View Full Version : Info: A non-exhaustive list of things to bring when going overseas for education. :)

g1noah
07-08-2010, 09:28 PM
*Updated info is in RED.*

Here is a list of things that I'm planning to bring to UK, as a reference for those going overseas for further studies. As for JPA sponsored students, pay some attention to the documents needed to bring.

If there's something you think I've missed out in my list, feel free to leave it in the comments below. Cheers. :)

A. Documents

1. Passport with visa
*Remember to get a passport at student's price, by proving that you are a students, under the age of 21. Details of passport application, refer to here (http://www.imi.gov.my/index.php/en/services/citizens/passport-/pma).
For details of visa application, refer to UKBA (http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/) and VFS (http://www.vfs-uk-my.com) websites.

2. Photostat passport x10

3. Photostat visa x10
*These are useful for various applications process such as opening a bank account.

4. Letter of acceptance from uni

5. Photostat letter of acceptance from uni

6. JPA sponsorship letter
*This is the official letter confirming that JPA will sponsor your further education. You will usually get it after you have satisfy all the conditions listed in the initial offer letter by JPA.

7. Photostat JPA sponsorship letter x6

8. A-level certificates (AS & A2)
*Or any other pre-university certificates, as stated in your CAS (related to UK visa application effective from 2010). In a CAS, all the qualifications that the university had used to access your application are listed in there. So, you have to provide evidence to prove that the qualifications you stated are valid.
For more information on CAS, refer to here (http://www.ukba.homeoffice.gov.uk/studyingintheuk/adult-students/can-you-apply/cas/).

9. Photostat A-level certificates x2 each

10. IELTS report
*Refer to your CAS.

11. Photostat IELTS report x6

12. GCE(O) English
*Refer to your CAS.

13. Photostat GCE(O) English x2

14. SPM certificate
*Refer to your CAS.

15. Photostat SPM certificate x2

16. Photostat birth certificate

17. Photostat IC
*May be they might come in handy one day?? (Though I will not bring my original IC and birth certificate.)

18. Passport sized photos x20 (blue & white background)
*Useful for various applications.

19. 2008 medical reports & results

20. 2010 medical reports & results
*These are the reports of medical checkup as required by JPA. Might as well bring them along.

21. JPA initial offer letter

22. Photostat JPA initial offer letter x2
*Don't know whether it will be of any use. Just in case.

23. List of items in luggage & hand-carry
*Essential as adviced by British Council, both for preparation purpose, and in case of the luggage is missing.

24. Chest x-ray
*Might be needed when clearing custom in UK.

25. Uni accommodation letter
*Essential for admission into halls of residence by university. Will receive it only when the offer is UF.

26. Photostat uni accommodation letter x2

27. JPA financial affidavit
*This is a letter by JPA stating that they will pay in full of your tuition fees and living expenses. Essential for visa application.

28. Photostat JPA financial affidavit x6

29. Print out of your CAS statement/email.
*In case you forget the super long digits and alphabets like me. And to refer to what qualifications are included in your CAS.

B. Money

1. Cash

2. Atm card
*In case of emergency. It can be any bank, although there might be a fee incur when you withdraw money.

3. Bank drafts
*One of the safest way to bring money. But remember to write down the serial number of bank drafts after getting them, so that they can be cancelled if they are lost or stolen.

4. Traveller's Cheque
*Another good way of bringing money, and without the need of a bank account to use them.

C. Attires

1. Watch

2. Goggles

3. Swimming trunk

4. Spare spectacles + (spectacles case, accessory)
*Remember to go for an eye checkup by optician before leaving, since it will be very expensive in UK to do so. And get a spare spectacles just in case.

5. Gloves
*This applies to all winter clothing. It is advisable to buy them only in UK. It will be much cheaper there. Bringing along a jacket should be suffice, to last for a few days while you get proper winter clothing I think.

