ごめんよ、皆さん。最近くだらない話ばっかり。

endoru
05-08-2004, 02:20 AM
Retroque は Shareeza に決まっている~!★
ぼくらの Adik ですね。
イヤ、元々もう知っているけど、再確認っていうかね。
まぁ、くだらない話かもしれないけど、一応ぼくらは先生の立場なんだから、みんなの質問を待つしかないもん。

Yeah, we apologize for such nonsenses.
I said that we are senseis who are ever ready to answer questions which you guys would like to ask us on Japanese language.
I am always prepared to explain thoroughly on anything if I know about it.

Hehe
Peace !

14-08-2004, 07:27 AM
waa!! wakaranai.... :cry:

14-08-2004, 07:40 AM
wakaranakattara socchi de suwatte damatte kudasai :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

just kidding :P :P

p/s: the line above says "if you don't understand just sit there and stay quiet!" ... just kidding anyway :P :P :P

ok recom is back .. let's rumble and jumble and tumble and ramble ...

p/s no. 2: i'm still mentally unstable from the shock of having succesfully finished my summer class .. so don't mind any of my uncivilized behavior ... :D :D :D

14-08-2004, 07:53 AM
waa!! me report to Fish...ade org buli me...
Luke mmg uncivilized dr dulu sampai skrg hahaha

15-08-2004, 01:54 PM
Nice question yekban ...
I will start a new thread for all recommers to have their name translated into Japanese :)

=====> discussion to be continued in new thread .... (your name in Japanese )

retroque
15-08-2004, 09:15 PM
hmmnnn

first of all....welcome back recom

2ndly...i cant resist it ..but i think

retroque=kimura takuya (maybe)

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

以上今日の意味が分からん話でした。

qedx
16-08-2004, 04:29 AM
waa garang siut luke :P

fish
16-08-2004, 06:16 AM
WOI! Luke, why you bully Kerek ah?

16-08-2004, 11:40 AM
hmmnnn

first of all....welcome back recom

2ndly...i cant resist it ..but i think

retroque=kimura takuya (maybe)

MUAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

以上今日の意味が分からん話でした。

haha...I think you mispell it...
It should be retroque = Kimura Buaya .... :lol:
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nice say Luke .... :twisted:

16-08-2004, 12:01 PM
Nice say Luke .... :twisted:
aiya .. just kidding only lor ... nanti kerek merajuk, susah hati maa ... :P :P .. ok ok let's get back to nihongo .. sensei2 sila ketuk meja/papan hitam suruh murid2 berhenti main2 :P :P :P

16-08-2004, 06:53 PM
huh..masih gune blackboard ke zmn tekno mcm nih? hihih...luke ketinggalan zaman...aoi no jidai..hihih...

me merajuk nanti luke susah hati..xde org nak gaduh sm dia..hehe.Fish, blk Jepun xbagitau me..waa! :cry:

16-08-2004, 07:29 PM
Fish先生との写真持っている?ここに載せてよ。
Fish sensei to no syashinn wo motteiru? koko ni nosete yo!
Do you have any photos taken with Fish sensei? Post it here!

16-08-2004, 08:17 PM
photo jyanai nee...gomenasai! onano day out hihih no guys allowed...so cannot know what we did that day hehehe...

fish
19-08-2004, 10:41 AM
つくばに来ればきっと見られるよ。本人。
Anyway, I am back in Japan now. We didn't take any photos the other day.

fish
24-08-2004, 04:36 PM
新しい日本語の勉強ページを見つかったぞ!ハハハ。このページからのある漢字はまだ読めないんだ。 :oops:

http://www.thejapanesepage.com/howtowow/index.php

This is a new Japaense learning page. I was looking for websites on natto actually and I stumbled upon this page. The kanji learning page is quite good actually.

納豆はいかがでしょうか。私は最近、毎日、納豆を食べているよ。体にはよさそうから。

fish
24-08-2004, 04:53 PM
Oops. I realise that Luke has already listed the site and I just saw it just now :oops: Heh, nevertheless, natto wo tabemashou!!

24-08-2004, 09:42 PM
how to wow? WOW! WOW! WOW!

:P :P :P

where got I posted that link mah .. never seen of it ...

fish
25-08-2004, 08:42 AM
OH...then this page is definately worth added to the suggested links on the front page...I love the story on natto...the poor guy thought that the natto kin (baccilus natto) was kabi (fungus) and he....well read the story at http://www.thejapanesepage.com/natto.htm

We had a good laugh yesterday, me and my Japanese lab mate. Here are some of the funny phrases excerpted from the page How to Speak like a Samurai :lol:

Japanese: 蜂蜜をもらった熊のプーさんは、「かたじけない」と言いました。
Romaji: hachimitsu wo moratta kuma no pu-san wa "katajikenai" to iimashita.
Meaning: Having received honey, Winnie the Pooh said, "I am grateful."

She said this is so muda....kanari henna website....but we love strange and funny things. There was also a song on yubikiri which she sang for me yesterday. Definately a fun site if you have nothing to do but want to improve your Japanese. Ever wondered why Japanese cats say nya-nya instead of meow-meow?

25-08-2004, 03:19 PM
hihii...pretty funny site...you guys shuld check out the 'fun' section..

25-08-2004, 03:34 PM
Where can I know who created this page cos I have downloaded some songs there and the singer's voice sounds like my sensei's voice....
So i wonder if my sensei made this page :)

25-08-2004, 03:39 PM
hahah...the secret life of Schye no sensei...hihihi

fish
26-08-2004, 10:33 AM
Unless your sensei is a gaijin, then there is a probability that he created the site. I think the creator's name is Clay but he propably didn't sing those songs.

My friend from Tokoudai is coming to Tsukuba today. Maybe you can meet up with her and Boon Yi if you get there Schye.

26-08-2004, 11:08 AM
huhuh...niisang..chance for pat toh...ape lagi..grab it..grab..kawaii onano desu yo!

26-08-2004, 11:15 AM
sou yo schye-kun :) .. budakkerek yori kawaii ka mo shirenai yo ..

p/s to budakkerek: i'm not praising you :P

26-08-2004, 08:05 PM
Unless your sensei is a gaijin, then there is a probability that he created the site. I think the creator's name is Clay but he propably didn't sing those songs.

My friend from Tokoudai is coming to Tsukuba today. Maybe you can meet up with her and Boon Yi if you get there Schye.

If he is going to Tsukuba then how could i meet him when I jyuken for toukoudai :?

27-08-2004, 09:48 AM
hai hai sensei sensei *raises hand*
shitsumon ga arimasu kedo ...

how to use "hazu" and "wake" ?

retroque
28-08-2004, 03:15 PM
isk isk....sian luke..takde sape nak tolong jawab

はず (hazu)

1・~である 《当然》ought to ((do)); should ((do)); 《?に違いない》must ((be)); 《予定》be due to ((do)); be expected [supposed] ((to do)).

2・?の~がない cannot [can't] be?.

i prefer to translate it as "supposed to" or in bm "sepatutnya"

彼女は今日来るはずだったが、もう遅いから来ない見たいですよね
(kanojou wa kyou kuru hazu datta ga ,mou osoi kara konai mita desuyone)
she is supposed to come today,but it seems that she wont be coming at all since its' already late

彼は今家にいるはずです
(kare wa ima ie ni iru hazu desu)
he should be in his house right now

schyeは今日仕事だから、ここにいるはずがない。
(schye wa kyou shigoto dakara ,koko ni iru hazu ga nai)
since shcye has work today,he can't be here

彼は優しい人だから、そんなことをやるはずがない。
(kare wa yasashii hito dakara,sonna koto yaruhazu ga nai)
because he is kind ,he cant been doing that thing

わけ 訳 wake

《意味》meaning; 《理由》(a) reason; 《原因》a cause; 《事情》circumstances; the case.
・~がわからない cannot understand (at all).
・~のわかった人 a reasonable [sensible] man.
・~を話す tell the reason ((why)).
・どういう~か somehow.
・どういう~で why??

1.お父さんがなんでそんな大きい車かったのかわけがわからない。
i cant understand at all why dad bought that big car

err...suddenly i've gtg...anyone care to add?continue?

28-08-2004, 06:27 PM
i WAKE up in the morning? hihihi

29-08-2004, 10:41 AM
thanks for the explanation retroque-san ... i'm looking forwards to its continuation ..

and cik tazzy, ambo tau le awak tu cikgu BI ... bad lawyer yek ... report kementerian karang ... :twisted: :twisted:

fish
29-08-2004, 11:50 AM
Yeah, wake and hazu is very close except that one gives reason and the another states just the fact of it (hazu).

We had asked my Prof a question and he answered us back:

Watashi ha shiru wake nai deshou (hihi, the old man likes to joke).. it means that it is unreasonable to expect him to know such stuff

but if he said

Watashi ha shiru hazu nai deshou
It means that he certainly does not know it

Well, how can I explain it? Retroque did a very good explaination already :D

29-08-2004, 12:18 PM
sore dake de watashi nante wakaru wake nai desyou .. (did i use it correctly? :P)

i noticed there are a couple of these kind of words like "wake", "hazu", "shika" etc that I think are very interesting ... it's like these words add special patterns to our sentences if we use them ..

some i already knew:

"shika" -> alternative
kore dake wo taberu shika nai kara zannen desu nee ...
we have no choice but to eat just this so, too bad ...

"tsumori" -> plan, intention
kare wa koko ni kite yasumu tsumori na n desu ga, ima benkyou shite iru mitai desu nee ..
he came here with the intention to rest but, it looks like he's studying right now ...

then came "wake" and "hazu"

is there any special category for these words? or is it just some special patterns in japanese? uh, can you understand my question?

29-08-2004, 12:57 PM
"shika" -> alternative
kore dake wo taberu shika nai kara zannen desu nee ...
we have no choice but to eat just this so, too bad ...

I found this sentence a bit weird (maybe i am not used to this kind of phrases).
I think maybe this will sounds better.

sore shika taberenai kara, zannenn desu ne.

p/s: dake and shika...nai are slightly different actually...dunno how to explain it though..

29-08-2004, 01:07 PM
uh .. ok maybe i'm wrong ...

but i feel like "kore wo taberu shika nai kara zannen desu nee" (w/o "dake") is correct but means something else ... perhaps, "we have to eat this so too bad" ... i.e we MUST eat or else something bad will happen .. e.g if we don't eat our mum will rotan us ... so perhaps if the "no other choice" is the eating of the food rather than the food itself, maybe my sentence is correct :P

dou desu ka?

fish
29-08-2004, 02:55 PM
uh .. ok maybe i'm wrong ...

but i feel like "kore wo taberu shika nai kara zannen desu nee" (w/o "dake") is correct but means something else ... perhaps, "we have to eat this so too bad" ... i.e we MUST eat or else something bad will happen .. e.g if we don't eat our mum will rotan us ... so perhaps if the "no other choice" is the eating of the food rather than the food itself, maybe my sentence is correct :P

dou desu ka?

kore wo shika taberarenai node zannen da
(gives the meaning that they do not have anything else to eat)

kore wo taberu shika nai da
(we have no choice but to eat this)

I agree with Schye that the sentence feels a little strange. It could be the zannen at the back of the sentence. "Zannen" is not often used with shika nai and ending it at shika nai sounds more natural and gives a clearer meaning.

