View Full Version : Want to have your name in Japanese?

14-08-2004, 12:14 PM
Andrew= Endoru

How about the name Jack? Can you translate it into japanese?
Do people translate their chinese name too into japanese? Is the translated name, if possible, in the form of hiragana or katakana?

15-08-2004, 02:07 PM
The above messege were transfered from nihongo part 3 thread as I think many would like to know their name in Japanese 8)

We will be able to help you to translated your name into Japanese if your name (Mandarin characters) can be found in Japanese

OR

We may help you to find a good name for yourself which its pronunciation is similiar with your name.

For example:

My name is
Koek Seng Chye
郭盛再   -----> Mandarin character:

so my name in Japanese is
コエク セン チャイ (Koeku Sen Cyai)
かく せい さい ---> this is from my chinese name.

If your name is for example Azahar and you want a name in kanji, it can be 朝春 (あさはる = asaharu = morning spring = ? )

Just give us your name and we may help to to find words that sound good for your name.

15-08-2004, 06:50 PM
my name is Lukman ----> rukuman ----> rokuman ----> 六万 (60000)

yay! I'm a sixty-thousands man :D :D :D

fish
16-08-2004, 06:24 AM
紫恵梨

しえりget it? :D

dyenne10
16-08-2004, 09:22 AM
how about mine..??my name is Nur Diyanah..can u translate it for me..??
before this i had done in a one webpages ..from that i know that my name when tranlate in japanese is 'chinatsu ajibana' ..isn't it?

16-08-2004, 09:35 AM
how about 塗出簗 ? :D

塗 : nuru
出 : de
簗 : yana

I think the combined meaning sounds something like "a lukewarm fish trap" :P :P :P

dyenne10
16-08-2004, 09:39 AM
"a lukewarm fish trap

8O :cry: :?:
ini maksud nyer...ish..mcm tak best jer..yg chinatsu ajibana tu camna lak

16-08-2004, 09:56 AM
"a lukewarm fish trap
8O :cry: :?:
ini maksud nyer...ish..mcm tak best jer..yg chinatsu ajibana tu camna lak
chinatsu = suppressing
ajibana = ? (my dictionary didn't find this word)

how does "chinatsu ajibana" relate to "nur diyanah" anyway? must have been some weird buggy website which is biased to western names ...

16-08-2004, 11:06 AM
mmm.I only know that my surname (Lim) in Japanese is hayashi, while my uncle gave me a Japanese name which is
Hayashi Chiemi

What ya think? :wink:

16-08-2004, 11:31 AM
before this i had done in a one webpages ..from that i know that my name when tranlate in japanese is 'chinatsu ajibana' ..isn't it?

Well, I have seen the site too. However the site just give you random Japanese name which has nothing to do with your real name. Chinatsu ajibana = 千夏味花 = thousand summer flower's taste <-- direct translation laa.

In fact we have the name Anna here too for Japanese. and their kanji is 安奈 or 杏奈. If you want your name in Yana then maybe we could make it 矢那 or 也奈 or the combination of 2 of them.
about Di, may I know if the pronunciation is "dai" or "di"? as they dont have "di" in Japanese.

However if it is pronounce as dai then you may have it as 岱 or 黛 which the the former one has no meaning while the latter one is a kinf of perfume made of きやら.

So, you may choose from the combination of :
dai = 岱 or 黛
ya = 也 or 矢 (though the second one means arrow lol)
a =  安 or 杏
na = 奈 or 名 or 菜
The above characters are all being used in name, so I guarantee that if will be a nice name no matter which word you choose 8)

fish
16-08-2004, 12:21 PM
I like 安奈better :D The meaning is nicer.

16-08-2004, 06:37 PM
haha..what about my name, tasneem? sensei told me it's Tasunimu. ye ke? :wink:

16-08-2004, 06:38 PM
Translate mine please

Jack Liew Yek Ban (chinese name=廖翼万)

16-08-2004, 07:20 PM
Translate mine please

Jack Liew Yek Ban (chinese name=廖翼万)

you are lucky as you name can be found in kanji.
廖 = りょう = ryou
翼 = ヨク/イキ = yoku/iki
万 = バン/マン/モン = ban/man/mon
Jack can remain as ジャック (jyakku) in Japanese but in katakana.

I will say Ryou Yaku Ban is the most similiar with your original name but you can always use both where Liew Yek Ban = Ryuu Yek Ban = リュウ ヴェック(veku)/イェック(iekku)/エック(ekku) バン

19-08-2004, 04:51 PM
haha..what about my name, tasneem? sensei told me it's Tasunimu. ye ke? :wink:
ta = 田 太 大 岱
su = 須 聡
ni = 丹 尼 迩
mu = 夢 舞 

I would say 大聡 丹夢(舞) which has the meaning of brilliant with "red" dream ... any other suggestions from other sensei?

endoru
20-08-2004, 11:14 AM
I will come here and start naming all of you !!
Haha.
Well, accordingly to my taste.
Who trust my taste ?
Anyone ... hehe.
Peace !!

20-08-2004, 11:37 AM
any opinions on those names that i posted before :) ?

20-08-2004, 11:39 AM
so, my name Lukman (usually mispronounced as 'Lokman') becomes rokuman (六万) can aaa? :D :D :D

yatta!

23-08-2004, 04:01 PM
I think it is OK...
easy to write, easy to remember and the most important things is it has a NICE meaning :)

24-08-2004, 09:32 AM
red dream? wow...reminds me of the river kwai :D

sorry been out for quite some time..been busy w work..anyway, my last day's wednesday..so you'll see me around more often after that i guess.

Ehem...Niisang, got any other choices ke (for the name thing laa). i mean, can my name be something else? or Tasunimu is the only one? what about tazzy? Since Japanese ppl dont hv Zi. or they do? Enlighten me please :wink:

24-08-2004, 03:08 PM
red dream? wow...remins me of the river kwai :D

sorry been out for quite some time..been busy w work..anyway, my last day's wednesday..so you'll see me around more often after that i guess.

Ehem...Niisang, got any other choices ke (for the name thing laa). i mean, can my name be something else? or Tasunimu is the only one? what about tazzy? Since Japanese ppl dont hv Zi. or they do? Enlighten me please :wink:

yups, they dont have "Zi" but they have "Ji" ... and you name will become TAZI :roll: if you are OK with it then we may help to find a name for you ... 8)

fish
25-08-2004, 08:59 AM
ta ji? :D

多事 Very busy?

25-08-2004, 09:29 AM
how about adding "body" after that?

very busy body = tajina karada (can aaa?)

:P :P :P

25-08-2004, 11:23 AM
how about adding "body" after that?
very busy body = tajina karada (can aaa?)
:P :P :P

*ding ding*
bullying detected!
*kick Luke outta the room*

Luke-kun, of course i am a very busy body - tazzy's always on the move to ensure that she got food on her table, completed assignments in her files and gazillions of dough in her bank acc :wink:

Taji? Taji ayam? hahaha :lol: :lol:

25-08-2004, 11:54 AM
Luke-kun, of course i am a very busy body - tazzy's always on the move to ensure that she got food on her table, completed assignments in her files and gazillions of dough in her bank acc :wink:
alrite alrite let me jot that down ... got food .. assignments ... bank .. mmm ok done ... :roll:

ok what? tajina karada ... don't you think it sounds like the name of a jpop singer or something? :P :P

25-08-2004, 02:12 PM
tajina karada?
hihih...jpop singer? wow...well..then..maybe it doesnt sound so bad...but the meaning!!! haiyaa...gimme a more cun one laa wei...*sigh*

Luke-kun, why the jotting down? adding me to your list of prospective gfs ke? hihiih :lol:

25-08-2004, 02:37 PM
Luke-kun, why the jotting down? adding me to your list of prospective gfs ke? hihiih :lol:
*gasp*
*runs away* :lol:

25-08-2004, 03:09 PM
*gasp*
*runs away* :lol:

hahah..nvr knew i could scare you so easily :p

fish
26-08-2004, 10:45 AM
Then I would propose:

Tajitai or 多事体 sounds more proper. But if you are looking for a pop star's name, try taji body or 多事BODY or 多事ボディー. Sounds more sophisticated, yeah? (None of the current pop stars which I know have this name-->hey you are the one and only, 特色).Pop stars normally attach katakana or english words to make their name sound more glamourous....I mean this is much more interesting than red dream or something like that (no offense to Schye sensei :lol: )

I am being mean today, right?

