View Full Version : Favorite Childhood/Current Cartoons / SITCOM series
04-08-2004, 01:19 PM
Well, when i was young, i watched all kinds of cartoons, be it funny, or lame... u know, there's no one to tell me to study (been staying at home alone since kindergarten), so the only thing that accompany me is the tv set... And when i was in secondary school, my cartoon interest turned to SITCOMs... yeah, Ally McBeal, FRIENDS, 3rd Rock from the sun (watched a few times nia).... and now, Charmed... hehe...
I miss watching Ally McBeal... yeah, been following the series since the first episode until i have to stop watching due to SPM.... The beginning was quite funny though, with lots of animations and exaggerated emotion in it.... That's what i like so much about it... it express accurately the inexplicable feeling that we have in certain circumstances that we find it hard to identify in us.... However, in the later part of the series, there are less animation and become more, errr.... serious?
Oh yeah, there's Doraemon too... but i think the thread is there already...
And about the cute cartoons that i used to watch... hmm... carebears? forgot most of the characters liao (last time can name almost all of them).... Ninja Turtle? my all time favorite cartoon :) However, very few of my friends mentioned watching it... wonder why...
Who remember watching Tom and Jerry Kids? Chip and Dale rescue ranger? Well, not to say that i went crazy over it, but i followed almost every series too...
anyone wants to share?
04-08-2004, 01:41 PM
Watched cartoon a lot through tv when still was a little girl with my elder brother. we got few video tapes that bought by my mom, such like power rangers, doraemon, etc few more.. just cant recall the name now...
Now feel that my youngest brother is much more luckier than me and my elder brother with astro 24-hour cartoon network at home.
04-08-2004, 01:45 PM
Haha, a nice topic to start here...
Favorite cartoons/SITCOM series...
Mmm, during my childhood, were those cartoons such as "Carebears", "Ninja turtle", or Japanese anime "Ranma", "Sailormoon" (my all-time favorite) or "Power Rangers", etc...besides that, when I was even younger, there was also "Sesame street", however I heard that there are more characters now in "Sesame Street"...of course those usual characters, cookie monster, big bird, Ernie...still remain...
During secondary school, mmm, Ally McBeal is always my favorite, then Buffy the Vampire Slayer, wow, Sarah Michelle Gellar is my favorite celebrity then. There is also Charmed as well.
Ever since entered MMU, my time for tv programmes has been greatly reduced. The main reason is I don't have a tv back in my apartment in Malacca, and I always catch those SITCOM, or variety shows when I go back JB. Nowadays just pretty much tied up by studies and improving myself, get myself ready for stepping into the society after graduate. :wink:
04-08-2004, 02:27 PM
oh dear, how can we forget Barney? Seriously, i haven't met any kids who doesn't like Barney.... hehe, i mean when they were young... What makes me like Barney? I think it's the songs...
Who took the cookie from the cookie jar?
04-08-2004, 02:37 PM
yaya... barney... hehehe
got one more... the bird always "pitt pitt" then run very fast one ler... call what already?
04-08-2004, 02:41 PM
yaya... barney... hehehe
got one more... the bird always "pitt pitt" then run very fast one ler... call what already?
Roadrunner? Haha... Oh yeah, is Merry Melodies and Looney Tunes the same? Coz usually the cartoons always go together.... like Bugs Bunny, Daffy Duck, Porky, blah blah...
The_Observer
04-08-2004, 02:53 PM
Seriously, I find Warner Bro.s and Cartoon Network animation pretty drab and boring.
That's why I started on animes early. Back then, they showed Patlabor...and of course, Doraemon. Anything else? If not mistaken, did they show Macross? Hmmm...so long ago.
BTW, I did watch a lot of 'Sesame Street'.
Somebody forgot to include 'Frasier' in the fave sitcom list.
Too bad they ended their show as well. Dam.
04-08-2004, 08:51 PM
hahaha
Those are the days arent they?
Road runner and Transformers are my favourite. maybe even Duck Tales..
Really miss those days when i can just sit infront of the TV and have no worries
04-08-2004, 09:42 PM
Somebody forgot to include 'Frasier' in the fave sitcom list.
Too bad they ended their show as well. Dam.
Frasier? what's that? cartoon or sitcom or tv show? how come i never heard before one?