Zannen carries the meaning of regret and sorrow but it is already expressed when you use shika-nai at the end of the verb. You can add shikatanai but there is not need for it when it is so clear that the speaker already feels so hopeless.

shika shika nara no shika

fish
29-08-2004, 03:14 PM
sore dake de watashi nante wakaru wake nai desyou .. (did i use it correctly? :P)

"tsumori" -> plan, intention
kare wa koko ni kite yasumu tsumori na n desu ga, ima benkyou shite iru mitai desu nee ..
he came here with the intention to rest but, it looks like he's studying right now ...

Anyway, wake and hazu are what the Japanese people call "kimochi wo arawasu kotoba" and they are rarely used in formal conversations, newspapers, etc. They are normally used in informal conversations.

I find that the sentence on tsumori somewhat strange. "kite" is supposed to show what someone is doing/had done and it normally ends with the whole sentence having the 'te' form used. It would be better to say it this way:

kare ha koko ni tsuitara/kitara yasumu tsumori nan da kedo, ima ha benkyou chuu na node konai hazu da.

kare ha koko ni tsuitara/kitara yasumu tsumori nan da kedo, ima ha benkyou shite iru mitai node konai kamoshirenai.

tara/to (we had discussed this before) shows time frame, actions according to time. In addition, we should not leave the sentence hanging with benkyou shite iru mitai because this would leave the listener guessing wheter 'kare' is coming or not.

PS: Your example on wake is good

demo, sonnani oshiete mo wakattekurenakatta....

30-08-2004, 09:42 AM
kare ha koko ni tsuitara/kitara yasumu tsumori nan da kedo, ima ha benkyou chuu na node konai hazu da.

kare ha koko ni tsuitara/kitara yasumu tsumori nan da kedo, ima ha benkyou shite iru mitai node konai kamoshirenai.
what i'm trying to say with the sentence "kare wa koko ni kite yasumu tsumori na n desu ga, ima benkyou shite iru mitai desu nee .." is, he did come but instead of taking a rest, he studies ... like he goes to your place on vacation but then he opens a book and starts reading :) .... not "he couldn't come because he's studying" ...

retroque
30-08-2004, 12:20 PM
what i'm trying to say with the sentence "kare wa koko ni kite yasumu tsumori na n desu ga, ima benkyou shite iru mitai desu nee .." is, he did come but instead of taking a rest, he studies ... like he goes to your place on vacation but then he opens a book and starts reading :) .... not "he couldn't come because he's studying" ...

hmnn...how about this....(just a slight change)

彼は休みに来るつもりなんですが、今勉強してるみたいですね
kare wa yasumini kuru tsumori nandesuga ima benkyoushiteru mitai desune

he came here to rest ,but now it seems like he's studying.

the above sentence would probably sounds better like this

彼は休みに来るつもりだったが、今勉強してるみたい。
kare wa yasumini kuru tsumori datta ga ima benkyoushiteru mitai

this sentence ,using datta ga ,shows his first intention was to rest ....(which now had been a past tense)

hehe..or so i think la...

and yeah....your sentence on wake is superb!!yoku dekitayo.

30-08-2004, 12:59 PM
彼は休みに来るつもりだったが、今勉強してるみたい。
kare wa yasumini kuru tsumori datta ga ima benkyoushiteru mitai
ayark i forgot to use the "X ni Y" form .. I was thinking really hard on how to say "he comes to rest" and ended up using "kite yasumu" :P :P ..

"X ni Y" no paatan (pattern) wo tsukau hazu datta kedo wasurete shimatta no de tsukaimasen deshita .. (this time did I use "hazu" correctly)

retroque
30-08-2004, 05:01 PM
yep..u did use hazu correctly there.

my friend uehara said that he prefers

kare wa koko ni kite、(pause for 2,3 secs) yasumu tsumoridattakedo, ima wa kokode benkyoushiterumitai

btw,the name 'tazzy' somehow makes me think of food...u know...like those nanchos,chilis,dave deli's,,,hhehehe.....gosh i'm hungry.
if i plan to open up a chain restaurant someday...can i use the name 'tazzy' aa kerek???i'll sell burger daging beruang 8O :D don't worry....u'll definetely get a discount..hehe...peace2

30-08-2004, 05:24 PM
hey hey...
that's my name laa wei...ade plak ckp my name mcm nama restoren *hit retroque with a stuffed bear haha*

if you wanna open up a restaurant using my name, well..you gotta pass my super-strict test and ya..i dont want discounts. I want free food every time i go over to tazzy's hahah.. :lol:

hey, jokes aside, maybe that IS a good idea. Ya..coming up w the idea, retroque, i'll make u head waiter heheh...hmm..i know someone who enjoys cooking very much...atashi no koibito, he loves cooking...burn baby burn...hihihi... :lol:

hmm...my sensei told me, we wont be sitting for any exams since we didnt finish enough hours...*sigh*

*tazzy's....Hmm..it DOES sound good heheh* :D :D

30-08-2004, 06:13 PM
budakkerek ???????
COLORADO DISPENSARY (http://colorado.dispensaries.org/)

31-08-2004, 04:58 AM
"budakkerek こわい女の子" sounds better :twisted:

btw I already moved into the Japanese section of Language House (I told about me being accepted into the program some time ago -- now I'm in!)

so far so good ... it really seems that this semester will be a great and fruitful to my learning of japanese ... the native speaker is very nice and helpful ... so are my neighbors ... in just a few days I would say I've learned lots of new vocab and grammar ... soon I'll be able to speak japanese with confidence and hopefully by the time I visit Japan next summer I would have enough language mastery to fish (not fish-sensei) and bring back a japanese girl from tokyo :P ... hehe ...

31-08-2004, 01:30 PM
haip..haip..
ape?
Luke nak get a gurl fr Tokyo?
hmm..hmm..
*cepuk Luke w a VERY big sakana* :lol:

fish
31-08-2004, 02:11 PM
日本の女性が好きの?日本の女性はやさしいけど、求愛するのは難しいかもね。

でも、頑張ればできるはずだ。

釣り落とした魚は大きい;周りの人の方がいいんじゃない?TAZZYちゃんとDEBBIEちゃんはやさしい人と思うよ。LUKE君はそうと思わない?

釣り落とした魚は大きい:The grass on the other side is always greener

31-08-2004, 02:17 PM
haiyaa.....fish-sensei, wakarimasen!!!

you forgot ke? i dont understand much jap laa..hish..hish..

*rendam Fish-sensei in kolam ikan hahah* :lol:

fish
31-08-2004, 02:36 PM
Hey, is this how you treat a sensei?

Meaning: Do you like Japanese girls? Japanese girls are known to be gentle and kind but they are quite difficult to court.

But there is a will, there is a way.

The grass is always greener on the other side...I think girls around you are much better. Don't you think Tazzy and Debbie are quite nice?

Add: I know that you are in love Tazzy, but that doesn't mean you can't look around.

31-08-2004, 03:00 PM
haha...aite..aite..
gomenasai! *pat sensei's back - offer sake*

hey...me n Luke? *choke on mee maggi tomyam* haiyaa....cannot be...*shakes head profusely*

retroque
31-08-2004, 03:22 PM
luke and kerek??cannot laa.....hehehe...why?

*looks left ,right and around..line clear*

*speaks in a low voice..whiper*
"because debbie chan will get angry maa"

wakakakakaka..

tokyo girl??haiyaa....why loook for tokyo girl?go n look for akita girl aa.....oo more known as akita bijin (the beautiful girls of akita).i heard the rumours are actually true!!ganbare luke!!!

p/s:kerek...i give u discount n u want free food?and i only get to be the head waitress???huwaa...very strict.plus..i think schye is better at becoming head waitress...ade bakat hehe :D

fish
31-08-2004, 05:53 PM
Akita bijian! Luke is right....pretty girls are in Tokyo. And do you know why? It's because everybody wants a piece of prosperity in Tokyo and they all lump up there.

No offence, Retroque (and to the cute girls from Akita). :D

qedx
31-08-2004, 08:00 PM
p/s:kerek...i give u discount n u want free food?and i only get to be the head waitress???huwaa...very strict.plus..i think schye is better at becoming head waitress...ade bakat hehe :D

eh? retroque and schye also women aa? damn gotta check my gender detection algorithms

31-08-2004, 08:34 PM

*looks left ,right and around..line clear*

*speaks in a low voice..whiper*
"because debbie chan will get angry maa"

haha...you really should check ur english, man. Stimes, adding some unnecessary letters can change the meaning of a word. Now, tell me..what do want to be, waiter or waitress? if you wanna be a waitress, then you gotta wear skirt, shave ur legs..you know, all the works to turn you into a beautiful gurl hihih..

Schye has the hair..though i doubt he can carry a tray without tripping hihihi

i want free food laa..me dont want discounts *discounts meaning i still hv to pay hihih*

dont worry i wont eat much *i'll juz bring my friends along hihih*

*debbie chan told me ' i dont know who's your bf, but as long as it;s not Luke, it's oke*"

hmm.. :wink:

*frown, lifts one eyebrow questioningly*

Luke, ade gf lain ke? *grr..grr* :evil:

tensaispira
31-08-2004, 08:55 PM
debbie chan told me ' i dont know who's your bf, but as long as it;s not Luke, it's oke*"

*rofl*

Debbie-chan..
Debbie Chan!!

All the best, Luke in getting a Japanese girlfriend.
It's not THAT hard actually.
& yeah, Tokyo does have lots of bijin(s)
but so does Osaka for that matter.
*folds arms*
8)
Just..one word of advice.
Make sure you're not allergic to makeup.

Debbie-chan's already taken.
I laugh like crazy when people call her Debbie Chan,
cause she's gonna be a Mrs Chan in future if
things go well.

*scuttles away before Debbie-chan sees anything*

retroque
31-08-2004, 09:01 PM
TAIHENNA KOTO NI NACHATTA!!!!

aiseh....macam mana bleh silap nih???let me clear things up.

RETROQUE aka ME n SCHYE are GUYS.though i do have some doubts about schye... :roll:

maybe i was thinking about akita bijin too much.hmmn...and owh fish sensei,,akita bijin kat tokyo tuh.....mostly those who are materialistic..hehe...can't trust too much.

demo yappari ....kokoro no junsui no onna no ko wo sagasu no wa...nakanaka muzukashii ne....ima no yo no naka wa

hait kerek sensei(teaching english is considered sensei)!!you'll get free food...oh yes u do...after washing the plates :D

should i sell sandwiches n kebab.....or oriental claypot....or stick with the burger daging beruang plan???harharhar

31-08-2004, 09:02 PM
*debbie chan told me ' i dont know who's your bf, but as long as it;s not Luke, it's oke*"

saa ... iru ka na ... demo ne? nannin mo kanojo *ireba* ichiban no wa kimi shika nai :wink:

nanchatte :P

31-08-2004, 09:49 PM
waaa..
me xphm! :cry:

Hey, retroque..
what about free meal every day, until the day i die? haha..better offer huh...and instead of using plates..use paper plates..that way, there'll be nothing to be washed *ehem, smiling at own smartness hihih*

Hmm..better sell kebab..grilled stuff...coz my love..loves burning things up...hihih...

