enlighten me? :~)

z
10-12-2004, 06:56 PM
doesn't college board send the scores in automatically for you?

anyway, get the main applications material postmarked by dec 15. if for some reason you need to mail in SAT2 scores on your own, i guess you don't have a choice other than to do it after the deadline.

oh actually... don't you have to pay college board to send in the scores?

hmm....

Skeith
10-12-2004, 07:05 PM
yea we pay...stanford is my extra uni..not under jpa

was just wondering. I dont want any problems with the application because of SAT 2.

hehe i already send in the application forms. just sit and wait now

10-12-2004, 09:31 PM
Skeith, I would say that you should apply to send the additional score report as soon as possible. But as long as your main application reached them with postmarked by 15th Dec, it should be fine.

A question to you guys, how many minutes do an application is reviewed? That was one of the questions asked by an applicant to Cornell Engineering?

Skeith, don't get too worried, although I was hoping for some of you guys to attend it, since I post in ReCom a few days before it. There were 117 participants in the chat, so I guess they get some benefits out of it, but there are 700 slots for freshman engineering, so don't get too worried.

skybound
10-12-2004, 11:59 PM
its kind of late to be asking this question, seeing that applications have to be sent real soon, but i was doing a last minute review...

if a university has an optional essay, is it wise to send it in anyway?
as in, does it show your *enthusiasm* or does it just make you seem like this really kiasu person who wants to write sth just because it was there.
the question states, in a nutshell, that "sometimes students have more they want to say abt themselves than applications allow. if you have something extra you wanna tell us, then go ahead."

its kind of vague, in the sense that it doesnt require you to have done something great in order to tell them about it... but will i be at a disadvantage if i dont submit an additional essay?

11-12-2004, 12:16 AM
its kind of late to be asking this question, seeing that applications have to be sent real soon, but i was doing a last minute review...

if a university has an optional essay, is it wise to send it in anyway?
as in, does it show your *enthusiasm* or does it just make you seem like this really kiasu person who wants to write sth just because it was there.
the question states, in a nutshell, that "sometimes students have more they want to say abt themselves than applications allow. if you have something extra you wanna tell us, then go ahead."

its kind of vague, in the sense that it doesnt require you to have done something great in order to tell them about it... but will i be at a disadvantage if i dont submit an additional essay?

hahaha... i thought the question and direction given is really clear... if u have something to say... go ahead... if not.. it's fine...

it's up to the officers at the admission office to think what they think... but i do think that if u have something good to say about yourself... say it out LOUDLY and PROUDLY... sometimes, no point of being to humble... but please make sure that the things you are going to mention is not everybody elses' qualities and not worth mentioning.. or else, they will start to think that ur best qualities are just that.... (maybe)

and 1 more thing... dun ever create any hypothetical competitions, or other activities.... becoz it defies the whole purpose of education... and u will never know how resourceful they can be...

11-12-2004, 12:17 AM
skybound, I would strongly recommend you to write the additional optional essay. There are many fold of benefits for you:-
a) An additional way for you to showcase yourself. Am sure you have tons of outstanding stuff to share~!
b) A way to show your interest about the university and program.

And there are many more benefits.

However, if you really have nothing to say, then don't just write a mediocre one.

When is the deadline? Remember that it is postmarked deadline for most universities. Check the actual wordings on the deadline in the university website or application forms.

Good Luck~! Keep the questions going~!

skybound
11-12-2004, 12:38 PM
how much is postage?
just to get a rough idea so that i dont get a heart attack in the post office
and can applications be couriered instead of airmail-ed?

11-12-2004, 06:01 PM
I think Courier/Pos Laju would cost RM50-60.

Basic registered letter would cost RM2-5 (depending on the weight)

naoj
12-12-2004, 08:56 PM
hey anyone from aTU 11 has the same annoying problem as me (sorry..as I have? grammar..haha)? i can't seem to send my SAT scores..maybe browser problem or something? cos i type in the uni i want to send to and click 'search'..then i wait happily...and...NOTHING. the site doesnt list the unis for me and i cant select anything so nada score sending. is it just my comp? i once tried to send my SAT I scores the day i got them at a cyber cafe [but didnt send after all] and i could get the unis names, but now cant. anyone IT savvy? :P pwease?

13-12-2004, 12:34 AM
naoj, perhaps try to find the institution code first and then directly typed in the code, that would smoothen the process.