6. Windbreaker

7. Winter jacket

8. Slipper

9. Sport shoes
* Don't bring too many shoes if your luggage is feeling too heavy. :)

10. Leather shoes

11. Sweater

12. Jackets

13. Socks (Thick)

14. Socks (Thin)

15. Jeans

16. Underwears

17. T-shirts

18. Short pants

19. Long pants

20. Shirts

21. Belt

22. Handkerchiefs
*I'm a man that don't like tissue papers. :)

23. Traditional/patriotic costume
*Might be useful during some cultural days.

24. Backpacker’s bag
*I'm planning to do a lot of travelling. :)

25. Laptop bag

26. Raincoat

27. Tracksuit

28. Towels

29. Cloth hangers

30. Thermal underwear

31. Personal pouch
*It is a small pouch which you wear under your clothes, to hold some important documents such as passport.

32. Peg

D. Personal grooming & healthcare stuffs

1. Nailclippers

2. Shampoo (small)
*Just bring a small one to reduce weight, and for immediate use when arriving in UK.

3. Soap

4. Shaver & blades

5. Facial cleaner

6. Toothbrush

7. Toothpaste (small)
*Same as above.

8. Panadol

9. Tiger balm
*My personal favourite. I know many people don't like this, but just, you know.

10. Moisturizer

11. Lipbalm

12. Body lotion
*Essential to prevent drying of skin.

13. Handiplast

14. Toilet tissue

15. Facial tissue

16. Small mirror

E. Hardware

1. Laptop + (adapter, mouse, battery)

2. Mp3 + (wires x2, headphone)

3. Laptop lock & permanent attach

4. Extension power cord

5. Handphone + (headphone, charger)

6. Rice cooker + (wire)
*It is debatable whether you should bring a rice cooker or not. Last time I check, a rice cooker costs about 30++ pounds in UK. Update : There is a decent rice cooker, costs about 10 pounds, available on Argos (www.argos.co.uk).

7. External harddisk + (wire)

8. Camera + (charger, wire, lens adapter x2)

9. Thumbdrive

10. Multiplug

11. Two pins adapter

12. Blank DVD x10

13. Torchlight

14. Alarm clock

F. Food-related

1. Fruit knife

2. Instant noodles

3. Chopsticks

4. Metal bowls

5. Spoon & fork

6. Cup

7. Thermoflask
*Important during winter. I remembered the happiness that swells in me when I get to drink a cup of hot plain water during a cold winter.

8. Biscuits (during flight)
*Not necessary unless you like to run around in the plane.

9. Tupperware

10. Water Tupperware

11. Empty water bottle (during flight)
*Bring one only if you are ready to risk losing it during immigration clearance.

12. Sweets/Assam.
*To help you cope with the air turbulence and during taking off/landing.

G. Stationery

1. Calculators

2. Blue pens

3. Black pens

4. Red pens

5. Liquid papers/Correction tapes

6. Highlighters

7. Pencil lead

8. Marker

9. Puncher

10. Flexible ruler

11. Stapler & bullet

12. Paper rings

13. Paper clips & pins

14. Sticky pads

15. long ruler

16. Cutter

17. Erasers

18. Cellophane tape

19. Double sided tape

20. Notepad

21. Scissors

22. Glue

23. Rulers

24. Pencil case

25. Protractor, set squares

26. Compass (drawing)

27. Mechanical pencils

28. Pencil

29. Sharperners

H. Miscellaneous

1. Calendar (small)

2. Sewing set

3. Table tennis bat
*My favourtie sport.

4. A piece of cloth
*For cleaning purposes.

5. Key chains

6. Small screwsriver

7. Rafia rope

8. Playing cards

9. Locks

10. Plastic bags

11. Environment-friendly bags

12. Rubber bands

13. Umbrella

Glassylicious
07-08-2010, 11:30 PM
I actually wouldn't suggest buying a winter coat in Malaysia and bringing it over to the UK. Winter coats/jackets are often much cheaper in the UK, and they're of a more recent style/design too. Also, when you arrive in the UK in September/October it's not really that cold yet [winter only arrives in December], so you can probably last a week or so before you get to buy a proper winter jacket.

g1noah
08-08-2010, 11:38 AM
I actually wouldn't suggest buying a winter coat in Malaysia and bringing it over to the UK. Winter coats/jackets are often much cheaper in the UK, and they're of a more recent style/design too. Also, when you arrive in the UK in September/October it's not really that cold yet [winter only arrives in December], so you can probably last a week or so before you get to buy a proper winter jacket.