Waahh..me also sensei aa now? hihih...arigato..arigato...huhuh...*grin and nod at anak anak murid* :lol:

fish
01-09-2004, 08:06 AM
saa ... iru ka na ... demo ne? nannin mo kanojo *ireba* ichiban no wa kimi shika nai :wink:

nanchatte :P[/quote]

kimi shika inai...whoever she is,she is not a product

fish
01-09-2004, 08:10 AM

Haha, I thought Retroque was a girl. But anyway, adding a few more words like Head of the Waitresses (or Head of the Tokyo Waitresses) certainly changes the perspective. I guess we shouldn't discuss this in nihongo forum.hihi, but I just can't resist taking a jab at you guys.

01-09-2004, 08:12 AM
kimi shika inai...whoever she is,she is not a product
dou iu koto desu ka? watashi machigaimashita ka?

fish
01-09-2004, 08:22 AM
Oh sorry for the confusion. You wrote ......and kimi shika nai. Remember that nai is for unanimated things and inai is for animated? That is why I suggested using kimi shi ka inai instead.

01-09-2004, 08:43 AM
aaa, naruhodo .. gomen, watashi itsumo sono koto ga wasurete shimaimasu .. datte, "katte inai" wa mijikaku sureba "katte nai" desyou? .. dakara, "nai" no hou ga tsukaiyasuku natta shi :P

01-09-2004, 12:52 PM
yep yep yep....Luke slalu ckp me, slh gune nai..haha..you also same thing blergh! :D

01-09-2004, 12:55 PM
yep yep yep....Luke slalu ckp me, slh gune nai..haha..you also same thing blergh! :D
alah ko salah gune "nai" ngan "ja nai" .. aku "nai" ngan "inai" .. lain la ... blergh :?

aku punye mistake maksud tak lari (just between animate vs inanimate objects) tp ko punye mistake maksud lari .. "kuruma wa nai" ngan "kuruma ja nai" maksud lain2 .. blergh lagi sekali :

01-09-2004, 12:59 PM
blergh..dengki..dengki...heh, consider us over Luke...
*if you still insist on NOT being nice to me*

*sulk*

01-09-2004, 01:06 PM
eh mane boleh main pilih kasih ... susah le malaysia kalau cikgu main pilih kasih .. huhuhu ... anyway cukup!! .. nihongo nihongo!

itsumademo nihongo benkyou shitara tsukawanakereba jouzu ni naru koto ga dekinai no yo!

"no matter until when you study japanese, if you don't use it, you won't become skillful in it"

p/s: sensei, is it ok to use two if's in one sentence (-eba + -tara) ?

retroque
01-09-2004, 03:43 PM

nanchatte :P

hehe...nice going there luke...verry smooth my man.that sentence will be useful in tokyo...

itsumademo nihongo benkyou shitara tsukawanakereba jouzu ni naru koto ga dekinai no yo!

"no matter until when you study japanese, if you don't use it, you won't become skillful in it"

p/s: sensei, is it ok to use two if's in one sentence (-eba + -tara) ?

err..i dunno about other pple...but to me.it seems ok to use two if's ..in one sentence.if u dont want to use 2 if's...u can always change the sentence to

itsumade nihongo benkyou shitemo tsukawanakereba jouzu ni naru koto ga dekinai no yo!

and yes,practice is verrry important!it's ok to make grammar mistakes...u'll learn better that way.hehe..like I did on the 'waitress' stuff.

me n my eigo.*sigh*

err...fish sensei... u thought i was a girl??hehehe...

02-09-2004, 09:55 AM
hahah...retroque a gurl? i always think he's a guy. Dat's y the surprise over the "waitress" thingy hahaha

Anyway, hait..hait..i know..without practise, i'll nvr be good at it. But, i havent got a nihongo lesson for like over a month now...haiyaa....*sigh*

yep..you certainly hv to be more careful in the future, retroque. You might end up being an onano if you keep saying you are my head waitress *smile*

fish
02-09-2004, 11:35 AM
Yeah, I thought Retroque was a girl. And I think jouzu ni ha naranai sounds much better than jouzu ni naru koto ga dekinai because it is too long

02-09-2004, 12:32 PM
no one knows if retroque is really a guy or not ... how about me? anyone 100% sure I'm a guy? what if ... (fill in the blank) :twisted:

btw I have an interesting question for sensei-tachi ..

my question is: how to ask a question? :D

what I mean is how to ask a sensei a question in japanese if:

1) I have a sentence and I want to check if the sentence is correct.
in english one would go about: [prof, if I say "that cat got mad at that bad rat", is it ok?] or [is this sentence correct? "jack's black bag cracks at the back"]
how shall I ask this kind of questions in japanese?

2) I want to ask for an explanation about a certain word
in english one would go about: [prof, what does the word "redemption" mean?] or [prof, how do I use "carefree" in a sentence?]

3) I want to ask for a comparison between two (or more) words
in english one would go about: [prof, what's the difference between the word "fit" and "match"?]

interesting, isn't it? 8)

03-09-2004, 12:50 PM
omoshiroi indeed

**Luke is a guy bcoz he used to be my aunt's ex-student. She thinks he's a very good guy *i think otherwise haha*
But..i wouldnt know if he happens to undergo some sorta sex change operation when he reached Cornell...hmm..*thinking...*

omoshiroi nee..

retroque
03-09-2004, 04:45 PM
i know u r a guy la luke...been to ur website.nice pic u have there.and owh.......dont play2 with luke...cause he can write poems and seems much into poetry (if im not wrong)

03-09-2004, 05:12 PM
haha...luke jiwang, is that what you're trying to retroque? huhuhu
*laugh*

08-09-2004, 11:53 AM
watashi no shitsumon dareka kotaete kudasaimasen ka? :?

08-09-2004, 02:31 PM
1) I have a sentence and I want to check if the sentence is correct.
in english one would go about: [prof, if I say "that cat got mad at that bad rat", is it ok?] or [is this sentence correct? "jack's black bag cracks at the back"]

この文は正しいですか?
kono bun ha tadashii desu ka?
Is this sentence correct?

2) I want to ask for an explanation about a certain word
in english one would go about: [prof, what does the word "redemption" mean?] or [prof, how do I use "carefree" in a sentence?]

"あほ"の意味は何ですか。
aho no imi ha nan desu ka?
What is the meaning of AHO

?あほ?の使い方が分からないのですが(教えてくれませんか?)
aho no tsukaikata ga wakaranai no desuga (oshiete kuremasen ka?)
I dont know how to use the word "aho" ... (can you please teach me)

3) I want to ask for a comparison between two (or more) words
in english one would go about: [prof, what's the difference between the word "fit" and "match"?]

interesting, isn't it? 8)
馬鹿とあほの違いは何ですか。
baka to aho no chigai ha nandesuka?
what is the difference between thw word aho and baka?

08-09-2004, 03:17 PM
did luke just ask about "my questions, takde org nak jwb ke?" I kinda make that deduction, though not sure..hehe...gussing from contextual meaning

08-09-2004, 08:39 PM
この文は正しいですか?

how do I quote the sentence?

anyway, thanks a lot for answering my questions :D ... it's hard to ask a question if we don't know how to ask it :P

09-09-2004, 01:44 PM
この文は正しいですか?

how do I quote the sentence?

anyway, thanks a lot for answering my questions :D ... it's hard to ask a question if we don't know how to ask it :P

"blablabal" という文は正しいですか?

10-09-2004, 11:16 AM
doumo arigatou gozaimashita :)

btw I've started a blog about nihongo ... zoom to http://gaijinnoluke.blogspot.com/

10-09-2004, 11:04 PM
Hi guys. Where do I sign in? How can I start?

Don't teach me nasty words please X.x"

LOL

Cheers! and Thanks!

ps. misled_youth is not all fire and brimstone and politics
FaeKitty (http://camslivesexy.com/cam/FaeKitty)

11-09-2004, 12:18 AM
just visit the anime+nihongo SIG page and join laa...All is welcome..as long as you hv the love for anything Japan, irrashai! :D

11-09-2004, 01:54 PM
just visit the anime+nihongo SIG page and join laa...All is welcome..as long as you hv the love for anything Japan, irrashai! :D
incorrect english, incorrect japanese :roll:

11-09-2004, 02:22 PM

that's the beauty of "rojak" language..haha:lol:

irasshai means welcome / come back, right? I remember that japanese replies "itte irasshai" after someone says "itte kimasu" when he/she is going out.

11-09-2004, 10:43 PM
Yupe, Irassyaru is the polite form of iku, kuru and iru.

12-09-2004, 01:11 PM
Yupe, Irassyaru is the polite form of iku, kuru and iru.
talking about polite japanese, here is one of the conversations I have to memorize and perform in class:

A: haai
B: buraun desu ga ..
A: maa, buraun-san. yoku irassyaimashita
B: senjitsu wa doumo shitsurei shimashita
A: kochirakoso. saa, douzo oagari kudasai
B: shitsurei shimasu

A: kore, tsumaranai mono desu ga ...
B: sore wa, wazawaza doumo. okidzukai itadaite, moushiwake arimasen
A: ie, hon no kimochi dake desu kara ...
B: jya, sekkaku desu kara arigataku choudai itashimasu. arigatou gozaimasu
A: iie

anyone wants to translate it? ;)

12-09-2004, 05:30 PM
hey, isnt "all" considered as a singular form? or should it be "all are welcomed"? sounds weird though..anyway, irasshai..irasshai
*Luke jahat*
Me merajuk *sulks*

12-09-2004, 09:51 PM
haha ok ok .. if an english teacher says that, I have no choice but to agree .. yes, maam :P

retroque
12-09-2004, 10:21 PM
just dropping to see how things are going on ere......

wont be posting for quite some time....exam2..huwaa....(plus projects n research)

luke..tanomu yo

13-09-2004, 08:22 AM
hahah...i didn't say anything, Luke-kun. I make mistakes too, being a human after all.
Retroque, how's the restaurant doing? your waitresses all oke? :D

retroque
14-09-2004, 11:20 AM
my restaurant??hahah....kawaiii waitresses wo
boushuchuudesu!!(recruiting)..

oi oi..ape ni....i've been away for some time...n already this thread seems to slow down....come on minna ....genki dashite.....kiai wo irete.......

yappari..retroque ga inakya...moriagaranainoka??hehehe
(retroque takde...tak happening ke?)

14-09-2004, 11:56 AM
datte kiku hito wa watashi dake damon

marude minnasan wa mou kyoumi wo motanai sou da ... kono mama tsudzuketara watashi sabishiku naru yo .. :cry:

since the only person asking here is just me ..

as if everyone doesn't have interest anymore ... if this continues I'll become sad ... :cry:

14-09-2004, 01:45 PM
hait hait...wakarimashita, Luke-kun. It's not that i am not interested..but i havent had any Jap lessons for like quite some time..so like, nothing new came in..Plus been kinda busy w stuff.

Hmm..anyone, can comment on the Jap's fashion sense? i kinda wanna wear sthing like them Jap gurls for my dinner heheh...any suggestions?
*hope this will lighten up this thread* :D

retroque, make sure the onano...all are not only kawaii but also can buat kerja heheh :D

14-09-2004, 03:38 PM
Well, I will post some photos with Japanese Kanji on it... I meant those can be found on the street ... such as Exit etc...
Exam week maar... but I will try my best laa..