Or else use the phone call to send additional score report, although I would say that doing it online would be much easier.

yangster
22-12-2004, 03:55 AM
i can't seem to send my SAT scores.. i type in the uni i want to send to and click 'search'..then i wait happily...and...NOTHING. :P pwease?

me too!
relax,try it later,it works!

I think Courier/Pos Laju would cost RM50-60.

Basic registered letter would cost RM2-5 (depending on the weight)

I will send Pos Laju.
But i wonder a vehicle with red big word "POS LAJU" crawling in US..
er, just curious, do any senior in US ever see a POS LAJU van there? if not, how are they going to send it?

skybound, I would strongly recommend you to write the additional optional essay. There are many fold of benefits for you:-
a) An additional way for you to showcase yourself. Am sure you have tons of outstanding stuff to share~!
b) A way to show your interest about the university and program.

And there are many more benefits.

However, if you really have nothing to say, then don't just write a mediocre one.

I agree with the last sentence
for the first part, my motto is "just do it, send and forget about it"
and "dont worry, be happy"
why? see the quote below

:D excuse me, brother chenchow

A question to you guys, how many minutes do an application is reviewed? That was one of the questions asked by an applicant to Cornell Engineering?

@<hidden>#%& argghhh, that question really hurt, i think the purpose ATU student spend a year in INTEC is to deal with application stuff (quite similar to a gap year with some guide isn't it?)
:arrow: I really wonder how long the panel review our application

oh btw...i've a problem bout SAT. Stanford sets its dateline at 15 DEC, but SAT 2 only comes out like 19 DEC. So if i send after that I'll reach like Jan 1...just nice for other unis..but will it be too late for stanford?

Or did you guys send SAT 1 scores first...then SAT 2. I figured i'm not that rich ...trying to save as much as I can.

Can someone enlighten me? :~)

:x another problem with www.collegeboard.com
:lol: collegeboard is so mysterious, what is the system behind, nobody know
:lol: i think recom.org is better then collegeboard website
:lol: if there is problem wiz collegeboard, we have to spend money to call them, and then they ask u ,:"are you speaking Spanish?" :x

(suggestion). becoz we are blur and new, maybe recom can set up specific forum to tackle specific problem
(suggestion) collegeprep forum...sat prep forum(some supernatural tips like study under the table...)...toefl prep forum...
ATU sem123 experience forum(talk bout courses)...visa application forum...

Thanx for d info
...Anyway, as I will be taking SAT next year after Jan, there will be a new SAT. If I am not mistaken, writing will be part of SAT1, so do I still need to take writing in SAT2?...

no more writing for SAT2.

:idea: For INTEC ATU/ADFP students, since new SAT1 is on computer, how are the junior going to do the weekly practise test?

1. yes you can use bank draft from Maybank. They have an office in New York which handle international transactions...

1)can talk more about how the office in New York handle the transactions??
2)to all senior: how will jpa "pejabat bendahari" deal with us when we are in US? how they transfer money to us? is it advisable to open a US bank, such as Citibank?
3)can talk more about telephone service in US?
what is the SMS rate in US? can fight with "MALAYSIA BOLEH RATE" or not? (maxis 2cent, celcom2cent, digi 1 cent)
4)how you ppl have internet access in US? in hostel?
can talk about hotspot / wireless / broadband service condition in each university?
5) can talk about medical service in respective university?

*if all of these already availabe in other thread, pls tell me* :D

Typically the recommendation letter is sealed in an envelope, with the recommendor sign across it.

Anyway, in US, it is always trust. An analogy, when you go up the bus, they won't check how much you pay, because they have the trust that you pay in full and it is the same case here. For exams, some universities do not have professors or anyone proctoring it, because they have the trust that you won't cheat and you just sign that you do not cheat.

Anyway, never ever have any wild idea of cheating, if anyone out there thinks of doing so, the repercussion is very serious. One student in Cornell, he got in perfectly with faked credentials etc. Later, he applied for graduate schools including Cornell and somehow he forgot what he had faked and he faked different stuff, and they managed to track online within the system that he cheated and they checked on it. He got sacked from the university in the last semester, for cheating that he was 1st ranked in his high school, when he was like 3rd rank or something like that. It is not worth it to cheat.

serious? what if my counsellor fake it? ....who knows..... :?
(i mean my counsellor simply crap and puji-puji without referring to the record)

For mid year report, give it to Cik Umiatun and she would be able to fill that up.

