Do UTAR offer biotech twinning course?or they just offer local?and how much is the fees.
jagganatha
02-08-2004, 10:52 AM
Well i think you should search http://www.utar.edu.my/ before asking. Anyway.. This is their biotech course info..
Bachelor of Science (Hons) Biotechnology KP/JPS(KA4115)9/08
The Bachelor of Science (Hons) Biotechnology is a growth industry with the potential to change greatly the world in which we live. The history of Biotechnology can be seen as stemming from ancient civilization with the making of soya sauce, cheese, yoghurt and the brewing of beer, to present-day applications in recombinant proteins, drugs, antibiotic synthesis and waste treatment. The more recent developments of genomics and proteomics have greatly increased the potential of biotechnology to meet our needs.
Biotechnology is a multi-disciplinary programme which encompasses fundamentals and applied aspects of biological sciences with a practical awareness of the needs and methods of modern biotechnological companies. This programme covers basic sciences, for example, chemistry, biochemistry, cell biology and molecular biology and core biotechnological courses for example, genetic engineering, fermentation, cell and tissue cultures, bioinformatics and phytochemistry. Industrial visits and participation of practising biotechnologists in the teaching programme through seminars and the final year research projects are important components of the programme. Through the final year project, the students will acquire specialized skills within selected areas of biotechnology such as proteomics, genomics, enzyme and protein biotechnology, protein engineering, immunology, fermentation technology, plant biotechnology, biosensor, phytomedicine and phytochemistry, bioinformatics, and cell and tissue culture.
Employment opportunities for graduates are wide and varied. For example, graduates will find employment in a variety of scientific, medical and veterinary laboratories and in industries related to the pharmaceutical, medical, food, agricultural, brewing and beverage and healthcare products, environmental control, waste treatment, diagnostics and manufacturing. They can work as Quality Assurance officers in or consultants to biotechnological industries, as scientists or researchers in research institutes and universities, and as lecturers in universities. They can also start their career as bioentrepreneurs. The graduates are also well-prepared to pursue post-graduate studies in various areas of Biotechnology.
Bachelor of Science (Hons) Biotechnology KP/JPS(KA4115)9/08
Year 1
First Long Semester
Cell Biology
Atomic Structure, Bonding and Periodicity
Computer Systems and Applications
General Laboratory I
Elective I
Public Relations
or
Ethics, Professional & Social Issues
Bahasa Malaysia (A)* For Malaysians
or
Bahasa Malaysia (B)** For Non-Malaysians
Second Long Semester
Biodiversity and Concepts of Ecology
Properties of Matter
Ancillary Statistics
General Laboratory II
Pengajian Malaysia
English for Science
Year 2
First Long Semester
Biochemistry and Cell Metabolism
Microbiology
Principles of Biotechnology
Physiology
Biotechnology Laboratory I
Elective II
Organisational Behaviour
or
Entrepreneurial Skills & Business Ethics
Second Long Semester
Molecular Biology
Genetics
Cell and Tissue Culture Techniques
Biotechnology Laboratory II
Elective III
Organisational Communication
or
Social Culture Communication
Pendidikan Moral
or
Pengajian Islam
Year 3
First Long Semester
Genomics and Bioinformatics
Genetic Engineering
Principles and Application of Phytochemistry
Instrumental Methods and Analysis in Biotechnology
Biotechnology Laboratory III
Elective IV
Organisation and Human Resourse
or
Management Principles
Second Long Semester
Project
Medical Microbiology and Parasitology
Fermentation and Biomass Technology
Biotechnology Laboratory IV
Elective V
Introduction to Sociology
or
Interpersonal Communication
There's no mention of the cost. Maybe you could e-mail them and inquire at
Address : 13, Jalan 13/6,
46200, Petaling Jaya,
Selangor
Postal Address : Universiti Tunku Abdul Rahman
P.O.Box 11384
50774 Kuala Lumpur
Tel : 603-7958 2628
Handphone : 016-2233 560
016-2233 561
016-2233 562
016-2233 563
Fax : 603-7956 1923
Email : info@<hidden>
02-08-2004, 01:24 PM
littleprince, are u interested in studying biotech? what are u studying now?
i dun think there's a twinning program for utar, but if u're interested in twinning program for biotech, why not Monash? U can opt to study in Australia's Monash in ur later years.