Ya, I agree with you, but I happened to have a winter coat already. May be I should add a note in my list. :)

08-08-2010, 02:53 PM
Lol, would you be able to fit all that into your luggage? But it is a very complete list I must say!

littlewheatgrass
08-08-2010, 03:59 PM
To prevent luggage overload, for item group F,G,H, buy it in UK.

Also try to buy an Electric rice cooker, it is difficult to buy from your local Dixon or Curry's store.

Everything Chinese or M'sian such as chilli sauce, get it from chinatown chinese grocery store.

Stationery - you can get from WHSmith or yr student union shop.

Computer product - Comet retail store www.comet.co.uk

For availability & price comparison such as duvet or hairdryers - www.argos.co.uk (http://www.argos.co.uk)

Glassylicious
08-08-2010, 04:12 PM
Tip: Electric rice cookers can sometimes be found in Chinese supermarkets. =)

littlewheatgrass
08-08-2010, 04:40 PM
Tip: Electric rice cookers can sometimes be found in Chinese supermarkets. =)

I got mine from Giant here for RM45..good for 2-3 persons.

Agreed with G1noah, for those who are short-sighted, good to get an extra pair of glasses. Heard my dad said prescription glasses are quite expensive in UK. He also gave me a multi-function swiss knife with screwdriver, pliers build-in, told me it is very handy if you need to wire up a plug or tighten up some loose screws.

Mum bought me a bathrobe, very useful when coming out of the shower or when waking up in the morning esp when the central-heating is not on yet.. and 正骨水 ( for limp injury) + 风沙 pill ( stomach ache)

sleevelesssky
08-08-2010, 07:25 PM
What about a full range of BPL t shirts to protect yourself from football hooligans?

g1noah
10-08-2010, 01:33 AM
Lol, would you be able to fit all that into your luggage? But it is a very complete list I must say!

Thanks. I will try to fit them in, but I'm ready to sacrifice some if my luggage goes overloaded. :)

I got mine from Giant here for RM45..good for 2-3 persons.

Agreed with G1noah, for those who are short-sighted, good to get an extra pair of glasses. Heard my dad said prescription glasses are quite expensive in UK. He also gave me a multi-function swiss knife with screwdriver, pliers build-in, told me it is very handy if you need to wire up a plug or tighten up some loose screws.

Mum bought me a bathrobe, very useful when coming out of the shower or when waking up in the morning esp when the central-heating is not on yet.. and 正骨水 ( for limp injury) + 风沙 pill ( stomach ache)

How come your rice cooker is so cheap? I got mine at RM85. Lol.

Btw, the 风莎丸 hong kong variant, 保济丸 had been found out to contain carcinogenic compound. Since 风莎丸 is manufactured in Malaysia, and the regulation here is not as strict as HK, you might have to be careful on it too. It was originally on my list too. About the 正骨水, I prefer the western variant of it, though I don't know the name. :)

What about a full range of BPL t shirts to protect yourself from football hooligans?

Lol. :)) I'm not interested in football, except for the world cup. Though I missed each and every match in the recent world cup, due to unwillingness to stay up late.

littlewheatgrass
10-08-2010, 08:03 AM
How come your rice cooker is so cheap? I got mine at RM85. Lol.

Btw, the 风莎丸 hong kong variant, 保济丸 had been found out to contain carcinogenic compound. Since 风莎丸 is manufactured in Malaysia, and the regulation here is not as strict as HK, you might have to be careful on it too. It was originally on my list too. About the 正骨水, I prefer the western variant of it, though I don't know the name.

Since you are so thorough with your packing list, which means i can pack less and knock on yr door to pinjam from you if i need something. I am UoE bound too..:laugh

sonatinalai
10-08-2010, 09:52 AM
I must applaud noah for such initiative. It'll be appreciated by many of us, especially those worrying parents who aren't sure whether their sweethearts will be bringing sufficient stuffs.

davidchak
10-08-2010, 10:11 AM
I think Chest X ray is useless. If its for medical purpose, ur report aldi clears you off any lung disease. If its for security reason, bringing in n X ray from 3 weeks ago is quite useless.