CONGRATS Luke ===> the SIG mascot to become the mascot of REMAG :)

14-09-2004, 03:50 PM
haha...Luke = mascot remag? hihihih

retroque
14-09-2004, 04:48 PM
eh?u sure u want to dress up like japs onna kerek??ahaha...i'll tell u how my classmate dress up...

a few months a go...there's this trend...u wear skirt...with jeans underneath...and owh yes....high heels shoes to go with it...sheessh....they reaallly do have a WEIRD sense of fashion...

try la kerek...who knows...u might look good in it :D

14-09-2004, 04:54 PM
haha..been there..done that..Ask my friend Yon..he saw me in dat..mcm oke jaa...hihih
any other ideas?

14-09-2004, 05:07 PM
hmm...
make your eyes look like a cat + colorful fingernails + wearing 2-3 layers of clothes + jacket outside ... hehe... maybe a windbreaker if possible..haha..

14-09-2004, 05:11 PM
any pics?

14-09-2004, 09:54 PM
http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/gongoro2.jpg
pontianak jepun

http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/kerara_q67
berapa lapis cik adik pakai ni?

http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/directlink/gothic_q149
Alice in Nipponland?

14-09-2004, 10:07 PM
scary ...
the one at the bottom is what they called コスプレ = コスチューム プレイ @<hidden> costume play.
They will wear like the character in anime, comics or games and "have fun" showing them off.
原宿(Harajyuku) , the fashion steer of Japan is famous for this. You will see a lot of them gathered every Sunday noon on the bridge near the station.

14-09-2004, 10:12 PM
http://apples.easter.ne.jp/top.html

This is my friends homepage and she is one of those "cosplay" maniacs. As you can see she really joined a lot of these activities and they really made all those clothes themselves.

14-09-2004, 10:22 PM
wow..i like the alice in nipponland..hehe..cute..cute..really cute..arigato, minnasan...i need some ideas of what to wear for my college annual dinner..i wanna be different...heheh..

retroque
14-09-2004, 10:37 PM
IMHO...the best thing to wear.....is without doubt YUKATA!!!..

sugeee kawai yo(darn cute)

even luke would think twice to criticize u!!(or will not ??:P)

14-09-2004, 10:43 PM
hihi..to a dinner? serious? hihi...

14-09-2004, 10:45 PM
budakkerek in yukata??? 8O

mitai na ... hoshii hoshii hoshii !! :wink:

14-09-2004, 10:52 PM
hihi..to a dinner? serious? hihi...but isnt that a baju tido thing?
*Luke will nvr pass a chance to criticize me huhuhu, at least not the Luke i know :P

hey retroque, you got YM? add me in laa wei :D
Hmm..what happened to fish-sensei? very quiet laa..

14-09-2004, 10:54 PM
fish-sensei kahwin lari dengan endoru :P

14-09-2004, 11:19 PM
huh? *pengsan*
hihihi...what's mitai? hehe...Luke dengki *sticks out tongue*

retroque
15-09-2004, 01:02 AM
actually...i did add u...(if im not wrong laa that is)..but havnt introduce myself properly ...

like always...i'm never good at jikoushoukai.

15-09-2004, 12:30 PM
i know. i got ur invite..but mcm xsmpt nak approve, tetiba teddc. so invite me again *or rather, add me again* hehe...maybe one day we can hv a get together...all of us hantu jepun hihihi...
Hmm..any idea where i can get sthing like Alice in Nipponland? hihi..kinda cute :)

15-09-2004, 01:07 PM
you want to wear that Alice in Wonderland costume? Heaven, don't! I can't (and don't want to) imagine you wearing that 8O

Go for yukata!

15-09-2004, 01:18 PM
hahah..cute ape? plus mcm gempak sket..
Luke, omoshiroii nee?

hmm..yukata? anyone can send me one? i need it before end of this month. Arigato gozaimasu! :D

15-09-2004, 01:45 PM
Hmm... maybe you shoyuld ask fish sensei... she lived near Tokyo ... ;)

20-09-2004, 09:11 PM
Recently I watched Sammi Cheng's Magic Kitchen and got a surprise with the use of this expression "itadakimasu"
In one of the movie scene; during the King Chef competition in Japan, the japanese host woman said that both competitors need to cook one more dish to decide the winner out of the current tie result. And she ended her speech by saying itadakimasu. So itadakimasu is not only used before having a meal. Does it mean to show that you are going to start your cooking?

qedx
21-09-2004, 06:55 AM
taken from the WWWJDIC
戴く(P); 頂く(P) 【いただく】 (v5k) (hum) to receive; to take food or drink; to be crowned with; to wear; to live under (a ruler); to install (a president); to accept; to buy; to take
without knowing what was actually said, i would guess it goes something like this, "...blablabla blabla itadakimasu."? i'd say she meant someone will take something.

21-09-2004, 08:17 AM
this is why I prefer to learn japanese in its most literal sense ... by learning words from their most original meaning, I can avoid getting confused when the words are used in an unexpected occasion ...

the most original meaning for "itadaku", if I'm not wrong, is "to receive". It's also worth it to note that this word carries a humble connotation with it. its non-humble equivalent is "morau" (same meaning -- to receive)

it's true that "itadakimasu" is usually said before eating, thus interpreting such expression as equivalent to "bon appetit" etc is not entirely wrong. but never consider that the real meaning behind it is the same as equivalent ritual expressions from other cultures. the implication might be the same, but not the meaning.

here are some examples where "itadakimasu" is used but there's no food involved.

A: sono pen wo agemasu yo!
B: hontou desu ka? jya, itadakimasu.
----------------------------------------------------
A: I'll give that pen to you.
B: Really? Well then, I'll take it.
=============================
A: doushite desu ka?
B: ha ga itai n desu.
A: ani wa haisya na no de, ani ni mite moraimasen ka?
B: jya, A-san no oniisan ni mite itadakimasu.
----------------------------------------------------
A: why? (i.e what's wrong?)
B: I have a toothache
A: my brother is a dentist so why don't you let him examine your teeth
B: well then, I'll do it (i.e I'll let him examine my teeth)

see? where got food? ;)

23-09-2004, 05:33 PM
got...
in between the teeth...
hihihi..

*i met my sensei, who's back fr Osaka - his son is so kawaii...ehhh..dont get me wrong, he's just 4 years old :D

qedx
24-09-2004, 07:17 AM
got question. what does this say?
http://www.qedx.com/images/card.jpg

24-09-2004, 08:34 PM
きなこ = 黄粉 = kinako = soybean flour
餅 = もち = mochi = rice cake
あん = 餡 = ann = bean paste
あん入 = あんいり = ann iri = bean paste being put inside
くさ = 草 = grass
草だんご = 草団子 = くさだんご = Japanese (grass?)dumpling
よもぎ = 蓬 = the name of a plant

qedx
25-09-2004, 03:20 AM
ooh thanks. so i'm guessing what's inside the package is mochi inti kacang merah and whatever the よもぎ plant is.

25-09-2004, 08:24 AM
and it means HALAL too ;)

25-09-2004, 10:09 AM
which is very important huh, niisang? :P
News from sensei:
there'll be an exam on japanese..but it's gonna be an open-note kinda test.
Oh oh...i havent been to class for so long..kua kua...coz i thought xdak exam..but i guess it wont be that muzukashii...

hah, anyone can terang the difference btw shite n shita?
i know shita means udah dibuat. like
benkyou oshimashita.
arigato! :D

qedx
26-09-2004, 11:51 AM
hmmm tastes ok. here's the thingy http://www.qedx.com/images/makanan.jpg
smells a bit like batang buruk

26-09-2004, 12:24 PM
oishisou da na ....
:( I had instant noodles for my lunch ...hungry...

qedx
26-09-2004, 12:36 PM
ah instant noodles. i'll start again my instant noodle and bread + water diet by december :D

26-09-2004, 02:48 PM
heheh...batang buruk? my fav..esp during raya...what i usually do is hog the whole balang and mkn that thing while watching all the drama melayu whatever crap on the terebi heheheh...

besh giler..kuih btg buruk...wonder why they call it that in the first place...*hmmm*

atashi no shitsumon, xdak org nak jwb ka?

qedx
26-09-2004, 03:34 PM
shite? shita? i thought shite is the -te form of suru heh. shita is past. but take it with a grain of salt. tak abih blajo agi

26-09-2004, 03:50 PM
ceh..xmembantu lgsg..hahah..

qedx
26-09-2004, 04:05 PM
terima kasih

24-11-2004, 05:27 PM
wow..been a while since i last stopped by. so, can we continue our benkyou, minna-san? :D

01-12-2004, 11:10 PM
Hi, It has been long since I last visited Recom...
Fianlly I can have my lectures started this 6th Dec but in the other university. I will have all my lectures in Nagaoka University of Technology till I grad. :cry: I have moved into a new dorm which dont have internet access there... So I think I wont be able to come to Recom as often but I will try to have my own connectin ASAP.

28-01-2005, 12:52 AM
I have learnt this,

わたし は るまで ともだちのうち へ いきます
I go to my friend's home by car
わたし は ともだちのうちで ごはん を たべます
I have meal at my friend's home

How to construct one full sentence that implies I go to have lunch at my friend's home by car? Thank you.

qedx
29-01-2005, 03:08 AM
i'm not too sure, but here's a go:

watashi wa kuruma de tomodachi no uchi de tabe ni ikimasu

there's probably something wrong in there somewhere heh. help sensei!!!

06-02-2005, 06:02 PM
ehem, thanks to retroque, this is what he says it is:
atashi wa kuruma de tomodachi no uchi ni..tabeni ikimasu

yekban, hope it answers your question :D

fish
07-02-2005, 05:03 PM
Hisashiburi! The dead fish is alive :lol:

fish
07-02-2005, 05:10 PM
This is the link to a Japanese test site: http://momo.jpf.go.jp/sushi/index.php

You can have fun there as it is very easy. It was made by the Japan Foundation and you may find some info on coming to Japan for a short term exchange.

And for those of you whom would like to do a short term exchange to Japan, through homestays, you can visit http://www.seto-homestay.jp and another www.expohomestay.jp

You will be responsible for your own transport fees to Japan but the host family will provide you with a home and food (in most cases) so it is really not that expensive. Furthermore, you can get to know Japan through the 'normal' Japanese people.

07-02-2005, 06:54 PM
yeay! fish sensei is back..what happened to you, sensei?
got lost in the water? LOL

anyway, welcome back. how's the research going on? i'm gonna b flying off already. this Valentine's Day :cry:

fish
08-02-2005, 05:14 PM
Yeah, I drowned in the water but was saved by a fisherman from Titanic called Leonardo...haha.

Oh, you are going of already? Australia? Great! Broaden your horizons!

I am still stuck here...itsuka kaereru no ka wakaranai

retroque
08-02-2005, 07:14 PM
i guess it's only proper for me to say ..