For recommendation letters, you can submit as many recommendation letters as possible, although don't just care about the quantity. It's the quality that matters. The rec letters by INTEC would be essential.

YEAP, OSSP staff really helpful except 1 person.
rumour: Pn. Umiatun will transfer to Main Campus soon... guess who will be the new head of OSSP?
Encik Sharim???
:twisted: :evil: 8O :x :? :( :cry:

for recommendation letter, are all lecturers willing to write the letter for ATU10? just curious if they really send the letter to OSSP?

Advisable to do so?

see! we are very blur with collegeboard...
just curious, is malaysia trying to make MUET malaysian version of SAT/ACT/GRE/TOEFL
if yes, then should learn their mistake and do better than the Evil Testing Service (ETS) bravo--Up Ur ScOrE!!

I know of some who finished early last year, but those whom I know have continued JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program, since right now, JPA is strongly encouraging students to continue for Master and PhD.

8O really!?
:D Nice to hear that, JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program.
is it right after getting first degree or they serve their bond first?
just curious, we need SPM to apply for JPA scholarships for undergrad, what we need for JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program respectively?

Oh, Ya, what some extra question
1) i am majoring in actuary science, any suggestion for model of graphic calculator?(hehe, i am not crazy or filthy rich, just lost my calculator larrr....sigh......)
2) those actuary senior in Michigan. As far as i concern, there are no actuary science as choice of field of study in michigan,ann arbor application form, how come most of you all end up there??
3) i apply for University of Wisconsin, Madison as extra university. In the bank draft, i wrote pay to : UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN MADISON
but in the form instruction, it sound 'payable to UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN' only, so will there be a problem?

hmm, a lot already.
Once start, more coming.

I WILL BE BACK.

22-12-2004, 04:25 AM
I will send Pos Laju.
Q1. But i wonder a vehicle with red big word "POS LAJU" crawling in US..
er, just curious, do any senior in US ever see a POS LAJU van there? if not, how are they going to send it?

Q2. @<hidden>#%& argghhh, that question really hurt, i think the purpose ATU student spend a year in INTEC is to deal with application stuff (quite similar to a gap year with some guide isn't it?)
:arrow: I really wonder how long the panel review our application

Q3. :x another problem with www.collegeboard.com
:lol: collegeboard is so mysterious, what is the system behind, nobody know
:lol: i think recom.org is better then collegeboard website
:lol: if there is problem wiz collegeboard, we have to spend money to call them, and then they ask u ,:"are you speaking Spanish?" :x

Q4. (suggestion). becoz we are blur and new, maybe recom can set up specific forum to tackle specific problem
(suggestion) collegeprep forum...sat prep forum(some supernatural tips like study under the table...)...toefl prep forum...
ATU sem123 experience forum(talk bout courses)...visa application forum...

Q5. :idea: For INTEC ATU/ADFP students, since new SAT1 is on computer, how are the junior going to do the weekly practise test?

Q6)can talk more about how the office in New York handle the transactions??
Q7)to all senior: how will jpa "pejabat bendahari" deal with us when we are in US? how they transfer money to us? is it advisable to open a US bank, such as Citibank?
Q8)can talk more about telephone service in US?
what is the SMS rate in US? can fight with "MALAYSIA BOLEH RATE" or not? (maxis 2cent, celcom2cent, digi 1 cent)
Q9)how you ppl have internet access in US? in hostel?
can talk about hotspot / wireless / broadband service condition in each university?
Q10) can talk about medical service in respective university?

*if all of these already availabe in other thread, pls tell me* :D

Q11.serious? what if my counsellor fake it? ....who knows..... :?
(i mean my counsellor simply crap and puji-puji without referring to the record)

Q12.for recommendation letter, are all lecturers willing to write the letter for ATU10? just curious if they really send the letter to OSSP?

Q13. 8O really!?
:D Nice to hear that, JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program.
is it right after getting first degree or they serve their bond first?
just curious, we need SPM to apply for JPA scholarships for undergrad, what we need for JPA scholarships for Master or PhD program respectively?

Oh, Ya, what some extra question
Q14) i am majoring in actuary science, any suggestion for model of graphic calculator?(hehe, i am not crazy or filthy rich, just lost my calculator larrr....sigh......)
Q15) those actuary senior in Michigan. As far as i concern, there are no actuary science as choice of field of study in michigan,ann arbor application form, how come most of you all end up there??
Q16) i apply for University of Wisconsin, Madison as extra university. In the bank draft, i wrote pay to : UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN MADISON
but in the form instruction, it sound 'payable to UNIVERSITY OF WISCONSIN' only, so will there be a problem?