Road runner and Transformers are my favourite
Which do you prefer more? Transformer or Beast War?
And there's X-Men, dun forget... though i always didn't manage to catch the show (coz it always shows at 9 am Sunday morning, and i haven't woke up yet that time), i love watching every moment of it... That's how i grew to like the Arcade game X-Men Vs StreetFighter....
04-08-2004, 10:48 PM
Definitely beast wars
The characters are better developed there
04-08-2004, 11:19 PM
yeah, they have 3D graphic animations and different animals instead of just vehicles... i remembered sleeping through one of the Transformers episode... Kinda odd... i'm a boy and i didn't enjoy Transformer... prefer Beast war... and Flash man :P
wpyeoh
14-08-2004, 07:33 AM
Wow...great topic...gives me some nostalgia here...;-)
Yup, all those great cartoons...looney tunes, disney...even now we can still enjoy them... Now that I'm at home, I'm watching the baby looney tunes with my little brother...
Of course I watched Doraemon, Power Rangers, and stuff like that when I was little...now I only watch Doraemon whn I'm free. I kind of miss the Ninja Turtles cartoon that I watched when I was little...the new series (the one with the female turtle) just doesn't measure up to it.
Loved Barney as well (hehe...still do, actually) But my little brother doesn't like it much...don't know why...^_^
And not forgetting Pokemon... just love Pikachu!
I find that the most worthwhile sitcom now is "My Wife and Kids". Unfortunately I can watch it for only a few more weeks before going back to France :-( (They show it there, but it's dubbed in French and it's just not the same)
kucingbiru
14-08-2004, 05:15 PM
i was a child, and i still am. i wish i had south park and the simpsons when i was a younger child.
darkhorse_86
14-08-2004, 07:17 PM
This is sometihing for you guys to ponder on:
Ever wondered how it would feel like to watch a cartoon that you enjoyed in your childhood days,now, at your current age? Just experiment with this and tell me how you feel... I had to ask this question because quite some time ago, I happened to switch to the cartoon channel and Cow and Chicken, one of my fav cartoon shows few years ago was broadcasting and I really felt that that show is downright stupid and had no meaning at all. ( Ppl banging here and there, shouting... much to the annoyance of my parents lol) This is in contrast to what I enjoyed a few years ago where I could really see feel the cartoon characters come alive. I guess that this is evolution... the wave of impermanence rules again. The same thing applies to Sesame Street. Now whenever it's on, I would try to turn it off! Maybe it's the difference of the growth of the mind, as that particular program is targeted to kids, and we adults loathe at the fact that we are being tortured by rudimentary things such as the alphabets! What do you all think?
15-08-2004, 12:02 AM
This is sometihing for you guys to ponder on:
Ever wondered how it would feel like to watch a cartoon that you enjoyed in your childhood days,now, at your current age? Just experiment with this and tell me how you feel... I had to ask this question because quite some time ago, I happened to switch to the cartoon channel and Cow and Chicken, one of my fav cartoon shows few years ago was broadcasting and I really felt that that show is downright stupid and had no meaning at all. ( Ppl banging here and there, shouting... much to the annoyance of my parents lol) This is in contrast to what I enjoyed a few years ago where I could really see feel the cartoon characters come alive. I guess that this is evolution... the wave of impermanence rules again. The same thing applies to Sesame Street. Now whenever it's on, I would try to turn it off! Maybe it's the difference of the growth of the mind, as that particular program is targeted to kids, and we adults loathe at the fact that we are being tortured by rudimentary things such as the alphabets! What do you all think?
haha... good one... well, for one, i think i've grown tired of seeing Barney... dun get me wrong, the songs are great though, but the image of Barney gets over excited, jumping and hurraying at small matters sort of turns me off.... haha... dun think i will want to watch it, though i still miss it.
However, there are cartoons that i still like. Such as Doraemon (coz the gadgets can never finish), and Pokemon... haha.. got to admit, still watching Pokemon last year, and was cussing at the TV when they stop showing it on TV. Not to say i like Pikachu (Charmander's cuter lar), but i can never get bored of the battles and i like the humors in the series... their jokes are funny and never lame...