'okaerinasai fish sensei' :D

08-02-2005, 09:22 PM
hehe..oke..
you wanna be saved by leonardo?
yucks...
so geli
i bu xi huan ta hahaha

09-02-2005, 09:47 AM
Welcome back fish ... and See you in Tsukuba in a few more weeks 8) Yoroshiku ne

09-02-2005, 03:02 PM
ehem...pak toh meh, niisang?
Schye n Fish..
hmm..sounds good LOL :lol:

Gong Xi Fa Cai, and Xing Nian Kuai Le to all y sensei, and all members of Nihongo+Anime SIG

21-02-2005, 03:22 PM
TADAIMA KAERIMASHITA!

donatteru! donatteru! minna, genki da ne? nihongo dou da? iro iro benkyou shiteta?

budakkerek-chan kiteru no? sore to mo sabotteru no? soitsu na ...

tonikaku, kore kara mo issho ni benkyou tsudzukeyou! yoroshiku! na? :wink:

21-02-2005, 05:31 PM
ii na .....
I am stuck here with my presentation....
Kerek ha mou nihongo bennkyou suru ki nai yo...
Ima ha ne, cyuugokugo bakari kanngaetenndakara :)

where did you go Luke? as you said you just came back?

21-02-2005, 09:56 PM
Luke went mengembara, jual sayur dan biskut kepada makcik.

haha..juz kidding..i think i'm gonna take up Nihongo again..found a nihon no onano at the Int students services. she was impressed w my limited japanese LOL
anyway gonna belajar summore fr her...BUT! doesnt mean i'm gonna forget all my sensei here...what happen to our lessons? :?

22-02-2005, 08:25 AM
haha..juz kidding..i think i'm gonna take up Nihongo again..found a nihon no onano at the Int students services. she was impressed w my limited japanese LOL
anyway gonna belajar summore fr her...BUT! doesnt mean i'm gonna forget all my sensei here...what happen to our lessons? :?
uh, you mean "nihon no onna no hito", don't you? I'm not sure if "onano" carries any meaning ...

uh, "nihon no onna no hito" or "onna no nihonjin", which one is better aaa, Schye? what about "nona nihon"? :P :P

22-02-2005, 02:38 PM
Watashi wa Budakkerek no tomodachi desu.
Nihon go ha pera pera desu, naze nara watashi ha Nihon jin dakara desu. Hahaha :lol: Yoroshiku onegai shimasu-!

hahah..Luke kun, you cannot bully me anymore coz i got SAYAKO-CHAN to translate for me HAHA! :P

22-02-2005, 02:47 PM
a, kowai kowai. de mo na, zurui yo, tomodachi ni tasukete moratte ... zurusugiru. boku naichau. :roll:

fish
22-02-2005, 06:39 PM
ただいま---- :D 嬉しいわ。

Ha, welcome to Tsukuba SChye! A little early to tell you this but I guess you will be staying in Ichinoya. It is one of the best dorms amongst the dorms in Tsukuba U.

23-02-2005, 11:10 AM
uh, "nihon no onna no hito" or "onna no nihonjin", which one is better aaa, Schye? what about "nona nihon"? :P :P

Nihonnjin no jyousei will sound better I think.

BTW, Fish, are you sure cos I havent call tsukuba yet :D I really hope taht I can enter the hostel for foregin students. However I heard that foregin students who enter the univ "half-way" like me will be staying in normal dorm.

Sayako san, 出身はどこですか?僕今長岡高専で勉強しているんですけど...

BTW...I got to go now. My final presentation will be 2++ hours from now :D
GANBARU ZOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOooooooooooooo!!!

24-02-2005, 02:16 PM

Nihonnjin no jyousei will sound better I think.
lol. yup, that sounds better. i forgot about "dansei" and "jyosei" (actually it's 'jyosei' since the 'jyo' part is short)

Ha, welcome to Tsukuba SChye! A little early to tell you this but I guess you will be staying in Ichinoya. It is one of the best dorms amongst the dorms in Tsukuba U.
Mmmm ... does that mean Schye is coming to fish's town or something? so they will live near to each other? Mmmm ... omoshiroi!

btw, my small yet growing collection of JPop music CDs:

http://www.imagehosting.us/imagehosting/showimg.jpg/?id=268162
Left: Yuko Yamaguchi - "Believe"
Right: Kiroro - "Kiroro no Uta: Kiroro 1st Best Album"

Two Kou Shibasaki's singles are on their way, plus I'm eyeing an eBay listing of X-Japan's "The Very Best of" 2 CDs album.

what should I buy next ... Horie Yui? SMAP? ... any recommendations?

24-02-2005, 02:25 PM
Sayako san ha Tokyo to Kyoto syushiin desu. hait!

24-02-2005, 02:40 PM

I think Schye asked where Sayako's birthplace (shusshinchi) is. Both Tokyo and Kyoto? How could that be?

Maybe:

"Umareta no ha (Toukyou/Kyouto) da kedo, sodatta no ha (Kyouto/Toukyou) desu"
[She was born in (Tokyo/Kyoto) but she grew up in (Kyoto/Tokyo)

24-02-2005, 03:14 PM

I think Schye asked where Sayako's birthplace (shusshinchi) is. Both Tokyo and Kyoto? How could that be?

Maybe:

"Umareta no ha (Toukyou/Kyouto) da kedo, sodatta no ha (Kyouto/Toukyou) desu"
[She was born in (Tokyo/Kyoto) but she grew up in (Kyoto/Tokyo)

sorry for the mistake of Jyosei :)

you may also use :

"place" umare, "place" sodachi.

24-02-2005, 06:32 PM
ohh..sumimasen!
i only typed in what Sayako-chan told me. She's born in Kyoto but raised in Tokyo i think. I'll ask again. I see her every day heheh..fun fun fun...we're going jalan jalan tmrw :D

retroque
24-02-2005, 09:52 PM
btw, my small yet growing collection of JPop music CDs:

Two Kou Shibasaki's singles are on their way, plus I'm eyeing an eBay listing of X-Japan's "The Very Best of" 2 CDs album.

what should I buy next ... Horie Yui? SMAP? ... any recommendations?

boku no tokubetsu no osusume desu!!!(my special reccomendation)

1.Orange range-(a group from okinawa)
2.Asian Kung Fu Generation

dont listen winds..ahaha.nanka wakannai kedo,winds kirai.reminds me of 'new boyz n tomok'.

fish
01-03-2005, 07:11 PM
Yeah Orange Range and Asian KungFu Generation is good. I like Orange Range's Viva Rock (Naruto), Locomotion and I don't remember the latest hit but I like most of their songs. Asian KungFu also did a number for Naruto. Was it Will or something?

Schye, our school term starts in April so you enter as a student for the whole new academic year. Your last senpai, Hanley, stayed in the foreign students dorm but your another poor old senpai (Cheong) rotted in one of those old dorms in Ichinoya (hey, don't tell him this or he will kill me). Oh ya, since you are coming and some of my friends are leaving Tsukuba, is there anything you need so that I can save it for you? Like TV or fridge. It is a tradition for the senpai(s) of Tsukuba to save stuffs for their kouhais.

ごめん、余談な話になってしまって。
Gomen, gomen. Yodanna hanasi ni natte.
これから日本語を勉強しましょう。 :D

02-03-2005, 12:21 AM
ehem, yep..update on sayako-chan.
she was born in Tokyo, moved to Kyoto, then moved back to tokyo. arigatou!

aussie is good, but brg brg all so takai!

dyenne10
02-03-2005, 11:52 AM
hitoribotchi no haburashi.. :D

07-03-2005, 02:43 AM
aussie is good, but brg brg all so takai!
english + malay + japanese = budakkerek's speaking!
good job! :lol: :twisted:

uh, wakaranai ... "haburashi" to iu kotoba wa nan to iu imi desyou .. jisyo ni mo nai shi ...
[uh, I don't understand ... I wonder what "haburashi" means .. it's not in the dictionary]

14-03-2005, 07:16 AM
shizuka ni natte kita nee ...
minna, dou shita no? gakkou de isogashii no?

(It's getting a little quiet, isn't it? everyone, what happened? busy with schools?)

nihongo wo benkyou shiyou yo!

14-03-2005, 01:04 PM
Fish,
I am not sure what I will need as I dont know how big my room will be. In fact I have yet to confirm if I can enter the dorm or not. They said the result will come out tomorrow.
I have asked a senior in Tokyo who has gone back to post all her stuff to me before going back to Msia and again I dont know what she posted to me. All the stuff are in Cheong's place ... I will go to Tsukuba sometime around 2nd or 3rd April as I will need t ogive an orientation to juniors coming to Japan this 31st.

*sorry for being out of topic ... maybe we should do this through email or IM ---- now everyone know that I am a poor student lol*
Note: Fish sensei is RICH cos her scholarship is a lot more than me ... (just my own presumption)

Haburashi = "HA" + "brush" = tooth brush

Lonely tooth brush. One of my friend love this song. Its better to have 2 toothbrushes in a cup than one, rite ...

最近卒業研究と卒業論文で忙しいから、ごめんね。地震のせいで、スケジュールが狂ってしまったからさ。
saikin sotugyou kennkyuu to sotugyou ronnbunn de isogashii kara, gomen ne. jishin no seide, sukejyu-ru ga kurutteshimatta karasa.
Sorry, as i am busy with my final year research adn thesis recently. All my schedule has been messed up because of the earth quake.

14-03-2005, 06:59 PM
Niisang, when the juniors come, can you say hi to a guy called Kecop? his name is Usop or sthing like dat. atashi no tomodachi! Pls take care of him for me, coz he's my pet sis's koibito!:D

Heheh..fish-sensei, how's ur research?
if you are rich, can buy me more omiyagei tak :D :D :D

15-03-2005, 07:54 AM
omiyage for budakkerek .... bagi mi togei je muahahahaha :lol:

what is your research about, fish-sensei? how to fish japanese boys? :twisted:

anyway, here is a question for senseitachi:

what's the difference between "machigaeru" and "machigau"?

16-03-2005, 03:53 PM
Niisang, when the juniors come, can you say hi to a guy called Kecop? his name is Usop or sthing like dat. atashi no tomodachi! Pls take care of him for me, coz he's my pet sis's koibito!:D

There will be so many juniors so unless he comes and introduce himself or else ... I dont think i will go and ask "SIAPA USOP, please stand up" :roll: If he has any questions or problems, you can give him my email address and ask him to mail me.

16-03-2005, 04:02 PM
[quote=budakkerek]
anyway, here is a question for senseitachi:

what's the difference between "machigaeru" and "machigau"?

Good question, it makes me think for a while + checking a few distionaries to answer this.

Machigaeru is a subset of machigau as machigaeru can only be used when we are stating that "one gets something wrong" <-- I hate myself when I cant express myself good in English

Ex:

keisan wo machigaeta.
keisan wo machigatta.
You have made a wrong calculation.

Kutsu wo machigaeta.
Kutsu wo machigatta.
You wore the wrong shoes.

but we cant use machigaeta in the sentences below.

machigatta kangae.
Wrong thinking.

kimi ha machigatteiru.
You are wrong.
I have asked one of my Japanese friend and he said that "kimi ha machigaeteiru" are used too as it is from the sentence "kimi ha XXXX wo machigaeteiru".

hope it helps...