A1. The letters through Pos Laju would be sent via Speed Post by United States Postal Service. There is cooperation between postal service by various countries, so if you send by speed post, it will be treated as speed post by US postal service here.

A2. I would say that a good general impression is essential. For Cornell Engineering, each applicant is looked at on average 25 minutes. If you are really good, the time will be very short. If you are on the border line, the time will be way longer than 25 minutes.

A3. Guess Collegeboard is a mammoth organization in charge of all tests issues...

A4. There are existing threads for ATU students to ask questions. Try to use the search function to look for those threads.

A5. They could utilize the computer labs to do the tests. When I was in INTEC 4 years ago, we do the computer practice test of TOEFL using computer at INTEC. You can do practice tests on paper too. It is more or less equivalent practice, so you guys can take turn to utilize the computer labs to do practice.

A6. Basically the wire transfer will just be transferred over from an account to an account. So, basically you can transfer from any bank in any where in the world, to any other bank in the world. If you send via more established banks, it will take faster, since less routing is needed. Say you send via Maybank or Citibank or HSBC, it would automatically routed to their branch in New York and from there routed to the local bank.

A7. They will do wire transfer. You need to open a US bank. Advisable to open a bank that has the service on your campus. It doesn't matter that it is a small bank. I have never gotten into any problem. All of your allowance will generally be punctual, except for the 1st allowance if some of you guys send your banking details to JPA late. You will get your allowance on 26th Jan/April/July/Oct.

A8. SMS is not popular in US. Hardly anyone uses it. Phone rate in US is very cheap. If you use cell phone, typically it would cost you $30-40 per month, with unlimited night calls and weekend calls to all over US, and a limited number of minutes of nationwide calls during weekday day time.

It is cheaper to call Malaysia by phone cards bought online, like www.phonecard4sale.com . Typical rate would be around 3 cent per minute for calling house phone in Malaysia and 4-5 cent per minute for calling cell phone in Malaysia. Before buying, try to seek help from seniors. There are a number of details about phone card that you need to know before buying. It is still too early to worry now.

A9. Most campus have limitless internet access. Over here in Cornell, it is T3 connection with about 10MB/s, although typical rate would be more like 1MB/s. It is fast enough to get any website to open within a fraction of a second.

A10. You will have insurance from JPA. Medical service is tip-top, but very expensive.

A11. Guess then it is the problem with your counselors. They are responsible, unless you fake their signature.

A12. All lecturers should be willing to write, but you need to get those lecturers that really know you to write. Or else, it will be just a general one. It won't be useful to you. They will send it, but try to double check with them, since they may get many requests.

A13. Immediately after. It is application case-by-case. 3.50 for those pursuing science and engineering courses, 3.75 for other courses if I am not wrong. You need to get an acceptance offer as well from the uni.

A14. You may not need graphic calculator in US. Get it here, if you need it. In Cornell, calculator is not allowed in most, if not all, math and physics exams.

A15. Seniors there will reply.

A16. Check with U Wisconsin.

22-12-2004, 06:15 AM
Q15) those actuary senior in Michigan. As far as i concern, there are no actuary science as choice of field of study in michigan,ann arbor application form, how come most of you all end up there??

in Michigan, it is called Actuarial Math... under the Math Department

u can read all about it at the Math Department's website :
http://www.math.lsa.umich.edu/undergrad/actuarial.shtml

and we all end up here becoz of a HUGE mistake... that is, all of us apply to Wharton School of Business directly for our top choice... we shld have apply to U Penn, general studies, or something, and then, try to get a high CGPA and then apply to business school there and then...(stands a much higher chance than applying directly to Wharton) (thanks to our beloved Advisor, Pn. Suriana back then)

one question back to you... how many actuarial science/ Math major students are there in ATU11???

22-12-2004, 06:37 AM
all of us apply to Wharton School of Business directly for our top choice... we shld have apply to U Penn, general studies, or something, and then, try to get a high CGPA and then apply to business school there and then

just a thought: can you apply to michigan's b-school? or does the b-school not have an actuarial program? just curious.