And Luke, the more you run the more she will come after you...hahah (it's just a joke....don't throw rotten eggs at me...help)

26-08-2004, 11:15 AM
actually rite, what does Taji means? very busy?

heheh..Luke-kun, if you run, i'll chase chase you laa...but on a motorcycle or scooter..i dont wanna waste my breathe chasing after a guy hihihih :lol:

Fish-sensei, any other names? what's Tajitai? why Tai is added to the word taji? pls explain. arigato gozaimasu!

debbie
26-08-2004, 11:19 AM
My name is Debbie. Chinese name is er... yu-juin... if pronounced in mandarin. It means yu=jade and juin... =sovereign ruler. Wow!
My name in Jap? I dunno. Kaoru calls me osoi no ohimesama. So whoever happens to know what yu-juin translates in Jap, do let me know.^_^

26-08-2004, 11:23 AM
*gets into a shinkansen*

now you won't be able to catch me :twisted: :twisted:

tajitai?

I checked my dictionary:

taji:
多事 = very busy
他事 = other people's affair

tai = wants to (it can't stand on its own but maybe we can make an exception here :P)

combined => very busy body :P :P :P

debbie
26-08-2004, 11:56 AM
I know you're lying. *sobs* i'm not, ok..
And yes i CAN get you this time... haha.. wait 'till they catch you 4 saying remag was founded by the wrong person.
Luke .. you so bad!! I'm sure yu-juin means something nicer. Ok, i am semi-narcississtic but it's my name!!

26-08-2004, 12:06 PM
haha..debbie..that's for me laa..not for you..read the previous posts..then you'll get what Luke meant...

*gets into a Concorde*

haha..i'll land on your head boy o...hihihi

so, tajitai = wants to be very busy?

ne?

debbie
26-08-2004, 12:11 PM
Yay!! ^_^ ok.. at least i'm put in place. Hahaha..
So i'll have to make do with osoi no ohimesama. *wide grin*

17-09-2004, 04:48 PM
My name is Debbie. Chinese name is er... yu-juin... if pronounced in mandarin. It means yu=jade and juin... =sovereign ruler. Wow!
My name in Jap? I dunno. Kaoru calls me osoi no ohimesama. So whoever happens to know what yu-juin translates in Jap, do let me know.^_^

ぎょく くん
玉君
gyoku kun

and I think the meaning is still the same as in chinese.
About "osoi no ohimesame", I think it should be just "osoi ohimesama" because osoi is an adjective "i" which means it shouldnt has "no" after it.
btw, it means a slow princess ...

17-09-2004, 04:49 PM
so, tajitai = wants to be very busy?

ne?

taji is a noun ...
cant be used as a verb

20-09-2004, 02:30 PM
so, my name? is tajina karada?
hehe..very appropriate :p

majin
11-02-2005, 06:00 PM
what about my name?? nurmajdina afiah is...

16-02-2005, 12:46 PM
errr.... it seems hard to find a suitable kanji@<hidden> cahracter for your full name.
HOWEVER,

MAJIN = 魔人 = まじん = majin = devil

http://dictionary.goo.ne.jp/search.php?MT=%CB%E2&kind=je&mode=0

魔 = Evil
人 = Human

err.... a not so nice name huh :)

22-02-2005, 03:37 AM
LOL
i'd change my name if i were u LO
Nope!
juz kidding heheh

22-02-2005, 04:02 AM
LOL
i'd change my name if i were u LO
Nope!
juz kidding heheh
I think her japanese name suits you better :twisted:

23-02-2005, 03:13 AM
hahaha
Sayako-chan said, my name Tajina karada means an important body hahah...so dat means, i'm an important fella..

i dont mind being an evil human though..make me sound like one of those crazie villains on tv LOL

retroque
23-02-2005, 10:28 AM
hah!!thats because sayako chan misheard u pronouncing TAJINA KARADA as DAIJINA KARADA(which means important body).hahahaha.confusion exposed.

ijou kyou no kudaranai hanashideshita.

25-02-2005, 05:59 AM
My name...
Mandarin pronunciation: wen zhang (erm...i think in chinese, the meaning of my name is "karangan"??? If you know chinese, I'm sure you know...)
Anyone can translate for me? :wink: arigatou gozaimashu!

25-02-2005, 08:29 AM
hah, who cares..im still important hahaha

retroque, go n update your blog..sudah bersawang la ahahaha mine's been updated like 2,3 times a day LOL

25-02-2005, 11:17 AM
文章 = bun syou
The meaning and the character are still the same in Japanese.

nxwen
04-03-2005, 03:51 PM
My name, erm... xiang4 wen2 ---> 向文
Can translate for me? Arigato gozaimasu!!! 谢谢!!!

04-03-2005, 09:34 PM
文章 = bun syou

So my name is Bun Syou?? Such a funny name...lol
Thanks Seng Chye!

dyenne10
07-03-2005, 11:45 AM
seng chye...what that boxes that appear in your message?same with other..are you writing japanese letters there?how can I make it normal back?meaning see the words..do I have to install something?

12-03-2005, 07:45 AM
seng chye...what that boxes that appear in your message?same with other..are you writing japanese letters there?how can I make it normal back?meaning see the words..do I have to install something?

Those are japanese / chinese characters. Which browser are you using? You have to set your character encoding appropriately to be able to see those characters.

Satama
13-03-2005, 02:24 AM
Well, my chinese name's Yu4 Xin1 [Yu = Jade; Xin = ermmm... the 'sumbu' of the oil lamp ('Deng1 Xin1') , or the 'heart' with a 'grass' header... acckk... Can anyone understand what I'm trying to say... 0_0... ]

Anyway, my little knowledge in Japanese tells me that Yu4 Xin1 = Tamashin in Japanese. BUT I'm not sure about it...

Can anyone please kindly translate my name & correct me if I'm wrong :wink: ?

13-03-2005, 08:28 AM
Well, my chinese name's Yu4 Xin1 [Yu = Jade; Xin = ermmm... the 'sumbu' of the oil lamp ('Deng1 Xin1') , or the 'heart' with a 'grass' header... acckk... Can anyone understand what I'm trying to say... 0_0... ]

Anyway, my little knowledge in Japanese tells me that Yu4 Xin1 = Tamashin in Japanese. BUT I'm not sure about it...

Can anyone please kindly translate my name & correct me if I'm wrong :wink: ?
heart with grass header ... you mean this --> 芯 ?

"tama" ... is it something like this --> 玉 ?

I am no Chinese so sorry if I guessed them wrong :P

nxwen
13-03-2005, 02:32 PM

Yeah, u got it right.

What about my name? :cry: Nobody translate for me?
I just know that both words exist in kanji but don't know the pronounciation. I usually see 向 in surname. Is there more than one pronounciation for one japanese word? Just wondering...

astrosurge
14-03-2005, 04:02 AM
hi, just stumbled across this page and i found it very interesting. i had no idea or knowledge bout jap names, so can someone kindly translate my chinese name to an ideal jap name.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v339/cryotec/wjy.gif

wang - king, ruler
jing - peace, tranquil
yan - strict, rigorous

cheers peeps.