16-08-2004, 01:40 PM
Haha...i somehow develop this habit to watch pokemon series with my younger sis ....after playing the pokemon games...kinda addictive.
wpyeoh
19-08-2004, 11:04 AM
Well, as I said earlier, the looney tunes are still fun. So is Doraemon. But the other day I switched on the tv when power rangers was on, and I just didn't find it nice any more. I don't think I would like watching Sesame Street now, either. Maybe there are some cartoons that we grow out of, and some that are timeless.
Anyone watched the new Mr bean cartoon? It was quite nice...and the expressions on Mr Bean's face have really amazing likeness to the show.
22-08-2004, 04:42 AM
Haha...i somehow develop this habit to watch pokemon series with my younger sis ....after playing the pokemon games...kinda addictive.
Eh andrew, u play which version... I played une Crystal Version, and after beating Red, I got bored of breeding the pokemons... i've encountered Reikou and Haikou once, but they were too fast for my ultraballs (used up my Master ball for Lugiya... sigh sigh).
Anyone watched the new Mr bean cartoon? It was quite nice...and the expressions
Err... watched it with my baby cousin bro when i was at his place... well, the face looks scary arr...
Power Rangers is no longer nice because it is absurd... well, when we are more matured, we'll see that there are many exaggerated motions in it, and it's like totally fake (not the monsters and the robots, but the response of the superheroes)...
wpyeoh
22-08-2004, 10:39 AM
Yeah, like when the rangers go "oh no!" and jump about doing nothing :lol: We didn't notice that when we were kids.
Er...is pandaboy's name Andrew? I started off playing the Blue version of pokemon, then Yellow and Gold. But in the gold version that i played, the pokemon names weren't really translated yet, and limited to 5 letters, so it was quite annoying. I learnt all the 150 pokemons' names by heart while playing the Blue version; my mother said we (my brothers played as well) were crazy. ^_^
22-08-2004, 03:54 PM
any1 watch 'table for 2' on tv3??? its not bad n quite meaningful
malaysia boleh!?!?
23-08-2004, 04:12 AM
Yeah, like when the rangers go "oh no!" and jump about doing nothing :lol: We didn't notice that when we were kids.
Ditto! Especially when they kena hit by the monsters... and when they use that whatever ultimate weapon, the monsters were like standing there waiting to die like that... ahaha... well, that's for kids lar...
Oh, crystal version is better... there are more than 160 pokemons (coz it's the Johto league's version)... so, we cannot possess Bubblesaur, Squirtle or Charmander (sigh, that's the best poke!)... instead, we have chikorita, cyndaquil and totadile... and yeah, we can breed them, especially 2 diff pokemon but of the same breed... for instance, if i breed a male alakhazam with a female magmar, i will get a psychic magmar baby... kinda cool, but requires patience...
wpyeoh
23-08-2004, 11:00 AM
Yup, that was like the Gold version that I played. But it was kind of disappointing; all the cute pokemon are gone. I like the Yellow version, because we started off with Pikachu and we could get all the 3 starter pokemon (Bulbasaur, Charmander, and Squirtle) And I loved them too much to let them evolve...^_^
Speaking of "loving them too much", I really got mad at Ash when he let Squirtle go (in the tv series) :(
23-08-2004, 12:07 PM
I played the game quite some time ago lor....2 years ago I think...
Use to play Red, Yellow, and Gold. Crystal I didnt play I think. Last time I remembered that I was addicted to this game....not only me, but also my bros, sister and even classmates. We even discuss the tactics for playing this game..haha. But there're cheats as well.... to capture those rare pokemons... like the one Elansar said....Reikou issit? Cant remember the names la...haha
Anyway, didnt play for long time already...but I think Yellow was kinda cute....with Pikachu following u in the map. Geee....thinking about it....those were the days...haha
Mr Bean cartoon? I saw it once....not as good as the original one la... Haha....I still like Rowan Atkinson! Darn funny... :lol:
23-08-2004, 06:04 PM
Speaking of "loving them too much", I really got mad at Ash when he let Squirtle go (in the tv series) :(
Yeah lar, why he let Squirtle go arr? I missed the episodes after i went to singapore... and also Charizard... to me, Charizard should be one of the best compared to the Johto's Cyndaquil... coz Charizard is a Dragon/Flying/Fire pokemon... 3 in one... quite a good pokemon, but can lose easily to electric type.