22-12-2004, 08:03 AM
all of us apply to Wharton School of Business directly for our top choice... we shld have apply to U Penn, general studies, or something, and then, try to get a high CGPA and then apply to business school there and then

just a thought: can you apply to michigan's b-school? or does the b-school not have an actuarial program? just curious.

I'm not so sure abt it....(not absolute)... but AFAIK, B-school doesn't have an Actuarial program...

it is under Math Department of LS&A... but we do have to take Finance and other courses though...

b_ronick
22-12-2004, 02:37 PM
just wondering...
who would be applying for Northwestern University this year?

skybound
22-12-2004, 07:05 PM
hmm u know what happened with nortwestern... a whole bunch of ppl applying for michigan ann arbor was switched (by jpa) to northwestern.
so like there are, i dunno, 20 or so intec students applying to northwestern now... maybe more *shrug*
well im one of them (but i applied for northwestern without jpa switching me)
whats northwesterns average malaysian intake?

Skeith
22-12-2004, 07:10 PM
alot for northwestern. approximately 20-30 actually. JPA removed some requests for Purdue, Illinois and Wisconsin and replaced them with Northwestern instread.

Dunno why but Northwestern just got more famous this year :P

yangster
22-12-2004, 10:12 PM

opps , i wrote 'actuarial science' in the areas of interest/program of study , will get kicked? bye bye michigan

and we all end up here becoz of a HUGE mistake... that is, all of us apply to Wharton School of Business directly for our top choice... we shld have apply to U Penn, general studies, or something, and then, try to get a high CGPA and then apply to business school there and then...(stands a much higher chance than applying directly to Wharton) (thanks to our beloved Advisor, Pn. Suriana back then)

aiyo, too late, i think we all chose Wharton School of Business directly.we never think of that... unfortunately, we repeat ur mistake, and sejarah berulang
bye bye upenn...
but after being in michigan for 3months, do you think it is still a HUGE mistake?

one question back to you... how many actuarial science/ Math major students are there in ATU11???
7 chinese 1 indian and malay uncountable, actually i never count. i think dozen...

Wisconsin admission department reply that it is fine, make the check out to university of wisconsin madison quick! :!:

23-12-2004, 01:42 AM

opps , i wrote 'actuarial science' in the areas of interest/program of study , will get kicked? bye bye michigan

no, u are not going to be kicked out.... anyway.. i've yet to declare my major... so, it is definitely fine to declare any major u want at the moment...:P
u just need to come over and declare ur major... that's all... no harm done... as far as i remember, i did wrote Actuarial Science for on the application form too... CHEERS...

aiyo, too late, i think we all chose Wharton School of Business directly.we never think of that... unfortunately, we repeat ur mistake, and sejarah berulang
bye bye upenn...
but after being in michigan for 3months, do you think it is still a HUGE mistake?

Well... no... not at all..More than happy to be in Michigan...
Being in Michigan (4 months now...) is great!!! Not a mistake at all...

Coming to Michigan has many great advantages (if u are lazy to fulfill their requirements for various courses, because u can transfer hell lot of credits...) and, there are great seniors here... :P (not that seniors at other Uni is not great.... just that Michigan has more!!! and the probability of getting help from a senior is higher... :P oh yar... do u know that books are cheaper to get from seniors... hahaha... ask HeWei, and he will tell u that i sell books cheaply..."spoiling the book market somehow"...

The mistake is just applying to Wharton directly... just the application is a mistake... and pls tell the next batch of junior about this "wicked and twisted" way...
Actually, wanted to go UPENN at first on top of it is an Ivy League, is because my cousin stays 45 minutes from the Uni...and Philaedelphia is a CITY...and Wharton School..

But Ann Arbor is a really beautiful place... and there are great food at the restaurants around(not the dining hall..), just too bad, the cost of living is expensive... and u will love the snow, and the football team here... and the college spirit is so great...

Michigan's School of Engineering is really one of the best.... LS&A is
good(but not great)... luckily, their Math Department is highly ranked....

Well Michigan is one of the best public school, so, if not an Ivy-league, it is the next best thing... i'm more than thankful to be here...

7 chinese 1 indian and malay uncountable, actually i never count. i think dozen...
wow.... then we will have a kampung here really soon...(if all of u manage secure a place)... wat about the engineering students? are they still barred from applying to U of M??