14-03-2005, 04:32 AM
My name, erm... xiang4 wen2 ---> 向文
Can translate for me? Arigato gozaimasu!!! 谢谢!!!
My japanese dictionary software I'm using allows searching for japanese proper names. When I entered your name, I got a whole lot of choices. Pick your own:

Mukai
Mukou

Fukumitsu
Fukumi
Fukuhara
Fukumoto
Minehara
Minemoto

These names don't carry specific meanings with them, but that is actually how japanese names usually work (e.g: ppl choose "Tanaka" (田中) not because it means "inside the field" or something)

hi, just stumbled across this page and i found it very interesting. i had no idea or knowledge bout jap names, so can someone kindly translate my chinese name to an ideal jap name.

wang - king, ruler
jing - peace, tranquil
yan - strict, rigorous

cheers peeps.
like nxwen's name above, keying your name gave me a couple of choices:

Ou
Wan

Shizuka
Osamu
Seiji
Shizumu

(No match -- perhaps it's not allowed to use this kanji in names)

pick you own :P

14-03-2005, 04:37 AM
文章 = bun syou
Actually there's one more name that has those kanjis: Fumiaki
Sounds much better right? :P

astrosurge
14-03-2005, 05:05 AM

wang - king, ruler
jing - peace, tranquil
yan - strict, rigorous

cheers peeps.
like nxwen's name above, keying your name gave me a couple of choices:

Ou
Wan

Shizuka
Osamu
Seiji
Shizumu

(No match -- perhaps it's not allowed to use this kanji in names)

pick you own :P

how about this 'yen' http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v339/cryotec/yan.gif?

i apologise as the latter was Traditional and this one was Simplified. So does ur Jap dict can possibly identify this Simplified 'yen'? thanks

14-03-2005, 05:39 AM
how about this 'yen' http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v339/cryotec/yan.gif?

i apologise as the latter was Traditional and this one was Simplified. So does ur Jap dict can possibly identify this Simplified 'yen'? thanks
Japanese borrows kanji characters from traditional chinese. I don't find the simplified chinese character you gave in my dictionary

astrosurge
14-03-2005, 05:58 AM
its alright then,

i think my name sounded like Obi 1 Kenobi's bro or sumthin,

Ou Bi Wan Shizumu! kool though.

Haha.

14-03-2005, 07:01 AM
its alright then,

i think my name sounded like Obi 1 Kenobi's bro or sumthin,

Ou Bi Wan Shizumu! kool though.

Haha.
do as you like :lol: :lol: :lol:

14-03-2005, 11:53 AM
文章 = bun syou
Actually there's one more name that has those kanjis: Fumiaki
Sounds much better right? :P

Nice one Luke ...
*TABIK*
I tend to chenge all the names into On-Yomi (chinese pronunciation) :?

14-03-2005, 11:56 AM

Yeah, u got it right.

What about my name? :cry: Nobody translate for me?
I just know that both words exist in kanji but don't know the pronounciation. I usually see 向 in surname. Is there more than one pronounciation for one japanese word? Just wondering...

I think it sounds better with "Gyoku Sin/Shin". I should be quite near to your mandarin name, rite:) Though TamaShin sounds more Japanese as there are 玉 is being used in female's name too here.

**another Earth quake occured just now while I was typing this ... hmm...

14-03-2005, 12:03 PM

Mukai
Mukou

Fukumitsu
Fukumi
Fukuhara
Fukumoto
Minehara
Minemoto

MukaiAki sounds nice to me ... Although the character is different, is sounds like "fall" or "the start of something" which often being used in Japanese name.

14-03-2005, 12:13 PM

wang - king, ruler
jing - peace, tranquil
yan - strict, rigorous

cheers peeps.

王 Ou,
靖 Yasu, Sei
厳 Ikashi, Gen ----> Well, a bit different from mandarin character

YasuIkashi seems to be the best ...

nxwen
14-03-2005, 12:13 PM
Gee.... thanx luke and Schye!!!
Does 向 carries the same meaning as in Chinese? Few people use this word for a name. I always have trouble explaining my name to others as 文 carries a lot of meaning. :?
Hmm... Mukai Aki sounds nice. Aki means fall/autumn right?
Arigato gozaimasu!!!

14-03-2005, 12:49 PM
well, the meaning is the same as mandarin + the meaning of opposite.

For example, the opposite of the road will be michi no mukou gawa @<hidden> 道の向こう側 etc. There may be other meanings but this 2 will be the main ones I think.

Satama
14-03-2005, 10:52 PM
YAY ! I've my japs name -- Gyuku Shin ! Thanks a million to Schye, luke & nxwen :D !

luke, I'm really AMAZED that though you're not a chinese, you can spell my chinese name correctly :D ! My applauses to LUKE :D !

nxwen, thank for clarifying the chinese characters of my name :D ! Xiang Wen is a NICE name 8) ! Considering its literal meaning, I guess you must be good in studies/literature (wen) :wink: ! HA 8) !

Wow... Schye.. an earthquake occured 8O ? Are you alright ? Any damages done to you ? Anyway, hope that you're unharmed. Indeed, Gyuku Shin really rhymes with my Malay/English name 8) ! Thanks for your suggestion. I'll consider between Gyuku Shin & Tama Shin :wink: !

Can anyone please translate my friend's name -- 冯路 into Jap ?

Domo Arigatou Gozaimasu, Minna-san :wink: !

nxwen
15-03-2005, 01:14 PM
Thanx Schye, luke and Satama!!
You're welcome Satama. Too bad none of my siblings' name is 向武. hehe....
Oh ya, forgot to ask the other day. How do I write 'Aki' ?

16-03-2005, 04:08 PM
YAY ! I've my japs name -- Gyoku Shin ! Thanks a million to Schye, luke & nxwen :D !

Can anyone please translate my friend's name -- 冯路 into Jap ?

Its Gyoku not gyuku 8)

about your friend's name, i think i need to check my dictionary and I dont have it with me now (was using online dictionary just now). Will do this the next time I get online if no one "translate" it.

16-03-2005, 04:09 PM
How do I write 'Aki' ?

Which "aki" do you mean?

nxwen
16-03-2005, 04:30 PM
MukaiAki sounds nice to me ... Although the character is different, is sounds like "fall" or "the start of something" which often being used in Japanese name.

There is more than 1 'aki'?
I meant the 'aki' you mentioned above. Sorry for not clarifying.

astrosurge
17-03-2005, 07:06 AM

wang - king, ruler
jing - peace, tranquil
yan - strict, rigorous

cheers peeps.

王 Ou,
靖 Yasu, Sei
厳 Ikashi, Gen ----> Well, a bit different from mandarin character

YasuIkashi seems to be the best ...

n_uay
16-04-2005, 04:48 PM
Any1 can pls translate my name? quiet interested 2 knoe :wink:

陈凯元

burningBUTTERFLIES
17-04-2005, 06:40 PM
Aloha! Erm, i mean, Konnichiwa, hajimemashite, watashi no namae wa ji-ni- yapo 私のなまえはジニヤポ Douzo yoroshiku! (okay, am doing diy jap lessons, currently; up to na-adjectives) also reading all the old topics in this sig...lol

[edit for privacy sake...]

23-04-2005, 10:00 PM
Welcome to our new members !!!
Sorry for being busy and in fact still busy now. Maybe other sensei can help...
Will be free after 28th April.
If I could finished my work before 2 am then I will be back ;)

Stay cool 8)

yen_05
09-05-2005, 04:38 PM
Anyone?? Can help can translate my name to japanese name?? Really wish to know my japanese name....emm...my name is Chew Yen....
'chew'(autumn)
'yen'(swallow)

11-05-2005, 05:39 PM

Do you mean these? 秋、明

11-05-2005, 05:47 PM
Any1 can pls translate my name? quiet interested 2 knoe :wink:

陈凯元

陳 ちん Chin
凱 かい/がい Kai or Gai
元 げん/もと/がん/ごん Gen/ Moto/ Gan/ Gon

Normally Chinese in Japan will use Chin Kai Gen ... <--- I think so8)

11-05-2005, 05:51 PM
Aloha! Erm, i mean, Konnichiwa, hajimemashite, watashi no namae wa ji-ni- yapo 私のなまえはジニヤポ Douzo yoroshiku! (okay, am doing diy jap lessons, currently; up to na-adjectives) also reading all the old topics in this sig...lol

For my name, Gianne (pronounced G N - simple, no?=P) and my chinese name, Yap Zhi Ling. also have a middle english name, heidi (my father gatal tangan when filling out my birthcert, lol). in mandarin, i'm 'ye ze ling' (erm, leaf smthg smthg...)