I brought it along "just cause JPA ask to" and noone wants to look at my bones at all (not even at LHR) :(

So is thermal underwear. I brought 2 pairs there and I never have to use it - mind u,the place I am going (Montreal) is 15 deg celcius lower than UK THats cause as the weather progresses from Fall to Winter, your body will slowly get used to the weather there. Yes, winter may be cold, but because it cools down gradually, u wont feel THAT cold. Maybe just slightly colder than fall.

11-08-2010, 01:37 AM
To prevent luggage overload, for item group F,G,H, buy it in UK.

Also try to buy an Electric rice cooker, it is difficult to buy from your local Dixon or Curry's store.

Everything Chinese or M'sian such as chilli sauce, get it from chinatown chinese grocery store.

Stationery - you can get from WHSmith or yr student union shop.

Computer product - Comet retail store www.comet.co.uk

For availability & price comparison such as duvet or hairdryers - www.argos.co.uk (http://www.argos.co.uk)

NO!! Get any of your stationery here in Malaysia!!!!!! Stationery are well expensive in the UK! Nonsensical prices!!!

sugarspice
11-08-2010, 09:50 AM
What's the baggage allowance set by MAS by the way? Any extra allowance for students? 20kg is definitely not sufficient...:(

littlewheatgrass
11-08-2010, 10:47 AM
What's the baggage allowance set by MAS by the way? Any extra allowance for students? 20kg is definitely not sufficient...:(

Heard students are given 30kg allowance, enough for you to pack some durian along :wink

Seems like we are going to depart around Raya period. Just hope there won't be heavy traffic fr JB to KL just in case my parent wish to send me off at KLIA.

11-08-2010, 11:36 AM
What's the baggage allowance set by MAS by the way? Any extra allowance for students? 20kg is definitely not sufficient...:(You carry way too much! Reduce some of your luggage! Otherwise you can tell the person at the check-in counter that you are a student, and that you need extra luggage allowance. Most reasonable ones will give it to you =) Otherwise call the MAS offices and try to get an upgrade for free.

Heard students are given 30kg allowance, enough for you to pack some durian along :wink

Seems like we are going to depart around Raya period. Just hope there won't be heavy traffic fr JB to KL just in case my parent wish to send me off at KLIA.I definitely would like to see a video of the cabin's conditions if you do bring a durian along :P

NO!! Get any of your stationery here in Malaysia!!!!!! Stationery are well expensive in the UK! Nonsensical prices!!!I got all of my pens from my seniors and all kinds of fairs everywhere. The ones I got from the engineering fair in my university are enough to last me for my 4 years time in Germany :P

sonatinalai
11-08-2010, 09:27 PM
Apply for an ISIC card before you leave Malaysia could have earned you 10kg extra baggage allowance on MAS.
http://www.msltravel.com/flights_student.php

g1noah
13-08-2010, 10:49 PM
Since you are so thorough with your packing list, which means i can pack less and knock on yr door to pinjam from you if i need something. I am UoE bound too..:laugh

Lol. Do I happen to know you? Ya, u r definitely welcome to knock on my door, n I'll pinjam to u. :)

NO!! Get any of your stationery here in Malaysia!!!!!! Stationery are well expensive in the UK! Nonsensical prices!!!

Is it really that expensive? I checked on Amazon.uk, and it is not that expensive, may be a little, but not a lot.

14-08-2010, 01:27 AM
I got all of my pens from my seniors and all kinds of fairs everywhere. The ones I got from the engineering fair in my university are enough to last me for my 4 years time in Germany :P

!! Brilliant idea! I am definitely visiting more booths this year!

Lol. Do I happen to know you? Ya, u r definitely welcome to knock on my door, n I'll pinjam to u. :)

Is it really that expensive? I checked on Amazon.uk, and it is not that expensive, may be a little, but not a lot.