17-03-2005, 10:06 PM
hait!
hv done do.
realised it's a bit ridiculous to expect u to go n cari the guy. so i told him liao. and he said, yep he'll look for u.

one of my fren's bro got into Tokai Uni. is dat a good one?

my nihongo lessons are kinda not prgofressing. busy w classes, hv very few oppotunity to meet Sayak-chan...haissshhh... :x

04-04-2005, 10:27 AM
I am in the library of Tsukuba Univ now. Met Fish sensei yesterday. She was a really sweet lady and we "kutuk" bout kerek :lol:

05-04-2005, 03:57 PM
hey, cehhh..dengki..my kaa che n my tai kor kutuk me?how an? so jahat la you guys..
takpe..i will repot to Sayako waaaa :cry: :cry:

ps: fish-sensei, Schye has a crush on you, but he pretends he doesnt. So now i guess you'd understand why he's a bit "shy shy cat" around you LOL

Niisang, enjoy your uni years! how many more to go? :P

fish
12-04-2005, 11:08 AM
Really ah? He has a crush on me ah? Haha, now I can date him la...haha

16-04-2005, 09:50 AM
i guess he juz likes older women hahaha
*yess...Niisang..payback time coz u kutuk me ahahha*

i made okonomiyaki last thursday with Sayako...oishii nee!!![/url]

16-04-2005, 03:41 PM
Well,well,well, whatever laaa... I think we should stop our personal chat here or not the whole thread will be monopolized by just 3 of us.

So, Kerek, any new Japanese words that you have learnt other then okomiyaki??

28-04-2005, 11:38 PM
what i learned?
forgot liao heheh

ochamashimasu
ochamashimashita

daijobou

warikan heheh

summore...but i kinda forgot
i had dinner w Sayajo today
she's going back to Japan in 2 weeks time.
sabishii... :cry:

29-04-2005, 09:29 PM
what i learned?
forgot liao heheh

ochamashimasu
ochamashimashita

daijobou

warikan heheh

summore...but i kinda forgot
i had dinner w Sayajo today
she's going back to Japan in 2 weeks time.
sabishii... :cry:

it should be oJyamashimasu or oJYAmashimashita.

warikan @<hidden> bayar asing-asing ...@<hidden> AA system

You may ask Sayako to contact me if she want a new friend...hehehe.

01-05-2005, 11:32 AM
oboete nai, Niisang!
i forgot la, it sounds like ocha anyway heheh

shes going back to tokyo
u in tokyo ka?
how is Fish-sensei?
u treating her good, ehhhh...life treating her good?
LOL

hmm..this thread has been rather quiet.feels like it's ours now hehhehe

02-05-2005, 09:11 AM
hmm..this thread has been rather quiet.feels like it's ours now hehhehe

it's quiet .. so quiet indeed ...

luke walked into the empty room. while searching for the light switch he looked around. outside the partly-broken window, it was snowing lightly.

"found it!" luke flipped the switch. one second. two seconds. nothing happened. "i guess the electricity has been cut off". luke put his hand into his pocket, searching for his lighter. "you are looking for this?" a voice rang out from behind. luke turned around and ...

.. to be continued 8)

btw, here is an essay I wrote for my japanese class. douzo goran ni natte kudasai~

sakubun.pdf (http://anatilmizun.homeip.net/sakubun.pdf)

02-05-2005, 02:48 PM
oooohhh..
kowaii nee...ehehhehe

06-05-2005, 08:06 PM
Too much anime + too much ayumi's song??
A nice article indded. At first I thought it will be another "the ring". Is this a TRUE story??

Kerek : I am not in Tokyo but quite near to Tokyo.
Luke : I met Athari a few days ago and both of us are looking forward to see you. Please update us with your plan.

**Fish sensei is busy with her research ... and I heard that she is good in operation 8O

another word of today:

keitai = けいたい = 携帯
=keitaidenwa = 携帯電話@けいたいでんわ
= Cellular phone

07-05-2005, 11:14 AM
Too much anime + too much ayumi's song??
A nice article indded. At first I thought it will be another "the ring". Is this a TRUE story??
no lar .. rekaan semata-mata .. but I wrote it for my class :)

Luke : I met Athari a few days ago and both of us are looking forward to see you. Please update us with your plan.

I forgot to tell you, I postponed my plan to go there this year since I met difficulties in getting the visa ... I will go there summer 2006 and this time I will try getting the visa a lot earlier ...

07-05-2005, 05:08 PM
Niisang, i know that already hehehe

So Luke, you not going to Japan then?
Sayako's goin back to Tokyo next week. what shud i ask for omiyageii suggestions pls hehehe

11-05-2005, 06:10 PM
I thought it will be easy as they have EXPO this year. hmm... Ask her to bring you KIMONO :wink:

Vocab:
kimono = きもの =着物

Ecinue
13-05-2005, 11:14 AM
here's an url of a website for those who'd want to learn nihongo online
http://japanese.about.com/

p/s: thanks, luke :)

13-05-2005, 12:44 PM
i know, i go there all the time. LOL

oh yea...am learning French now..
so let's see..
english, arabic, japanese, mandarin, cantonese, french.....
crazie la wei..not enough space in my head!!! :?

fish
13-05-2005, 03:51 PM
I may be busy but I will find time to RECOM. みんなぁぁ、さいきんげんき?

fish
14-05-2005, 07:50 PM
静かだなぁ。何にかやりませんか。

はじめまして、FISHです。

Ecinue
15-05-2005, 04:20 PM
Paul Ginkou wa doko desu ka.
Namiko Asoko desu.
Paul Nan-ji kara desu ka.
Namiko Ku-ji kara desu.
Paul Doomo.

Translation for the Dialogue

Paul Where is the bank?
Namiko It is over there.
Paul What time is the bank open from?
Namiko From 9:00.
Paul Thanks.
is asoko = over there?
as far as i know, are = that over there.
can anyone please explain the diffrence between these 2 words?

retroque
16-05-2005, 12:28 AM
The Difference between "are" and "asoko"

First of all,hello everybody.I'm back(though i doubt anyone will notice..hehe)

Let me first explain it in bahasa melayu.let see if u can understand.if u still have questions,i'll try to answer it differently next time

kore=ini

sore, are= itu

asoko= disana.

Now ,u may notice that sore and are are the same menaing when translated in b.m.the diffence is.....the location of the 'thing"(benda)

eg1:
(A) (B)---- (thing)

B is standing beside a 'thing"(let say...a bag)

A;sore wa dare no kaban desuka ?
(whose bag is that?)
(bag siapa itu)

eg2:

(A)(thing) (B)

A is standing beside a 'thing".

A:kore wa dare no kaban desuka?

eg3:

(A) (B)

(thing)

The bag is located away from both A and B

A: are wa dare no kaban desuka?

sekian

16-05-2005, 12:45 AM
is asoko = over there?
as far as i know, are = that over there.
can anyone please explain the diffrence between these 2 words?

asoko and are are parts of a set of groups of words called ko-so-a-do (some ppl/textbooks might call them with different names). Each group of ko-so-a-do consists of 4 words and all 4 of them share the same context.

basically the ground rules of ko-so-a-do are:

ko: near to the speaker
so: near to the conversation partner
a: far from both speaker and the conversation partner
do: consultative question word for the shared context

and here are the groups (basic intro, detailed explanation will follow soon):

kore-sore-are-dore
most used group, the most general context
refers to things/matters

kono-sono-ano-dono
similar to -re group except that for -no group, the things/matters are decoupled from the ko-so-a-do words, thus if you use any word in this group you have to mention the things/matters as well

koko-soko-asoko-doko
refers to place rather than objects at the place.

kochira-sochira-achira-dochira
refers to choice of objects between (mostly) two objects/things. kochira means the object near the speaker as opposed to, for example, the object near the conversation partner.

kou-sou-aa-dou
refers to manners/conditions of the actions/objects.

konna-sonna-anna-donna
refers to qualities/properties/affiliations of the objects

regarding your question of the difference between are and asoko, are refers to objects while asoko refers to place. imagine you have a book lying on the floor at a corner of your room. while pointing to the book, if you use are you are pointing out the book, if you use asoko you are pointing out the place the book is located.

so, if you want to ask what that is (suppose you didn't know it's a book) you would ask:

"are wa nan desu ka?" (what is that thing over there?)
"asoko ni aru mono nan desu ka?" (what is the thing located over there?)

well, you can also ask "asoko wa nan desu ka?" and still get the message across but you might get "that is a corner of your room" as the answer :P

back to the explanation on ko-so-a-do groups.

kore-sore-are-dore vs kono-sono-ano-dono
as i mentioned above, the -no group is decoupled from the objects. what i mean by that is, if you use -no group you have to mention the object as well. so, suppose you want to point to a book in your hand, you can refer to it as "kore" and people still understand that you are refering to the book but you cannot just say "kono". you have to say "kono hon" since "kono" alone is just one half of the context, you need the word "hon" to complete it and give it a meaning.

kono-sono-ano-dono vs kochira-sochira-achira-dochira
it is also worth noting that the ko-so-a-do groups are usually used to differentiate the proximity of the things/objects/anything in question. ko-so-a-do differentiates whether a book is nearer to the speaker than the partner or vice versa or far from both of them. well, that is easy to understand but it is also worth knowing that in some context, you have to decide whether to use -no or -chira. generally speaking, -no is used when there is no specific allocation of options. for example if you are given a bunch of pencils and are being asked to pick one, you would say "kono enpitsu kudasai". but if you are given a choice of two pencils, red-vs-blue or right-vs-left, you would say "kochira no enpitsu kudasai"

word types of ko-so-a-do groups
despite their structures, they do not belong to the same word types, that is to say if you use a -re word and want to use a -no word instead, you have to also adjust the sentence structure to make sure it is grammatically correct.

-> kore-sore-are-dore => nominal/noun (special rule: cannot be followed by the particle "no" -- use -no group instead)

-> kono-sono-ano-dono => prenominal, i.e must be followed by a nominal/noun

-> koko-soko-asoko-doko => nominal/noun

-> kochira-sochira-achira-dochira => nominal/noun

-> kou-sou-aa-dou => nominal/noun and adverb

-> konna-sonna-anna-donna => prenominal

that's all for now. phew .. i typed this much????

anyway, if you still don't understand, feel free to post follow up questions. I will try answering it as detailed as possible.

EDIT: ayark, retroque posted b4 me 8O

17-05-2005, 07:11 AM
Question:

In the testbook my japanese class is using, there is one group of words called Frozen Gerunds. As far as I can remember, there are 3 frozen gerunds so far:

hajimete
X ni tsuite
X to shite

They are called frozen gerunds because even though structurally they look like gerund, they have the "priviledges" to act as nouns:

hajimete no keiken
shizen ni tsuite no kiji
oya to shite no sekinin

OK, my question to senseitachi is: what are those words called in Japanese ("Frozen gerunds" is just the term used in the textbook I use, whose author loved to create new terms) and beside the 3 words I listed above, is there any more of those?

doumo yoroshiku onegaishimasu :wink:

Ecinue
17-05-2005, 01:52 PM
wow... thanks a lot:), senseis
arigatou gazaimasu
btw, could anyone please explain the diffenrences between -masen and -nai?

fish
17-05-2005, 04:03 PM
masu/masen is the polite form for verbs whereas the nai form is a negative dictionary form

Polite form (also called keigo under some circumstances)

arimasu (positive form)
arimasen (negative polite form)

aru (dictionary form)
nai (negative dictionary/plain form)

The 'masu' form is used during formal speeches whereas the dictionary or plain form is used in normal daily speeches and 'sakubun' or essays.