But wanna know for gianne yap...any kind kind soul? =P

If you can provide us your name in chinese character then maybe we can find you some more "Japanish" name.

Gianne Yap = ジャイアン ヤップ = Jaian Yappu
I hope I did pronunced your name right.

Anyone?? Can help can translate my name to japanese name?? Really wish to know my japanese name....emm...my name is Chew Yen....
'chew'(autumn)
'yen'(swallow)

秋 シュウ・あき Syu\ Aki
燕 エン・つばめ En\ Tskubame

nxwen
11-05-2005, 06:13 PM

Do you mean these? 秋、明

You suggested the name right? So if you think it's nice, then I'll use it lor, since I don't know which word is suitable for names. :D hehe

Err....I'm still quite new to nihongo, if Gianne is pronounced as G N, shouldn't it be something like ジエン = Jien ?

foxseija
12-05-2005, 03:07 AM
question....how u translate this " 杨 稳 健 ??

HappyCat
12-05-2005, 03:19 PM
can somebody help me to translate my name 薛 凯 馨 ?
thanks first. :D

Ecinue
13-05-2005, 11:28 AM
mine's eunice soh xinwei 苏昕葳
eunice = ユニス ゆにす?
doomo arigatou gozaimasu (pls correct me if i'm wrong)

p/s: can anyone pls tell me the difference btwn 'gozaimasu' and 'gozaimasen', and '-masen' and '-nai'?

18-05-2005, 08:53 PM
Hihi ... again I forgot to bring my electronics dictionary with me. Well, other sensei, onegaishimasu ...

IchimaruGin
13-06-2005, 10:35 PM
can u translate for me "shoot to kill" ??
thx

16-06-2005, 04:38 PM
can u translate for me "shoot to kill" ??
thx

Thats hard... unless you want them in katakana... which sounds like shooto tsuu kiru :roll:

I seldom bring my elec dictionary with me recently... so sorry about the delay.
gomen.

IchimaruGin
18-06-2005, 09:40 PM
thx but wat i heard in animes its not the same like wat u said
but thx for replyin'

20-06-2005, 05:09 PM
thx but wat i heard in animes its not the same like wat u said
but thx for replyin'

If you want me to translate it as a sentence, it will be :-

korosu tameni utsu
korosu tameni yatteiru <---more likely to be used in conversation which means doing something to kill.

burningBUTTERFLIES
31-08-2005, 06:21 AM
finally managed to dug up my old Mandarin exercise books, and remembered how to write my name...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/willowhippo/name.jpg
i apologise for the bad writing. If only a decade ago I didnt throw tantrums in my Mandarin Lessons I wouldnt be in this predicament and I'd understand Japanese Kanji easier...

Gonna learn Mandarin after Japanese though.

Anyway, any ideas how to pronounce me name in 'kanji'?

I only know '子'... ko/kodomo... but dun wan la. Make me sound like the flavoured toothpaste...

MathewNg1988
31-08-2005, 09:15 PM
walau!! butterfly.. learn nihongo until ur name oso turn into nihongo and throw away ur chinese name ar?

Anyway.... i think it's not just that simple. when the japanese girl came to my school(For more info go to the forum how serious r u in learning nihongo) she translate a few of our names into nihongo. but it's not in katagana, it's in hiragana(the actual japanese alphebet) ..

by the way... can anyone pls translate watashi no namae into nihongo for me?==>

黃智正

erm.... the katagana form i have translated.... so if any1 have hiragana translation pls pls pls pls pls.... help me....

burningBUTTERFLIES
31-08-2005, 10:35 PM
sendiri buat kata org...
LOL

haha, i don't tihnk anyone can throw away their name. Unless they ar ein some witness protection program or something... just wondering how it would sound like in Japanese. Actually, as a non-native of Japan, I will use my name in katakana. = Jien. Foreign mah. But still, am curious.

I don't get your question... the last one. Katakana's pronounciation is totally same with Hiragana, only the writing is more erm, straight? And for foreign names, like France/furansu フランス、Malaysia/marasia マラシア.

Hiragana funner to write though haha.

MathewNg1988
08-09-2005, 06:18 PM
i dont think you under stand .... what i mean is i know how to translate my name into katagana... but when the japanese girl came she didnt translate our name into katagana instead hiragana.
i'm just unlucky to have no chance of asking her helping me translate my name into hiragana........ :cry:

and i also know how the katagana and hiragana look like(i have the chart, which you can get in various website. i got it from www.jinjapan.org/kidsweb or something likewise...... :wink:

if you cant get it..... search with googles using"japan information network"+"jinjapan"

18-09-2005, 12:22 PM
finally managed to dug up my old Mandarin exercise books, and remembered how to write my name...
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v292/willowhippo/name.jpg
i apologise for the bad writing. If only a decade ago I didnt throw tantrums in my Mandarin Lessons I wouldnt be in this predicament and I'd understand Japanese Kanji easier...

Gonna learn Mandarin after Japanese though.

Anyway, any ideas how to pronounce me name in 'kanji'?

I only know '子'... ko/kodomo... but dun wan la. Make me sound like the flavoured toothpaste...

葉子菱 (Onyomi-Mandarin pronunciation /Kunyomi-Japanese pronunciation)
葉 you/ha
子 ko
菱 Ryou/hishi
Choose any combination you want.

The brand of the toothpaste is Kodomo Lion 子供ライオン= Leo.

18-09-2005, 12:32 PM
by the way... can anyone pls translate watashi no namae into nihongo for me?==>

黃智正

erm.... the katagana form i have translated.... so if any1 have hiragana translation pls pls pls pls pls.... help me....

黄智正

黄 ou
智 chi/tomo
正 Sei,syou/Masa

I guess you want your mandarin name in Japanese and not your "English name". In fact, it is alright to use either in katakana or hiragana for our(foreigners) name. We may use our kanji name here too if we want. However for those who dont have kanji in their name, then they can only use katakana.

By the way, Malaysia = Maresia/Mareisia = マレーシア/マレイシア although the former is more commonly used.

MathewNg1988
10-10-2005, 11:42 AM
yup the pronunciation is same but the difference is:
katagana is for foriegn language directly translated into nihongo using just the sound
hiragana is for words origin from japanese....
example:like u say...malaysia is translated using sound directly while the word "me" is "watashi'(hiragana) and not "mi"(katagana) :roll:

DColbert
28-01-2006, 02:18 PM
translate mine please...
Arhiz Mraz

kakumei
28-01-2006, 11:09 PM
Wow, this topic seems to be deserted long ago...
But still I want to give a try...

Can any sensei here please translate my chinese name into japanese?

黄胤山

It reads as huang yin shan in 'Han Yu Pin Yin'

黄 ==> koushoku, ixero-, oushoku, gosai, iero-, ki, kiiro
胤 ==> こうえい (ko u e i)
山 ==> yama, take,

So, how? Anymore suggestions?
Can I be known as...

Koushoku Koueitake

But Koushoku also means public office, sensuality, degradation, neglect of official duty,...this is bad...

I think the synonyms for "take' is ok. 'Kouei' is public management, honour...bla bla...

So Kiiro Kouei Take? Thank you...sensei, pls.

Maximus05
31-01-2006, 09:20 AM
Help me translate these name..