Yes! For me anyways! I get my supplies from Ryman, maybe that is why!

littlewheatgrass
14-08-2010, 09:58 AM

I'm also JPA-sponsored doing Vet Medicine in Summerhall & Easter Bush. Will be staying in South Clerk St hall of residence. According to JPA, we are supposed to depart for Edinburgh on 8th or 9th Sept, a few days b4 Raya. Prior to that, we hv to turn up at JPA to pick up our advances cos they are giving us some cash & bank draft so that we hv money to spend when we arrived.

I hv been in contact with Edinburgh M'sian Student Assoiciation (EMSA).. see FB " Edinburgh Malaysian Freshers 2010". They are willing to help us to stay in their house for a few days since you can only allowed to check into yr hall of residence on the 11th

g1noah
14-08-2010, 10:16 AM
I'm also JPA-sponsored doing Vet Medicine in Summerhall & Easter Bush. Will be staying in South Clerk St hall of residence. According to JPA, we are supposed to depart for Edinburgh on 8th or 9th Sept, a few days b4 Raya. Prior to that, we hv to turn up at JPA to pick up our advances cos they are giving us some cash & bank draft so that we hv money to spend when we arrived.

I hv been in contact with Edinburgh M'sian Student Assoiciation (EMSA).. see FB " Edinburgh Malaysian Freshers 2010". They are willing to help us to stay in their house for a few days since you can only allowed to check into yr hall of residence on the 11th

Thanks a lot for the information. Can I have your FB name?

rachelcarter
19-08-2010, 02:52 AM
I would recommend getting the power adapter when you arrive in that country for a few reasons:
1) It's cheaper
2) You don't want to risk the one you brought with you not working.

ayja
19-08-2010, 05:46 PM
You don't need to bring biscuits and a water bottle for the flight for a couple of reasons:
1) security for intl flights, they don't allow containers more than 100mL. Esp if you're flying from LHR.
2) if you want water you can always ask the flight attendant. food? Plenty, you'll be so stuffed you won't need it. Bring some sweets or 'assam' if you're airsick/cabin pressure.

As for adaptor, if you're headed to the UK you won't need it, cause our plugs are compatible. only if you're going to travel to other Euro countries then you do (or if you're flying next year to NZ/Aus). Adaptors are not necessarily cheaper over there, you might get a good deal in M'sia.

Leather shoes, you'll be wearing them with your blazer, so that's a load off.

You won't be able to fit so many shoes into your bag, they are heavy (trust me, I'm a girl :))

School socks (not too thick neither too thin) are quite practical, you can use them for winter/summer-hence you save on bringing so many types)

Backpackers bag, get one that can fit your laptop (a sturdy, padded one). Laptop cases are bulky and heavy (again, you can save space n weight)

Small broom with dustpan not necessary, usually you can get a vacuum in the halls, or just get a cheap one over at the departmental stores there (you can get one for $2 in NZ!)

Other than that, the very comprehensive list is good!

Small essentials like nail clippers n stuff are hard to find, so don't forget them! Metal bowls are good for steaming/oven use. Empty tupperwares n bags too are important if you store food for the week!

All the best!

g1noah
19-08-2010, 06:26 PM
You don't need to bring biscuits and a water bottle for the flight for a couple of reasons:
1) security for intl flights, they don't allow containers more than 100mL. Esp if you're flying from LHR.
2) if you want water you can always ask the flight attendant. food? Plenty, you'll be so stuffed you won't need it. Bring some sweets or 'assam' if you're airsick/cabin pressure.