Wisconsin admission department reply that it is fine, make the check out to university of wisconsin madison quick! :!:[/quote]

b_ronick
26-12-2004, 08:30 AM
hmm u know what happened with nortwestern... a whole bunch of ppl applying for michigan ann arbor was switched (by jpa) to northwestern.
so like there are, i dunno, 20 or so intec students applying to northwestern now... maybe more *shrug*
well im one of them (but i applied for northwestern without jpa switching me)
whats northwesterns average malaysian intake?

okay i would think that there are too many malaysians in ann arbor, purdue, uiuc and wisconsin so it is no surprise that they switched the unis...
but i have no idea why northwestern...

anyway, you are asking how many malaysians are acceptef into northwestern?
well that depends..like for my year, there are like 6 students both jpa and self sponsored student...and the year before there are a lot of malaysians accepted to NU..
probably around 10..
at this mo..there are around 33 of us here in northwestern..

26-12-2004, 02:08 PM
With UPenn being an ivy league as well, so frankly, I don't think there is much difference between the general acceptance rate of UPenn vs Wharton. Wharton should be slightly tougher, but I frankly don't think the difference is very big.

So, to those who are applying, don't get too despair. UiTM has had student gone to Wharton!

KobeBryant
01-01-2005, 03:55 PM
:P oh yar... do u know that books are cheaper to get from seniors... hahaha... ask HeWei, and he will tell u that i sell books cheaply..."spoiling the book market somehow"...

thanks ya , bro...haha
maybe can get from u again in umich :wink:

yangster
01-01-2005, 06:51 PM
With UPenn being an ivy league as well, so frankly, I don't think there is much difference between the general acceptance rate of UPenn vs Wharton. Wharton should be slightly tougher, but I frankly don't think the difference is very big.

So, to those who are applying, don't get too despair. UiTM has had student gone to Wharton!

:) Wharton is slighly tougher, and I think it is the slightly part that make Wharton distinctive, isn't it. :)

I discussed with my friend, who also applied straight to Wharton. and he said Upenn allow us to change details by writing a letter to them. Do you think it is a good idea? So to say we are now apply to your university only not Wharton. we dont want Wharton, we scared :P (i crapped the last sentence) or to say we if Upenn have a place, even it is not Wharton, pls accept us.(begging)

but! even if we get into Upenn for general study, does it guarantee to enter Wharton? if not, what happen to JPA part? bcoz our major must be Actuarial Science.

Anyway, were seniors interviewed by Upenn Alumni? If yes, where is it? When ... and are the interviewer good-looking :lol: ~heh~
Can I tell the interviewer to change my application (just like what JPA interviewer did by changing people choices to Japan/Korea on the spot). Personally, I think JPA interviewers are funny..ehem..

ah.. one more thing, UPenn required us to send a copy of informal result of SAT, is it very important? coz we knew our SAT2 result only after 17Dec while all of us had to send the application thing b4 15Dec... If it is important, then I will write a letter to Upenn mention about the Wharton thing and attach an informal copy of SAT2 result.

THANKS

Skeith
02-01-2005, 12:21 AM
hmm simple question
can I DHL to addresses with 'BOX' or a postal code?

example

Office of Admissions
1410 NE Campus Parkway
Box 355852
Seattle, WA 98195-5852

z
02-01-2005, 12:36 AM
hmm simple question
can I DHL to addresses with 'BOX' or a postal code?

example

Office of Admissions
1410 NE Campus Parkway
Box 355852
Seattle, WA 98195-5852

I'm not sure if it's "Box" or "P.O. Box" - figure that out :)
Regarding postal code or zip code, you'll always need that.

Actually, I don't think you can DHL/Fedex/UPS to a P.O.Box or any address where a receipient signature is not available... check with the company.

naoj
02-01-2005, 05:43 PM
is the mid year report important? cos i can only send mine after jan 3 cos puan umi didnt finish filling it in before the hols. do the unis mind if i send them in by mid jan although the deadline for the rest of the app was dec 31? nothing much in the mid year report also..since i already send my uitm statement of results with my (miserable..hehe) gpa. what say you all?

wow so many problems for upenn + wharton...glad i'm not applying. :P

intec starts tomoro...boohoo...haha see u all then.. :)

tree007
04-01-2005, 10:56 AM
for me, i basically screwed all my mid-term reports.... i just wrote "graduated from high school"...
but.. that's risky lah~...
i'm not sure wat suhaimi will recommend...
but for suriana, there were mixed opnions...

any1 applied to CMU? any1? (just curious.. )

Skeith
07-01-2005, 12:41 PM
me me me and a few more of my friends (around 4-5)

really looking forward to get in there :P

l00708
07-01-2005, 06:27 PM
ok,im gonna look really dumb,but first of all,whats ATU 11?N where do u guys get the application forms for the jpa n for our own application to the uni's in USA? U guys finish ur A'levels? Cos i just fin my SPM and not too familiar with the application process....... :?