1. Ron Maximus Maxwell
2. Maxiely

31-01-2006, 10:15 PM
Sorry for slow respond recently as I seldom login hence its hard for me to see this thread on the main page. In fact I am in the middle of my mid-term exam. Sometimes it really makes me think that I am study for exam... sigh... not for all subjects though

translate mine please...
Arhiz Mraz

アルヒズ ムラズ = Aruhizu Muraz

黄胤山
黄 = おう =ou (ki,ko,kou)
胤 = いん =inn (tane)
山 = さん = sann (yama,sen)

I think thats the most suitable pronunciation. Those that you have provided are the pronunciation together with other characters. For example, "kouinn" = 後胤, "kousyoku" = 黄色 etc

1. Ron Maximus Maxwell
2. Maxiely

1. ロン マックシムス マックスウェル (Ron Makkushimusu makkusuwel)
2. マクシーリ (makkushi-li)

Please correct me if my pronunciations are incorrect.

Maximus05
31-01-2006, 10:19 PM
Uhh... Sounds really weird.. i think i better use the one given to me..

31-01-2006, 10:26 PM
Uhh... Sounds really weird.. i think i better use the one given to me..

Haha... Well, if your name is in ahphabets, then the only thing I can do is change it to "Japanese English = katakana". If you really want Japanese to remember your name easier, "Max" would be more suitable.

kakumei
01-02-2006, 01:24 PM
kakumei wrote:
黄胤山

黄 = おう =ou (ki,ko,kou)
胤 = いん =inn (tane)
山 = さん = sann (yama,sen)

I think thats the most suitable pronunciation. Those that you have provided are the pronunciation together with other characters. For example, "kouinn" = 後胤, "kousyoku" = 黄色 etc

Hmm, thank you. I guess I'll be Ou Innsann. The pronunciation is not much different than my chinese one...haha. I guess japanese and chinese is somewhat connected. :D

I wished that it sounds more 'japanese'. Like Kitane Yama or Kitane Sen...lol. Don't know whether it makes sense...

Thank you Schye! Owe you a lot here. Gud luck in your exam :P

04-02-2006, 01:23 AM
Since Japanese characters were "imported" from China, normally they have 2 sets of pronunciation for each character which are "Kunyomi" and "Onyomi".

"Kunyomi" is for Japanese words which existed before the chinese character(Kanji) came hence its pronunciation is normally different with Mandarin. However, there are also words that Japanese didnt have, hence they "borrow" or use the Mandarin words directly which is the "onyomi".

you may refer to wikipedia for details.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kanji

day_dreamer
21-02-2006, 06:14 PM
my mother's boss used to gave me a real japanese name.

賢太 = kenta

according to him it means wise and strong. izzit true ??

23-02-2006, 01:05 AM
my mother's boss used to gave me a real japanese name.

賢太 = kenta

according to him it means wise and strong. izzit true ??

The name is quite common in Japan.
Its the combination of:

賢い (kashikoi) = smart/wise
太い (futoi) = fat/thick/deep

I am not sure if it will mean strong if the two combined, but Japanese tends to interpret name differently from the meaning.
Well, a nice name I would say.

So, Kenta, are you from SMKI too? Hows SMKI now?
I was there when its still SMI.

kuchiki
03-03-2006, 11:05 AM
can you translate my name too..? :oops:
~Shazelia Ashikin~

13-03-2006, 01:00 AM
can you translate my name too..? :oops:
~Shazelia Ashikin~

Hi, welcome to Recom!
Normally the pronunciation will be different only if your have your name in Chinese character as names in alphabets will be the same.

Shazelia = syazelia or syajilia depends on how you pronounce your name.

Ashikin will stay the same.

If you want it in chinese characters, they would be like:

洒迩理亜 葦芹
Syajiria Ashikin

dont ask me the meaning as its just a name :) But I personally think that 葦芹 is preety nice.

Zoe
31-10-2006, 04:49 PM
刘谦玲

please and thanks ! :D

07-12-2006, 10:11 PM
刘谦玲

please and thanks ! :D

劉謙鈴
りゅう けん れい
Ryu Ken Rei

astraltruist
08-12-2006, 02:00 AM
颜慧莉

onegai and arigato gozaimasu.. :wink:

serenite
08-12-2006, 02:08 AM
Can't type chinese in my com >< so i'll just use pin yin XP

"Chen Hui Lin" eng : Chin Hui Lin

lol looks the same haha..

Please help me translate too ^^

Onegaishimasu~ :D

lsyalights
13-12-2006, 07:04 PM
Schye, can both on'yomi and kun'yomi be used when translating names? Is there certain rules?

By the way, serenite, might your chinese name be 陳慧琳? The same characters used for Kelly Chen., the Hong Kong singer?

serenite
19-12-2006, 02:27 AM
By the way, serenite, might your chinese name be 陳慧琳? The same characters used for Kelly Chen., the Hong Kong singer?

^^" Ah, yea.. just the "hui" is the "hui" for "lu hui"(aloe vera) XP hehe..

lonelyhearts
20-01-2007, 09:05 AM
hello, i was searching for scholarships info when I chanced upon this thread..COOL..

so heres a lil' favor to ask...hehe..can i get a translation for my name-yong xin .永 (cant find the input for this chinese character..its three 'gold' in chinese, em ok?)

hehe thank you very much!!

01-02-2007, 12:50 AM
颜慧莉

onegai and arigato gozaimasu.. :wink:

ガン エ リ
Gan E Ri note: "E" not the "ii" but the one being used in "senget" =)
Gan Kei Rei
Gan Kei Rai

or any of the combination above.

01-02-2007, 12:55 AM
Schye, can both on'yomi and kun'yomi be used when translating names? Is there certain rules?

Good question! As i have never thought of it before.
But after checking my phone book in my cell phone, it seems that there are no certain rules.
However, for non-Japanese, normally on-yomi is used as the name is from the mainland/overseas.

01-02-2007, 01:01 AM
hello, i was searching for scholarships info when I chanced upon this thread..COOL..

so heres a lil' favor to ask...hehe..can i get a translation for my name-yong xin .永 (cant find the input for this chinese character..its three 'gold' in chinese, em ok?)

hehe thank you very much!!

永鑫
Ei Kin

sounds like one of the Hong Kong Star.

01-02-2007, 01:03 AM

^^" Ah, yea.. just the "hui" is the "hui" for "lu hui"(aloe vera) XP hehe..

陳恵淋 --> I hope this is the right "Hui" ...

Chin E Rin
Chin Kei Rin

HaMIZaH
08-04-2007, 07:43 PM
how 'bout name?can anyone translate 'nur hamizah' to japanese or chinese name.... :P

09-04-2007, 11:38 AM
how 'bout name?can anyone translate 'nur hamizah' to japanese or chinese name.... :P
How about ..

温羽美座

温 = nuru = warm
羽 = ha = wing(s)
美 = mi = pretty
座 = za = seat

Pretty seat made of warm wings? :roll:

Theano
20-04-2007, 08:52 PM
Can you translate my name, Siew Ya.

muhammad_azri
29-04-2007, 03:17 AM
Wow! That's interesting. Translate mine, too. My user name is my real name.

02-05-2007, 06:25 PM
Wow! That's interesting. Translate mine, too. My user name is my real name.

Azu : 阿須、安須
ri : 璃、理、莉

阿須理 seems nice to me.
阿須doesnt carry any meaning but 理 means truth/reason.

阿須理
アズリ
Azuri

02-05-2007, 06:26 PM
Can you translate my name, Siew Ya.

If you have chinese character name, then it will be easier for us to find the Japanese pronunciation for you.

Cos Siew Ya = シウヤ = ShiUYa ...
no fun :wink:

Master_G
22-05-2007, 06:31 PM
my name is tarmizi
is it ta-ru-mi-ze in katakana?

04-06-2007, 04:52 PM
my name is tarmizi
is it ta-ru-mi-ze in katakana?

It will become Ta-ru-mi-JI in Katakana instead of "ze"

Master_G
05-06-2007, 08:32 PM
ta-ru-mi-ji?
hohohooo :D
what does it mean?

livern
06-06-2007, 04:40 PM
ohohoho... interesting.
i have lots of interest in jap, but i only noe how to write+read katakana or hiragana.
try doing my name! Lim Li Vern. in chinese, tat would be... um... how to say... my comp can't type chinese, so i'll try describing the characters? haha. ok. Lim (ling in chinese-the 2 'mu' join together), Li (mei li-pretty) and vern (wen in chinese- hua wen, meaning mandarin)... did u get all that? ahaha. kinda confusing, huh?