Lol. Thanks a lot for the suggestions. :)

The water bottle should be empty, and after you get on the plane, ask the flight attendants to fill it for you. It is just for convenience purpose, to take some burden off the flight attendants. :)

Actually, from my past experience, food is anything but plenty on the plane. They do serve meals, which is a little bit small in portion, regularly, but I do suggest bringing on biscuits just in case. Or may be we can get some biscuits from the flight attendants for free? :)

ayja
19-08-2010, 07:10 PM
haha you're welcome :)

Yeah the bottle issue. If you're flying from KLIA then it shouldn't be much of a problem. But if you fly from LHR on an intl flight, they don't allow you to bring an empty bottle that can hold more than 100mL. They're quite strict about it. Anyways to be safe just bring a bottle you wouldn't mind throwing away :D

Food is anything but plenty ?! *insert shocked face here* haha I think it's just me then. For an ave 8 hr flight you get two meals, together with the long period of inactivity I usually can't finish the food without feeling ill :S I think they should have extra bread rolls though? Regardless, you can always bring lol, no biggie. Or prob just pinch them off your less than hungry mates ;D

Glassylicious
19-08-2010, 08:28 PM
o_O

On a standard typical 13 hour flight KUL to LHR...

Peanuts + drink, then a meal [a drink, main course, a salad, a cake/dessert, a bread roll with butter, and cheese and crackers], then a snack pack [containing more cheese and crackers, chocolate and other tidbits], and then another meal near the last two hours of the flight. Also, if you sleep a lot during the flight you won't feel hungry.

g1noah
21-08-2010, 10:03 PM
haha you're welcome :)

Yeah the bottle issue. If you're flying from KLIA then it shouldn't be much of a problem. But if you fly from LHR on an intl flight, they don't allow you to bring an empty bottle that can hold more than 100mL. They're quite strict about it. Anyways to be safe just bring a bottle you wouldn't mind throwing away :D

Food is anything but plenty ?! *insert shocked face here* haha I think it's just me then. For an ave 8 hr flight you get two meals, together with the long period of inactivity I usually can't finish the food without feeling ill :S I think they should have extra bread rolls though? Regardless, you can always bring lol, no biggie. Or prob just pinch them off your less than hungry mates ;D

Lol. On a second thought, I agree with you on the food issue. Guess I had been travelling on Airasia all too often nowadays. I think I'll grab a few packets of biscuits just to fill some time, instead of really filling up my stomach. :)

And thanks a lot on the bottle issue. I have forgotten about that. Someone once told me some custom officers will do that to empty bottles and some wouldn't mind. Guess I'll still give it a shot. :))

I'll update it accordingly. Thanks. :)

o_O

On a standard typical 13 hour flight KUL to LHR...

Peanuts + drink, then a meal [a drink, main course, a salad, a cake/dessert, a bread roll with butter, and cheese and crackers], then a snack pack [containing more cheese and crackers, chocolate and other tidbits], and then another meal near the last two hours of the flight. Also, if you sleep a lot during the flight you won't feel hungry.

Lol. Thanks for information. :)

I can get why u r feeling like "o_O". Lol.

sugarspice
23-08-2010, 10:57 AM
Hmm....should I bring a sieve/strainer to London? you know, to dish nooodles/vege etc out from hot water...

littlewheatgrass
23-08-2010, 02:20 PM
Hmm....should I bring a sieve/strainer to London? you know, to dish nooodles/vege etc out from hot water...

Tak payah lah!

But my dad said during his time before coffee bag was popular, he couldn't find the coffee strainer in UK ( you know the one that look like a sock used by the chinaman coffee shop ).

BTW, never fry belachan, the Brit will throw you out of their house.....:wink

Alexis Ma
23-08-2010, 11:45 PM
That's one long list. Perhaps we should just stick around the ASEAN region, no? :D

World-class National University of Singapore FTW.

g1noah
27-08-2010, 11:52 AM
Tak payah lah!

But my dad said during his time before coffee bag was popular, he couldn't find the coffee strainer in UK ( you know the one that look like a sock used by the chinaman coffee shop ).

BTW, never fry belachan, the Brit will throw you out of their house.....:wink

Lol. Is it true? I love belachan a lot... :)

ayja
27-08-2010, 05:45 PM
Lol. Is it true? I love belachan a lot... :)

Yeap :D durians, belacan.. no no >.<

27-08-2010, 06:16 PM
I fried belacan with aubergine quite a number of times when I was in Germany. The immediate reaction of the Europeans? They ran out of the room and shut off the kitchen door :P

sugarspice
27-08-2010, 09:31 PM
are those big fat books like Campbell Biology necessary? :huh

kaiyi
28-08-2010, 01:17 PM
are those big fat books like Campbell Biology necessary? :huh

depends on your course. searching information in a book that you are familiar with is surely easier... but you can always borrow from library

chelsh
28-08-2010, 02:19 PM
one question..