Japanese people are actually very socially orientated and they rate themselves according to 'uchi' or inner and 'soto' or outer groups. When speaking with seniors (elderly people, higher status, longer working experience), they use 'keigo' and speak using the 'masu' form. Within family members (inclusive of parents and sometimes grandparents) and close friends, you use the plain form.

I normally use the plain form when speaking with my friends because it is shorted and we feel closer when we use the plain form.

sabishii
18-05-2005, 01:48 PM
静かだなぁ。何にかやりませんか。

はじめまして、FISHです。

はじめまして、どうぞよろしく。
FISHさんは日本語が上手ですね~

fish
18-05-2005, 03:14 PM
そう言われたら上手でもないですがありがとうございました。

さびしいっていう名前は本人は自分がさびしいと思っていますか。このSIGは皆もすごく優しいから、きっと仲良くなりますよ。

よろしくお願いいたします。 

18-05-2005, 08:51 PM
静かだなぁ。何にかやりませんか。

はじめまして、FISHです。

はじめまして、どうぞよろしく。
FISHさんは日本語が上手ですね~

If not she wont be Fish SENSEI:)

boafan
20-05-2005, 09:31 PM
dis topic is so kewl! btw..i hv a question...izzit called NIPPONGO or NIHONGO...?

Ecinue
22-05-2005, 03:54 PM
thanks, sensei:)

well, about the Nihongo and Nippongo thingie...
in my opinion, it's same as Bahasa Melayu's pronunciation of the word faham, that is, faham and paham.
please correct me if i'm wrong.

retroque
22-05-2005, 06:12 PM
dis topic is so kewl! btw..i hv a question...izzit called NIPPONGO or NIHONGO...?

btw...its nihongo.

nihon becomes nippon when...ermm they want to express fighting spirit .example..when in sports,or war...they'll use the term nippon instead of nihon

astraltruist
28-05-2005, 12:43 AM
hi can i know what does 'oneigaishimas' means? (sorry if spelling is wrong!) thanks!

29-05-2005, 06:05 PM
hi can i know what does 'oneigaishimas' means? (sorry if spelling is wrong!) thanks!

Onegaishimasu means Please.

fish
30-05-2005, 02:51 PM
こんにちは。

My tutor asked me to help her close the window the other day cause she cannot reach it (height:149.5cm). I closed it for her and she said xx san, te ga nagai desu ne (OOさん手が長いですね)。

Um..she thinks that people with long hands are good (as in praising) but I kinda thought of 'tangan panjang' in BM...hmmmm, means I am good at stealing stuff? :lol: dorobou sakana泥棒さかな...hahah

astraltruist
30-05-2005, 04:24 PM
thanks Schye. btw, sometimes when they say ur name thye like to add words like -san, -chan, -kun. eg: narutokun.. so what's the difference n when do u use it?

-thanks in advance!-

31-05-2005, 11:02 AM
thanks Schye. btw, sometimes when they say ur name thye like to add words like -san, -chan, -kun. eg: narutokun.. so what's the difference n when do u use it?

-thanks in advance!-

-san is used when you call someone you are not that familiar with or someone elder than you.

- kun is for male younger than you/junior/friends younger brother etc.

-cyan is for those you think are cute and adorable. your girlfriend, close female friends, small kids, and other female who are younger than you.

Please put in mind that both -kun and -cyan are only being used towards someone you are close with.

For daily conversations, we may call others name directly after we are close to them (provided they are around your age or younger), but Guys WILL NEED to use for example -cyan while calling female friends unless they are "koibito @<hidden> 恋人 @<hidden> こいびと @<hidden> couple"

astraltruist
31-05-2005, 10:15 PM
icic.. thanks Schye!! arigato gozaimasu.. :wink: :D

fish
02-06-2005, 05:35 PM
sakana sakana sakana, sakana wo tabeyou
karada x3, karada ni ii yo

02-06-2005, 06:39 PM
hahah...
i remember Fish singing this when i met her LOL

ehem...can eat you or not ahahaha :lol: :lol:

06-06-2005, 10:37 AM
We went for buffet yesterday but Fish didnt appear :(
She hates me not?!

06-06-2005, 08:42 PM
maybe she was busy swimming in the sea LOL

she's a FISH wat

boafan
07-06-2005, 10:50 AM
hi!

how do u say : wat r u doing ?

izzit : nani yatteno ? or
nani ikimasu ka ?

and long time no see is : ishanjiburijane ?

07-06-2005, 12:20 PM
hi!

how do u say : wat r u doing ?

izzit : nani yatteno ? or
nani ikimasu ka ?

and long time no see is : ishanjiburijane ?

What are you doing?
polite : naniwo yatte imasuka?
normal: nani wo yatte iru?
bad manners: nani yattenno? ---> what the hell are you doing?

Long time no see
most polite: gobusata shiteorimasu.
polite: hisashiburidesu.
normal: hisashiburi!

boafan
07-06-2005, 01:37 PM
ooo...thank u schye!

fish
09-06-2005, 02:09 PM
We went for buffet yesterday but Fish didnt appear :(
She hates me not?!

Hehe, maybe :twisted: And you call that a buffet? Woh, they must had bought alot with that little allocation I gave.

ちなみに、SCHYEさんが言った通り、なにやってのはなにをやっているですかの省略です。

'nani wo yatten no' is the short form of nani wo yatteimasu...actually, what am I doing repeating Schye's post?

jibun wa nani wo yatte iru ka ga wakaranai

09-06-2005, 09:21 PM
fish-sensei!
wo xiang nian ni!
havent seen you for a long time
me going back for next hol yeay!

what should i ask Saya-chan to get for me fr nihon? :wink:

retroque
09-06-2005, 11:20 PM
i know!!ask for her phone no and address laarr...gahahahaha....

<peace!:P>

fish
10-06-2005, 12:29 PM
fish-sensei!
wo xiang nian ni!
havent seen you for a long time
me going back for next hol yeay!

what should i ask Saya-chan to get for me fr nihon? :wink:

iiyo
I am going back this July. What do you want from Japan? Try to get you something cute if you are in KL. Ask Saya-chan to get you a yuukata :lol:

12-06-2005, 11:41 PM
yeay yeay!
when are you going back?
i'll b in KL from 15th June *yeay!* til 16th July. Leaving for Brisbane on 17th July.

will you b there in KL during that time?

if you're there, then i'll hv to bring back a cute kangaroo for you too!
let's go n sell make up at KLCC again LOL

*retroque*
u want her ph nombor ka? eleeee..she lives in Tokyo. anyone wants to meet her?
i'm sure she wont mind.l :D :D

fish
14-06-2005, 11:05 AM
YAY! You are going back too? OK, I will email you once I get the air ticket. YATTA! me-ku wo urimasho :D

14-06-2005, 11:16 AM
oh kay recommers!
i wont be online often after this coz i'll be home yeay!
so anyone who wants to jumpa when i'm in KL, gimme a buzz okeh.

Fish sensei, bring me a kawaii nihon no otoko oke. the richer the better ahahahaha
and a cute present as well. i'll bring you a kangaroo LOL

take care everyone!!
j'neee!!

ureshiiiii hehehe :D :D :D
*Tazzy in crazie mode sbb nak balik ahaha*

16-06-2005, 04:35 PM
yeay yeay!
when are you going back?
i'll b in KL from 15th June *yeay!* til 16th July. Leaving for Brisbane on 17th July.

will you b there in KL during that time?

if you're there, then i'll hv to bring back a cute kangaroo for you too!
let's go n sell make up at KLCC again LOL

*retroque*
u want her ph nombor ka? eleeee..she lives in Tokyo. anyone wants to meet her?
i'm sure she wont mind.l :D :D

I am going back too... anything for me??

17-06-2005, 08:36 PM
Niisang, when are u coming back? if btw 16th Jun to 16th July, got loh..come to KL la, we do picnic sambil jual make up at KLCC, ni yao ma?
but if not..hehe..no la..
BUT you must bring me some omiyageii oso lalala :wink: :wink:

frashdi
17-06-2005, 09:10 PM
konnichiwa..minasan wa nihonggo wa dekimasuka?iidesune.. can u teach me japanese also..nihonggo wa wasuretta..domo arigato..

20-06-2005, 04:58 PM
Welcome frashdi...
This is a SIG for Japanese and Anime, so please feel free to ask any questions.
When and where did you learn your japanese? doko de naraimashitaka?

Tazzy: I think I will be back only after 20. But you may pass your omiyage to fish :wink: I will take it from her, hahaha...

20-06-2005, 05:29 PM
haaaaa..if u want ur omiyageii, then send yours to Fish so she can give to me ahahha..no kira one oke...you want omiyageii, i also want one hahaha

anyway, how can u not come back? then, we adik beradik cannot sell make up at KLCC loh
sabishii :cry:

20-06-2005, 05:48 PM
anyway, how can u not come back? then, we adik beradik cannot sell make up at KLCC loh
sabishii :cry:

erm, sorry but AICHI EXPO >> budak kerek 8) cos its once in a life time chance! I can meet you again right!

23-06-2005, 03:27 PM
hmmm..
aichi expo more important than me?
*merajuk*
:cry:

Fish-sensei, when r u coming back?
Niisang, ni bu wang ji le, send ur omiyageii to Fish-sensei n i'll gv yours to her heheh :D

27-06-2005, 03:15 PM
Well, I will pass something to Fish ... ready for surprises 8) --> provided if I remember though :twisted:

To those who are in Malaysia, I will be back from 22th July till 17th August. Will go to Indonesia and Thai so those who want to join can PM me. I will be travelling with a Japanese friend.

旅行する = りょこうする = ryokousuru = travelling

27-06-2005, 04:44 PM
hmm..how do you say, come n buy from my stall, everything is cheap here?
there's a lot of nihon-jin in petaling St now ahaha...
the guys are always asking me, how to say, "will you date me in japanese"?
senseitachi, help pls!

Fish sensei, when are u coming back!!!?

05-07-2005, 07:46 AM
Normally Japanese will just said,
"Yasui yo! Yasui yo!" --- murah oi murah ....
"Youkoso" -- welcome (to my stall@<hidden>)

Japanese dont say date directly. Normally they will just ask if you would like to have a dinner together or "play" together.

今晩二人で一緒にご飯を食べに行きませんか。
konban, issyoni gohan wo tabeni ikimasenka?
(well, in polite form which (got guys)wont be sure to ask for date as those you ask normally will be close with you, right.)

今晩一緒に飯を食いに行かない。二人で。
konban, issyoni meshi wo kui ni ikanai? futaride.

Fish sensei is hiding somewhere with her white mouse for experiment...

19-07-2005, 08:52 PM
me back!
missed the chance to see everyone aiyaaa
but nvm..
how's everyone doing?
it;s 8 degrees in brissy now

21-07-2005, 11:49 AM
It was 35 degrees 2 days ago when I went to Japan EXPO. Just reached my room and will post some photos later.

fish
29-07-2005, 08:20 PM
So sorry that I didnt get to meet you Kerek. Glad I didnt take Schye's omiyage for you...I think you will be dissapointed with it...haha

25-08-2005, 12:00 AM
minasan, ogenki desuka?

burningBUTTERFLIES
03-09-2005, 03:28 AM
schye-san, genki desu ne. demo, anata wa watashi o shirimasen desu ne...

hehe, just some question i wanna ask. feel a bit 'paiseh', all of you seem to be asking diff ques, i'm gonna ask those kindergarden ques... anyway:

1) how do i say i'm writing a letter to X-san in English? I know:
- Watashi wa X-san ni tegami o kakimasu.
- Watashi wa Eigo de kakimasu. (this i'm not too sure)
+guesswork: watashi wa X-san ni tegami eigo de kakimasu.
chigau(wrong)? (er, how to say correct! in nihongo?)