Amberfong
07-06-2007, 12:03 PM
i also want my name translated ~
so, can u help me ?
my chinese name is 叶玲妦 ( YIP LIN FONG )~
thanks a lot~

07-06-2007, 10:41 PM
ta-ru-mi-ji?
hohohooo :D
what does it mean?
tarumiji -- 垂水路

垂水 = above water
路 = route, journey

so, can u help me ?
thanks a lot~
妦 does not exist in Japanese kanji set, but

叶玲 in Japanese can be pronounced as Kanou Akira
Kanae Tooru
Kanae Reiko
Kyouji Akira

Amberfong
08-06-2007, 10:15 AM
so, can u help me ?
thanks a lot~

Kanae Tooru
Kanae Reiko
Kyouji Akira[/quote]

thank you~ so i take my name as Kanae Reiko lo.. sounds nicer~
but can have other words for 妦 like 风`枫 (same pronouciation) or sth like tat ?
but if like tat, there will be 3 words in my Japanese name ?
so, how to write it in (シウヤ) n 汉字?

is my question too much ? :oops:

12-06-2007, 10:18 PM
but can have other words for 妦 like 风`枫 (same pronouciation) or sth like tat ?neither character exists in japanese kanji :( :(

have to wait for schye's help here since I'm not familiar with chinese characters ..

Amberfong
23-06-2007, 04:47 PM
but can have other words for 妦 like 风`枫 (same pronouciation) or sth like tat ?neither character exists in japanese kanji :( :(

have to wait for schye's help here since I'm not familiar with chinese characters ..

nvm ~~ i can wait... haha~

chngyx
03-07-2007, 02:09 PM
anyone help me to translate?

my name--Ch'ng Ying Xuan
庄 颖 璇

thx 1st.

elizabeth
08-07-2007, 01:13 AM
i want too! my name is (elizabeth) chan jia mun. chinese name : 陳嘉敏

27-11-2007, 10:34 AM
ohohoho... interesting.
i have lots of interest in jap, but i only noe how to write+read katakana or hiragana.
try doing my name! Lim Li Vern. in chinese, tat would be... um... how to say... my comp can't type chinese, so i'll try describing the characters? haha. ok. Lim (ling in chinese-the 2 'mu' join together), Li (mei li-pretty) and vern (wen in chinese- hua wen, meaning mandarin)... did u get all that? ahaha. kinda confusing, huh?

林 はやし (Hayashi or Rin)
美 び or み (Bi, Mi)
文 ぶん・もん・あや・ふみ (Bun, Mon, Aya, Fumi)

You can choose any combination from the above choices but I will recommend:

Hayashi Mifumi as there are Japanese with this name but of course using different characters though.

27-11-2007, 10:43 AM
so, can u help me ?
thanks a lot~

Kanae Tooru
Kanae Reiko
Kyouji Akira

叶 かのう Kanou
玲 れい、あきら Rei, Akira
楓 ふう、ほう、かえで Fu, Hou, Kaede

I would suggest
Kanou as your surname as it is being used in Japan.
About your name,
you can choose any of the combinations but normally if one has two characters for their name,
they will choose the shorter pronunciation.
Such as: Reihou or Reifu
If there is just one character then maybe , Akira is a good choice.

27-11-2007, 10:52 AM
anyone help me to translate?

my name--Ch'ng Ying Xuan
庄 颖 璇

thx 1st.

ショウ・ソウ・たいら・まさ
Sho, Sou, Taira, Masa

エイ・ほさき
Ei, Hosaki

セン
Sen

Taira is a common surname in Japan but with the character 平.
For your name,
I think both
Taira Ei Sen/ Taira HosakiSen would be fine
though I believe Taira EiSen is easier to be remembered ^^

27-11-2007, 10:59 AM
i want too! my name is (elizabeth) chan jia mun. chinese name : 陳嘉敏

[音訓]チン・ジン・のべる
[名乗り]かた・つら・のぶ・のぶる・のり・ひさ・むね・よ
Chin,Jin, Hisa, Mune

[音訓]カ・よみする・よい
[名乗り]ひろ・よし・よしみ
Ka, Hiro, Yoshi, Yoshimi,

[音訓]ビン・さとい
[名乗り]あきら・さと・さとし・すすむ・つとむ・と・とし・はや・はやし・はる・みぬ・ゆき・よし
Bin, Satoi, Akira, Satoshi, Sato, Susumu, Tutomu, Toshi, Hayashi, Haru, Yuki, Yoshi

Your name have so many pronunciations but since Jacky Chen is too famous, I believe most of the Japanese will pronounce your surname as "Chin." And for your name, Yoshi Yuki and Yoshi Haru sounds cute. Since Hiro is a name for a guy, if not Hiro Yuki is quite a common name for a Japanese guy.

chngyx
27-11-2007, 08:55 PM
Thank you very much !! :D

Amberfong
29-11-2007, 09:28 PM
so, can u help me ?
thanks a lot~

Kanae Tooru
Kanae Reiko
Kyouji Akira

叶 かのう Kanou
玲 れい、あきら Rei, Akira
楓 ふう、ほう、かえで Fu, Hou, Kaede

I would suggest
Kanou as your surname as it is being used in Japan.
About your name,
you can choose any of the combinations but normally if one has two characters for their name,
they will choose the shorter pronunciation.
Such as: Reihou or Reifu
If there is just one character then maybe , Akira is a good choice.

if so, den i take Kanou Reifu as my name lo~
if someone 1 2 call me, den call me 'reifu' rite?
haha... really thanks~

30-11-2007, 04:29 PM
But I will need your name in Chinese Character or else I will just translate it into Katakana.

Or you want me to just give you a new Kanji name :wink:

30-11-2007, 04:36 PM
ohohoho... interesting.

林 はやし (Hayashi or Rin)
美 び or み (Bi, Mi)

Hayashi Mifumi as there are Japanese with this name but of course using different characters though.

Ops, sorry. It seems that I got the wrong character ...

麗 
[音訓]レイ・ライ・リ・うららか・うるわしい => Rei, Rai, Ri, Uraraka
[名乗り]あきら・かず・つぐ・つら・よし・より => Akira, Kazu, Tsugu, Yoshi, Yori

Hmm...
So it becomes
Hayashi "Reifumi" is a cool name too ;)

01-12-2007, 08:50 AM
Schye,can intro me the japanese language program you use to write the japanese character in computer???

livern
03-12-2007, 12:04 PM
ohohoho... interesting.

林 はやし (Hayashi or Rin)
美 び or み (Bi, Mi)

麗 

Hmm...
So it becomes
how bout the akira and kazu and tsugu and yoshi ad yori...
can i use those too??

04-12-2007, 09:22 AM
But I will need your name in Chinese Character or else I will just translate it into Katakana.

Or you want me to just give you a new Kanji name :wink:

Fong is Fang. house(chinese character),get it?

Jia is (good),got a dan ren pang and 2 tu(4)

Jun is good horse de jun...people always say jun ma.....that jun lar....

LOL.get me ?

sorry my laptop no chinse programme in thie mean time...

see can translate ma.....hope you get my words....

房佳骏, am i right?

12-12-2007, 01:13 PM
ohohoho... interesting.

林 はやし (Hayashi or Rin)
美 び or み (Bi, Mi)

麗 

Hmm...
So it becomes
how bout the akira and kazu and tsugu and yoshi ad yori...
can i use those too??

Sure you can.
Although Akira is a bit too long, the others sound OK to me.

12-12-2007, 01:15 PM
Schye,can intro me the japanese language program you use to write the japanese character in computer???

I am just using the preinstalled WinXP IM language pack.
I think you can install all those language through the control panel.