Do I need to bring lots of A4 papers and exam pads overseas? :)

Glassylicious
28-08-2010, 02:50 PM
one question..

Do I need to bring lots of A4 papers and exam pads overseas? :)

I think there comes a point where some of the stuff should just be bought there. XD Bring only what's necessary -- A4 papers do not constitute as necessary.

littlewheatgrass
28-08-2010, 03:37 PM
A4 papers do not constitute as necessary.

maybe bringing along a maid to help cook and iron yr clothes does..:laugh

sleevelesssky
28-08-2010, 05:17 PM
maybe bringing along a maid to help cook and iron yr clothes does..:laugh

Better have a separate chef.

28-08-2010, 05:48 PM
Better have a separate chef.

Why not just bring your mum then? :P

g1noah
31-08-2010, 07:24 PM
Lol. This is the first time I chuckle while viewing post on Recom. :)

Btw, I'll do some housekeeping to the list, and some updates too.

p/s : Wanna know what is the weight if you packed all of them?

**Spoiler below**

About 25 kg!! :D

ayja
31-08-2010, 07:52 PM
Lol. This is the first time I chuckle while viewing post on Recom. :)

Btw, I'll do some housekeeping to the list, and some updates too.

p/s : Wanna know what is the weight if you packed all of them?

**Spoiler below**

About 25 kg!! :D

I packed fewer than that and I got up to 30. pfft

sonatinalai
31-08-2010, 09:52 PM
one thing...
about 'jpa sponsorship letter' in section A, actually we only get the financial affidavit. it doubles as jpa sponsorship letter.

ccm123
14-09-2010, 10:13 AM
Ah, just saw the rice cooker from argos that cost only 10 pounds, should have got it from there instead :(

littlewheatgrass
14-09-2010, 05:58 PM
Ah, just saw the rice cooker from argos that cost only 10 pounds, should have got it from there instead :(

make sure the bottom is non-stick..

15-09-2010, 12:47 AM

Why would you want a rice cooker from Argos?

ccm123
15-09-2010, 02:25 PM
Well the review seems quite ok, and I plan to bring a rice cooker there, which is pretty bulky, even if it's small.

Plus I think Im gonna exceed my allocated 30KG weight :( Man, RM180+ for every additional KG wtf?

15-09-2010, 02:43 PM
you can always buy things like rice cooker over there, why bother to bring them and add to your weight?

ccm123
15-09-2010, 07:05 PM
Well its recommended by some people, and judging that I will be moving in early, I figure its handy to have a rice cooker in case I feel really hungry I can cook something, haha.

15-09-2010, 08:38 PM
It was very recommended to me as well, but the added weight and bulk just can't justify not bringing more herbs and spices along. Now those are the things that can bring you a long way in a foreign land...

sugarspice
17-09-2010, 12:19 AM
Well the review seems quite ok, and I plan to bring a rice cooker there, which is pretty bulky, even if it's small.

Plus I think Im gonna exceed my allocated 30KG weight :( Man, RM180+ for every additional KG wtf?

You are allocated 30kg for check-in baggage? wow! MAS only gave me 25. =.=

But you can bring a 10kg hand carry luggage with you (don't let those people at check-in counters see this, just in case they wanna weigh), so don't worry, and this excludes your laptop bag. I mean, you can stuff somemore bricks in your laptop bag if you are able to carry it up to 7kg? so you see, you can bring 17kg hand carry with you =p

I did not know about this, or I would have brought more! :mad

It should be alright if you don't bring a rice cooker to UK.

I did not bring any cooking utensils to UK, my lunch/dinner is a muffin or 3 slices or whole wheat bread with some butter or some soft white buns. I don't have a microwavable bowl/mug, no pots and pans, no rice cooker....so I can't cook anything...lol.....you will survive, no worries, just for the first few days ma.