2) 私の日本語はがんばってで勉強します。- is this right? what i'm trying to say is that 'I'll study japanese with more spirit?'

3) same meaning:
- Sushi-san wa kawaikute shinsetsu desu.
- Sushi-san wa kawaii shi shinsetsu desu.
+ can use either way? as for to, can I use "kawaii to shinsetsu" or is it only limited to humans, objects and not personality?

thanks in advance.

03-09-2005, 10:56 PM
schye-san, genki desu ne. demo, anata wa watashi o shirimasen desu ne...

hehe, just some question i wanna ask. feel a bit 'paiseh', all of you seem to be asking diff ques, i'm gonna ask those kindergarden ques... anyway:

1) how do i say i'm writing a letter to X-san in English? I know:
- Watashi wa X-san ni tegami o kakimasu.
- Watashi wa Eigo de kakimasu. (this i'm not too sure)
+guesswork: watashi wa X-san ni tegami eigo de kakimasu.
chigau(wrong)? (er, how to say correct! in nihongo?)

I am writing a letter to Xsan in English.
Watashi wa eigo de Xsan ni tegami wo kaiteimasu.
- teimasu is used for present continuous form.
私は英語でXさんに手紙を書いています。

"correct!" = atteimasu yo! / tadashii desu yo!

2) 私の日本語はがんばってで勉強します。- is this right? what i'm trying to say is that 'I'll study japanese with more spirit?'

watashi no nihongo = my Japanese (language)
From your sentence, the subject is "my Japanese" which make the sentence weird. Since the subject should be "I" the sentence should sounds like below.

Watashi wa ganbatte nihonngo wo bennkyou shimasu.
私は頑張って日本語を勉強しています。

Watashi wa (How?) nihongo wo bennkyou shiteimasu.

Hence the "How/adj" should be placed before the predicate.

3) same meaning:
- Sushi-san wa kawaikute shinsetsu desu.
- Sushi-san wa kawaii shi shinsetsu desu.
+ can use either way? as for to, can I use "kawaii to shinsetsu" or is it only limited to humans, objects and not personality?

Yes. Both of the sentence are correct. と(to) is used only for noun and not adjectives.

Its nice to see that there are people in Malaysia learning Japanese. Ganbatte ne!

22-05-2008, 11:36 PM
Bump!

Time to revive this thread ...

"Warning:Inactive thread - The last post in this thread is posted 992 days ago, thus this thread may contain issues that are out-of-date and/or no longer relevant now. Are you sure you want to post a reply here?"

Definitely yes! Instead of creating a new thread I think we should continue this long thread.

So, anyone from the new generation interested in nihongo? (I bet there should be some here especially those who just started watching anime :nod)

p/s: Been a while since I write in Japanese but with me listening to JPop songs everyday, I don't think I'd lost my japanese skill! Mou ikkai ganbatte miseru zo!

Iraka
23-05-2008, 10:51 PM
はい、日本語を勉強します!でも。。。本の少しだよ。

I'm more into the Japanese language because of J-Pop rather than anime. Used to be an avid anime fan, but my interest died out just as it started becoming a fad lol.

23-05-2008, 11:07 PM
日本語なかなか上手じゃないですか。どこで勉強しました?とにかくよろしくお願いします。

P/S:日本語で書くのは久しぶりでした。:nod

Iraka
23-05-2008, 11:30 PM
大丈夫。日本語は苦手なもので。。 インターネットで勉強します。

P.S. My knowledge of kanji is pretty limited, so I'm looking it all up as I go along lol. This thread should be a good learning experience though.

19-12-2008, 09:39 PM
I would like to share list of kanji fonts installed on my PC:

http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/2301/kanjifontsee0.gif

Sorry though, I'm not going to share the actual font files; you need to find them on the internet :P

markwongsk
03-03-2009, 11:43 PM
etto, koko dare wa "grammar" wo oshieru koto ga dekimasu ka...

04-03-2009, 08:19 AM
shitsumon ga aru nara douzo kiite mite kudasai. dekiru dake setsumei shite agemasu kara. toriaizu youkoso.

06-05-2009, 02:41 PM
nihongo anyone? aren't any of the newer recom generation interested in learning nihongo (japanese language), considering that there are so many anime fans/addicts nowadays ...

nihongo wo benkyou shimashou!
let's learn japanese language!

kid
06-05-2009, 02:43 PM
how can i learn it?

06-05-2009, 02:52 PM
For starter, pick up some phrases from anime that you watch and look up their meaning on the internet. Or maybe read through some of existing threads on ReCom by clicking on that small icon on the left-side of this thread title (scroll the page up) and choose, say, Simple sentences in nihongo (http://www.recom.org/forum/showthread.php?t=5918). You can ask here if you don't understand about anything (on japanese language of course) and I'll try my best to answer it. Although I can't say that I'm fluent in japanese, I did take 3 years of japanese language courses back in my university until I can read and write in japanese.

Or if you want to be more serious, take up a class in the university (when you get there, of course). I know they offer japanese class in uitm because my sister is taking it there but not sure about other universities.

kid
06-05-2009, 02:59 PM
haha, watching naruto do giv me some jpanese vocab., like numa=paya, yami=alam barzakh, kuro=hitam, byaku=putih, gan=mata, n lot others, but i think classes is very important since its really hard if i wan to understand d sentence structure, from wat i know, japanese sentence structure is differ wit english rite?

markwongsk
06-05-2009, 03:09 PM
nihongo anyone? aren't any of the newer recom generation interested in learning nihongo (japanese language), considering that there are so many anime fans/addicts nowadays ...

nihongo wo benkyou shimashou!
let's learn japanese language!

benkyou shitai desu ga, sensei ga arimasen... Nihongo wo hanashite no tomodachi mou arimasen... Bintulu wa chiisai no tokoro kara, nihongo no hon mou arimasen =(

Dakara, bun hou to muzukashii no kotoba wa zenzen shiranai desu... zannen desu ne :cry

06-05-2009, 03:21 PM
haha, watching naruto do giv me some jpanese vocab., like numa=paya, yami=alam barzakh, kuro=hitam, byaku=putih, gan=mata, n lot others, but i think classes is very important since its really hard if i wan to understand d sentence structure, from wat i know, japanese sentence structure is differ wit english rite?
Yup, japanese sentence structure is usually subject-object-verb as opposed to subject-verb-object in english and bahasa melayu. But the grammar is simpler than english since there are not many irregularities. Remember those go-went-gone, sing-sang-sung, child-children, mouse-mice etc in english?, in japanese there aren't that many. All you need to know is the rules.

benkyou shitai desu ga, sensei ga arimasen... Nihongo wo hanashite no tomodachi mou arimasen... Bintulu wa chiisai no tokoro kara, nihongo no hon mou arimasen =(

Dakara, bun hou to muzukashii no kotoba wa zenzen shiranai desu... zannen desu ne :cry
naka naka jouzu ja nai desu ka. kaiwa no aite no tomodachi ga inai nara, kagami wo mukatte hitori de hanashite mo ii desu kedo.

Ucchan_Harada
06-05-2009, 06:35 PM
Hajimemashite!! boku wa 'ucchan' to moshimasu!! Nihongo ga kyoumi ga aru yo. ninenkan gurai jibun de nihongo o naratte iru no. Hajimete nihongo o naratta toki, sugoku muzukashikatta no yo. demo sa, ima sensei kara naratte irun da. Ahakz... I know kana and am learning kanji now but my knowledge on kanji is very VERY limited.

kanji o naraikata o oshiete kudasaimasen ka?? I'm struggling with the onyomi n kunyomi pronunciations... Stroke order of kanji i have no problem because i did learn a lil bit of chinese a long LONG time ago. I can't speak in chinese anymore. BTW, i'm a kadazan. Yep, from sabah...

My nihongo, tadashii ka?? Machigai ga kowai yo. (is that correct?? i'm trying to say that i'm afraid of making mistake...somebody can teach me ka?? Onegaishimasu...*bow*)

BTW, i'm learning nihongo, sign language, esperanto, biblical hebrew (more on translation), modern hebrew, italian n some time in the future, i might be learning modern greek n latin... sore na no ni, i'm trying to focus on nihongo 1st...

nihongo o benkyou shiyou!!

markwongsk
06-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Either you don't have a life, you need a life or you aren't alive :P

Just joking...

I would love to learn sign language too!!! But since this thread is on Japanese...

My japanese isn't good so I try to guess what you said... You learn Japanese for two years by yourself and when you finally found a teacher AHAKZ!

I also need a teacher =( Can somebody teach some basic grammar? I still can't differentiate between wa/ga, ni/e/de and I can't form complex sentences =(

06-05-2009, 07:51 PM
Hajimemashite!! boku wa 'ucchan' to moshimasu!! Nihongo ni kyoumi ga aru yo. ninenkan gurai jibun de nihongo o naratte iru no. Hajimete nihongo o naratta toki, sugoku muzukashikatta no yo. demo sa, ima sensei kara naratte irun da. Ahakz... I know kana and am learning kanji now but my knowledge on kanji is very VERY limited.

kanji no naraikata o oshiete kudasaimasen ka?? I'm struggling with the onyomi n kunyomi pronunciations... Stroke order of kanji i have no problem because i did learn a lil bit of chinese a long LONG time ago. I can't speak in chinese anymore. BTW, i'm a kadazan. Yep, from sabah...

My nihongo, tadashii ka?? Machigai ga kowai yo. (is that correct?? i'm trying to say that i'm afraid of making mistake...somebody can teach me ka?? Onegaishimasu...*bow*)

BTW, i'm learning nihongo, sign language, esperanto, biblical hebrew (more on translation), modern hebrew, italian n some time in the future, i might be learning modern greek n latin... sore na no ni, i'm trying to focus on nihongo 1st...

nihongo o benkyou shiyou!!
sugoku jouzu desu yo!

Apart from the two wrong particles, your sentences are all correct (well, if my understanding of japanese grammar is correct anyway).

Sorry I can't help much with onyomi and kunyomi because the way I understand kanji is a bit weird. I usually try recognize what a kanji word means first from their wiggles and then come up with pronunciation from my vocabs. Many times when I don't even have the words in my vocabs, and hence I can't get the pronunciation, it is still okay since I know the meaning of the word anyway. It's not like I have to read it out loud; just knowing what it means is what more important. For example supposed I found the word 風車, I'd try to decipher what 風 and 車 mean separately. So, 風 means "wind" and 車 means "wheel or car", so I could have possibly guess that 風車 should relate to wind and wheel/car. It turns out that it means "windmill" and the pronunciation is kazeguruma.

"Machigai ga kowai yo" means something like "I'm afraid of mistakes" so if you wanted to mean "I'm afraid of making mistakes" it should be "machigai suru koto wa kowai yo" or "machigau no wa kowai yo".