12-12-2007, 01:22 PM
the second word wrong...not "ren", but "jia"
the Dan Ren Pang is correct~~
side is 2 Tu(soil), stake up~~
got me?
please help me translate liao~~
hahahahazzz

房佳骏

【房】
[音訓]ボウ・ふさ・へや Bou
[名乗り]お・のぶ・ふさ O, Nobu, Fusa

【佳】
[音訓]カ・カイ・よい Ka, Kai
[名乗り]よし Yoshi

【駿】
[音訓]シュン Jun
[名乗り]たかし・とし・はやお・はやし Takashi, Toshi, Hayao, Hayashi

If you want one sounds like your chinese name,
Bou Ka Jun is the nearest.

If you prefer a really Japanese name, then
Nobu YoshiToshi
is the best I can see as the others may be too long for a Japanese name.
But if you want just a nick name,
【駿】
[音訓]シュン Jun
[名乗り]たかし・とし・はやお・はやし Takashi, Toshi, Hayao, Hayashi
any from the above is a common name in Japan

12-12-2007, 09:47 PM
how bout fusa yoshi hayashi?

erm,my quick reply box lost again....can help?

ajeem
16-12-2007, 04:51 PM
how bout me...my name is hazim???

16-12-2007, 05:21 PM

i think you need to have a chinese-translated name or else,erm schype will get you a kanji-translated name...hehe...i am not so sure....

17-12-2007, 07:24 PM
how bout fusa yoshi hayashi?

erm,my quick reply box lost again....can help?

Yoshi Hayashi will be too long for your first name as it has 5 vowels.
Normally Japanese will have 1-4 vowels for their first name and
2-5 for Surname.

17-12-2007, 07:29 PM

Xon is right.
As you dont have a chinese character name,
what i can do is either by changing your name into a Japanese characters ;)

Hazim will become HAJIMU in Japanese as they dont have "ZIM" in Japanese.

ハジム ⇒ 肇

Its a cool name with the meaning of "creating/building (a country)".

08-01-2008, 12:38 AM
Schye,my cousin need your help..

李卫全

thanks.

11-02-2008, 07:35 PM

李卫全

thanks.

Schye lost? need your free service ler....Hahaha...thanks.

subzero0c
13-02-2008, 09:23 PM
HEHE I already got a name
No Bu Chian...
This name given by my Grandma(nenek angkat) in Japan
SO I juz feel my name not nice so is there a better name?
CH name:杨伸峰

19-02-2008, 11:37 AM

李卫全

thanks.

Sorry for being late:oops:
Since I am in Malaysia now,
I dont have all the tools needed with me.
But since the name is not that complicated,
I think I can make it ^^

李 Li
衛 Ei, e
全 Zen, sen

Aboce are the most common pronunciation for these kanji.

19-02-2008, 11:44 AM
HEHE I already got a name
No Bu Chian...
This name given by my Grandma(nenek angkat) in Japan
SO I juz feel my name not nice so is there a better name?
CH name:杨伸峰

楊 Yo-u (pronounce as is BM no English)
伸 Nobu, Shin
峰 Hou, Fu, Mine

Nobu-Mine sounds nice to me ;)

Sh3ng
19-02-2008, 06:25 PM
hi~

can anyone help me translate my name?

黄 元 声

thx a lot..... ^^

20-02-2008, 10:49 AM

李卫全

thanks.

Sorry for being late:oops:
Since I am in Malaysia now,
I dont have all the tools needed with me.
But since the name is not that complicated,
I think I can make it ^^

李 Li
衛 Ei, e
全 Zen, sen

Aboce are the most common pronunciation for these kanji.

thanks man. :D

fishtail92
26-02-2008, 11:24 PM
this sounds interesting. Can u pls translate my name?

李昱苇

27-02-2008, 02:16 AM
hi~

can anyone help me translate my name?

黄 元 声

thx a lot..... ^^

黄 Ou, Kou, Ki, Ko
元 Gen, Gan, Moto // Asa, Chika, Tsukasa, Naga, Hajime, Haru, Masa, Moto, Yuki, Yoshi
声  Sei, Shou, Koe, Kowa // Oto, Kata, Chika, Nobu

For your surname,
normally Ou or Kou is used.
Any combination is fine for your first name,
but personally I like NagaNobu ^^

Sh3ng
28-02-2008, 07:50 PM
Thanks a lot ^^
anyway, can i use others instead of NagaNobu?

29-02-2008, 01:18 AM
Thanks a lot ^^

Sh3ng,its a free combination,you can combine anyhow you like if i am not wrong,like ChikaChika or MotoKata or MasaKata,but remember to add in "Ou" or "Kou" as you surname.

to use as nickname,just the last word of your name will do,like Chika or Nobu or Kata or Oto.

^.^

Sh3ng
29-02-2008, 07:51 PM
Thanks a lot ^^

Sh3ng,its a free combination,you can combine anyhow you like if i am not wrong,like ChikaChika or MotoKata or MasaKata,but remember to add in "Ou" or "Kou" as you surname.

to use as nickname,just the last word of your name will do,like Chika or Nobu or Kata or Oto.

^.^

oic...
buddy, thx a lot!

03-03-2008, 12:49 PM
this sounds interesting. Can u pls translate my name?

李昱苇

Hi, fishtail.
Sorry but I cant find your name in Japanese.
Could you provide me your name in Classic Chinese characters as I dont know what are them in the old form.

penny_aries
26-03-2008, 05:29 PM
This is interesting.
Can help me to translate my name too?
梁玉萍
Thanks. =)

yeng
07-04-2008, 03:45 PM
hello, i want to have my name in japanese too!
either in katagana or kanji!

鄭chang
曉seow
迎yeng

thx!

seowmay
21-05-2008, 12:22 PM
I wish i can have my own japanese name too !
Yeoh
Seow
May

nhling
14-06-2008, 09:20 PM
wow... got so many requests come in. Guess translating them using Katakana is faster LOL

14-06-2008, 10:34 PM
Who wish to make his or her name in Korean, don't hesitate to private message me or notify me. :nod I love Korean!

cyther90
14-06-2008, 11:02 PM
Err...I translated my name into japanese and tried to find the meaning from some japanese website...

Adam = Adamu

one website stated that adamu= wild, strike, dream (dunno how to put them into one meaning)
another website stated adamu = earth
and another one stated adamu = mankind

Which one is the real meaning?

14-06-2008, 11:03 PM
Err...I translated my name into japanese and tried to find the meaning from some japanese website...

Adam = Adamu

one website stated that adamu= wild, strike, dream (dunno how to put them into one meaning)

You're a Malay? :nod

cyther90
14-06-2008, 11:11 PM
Yup...........

14-06-2008, 11:14 PM
race doesnt concern when translating name into nihongo.

Cyther90,i dont think the explaination are right... hmmm... none of it is the real meaning...

SoHaiNoob
14-06-2008, 11:15 PM
Translate my name leh.. Noob Chai

14-06-2008, 11:19 PM
race doesnt concern when translating name into nihongo.

Cyther90,i dont think the explaination are right... hmmm... none of it is the real meaning...

Agree with Xon, your Japanese name is just a translation. Due to differences in culture, the Malay name you currently having now wouldn't carry any meaning though you manage to find the Japanese meaning of 'adamu', I think it is coincidence. Anyway, if you wish to know more about how Japanese has their names to their children, you may need to have a look on the following webpage. The Japanese name their children with many wealth and prosperity-related names. :laugh
http://www.essortment.com/lifestyle/namesjapaneseb_sdld.htm
http://www.findurfate.com/numerology/babynames/japanesenames.html

Translate my name leh.. Noob Chai

For others going to Japan and wishing to have your name in Japanese, you may check through the following webpages:
http://www.rcs.k12.va.us/csjh/japanesename.htm
http://japanesetranslator.co.uk/your-name-in-japanese/

Hope it helps :P

SoHaiNoob
14-06-2008, 11:26 PM
Aiya.... Noob Chai where got in japan name wan.... HAHAHAAH

14-06-2008, 11:29 PM

Can I know your surname or your family name? :P

14-06-2008, 11:29 PM

well said. :P

to translate name to japanese,you gonna have your chinese character. =)

SoHaiNoob
14-06-2008, 11:53 PM
HAHAHAA... u know wat is noob or not oh?

nhling
15-06-2008, 06:45 AM

Adam = Adamu

yea, what Xon said is right. The name Adamu (アダム)is just a name. There's no meaning in it. Those meaning you have found probably comes from the same word in other languages.