And who's all this suhaimi and Suriana?
:?: :?: :?: :?: :cry:

Skeith
07-01-2005, 09:25 PM
ok,im gonna look really dumb,but first of all,whats ATU 11?N where do u guys get the application forms for the jpa n for our own application to the uni's in USA? U guys finish ur A'levels? Cos i just fin my SPM and not too familiar with the application process....... :?

And who's all this suhaimi and Suriana?
:?: :?: :?: :?: :cry:

we're a bunch of JPA sponsored students bound to study in the United States, and we applied for JPA right after SPM results are out.

JPA application forms can be obtained from post offices for a price of RM10, I think. but its around there.

Uni applicatios : either request for them to send to you via mail or just print the forms from the university websites.

None of us sponsored students has done A-lvl cause it was compulsary for all of us to undergo a preparation course (ATU) before leaving for the states. The course takes 1 year

l00708
07-01-2005, 09:46 PM
Ooohhh,now i get it. So,u guys got straight A1's? Hehe! So what programme did u apply for Skeith?
N do we call them to send the form to us if we went it delivered to us?
What choice did u select US to be ? 1st?

tree007
08-01-2005, 12:50 AM
i dunno about now, but in my year, JPA forms were obtained from BSN branches for 10 bucks....

u can check out the scholarships thread for more info....

this thread is mainly, if not strictly, for ATU11 only. so for those SPM freshies, pls check out the scholarship thread for more info on not only JPA, but also Petronas, Telekom n others....

good luck!

yangster
08-01-2005, 04:11 PM
I received email notification from university of michigan, ann arbor.
but with another unexpected email, attached below:

Cher Yang, thank you for applying to the University of Michigan.
Because
you have graduated from high school you are considered a transfer. You
wrote the freshman short answer essay. I have included the transfer
short
answer question below for you to answer. You may email this back to me
or
send it via mail. Be sure to include your full name and ID number.

(Transfer students): Describe your educational path. How did you get to
where you are today? What are your educational goals, and how does the
University of Michigan fit into them?

Thank you,
Lynn Pruitt

so, i would like to ask whether senior in Michigan , Ann Arbor go as transfer or fresman?

** Encik Suhaimi said transfer student and transfer credit is different...JPA dont allow us go as transfer student...what should I do?

09-01-2005, 02:32 AM
pls refer to the other thread.... anyway... dun post the same msg at two different threads.... the moderators might not be happy.... :P

14-01-2005, 08:03 PM
This thread is for discussions by ATU 11 members. Please refrain from starting new threads, ok?

This is from UC Davis thread. I am locking that thread. Please continue discussion here.

http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=35688#35688

This is from UMich thread. I am locking that thread. Please continue discussion here.

http://www.recom.org/modules.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=35702#35702

gesar
15-01-2005, 05:03 AM
arlo arlo...Hmmm, I have not been very active in these threads after so long already...well, I guess it's time to ask a little questions to the juniors. So how many people coming to the States? I have forgotten which shows how old I am getting, keep forgetting simple things. Urghh...bad signs. Anyway, anyone planning to come to University of California, Davis?! And if that's a yes, you guys can contact us, we have like 5 super seniors and 8 seniors here ( I mean us, we or whatever..hehe) Oops, forgotten to tell you people, of all the 13 people here, only one guy is with us, so we are hoping more guys will be coming. The girls here are really pretty and of course, more good looking as well...hehe, JOKING!!! Anyway, any questions, can just either ask through this threads or send me a personal email.... hclim@<hidden> ....Okie...all the best people....

Skeith
15-01-2005, 01:42 PM
I'm starting to get a little worried..
Cornell and Princeton haven't send their confirmations until now. I've already received the ones from other unis that I applied for, in about 2 weeks after I send my app.

But these 2 I sent around Dec 10, so it Should be there by now.
Seniors out there, did you guys have to wait this long too? What if my app got lost....

I can't even check my status online because I don't have a PIN, and my email is invalid. So perhaps they have not received it yet, or they input my email wrongly.

Worry worry worried.....