Eh, got cheat to catch Reikou? but dun care liao lar... my friends dun play pokemon... so no point having powerful pokemons... no one to battle with.
i dun like digimon coz it's in Malay... so u know lar, the way they speak... those cliches like "Jahanam", "tak guna", and blah blah... and their jokes aren't really that funny...
Disney cartoons are still ok... though the stories are kiddies, i dun mind watching them at this age...
wpyeoh
24-08-2004, 10:17 AM
Squirtle left to rejoin the Squirtle squad...remember that? My brother liked the squirtle because it was "cool", what with the shades and all. ^_^
Hey, do you all use gameboy to play the pokemon games? I played on the computer, so I couldn't do any trading or fighting. Too bad...
01-09-2004, 06:16 AM
Squirtle left to rejoin the Squirtle squad...remember that? My brother liked the squirtle because it was "cool", what with the shades and all. ^_^
Hey, do you all use gameboy to play the pokemon games? I played on the computer, so I couldn't do any trading or fighting. Too bad...
You can trade in the comp. You will have an Emulator, right? My emulator is the one that can have 2 players playing together, so we can trade pokemons with each other and battle. I dunno whether u can battle if u have network connection.
By the way, anyone still watching Charmed? I dunno, but it's not that popular among the Brandeisians.
01-09-2004, 11:45 AM
Frasier is a sitcom/tv series but not shown here in malaysia...i think it won a few emmys before....
i think as a kid, i watched everything tad there ever was...
i sang along wif Barney, Kidsongs, the Elephant show, Sesame Street...
i fought wif Captain Planet, Power Rangers, Ultraman, Baja Hitam...
i loved Carebears, Gummy bears, Looney Tunes, Disney, Doraemon...
i watched Pokemon wif my little bro...
now, i love Ally McBeal, Charmed, Gilmore Girls, Table for Two, Kopitiam, Malcolm in the Middle, The West Wing....
01-09-2004, 12:54 PM
Wah...u all watch a lot of tv shows ar..
I watch a lot of chinese dramas (taiwan mostly) ....but recently got bored of them already...
Time for a change perhaps..
01-09-2004, 02:18 PM
Ok, this will sound really silly... when i was about 8 or 9, my cousins and i will pick a character in the power ranger, and we would fight with other cousins who pretended (forced to) to be the monster (well, who wants to be the monster?)
I still like Flashman.... it's nicer than Power Ranger though...
wpyeoh
01-09-2004, 05:13 PM
By the way, anyone still watching Charmed? I dunno, but it's not that popular among the Brandeisians.
What's "the Brandeisians"? I watched Charmed in M'sia till I left for France, then watched the 6th season (I think) that my friend downloaded. I don't have a tv here, so can't watch it. Moreover, it's in French, so it's just sounds weird. (since i've watched it in English for so long)
02-09-2004, 08:15 AM
Brandeisians = citizen of Brandeis University, Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
02-09-2004, 01:40 PM
Ok, this will sound really silly... when i was about 8 or 9, my cousins and i will pick a character in the power ranger, and we would fight with other cousins who pretended (forced to) to be the monster (well, who wants to be the monster?)
I still like Flashman.... it's nicer than Power Ranger though...
yeah! tads wad my cousins, siblings n i did...we always pick a charecter then sorta fought over tad too...but no monsters...jzu us reenacting the show...esp captain planet n power rangers...
02-09-2004, 03:00 PM
Ultraman, Power Rangers and such are kinda boring..they always win over the monster. I remember there was one episode of Ultraman where everyone cant defeat the monster...they were frozen, and all other ultramans came to help. Anyone still remember that?
wpyeoh
02-09-2004, 07:42 PM
Hmm...seem to have a slight recollection there...
My little brother pretends that his pillow or blanket is a monster... but I can't remember what I did. ^_^
02-09-2004, 07:55 PM
I remember the moment of defeats where several ultraman were frozen by a super powerful monster..wow I loved very much that extraordinary scene after everytime watching ultraman exterminate monster in the same boring way. Then others from outer space came to their rescue at the end.
After years of watching ultraman series by the japanese, the west finally creates their own version of Ultraman some time ago. The story was not so exciting as of that japanese version, but their monster and the city as the battleground with ultraman was so real.