Agree with Xon, your Japanese name is just a translation. Due to differences in culture, the Malay name you currently having now wouldn't carry any meaning though you manage to find the Japanese meaning of 'adamu', I think it is coincidence. Anyway, if you wish to know more about how Japanese has their names to their children, you may need to have a look on the following webpage. The Japanese name their children with many wealth and prosperity-related names. :laugh
http://www.essortment.com/lifestyle/namesjapaneseb_sdld.htm
http://www.findurfate.com/numerology/babynames/japanesenames.html

For others going to Japan and wishing to have your name in Japanese, you may check through the following webpages:
http://www.rcs.k12.va.us/csjh/japanesename.htm
http://japanesetranslator.co.uk/your-name-in-japanese/

Hope it helps :P

Changing Chinese name into Japanese pronounce name can be interesting. Like my name has been translated to "Hayashi Yoshiteru" by my Japanese friend. But it's never an easy thing expecially in changing those names into ?Kunyomi (訓読み)? rather than ?Onyomi(音読み)?. You will need native Japanese expertise to change those names. If not those translation might sound funny. Nevertheless you can still try:)

'Kunyomi' is original Japanese pronunciation
'Onyomi' is the pronunciation which is quite similar to Chinese pronunciation

15-06-2008, 08:25 AM
This thread is very interesting..
Can anyone help me out? my name is
English : Thung Senk Siang
Chinese : tang(soup) sen xiang

abuzar
15-06-2008, 10:55 AM
my name is abuzar.
chinese name:"aa-phu(cloth)- cha"

15-06-2008, 11:12 AM
yea, what Xon said is right. The name Adamu (アダム)is just a name. There's no meaning in it. Those meaning you have found probably comes from the same word in other languages.

Changing Chinese name into Japanese pronounce name can be interesting. Like my name has been translated to "Hayashi Yoshiteru" by my Japanese friend. But it's never an easy thing expecially in changing those names into ?Kunyomi (訓読み)? rather than ?Onyomi(音読み)?. You will need native Japanese expertise to change those names. If not those translation might sound funny. Nevertheless you can still try:)

'Kunyomi' is original Japanese pronunciation
'Onyomi' is the pronunciation which is quite similar to Chinese pronunciation

In fact, I think the translation of your Chinese name into Japanese-pronounced name applies the same principle as another case as you wish to translate a Malay friend's name into a Chinese-pronounced name. The Chinese-translated name may not carry any meaning and sometimes can be ludicrous if you persists in seeking the meaning of the translated name. :P During my time in MRSM Balik Pulau, I had helped a few Malay friends to translate their names into Chinese, e.g. Hana to 哈拿 (Ha-na), 哈拿 itself is not a word or term carrying meaning. 哈 means Ha (= the sound you make when you laugh), 拿 (take or fetch), so when you makes the two characters combined, the meaning revealed will be 'Haha Take', it is damn funny.

my name is abuzar.
chinese name:"aa-phu(cloth)- cha"

Your Chinese is 阿(a)布(bu = cloth)沙(sa = sand)

By the way, you can have a look on the list of trilingual names, commonly used by Japanese - English, Chinese and Japanese.

http://3.84c.cn/article/2006-7-3/450-1.htm :P

nhling
15-06-2008, 11:58 AM
There are a few ways of translating foreigner's (non-Japanese) name into Japanese name namely

(1) translating the non-Chinese character name into the form of Katakana (which is commonly done by people who aren't Chinese, Korean and Taiwan citizen) --- easy

(2)translating the non-Chinese character name into Japanese Kanji (if there is Kanji which has the similar sound to the original name). The pronunciation of the name is still more or less the same with the original name.

(3) translating the Chinese character name to Japanese Onyomi pronunciation.---- a little bit easy

(4) translating the Chinese character name to Japanese Kunyomi pronunciation.---- hard

The reason of the difficulty of no. (4) is one Japanese Kanji(漢字)can have a few pronunciations. When a few Kanji(漢字) are involved in your name, you need to have the right mix of the pronunciation to make it sound beautiful. No.(4) sounds cool but you will have to ask the native Japanese for translation. I wouldn't do it as I don't want to be responsible for any mistake.

ReiKiba
27-10-2009, 08:52 PM
my chinese name is 白丽娜。 how to translate it?:amuse

want to learn simple and easy japanese language? i can share. my friends are glad to have me at school coz they are manga and anime lovers.:P

zanyzephyr
04-05-2010, 09:09 PM

want to learn simple and easy japanese language? i can share. my friends are glad to have me at school coz they are manga and anime lovers.:P

well if you want direct translation it would be:
haku-rei-na
はく れい な
白  麗   那

practically it doesn't lie much meaning behind it though,being "haku" as your family name and rei-na as your last name. Plus, you really need to go deep to know the real meaning of yer name.

actually, its easier to stick with Katakanasカタカナbecause there are some words even in chinese do not exist in the japanese dictionary for example my name:

张邕斌

If you wanna translate it into japanese, you practically need to separate each words into 2 sides to get the meaning. And my 2nd name 邕(yong 2nd sound) is even rare in modern chinese characters. So sticking to katas will do much go to you "japanese names" as they represent you well. Even if you manage to translate the names to japanese, it wouldn't be nice because what your parents had named you brings in a different meaning and significance in you original language. As for my name in chinese, 斌 meaning I'm was hoped to be blessed with literacy(academically) and strength(martial arts or sports). And you wanna split them into 2 for japanese context, the meaning goes way off the hook.

reshasymphonia
05-05-2010, 10:41 AM

Haha, I'm a huge anime/manga fan too :)
私はレシャです。よろしくね。

zarionette
05-05-2010, 12:22 PM
well if you want direct translation it would be:
haku-rei-na
はく れい な
白  麗   那

practically it doesn't lie much meaning behind it though,being "haku" as your family name and rei-na as your last name. Plus, you really need to go deep to know the real meaning of yer name.

actually, its easier to stick with Katakanasカタカナbecause there are some words even in chinese do not exist in the japanese dictionary for example my name:

张邕斌

If you wanna translate it into japanese, you practically need to separate each words into 2 sides to get the meaning. And my 2nd name 邕(yong 2nd sound) is even rare in modern chinese characters. So sticking to katas will do much go to you "japanese names" as they represent you well. Even if you manage to translate the names to japanese, it wouldn't be nice because what your parents had named you brings in a different meaning and significance in you original language. As for my name in chinese, 斌 meaning I'm was hoped to be blessed with literacy(academically) and strength(martial arts or sports). And you wanna split them into 2 for japanese context, the meaning goes way off the hook.

Your name sounds like one of those characters' found only in classic chinese novels. :P Especially the middle name, cuz for me, it only appears when i'm reading chinese classical or historical literatures.

Btw, can i have my name translated into japanese? :)) The name translators i found by googling didn't help much. My name in chinese character is 郑筱莹.

tafaizul
29-12-2010, 12:06 PM
my name faizul
i got from internet is fuizuru and fezuru...
what is a suitable one?

stupidboy
23-01-2011, 07:28 PM
my name faizul
i got from internet is fuizuru and fezuru...
what is a suitable one?

I would say "faizuru" (ファイズル). I'm not an expert though.

starfire9388
12-04-2011, 12:32 PM
Hi ^^
Can I get my name translated too?? XD
chinese is :侯秀燕

Thx in advance ^^