Panda
15-01-2005, 02:39 PM
I'm starting to get a little worried..
Cornell and Princeton haven't send their confirmations until now. I've already received the ones from other unis that I applied for, in about 2 weeks after I send my app.

But these 2 I sent around Dec 10, so it Should be there by now.
Seniors out there, did you guys have to wait this long too? What if my app got lost....

I can't even check my status online because I don't have a PIN, and my email is invalid. So perhaps they have not received it yet, or they input my email wrongly.

Worry worry worried.....

Hi, for your problem, just email the admission office of the universities and see what they say. Address your problem to them and they will try to solve it. I used to solve my problem by email. For Cornell U, they will give you the confirmation number after you have submitted the Part I of the application online. If you send it through snail mail, they will give you the confirmation number after they receive your application. Dont worry too much. Ok.;) Just do what you can, n you will get what you wish for. Good luck!!

naoj
15-01-2005, 04:11 PM
INTERVIEWS!! INTERVIEWS!! What to say at interviews!!?? Yale, Harvard all coming up...MIT passed already...
*scared*

16-01-2005, 12:19 AM
skeith, which dept in Cornell do you apply? Let me know. I will be able to link you up with someone that works in the admission office.

naoj, on interview, I would say that be yourself. Harvard interview will be conducted by Datuk Goh Cheng Teik. Try to prepare a large list of your personal experience to share there.

To those who have been to such interview, do share here please~!

Skeith
16-01-2005, 12:34 AM
I applied for College of Engineering, Department of Computer Science. Btw will my choice of department affect my admission chances. I understand that Coll. of Engineering in Cornell is very popular and is one of the top among its contemporaries. Hope that won't reduce my chances of getting into Cornell.

Thanks ChenChow for the help.

16-01-2005, 12:42 AM
For those of you who are applying to Cornell Engineering, try to contact Shawn Felton, if you have any important question. If you need his email, feel free to email me. He is the Associate Director of Admission for Engineering College, and is the person that will decide whether you are in or not.

He will be very busy, but I believe he would reply your email. Be tactful when emailing him, but I am sure he would reply your emails within a couple of working days.

I would say that the chances for engineering is pretty much the same as of other colleges here in Cornell. It shouldn't affect much.

p/s: Shawn Felton's email add has been removed

lyzzy
16-01-2005, 01:46 PM
Chenchow,

This is probably out of topic, but I think that you should't post the guy's email address on the Internet. Ever wonder how you get spam even though you don't sign up for anything?

Spam sites crawl Internet pages (especially message boards like Recom!) to extract email addresses from pages. That's how you get spam. This probably sounds really impossible, but that is how it works.

He probably would not appreciate his email address being posted up publicly on on the message board. I know I wouldn't.

Skeith
16-01-2005, 11:53 PM
Seniors,

You can also ask us any questions concerning ATU 11, anything at all even if it is about 'How many ppl applying to XXX uni.." and so on. We'll try our best to keep you guys updated on our side. At least I will :P .

Btw our new Head of ATU is Dr. Normah now. There has been a reshuffling of the management board in the whole of INTEC. But OSSP staffs remain the same. Just to let you know

/Skeith

17-01-2005, 12:19 AM
Seniors,

You can also ask us any questions concerning ATU 11, anything at all even if it is about 'How many ppl applying to XXX uni.." and so on. We'll try our best to keep you guys updated on our side. At least I will :P .

Btw our new Head of ATU is Dr. Normah now. There has been a reshuffling of the management board in the whole of INTEC. But OSSP staffs remain the same. Just to let you know

/Skeith

wat about Pn. Umi?

17-01-2005, 03:54 AM
lyzzy, I have removed his email add from here, but I just double check, his personal email address was listed directly in the engineering admission website too.

b_ronick
17-01-2005, 10:12 AM
for the benefit of those who are applying to northwestern university, there are around 2-3 ppl who are active on recom..

if you have any questions about northwestern university and stuff, you can always email me at s-yeoh@<hidden>
i'll be glad to help whenever possible aight.. ;)
i know you might be wondering how it is like here just as i was like in your shoes just a year before, so you'd probably have a lot of questions..

and btw, who has the contact details of pn umi and all? i would like to get in touch with them... thanx!

Skeith
17-01-2005, 06:07 PM
wat about Pn. Umi?

Most probably she is going to lecture in the main campus. But now she's still helping out in INTEC for a few weeks, prolly training the new head now :P