05-09-2004, 12:14 PM
I remember the moment of defeats where several ultraman were frozen by a super powerful monster..wow I loved very much that extraordinary scene after everytime watching ultraman exterminate monster in the same boring way. Then others from outer space came to their rescue at the end.
After years of watching ultraman series by the japanese, the west finally creates their own version of Ultraman some time ago. The story was not so exciting as of that japanese version, but their monster and the city as the battleground with ultraman was so real.
Ultramans are never exciting to me. They merely roll on the floor, got kicked, and then found their resilience and fought back. and there, he/she wins! Not much superpowers are used. i like shows with powers, like Pokemon, Captain Planet, X-Men, blah blah...
05-09-2004, 02:38 PM
Yeah la...ultraman was always not exciting. But there was that only episode where all ultramen became frozen. That's why i said its nice. But now I merely have a vague idea of that episode..cant remember much details anymore...
18-12-2004, 07:54 AM
Mmm, ultraman...I know that there are many siblings in ultraman..and with only 1 is the female ultrawomen? If I'm not mistaken...
Last time when I was young and used to catch Ultraman show, I tried to differentiate the "ultramen" and tried hard to find out to know which of them possesses the most power...haha :lol:
18-12-2004, 09:04 AM
Lol :lol: PeiWen, you dig this old thread up at the right time! I just finished watching "Scrubs"...now I'm addicted to it already! Love it so much..full of comedy, and many touching moments too. Lots of useful advice to take heed as well. Really cool! I watched it from first episode...currently watching the 6th one from the first season. If I am not mistaken, it's the 4th season now. Anyone else watching this? :wink: Good for medical students... ^_^ Makes me want to study medicine... :cry:
wpyeoh
18-12-2004, 09:23 PM
I remember that my brother had a deck of ultraman cards... there was a "father of ultra" and a "mother of ultra"...
18-12-2004, 11:05 PM
hey, cool thread.
i did sthing unbelievable this evening, watched Power rangers w my bros. Did that mainly coz i was bored, and the other stuff on tv was boring. think it's stupid, was commenting on the funny, how i used to believe it was true last time LOL
well, what cartoons i used to like when i was younger?
was crazie for japanese stuff, like masked rider, flashman, anyone remember Tomatoman? it's kinda like the Mario bros, real cute. The princess is a peach or sthing like dat. there were a lot of Japanese cartoons when i was younger, i love watching em all. And those japanese serials, boy, i was hooked to them all. Anyone remember Oshin?
I used to watch Sesame St too. but now dat i'm on hols, i do that on a daily basis, it's on Hallmark, every day at 5pm. I just love Sesame St, the characters are so cute, and i love them all. Ernie, Elmo, Cookie Monster, Bert, and all the funny things they do. Not to forget Oscar, the grumpy trash bin guy LOL
hmm..what else?
mcm xbrp ingat.
Looney Tunes used to be a big thing last time, kan?
roadrunner, bugs bunny, and some other characters.
Hmm..as for Ultraman, back in primary school, i used to hv this game w a fellow likeminded classmate of mine. Remember, there used to be this one pair, the guy n gurl, Hakuto n Minami, when they combine, they became the Ultraman or sthing like dat? i cant quite remember. But well, i used to be the gurl, and my friend, the guy. We were partners in crime, and i would call out,"hakuto!" and he would answer back," Minami!" and we would pretend to find each other n combine n bring chaos to the class.
Kinda stupid now that i remember it. But it was fun. Sweet memories *sigh*
heh, i feel so old thinking bout all these things. Sure wish can turn back, to go back to the time i used to play w/out having to think bout assgmts :lol:
Now, i still do watch cartoons.
Apart fr animes, i watch Disney channel.
and yeah, I love Mr Bean!
he is so practical, and so funny.
Other than that, i watch powerpuff gurls, and totally spies *spies w attitude!* and naruto of course.
polyjuice
07-01-2005, 05:03 PM
tomatoman and oshin??!!!my favs too!anyone remember thundercat?hah, i juz couldn't get enaf of dat when i was a kid.even launched a strike when my mom refused 2 buy d thundercat sword 4 me.finally she bought it la.then, ultraman :lol: my 20++ nearing 30yrold bros still watch it, with delight n of course, obsession.i didn't really like ultraman back then, but my bros said 'not macho larr if u thrashed away otromen'. so, datz how i got duped!i even can memorize by heart d 'otromen''s family tree.bapak, datuk, nenek...till infinite generation.bought d jigsaw puzzle, collect d cards, scrap book wit all d monsters' names n otromen who fought them there.gosh..can't believe it now.ooo..i miss d good old days.now, i still watch sesame street. :D makes me smile...
10-01-2005, 01:44 PM
and dat japanese drama serial, the guy called hidetaro..cant remember the title though..and that volleyball drama serial...giler laa..those were like so addictive hehehe
balderdash
18-04-2005, 08:30 AM
I feel kinda old here....I watched Barney with my then baby brother...I was 13/14 then.....Power Rangers probably didn't occur (not that it occurred much) in my life until I was in F1? I don't remember.
What I remember watching on TV as a preschool kid was:
- He Man and She Ra
- The Elephant Show (remember? Skinnamarink kidink kidink, skinnarmarink kidoo, I love you?)
- Jem (Oh Jem! My boyfriend found a few episodes for me recently :))
- Sesame Street! I lurve Grover!
I think that was it. haha.
Then as I grew older, primary school/secondary school was:
- FULL HOUSE!!!
- Growing Pains
- BH90210
- Saved By The Bell
- Doogie Howser M.D.
- Blossom (Oh how I love thee Joey Lawrence!)
- The Family Ties
- Fresh Prince of Bel Air
- Home Improvement (when JTT was still cute...hehe..)
And other teeny bopper sitcoms....I guess considering that my parents monitored my TV habits a fair bit, I watched quite a lot of TV! Man I miss the old sitcoms! I'd gladly buy the whole series of Full House! I have 2 episodes now, that's all.
lolilo
18-04-2005, 01:14 PM
novels: full-house , sweet valley, goosebumps series, christopher Pike's work, enid Blyton ( boarding school series & the 5 detectives? forget) , Nancy Drew's
comics : archie, calvin and hobbes ( still do ) , doraemon...
shows : Pink panther, the big red dog( what's its name huh? )
foodle-doodle, power rangers, ultraman, Barney....
petertok
18-04-2005, 06:18 PM
novels: full-house , sweet valley, goosebumps series, christopher Pike's work, enid Blyton ( boarding school series & the 5 detectives? forget) , Nancy Drew's
comics : archie, calvin and hobbes ( still do ) , doraemon...
shows : Pink panther, the big red dog( what's its name huh? )
foodle-doodle, power rangers, ultraman, Barney....
Clifford ?
BTW , i watch power rangers and those auntie cantonese drama series during my childhood.. Mainly bcos my older siblings are dominating the tv i have to watch what they watch :evil:
rdt_adamite
08-05-2005, 11:30 AM
As for me., I watched all-kind if cartoons, n i behaved like a cartoon too. Barney( until now) is my all-time favourite. i collected barney's songs, n all- kind of barney things...
And how can i forget PUa chu kang? PCK Limited once became a slogan for my secondary-school gang.. Don't play-play arr..
WEE-WEE ... We even did our own PCK Limited during our school's Sports Day n on our NUrture your Culture Day..When it turned to b a success..we were nick-named PCK Limited, da group.( well we had a hard time trying to make-up like GUrmit Singh)
FRIENDS, ally-mcbeal, charmed, CSI, Amazing Race...all became my favourites..
CUrrently, AMerican Idol..i can't stop myself watching it..i get crazy when i don't watch it...
Waiting for da nwe Malaysian Idol to start..may be i'll go for dat too.. :wink:
PINKPIGGY
07-06-2005, 07:48 AM
Till now, i enjoy watching cartoons!! Detective Conan, Pokemon, Power Rangers (during my childhood) are my favourites! Barney's song is so sweet!! ~I luv u, u luv me, we'r happy family..~
I'm also a drama series fans, Korea, Hong Kong, watever dramas wil attrat me to sit in front of the TV and watch non-stop....Jewel In The Palace, Stairway to the Heaven, Square Pegs, PNC...
I also enjoy watching Charmed, American Next Top Model, CSI, Apprentice.. :oops: